http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-northern-ireland-15948835
Sinn Fein mayor slammed over failure to present award to army cadet
The lord mayor of Belfast has been criticised after he failed to present a Duke of Edinburgh award certificate to an Army cadet force member.
Ulster Unionist MLA Mike Nesbitt said Sinn Fein mayor Niall O Donnghaile's decision not to present the award was "absolutely shameful".
Mr O Donnghaile said he was told "at the last minute" that an award was to be presented to a cadet force member.
He said someone else then joined him to present the certificates.
Mr O Donnghaile said he would be happy to meet the cadet and her family to explain his decision.
He said it was "nothing personal".
"At the last minute I was informed that one of the awards was to be presented to a representative of the Army cadet force," Mr O Donnghaile added.
"In order to avoid any unnecessary sensitivities to either party, it was arranged for the outgoing chairman of the organisation to present some of the certificates alongside me.
"Since becoming mayor in late May I have attended over 620 engagements, many of them in working class unionist communities.
"I take my responsibilities as being a mayor for all very seriously."
Mr Nesbitt said the mayor had "stopped half way through" his presentation and that the remainder of the certificates were presented by a representative of the Duke of Edinburgh awards scheme.
"The problem appeared to be down to the fact that one of the recipients was from the Army cadet force," he said.
"This is absolutely shameful.
"So much for Sinn Fein's fine rhetoric about a shared future.
"So much for an Ireland of equals."
Alliance councillor Maire Hendron, the leader of the party's group on Belfast City Council, said she was "appalled at what happened".
"Being lord mayor is about representing and respecting everyone in the city of Belfast and I am deeply annoyed at Niall O Donnghaile's behaviour," she said.
"The message that this incident sends out is very troubling."
A spokesperson for the Duke of Edinburgh awards scheme said its silver award presentations for Northern Ireland had been held at City Hall in Belfast for more than 20 years, and that "each year the awards are presented by the lord mayor".
"The Army cadet force is one of a large number of youth organisations in Northern Ireland which makes the Duke of Edinburgh programme available to all young people," they said.
"We are deeply saddened that this incident has overshadowed the tremendous achievement and voluntary contribution to the community by all young people who received awards on the evening."
Note that the Army cadet force member was a 14 year old girl.
Sinn Fein and the DUP should be excluded from being Lord Mayor for shit like this. Anywhere else he would have got the road before he got back to his office.
You could add the teacher training colleges issue to this 'shared future' discussion as well.
The DEL Minister (Farry, Alliance) is looking at the future provision of this training. Stranmillis already want to merge with Queen's as they recognise that it isn't sustainable on its own, so the DUP are now getting excited. Meanwhile, Paul Maskey (surely the most inarticulate politician we have?) is getting excited about the idea that the future of St. Mary's might be considered.
It goes to show that all the talk of shared future is just that: talk. When it comes to actually implementing something, the usual suspects revert to type.
On this particular issue, it seems like a no-brainer to have one institution for teacher training.
Aye, sure he should present an award to a member of an army that has terrorised this place for years. Dont give a f**k what age they were, they are still part of a force who have no right to be getting awards presented to them by an Irishman. Although I am no fan of Sinn Fein, well done to him
Quote from: Forever Green on November 29, 2011, 06:21:10 PM
Dont give a f**k what age they were,
Has a familiar ring to it.
(http://news.bbc.co.uk/media/images/38139000/jpg/_38139889_warrington300.jpg)
Aye, sure he should present an award to a member of an army that has terrorised this place for years. Dont give a f**k what age they were, they are still part of a force who have no right to be getting awards presented to them by an Irishman. Although I am no fan of Sinn Fein, well done to him
Two points:
He said when elected to the office that he'd represent everyone.
He was giving out Duke of Edinburgh Awards; the Duke of Edinburgh is Colonel-in-Chief of the British Army Cadet Force.
What is it with the British and putting young kids into uniform? I'd be more critical of that than someone sticking to their principles, which is a rare occurrence for the Shinners these days
Quote from: red hander on November 29, 2011, 06:53:50 PM
What is it with the British and putting young kids into uniform? I'd be more critical of that than someone sticking to their principles, which is a rare occurrence for the Shinners these days
Being a complete dick isn't a principle, it's more a state of mind.
Quote from: Myles Na G. on November 29, 2011, 07:00:20 PM
And there's no-one better than you to confirm that
Just what are these principles, if he's giving out Duke of Edinburgh awards in the first place?
There's a raghead over there - go get'm tiger.
(https://lh5.googleusercontent.com/-wJ7KZQ1lTWI/To2RkUCmOgI/AAAAAAAADVU/qj5fjUe_6yI/s640/Highlanders044.jpg)
Your point?
Quote from: Ulick on November 29, 2011, 07:13:11 PM
(https://lh5.googleusercontent.com/-wJ7KZQ1lTWI/To2RkUCmOgI/AAAAAAAADVU/qj5fjUe_6yI/s640/Highlanders044.jpg)
The Taliban must be shitting themselves if that's what's coming down the line
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on November 29, 2011, 06:37:06 PM
Dont give a f**k what age they were,
Has a familiar ring to it.
(http://news.bbc.co.uk/media/images/38139000/jpg/_38139889_warrington300.jpg)
#lemmeseeyourwarface ::)
a member of an army that has terrorised this place for years.
A 14 year old girl? Don't think she has done much in the way of terrorising. He was it seems doing a good job untill this. He was wrong, no excuses.
go get'm Lager.
(http://i.telegraph.co.uk/multimedia/archive/00702/sport-graphics-2007_702030a.jpg)
Bit surprised at him, he had been coming out with all the usual sound bites and bullshit that the media here seem to love, why didn't he just suck it up and present the award and there wouldn't have been a word about it. I would say he has received some bad advice and will rightly take a fair bit of heat for it.
Quote from: dillinger on November 29, 2011, 08:25:24 PM
A 14 year old girl? Don't think she has done much in the way of terrorising. He was it seems doing a good job untill this. He was wrong, no excuses.
She is a still a member of the British Army who are responsible for terrorising this country and whose country continue to occupy it. Why should he be giving an award to the army that a lot of his colleagues fought against?
Quote from: Forever Green on November 29, 2011, 08:33:06 PM
She is a still a member of the British Army who are responsible for terrorising this country and whose country continue to occupy it. Why should he be giving an award to the army that a lot of his colleagues fought against?
Why then was he giving out DoE awards at all? Where is this line drawn?
And as Mayor, does he not have a responsibility to all the people of the city? You know, the way the Mayor of Cashel did earlier in the year?
What about Rev David Latimer, the former British Army chaplain that was lauded at the Ard Fheis? Surely he should have been run out of the place too?
You just beat me to it Minder.
(http://sluggerotoole.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/08/david-latimer.jpg)
So Latimer's fine, but a 14 year old girl isn't?
Much ado about nothing ::)
No, Latimers not fine. As I already said, I am no lover of Sinn Fein and the path they have taken. It is hypocritical of them. I am sure a lot of Republicans would have been unhappy if a Sinn Fein member was handing out awards to the same army that have committed horrendous crimes in this country, who they fought against and I ask again why should he give an award to the army that have committed these crimes? Doesn't matter a f**k what age she is, she is still part of that army
Quote from: Forever Green on November 29, 2011, 09:07:15 PM
No, Latimers not fine. As I already said, I am no lover of Sinn Fein and the path they have taken. It is hypocritical of them. I am sure a lot of Republicans would have been unhappy if a Sinn Fein member was handing out awards to the same army that have committed horrendous crimes in this country, who they fought against and I ask again why should he give an award to the army that have committed these crimes? Doesn't matter a f**k what age she is, she is still part of that army
Wa? You'd have preferred it if he did present the award?
1. Has any GAA Board members got a Duke Duke Duke Duke of Earl Earl Earl Duke of Edinburgh award?
2. What is the Irish equivalent of the Duke's award?
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on November 29, 2011, 09:46:38 PM
Quote from: Forever Green on November 29, 2011, 09:07:15 PM
Wa? You'd have preferred it if he did present the award?
Na, maybe came across wrong that. I am saying that it is kinda hypocritical for them to hand out awards but then they had David Latimer at the Ard Fheis a few months back. That is todays Sinn Fein though
Saw this on Slugger, sums it up.
"So this "Irish republican" has no problems working for the Crown and handing out Duke of Edinburg awards but when it comes to handing a certificate to a wee girl in a uniform suddenly that is a bridge too far!?
This whole thing is farcical and, quite frankly, amusing in a sad sort of way. The mental gymnastics that these so called 'Irish republicans' go through to convince themselves and/or their supporters that they didn't accept defeat and are still true to some mystical ideal of Irish freedom get harder and harder to take with a straight face."
Quote from: red hander on November 29, 2011, 08:00:05 PM
Lol. The milky bar kid for the front line!
If he had a 16x scope he would no longer need those glasses and would look a little bit more intimidating.
Typical Nordie mass hysteria over a non issue. The place must be plagued with cretins.
City Hall mayor was quoted as saying
"At the last minute I was informed that one of the awards was to be presented to a representative of the Army cadet force," Mr O Donnghaile added.
"In order to avoid any unnecessary sensitivities to either party, it was arranged for the outgoing chairman of the organisation to present some of the certificates alongside me"
Quote from: Main Street on November 29, 2011, 10:55:48 PM
Typical Nordie mass hysteria over a non issue. The place must be plagued with cretins.
City Hall mayor was quoted as saying
"In order to avoid any unnecessary sensitivities to either party, it was arranged for the outgoing chairman of the organisation to present some of the certificates alongside me"
The Lord Mayor is indeed a cretin.
A tempest in a thimble, with the usual gullible numpties getting all hot and bothered about it. :P
The question I'd ask...
For those that voted Sinn Fein in last election...is this what you voted for? i.e. Is this representative of your view and you fully back him for what he's done?
He's certainly doing his piece for standing up to the crown and showing them that a united Ireland is just around the corner.
I am a Sinn Fein supporter in that I feel they are the only nationalist party that have substance. We don't vote people in here based on their manifesto but when I vote I expect that person to do the just and right thing. Maybe it's too much to ask but this plonker has taken it a step too far. It's okay to hand over certificates to everyone that isn't a cadet. What a gype!
Ok, if she's just like all British soldiers, I wonder if you could answer the following simple question: back in the day, do you think that a 14-year-old female who was an army cadet would have been a "legitimate" target? I mean, could Irish republicans have convinced themselves that booby-trapping her school bus was OK in the name of Irish freedom?
Simple yes or no. Thank-you.
The Duke of Edinburgh is no doubt the head of many of the British and Commonwealth armed forces and is married to the boss lady so if this clown was seriously standing by any principles he shouldn't have been handing out any certificates.
We've seen with the DUP over the last few weeks that the main two parties are sometimes at pains (painfully so!) to show the hardliners that they aren't up each others holes.
Quote from: Clinker on November 30, 2011, 12:22:52 AM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ghaawbn-1TM
Amazing these people on here who are supporting a 14 year old in her right to murder a 12 year old walking to chapel in her own townland in our Country and think the 14 year old should be presented with a reward in her training to do the same.
Shame on youse.
Total and utter shame.
The Majella O'Hare killing aroused considerable concern at the time because of clear ambiguities in the account of the British army as to why shots had been fired. SDLP MLA Dominic Bradley said the HET report contradicts the Army's story.
"The soldier and the Parachute Regiment maintained there was a gunman present in the area on that day and that he had fired shots at them and that the soldier had returned fire.
"But as the HET report clearly shows that was not the case," Mr Bradley said.
"So the truth of Majella's death needs to be acknowledged by the British government."
A soldier, Private Michael Williams, was charged with manslaughter after an RUC investigation, but was acquitted in court.
Two weeks ago, the HET said it had sent a letter to Majella's mother, regarding its findings and that the final copy of its report would be sent to her in "four to six weeks".
An HET spokesman added: "The original RUC investigation found that Private Michael Williams was not returning fire at a gunman as he claimed and they recommended to prosecutors that he be charged with manslaughter.
The HET supports the findings of the original investigation. They also say the RUC investigation was thorough and good.
The killing of Majella also caused outrage and concern outside Ireland. On the Isle of Man her death led directly to the establishment of the `Anti-Militarist-Alliance' (members of Mec Vannin and the Manx branch of the Celtic League). The AMA subsequently campaigned against the use of the Isle of Man for training purposes by the British Army and the base at Jurby providing rest and recuperation for troops from Ireland. Training exercises eventually ended and the base closed.
It is hoped that after waiting over thirty years the family of Majella O'Hare will get both justice and closure.
Those on this Board who have made comments on this thread in derogation of what would be right are cheap weasel mouthed baggage carrying sneaking regarder scum whilst they may not be the murderers of Majella their minds appear to support the british in their anti Irish ways. Scum.
So this 14-year-old girl, who would have been born in 1995, managed to kill Majella O'Hare in 1976, 19 years before her own birth.
I'll have some of what you're having.*
*Apologies if your post was one big piece of satire. It can be a bit hard to tell around here sometimes.
You have to deal with people with different views than you. I'm not sure that you can expected to deal with people who join armed political organisations.
Tis truly heartening to see all of these fine specimens of Irish manhood support the right of the English armed forces to recruit impressionable Irish children to go off and fight aggressive and imperial wars on their behalf. Sure 1p off the price of a litre and we're all winners...
Amazing these people on here who are supporting a 14 year old in her right to murder a 12 year old walking to chapel in her own townland in our Country and think the 14 year old should be presented with a reward in her training to do the same.
Shame on youse.
Total and utter shame.
I think you've lost the plot.
Quote from: Ulick on November 30, 2011, 01:57:08 AM
Tis truly heartening to see all of these fine specimens of Irish manhood support the right of the English armed forces to recruit impressionable Irish children to go off and fight aggressive and imperial wars on their behalf.
I don't believe the Cadets are sent to fight wars.
Quote from: Orior on November 29, 2011, 09:54:21 PM
1. Has any GAA Board members got a Duke Duke Duke Duke of Earl Earl Earl Duke of Edinburgh award?
Ive got a silver, never got round to completing my gold - had the hike only remaining.
The Irish equivalent is the presidents award - Gaisce
Quote from: Tonto on November 29, 2011, 11:48:05 PM
Ok, if she's just like all British soldiers, I wonder if you could answer the following simple question: back in the day, do you think that a 14-year-old female who was an army cadet would have been a "legitimate" target? I mean, could Irish republicans have convinced themselves that booby-trapping her school bus was OK in the name of Irish freedom?
does tonto support the killing of Majella o'Hare?
Simpple yes or no. Thank-you.
All this talk of legitimate targets is a distraction. There are plenty of people I would avoid, but I don't advocate shooting them,
Quote from: Rossfan on November 30, 2011, 09:07:22 AM
Quote from: Tonto on November 29, 2011, 11:48:05 PM
does tonto support the killing of Majella o'Hare?
Simpple yes or no. Thank-you.
No.
Still waiting on an answer to my last question.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ghaawbn-1TM
Shame on youse.
Total and utter shame.
The Majella O'Hare killing aroused considerable concern at the time because of clear ambiguities in the account of the British army as to why shots had been fired. SDLP MLA Dominic Bradley said the HET report contradicts the Army's story.
"The soldier and the Parachute Regiment maintained there was a gunman present in the area on that day and that he had fired shots at them and that the soldier had returned fire.
"But as the HET report clearly shows that was not the case," Mr Bradley said.
"So the truth of Majella's death needs to be acknowledged by the British government."
A soldier, Private Michael Williams, was charged with manslaughter after an RUC investigation, but was acquitted in court.
Two weeks ago, the HET said it had sent a letter to Majella's mother, regarding its findings and that the final copy of its report would be sent to her in "four to six weeks".
An HET spokesman added: "The original RUC investigation found that Private Michael Williams was not returning fire at a gunman as he claimed and they recommended to prosecutors that he be charged with manslaughter.
The HET supports the findings of the original investigation. They also say the RUC investigation was thorough and good.
The killing of Majella also caused outrage and concern outside Ireland. On the Isle of Man her death led directly to the establishment of the `Anti-Militarist-Alliance' (members of Mec Vannin and the Manx branch of the Celtic League). The AMA subsequently campaigned against the use of the Isle of Man for training purposes by the British Army and the base at Jurby providing rest and recuperation for troops from Ireland. Training exercises eventually ended and the base closed.
It is hoped that after waiting over thirty years the family of Majella O'Hare will get both justice and closure.
Those on this Board who have made comments on this thread in derogation of what would be right are cheap weasel mouthed baggage carrying sneaking regarder scum whilst they may not be the murderers of Majella their minds appear to support the british in their anti Irish ways. Scum.
If there's a Duke of Edinburgh Award for being an Ignorant Bigoted Arsehole, you've got my nomination.
I wondered what Janet Devlin was doing now.
Bit of a storm in a teacup. However I think I would have understood Mr O Donnghaile's position better had he presented none or all of the awards.
I remember reading about an American woman who refused to allow any of her family to have any contact with any German who might have been alive during the Second World War. As far as she was concerned, every one of them was contaminated by the Holocaust. Talk about an extreme position. Wouldn't get anyone in Ireland carrying on that way, eh?
Quote from: AQMP on November 30, 2011, 10:33:23 AM
Bit of a storm in a teacup. However I think I would have understood Mr O Donnghaile's position better had he presented none or all of the awards.
I think this is exactly what those people condemning the mayor for his actions are pissed off about. Why is it about the Army Cadet and not about handing out these certificates?
Quote from: Muzz on November 30, 2011, 10:54:15 AM
Quote from: AQMP on November 30, 2011, 10:33:23 AM
I think this is exactly what those people condemning the mayor for his actions are pissed off about. Why is it about the Army Cadet and not about handing out these certificates?
Was the cadet sprung on him? Much and all as I loathe SF, they're usually quite good at gritting their teeth and doing the duty required of their post - people have referenced the Mayor of Cashel. Perhaps he panicked when he found himself in a situation about which he hadn't received instructions from the Politburo
Quote from: Orior on November 29, 2011, 09:54:21 PM
1. yes me, I have bronze, silver and gold, and went to St James's Palace to meet the Duke who was very funny and asked us if we met any Gaelish people when we did our expedition part in Donegal. I make no apologies for it. It was a teenage leadership scheme and I got a lot out of it.
2. It's the President's Award I think but know little to nothing about it.
Imagine the same uproar if a DUP major or whoever wouldn't hand an award to a U14 Camoige player getting a reward for her GAA achievements.
Quote from: Bingo on November 30, 2011, 11:15:03 AM
Imagine the same uproar if a DUP major or whoever wouldn't hand an award to a U14 Camoige player getting a reward for her GAA achievements.
So there we have it folks. It turns out that the Camogie Association is the Irish equivalent of the British Army.
WHO WANTS TO PLAY SPOT THE DIFFERENCE?:
(http://www.bbc.co.uk/wales/southwest/slideshows/images/rhian_3cadets400.jpg) (http://update.dit.ie/2011/21-02-11/news-briefs-camogie_clip_image002.jpg)
For anyone looking information on joining the Camogie Association, here's their website:
http://armycadets.com/ (http://armycadets.com/)
Oh shit sorry, that's the British Army Cadet website. I always get those two mixed up.
Quote from: Nally Stand on November 30, 2011, 11:21:08 AM
Quote from: Bingo on November 30, 2011, 11:15:03 AM
So there we have it folks. It turns out that the Camogie Association is the Irish equivalent of the British Army.
I knew i'd get a post like this. Sometimes you have to think about things first, I'll explain.
The people raving here about the Crimes that army have committed against the nationalist community as been reason why he was right.
The Unionist community would also say that the republican community have committed crimes against their communities and that the GAA is a big part of this and represents them.
I may not agree with this but sometimes you have to see it from the other side. Its not that along ago that a big deal was made about a unionist MLP about even attending a GAA match in Newry. Is it not oh so common for the GAA clubs to suffer attacks basically because they are GAA clubs?
Mr Whatabouteryweaselword has arrived to take the thread as far off track as possible.
Quote from: Bingo on November 30, 2011, 11:28:56 AM
I knew i'd get a post like this. Sometimes you have to think about things first, I'll explain.
I know. You make a simple parallel between the British Army Cadets and U14 Cagogie players and someone goes and takes you up on it. People can be so f**kin touchy!!
The people raving here about the Crimes that army have committed against the nationalist community as been reason why he was right.
Yeah, don't you just wish they would stop raving. Madmen the lot of them.
The Unionist community would also say that the republican community have committed crimes against their communities and that the GAA is a big part of this and represents them.
So we should pretend that they are right? Fair enough then....Bloody GAA, always attacking unionist homes...grrrr.
Quote from: Trout on November 30, 2011, 11:29:57 AM
Mr Whatabouteryweaselword has arrived to take the thread as far off track as possible.
I know. Imagine Bingo tying to turn it into a discussion about Camogie players >:(
Bingo the camogie association have never been involved in violence, they play sport, the cadets is a military organistion. Is there a semblance of a light on in there man!!! I do enjoy reading the banter on these threads, but I had to respond to that!!!
Don't bother, Bingo. They've found something they can use to distract from the main issue. Did you know Scientology takes people off drugs?
Quote from: shawshank on November 30, 2011, 11:42:49 AM
Bingo the camogie association have never been involved in violence, they play sport, the cadets is a military organistion. Is there a semblance of a light on in there man!!! I do enjoy reading the banter on these threads, but I had to respond to that!!!
You not seen some of the camoige matches in Monaghan :D
Yes, its a crazy comparison. My point was that if it had happened their would have been huge uproar from the same posters about the disgraceful actions and it could very well have happened given the unionists opinion of the GAA.
Its a ridiculous situation a grown man shunning a 14 year old year. Its as ridiculous as my comparison.
I thought Sinn Fein wanted us all to "move on".
Quote from: deiseach on November 30, 2011, 11:47:10 AM
Don't bother, Bingo. They've found something they can use to distract from the main issue. Did you know Scientology takes people off drugs?
"THEY" :D I hadn't posted on the thread up until this morning because it is a daft thread about a daft story. Storm in a very small little teacup that the usual suspects are using to whinge about SF. Let "THEM" at it. But when somone starts drawing parallels between the British Army Cadets and U14 Camogie palyers, it goes beyond the realms of silly season. As does the subsequent attempt to justify it by saying that Unionist people regard the GAA as being involved in attacks on unionists communities.
I think it's ridiculous. Who's to say the young girl will go on and pursue a military career anyway?
What's the difference between that and him laying a wreath for British soldiers at the cenotaph anyway?
Quote from: Bingo on November 30, 2011, 11:49:51 AM
Yes, its a crazy comparison. My point was that if it had happened their would have been huge uproar from the same posters about the disgraceful actions and it could very well have happened given the unionists opinion of the GAA.
Its a ridiculous situation a grown man shunning a 14 year old year. Its as ridiculous as my comparison.
Sorry your comaprsion was worst, but the man has shown no diplomacy, he should have been bigger than that, and have completed the presentation. If a Sinn Finn major can attend rememberance sunday, this should have been a walk in the park for him.
I know it's a small point but members of the ACF are technically
not members of the British Army though the organisation is "sponsored" by the British Army, whatever that entails.
Quote from: Nally Stand on November 30, 2011, 11:53:50 AM
"THEY" :D I hadn't posted on the thread up until this morning because it is a daft thread about a daft story. Storm in a very small little teacup that the usual suspects are using to whinge about SF. Let "THEM" at it. But when somone starts drawing parallels between the British Army Cadets and U14 Camogie palyers, it goes beyond the realms of silly season. As does the subsequent attempt to justify it by saying that Unionist people regard the GAA as being involved in attacks on unionists communities.
Yes, thats why GAA clubhouses have never been burned out or why for years the GAA community suffered about checkpoints delaying them going to games or why GAA members were shot because they were just members of the GAA doing their community roles as GAA officer.
No all these attacks happened because they disagreed with the introduction of the blanket defence ::) ::)
Quote from: Bingo on November 30, 2011, 12:03:11 PM
Yes, thats why GAA clubhouses have never been burned out or why for years the GAA community suffered about checkpoints delaying them going to games or why GAA members were shot because they were just members of the GAA doing their community roles as GAA officer.
No all these attacks happened because they disagreed with the introduction of the blanket defence ::) ::)
No, it's because the media have forever been attempting to portray the GAA as the "Catholic equivilant" of the Orange Order. So as a result of this falacy, when seamus goes out and burns an orange hall, billy goes out and burns a GAA club. Good to see good Monagahan men like yourself keeping such bogus comparisons alive though. Any wonder clubs like Edendork have to rebuild clubrooms. As for british soldiers and ruc men attacking and harrassing people going to training and to matches (I have endured enough of it in my time to have an idea), it wasn't because they believed the GAA were attacking unionist communities, it was because going to a gaa match identified you as a 'fenian'. Plain and simple.
This guy is not a dick, far from it. Lets's look at the facts. He agreed to present Duke of Edinburgh Awards to my mind a step forward. During the course of the organisation some one pointed out that one of the award winners was in the Army Cadets. Given his constituency and the still raw sensitivities in some nationalist areas regarding the behaviour of the army during the conflict he quietly arranged for the presentation to be shared with the Chairman of the organisers. The girl was unaware that this was not the original intention. The real dick here is Mike Nesbitt and the UUP who brought this to the media's attention thus singling this girl out. Now personally it wouldn't bother me if he had presented her with her award but it does to the people he represents and would give further ammo if you'll pardon the pun to the dissidents. I have watched this guy closely and he is continuously stretching out the hand of friendship... what do the Unionist's do? they attack him disingeniously. He recent visited the cenotaph with a VIP, I can't remember the exact circumstances, the response from unionists was to pillory him for not attending remembrance Sunday. The Unionist parties only want a shared future on their terms...no Irish need apply, croppies lie down, take your pick.
Quote from: shawshank on November 30, 2011, 11:57:02 AM
Quote from: Bingo on November 30, 2011, 11:49:51 AM
Sorry your comaprsion was worst, but the man has shown no diplomacy, he should have been bigger than that, and have completed the presentation. If a Sinn Finn major can attend rememberance sunday, this should have been a walk in the park for him.
If a member of a party which is currently administering British rule in Ireland can hand out Duke of Edinburgh (google him: he's the old guy wearing any one of a number of British Army or Royal Navy outfits) award certificates to a group of proud and excited kids...ah feck it. It's too obvious even to spell out.
To some of my nationalist brethren on here, it is one thing being aware of the sensitivities of a constituency to the British Army, but some of the comparisons with atrocities committed during the conflict and a 14 yo girl cadet don't stack up...they are ridiculous.
There is a tradition within unionism to cling to anything that sets them apart as British, the Cadets, BB,GB, Scouts Junior OO etc. It's their culture, one I don't understand but surely it is their right to express it provided it doesn't offend. Just as it is the Mayor's right to dissent.
Quote from: Applesisapples on November 30, 2011, 12:26:20 PM
This guy is not a dick, far from it. Lets's look at the facts. He agreed to present Duke of Edinburgh Awards to my mind a step forward. During the course of the organisation some one pointed out that one of the award winners was in the Army Cadets. Given his constituency and the still raw sensitivities in some nationalist areas regarding the behaviour of the army during the conflict he quietly arranged for the presentation to be shared with the Chairman of the organisers. The girl was unaware that this was not the original intention. The real dick here is Mike Nesbitt and the UUP who brought this to the media's attention thus singling this girl out. Now personally it wouldn't bother me if he had presented her with her award but it does to the people he represents and would give further ammo if you'll pardon the pun to the dissidents. I have watched this guy closely and he is continuously stretching out the hand of friendship... what do the Unionist's do? they attack him disingeniously. He recent visited the cenotaph with a VIP, I can't remember the exact circumstances, the response from unionists was to pillory him for not attending remembrance Sunday. The Unionist parties only want a shared future on their terms...no Irish need apply, croppies lie down, take your pick.
Okay, I'll grant you that his record until this event was pretty promising. On this occasion, he was thrown a surprise, had to think on his feet, and made completely the wrong decision. I will therefore withdraw my statement that he is a complete dick and say, merely, that on this occasion, he acted like a complete dick.
QuoteThere is a tradition within unionism to cling to anything that sets them apart as British, the Cadets, BB,GB, Scouts Junior OO etc.
When I was in the scouts i didn't realise that I was simply clinging to being british - in fact that didnt really play much into it at all.
Mostly I went hiking, played sports etc.
Quote from: nifan on November 30, 2011, 01:26:57 PM
QuoteThere is a tradition within unionism to cling to anything that sets them apart as British, the Cadets, BB,GB, Scouts Junior OO etc.
When I was in the scouts i didn't realise that I was simply clinging to being british - in fact that didnt really play much into it at all.
So you prove the rule, the point I'm making is that there isn't anything wrong with this, whatever your reasons for participating. Perhaps the scouts are not as obvious an example but BB,GB and Cadets are organised along military lines.
What is it with the British and putting young kids into uniform?
(http://i648.photobucket.com/albums/uu206/Hardyarse/artane-band.png)
Because the "war" is over?
(http://i648.photobucket.com/albums/uu206/Hardyarse/Chirac-merkel.png)
Quote from: fitzroyalty on November 30, 2011, 11:55:17 AM
I think it's ridiculous. Who's to say the young girl will go on and pursue a military career anyway?
What's the difference between that and him laying a wreath for British soldiers at the cenotaph anyway?
This one is alive and dangerous!
Quote from: Applesisapples on November 30, 2011, 01:34:43 PM
So you prove the rule, the point I'm making is that there isn't anything wrong with this, whatever your reasons for participating. Perhaps the scouts are not as obvious an example but BB,GB and Cadets are organised along military lines.
Actually, I was in the BB and didn't know it was "British" at all... my friends were going so I went too. It wasn't much fun, mind you, so I left.
Quote from: Tonto on November 30, 2011, 02:55:25 PM
Actually, I was in the BB and didn't know it was "British" at all... my friends were going so I went too. It wasn't much fun, mind you, so I left.
Splitter!
Quote from: Hardy on November 30, 2011, 02:16:32 PM
This one is alive and dangerous!
...there was me thinking that it was just down to loyalist/unionist sectarianism and no thought of anything in relation to 'retaliation' at all !
it makes me wonder even more what then was the motive for the b specials/ruc etc spreading broken glass around GAA pitches the nights before matches in the mid 60's?
Getting their retaliation in 5 years early perhaps?
Sorry - my point is that your point here is a bit ludicrous.
As ludicrous as the stupid actions of this sf eejit - though its getting a bit out of hand on here and god only knows what the unionist/loyalist media and dup'ers will try to do with it !
Quote from: Tonto on November 30, 2011, 02:55:25 PM
Tonto, would that make you one of the Old Boys of the Brigade or one of the Boys of the Old Brigade?
Surely the BB was just the scouts with a bit of extra bible bashing thrown in?
Quote from: EC Unique on November 29, 2011, 10:04:16 PM
Quote from: red hander on November 29, 2011, 08:00:05 PM
Lol. The milky bar kid for the front line!
That aint me, I swear!!! :)
Quote from: passedit on November 30, 2011, 04:17:33 PM
Surely the BB was just the scouts with a bit of extra bible bashing thrown in?
Aye - dont think id have stayed in the scouts if i had the bible bit to deal with - we already had sunday school to deal with :-X
Quote from: lynchbhoy on November 30, 2011, 04:07:02 PM
...there was me thinking that it was just down to loyalist/unionist sectarianism and no thought of anything in relation to 'retaliation' at all !
it makes me wonder even more what then was the motive for the b specials/ruc etc spreading broken glass around GAA pitches the nights before matches in the mid 60's?
Getting their retaliation in 5 years early perhaps?
Sorry - my point is that your point here is a bit ludicrous.
As ludicrous as the stupid actions of this sf eejit - though its getting a bit out of hand on here and god only knows what the unionist/loyalist media and dup'ers will try to do with it !
In terms of recent arsons on GAA clubrooms, (note I was referring to recent ones), the motivation was most certainly retaliation (obviously there was naked sectarianism there too which is hardly shocking news), but this sectarianism only facilitated the retaliatons. If you don't believe me, read about the activities of the 'Orange Volunteers' on wiki. They openly stated retaliation as their motivation.
Lord Mayor (how republican is that?) Niall Donnelly was not representing the Short Strand, he is supposed to be representing all the people of Belfast, as he said he would when he took up the role. If he feels he can't, and it is obvious he can't, he should step down.
Quote from: Trout on November 30, 2011, 05:24:20 PM
Lord Mayor (how republican is that?) Niall Donnelly was not representing the Short Strand, he is supposed to be representing all the people of Belfast, as he said he would when he took up the role. If he feels he can't, and it is obvious he can't, he should step down.
If he was a Fine Gael Councillor, say in Naas, refusing to represent part of his constituency he would be rightly hounded out of his job.
Don't see what the GAA has to do with this. SF weasel words trying to manipulate the situation, me thinks.
The long and short of this is this, if any of us were up on that stage (having accepted the British role of Lord Mayor of Belfast) would we have seen a 14 year old army cadet and thought "can't be seen giving this f**king bitch an award?".
Quote from: trileacman on November 30, 2011, 05:45:11 PM
Don't see what the GAA has to do with this. SF weasel words trying to manipulate the situation, me thinks.
The long and short of this is this, if any of us were up on that stage (having accepted the British role of Lord Mayor of Belfast) would we have seen a 14 year old army cadet and thought "can't be seen giving this f**king bitch an award?".
Bingo brought the GAA into it when he drew a parallel between the British Army Cadets and U14 Camogie players. So nope, it wasn't a SFer trying to manipulate it. Woopsie.
Quote from: trileacman on November 30, 2011, 05:45:11 PM
No.
If he was taking an idealogical stand as an Irish Republican he would/should have refused the Duke of Edinburgh gig in its entirety (wiki will tell you that he is the ceremonial head of umpteen armed forces including the Army Cadets). To focus on one wee girl wearing a uniform has made him look like a dick.
Quote from: Tony Baloney on November 30, 2011, 06:04:49 PM
If he was taking an idealogical stand as an Irish Republican he would/should have refused the Duke of Edinburgh gig in its entirety
In which case, you would
still be on gaaboard venting your disgust at him for doing so.
Yeh, I mean to say, it's not as if Republicans would ever engage in that sort of activity, would they?
(http://i51.tinypic.com/207nxh4.jpg)
"Children have appeared dressed up as republican paramilitaries and brandishing replica guns in a south Armagh community centre which has received hundreds of thousands of pounds in EU funds.
The children, some of primary school age, were photographed at the Ti Chulainn cultural centre in Mullaghbawn.
They were wearing balaclavas, combat jackets and trousers, dark glasses and berets, and brandishing replica weapons including AK47s and Armalites.
A complaint has been made to the Children's Commissioner Patricia Lewsley. The PSNI will also be asked to investigate.
Despite several telephone calls and written questions submitted by the Belfast Telegraph, no-one from the Ti Chulainn centre would comment on the matter.
The photographs were posted on a social networking website by a Lurgan Sinn Fein member."Hmmm. A "Lurgan Sinn Fein Member"...
If only we had some way of contacting him/her, to find out some more of what he/she was really thinking, eh
Donagh Ulick?
Quote from: red hander on November 29, 2011, 06:53:50 PMWhat is it with the British and putting young kids into uniform? I'd be more critical of that than someone sticking to their principles, which is a rare occurrence for the Shinners these days
"Sticking to his principles", was he?
As someone noted on another site:
"Did it at any stage dawn on this moron that he was presenting the 'Duke of Edinburgh Award'?
If he was taking it up the arse from British Imperialism then he may as well have been double penetrated."(Well it made me laugh out loud, anyway... :D )
Quote from: Forever Green on November 29, 2011, 06:21:10 PMAye, sure he should present an award to a member of an army that has terrorised this place for years. Dont give a f**k what age they were, they are still part of a force who have no right to be getting awards presented to them by an Irishman. Although I am no fan of Sinn Fein, well done to him
If you're "no fan of Sinn Fein", might it be because you prefer the sort of Republicanism which thinks this 14 year old Cadet to be a "legitimate target", by any chance?
(http://i.dailymail.co.uk/i/pix/2008/07/02/article-1031256-01D3F34200000578-381_233x379.jpg)
On Wednesday evening February 22, 14-year-old Stephen Menary turned up early at his Territorial Army Cadets group in West London. He was so keen to get there that, as usual, he was almost the first to arrive.
'I walked towards one of the fences when I noticed a torch on the ground,' he says. 'I assumed someone had dropped it, so I picked it up and walked back with it towards the barracks.'
In fact, what Stephen had picked up was a bomb, disguised as a torch. It had been left close to a tree, waiting to kill or maim anyone who, like Stephen, innocently picked it up.
'When I got to the barracks, I turned it on to see if it would work. Instead I heard this weird sound that made my ears ring.
'I screamed. Suddenly there were a lot of people around me. One put pressure on my left arm, which I later realised was to stop it bleeding. I'd been standing up, but I remember saying: "I'm tired now, so I'm going to lie down and go to sleep." A sergeant major kept talking to me - I suspect to try to keep me awake.
'Within minutes, the Army paramedics arrived. My arm was throbbing and my face and stomach started hurting. Although I couldn't see anything, I didn't feel frightened. I could recognise voices and somehow pictured the scene - although not of course my injuries.'
Stephen suffered severe wounds to his chest and stomach, lost a hand, virtually all his sight and much of his hearing; but he and his family know he is lucky to be alive.
No group has claimed responsibility for this despicable and cowardly act, but security sources believe the Real IRA were responsible.
Despite the fact that he has had eight major operations, including painful skin grafts on his stomach, Stephen, now 15, refuses to feel sorry for himself, or to allow anyone to be over-protective.
When I arrived at his West London council house, he almost jumped down the stairs, two at a time, to say 'Hello'. I wanted to shout 'Please be careful', but managed to stop myself in time. He wouldn't have been pleased.
'My attitude,' he says, displaying a maturity well beyond his years, 'is that when something bad happens to you, you can either feel down for ages - and then pull yourself up and get on with it. Or just get on with it, which is what I believe. I refuse to feel bitter.'
His mother Carol, 40, looks at her son proudly. 'I'm not surprised how brave and strong he's been,' she says. 'Our problem has been getting Stephen to realise his limitations. We often have to rein him back.'
Stephen had taken a day off from Linden Lodge School for the visually impaired in Wimbledon, South London, for an appointment at Moorfields Eye Hospital. He told me he has an important decision to make.
'My left eye is getting worse,' he says. 'I can only make out outlines of objects in black and white, and I've recently been registered blind. I now have to choose whether or not to have another corneal graft. It could improve my sight, but it may also detach the retina - which will mean I will go completely blind.'
Tragically, Stephen had his right eye removed due to a cancerous growth when he was four months old. But his mother is convinced that it was having only one eye that saved his life.
'Because he can only focus with his left eye, he held the bomb to the left of his body rather than centrally. So although he was seriously injured, the blast didn't tear into his vital organs.'Read more: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-83118/Blind-courage-bomb-victim-Stephen.html#ixzz1fDOtGToz
I hadn't posted on the thread up until this morning because it is a daft thread about a daft story.
Or, you hadn't posted until someone threw in a distracting reference to the GAA so you could join in whilst avoiding the matter at hand?
So, was he right to present the awards? If so, was he right to refuse to present the award to this one child?