Right, I was promised a smart phone by herself at Christmas! Which to get though! I have been looking ahead ( my curent contract finishes next month) and it is mind boggling, how many smart phones are out there! I haven't a clue, my sister has the Galaxy S which she swears by, my brother on the other hand has an I-Phone 4 and he loves that! I like the look of the HTC myself but the reviews I have read are not that hectic! In any case I knew that my knowledgeable friends on GAAboard would have the definitive answers for me so have at it! I am not too worried about a plan just yet as I intend to play them off each other when the time comes, all I want right now is some kind of direction as to what one to get! It's subjective I know but at least there might be some pitfalls I am not aware of at the moment...thanks folks!!!
I'm due an upgrade now as well and would be interested in this thread as well. I am thinking about the iphone4s on a 12 month contract with tesco mobile. I know a few people who have the galaxy s (i think) and you could near use it as a surf board it's that big ffs. i have a blackberry and have loved it so I might even just get the latest bold in that if iphone is going to be too expensive.
I realise that most of the phones will be expensive to start off with but I am convinced that I will get a half decent deal in the end! I remember the time that I was going to switch from Vodafone to Meteor a couple of years ago! I was getting 100 mis and 100 texts for 30Euro from Vodafone and then Meteor offered me 200 of each for the same price! So I calls up vodafone to unlock the phone and then they offered me 300 mins and 300 texts for 30 Euro! So I stayed with them, mind you their best deal with a smart phone was €45 a month for 100 mins and 100 texts with the I phone costing around €200. We will see how much they want my business I guess!!
Thinking of getting Mrs OB a new phone for her birthday as hers is currently knackered. Anybody know anything about the Samsung Galaxy Ace model.
Shes not big into technology so dont need an all singing all dancing yoke, just something for browsing the net, you tube, facebook etc.
I got a Nokia Lumia 820 just before christmas i have to say i love it, it is so easy to use and the windows system is almost idiot proof from the start.
Quote from: Onion Bag on January 21, 2013, 10:40:48 AM
Thinking of getting Mrs OB a new phone for her birthday as hers is currently knackered. Anybody know anything about the Samsung Galaxy Ace model.
Shes not big into technology so dont need an all singing all dancing yoke, just something for browsing the net, you tube, facebook etc.
My Mrs has one and both my parents have it. None of them are tech minded at all but they all found it very easy get to grips with the Galaxy Ace. Had a play around with it myself and for what it is its a decent phone and for someone who just wants a phone for facebook and a bit of internet aswell as the usual call and texts then its a pretty decent phone to get imo. Camera is decent on it too.
Sounds good LL, i think i will go for it
When I had an iphone, I was known as an Apple fan boy, but I've been completely won over by the Samsung Galaxy S3. Exceptional bit of kit.
Quote from: ziggysego on January 21, 2013, 12:54:16 PM
When I had an iphone, I was known as an Apple fan boy, but I've been completely won over by the Samsung Galaxy S3. Exceptional bit of kit.
Too expensive Zigg, too much technology for Mrs OB, looking something nice and handy fro browsing, facebook, etc.
Quote from: Onion Bag on January 21, 2013, 02:59:00 PM
Too expensive Zigg, too much technology for Mrs OB, looking something nice and handy fro browsing, facebook, etc.
You're not giving Mrs OB enough credit ;D
Get something from the Samsung line, they're great phones.
Mus back up the zigster here, had been toying with the idea of the iphone as I was fed up with the BB. Spoke to the guy in Carphonewarehouse and he had teh Samsung. So I took it and it is a nifty wee big of gear. He threw in an auld TV for my lot as well!!
It was a man in carphone warehouse that was telling me as well, the samsungs are getting far better reviews from users and the so called experts than the BB and I Phones
Quote from: ziggysego on January 21, 2013, 03:01:27 PM
Quote from: Onion Bag on January 21, 2013, 02:59:00 PM
You're not giving Mrs OB enough credit ;D
Get something from the Samsung line, they're great phones.
Keep that to yourself Zigg
Quote from: laoislad on January 21, 2013, 10:57:00 AM
My Mrs has one and both my parents have it. None of them are tech minded at all but they all found it very easy get to grips with the Galaxy Ace. Had a play around with it myself and for what it is its a decent phone and for someone who just wants a phone for facebook and a bit of internet aswell as the usual call and texts then its a pretty decent phone to get imo. Camera is decent on it too.
+ 1 the wife has the Galaxy Ace and after a bit of time using the thing has no problem, actually think she'd love to make the step up to an S2 or S3.
S2 contract is up in a couple of months, but early reports seem to say that the S4 won't be out until May at the earliest. Would O2 do one or two month contract extensions to bridge the gap, does anyone know?
Quote from: Nally Stand on January 21, 2013, 03:58:13 PM
S2 contract is up in a couple of months, but early reports seem to say that the S4 won't be out until May at the earliest. Would O2 do one or two month contract extensions to bridge the gap, does anyone know?
The contract is just a term, when you cannot leave the tariff without incurring a financial penalty. The contract runs on, until you cancel it or upgrade your phone.
Quote from: ziggysego on January 21, 2013, 04:00:55 PM
Quote from: Nally Stand on January 21, 2013, 03:58:13 PM
The contract is just a term, when you cannot leave the tariff without incurring a financial penalty. The contract runs on, until you cancel it or upgrade your phone.
beat me to it Ziggy, just keep on your current tariff until you can get a good deal on the S4 when its out.
My contract is up next month but I'm gonna wait till the S4 comes out.
It's going to be a beast of a phone if the rumours turn out to be correct.
Ah great stuff lads, didn't realise that. S2 has actually been causing me a few problems of late so can't wait to upgrade. Though as you say Johnny, it will likely take a while for S4 contracts to come down in price once it does come out.
Quote from: Nally Stand on January 21, 2013, 04:13:13 PM
Ah great stuff lads, didn't realise that. S2 has actually been causing me a few problems of late so can't wait to upgrade. Though as you say Johnny, it will likely take a while for S4 contracts to come down in price once it does come out.
Freezing by any chance causing you to pull the battery out to get it restarted by any chance?
Quote from: Tony Baloney on January 21, 2013, 08:04:35 PM
Freezing by any chance causing you to pull the battery out to get it restarted by any chance?
Freezing an awful lot.
Often, if wifi is turned off for a while and I tap the wifi icon to turn it on again, it just lights up with a pale green instead of full colour and the wifi then won't come on until the phone is re-started.
Finally, in the past few days, after the phone has fully charged and the charger disconnected, the phone still thinks it is connected. Once you pull the lead out, for about half an hour, the battery logo flashes and every two or three minutes a warning comes up voltage too high and to disconnect the charger. Which causes the battery to run low very quick!
Quote from: Nally Stand on January 21, 2013, 08:29:25 PM
Freezing an awful lot.
Often, if wifi is turned off for a while and I tap the wifi icon to turn it on again, it just lights up with a pale green instead of full colour and the wifi then won't come on until the phone is re-started.
Finally, in the past few days, after the phone has fully charged and the charger disconnected, the phone still thinks it is connected. Once you pull the lead out, for about half an hour, the battery logo flashes and every two or three minutes a warning comes up voltage too high and to disconnect the charger. Which causes the battery to run low very quick!
Sounds like a real bollox. The sister in law and brother in law are having real bother with battery in theirs as holding no charge. Mine freezes every now and then and generally to do with games the wanes have been playing. I know designers factor in planned obsolescence but nothing seems to last more than 2 or 3 years anymore :'(
Quote from: Tony Baloney on January 21, 2013, 08:35:18 PM
Freezing an awful lot.
Sounds like a real bollox. The sister in law and brother in law are having real bother with battery in theirs as holding no charge. Mine freezes every now and then and generally to do with games the wanes have been playing. I know designers factor in planned obsolescence but nothing seems to last more than 2 or 3 years anymore :'(
Funny I had no bother at all until I got the Ice Cream Sandwich upgrade. The freezing problem in particular started basically the same day.
Had the iPhone for 4 years. Been with the Samsung S3 a right while now.
Both quality phones for nearly everything. No real difference. I like the bigger screen on the Samsung though.
Onion Bag, I have just ordered the Galaxy Ace 2 and it gets here on Wednesday, I'll keep you posted. Its on offer on the 02 (UK) website for £10.50 per month with all the trimmings. I was paying £15 per month on 02 simplicity which is sim only so Im delighted.
Couldn't agree on Samsung phones, I had one a couple of years ago and it was rubbish - couldn't get a signal half the time, then buttons stopped working, I returned it after 5 months for a Sony. That was just a regular phone though, not a smart phone.
The missus had a Samsung smart phone though and wasn't too happy with it, poor signal, the swipe to answer wouldn't work, turning off for no reason.
That said, I know two fellas with the S3 and they reckon it's mighty.....
Freezing an awful lot.
Oh yes, as macdanger just reminded me, the swipe to answer also stops working a lot of the time of late. The S4 better be good when it arrives >:(
Quote from: macdanger2 on January 22, 2013, 08:47:30 AM
Couldn't agree on Samsung phones, I had one a couple of years ago and it was rubbish - couldn't get a signal half the time, then buttons stopped working, I returned it after 5 months for a Sony. That was just a regular phone though, not a smart phone.
The missus had a Samsung smart phone though and wasn't too happy with it, poor signal, the swipe to answer wouldn't work, turning off for no reason.
That said, I know two fellas with the S3 and they reckon it's mighty.....
Same as myself. The swipe to answer just doesn't work half the time.
Freezing an awful lot.
That sounds like the S4 Republican Section 31 version of the phone .
Quote from: seafoid on January 22, 2013, 10:00:31 AM
Freezing an awful lot.
That sounds like the S4 Republican Section 31 version of the phone .
Funny enough, every time I speak during a call, the person on the other end hears an actors voice dubbed over my own!
Macdanger/canalman,
Just did a quick google and found a way around this swipe-to-answer problem. Tap the bottom left button and tap 'settings', then tap 'call', then 'Call answering/ending' and in there you can choose to answer a call using the home button.
Folks - am an O2 customer and have been trawling their useless website to try to find out (a) how long is left on my contract, (b) what kind of phone/plan I can get now and it's a mess. I switched onto a plan with lots of minutes/text allowance last year as my usage had gone thorugh the roof due to a role I took on in the GAA. I've left that role now so am down to normal levels.
Add to that my phone fell (Samsung Galaxy Ace) and the clip holding in the memory card broke. "Luckily" I have insurance or so I thought. Sent the phone back along with the mandatory €35 and hey presto - they said they could fix it. It arrived back and sure enough it was good as new......for about 3 hours. Duct tape has been my friend since but as you can gather I'm not very impressed.
Any advice?
Have the s3. Got for nothing just by moving to 3 and having billpay. Think it a brilliant phone. Have absolutely no complaints. Had previous samsungs which froze but was told in shop that these issues fixed on s3. Have about 6 months and has never frozen.
Have had my samsung galaxy ace two for a day now and it has been first class. It does what it needs to do well for email, pictures and social media. Does all the same things as the more expensive iphone.
http://www.carphonewarehouse.com/buy/HTC_ONE_S_ZA4DY_FCONO
What about this deal on carphone warehouse? Free good quality headphones as well, anyone any experience of this phone?
Great phone, had one for a while for work. The camera is the best iv ever used on a phone, but it is very big which really lets the phone down.