Again, well done Dublin.
Fair play? You're stretching that a bit the Dubs systematic fouling was hardly a mark of fair play.
Good victory no doubt and they will be hard stopped!!
Another Ref would have bat least 3 of them on the line for deliberate fouling ...so leave out the fair play bit.
Quote from: screenexile on August 06, 2011, 08:42:00 PM
Fair play? You're stretching that a bit the Dubs systematic fouling was hardly a mark of fair play.
Just copying the Tyrone tactics regarding fouling to slow things down
still bitter about 03, 05, 09 & 11?
We were well beat but I hope I am not crying about it in 8 years time.
Quote from: DUBSFORSAM1 on August 06, 2011, 08:46:01 PM
Just copying the Tyrone tactics regarding fouling to slow things down
Read the title again.
Fair play is doing what is just, no need to take into account any other element (other team etc)
Minder why don't you like your neighbours from Tyrone?
Well done Dublin. Should be interesting against Donegal.
When was the last time the 4 provincial winners were in the AI semis?
LMAO
If you think Tyrone are cynical, wait til Jim McGuiness's men get a houl of them
Donegal will out-work, out-battle and out-negative Dublin in a few weeks:
Donegal 0-02 vs 0-01 Dublin
Quote from: Denn Forever on August 06, 2011, 08:49:07 PM
2000. Before the qualifiers.
I agree that Dublin got involved in some real negative defensive shite ...but they played some sublime football to make at least 4 goal chances...could have won by 15 points..bye bye Tyrone.
I'll give you one of the lads Fyffes bananas to shove up your a***.
Dubs could of won by 12+. An outstanding performance. Thats the end of the road for that Tyrone team, welcome to transarmaghition :-\
The cynical fouling has to be clamped down on by the GAA. Teams like Dublin know that they will get away with at most a yellow for a two handed drag-back. At critical points of a game it should be a red card, full stop-that would end it. Kildare adopted these tactics in extra time against Donegal which was understandable at that stage of a game but also disappointing. The Dubs adopted it today with twenty minutes to go in a tactical move, knowing that if anyone will get away with it, they will. Has Leinster being Heineken cup champions got anything to do with this skill?! ;)
Indisciplined tackling cost them dearly last year and could prove to be their downfall again in a year where they have a great chance to lift Sam. People saying the ref gave Tyrone a lot today are right but he could have given a lot more considering the high tackles and drag-backs. No need to do it when they clearly had the beating of them. Beware the fussy ref and good luck...
Quote from: Whishtup on August 07, 2011, 12:07:33 AM
The cynical fouling has to be clamped down on by the GAA. Teams like Dublin know that they will get away with at most a yellow for a two handed drag-back. At critical points of a game it should be a red card, full stop-that would end it. Kildare adopted these tactics in extra time against Donegal which was understandable at that stage of a game but also disappointing. The Dubs adopted it today with twenty minutes to go in a tactical move, knowing that if anyone will get away with it, they will. Has Leinster being Heineken cup champions got anything to do with this skill?! ;)
Indisciplined tackling cost them dearly last year and could prove to be their downfall again in a year where they have a great chance to lift Sam. People saying the ref gave Tyrone a lot today are right but he could have given a lot more considering the high tackles and drag-backs. No need to do it when they clearly had the beating of them. Beware the fussy ref and good luck...
Have to laugh at the comments here. Ref kept Tyrone in it during the first half with some very soft frees.
It must be a pre requisite to be a sour nordy bastard before you post here....? Ath Cliath Abu !!
You've some neck on you Indy accepting congratulations on behalf of the dubs, lol. Sure you've been telling us all year that gilroy's dublin isn't good enough and that they're gonna be found out any week now.
Maybe the oul crystal ball is malfunctioning?
Quote from: Denn Forever on August 06, 2011, 08:49:07 PM
not since the back door come in and last year none of the provinical finalists even made the semis
This thread has taken a turn that I hadnt expected and I must bear some responsibility, so for that I apologise.
You're just a bitter wee Antirm bollix ;)
its like a saturday night in copper face jacks here ...................... ;D
Its a bit rich......a Tyrone man saying cynical fouling has to be clamped down on and stopped! I bet you werent complaining in '03 or '05, those 2 AI's were won on the back of cynical fouling. Tyrone still do it, but just arent as good at it any more and complaining about Dublin doing it just stinks of sour grapes.
Dublin were by far the better side and I dont think there's any doubt about them deserving their win.
Donegal will be a different animal for them though. I can see them getting frustrated playing against the Donegal defence but based on that performance yesterday you'd have to put them down as favorites for the final.
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on August 07, 2011, 11:32:53 AM
You're just a bitter wee Antirm bollix ;)
I really am in fairness 8)
Quote from: tbrick18 on August 07, 2011, 11:51:07 AM
Its a bit rich......a Tyrone man saying cynical fouling has to be clamped down on and stopped! I bet you werent complaining in '03 or '05, those 2 AI's were won on the back of cynical fouling. Tyrone still do it, but just arent as good at it any more and complaining about Dublin doing it just stinks of sour grapes.
Dublin were by far the better side and I dont think there's any doubt about them deserving their win.
Donegal will be a different animal for them though. I can see them getting frustrated playing against the Donegal defence but based on that performance yesterday you'd have to put them down as favorites for the final.
Tyrone developed a borderline tackling system, I'll admit, as they would never get a break if they crossed that line. Dublin are afforded the luxury of crossing the line, especially in Croker over and over again. That coupled with several decisions that have went in Dublin's favour this year has left a bad taste in my mouth. I have no gripe with the Dublin team and their fans, in fact, I admire both but it's sickening to see refs who would send off a player in a flash in one game for a challenge, then fail to replicate that punishment when its Dublin. That's all.
Why do we have to reduce this debate to stupid cat-calling - youse are cynical, we're not? Any team would do the same. I wouldn't want a player on my team that wouldn't, given that there's no effective sanction under the present rules.
So the question is whether the rules should be changed so that the so-called professional foul, for want of a better description, attracts a severe enough penalty to be a deterrent. It'd be hard to define a "professional" foul. And it'd be a bit of a farce to have different penalties for the same offence depending on the stage of the game at which they're committed. On the other hand, it's clearly unsatisfactory that players can foul with effective impunity when the game is nearly over and the reward is to ensure their team maintains its lead to the end.
The only approach I can see is based on the fact that the professional foul is usually a rugby tackle. You don't really ever see that at any stage of the game other than the last ten minutes when one team is protecting a lead, except when a player is clean through for a goal. So maybe there's a case for automatic red card for the pulling down tackle. Of course then you'd have to deal with the extravagant dives that would be invented to simulate being rugby-tackled. And you'd also have to try and ensure that referees would actually implement the rule as they don't for the automatic red for striking.
Quote from: Hardy on August 07, 2011, 12:38:49 PM
Why do we have to reduce this debate to stupid cat-calling - youse are cynical, we're not? Any team would do the same. I wouldn't want a player on my team that wouldn't, given that there's no effective sanction under the present rules.
So the question is whether the rules should be changed so that the so-called professional foul, for want of a better description, attracts a severe enough penalty to be a deterrent. It'd be hard to define a "professional" foul. And it'd be a bit of a farce to have different penalties for the same offence depending on the stage of the game at which they're committed. On the other hand, it's clearly unsatisfactory that players can foul with effective impunity when the game is nearly over and the reward is to ensure their team maintains its lead to the end.
The only approach I can see is based on the fact that the professional foul is usually a rugby tackle. You don't really ever see that at any stage of the game other than the last ten minutes when one team is protecting a lead, except when a player is clean through for a goal. So maybe there's a case for automatic red card for the pulling down tackle. Of course then you'd have to deal with the extravagant dives that would be invented to simulate being rugby-tackled. And you'd also have to try and ensure that referees would actually implement the rule as they don't for the automatic red for striking.
What about if a goal is scored by simulating a odriscoll move and launching yourself across the goal or game line, thus ensuring victory.........................jaysus who played in that game again ?
Well done. You and your dots are such an addition to the board.
Quote from: squire_in_navy_slacks on August 07, 2011, 01:37:04 PM
Quote from: Hardy on August 07, 2011, 12:38:49 PM
What about if a goal is scored by simulating a odriscoll move and launching yourself across the goal or game line, thus ensuring victory.........................jaysus who played in that game again ?
Quote from: Hardy on August 07, 2011, 02:24:10 PM
Truth hurts bucko, ure harping on about rugby to beat the band there, and you cant even acknowledge that ure team won one of their biggest games in a while with a rugby move that would have given martin johnson a quickfire erection
Oh and just for you ................................................... :-*
Quote from: squire_in_navy_slacks on August 07, 2011, 07:34:09 PM
Truth hurts bucko, ure harping on about rugby to beat the band there, and you cant even acknowledge that ure team won one of their biggest games in a while with a rugby move that would have given martin johnson a quickfire erection
Why all the dots anyway squire? Dublin will be hard to stop from now on in I'm afraid.
Look, you imbecile, I'm not hurt, either by the truth or by your infantile patter about Joe Sheridan's goal. Did you really think that up by yourself?
We were trying to have an adult discussion about whether there's a need to penalise the professional foul. If you have anything constructive to say about that, fire away. Otherwise continue with your blindingly original repartee.
Everyone has the right to be thick. You just seem bent on abusing the privilege.
Quote from: DuffleKing on August 07, 2011, 08:18:24 AM
You've some neck on you Indy accepting congratulations on behalf of the dubs, lol. Sure you've been telling us all year that gilroy's dublin isn't good enough and that they're gonna be found out any week now.
Maybe the oul crystal ball is malfunctioning?
Do you like your bananas with ketchup? I've plenty to go round.
I said beforehand this Tyrone team's credentials were built on sand in comparison to its previous teams. I'll put up the posts if you like.
Quote from: Hardy on August 07, 2011, 07:54:19 PM
Look, you imbecile, I'm not hurt, either by the truth or by your infantile patter about Joe Sheridan's goal. Did you really think that up by yourself?
We were trying to have an adult discussion about whether there's a need to penalise the professional foul. If you have anything constructive to say about that, fire away. Otherwise continue with your blindingly original repartee.
Everyone has the right to be thick. You just seem bent on abusing the privilege.
Define the professional foul in an amateur game..............................the exact definition now, no liam hayes or mc stay mumbo jumbo
Are you really that thick? Read my post again. Note the use of the phrase "so-called"; note the quotation marks; note the term "for want of a better description".
Quote from: Hardy on August 07, 2011, 09:24:16 PM
Are you really that thick? Read my post again. Note the use of the phrase "so-called"; note the quotation marks; note the term "for want of a better description".
Horse shite...................its a cynical foul nothing less, dress it whatever way you like it, but it is what it is............................ cynicism, your not on the sunday game couch, cynicism is part of every sport played around the world, you wont quash it out of the game of football
This is like being harangued by Homer's dimmer brother. Are you trying to make a point, or what?
Yer ' talking absolute bollix! Total horse shit. ! I can't be bothered even trying to talk you around, you have obviously convinced yourself, through years of self righteousness that you know what you are ranting about. I hope you live alone..or at least that the people who do live with you are all deaf as posts..... ::)
Dropping the dots was a real master stroke, but you forgot to change usernames, you dope.
Quote from: Hardy on August 07, 2011, 09:56:46 PM
Dropping the dots was a real master stroke, but you forgot to change usernames, you dope.
Not me you know it all..............................................
Anyways well done dublin and enjoy the rugby world cup hardy...................
I think forkinknife is back.
8 years a member and sometimes poster to this site and good aul hardy still on a rant about something, against somebody, fair play to ya, consistency in a world gone mad
Somebody needs to keep these young punks in line.
Quote from: Paris Murphy on August 07, 2011, 09:53:37 PM
Yer ' talking absolute bollix! Total horse shit. ! I can't be bothered even trying to talk you around, you have obviously convinced yourself, through years of self righteousness that you know what you are ranting about. I hope you live alone..or at least that the people who do live with you are all deaf as posts..... ::)
Squire, you let yourself down here, best to just fess up
Quote from: Mayo4Sam on August 07, 2011, 11:18:59 PM
Quote from: Paris Murphy on August 07, 2011, 09:53:37 PM
Squire, you let yourself down here, best to just fess up
Hand on heart, not moi.......................maybe admin will look into the falseness of the case ;)
Paris_in_navy_slacks (well..close enough anyway ;D)
(http://www.iheartthat.com/wp-content/uploads/2007/02_2/paris2bfree3.jpg)
Ah good man sheehy........................... ;)
However you will find they are tracksuit bottoms and not slacks, had to consult with Galvin on that one ;)
Ive reported the paris thing to the admin, so maybe those guys will sort it out
Quote from: squire_in_navy_slacks on August 08, 2011, 12:08:27 AM
Ive reported the paris thing to the admin, so maybe those guys will sort it out
What did you report?
What's for them to sort out?
First of all I'm a bitter wee Antrim bollix...now I suppose in order to combat the "professional" foul (or shall we term it the GPA foul, grant foul, or the Dessie foul ;)) there needs to be an appropriate sanction to make players stop doing it. I remember about 6 or 7 years ago in soccer they brought in that "deliberate delay of the game" e.g. standing over the ball at an opposition's free kick was a yellow card offence (though I note this lasted for about 1 season and appears to have fallen by the wayside, a bit like the re-defined handpass I suppose). So could it be that a two handed "rugby" tackle earns a yellow for the tackle and a yellow for the deliberate delay of the game?? I dunno, hard to say.
On a wider note, a lot of people round the country don't like to see the Dubs do well. Can I just say as a paranoid nordie fair play to the Dubs. They produced a performance that was entertaining to watch and we can't say that too much this year (Antrim v Donegal on 14 May is still a bitter memory!). Some of the basic skills e.g. foot passing, forward movement, support play and score taking were a joy to watch. If the Dubs keep playing like that I wouldn't mind in the least if they lifted Sam. They bascially hammered a Tyrone side who despite all the "end of an era" stuff on their day would still beat most teams in the country. Well done the Dubs (and I hope you win the hurling too!)
this is the problem with the modern day game.
The officiation. (................)
Refs are instructed to give frees for any small kind of holding , pulling, third man tackle, push etc etc.
However when they go out and blow for these transgressions, they are lambasted for destroying the game an turning it into a stop start shambles.
Refs that more or less ignore the modern day directive and allow more manly old school style of play , only giving frees for the OTT exaggerated pulls/pushes/trips etc (should blow for dives and feigning inj too imo) are applauded for allowing the game to flow.
It is no coincidence that the four remaining teams left in the championship all use a good bit of cynicism in their defending techniques. It works. Or at least it does when a certain type of referee is officiating. All these remaining teams have talent, OK (and no offence Mayo lads) Mayo are lucky to be there but they are among the top 12 side in the country.
Cork were not clever or cynical enough. I only wish Derry could bring such football intelligence and cynicism to their game. Meath have it, Kildare are superb at it.
You need to be able to play football as well though.
The question is , do we want to have refs obey the letter of the law and induce a complete american football-esque borefest or do we want to have it played and retain the excitement as demonstrated by Dublins fantastic performance on Sat night?
If the former, then we will become as boring as soccer !
Fair play to the Dubs on Sat.
A goadless victory by them. Good to see they have finally grown up.
Gilroy would have never been my choice of Dublin manager but he has transformed this team. Last year he sorted out the defensive system, it was boring to watch at times but now he has achieved the right balance. The foot passing and movement on Saturday were a joy to watch. Whether we can repeat that performance against better opposition remains to be seen.
As regards cynical fouling towards the end of games. Everyone does it. Madness not to if you want to win. How to stop it? bring back the sin bin.
It would be very disappointing for Dublin and there fans if the performance on Saturday can't be replicated again in semis and in final because what I saw on saturday evening was a superb performance from every man in the Dublin side. It was hard, intense but fair and oozing with quality. Some of the points from out the field were really excellent and that had a demoralising effect on Tyrone as it didn't seem to matter where they got the ball they could score.
I know some will complain about the cynical tackles and players lying down at the end of the game but if Tyrone did the same I'd be the first to commend them for it.
Fair play to the Dubs, just hope you can keep up the form and win the All-Ireland. If you do, our defeat might not be so hard to swallow.
Really enjoyed Dublin's display on Saturday, especially in the wet conditions. Their attacking was breath-taking; in the end they took it easy for the last 20 mins, and they could still have scored 3 goals in that period. They looked really dangerous in the last third every time they got the ball. I hope (for their own sake) they can repeat that performance when they meet a team that takes them on.
Can anyone who was there confirm my impression that dublin were almost playing 1-1-1 in the full forward line. i.e.
Bernard Brogan was playing about 13 yards out, dead centre. Connolly was about 10 yards further out dead centre, and Alan Brogan another few yards out dead centre as well. Then when Dublin got the ball, all three broke in different directions
11 ---->
<------- 14 ^
/
15 /
AZOffally
Quite possibly though more often than not when the ball got up that far my head was in my hands.
This is why I hate watching on TV. This is the sort of nerdy stuff that I like :D I just saw a glimpse of that formation I thought, and every time the ball went up to the forwards, it seemed to be put left centre or right centre, and one forward running onto it from a central position, and always with only 1 Tyrone man even half close to him.
Quote from: AZOffaly on August 08, 2011, 02:05:22 PM
Can anyone who was there confirm my impression that dublin were almost playing 1-1-1 in the full forward line. i.e.
Bernard Brogan was playing about 13 yards out, dead centre. Connolly was about 10 yards further out dead centre, and Alan Brogan another few yards out dead centre as well. Then when Dublin got the ball, all three broke in different directions
11 ---->
<------- 14 ^
/
15 /
At times they were setup like that but there was constant rotation - Connolly drifted out further at time, Cahill went in further..