GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: EC Unique on July 20, 2011, 12:14:48 PM

Title: Roscommon v Tyrone
Post by: EC Unique on July 20, 2011, 12:14:48 PM
I see this is down for Sat 30th. Where is a likely venue?
Title: Re: Roscommon v Tyrone/Armagh
Post by: ONeill on July 20, 2011, 12:26:54 PM
Breffni?
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on July 20, 2011, 12:29:10 PM
Or Enniskillen/Clones?
Post by: EC Unique on July 20, 2011, 12:34:18 PM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on July 20, 2011, 12:29:10 PM
Or Enniskillen/Clones?

It will probably be in the southern counties for VAT reasons? Clones I would think.
Post by: armaghniac on July 20, 2011, 12:45:27 PM
I would have thought Breffni, a commodious stadium that is well situated for an Armagh-Roscommon game and which is not seen as an Armagh venue in the way that Clones has been.
Post by: Mr. Nakata on July 20, 2011, 12:52:54 PM
Countess Markievicz Park
Post by: Blowitupref on July 20, 2011, 02:28:58 PM
Sensible option would be Croke park before one of the quarter finals.
Post by: ross4life on July 20, 2011, 02:44:18 PM
Do what Limerick,Cork did last year & toss a coin for home home advantage.
Post by: Armaghgeddon on July 20, 2011, 04:28:00 PM
Quote from: ross4life on July 20, 2011, 02:44:18 PM
Do what Limerick,Cork did last year & toss a coin for home home advantage.

Should do it old school....rock, paper scissors.
Post by: Goin Down on July 20, 2011, 04:53:41 PM
Croke Park as part of a triple header with Ros v Armagh minors and one of the quater finals seems possible?
Post by: ross4life on July 20, 2011, 05:00:00 PM
Quote from: Goin Down on July 20, 2011, 04:53:41 PM
Croke Park as part of a triple header with Ros v Armagh minors and one of the quater finals seems possible?
Could happen but knowing the GAA they will fixed both Roscommon games on the same day in different venues, meaning we'll have to pick & choose.
Post by: ross matt on July 20, 2011, 05:20:18 PM
I imagine it will depend on who wins between Armagh and Tyrone. If its Armagh surely a double header in Breffni involving the senior and minor Ross and Armagh sides?
If its Tyrone I dunno where its going to be...  Cant see it being in Croker regardless.
Post by: rocco on July 20, 2011, 08:23:29 PM
Beffni Park  Or Enniskillen/Clones?
HYDE PARK .
Post by: Farrandeelin on July 20, 2011, 08:32:46 PM
Quote from: rocco on July 20, 2011, 08:23:29 PM
Beffni Park  Or Enniskillen/Clones?
HYDE PARK .
[/quote

McHale Park, or even Pearse Stadium, Salthill.
Post by: Rossfan on July 20, 2011, 08:47:05 PM
I would expect us v Tyrone could be put on with a Qtr Final in Croker  on the Sunday leaving our Minors playing Armagh in Pearse on the Saturday with Galway v Cavan.
If we play Armagh on the double I suspect we will be dragged to Breffni for both games althought they should be in neutral Leinster .
Anyway have we any chance ? will Fergie ring some changes? Will playing against first Division Mwr ahve improved us?
Post by: On the 14 on July 20, 2011, 08:53:17 PM
I've brought something like this up on another thread but I'd be almost certain the GAA will do two double headers on weekend of July 30/31 with this game and the three quarter finals taking place.
It's a pity Armagh and Wicklow drew because the four quarter finals on the one weekend is a great promotional tool for the GAA and it would be good to really have it set in stone as the day when the championship really kicks into gear.
Last year with Down beating Kerry, Dubs beating Tyrone, Cork v Roscommon and Meath v Kildare was a brilliant two days of sporting action.
They should probably allow one free weekend in coming years to allow for replays in previous rounds so 'quarter final weekend' can be set in stone.
Post by: umpire on July 20, 2011, 09:47:13 PM
Still remember Roscommon v Armagh's drawn game in 1977 AI semi final end. briliant game.   Am a Down man watching Down minor team that day.
Post by: PadraicHenryPearse on July 20, 2011, 09:54:09 PM
Watched that on DvD recently, some very funny moments in the match. Also it seems getting the ball as hard as you can out of the backs was the theme of the day, no matter where it went.
Post by: Aaron Boone on July 20, 2011, 10:13:42 PM
That Roscommon forward line will gel for sure the next day & any Ulster superpower will dread it.
Post by: Rossfan on July 21, 2011, 11:07:48 AM
Quote from: PadraicHenryPearse on July 20, 2011, 09:54:09 PM
Watched that on DvD recently, some very funny moments in the match. Also it seems getting the ball as hard as you can out of the backs was the theme of the day, no matter where it went.

Now you solo or handpass till you lose it in the danger area
Post by: ross4life on July 23, 2011, 08:35:28 PM
As expected it's Tyrone we better hope they have a off day v us  :-\
Post by: Archie Mitchell on July 23, 2011, 10:15:34 PM
Wouldn't be surprised if this game was in Croker. As slot is there for the quarter final that's not being played anyway.
Title: Re: Roscommon v Tyrone
Post by: Jinxy on July 24, 2011, 12:43:27 AM
Up Roscommon.
Post by: Kerry Mike on July 24, 2011, 07:05:26 AM
Tyrone will win this with a good bit to spare.
Post by: under the bar on July 24, 2011, 12:03:03 PM
Fixed for croker on sat
Post by: trileacman on July 24, 2011, 12:48:14 PM
Quote from: under the bar on July 24, 2011, 12:03:03 PM
Fixed for croker on sat
Official? Who with? Would have preferred Cavan or sligo.
Post by: trileacman on July 24, 2011, 12:54:02 PM
A million miles away the last day so hope to get closer today!

The Sheep Stealers:

G Claffey;

S McDermott, N Carty, S Purcell;

D Keenan, P Domican, D Ward;

M Finneran, K Mannion;

S O'Grady, K Higgins, C Cregg;

C Devaney, S Kilbride, D Shine.

There will be changes to that. Whats the news on Ward. Injured or not? Devaney, O'Grady and to a small extent Kilbride are under-pressure. The threat in this team is Domican, Ward, Mannion, maybe Finneran and Cregg and obviously Shine.

The Sam Stealers ;):
            Packie

Gormely    Joe       Swift      (Safest positions on the team.)

Philly      Ricey    Red Sean   (Ricey under pressure from Justy, think he'll last)

Hub     Sean              (Probably remain, would prefer to see Colm and Sean switch)

Colm     Harte     BMcG        (Safe, a good HF line)

Ducky

Tommy     Penrose         (One of these will make may for Penrose, Could be Coney.)

Would imagine Joe will take Shine, Gormley on Kilbride, Swift will sweep as Devaney does the same. Either that or Swift will pick up Higgins while Ricey takes the free role. Would prefer to see Red Sean in the free role, good passer, good engine, worst defender of the three. Philly will probably manage Cregg, the best rossie HF. Colm, Hub, Sean will play a 3 man midfield. Colm could be moved onto Mannion to negate his aerial prowess as Sean is not a great competitor at fielding and Hub, whilst strong is not the tallest. Roscommon with some dominance will boom kickouts long. Tyrone with the spare man will take them short. Domican will take pete with Ward trying to tire Mcguigan. Don't know anything about rossie FB line. Would imagine if Coney starts the FB will take him. Ducky, the hardest working of any FF trio plays in a more outfield role, hassling opponents and drifting into the hf line to win ball.

Tyrone by 2. 13 - 11.
Post by: Gaffer on July 24, 2011, 01:05:10 PM
Quote from: under the bar on July 24, 2011, 12:03:03 PM
Fixed for croker on sat

Being decided tomorrow as per usual !
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on July 24, 2011, 01:27:36 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on July 24, 2011, 12:43:27 AM
Up Roscommon.

Feck off you obsessive compulsive anti-Tyrone troll!  :D

Or should that be you compulsive uncontrollably not Tyrone?
Post by: ziggysego on July 24, 2011, 01:34:28 PM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on July 24, 2011, 01:27:36 PM
Up Roscommon.

Post by: muppet on July 24, 2011, 02:36:02 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on July 24, 2011, 01:34:28 PM
Up Roscommon.

There is something in that....... like Biffo.

Collapsing Urchin Native Tyrone Oaf
Post by: ross4life on July 24, 2011, 04:44:22 PM
Quote from: trileacman on July 24, 2011, 12:54:02 PM
A million miles away the last day so hope to get closer today!

The Sheep Stealers:

G Claffey;

S McDermott, N Carty, S Purcell;

D Keenan, P Domican, D Ward;

M Finneran, K Mannion;

S O'Grady, K Higgins, C Cregg;

C Devaney, S Kilbride, D Shine.

There will be changes to that. Whats the news on Ward. Injured or not? Devaney, O'Grady and to a small extent Kilbride are under-pressure. The threat in this team is Domican, Ward, Mannion, maybe Finneran and Cregg and obviously Shine.

The Sam Stealers ;):
            Packie

Gormely    Joe       Swift      (Safest positions on the team.)

Philly      Ricey    Red Sean   (Ricey under pressure from Justy, think he'll last)

Hub     Sean              (Probably remain, would prefer to see Colm and Sean switch)

Colm     Harte     BMcG        (Safe, a good HF line)

Ducky

Tommy     Penrose         (One of these will make may for Penrose, Could be Coney.)

Would imagine Joe will take Shine, Gormley on Kilbride, Swift will sweep as Devaney does the same. Either that or Swift will pick up Higgins while Ricey takes the free role. Would prefer to see Red Sean in the free role, good passer, good engine, worst defender of the three. Philly will probably manage Cregg, the best rossie HF. Colm, Hub, Sean will play a 3 man midfield. Colm could be moved onto Mannion to negate his aerial prowess as Sean is not a great competitor at fielding and Hub, whilst strong is not the tallest. Roscommon with some dominance will boom kickouts long. Tyrone with the spare man will take them short. Domican will take pete with Ward trying to tire Mcguigan. Don't know anything about rossie FB line. Would imagine if Coney starts the FB will take him. Ducky, the hardest working of any FF trio plays in a more outfield role, hassling opponents and drifting into the hf line to win ball.

Tyrone by 2. 13 - 11.

Ward got concussion so he should be ok, O'Grady,Kilbride are both doubtful so Kenny,Darren McDermott are on stand by. Our full back line held Mayo's full forward line scoreless from play unlikely to happen v Tyrone & i expect Ormsby to start the next day.

Tyrone will win this because of the power of the bench (strength in depth) & us struggling to reach 12pts v any decent team but Longford gave ye a good test i'll be disappointed if we don't do the same.
Post by: Rossfan on July 24, 2011, 07:13:10 PM
Sure all the pressure will be on Tyrone. We have nothing to lose but probably won't tear into them which will be our undoing.
As R4life says we can't get past 12 points against good teams and we're hardly likely to improve on that stat in 2 weeks.
Ah sure it'll be a day out anyway and hopefully our minors will be the curtain raiser .
Post by: Jinxy on July 24, 2011, 07:30:58 PM
Up Roscommon.

Don't be so paranoid.
I've always been a big fan of Roscommon.
It's not always about YOU you know.
Typical Tyrone arrogance.
Post by: Throw ball on July 24, 2011, 08:25:53 PM
Wonder if there is any chance they will hold the Armagh Roscommon minor match before this qualifier. Would not mind watching both. Would be happy enough if Roscommon got one win too. ;)
Post by: sandwiches_in_the_boot on July 24, 2011, 08:56:09 PM
Almost a cert for Croker on Sat IMO. With hopefully Kildare v Donegal on with it.
Post by: ross matt on July 25, 2011, 12:50:26 AM
We will be complete outsiders for this match and rightfully considering who we are playing. That being said Tyrone are'nt what they were and I thought Armagh were very poor against them this weekend. We have nothing to lose at this stage by tearing in to them.

Unfortunately Kilbride looks like he is out so they can totally concentrate on stopping Shine. Finneran should ensure we compete well in midfield and our defenders should do ok. The problem is the way Tyrone can build from the back and counter attack at speed. Cregg will need to have a huge match in him to win midfield breaks, stop them coming out and land a few scores himself.

The bottom line for us is that we should be looking to have learned and improve from the Mayo match. The weather is unlikely to be as bad. If we want to progress at senior level over the next few years we need to be playing the likes of Tyrone so we can assess how far we have yet to go.
Post by: Radda bout yeee on July 25, 2011, 09:51:53 AM

I know its early in the week but the team I would like to see based on the fact that I think Tyrone will dispose of Roscommon and be thinking about the right team for Dublin:

Packie
Gormley
Joey
Ricey
Red Sean
Justy
Jordan
Hub
Sean C
Penrose
B McGuigan
Harte
T McGuigan
Donnelly
Coney/SON (if fit)
Post by: Moortown Spuds on July 25, 2011, 09:55:01 AM
Leaving out CC and Swift after Saturday's performance?

Strange!
Post by: EC Unique on July 25, 2011, 10:01:07 AM
Quote from: Radda bout yeee on July 25, 2011, 09:51:53 AM

I know its early in the week but the team I would like to see based on the fact that I think Tyrone will dispose of Roscommon and be thinking about the right team for Dublin:

Packie
Gormley
Joey
Ricey
Red Sean
Justy
Jordan
Hub
Sean C
Penrose
B McGuigan
Harte
T McGuigan
Donnelly
Coney/SON (if fit)

I would have Penrose in for T McGuigan and I hope Mugsey gets some game time to have him ready for the dubs.
Post by: Tubberman on July 25, 2011, 10:30:40 AM
Quote from: EC Unique on July 25, 2011, 10:01:07 AM

Packie
Gormley
Joey
Ricey
Red Sean
Justy
Jordan
Hub
Sean C
Penrose
B McGuigan
Harte
T McGuigan
Donnelly
Coney/SON (if fit)

I would have Penrose in for T McGuigan and I hope Mugsey gets some game time to have him ready for the dubs.

Ye should tell the Rossies what team and formation you'd like them to deploy to allow you prepare for Dublin as well.....
Post by: Radda bout yeee on July 25, 2011, 11:04:00 AM
Quote from: Moortown Spuds on July 25, 2011, 09:55:01 AM
Leaving out CC and Swift after Saturday's performance?

Strange!

Wasn't convinced with CC at all on Saturday and I think Penrose has to come back in somewhere.
As for Swift if he were to play against Roscommon I don't think he would do much wrong well apart from the odd big blunder he's prone to however as I worded it at the top of my team I feel we need to prepare for Dublin (not being hateful to Roscommon but just saying that IF we beat Roscommon we need to be prepared for the Dubs) therefore I feel Swift would be exposed against top quality forwards - ones who have been around the block a while and not just nexbies like Miceal O'Rourke who gave swift all sorts of problems in the first half! Ricey would be perfect for the Dubs! Just my opinion.
Throw into the mix that Justy HAS to play - you can't keep his sort of quality in reserve!
Post by: ross matt on July 25, 2011, 11:23:05 AM
Quote from: Tubberman on July 25, 2011, 10:30:40 AM
Quote from: EC Unique on July 25, 2011, 10:01:07 AM

Packie
Gormley
Joey
Ricey
Red Sean
Justy
Jordan
Hub
Sean C
Penrose
B McGuigan
Harte
T McGuigan
Donnelly
Coney/SON (if fit)

Ye should tell the Rossies what team and formation you'd like them to deploy to allow you prepare for Dublin as well.....

Good point Tubberman. Maybe we should check with them if they want to play 3 x 25 min games.... maybe some restricted matches for some of them..... actually we could wear blue jerseys if it would help!
Post by: Rossfan on July 25, 2011, 11:27:01 AM
Once we're able to keep the ball kicked out to them .........
If we can't does Ref abandon match and will CCCCCCCCCC have to meet and award the game to Tyrone?
Can we then appeal to DRA and the High court , Supeme court ,European Court etc  and delay the whole Championship ? ;D ;D
Post by: seafoid on July 25, 2011, 11:29:16 AM
Tyrone are like AIB. They were untouchable for a few years up to 2008.
Then the Lehman Brothers came along. 
Post by: Jinxy on July 25, 2011, 12:07:07 PM
So Mayo are Lehman Brothers in this analogy?
Post by: omagh_gael on July 25, 2011, 01:30:28 PM
Some of the Tyrone posters here are losing the run of themselves. Do none of you remember a certain game in Croke park in 2002? A serious lack of respect here, this game is no done deal.
Post by: under the bar on July 25, 2011, 01:34:03 PM
Roscommon are no mugs, they will give tyrone a game alright
Post by: ross matt on July 25, 2011, 02:16:07 PM
Quote from: omagh_gael on July 25, 2011, 01:30:28 PM
Some of the Tyrone posters here are losing the run of themselves. Do none of you remember a certain game in Croke park in 2002? A serious lack of respect here, this game is no done deal.

DAMAGE LIMITATION ALERT :o!
Post by: Doohicky on July 25, 2011, 02:17:21 PM
It's in Croke Park.

a chara,

Please see the Season Ticket information below.

Fixture: Roscommon v Tyrone

GAA FOOTBALL ALL IRELAND SENIOR CHAMPIONSHIP 2011 ROUND 4

Venue: Croke Park, Dublin

Date: Saturday 30/07/2011 (4pm)

Price: Adults: €25 Juveniles: €5

Section: 304/305 Cusack Stand

You will be emailed print-at-home tickets by Thursday 28/7/11.
(Please note: Tickets may not arrive until the evening.) 

If you have not used your OPT OUT and you wish to OPT OUT of this fixture click on the link below; (Clicking the link will automatically opt you out.)

CLICK HERE TO OPT OUT:
xxxx

Opt Out deadline: Tuesday 26/07/11 at 5pm

Le Meas

GAA Ticket Office
Post by: seafoid on July 25, 2011, 02:19:17 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on July 25, 2011, 12:07:07 PM
Meath are Greece.
Post by: Radda bout yeee on July 25, 2011, 02:20:26 PM
Will the game be on the telly?
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on July 25, 2011, 02:31:57 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on July 24, 2011, 07:30:58 PM
Up Roscommon.

Don't be so paranoid.

Typical Obsessive Compulsive Disorder denial!  :D

I won't have to go back too far to find you sticking an oar in for other opposition that we were playing, not to mention the regular potshots across our bows; don't dish it out if you can't take it.  :P
Post by: Blowitupref on July 25, 2011, 03:21:43 PM
How many Tyrone fans will go to this? Donegal,Kildare & Roscommon will all bring good followings.
Post by: Jinxy on July 25, 2011, 03:25:01 PM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on July 25, 2011, 02:31:57 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on July 24, 2011, 07:30:58 PM
Up Roscommon.

Don't be so paranoid.

Typical Obsessive Compulsive Disorder denial!  :D

I won't have to go back too far to find you sticking an oar in for other opposition that we were playing, not to mention the regular potshots across our bows; don't dish it out if you can't take it.  :P

(http://www.inpho.ie/cache/inpho/5b/f6/d7/9db2bee101b9f87a7adc446c47242d9fcec1806b32/INPHO_00100257.jpg)

Post by: ross4life on July 25, 2011, 03:25:55 PM
Quote from: Radda bout yeee on July 25, 2011, 02:20:26 PM
Will the game be on the telly?

No. Only one round 4 game allowed on TV & that was Cork v Down last Saturday.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on July 25, 2011, 04:14:35 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on July 25, 2011, 03:25:01 PM
(http://www.inpho.ie/cache/inpho/5b/f6/d7/9db2bee101b9f87a7adc446c47242d9fcec1806b32/INPHO_00100257.jpg)

Ah right, nothing like a bit of (last century) Meath thuggery to pulverise and pummel everything back into perspective!   :D
Post by: Jinxy on July 25, 2011, 04:30:46 PM
You won 3 All-Irelands on the back of that pummeling.
You should be thanking us.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on July 25, 2011, 04:41:08 PM
Couldn't argue with that... thanks  ;)
Post by: Jinxy on July 25, 2011, 04:46:21 PM
You could do with another pummeling some time soon.
Post by: Gaffer on July 25, 2011, 05:45:07 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on July 25, 2011, 04:46:21 PM
You could do with another pummeling some time soon.

Once bitten...........
Post by: muppet on July 25, 2011, 11:27:15 PM
Quote from: seafoid on July 25, 2011, 02:19:17 PM
Meath are Greece.

That makes Galway Cretans.  ;D
Post by: seafoid on July 26, 2011, 10:58:03 AM
Quote from: muppet on July 25, 2011, 11:27:15 PM
Meath are Greece.

I thought it was Mayo people who vote for Michael Ring. 
Post by: Mr. Nakata on July 26, 2011, 01:44:51 PM
Wonder how Cassidy's hamstring is, was he on the bench at the weekend? Irish News seemed to think it was a bad hamstring injury which I would presume to be 2-4 weeks. We need him in the middle.
Post by: barelegs on July 26, 2011, 02:09:41 PM
Cassidy wasn't stripped out at all at the weekend. He was on the field with Damien McCaul while the team were warming up in a tracksuit. We could be doing with his ball winning ability before this championship is out, starting this Saturday.
Post by: Rois on July 26, 2011, 02:21:00 PM
I think we also need to start with an experienced head in the forward line - thought we were a bit at sea in the first half of the Armagh game without any direction among the fwds. 
Whatever about the pace of the older players, I think they can organise from the field, so we'd benefit from Stevie or Mugsy being in there. 
Post by: tyronehead on July 26, 2011, 02:33:04 PM
I think with the open spaces of Croke Park it is ideally a venue for a very convincing win for us .
Post by: EC Unique on July 26, 2011, 02:45:29 PM
Quote from: Rois on July 26, 2011, 02:21:00 PM
I think we also need to start with an experienced head in the forward line - thought we were a bit at sea in the first half of the Armagh game without any direction among the fwds. 
Whatever about the pace of the older players, I think they can organise from the field, so we'd benefit from Stevie or Mugsy being in there.

Enda McGinley is now fit again, he came on as a sub for 10 mins against Armagh, would the Roscommon game be one for him to play in? A great player with bags of experience and needs game time.
Post by: ross4life on July 26, 2011, 04:07:37 PM
I can understand why some rossies & neutral fans are a little pissed off with the Tyrone fans attitude towards this game some might say arrogance, people must remember they are one of the top five sides in Ireland and I don't think it's arrogance but a confidence they have in there team, if one looked at there record since 1989...16 All Ireland finals at Minor,U21,Senior level & won 11 i would have huge confidence myself with a record like that.

At the end of the day Mickey Harte will treat us with respect & that's all that matters. I have was in Croke park when Sligo,Mayo beat better Tyrone teams & i will be traveling in hope that we can cause the shock of the season.
Post by: muppet on July 26, 2011, 04:42:39 PM
Quote from: seafoid on July 26, 2011, 10:58:03 AM
Quote from: muppet on July 25, 2011, 11:27:15 PM
Meath are Greece.

I thought it was Mayo people who vote for Michael Ring.

Now, now, If you claim Mayo are Greece then you are obviously our wonderful southern neighbours. Hi Cretan!

(http://www.anthea-paleochora.gr/images/en-hellas-crete-paleochora-map.gif)
Post by: Rois on July 26, 2011, 05:06:54 PM
Quote from: ross4life on July 26, 2011, 04:07:37 PM

At the end of the day Mickey Harte will treat us with respect & that's all that matters. I have was in Croke park when Sligo,Mayo beat better Tyrone teams & i will be traveling in hope that we can cause the shock of the season.

And isn't that the beauty of the game?  I am approaching this game with the same sense of dread I approach every game in a knockout scenario.  There is every chance that the Ros team will win, and will be heroes no matter how much further they go after it.  If Tyrone lose this game, we have to admit to ourselves that we're done.  I am starting to feel sick at the thought of the newspaper reports I'll have to read on Sunday and Monday.   

If Tyrone fans appear apprehensive and nervous, we're bluffing (cute hoorism I think it's called?).  If we are confident, we're cocky/self-assured/setting ourselves up for a fall.
Post by: Rossfan on July 26, 2011, 07:17:12 PM
Once our lads go out and give their all ... that's all we ever ask of them.
If that books us another  Saturday evening trip to Croker .... effing grand.
If on the off chance it doesn't ...ah well ...  2012 is just around the corner.
Any words or thoughts on the team?
I'd go for  Claffey , Seanie Carty Ormo , Prucell Domo Ward, Finn and Mango , Keenan Cregg Devaney , Darren Mc and Donie with Senan or Enda Kenny if Senan unable to play.
However Fergie is likely to give Kevin Higgins a chance to redeem himself after  the Connacht Final and maybe with no expectation the lads will all turn it on.
All that unjustified favouritism for the Final probably caused some lads to tense up a bit.
Post by: Shrewdness on July 26, 2011, 08:24:09 PM
Roscommon played Kerry in a challenge last weekend in Limerick. Kerry had a full team whilst Ros started only half of the team from the Connacht Final...Kerry won by 7 points.
Post by: Rossfan on July 26, 2011, 08:52:24 PM
Quote from: Shrewdness on July 26, 2011, 08:24:09 PM
Roscommon played Kerry in a challenge last weekend in Limerick. Kerry had a full team whilst Ros started only half of the team from the Connacht Final...Kerry won by 7 points.

A lot of changes to come on Saturday or were some lads not available?
Post by: Minder on July 26, 2011, 08:53:24 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on July 26, 2011, 08:52:24 PM

Something about a big pool tournament.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on July 26, 2011, 08:59:34 PM
Referee announced: Maurice Deegan (Laois)
Post by: ross4life on July 26, 2011, 09:01:38 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on July 26, 2011, 08:52:24 PM

I'd guess Fergal wanted to give some of the other players some game time, good to hear O'Gara started.
Post by: ballinaman on July 26, 2011, 09:02:00 PM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on July 26, 2011, 08:59:34 PM
Referee announce: Maurice Deegan (Laois)
(http://www.munster-express.ie/files/2008/09/martin-king.thumbnail.jpg)
Post by: Jinxy on July 26, 2011, 09:37:58 PM
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on July 26, 2011, 09:54:25 PM
Quote from: ballinaman on July 26, 2011, 09:02:00 PM

Going by some aspects of his performance in the Derry-Donegal game, a weatherman might be an improvement!  ;)
Post by: spuds on July 26, 2011, 11:19:23 PM
What chance Senan Kilbride starting or playing in this game ? Be a terrible shame for him not to get opportunity to show his ability.
Post by: trileacman on July 26, 2011, 11:23:28 PM
class   :D
Post by: ross4life on July 26, 2011, 11:32:52 PM
Quote from: spuds on July 26, 2011, 11:19:23 PM
What chance Senan Kilbride starting or playing in this game ? Be a terrible shame for him not to get opportunity to show his ability.

What O'Donnell said.

"Kilbride bruised a bone in his shoulder in the 1st half of the Connacht final, it's touch and go but i hope there is enough time left for him to get fit"
Post by: snippets on July 26, 2011, 11:42:32 PM
What do you guys think of  Enda Mc Ginley, Brian Dooher and Davy Harte being brought on for last weekend?  Was there younger players could have benefitted more with the experience or do these fellows still have plenty to offer?  Is it more important to rehabilitate older players if theres still a kick in them than give much needed experience to the younger lads? 
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on July 26, 2011, 11:50:05 PM
It's a balancing act snippets, and those lads will all be good for the latter parts of games I'd say - their class and experience still has a place, albeit a more limited place. I'd trust the maestro's judgment on that one.
Post by: snippets on July 27, 2011, 12:03:03 AM
ID love to agree, but I suspect theres a touch of anti ageism and favouritism going on.  I didnt see any benefit myself last week, but I can see us getting chinned for it later on. P Harte, Swift, Cassidy, Sean O Neill,  have been the finds of the season yet I fear we may still hark back to yesteryears later on. 
Post by: Mr. Nakata on July 27, 2011, 12:04:44 AM
Mugsy would've got a run out as well if he hadn't thrown the toys out the week before. He was never gonna see any game time last weekend after that. I for one am disappointed young McKenna has walked away. He must be looking at that midfield thinking he can do a job there. Yes I witnessed his couple of league performances which weren't mind blowing, but that position must be his soon. Hubs days are nearing an end. McKenna and Cassidy will hopefully man that sector for the next few years. Apart from McKenna, McNabb seems to be the only young'n with a sniff of a chance and even then, it'll be next year before he gets that chance. Ronan O'Neill could be a couple of years away, but that's something to look forward to. He has the potential to be really special.
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 27, 2011, 12:23:58 AM

Brilliant!
Post by: LeoMc on July 27, 2011, 09:25:41 AM
Quote from: snippets on July 27, 2011, 12:03:03 AM
ID love to agree, but I suspect theres a touch of anti ageism and favouritism going on.  I didnt see any benefit myself last week, but I can see us getting chinned for it later on. P Harte, Swift, Cassidy, Sean O Neill,  have been the finds of the season yet I fear we may still hark back to yesteryears later on.

No real benefit in the Armagh game. As a stand alon it would have been more benefitial to bring the likes of MecKenna and McNabb on but as part of the plan for this year it was of benefit in giving these men game time.

If, against Roscommon or Dublin if we get that far, our backs are agaisnt the wall and we need a lift it is these experienced men who can do it but they need the game time.
Post by: Radda bout yeee on July 27, 2011, 09:27:14 AM
Justy will have to start this week but who will lose out? It will be red sean or swift. In my opinion I think swift should make way as even though i'd say he would do a good job against Roscommon I don't think he would handle the Dubs forward line if we do beat Roscommon therefore it would be better to plan for the future.
Post by: EC Unique on July 27, 2011, 09:41:48 AM
Quote from: LeoMc on July 27, 2011, 09:25:41 AM

No real benefit in the Armagh game. As a stand alon it would have been more benefitial to bring the likes of MecKenna and McNabb on but as part of the plan for this year it was of benefit in giving these men game time.

If, against Roscommon or Dublin if we get that far, our backs are agaisnt the wall and we need a lift it is these experienced men who can do it but they need the game time.

Spot on. At this stage it is about match sharpness for the players that will be needed in this years campaign, not about giving game time to young boys of tomorrow. They should be happy to be involved with the panel at this stage of the season.
Post by: seafoid on July 27, 2011, 09:52:00 AM
Where are all you Rossies? Ros have one less all-Ireland than Tyrone. You would think Tyrone were Kerry the respect they are getting from you. 
Post by: Redhand Santa on July 27, 2011, 10:14:08 AM

The only ageism is from fans looking to play younger players simply cause they're younger. I know in a big game I'd rather be throwing in the likes of McGinley who has the experience. Having been at every u21 game this year there's not a chance McKenna is ready to play midfield at senior level. I trust Harte's judgement more than the fans making calls for every young player to be introduced.
Post by: raff on July 27, 2011, 11:31:21 AM
Frustrating to read of some people talking about Tyrone picking a team with the next game in mind. I'm sure the Tyrone management will be picking a team with the Roscommon game in mind. If they have one eye on a possible Dublin match (which I don't think they will) then the next game they will be planning for is the opening round of the McKenna Cup in Jan 2012.
Post by: Rois on July 27, 2011, 01:13:45 PM
Quote from: raff on July 27, 2011, 11:31:21 AM
Frustrating to read of some people talking about Tyrone picking a team with the next game in mind. I'm sure the Tyrone management will be picking a team with the Roscommon game in mind. If they have one eye on a possible Dublin match (which I don't think they will) then the next game they will be planning for is the opening round of the McKenna Cup in Jan 2012.
You're right, stop posting on that other thread and keep this one above it.  MH will not be so stupid as to let them start thinking of a potential quarter final and there's enough experienced heads in the panel to stop any silliness from within. 
Will this be the game where Sean Cavanagh clicks into gear and produces what he's capable of?  If Stevie remains "very doubtful" as per MH in today's Irish News, perhaps we could do with Sean in there and put Colm in midfield with Hub.
Post by: Mr. Nakata on July 27, 2011, 01:49:24 PM
No Stevie and probably no Cassidy, though he may get a run out. Can't see many changes, if any when team named tomorrow night.
Post by: snippets on July 27, 2011, 02:26:08 PM
Jeez I hope Mc Ginley and Harte have as much in them this year as you guys think.   To the guy who talked about Mugsy throwing the Dummy out, have some respect.   
Post by: Rossfan on July 27, 2011, 02:34:37 PM
Quote from: seafoid on July 27, 2011, 09:52:00 AM
Where are all you Rossies? Ros have one less all-Ireland than Tyrone. You would think Tyrone were Kerry the respect they are getting from you.

Our All Ireland Winners(Senior) are a biteen long in the tooth now while Tyrone still have a lot of theirs.
Hopefully our players will take your advice Seafoid and tear into Tyrone from the throw in and sod the respect.
If we start flutin around handpassing and foostering we will be bet out the gate.
Post by: snippets on July 27, 2011, 02:43:50 PM
I must admit Im looking forward to seeing Shine playing.  Class footballer. 
Post by: Rossfan on July 27, 2011, 02:56:43 PM
Hope ye let him show his class  ;)
Post by: ross matt on July 27, 2011, 03:44:33 PM
If Kilbride is'nt fit Tyrone will double up on Shine and cancel him out. We will really struggle to get scores from play then. Alot will depend on Cregg but his ball carrying style wont work against this opposition. However if he starts on the inside line he can definitely win his own ball and take scores. We really need to win midfield and whilst (thanks mainly to Finneran) we've done so over the last 2 seasons Sean Cavanagh's mobility will trouble us out there. Bottom line we really need Senan to be back and on hiis game to have a chance. Also Fergie must be tempted to shake up a few positions like centre forward etc.
Post by: seafoid on July 27, 2011, 03:56:31 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on July 27, 2011, 02:34:37 PM

Our All Ireland Winners(Senior) are a biteen long in the tooth now while Tyrone still have a lot of theirs.
Hopefully our players will take your advice Seafoid and tear into Tyrone from the throw in and sod the respect.
If we start flutin around handpassing and foostering we will be bet out the gate.
Tyrone aren't going to win the all Ireland .
Ros need the balls that the minors had in 2006.
Post by: macdanger2 on July 27, 2011, 03:57:13 PM
Would like to see O'Gara back fit, he looks like a great footballer but it's hard expecting him to be up to this level after so long out.

Keep her lit for an All-Connacht AIF ;)
Post by: nrico2006 on July 27, 2011, 04:07:39 PM
Quote from: seafoid on July 27, 2011, 03:56:31 PM

That's the beauty and attraction of the football championship and sport in general, nobody knows who will win in the end.  Tyrone have at least as good a chance as any of the teams left in the draw.
Post by: Goin Down on July 27, 2011, 05:02:50 PM
Quote from: macdanger2 on July 27, 2011, 03:57:13 PM
Would like to see O'Gara back fit, he looks like a great footballer but it's hard expecting him to be up to this level after so long out.

Keep her lit for an All-Connacht AIF ;)

The dream final!  8) It'd be some craic in the border towns the night weeks before!
Post by: ross4life on July 27, 2011, 05:29:09 PM

How to you know? (correct me if im wrong) The last two decades Tyrone in all levels have won more All Irelands than Kerry including the 2 senior finals,1 Minor & 1 Under 21 final they beat them in.

The way the draw is set up it could be another Kerry v Tyrone final. finally Ross have balls but the balls Tyrone have is the size of grapefruits.

Post by: neilthemac on July 27, 2011, 06:33:22 PM
get an Irish company to develop GAA goalposts with higher posts.
get them made from a strong polymer, like the wind turbine blades, so there isn't much swaying of the posts.

I dislike using technology at one ground, and not at another.
some umpires are simply not mobile enough to move quickly into the correct position to view the trajectory of shots.

if they are so intent on implementing technology then use a video ref for championship games.
scanners at all grounds and entrances so that a proper season ticket scheme can be introduced.
Post by: omagh_gael on July 27, 2011, 07:26:56 PM
I think you took a wrong turn there neilthemac, reverse back a few hundred yards and swing a left into the Hawkeye thread ;)
Post by: Minder on July 27, 2011, 07:49:35 PM
Quote from: nrico2006 on July 27, 2011, 04:07:39 PM

That's the beauty and attraction of the football championship and sport in general, nobody knows who will win in the end.  Tyrone have at least as good a chance as any of the teams left in the draw.

I would say two teams, Cork and Kerry, have a much better chance than Tyrone, because they have better teams.
Post by: Jinxy on July 27, 2011, 08:54:52 PM
Quote from: neilthemac on July 27, 2011, 06:33:22 PM
get them made from a strong polymer, like the wind turbine blades, so there isn't much swaying of the posts.

some umpires are simply not mobile enough to move quickly into the correct position to view the trajectory of shots.

if they are so intent on implementing technology then use a video ref for championship games.
scanners at all grounds and entrances so that a proper season ticket scheme can be introduced.

So you're saying Roscommon have a chance....
Post by: EC Unique on July 27, 2011, 09:05:05 PM
Quote from: Minder on July 27, 2011, 07:49:35 PM

I would say two teams, Cork and Kerry, have a much better chance than Tyrone, because they have better teams.

The last 3 times Tyrone played Kerry the same was said. Each time Tyrone won with some to spare. When are people going to learn not to write Tyrone off.
Post by: neilthemac on July 27, 2011, 09:16:36 PM
Quote from: omagh_gael on July 27, 2011, 07:26:56 PM
I think you took a wrong turn there neilthemac, reverse back a few hundred yards and swing a left into the Hawkeye thread ;)

done.
I stand by everything I said above.
Roscommon by 2 points (ever the optimist)
Post by: Rossfan on July 27, 2011, 09:19:37 PM
Quote from: neilthemac on July 27, 2011, 09:16:36 PM
Roscommon by 2 points (ever the optimist)

I'd rather win by 4 as th'oul nerves would never stick it being only 2 up in the closing minutes :D :D
Post by: heffo on July 27, 2011, 09:33:52 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on July 27, 2011, 08:54:52 PM
Quote from: neilthemac on July 27, 2011, 06:33:22 PM

So you're saying Roscommon have a chance....

(http://images.mylot.com/userImages/images/postphotos/1165533.jpg)

Like one out of a hundred?
Post by: PadraicHenryPearse on July 27, 2011, 09:34:56 PM
I can see some changes to the Ros starting line-up.

i think d. mcdermott will start in place of probably devanney, higgins will be lucky to keep his spot as o'gara and Kenny  i don't think have the match fitness or sharpness to last even one half never mind the game which is a pity.  Rogers might be in with a shout after an impressive performance against kerry in the challenge game. I think keenan might be lucky to hold onto his spot with ormsby back.

If Kilbride is fit i think we will see Shine out around the half forward line. I cannot see Fergal persisting with them both in the FF line getting little or no good ball and Tyrone dropping a man in front.

While its nice to be in croker, i think we would have had a better chance if it was on a smaller more compact pitch. I think we need a performance regardless of the result to help to build for next year. Cmon the Rossies
Post by: randomtask on July 27, 2011, 10:39:17 PM
I actually fear for roscommon, Tyrone are the masters of playing at croke park especially against teams that have no form of specific defensive system. And for tyrone the prize of playing the dubs will only serve to give them more motivation. Tyrone to win by 8plus
Post by: north down on July 27, 2011, 11:13:45 PM
I expect Tyrone to progress to the quarter-finals but I don't think it will be easy and there will not be too much in it at the final whistle. Just hope that Mickey can concentrate the minds of his players on beating Roscommon and away from any thoughts of a big game against the Dubs.
Post by: borderfox on July 27, 2011, 11:53:31 PM
I think Tyrone will win convincingly but I would love to see Roscommon dumping them unlikely though it seems with only one top class forward (Shine).
Post by: nrico2006 on July 28, 2011, 08:42:54 AM
Quote from: Minder on July 27, 2011, 07:49:35 PM

Well your entitled to your opinion Minder, but I tend to disagree with you on this one.
Post by: Fuzzman on July 28, 2011, 11:00:51 AM
Quote from: borderfox on July 27, 2011, 11:53:31 PM
I think Tyrone will win convincingly but I would love to see Roscommon dumping them unlikely though it seems with only one top class forward (Shine).
Fair play. Very honest post
Post by: clarshack on July 28, 2011, 01:45:29 PM
roscommon led cork at one stage in the 2nd half of their 1/4 final last year, before succumbing to a late cork rally.

saturday's game is not a formality and tyrone people of all people should know this - who will ever forget the sligo experience nine years ago.
Post by: Radda bout yeee on July 28, 2011, 04:13:57 PM
Did anyone see the irish news yesterday? Quality ad in from Cookstown Fr Rocks - "book your tickets for the dublin match by monday evening" LMAO Typical Cookstown making A Holes of themselves!   
Post by: sizzler on July 28, 2011, 04:54:10 PM
Quote from: Radda bout yeee on July 28, 2011, 04:13:57 PM
Did anyone see the irish news yesterday? Quality ad in from Cookstown Fr Rocks - "book your tickets for the dublin match by monday evening" LMAO Typical Cookstown making A Holes of themselves!   

A Holes!!!! Thats a bit strong!! Have you something you want to get off your chest about your neighbours????
Post by: Moortown Spuds on July 28, 2011, 05:26:32 PM
In fairness that shouldnt have been in the paper! WTF? Howver Radda what about the Kildress representative making an A Hole of himself against Edendork. Heard the story today-when will you/s petulant brats learn your lesson?
Post by: Family guy on July 28, 2011, 06:12:36 PM
Quote from: Moortown Spuds on July 28, 2011, 05:26:32 PM
In fairness that shouldnt have been in the paper! WTF? Howver Radda what about the Kildress representative making an A Hole of himself against Edendork. Heard the story today-when will you/s petulant brats learn your lesson?

Fill us in????
Post by: Kerry Mike on July 28, 2011, 07:24:58 PM
hard to see anything other then a sizable Tyrone win here, Roscommon I hope can prove me wrong.
Post by: stew on July 28, 2011, 07:33:31 PM
Quote from: Kerry Mike on July 28, 2011, 07:24:58 PM
hard to see anything other then a sizable Tyrone win here, Roscommon I hope can prove me wrong.

Agreed.
Post by: sizzler on July 28, 2011, 08:39:48 PM
Any team news yet??
Post by: randomtask on July 28, 2011, 08:41:40 PM
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/northern_ireland/gaelic_games/14331302.stm

Same team
Post by: Fuzzman on July 28, 2011, 08:42:31 PM
I wouldn't be surprised if we see a few more changes this week. I could see Mugsy get a start and Justy in for Swift who didn't do much wrong the last day. Or maybe red Sean could lose out.
We'll need big men in around the middle or else good breaking ball winners.
Post by: randomtask on July 28, 2011, 08:45:40 PM
Quote from: Fuzzman on July 28, 2011, 08:42:31 PM
I wouldn't be surprised if we see a few more changes this week. I could see Mugsy get a start and Justy in for Swift who didn't do much wrong the last day. Or maybe red Sean could lose out.
We'll need big men in around the middle or else good breaking ball winners.

Surely Mc menamin would get the chop before swifty or sean?
Post by: sizzler on July 28, 2011, 08:48:58 PM
Is stevie badly injured?? Is Mickey just protecting him? Need him back soon
Post by: raff on July 28, 2011, 08:52:56 PM
Unlikely that Harte will make any changes. Barring injuries I can see him field the same side.
Post by: Minder on July 28, 2011, 09:03:10 PM
I think a win for Tyrone would be bad for the championship and football in general.
Post by: Hardy on July 28, 2011, 09:21:24 PM
Quote from: Minder on July 28, 2011, 09:03:10 PM
I think a win for Tyrone would be bad for the championship and football in general.

Exactly. Tyrone are the anti-matter of the football universe.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on July 28, 2011, 10:18:54 PM
The full team:

Tyrone Remain Unchanged for Roscommon

All Ireland Qualifier Rd 4
Tyrone v Roscommon

1 Pascal McConnell  – An Baile Nua
2 Martin Swift – Coill an Chlochair
3 Joe McMahon – An Omaigh
4 Ryan McMenamin – An Droim Mhór
5 Sean O'Neill – An Droim Mhór
6 Conor Gormley – An Charraig Mhór
7 Philip Jordan – An Mhaigh
8 Kevin Hughes – Cill Íseal
9 Sean Cavanagh – An Mhaigh
10 Colm Cavanagh – An Mhaigh
11 Brian McGuigan – Ard Bó
12 Peter Harte – Aireagal Chiaráin
13 Tommy McGuigan – Ard Bó
14 Mark Donnelly – An Charraig Mhór
15 Kyle Coney – Ard Bó

16 John Devine – Aireagal Chiaráin
17 Dermot Carlin – Coill an Chlochair
18 Brian Dooher – Clann na nGael
19 Davy Harte – Aireagal Chiaráin
20 Cathal McCarron – An Droim Mhór
21 Aidan McCrory – Aireagal Chiaráin
22 Enda McGinley – Aireagal Chiaráin
23 Justin McMahon – An Omaigh
24 Stephen McNally – Oileán a'Ghuail
25 Patrick McNiece – Oileán a'Ghuail
26 Owen Mulligan – An Chorra Chriochach
Post by: EC Unique on July 28, 2011, 10:19:49 PM

Fisherman!  :D
Post by: north down on July 28, 2011, 10:40:35 PM
I think we'll see Mugsy getting some gametime on Saturday - if Tyrone manage to overcome Roscommon then I think you might well see him line out as one of the starting 15 against Dublin.
Post by: Fuzzman on July 28, 2011, 10:44:49 PM
Very quiet on here for a Thursday night after the team was named.
Suppose with no changes named and talk of SoN and Cassidy still out injured then nothing much to discuss.

Its a long time since Mickey dropped Ricey. I don't think he'd have taken him off last week had it not been for the yellow card. Young Donnelly is getting a lot of good press from the media in the past week. He's averaging 3 or 4 points a game now as well as winning good ball and setting up scores for others.
What's the story with Penrose?
Is he not in the subs?

I would not be at all surprised re Mugsy but of course we might never get there and he might have played his last game for us.

Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on July 28, 2011, 10:54:24 PM
I'd say Marty Penrose is carrying an injury if he's not on the list at all, but could be added to the panel yet.
Post by: Radda bout yeee on July 28, 2011, 10:56:29 PM
Quote from: Moortown Spuds on July 28, 2011, 05:26:32 PM

someone ring the thread police!!!!! I will reply in the appropriate thread moortownspuds!

Ps: sorry sizzler A Hole may have been strong just thought it a typical cookstown move!! No love lost between the tones and the fr rocks!!!
Post by: barelegs on July 28, 2011, 11:48:10 PM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on July 28, 2011, 10:54:24 PM
I'd say Marty Penrose is carrying an injury if he's not on the list at all, but could be added to the panel yet.

The subs are just named in alphabetical order. Penrose name just happens to be below that of those with surnames beginning with M. I'd expect to see him playing some part on Sunday.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on July 28, 2011, 11:54:06 PM
Quote from: barelegs on July 28, 2011, 11:48:10 PM
The subs are just named in alphabetical order. Penrose name just happens to be below that of those with surnames beginning with M. I'd expect to see him playing some part on Sunday.

I see (that was taken from tyronegaa), though I hope he plays some part on Saturday, and not Sunday!  ;)
Post by: tyroneman on July 29, 2011, 06:50:23 AM
If they were in alphabetical order Devine would come after Carlin.  ;)
Post by: LeoMc on July 29, 2011, 09:05:20 AM
Quote from: tyroneman on July 29, 2011, 06:50:23 AM
If they were in alphabetical order Devine would come after Carlin.  ;)
pedant.
Post by: LeoMc on July 29, 2011, 09:05:50 AM
Quote from: Hardy on July 28, 2011, 09:21:24 PM

Exactly. Tyrone are the anti-matter of the football universe.
Are Meath the Doesn't-matter?
Post by: under the bar on July 29, 2011, 09:18:06 AM
How much longer is Cassidy likely to be out for?  If we get past Roscommon will he make the dublin game even on the bench?
Post by: Radda bout yeee on July 29, 2011, 09:19:31 AM
Looks like we will win the All Ireland - Any team that can keep Justin McMahon on the bench has to have the 15 best footballers in Ireland!  :o
Post by: Mr. Nakata on July 29, 2011, 09:41:16 AM
Yeah, Justy needs the game time. I'd have expected him to be in as well.
Post by: EC Unique on July 29, 2011, 09:49:49 AM
Quote from: under the bar on July 29, 2011, 09:18:06 AM
How much longer is Cassidy likely to be out for?  If we get past Roscommon will he make the dublin game even on the bench?

As far as I know he was close for this weekend and should be fit for selection next weekend.
Post by: Tubberman on July 29, 2011, 10:01:43 AM
Quote from: EC Unique on July 29, 2011, 09:49:49 AM
Quote from: under the bar on July 29, 2011, 09:18:06 AM

As far as I know he was close for this weekend and should be fit for selection next weekend.

Jesus, that's bad luck for him, not much use being fit when you're out of the Championship  ;)

Best of luck to Ros tomorrow, awful pity this isn't on telly. Will have to follow it on twitter and here! Is it being broadcast on any of the national radio stations?
Post by: Gaffer on July 29, 2011, 10:13:02 AM
Quote from: Mr. Nakata on July 29, 2011, 09:41:16 AM
Yeah, Justy needs the game time. I'd have expected him to be in as well.

If I hear or read the expression ' game time' again, I will fcukin SCREAM  >:( >:(
Post by: ross matt on July 29, 2011, 12:24:59 PM
That's an impressive Tyrone lineout when you read it. Full of power, quality and most importantly experience. However I think Roscommon will be competitive tomorrow. They're a young, dedicated and improving side. They know that (even allowing for weather conditions) they played poorly in the Connacht Final. They've nothing to lose by going for it tomorrow. Best of luck to Fergie and the lads and above all here's to a good game of football.
Post by: Mr. Nakata on July 29, 2011, 01:01:41 PM
Game time is what Justy needs.
Post by: ballinaman on July 29, 2011, 01:02:42 PM
Best of luck Roscommon tomorrow. Sneaky feeling that ye'll pull off a big upset.
Post by: muscles magoo on July 29, 2011, 01:22:50 PM
Best of luck to Ross tomorrow. Well capable of winning imo.
Post by: nrico2006 on July 29, 2011, 01:56:53 PM
Joke that its not on TV, whoever is in charge of scheduling the games at RTE must have a real hard-on for Kildare as they have never been off the box this summer.
Post by: Lar Naparka on July 29, 2011, 02:05:40 PM
C'mon the Rossies!
The game in the Hyde will stand to ye and I expect to see a cuter and more disciplined display tomorrow.
I'll be there to cheer ye on.
Post by: Bogball XV on July 29, 2011, 03:14:26 PM
Quote from: nrico2006 on July 29, 2011, 01:56:53 PM
Joke that its not on TV, whoever is in charge of scheduling the games at RTE must have a really hard-on for Kildare as they have never been off the box this summer.
Kildare weren't on last weekend and it's a gaa decision in this instance, nothing to do with the broadcasters.
Post by: Radda bout yeee on July 29, 2011, 04:11:36 PM
Quote from: Bogball XV on July 29, 2011, 03:14:26 PM
Joke that its not on TV, whoever is in charge of scheduling the games at RTE must have a really hard-on for Kildare as they have never been off the box this summer.
Kildare weren't on last weekend and it's a gaa decision in this instance, nothing to do with the broadcasters.

Is it just a case of the Grab All Association this year as they have limited TV so as to increase crowds and revenue?
Post by: Rossfan on July 29, 2011, 04:48:20 PM
Less than 24 hours to go and I'm beginning to get wound up for it.
3rd year in a row we've been involved at the last weekend in July ( OK OK I know 2 of them were because of draws but...)
and starting to get used to being a big County again. :D
No Ros team announced yet that I've heard and an awful quietness from those involved or close to the camp.
Hopefully that's a good sign of quiet determination for tomorrow and of putting the past behind us where it belongs.
Once the lads give a good account of themselves and leave it all on the field you can't ask for more.
If it's not good enough ... then we'll have to put up with it and hopefully the lessons learned will make us a better team next year.
On the othe hand it will be fcukin great to be preparing for a trip to Croke Pk in August to see our Seniors .

UP ROS
Post by: ballinaman on July 29, 2011, 05:17:27 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on July 29, 2011, 04:48:20 PM
On the othe hand it will be fcukin great to be preparing for a trip to Croke Pk in August to see our Seniors .
Tomorrow is the 30th of July.
Post by: ross4life on July 29, 2011, 05:26:27 PM
Team not published but apparently two changes. A good competitive performance is required.This game should bring on the younger players & hopefully they will have many more games in Croke park in the years ahead.

Best of Luck to Fergal & all the players. I obviously hope we can win & as they say "once you choose hope anything is possible"
Post by: anportmorforjfc on July 29, 2011, 05:31:47 PM
Whats the expected crowd tomorrow lads? Are the top tiers even open?
Post by: Rossfan on July 29, 2011, 05:34:53 PM
Quote from: ballinaman on July 29, 2011, 05:17:27 PM
Read my piece again buckeen  ;)
It should be obvious I was talking about if we win tomorrow.....

Hope  and optimism and belief  are three vital ingredients for tomorrow.
Crowd wise ... Ros 7,000 Armagh 1,000 , Donegal 5,000 and Kildare 12,000 plus about 5,000 others
I'd expect the changes ( enforced or otherwise ) to be in the forwards.
Post by: anportmorforjfc on July 29, 2011, 05:46:09 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on July 29, 2011, 05:34:53 PM

Crowd wise ... Ros 7,000 Armagh 1,000 , Donegal 5,000 and Kildare 12,000 plus about 5,000 others

Tyrone fans aswell, i would have thought there would have been more support for Roscommon saying both their teams are playing.
Post by: ross4life on July 29, 2011, 06:02:35 PM
20,000 Rossies traveled to the Cork QF last Summer i'd expect 10,000 this time. Donegal fans are not happy with the late throw in but they should bring a good following & about 7,000 from Tyrone?
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on July 29, 2011, 08:00:41 PM
Quote from: ross matt on July 29, 2011, 12:24:59 PM
That's an impressive Tyrone lineout when you read it. Full of power, quality and most importantly experience. However I think Roscommon will be competitive tomorrow. They're a young, dedicated and improving side. They know that (even allowing for weather conditions) they played poorly in the Connacht Final. They've nothing to lose by going for it tomorrow. Best of luck to Fergie and the lads and above all here's to a good game of football.

Decent post there ross matt, fair dues to you.
Post by: Lamh Dhearg Alba on July 29, 2011, 11:15:13 PM
This one is set up very nicely for Roscommon. Reading this thread you would think they are rank outsiders but this is a team who won their provincial championship last year, upsetting the odds in the circumstances, and came very close to retaining their title. Tyrone on the other hand seem to have gone, in the eyes of some at least, from dads army to All Ireland contenders on the back of wins over Longford and Armagh.

Glad to see Mickey has stuck with Red Sean and Coney. Would like to think that Coney will come on quickly with more games. A tough game in prospect, cmon Tyrone...
Post by: James91 on July 30, 2011, 01:19:09 AM
Quote from: anportmorforjfc on July 29, 2011, 05:46:09 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on July 29, 2011, 05:34:53 PM

Tyrone fans aswell, i would have thought there would have been more support for Roscommon saying both their teams are playing.

I think there could be a bigger than expected crowd tommorrow. The times not ideal for donegal supporters really, but I read in a local paper that 5000 tickets were sold in the county, but they expect up to 12,000 donegal fans to travel with tickets bought via ticketmaster etc.. Roscommon have both teams playing and have a loyal fanbase, so do kildare, who wont have to travel far either.

I would love to see roscommon win, and i think they are well capable of. But I have a feeling tyrone will come out and put on one of those performances where no one could beat them on the day.
Post by: qz on July 30, 2011, 06:31:35 AM
Joke that its not on TV, whoever is in charge of scheduling the games at RTE must have a real hard-on for Kildare as they have never been off the box this summer.

Have RTE showed any Tyrone games live this year? Could the Mickey Harte boycott be a factor?
Post by: winsamsoon on July 30, 2011, 07:10:45 AM
Are these games all ticket? If so where is the best spot to get one in dublin ie ticket office?
Post by: Family guy on July 30, 2011, 09:37:08 AM
Quote from: Lamh Dhearg Alba on July 29, 2011, 11:15:13 PM
This one is set up very nicely for Roscommon. Reading this thread you would think they are rank outsiders but this is a team who won their provincial championship last year, upsetting the odds in the circumstances, and came very close to retaining their title. Tyrone on the other hand seem to have gone, in the eyes of some at least, from dads army to All Ireland contenders on the back of wins over Longford and Armagh.

Glad to see Mickey has stuck with Red Sean and Coney. Would like to think that Coney will come on quickly with more games. A tough game in prospect, cmon Tyrone...

Good post,people ate getting very carried away with tyrone,i think they are just relating to 08 when tyrone slipped under the radar and ended up winning it,i would like to do the same this year but it would need alot less hype about them,The only plus side is you can be sure the team will not take roscommon for granted
Post by: Fuzzman on July 30, 2011, 09:43:23 AM
There will be loads of ticket sales caravans near the stadium and the official ticket office is on Dorset Street up from the Red Parrot pub.

Can't make the game myself today and hope to be listening to it on the radio, which hasn't always been a happy place in the past. Not that I'm superstitious.

All the best to Roscommon and Tyrone today. We're certainly hyped up to the max so it is well set up for the Rossies but I think Tyrone are improving every game and will just have too much for them. Ye never know though and if they can keep the belief and get the scores then ye might put it up to us.

I can understand some of the Donegal lads wanting us beaten as they won't want to meet us later should we get that far. They'd rather play the Dubs I'd say should they beat Kildare.

All the best and may ye enjoy the games.
Post by: leenie on July 30, 2011, 11:04:55 AM

anybody know of links on the net, where i can watch the match, unfortunately i cant go.... :( thought id b out of pocket but just sold me ticket  :)
Post by: Family guy on July 30, 2011, 12:05:12 PM
Gona do a guess the score will go with tyrone 1 13 roscomon 7
Post by: Aaron Boone on July 30, 2011, 01:19:36 PM
Guess II:

Tyrone 2-14 Roscommon 2-8
Post by: jodyb on July 30, 2011, 01:40:36 PM
Quote from: leenie on July 30, 2011, 11:04:55 AM

anybody know of links on the net, where i can watch the match, unfortunately i cant go.... :( thought id b out of pocket but just sold me ticket  :)

I just assumed RTE were showing this. Only just realised they werent. Any of you tyronies know if Q101 will broadcast it?
Post by: Norf Tyrone on July 30, 2011, 01:49:42 PM
Quote from: jodyb on July 30, 2011, 01:40:36 PM

I just assumed RTE were showing this. Only just realised they werent. Any of you tyronies know if Q101 will broadcast it?

Yeah Q101 covering the game.
Post by: jodyb on July 30, 2011, 02:08:34 PM
Quote from: Norf Tyrone on July 30, 2011, 01:49:42 PM
Quote from: jodyb on July 30, 2011, 01:40:36 PM

Yeah Q101 covering the game.

Cheers NT :)
Post by: leenie on July 30, 2011, 02:12:44 PM

its hard to listen to paddy hunter thou..... but needs must!
Post by: Gaffer on July 30, 2011, 03:52:06 PM
Quote from: leenie on July 30, 2011, 02:12:44 PM

its hard to listen to paddy hunter thou..... but needs must!

http://www.q101west.fm/portal/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=156
Post by: Aaron Boone on July 30, 2011, 04:00:53 PM
Watching Tyr's warm-up would make you dizzy.
Post by: randomtask on July 30, 2011, 04:18:52 PM
Alternative listening

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/northern_ireland/gaelic_games/8437990.stm
Post by: Armaghgael on July 30, 2011, 04:25:15 PM
Anyone know were i can watch the match online?
Post by: randomtask on July 30, 2011, 04:25:37 PM
Tyrone 3 - Roscommon 3
Post by: randomtask on July 30, 2011, 04:26:48 PM
Tyrone 4 - Roscommon 3

Brian Mc Guigan point, seems to be a free flowing game
Post by: Fuzzman on July 30, 2011, 04:27:38 PM
it's also on newstalk and highland radio. 4-3 Sean Cavan Hub Brian Mac
Post by: Fuzzman on July 30, 2011, 04:32:39 PM
Shine doing a lot of damage.  Now 5-4 to Rossies.
Post by: tyssam5 on July 30, 2011, 04:36:18 PM
5-5 Coney
Post by: tyssam5 on July 30, 2011, 04:37:03 PM
6-5 S Cav free 20mins
Post by: tyssam5 on July 30, 2011, 04:37:49 PM
6-6 McDermott
Post by: tyssam5 on July 30, 2011, 04:39:52 PM
6-7 Ros, Kilbride, boys on BBC saying Ros moves are nice going forward.
Post by: rory on July 30, 2011, 04:43:34 PM
Sounds like McConnell just did a Hearty 1-7 - 0-6
Post by: tyssam5 on July 30, 2011, 04:44:55 PM
S Cav goal!!! Good one apparently, good field from Coney.
Post by: tyssam5 on July 30, 2011, 04:48:26 PM
1-7 1-7 P Harte free
Post by: tyssam5 on July 30, 2011, 04:51:22 PM
C Cav fisted point.
Kilbride point 1-8 a piece. Sounds like big Joe getting a hard time.
Post by: tyssam5 on July 30, 2011, 04:52:37 PM
2nd easy free missing by Shine
Post by: Fuzzman on July 30, 2011, 04:55:03 PM
According to Newstalk it's been a very exciting half. Very open game with Tyrone certainly finding it hard going. Sean C just got his 3rd point to lead by a point at half time
Post by: moysider on July 30, 2011, 04:55:34 PM
Sounds like a cracking good game listening to shannonside s 'Wild' Willie Hegarty. Sounds like it s goin to be shootout. Shine has missed easy frees for him but he can do that.
Post by: del_carroll on July 30, 2011, 04:58:09 PM
Yeah, Shine wil always miss 2 or 3 handy ones every game. Usually doesn't let it affect him though.

Good to see the Rossies putting up a battle....unlikely they will hit another 9 wides in the second and come away with a win though.
Post by: leenie on July 30, 2011, 04:59:42 PM

shine and kilbride need to be covered more..... seems like a cracker.... i wish i was there, god damn commitments  :-[
Post by: Aaron Boone on July 30, 2011, 05:00:41 PM
Big Joe struggling at FB. Midfield also under fierce pressure from the Rossies.
Post by: imtommygunn on July 30, 2011, 05:04:09 PM
Wwhere is Justin McMahon??

Big Joe is not a full back. He's a ball player.
Post by: moysider on July 30, 2011, 05:08:09 PM
Quote from: Aaron Boone on July 30, 2011, 05:00:41 PM
Big Joe struggling at FB. Midfield also under fierce pressure from the Rossies.

Sounds like it. But Finneran wont be able to track Cavanagh and Sean will be able to attack with abandon as he doesn t have to worry about Finneran getting too far forward himself. Finneran will dominate in the air though but Ros need somebody to pick up Kavanagh s runs or it ll cost them the game. He s on 1-3 already.
Post by: TyroneRahilly on July 30, 2011, 05:10:52 PM
Now regretting not goin to the game, sounds like a great game. I'm not as confident as I was before the game, hope mickey makes some changes to the midfield area.
Post by: TyroneRahilly on July 30, 2011, 05:12:00 PM
Good to see mugsy coming on, don't agree with taking coney off though.
Post by: leenie on July 30, 2011, 05:14:21 PM
mugsy and dooher on, tommy mcguigan and cooney off

Post by: randomtask on July 30, 2011, 05:14:40 PM
Attendance?
Post by: leenie on July 30, 2011, 05:17:11 PM

rossies 1-9

tyrone 1-12

40mins on the clock....
Post by: Tyrones own on July 30, 2011, 05:20:29 PM
1-16 - 1-13 Tyrone
Post by: moysider on July 30, 2011, 05:21:17 PM
Jaysus, sounds like Tyrone have hit for home. Roscommon will have to dig deep for a while to weather this out.

Post by: TyroneRahilly on July 30, 2011, 05:25:01 PM
Moysider, don't speak too soon, only 2 points in it
Post by: moysider on July 30, 2011, 05:25:21 PM
Good response from the Rossies. Well done. Hopefully they can keep this going.
Post by: snippets on July 30, 2011, 05:26:32 PM
Tyrone need big changes midfield getting roasted. Hughes legs are gone. 
Post by: snippets on July 30, 2011, 05:27:30 PM
Mannion everywhere
Post by: snippets on July 30, 2011, 05:28:25 PM
Mc Menamen off
Post by: snippets on July 30, 2011, 05:29:39 PM
Tyrone cute hoors according to Brady.  Shine gonna get a shiner
Post by: snippets on July 30, 2011, 05:30:36 PM
Brady - Kevin Hughes a passenger, Tyrone dont have another midfielder
Post by: snippets on July 30, 2011, 05:31:36 PM
Swift hit
Post by: imtommygunn on July 30, 2011, 05:33:22 PM
That's awful frustrating.

Show the game dna stop talking dammit!!
Post by: snippets on July 30, 2011, 05:36:59 PM
tyrone 4 ahead 1 13 - 1 17 sorry
Post by: Milltown Row2 on July 30, 2011, 05:37:12 PM
Score?
Post by: tyssam5 on July 30, 2011, 05:37:33 PM
Harte 44m free, 1-17 1-13. Good to see us not missing frees for a change.
Post by: Chief Whip on July 30, 2011, 05:38:10 PM
Spillane and o'rourke debating the donegal kildare game on rte, wont even turn around and look out the window at the tyrone rossie game
Post by: crossfire on July 30, 2011, 05:38:32 PM
How long left.
Post by: imtommygunn on July 30, 2011, 05:38:43 PM
There we go!!
Post by: randomtask on July 30, 2011, 05:39:03 PM
tyrone game on rte 2!!!
Post by: Chief Whip on July 30, 2011, 05:39:12 PM
spoke too soon its on now lads
Post by: moysider on July 30, 2011, 05:39:29 PM
Shannonside not happy with what they see as soft frees given to Tyrone, as well as a bit of falling down. Willie philisophical about it though.
Post by: screenexile on July 30, 2011, 05:41:26 PM
Colm Parkinson is not even close to being wise... Have to say I'm enjoying the Newstalk coverage.

C'man the Rossies!!!
Post by: imtommygunn on July 30, 2011, 05:43:10 PM
Awful loose game. Strange atmosphere.

Cavanagh has been in the wars.
Post by: tyssam5 on July 30, 2011, 05:46:37 PM
Was on RTE player briefly then pulled, couple of late goals. S. Cav and Mark Donnelly, biggest Tyrone score in years. Tough on Rossies after keeping it tight all the way.
Post by: Tyrones own on July 30, 2011, 05:47:26 PM
3-19 is some score in fairness...Mark Donnelly was some addition to that team :)
Post by: imtommygunn on July 30, 2011, 05:49:57 PM
Some afters with Gormley and the 14 there. Not sure if it was Shine or Kilbride. Good win for Tyrone though.
Post by: tyssam5 on July 30, 2011, 05:51:31 PM
Quote from: Tyrones own on July 30, 2011, 05:47:26 PM
3-19 is some score in fairness...Mark Donnelly was some addition to that team :)

Seemed quiet in frist half, but much better in 2nd. Maybe Dooher will start liking a super-sub role (not likely knowing him though). Big score up, might have been better finishing tighter, Dubs won't be complacent now for sure. Cassidy would be have very useful today, we're short in mid-field
Post by: ross4life on July 30, 2011, 05:55:43 PM
Well done tyrone best team won no doubt but never in a million years was that a 11 point game!
Post by: TirEoghaingodeo on July 30, 2011, 05:56:27 PM
Nice win, seems frees are becoming less of a prob. As someone above said tough on Roscommon, if they'd hit some of those easier chances when it was tight might have been different. 
Was worried they'd not beat the handicap (-5pts), let's hope cork do the same
Post by: mountainboii on July 30, 2011, 06:00:33 PM
Very impressive from Tyrone there, but Roscommon were brutal. They were never going to win but they could've made it a bit closer by not shooting themselves in the foot repeatedly. Same as their game against Cork last year. Must be a very frustrating team to follow. Tyrone are brilliant at engineering room in the FF line for players to run into from deep, they almost don't have a FF line at times. They're making a lot of goal chances this way. Something for the Dubs to watch.
Post by: Puckoon on July 30, 2011, 06:02:18 PM
Quote from: ross4life on July 30, 2011, 05:55:43 PM
Well done tyrone best team won no doubt but never in a million years was that a 11 point game!

You could almost take the two goals right at the end off that score difference.

Took Tyrone a long time to break away - Roscommon pegged back the few points at the start of the second half with relative ease it appeared. Defence needs to tighten up a lot - 1.14 next week could well be a winning score.
Post by: snippets on July 30, 2011, 06:09:12 PM
Roscommon played damn well in the first half.  False  scoreline.  Tyrone turned out probably their best second half in 3 years.   Great game between 2 fine football teams.  Roscommon can push on from this next year.  Sound outfit.   Going by newstalk commentry its a shame that Mc Kenna didnt get more "gametime" throughout the year to try to bring him on - as we are undoubtedly getting improved performances in terms of energy and fitness.  Cassidy is so injury prone.  We must remember the young guys need it as much as the old guys.  Look at Petie, Coney, Sparky, Swifty = all going well.    Hub might be struggling to cope the full hour.  However well done to team and management.  Bring On the dubs
Post by: tyssam5 on July 30, 2011, 06:09:44 PM
Since we're always slagging commentators, I thought BBC radio covered that game fairly well.

Right now after some good open football from Tyrone we switch over the ultra-defensive Donegal!! Changed times.
Post by: Sandy Hill on July 30, 2011, 06:23:26 PM
What is it with Tyrone and head bandages?
Post by: tyssam5 on July 30, 2011, 06:30:06 PM
Quote from: Sandy Hill on July 30, 2011, 06:23:26 PM

Marketing thing, we're doing the retro mid-90's look.
Post by: Aaron Boone on July 30, 2011, 06:33:45 PM
Tyrone half-backs pushed up to crowd midfield in the second-half. Dooher was on hand to help-out and had a fine half of football. Coney did well for first half, didn't expect him 2b subbed.
Post by: INDIANA on July 30, 2011, 06:36:45 PM
Quote from: tyssam5 on July 30, 2011, 05:51:31 PM
Quote from: Tyrones own on July 30, 2011, 05:47:26 PM

Seemed quiet in frist half, but much better in 2nd. Maybe Dooher will start liking a super-sub role (not likely knowing him though). Big score up, might have been better finishing tighter, Dubs won't be complacent now for sure. Cassidy would be have very useful today, we're short in mid-field

We're just turning up to make up the numbers
Post by: Fuzzman on July 30, 2011, 06:51:27 PM
Thought the newstalk commentary was good until the Rossies took the lead. Brady was terribly biased and was about to slag off Sean Cav for time wasting pretending to be injured but then the host guy interrupted him and said he really is badly injured and is being taken off.
Parkinson also was getting excited when Rosscommon took the lead after their goal but that's to be expected as everyone wants the underdog.
I don't think Brady likes us to much since our 2004 meeting with Mayo

Anyway, great win for Tyrone even if the last 2 goals were a bit easy and put a total false shine on the score. Still we had to work hard for the win by the sounds of it. I hope they stick the whole game on RTE player as it sounds a clinker. That's 3 matches in a row now we've kicked a high scoreline.

I wonder how fit Stevie is for next Saturday. Will Mugsy get a start or is he better coming in like he did today. How did Mcginley do when he came on.

That's two years in a row now the Rossies held a team to well on in the game and then the other team pulled away. Did they not get ball into Shine in the second half or was he better marked?
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on July 30, 2011, 07:06:23 PM
QuoteWe're just turning up to make up the numbers

No one is suggesting that at all - the Dubs will be a totally different challenge nexy week.

They'd be a few points favourites and rightly so
Post by: Jinxy on July 30, 2011, 07:30:41 PM
Quote from: Sandy Hill on July 30, 2011, 06:23:26 PM

There must be a lot of haemophiliacs in Tyrone.
Post by: tyroneman on July 30, 2011, 09:09:46 PM
Coney very very unlucky to get taken off. Played very well and was pick of forwards in first half.
Post by: Shrewdness on July 30, 2011, 09:10:01 PM
Quote from: AFS on July 30, 2011, 06:00:33 PM
Very impressive from Tyrone there, but Roscommon were brutal. They were never going to win but they could've made it a bit closer by not shooting themselves in the foot repeatedly. Same as their game against Cork last year. Must be a very frustrating team to follow. Tyrone are brilliant at engineering room in the FF line for players to run into from deep, they almost don't have a FF line at times. They're making a lot of goal chances this way. Something for the Dubs to watch.

AFS, i wouldn't agree with your statement that Roscommon were brutal, but i do agree with your comments about them shooting themselves in the foot.

Based on their performances against Cork last year, and Tyrone today, they seem to be able to remain competitive against the top sides for about 50-60 minutes, before the roof caves in. Seems to be due to a physical and mental tiredness, no doubt caused by a big step up in class.

Last year against Cork, they were only trailing by about 5 points, when David Casey lost the ball deep in his own defence which directly led to Cork scoring the game's only goal and running out 9 points winners.

Something similar happened today. Both of Tyrone's 2 late goals came from Roscommon mistakes or turning over possession. As my fellow county man mentioned a few posts above, Tyrone were never an 11 points better team than Roscommon today, but unfortunately the record books won't state that.

Until, or unless Roscommon can cut out these costly self inflicted schoolboy defensive errors, they will never get any better than they currently are.
Post by: Fuzzman on July 30, 2011, 09:18:04 PM
Does anyone know will RTE put this game up on their GAA media player or will we only see a few minutes of it on tomorrow night on TSG?

On Newstalk they were saying that we are showing Roscommon a lack of respect as we didn't play a sweeper in front of our FB line as we would do against Kerry or Cork etc.
You can't win. They complain if you're too defensive and then whinge when you play it open.
I can't see us being that open the next day out. At least I hope not.

11 different scorers today I see. Any news on Penrose or Cassidy for next week?
S Cavanagh 2-03 (0-01f), M Donnelly 1-01, P Harte 0-04 (3f, 1 '45), C Cavanagh, K Coney, B McGuigan 0-02 each, P Jordan, K Hughes, C Gormley, O Mulligan, S O'Neill 0-01 each.
Post by: Lamh Dhearg Alba on July 30, 2011, 09:52:31 PM
A good win against a decent team. No doubt the final margin flattered Tyrone but great to run up a big tally. Would hope Cassidy will be fit for next week, we could do with a bit more at midfield.   

Still a lot of questions about that Tyrone side and we're relying on them being able to take it up another notch next weekend, but one to look forward to.
Post by: Chimley on July 30, 2011, 10:25:49 PM
Just back from a marathon session at Croke park. The big difference between the teams was the quality that came off the bench for Tyrone. Roscommen should have been leading at half-time as Tyrone lived off scraps and a wonder goal by Cav in the first half.

I must agree that Coney was very unlucky to be called ashore but Harte must have been very worried to throw both Mulligan and Dooher on at half time. I thought that Dooher started to pull the strings and the game swung to Tyrone except for a brief Roscommon rally when O'Gara was introduced.

If I was a Tyrone supporter I would be wondering which half was the real Tyrone and hoping it was the second.
From the Roscommon viewpoint, there is the makings of a good team there and I feel that they will improve again next year. They need the star men to stay fit though as there is too little depth on the bench at the moment. They have good talent coming through though as evidenced by the minors win today.
Post by: Fuzzman on July 30, 2011, 11:18:52 PM
How did Donnelly play at FF? Did he come out the field much?
Post by: barelegs on July 30, 2011, 11:35:25 PM
Bit of a so-so performance from Tyrone today odd and all as it is to write that after scoring 3-19.

Positives on the day were the performance of Sean Cavanagh, Sean O'Neill and Brian McGuigan. Thought Coney was doing well until he was harshly subbed- scored two points and took a great catch from the kickout that led to the goal. Tommy shipped a knock early on and never really seemed to recover. In saying that Mugsy and Dooher hardly put a foot wrong.

That performance at the back won't beat Dublin. The defence was left exposed for long periods and Mickey was slow to make any changes when the fullback line was struggling. The obvious change seemed to be for Joe to pick up Shine and for Gormley to take Kilbride and after 35 minutes it finally came. The defence tightened up and we pulled away.

Ricey struggled for the second game in a row. I don't think we can leave Justy on the bench next week for 45 minutes. With a bit of luck Cassidy will be fit to go next week. His aerial power and mobility would be a huge plus.
Post by: armaghniac on July 30, 2011, 11:49:52 PM
I suspect that some of the "book your tickets now for the Dublin game" is bound to have rubbed off on Tyrone and that they weren't quite expecting Roscommon's performance in the first half. Then they stepped it up in the second half. Dublin are something of a traditional enemy now and the attitude may be different.
Post by: moysider on July 30, 2011, 11:51:59 PM
Quote from: Shrewdness on July 30, 2011, 09:10:01 PM

AFS, i wouldn't agree with your statement that Roscommon were brutal, but i do agree with your comments about them shooting themselves in the foot.

Based on their performances against Cork last year, and Tyrone today, they seem to be able to remain competitive against the top sides for about 50-60 minutes, before the roof caves in. Seems to be due to a physical and mental tiredness, no doubt caused by a big step up in class.

Last year against Cork, they were only trailing by about 5 points, when David Casey lost the ball deep in his own defence which directly led to Cork scoring the game's only goal and running out 9 points winners.

Something similar happened today. Both of Tyrone's 2 late goals came from Roscommon mistakes or turning over possession. As my fellow county man mentioned a few posts above, Tyrone were never an 11 points better team than Roscommon today, but unfortunately the record books won't state that.

Until, or unless Roscommon can cut out these costly self inflicted schoolboy defensive errors, they will never get any better than they currently are.

There is a problem now for teams like Roscommon trying to bridge the gap between good footballing teams like Ros and the teams that have got the continuity right from year to year and are always in the last 4/8. Teams like Cork, Kerry, Tyrone and very few others have  managed to create a nice elite for themselves. Likes of Mayo and Galway who should have been in that loop have fucked up with management and will struggle to get back in the loop. There is a flaw in things. How are Roscommon suppopsed to improve. Next Feb before another competitive match - and we all know that the league doesn t matter. They can t use Connacht Championship as a guide either, because every team there is in the same boat.

Yet again the minor teams in the province reach the last 4 but the seniors are struggling to close the gap with the elect. And will continue to struggle because there really is no scope for most teams to develop. Established teams get more games and will always be a bit ahead in August. Irish International rugby players will play more internationals in a year than most county players will play competitive games. It s daft.
Post by: borderfox on July 31, 2011, 12:42:25 AM
Write this Tyrone team off at your peril! I fancy a Tyrone v Kerry final now. If it happens it'll be a great final.
Post by: Stevie g 8 on July 31, 2011, 01:07:53 AM
3-19 is some scoring but they need to plug the holes at the back  if they are to beat the dubs, should be some game
Post by: ziggysego on July 31, 2011, 01:26:05 AM
Terrific game of football today at HQ. Tyrone showed some fine form, with a mixture of old and young complimenting each other very well. If only for a few errors on Roscommon's part, which we punished them for, it could have been a very different game. Tyrone were always going to win it at the end, but 11 points was far too flattering.

A lot of work to be done between now and next Saturday, if we are to beat the Dubs, but we are making steady progress.

I had the pleasure of sitting with the board's TyroneLass throughtout the game. A lovely lady.
Post by: mountainboii on July 31, 2011, 04:38:32 AM

Maybe 'brutal' was a bit harsh on Roscommon, but they did disappoint me overall. There was a failure to capitalise on moments of superiority in the first half, with 21 yard frees missed and a terrible goal conceded just after your own was scored. This was followed by a pretty dire second half collapse after about 50-55 minutes. The best teams aren't the ones with the most good moments, rather the ones that make the least mistakes. Roscommon seems to be a side that enjoys a fair amount of good moments in games, but just makes too many mistakes to be considered a good team.
Post by: Leo on July 31, 2011, 07:34:57 AM
The "goal" - even in slow motion a borderline decision. But if his foot was over the line as the ball was in flight - and it seemed to be - it is a square ball.
The cynical fouling - I think you'll find Kildare well ahead on that count, especially when they thought they had it in the bag in extra time. We could take a leaf out of rugby where the referee can warn the captain that for persistent fouling the next offender will see red.
The no-free near the end - no different to any number of decisions in any gaelic football game, this one included, so many can go either way.
And I thought the referee was very good.
MOM - in my opinion the Donegal full back McGee gave a real tour-de-force from start to finish.
He didn't even get a mention from the RTE panel & commentators who displayed a naked pro-Kildare bias throughout.
Fitness now rules football and we will only get football back when we restrict the handpass.
Post by: Leo on July 31, 2011, 07:43:56 AM
Oops, turned the wrong starting handle - that last post beongs to Kildare v Donegal.
Post by: Norf Tyrone on July 31, 2011, 07:50:11 AM
Quote from: Leo on July 31, 2011, 07:34:57 AM
The "goal" - even in slow motion a borderline decision. But if his foot was over the line as the ball was in flight - and it seemed to be - it is a square ball.
The cynical fouling - I think you'll find Kildare well ahead on that count, especially when they thought they had it in the bag in extra time. We could take a leaf out of rugby where the referee can warn the captain that for persistent fouling the next offender will see red.
The no-free near the end - no different to any number of decisions in any gaelic football game, this one included, so many can go either way.
And I thought the referee was very good.
MOM - in my opinion the Donegal full back McGee gave a real tour-de-force from start to finish.
He didn't even get a mention from the RTE panel & commentators who displayed a naked pro-Kildare bias throughout.
Fitness now rules football and we will only get football back when we restrict the handpass.

It's wile early for this posting craic isn't it!
Post by: Rois on July 31, 2011, 09:58:19 AM
I was very glad to see Sean C stepping it up a gear today, thought he'd been quiet up to this but he, and the other 2 Moy men, were the pick of the team in the first half. Colm Cavanagh must have his starting place sewn up now - some great fielding in the middle, and how he stumbled and ricocheted his way through about five defenders to fist over a point shows that sometimes pure persistence pays off.
It's the third match in a row where Tyrone have had a stormer of a second half.  Mulligan looked in fine form when he came on. Glad to see Stevie fit to play some part, even if he didn't get touching the ball.
Post by: maco on July 31, 2011, 10:28:00 AM
Sadly, there are reports of the drowning of a Tyrone supporter in Dublin last night, and another man ill in hospital after trying to save him. Details of his condition not known at the minute.
Post by: backofthehand on July 31, 2011, 11:48:25 AM
Quote from: Rois on July 31, 2011, 09:58:19 AM
I was very glad to see Sean C stepping it up a gear today, thought he'd been quiet up to this but he, and the other 2 Moy men, were the pick of the team in the first half. Colm Cavanagh must have his starting place sewn up now - some great fielding in the middle, and how he stumbled and ricocheted his way through about five defenders to fist over a point shows that sometimes pure persistence pays off.
It's the third match in a row where Tyrone have had a stormer of a second half.  Mulligan looked in fine form when he came on. Glad to see Stevie fit to play some part, even if he didn't get touching the ball.
Sean played well, but still not working hard enough off the ball for my liking.
Post by: ross4life on July 31, 2011, 12:09:40 PM
We didn't get justice for our battling display yesterday, 64mins on the clock Tyrone 1-19 Roscommon 1-14 & for some poor wides we would have been closer. (15 wides in total)

1st half

Was a well I've seen us play for years, 4 points up could have been 6-7 & Shine,Cregg & Kilbride were roasting their markers. Tyrone got a goal against the run of play & I'm sure Mickey Harte was wondering how on earth they where leading at HT.

2nd half

As expected Tyrone brought on experienced players moved the gears & scored 5 points without reply & really that was the platform for this win.

We rallied somewhat when O'Gara came on to make it a 3 point game & again kicked some bad wides & Kilbride had a goal chance well defended. of course it was our luck that Sean Cavanagh decided to have his best game for 3 years! it will be a while before he scores 2-3 again i reckon. In the end the best team won no doubt but the final scoreline was extremely flattering. best of luck Tyrone i hope ye go on & win another All Ireland now.

Post by: ross matt on July 31, 2011, 04:21:41 PM
Congratulations to Tyrone. They had in their side quality, experience plus physical and mental toughness. We more than match them for long periods of the match but in the end we were too young, too inexperienced at this level and mentally frail for the last ten minutes where we threw in the towel and the floodgates opened.

That being said great credit has to go the Fergie and the lads for the first half display. We really should have been up 4 or 5 points and there was nothing to suggest we wouldnt go on to win it. Finneran and Mannion dominated the air. Shine, Kilbride and Cregg had the Tyrone defence in severe trouble. Seanie Mac was brilliant in our defence. However we missed a certain  1-4 and really it cost us at the death.

We rallied well in the middle of the 2nd half but when Tyrone smelled blood and ran at us in straight lines we were in trouble. We have quality defenders but we need a stopper of a centre back with presence like Gormly in his prime. We also coughed up alot of ball at centre forward especially when showing for our own kick outs. But in the end as I feared we couldnt counter Sean Cavanaghs mobility. It was Roy of the Rovers stuff for him yesterday and he was a deserving man of the match. Its worth point out though that Karol Mannion also scored 1-2 from midfield for us so Sean kinda glossed over a problem area for Tyone that could be exploited by Dublin.

Whats important for us though is that we took them on in Croker and competed well for 3 quarters of the match and had them on the back foot for most of the 1st half. We have to learn from this. We have to mature physically and mentally. Above all we need to capitalise on our periods of dominace by coverting obvious scoring opportunities like all the top sides do. We need to bring in a few more players but as the minors showed yesterday they are on the way. Roscommon football is in a healthy state. Progress is slow and painful but it is progress.

Best of luck to Tyrone v the Dubs. They still boast some of the best players the game has ever seen and the way they can re-invent themselves continuously in order to compete at the top table is an example to any county. Met some of their supporters yesterday also  and they were friendly, polite and intelligent football people.
Post by: Gaffer on July 31, 2011, 04:51:24 PM
Quote from: maco on July 31, 2011, 10:28:00 AM
Sadly, there are reports of the drowning of a Tyrone supporter in Dublin last night, and another man ill in hospital after trying to save him. Details of his condition not known at the minute.

Is there anything of this ? Not a word anywhere else! Just hope it's not true !
Post by: maco on July 31, 2011, 05:45:28 PM
Unfortunately it is true. I don't want to release a name yet for obvious reasons. The story is that he was involved in some sort of altercation with Kildare supporters last night. Him and the brother were supposed to have been running away from them, both jumped a wall and he ended up in the water. Brother jumped in to save him but couldn't. Very sad - he's been married less than a year.
Post by: Rois on July 31, 2011, 06:05:59 PM
Quote from: maco on July 31, 2011, 05:45:28 PM
Unfortunately it is true. I don't want to release a name yet for obvious reasons. The story is that he was involved in some sort of altercation with Kildare supporters last night. Him and the brother were supposed to have been running away from them, both jumped a wall and he ended up in the water. Brother jumped in to save him but couldn't. Very sad - he's been married less than a year.
That is really sad indeed and I am sorry it's turned out to be true. 
Post by: Gaffer on July 31, 2011, 06:09:22 PM
Thanks for that, Maco.

RIP
Post by: Norf Tyrone on July 31, 2011, 07:08:01 PM
Just heard the name there. Shocking news.

RIP.
Post by: Rossfan on July 31, 2011, 07:08:49 PM
Quote from: ross matt on July 31, 2011, 04:21:41 PM
Congratulations to Tyrone. They had in their side quality, experience plus physical and mental toughness. We more than match them for long periods of the match but in the end we were too young, too inexperienced at this level and mentally frail for the last ten minutes where we threw in the towel and the floodgates opened.

That being said great credit has to go the Fergie and the lads for the first half display. We really should have been up 4 or 5 points and there was nothing to suggest we wouldnt go on to win it. Finneran and Mannion dominated the air. Shine, Kilbride and Cregg had the Tyrone defence in severe trouble. Seanie Mac was brilliant in our defence. However we missed a certain  1-4 and really it cost us at the death.

We rallied well in the middle of the 2nd half but when Tyrone smelled blood and ran at us in straight lines we were in trouble. We have quality defenders but we need a stopper of a centre back with presence like Gormly in his prime. We also coughed up alot of ball at centre forward especially when showing for our own kick outs. But in the end as I feared we couldnt counter Sean Cavanaghs mobility. It was Roy of the Rovers stuff for him yesterday and he was a deserving man of the match. Its worth point out though that Karol Mannion also scored 1-2 from midfield for us so Sean kinda glossed over a problem area for Tyone that could be exploited by Dublin.

Whats important for us though is that we took them on in Croker and competed well for 3 quarters of the match and had them on the back foot for most of the 1st half. We have to learn from this. We have to mature physically and mentally. Above all we need to capitalise on our periods of dominace by coverting obvious scoring opportunities like all the top sides do. We need to bring in a few more players but as the minors showed yesterday they are on the way. Roscommon football is in a healthy state. Progress is slow and painful but it is progress.

Excellent post Matt and not much I can add .
Maybe a bit of cop on from Deegan would have helped , he seemed to fall for plenty of oul Tyrone tricks (e.g booked Purcell despite McGuigan elbowing him for 5 minutes right in front of effin Duffy's eyse, giving a free against Micky Finn for winning a 50/50 ball , not giving us a free when a man was pushed ovr the line and generally favouring th the big names against the unknowns little lads.
Still the best team won but no way were they 11 points better than us.
We need bto believe and anything is possible e.g Mwr batin Cork.
Future is bright Future is Rros.
Post by: PadraicHenryPearse on July 31, 2011, 07:22:53 PM
Surprised no one mention the amount of steps Cavanagh took for the first goal. Mayo goal today was over carrying also. Ref was terrible in the 2nd half especailly as we looked like we were clawing back the 5 pt lead tyrone had ran up just after half time. Soft free after soft free to Tyrone.

There was no way the lads could have kept up the tempo they had in the first half and need to put away more scores, they mixed the brillaint with the ridiculas in the first half and until they cut out those errors i think will be found wanting. There was a lack of support runners coming out of the backs in the 2nd half and Shine and Kilbride hid behind their markers. Higgins should have been pull of earlier, O'gara was good when he came out but not enough football this year. Thought Daly was a strange sub, would have brought Kenny on here i think.

Overall something to work on. good first half and first 10-15 of the second. Mannion showed some form, maybe a bit cuter with the fouling around the middle of the field would have helped. Disappointed with the scoreline but not the effort or the ability to play good football against a very good team. Conditioning and strenght work along with a couple of additions and id be hopeful of a semi final appear at least in the next 2/3 years.
Post by: Radda bout yeee on July 31, 2011, 10:14:25 PM
Quote from: Norf Tyrone on July 31, 2011, 07:08:01 PM
Just heard the name there. Shocking news.

RIP.

This sounds terrible!!

HOw come it hasn't been on news?
Post by: oakleafgael on July 31, 2011, 10:45:08 PM

Heard the news this morning before Mass. It hit me like a sledge hammer. First wedding anniversary next week. A lovely fella who will be sorely missed. Not going to go into the circumstances as it wont change anything.
Post by: new devil on July 31, 2011, 11:21:35 PM
Could someone PM with a name please
Post by: Gaffer on August 01, 2011, 12:08:45 AM
Quote from: new devil on July 31, 2011, 11:21:35 PM
Could someone PM with a name please

Same here if possible?
Post by: maco on August 01, 2011, 12:33:41 AM
PM sent there lads.
Post by: Shrewdness on August 01, 2011, 08:07:17 AM
Quote from: AFS on July 31, 2011, 04:38:32 AM

Maybe 'brutal' was a bit harsh on Roscommon, but they did disappoint me overall. There was a failure to capitalise on moments of superiority in the first half, with 21 yard frees missed and a terrible goal conceded just after your own was scored. This was followed by a pretty dire second half collapse after about 50-55 minutes. The best teams aren't the ones with the most good moments, rather the ones that make the least mistakes. Roscommon seems to be a side that enjoys a fair amount of good moments in games, but just makes too many mistakes to be considered a good team.

Can't argue with that AFS.
Post by: Siggy on August 01, 2011, 08:57:06 AM
Awful news about the drowning. I see todays Daily Mirror quoting speculation from an internet message board about what happened.
Post by: ziggysego on August 01, 2011, 09:10:34 AM
Quote from: Siggy on August 01, 2011, 08:57:06 AM
Awful news about the drowning. I see todays Daily Mirror quoting speculation from an internet message board about what happened.

The Garda have said there's no foul play suspected, so I wouldn't pay heed to internet message board talk.
Post by: Muzz on August 01, 2011, 09:37:39 AM
Quote from: Rossfan on July 31, 2011, 07:08:49 PM
Excellent post Matt and not much I can add .
Maybe a bit of cop on from Deegan would have helped , he seemed to fall for plenty of oul Tyrone tricks (e.g booked Purcell despite McGuigan elbowing him for 5 minutes right in front of effin Duffy's eyse, giving a free against Micky Finn for winning a 50/50 ball , not giving us a free when a man was pushed ovr the line and generally favouring th the big names against the unknowns little lads.
Still the best team won but no way were they 11 points better than us.
We need bto believe and anything is possible e.g Mwr batin Cork.
Future is bright Future is Rros.

You really shouldnt comment if you werent watching what actually happened...Ive no doubt that you did not watch that same incident for 5 minutes.  And not wishing to get into a debate about one incident - McGuigan DID elbow him in the stomach.  However his marker was holding McGuigan every single time he went to make a run.  I was sitting where McGuigan was playing in the second half and there was a few rolling round on the ground sessions.  I have no doubt McGuigan can and is sneaky at times but this incident was not just a McGuigan elbow.  Much more leading to that.  McQuillan watched it on numerous occasions and was watching them both when McGuigan threw the elbow into the gut and still only highlighted to the ref the Roscommon defenders behaviour.  Wonder why?

As for the Micky Finneran's "challenge" on Swift you are right it was a 50/50 chance of winning.  Swift actually won it not Finneran...it was the case of a big man meets a wee man.  Finneran had the right to go for it but was just a split second too late.  The collision was always going to happen.  Dont know if the booking should be warranted but certainly nothing more.

On a side note and to other Tyrone fans...Are you ever embarassed by your fellow supporters?  i.e. the ones that accompany their husbands on a day out and shout random shite? or even the young buck or middle aged man that has clearly never played the game or watched much football until recent times and makes some ridiculous comments?  Some examples of this - Firstly woman shouting PENALTY when Colm Cavanagh was klobbered by the Roscommon goalkeeper in the second half when it was clearly a mile outside the box...on other occasions - "You better win that <Insert name here> you called for it"  and another one in the above mentioned incident of wee man meets big man - men/boy shouting that its a sending off.  Cringeworthy stuff at times.  Embarassment to themselves and their county.  Maybe we should bring in the segregated supporters sections so as they cant embarass county just themselves.

All in all - simple game to analyse Roscommon were great in first half - kick passing into FF line was accurate and quick, Gormley and Joe hadnt an answer to them.  Roscommon goal (Stupid Packy) was a god send for Roscommon and had me worried.  It was score for score at that point and I couldnt see Tyrone being able to score 3 or 4 points on the trot to come back into the game.  The fact Tyrone got a quick goal afterwards for me was the turning point.  From being 4 points down we went in 1 up.  Second half im not sure what Tyrone did different to ensure the Ros FF line didnt win as much clean ball.  Maybe Ros stopped doing what they had been doing.  Whichever Tyrone came out in second half and was able to extend the lead and whilst Roscommon were still in it with 6 or 7 minutes to go only 5 points behind I still think Tyrone were comfortable at that stage.  Scoreline does not suggest the contest the game was and I think it will have done the Tyrone team the world of good.
Post by: nrico2006 on August 01, 2011, 12:52:11 PM
Quote from: oakleafgael on July 31, 2011, 10:45:08 PM

Heard the news this morning before Mass. It hit me like a sledge hammer. First wedding anniversary next week. A lovely fella who will be sorely missed. Not going to go into the circumstances as it wont change anything.

I see some sc**bag has posted a video on Youtube of the deceased man being taken from the river and having first aid performed on him.  Tragic stuff and surprised it hasn't been taken down.
Post by: spectator on August 01, 2011, 02:24:37 PM
Quote from: ross matt on July 31, 2011, 04:21:41 PM

Congrats Tyrone on a well deserved win & Good Luck against the Dubs next weekend.

You have things fairly well summed up from a primrose and blue perspective Ross Matt. Promotion from the upcoming league campaign should also be targeted imo. Playing the upper tier counties there regularly is the only avenue open to Ros, if we're to develop the ability to last the pace and maintain concentration for the full duration of games against better opposition. Steady progress is continuing in the overall set-up, lads are gaining experience and the seniors have developed a more solid look this year. While we're still well short of the top teams at senior the graph remains very much on the up. Saturday's final quarter drop in performance was disappointing, but with a few younger lads to come in and hopefully progression in the league, we can continue to improve and become more competitive at a higher level down the line.
Post by: Hardy on August 01, 2011, 02:34:27 PM
Just in passing, it brought a lump to my throat to see Seán Cavanagh revive the great Tyrone tradition of extravagant bandaging.
Post by: Norf Tyrone on August 01, 2011, 04:04:53 PM
http://www.u.tv/News/Man-dies-in-tragic-drowning/bc7a7c87-ffaf-45c5-9938-dffc6073d393 (http://www.u.tv/News/Man-dies-in-tragic-drowning/bc7a7c87-ffaf-45c5-9938-dffc6073d393)

RIP
Post by: Rossfan on August 01, 2011, 07:53:50 PM
Quote from: Muzz on August 01, 2011, 09:37:39 AM
- McGuigan DID elbow him in the stomach.  However his marker was holding McGuigan every single time he went to make a run.  I was sitting where McGuigan was playing in the second half and there was a few rolling round on the ground sessions.  I have no doubt McGuigan can and is sneaky at times but this incident was not just a McGuigan elbow.  Much more leading to that. McQuillan watched it on numerous occasions and was watching them both when McGuigan threw the elbow into the gut and still only highlighted to the ref the Roscommon defenders behaviour.  Wonder why?

Because he's a biased Ulsterman perhaps  >:( except it was Duffy who was watching . McQ was linesman in the 3rd game.
Or more seriously either Duffy or Deegan don't know the rules .. strike = red card.
However a sensible ref not afraid of the big teams would normally yellow card the 2 boys and tell them to cut it out.

On a more sombre note .. My condolences to the relatives and friends of the Tyrone supporter who lost his life on Saturday.
Puts the football in perspective.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on August 02, 2011, 02:10:09 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on July 30, 2011, 05:49:57 PM
Some afters with Gormley and the 14 there. Not sure if it was Shine or Kilbride. Good win for Tyrone though.

Maybe he just wanted to give him one last pat on the back http://eircomsports.eircom.net/News/power-rankings-2-aug.aspx (http://eircomsports.eircom.net/News/power-rankings-2-aug.aspx)

Hard to take anything from the highlights, very enjoyable listening to it on newstalk though, the goals certainly distorted the scoreline. Looking forward to seeing how they get on against the Dubs on Sat.
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on August 04, 2011, 12:50:29 AM
Just watched the Sunday Game there on RTE player, have to say some of the Roscommon footpassing was top drawer stuff.
Post by: Goats Do Shave on August 04, 2011, 09:13:42 AM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on August 04, 2011, 12:50:29 AM
Just watched the Sunday Game there on RTE player, have to say some of the Roscommon footpassing was top drawer stuff.

Particularly in the first half, when the Tyrone defence give them plenty of room to operate. Be interested to see if Ricey starts v the Dubs!