GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: thejuice on May 22, 2011, 05:36:28 PM

Title: Meath Vs Kildare - 5/6/2011, Páirc an Chrócaigh
Post by: thejuice on May 22, 2011, 05:36:28 PM
Well its in the diary now.

With injuries to Kildare and all sorts going on in the Meath camp it's hard to put a picture on how this will turn out.
Title: Re: Meath Vs Kildare - 5/6/2011, Páirc an Chrócaigh
Post by: Jinxy on May 22, 2011, 05:39:09 PM
I wouldn't rule out the possibility of Banty asking some of Kildares injured players to tog out for us.
That's the level of crazy we're dealing with here.
Post by: DB_An_Mhi on May 22, 2011, 05:54:15 PM
Kildare will start strong favourites now that they have gotten todays first round match out of their system. With a much better result than in previous years.
Post by: Jinxy on May 22, 2011, 05:55:18 PM
We haven't a hope.  :(
Post by: thejuice on May 22, 2011, 06:01:53 PM
It all depends on how our players react to the managerial goings on.
Post by: Dinny Breen on May 22, 2011, 07:22:35 PM
Meath's to lose..
Post by: DB_An_Mhi on May 22, 2011, 07:40:20 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on May 22, 2011, 07:22:35 PM
Meath's to lose..

Meath to lose as underdogs have nothing to lose!
Post by: Jinxy on May 22, 2011, 07:40:48 PM
There's a couple of weeks till the game so by my calculations another 3/4 Kildare players will be injured by then.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on May 22, 2011, 07:50:10 PM
Let the belly ticklin' commence!
Post by: thejuice on May 22, 2011, 09:29:10 PM
I'm sure we can survive without selectors for 2 weeks.
Post by: DB_An_Mhi on May 22, 2011, 10:11:28 PM
Banty's management style is getting more like a certain Russian at CFC. Just when we thought the county board were the only circus in town.
Post by: Jinxy on May 22, 2011, 10:36:31 PM
Quote from: thejuice on May 22, 2011, 09:29:10 PM
I'm sure we can survive without selectors for 2 weeks.

It's not like he listened to them anyway.
Post by: Jinxy on May 22, 2011, 11:41:13 PM
It shows what little regard Geezer had for Micklow that he didn't even bother getting a championship haircut yet.
Post by: Lily4life on May 23, 2011, 02:22:45 AM
Quote from: Jinxy on May 22, 2011, 11:41:13 PM
It shows what little regard Geezer had for Micklow that he didn't even bother getting a championship haircut yet.

hahaha i noticed that too ha.

It's hard to predict how this match will go. With all the stuff going on behind the scenes in Meath it's hard to know what way they'll perform. McGeeney said there's a chance Daryl Flynn will be back for it which would be great even though Doyle did brilliantly today.
Hopefully Rob Kelly will be fit by then too and maybe Conway might even make an appearance, all going well in the mean time.
Looking forward to it already! Up the Lilies!
Post by: thejuice on May 23, 2011, 03:35:42 AM
The lads on the Sunday game were licking their lips at the prospect of us falling flat on our faces two weeks before the game. Not so subtle hints about Banty getting turfed out included. Nice one lads. Players and management take note. stick a transcript on the dressing room wall.
Post by: agorm on May 23, 2011, 07:57:03 AM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on May 22, 2011, 07:22:35 PM
Meath's to lose..
Tongue in cheek I think.

Head definitely says Kildare. Heart says Meath.
I think Meath will show more heart and fight than in last years encounter. However, our defence has not shown that they are capable of holding the kildare forwards. Recent challenges indicate that we might have turned a coorned.

Kildare by 4 points.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on May 23, 2011, 08:02:25 AM
Quote from: thejuice on May 23, 2011, 03:35:42 AM
The lads on the Sunday game were licking their lips at the prospect of us falling flat on our faces two weeks before the game. Not so subtle hints about Banty getting turfed out included. Nice one lads. Players and management take note. stick a transcript on the dressing room wall.

That eejit McStay said last night that Wicklow had better forwards than Kildare!

The last time he ran down the Kildare forwards they went out and kicked 2-17 against Meath.
Post by: Dinny Breen on May 23, 2011, 08:15:49 AM
QuoteThat eejit McStay said last night that Wicklow had better forwards than Kildare!

Did he really? What an eejit is right, only Glynn would get an automatic selection on the Kildare team, these guys live in stereo-type country and haven't an opinion worth listening too.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on May 23, 2011, 08:22:24 AM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on May 23, 2011, 08:15:49 AM
QuoteThat eejit McStay said last night that Wicklow had better forwards than Kildare!

Did he really? What an eejit is right, only Glynn would get an automatic selection on the Kildare team, these guys live in stereo-type country and haven't an opinion worth listening too.

http://www.rte.ie/sport/gaa/championship/mediaplayer.html?features,2963117,2963117,flash,255 (http://www.rte.ie/sport/gaa/championship/mediaplayer.html?features,2963117,2963117,flash,255)

1:06:00

What a clown!
Post by: Dinny Breen on May 23, 2011, 08:39:01 AM
In fairness I know where he's coming he just suffers from verbal diarrhea, what the tool was trying to see was on the day, Glynn, Furlong and O'Malley looked a good full forward line compared to an off-form Smith and an inexperienced O'Connor however as the game transpired O'Connor was the best ball winner on the paddock and Smith the top scorer from play. So on paper what looked a threat from Wicklow was easily nullified by Kildare's use of sweeper whereas the Kildare forwards found ample space but were poor in their execution not helped by conditions but had the beating of their man every time and on the bigger pitch in Croker Park with a returning Rob Kelly, Kavanagh and Doyle to the forwards expect Kildare to be a lot sharper than the more natuarally gifted Meath forwards *

* expect the more natuarally gifted Meath forwards cliche to be rolled out a few times in the next couple of weeks.

Post by: Jinxy on May 23, 2011, 09:05:21 AM
That's not a cliche.
Our forwards are more naturally gifted.
They're also more naturally slow.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on May 23, 2011, 11:14:08 AM
Mikey Conway came through a full match for Nurney at the weekend. McGeeney didn't name him yesterday because I think that would have ruled him out of playing for the Juniors midweek. He might be back in action for the Seniors sooner than I'd anticipated anyway.

Be interesting to see if Rob Kelly is recovered in time because he had a great match in the corresponding league fixture. It'll be hard to drop O'Connor though. One if not two of Roli, Paudie and Flaherty óg will probably be dropped the next day. Leper will definitely come in if he's fit and Jimmers will probably start too. If Daryl Flynn is back in midfield which seems likely than JD should revert to the half-forwards. We could see a forward line of:

Callaghan           O'Neill or O'Flaherty               Doyle
Smith                O'Connor or Kelly                  Kavanagh

They should put up a bigger score but they'll have to because we won't confine the likes of Big Joe and the Longford Maor Uisce Fine Gaeler Graham Geraghty to 0-05.
Post by: DB_An_Mhi on May 23, 2011, 02:09:01 PM
Latest News: Without his two Meath selectors, Banty has introduced a new structure to the set up. "Banty's Championship Mission" or BCM for short.

He sent his head honcho (wet between the ears) out to recruit a new sweeper!

(http://www.london-se1.co.uk/news/images/041112_unicorn3.jpg)
Post by: Lily4life on May 24, 2011, 11:21:24 PM
If Eoghan O'Flaherty was carrying a knock and is fully fit by the Meath match I doubt he'll be dropped.
Personally I thought Sweeney and O'Neill weren't up to scratch on Sunday.
I'd have Kavanagh and Kelly (if fit) on ahead of them. I'd say the backs will be the same for the Meath match.
For the forwards I'd pick :
Kavanagh, E O'Flaherty, Callaghan,
Smith, O'Connor, Doyle (if he's needed at midfield then Kelly if he's fit).
Post by: Jinxy on May 25, 2011, 10:19:32 AM
Geezer sounds nervous.

'The most interesting comments over the weekend may have come from Kildare manager Kieran McGeeney when asked about Geraghty's return and Meath's apparent state of crisis after the Lilywhites' victory over Wicklow.

"What you'd think would galvanise (a camp) doesn't; what you think wouldn't, can," McGeeney reflected.'

http://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-football/royals-rift-raises-stakes-for-banty-2655118.html (http://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-football/royals-rift-raises-stakes-for-banty-2655118.html)
Post by: DB_An_Mhi on May 25, 2011, 11:07:46 AM
County board insisting on two new selectors from Meath, so this story has some way to run. All this reminds me of the unwanted publicity after the Louth game in the run up to the last Kildare one. Far better if the players had a quiet build up to the rematch.
Post by: Jinxy on May 25, 2011, 04:30:58 PM
More good news, Harrington is out.
We'll have a plague of toads next.
http://www.hoganstand.com/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=148526 (http://www.hoganstand.com/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=148526)

Post by: Donnellys Hollow on May 25, 2011, 10:29:46 PM
Mikey Conway played an hour for the Juniors tonight against Louth and ran the show by all accounts. We won by 9 points in the end I think. Darroch Mulhall and Ollie Lyons kicked the Kildare goals.
Post by: Orangemac on May 26, 2011, 12:15:46 AM
Quote from: Jinxy on May 25, 2011, 10:19:32 AM
Geezer sounds nervous.

'The most interesting comments over the weekend may have come from Kildare manager Kieran McGeeney when asked about Geraghty's return and Meath's apparent state of crisis after the Lilywhites' victory over Wicklow.

"What you'd think would galvanise (a camp) doesn't; what you think wouldn't, can," McGeeney reflected.'

http://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-football/royals-rift-raises-stakes-for-banty-2655118.html (http://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-football/royals-rift-raises-stakes-for-banty-2655118.html)
(http://i1216.photobucket.com/albums/dd378/GMcK76/Yoda.jpg)

" Too many wides we must not have"

Post by: Lily4life on May 27, 2011, 03:04:21 PM
Yea it was great to see Conway back playing for Kildare again. He could get a run at centre forward for the seniors. I doubt he'll start against Meath but could come on as a sub. Ciaran Fitzpatrick was impressive in the backs too.
Post by: Jinxy on May 27, 2011, 03:53:58 PM
There's a rumour that Kit Henry and Dudley Farrell are the replacement selectors.
Post by: mattockranger on May 27, 2011, 05:28:32 PM

2 points i'd like to make

1. on Kit and Dudley seems obvious candidates bum chums and slot in no problem cause they've no interest in ever managing the county outright Kit had Banty down with us last year so thats where i see the connection but expect Brian in the corner alan on the panel...and kit to look bemused on the line! perfect for banty two lads keep stum and look pretty and pick up the mileage 

and 2. I wouldn't take too much out of Mikeys performance that was an average Louth junior Outfit slung together

that is all
Post by: Jinxy on May 27, 2011, 05:35:06 PM
Quote from: mattockranger on May 27, 2011, 05:28:32 PM

2 points i'd like to make

1. on Kit and Dudley seems obvious candidates bum chums and slot in no problem cause they've no interest in ever managing the county outright Kit had Banty down with us last year so thats where i see the connection but expect Brian in the corner alan on the panel...and kit to look bemused on the line! perfect for banty two lads keep stum and look pretty and pick up the mileage 

and 2. I wouldn't take too much out of Mikeys performance that was an average Louth junior Outfit slung together

that is all

:-\

Post by: mattockranger on May 27, 2011, 05:39:19 PM

lets just put it this way.....the two boys won't upset the apple cart

Banty grimley and Mcelkennon will have full control
Post by: Jinxy on May 27, 2011, 05:54:10 PM
Our apple cart is upset enough as it is.

Post by: squire_in_navy_slacks on May 27, 2011, 07:41:24 PM
lads the selectors wont be lining out, im sure the meath lads have enough pride there to go out and put in a performance .............. kildare weren't on fire against wicklow
Post by: Jinxy on May 27, 2011, 09:57:54 PM
We're going to get a hammering.  :-[
Post by: Jinxy on May 29, 2011, 02:03:25 PM
I think we can rule out Dudley as a selector.

Would it be enough, though? For the first time in their history Meath will field a championship team with no Meathman running the line and, for some, it is too much. "You have to have a passion for a county," says Dudley Farrell, father of Brian and a selector under Colm Coyle. "How can you have a passion for Monaghan or Kildare one year and a passion for Meath the next? You can't turn a tap on and create it. When they sold this package we were told they'd bring Meath to a new level. Well, they certainly did that. They brought it to an all-time low."

Whatever ability Geraghty retains, Farrell argues, the benefits of his return won't compensate for the damage done and that, he feels, is the consensus view. "People are annoyed. I've been involved in Meath football for many years. How's Eamonn O'Brien feeling now? Banty winning a Leinster this year won't be good enough. I don't think he's thought things out too well. He's got a three-year term but in my opinion he hasn't a snowball's chance in hell of seeing out the year."

http://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-football/strangers-tale-turns-surreal-2660624.html (http://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-football/strangers-tale-turns-surreal-2660624.html)

Post by: thejuice on May 29, 2011, 02:57:54 PM
I'm going to wait till we've played a championship match. It's not like we never had a bad league before. We hardly gave O'Brien a fair chance after 2 years now lets not throw Banty under the bus before he got started.

It's just a gut feeling but I'm expecting a much stronger performance than we've previously seen from this team this year.
Post by: Hardy on May 29, 2011, 03:12:21 PM
Good man Dudley.
Post by: Jinxy on May 30, 2011, 10:09:21 AM
Something is seriously wrong when the Mayo-London game thread is 31 pages long and the Meath-Kildare thread is only 3 pages long.
The championship proper starts next Sunday.
It's all been belly ticklin up to now.
Post by: DB_An_Mhi on May 30, 2011, 10:43:41 AM
It's not the same without some pre-match banter to get the pulses racing.
Post by: DB_An_Mhi on May 30, 2011, 10:57:06 AM
(http://images.wikia.com/hanna-barbera/images/1/12/WackyRacesAntHill_Mob.jpg)

WANTED: Clyde McGeeney and his Bandits - They are planning to outdo our heist of the Delaney cup.
Post by: Jinxy on May 30, 2011, 10:58:22 AM
If we beat Kildare it'll be the greatest miracle since the son of God turned a load of loaves and fish into wine.
Post by: Jinxy on May 30, 2011, 10:59:12 AM
p.s. I hate Kildare.  >:(
Post by: Jinxy on May 30, 2011, 11:02:48 AM
Give it to Jody!  :D
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=58hWCdmjS1s&feature=related (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=58hWCdmjS1s&feature=related)
Post by: Hardy on May 30, 2011, 11:35:57 AM
Banty and Geezer put past differences behind them.

(http://i648.photobucket.com/albums/uu206/Hardyarse/bantygeezer.png)
Post by: Dinny Breen on May 30, 2011, 12:04:36 PM
Jaysus is there a more hateful county than Meath, I sooner be stuck in a lift with the Liverpool and Man United kids screaming we have more leagues titles we have more European Cups ad nauseum  than watch Meath win a football match.

It really is a question of class

(http://betting.betfair.com/horse-racing/Curragh%20Stands2.jpg)

Kildare

(http://www.goireland.com/photos/43701_43800/city-north-hotel-within-walking-distance-1-43778.jpg)

Meath
Post by: Hardy on May 30, 2011, 12:25:29 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on May 30, 2011, 12:04:36 PM
It really is a question of class

Spot on.

ALL IRELAND SENIOR FOOTBALL CHAMPIONSHIP
MEATH (7) - 1949, 1954, 1967, 1987, 1988, 1996, 1999.
KILDARE (4) - 1905, 1919, 1927, 1928. 
(1928 is not a misprint).

LEINSTER SENIOR FOOTBALL CHAMPIONSHIP
MEATH (20) - 1895, 1939, 1940, 1947, 1949, 1951, 1952, 1954, 1964, 1966, 1967, 1970, 1986, 1987, 1988, 1990, 1991, 1996, 1999, 2001
KLDARE (13) - 1903, 1905, 1919, 1926, 1927, 1928, 1929, 1930, 1931, 1935, 1956, 1998, 2000
(All won, in fairness, without the assistance of a single horse. I don't know about jockeys.)
Post by: Jinxy on May 30, 2011, 12:32:16 PM
Typical flourbags tugging their forelocks.
Any excuse to play with their horses.
(http://3.bp.blogspot.com/-9FQeao1aJXY/TdXBhv5YxqI/AAAAAAAAMI4/e14VLmaDaWM/s1600/queen+white+horse.jpg)

Post by: Dinny Breen on May 30, 2011, 12:36:23 PM
(http://img.rasset.ie/000390c1-674.jpg)

A touch of class!!

v

(http://jonoclifford.files.wordpress.com/2010/07/meath-goal.jpg)

A touch of no class!
Post by: Dinny Breen on May 30, 2011, 12:39:00 PM
This man came to Kildare looking for spiritual advice off Geezer

(http://www.demotix.com/sites/default/files/imagecache/large_652x488_scaled/photos/Dalai-Lama-begins-his-two-day-trip-Ireland-Kildare_657505.jpg)
Post by: Jinxy on May 30, 2011, 12:48:11 PM
Ye might have the horses, but we have the jockeys.
(http://images.sportinglife.com/09/06/330/johnny-murtagh_2319070.jpg)
(http://static.guim.co.uk/sys-images/Sport/Pix/pictures/2010/11/20/1290262712092/Barry-Geraghty-on-Daves-D-006.jpg)
(http://i.dailymail.co.uk/i/pix/2009/03/10/article-1160944-03D152AF000005DC-369_468x509.jpg)
Post by: DB_An_Mhi on May 30, 2011, 12:54:12 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on May 30, 2011, 10:58:22 AM
If we beat Kildare it'll be the greatest miracle since the son of God turned a load of loaves and fish into wine.
Water into wine ;)

Now can Paddy O'Rourke turn chances into goals or maybe a team talk with St. Jude would be more fruitful.
Post by: DB_An_Mhi on May 30, 2011, 01:12:08 PM
Mr Ed's response on hearing of McGeeneys plan to bring silverware to Cill Dara.

(http://aforgottenman.files.wordpress.com/2010/07/mred7vj1.jpg?w=279&h=350)
Post by: Jinxy on May 30, 2011, 02:27:46 PM
I wonder what Seán Brady thinks.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on May 30, 2011, 02:54:54 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on May 30, 2011, 12:48:11 PM
Ye might have the horses, but we have the jockeys.

Ah here....

(http://imagebank.ipcmedia.com/imageBank/atk/E19066EE-D39E-4D37-A13D-35514F005B40.jpg)
(http://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/multimedia/dynamic/00525/Irish_News_10-1_jpg_525221t.jpg)
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on May 30, 2011, 02:57:40 PM
This should get the Meath lads going:

(http://www.sportsfile.com/winshare/watermarked-b/Library/SF4/004018.jpg)
Post by: Dinny Breen on May 30, 2011, 03:17:07 PM
My favourite Kildare goal against Meath

(http://www.sportsfile.com/winshare/watermarked-b/Library/SF7/007806.jpg)
Post by: Jinxy on May 30, 2011, 03:32:16 PM
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on May 30, 2011, 02:57:40 PM
This should get the Meath lads going:

(http://www.sportsfile.com/winshare/watermarked-b/Library/SF4/004018.jpg)

(http://4.bp.blogspot.com/_3KKq5dis8yA/TIp3RJ7j-pI/AAAAAAAAArs/GwudVb9ic1I/s1600/angry+mob.jpg)

>:( >:(

Post by: DB_An_Mhi on May 30, 2011, 04:19:57 PM
(http://news.bbcimg.co.uk/media/images/51201000/jpg/_51201582_untitled-1.jpg)

Lillies be afraid, be very afraid ... We have got ourselves an ace marksman for Sunday.
Post by: squire_in_navy_slacks on May 30, 2011, 05:00:00 PM
jayo will never declare for meath, never I say ...............................
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on May 31, 2011, 11:23:18 AM
Daryl Flynn out....

Doyler to continue in midfield??

:-\
Post by: Jinxy on May 31, 2011, 11:25:51 AM
Is Flynn definitely out?
I don't trust Geezer and his mind games.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on May 31, 2011, 11:28:51 AM
http://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-football/doyle-to-continue-in-kildare-engine-room-as-flynn-ruled-out-2661503.html (http://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-football/doyle-to-continue-in-kildare-engine-room-as-flynn-ruled-out-2661503.html)
Post by: Jinxy on May 31, 2011, 01:56:45 PM
More jedi mind-tricks from Geezer.
He thinks it's great that Graham is back.
I bet he does the sly hoor.  >:(
http://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-football/mcgeeney-backs-meath-decision-to-recall-geraghty-ahead-of-showdown-2661615.html (http://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-football/mcgeeney-backs-meath-decision-to-recall-geraghty-ahead-of-showdown-2661615.html)
Post by: squire_in_navy_slacks on May 31, 2011, 02:10:14 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on May 31, 2011, 01:56:45 PM
http://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-football/mcgeeney-backs-meath-decision-to-recall-geraghty-ahead-of-showdown-2661615.html (http://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-football/mcgeeney-backs-meath-decision-to-recall-geraghty-ahead-of-showdown-2661615.html)

I wouldnt be suprised if geezer pulled a pair of shorts on on sunday too, such is his luv for the "boys", every time I here him talking about kildare, these boys, those boys, that boy johnny, hes my boy............ ::) im gonna get a hernia
Post by: Orior on May 31, 2011, 02:12:28 PM
Orior's great granddaddy emmigrated from Meath in the late 19th century, so unfortunately I'll have to put my substantial weight behind the Royals. Having said that, I hate them. C'mon the geezer and the flourbags!
Post by: Jinxy on May 31, 2011, 02:15:42 PM
I have to say, I'm very disappointed in the Armagh brethren.
Is it too late to get the Tyrone lads on side?
Post by: orchard 8195 on May 31, 2011, 02:18:40 PM
Unless Banty recalls Giles i cant see past a Kildare win.
Post by: Jinxy on May 31, 2011, 02:27:38 PM
Quote from: hardstation on May 31, 2011, 02:17:42 PM
Kildare should hammer them tbh. In saying that, they should have hammered Louth last year and were bate.

Kildare by 8+

You mind yer own business.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on May 31, 2011, 02:49:44 PM
Quote from: squire_in_navy_slacks on May 31, 2011, 02:10:14 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on May 31, 2011, 01:56:45 PM

I wouldnt be suprised if geezer pulled a pair of shorts on on sunday too, such is his luv for the "boys", every time I here him talking about kildare, these boys, those boys, that boy johnny, hes my boy............ ::) im gonna get a hernia

You sound a bit jealous
Post by: Fuzzman on May 31, 2011, 03:02:31 PM
What's Kildare's Full back line like as I'd say they're in for an evening of high balls into the edge of the square.

I think Meath are far from being a well oiled machine but they are still a HUGE big team and they tend to win a lot of ball around MF.

I would say McGeeney will flood the middle third and it could be a very scrappy game with Kildare having that bit of extra class to carry them through.

Kildare by 12+ :o
Post by: Jinxy on May 31, 2011, 03:05:12 PM
What do nordies know about football anyway.
Post by: seafoid on May 31, 2011, 03:14:55 PM
Neither of the modern day versions of Kildare and Meath were able to beat Galway in an all-Ireland final.
And Leinster teams used to just have to turn up to beat whoever made it out of Connacht, the craythurs.
I preferred beating Meath TBH. That 2001 performance was magic. 
Post by: Dinny Breen on May 31, 2011, 04:00:45 PM
Stop this tipping Kildare shite.

Meath will win and win handy.

It's funny listening to the auld Meath media pundits, they just hate the thoughts of Meath getting beat by the likes of Kildare, Offaly or Laois.
Post by: thejuice on May 31, 2011, 04:11:38 PM
Does a decade old count as modern in Galway?

I don't think we'll be hammered by any means. These lads shouldn't need much motivating and they haven't forgotten how to play the game.

I reckon we'll have the two O'Rourkes up front with Joe underneath, while a small, faster half forward line of Reilly, Farrell and Queeny/Gilsenan/Byrne behind them. That could work, with Paddy O'Rourke moving back to the middle if need be.
Post by: thejuice on May 31, 2011, 04:16:29 PM
Oh wait, sorry what I meant to say was

Yerra, Kildare only need to show up and they'll win this handy. Yerra.
Post by: Jinxy on May 31, 2011, 04:21:15 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on May 31, 2011, 04:00:45 PM

It's funny listening to the auld Meath media pundits, they just hate the thoughts of Meath getting beat by the likes of Kildare, Offaly or Laois.

I didn't begrudge Offaly their wins against us in '97 and 2000.
Sound bunch.
Post by: Dinny Breen on May 31, 2011, 04:46:29 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on May 31, 2011, 04:21:15 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on May 31, 2011, 04:00:45 PM

I didn't begrudge Offaly their wins against us in '97 and 2000.
Sound bunch.

In fairness Meath supporters are always magnanimous in defeat and in victory but listening to Flynn, Hayes and to a lesser extent O'Rourke they can't fathom that football has move on from their era when there was only 2 contenders in Leinster, one more than there is now some would say but standards across the province have risen, slowly somewhat but Kildare, Meath, Laois, Westmeath, Louth and Wexford would be confident playing each other and to a lesser extent  Longford and Offaly wouldn't exactly be trembling in their boots at the prospect of playing a Kildare or a Meath.

So in a nutshell can the pundits please stop analyzing based on GAA stereotypes and history (Eugene McGee being the worst).
Post by: squire_in_navy_slacks on May 31, 2011, 04:46:49 PM
Playing dublin in a leinster semi should be enough motivation for the royal county to beat kildare..............................  ;)
Post by: thejuice on May 31, 2011, 05:00:42 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on May 31, 2011, 04:46:29 PM
So in a nutshell can the pundits please stop analyzing based on GAA stereotypes and history (Eugene McGee being the worst).

Yeah, I definitely agree with that. This whole thing about Meath having a never say die attitude as if it was something in the water here is hard to listen to. That all ended once Boylan left or perhaps once John McDermott retired.

We haven't been the same since and the old "myths and traditions" went with them. Football is played completely different now from them days. Some also contribute that also to the switching of the county championship from a knock out to a league format.
Post by: Jinxy on May 31, 2011, 05:02:56 PM
We badly need a few ignorant f*ckers on our team.
Post by: squire_in_navy_slacks on May 31, 2011, 05:16:00 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on May 31, 2011, 05:02:56 PM

reilly...................................
Post by: spuds on June 01, 2011, 04:17:18 AM
Quote from: Jinxy on May 31, 2011, 05:02:56 PM

jaysus has half the county emigrated ?

Post by: meathie on June 01, 2011, 09:58:02 AM
Meath Team V Kildare on Sunday
Brendan Murphy;
Gary O'Brien,
Kevin Reilly,
Shane McAnarney;
...Seamus Kenny,
Bryan Menton,
Ciaran Lenehan;
Nigel crawford,
Brian Meade;
Jamie Queeney,
Shane O'Rourke,
Graham Reilly;
Stephen Bray,
Joe Sheridan,
Cian Ward.

no King? no Ward thank god. not too bad but had Harrington and McGuinness been in there it would look alot stronger...
Post by: Hardy on June 01, 2011, 10:07:23 AM
That's it? Two changes in the half back line from last year's championship and some shifting around of the rest of the familiar faces.
Post by: Jinxy on June 01, 2011, 11:28:01 AM
Two debutants in the backline is fine with me Hardy.
The forward line wasn't really the problem but I'm glad to see that we're not playing a defensive half-forward line.
Glad to see Kenny back at wing-back.
I think that's a handy team, it's just a pity Harrington is out.
I'd have had Farrell ahead of Wardy in the corner though.
Post by: meathie on June 01, 2011, 11:58:31 AM
yes Ward is not having the best year. Id say he'll be watched very closely on Sunday and will be the first substituted if anything goes wrong. on saying that he does love Crokers so hopefully he'll find the form.
Post by: lynchbhoy on June 01, 2011, 01:52:13 PM
defence must be good if Harrington and mcguinness are left out.
Dont like shane orourke full stop.
Queeney better in FF line - maybe direct swap with big Joe...or Joe moving into CHF.

Anyhow, no point in them turning up, bookies favourites kildare are going to romp home - have the bookies stopped taking bets on the flourbags yet ?
Meath just have to hope that Kildare get way too complacent and maybe get a few lads sent off , then they will be in with a chance of a draw and a replay !!!
Post by: DB_An_Mhi on June 01, 2011, 01:57:50 PM
Harrington injured and McGuinness has left the panel.

I think Queeney can help out the midfield, while giving us the luxury of three half-forwards this year. Leave Joe closer to goal, we will need a few of them on Sunday.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on June 01, 2011, 05:43:13 PM
For all their off field problems, that's a strong Meath team. They'll have the edge over Kildare around the middle due to Earley and Flynn's absence. I'd hope that Kildare will still have the legs on them but they do seem to have injected a bit of pace since last August. That Menton lad was particularly impressive in Newbridge in March. Is Mickey Newman on the panel at all? He looked a fine player for Maynooth in the Sigerson.
Post by: Dinny Breen on June 01, 2011, 05:50:10 PM
Would be worried by Graham Reilly and Stephen Bray, they're very good on the ball and will draw fouls so it will be important that we keep our discipline and keep the pace of the game high. I think this game could be a shoot-out and the key will be midfield which is a major worry but expect Kildare to break every ball in midfield, no team apart from Down last season could match Kildare for winning breaking ball so if we maintain that standard I'd be confident of a win, if we don't I think Meath will win.

Any word on the Kildare team?
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on June 01, 2011, 06:02:41 PM
Presume the six backs will be the same but if Leper is back in the forwards he might drop Flanagan and name Morgan at wing-back. I'd say Kavanagh will come in as well. I'd start Rob Kelly and keep O'Connor as a Plan B on the bench but it's doubtful given how well he played against Wicklow. I just have a feeling that he's the kind of player that will suit Kevin Reilly.

I can see the logic in playing Johnny midfield. When Flynn went off injured against Down and Roli went to midfield we were completely outran through the middle. Lynch isn't the paciest or most mobile whereas Johnny has both these attributes in abundance. I think McGeeney doesn't want to pair Lynch with a player like Roli, Paudie or O'Connor because they're all too similar. It would be a big ask for someone like Brophy, Moolick or Hurley to fill in and Davy Whyte seems to have slipped down the pecking order. Mick Foley would be the perfect solution but he's needed in the backs with Peter Kelly out. Playing Johnny at midfield does blunt our attack somewhat. The rest of the Kildare forwards are going to have to produce a big performance on Sunday - Kavanagh, Smith and Eoghan O'Flaherty in particular. The worry is that none of that trio have been in form this season so far. Smith did look like he was regaining confidence against Wicklow though.
Post by: Jinxy on June 01, 2011, 06:05:09 PM
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on June 01, 2011, 05:43:13 PM
For all their off field problems, that's a strong Meath team. They'll have the edge over Kildare around the middle due to Earley and Flynn's absence. I'd hope that Kildare will still have the legs on them but they do seem to have injected a bit of pace since last August. That Menton lad was particularly impressive in Newbridge in March. Is Mickey Newman on the panel at all? He looked a fine player for Maynooth in the Sigerson.

I think he did his cruciate in a club game a couple of months back.
Post by: Lily4life on June 01, 2011, 06:22:43 PM
I'd say the backs and midfield will be the same.
I'd be surprised if O'Connor doesn't start for us against Meath. Him and Smith played very well together so I'd leave them together in the full forward line.
The other 4 I'd go with Eoghan Flats, Leper, Kavanagh and either Morgan Flats or Flanagan depending on which they decide to start in the backs.
Looking forward to it now. Come on the Lilies!!
Post by: DB_An_Mhi on June 01, 2011, 06:39:59 PM
Geezer's latest ploy to try and intimidate Banty.

(http://www.footballiscominghome.info/wp-content/uploads/2009/11/all-white-haka.jpg)

Lillies learn the Haka!
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on June 01, 2011, 06:42:20 PM
Quote from: Lily4life on June 01, 2011, 06:22:43 PM
I'd say the backs and midfield will be the same.
I'd be surprised if O'Connor doesn't start for us against Meath. Him and Smith played very well together so I'd leave them together in the full forward line.
The other 4 I'd go with Eoghan Flats, Leper, Kavanagh and either Morgan Flats or Flanagan depending on which they decide to start in the backs.
Looking forward to it now. Come on the Lilies!!

I can't see both Sweeney and O'Neill missing out. McGeeney likes one or tother in there as a workhorse/ball-winner. Rumours that Roli picked up a knock in training last night though. I think Leper's return negates the need to name Morgan at right-half forward. Flanagan will be lucky if he retains his place.

Connolly
McLoughlin  Foley  McGrillen
M Flaherty  White  Bolton
Doyle  Lynch
Callaghan  O'Neill  E Flaherty
Smith  O'Connor  Kavanagh

I'd personally have Rob Kelly in there but I think he'll go with something along those lines. Roli might sneak in ahead of either Paudie or Eoghan O'Flaherty if he's fully fit. I'd be reluctant to drop O'Flaherty because he's a good scorer who should relish the open spaces of Croke Park. Playing at tight grounds like Newbridge on winter ground during the league didn't really suit his game.

Team that started the corresponding fixture last August - McCormack, Kelly, McGrillen, McLoughlin, M Flaherty, Bolton, Flanagan, Earley (Lynch), Flynn, Kavanagh, O'Neill, E Flaherty, Doyle, Smith, Callaghan. I'm not sure we're anyway stronger. Kelly and Flynn are big losses and some key players like Kavanagh aren't in the same kind of form. Connolly and Chalky are two solid additions to the team. It'll be interesting to see have Meath improved under McEnaney and Grimley.
Post by: agorm on June 01, 2011, 07:04:57 PM
I am happy enough with the Meath team as selected considering he has lost McGuinness and Harrington in recent days. I didnt disagree with Banty bringing bak Geraghty and he used to always have the potential to do something special on a big day. However I am shocked that he didnt consult with his two fellow selectors Harnan & Callaghan and if it is true that nobody looked at Geraghty playing thenBanty is rightly skating on very thin ice.

Cian Ward is not there based on this years performances but he i so deadly from the placed ball I understand why he picked him.

Sticking the neck out I believe it wil be much closer than people are saying and I go for a draw.
Post by: Jinxy on June 01, 2011, 07:39:29 PM
Quote from: agorm on June 01, 2011, 07:04:57 PM
I am happy enough with the Meath team as selected considering he has lost McGuinness and Harrington in recent days. I didnt disagree with Banty bringing bak Geraghty and he used to always have the potential to do something special on a big day. However I am shocked that he didnt consult with his two fellow selectors Harnan & Callaghan and if it is true that nobody looked at Geraghty playing thenBanty is rightly skating on very thin ice.

Cian Ward is not there based on this years performances but he i so deadly from the placed ball I understand why he picked him.

Sticking the neck out I believe it wil be much closer than people are saying and I go for a draw.

I don't think he's that deadly from placed balls really.
The fact that he can score from miles out leads people to overestimate his accuracy a bit.
Post by: thejuice on June 01, 2011, 08:47:58 PM
Don't think Wards free taking is good enough to warrant his inclusion. He was very good against Offaly last year but very hot and cold in the games after that. I'm sure some of the other lads could take that role. Reilly, Bray or Joe.
Post by: Dinny Breen on June 02, 2011, 12:18:31 PM
Kildare Team to face Meath

1)       Shane Connolly, St. Laurences
2)       Andriú MacLochlainn, Ellistown
3)       Michael Foley, Athy
4)       Hugh McGrillen, Celbridge
5)       Gary White, Sarsfields
6)       Brian Flanagan, Johnstownbridge
7)       Emmet Bolton, Eadestown
8)       Tomás O'Connor, Clane
9)       Hugh Lynch, Confey
10)   Morgan O'Flaherty, Carbury
11)   Eoghan O'Flaherty, Carbury
12)   Eamonn Callaghan, Naas
13)   Alan Smith, Sarsfields
14)   John Doyle, Allenwood
15)   James Kavanagh, Ballymore
Post by: lynchbhoy on June 02, 2011, 12:26:26 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on June 02, 2011, 12:18:31 PM
Kildare Team to face Meath

1)       Shane Connolly, St. Laurences
2)       Andriú MacLochlainn, Ellistown
3)       Michael Foley, Athy
4)       Hugh McGrillen, Celbridge
5)       Gary White, Sarsfields
6)       Brian Flanagan, Johnstownbridge
7)       Emmet Bolton, Eadestown
8)       Tomás O'Connor, Clane
9)       Hugh Lynch, Confey
10)   Morgan O'Flaherty, Carbury
11)   Eoghan O'Flaherty, Carbury
12)   Eamonn Callaghan, Naas
13)   Alan Smith, Sarsfields
14)   John Doyle, Allenwood
15)   James Kavanagh, Ballymore
glad to see the much maligned (by Kildare fans on here) Flanagan has been picked in his best position.
Very industrious half forward line with CHF a good attacker with imo Kavanagh dropping out there to help and leaving room inside for Doyle and Smith.
Maybe OConnor will alternate with Doyle, but imo (without knowing how good Oconnor actually is at mf) thats a decent balanced flourbag side.
Just to ask - was it FB Foley who came on against Derry in NFL and tried to act the hard man ? feckin eejit.
Flourbags by 17 points - an easy win for them. Sure all Kildare fans are talking about looking forward to the 'Leinster final ' already ! :)
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on June 02, 2011, 12:59:55 PM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on June 02, 2011, 12:26:26 PM
glad to see the much maligned (by Kildare fans on here) Flanagan has been picked in his best position.
Very industrious half forward line with CHF a good attacker with imo Kavanagh dropping out there to help and leaving room inside for Doyle and Smith.
Maybe OConnor will alternate with Doyle, but imo (without knowing how good Oconnor actually is at mf) thats a decent balanced flourbag side.

Sure he'll be switched with Morgan O'Flaherty before the throw in. Flanagan would be a fine player if they told him not to kick the ball - a bit like Seámus Scanlon with Kerry. Doyle won't stay inside. Kavanagh and Smith went to town on the Meath full-back line last year so presumably McGeeney is hoping history repeats itself. O'Connor will win plenty of ball alongside Lynch but it doesn't look like the most mobile pairing around. It wouldn't surprise me if we made another change or two before the throw in.

Quote from: lynchbhoy on June 02, 2011, 12:26:26 PM
Just to ask - was it FB Foley who came on against Derry in NFL and tried to act the hard man ? feckin eejit.

That would be the much maligned Andy McLoughlin!
Post by: Dinny Breen on June 02, 2011, 01:04:42 PM
Yea maybe those wannabe Meath feckers around Johnstown Bridge/Clogherinkoe are talking us up but us pure breeds down in South Kildare know our place in the footballing landscape....

The balance is good, not sure if it will line out like that. Plenty of groundhogs there as well to win breaking ball.

The much maligned Flanagan got plenty of praise 2 years ago but last year I thought he was too bulked up and not as quick as a result. His form wasn't as good but has improved this year I would still question his distribution though.

Post by: lynchbhoy on June 02, 2011, 01:06:03 PM
thanks DH - yep  Doyle will most likely be allowed the freedom to roam wherever he wants.
Seems to suit him too - he can do that or play as a ball winning hf or as a ball wnning lethal scoring FF/cf

as for Flan - well that description sounds like mcgeeney's ball playing ability also - maybe thats why mcgeeney likes him so much !!
Post by: lynchbhoy on June 02, 2011, 01:10:52 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on June 02, 2011, 01:04:42 PM
Yea maybe those wannabe Meath feckers around Johnstown Bridge/Clogherinkoe are talking us up but us pure breeds down in South Kildare know our place in the footballing landscape....

The balance is good, not sure if it will line out like that. Plenty of groundhogs there as well to win breaking ball.

The much maligned Flanagan got plenty of praise 2 years ago but last year I thought he was too bulked up and not as quick as a result. His form wasn't as good but has improved this year I would still question his distribution though.
...the same 'pure breeds' that when 'first' went to croker in 1991 were chanting 'socer style' in the cusack stand their own makey up Cil Dara version of soccer chants !
(they were from south Kildare, and in actual fact if the old memory is not completely gone - from Kildare town itself!!)
Most of the reall football regulars were taken about by these 'newcomers' !

anyhow, wannabe Meath is way better than wannabe carlow or laois !!!
;) :D

Flanagan does a chb properly. Not many of them kind of boys around these days! He's still no Peter Farrell though !  :D
Post by: Lily4life on June 02, 2011, 01:52:07 PM
Happy with that team named for us. Glad Leper and Kavanagh are back in the forwards. I'd imagine Doyle will start in the middle with Tomas O Connor playing in a 2 man full forward line with Smith. Then Leper, Kavanagh and Eoghan Flats in the half forwards with Morgan dropping back. It's a strong team anyway from 1-15. Can't wait for the match now!
Post by: regal on June 02, 2011, 04:19:44 PM
To Meath supporters - is the meath keeper (paddy o'rourke) likely to get a run out in the forwards at some stage? Would he have been close to starting the match?
Post by: Jinxy on June 02, 2011, 04:23:02 PM
I'd say Farrell, then Geraghty would be the first men on if we are struggling up front.
Paddy might see action as a back-up midfielder.
Post by: thejuice on June 02, 2011, 04:23:24 PM
Paddy has played outfield in a few leagues games I think and certainly has in challenge games. I wouldn't at all be surprised if he comes on as a forward on Sunday.
Post by: DB_An_Mhi on June 02, 2011, 05:06:27 PM
I wouldn't completely rule out the possibility of him starting, despite the team named yesterday. More shock and awe from the outset (in my book) than impact sub later on. But Banty has Meath supporters guessing every bit as much as he has Geezer.
Post by: rrhf on June 02, 2011, 07:15:44 PM
I like bantys style here.  I think he will be proven right and geraghty will prove his worth. Ultimately though as a tyrone man   I just want to get the chance to see tyrone beat a geraghty included meath team in croke park.  Time will tell if banty has given us a wondrous opportunity.   
Post by: Jinxy on June 02, 2011, 08:03:31 PM
Sure keep plugging away and you'll beat us eventually.
It's good to have goals.  ;D
Post by: ross matt on June 03, 2011, 11:32:37 AM
Excellent article on McGeeney and his relationship/training methods with Kildare players and media in todays Indo. In fairness I knew about the collective responsibility he instilled in them re fundraising etc but hadnt realised some of them physically did the work involved for gym fit out etc. Reflects well on their sacrifice and dedication and on McGeeneys ability to get that level of committment out of them.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on June 03, 2011, 12:58:18 PM
Quote from: ross matt on June 03, 2011, 11:32:37 AM
Excellent article on McGeeney and his relationship/training methods with Kildare players and media in todays Indo. In fairness I knew about the collective responsibility he instilled in them re fundraising etc but hadnt realised some of them physically did the work involved for gym fit out etc. Reflects well on their sacrifice and dedication and on McGeeneys ability to get that level of committment out of them.

http://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-football/mcgeeneys-circle-of-trust-2665233.html (http://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-football/mcgeeneys-circle-of-trust-2665233.html)

McGeeney's circle of trust
Kildare boss may have alienated some locals with his 'win-at-all-costs' attitude, but his players seem 100 per cent behind him, writes Christy O'Connor

By Christy O'Connor
Friday June 03 2011

Nine days before last month's championship match against Wicklow, Kildare played Armagh in a challenge game at the Kildare training centre in Hawkfield.

The match was played behind closed doors, but the security cordon at the gate was so tight that it was jokingly referred to as being like Checkpoint Charlie on the old Berlin Wall.

A section of the local media, the fathers of two players and about 25 supporters felt the chill winds of the policy. One die-hard fan, who was already parked inside, was asked to leave because he had waited in Newbridge and followed the Armagh bus directly through the gates as his means of camouflage. For a finish, the group traversed a field at the back of the ground to sneak in behind one of the goals to catch some snapshots of the action.

Reporting on the events in their next edition, the 'Kildare Nationalist' described the treatment of some of the "county's most loyal supporters" as "disgraceful." The fact that the group included Club

Kildare members was held up as

"another example of how this squad of players is being detached from the rest of the county."

In conclusion, the episode was deemed to have "marked a low point in relations between the county team and those who back them."

Kieran McGeeney and his management team, though, had a different take on events. They claimed that it was Armagh who requested the game to be played behind closed doors, even though it was obvious that Kildare were trying out Johnny Doyle at midfield, word of which subsequently leaked out.

They also privately claimed that they only 'close' about five sessions a year, in an attempt to try out different systems and formations, especially coming up to the championship -- and that that is their right and nobody else's business, including Club Kildare members.

DEFENCE

In a further defence on that point, management say that they and the players have always enjoyed a healthy relationship with key members of the supporters club, Pat Mangan and June Kelly.

There's no doubt though, that McGeeney has been fighting a PR battle in the county recently. After being blamed in March for the resignation of former Kildare county board chairman Padraig Ashe -- over an issue related to club fixtures -- McGeeney colourfully claimed that he gets blamed for everything from "the Famine to Fianna Fáil."

Although this Kildare team have now generated a huge support base, the Kildare Nationalist surmised that their "detachment" from the players is based on two beliefs: that the players don't engage with the supporters as much as they'd like, especially through the local media, and that the clubs have been seriously relegated in importance behind the county team.

In response to those accusations, McGeeney's thinking would be very clear. As a player, he never engaged with the media and public on the same level as other high profile figures. Although a manager has different responsibilities, McGeeney's form has remained consistent with that character, while his persona has been reflected through his players in their dealings with the media.

Although a county manager must have a duty towards the clubs, McGeeney's attitude as a player was always geared towards ensuring that nothing got in the way of winning an All-Ireland. Rightly or wrongly, that is still his mentality now as a manager.

Under the current training regime, it's nearly impossible for the clubs to have any claims on their players, especially when management made the decision after last year's championship to increase the intensity and amount of training sessions.

In effect, the players more or less train seven days a week now -- four football sessions and three other days split between gym work, speed work and core sessions. Whatever it takes. There have often been weeks when the squad have done eight collective sessions. For example, there was an optional forwards coaching session between 8.0 and 9.0 on a Friday morning, with 'optional' being a loose title.

Of course, that lends itself to antagonism with the clubs. It also breeds rumours. When the squad trained for five successive days in Johnstown House in Enfield, there was talk afterwards that players were not allowed to use their phones during their time there. It was untrue, but was just another by-product of the image McGeeney has always cultivated.

Because of his obsessive nature as a player, McGeeney often propagated that image as an austere, serious, dour individual. He never brought much levity to the Armagh dressing-room, but his captaincy was always hands-on and interventionist.

Creating an unbreakable bond within the Kildare squad has been one of McGeeney's greatest achievements, but it has also underlined his maturity as a manager and as a person.

In his first year in charge in 2008, McGeeney had kept his distance from the players, but he was advised to change his approach after the first round defeat by Wicklow.

Ever since, he has adopted the role he had performed so well as Armagh captain by engaging with players one-on-one. His immense value has really been felt outside the training ground.

Alan Smith, who was involved in an alleged assault in 2009, and who had a court case pending during last year's championship, described McGeeney last summer as being "like a second father."

The development of so many players is a testament to the quality of coaching, but McGeeney is always looking for that extra edge, never sitting still. On the day after Kildare lost the 2009 All-Ireland quarter-final to Tyrone, McGeeney rang the sports psychologist, Hugh Campbell, with a view to recruiting him for the 2010 season. Campbell is still on board.

Having such a professional set-up and intensive training schedule requires serious money, but the fundraising initiatives that the players regularly pursue have often been about more than just funding.

In McGeeney's first two seasons, the squad organised a charity white-collar boxing tournament, which built team-spirit and confidence and imbued the players with a sense of responsibility that had never previously existed.

Then in September 2009, McGeeney told the players that he wanted each of them to raise €3,000. The money was for a players' fund, a holiday to America and a new gym, but it was mostly about them taking more responsibility and developing their own personalities.

The players raised over €160,000, spent roughly €20,000 on new weights and equipment and turned the old press conference centre in the K Club into their own gym. The players laid the floor, did all the wiring and plumbing and fitted the entire place out themselves.

Over the last two seasons, they have taken jiu-jitsu -- a mix between martial arts and wrestling -- and kickboxing classes. Last November, McGeeney himself received his Blue Belt in jiu-jitsu in the presence of all his players.

McGeeney has hardened up their bodies and minds, but the transformation of Kildare's attack over the last four years has been the most vivid example of their progress. The team don't have the marquee forwards of other sides, but when they landed 18 points in the 2009 Leinster final, it was the joint-highest number of scores ever recorded from play in a provincial decider. In last year's championship, they averaged 1-16.

Kildare have still to win something significant under McGeeney (they did capture this year's O'Byrne Cup), but irrespective of whether this team ever win an All-Ireland, he has brought them to another level. And whether some within the county agree or disagree with his methods, McGeeney will feel justified by how far he has taken them.

- Christy O'Connor

Post by: Donnellys Hollow on June 03, 2011, 01:08:04 PM
If this Kildare team do fail, it certainly won't be through lack of effort. I've criticised McGeeney on a few occasions for some of his decisions/methods but in fairness to him, he's called it spot on most of the time. He resisted the calls to bring back Kevin O'Neill and was proved correct. When he has got it wrong he's been the first to hold his hands up and admit his mistakes - team selection and tactics v Wicklow in '08, taking off Paudie O'Neill v Louth last year.

He's developed a good panel in the last three and a bit years and the players would got through a brick wall for him. Kildare will be going in on Sunday without three of their key players - Dermot Earley (two time All Star), Daryl Flynn (their best player last year) & Peter Kelly (an All Star in his first season). It's four key players if you include Mikey Conway who hasn't played for Kildare in two years but may make an appearance at some stage against Meath. If we had been going into a match under Crofton or Nolan with that kind of injury list we wouldn't have a prayer. Sunday will be the acid test of how strong a panel McGeeney has actually developed since 2008.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on June 03, 2011, 03:09:17 PM
Eoghan O'Flaherty is now an injury doubt for Sunday  :(
Post by: Jinxy on June 04, 2011, 11:30:36 AM
There's something seriously wrong here.
It can't just be the recession because the combined population of the 4 counties involved is huge.
When Dublin play Meath or Kildare (no offence Laois folk) in the semi I'd expect a crowd of over 60,000 at least.
So why is the attendance going to be so low tomorrow?  ???
http://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-football/croke-park-doublebill-may-not-break-even-2666252.html (http://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-football/croke-park-doublebill-may-not-break-even-2666252.html)
Post by: DB_An_Mhi on June 04, 2011, 11:58:35 AM
Is it not usually the case that Dublin only start to attract really big crowds after their first match in the championship. When the season has begun in earnest and the hype starts to build up in the media and therefore attendance figures. Granted Dublin v Meath is the exception, but often where replays are concerned (in the past) the second game (replay) is a sellout, the first anything but.

The current economic situation doesn't help but if we are honest, Meath have a very poor support over more recent years considering our proximity to HQ. It is a case of quality (supporters) rather than quantity.
Post by: The Claw on June 04, 2011, 01:35:38 PM
Quote from: DB_An_Mhi on June 04, 2011, 11:58:35 AM
The current economic situation doesn't help but if we are honest, Meath have a very poor support over more recent years considering our proximity to HQ. It is a case of quality (supporters) rather than quantity.
Couldn''t agree more DB, Meath fans have a very poor record recently in attending games and it disappoints me. As you say though, those that do attend are good supporters.
Post by: Main Street on June 04, 2011, 02:03:11 PM
The hype over this match has overshadowed the support act.
I wish Seamus (where there is harmony, let me bring discord) McEnaney all the best in his first championship game for Meath.
Post by: Rossfan on June 04, 2011, 03:26:27 PM
Quote from: Main Street on June 04, 2011, 02:03:11 PM
Seamus (where there is harmony, let me bring discord) McEnaney

;D ;D ;D :D :D :D

Post by: Jinxy on June 04, 2011, 03:47:56 PM
Quote from: Main Street on June 04, 2011, 02:03:11 PM
The hype over this match has overshadowed the support act.
I wish Seamus (where there is harmony, let me bring discord) McEnaney all the best in his first championship game for Meath.

True.
It's not fair on the Dubs and Laois.
Post by: agorm on June 04, 2011, 09:15:07 PM
Very surprised that the ticket sales are so low.

However, because people know the game wont sellout many people leave it later & later to get tickets. I know a few people that say they are going but dont have tickets yet. The worry would be for GAA that because they havent got them yet that they would decide not to go at the last minute.

From a Meath point of view I am not surprised that they have low ticket sales. i have my own tickets but it is perfectly understandable as Banty's reign could be described as car crash management at best. One win in 9 competitive games or something like that & his alienation of management does not encourage people to go especially when the game is televised. Another side issue is that we have got crap tickets for the last few years - the family tickets are always in obscure parts of the stadium and the normal tickets we get are never near the centre. As a result I rarely get from the club lately.

I have also noticed that club championship games are just as expensive as during the boom. I suggested to our club chairman that club members should get  a reduction in championship games but he replied that the clubs need the money they get. I can see a drop in attendances at club games also - the problems facing people nationally is also there locally but the people running our games dont see it.

Anyway here's hoping for tomorrow. I think it will be close and wouldnt rule out extra time.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on June 04, 2011, 11:07:23 PM
Should be a good match tomorrow as it nearly always is when these two teams clash. I have a feeling we're going to struggle without our first choice midfield pairing and all the paper talk re McEnaney/Geraghty is bound to get a big reaction from the Meath lads. If we can get Johnny into the match then I'd be hopeful we'll edge home but if Meath put the shackles on him then Kildare are in trouble. Bring on the belly ticklin'!!!!

CILL DARA ABÚ
Post by: Hardy on June 04, 2011, 11:57:29 PM
I'm going, but only because I'm in Meath for the weekend. I wouldn't have travelled from Cork. The carry on over the last twelve months has sapped the enthusiasm that has illuminated and almost defined my summers since I was a kid. Until this year, I couldn't have imagined contemplating giving a miss to Meath's first outing in the championship. There's a feeling of a lack of honour in the whole enterprise. It's tawdry. What is McEnaney's purpose? Why does he want to be Meath manager? What is it all about? I'm sorry, but I can't get beyond these questions.

On the other hand, why am I apologising? What have I done to be sorry for? Whatever has happened to Meath football, and I haven't a clue what it is, it wasn't perpetrated by me or the people to whom it meant so much for decades.

What does it mean to McEnaney?
Post by: Blowitupref on June 05, 2011, 12:13:50 AM
Hardy, this time last year ye fired five goals past the Dubs to lift the spirits what's to say the same can't happen tomorrow?
Post by: DB_An_Mhi on June 05, 2011, 10:40:11 AM
Wet this morning down in Navan, what's it like in the capital?
Post by: Groucho on June 05, 2011, 10:45:57 AM
Quote from: DB_An_Mhi on June 05, 2011, 10:40:11 AM

Raining here in Armagh also ;)
Post by: CavanCola on June 05, 2011, 10:56:13 AM
overcast but dry round Dublin
Post by: DB_An_Mhi on June 05, 2011, 10:58:50 AM
Quote from: Groucho on June 05, 2011, 10:45:57 AM
Quote from: DB_An_Mhi on June 05, 2011, 10:40:11 AM

Raining here in Armagh also ;)
Would you lot not keep the rain up there for the afternoon, help the apples to grow.

Might have similar underfoot conditions to ye're opener; same result would do nicely.
Post by: Jinxy on June 05, 2011, 11:44:47 AM
Soft day lads.
I'm worried that'll suit Kildares big, slow mullockers.
Post by: Dinny Breen on June 05, 2011, 12:11:54 PM
Bob, I got a bad feeling on this one, all right? I mean I got a bad feeling!
Post by: Milltown Row2 on June 05, 2011, 12:19:27 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on June 05, 2011, 12:11:54 PM

Kildare by 5

Meath are desperate at the minute
Post by: Jinxy on June 05, 2011, 12:34:46 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on June 05, 2011, 12:11:54 PM

(http://i2.digiguide.tv/up/0803/1205614800-5395-Platoon-12048875690.jpg)

Post by: borderfox on June 05, 2011, 01:23:13 PM
 The wet day will suit Meath more and they'll win it with a backs against the wall display.
Expect to see Banty almost in tears at the end of the game describing about how hurt this group of players have been about written off. Meath by two.
Post by: Hoof Hearted on June 05, 2011, 02:33:43 PM
the posts could do with being on wheels for these 2 teams !
Post by: Shamrock Shore on June 05, 2011, 02:46:52 PM
Longforditis must be spreading! Kildare 10 wides in the first half is shocking!
Post by: Hoof Hearted on June 05, 2011, 03:10:29 PM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on June 05, 2011, 02:46:52 PM
Longforditis must be spreading! Kildare 10 wides in the first half is shocking!

they have got kerryitis now, 6 unanswered points there
Post by: maddog on June 05, 2011, 03:11:58 PM
If only Kildare could clone Johnny Doyle
Post by: Hoof Hearted on June 05, 2011, 03:18:44 PM
if thats a straight red then gaelic football is officially fucked.

Here comes GG
Post by: Cosmo Kramer on June 05, 2011, 03:22:50 PM
Karma's a bitch.  ;D ;D ;D
Post by: maigheo on June 05, 2011, 03:23:02 PM
dissallowed goal for GG
Post by: mylestheslasher on June 05, 2011, 03:23:52 PM
Ref is doing a great job  :D
Post by: Hoof Hearted on June 05, 2011, 03:25:06 PM
Quote from: maigheo on June 05, 2011, 03:23:02 PM
dissallowed goal for GG

looked legit. Ref must have gave it, or else the other umpire, cause the young boy grabbed the green flag straight away

you can see all the louth smiles from here !
Post by: Minder on June 05, 2011, 03:25:36 PM
That was Johnny Doyle that scored that according to Marty
Post by: BallyhaiseMan on June 05, 2011, 03:26:28 PM
Jaysus :o  :o
No way was that a square ball,Geragthy was only entering the square when the ball arrived,he even started his jump from well outside the square.
Post by: joemamas on June 05, 2011, 03:28:38 PM
Re Goal.

Martin Carney should grow a pair of your know what.

I would not expect anything else from Morrissey

Same umpires I assume were responsible for sending off and Disallowed goal??
Post by: Hoof Hearted on June 05, 2011, 03:29:56 PM
Quote from: joemamas on June 05, 2011, 03:28:38 PM
Re Goal.

Martin Carney should grow a pair of your know what.

I would not expect anything else from Morrissey

Same umpires I assume were responsible for sending off and Disallowed goal??

yep, ref's son and brother according to marty
Post by: mylestheslasher on June 05, 2011, 03:32:08 PM
Harsh calls against meath but at least the best team on the day won this game.
Post by: joemamas on June 05, 2011, 03:32:19 PM
Quote from: Hoof Hearted on June 05, 2011, 03:25:06 PM
Quote from: maigheo on June 05, 2011, 03:23:02 PM
dissallowed goal for GG

looked legit. Ref must have gave it, or else the other umpire, cause the young boy grabbed the green flag straight away

you can see all the louth smiles from here !

Screwed up thing it could be your or my county next week. gross incompetence
Post by: oakleafgael on June 05, 2011, 03:33:57 PM
Better team won but the Doyle family rode Meath from start to finish.
Post by: Hoof Hearted on June 05, 2011, 03:37:34 PM
Quote from: oakleafgael on June 05, 2011, 03:33:57 PM
Better team won but the Doyle family rode Meath from start to finish.

maybe they are related to Johnny
Post by: Rossfan on June 05, 2011, 03:41:03 PM
Best team won , a great 3rd Quarter esp by  Callaghan.
Seeing replays I felt Geraghty was in square . sending off looked too much.
RTE a disaster - game throwing in by the time they left Spillanebrolly bullshit , Morrissey worse than , usual ( if that's possible) " Meath not going tommake any changes yet" seconds after camera showed a Meath man going off, then he discovered they had made 2 subs, didnt know that when ball touches a ref it's a hop ball , when the ref moved the ball forward once he sadi "dissent2" although it was obvious it was for standing in the way, next game is also live on Sunday Game ........  Kearney annoying as usual...
Post by: Newbridge Exile on June 05, 2011, 03:41:44 PM
Quote from: Cosmo Kramer on June 05, 2011, 03:22:50 PM
Karma's a bitch.  ;D ;D ;D
Post by: spuds on June 05, 2011, 03:46:31 PM
Better team won, crazy sending off and the goal being disallowed by ref while overuling umpires is bizarre.
Post by: Farrandeelin on June 05, 2011, 03:50:06 PM
If I was a Meath man I'd be well pissed off with that refereeing decision about the goal. The sending off probably shouldn't be either. Sure Bolton lashed out too. Anyway, Kildare were fitter in 2nd half and deserved to win, but my God they are as bad as Mayo when it comes to shooting.
Post by: Hoof Hearted on June 05, 2011, 03:51:52 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on June 05, 2011, 03:50:06 PM
If I was a Meath man I'd be well pissed off with that refereeing decision about the goal. The sending off probably shouldn't be either. Sure Bolton lashed out too. Anyway, Kildare were fitter in 2nd half and deserved to win, but my God they are as bad as Mayo when it comes to shooting.

ah now, come on :D
Post by: Capt Pat on June 05, 2011, 03:56:36 PM
Meath can't complain. The ref gave them a Leinster championship last year. He has throen them out today.
Post by: Dinny Breen on June 05, 2011, 06:31:30 PM
What was the Meath player sent off for? nobody in the stand had a clue!!

As for disallowed goal, the majority of accounts seem to dictate it should have stood so coupled with the sending-off  we definitely got fortuitous as the whole dynamic would have changed entering the last 10 minutes but I think when we raised the intensity of the game in the 2nd half we were much the better team. Meath I thought were very clever slowing down the game in the 1st half meaning we were quite ponderous and our half-back line were taking too much out of the ball and having a cut themselves from 35/40m with awful awful results, I think Chalky, Flanagan, MOF and Bolton must have been responsible for half those wides. In the 2nd half half we moved the ball much quicker with far better results.

Anyhow no trophies handed out in June so nice to win two championship games conceding only 15 points in total.

Sure we'll give it a lash against the Dubs now.
Post by: Hoof Hearted on June 05, 2011, 06:33:50 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on June 05, 2011, 06:31:30 PM

As for disallowed goal, the majority of accounts seem to dictate it should have stood so coupled with the sending-off  we definitely got fortuitous as the whole dynamic would have changed entering the last 10 minutes but I think when we raised the intensity of the game in the 2nd half we were much the better team. Meath I thought were very clever slowing down the game in the 1st half meaning we were quite ponderous and our half-back line were taking too much out of the ball and having a cut themselves from 35/40m with awful awful results, I think Chalky, Flanagan, MOF and Bolton must have been responsible for half those wides. In the 2nd half half we moved the ball much quicker with far better results.

Anyhow no trophies handed out in June so nice to win two championship games conceding only 15 points in total.

he slapped bolton on the shoulder. horrific !!
Post by: INDIANA on June 05, 2011, 06:42:13 PM
Extremely impressed with Kildare. I think they'll beat Dublin in the semi-final.

Very fit, well organised and only lack a little bit of composure in front of goal to become a genuine all-ireland contender in my view.

A leinster title is needed by Mc Geeney to keep the masses happy in Kildare. I think their need will be greater in the semi final.

Terrible decision by the ref for the goal. That ref shouldnt get another game this summer. Has to be accountability.

However Kildare were 6-7 points a better side over the 70 mins in my opinion.
Post by: rolloutking on June 05, 2011, 07:06:57 PM
Anyone claiming that it is 'karma' or 'just what they deserve' in relation to Meaths disallowed goal is a typical bar stool analyst, know it all and know nothing narrow minded and simplistic fool.

If it was a legal goal it should have stood regardless of what has happened in the past.
Post by: agorm on June 05, 2011, 07:56:32 PM
Quote from: rolloutking on June 05, 2011, 07:06:57 PM
Anyone claiming that it is 'karma' or 'just what they deserve' in relation to Meaths disallowed goal is a typical bar stool analyst, know it all and know nothing narrow minded and simplistic fool.

If it was a legal goal it should have stood regardless of what has happened in the past.

I agree - however people like Mylestheslasher and some of the Louth crew do need something to cheer about and I wouldnt begrudge them that.  We have had our days in the sun and we cannot be champions every year. The referee did have a nightmare and I agree with Indiana in that he should be spared from any other teams this year. Whoever wrote that the GAA is truly f*cked if that is a sending off got it spot on.

Regarding the game I felt that the first half was very even as we had expected. Both teams had plenty of chances and possession was generally even. Meath missed a few chances and couldd have gone in a bot more ahead - however Kildare did hit their usual quota of wides.

Kildare were very slow coming out on to the pitch for the 2nd half and the Meath players were left hanging around for a few minutes. Once the half started however Kildare were on a different level to Meath and won the game in the 1st 15 minutes of the half. I think they scored 6 points in a row at that time, dominated possession in the middle third of the field and moved the ball much more fluidly. Of course the referees decisions could have influenced the result but we will never know.It is annoying from a Meath point of view but we cannot complain because, had we made a comeback, it would have been against the run of play in game overall.

To me the ineptitude of the ref's performance is just another in a line that includes last years Leinster final, a game I would have liked to have seen replayed as stated at the time on several threads. However, it is a totally different game and to try to link them as a few have done is just a bit silly.

Well done kildare, lets hope they can start to build on performances & get some silverware.
Post by: mylestheslasher on June 05, 2011, 08:07:12 PM
Quote from: agorm on June 05, 2011, 07:56:32 PM

I agree - however people like Mylestheslasher and some of the Louth crew do need something to cheer about and I wouldnt begrudge them that.  We have had our days in the sun and we cannot be champions every year. The referee did have a nightmare and I agree with Indiana in that he should be spared from any other teams this year. Whoever wrote that the GAA is truly f*cked if that is a sending off got it spot on.

Regarding the game I felt that the first half was very even as we had expected. Both teams had plenty of chances and possession was generally even. Meath missed a few chances and couldd have gone in a bot more ahead - however Kildare did hit their usual quota of wides.

Kildare were very slow coming out on to the pitch for the 2nd half and the Meath players were left hanging around for a few minutes. Once the half started however Kildare were on a different level to Meath and won the game in the 1st 15 minutes of the half. I think they scored 6 points in a row at that time, dominated possession in the middle third of the field and moved the ball much more fluidly. Of course the referees decisions could have influenced the result but we will never know.It is annoying from a Meath point of view but we cannot complain because, had we made a comeback, it would have been against the run of play in game overall.

To me the ineptitude of the ref's performance is just another in a line that includes last years Leinster final, a game I would have liked to have seen replayed as stated at the time on several threads. However, it is a totally different game and to try to link them as a few have done is just a bit silly.

Well done kildare, lets hope they can start to build on performances & get some silverware.

I used neither of the terms above. However, there is an old saying "what goes around comes around" meath got bad decisions against them today but there aren't too many in Ireland that will feel too sorry for ye. Btw, its not just nasty old myles and the louth crew making comparisons to the 2010 leinster final. The 2 commentators did, spillane and brolly did and i bet the Sunday game tonight will too. I suggest you get used to it.
Post by: thejuice on June 05, 2011, 08:17:07 PM
Well, I said I'd wait till I saw a championship match before I made any conclusions about the team and the management.

As for what Banty has brought to Meath football or what changes have been made, answers on a post card because I can't see any change. Perhaps only worse. The fitness of the team seemed to be a few notches below Kildare. Thank god the Kildare forwards can hardly hit a barn door with the expection of Doyle who didn't have his shooting boots either. It was as clear as day that we were being beaten for the breaks in the middle and it seems like nothing was done to rectify this. However I don't think the problem lie totally with the management.

I came to some conclusions today about the team. Shane O'Rourke isn't worth his place anymore. He rarely wins any ball, fair enough he can put it over but given how rarely he gets it in his hands what good is it. Paddy O'Rourke can take a free but like Shane, he hadn't much to show for a days work. For big men they don't produce the same results that Kieran Donaghy does for Kerry I don't see the value of them on the team.

And much like them, there are too many men on the team that are big and cumbersome. Sheridan looks more heavily set than last year and was off his feet more often than not. The forwards have little cohesion just like last year. We have a few lads who can get scores but they seem to only work as individuals rather than a team. They could learn a lot from watching Graham Geraghty and Ollie Murphy in their heyday.

Having these big lads like Crawford and Meade in their to win kick-outs on their own is a tactic as ancient as Newgrange, we need more men like Kenny, (undoubtedly our best player today) battling for the breaks. Mark Ward fared fairly well but if these guys can't chase and tackle lads then we'll only get run ragged again as we did today.

Smaller lads with engines on them are the order of the day and as we saw with Kerry yesterday and Tyrone a few years ago, combining that with lads who can acurately foot pass has the makings of a successful team.

As for the sending off and disallowed goal, while they set us back I honestly didn't see us winning that game anyway after the abysmal start to the second half. Yeah we could go on about these decisions but we can do nothing about that, thats a matter for the GAA as a whole but there are big changes needed in Meath football, in the club and underage competitions and the county board needs some fresh faces and ideas are needed.

A fresh approach is also needed on the county team to the style of play and the type of players we are fielding. If Banty is serious about his term here he should work on that. The back door is an opportunity to do that. More of the same might win us a few games against weak opposition but we'll win nothing of note from what I can see.
Post by: INDIANA on June 05, 2011, 08:36:16 PM
Quote from: thejuice on June 05, 2011, 08:17:07 PM
Well, I said I'd wait till I saw a championship match before I made any conclusions about the team and the management.

As for what Banty has brought to Meath football or what changes have been made, answers on a post card because I can't see any change. Perhaps only worse. The fitness of the team seemed to be a few notches below Kildare. Thank god the Kildare forwards can hardly hit a barn door with the expection of Doyle who didn't have his shooting boots either. It was as clear as day that we were being beaten for the breaks in the middle and it seems like nothing was done to rectify this. However I don't think the problem lie totally with the management.

I came to some conclusions today about the team. Shane O'Rourke isn't worth his place anymore. He rarely wins any ball, fair enough he can put it over but given how rarely he gets it in his hands what good is it. Paddy O'Rourke can take a free but like Shane, he hadn't much to show for a days work. For big men they don't produce the same results that Kieran Donaghy does for Kerry I don't see the value of them on the team.

And much like them, there are too many men on the team that are big and cumbersome. Sheridan looks more heavily set than last year and was off his feet more often than not. The forwards have little cohesion just like last year. We have a few lads who can get scores but they seem to only work as individuals rather than a team. They could learn a lot from watching Graham Geraghty and Ollie Murphy in their heyday.

Having these big lads like Crawford and Meade in their to win kick-outs on their own is a tactic as ancient as Newgrange, we need more men like Kenny, (undoubtedly our best player today) battling for the breaks. Mark Ward fared fairly well but if these guys can't chase and tackle lads then we'll only get run ragged again as we did today.

Smaller lads with engines on them are the order of the day and as we saw with Kerry yesterday and Tyrone a few years ago, combining that with lads who can acurately foot pass has the makings of a successful team.

As for the sending off and disallowed goal, while they set us back I honestly didn't see us winning that game anyway after the abysmal start to the second half. Yeah we could go on about these decisions but we can do nothing about that, thats a matter for the GAA as a whole but there are big changes needed in Meath football, in the club and underage competitions and the county board needs some fresh faces and ideas are needed.

A fresh approach is also needed on the county team to the style of play and the type of players we are fielding. If Banty is serious about his term here he should work on that. The back door is an opportunity to do that. More of the same might win us a few games against weak opposition but we'll win nothing of note from what I can see.

In general juice your team lacks pace. Unfortunately pace is king at this level now. Whether you have others with that pace is another thing. Defensively Kildare are very good. O Flaherty does a brilliant job sweeping because he actually understands what he's doing. In contrast to most other sweepers how dont.

Meath didnt look conditioned at all today compared to Kildare. Meath look like they have regressed today.
Post by: DB_An_Mhi on June 05, 2011, 08:42:16 PM
Well done Kildare. Once again brain beats brawn and that's the way it should be on a football field. Fitness and stamina helps too. ;) Hopefully, ye will do yourselves justice and capture the Leinster title in 2011. Good luck. Fruit of your merit in my book to make up for 2010 backdoor season and I'm sure what is to follow in the coming weeks. Just sort out the wide figures and ye are on your way. Johnny Doyle what a player and ten years Marty Clarke's senior.

Too many Meath players went missing second half. We need to rethink our whole strategy from top to bottom and of course develop an adaptable playing style. Big men cannot match ye're fitness, stamina or mobility, so we will have to change the blend. A team encouraged and capable of playing football for seventy minutes.
Post by: rolloutking on June 05, 2011, 08:42:56 PM
QuoteI used neither of the terms above. However, there is an old saying "what goes around comes around" meath got bad decisions against them today but there aren't too many in Ireland that will feel too sorry for ye. Btw, its not just nasty old myles and the louth crew making comparisons to the 2010 leinster final. The 2 commentators did, spillane and brolly did and i bet the Sunday game tonight will too. I suggest you get used to it.

Are you suggesting that Meath deserved what they got today?
Post by: mylestheslasher on June 05, 2011, 08:49:49 PM
Quote from: rolloutking on June 05, 2011, 08:42:56 PM
QuoteI used neither of the terms above. However, there is an old saying "what goes around comes around" meath got bad decisions against them today but there aren't too many in Ireland that will feel too sorry for ye. Btw, its not just nasty old myles and the louth crew making comparisons to the 2010 leinster final. The 2 commentators did, spillane and brolly did and i bet the Sunday game tonight will too. I suggest you get used to it.

Are you suggesting that Meath deserved what they got today?
They deserved to be beaten.
Post by: NP 76 on June 05, 2011, 08:54:05 PM
Quote from: DB_An_Mhi on June 05, 2011, 08:42:16 PM
. Johnny Doyle what a player and ten years Marty Clarke's senior.

What has Martin Clarke in his second year playing inter county football got to do with todays game sorry cant work out what you mean]
Post by: agorm on June 05, 2011, 09:06:53 PM
Quote from: mylestheslasher on June 05, 2011, 08:07:12 PM
Quote from: agorm on June 05, 2011, 07:56:32 PM

I used neither of the terms above. However, there is an old saying "what goes around comes around" meath got bad decisions against them today but there aren't too many in Ireland that will feel too sorry for ye. Btw, its not just nasty old myles and the louth crew making comparisons to the 2010 leinster final. The 2 commentators did, spillane and brolly did and i bet the Sunday game tonight will too. I suggest you get used to it.
I never thought or tried to suggest that you did use any of those terms. It was just based on your previous post which was alittle sarcastic & also the cr*p you wrote about Geraghty earlier in the week.
I  didnt see the commentators because I was at the game, I will have a look and see how many comparisons are made on the Sunday Game as you predict.  I agree that not many will feel sorry for us but that doesnt really concern me. What does concern me is that we have dropped in terms of our football pedigree in recent years, we are not producing players that a county of our size & number of senior clubs would be expected to produce and our record under the current management is very poor.

The qualifiers is not where we want to be, we wanted to be defending our Leinster title and we have not done a good job at doing that.
Post by: DB_An_Mhi on June 05, 2011, 09:21:18 PM
Quote from: NP 76 on June 05, 2011, 08:54:05 PM
. Johnny Doyle what a player and ten years Marty Clarke's senior.

What has Martin Clarke in his second year playing inter county football got to do with todays game sorry cant work out what you mean]

They both cover every blade of grass from one end of the field to the other, start to finish, which is mightily impressive. MC is a relative youngster and given his spell in Aussie rules, conditioned like a full-time professional sportsman. Johnny is an auld fella by comparison (10 years his senior) ... it almost defies logic that he can do what he does.
Post by: mylestheslasher on June 05, 2011, 09:29:35 PM
I think the balance between brawn and pace is not correct in the meath team but I reckon they came up against one of worst teams you could if you play that game due to kildares  pace and huge fitness. Still, meath could go well in the backdoor, they are not a bad team.
Post by: NP 76 on June 05, 2011, 09:33:06 PM
Doyle is without doubt a class act who always gives 100% . His fitness levels are second to none just wasnt sure where Clarke fitted into it
Post by: seafoid on June 05, 2011, 10:04:50 PM
Well done Kildare. Once again brain beats brawn and that's the way it should be on a football field. Fitness and stamina helps too. ;) Hopefully, ye will do yourselves justice and capture the Leinster title in 2011. Good luck. Fruit of your merit in my book to make up for 2010 backdoor season and I'm sure what is to follow in the coming weeks. Just sort out the wide figures and ye are on your way. Johnny Doyle what a player and ten years Marty Clarke's senior.

Too many Meath players went missing second half. We need to rethink our whole strategy from top to bottom and of course develop an adaptable playing style. Big men cannot match ye're fitness, stamina or mobility, so we will have to change the blend. A team encouraged and capable of playing football for seventy minutes.
how much of the stamina and mobility would the flourbags have in common with  puke football ® ? 
Post by: From the Bunker on June 05, 2011, 10:43:12 PM
Another year for Meath without a Leinster title. I like most do not count the one they lost last year. Sheridan, was pointing at the sun to the umpires again for GG's Goal.
Post by: ross4life on June 05, 2011, 10:44:44 PM
Meath played well in the first half & deserved their lead but in the 2nd half a fitter,stronger Kildare outfit got a deserved win. sending off & goal ruled out were wrong decisions but i think Kildare would have won by a point or two anyways.

Post by: Jinxy on June 05, 2011, 11:11:13 PM
If in doubt, kick the ball as high and as far as you can.
Over 125 years of gaelic football evolution and this is the level we are operating at.
Well done Kildare, by far the better team.
My head is too sore to comment further but rest assured I will be back tomorrow.  >:(
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on June 05, 2011, 11:13:15 PM
Is it fair to say that Geraghty's salvaging was a mistake for Meath, at this particular juncture?

(Tyrone man runs for cover lest he be accused of anti-Meath Schadenfreude)
Post by: Jinxy on June 05, 2011, 11:17:57 PM
He scored a f*ckin goal didn't he!
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on June 05, 2011, 11:28:39 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on June 05, 2011, 11:17:57 PM

Was only asking, though might have helped had it been allowed!  ;)
Post by: DB_An_Mhi on June 05, 2011, 11:29:59 PM
Quote from: seafoid on June 05, 2011, 10:04:50 PM
how much of the stamina and mobility would the flourbags have in common with  puke football ® ?
It is a while since Galway beat Meath.

Anyway, we have some classy and mobile forwards who couldn't play puke football if they tried, it just didn't happen for them today. Graham Reilly didn't look right from the start for some reason. He was star of the show in our last competitive match v Tyrone. Stephen Bray isn't match sharp at present as he has been out of the country during the league campaign. Brian Farrell was sent off (very harshly) before he really got into the game. He is our form player of late. GG showed what he is still capable off in the blink of an eye. Jamie Queeney was given a defensive role that doesn't make the most of his attacking abilities. Paddy Gilsenan another who will show what Meath are capable of in the future. It is not all about route one to the O'Rourkes and Joe Sheridan. We just do not have a midfield pairing who can win and supply them with enough quality ball and quickly that is the problem.

These are not (or intended to be) excuses as we in Meath can take our beating or misfortune and move on. Even if the goal had stood and Farrell remained on the pitch, on the day I still think Kildare would still have pushed on and won with a few points to spare. They fully deserved their victory. Good luck to them.
Post by: mylestheslasher on June 05, 2011, 11:52:03 PM

No he didn't, there were no goals in the game today. Were you not watching?
Post by: DB_An_Mhi on June 06, 2011, 12:19:58 AM
Myles, you're an awful sh.. stirrer ;D

It's not the first time GG has had a perfectly legitimate goal disallowed. If we get back to Croke Park this season (big if) he will have to do it again!
Post by: nrico2006 on June 06, 2011, 10:36:24 AM

Perfectly good goal that should have stood, getting beyond a joke now how every game is being marred by balls ups by the officials.  The square ball rule in its own is a joke, a free should only be given if a player is infringing the keeper.  How can a referee watch the ball and man at the same time to judge who is in the square first?  The sending off was another joke, but we are well used to that in every game these days.  As mentioned on another thread, referees should be held accountable in the same way as players.   
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on June 06, 2011, 11:11:19 AM
Connolly - Should have done better for the Meath 'goal'. Made a great catch late on. Better than previous holders of the black jersey.
McLoughlin - Much maligned player down the years but he rarely has a bad game these days. Kept Bray fairly quiet.
Foley - Solid as ever. Dublin inside forwards will provide him with a whole new test.
McGrillen - First time in a few meetings that O'Rourke got the better of him. Will be keen to put the '09 LF behind him the next day.
Chalky - Saw plenty of ball and was well able for Sheridan in the first half. Should have more confidence in front of goals.
M O'Flaherty - One of the most underrated players in Leinster. Reads the game very well and always uses the ball intelligently.
Bolton - Great energy attacking from deep. Didn't forget his defensive duties and will be pleased that Graham Reilly was subbed.
Doyle - Class act.
Lynch - I've expressed my doubts about him but he had his best performance for Kildare in the second half yesterday.
Flanagan - No doubting his commitment but I don't think he suits the role he's being asked to play. Place under threat if Flynn is back.
E O'Flaherty - Didn't look fully fit but should keep his place. Showed good nerve to nail the two points in the second half.
Leper - Clearly evident yesterday how important he is to Kildare. Crucial to our chances that he's kept fit.
Smith - Showed well and looked sharp but wasn't given enough ball to do damage.
O'Connor - Had a feeling he'd suit Reilly and so it proved. Rob Kelly will push hard to get a place in the full-forward line v Dublin.
Kavanagh - Still not hitting the heights of previous years but signs are he's coming back. Point with the citóg was class.

Roli - Saw plenty of ball but didn't have one of his better days.
P O'Neill - Only on for a short while but it was an improvement on his display against Wicklow.
Kelly - Looked sharp and kicked a point. Should start the next day IMO.

Just a few thoughts:
- Kildare have plenty to work on but they're clearly suited to the open spaces of Croke Park. Second half display was excellent.
- Kavanagh and Smith looked like they are coming back to form but both didn't see enough ball.
- The six backs are tighter than they were last year but they might be vulnerable to pace, particularly the full-back line.
- Johnny Doyle is one of the best footballers in the country. He'll be some loss when he retires.
- Geraghty's goal looked legit. Farrell's sending off was farcical. However, Paddy O'Rourke's first point looked a good foot wide from my vantage point and Stephen Bray was clearly in the square when Meath won a 45 in the first half which O'Rourke kicked. Kildare probably deserve a few breaks after the semi-final last year.
- Dublin will pose a tougher test but Kildare should give them plenty to think about. Daryl Flynn would be a big addition to the midfield and it would allow JD to return to the half-forwards.
Post by: horse on June 06, 2011, 11:39:41 AM
Kildare and Dublin were the two best teams on display yesterday, Laois showed some improvement on their displays over the last few years and are young enough to step up a class over the next 2/3 years as for Meath they have gone back and the display they gave yesterday was all passion and no class I would worry about the lack of natural football tallent in the team.
Kildare and Dublin will be a cracker both teams are super fit and have pace but I think Dublin have the better form in front of goal.
Post by: INDIANA on June 06, 2011, 11:50:03 AM
Quote from: horse on June 06, 2011, 11:39:41 AM
Kildare and Dublin were the two best teams on display yesterday, Laois showed some improvement on their displays over the last few years and are young enough to step up a class over the next 2/3 years as for Meath they have gone back and the display they gave yesterday was all passion and no class I would worry about the lack of natural football tallent in the team.
Kildare and Dublin will be a cracker both teams are super fit and have pace but I think Dublin have the better form in front of goal.

Laois were bloody awful yesterday. What game were you watching? Only for the keeper it would have been a record defeat. Easily the worst Laois team in recent years. Going nowhere.
Post by: Hound on June 06, 2011, 11:55:57 AM
As a neutral spectator at the Kildare v Meath, I was gutted that the ref robbed us of what would have been a fantastic last few minutes of championship football. I'm pretty sure Kildare are the better team but Geraghty's goal could have changed the whole momentum of the game. Whatever would have happened, it would've been exciting. Feck that gombeen ref anyway.
Post by: demusicman on June 06, 2011, 11:59:45 AM
Yes plenty of debate about the legit goal and the sending to the line of Brian Farrell.
Also many other basic mistakes on the field that should not happen at inter county level.
The reality is we are lucky not to be in division three of the national league.
Meath have beaten one team of note in the last year Dublin in the championship.
The rest do not county this year  last year or indeed for many years when it comes to the honours list.
However a much improved effort from a team that is lucky to be in division two .
Post by: seafoid on June 06, 2011, 12:43:15 PM
Quote from: DB_An_Mhi on June 05, 2011, 11:29:59 PM
Quote from: seafoid on June 05, 2011, 10:04:50 PM
It is a while since Galway beat Meath.

Tell me about it. But there is no shame in being shite especially if Meath are too  ;)
Are Kildare good enough to win Leinster ? It would be good for fuball if they could win an all-Ireland.
Post by: Dinny Breen on June 06, 2011, 01:00:20 PM
QuoteMcLoughlin - Much maligned player down the years but he rarely has a bad game these days. Kept Bray fairly quiet.

Just don't give him time on the ball, when he doesn't have time to think his instinctive reactions are very good and he's a niggly fecker but 2 or 3 times he gave away the ball cheaply yesterday but I suppose we don't have a better option until Kelly returns.

QuoteLynch - I've expressed my doubts about him but he had his best performance for Kildare in the second half yesterday.

He was superb I thought yesterday and started a lot attacks, think himself and Flynn will work well together and I think we can dominate the Dublin midfield who weren't great against Laois.

QuoteGeraghty's goal looked legit. Farrell's sending off was farcical. However, Paddy O'Rourke's first point looked a good foot wide from my vantage point and Stephen Bray was clearly in the square when Meath won a 45 in the first half which O'Rourke kicked. Kildare probably deserve a few breaks after the semi-final last year.

If the disallowed goal had happened in the first 10 minutes there would have been very little written about it, it was marginal and the referee doesn't have slow motion replays which without a side on view were still inconclusive. The sending off on viewing was straight forward enough, while nothing more than a gay slap was still by the letter of the law a red card, while certainly not in the spirit of the law I can see why Farrell was sent off.

Agree with all the rest, hopefully Flynn and R Kelly will start the next day and Conway could feature, himself and O'Connor when the game is looser towards the end could make a real impact.
Post by: mylestheslasher on June 06, 2011, 01:17:03 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on June 06, 2011, 01:00:20 PM
QuoteMcLoughlin - Much maligned player down the years but he rarely has a bad game these days. Kept Bray fairly quiet.

Just don't give him time on the ball, when he doesn't have time to think his instinctive reactions are very good and he's a niggly fecker but 2 or 3 times he gave away the ball cheaply yesterday but I suppose we don't have a better option until Kelly returns.

QuoteLynch - I've expressed my doubts about him but he had his best performance for Kildare in the second half yesterday.

He was superb I thought yesterday and started a lot attacks, think himself and Flynn will work well together and I think we can dominate the Dublin midfield who weren't great against Laois.

QuoteGeraghty's goal looked legit. Farrell's sending off was farcical. However, Paddy O'Rourke's first point looked a good foot wide from my vantage point and Stephen Bray was clearly in the square when Meath won a 45 in the first half which O'Rourke kicked. Kildare probably deserve a few breaks after the semi-final last year.

If the disallowed goal had happened in the first 10 minutes there would have been very little written about it, it was marginal and the referee doesn't have slow motion replays which without a side on view were still inconclusive. The sending off on viewing was straight forward enough, while nothing more than a gay slap was still by the letter of the law a red card, while certainly not in the spirit of the law I can see why Farrell was sent off.

Agree with all the rest, hopefully Flynn and R Kelly will start the next day and Conway could feature, himself and O'Connor when the game is looser towards the end could make a real impact.

I couldn't agree with you there dinny. On tge sending off tge kildare player swung his arm back first with equal force to what farrell gave him so why only one sending off. The ref doesn't have slow motion replay, that is correct, so why then go in an over rule the 2 umpires standing right next to it. Another woeful ref performance in my book.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on June 06, 2011, 01:22:25 PM
If Farrell's 'slap' was a sending off then Emmet Bolton should have walked as well. Farrell went to pull him back and Emmet swung back at him first in an attempt to brush him off. A ridiculous decision by the referee and the red card should be rescinded. It just highlights the inconsistency of the GAA where Michael Shields and Philly McMahon get off scot free for boxing the heads off each other, while Farrell will probably have to serve a four week ban.

I presume McGeeney didn't bring Mikey on yesterday because it would rule him out of starting for the Juniors on Wednesday night. If he can come through a full 70 mins then he'll surely be in contention for the Dublin match. He'd be some option to bring into the half-forward line if the game is still in the balance in the last fifteen minutes. Good to see Scanlon getting a run yesterday Dinny. Himself and Tommy O'Neill must be going well in training. For a lad that has never let Kildare down, he's got very little football since 2008.

Flynn is getting his ankle looked at this afternoon. Hopefully he'll be able to line out in the middle. A forward line of: Doyle, O'Flaherty, Callaghan, Smith, Kelly, Kavanagh will cause problems for any set of backs.
Post by: Dinny Breen on June 06, 2011, 03:50:35 PM
I just don't think the decisions are farcical or woeful but they're called marginal for a reason neither decision without the benefit of a replay would be nailed on that's all.

QuoteA forward line of: Doyle, O'Flaherty, Callaghan, Smith, Kelly, Kavanagh will cause problems for any set of backs.

And not a natural forward among them  ;)

Post by: Dinny Breen on June 06, 2011, 10:56:56 PM
How the feck can anyone be expected to call this in real time.

(http://i664.photobucket.com/albums/vv3/davmora22/squareball.jpg)
Post by: DB_An_Mhi on June 06, 2011, 11:07:15 PM
Two or three against one. GG should have got the benefit of any doubt. ;D
Post by: mylestheslasher on June 06, 2011, 11:49:42 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on June 06, 2011, 10:56:56 PM
How the feck can anyone be expected to call this in real time.

(http://i664.photobucket.com/albums/vv3/davmora22/squareball.jpg)

The point is that the umpires were best placed. Surely the ref would've had to be 100% certain to over rule them. As you point out he could not have been certain so the question is why did he make the call. Did anyone check if he has relatives from louth?
Post by: lynchbhoy on June 07, 2011, 09:32:08 AM

was an enjoyable game imo.
while hardsatation is obv a meath fanand biased here, I would agree that Paddy o'rourke was not given frees that he should have received- but thats a problem in GAA - bigger men usually dont get the frees that smaller men seem to win more easily.
The Geraghty goal being disallowed proves that we need microchip (in ball) technology to determine whether a ball is in the square, wide or a point etc.

Farrell deserved to get the line for retaliation. Whatever about a fella lashing out, if you are the second guy to swing, then you are 99% of the time caught and will walk for this. Red card for stupidity. Bolton wasnt a dirty player. The mcloughlin fella I pointed out before the game should have had numerous yelows for late hits and niggly dirty stuff off the ball etc. A decade ago he would have been emptied .
Would also think that Kildare would have won the game even with GG's goal - but who knows. Meath lost composure after half time and reverted back to what they were doing all league long.
First half they looked good and banty def showed who was the master when it came to tactics. Mcgeeney demonstrated his lack of exp imo. Only for meath to start giving the ball away cheaply and gk murphy uncharacteristicaly gifting three points, this could and should have been very different.
By the time GG came on, meath heads had dropped. they threw it away themselves.
However Kildare didnt do themselves justice. The bigger meath defenders outmuscled them in the first half and almost all of kildares wides came from way out the field in positions where they were restricted from shooting from. Doyle and Callaghan outstandingly grabbed kildare by the scruff of th neck to bring them to the win.
Kildare must hope that Dubln are also experiencing early season choesion problems. I'd be worried about the manager's lack of tactial ability.
Also he needs to bring back his'armagh tackling' like Kildare showed last year. Way too naive on sunday.
Post by: DuffleKing on June 07, 2011, 10:52:35 AM

What is the perceived contribution in Kildare, if any, of O'Rourke to the make up of this Kildare team?
Post by: mylestheslasher on June 07, 2011, 10:57:42 AM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on June 07, 2011, 09:32:08 AM

was an enjoyable game imo.
while hardsatation is obv a meath fanand biased here, I would agree that Paddy o'rourke was not given frees that he should have received- but thats a problem in GAA - bigger men usually dont get the frees that smaller men seem to win more easily.
The Geraghty goal being disallowed proves that we need microchip (in ball) technology to determine whether a ball is in the square, wide or a point etc.

Farrell deserved to get the line for retaliation. Whatever about a fella lashing out, if you are the second guy to swing, then you are 99% of the time caught and will walk for this. Red card for stupidity. Bolton wasnt a dirty player. The mcloughlin fella I pointed out before the game should have had numerous yelows for late hits and niggly dirty stuff off the ball etc. A decade ago he would have been emptied .
Would also think that Kildare would have won the game even with GG's goal - but who knows. Meath lost composure after half time and reverted back to what they were doing all league long.
First half they looked good and banty def showed who was the master when it came to tactics. Mcgeeney demonstrated his lack of exp imo. Only for meath to start giving the ball away cheaply and gk murphy uncharacteristicaly gifting three points, this could and should have been very different.
By the time GG came on, meath heads had dropped. they threw it away themselves.
However Kildare didnt do themselves justice. The bigger meath defenders outmuscled them in the first half and almost all of kildares wides came from way out the field in positions where they were restricted from shooting from. Doyle and Callaghan outstandingly grabbed kildare by the scruff of th neck to bring them to the win.
Kildare must hope that Dubln are also experiencing early season choesion problems. I'd be worried about the manager's lack of tactial ability.
Also he needs to bring back his'armagh tackling' like Kildare showed last year. Way too naive on sunday.

Do you seriously think Farrell should have been sent off because by that logic that game would have finished 5 a side and the Monaghan Tyrone game would have finished with the ref on the pitch on his own (the last Monaghan player would've been sent off for fighting with himself). This is Gaelic Football, not cricket.
Post by: lynchbhoy on June 07, 2011, 11:43:30 AM
Quote from: mylestheslasher on June 07, 2011, 10:57:42 AM
Do you seriously think Farrell should have been sent off because by that logic that game would have finished 5 a side and the Monaghan Tyrone game would have finished with the ref on the pitch on his own (the last Monaghan player would've been sent off for fighting with himself). This is Gaelic Football, not cricket.
two reasons why I answer yes.
The rules of the game - as instructed to the refs these days to enforce - any attempts at 'striking' whether or not the 'strike' was landed - is a sending off straight red.

While farrell's throw of the arm was a powder puff thing, it was still an attempts at a 'strike'.

Secondly, in my football upbringing, as a young lad , you are taught never to retaliate.
Whatever about a lad that hits out first, you will always get caught when you retaliate.
It is one of the stupidest things to do in football (hurling and soccer also) - as you will usually get caught and you will be sent off.
The last training session I took, Fri week ago, I told an u14 team not to be fighting and never to hit back (immediately).
there are other ways of getting a man back, but if you are fighting, you are not playing football (hurling).
Farrell wasnt worth a s**te to Meath on the sideline , esp when he left his side with 14 men.

if this was soccer, he's be fined by his team.
I'd hope that Banty, meath coaches and selectors (when they arrive) and coaches throughout meath and indeed the GAA community will use this to demonstrate to their players what not to do and what happens when you do it.

no point in debating how hard he hit , or that he missed or that it was really nothing at all.
the stupid fecker lashed out and he got caught.
Farrell is a fabulous player and will recover from this.

Would I have done it, maybe I did once or twice in my career. usually I'd wait to get the ball and run straight over the fcuker - and there are many more ways to get a guy back other than immediate retribution. I liked what I saw in meath (in parts) on sunday and think they have a lot of young good lads that could bring them back up there again and soon.
A few unblown frees for Paddy orourke, a disallowed legit GG goal - The royals were not far away at all. Despite playing sihte for most of the second half and much of the first.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on June 07, 2011, 12:23:02 PM
Legit goal and not a sending off for me, still think Kildare would have won though if the correct decisions were made. Good intense match, if Kildare start to bring their shooting boots with them they won't be too far off this year. They are crying out for a quality corner forward inside. Hard to know what to make of Eastmeath, they were well set up in the first half but their lack of leadership undone them again in the second. I know Graham Reilly wasn't having his best game but I'd have left him on, maybe swapped wings or even to half back to get him into the game more. They weren't getting the ball to Bray enough either. All set up now for a good semi final, won't be much in it.
Post by: Jinxy on June 07, 2011, 12:34:47 PM
Graham Reilly didn't look right from the word go.
I think they brought him back too soon from that operation during the league.
He has unreal pace but on Sunday he just looked like he didn't have it in his legs.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on June 07, 2011, 01:00:51 PM
Meant to say, it occurred to me halfway through the second half that the "commentary" from Marty and Carney wasn't getting on my wick as much as it was in the first half. It was then I realised that the gaps of silence weren't intentional, Carney's mic must have had a bad connection as if you really listened you could just make out his drone and the very much so's. Unfortunately normal service resumed soon after.
Post by: mylestheslasher on June 07, 2011, 04:29:15 PM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on June 07, 2011, 11:43:30 AM
Quote from: mylestheslasher on June 07, 2011, 10:57:42 AM
two reasons why I answer yes.
The rules of the game - as instructed to the refs these days to enforce - any attempts at 'striking' whether or not the 'strike' was landed - is a sending off straight red.

While farrell's throw of the arm was a powder puff thing, it was still an attempts at a 'strike'.

Secondly, in my football upbringing, as a young lad , you are taught never to retaliate.
Whatever about a lad that hits out first, you will always get caught when you retaliate.
It is one of the stupidest things to do in football (hurling and soccer also) - as you will usually get caught and you will be sent off.
The last training session I took, Fri week ago, I told an u14 team not to be fighting and never to hit back (immediately).
there are other ways of getting a man back, but if you are fighting, you are not playing football (hurling).
Farrell wasnt worth a s**te to Meath on the sideline , esp when he left his side with 14 men.

if this was soccer, he's be fined by his team.
I'd hope that Banty, meath coaches and selectors (when they arrive) and coaches throughout meath and indeed the GAA community will use this to demonstrate to their players what not to do and what happens when you do it.

no point in debating how hard he hit , or that he missed or that it was really nothing at all.
the stupid fecker lashed out and he got caught.
Farrell is a fabulous player and will recover from this.

Would I have done it, maybe I did once or twice in my career. usually I'd wait to get the ball and run straight over the fcuker - and there are many more ways to get a guy back other than immediate retribution. I liked what I saw in meath (in parts) on sunday and think they have a lot of young good lads that could bring them back up there again and soon.
A few unblown frees for Paddy orourke, a disallowed legit GG goal - The royals were not far away at all. Despite playing sihte for most of the second half and much of the first.

Thats all fair enough but you have to accept that if this particular view was taken by every ref in every game there would be some amount of sendings off. How many would have walked in the Monaghan Tyrone game alone?
Post by: lynchbhoy on June 07, 2011, 04:46:19 PM
Quote from: mylestheslasher on June 07, 2011, 04:29:15 PM
Thats all fair enough but you have to accept that if this particular view was taken by every ref in every game there would be some amount of sendings off. How many would have walked in the Monaghan Tyrone game alone?
agreed.
you will find that the same ref in the same game wont obey the letter of the law (as otherwise a few more would have walked from both meath and kildare sides on sunday for harmless enough pushes/challenges).

I passed the ref course myself and did one game (Wanted to brush up on the rules should I go back coaching again next year). If any assessor would have been watching, I would prob never get a game again as I made mcananey look whistlehappy.

i'd almost send farrell off myself for being a eejit and retaliating rather than waiting his chance to bury the aggressor.

the refs are supposed to implement the rules to the letter of the law - meanaing both Farrell and bolton should have got the line. I dont agree with it , but you will see more of this and also more of the common sense approach from other refs like mcquillen, mcenaney and coldrick - this will just cause people to say that its inconsistnt refereeing - which collectively it is.
Post by: thejuice on June 07, 2011, 04:47:53 PM
Meath are appealing the Farrell sending off. If they do it by the book as Lynchboy said, I don't see how it can be over turned.
Post by: lynchbhoy on June 07, 2011, 04:55:23 PM
Quote from: thejuice on June 07, 2011, 04:47:53 PM
Meath are appealing the Farrell sending off. If they do it by the book as Lynchboy said, I don't see how it can be over turned.
worse still , we, as an organisation are so flippin inconsistent the same thing could be overtuned this month and allowed stand next month.
This lack of continuity drives player,s managers, coaches and fans bonkers.

but we cant say the GAA never give us anything to talk about !
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on June 07, 2011, 06:30:00 PM
Quote from: DuffleKing on June 07, 2011, 10:52:35 AM

What is the perceived contribution in Kildare, if any, of O'Rourke to the make up of this Kildare team?

I understand he has done a lot of work with the backs. He must be doing something right because the Kildare backs seem to have tightened up considerably on the evidence of the two matches so far. They only conceded one point (from a last minute free) in the second half against Wicklow and three points (only one of which was from play) in the second half on Sunday.

He also seems to have taken over from Niall Carew in communicating instructions to the players during matches.
Post by: Lily4life on June 07, 2011, 07:04:00 PM
Enjoyed the match on Sunday. Brilliant second half performance for us.
Connolly and the backs all did well for us. I thought Bolton was outstanding as was White and O'Flaherty.
In the middle John Doyle was great again. He's definitely one of the best players in the country.
For me Hugh Lynch is one of the most underrated players in Kildare. He won a lot of ball around the middle especially in the second half.
In the forwards Leper was also brilliant, definitely deserved man of the match.
Eoghan O'Flaherty looked like he was lacking confidence with his shooting at times but improved in the second half.
I don't think it suits Flanagan to be in the forwards. He's better suited in the backs but will find it hard to get a place there when our backs are doing so well at the moment.
Smith scored a great point at the start but didn't get enough ball.
O'Connor didn't get much either. I'd say Rob Kelly could push for his place there for the next day.
Kavanagh showed that he's returning to form. He gave a few great passes and his point with the left foot was great.
As for the subs Sweeney was quiet when he came on. Rob Kelly scored a good point. It didn't make sense to me to bring Mark Scanlon on when he was captain of the Kildare junior team and now can't play for them tomorrow night.

As for the sending off. The rule states that striking warrants a red card. In that respect he deserved to go but if officials used their common sense he shouldn't have got more than a yellow.

With the goal it was close but I think Geraghty wasn't in the square. I was thinking at the time he would know better than to be in the square and it seemed on TV that he wasn't. These wrong decisions shouldn't happen. We saw it in the Leinster final last year and our match against Down too. That's just the way it goes. It would have changed the momentum of the game had it stood but I think the better team won on the day.

Bring on the Dubs!!
Post by: Declan on June 08, 2011, 02:41:09 PM
Best line I heard about this on Sunday night was a Meath fan saying that they had to take the positives out of the performance. When pressed on what those positives were he paused slgihtly before saying - well at least Farrell will be suspended for the next day :D
Post by: Jinxy on June 08, 2011, 02:45:12 PM
I don't get all the negativity about Brian Farrell.
I think he's a class player but he needs to be given a run in the team to get his confidence up.
I believe he was flying in training and club games before Sunday.
Post by: lynchbhoy on June 08, 2011, 03:07:59 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on June 08, 2011, 02:45:12 PM
I don't get all the negativity about Brian Farrell.
I think he's a class player but he needs to be given a run in the team to get his confidence up.
I believe he was flying in training and club games before Sunday.
well on form, i'd start him before both O'rourkes and Bray also.
Post by: thejuice on June 08, 2011, 05:49:33 PM
GAA president Christy Cooney has leapt to the defence of under-fire match officials.

http://www.hoganstand.com/Meath/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=149250

Quote"There has never been so much training going on for referees and umpires and linesmen. Last Sunday, the instant reaction from most people was 'it could be a square ball' or 'it mightn't be a square ball'. The referee had to make the judgement. I'm sure if he called it the other way there would have been different views as well.

"Every umpire has gone through a rigorous weekend of review and training and tests, and they have all been certified to a standard. There's not an issue around that. We'd be very happy. We got challenges with regard to our umpires last year and we responded to that and so did the National Referees Committee.

"Let's not just isolate a single incident. They are human beings, they are capable of making a mistake. There will be questionable decisions in every match. It depends where you are sitting, where you are looking at it or whether you are for or against the team in any decision - whether you felt they were wrong or right. So let's not blow this out of proportion."

While I appreciate what he's saying but there seems to be too much of a tolerance of this in his words. We've had 3 games in the last 2 seasons that have been effected by the square ball rule and umpiring. Surely, and I hope, they are looking at a serious alternative to this. It seems to be lost on him that for all the extra training and certification it is still being called wrong.
Post by: Denn Forever on June 09, 2011, 11:25:02 AM
Watching the match last Sunday, I was very impressed by the Meath play in the first half and was going to post (at that time) that Meath seemed to back to their play of old.  Glad I didn't post as Meath seemed to be a pale shadow of themselves in the 2nd half. 

Was Bray injured?  Was there a strong wind that was not evident on TV?  Why did they seem too just capitulate.  The O'Rourkes seemed to be starved of ball which they were winning well in the 1st half.
Post by: Jinxy on June 09, 2011, 11:47:29 AM
Tired legs in the 2nd half I'd say.
Mind you I saw a few tired legs in the first half as well.
Post by: Bingo on June 09, 2011, 01:08:02 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on June 09, 2011, 11:47:29 AM
Tired legs in the 2nd half I'd say.
Mind you I saw a few tired legs in the first half as well.

Are Bantys army of highly paid trained fitness trainers not doing their jobs then?

Whatever about the shite football Monaghan played at times under the same regime, they were always very fit in playing that way.
Post by: Jinxy on June 09, 2011, 01:28:23 PM
I think we would be well down the table in terms of aerobic fitness.
Mind you Kildare could make most teams look unfit.
They're reaping the benefits of 3/4 years of consistent high-quality training.
That has a serious carryover effect from year to year.
Hard to compete with that when the management and coaching staff are chopped and changed every couple of years.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on June 09, 2011, 02:04:31 PM
Kildare are reaping the benefits of being consistently competitive at u21 level for most of the last decade. There was an article in the Indo last week showing Meath's record at u21 since 2002. They have met Kildare on six occasions in the intervening years and they only beat us once in 2007.

2008 Kildare 1-14 Meath 0-05
2007 Meath 3-13 Kildare 1-15
2006 Kildare 2-13 Meath 1-08
2005 Kildare 3-16 Meath 0-07
2004 Kildare 2-09 Meath 2-07
2002 Kildare 0-12 Meath 0-06

Nearly all of the players on Sunday would have featured in at least one of those fixtures. Those Kildare players have no fear of their Meath counterparts anymore.
Post by: DB_An_Mhi on June 09, 2011, 02:22:17 PM
Agreed Kildare could make most teams look unfit or lacking a championship edge, especially earlier in the season. But 2nd half collapses are becoming more and more frequent with Meath teams, and this year is as bad as ever. Even when there is something at stake. It happened in Derry (despite a good 1st half start) when division 2 survival was very much a concern. And it happened again last Sunday, when they were defending their Leinster title. It is one thing to be apathetic in the middle of winter at an away league match with nothing much to play for. But for a large number of players to drop their heads, lose their willingness to fight when there are only a few points difference on the scoreboard is another story. A GAA pitch is no place for the feint hearted or those who prefer to remain in their comfort zone. What I saw was a number of players who weren't really prepared to contest the crucial midfield battle for possession (effectively downed tools or went missing) and whatever ball they did see was moved on with little thought or intelligence. Few were taking responsibility.
Post by: Jinxy on June 09, 2011, 02:40:12 PM
We used to go in 4/5 points down at half-time and there'd be a sense among the fans that we'd probably still win the game.
Now if we go in 3/4 points up at half-time you're nearly expecting to lose the game due to a 2nd half fadeout.
This has been going on for 5 years or more and I'm baffled as to why it has not been addressed.
It strikes me that we just play off the cuff and when momentum swings against us we can't keep our head above water.
I think it's a combination of poor coaching and zero on-field leadership.
To be honest, and it pains me to say this, we need a massive clear-out at this stage.
I'd rather watch a team of young lads just out of u-21 go out, give it everything and lose with honour than watch a team of guys who have been around for the guts of 5-7 years go out and just roll over at the first sign of trouble just like they did last year and the year before that and the year before that.
There is nothing wrong with being direct but the opposition know we're just going to hoof it in every single time.
That is very easy to defend against.
We are going nowhere until we change our style of play and get some pace into the team.
The definition of insanity is doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results.
Post by: lynchbhoy on June 09, 2011, 02:56:39 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on June 09, 2011, 01:28:23 PM

They're reaping the benefits of 3/4 years of consistent high-quality training.
That has a serious carryover effect from year to year.

same reason why a lot of players (Kildare and elsewhere) are sustaining bad injuries also - I think the body can only take so much for so long before breaking down.
Post by: thejuice on June 09, 2011, 03:04:15 PM
Word has it that Cian Ward has walked.

A bit disappointing if its only because he didn't get picked there's bound to be places to won in that forward line after last weeks showing. 

That's only if its a true story. Seen nothing official
Post by: DB_An_Mhi on June 09, 2011, 03:11:53 PM
Our limitations in midfield are forcing us to seriously compromise what is in front of them and hurting those behind them. Kenny seen a lot of the ball in the first half at least and it made you wonder how little we would enjoy without him. And yet we know if the midfield pairing was improved upon, we could field six proper forwards, not five and reap the benefits with the added diversity. It would put a stop to the over dependancy on the route one high ball and mix things up. We might even play some football. A young fit mobile midfield that could win a fair share of possession would take so much pressure off the back line. We have just about enough players to be a decent side if the right ones were chosen and had the right attitude to go with it. It's about time we took a leap of faith and introduced an up and coming midfielder (like in the half-back line), rather than dwell on the past.
Post by: DB_An_Mhi on June 09, 2011, 03:18:46 PM
Quote from: thejuice on June 09, 2011, 03:04:15 PM
Word has it that Cian Ward has walked.

A bit disappointing if its only because he didn't get picked there's bound to be places to won in that forward line after last weeks showing. 

That's only if its a true story. Seen nothing official
http://twitter.com/#!/wardcian

The players seem to be stringing more tweets together than passes.
Post by: Jinxy on June 09, 2011, 03:19:49 PM
He denied it on Twitter apparently.
Post by: thejuice on June 09, 2011, 05:00:50 PM
Think that aul rumour mill needs to be put out of action for a while. And note to self to stop help spinning the damn thing.
Post by: Jinxy on June 09, 2011, 05:11:25 PM
From now on I am getting all my info from Twitter.
Straight from the social networking horses mouth.