The most coveted and second most coveted prizes in the world of sport are up for grabs again.
Who won last time any one remember?
Meath v Wexford
Louth v Kilkenny
Wicklow v College
Longford v College
Kildare v College
Offaly v Westmeath
Carlow v Dublin
Laois v College
All games to be played on the 8th of January 2012.
Nice game to start of with for us against de Yella-Bellys and then the Cats unless Louth can cause an upset.
(http://www.sportsfile.com/winshare/watermarked-b/Library/SF673/485113.jpg)
that would be the second most coveted.
But coveted nonetheless.
*rubs hands*
Can't wait. The highlight(s) of the Longford football year.
A war of bad football with Wicklow to be savoured if we both get over the drunken students.
Nothing like a local derby to clear the vocal passageway in the new year.
Who are this college crowd? They are playing a heap of games.
Quote from: Dinny Breen on November 17, 2011, 12:06:32 PM
Who are this college crowd? They are playing a heap of games.
They must be loaded as well paying 4 entry fees.
Between Meath training during the training ban in Corduff jersies in Monaghan and Kildare approaching half of the Inter county players in Ireland to play for them next year, you'd have to rule out Dublin.
I'm going for the sleeping giant to retain it in 2012 with Seanie Johnson scoring the winner in the final.
Quote from: heffo on November 20, 2011, 01:53:55 PM
Between Meath training during the training ban in Corduff jersies in Monaghan and Kildare approaching half of the Inter county players in Ireland to play for them next year, you'd have to rule out Dublin.
I'm going for the sleeping giant to retain it in 2012 with Seanie Johnson scoring the winner in the final.
That's none of your business.
Quote from: Jinxy on November 20, 2011, 08:51:49 PM
That's none of your business.
Tis Jinxy. Tis.
What is the problem with that?
We're just offering players from so-called weaker counties outside of Leinster the opportunity of a lifetime to play in the same province as the mighty Dubs - the all conquering All-Ireland Champions.
The Dubs will have their own province soon so they can play with themselves.
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on November 20, 2011, 10:32:54 PM
We're just offering players from so-called weaker counties outside of Leinster the opportunity of a lifetime to play in the same province as the mighty Dubs
Don't be so coy DH, they're being offered a lot more than that.
Quote from: heffo on November 21, 2011, 08:23:06 AM
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on November 20, 2011, 10:32:54 PM
We're just offering players from so-called weaker counties outside of Leinster the opportunity of a lifetime to play in the same province as the mighty Dubs
Don't be so coy DH, they're being offered a lot more than that.
Unless Messrs McCreevy and McManus are offering up their state pensions for the year it ain't money cause we got none!
http://www.examiner.ie/sport/lilywhites-tackle-200000-deficit-172693.html (http://www.examiner.ie/sport/lilywhites-tackle-200000-deficit-172693.html)
http://www.examiner.ie/sport/gaa/business-gurus-get-behind-kildare-173906.html (http://www.examiner.ie/sport/gaa/business-gurus-get-behind-kildare-173906.html)
Longford's new county team sponsor is Glennons' Sawmills so the Bihatimber is surely ours in 2012.
In further news I see Bord na Mona are sponsoring this year's competition.
It's Offaly's to lose so :-\
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on December 02, 2011, 09:19:06 AM
The prize for the winner is a bale of briquettes.
That's worth winning. Great heat out of Briquettes. Especially in February.
Good luck with the briquettes. Longford black turf is this side of coal. Great stuff. Auld fella has rights of some sort to cut same. Not sure if Ming and his merry men are for him or agin him.
So - should it now be the O'Burn Cup?
I'll get me coat.
Bord na Móna HQ is in Newbridge :P
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on December 02, 2011, 04:25:07 PM
Bord na Móna HQ is in Newbridge :P
Only because rates were too high in Tullamore. Once they realised their was no turf in Baggott Street, Newbridge was nice and cheap, and not too far for all the Offaly lads who go to HO.
Surely there is more bog in Offaly than there is in Kildare.
Good thing/bad thing is open to debate.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CVVGhsHvg9Y&feature=related (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CVVGhsHvg9Y&feature=related)
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on December 02, 2011, 04:13:24 PM
Good luck with the briquettes. Longford black turf is this side of coal. Great stuff. Auld fella has rights of some sort to cut same. Not sure if Ming and his merry men are for him or agin him.
So - should it now be the O'Burn Cup?
I'll get me coat.
That all sounds legal and above board. :D
Quote from: thejuice on November 16, 2011, 05:00:04 PM
The most coveted and second most coveted prizes in the world of sport are up for grabs again.
Meath v Wexford
Louth v Kilkenny
Wicklow v College
Longford v College
Kildare v College
Offaly v Westmeath
Carlow v Dublin
Laois v College
Nice game to start of with for us against de Yella-Bellys and then the Cats unless Louth can cause an upset.
Who are the colleges ??
Is DCU one of them ??
Quote from: Farneylawd2011 on December 04, 2011, 11:41:21 AM
Quote from: thejuice on November 16, 2011, 05:00:04 PM
Meath v Wexford
Louth v Kilkenny
Wicklow v College
Longford v College
Kildare v College
Offaly v Westmeath
Carlow v Dublin
Laois v College
Who are the colleges ??
Is DCU one of them ??
Dates Venue
1. Meath v Wexford
Navan
2. Louth v Kilkenny
Drogheda
3. Wicklow v D.C.U.
Aughrim
4. Longford v A.I.T.
Longford
5. Kildare v D.I.T.
Newbridge
6. Offaly v Westmeath
Tullmore
7. Carlow v Dublin
Carlow
8. Laois v U.C.D.
Portlaoise
9. 1 v 2
Home Venue 1
10. 3 v 4
Home Venue 3
11. 5 v 6
Home Venue 5
12. 7 v 8
Home Venue 6
13. 9 v 10
Home Venue 9
14. 11 v 12
Home Venue 11
CRAOBH : 13 v 14 29.1.2012
Home Venue 13
Anyone else feeling the tension?
How long is it now till throw in.
I'm already pacing the floor.
God I hate Wexford. >:(
Quote from: Jinxy on December 07, 2011, 07:36:17 PM
God I hate Wexford. >:(
Yeah, and Mattie Forde wasn't that good really.
The ref handed it to them in 2008 as well.
Anything out of Wexford creameries is only fit for greasing the chain on an aul bike.
Sure no one can speak Yola anyway, ye stupid wexford ejits.
Tickets being distributed to the clubs on Tuesday next
It's a good idea they have this year, showing your ticket stubs so you're eligible to buy a ticket for a game this January. Proper order, rewarding the real fans, not them jokers who turn up for the final or the shield final.
Nothing worse than being stuck standing beside some gobshite sunshine supporter on a wet and miserable Sunday down in Portarlington or Bagenalstown at the Shield semi-final who didn't bother his hole going to the glorious first round exit against Athlone or Dundalk IT.
Yep. Just so they can go home and say they were at the O'Byrne Shield Final in 2012 when Offaly beat Cistercian College Roscrea by a goal.
I c Longford Chairman Pat Cahill has suggested that Longford enter Connaught for the championship.
I have no objection to this - as long as we can stay in the O'Byrne Cup.
Well, Nigel Crawford, the last All-Ireland medallist in our squad has ruled himself out of the team for 2012. He refused to say he retired and I suspect this is down to being out of favour with the manager rather than getting too old for it at 32.
Shane O'Rourke will be out for the O'Byrne and League competitions as he will be getting surgery on a hip injury. I feel sorry for the lad, he's had more than his fair share of operations and still a very young fella. Maybe they could shorten his legs a wee bit while he's in there and get him a bit closer to the ground for the low ball.
Hopefully we will see the return of David Bray, Mick Burke and Brian Sheridan to the squad. It will be very interesting to see who gets a run out with the county this year. There have been a few young hopefuls that should be making the grade soon enough.
Nigel was a great servant to his county.
Hope he enjoys his retirement.
Was at the Dubs All Ireland medals presentation on Sun night.
Seemingly Dubs won the Bihatimber last Jan. But was it there beside Sam.
It was not.
I was not amused >:(
Yeah, they bet us in a titanic struggle after extra-time in Parnell Park.
Never felt so low after a game.
There wasn't a word spoken in the car on the way home.
In fairness, I was on my own but I'd normally sing along with the radio.
I share the pain Jinxy.
I share the pain.
But it coud have been worse..........it could hae been Westmeath!
that was a great game, thought we had them, started well but lost midfield. Only for the penalty and a bit of Sheridan magic it wouldn't have got to extra time.
Never mind. Banty will have added "Bihatimber finalist 2011" to his CV. This will immeasurably complement his much touted progress in improving the team's performance from eight league and championship wins in 2010 under O'Brien to three in 2011 under the Monaghan Messiah.
Ah but now these is a great bunch o lads who wud die fir de meed people
Jaysus with every other county in Leinster blatently flouting the winter ban Dubin are in for some hiding from Carlow on the 10th.
Quote from: heffo on December 22, 2011, 08:58:55 AM
Jaysus with every other county in Leinster blatently flouting the winter ban Dubin are in for some hiding from Carlow on the 10th.
Carlow have a White Collar Boxing event on the 30th, they hope to box the heads of the Dubs when they meet.
Quote from: Dinny Breen on December 22, 2011, 03:31:53 PM
Carlow have a White Collar Boxing event on the 30th, they hope to box the heads of the Dubs when they meet.
Our season could be all over by the 12th
Cian Ward says he hasn't breached the training ban and I believe him.
There are those would say that Cian should reconsider. Not I.
I'm probably ok.
I haven't trained since October
October 1984
Baa boom tish
Right, not long to go, can feel the tension already, By jaysus! Wont be able to sleep till Sunday night.
No Meath team as yet, Banty not a one to give much away before the big games.
Well from what I could gather:
Quit/Off panel:Peadar Byrne
Paddy O'Rourke
Terry Skelly
Injured:Kevin Reilly
David Bray
Jamie Queeny
Shane O'Rourke
Mark Ward
Not sure if injured, might play:Graham Geraghty
Wexford (SF v Meath): QuoteT Hughes;
N Murphy, F Lancaster, S Culleton;
L Chin, G Molloy, A Doyle;
D Waters, A Shore;
E Bradley, B Brosnan, PJ Banville;
P Byrne, K O'Grady, K Rowe.
If we lose to this shower I'm ripping up my season ticket.
All counties struggling to keep a lid on the hype so it seems.
It has all got too much for the Kilkenny lads already:
http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/sport/2012/0105/1224309831252.html (http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/sport/2012/0105/1224309831252.html)
I'd say there's no shortage of men lining up to replace Dick Mullins.
Joking aside, how are the Kilkenny Co. Board allowed to carry on like this?
Couldn't agree more Hardy. Different rules for de cats
Ticket for Sunday's game has fallen through at the last minute.
Have to stick to Shiteside it seems!
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on January 06, 2012, 12:39:45 PM
Ticket for Sunday's game has fallen through at the last minute.
Have to stick to Shiteside it seems!
They're up on E-Bay - 200 a pop...
Quote from: thejuice on January 05, 2012, 05:59:53 PM
Wexford (SF v Meath):
QuoteT Hughes;
N Murphy, F Lancaster, S Culleton;
L Chin, G Molloy, A Doyle;
D Waters, A Shore;
E Bradley, B Brosnan, PJ Banville;
P Byrne, K O'Grady, K Rowe.
Keep an eye out for Wexford's new Chinese wing back, Loo Pee Chin. Supposed to be deadly!
Gilroy anxious not to give Carlow any advantage, so won't name the team until shortly before throw-in.
A few new faces in the squad, including one just out of minor, half back John Small from Ballymun Kickhams. I was hoping they'd bring Ciaran Kilkenny straight into the senor squad, but that doesnt seem to be the case.
Quote from: Hound on January 06, 2012, 03:56:58 PM
Gilroy anxious not to give Carlow any advantage, so won't name the team until shortly before throw-in.
A few new faces in the squad, including one just out of minor, half back John Small from Ballymun Kickhams. I was hoping they'd bring Ciaran Kilkenny straight into the senor squad, but that doesnt seem to be the case.
Ciaran Kilkenny is off to Oz Hound, big loss for ye.
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on January 06, 2012, 04:14:07 PM
Not till after he finishes his Leaving Cert this year.
Being involved with the senior team might give a small chance of him changing his mind
I hope I sleep tonight! Nerves are kicking in. Do you think the Athlone students are off the beer tonight? Me arse!
all games set for a 2oclock throw in
I've a great feeling we're going to hammer Wexford.
a bit early to be drinking Jinxy is it not?
Dubs have named strong side for today game against Carlow
Dublin (v Carlow) Savage; O'Sullivan, Fitzsimons, Daly, K Connolly, Brennan, Small, MDMA, McConnell; Lally, McCarthy, P Brogan, Andrews,Fennell, Connolly.
Carlow(v Dublin) O'Reilly Molloy LawlorNolan Lambe Bolger Kavanagh Murphy Foley Murphy Murphy Finnegan Reid Coughlan Ledger
Meath 0-06
Wexford 0-00
after 10 mins
Meath 0-07
Wexford 0-00
all that December training cough cough rest over the winter seems to have paid off.
Meath 0-07
Wexford 1-00
goal from banville
Meath 0-07
Wexford 1-01
Meath 0-07
Wexford 1-02
meath are being beaten for everything after a promising start.
Meath 0-07
Wexford 1-03
Meath 0-08
Wexford 1-03
Meath 0-09
Wexford 1-03
Meath 0-11
Wexford 1-03
half time
Quote from: thejuice on January 08, 2012, 02:27:58 PM
Meath 0-07
Wexford 1-02
meath are being beaten for everything after a promising start.
I think we had the wind behind us for the first half of the first half.
On the plus side, we're actually kicking points.
Meath 1-11
Wexford 1-05
Meath 1-12
Wexford 1-07
Who got the goal for us Juice?
Meath 1-12
Wexford 1-09
thomas walsh got the goal
Meath 1-13
Wexford 1-09
Meath 1-13
Wexford 1-10
injury time
Thats all she wrote
Louth up next
A 3 point win.
That's a hammering in any mans language.
dublin 0-16 carlow 0-9
Juice were you at it or just listening on the radio.
Who played well?
Leaving Carlow now. Handy win in the end.
How did Eamonn Fennell go at full forward?
Never mind, I'm sure he'll tweet a blow by blow account later.
The glory days are back!
Good to see Chris O'Connor back in the squad and Mickey Burke back from his broken leg.
Some good ones from the LMFM commentator:
"I don't think either team would relish extra time. I don't think the crowd would either."
"The linesman is making a signal for two minutes' additional time. At least that's the signal I hope he's making."
They're fierce droll altogether on LMFM. :D
Kildare 2-11 DIT 0-09
Decent run out for Kildare but they'll probably have tougher matches between themselves in training because DIT were very poor. I think they only kicked a single score from play and some of the frees they were given were almost sympathy decisions from the referee. Kildare had a very strong team out:
Shane Connolly, Peter Kelly, Ciarán Fitzpatrick, Ollie Lyons, Gary White, Brian Flanagan (Mark Scanlon), Eoghan O'Flaherty, Daryl Flynn, Pádraig O'Neill (Ken Donnelly), Ronan Sweeney (Conor Brophy), Mikey Conway, Éamonn Callaghan (James Kavanagh), Alan Smith, Tomás O'Connor, Fionn Dowling (Dessie Lawlor)
Scorers: Sweeney 1-2, O'Neill 1-2, Dowling 0-2, Kavanagh 0-2, O'Flaherty 0-2 (1f), Conway 0-1 (1f)
Next round:
Meath v Louth
DCU v Longford
Kildare v Offaly
Dublin v UCD
I'm hearing DCU had two players sent off today any idea who?
Quote from: Jinxy on January 08, 2012, 03:47:16 PM
How did Eamonn Fennell go at full forward?
Never mind, I'm sure he'll tweet a blow by blow account later.
He didn't play FF. Came one for last 10 minutes wearing 14 but went midfield. Wintered well but scored a nice point.
Great win for Offaly in front of tens of supporters. Beat the Westmeathians back over the border. 3-6 to 0-7.
Hope we can keep our feet on the ground after that.
Quote from: Hardy on January 08, 2012, 03:48:52 PM
Good to see Chris O'Connor back in the squad and Mickey Burke back from his broken leg.
Is that yer man with the hair?
Juice
Just to be pedantic it's actually
Longford v DCU
Home venue for us. We struggled for a long time agin Artlone. Fussy ref I believe in some areas but one Longford player seems to have been lucky not to walk.
Quote from: heffo on January 08, 2012, 05:25:26 PM
Quote from: Hardy on January 08, 2012, 03:48:52 PM
Is that yer man with the hair?
(http://www.karatemart.com/images/products/main/samurai-warrior-wig.jpg)
Copious amounts of it. If I have the right lad, he had all the auld Meath lads tut-tutting. What's wrong with a good Mick Lyons haircut?
Who do we play after Louth?
After Louth its Longford.
Then its the winners of the Superbowl and Olympic synchronized swimming combined, though I'm not 100% sure of that.
I'd would worry about getting over DCU but if we do end up playing the Royals I will be either in Longford or Navan.
Final could be switched to Croke Park if it's Longford v Dublin.
Jesus - our hearts were broken a few years ago in Parnell Park when Dubs scored two late goals in floodlight final. That was a superb match. It was amazing the number of texts I got from lads watching it live on TG4. I couldnt believe that anyone would be tuned in.
I think it's a worthy competition as the gate, after, ahem, expenses, goes into a players' fund and now that Bord na Mona are on board there is a few extra bob.
Plus they throw in a few bales of briquettes for the shield winners.
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on January 08, 2012, 08:01:48 PM
I'd would worry about getting over DCU but if we do end up playing the Royals I will be either in Longford or Navan.
Final could be switched to Croke Park if it's Longford v Dublin.
Jesus - our hearts were broken a few years ago in Parnell Park when Dubs scored two late goals in floodlight final. That was a superb match. It was amazing the number of texts I got from lads watching it live on TG4. I couldnt believe that anyone would be tuned in.
I think it's a worthy competition as the gate, after, ahem, expenses, goes into a players' fund and now that Bord na Mona are on board there is a few extra bob.
Yeah was a cracking game alright. Was at it and there was some celebrating afterwards even for an O'BC game. One of those strange breed of games that takes legs once a game starts way beyond the actual competition involved. Jayo struck twice iirc to win it.
Truth be told I was half hoping Longford would have won it. Think the Longford minors beat us later that year as well.
I see Banty has brought in Derval O'Rourkes coach, Sean Cahill from Skryne.
Good move in my view.
We badly need to improve our speed.
Quote from: Hound on January 06, 2012, 04:49:50 PM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on January 06, 2012, 04:14:07 PM
Not till after he finishes his Leaving Cert this year.
Being involved with the senior team might give a small chance of him changing his mind
I think that would be rather foolish, couldn't see Gilroy accommodating him either on the off chance he has a change of heart. I presume though that he will be involved with the U21s since it'll be completed before the Leaving. You never know, like many before him he could be back in a couple of years.
Quote from: AZOffaly on January 08, 2012, 05:22:46 PM
Great win for Offaly in front of tens of supporters. Beat the Westmeathians back over the border. 3-6 to 0-7.
Hope we can keep our feet on the ground after that.
Goals win games and Mulhall had us in bother from the start. Fair play to young Sheridan though, he stuck with it and came to grips with him as the game wore on. Interesting to see both teams drop men back, hope it's not a sign of copycat tactics for the season ahead. After seeing the team Kildare had out I'm glad we didn't prevail, they would have chewn up the young lads. A victory over DIT is very achievable next Sunday and another competitive outing will stand to us ahead of the league.
Westmeath highlights were: the return to competitive action of Natchie (great to see him back after a year out, gave great leadership, looked lean and keen and made a couple of his trademark lung bursting runs in behind the opposition) McCormacks display inside (won most balls and kicked some lovely scores, needs to take the early shot when its on) and Kieran Martins ball carrying (was unlucky with a couple of pointed efforts from the wrong side).
Feckin 7.45pm for Dublin v UCD on Saturday night. Why so feckin late? Especially on a dark January night. 5.30ish would be perfect, like a lot of the Leinster rugby matches, and a lot more kids would've been brought too.
I see David Henry has announced his retirement. Unlikely to be anything more than a bit player under Gilroy so no surprise. I seen him at St. Annes Park watching a Raheny league game during the year, when he was a very frustrated viewer. Not allowed play by Gilroy despite being a unused substitute in the previous Dublin game. Raheny will be putting a big push on getting out of Division 2 this year, with a few great talents coming through and Whelan taking over as manager.
Anyway, go luck to Davie, always one of my favourite players.
Longford County Board dragging the poor auld students out to feckin Ballymahon again for Sunday's clash. What's wrong with Pearse Park at the moment or is this a cunning plan? I'd say DCU will be strong and by no means will it be easy for Longford.
Gilroy has named his panel for the UCD game on Saturday night. New faces for 2012 include:
Karl Connolly (Ballymun Kickhams)
John Small (Ballymun Kickhams)
Davy Byrne (Ballymun Kickhams)
Conor McKiernan (Templeogue Synge St)
Declan Treanor (Templeogue Synge St)
Rory Corcoran (Castleknock)
Miceál McCarthy (St Sylvester's)
Gavin McIntyre (St Brigid's)
Neither of the Brogans nor Cluxton involved yet. Going to be strange to have Rory O'Carroll on the opposition.
Quote from: Hound on January 13, 2012, 11:30:04 AM
Gilroy has named his panel for the UCD game on Saturday night. New faces for 2012 include:
Neither of the Brogans nor Cluxton involved yet. Going to be strange to have Rory O'Carroll on the opposition.
Davy Byrne & McCarthy were impressive last week.
I'd expect to see Supple getting games before the Championship. I believe he was promised game time to keep him away from the high flying Lillys
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on January 13, 2012, 09:40:39 AM
Longford County Board dragging the poor auld students out to feckin Ballymahon again for Sunday's clash. What's wrong with Pearse Park at the moment or is this a cunning plan? I'd say DCU will be strong and by no means will it be easy for Longford.
Doesn't Pearse Park nearly always get rested before the league begins?
Making a comeback is he, a bit old to be challenging Cluxton, Dublin's Thierry Henry!!!
I'd expect to see Supple getting games before the Championship. I believe he was promised game time to keep him away from the high flying Lillys
What's this about Heffo? Has by-passed me...
is that rory ocarroll full back for definite? it was down as r o connell in all reports last week
Quote from: Dinny Breen on January 13, 2012, 02:34:56 PM
Making a comeback is he, a bit old to be challenging Cluxton, Dublin's Thierry Henry!!!
Different guy, same club. Davy Byrne the keeper moved to Rathoath about ten years ago.
Supple was approached by Kildare offering him a decent job etc if he'd move - he's working as a porter at the mo as he has no leaving cert (or is in process of getting it).
QuoteDoesn't Pearse Park nearly always get rested before the league begins?
I suppose, but this is only relatively recent - within the past 3-4 years. You'd get more of a crowd if it was in Pearse Park....who the feck wants to head to Ballymahon with the cows looking at at you on the far side :-\
Quote from: begrudger on January 13, 2012, 02:40:28 PM
is that rory ocarroll full back for definite? it was down as r o connell in all reports last week
It was him alright.
Quote from: heffo on January 13, 2012, 02:58:30 PM
Different guy, same club. Davy Byrne the keeper moved to Rathoath about ten years ago.
Supple was approached by Kildare offering him a decent job etc if he'd move - he's working as a porter at the mo as he has no leaving cert (or is in process of getting it).
Sure that's silly season stuff, file that away in the Declan Browne section along with Seanie Johnson. Doubt Kildare could compete financially these day with Brigids never mind Waterford City or Dublin Province
Quote from: Dinny Breen on January 13, 2012, 03:30:44 PM
Sure that's silly season stuff, file that away in the Declan Browne section along with Seanie Johnson. Doubt Kildare could compete financially these day with Brigids never mind Waterford City or Dublin Province
It's true, there was a nice sales job lined up. Sure all Brigids can do for him is a porter job in Vincents through McEntee. He told them he was going to give Dublin another year and see how he got on.
Quote from: heffo on January 13, 2012, 03:36:31 PM
It's true, there was a nice sales job lined up. Sure all Brigids can do for him is a porter job in Vincents through McEntee. He told them he was going to give Dublin another year and see how he got on.
I know of two Kildare players that are struggling for work at the moment. There was absolutely no truth in the Johnson rumours and I'm sure this is one is equally as fictional. The Maktoums aren't the patrons of Kildare football anymore...
Of the admitedly little I've seen of Supple, it's my opinion that he's an inferior keeper to Shane Connolly anyway.
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on January 13, 2012, 04:03:08 PM
I know of two Kildare players that are struggling for work at the moment. There was absolutely no truth in the Johnson rumours and I'm sure this is one is equally as fictional. The Maktoums aren't the patrons of Kildare football anymore...
Of the admitedly little I've seen of Supple, it's my opinion that he's an inferior keeper to Shane Connolly anyway.
The source who told me is normally rock solid.
Geraghty is included on the bench for tomorrows game and is expected to get a run. Hope he gets through it.
No mention of a starting line up yet.
Hope Louth don't rough him up.
Gonna be a chilly one tonight in Parnell Park.
Dubs 9 up at half time.
Cakewalk in the end for the Dubs, assuming Kildare account for the Biffos tomorrow, it's down to the Lions den in Newbridge Sunday week.
Meath 0-05
Louth 0-01
half time
Meath 0-06
Louth 0-01
we're back under way.
Meath 0-07
Louth 0-02
Geraghty is warming up.
Meath 0-10
Louth 0-04
Geraghty is on the field
The other Graham of the Reilly clan is knocking them over from all angles.
Meath 0-11
Louth 0-05
Game over,
Bring on the Larries!!
Our hated rivals. >:(
Is it in Longford?
Will any of the Nevins be playing?
Actually its DCU.
Lets just pretend its Dublin we're playing.
Kildare 0-17 Offaly 0-04
Little in the way of entertainment in Newbridge. Offaly were a bit of a shambles and failed to register a single score in the first half with the breeze. Kildare were very wasteful though and for the second week in a row they didn't really kick on in the second half. Had some of the players brought the shooting boots it could have been a lot more embarrasing for Offaly. Roli had a very good game for the second week in a row and Smith looked a lot sharper. Strong team out again with little in the way of experimentation. It seems daft to be saying this about an O'Byrne Cup match but next weekend is an important game for Kildare. Dublin have something of a psychological edge over this particular Kildare team (just like Dwyer's team in the early nineties) and Kildare really need to start believing that they can beat them.
Kildare lined out as follows - Shane Connolly, Peter Kelly, Ciarán Fitzpatrick, Ollie Lyons, Brian Flanagan (Morgan O'Flaherty), Tommy O'Neill, Eoghan O'Flaherty (Hugh McGrillen), Daryl Flynn (Conor Brophy), Ronan Sweeney, Tommy Moolick, Mikey Conway, Karl Ennis (Rob Kelly), James Kavanagh, Tomás O'Connor (Paddy Dunne), Alan Smith
Scorers - Scorers: Kavanagh (0-4), Sweeney (0-3), Smith (0-3), E O'Flaherty (0-3) (2fs), Conway (0-2) (1f), Moolick (0-1), M O'Flaherty (0-1)
DCU 2-11
Longford 0-10
Longford imploded in the second half it seems. 8 points all at half time and then Longford began to take command until an interception gave DCU an undeserved goal. DCU kicked on from there and had a second goal allowed even though it was a sqaure ball.
DCU head to Navan next Sunday to play Meath.
The performances of Kilroy UCD & Smith with DCU has lifted some of the rossies FBD gloom
Quote from: thejuice on January 15, 2012, 04:02:21 PM
Actually its DCU.
Lets just pretend its Dublin we're playing.
DCU....... our hated rivals. >:(
Don't worry - we're their bogey team.
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on January 15, 2012, 04:14:13 PM
Kildare 0-17 Offaly 0-04
Little in the way of entertainment in Newbridge. Offaly were a bit of a shambles and failed to register a single score in the first half with the breeze. Kildare were very wasteful though and for the second week in a row they didn't really kick on in the second half. Had some of the players brought the shooting boots it could have been a lot more embarrasing for Offaly. Roli had a very good game for the second week in a row and Smith looked a lot sharper. Strong team out again with little in the way of experimentation. It seems daft to be saying this about an O'Byrne Cup match but next weekend is an important game for Kildare. Dublin have something of a psychological edge over this particular Kildare team (just like Dwyer's team in the early nineties) and Kildare really need to start believing that they can beat them.
Kildare lined out as follows - Shane Connolly, Peter Kelly, Ciarán Fitzpatrick, Ollie Lyons, Brian Flanagan (Morgan O'Flaherty), Tommy O'Neill, Eoghan O'Flaherty (Hugh McGrillen), Daryl Flynn (Conor Brophy), Ronan Sweeney, Tommy Moolick, Mikey Conway, Karl Ennis (Rob Kelly), James Kavanagh, Tomás O'Connor (Paddy Dunne), Alan Smith
Scorers - Scorers: Kavanagh (0-4), Sweeney (0-3), Smith (0-3), E O'Flaherty (0-3) (2fs), Conway (0-2) (1f), Moolick (0-1), M O'Flaherty (0-1)
Whatever about Dubs being their bogey team, they need to beat one of the big teams & win a major trophy this year to even try to justify the ridiculous training costs McGeeney has cost the county board over the last few years.
Kildare county board seem to be taking the FF approach to budgeting. Be all grand & Charlie won't have any problem getting people to cough up 1K to cover our costs.
Fianna Fail would be proud
Quote from: dublin7 on January 15, 2012, 10:46:13 PM
Kildare 0-17 Offaly 0-04
Whatever about Dubs being their bogey team, they need to beat one of the big teams & win a major trophy this year to even try to justify the ridiculous training costs McGeeney has cost the county board over the last few years.
Kildare county board seem to be taking the FF approach to budgeting. Be all grand & Charlie won't have any problem getting people to cough up 1K to cover our costs.
Sure aren't we well on track to defending our O'Byrne Cup crown and winning this glorious competition for a record tenth time??
Quote from: Hardy on January 15, 2012, 08:34:42 PM
This isn't your typical bunch of students to be fair
http://www.dcugaa.ie/node/128
I was at DIT Westmeath yesterday.
Farcical situation where DIT's Paul Cunningham lay on the sideline with what must have been a pretty serious injury for a full 15-20 minutes before finally being carted away in an eight seater taxi, with the doors open because the stretcher couldn't fit fully inside.
Game itself was ok.
Callum McCormack very impressive for Westmeath despite being very isolated in a defensive formation and Harry Dawson a real handful for students with his shoot on sight from anywhere game plan.
Aidan O'Shea is quite the comical f**ker as well when you're close enough to the pitch to hear him.
Hysterical high-pitched overreactions every time a decision went against him. At one stage half the crowd was giggling when he let out the highest-pitched "AHHHHH REF!!!!" you've ever heard.
Not much to be taken from a Westmeath perspective given the team on display. Probably 1 or 2 first choice players at most lined out.
One of them, Michael Ennis played and was up and down the pitch all match. Great to see him looking so fit. A bit of leadership at the back is something that has been sorely lacking in recent years.
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on January 15, 2012, 04:19:34 PM
DCU 2-11
Longford 0-10
Longford began to take command until an interception gave DCU an undeserved goal. DCU kicked on from there and had a second goal allowed even though it was a sqaure ball.
Aside from all that you deserved to win though yeah??
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on January 15, 2012, 11:17:24 PM
Kildare 0-17 Offaly 0-04
Sure aren't we well on track to defending our O'Byrne Cup crown and winning this glorious competition for a record tenth time??
Tickets are like gold dust - who needs Tim Tebow when you have Eoghan O'Flaherty sitting in the pocket...
Quote from: Dinny Breen on January 16, 2012, 10:49:24 AM
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on January 15, 2012, 11:17:24 PM
Kildare 0-17 Offaly 0-04
Tickets are like gold dust - who needs Tim Tebow when you have Eoghan O'Flaherty sitting in the pocket...
There won't be a horse milked on the Curragh for a month if we win this one.
QuoteAside from all that you deserved to win though yeah??
Ah no, that's not what I am saying. I am just pointing out the two turning points in the second half. One goal gifted and the other probably should have been disallowed. But dems the breaks.
Quote from: Bill Haven on January 16, 2012, 07:52:09 AM
Farcical situation where DIT's Paul Cunningham lay on the sideline with what must have been a pretty serious injury for a full 15-20 minutes before finally being carted away in an eight seater taxi, with the doors open because the stretcher couldn't fit fully inside.
Game itself was ok.
Callum McCormack very impressive for Westmeath despite being very isolated in a defensive formation and Harry Dawson a real handful for students with his shoot on sight from anywhere game plan.
Aidan O'Shea is quite the comical f**ker as well when you're close enough to the pitch to hear him.
Hysterical high-pitched overreactions every time a decision went against him. At one stage half the crowd was giggling when he let out the highest-pitched "AHHHHH REF!!!!" you've ever heard.
Not much to be taken from a Westmeath perspective given the team on display. Probably 1 or 2 first choice players at most lined out.
One of them, Michael Ennis played and was up and down the pitch all match. Great to see him looking so fit. A bit of leadership at the back is something that has been sorely lacking in recent years.
Spot on with all of that Bill, especially the bit about Aidan O'Shea, some whinger. Ref was spot on with the decisions he gave against him as well apart from the one where he was clean through, shouldn't have pulled him back but I'm glad he did as we got a good laugh out of him throwing the ball into the air and walking away with his hands still in the air for comedic effect.
It wasn't a bad match for the middle of January, it was tight enough until Tom Parsons came on, swung the game for DIT I thought. Callum McCormack ,Natchie and Paul Sharry were the pick of Westmeath men on show although a number of others did alright I suppose, Maguire, Sheridan and McDermott when he came on being some of them. Pitch held up well and its a good setup Kinnegad have there, no wonder they get to host so many challenge matches.
I'm not expecting much from the league, the winnable games are at the start, no Garrycastle players till at least the 18th Feb, no students playing with the colleges and a couple of injuries. Lets hope the U21s can lift the gloom again.
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on January 16, 2012, 02:03:10 PM
Game itself was ok.
Spot on with all of that Bill, especially the bit about Aidan O'Shea, some whinger. Ref was spot on with the decisions he gave against him as well apart from the one where he was clean through, shouldn't have pulled him back but I'm glad he did as we got a good laugh out of him throwing the ball into the air and walking away with his hands still in the air for comedic effect.
It wasn't a bad match for the middle of January, it was tight enough until Tom Parsons came on, swung the game for DIT I thought. Callum McCormack ,Natchie and Paul Sharry were the pick of Westmeath men on show although a number of others did alright I suppose, Maguire, Sheridan and McDermott when he came on being some of them. Pitch held up well and its a good setup Kinnegad have there, no wonder they get to host so many challenge matches.
I'm not expecting much from the league, the winnable games are at the start, no Garrycastle players till at least the 18th Feb, no students playing with the colleges and a couple of injuries. Lets hope the U21s can lift the gloom again.
He was at the exact same craic in Newbridge last weekend.
Quote from: TheThirdManning on January 16, 2012, 03:41:49 PM
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on January 16, 2012, 03:25:33 PM
Game itself was ok.
Those Dubs love their keepers to be roaring and swearing.
Our Senior keeper for the last 12 twelve years is some extrovert all right. If only someone could get him to stop talking.
Quote from: TheThirdManning on January 16, 2012, 03:58:10 PM
Quote from: heffo on January 16, 2012, 03:53:36 PM
Quote from: TheThirdManning on January 16, 2012, 03:41:49 PM
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on January 16, 2012, 03:25:33 PM
Game itself was ok.
Those Dubs love their keepers to be roaring and swearing.
Our Senior keeper for the last 12 twelve years is some extrovert all right. If only someone could get him to stop talking.
Point taken but I am sure Cluxton is always shouting at his defence during games. You just don't hear him in Croke Park.
Maybe it's just me but I always found that Dublin keepers, right down to club level, were always louder than their country counterparts. Don't know why.
I think you're full of shi*.
I've been to near enough every Dublin game outside Croke Park with Cluxton in goal and I've never heard him shout or be overly vocal.
I still think you're full of shi*.
The DIT keeper is from Meath.
Jaysus heffo, you're gone very defensive since the Dubs won the All Ireland. I hope you're not going to be as tense all year!
I do think there's a grain of truth in what he is saying though, at least there was historically. It's not necessarily a bad thing at all by the way. Dublin goalies were always much more vocal in organising their defenses, etc. In my youth I always put it down to them playing soccer at a more organised level than us, as that is an important part of being a soccer goalie.
That said, I don't think there's any difference these days, most goalies love to shout and roar now, and Cluxton is nearly an exception if he doesn;t :)
Dublin folk in general are just loud.
It's their culture.
Seems that some of the country lads on here aspire to the oul american football................are the quarterbacks vocal on the park?????????????????? why cant a keeper be ???
We all know Dublin's number one stance on media sound bytes and verbals in general........................keeps himself to himself
The pot is a stirring here methinks.....................................any cream for the lilies, Id say ye are only creaming urself at the taught s of this sunday lads ????? ;)
Quote from: thejuice on January 16, 2012, 12:41:04 AM
Over the years has been a great college for developing Roscommon senior players & continuing to do so.
Quote from: ross4life on January 16, 2012, 05:54:53 PM
Quote from: thejuice on January 16, 2012, 12:41:04 AM
Over the years has been a great college for developing Roscommon senior players & continuing to do so.
It's only when you read that list do you realize how many of our county players are at DCU. It's certainly great to see so many talented Roscommon players getting the opportunity to play with the best players in the country.
I remember Cathal Cregg talking about how being at DCU removed the mystique about players from bigger counties and gave him a sense that there's very little between players, that sentiment spreading further can only be a good thing.
Tut tut
Kildare and Seanie doing all they can to make it happen. Plenty of money still in them flourbags...
Quote from: AZOffaly on January 16, 2012, 04:46:30 PM
Jaysus heffo, you're gone very defensive since the Dubs won the All Ireland. I hope you're not going to be as tense all year!
I do think there's a grain of truth in what he is saying though, at least there was historically. It's not necessarily a bad thing at all by the way. Dublin goalies were always much more vocal in organising their defenses, etc. In my youth I always put it down to them playing soccer at a more organised level than us, as that is an important part of being a soccer goalie.
That said, I don't think there's any difference these days, most goalies love to shout and roar now, and Cluxton is nearly an exception if he doesn;t :)
Just rattled over the combination of having to travel to that kip on Sunday and gobsh*tes like that clown posting raimis.
Quote from: heffo on January 17, 2012, 08:13:29 AM
Just rattled over the combination of having to travel to that kip on Sunday and gobsh*tes like that clown posting raimis.
It'd have ya scratching yer head alright when a Meath keeper being loud in a game is put forward as evidence that Dublin keepers are the loudest! And worse were that others agreed with him. Imagine the pure sheeite they'd come up with if there ever had been a Dublin keeper who was a headbanger like Davy Fitz or Cake Curran???
Quote from: Hound on January 17, 2012, 07:03:08 AM
Tut tut
Kildare and Seanie doing all they can to make it happen. Plenty of money still in them flourbags...
Kildare are doing nowt. If lads like Johnson want to ply their trade in the ultra competitive Kildare county championship, nobody will stand in his way.
There was absolutely no truth in the Johnson rumours and I'm sure this is one is equally as fictional.
(http://www.welovetheiraqiinformationminister.com/images/07-minister.jpg)
Kildare did not under any circumstances approach Seanie Johnson or Shane Supple.
http://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-football/cavan-star-johnston-poised-to-take-dra-route-in-bid-to-join-mcgeeneys-kildare-2990257.html (http://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-football/cavan-star-johnston-poised-to-take-dra-route-in-bid-to-join-mcgeeneys-kildare-2990257.html)
Quote from: heffo on January 17, 2012, 09:27:50 AM
There was absolutely no truth in the Johnson rumours and I'm sure this is one is equally as fictional.
(http://www.welovetheiraqiinformationminister.com/images/07-minister.jpg)
Kildare did not under any circumstances approach Seanie Johnson or Shane Supple.
I talked to two members of the Kildare panel and according to them no approach was made from Kildare to Johnston whatsoever. If the lad is living in Straffan and wants to declare for a Kildare club then fair enough but I don't believe that any approach was made by the Kildare management or the county board or on their behalf.
Geezer scratching his bag already on this one.......................................
Tis on tg4........................... I expect a guard of honour from geezer and his troops.............................
No cluxton, no brogan brothers, no barry cahill, no kevin nolan, surely you kildare boys are licking ure lips
Seanie moved to Straffan just inside the Kildare border because of the bright lights.
McGeeney would want to consult a solicitor so, as numerous media outlets have reported in black and white that McGeeney and Johnson met in early November to discuss him moving to Kildare, he suddenly gets an address in Straffan, applies for an IC transfer, DH claims there is 'absolutely no truth in the Johnson rumours'.
Quote from: heffo on January 17, 2012, 10:42:33 AM
Seanie moved to Straffan just inside the Kildare border because of the bright lights.
McGeeney would want to consult a solicitor so, as numerous media outlets have reported in black and white that McGeeney and Johnson met in early November to discuss him moving to Kildare, he suddenly gets an address in Straffan, applies for an IC transfer, DH claims there is 'absolutely no truth in the Johnson rumours'.
It is of absolutely no consequence to me whether you believe me or not.
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on January 17, 2012, 10:52:25 AM
Of course I don't believe you - I didn't then and I don't know.
I'm simply trying to clear up your vociferous denial about there being 'absolutely no truth' in it.
I'd like to think I have done.
Quote from: heffo on January 17, 2012, 10:56:06 AM
I'm simply trying to clear up your vociferous denial about there being 'absolutely no truth' in it.
Fair enough. I was only passing on what I have heard from two of the panel.
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on January 17, 2012, 10:57:42 AM
Quote from: heffo on January 17, 2012, 10:56:06 AM
Fair enough. I was only passing on what I have heard from two of the panel.
You weren't though. You claimed there was 'absolutely no truth' in it.
Passing on what you heard from panelists is an entirely different matter.
Having said that though, I'd genuinely like to see Kildare win the AI - I don't think Dublin will get beyond qtrs/semi this year and if you can get 30 mins from Earley you have a real chance.
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on January 17, 2012, 10:33:49 AM
I talked to two members of the Kildare panel and according to them no approach was made from Kildare to Johnston whatsoever. If the lad is living in Straffan and wants to declare for a Kildare club then fair enough but I don't believe that any approach was made by the Kildare management or the county board or on their behalf.
Johnston has absolutely no interest in playing for a Kildare club. He wants to stay with Cavan Gaels and play with Kildare, hence his case with the DRA to try and get around the existing rules.
If that does not succeed then he would have to transfer to a Kildare club to avail of the "incentive" of playing with Kildare.
I wouldnt have thought any of the existing Kildare players would be privy to any negotiations between Kildare and Johnston. So no surprise that they'd no nothing about it or the offer to Supple.
Quote from: Declan on January 17, 2012, 09:33:31 AM
http://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-football/cavan-star-johnston-poised-to-take-dra-route-in-bid-to-join-mcgeeneys-kildare-2990257.html (http://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-football/cavan-star-johnston-poised-to-take-dra-route-in-bid-to-join-mcgeeneys-kildare-2990257.html)
"He works as a teacher in Breffni College in Cavan town."
So he's gonna commute from Straffan up to Cavan every day? I hope the DRA throw this one out quick smart.
Quote from: Hound on January 17, 2012, 08:50:21 AM
Quote from: heffo on January 17, 2012, 08:13:29 AM
It'd have ya scratching yer head alright when a Meath keeper being loud in a game is put forward as evidence that Dublin keepers are the loudest! And worse were that others agreed with him. Imagine the pure sheeite they'd come up with if there ever had been a Dublin keeper who was a headbanger like Davy Fitz or Cake Curran???
The DIT Keeper is a Cavan man lads. And as for this Johnston farce. Don't get me started. Can feel a rant of the day brewing deep down!
He's already been given the use of a sponsored horse.
I would not like to see Seanie Johnson on the Kildare panel. No doubting his quality but he'd have to be moving to Kildare for reasons outside football, the cynic in me doubts that.
Badly played Mr McGeeney, badly played.
I wouldn't have thought Johnston and McGeeney would be natural bedfellows anyway.
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on January 17, 2012, 11:44:02 AM
Quote from: Declan on January 17, 2012, 09:33:31 AM
"He works as a teacher in Breffni College in Cavan town."
So he's gonna commute from Straffan up to Cavan every day? I hope the DRA throw this one out quick smart.
Exactly. I read that this morning and I pulled a muscle in my forehead, my eyebrows raised so much. Even the way he says it 'I am a resident of Kildare now', not 'I live in Kildare now'. Looks very much like smoke and mirrors.
According to AA Roadwatch it is 80 miles from Straffan to Cavan, That is a big journey to be making 5 days a week during the school year. But if he was still living in Cavan, he would have to drive to Kildare 3 or 4 times a week anyway. Some amount of travelling either way. Would he not be too tired to train or play football at the level required these days by county teams. Add on the fact that he wants to keep playing with Cavan Gaels. I can't see it working out unless he gets a job much nearer to Kildare.
During the summer he'd not be travelling at all if he really lived in Straffan.
If this goes through it'll set a very dangerous precedent.
Quote from: AZOffaly on January 17, 2012, 04:57:58 PM
He would have to travel to play or train with Cavan Gaels "if he really lived in Straffan"" :) :) :)
I'd love to know the content of the 10 second conversation he had with Val Andrews.
Quote from: Onlooker on January 17, 2012, 05:40:01 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on January 17, 2012, 04:57:58 PM
He would have to travel to play or train with Cavan Gaels "if he really lived in Straffan"" :) :) :)
You wouldn't see much of your county players during the summer anyway at club level. But I seriously doubt if Johnston 'lives' in Straffan. He might have been promised digs there alright, but I doubt he's commuting every morning and evening to school and to play with Cavan Gaels.
Quote from: heffo on January 17, 2012, 11:15:51 AM
Having said that though, I'd genuinely like to see Kildare win the AI - I don't think Dublin will get beyond qtrs/semi this year and if you can get 30 mins from Earley you have a real chance.
Thats rubbish.....................Dublin have a very live chance of recapturing Sam this year
Kildares over reliance of Earley smacks of us Dubs and how we had this amorous thrusting love towards C Whelan, it bore no fruit and neither will kildares thinking Earley is this great sacred cow.....................
Get up the yard Heffo you spoofer!
QuoteI don't think Dublin will get beyond qtrs/semi this year
Good man heffo - Starting early!!
He'll probably give us the line that a respectable performance against Kildare in the O'Byrne Cup would be a decent return for the year. Anything else will be a bonus for the poor divils.
Quote from: AZOffaly on January 17, 2012, 07:39:24 PM
He'll probably give us the line that a respectable performance against Kildare in the O'Byrne Cup would be a decent return for the year. Anything else will be a bonus for the poor divils.
This Sunday is going to be very tough. Kildare fans believe they're every bit as good as Dublin and will be going all out against a very weak team to lay down a marker. We're going to go from a hiding and an early season boost for Kildare to a whipping against Kerry minus most of our team.
The media will get on our back at this point and it's going to be tough from there on out.
As a matter of interest why is he surplus to requirements in Cavan? Is he not their best forward. Just curious thats all. Watched him a lot playing for DCU.
Quote from: INDIANA on January 17, 2012, 07:42:02 PM
As a matter of interest why is he surplus to requirements in Cavan? Is he not their best forward. Just curious thats all. Watched him a lot playing for DCU.
Was wondering that myself. And sure isn't Offaly closer to Cavan anyway.
Excellent forward imo.
I'm told that the U21's brought a fresh positive mentality into the dressing room in Cavan this year and one or two previous incumbents wouldn't have had the same attitude.
Quote from: AZOffaly on January 17, 2012, 07:43:52 PM
Was wondering that myself. And sure isn't Offaly closer to Cavan anyway.
He's not seeking asylum!
At least I don't think he is.
Quote from: heffo on January 17, 2012, 07:41:33 PM
This Sunday is going to be very tough. Kildare fans believe they're every bit as good as Dublin and will be going all out against a very weak team to lay down a marker. We're going to go from a hiding and an early season boost for Kildare to a whipping against Kerry minus most of our team.
The media will get on our back at this point and it's going to be tough from there on out.
It's probably best if you lose to the flourbags.
Another hiding off us would do your confidence no good.
p.s. I'm aware we still have to beat UCD/DCU/CDU or whatever shower of drunken students we're playing in the semi-final.
Quote from: heffo on January 17, 2012, 07:45:11 PM
Excellent forward imo.
I'm told that the U21's brought a fresh positive mentality into the dressing room in Cavan this year and one or two previous incumbents wouldn't have had the same attitude.
I didnt think he was one of the ones with a bad attitude. But maybe I'm wrong on that. I think Val has this one wrong if johnstone's attitude was always good. I dont see the point in getting rid of your best player unless its necessary. 27 is now too old? jesus I'd love to be 37 again ;D
Will travel to it. Be amazed if we could pull this off. Tight pitch as well. will suit kildare. with maybe 4 of last year's 15- big ask.
Quote from: INDIANA on January 17, 2012, 10:25:46 PM
Will travel to it. Be amazed if we could pull this off. Tight pitch as well. will suit kildare. with maybe 4 of last year's 15- big ask.
Can't see Dublin bringing a big a crowd as Offaly did last Sunday...
(http://a4.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash4/409400_302068166506752_100001107122595_843857_1747215669_n.jpg)
While some here may think's Heffo is playing the poor mouth i believe he's giving a honest opinion. For 16 years Dublin finally reached the promised land last September now Gilroy has a job on his hands to lift them again as the same passion,desire won't be there & extra pressure of expecting to win.
Kildare have been there or thereabouts the last few years, like Dublin they have a good manager in place & with a bit of luck unlike other years they may deliver Sam.
Quote from: Dinny Breen on January 17, 2012, 10:40:28 PM
(http://a4.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash4/409400_302068166506752_100001107122595_843857_1747215669_n.jpg)
That lad goes to EVERYTHING, even if Offaly are not playing. Always wears the jersey. You'll regularly see him on the Sunday Game throughout the year in venues like Omagh, Killarney, Croker, The Hyde etc etc. If there's any game in O'Connor Park, he'll be down behind the far goals. He thumbs everywhere as well. A great aul' character.
Quote from: ross4life on January 18, 2012, 01:56:03 AM
While some here may think's Heffo is playing the poor mouth i believe he's giving a honest opinion. For 16 years Dublin finally reached the promised land last September now Gilroy has a job on his hands to lift them again as the same passion,desire won't be there & extra pressure of expecting to win.
Kildare have been there or thereabouts the last few years, like Dublin they have a good manager in place & with a bit of luck unlike other years they may deliver Sam.
Gilroy is streets ahead of mcgeeney in the managerial stakes, absolute streets................................mc geeney reminds me or mr roy keane, great player but brutal manager
If there isone team people should be getting excited about next year, it should be cork, not dublin and certainly not kildare
Imvho McGeeney has done a very good job with Kildare. However and this is no slight on his abilities I think that this Kildare team is crying out for a "new voice"........... someone to tweak McGeeney's good work in another slight direction.
Easier said than done I know but they also need a marqué forward like a Forde, Dolan, Browne etc. Their forwards are once again imho too alike in their style of play.
Have said it before I have been very impressed with the way Kildare have handled their misfortunes of the last few years and I for many years was never their major fan.
Correspondence from Croke park turning down original transfer request came back as 'not known at this address' from the address Sean Johnson provided in Straffan.
:D :D :D
You're not serious?
QuoteCorrespondence from Croke park turning down original transfer request came back as 'not known at this address' from the address Sean Johnson provided in Straffan.
Brilliant!
Ah that's just class :D :D :D
You couldn't make that up :D
Quote from: heffo on January 18, 2012, 10:55:37 AM
Correspondence from Croke park turning down original transfer request came back as 'not known at this address' from the address Sean Johnson provided in Straffan.
That is brilliant Heffo, even if you are making it up. Post of the year so far. ;D ;D ;D
Quote from: Onlooker on January 18, 2012, 12:31:38 PM
That is brilliant Heffo, even if you are making it up. Post of the year so far. ;D ;D ;D
Not making it up, am sure it'll be in the papers at some stage. They're probably keeping their powder dry until the DRA application goes in tomorrow.
Hilarious stuff. :)
The final will be in Navan I believe.
Quote from: squire_in_navy_slacks on January 18, 2012, 10:04:57 AM
Quote from: ross4life on January 18, 2012, 01:56:03 AM
Gilroy is streets ahead of mcgeeney in the managerial stakes, absolute streets................................mc geeney reminds me or mr roy keane, great player but brutal manager
If there isone team people should be getting excited about next year, it should be cork, not dublin and certainly not kildare
(http://gifsforum.com/images/gif/wtf/grand/22671983-wtf.gif)
That is true. Jesus, their is great gossip down in Cavan at the minute.
Quote from: AZOffaly on January 18, 2012, 10:01:42 AM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on January 17, 2012, 10:40:28 PM
That lad goes to EVERYTHING, even if Offaly are not playing. Always wears the jersey. You'll regularly see him on the Sunday Game throughout the year in venues like Omagh, Killarney, Croker, The Hyde etc etc. If there's any game in O'Connor Park, he'll be down behind the far goals. He thumbs everywhere as well. A great aul' character.
Spot on, I'd say he has a better attendance at Westmeath matches than the fair weather supporters. There was a friendly in Rosemount against Eastmeath last year and there he was after the match thumbing a lift home. Always has the jersey on display too, no matter what the weather.
Edit: That's class about Johnson. :D
Bord na Mona Leinster GAA Series Podcast Episode 3 looks ahead to the O'Byrne Cup Semi-finals this weekend - we speak to Kildare selector Niall Carew; Meath's Mark Ward and Wicklow manager Harry Murphy. Wexford goalkeeper Éanna Martin talks about his sides Walsh Cup clash with NUI Galway and Hilary-Murray-Hession on Fingal hurlers Kehoe Cup tie against DCU and there's also team news ahead of this weekends games http://soundcloud.com/bordnamonagaa/bordnamona-leinster-gaa-1
Cill Dara (v Átha Cliath)
1. Shane Connolly, St. Laurences
2. Peter Kelly, Two Mile House
3. Ciaran Fitzpatrick, Kilcock
4. Ollie Lyons, Celbridge
5. Brian Flanagan, Johnstownbridge
6. Tommy O'Neill, St. Laurences
7. Eoghan O'Flaherty, Carbury
8. Daryl Flynn, Moorefield
9. Ronan Sweeney, Moorefield
10. Tommy Moolick, Leixlip
11. Mikey Conway, Nurney
12. Pádraig O'Neill, St. Laurences
13. Alan Smith, Sarsfields
14. Tomás O'Connor, Clane
15. James Kavanagh, Ballymore
That's a strong team.
This could make or break Kildares year.
Quote from: Jinxy on January 20, 2012, 05:25:59 PM
That's a strong team.
Definitely.
DCU 2-8Meath 0.6 full time tonight in Navan.
Quote from: KIDDO 4 on January 21, 2012, 09:07:57 PM
DCU 2-8Meath 0.6 full time tonight in Navan.
DCU students make mince meath.
Are we allowed into the Shield now?
shite, thought the game was on tommorow.
ah well, shite result. pity to miss out on a game against Dubs or Kildare.
That's a strong team.
They cant lose with that selection Jinxy. Bar 2/3 players that's largely their full whack. We might have 5 of ours if we're lucky
Quote from: INDIANA on January 22, 2012, 09:55:52 AM
That's a strong team.
They cant lose with that selection Jinxy. Bar 2/3 players that's largely their full whack. We might have 5 of ours if we're lucky
That Kildare team will hardly make up half of the championship team. Mick Foley, Hugh McGrillen, Morgan O'Flaherty, Emmet Bolton, Éamonn Callaghan, Hugh Lynch and of course Johnny Doyle all missing. Dermot Earley is also only about two months away from a return all going well. He was out warming up with the team last weekend.
Nice enough conditions for the match today and should draw a good crowd. The Flourbags will be out in their droves to catch a glimpse of the all-conquering All-Ireland Champions.
With Meath losing it now means the Winners of Kildare v Dublin will have home advantage in the final
Seanie Johnston can't move to his address in Straffan soon enough. (That's if he can find it)
Kildare far fitter but their finishing has been dreadful. Some shocking wides. It's like watching the comedy channel not TG4.
3 points apiece after 30 minutes.
Deserved 2nd yellow/red card for Kildare no 7. Only seemed interested in hitting dublin players. Serious chip on his shoulder. Some of the Kildare lads only interested in playing the man. If they get the ball it's a bonus
The wind is destroying the game.
Kildare look far more up for it.
They should find it easier to get scores in the 2nd half.
Ronan Sweeney falls over awful easy for a big man.
Paul Brogan second card for nothing.
Kildare penalty after tomas o connor falls over.
1-7 to 0-5 after 49 min.
Kildare to push on to win with ease from here. Some of the Dublin players clearly enjoyed their celebrations over the autumn/winter.
Surprised the ref actually didn't take the penalty himself.........................must be getting fed and watered down in kildare tonight
Scrappy affair, well done kildare............................................ premature something comes to mind ;)
Kildare 1-11 Dublin 0-8
Kildare far better/fitter/determined team. Treated it like a championship game. Defended well, but small pitch certainly helped.
Typical kildare performance, dominated posession & kicked lots of wides.
dubs kept in touch up until a joke of a penalty for Kildare helped them pull away.
Andrews did well for Dublin, should get a start in the league.
A huddle and everything after the game ........................ ::)
Kevin McManamon should definitely be a starter come championship time.
Never stopped trying to be positive.
Not a bit bitter now are we Dubs?
Funny ye didn't mention Connolly tackle on the Kildare full back. He's some brave boy to come down on a player with two knees into the back of the head. He should be done for it.
Quote from: mup on January 22, 2012, 03:59:06 PM
Funny ye didn't mention Connolly tackle on the Kildare full back. He's some brave boy to come down on a player with two knees into the back of the head. He should be done for it.
Funny you didn't mention Kavangh's attempt to kick him after it, but being a Kildare forward he didn't fully catch him. Could both have been sent off.
Ronan Sweeney must have ice on the soles of his boots. If that wind was any stronger he wouldn't have been able to stand up. Never seen a big man go down so easily so often.
Not bitter, didn't expect that Dublin team picked to win. Happpy with Andrews & McMenamon's efforts. Just looking to see how new lads do.
Quote from: dublin7 on January 22, 2012, 04:04:41 PM
Quote from: mup on January 22, 2012, 03:59:06 PM
Funny you didn't mention Kavangh's attempt to kick him after it, but being a Kildare forward he didn't fully catch him. Could both have been sent off.
Ronan Sweeney must have ice on the soles of his boots. If that wind was any stronger he wouldn't have been able to stand up. Never seen a big man go down so easily so often.
Not bitter, didn't expect that Dublin team picked to win. Happpy with Andrews & McMenamon's efforts. Just looking to see how new lads do.
No you're not a bit bitter are you? For a person who didn't expect the Dubs to win you are coming out with a fair few excuses as to why they didn't. Get over it will you - its only the OByrne Cup.
First time we've beaten Dublin since 2003 in Portmarnock I think. There'll be setting the furze alight on the Curragh tonight...
Defence was quite solid and Connolly was excellent bar one lose kick that resulted in a Mossy Quinn point. Kelly looks to be feeling his way back in alright and Fitzpatrick is growing into the full-back jersey. Hard to see him displacing Mick Foley though. Very impressed with Ollie Lyons again and McGrillen did well when he came on. Flanagan got stuck in as usual and Tommy O'Neill was solid. Not sure though that the Eoghan O'Flaherty at wing-back experiment is worth persisting with.
Roli and Daryl Flynn have the makings of a decent pairing. Conway and Kavanagh had mixed days. Smithy was showing very well but I thought he left O'Connor a bit too isolated in the second half and that was probably why he was taken off. Rob Kelly looked very sharp but I was disappointed not to see Podge Fogarty given a run. Should be another competitive game next weekend which will be good preparation for Tyrone on Saturday week.
Yeah both Tyrone and Kildare are into their provisional cup finals next week so both should we well capable of showing up Kerry and Dublin the following week.
Who's been Kildare's best players in 2012 so far?
Have ye become defensive like the Dubs yet?
Half saw the match as the telly was on as I was doing bits and pieces.
Seemed the ref was very fussy but I saw the Connolly 'challenge' and thought it was a disgrace. WTF was he at?
Cannot understand why McGeeney is not giving fringe players more game time. At least the Dubs are trying a few fresh faces and seeing what they are like. Is winning the O'Byren Cup really that important?
He is trying the fringe players - Fitzpatrick, Lyons, Flanagan, T O'Neill, Moolick and even Roli are all fringe players these days. Conway and Kelly are on their way back from serious injuries so they need football under their belts. Seán Hurley is injured and Fogarty would have played last weekend only for the flu. Can't think of that many more that should be tried out bar Conor Brophy and Paddy Dunne. I'd say one of them might get a run next Sunday.
Didn't see the game but what people need to realise is that McGeeny has developed a very strong squad.
Anyhow nice to beat Dublin, even though it was a only a glorified challenge game. Interesting how these games have developed a bit of a dirty edge from both sides. Dublin are the big brother though and they will have learned a lot about their reserve team whereas as Kildare will get confidence from beating them. So I'd imagine both managers will be pretty happy with the workout.
Kildare were well up for this game..............................well ahead in fitness levels too..............................Our lads havent even started to shift the food and hydration from their celebrations
Oul Kev mc could have used his belly as opposed to his foot at one stage to put the ball over the bar...................................very happy with the result, a little kick up the hole for our lads to get them started in the defense of the all ireland....................kildare should defend their obryne cup too.................cple of dubs who started in the all ireland last year will have some say in the o byrne final though ;)
I'm genuinely shocked at the lack of coverage given to the Connolly incident. That was an extremely nasty knee he gave Fitzpatrick.
Quote from: mup on January 22, 2012, 08:32:13 PM
I'm genuinely shocked at the lack of coverage given to the Connolly incident. That was an extremely nasty knee he gave Fitzpatrick.
twas indeed..............no need for that at all, hes a targeted man and needs to rise above the goading
kavanagh was no angel either let me tell ya, thought he was gonna whip his baton out at one stage
Quote from: squire_in_navy_slacks on January 22, 2012, 08:37:32 PM
twas indeed..............no need for that at all, hes a targeted man and needs to rise above the goading
kavanagh was no angel either let me tell ya, thought he was gonna whip his baton out at one stage
In fairness Kavanagh does not get that animated on a football field without good reason. Goading or not it was a cowardice act by Connolly. Heres hoping the powers that rescinded his red last year might have a second look at this.
Referee booked him so presumably the incident cannot be reviewed??
Those dots are irritating.
Kildare absolutely hammered Dublin today and let them off the hook due to some poor shooting.
I know weakened sides are fielded and bla bla bla but it was a dreadful team performance from Dublin who were outplayed in every area of the game.
We took some unique analyses of both team's attacks
http://bit.ly/A29iTw
Quote from: mup on January 22, 2012, 08:46:18 PM
In fairness Kavanagh does not get that animated on a football field without good reason. Goading or not it was a cowardice act by Connolly. Heres hoping the powers that rescinded his red last year might have a second look at this.
well if they do have a second look oul sgt bilko kavanagh will be in deep water too.......................he is caught striking on camera too
careful what you wish for
Quote from: Captain Obvious on January 22, 2012, 08:50:55 PM
Those dots are irritating.
Mc Geeeneys hair was too last year............................... he got it snipped, i may snip the dots
Quote from: squire_in_navy_slacks on January 22, 2012, 09:16:06 PM
well if they do have a second look oul sgt bilko kavanagh will be in deep water too.......................he is caught striking on camera too
If Kavanagh gets a ban then so be it. Connolly is nothing but a coward.
Quote from: mup on January 22, 2012, 09:27:45 PM
Quote from: squire_in_navy_slacks on January 22, 2012, 09:16:06 PM
If Kavanagh gets a ban then so be it. Connolly is nothing but a coward.
Give it a rest will ya, you should be delighted with your win today, do you propose a kildare man never committed a cowardly act on a field ????
Its the O'Byrne Cup so I'm not getting excited by todays result. And the fact that a Kildare man never committed an act of cowardice in neither here nor there. It would be an awful shame it this type of dispicable act was swept under the carpet.
Just watched the match back there again. Peter Kelly was absolutely superb. Great to have him back. Kildare's defence will be as strong as there is out there.
Achilles heel will as always be the forwards. Hopefully Johnny will go some way towards solving that. I hope he is parked beside O'Connor inside on the 14 when he returns. No good to us playing half the game inside our own 45 as he ended up last year. Interesting to see if O'Flaherty and Conway can be accomodated in the same half-forward line - possibly deploy Leper as a half-back? Smith and Kavanagh should both be given every opportunity in the league to find some form and confidence. Dowling is a nice footballer but still has a good bit of filling out to do. Would like to see how Pádraig Fogarty gets on at this level. Tommy Moolick looks like more of a half-back/midfielder.
This was probably the most important development today from a Kildare point of view. Apparently both should see some action in the latter half in the league:
(http://www.sportsfile.com/winshare/watermarked-b/Library/SF806/587818.jpg)
Our lads were delighted with this site ;)
(http://www.sportsfile.com/winshare/watermarked-b/Library/SF806/587827.jpg)
Here's a better picture
(http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/images/tile/2012/0123/1224310625283_1.jpg?ts=1327308634)
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on January 22, 2012, 06:19:33 PM
Seemed the ref was very fussy but I saw the Connolly 'challenge' and thought it was a disgrace. WTF was he at?
I'm struggling to remember a worse incident on the field of play, a disgrace indeed.
Decent match for Jan, nice to see TG4 back on the sidelines. They are covering the McKenna Cup final on Saturday and the O'Byrne Cup final on Sunday next weekend, fair play to them.
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on January 23, 2012, 10:26:57 AM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on January 22, 2012, 06:19:33 PM
I'm struggling to remember a worse incident on the field of play, a disgrace indeed.
Decent match for Jan, nice to see TG4 back on the sidelines. They are covering the McKenna Cup final on Saturday and the O'Byrne Cup final on Sunday next weekend, fair play to them.
Surprising that it received no coverage in any of the press reports.
Quote from: Declan on January 23, 2012, 08:51:49 AM
Here's a better picture
(http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/images/tile/2012/0123/1224310625283_1.jpg?ts=1327308634)
It's gas how everytime Connolly loses his balance there's an opposition player underneath him to break his fall.
Regardless of fitness, poor pitch and poor ref, I thought the Dubs were pretty awful. Our main tactic when we had the ball seemed to be the aimless hoof. Apart from Kev Mac and Paddy Andrews, who instead went the "run into a cul de sac" option, with very little end product. Cullen was our best man I thought.
Might be the jerseys or indeed the tv optics but I honestly thought that alot of the Dubs were carrying too much weight........... even allowing for the time of year. An aggrieved Kerry team awaits in 2 weeks and I would fear the worst.
Kildare's ball skills and handling was very good imo irregardless of whether they were fitter or not.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oP_70qItmmY&feature=player_embedded (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oP_70qItmmY&feature=player_embedded)
I assume Mr Connolly will get a ban for this, no?
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on January 22, 2012, 10:40:21 PM
Just watched the match back there again. Peter Kelly was absolutely superb. Great to have him back. Kildare's defence will be as strong as there is out there.
Achilles heel will as always be the forwards. Hopefully Johnny will go some way towards solving that. I hope he is parked beside O'Connor inside on the 14 when he returns. No good to us playing half the game inside our own 45 as he ended up last year. Interesting to see if O'Flaherty and Conway can be accomodated in the same half-forward line - possibly deploy Leper as a half-back? Smith and Kavanagh should both be given every opportunity in the league to find some form and confidence. Dowling is a nice footballer but still has a good bit of filling out to do. Would like to see how Pádraig Fogarty gets on at this level. Tommy Moolick looks like more of a half-back/midfielder.
Jeez DH - are you mental ?
OCallaghan taken out of his whf position (now Dooher is retured OC along with Paul Galvin is the best in football in that position right now).
Part of the problem iimo is that OConnor isnt a scoring FF.
I'd rather see Doyle and Smith. Or if a free scoring FF can be found to allow Doyle out to CHF then better still.
I have also to be convinced that Early will be anything other than a cameo player for the last 15 mins - too many inj will surely blunt his effectiveness?
Can still do a job when coming on for last 15 or so though...
the kildare forwads CAN get better and be improved - they dont have to be the weak point of the side. I have an opinion on that which I wont post on here though.
Rumors that DCU are pulling out of the final, are teams that afraid of Kildare now 8)
On serious note if this is the case, all college teams should be banned from what is originally suppose to be an inter-county warm-up tournament..
Tax-dodging feckers....
Quote from: Dinny Breen on January 23, 2012, 03:53:08 PM
Rumors that DCU are pulling out of the final, are teams that afraid of Kildare now 8)
On serious note if this is the case, all college teams should be banned from what is originally suppose to be an inter-county warm-up tournament..
Tax-dodging feckers....
Well certainly DCU should. If you can't play in the final, you shouldn't enter the competition.
Quote from: AZOffaly on January 23, 2012, 03:54:18 PM
Tax-dodging feckers....
Well certainly DCU should. If you can't play in the final, you shouldn't enter the competition.
With the Sigerson Cup just around the corner college teams are more worried about that now, UCC played a weakened team v Tipp yesterday i'd say DCU will do the same v Kildare.
Quote from: ross4life on January 23, 2012, 04:21:02 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on January 23, 2012, 03:54:18 PM
Tax-dodging feckers....
With the Sigerson Cup just around the corner college teams are more about that now, UCC played a weakened team v Tipp yesterday i'd say DCU will do the same v Kildare.
They know the timetables, so they can't say they didn't realise it would be close to the Sigerson. Either enter it or don't, they were allowed enter as a favour to them.
It's a fine line between doing what UCC did and resting all their main men, and simply ignoring the fixture altogether as rumour suggests DCU are considering. I personally think these competitions are much improved and are much more interesting for the presence of the college teams, and let's be fair here - it's not unheard of for county teams to make less than total effort either. Anyone remember Wexford vs DIT last year?
IF DCU are forced to play to a conclusion, they'll just put out the second stringers instead. And how do you legislate for that? Which is the lesser evil here - DCU fielding a second string side and lots of supporters paying €10 into a non-contest, or DCU pulling out altogether and Kildare being awarded the O'Byrne Cup, which in fairness, they have dominated?
What day is the O'Byrne Cup final fixed for? i see NUIG got the FBD final fixed for Friday night & i think that would suit both parties.
Quote from: lynchbhoy on January 23, 2012, 03:50:25 PM
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on January 22, 2012, 10:40:21 PM
Jeez DH - are you mental ?
OCallaghan taken out of his whf position (now Dooher is retured OC along with Paul Galvin is the best in football in that position right now).
Part of the problem iimo is that OConnor isnt a scoring FF.
I'd rather see Doyle and Smith. Or if a free scoring FF can be found to allow Doyle out to CHF then better still.
I have also to be convinced that Early will be anything other than a cameo player for the last 15 mins - too many inj will surely blunt his effectiveness?
Can still do a job when coming on for last 15 or so though...
the kildare forwads CAN get better and be improved - they dont have to be the weak point of the side. I have an opinion on that which I wont post on here though.
I think Leper probably played his best football ever in 2010 when he lined out at centre-back for a few of the games. Kildare have to get the balance right in the forwards because from 1 to 9 I don't think we're that far away.
Smith is not the player he was when he first broke onto the scene. Granted, he has had his troubles off the field and he has had a few niggly injuries but he should have established himself as the main man in the Kildare attack by now and he hasn't. Similar story with Kavanagh, who is probably the most talented natural footballer on the Kildare panel - including Doyle IMO. Brilliant one week and then anonymous the next. Reminds me a bit of Martin Lynch. Not sure whether McGeeney thinks Conway and O'Flaherty can be accomodated in the same half-forward line. EOF in the half-back line was a bit exposed yesterday so I presume that will necessitate either Conway or Leper going back there. McGeeney clearly sees a lot of worth in Paudie O'Neill's role in the half-forward line so he'll be very hard to dislodge.
As for Dermot, even 15 minute cameos would be a huge bonus. Who knows whether he'll have the legs for midfield anymore but I doubt many full-backs would like to see him landed on the edge of the square during the final quarter of a match.
Quote from: ross4life on January 23, 2012, 04:38:47 PM
What day is the O'Byrne Cup final fixed for? i see NUIG got the FBD final fixed for Friday night & i think that would suit both parties.
Next Sunday. It cannot be fixed for a weeknight if it's on in Newbridge as there's no floodlights. Has to be either Saturday or Sunday.
Quote from: Dinny Breen on January 23, 2012, 03:37:11 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oP_70qItmmY&feature=player_embedded (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oP_70qItmmY&feature=player_embedded)
I assume Mr Connolly will get a ban for this, no?
The ref booked himself and Jimmers so presumably it can't be reviewed?
why would the ref book himself? Was he that bad?
Quote from: AZOffaly on January 23, 2012, 04:53:31 PM
He was worse! The lad with the whistle behind the Town End goal would have probably done a better job.
Quote from: ross4life on January 23, 2012, 04:38:47 PM
DCU asked for a midweek fixture, but Kildare refused.
Bit of a joke though that this wasnt all sorted out long before now.
Though you'd think better for Kildare to play a decent team rather than a second steam (even if it means having to travel somewhere for floodlights)
Quote from: Lone Shark on January 23, 2012, 04:28:58 PM
It's a fine line between doing what UCC did and resting all their main men, and simply ignoring the fixture altogether as rumour suggests DCU are considering. I personally think these competitions are much improved and are much more interesting for the presence of the college teams, and let's be fair here - it's not unheard of for county teams to make less than total effort either. Anyone remember Wexford vs DIT last year?
IF DCU are forced to play to a conclusion, they'll just put out the second stringers instead. And how do you legislate for that? Which is the lesser evil here - DCU fielding a second string side and lots of supporters paying €10 into a non-contest, or DCU pulling out altogether and Kildare being awarded the O'Byrne Cup, which in fairness, they have dominated?
The other consideration is that if DCU pull out Kildare GAA will be down about 30K in revenue, which considering the financial situation would be a blow. Will the Leinster Council compensate Kildare GAA if DCU pull out?
Quote from: Dinny Breen on January 23, 2012, 05:43:34 PM
The other consideration is that if DCU pull out Kildare GAA will be down about 30K in revenue, which considering the financial situation would be a blow. Will the Leinster Council compensate Kildare GAA if DCU pull out?
But if DCU fielded a team that everyone knew would be uncompetitive, is that a realistic number? The Leinster council would also argue that since Kildare been at home in every match, they've done quite well revenue wise anyway, albeit deserved because their team has played the most entertaining, high quality football.
Attention Dublin fans, who is that absolute prize clown that always stands behind the goals with the bodhran? Every time the camera goes onto him he's screaming foul-mouthed abuse at someone. Every game Dublin play he manages to get his big angry head on the telly.
All gate proceeds go to an injured players' fund iirc. Kildare CC will not be "down in revenue".
Quote from: Jinxy on January 23, 2012, 05:52:47 PM
Attention Dublin fans, who is that absolute prize clown that always stands behind the goals with the bodhran? Every time the camera goes onto him he's screaming foul-mouthed abuse at someone. Every game Dublin play he manages to get his big angry head on the telly.
The lad who brings the whistle to all their matches should be hung from the crossbar at the Hill 16 end. Very irritating and distracting yesterday.
.... no I'm not referring to the referee AZ! ;)
Quote from: Canalman on January 23, 2012, 05:53:30 PM
All gate proceeds go to an injured players' fund iirc. Kildare CC will not be "down in revenue".
Really? Heard something before about this before mind, which actually makes it even more galling if true.
I know him Jinx......................................hes a thick mouthed eejit, in fairness he travels rain sleet or snow all over the country............had to laugh though when I came across him on facebook begging for a ticket for the all ireland final last year
Hes a mouthy arsehole, He works for CIE by the way and gives updates via facebook every hour or so of what hes up too........................ a looney out and out
Tell him to calm down before he has a heart attack.
Quote from: Jinxy on January 23, 2012, 06:20:40 PM
Tell him to calm down before he has a heart attack.
I wouldnt even talk to him Jinx, hes a looney.................he always gets the mug on tv, another arsehole with a whistle frequents near him too ::)
Quote from: Hound on January 23, 2012, 12:30:20 PM
Regardless of fitness, poor pitch and poor ref, I thought the Dubs were pretty awful. Our main tactic when we had the ball seemed to be the aimless hoof. Apart from Kev Mac and Paddy Andrews, who instead went the "run into a cul de sac" option, with very little end product. Cullen was our best man I thought.
You'd be poor if you trained for 4 hours on the saturday. Cant have helped.
Having said that I know where you are coming from. But we're at a different stage of fitness compared to Kildare.
Christ of Almighty you'd swear we'd lost something important yesterday the way some are going on.
Not sure half our lads are dried out yet.
Quote from: INDIANA on January 23, 2012, 06:35:13 PM
Having said that I know where you are coming from. But we're at a different stage of fitness compared to Kildare.
Christ of Almighty you'd swear we'd lost something important yesterday the way some are going on.
Indeed ............................ kinda hoping they put a stop to it now, I think the lads have consumed enough drink, hope gilroy puts a ban on some of them using twitter and facebook ;)......................... stupid nonsense
He's irritating alright but in fairness the camera seems to find him every match. Not like that ejiot "Where's Wally" down in Cork who actually seeks out the camera.
Quote from: squire_in_navy_slacks on January 23, 2012, 08:30:38 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on January 23, 2012, 06:35:13 PM
Indeed ............................ kinda hoping they put a stop to it now, I think the lads have consumed enough drink, hope gilroy puts a ban on some of them using twitter and facebook ;)......................... stupid nonsense
Eamonn Fennell for one could do with staying away from twitter and losing a stone of arse meat while he's at it.
http://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-football/connolly-hopes-to-avoid-league-ban-as-chiefs-probe-lilies-incident-2997176.html (http://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-football/connolly-hopes-to-avoid-league-ban-as-chiefs-probe-lilies-incident-2997176.html)
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on January 23, 2012, 05:04:21 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on January 23, 2012, 04:53:31 PM
He was worse! The lad with the whistle behind the Town End goal would have probably done a better job.
That's a bit harsh, thought the ref was good. Look at it this way, he was spot on on O'Flaherty's sending off and got the penalty decision correct. You could argue Brogan's sending off was harsh but by the letter of the law it was the right call. Missed the Connolly thing but then so did the majority of people until they saw the replay.
Any Ref getting that quota of big decisions right, considering how hard the game is to referee, has had a decent day at the office.
Cill Dara (v DCU)
1 Shane Connolly (St Laurences)
2 Hugh McGrillen (Celbridge)
3 Ciarán Fitzpatrick (Kilcock)
4 Ollie Lyons (Celbridge)
5 Brian Flanagan (Johnstownbridge)
6 Tommy O'Neill (St Laurences)
7 Mark Scanlon (Round Towers)
8 Johnny Doyle (Allenwood)
9 Pádraig O'Neill (St Laurences)
10 Éamonn Callaghan (Naas)
11 Rob Kelly (Straffan)
12 Morgan O'Flaherty (Carbury)
13 Pádraig Fogarty (St Laurences)
14 Tomás O'Connor (Clane)
15 James Kavanagh (Ballymore)
Heard that Newbridge is waterlogged and the match IS off.
Is the Bihatimber final off as well?
"Bord na Mona O'Byrne Cup Final: DCU v Kildare, O'Moore Pk, Portlaoise. Friday 17th Feb @ 7.30pm. TBC. PROVISIONAL FIXTURE"
Quote from: Dinny Breen on January 30, 2012, 11:05:56 PM
"Bord na Mona O'Byrne Cup Final: DCU v Kildare, O'Moore Pk, Portlaoise. Friday 17th Feb @ 7.30pm. TBC. PROVISIONAL FIXTURE"
O'Moore Park. We're unbeatable there!
Diarmuid Connolly thankfully cleared and available for the league.
Quote from: heffo on January 31, 2012, 12:02:26 PM
Diarmuid Connolly thankfully cleared and available for the league.
(http://t1.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcTjJ1nQy_Fz_RoRA50lVYF-YWHuMA6BQFG-U60UT5wSZpcc-8Y6Dw)
Kavanagh was lined up for a ban too
Connolly and others of a similar temperament will have to learn they'll be 'targetted' as part of a deliberate strategy and not react.
Cill Dara (v DCU) 17 Feb 2012
1. Robbie Eyres - Clane
2. Shane Bergin - Naas
3. Hugh McGrillen - Celbridge
4. Darren Barker - Kilcullen
5. Kevin Murnaghan - Moorefield
6. Mick Foley - Athy
7. Karl Ennis - Maynooth
8. Conor Feeney - Confey
9. Paddy Dunne - Athy
10. Caoimhín McDonnell - Sarsfields
11. Éamonn Callaghan - Naas
12. Thomas McCann - Confey
13. Alan Smith - Sarsfields
14. Ken Donnelly - Ellistown
15. Dessie Lawlor - St Laurences
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on February 16, 2012, 05:40:59 PM
1. Robbie Eyres - Clane
2. Shane Bergin - Naas
6. Mick Foley - Athy
7. Karl Ennis - Maynooth
8. Conor Feeney - Confey
9. Paddy Dunne - Athy
Am I missing something here, this worked 3 years ago with Conway and has since failed with Higgins and O'Flaherty, can't see how Ennis is going to fair any better..
Quote from: Dinny Breen on February 16, 2012, 05:47:17 PM
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on February 16, 2012, 05:40:59 PM
1. Robbie Eyres - Clane
2. Shane Bergin - Naas
6. Mick Foley - Athy
7. Karl Ennis - Maynooth
8. Conor Feeney - Confey
9. Paddy Dunne - Athy
Am I missing something here, this worked 3 years ago with Conway and has since failed with Higgins and O'Flaherty, can't see how Ennis is going to fair any better..
Looks like it's just a cobbled together team of the lads that are available. Wouldn't read too much into it.
NUIM are playing UCD tonight so that rules out Connolly, Moolick, Brophy, Hurley and Peter Kelly. JD, Bolton and Conway are playing for Leinster in the Railway Cup. The junior management are going to be on the line so it doesn't look like we'll be taking it too seriously.
FT Kildare 1-12 DCU 3-7 Injury time goal from Philly McMahon won it for DCU! (they were losing 1-12 to 0-5) Eamonn Gallaghan scored the Kildare goal while Dean Rock scored the other two goals for DCU why isn't this guy playing for Dublin? & was good to hear after his injury lay off Cathal Cregg got his first start for months.
Not every day we get to see a Westmeath man lifting silverware. Will take it!
Fairly pathetic way to lose a match. Pretty sure McMahon was in the square for the winning goal but it should have never been allowed to get to that point. Not sure any of the newer lads here will feature at all during in the league. Fitness levels were quite poor in the final quarter. The established lads held the show together Leper, Foley and McGrillen in particular. McDonnell showed a bit of potential. Doubt there's a Peter Kelly among this junior team though.
Shark - on a team that's been going very well, I hear that Gavin at full back has been DCU's best player.
From a Dub point of view Johnny Cooper and Dean Rock have been going very well - be interesting to see if they get called up. Poor O'Gara came on as sub and was taken off again (just before the comeback started)!
Quote from: Hound on February 18, 2012, 09:04:51 AM
Shark - on a team that's been going very well, I hear that Gavin at full back has been DCU's best player.
From a Dub point of view Johnny Cooper and Dean Rock have been going very well - be interesting to see if they get called up. Poor O'Gara came on as sub and was taken off again (just before the comeback started)!
Yeah he was outstanding against DIT on Wednesday. His younger brother Davy played last night too. I've seen them against DIT and CIT and on both occasions Cooper has looked the part. Very comfortable on the ball and his tacking intensity is huge. Has outshone McCarthy on both days.
Kieran Gavin is one of the best full backs in the game, delighted to see him lifting some silverware, hope DCU go on to win the Sigerson.