Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: Orangemac on September 01, 2011, 11:42:36 PM

Title: Is there a Recession going on at all?
Post by: Orangemac on September 01, 2011, 11:42:36 PM
There has been a downturn both in Ireland and UK for about 3/4 years now but how real is it?

Obviously gov revenues are down and deficits are up. Unemployment is up a lot in the South and a bit in the North but everywhere you look there are few signs of any real downturn.

For anyone who has lost their job the recession is real but there is no shortage of new cars about North and South, weddings are still as big as they were, everywhere you go people have IPhones/blackberries and every child in the country has the latest games/gadgets. The fleadh in Cavan recently had massive crowds and every major concert seems to be sold out.

Everyones income is down a bit but is this recession not really hitting people the way the one in the 1980s did?
Title: Re: Is there a Recession going on at all?
Post by: laoislad on September 01, 2011, 11:43:43 PM
House cleaners are doing a roaring trade I hear.
Post by: Tony Baloney on September 01, 2011, 11:44:36 PM
Quote from: laoislad on September 01, 2011, 11:43:43 PM
Post by: screenexile on September 01, 2011, 11:49:10 PM
Quote from: Orangemac on September 01, 2011, 11:42:36 PM
There has been a downturn both in Ireland and UK for about 3/4 years now but how real is it?

Obviously gov revenues are down and deficits are up. Unemployment is up a lot in the South and a bit in the North but everywhere you look there are few signs of any real downturn.

For anyone who has lost their job the recession is real but there is no shortage of new cars about North and South, weddings are still as big as they were, everywhere you go people have IPhones/blackberries and every child in the country has the latest games/gadgets. The fleadh in Cavan recently had massive crowds and every major concert seems to be sold out.

Everyones income is down a bit but is this recession not really hitting people the way the one in the 1980s did?

Go chat to someone who has lost their job and their house and see how the recession is . . . people are getting it tight because you are a middle class person everyone you know is middle class and most likely affected but not hugely but you can be sure a number of people are feeling the pressure and it's unlikely to ease in the short term!
Post by: Capt Pat on September 02, 2011, 12:29:37 AM
Somethings you haven't taken into account are people don't like to boast about lising money or not having it. Also there are the haves and have nots, the haves dish out the good jobs business and resources amongst themselves and the have nots can fcuk off to London or Glasgow or go on the dole. The haves have always had money for big cars and foreign holidays etc. That is the way this country works recession or not.

It is an atrocious way to run a country but that is the way it is.
Post by: nrico2006 on September 02, 2011, 08:34:58 AM
Two words - credit cards.
Post by: Canalman on September 02, 2011, 10:00:42 AM
About 60% of the population is only slightly affected by the recession (their house values might have fallen).
In Dublin for example, Saturday nights are still busy whereas the rest of the week is very quiet. Not so long ago it was a 7 night a week party town.

I'd say 25% of the population are rightly screwed with another 15% struggling.

The North imo is an oddity with its massive exchequer subsidies. Watching BBC last night and a section about military compulsory redundancies and I think there is a cold chill coming your way shortly.
Post by: HiMucker on September 02, 2011, 11:04:43 AM
Sky TV subscription is higher amongst the unemployed than it is amongst the working and middle class, go figure.  But there is difinetley and recession I just dont think it has hit rock bottom yet.  There is a whole generation of 17-20 year olds with no jobs to look forward to.
Post by: Bingo on September 02, 2011, 11:12:56 AM
Quote from: laoislad on September 01, 2011, 11:43:43 PM

;D I came in to post that!

Retail spending is well down, easy to see, as is social spending ie pubs.

People are putting more value to what they spend money on, it was daft in a few years. They say the Pennys, Heatons, Dunnes etc will actually do better now in recessionery times as will Mcdonalds, Cinema's etc. People look for value for money again eg Car scrappage scheme has masked the number of new cars and also the fact that people hadn't changed cars in years.

I only see it worsening. Mind you had a client said he advertised for a sales job in Donegal and got 2 replies, not even worth interviewing. One of the big problems is that previously low paid employees now on the social get a taste for it and all its benefits and won't rejoin the labour force at low rates of pay.
Post by: whiskeysteve on September 02, 2011, 11:20:24 AM
We are a long way off the bottom.

The recession is deepening into a depression. Granted there will be peaks and troughs along the way but where is the soild source of growth and credit to pull us out?

What do people think will happen as the dollar continues to collapse in value, oil price rises and the eurozone collapses?

North and South there are fat public sectors which even seen a real trimming yet. The Croke park agreement will be torn up within a year.

There are thousands of people who are clinging onto their businesses and assets and putting a brave face on things is seen as essential.

Bottom line - there can be no recovery to the global economy (and certainly not to Irelands) until there is debt forgiveness on a massive scale. Until that time we will grind down into penury.
Post by: Rossfan on September 02, 2011, 12:29:39 PM
Jasus you're some profit of doom.
Debt forgiveness means that someone ( usually pension funds/taxpayers/bank depositors/other savers ) have to forego some of their money so that someone else doesnt have to pay what they owe.
The oul' right wing IBEC cliches about public sector fat and cuts have been tried for the last 3 years in the 26Cos and hasnt been a magic bullet.
Th Croke Park agreement won't be torn up.
The 26 Cos. is meeting its bail out targets and is on track .... to something ... hopefully better days when the "correction" of the stupidity visited on us by AhernHarneyMcCreevyBankersDevelopers has been completed.
Meanwhile exports are rising as we go back to what an economy should be doing .. producing stuff and selling it... not borrowing lorryloads of money to buy property at about 5 times what it should have been taking the economy and pay rates into account.
By the way I AM NOT A FG SUPPORTER    
Post by: armaghniac on September 02, 2011, 12:49:57 PM
Life goes on for most people. You hear of mortgages being in arrears, but 96% of houses either have no mortgage or people are payign their mortgage. Now some of these are getting it tight, but most people are not.
Likewise most people are working and in some sector like IT there is a shortage of people and salaries are rising, while in others like agri-business it is business as usual.

I was going to start a thread with this title after the Armagh Tyrone game in Omagh. This was well attended, yet I passed on shop (Spar) which closed its food counter and another chip shop that was turning away people. These "businessmen" were not bothered to get in a few students or have someone work another shift to cater to the extra demand that was passing their door. The staff might well have been glad of few extra hours.  This is not the first time I have noticed this type of thing, the entrepreneurial spirit is sadly lacking.

Meanwhile exports are rising as we go back to what an economy should be doing .. producing stuff and selling it... not borrowing lorryloads of money to buy property at about 5 times what it should have been taking the economy and pay rates into account.

Exactly.
Post by: Bingo on September 02, 2011, 01:01:38 PM
Posted this before on another thread.

Was at an expo show in local hotel about 3 months back. Had it in mind to do a few small jobs round house, specific enough stuff. Left my details with 3 companies/tradesmen and more or less agreed to details with 2 of them.

Have never heard from them since, despite completing their full contact sheets on the day.

Someone else done the work in the end.
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on September 02, 2011, 02:22:00 PM

I think you must be living in cloud cuckooland, the recession is very real, have been feeling it and its effects for years.
Post by: seafoid on September 02, 2011, 03:05:53 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on September 02, 2011, 02:22:00 PM

I think you must be living in cloud cuckooland, the recession is very real, have been feeling it and its effects for years.
I think the recession is really obvious in Ireland.  The special offers in the shops eg  biscuits with 100% extra free. The butchers offering 5 items for €15. Even if the weddings are still happening the costs have been slashed. 

The prices are down in restaurants. Closed shops and businesses. The property section in the Irish Times is down to half a page.
Emigration.
Of course many people are comfortable but an awful lot are suffering.   
Post by: thejuice on September 02, 2011, 04:52:46 PM
I'm over de water in Sasanachstown and things are really starting to get tight. Gas prices are going up next month as is the price of my train ticket to work. Foods gone way up, the petrol was over £1:40 a few weeks ago but its dropped a bit since the hoors took Libya.

There are plenty of empty retail units around the town centres now and some that have been empty for a few years. Even on the high street. The other day they announced that manufacturing was at a 26 month low.

We're strictly shopping at Aldi and Lidl for groceries and have cut that down to £90 a month. Saving every penny for the next MOT and it'll need a new cambelt soon and its engine management light is coming on and off all the time. Dreading whenever it decides to go belly up.
Post by: pintsofguinness on September 02, 2011, 06:58:36 PM
£90 a month on groceries?
how do you do that???
Post by: boojangles on September 02, 2011, 07:47:44 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on September 02, 2011, 06:58:36 PM
how do you do that???

Eat less.
Post by: pintsofguinness on September 02, 2011, 07:58:33 PM
Quote from: boojangles on September 02, 2011, 07:47:44 PM
how do you do that???

Eat less.
They must only be eating every other day.
Post by: firestarter on September 02, 2011, 08:12:22 PM
By dictionary definition we are. The reality however is that only an unfortunate few of us have had our lives turned upside down by this recession. The majority of us have had to tighten the belts a bit but we can't complain with our standard of living specially when we look around the world. Personally speaking I think most of us were living above our means anyway especially considering how poor the economy in Northern Ireland was.
Post by: muppet on September 02, 2011, 08:39:03 PM
Incredible that people can't see effects of the recession in the 26.

Are you people actually in the 26? The OP mentioned no shortage of new cars. New car sales have fallen over 50% in the last 3 years. Doesn't that sound like a recession? Not only are there hardly any new 2011 cars around but I rarely see any 2010 cars.
Post by: firestarter on September 02, 2011, 08:51:40 PM
sorry should of specified i'm livin in 1 of the 'wee 6' and was referring to things here. South of the country is a different story altogether. I hear horror stories of how tough many people (mostly homeowners) are getting things at the moment and my heart goes out. The mortgage default figures tell the tale.
Post by: johnneycool on September 02, 2011, 10:00:02 PM
Quote from: firestarter on September 02, 2011, 08:51:40 PM
sorry should of specified i'm livin in 1 of the 'wee 6' and was referring to things here. South of the country is a different story altogether. I hear horror stories of how tough many people (mostly homeowners) are getting things at the moment and my heart goes out. The mortgage default figures tell the tale.

Being on the dole recently myself I was surprised to see the number of people out and about during the day, obviously not working so somethings got to give. I know a lad who works in the local offy and he says the takings are slighty up, so I'd say the pubs and restraunts might be taking a bit of a hit.

The building game is on its arse with tradesmen taking less that a third to do jobs that they were doing two to three years ago. In saying that they had it good back then with the likes of plasters taking over £1k a week. They're getting £250 to £300 a week now if they're lucky to be in work.

I think when the public sector in the North gets a bit of a trimming then reality will kick in for a lot of people.

The worse is yet to come IMO.
Post by: thejuice on September 02, 2011, 10:16:44 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on September 02, 2011, 07:58:33 PM
how do you do that???

Eat less.

You just get what you need and buy things you can get a few days out of. Don't buy snacks at all. And when it comes to fruit other than bananas, for this month in particular we've gone out picking it in forests and country parks at the weekend. Got apples, wild plums and loads of blackberries.

BUt I remember someone told me about what poverty is really like in parts of Eastern Europe and it puts it all in its place. We all like to have a bit of a moan when we've had the frills cut off us but you learn you never needed them in the first place. He told me that in parts of Ukraine near Moldova there were lads who were selling a kidney to pay their bills.

Post by: Milltown Row2 on September 02, 2011, 10:21:21 PM
What price a pint in Dublin now? Heading down tomorrow for the weekend hurling. (my 16th in a row!!)
Post by: muppet on September 02, 2011, 10:23:30 PM
Quote from: thejuice on September 02, 2011, 10:16:44 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on September 02, 2011, 07:58:33 PM
how do you do that???

Eat less.

You just get what you need and buy things you can get a few days out of. Don't buy snacks at all. And when it comes to fruit other than bananas, for this month in particular we've gone out picking it in forests and country parks at the weekend. Got apples, wild plums and loads of blackberries.

BUt I remember someone told me about what poverty is really like in parts of Eastern Europe and it puts it all in its place. We all like to have a bit of a moan when we've had the frills cut off us but you learn you never needed them in the first place. He told me that in parts of Ukraine near Moldova there were lads who were selling a kidney to pay their bills.

Actually I'm glad you said that. Been looking for info on my ancestors and some grim stuff turns up from the 1800s. Quite a few deaths in childbirth and a couple of truly horrific famine stories. We need to keep some perspective.
Post by: laoislad on September 02, 2011, 10:24:47 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on September 02, 2011, 10:21:21 PM
What price a pint in Dublin now? Heading down tomorrow for the weekend hurling. (my 16th in a row!!)

Depends where you are,had one yesterday it cost €5.20.
Post by: johnneycool on September 02, 2011, 10:40:12 PM
Quote from: laoislad on September 02, 2011, 10:24:47 PM

Depends where you are,had one yesterday it cost €5.20.

There'll be a few carryouts bought in Newry then.
Post by: Tony Baloney on September 02, 2011, 10:44:43 PM
I doubt you'll let the price put you off!
Post by: Milltown Row2 on September 02, 2011, 10:47:52 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on September 02, 2011, 10:44:43 PM

Yeah, Wife will no doubt tell me at the end of the month!! 
Post by: Tony Baloney on September 02, 2011, 10:56:41 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on September 02, 2011, 10:47:52 PM

Aye I know, we've a joint account too as she watches it like a hawk. Was saying to Minder earlier I'll need to slip a few quid into a wee slush fund for next year without her noticing instead of a crying match when €200 is pulled out of a cash machine Dublin!
Post by: laoislad on September 02, 2011, 10:58:56 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on September 02, 2011, 10:56:41 PM

Aye I know, we've a joint account too as she watches it like a hawk. Was saying to Minder earlier I'll need to slip a few quid into a wee slush fund for next year without her noticing instead of a crying match when €200 is pulled out of a cash machine Dublin!

She has big thumbs.
Post by: Tony Baloney on September 02, 2011, 11:06:32 PM
Quote from: laoislad on September 02, 2011, 10:58:56 PM

She has big thumbs.
I have no idea what that means. Was it funny?
Post by: laoislad on September 02, 2011, 11:07:33 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on September 02, 2011, 11:06:32 PM

She has big thumbs.

Yes.
Post by: muppet on September 02, 2011, 11:08:27 PM

She has big thumbs.

If it rains do you get wet?
Post by: Milltown Row2 on September 02, 2011, 11:11:18 PM
Well I was sorted this year, managed to win a couple of decent bets and that has paid for it. Plus I'm staying at a friends house so free accommodation
Post by: Tony Baloney on September 02, 2011, 11:16:09 PM
Quote from: muppet on September 02, 2011, 11:08:27 PM

She has big thumbs.

If it rains do you get wet?
Sound of a penny dropping. I'm the boss of our house unless she decides otherwise.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on September 02, 2011, 11:34:49 PM
It's simple, it's who gets to the bank first job done, all good though, lucky we are both earning, and in today's recession I'm pleased.
Post by: Orangemac on September 03, 2011, 12:51:56 AM
Quote from: screenexile on September 01, 2011, 11:49:10 PM

Go chat to someone who has lost their job and their house and see how the recession is . . . people are getting it tight because you are a middle class person everyone you know is middle class and most likely affected but not hugely but you can be sure a number of people are feeling the pressure and it's unlikely to ease in the short term!
I know plenty of people who have lost their jobs, some found work pretty quickly, some seem to comfortable enough on the dole especially in the South. They can afford to go out for meals, have the odd weekend away,send their children to Irish dancing etc.

I am not in a middle class ivory tower. We didn't have loads during the boom and we have a bit less now. I am grateful to have my job.The downturn is correcting the craziness of the credit fuelled boom and spending is down substantially because people aren't able to access the credit they were a few years ago.
Post by: Leonardo on September 03, 2011, 01:12:33 AM
of course there is a recession. there is still work available but rates in construction area fraction of what was going 3 years ago. i was paying joiners 1k per week if they were in dublin but average for north was 500 quid. they were spoiled then and appreciate 300 now
Post by: Milltown Row2 on September 04, 2011, 01:02:44 AM
I'm hammered in dublin. Drinks too dear but craic is 90
Post by: Tony Baloney on September 04, 2011, 01:13:49 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on September 04, 2011, 01:02:44 AM
:D Eejit!
Post by: ONeill on September 04, 2011, 01:18:01 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on September 04, 2011, 01:02:44 AM

Antrim eh.
Post by: Minder on September 04, 2011, 01:19:36 AM
Pretty shocking behaviour by Milltown Row.
Post by: Tony Baloney on September 04, 2011, 01:21:51 AM
He'll leave the data roaming on and get hammered on his phone bill too!
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on September 04, 2011, 03:57:06 AM
Quote from: Orangemac on September 03, 2011, 12:51:56 AM
Quote from: screenexile on September 01, 2011, 11:49:10 PM

I know plenty of people who have lost their jobs, some found work pretty quickly, some seem to comfortable enough on the dole especially in the South. They can afford to go out for meals, have the odd weekend away,send their children to Irish dancing etc.

I am not in a middle class ivory tower. We didn't have loads during the boom and we have a bit less now. I am grateful to have my job.The downturn is correcting the craziness of the credit fuelled boom and spending is down substantially because people aren't able to access the credit they were a few years ago.

Ya people used called them jobs.
Post by: maggie on September 07, 2011, 03:30:13 PM
Very sad news for the 575 workers in the Talk Talk call centre in Waterford today.
Post by: Orangemac on September 07, 2011, 09:33:35 PM
These hammer blows keep coming, Carrick On Shannon and now Waterford. Sad news for all.

Meanwhile this kind of s**t keeps on going.

http://www.independent.ie/national-news/bord-gais-retirees-to-get-euro440000-package-despite-price-hikes-2857158.html

http://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/news/local-national/republic-of-ireland/hands-tied-over-mccarthy-pension-16046039.html

There is supposed to be €4bn of cuts in December budget but the government will continue to go for the easy targets rather than challenge the vested interests.

Post by: Mayo4Sam on September 08, 2011, 12:33:04 AM
I work in Bord Gais and I'd say 90% of people I talk to are disgusted by things like the above, even lads I know going for the redundancy package, it'll work out at about 72% of a lads wages for ten yrs if he's 55 now, ridiculous. Another story in the press last week about furniture for €300k for a new office. Most people are embarrassed by it, thankful to be in a job but it's the unions that run the place, unskilled workers that were trained by BG and need a bonus to change anything in their contract including things that improve their jobs, it's a fuckin joke and annoys me. Union reps in their bully new starters into joining the union and then mobilise these clowns when there's a vote on pay cuts or pensions. And we all get tarred with the same brush, I who could blame anyone reading shite like that.

On another note I always think there's jobs there if you want them, a lot of lads I know just dont seem to want a job enough, are beaten before they ever go near the job. I've been laid off twice since 2008 and have gotten two jobs, I also started working for myself, even though I'm on about 30% less salary wise in my 9-5 job I'm much better off when I include the self employed stuff. And to be honest, when you have a job there's nothing better than a recession, websites like city deals etc give great value for meals, weekends away with the missus etc
However I do count myself eternally luckily, I had mortgage approval in '08, 100% mortgage, two months before I was laid off, stalled it cause I felt the dark clouds at work, thank f**k!
Post by: ludermor on September 08, 2011, 05:19:34 PM
Quote from: Mayo4Sam on September 08, 2011, 12:33:04 AM
I work in Bord Gais and I'd say 90% of people I talk to are disgusted by things like the above, even lads I know going for the redundancy package, it'll work out at about 72% of a lads wages for ten yrs if he's 55 now, ridiculous. Another story in the press last week about furniture for €300k for a new office. Most people are embarrassed by it, thankful to be in a job but it's the unions that run the place, unskilled workers that were trained by BG and need a bonus to change anything in their contract including things that improve their jobs, it's a fuckin joke and annoys me. Union reps in their bully new starters into joining the union and then mobilise these clowns when there's a vote on pay cuts or pensions. And we all get tarred with the same brush, I who could blame anyone reading shite like that.

On another note I always think there's jobs there if you want them, a lot of lads I know just dont seem to want a job enough, are beaten before they ever go near the job. I've been laid off twice since 2008 and have gotten two jobs, I also started working for myself, even though I'm on about 30% less salary wise in my 9-5 job I'm much better off when I include the self employed stuff. And to be honest, when you have a job there's nothing better than a recession, websites like city deals etc give great value for meals, weekends away with the missus etc
However I do count myself eternally luckily, I had mortgage approval in '08, 100% mortgage, two months before I was laid off, stalled it cause I felt the dark clouds at work, thank f**k!
Ditto, i came across an email from a brokeR back in 2007 offering me a mortgage of 540K!!
Post by: laoislad on September 08, 2011, 05:23:34 PM
Quote from: ludermor on September 08, 2011, 05:19:34 PM

Ditto, i came across an email from a broke back in 2007 offering me a mortgage of 540K!!

I'd say your're into the Broke Back(Mountain) alright  ;)
Post by: ludermor on September 08, 2011, 05:33:01 PM
Quote from: laoislad on September 08, 2011, 05:23:34 PM
Quote from: ludermor on September 08, 2011, 05:19:34 PM

Ditto, i came across an email from a broke back in 2007 offering me a mortgage of 540K!!

I'd say your're into the Broke Back(Mountain) alright  ;)
Ah Jasus!!
Post by: Mayo4Sam on September 08, 2011, 05:40:36 PM
I'd like to distance myself from Luder's comments