Having read an article by Paddy Heaney in the Irish News last Thursday (I think) about an amatuer triathlete, I am thinking about doing a sprint triathlon myself, I have never done, however any road running (I use the treadmill a lot for pre-season training though) or cycling and have only swam in the pool- about 10/15 lengths is my max.
Any suggestions about how to go about this, are they any thriathlon clubs that would be willing to take a novice? I would rather go there and get a taste for it, rather than go and spend a lot of money on a decent bike and swim gear etc to find out that it's not for me!
What kind of preparation/times/distances need to be covered to become better?
Also, are there any sprint triathlons coming up in our wee country? From the limited searches I've done on the Internet it suggests that you need to take a 13 week program.
Thanks in advance for any hlep, and I apologise if this topic has come up before on the forum.
Any tri club will take you but even without a club it's very doable on your own.
I'd say start with swimming, take lessons to improve your stroke,the swim isn't far but beginners struggle the most with it, it can take a lot out of you.
Cycling, if you did 40-50k at the weekends you'll be grand, make sure to go for a short run everytime you get off the bike, even 200m, you need to get ur legs used to the transition from cycling to running.
As for the running, three times a week, one long run, 10k at an easy pace, one reps, 10x200m, 10x400m, switch it around, go flat out and then have a recovery, last run should be maybe 4k at the pace you want to race at.
Oh and swimming, get as much open water swimming as you can, brings you on no end
Thanks. What about swimming, I understand swimming in the pool is far easier than swimining open water but what kind of lengths should I be aiming for in a session and how should I build the number of lengths up - any good sites for training schedules?
Heard swimming is the best of the 3 to get the weight down, would this be right?
Which is the quicker way to get fit/lose weight - long distance + slow pace or short distance sprints i.e 60-100m sprints?
Also does cycling shorten the hamstrings? I heard this from our football coach and so he told us not to be doing too much cycling for training?
Thanks again.
Personally I'd say nothing beats running for knocking off the weight.
As for cycling shortening the hamstrings I don't know if there is any facts to back it up but from personal experience, no in fact this is the first year in a while I've had no trouble and I cycled Sandymount to Enniscrone in a day earlier this year.
Not sure about swimming websites but I'm sure there are some, I bought a book called total immersion and completed changed my swimming style over the last winter, did wonders for me. I'd say pyramid training, 2 laps, 4 laps, 8, 16 up to maybe 24 and back down, thats 80 laps in a session, more than enough, anywhere round that is plenty. Or alternatively 8 front crawl, 4 back stroke, 8 front, 4 breast, 8 front etc
Thanks for that -appreciate the feedback and sorry for all the hassle! The one worry I have about running is that I may lose whatever pace I have left, I'm worried that if I start doing longish but slow runs that the last remnants of my power/pace will be gone! I've been doing 16 x 100m sprints to keep sharp and maybe shed a pound or two, but it only seems to be making my legs bigger lol!
Sure we'll give this a go again, just wondering who else on the board is competing/completing races these days.
Was out for Tri-Laois myself a couple of weeks back, did it on a brand spanking new BMC TT bike, set up was all wrong, back was killing me. Swim in the pool was embarrassing, was in way too fast a lane and was lapped twice by three (of five) people. Wa happy with a 23min run for 5.5k.
Hoping to break the top 10 for Joey Hannon next weekend
Quote from: Mayo4Sam on April 18, 2013, 10:38:52 AM
Sure we'll give this a go again, just wondering who else on the board is competing/completing races these days.
Was out for Tri-Laois myself a couple of weeks back, did it on a brand spanking new BMC TT bike, set up was all wrong, back was killing me. Swim in the pool was embarrassing, was in way too fast a lane and was lapped twice by three (of five) people. Wa happy with a 23min run for 5.5k.
Hoping to break the top 10 for Joey Hannon next weekend
Aye I'm going to do a few of them this year hopefully, Did a sprint one in Newtownabbey Sept. As you say the pool is deadly if there are fast ones in it so looking forward to doing one in open water (I think) I need to get some practice though in the open water. I'm getting a new bike soon so hopefully I'll make up some time on that score.
What would be the best ones to do in Ireland
I've never done it cause our club runs it but the Dublin city Tri is meant to be excellent, won best Tri last year.
Sprint wise The two provinces in lanesboro was excellent and Ballina is always good, quick course and fast swim!
Kilkenny had a great buzz also
I signed up to the Crooked Lake sprint triathlon in Camlough on June. It'll be my first time competing so it should be a good experience
Quote from: el_cuervo_fc on April 18, 2013, 01:43:25 PM
I signed up to the Crooked Lake sprint triathlon in Camlough on June. It'll be my first time competing so it should be a good experience
Aye if it's not booked up I may go for that one, its the open water stuff that I'm not fussed on
Think crooked lake is sold out
Doing the Letterkenny sprint triathlon in July, anyone done it before?
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on June 03, 2013, 02:11:56 PM
No, but I might do it. Would do the one in Camlough this saturday if my swimming was better. Bike and running are fine but my swimming is terrible and I have never swam in open water before. 800 metres today in the pool and it took me nearly 25mins ffs. Anyone know where to rent out triathlon wetsuits?
Quote from: JimStynes on June 03, 2013, 05:18:33 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on June 03, 2013, 02:11:56 PM
No, but I might do it. Would do the one in Camlough this saturday if my swimming was better. Bike and running are fine but my swimming is terrible and I have never swam in open water before. 800 metres today in the pool and it took me nearly 25mins ffs. Anyone know where to rent out triathlon wetsuits?
Went out for open water swim today in Browns Bay, what da fcuk have I let myself in for, first open water triathlon in two weeks and I thought I was an ok swimmer, re-think required, will be in the pool every chance I get this week, was hard going and the intake of salt water was way too much, water was cold at initially but grand once you get going.
As for the wet suits I picked up one for £50 (reduced from £200) quid in Chain Reaction, they are damaged ones and for the length of time that you'll actually use it it's the better option, you'll need the trisuit under it for when you get out of the pool and on to your bike.
That was mental today, everything else can go to the wall, if you can't swim really well forget it for open water Triathlons, (well I will) seriously need to improve, thought I was going to die lol. After a 1/4 of the swim I started to lose my rhythm and breathing, I couldn't get a decent steady swim stroke and only I'm a stubborn fcuker I continued the swim.
Great setting and was very impressed with those who marshalled it and the lad who stuck with me on the canoe, I owe him my life lol!!
I enjoyed the cycle and run but by fcuk that swim was (nearly) lethal
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on July 13, 2013, 10:05:57 PM
That was mental today, everything else can go to the wall, if you can't swim really well forget it for open water Triathlons, (well I will) seriously need to improve, thought I was going to die lol. After a 1/4 of the swim I started to lose my rhythm and breathing, I couldn't get a decent steady swim stroke and only I'm a stubborn fcuker I continued the swim.
Great setting and was very impressed with those who marshalled it and the lad who stuck with me on the canoe, I owe him my life lol!!
http://tinyurl.com/oevvotn
one of our players did a triathlon today, we have him for cship match tomorrow. how long will this buck last tomorrow ye reckon??
Quote from: Tony Baloney on July 13, 2013, 10:13:08 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on July 13, 2013, 10:05:57 PM
http://tinyurl.com/oevvotn
Yes, only way out ;D
Quote from: theticklemister on July 13, 2013, 10:30:27 PM
one of our players did a triathlon today, we have him for cship match tomorrow. how long will this buck last tomorrow ye reckon??
Truth is, cardio wise its grand, it aint that taxing, most people finish around the 1.30 mark so if he's fit he'll be grand
Well done!
Quote from: Rois on July 13, 2013, 11:12:52 PM
Well done!
Thanks Rois, you interested in doing a triathlon?
Half thought about it but only because the girl beside me at work does them. She goes to swimming lessons in the PEC every Monday, then a cycling session on Tues and running at Mary Peters on a Wednesday. I don't think I'd have the energy for all that training!
The Titanic one is he one she's training for at the moment.
Quote from: Rois on July 14, 2013, 10:37:32 AM
Half thought about it but only because the girl beside me at work does them. She goes to swimming lessons in the PEC every Monday, then a cycling session on Tues and running at Mary Peters on a Wednesday. I don't think I'd have the energy for all that training!
The Titanic one is he one she's training for at the moment.
Look if your swimming is up to scratch the don't worry about the rest, look at each of them as a single discipline but all on the same day, get over the first and move onto the next. Best way to start off is the sprints, and at a pool event instead of a open water one first. You can then gauge if you are up to the challenge, the vast majority of competitors are aged 30 to 50 with the winners usually in the 40 bracket.
I'm going to do the Valley one again in September then knuckle down for next year with proper swimming lessons and just work on that area harder as it let me down yesterday. Not fussed on swimming in the Lagan!!
Just like the Parkruns the craic and atmosphere is really good
I think the open water swims are actually easier, the wetsuit is a huge advantage, greater buoyancy.
Nine done this year, might knock out one more before the end of the season and then concentrate on getting the swimming and running times down
They probably are easier but i must have panicked and i lost concentration technique breathing. Is it possible that wet suit was to tight? I felt very restricted
I've been told that if you can zip up your own wetsuit its too loose, theres very little chance its too tight, you should be welded into it.
More likely is just what you said, you panicked, its a big step up from swimming in a pool or open water swimming with one or two others to being in river/lake/sea with 200 others all looking for the same piece of water. Some of them get very physical and its easy to panic a little bit and that effects your breathing immediately. Experience will help you stay calmer but it still happens sometimes, you'll have ur goggles knocked a little or get an arm or a leg to the head and you just need to take a minute to compose yourself.
Improving ur swimming gives greater confidence but it also means that u dont take 5k of the bike route to get ur breath back and start racing.
Fair play though Milltown, the first one is the toughest, now you know u can do it. What was ur time?
Quote from: Mayo4Sam on July 23, 2013, 10:02:50 AM
I've been told that if you can zip up your own wetsuit its too loose, theres very little chance its too tight, you should be welded into it.
More likely is just what you said, you panicked, its a big step up from swimming in a pool or open water swimming with one or two others to being in river/lake/sea with 200 others all looking for the same piece of water. Some of them get very physical and its easy to panic a little bit and that effects your breathing immediately. Experience will help you stay calmer but it still happens sometimes, you'll have ur goggles knocked a little or get an arm or a leg to the head and you just need to take a minute to compose yourself.
Improving ur swimming gives greater confidence but it also means that u dont take 5k of the bike route to get ur breath back and start racing.
Fair play though Milltown, the first one is the toughest, now you know u can do it. What was ur time?
1.44 for the last one and 1.41 for the first one I did in the pool. The cycling was my major drop in time, the first course I did it in 58 minutes and was pretty disappointed in that, as I did my run in 21 minutes which was great, where as my cycle on the last open water one was 50 minutes on a far hill-er road so was pleased but my run was 25 minutes :o though it had 2 big hills to get through.
I've booked another pool one in the Newtownabbey sprint one. The pack swim was where I felt fine as the draft was pulling me along it was my first major intake of water I think got me and as the packed pulled away I felt under pressure to get to them and basically rushed things. As you say first one done and a lot to learn from it, not deterred and looking forward to working hard on all the disciplines. Should be able to knock off at least another six minutes off the bike on this course, and get the run down to 21 again. The swim should be 20 minutes also so I'm looking a time around 1.30, which would be a great finish to the year
Ya it takes a while not to panic when u have to miss a breath or take a mouthful of water
1.30 would be a very solid first year, if your running is that good then you'll have no problem chopping huge times off ur bike, you've over a month, I'd suggest an 80k cycle every weekend and two nights with hills in them, not too steep, stay in the saddle and churn it out, will work wonders for your power output
It gets very addictive the more you do, I'm nearly looking forward to the winter to start building my base again, the turbo sessions started last week in prep for next year! Back to three swim sessions a week now, two technique and one endurance.
Quote from: Mayo4Sam on July 23, 2013, 01:26:46 PM
Ya it takes a while not to panic when u have to miss a breath or take a mouthful of water
1.30 would be a very solid first year, if your running is that good then you'll have no problem chopping huge times off ur bike, you've over a month, I'd suggest an 80k cycle every weekend and two nights with hills in them, not too steep, stay in the saddle and churn it out, will work wonders for your power output
It gets very addictive the more you do, I'm nearly looking forward to the winter to start building my base again, the turbo sessions started last week in prep for next year! Back to three swim sessions a week now, two technique and one endurance.
[/b]
That's what I'm going to concentrate on. As you say it's a great buzz and the atmosphere is great at these events. Need to pick a route for the 80k cycling, do you go hard at them or pick a section or two to work on and go medium paced the rest?
Different training to what i did over they years playing hurling and football so once I get that base I'll be flying. My goggles broke just before we went in the water and I had another spare with me but they started to fog up after a bit, that didn't help ffs
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on July 23, 2013, 01:36:53 PM
[/b]
That's what I'm going to concentrate on. As you say it's a great buzz and the atmosphere is great at these events. Need to pick a route for the 80k cycling, do you go hard at them or pick a section or two to work on and go medium paced the rest?
Different training to what i did over they years playing hurling and football so once I get that base I'll be flying. My goggles broke just before we went in the water and I had another spare with me but they started to fog up after a bit, that didn't help ffs
Milltown are you part of a local club?
Longer cycles would depend on who I was with.
On my own probably steady pace the whole way, maybe even just do hill repeats
With one or two others where we'd all be the same (ish) standard there'd be great competition on the hills, everyone wants it.
Club cycles tend to start off steady to 50k, then pick it up to flat out where you're dropping guys, my aim there is just to stick in but that would be with lads who cycle the RAS, animals on bikes
Quote from: FromAFar on July 23, 2013, 01:52:50 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on July 23, 2013, 01:36:53 PM
[/b]
Milltown are you part of a local club?
No club, friends are involved with Invictus East Antrim area. They sorted of got me involved but I've a lot on with refereeing and playing the odd game to get involved, I know this would improve a lot of what I'm doing.
Anyone got a Garmin 910xt or know anything about them? Using strava on the phone at the minute, great for a free app but awkward to run with it strapped to the arm.
Quote from: JimStynes on July 26, 2013, 07:48:20 PM
Anyone got a Garmin 910xt or know anything about them? Using strava on the phone at the minute, great for a free app but awkward to run with it strapped to the arm.
Gaming watch is a good job Jim. You can get heart monitor also with it.
serious price for those garmins! there is a fella selling one for half the price and he has only used it 5 times. anyone signed up for the Lough Neagh sprint in Ballyronan? Think im going to go for that and the Castlewellan Olympic distance one.
Quote from: JimStynes on July 26, 2013, 11:02:14 PM
serious price for those garmins! there is a fella selling one for half the price and he has only used it 5 times. anyone signed up for the Lough Neagh sprint in Ballyronan? Think im going to go for that and the Castlewellan Olympic distance one.
Well and truly bitten!! I hear the Castlewellan one ya have to get out of the water before 50 mins as the water can be so cold!!
Did yesterdays sprint triathlon at the Valley, smashed my time from last year by 17 minutes! Mainly the bike but took 4 minutes off my swim. Had nothing in legs for the run though, but happy to get under 1.30h
Not a mention about Aileen Reid on her silver in London yesterday, fantastic result and some effort put in by her this year
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sYhrxbAD05Y
The mens was a cracking finish also
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6_b4LusGFQw
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on September 16, 2013, 04:08:48 PM
Not a mention about Aileen Reid on her silver in London yesterday, fantastic result and some effort put in by her this year
Watched the both of them. Aileen put in a super shift and sat in very well and timed her move to perfection. Great finish for her and to be ranked overall 8th in the world is a huge marker for her. If she improves as much next year, she'll see the podium alot more.
The mens was a great finish. Gomez recovered well from an average swim but he know he had to get involved with the bike leg from the outset and done that. I was surprised that Alister Brownlee was so insistant that Johnny should have just sat on his shoulder till the last 50m, as the commentators had it different and could only see Gomez winning in the sprint. Keane had a poor swim but recovered well to work his way up the field.
Quote from: Bingo on September 16, 2013, 04:55:23 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on September 16, 2013, 04:08:48 PM
Watched the both of them. Aileen put in a super shift and sat in very well and timed her move to perfection. Great finish for her and to be ranked overall 8th in the world is a huge marker for her. If she improves as much next year, she'll see the podium alot more.
The mens was a great finish. Gomez recovered well from an average swim but he know he had to get involved with the bike leg from the outset and done that. I was surprised that Alister Brownlee was so insistant that Johnny should have just sat on his shoulder till the last 50m, as the commentators had it different and could only see Gomez winning in the sprint. Keane had a poor swim but recovered well to work his way up the field.
Aye got tactics wrong I thought, Gomez has had a great season to be fair. Aileen said she was freezing and couldn't warm up!! the crashes added to the excitement
How are the times coming along Milltown?
Quote from: Mayo4Sam on September 17, 2013, 04:51:38 PM
How are the times coming along Milltown?
Have been really pleased recently with the times, knocking 4 minutes off the swim, 14mins off the bike, I added a minute on to my run though, I know that I had put more effort into the first 2 so one was going to suffer. Even though I knocked 14 mins off my cycle I was more pleased with the swim even though it was just four minutes. All sprint distances to date (edit: I've done 3) so next year will be the step up to standard distance.
Had an awful time in the lake in the summer so will be pushing to get that out of my system for next season. I'd love to be in the position to one day do a Ironman but way off the mark yet.
They are so popular at the minute and I'm trying to get some friends involved to have training partners, if not I'll join a club. On another note I have to say that the craic and the banter at these events is great, everyone is supportive throughout and welcoming.
Anyone any big triathlons planned for next year? Not sure what to do as I am hoping to play football next year after recovery from a back injury. Would love to do a load of sprints and one really good half IM or the alpe d'huez triathlon in July!
My swimming has improved big time! Doing a lot of work in the pool, really pleased with this as I was hardly able to swim 10 lengths of front crawl at the start of the year. Anyone got any good swim sessions?
Quote from: JimStynes on December 19, 2013, 07:21:24 PM
Anyone any big triathlons planned for next year? Not sure what to do as I am hoping to play football next year after recovery from a back injury. Would love to do a load of sprints and one really good half IM or the alpe d'huez triathlon in July!
My swimming has improved big time! Doing a lot of work in the pool, really pleased with this as I was hardly able to swim 10 lengths of front crawl at the start of the year. Anyone got any good swim sessions?
Roe Valley sprint one, they have a juvenile one so my kid is game for doing it also. But will have a look after xmas. Plan to join a swim club for a term to bring that up to speed and get a coach/PT at the gym who's heavy into the Triathlons for a couple of sessions
Good to see ur back from the injury JS, did you have the surgery?
If ur doing the HIM and playing football I'd limit the tris to 4/5. I did 9 last year and it's easy to burn out. I peaked after 6 of 9 this year
Quote from: Mayo4Sam on December 19, 2013, 07:56:03 PM
If ur doing the HIM and playing football I'd limit the tris to 4/5. I did 9 last year and it's easy to burn out. I peaked after 6 of 9 this year
I intend to only do 2/3 sprint ones and maybe 1 or 2 olympic distance then a HIM. See how it goes with football. I have the Paris marathon in April but I am only going to try and finish it and not worry about a time. It would ruin me for football if I went too hard at the marathon training.
Yeah I had the operation this time last year! What a difference a year makes, I could barely walk with pain last december, best decision I ever made was to have the surgery. I couldn't have went on any longer with that pain. I did a lot of cycling last year and didn't kick a ball all year until the end of the season when I played one senior match. Back feels great and basically no pain. I still don't have the flexibility in my right leg that I once had before the injury but I would hardly notice it with usual day to day activities. Hopefully I can improve my core and flexibility and get back to playing football properly this year.
Signed up again to do Escape from Alcatraz. Its not that long but the Swim is a difficult, last year waves were very choppy ~2 mtrs high, as well a a strong current - one guy died in the swim! Cycle is short around The City and then a tough run but with great views.
Outside that will try get a half IM in.
Quote from: JimStynes on December 19, 2013, 10:46:01 PM
Quote from: Mayo4Sam on December 19, 2013, 07:56:03 PM
I intend to only do 2/3 sprint ones and maybe 1 or 2 olympic distance then a HIM. See how it goes with football. I have the Paris marathon in April but I am only going to try and finish it and not worry about a time. It would ruin me for football if I went too hard at the marathon training.
Yeah I had the operation this time last year! What a difference a year makes, I could barely walk with pain last december, best decision I ever made was to have the surgery. I couldn't have went on any longer with that pain. I did a lot of cycling last year and didn't kick a ball all year until the end of the season when I played one senior match. Back feels great and basically no pain. I still don't have the flexibility in my right leg that I once had before the injury but I would hardly notice it with usual day to day activities. Hopefully I can improve my core and flexibility and get back to playing football properly this year.
Starting yoga after xmas, hopefully that will bring about more flexibility, have you tried it?
Lisburn Duathlon on the 16th Feb, 2 miles run 10 miles cycle 2 mile run. Any takers?
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on January 30, 2014, 08:47:59 PM
Lisburn Duathlon on the 16th Feb, 2 miles run 10 miles cycle 2 mile run. Any takers?
That would be doable but I need to get working on my running pace.
Quote from: LeoMc on February 01, 2014, 02:29:13 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on January 30, 2014, 08:47:59 PM
That would be doable but I need to get working on my running pace.
They have three dates over the winter period, I just realised that date is maybe a bit of as hassle for me so might take the next date on offer
Anyone watch the Mark Webber Tasmania Challenge? 5 days of adventure racing, running mountain biking, kayaks, mountain climbing and be able to navigate around the area!!
Friends doing the hell and back race in Wicklow in 5 weeks, looks great
Anyone racing in the coming weeks?
Have busted my shoulder and am out of swimming but am hopeful I can make a come back Sunday week in Lough Cultra, its a funny distance 800m swim - 40k cycle - 8k run, am hopeful of a good showing if I can swim at all
Quote from: Mayo4Sam on May 14, 2014, 11:53:03 AM
Anyone racing in the coming weeks?
Have busted my shoulder and am out of swimming but am hopeful I can make a come back Sunday week in Lough Cultra, its a funny distance 800m swim - 40k cycle - 8k run, am hopeful of a good showing if I can swim at all
Roe Valley sprint triathlon on the 24th for me, that is a strange distance Mayo4Sam. I've still my open water fears ffs, I'm doing easy 150 lengths a week and feeling stronger but still doubting the open water ffs
Why dont you work on getting open water practice? A few sessions in the sea, or I think I heard theres some resevoir round carryduff that a lot of the tri clubs train in, bound to help a lot.
I'm hoping to get a tri done this year, usual story of trying to fit it round football though
Quote from: haranguerer on May 15, 2014, 09:17:30 AM
Why dont you work on getting open water practice? A few sessions in the sea, or I think I heard theres some resevoir round carryduff that a lot of the tri clubs train in, bound to help a lot.
I'm hoping to get a tri done this year, usual story of trying to fit it round football though
I know, just my last experience wasn't good ha, need to get out and kill it, lad that trains in the gym with me the odd time is flat out, has done a few Ironman competitions and is doing a half Ironman next week some time, think he's gearing up for another full one, he never likes the swim either but just gets in and gets on with it.
He's no bigger than me (5'6) and is a fit as feck, I hate training besides him in the pool and on the spin sessions ffs though deep down he really pushes you on so it works out lol!!
One of my old students is doing this right now!!
http://eu.ironman.com/triathlon/coverage/detail.aspx?race=lanzarote&y=2014#axzz31z6sVkTA
Did the Roe Valley Tri today, was a tough route on the bike, heading out was tough hills and small drops so was hoping it be grand on way back! Head wind the whole way ffs. Thought my calf and thigh muscles were going to come away from my bone when I started the run. Anyways great day out and well supported. Roll on the next one. Oh PB on the swim which I was happy with
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on May 25, 2014, 12:33:42 AM
Did the Roe Valley Tri today, was a tough route on the bike, heading out was tough hills and small drops so was hoping it be grand on way back! Head wind the whole way ffs. Thought my calf and thigh muscles were going to come away from my bone when I started the run. Anyways great day out and well supported. Roll on the next one. Oh PB on the swim which I was happy with
good stuff. I need to get do one soon as well. Had you trained for it?
Quote from: JimStynes on May 25, 2014, 08:34:31 AM
The only thing I done was worked on the swim the last couple of weeks after really avoiding the pool for months. but managed to do it in 16 mins. The quickest was 9.50 which is madness. It's the cycling which is my achilles, I don't do any cycling at all so and with it being the big gain on tri's its where I should put the effort in.
But I'm only doing them for the craic and if I am sitting on 1.30 or below for the sprints then I'm happy. Think yesterday's winner finished under the hour mark !!!
Have you done the Peninsula Sea Sprint Triathlon ? Looking or thinking of doing it, 20 places left hate open water swimming
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on May 28, 2014, 09:13:33 PM
Have you done the Peninsula Sea Sprint Triathlon ? Looking or thinking of doing it, 20 places left hate open water swimming
Where is it? I an sea swim in glenarm last year. Bloody cold but much easier to swim in than a lake. It was a calm night though. I might look into it myself!
Quote from: JimStynes on May 28, 2014, 11:59:30 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on May 28, 2014, 09:13:33 PM
Where is it? I an sea swim in glenarm last year. Bloody cold but much easier to swim in than a lake. It was a calm night though. I might look into it myself!
Ballywalter, Ards direction
Dublin to host Iornman competition next year, half and full ones it seems. Be some interest in that I'd imagine, the sport is growing very fast in Ireland
Ballywalter sea sprint triathlon done today, brilliant weather and great course, finally banished my open water nerves, though I had my moments.
My missus' brother competed in the Ironman Austria yesterday, with times of:
Swim (3.8km): 1:15:28
Bike (180km): 5:58:06
Run (42.2km): 4:28:06
Total time including transitions 11:56:21
Serious effort!
Quote from: Never beat the deeler on June 30, 2014, 01:43:43 AM
My missus' brother competed in the Ironman Austria yesterday, with times of:
Swim (3.8km): 1:15:28
Bike (180km): 5:58:06
Run (42.2km): 4:28:06
Total time including transitions 11:56:21
Serious effort!
that is mental times. His worst time was the swim and its fantastic lol. Some serious effort
Third Tri of the season coming up, Lisburn sprint on Sunday. Looking to do an Olympic distance this summer, maybe two. Anyone done the Mourne tri at Kilbroney, Rostrevor?
Dublin will host the proper Ironman triathlon next year, well it's a half Ironman but with a view to hosting a full Ironman next year, I've pre registered but will see how I fair over the next few months before committing to it. Due to be held on the 15th August, though I suppose that depends on the Dublin City Council lol give permission
Was nearly going to do the Eskragh Lough one tonight but the weather is a bit shit. The lisburn one on sunday is a pool based one?
Quote from: JimStynes on July 18, 2014, 11:13:05 AM
Was nearly going to do the Eskragh Lough one tonight but the weather is a bit shit. The lisburn one on sunday is a pool based one?
Yep. sure once you're in the water at Eskragh Lough you'll be grand in fairness I haven't done a sea swim were the water is rough, be so much harder to navigate
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on July 18, 2014, 11:26:39 AM
Yep. sure once you're in the water at Eskragh Lough you'll be grand in fairness I haven't done a sea swim were the water is rough, be so much harder to navigate
Not really, you're still in a group and can keep an eye on where they are going, helps
Quote from: Mayo4Sam on July 18, 2014, 11:43:00 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on July 18, 2014, 11:26:39 AM
Not really, you're still in a group and can keep an eye on where they are going, helps
Did that the other week, the fecker I was following was all over the show lol. Left him and headed for another, he wasn't too bad, think I added on at least 150m to my swim ffs
Aye well dont just follow one clown, try and keep an eye on the group as a whole :P
Lisburn Triathlon today done, pretty quick course, managed to do it in 1.18. Need to step up to the bigger distances now
Anyone see the triathlons today? the elite ones are fine but there was a lad from some country and he was lapped on the swim!!!
Is there no qualifying time for these races?
I think if you have no one of the required standard it's discretionary who you send at games like these as per eric the eel etc...
Quote from: imtommygunn on July 24, 2014, 03:55:27 PM
I think if you have no one of the required standard it's discretionary who you send at games like these as per eric the eel etc...
An eel would have been ok this is a doing the lad no good, I'd have finished that swim before him and I'm not a strong swimmer
Its hardly doing him much harm - hes competed at the commonwealth games which is more than any of us can say.
Yeah well it was a worry with eric the eel in the olympics whether he would drown swimming the distance he had to swim and then they made him do it twice...
There's A and B standards and then it's up to the countries themselves if no one makes either of these. At least I think that's the way it works in the athletics. Triathlon may be a bit different though not 100%.
Quote from: haranguerer on July 24, 2014, 04:06:00 PM
Its hardly doing him much harm - hes competed at the commonwealth games which is more than any of us can say.
Well I don't know about you but being lapped in the first discipline at this level is a big thing. Fair play is right but I'd have thought to get on at these games there would be some sort of qualifying time before entering a athlete don't you think?
30 mins for his run lol
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on July 24, 2014, 04:48:50 PM
30 mins for his run lol
Ffs you'd think he would have done a bit of training for it!
Quote from: JimStynes on July 24, 2014, 05:01:47 PM
30 mins for his run lol
Entered the Top of the Mourne Triathlon in Rostrevor Jim, have you done any this year?
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on July 24, 2014, 09:17:51 PM
30 mins for his run lol
Entered the Top of the Mourne Triathlon in Rostrevor Jim, have you done any this year?
I'll be lying up in Vegas while that one is one MR! No, haven't done any this year. Did the marathon and a lot of cycling but never had time to do any triathlons so far. Hopefully get at least one in before the end of the season. I go on holidays on the 3rd of aug and back on 17th so any before or after that then let us know.
Quote from: JimStynes on July 24, 2014, 11:43:04 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on July 24, 2014, 09:17:51 PM
30 mins for his run lol
I'll be lying up in Vegas while that one is one MR! No, haven't done any this year. Did the marathon and a lot of cycling but never had time to do any triathlons so far. Hopefully get at least one in before the end of the season. I go on holidays on the 3rd of aug and back on 17th so any before or after that then let us know.
Will do. I'd rather be in Vegas ya lucky bistard
Great leg in the CG Sprint relay Tri by Conor Murphy of Craigavon-
Edit- Brownlee destroys it on the run!
Quote from: bennydorano on July 26, 2014, 01:04:41 PM
Conor went to St.Pats Benny, has a Dalton Cup medal. Was in the same class as my wee bro, was always a great swimmer. Remember him doing well at the Triathlons at school level. Did he recently take it back up again or has he been plodding away all along.
Quote from: RealSpiritof98 on July 26, 2014, 01:47:59 PM
Conor went to St.Pats Benny, has a Dalton Cup medal. Was in the same class as my wee bro, was always a great swimmer. Remember him doing well at the Triathlons at school level. Did he recently take it back up again or has he been plodding away all along.
Don't know but he has plenty potential, what age is he? Thought he was brilliant on Thursday and may have potential to push on to the elite stuff.
The brownlee boys just have it great swimmers very good on the bike but the running is up there with some top runners over that distance. How they sprint so hard for the first mile after the bike run is the difference to opening up a gap, class
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on July 26, 2014, 02:04:46 PM
Don't know but he has plenty potential, what age is he? Thought he was brilliant on Thursday and may have potential to push on to the elite stuff.
The brownlee boys just have it great swimmers very good on the bike but the running is up there with some top runners over that distance. How they sprint so hard for the first mile after the bike run is the difference to opening up a gap, class
He'd be 29 or so. Just an observation, does he suffer from Alopecia? I remember years ago noticing he had issues with his hair growth. I ask as my 11 year old daughter does suffer from it and its great for her to see athletes doing so well. She watched the English track cyclist Joanna Roswell win gold yesterday which gave her a real lift.
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on July 26, 2014, 02:04:46 PM
He would be good mates with a few of the boys from Tuna Triathlon club in lurgan. I think his da is one of the coaches at the club as well.
Did the Top of the Mourne triathlon today!!! What a fecking killer that was, my first Olympic distance and it showed, the climb up to Spelga Dam was madness. Running is my thing out of the 3 but the 10k was the worst time ever lol. I'd like to see a tougher Tri for that distance. Brilliant craic........ NOW
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on August 09, 2014, 06:43:27 PM
Did the Top of the Mourne triathlon today!!! What a fecking killer that was, my first Olympic distance and it showed, the climb up to Spelga Dam was madness. Running is my thing out of the 3 but the 10k was the worst time ever lol. I'd like to see a tougher Tri for that distance. Brilliant craic........ NOW
Well done MR - if only I could swim! or owned a bike! Enjoy the pints tonight!
Quote from: CD on August 09, 2014, 06:44:42 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on August 09, 2014, 06:43:27 PM
Well done MR - if only I could swim! or owned a bike! Enjoy the pints tonight!
I couldn't swim well for a long time and looking back at that today I probably still can't lol and I don't own a bike either CD I borrow a good racing bike and away I go. Not in a club nor train for it but after that if I were to do that distance again I'd train properly for it. But yeah its like anything, great when its done and I'll enjoy a few (already a couple down) tonight
Just did Newry triathlon today, great craic and really pleased with my time. Fantastic day and another well run event as usual by the Newry boys
Great event and most of the roads all closed, I'm sure it caused big disruptions around the town but het good for us.
Had full feck up the whole journey down and back, pure car trouble that ended with car overheating to the point that I thought it was going to go on fire!! That's my last two Tris's were I've had car trouble heading down. I fecking hate cars!!
What time are u doing these days MR2
Quote from: Mayo4Sam on August 31, 2014, 11:25:08 PM
What time are u doing these days MR2
1.21 today, still slow in the water but cycling getting better and managed 21mins for the run. Not serious enough about it. borrowed a friends bike today (A Boardman) and used the cleats for the first time, felt good though took me an age to click both in. That's me done for the year. Titanic soon but I'll watch it.
It's a great buzz but things are changing possibly work wise which will limit my spare time if it happens so will need to assess goals for next year
Guys,
Complete novice here doing a fair bit of biking and running tho (separately) and interested in taking the step into this. Swim needs a lot of work to get even near the others but will be working at that.
General question tho - where do you get a good events calendar of triathlons (sprint and upwards)? country wide? - home base is Co. Down. Ironman at the end of the big plan but that's a while off and would want to go global scenic for that one :)
Thanks
Quote from: sabhallphadraig on September 06, 2014, 11:16:18 AM
Guys,
Complete novice here doing a fair bit of biking and running tho (separately) and interested in taking the step into this. Swim needs a lot of work to get even near the others but will be working at that.
General question tho - where do you get a good events calendar of triathlons (sprint and upwards)? country wide? - home base is Co. Down. Ironman at the end of the big plan but that's a while off and would want to go global scenic for that one :)
Thanks
http://www.triathlonireland.com/ would be the place to start. season nearly over but there is a pool based swim Tri in Newtownabbey at the end of the month, very good for starting out, then you can judge what needs worked on after that. The complete novice swimmer would need to do 30 lengths in under 30 mins. So get to the pool and see where you are at
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on September 06, 2014, 01:31:58 PM
Guys,
Thanks
http://www.triathlonireland.com/ would be the place to start. season nearly over but there is a pool based swim Tri in Newtownabbey at the end of the month, very good for starting out, then you can judge what needs worked on after that. The complete novice swimmer would need to do 30 lengths in under 30 mins. So get to the pool and see where you are at
Are you doing the Titanic triathlon tomorrow MR? I'm going to head into town to watch it in the morning.
Guys,
Thanks
Thanks MR2 - will look that one up and plan out targets for next year. Swim technique is gonna be the major weakness now and needing the most work but I def want to give this a go.
Quote from: CD on September 06, 2014, 05:02:08 PM
Guys,
Thanks
Are you doing the Titanic triathlon tomorrow MR? I'm going to head into town to watch it in the morning.
Watching me thinks, first wave is at 8.45am
Guys,
Thanks
I've always used this one, loads a lot quicker for me: http://www.irishtriathlon.com/race-calendar-ireland/races/
If swimming is your weakness, it seems duathlons would be a good thing to do in the meantime while you're improving it
Milltown, whats the logistics for pool tris? Like I assume you're just in togs swimming, so do you just get changed into the cycling gear in the changing room and take it from there? Are transitions very long then?
I'd like to do that one - £50 is a tight ask for an event too though -£30 entry and a £20 one day licence on top
If you have a tri suit you'd swim in that, straight onto the bike. Otherwise swim in shorts, throw on a top when you get to the bike, no changing room, clothes fired on over what you have on in the pool
Cheers. Ah, hadn't considered swimming in bib shorts (I assume they'd also be grand?). And do you generally just be running through the leisure centre soaking then?
Quote from: haranguerer on September 08, 2014, 01:54:48 PM
Milltown, whats the logistics for pool tris? Like I assume you're just in togs swimming, so do you just get changed into the cycling gear in the changing room and take it from there? Are transitions very long then?
I'd like to do that one - £50 is a tight ask for an event too though -£30 entry and a £20 one day licence on top
As mayo4sam has said the Tri suit is best, straight out of the pool and run to transition and on the bike and away, shouldn't take more that a minute. It's usually the back door of the pool is opened to a transition area pretty close.
Pricewise it's expensive but at the start of the year become a member of Tri Ireland and you don't have to get licence all the time. so if you only do 3 you've saved money. The pool one is grand to give you that idea of whether its for you or not.
Watch the Titanic triathlon yesterday some cracking swimmers on show, girl I think finished her swim in 18 minutes!! that's for a mile, some boyos couldn't run that in that time lol. Weather was great, was a bit jealous watching
Quote from: haranguerer on September 08, 2014, 02:37:03 PM
Cheers. Ah, hadn't considered swimming in bib shorts (I assume they'd also be grand?). And do you generally just be running through the leisure centre soaking then?
You dry up pretty quick
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on September 08, 2014, 02:41:18 PM
You dry up pretty quick
I just couldnt really fathom how they'd have a loada feckers racing straight from the pool down out the front entrance, that they have a separate one open beside the bikes clears a lot of my confusion up
Quote from: haranguerer on September 08, 2014, 02:47:00 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on September 08, 2014, 02:41:18 PM
You dry up pretty quick
I just couldnt really fathom how they'd have a loada feckers racing straight from the pool down out the front entrance, that they have a separate one open beside the bikes clears a lot of my confusion up
Aye you can imagine, but it's funny the first timers do come out of the pool disorientated (if they are poor swimmers) and look confused run the wrong direction and stand for a bit to get their breathing right. The Newtownabbey one is a decent first timer a gradual climb with a sharp decent on the finish with the bike and two laps of the park beside the centre.
Anyone planning on doing the Dublin Ironman 70.3 next August?
I volunteered at the one this year and it looked deadly so I'm signing up next month
Anyone planning any this year?
I'm in for Challenge Galway 70.3, starting to hit home what a challenge it is, 4 months doesn't seem long at all to get up to speed. I'll probably try to coordinate a few sprints and Olympics as part of the build-up too
Quote from: haranguerer on February 18, 2016, 10:22:40 AM
I'm in for Challenge Galway 70.3, starting to hit home what a challenge it is, 4 months doesn't seem long at all to get up to speed. I'll probably try to coordinate a few sprints and Olympics as part of the build-up too
Are you working off a training plan? I'd recommend you get a turbo too - I find them great.
Hopefully pre-registration will open next week for Dublin 70.3
I'd seen the Don Finks books mentioned online, so bought one, waiting on it to arrive.
I got a turbo around christmas too, but haven't got as much use out of it yet as I'd hoped. How often a week are you on it, and for how long?
I think I thought I was further along fitness wise than I am, I have been doing bits and pieces, but clearly not enough, and I really need to step it up. Maybe I'll love it though and go for dublin too...cant see it at this moment in time though!!
Quote from: heffo on February 18, 2016, 11:43:22 AM
Are you working off a training plan? I'd recommend you get a turbo too - I find them great.
I find the turbo great.Mind you I haven't taken the bike off it since I bought it but I really think it's helping my fitness for running.
Quote from: haranguerer on February 18, 2016, 02:06:23 PM
I'd seen the Don Finks books mentioned online, so bought one, waiting on it to arrive.
I got a turbo around christmas too, but haven't got as much use out of it yet as I'd hoped. How often a week are you on it, and for how long?
I think I thought I was further along fitness wise than I am, I have been doing bits and pieces, but clearly not enough, and I really need to step it up. Maybe I'll love it though and go for dublin too...cant see it at this moment in time though!!
I'm doing 2 x Turbo sessions a week - 1 x hour & 1 x 1.5 hours - all kind of varied with some sprints thrown in etc. I'm told an hour on he turbo is worth and hour and a half on the road - I'm definitely feeling the benefit of it.
I do a longish cycle on the road Saturday morning, 3 x runs and a long 3k swim.
I read that ideally you'll get three sessions of each a week in, so you're doing well there heffo, and thats before starting any plan I presume. For me at this stage its a 16 week plan I'll be looking, and then see how I can fit in a race or two beforehand as buildup. I've only done one sprint so far, so its a fair step up
Quote from: laoislad on February 18, 2016, 02:09:12 PM
Quote from: heffo on February 18, 2016, 11:43:22 AM
I find the turbo great.Mind you I haven't taken the bike off it since I bought it but I really think it's helping my fitness for running.
It should help with overall conditioning alright
Quote from: haranguerer on February 18, 2016, 02:28:52 PM
I read that ideally you'll get three sessions of each a week in, so you're doing well there heffo, and thats before starting any plan I presume. For me at this stage its a 16 week plan I'll be looking, and then see how I can fit in a race or two beforehand as buildup. I've only done one sprint so far, so its a fair step up
You've only did one sprint ever?? And looking to step up to a half ironman??
Looking to get back ay them this year, away for work all of last year so didn't get any done... It's getting into a routine that I'm finding hard, id be at the gym every day but not doing swimming or cycling that's holding me back... Sprints are fine even some flattish Olympic distance races are grand... But the step up to half or full Ironman race distance is another level of pain!!
Good luck and let us know your plan once you get going..... As a side, practice hard on the transitions or bricks I think they are called.... Not just to make it easier but help with transferring different muscle groups
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on February 19, 2016, 08:02:29 AM
Looking to get back ay them this year, away for work all of last year so didn't get any done... It's getting into a routine that I'm finding hard, id be at the gym every day but not doing swimming or cycling that's holding me back... Sprints are fine even some flattish Olympic distance races are grand... But the step up to half or full Ironman race distance is another level of pain!!
Good luck and let us know your plan once you get going..... As a side, practice hard on the transitions or bricks I think they are called.... Not just to make it easier but help with transferring different muscle groups
Yep - I can swim, I can cycle, and I can run. I just need to get used to doing one after another, for (a lot) longer I guess...
Will do, getting a plan sorted out is something I need to get on as soon as possible.
Quote from: haranguerer on February 19, 2016, 10:46:58 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on February 19, 2016, 08:02:29 AM
Yep - I can swim, I can cycle, and I can run. I just need to get used to doing one after another, for (a lot) longer I guess...
Will do, getting a plan sorted out is something I need to get on as soon as possible.
Yeah, the hardest thing is getting mentally right, pure ignorance will drag you through... my first Olympic was this one: http://www.topofmourne.com/
Brutal and I wish I had have started with an easier one, the cycle was to the top of the Mourne!!! people were getting off their bikes and walking at parts!!
First week of Don Finks plan - trying to fit it in round the tri club sessions, but a lot of it will be training on my own. All HR zone based, which by all accounts is the way to go - I've read a bit about it on here before and saw it sworn by which gives me confidence in it. Zone 2 run last night was 9 min miles though - I'm unsure if that's ok for someone who'd expect to be running round about a 20min 5k (altho prob currently a bit over), or if I should check my zones - although I've had my max hr on a bike, I haven't tested it running, so just added 5 bpm to my max and let my garmin calculate the zones - does that sound loosely accurate? And what is the best way in anyones experience to test running HR zones?
Quote from: haranguerer on March 09, 2016, 11:26:10 AM
First week of Don Finks plan - trying to fit it in round the tri club sessions, but a lot of it will be training on my own. All HR zone based, which by all accounts is the way to go - I've read a bit about it on here before and saw it sworn by which gives me confidence in it. Zone 2 run last night was 9 min miles though - I'm unsure if that's ok for someone who'd expect to be running round about a 20min 5k (altho prob currently a bit over), or if I should check my zones - although I've had my max hr on a bike, I haven't tested it running, so just added 5 bpm to my max and let my garmin calculate the zones - does that sound loosely accurate? And what is the best way in anyones experience to test running HR zones?
You need to do a 5K time trial running. This will pretty much max out your HR so from there you can work out your zones. I use to run 10K's in around 33mins and tried training with HR zones but never worked for me until I did this. I had been using the old 220 minus my age and ended up trotting along when I was suppose to be at 60%. Good luck
Quote from: Muck Savage on March 09, 2016, 11:50:55 PM
You need to do a 5K time trial running. This will pretty much max out your HR so from there you can work out your zones. I use to run 10K's in around 33mins and tried training with HR zones but never worked for me until I did this. I had been using the old 220 minus my age and ended up trotting along when I was suppose to be at 60%. Good luck
33 mins for 10K!! Lethal..... Back swimming in the afternoons (lunchtimes) and Christ it takes a while to get the rhythm breathing and timing right!!
Cheers. I'll get that done this weekend.
Interestingly, (or prob just reflecting my relative lack of bike time) I've found that while running (fresh) I'm holding myself back to stay in zone 2, but on the turbo trainer I find it quite an effort on the legs.
Thats one area the tri club really brought me on MR - my swimming has improved a lot
I use to run 10K's in around 33mins and tried training with HR zones but never worked for me until I did this.
That's serious pace - you must be/were running at a high level with times like that
Quote from: haranguerer on March 10, 2016, 01:03:54 PM
Interestingly, (or prob just reflecting my relative lack of bike time) I've found that while running (fresh) I'm holding myself back to stay in zone 2, but on the turbo trainer I find it quite an effort on the legs.
Once you start getting a couple of Turbo sessions in during the week along with a long aerobic spin at the weekend, you'll see improvement pretty quick
I've entered Sligo sprint this weekend - it should be good for race day and transition practice. First pool tri too, so unsure what to expect.
Has anyone done it before?
I haven't but I've done a few pool triathlons, hateful things in my opinion, I prefer the open water but then I know lots than are much more comfortable in a pool, so each to their own. Great opportunity to draft for the swim and conserve energy
Any questions?
Cheers M4S, I had a few, but I've just received the full briefing and it has answered a lot.
Looking forward to it - its nice that its the first one of the year and focus is on challenge galway so can be relaxed about it. Def want to get an Olympic in too before the half, thinking strongly about Cutra at the minute.
Quote from: haranguerer on April 18, 2016, 09:52:49 AM
I've entered Sligo sprint this weekend - it should be good for race day and transition practice. First pool tri too, so unsure what to expect.
Has anyone done it before?
I did the sligo sprint last year, and will be doing it again this weekend. Really enjoyable event last year, helped by great weather on the day, and not much wind. Not sure what the forecast is for this weekend. It was my first pool tri so wasn't sure what to expect. Found it ok. Have a chat with the other guys in your lane and find out who's best to go 1st, 2nd, 3rd, etc. This will make it a bit smoother. Also, bring a water bottle into the pool area. There can be a fair bit of waiting around, and there was serious heat in the pool area so you could dehydrate very easily even before you start. The cycle I found quite tough, despite there being little/no wind. There are a few hills, nothing major, but I just found that it was a long grinding cycle. The run was fine - there's a hill at the start which isn't ideal considering that you've just completed a tough cycle, but after that hill it's a nice flat route.
Enjoy...
Cutra is nice. I'd say they'll have wiggle room on the price if u email them and haggle. They offered 50% discount on paddy's day, so you could ask for that?
Just checked Stevo and it looks to be showers which would be grand, but windy too, which wouldn't...Did you just wear tri-suit last year?
Good tip M4S. I was on the website and it did look nice - to the extent that I was thinking it was a pity I hadn't seen it when was booking Challenge.
haranguerer, yep I just wore the tri-suit last year from start to finish. will be doing the same this weekend. should be fine.
Anyone do Cutra this weekend? Bit of a balls for the half - swim cancelled due to fog. Be a balls if it was the race you'd been aiming for...
Seems to be a quiet season for gaaboarders...Probably gonna give Top of the Mournes a rattle this weekend, and Titanic next. Anyone else in for them?
Quote from: haranguerer on July 18, 2016, 01:56:50 PM
Seems to be a quiet season for gaaboarders...Probably gonna give Top of the Mournes a rattle this weekend, and Titanic next. Anyone else in for them?
Haven't been doing any recently !! Did Top of the Mourne's last year!! swim was great out to first turn and the then the waves catch you on way back (unless you lift head to breath on other side!!) the cycle is horrendous, the climb never stops and the decline is seriously quick so be aware on the steep bends...
fantastic spread afters .... just over 3 hours of torture but I loved it, would love to be doing it again
There are still entries... ;)
Got Galway half done, and have done v little since, so just going to try to get through the next two. Then pick one to aim for, and that will do me for the season I think.
Quote from: haranguerer on July 18, 2016, 03:45:47 PM
There are still entries... ;)
Got Galway half done, and have done v little since, so just going to try to get through the next two. Then pick one to aim for, and that will do me for the season I think.
I'll give it a miss, but you always enjoy it, after its over
That's the thing about proper distance tri's you need to work on open water swimming a lot and put the miles in for the cycle !! running isn't a problem!!
the lads doing these week in week out are training as hard as some professional sports men
Anyone doing Dublin 1/2 Ironman Sunday?
Anyone done castlewellan sprint before?
Quote from: heffo on August 11, 2016, 02:34:36 PM
How'd it go??
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on August 16, 2016, 02:12:19 PM
How'd it go??
Really well - great event. Roads on the bike leg were slippy as it rained for a good hour. No jellyfish stings. Collecting the swim bag after was chaotic at the end
Quote from: heffo on August 16, 2016, 08:13:48 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on August 16, 2016, 02:12:19 PM
How'd it go??
Really well - great event. Roads on the bike leg were slippy as it rained for a good hour. No jellyfish stings. Collecting the swim bag after was chaotic at the end
Starting back next year.... So busy with new job I just haven't been able to give it any proper training to give it a go.... Might do couple sprint ones end of August and looking to get a decent bike for next year, looking at getting a very good second hand one out of season... New wet suit too as this one is getting tighter!!
Big expense the tris but great craic all the same... Well done
What ones are on at the end of August?
Took into running a bit recently with an eye to doing a duathlon, but dont think the knees (& back) will hold out longterm tho. Would love to do a Tri but the swimming is total pish.
Quote from: bennydorano on August 16, 2016, 11:55:57 PM
Took into running a bit recently with an eye to doing a duathlon, but dont think the knees (& back) will hold out longterm tho. Would love to do a Tri but the swimming is total pish.
Get into the local swimming masters sessions. My swimming is less shite than it used to be as I went to a swimming club 3 mornings a week before work. I couldn't swim one length and couldn't swim front crawl at all! After a few months we were regularly swimming 100 lengths in the morning before work. Doing all sorts of drills and sets really brought me on. One of the best things I've done. Depressing watching how easy it looks for people who learned how to swim when they were younger. Mine is all effort whereas they look like they are gliding through the water!
I might do a couple of sprint triathlons until my knee is back to normal. Cant really cycle longer than 1-2 hours without it getting sore.
Quote from: JimStynes on August 16, 2016, 01:44:12 PM
Anyone done castlewellan sprint before?
Should be marshalling at it. Always looks like great event, excellent setting, good roads etc.
I'll try to get 1 or 2 more in myself then that'll do me for this year. There's one in Groomsport in mid sept prob good for the final blast.
Anyone see footage of the Brownlee brothers yesterday? Poor Jonny overcooked it and had to be carried over the line.
Quote from: imtommygunn on September 19, 2016, 11:24:56 AM
Anyone see footage of the Brownlee brothers yesterday? Poor Jonny overcooked it and had to be carried over the line.
Cost him the championship!
Alastair wasn't too happy with him either!
I wonder if it was Alastair in for the championship what would he do?!
Is this legal? Saw it all right but surely you can't be carried over the line.
Quote from: mrdeeds on September 19, 2016, 12:49:43 PM
Is this legal? Saw it all right but surely you can't be carried over the line.
Technically he wasn't carried over the line. He was carried to the line and push over it. Still I'm not sure if that is allowed. Either way, fair f**ks to his brother.
Help from another athlete differs to help from outside
The ITU dismissed the Spanish Triathlon Federation's appeal to disqualify Jonny, because "athletes can receive help from another athlete".
From BBC Sport.. So there was nothing wrong with the actions of the brother.
From ITU news item on their website
"Following an appeal by the Spanish Triathlon Federation to disqualify Jonathan Brownlee for accepting assistance from Alistair Brownlee to finish the 2016 ITU World Triathlon Grand Final Cozumel, during which Jonathan struggled with heat exhaustion in the final portion of the run, the ITU competition jury unanimously ruled against disqualifying Jonathan. The ITU Competition Jury made this decision in accordance to Appendix K, Rule 7, which states that athletes can receive help from another athlete, Technical Official or Race Official"
The rule was most probably intended for the use of help in regards to punctures on the bike section or more seriously in the swim section where an athlete is in grave danger
Same thing happened in the Olympics with the women that crashed together didn't it?
Was that not in the steeplechase where the uninjured athlete helped the other one to finish ?
Quote from: Walt Jabsco on September 19, 2016, 03:25:48 PM
Was that not in the steeplechase where the uninjured athlete helped the other one to finish ?
Yep. I'd assume similar rules for all athletics events are in place re. 'outside' help.
For T&F events I am definitely sure that outside help cannot be given. Although I was involved in a juvenile event where the Race Director allowed water to be given to athletes this was due to abnormally high temperatures, although any physical assistance was prohibited.
But the athlete in the Olympics was awarded the Pierre de Coubetaine medal for sportsmanship
Triathlons are different in that the courses are/can be spread out and aid is not always close at hand as it would be within a stadium or swimming pool.
As Alistair Brownlee said The ITU did not make allowances for the prevailing conditions where a "black" heat warning was in place by shortening the distances of the 3 elements. The water was 30 degrees C like swimming in a hot bath and the humidity was up on 95%. As they did not make allowances he did not care if he had broken any rules, he possibly proffered this information to the technical officials/event referee. The event officials have on hindsight realised that they should have shortened the distances after seeing the state of the athletes finishing. The GB competitor Bishop was not in great shape either when he crossed the line
the two boys are animals
He was a like shopping trolley with a bust wheel. He must have just been going on autopilot til the brother picked him up.
First sprint triathlon on Sunday in Bangor, absolutely shiteing it.
No idea what to expect at the start or at transitions. Swim is going to be very tough as I could barely do 2 lengths of a pool 3 months ago!
Anyway, I've read through this thread and I'd be interested in a "top three" tips from any of you experienced fellas!
Quote from: No1 on June 23, 2017, 11:42:34 AM
No idea what to expect at the start or at transitions. Swim is going to be very tough as I could barely do 2 lengths of a pool 3 months ago!
Anyway, I've read through this thread and I'd be interested in a "top three" tips from any of you experienced fellas!
Open water swim or pool?
you'll be grand if you've put in the training
Open water, it's down at Ballyholme. I've trained but still nervous about the swim.
I am aiming for Dublin in August. I ducked out of the Bangor one as I am not ready for the swim. So swimming:
Open water is not like pool swimming. 1. Firstly you have a buoyant wetsuit so that makes it easier.
2. But also you no longer have the push-off from the pool ends which makes it harder.
3. Psychologically it is intimidating as 25m to safety looks nothing even if you intend to swim 30 lengths without stopping. Once you are in the sea it seems enormous, it saps confidence.
4. Most people around you will be swimming faster than you and it can force you to speed up. Don't do it. change in swimming speed from your norm can rip the oxygen from you and put you in trouble. Swim your own speed and in your own comfort zone. This is the most technical part of the race. Do not care if you come out the water dead last. Just make sure you come out the water.
The cycle:
The route is pretty flat so the distance will be no bother to you. I assume you can cycle fairly okay anyway? It's only 20km so a slow time to a fast time only has about 5 minutes in it unless you are a serious cyclist. Note - as you come in the last 500m try to straighten you back a bit and sit upright, don't be hunched over racing style. If you do, then when you jump off your bike your back may spasm and it will deny you breath for starting the run.
The run:What can I say, its a straightforward 5km. Go your own pace, personally I think a steady pace you know you can do is best. Do not be put off by others. I like to try to put a bit of length in the stride for the last 1km-500m. It just feels good to be passing a couple of people as you come to the line.
I am just a beginner too. This year I am concentrating on Try-a-tri with about 5 races before trying the Dublin sprint triathlon in August. Next year I will try a schedule of sprints building hopefully to completing the full triathlon in Dublin. There is an excellent Try-a-tri and sprint triathlon in Athlone I am going to on July 8th.
Most of all good luck and let us know how you got on.
Have done this one a few years ago, the swim is easier than you think, nothing beats training in open water but like most people living here open water swiming isnt as easy to do than jumping in the pool...
A few tips. get down early and allow for traffic and whatever else can happen (Id a flat trye once on the way to a race!) hopefully your wet suit is easy to get on and not too tight as it can restrict movement and breathing (should you be hyperventalating!)
make sure you've your chip on, and you've registered
I was told by an experienced triathlete to swim as normally as you can, considering you have waves and other swimers to worry about, dont go in with the leaders stay mid, try and stay with a bunch as there is always a bit of drafting, which can help..
Once it becomes more difficult say to yourself you'll do 40 strokes and take a breather, then take another 40 strokes and just do what ya can to get round the buoy and head towards the finish... You'll have good support round you, other swimmers and the lads in the canoes.
I also headed down the day before, put my gear on and went for a paddlem, swim out a bit, turned and came back, did that a couple of times..
when you get out of the water just relax and put it behind you, youve 12 miles on the bike to do so chill out get the wet suit off, even get someone to help pull the cord down and away ya go
Cycling is fine, forget about what the brownlee boys can do, just get to the bike and dont forget anything and dont get on before the line
the first mile after the bike is the bit where you start to feel it, small strides at the start and hopefully you'll be lifting the pace...
As Pauld123 said, enjoy it, fantastic expereince great support and well run events throughout Ireland and beyond
Cheers for the tips fellas. Got round in 1:35. Was in the water for 26 minutes! Choppy as f**k, think I swallowed half the Irish Sea and whatever else is in there! :o. Wind in the face for the whole 12 mile of the cycle. It was tough and I'm glad I did it but I wouldn't be in a rush to do another!
Quote from: No1 on June 25, 2017, 09:58:01 PM
Cheers for the tips fellas. Got round in 1:35. Was in the water for 26 minutes! Choppy as f**k, think I swallowed half the Irish Sea and whatever else is in there! :o. Wind in the face for the whole 12 mile of the cycle. It was tough and I'm glad I did it but I wouldn't be in a rush to do another!
Well done, Great time too ..
Folks, if someone who doesn't run well and swims worse wanted to get into triathlons, where would they start?
Quote from: tonto1888 on October 14, 2023, 04:50:58 PMFolks, if someone who doesn't run well and swims worse wanted to get into triathlons, where would they start?
Join a Tri club. They are great for pulling you along on the areas you're not good at. Or if you don't fancy that, go online and look at some videos. I did that earlier this year and did my first sprint one. Not setting any records but want to do a full one next year so going to keep plugging away at it. It's my cycling that lets me down.
Camlough do tri a tri thingy I think ;)
It's grand to dip your toe in
Start with a pool one, Limavady do one in pool, as does Lisburn and Valley centre
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on October 14, 2023, 06:43:20 PMCamlough do tri a tri thingy I think ;)
It's grand to dip your toe in
Start with a pool one, Limavady do one in pool, as does Lisburn and Valley centre
Loughmacrory do a Tri a Tri as well. On same day as the sprint. Good crowds at it.
Thanks for the replies all. My training has gone very flat lately and I'm finding it hard to get motivated. Thinking a change may be the way forward
Anyone have any good resources for a decent Triathlon plan?
Quote from: jcpen on October 15, 2023, 02:45:51 PMAnyone have any good resources for a decent Triathlon plan?
https://www.macmillan.org.uk/assets/triathlon-training-plan-sprint-beginner.pdf
No idea how good this is or isnt but it's one I found