Congrats to Shamrock Rovers.!
What a night for Irish sport and Irish soccer.
I'm sure there will be a few begrudgers as always.
Jesus, are they through? What was the final score?
Won 2-1 after extra time.
Historic result for domestic soccer in fairness. To go over and beat a decent side like Partizan Belgrade 2-1 in Belgrade to qualify for the Europa League group stages. I'm sure they will be hoping for a big name or two in the draw.
Equaliser was a cracker.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vOfNq6JY_BE (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vOfNq6JY_BE)
Great result, which mandates the FAI decison years ago to move to summer soccer.
Rovers did well. Fair play.
Twink's cooking obviously helped :-\
€1 million + on the way
Fair fcuks to them.
Brilliant result for Rovers. At least I can give my support to a team in Europe this year. What a lift for Irish soccer
Is the draw tomorrow?
Some goal that Sullivan scored:
http://www.101greatgoals.com/videodisplay/woosh-golazo-pat-sullivan-shamrock-rovers-partizan-belgrade-15322787/
Brilliant result and great for Irish soccer if other teams can now start believing. Fair play to the Shams.
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on August 25, 2011, 10:37:45 PM
http://www.101greatgoals.com/videodisplay/woosh-golazo-pat-sullivan-shamrock-rovers-partizan-belgrade-15322787/
Magic.
Some result for Rovers, and fair dues. My Bohs pal will be delighted for them! :D
Well done, an important barrier passed. What a goal to equalize.
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on August 25, 2011, 10:37:45 PM
Tony Baloney likes this.
Well Setanta were advertising FC Sion v Celtic but the other Hoops were on :)
Fcuk sake lads give Sion Mills some credit. That wee linen town give Celtic a right doing tonight.
Quote from: sammymaguire on August 25, 2011, 10:08:54 PM
€1 million + on the way
Think this is the breakdown for anyone interested:
€640,000 straight up then €60,000 per match in the Group Stage (6 matches), then it's €140,000 for each win.
The least any group stage side appeared to get last season was Hadjuk Split at €1,225,078, hopefully da roverzzz won't squander it like LOI clubs are well known for doing, unreal achievement though, no doubt John Delaney will pop up on tv & radio proclaiming the great part the board of the FAI played in it all
Did the Rovers player dive for the penalty? Looked a bit dodgy on the crappy video I saw.
Brilliant result and amazing goal, if Messi scored it the media would not stop tallking about it.
Is O'Neill a manager who could go on to bigger things? His teams never seem to lie down and the amount of games they win in the last minute is unreal.
Faaaaaantaaaastic equalizer and result from a Derry City fan in Oz.
Quote from: Aerlik on August 26, 2011, 07:52:17 AM
Likewise Aerlik, I would be a Monaghan Utd fan and was glued to the twitter this morning in work watching the match develop, it was v exciting!!
Fair play to Rovers, it was amazing watching their belief grow in the second half of the first leg. They scored a cracking goal that night too, and clearly carried that belief to Belgrade.
Fair play. Great to see it. :)
Quote from: Aerlik on August 26, 2011, 07:52:17 AM
I dont believe you! a derry city fan from south derry, I have never heard the like of it :D
Wonderful night for Irish sport. They did us proud. Its up there with some of the best Irish sporting achievements ever IMO.
Despite the loss of status of the Europa League, some tasty teams in the draw. Spurs, PSV, Atletico, Athletic Bilbao, Lazio, Udinese . . . bummer neither Celtic or Rangers made it
UEFA Europa League group stage (http://www.uefa.com/uefaeuropaleague/season=2012/accesslist/listofparticipants/index.html)
Position Club Coefficient
1 Tottenham Hotspur FC (ENG) 78.157
2 PSV Eindhoven (NED) 74.025
3 Club Atlético de Madrid (ESP) 70.465
4 Sporting Clube de Portugal (POR) 68.319
5 SC Braga (POR) 62.319
6 FC Schalke 04 (GER) [CW] 61.887
7 FC Dynamo Kyiv (UKR) 60.776
8 Paris Saint-Germain FC (FRA) 51.735
9 FC København (DEN) 51.110
10 AZ Alkmaar (NED) 43.025
11 RSC Anderlecht (BEL) 42.400
12 FC Twente (NED) 41.025
13 Fulham FC (ENG) [FP] 40.157
14 Beşiktaş JK (TUR) [CW] 37.010
15 Hapoel Tel-Aviv FC (ISR) [CW] 36.400
16 FC Metalist Kharkiv (UKR) 34.276
17 R. Standard de Liège (BEL) 32.400
18 FC Rubin Kazan (RUS) 31.941
19 Club Brugge KV (BEL) 31.400
20 AEK Athens FC (GRE) [CW] 30.833
21 FC Steaua Bucureşti (ROU) [CW] 29.164
22 Udinese Calcio (ITA) 27.110
23 Athletic Club (ESP) 24.465
24 S.S. Lazio (ITA) 23.110
25 FC Salzburg (AUT) 22.140
26 Maccabi Haifa FC (ISR) 21.400
27 FC Zürich (SUI) 18.980
28 Odense BK (DEN) 18.610
29 FC Lokomotiv Moskva (RUS) 18.441
30 PAOK FC (GRE) 17.333
31 Birmingham City FC (ENG) 17.157
32 Stoke City FC (ENG) [CF] 17.157
33 Stade Rennais FC (FRA) 16.735
34 FK Austria Wien (AUT) 16.640
35 FC Rapid Bucureşti (ROU) 16.164
36 Hannover 96 (GER) 13.887
37 FC Vorskla Poltava (UKR) 10.276
38 Wisła Kraków (POL) 10.183
39 FC Vaslui (ROU) 10.164
40 FC Sion (SUI) [CW] 9.480
41 SK Sturm Graz (AUT) 8.640
42 Maccabi Tel-Aviv FC (ISR) 5.900
43 ŠK Slovan Bratislava (SVK) 5.899
44 Legia Warszawa (POL) [CW] 5.183
45 NK Maribor (SVN) 4.224
46 AEK Larnaca FC (CYP) 3.624
47 Malmö FF (SWE) 2.825
48 Shamrock Rovers FC (IRL) 2.741
Can you imagine Rangers and Shamrock Rovers in the same group?
Quote from: AZOffaly on August 26, 2011, 10:40:58 AM
Only way its gonna happen.
48 teams. 8 6s? I know it can't happen with rangers, that was a hypothetical statement :)
What way does coefficient thing work?
How would Stoke for example be above some of the other teams even though they would have no European record at all.
Quote from: A.B.U on August 26, 2011, 10:49:28 AM
What way does coefficient thing work?
How would Stoke for example be above some of the other teams even though they would have no European record at all.
Like you don't know. :) Clubs benefit from their Associations co-efficients as well. So Stoke are benefitting from United, Liverpool, Fulham, Arsenal and Chelsea's achievements in Europe over the past several years.
It's actually 12 4s, which is a bummer. 8 6s would have given a great chance of some big names.
That said, this group would be good for gates and TV.
Spurs
Lazio
Rapid Bucharest
Shamrock Rovers
Quote from: AZOffaly on August 26, 2011, 10:40:58 AM
Yep. It'd be great
Well done Rovers, at least there'll still be hoops in Europe! :'(
Great result for Irish soccer; it will help all other qualifiers for Europe for the next few years too. Important to build on it now. Let's hope they don't draw too many Eastern bloc trips (and there are also still three Israeli teams in the pot).
Great result for Rovers and 2 cracking goals scored from play in the tie. Perversely this is bad news for LOI clubs as Rovers will now have even more financial dominance over fellow premier division teams.
Any news on draw?
Quote from: A.B.U on August 26, 2011, 01:03:19 PM
Any news on draw?
They got Spurs! And some other teams I never heard of....
Rovers
Spurs
Rubin Kazan
Paok Fc
All the best to them
Anyone got the full draw? Who did Stoke and others get.
Quote from: Tubberman on August 26, 2011, 01:07:50 PM
Quote from: A.B.U on August 26, 2011, 01:03:19 PM
Any news on draw?
They got Spurs! And some other teams I never heard of....
San Siro last year Tallaght this year!
Great news for the LOI
With decent money coming into Rovers, Wee Pat the Rat will be on the phone to Tallaght looking that gig...he could buy himself a couple more titles and have them in debt in no time!
Quote from: Forever Green on August 26, 2011, 01:18:20 PM
Rovers
Spurs
Rubin Kazan
Paok Fc
All the best to them
Great draw for them! don't UEFA have set rules for seating meaning Tallaght venue won't be big enough?
Quote from: ross4life on August 26, 2011, 02:04:16 PM
Quote from: Forever Green on August 26, 2011, 01:18:20 PM
Rovers
Spurs
Rubin Kazan
Paok Fc
All the best to them
Great draw for them! don't UEFA have set rules for seating meaning Tallaght venue won't be big enough?
Someone on Twitter reckons the match v Spurs on 15th Dec will be moved to Aviva.
Hot sure if this has been posted-some die hard fans :D :
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=heC8Lcx82bI&feature=share
Quote from: Overthebar! on August 26, 2011, 06:37:31 PM
Hot sure if this has been posted-some die hard fans :D :
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=heC8Lcx82bI&feature=share
They will be on the Hill Sunday.
Right lads, as a Spurs fan who can't afford to go to White Harte Lane (last time there was the year Blackburn won the Premiership), I'll definitely be trying to bring my wee lad down to the Aviva.
Any idea when tickets will be out or how much they'll be? Home or Away section, doesn't really matter. I take it they'll be available through ticketmaster?
Part of me thinks this has to be a sell out, then part of me knows there hasn't been a game sold out in Aviva since it opened, and Spurs surely couldn't be a bigger draw than the Irish national team.
Even if Rovers find 10k of their own 'real supporters' and Spurs were to somehow bring another 10k with them, that'd still leave 30k for the rest of us. Should be more than enough for what should be a dead rubber game.
Shamrock Rovers have been granted the go-ahead to play their UEFA Europa League group stage matches at their Tallaght Stadium home.
Uefa completed an inspection of the 6,500-capacity stadium - opened in 2009 - on Tuesday, and approval was given on Thursday for Rovers to open their campaign there against Rubin Kazan on September 15th.
"It is wonderful news for us as a club, but also for the Tallaght area," said Rovers chairman Jonathan Roche.
"We were pushing hard to have the games played at Tallaght, and are delighted that Uefa have given us the go-ahead."
The stadium hosted Shamrock's Champions League and Europa League qualifiers earlier this season
Is it in the financial interests of the club to move the games elsewhere?
Quote from: laoislad on September 08, 2011, 11:04:48 PM
Shamrock Rovers have been granted the go-ahead to play their UEFA Europa League group stage matches at their Tallaght Stadium home.
I think you'll find it's
NOT THEIR'S ;)
So the big night is here for Shamrock Rovers,it be great if they could get at least a point.
Tallaght Stadium looking well.
All the best to Rovers tonight. They are capable of getting a result here and hopefully they will make Ireland proud
Christ that was awful defending.
0-1 already.
Quote from: Forever Green on September 15, 2011, 06:02:54 PM
All the best to Rovers tonight. They are capable of getting a result here and hopefully they will make Ireland proud
They are more than capable of getting a result but im pretty sure it wont be a good result.
Great peno save!
Rovers playing well other than the silly defending that lead to the goal.
Rovers holding their own. Could nick a goal if they hang on long enough. You'd miss watching Liverpool on the Thursday night all the same.
Some goal in fairness. Should have pegged one back down the other end straight away. 0-2
Well done Shams. Great result to only lose 0-3 to a team that played in the Champions League group stages last year. Fantastic night for Irish soccer.
saw a few mins of this last night. jees that really was sihte.
How much are these rovers fellas getting -if its more than €20 a game , i'll dust off the old boots and tog out myself again.
No one seems to be able to head the ball any more.
Gaelic football will be the winner here in comparison to that tripe.
There was more skill in the leinster junior counties leage when I played in it last.
Martins last night didnt look remotely interested. Couldnt stomach more than 9 mins of this farce before turning over.
Quote from: lynchbhoy on September 16, 2011, 10:21:24 AM
saw a few mins of this last night. jees that really was sihte.
How much are these rovers fellas getting -if its more than €20 a game , i'll dust off the old boots and tog out myself again.No one seems to be able to head the ball any more.
Gaelic football will be the winner here in comparison to that tripe.
There was more skill in the leinster junior counties leage when I played in it last.
Martins last night didnt look remotely interested. Couldnt stomach more than 9 mins of this farce before turning over.
Yeah, you'd be brillant alright I'd say ::)
Quote from: ballinaman on September 15, 2011, 07:09:43 PM
Some goal in fairness. Should have pegged one back down the other end straight away. 0-2
Yeah should have scored straight after Rubin's second goal.
I thought they played decent enough in patches last night and should have had a goal or two.
The Russians 2nd and 3rd goal were top quality finishes,the first goal has to be put down to nerves and the big occasion getting to them,it was dreadful defending really.
I don't think it should be forgotten what a huge step up in class this is for Rovers,and it's only going to get harder against Spurs in the next game but all this experience should stand to them and hopefully will see them and other Irish clubs qualify more regularly for these European competitions.
The real achievement was getting to the group stages,any points won was always going to be a bonus.
It's a pity they don't have Celtic in their group,it would probably have guaranteed Rovers a couple of points at the very least.
They did ok but there was a serious difference in class. Rovers wouldn't have anyone over a grand a month and rubin are owned by people with serious bucks.
Seanie - what you doing here sneering. You have such a massive chip on your shoulder you were probably cheering on the Russians.
Is anyone making the trip to White Hart Lane on Thursday ?
In London for a while and i'd love to get to the game. Hold my hands up, i'm not a big fan at all but say it would be some occasion and atmosphere. See on the website that 2,300 fans are expected to make the journey and be joined by 1,000 based London supporters.
Wouldn't mind getting a few tickets in the away end - take it the whole away allocation is sold out. If anyone knows of any away tickets floating about can you give me a shout please ? Thanks
Good defensive display but would remind you of Donegal! Need to stop hoofing the ball forward when in possession.
Get f**king in there Rovers!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Yeooooowwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwww
Fair play rovers.cant ee them holding out but they are putting up a decent show
Rode their luck & now leading fair play to Rovers.
Very hard to see them holding out.
http://www.guardian.co.uk/football/2011/sep/29/tottenham-hotspur-shamrock-rovers-live
GOAL! Tottenham Hotspur 0-1 Shamrock Rovers (Rice, 50 mins) Incredible scenes at White Hart Lane, as McCabe's free-kick is blocked, but comes back out to Pat Sullivan outside the area. He sends in a low drive which Cudicini probably had covered, but Rice was standing about a yard in front of the keeper and stuck a boot out to nick it up over him and into the net.
52 mins Well if the Shamrock Rovers fans were making a fair old noise before, you should hear them now. Pandemonium in the away section at White Hart Lane.
Wish gimps on C5 stop calling them 'Shamrock'! They are 'Rovers' FFS! Great goal. Redknapp looking sicker than usual!
Arry look s like a bulldog chewing a wasp.
Great strike for the goal, rovers should have scored just before that, this is unbelievable, especially since the spuds got as look at them during the summer against top class opposition and Celtic.
Ah well two free headers 2-1 Spurs
Pity..The difference in class showing through.
The haters will be happy now.
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on September 29, 2011, 09:20:22 PM
Wish gimps on C5 stop calling them 'Shamrock'! They are 'Rovers' FFS! Great goal. Redknapp looking sicker than usual!
Its on TV3
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on September 29, 2011, 09:20:22 PM
In fairness it cant be much worse than pat dolan.
I cant stand TV3 and Trevor Welsch. Wheels off now, sadly!
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on September 29, 2011, 09:30:18 PM
I cant stand TV3 and Trevor Welsch. Wheels off now, sadly!
Have you ever noticed at the start of every game he says "its been a balmy day here in _________" Such a tool that welsch.
The biggest difference in the teams is pace of the players and the pace they move the ball. There is a huge gulf, I hope it doesn't get worse for the shams.
Brush has been excellent saved at least 3 certain goals.
Quote from: ross4life on September 29, 2011, 09:43:35 PM
He is sweeping up well behind the back four too.
Quote from: Minder on September 29, 2011, 09:44:54 PM
Quote from: ross4life on September 29, 2011, 09:43:35 PM
He is sweeping up well behind the back four too.
i thought him and his teamates would have been taken to the cleaners myself
Quotei thought him and his teamates would have been taken to the cleaners myself
He shielded a good few chances tonight.
QuoteBrush has been excellent saved at least 3 certain goals.
Are Basal in this group also?
thought the shamrock rvs players and fans done themselves proud.
Spurs just stepped up a gear when Rovers scored but they can be very proud of their efforts tonight. Their fans were sensational
Another glorious moral victory to add to the pantheon of moral victories of Irish soccer. Spurs reserves didn't know what hit them for an hour (it was chronic bad luck). A special word too for the suppporters who didn't urge anyone to "fcuk off and die" - legends.
Quote from: magpie seanie on September 30, 2011, 09:32:08 AM
Another glorious moral victory to add to the pantheon of moral victories of Irish soccer. Spurs reserves didn't know what hit them for an hour (it was chronic bad luck). A special word too for the suppporters who didn't urge anyone to "fcuk off and die" - legends.
one of the great haters has spoken...imagine a local team from a minor European league putting it up to a team from your beloved English league for an hour away from home, ye must have been dunging it ::)
sh1te post seanie, c'mon, them lads played some very good football last night and were hit by three quality pieces of play when the skill was there to beat them, can hold heads high.
:D Who pissed on your cornflakes?
They played really well for about 60 minutes and I think they will disappointed with the first 2 goals. Very easy headers and the defenders were there to stop them. Heads went after that. What level would they be at if they played in England? Division 2 or 3?
Quote from: thejuice on September 30, 2011, 10:32:27 AM
They played really well for about 60 minutes and I think they will disappointed with the first 2 goals. Very easy headers and the defenders were there to stop them. Heads went after that. What level would they be at if they played in England? Division 2 or 3?
The goals were the result of overwhelming pressure. God knows how many times Spurs had flung the ball into the box and the more often they did the chances of missing a cross increasingly went towards 1.
I though that they were penned back most of the game and the goal was one of the very times they had been in the Spurs half. Not taking anything away from them but Spurs could have had 5 or 6 before they scored and saying they played really well is a bit much.
Anyone else notice Bassongs lack of knowledge of the offside rule on Rovers goal? He was stood a couple of yards in front of the goals with the goalie behind him but when Rovers player gets a touch he pulls his arm up and turns towards linesman, sorry assistant ref, in the hope of getting an offside decision :D
I'd back rovers to survive in the championship, if they were playing in Scotland i'd say they could finish mid table in the SPL. At the end of the day this team qualified for the Uefa Cup, you don't do that by only playing at the standard of an English League 1 side.
That's pathetic Seanie.
Would you ever get off the fence Seanie FFS! :D
What's with the attacks on Seánie ? People want him to change his long-held opinions just because Shamrock Rovers happen to be in the news at present? What would that make him? It's amazing the abuse you can get around here simply for taking a contrary view to the popular sentiment.
I'd didn't have a go at him but I do find it strange his apparent strong dislike of Irish soccer when he himself would have a big interest in United, I know its not the same but I feel you have to give Rovers credit for what they have done and how they have done it.
The most odd thing was him having a go at the songs they sing. If you are offended by this song and use it as a stick to beat a club, then I can't see how you can't hold the same view against all soccer clubs including United, Liverpool, Spurs, Chelsea etc etc. They all have their "party songs" that get sung and if you think one club deserve a slagging or criticism for that, then they all do.
Strange there wasn't a sound out of him when they got through the qualifying rounds and beat a decent side to become the first Irish football club to qualify for a group stages of a big European competition.
Then he comes on here making cheap jibes when they are beaten by two clubs who played in the Champions League and have beat teams like Barcelona and AC Milan over the past few seasons.
Not that he cares what I think of him nor I care what he thinks of me but he is a bitter hypocrite if there ever was one IMO.
Quote from: Mario on September 30, 2011, 03:55:41 PM
I'd back rovers to survive in the championship, if they were playing in Scotland i'd say they could finish mid table in the SPL. At the end of the day this team qualified for the Uefa Cup, you don't do that by only playing at the standard of an English League 1 side.
I dunno about the Championship but I'd say they would hold their own in League 1.
I agree though I also think they would survive handy enough in the SPL.
Outside of Rangers and Celtic who are about bottom of Premier League/Championship standard the rest are only League 1/League 2 standard so I'd expect them to at the very least not be relegated from the SPL.
The likes of Dundee United and Motherwell are considered top 6 teams in the SPL and imo Rovers could definitely beat them. Good side who could hold their own in the bottom half of the english Championship
Other than staying off the bandwagon, what did Seanie say that was so wrong?
Quote from: Hardy on September 30, 2011, 04:38:17 PM
What's with the attacks on Seánie ? People want him to change his long-held opinions just because Shamrock Rovers happen to be in the news at present? What would that make him? It's amazing the abuse you can get around here simply for taking a contrary view to the popular sentiment.
Come on Hardy, don't you know we all have to row in behind Rovers because they are going great guns?
Quote from: muppet on September 30, 2011, 07:03:57 PM
Wondering that myself? Can't say I agree with him mind but we all have our blind spots.
There is a certain tragedy here in Irishmen drawing comparisons between an Irish side and saying "Wow they'd hold their own 30 places below the best English teams. Whoop de do for us"
It's the rallying call of Irish soccer (the people who hold monster rallies to celebrate being dumped out of the World Cup) - "we're not as bad as we thought we were". The stuff to inspire a nation.
Quote from: Boycey on September 30, 2011, 07:15:09 PM
Quote from: muppet on September 30, 2011, 07:03:57 PM
Wondering that myself? Can't say I agree with him mind but we all have our blind spots.
Could be wrong here but I think the problem some people have is that a lad who gets the horn about the over hyped product that is premiership soccer and it's overpaid players is seeing fit to sneer at the efforts of a part time Irish club.
Quote from: trileacman on September 30, 2011, 07:18:59 PM
There is a certain tragedy here in Irishmen drawing comparisons between an Irish side and saying "Wow they'd hold their own 30 places below the best English teams. Whoop de do for us"
True but I don't think anyone is rejoicing in the fact that Irish clubs are only at the lower level of English football,someone just asked the question about what level would Rovers be at compared to English clubs.
In fairness though it's not a fair to compare Irish clubs to the Top 30 clubs in England because they are on a different planet financially and every other way.
The only clubs you can compare them too is the likes of League 1 and League 2 clubs and even them I'd say would have players on higher wages and better training facilities. Some of the League of Ireland clubs wouldn't even have full time players.
That's why it is such a great achievement for Shamrock Rovers to get this far.
BTW I don't think anyone has to jump on the bandwagon,I just can't understand why anyone would take glee in a group of Irish lads playing for a Irish club losing while playing in a major European competition.
You don't have to care if they win or not,but to want them to lose is just a sign of pure bitterness IMO,a bit like me with Dublin footballers!
I couldn't give a rats arse how Ireland do in the rugby,if they win I won't be bothered if they lose it won't affect my day one bit,but I wouldn't be wishing them to lose as they are Irish after all. (well most of them are Irish ;))
I only brought up the point of comparison to English clubs as lads were asking me at work what the standard was like in the Irish league. I haven't seen an Irish league game in about 20 years so I'd have no idea. To be fair I don't watch any of the football over here either.
Quote from: laoislad on September 30, 2011, 07:48:52 PM
BTW I don't think anyone has to jump on the bandwagon,I just can't understand why anyone would take glee in a group of Irish lads playing for a Irish club losing
Sure aren't most of Shamrock Rovers players either English or Scottish?
I'd hazard aguess they had more Englishmen on the field last night than the English based club. :D
Quote from: laoislad on September 30, 2011, 05:00:01 PM
Strange there wasn't a sound out of him when they got through the qualifying rounds and beat a decent side to become the first Irish football club to qualify for a group stages of a big European competition.
Then he comes on here making cheap jibes when they are beaten by two clubs who played in the Champions League and have beat teams like Barcelona and AC Milan over the past few seasons.
Not that he cares what I think of him nor I care what he thinks of me but he is a bitter hypocrite if there ever was one IMO.
Seanie is many things but a hypocrite he is not, he has long held negative views on LOI football, what I find strange is that he would not want teams from his own country to do well in a sport he likes and sure didnt the boul Roy, Seanie's hero play for Cobh Ramblers. ;)
Quote from: stew on September 30, 2011, 10:10:50 PM
Quote from: laoislad on September 30, 2011, 05:00:01 PM
Seanie is many things but a hypocrite he is not, he has long held negative views on LOI football, what I find strange is that he would not want teams from his own country to do well in a sport he likes and sure didnt the boul Roy, Seanie's hero play for Cobh Ramblers. ;)
It's nearly panto season so we may as well play......Oh yes he is !!
Oh and Roy Keane....another hypocrite!
I think I've said too much,I get a rap on the knuckles from the mods everytime I question a certain posters opinions!!
Quote from: laoislad on September 30, 2011, 07:48:52 PM
Quote from: trileacman on September 30, 2011, 07:18:59 PM
True but I don't think anyone is rejoicing in the fact that Irish clubs are only at the lower level of English football,someone just asked the question about what level would Rovers be at compared to English clubs.
In fairness though it's not a fair to compare Irish clubs to the Top 30 clubs in England because they are on a different planet financially and every other way.
The only clubs you can compare them too is the likes of League 1 and League 2 clubs and even them I'd say would have players on higher wages and better training facilities. Some of the League of Ireland clubs wouldn't even have full time players.
That's why it is such a great achievement for Shamrock Rovers to get this far.
BTW I don't think anyone has to jump on the bandwagon,I just can't understand why anyone would take glee in a group of Irish lads playing for a Irish club losing while playing in a major European competition.
You don't have to care if they win or not,but to want them to lose is just a sign of pure bitterness IMO,a bit like me with Dublin footballers!
I couldn't give a rats arse how Ireland do in the rugby,if they win I won't be bothered if they lose it won't affect my day one bit,but I wouldn't be wishing them to lose as they are Irish after all. (well most of them are Irish ;))
Good post LL. I am a big soccer/Gaelic fan. There are such things you know! They are not mutually exclusive. Anyway we have an Irish club who have over-achieved and reached the group stages of the second tier competition in Europe. To run Rovers for a year, costs €600,000.
Quote from: Forever Green on September 30, 2011, 06:55:00 PM
The likes of Dundee United and Motherwell are considered top 6 teams in the SPL and imo Rovers could definitely beat them. Good side who could hold their own in the bottom half of the english Championship
Not really convinced by that. Gary Twigg seems to be their main striker yet he was a Second Divison player in Scotland. Craig Sives couldn't make the grade in the SPL. Jim Patterson was a journeyman SPL player and O'Donnell didn't exactly set the heather on fire at Falkirk when he was there. They could beat a few SPL teams but similarly I reckon a few Division 1 teams could turn them over as well.
Rovers did well last night, got stuck in and defended well then got their break for the goal. Probably got a bit over excited at that point and pushed on when they should have stuck to what was working. Good effort though.
Sorry joined the conversation a bit late and thats the way I took it up. Grumpy tonight, my apologies.
Great for Sligo Rovers & maybe Derry City but Shamrock Rovers will find it massive to win the league from here.
Quote from: Hardy on September 30, 2011, 07:45:34 PM
It's the rallying call of Irish soccer (the people who hold monster rallies to celebrate being dumped out of the World Cup) - "we're not as bad as we thought we were". The stuff to inspire a nation.
Sorry mate but I think you are at least 20 years late with that analogy, wait, where's the Rovers homecoming taking place, exactly.
I hit a nerve there. Truth can be painful at time.
Another thing I really love is the amount of people I've never met who presume to know my every thought, what "gives me a horn" and what kind of person I am. Ye should take a look at yourselves, its actually hilarious when you read it back. It's all too typical of our society where every gobshite regardless of knowledge level puports to be an expert on everything. In no surer way can we see how this board is a microcosm of real life.
C'mon the candystripes!
Rubin Kazan this evening.
Philip Greene RIP would be very proud.
One game to go zero points, it's been fruitless adventure for Shamrock Rovers.
Quote from: Captain Obvious on November 30, 2011, 06:18:40 PM
Getting there was the big achievement they were always gonna struggle to get any points against clubs with bigger budgets and better players.
Anyone who isn't a begrudger will know and understand that.
Hopefully Irish clubs will qualify for the group stages of these competitions more often now that Rovers have made the breakthrough. The next step then is for Irish clubs to start winning games in the group stages.
Quote from: laoislad on November 30, 2011, 07:50:50 PM
Getting there was the big achievement they were always gonna struggle to get any points against clubs with bigger budgets and better players.
Hopefully Irish clubs will qualify for the group stages of these competitions more often now that Rovers have made the breakthrough. The next step then is for Irish clubs to start winning games in the group stages.
Never know, Liverpool might even qualify next year and Big Andy might even get a goal ;)
Quote from: norabeag on November 30, 2011, 07:54:21 PM
Quote from: laoislad on November 30, 2011, 07:50:50 PM
Never know, Liverpool might even qualify next year and Big Andy might even get a goal ;)
Fingers crossed :)