Explosion on the gortin road in omagh (beside healy park), apparently serious injury to a police officer. Police helicopters and cars are everywhere
Local reports are bad, lets hope these reports are untrue.
Quote@EamonnMallie
Eamonn Mallie
One person has died in Omagh explosion. Bomb went off under known person's car at Highfield Close in Killyclogher, mile outside Omagh.
Quote@EamonnMallie
Eamonn Mallie
The young PSNI who was was targeted in this afternoon's under vehicle attack was a catholic. He reportedly served in Fermanagh.
BBC reporting policeman in 'critical condition'. Not quite clear what the story is.
Reports are it was a 26 year old male from beragh don't want to name any names in case it is wrong.
Other casaulties are being reported locally. BBC now saying policeman is critical
Police officer confirmed dead. Sky News.
Omagh half marathon passed by the site of the attack this morning.
Eamonn Mallie saying policeman was a catholic.
Does it matter? Shocking thread title that brings back really bad memories. Thoughts are with all involved.
I know this lad and his mother well. Sick. My best friends wife is also a young catholic policewomen living in Omagh they are badly shook up. This was a civil lad just lad just trying to earn a living. I hope the bastards that done this rot in f**king hell.
25 year old new recruit.
Quote from: omagh_gael on April 02, 2011, 06:00:47 PM
I know this lad and his mother well. Sick. My best friends wife is also a young catholic policewomen living in Omagh they are badly shook up. This was a civil lad just lad just trying to earn a living. I hope the b**tards that done this rot in f**king hell.
I just spent an hour chatting with his brother last week, he was working in the castle bar and we were the only customers. I'm sickened and angry and heartbroken for his mother and family and friends. f**king disgusted and should refrain from posting.
EDIT: But I agree totally with your sentiments OG.
Mad news,thoughts with his poor family,really makes my skin crawl that the people that done this are walking our streets,there sick people that went out this morning looking to kill,hope they find the c***ts that did this,still wont bring back the poor lad tho,unreal to take in really RIP
disgusted, thoughts are with the family
Disgusted with this news,and condolences to the family of the dead policeman. Are these cnuts never going to get off our backs. Who supports these animals?
You dont have to look too far Just Retired. There are c***ts on here who support them. Anyone who protects, by silence, or support is guilty of this in my eyes.
This makes me so sad, firstly for the family of this young guy, and secondly for all the rest of us who had hoped that this was gone from Ireland. These psychotic murderers are not "dissident republicans", they are self-obsessed lunatics.
They would not know the meaning of the word "republican".They are criminals.drug dealers,and the lowest form of scum to be found anywhere.
Disgusted by the act. I'd prayed that these days were behind us, but it appears there are still mindless thugs that want to drag us back to another 30 conflict.
RIP to the young officer who lost his life today.
I saw it coming up on breaking news on sky. Got that sinking feeling in my stomach. Honestly thought those days and those headlines were part of a dark past. 25 year old lad - absolutely terrible. Do the people who organised this really have support? I can't see anything positive that this could possibly achieve. Murdering bastards puts it politely
Wow awful news,as someone has already said who supports these scumbags?
Are there really posters on here who think this way?
Some of the views on this forum on the incident are absolutely disgusting
http://www.irishrepublican.net/forum/showthread.php?68328-Device-explodes-under-a-car/page1
If there is any consolation for the family then it appears that he didn't suffer. I hope this lad rests in peace.
My fiancée had our first baby and this fellas mum left us round a present recently. As nice and decent a woman as you could meet. She and her family dont deserve this and I just wish you could drag these f**kers out onto the street and stick a bullet in their heads. Death would be a fate too good for these c***ts.
Quote from: fingerbob on April 02, 2011, 07:28:31 PM
http://www.irishrepublican.net/forum/showthread.php?68328-Device-explodes-under-a-car/page1
My Lord thats dreadful reading,that guy Newry Republican sounds like a lovely fella ::)
I despair reading that.
Lads, totally shocked at this. Was chatting to him last at Christmas and he was a sound sound lad. Was very good friends with his bro at school and saw on facebook this morning he was at Sydney airport coming home for the first time in a few years. He has some terrible news when he gets to Dublin airport.
What can you say? fuckin bastards
Shocking news.
What is the point of these dissendent republicans anymore?? If Ireland was to be united everybody in the North would probably be worse off. Ireland is not independent anymore anyway as it's owned by the IMF.
Quote from: omagh_gael on April 02, 2011, 07:54:58 PM
I despair reading that.
Just read all 33 pages of that nonsense. The views of the vast majority of the people writing on that thread are totally warped.
Quote from: Estimator on April 02, 2011, 08:40:40 PM
Quote from: omagh_gael on April 02, 2011, 07:54:58 PM
I despair reading that.
Just read all 33 pages of that nonsense. The views of the vast majority of the people writing on that thread are totally warped.
I'm about 8 pages in and I'm not sure how much more of it I'll be able to look at...what the f**k is wrong with these people?
Terrible, pointless deed carried out by nutters with no end game or plan. We all hoped these days were over. What do these people think they can change with this type of bloody minded stupidity?
Quote from: Dave on April 02, 2011, 07:25:48 PM
Wow awful news,as someone has already said who supports these scumbags?
Are there really posters on here who think this way?
Who knows? maybe between every 100 written posts in any (possible/probable) dissident republicans violence related thread, there is one unwritten declaration of support.
I'd love them to try and explain what they are trying to attain, and how this helps move us towards that!
f**king terrible.
Disgusted, absolutely disgusted.
Hanging is too good for these c***ts.
What happened today angers and saddens me, not because it is evil, not because it is immoral, not because it is shameful, though it may be all of those things. But it saddens me because it is so utterly pointless and can achieve nothing but pain and heartbreak.
Echo the sentiments on this thread. Shocked and disgusted. Used to work with his brother and can't imagine wat he's going through especially just arriving back from Oz.
As mentioned before, you wonder wat possible outcome these bastards are expecting.
Just home from work. Like many here we remember the last time we saw this headline.
We are all guessing who did this and why. I hope we are all wrong but we probably won't be.
I wont post what I hope happens the perpetrators. Regardless of what banner, rhetoric or unmandated ideology they subscribe to nothing is more important than an innocent life.
RIP to the victim's family and friends and I hope the injured recover.
Quote from: Dave on April 02, 2011, 07:39:52 PM
My Lord thats dreadful reading,that guy Newry Republican sounds like a lovely fella ::)
It seems a lot of these idiots are American.
Quote from: EC Unique on April 02, 2011, 05:52:20 PM
Does it matter? Shocking thread title that brings back really bad memories. Thoughts are with all involved.
It "matters" to the vermin that planted the bomb, the same way it "mattered" when the fella Heffernan got his legs blown off a couple of years ago. Whoever planted the bomb knew this fella was a catholic and they are trying to send some message to any catholics that join the PSNI.
Quote from: Tony Baloney on April 02, 2011, 09:45:33 PM
Quote from: Dave on April 02, 2011, 07:39:52 PM
It seems a lot of these idiots are American.
What a shower of braindead muppets
I just can't get my head around what these lads are thinking. Would they prefer that the Police force stays as a Protestant/Unionist force? Is there any thinking involved or is it just kill for the sake of it. Warped individuals.
My condolensces to the family. RIP.
I can't get over the fact some people think this is ok because the guy was a member of the PSNI and basically got what was coming to him.
He was only doing a job for christ sake.
I could only read a few pages of that thread.
I am from East Tyrone and I know that I represent the vast majority of my community when I say that this afternoon's murderers are nbthing but SCUM.
We hope you are caught and locked up YOU MURDERERS !
GET LOST !!
That other site depressed me. The planters/planners/supporters of this outrage should be ostracised by any person with any sense of humanity.
Disgraceful act. May Ronan Kerr rest in peace. God help his family tonight.
These f**kers have no mandate and no "cause". Every right thinking person on this island wishes they would just f**k off. Acts like this are not in the pursuit of any ideal, they are simply to satisfy some moronic bloodlust. Only a fool would think these attacks are a means to an end.
RIP Ronan Kerr.
Knew Ronan and the most of his family for years and I'm in absolute shock at this. These people who did this are not republicans. They are mindless, violence addicted thugs with no semblance of a plan or strategy for what they state their aims to be. They are simply causing pain and heartache to the entire community and are blackening and shaming the very ideals of republicanism.
God Rest Ronan, won't forget you.
PSTG, you are a **** of the highest calibre
Quote from: Peter Solan the Great on April 03, 2011, 12:58:47 AM
Your Nordies are f ucking animals.
Peter; Ronan Kerr was a friend and neighbour so do me a favour and go f**k urself you warped wind up merchant piece of shit.
QuoteThese people who did this are not republicans. They are mindless, violence addicted thugs with no semblance of a plan or strategy for what they state their aims to be. They are simply causing pain and heartache to the entire community and are blackening and shaming the very ideals of republicanism.
Well said.
Could only reading a few pages of that other site, it was making me too angry to continue. Unfortunately there are people like that left in Ireland. They do not have an alternative plan to achieve a United Ireland and I wouldn't want one from their actions.
PSTG go f**k yourself you ****.
Quote from: Tubberman on April 03, 2011, 02:07:31 AM
Quote from: Peter Solan the Great on April 03, 2011, 12:58:47 AM
Your Nordies are f ucking animals.
You're an absolute ****. Sick. Hopefully this will lead to an overdue ban
He's already been banned at least five times before.
Why don't we out him on the board?
If somebody knows him I would be happy to get banned and release his name........ then his fan club can take care of the rest
I've watched from a far the onslaught of windups but this is too far.
Tragic loss of life today.
Terrible tragedy
Really annoyed about this. We the people of Ireland north and south voted in a referendium for this to end. There are bankers politicians and builders that have done more damage to Ireland than the Brits did why not bomb them than this lad.
Terrible news- the pathetic loss of a young life for absolutely no reason.
They used to say that England's troubles were Ireland's opportunity. With Ireland on it's knees the only cause that is being furthered here is the Union. Happy now 'lads' ?
PSTG has been banned from the board.
Could I suggest that you guys edit or delete you posts about his post so topic of thread stays as intended by header.
RIP
Extremely sad. Feel for his poor family today. I've seen the dissidents outside the Athletic Grounds collecting for the prisoners a couple of times recently. they should be chased.
terrible sad news thoughts are with that young mans family this morning . as for pstg about time that nasty piece of work got road
Quote from: Redhand Santa on April 03, 2011, 10:00:55 AM
Extremely sad. Feel for his poor family today. I've seen the dissidents outside the Athletic Grounds collecting for the prisoners a couple of times recently. they should be chased.
And bombs put under their cars??
This is what they want, attention, reason to go on and a cause these young monkeys have never had it so good, Catholics living in the North have never had it so good. Equality is what everyone wants. these eejits want to blow their way to a United Ireland, then what? sit back and do fcuk all, scrounge of the Irish Government, find another cause like kill all the Prods.
These small cells will eventually get caught, sooner rather than later i hope. Before some other young Catholic worker gets killed
RIP
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on April 03, 2011, 10:10:25 AM
And bombs put under their cars??
This is what they want, attention, reason to go on and a cause these young monkeys have never had it so good, Catholics living in the North have never had it so good. Equality is what everyone wants. these eejits want to blow their way to a United Ireland, then what? sit back and do fcuk all, scrounge of the Irish Government, find another cause like kill all the Prods.
These small cells will eventually get caught, sooner rather than later i hope. Before some other young Catholic worker gets killed
RIP
They ignore the democratic wishes of the entire island now so why would anyone expect them to behave differently afterwards?
You have to get inside the heads of those who carried this out.
Their philosophy would be along the lines of 'British uniform...British law...' and also to deter any catholic involvement with the police force in NI.
A couple of decades ago that stance had a lot of support. Ireland is attempting to move forward from that and mainstream republicanism are treading a different path towards their goal. It involves no bullets or timers. Not everyone agrees with that stance though and dissidents will still see the validity of yesterday's killing, aligning it to 70s and 80s tactics. The massive difference today is support. It's just not there. I don't think that matters to them though. They'll still see this as pricking at the heels of British involvement in Ireland, reminding them that militant opposition has not expired.
If their ultimate aim yesterday was to reduce the amount of catholics thinking about signing up to the PSNI, it probably will have succeeded somewhat.
Quote from: ONeill on April 03, 2011, 10:49:39 AM
Their philosophy would be along the lines of 'British uniform...British law...' and also to deter any catholic involvement with the police force in NI.
A couple of decades ago that stance had a lot of support. Ireland is attempting to move forward from that and mainstream republicanism are treading a different path towards their goal. It involves no bullets or timers. Not everyone agrees with that stance though and dissidents will still see the validity of yesterday's killing, aligning it to 70s and 80s tactics. The massive difference today is support. It's
just not there. I don't think that matters to them though. They'll still see this as pricking at the heels of British involvement in Ireland, reminding them that militant opposition has not expired.
If their ultimate aim yesterday was to reduce the amount of catholics thinking about signing up to the PSNI, it probably will have succeeded somewhat.
A good point, I know a couple of ones from home that are in the PSNI and I can imagine them looking over their shoulder now. I know if it was me thinking of joining, that bomb yesterday would be a pretty strong deterrent.
A couple of decades ago that stance had a lot of support. Ireland is attempting to move forward from that and mainstream republicanism are treading a different path towards their goal. It involves no bullets or timers. Not everyone agrees with that stance though and dissidents will still see the validity of yesterday's killing, aligning it to 70s and 80s tactics. The massive difference today is support. It's just not there. I don't think that matters to them though. They'll still see this as pricking at the heels of British involvement in Ireland, reminding them that militant opposition has not expired.
I hope that wont be the case, this would suit their tactics, and bring us back to where we began.
would be madness now for parents bringing their kids up through this all over again!! I'd rather leave altogether than see it happen again
This sickens, saddens and angers me. People talk about objectives and outcomes, but its just blood thirsty scumbags who would shout black, muslim or jewish people if they did get there "united ireland".
Honestly, this morning I would rather give the british the other 26 counties than live in a country where these, (I can't find the correct words), people are some sort of idealists or freedom fighters
Where is there line? Civil servants? Binmen? Politicians? All get paid the queens shilling, serving the community
The other boards just depress me where kids and idiots are saying up the ra and all that rubbish. The next time someone adds that line into the fields of athernry It'll take all my being, not to punch them in the face
its not hard to get into their heads o'neill because there fuk all in their heads, as previously posted here young heffernan (carbomb as well) was a better irishman than most of us irish speaker.. gaelic footballer if you consider these as credentials, and these tossers destroyed his life. cant understand their thinking.. with 50/50 recruitment coming to an end this will leave us back with a police force that we cannot buy into..
theres an election coming up why dont they run a couple of candidates and see what happens.. >:(
Tragic loss of another life.
When will ever learn, when will we ever learn ?
RIP
I've seen the dissidents outside the Athletic Grounds collecting for the prisoners a couple of times recently. they should be chased.
And more depressingly, people were giving them money.
This is a terrible waste of a young man's life. It was never the answer before and it definitely isn't the answer now. Our thoughts are with his family.
Something like this always puts life into context, terrible tragedy, may he rest in peace.
RIP Ronan
Having known Ronan from his previous occupation, im totally shocked to learn of his sick, disgusting and cowardly murder by these scum bag tramps who offer society nothing. I couldn believe when i seen his picture on bbc website, he was a lovely lad and has cruelly had his young life cut short by these dirty rotten c***ts.
Totally shocked at this, my condolences are with his family at this awful time.
Sick to my stomach thinking about this, senseless idiots who would not be able to spell Irish freedom. RIP Ronan, you did more for Ireland than these morons have ever done.
Shocking event, not just because of its savagery, but because of the sheer f**king pointlessness of it. It will achieve nothing. A young man has had his life cut short for nothing. A family is left grieving for nothing. That is what these people have to offer Ireland: absolutely nothing.
Horrific, futile, and abhorrent. RIP Ronan.
Shocking news RIP to one so young.
Sympat to Ronans family, there should be no hiding place for the sick perverted individuals who perpretrated this evil act.
my thoughta are with his Family. God help them.
Someone knows who these scumbags are and they are targetting Catholics in their own community.
No Fllag is worth the death of anyone.
These guys are drug dealers thieves and thugs with no future. Hopefully they will be got.
I for one am sick at the sight of these scumbags collecting outside the Athletic Grounds, they stood today rattling their buckets looking for money for "republican families", alll smiles, no decent republican would entertain these lowlifes!
RIP Ronan, our prayers are with your family.
An awful tragedy... R.I.P. Ronan Kerr.
But lads... a simple question?
I'm trying to understand, but what has changed since 1994?
18 years ago, the provos (Martin McGuinness and his ilk) would have killed Ronan Kerr with impunity and it would have been the norm and lauded by the republican majority in general. I'm sensing an awful amount of hypocracy here, but does the mantra of 'the new improved' Sinn Fein really hold that much sway among you all? If it's wrong now, was it not wrong then?
I'm genuinely not on the wind up, but really want to understand the mindset. Can anyone talk me through it? Please?
Quote from: stonebreaker on April 03, 2011, 10:14:51 PM
18 years ago, the provos (Martin McGuinness and his ilk) would have killed Ronan Kerr with impunity and it would have been the norm and lauded by the republican majority in general. I'm sensing an awful amount of hypocracy here, but does the mantra of 'the new improved' Sinn Fein really hold that much sway among you all? If it's wrong now, was it not wrong then?
I'm genuinely not on the wind up, but really want to understand the mindset. Can anyone talk me through it? Please?
Stonebreaker, either you are on the wind up despite your denial, or else you are in desperate need to learn about recent Irish history. It's simple. Republicans believe that violence was vindicated when there was no alternative and when the state was at war with the people. Dissident republicans believe that violence is the first option no matter what the circumstances. You say that Martin McGuinness would have killed police with impunity years ago but you must remember the fact that the people who carried this out yesterday would do the same to Martin McGuinness in a second given the chance. Circumstances change with time. Don't try to draw comparisons between republicans and dissidents. I am a proud Irish Republican and I can tell you with no shred of doubt that these tramps do not represent me or any one I know.
What age are you Stonebreaker? First off maybe had you lived life were death was only round the corner cause you were a taig and couldn't get a job because you were from the Falls or even not able to get a house because the Prods wanted it instead then you would have some sort of idea that we are in a hell of a better of a place than the one i grew up in.
What is it that you want, and how will it better your life? Sinn Fein i presume still want all the stuff pre ceasefire. Most Catholics still want that also but maybe not prepared to kill Catholics to get there. Seems others have no problem in that and you are confused with that
Sad that a young man going out to try an earn an honest living gets blown to bits because of who he chooses to work for. It's a sad sad place we live in today and not one news report even mentions the idea of the culprits getting caught...
Quote from: Nally Stand on April 03, 2011, 10:21:52 PM
It's simple. Republicans believe that violence was vindicated when there was no alternative and when the state was at war with the people. Dissident republicans believe that violence is the first option no matter what the circumstances. Don't try to draw comparisons between republicans and dissidents. I am a proud Irish Republican and I can tell you with no shred of doubt that these tramps do not represent me or any one I know.
So I personally think republicans were wrong and you in turn think dissidents were wrong? Given the concessions to republicans in the GFA can you understand why the dissidents are going down this path?
Sickening act. Makes you feel sick looking at his poor mother on the news.
The sad thing is that those responsible know this is not achieving anything.They see it as continuing the tradition of every generation contuining the armed struggle.What is the best case scenario they could acheive? Bring us back to the 1980s and how close to a United Ireland were we then?
No doubt there are a few ringleaders celebrating in a bar somewhere, wallets filled with cash from drug peddling and smuggling who have sent out a few young fellas to do this with promises of glory and money.
Hopefully this does not deter Catholics from joining up in future.
Quote from: Orangemac on April 03, 2011, 10:29:06 PM
Sickening act. Makes you feel sick looking at his poor mother on the news.
The sad thing is that those responsible know this is not achieving anything.They see it as continuing the tradition of every generation contuining the armed struggle.What is the best case scenario they could acheive? Bring us back to the 1980s and how close to a United Ireland were we then?
No doubt there are a few ringleaders celebrating in a bar somewhere, wallets filled with cash from drug peddling and smuggling who have sent out a few young fellas to do this with promises of glory and money.
Hopefully this does not deter Catholics from joining up in future.
the end of 50/50 recruitment wont help matters either
Quote from: stonebreaker on April 03, 2011, 10:26:36 PM
It's simple. Republicans believe that violence was vindicated when there was no alternative and when the state was at war with the people. Dissident republicans believe that violence is the first option no matter what the circumstances. Don't try to draw comparisons between republicans and dissidents. I am a proud Irish Republican and I can tell you with no shred of doubt that these tramps do not represent me or any one I know.
So I personally think republicans were wrong and you in turn think dissidents were wrong? Given the concessions to republicans in the GFA can you understand why the dissidents are going down this path?
So your answer is?
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on April 03, 2011, 10:23:47 PM
What age are you Stonebreaker? First off maybe had you lived life were death was only round the corner cause you were a taig and couldn't get a job because you were from the Falls or even not able to get a house because the Prods wanted it instead then you would have some sort of idea that we are in a hell of a better of a place than the one i grew up in.
What is it that you want, and how will it better your life? Sinn Fein i presume still want all the stuff pre ceasefire. Most Catholics still want that also but maybe not prepared to kill Catholics to get there. Seems others have no problem in that and you are confused with that
Believe me Milltown, but I've personally experienced terrorism at its worst. It doesn't matter where it originates from. It's ugly and its wrong....
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on April 03, 2011, 10:32:49 PM
So your answer is?
Terrorism is wrong. What do you think?
That post has just confirmed my suspicions. It seems you just dislike republicanism and your post was simply an attempt to tacitly associate the wider republican movement and republican philosophy into what happened yesterday at the hands of dissident,
braindead,
violence obsessed,
strategy-less nut jobs. Don't pretend you don't understand the difference between republicans and dissidents. As for the GFA, every side had concessions. Loyalists have not been carrying out attacks on innocent Catholics. Nobody calling themselves republican should be carrying out attacks on anybody when there is an opportunity for peace and to achieve aims by peaceful means. Ronan was a friend and I have no intention of getting into any kind of debate on a thread which should be kept to tributes so I'm leaving it at that.
I think killing people will only make others want/approve of others being killed. Your obviously an Eye for an eye type of a guy I'm more of a two wrongs don't make a right.
One of the things that a lot of Republicans struggle with is understanding why their movement enjoyed so much support for 30 years.
In truth it had very little to do with the romantic notion of a socialst 32 county united Ireland. It was, instead, largely down to civil rights. To cut a long story short, the average joe was left with no choice but to make a stand. Growing support, by nature, leads to growing fanaticism. Some people always take things to extremes.
The difference for today's 'freedom fighters' is that they're trying to cause unrest in a settled and reasonably wealthy country. Their end goal is not equality ot stability, but turmoil. They will never ever gain general support.
Quote from: Nally Stand on April 03, 2011, 10:40:21 PM
That post has just confirmed my suspicions. It seems you just dislike republicanism and your post was simply an attempt to tacitly associate the wider republican movement and republican philosophy into what happened yesterday at the hands of dissident, braindead, violence obsessed, strategy-less nut jobs. Don't pretend you don't understand the difference between republicans and dissidents. As for the GFA, every side had concessions. Loyalists have not been carrying out attacks on innocent Catholics. Nobody calling themselves republican should be carrying out attacks on anybody when there is an opportunity for peace and to achieve aims by peaceful means. Ronan was a friend and I have no intention of getting into any kind of debate on a thread which should be kept to tributes so I'm leaving it at that.
So anyone pre 94, good enough for him....
Anyone post 94, its a tragedy. Didn't deserve it, etc.
Hypocracy in a bottle.......
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on April 03, 2011, 10:42:39 PM
I think killing people will only make others want/approve of others being killed. Your obviously an Eye for an eye type of a guy I'm more of a two wrongs don't make a right.
I can assure you that I am very definitely not an eye for an eye type of person.
Quote from: stonebreaker on April 03, 2011, 10:48:06 PM
That post has just confirmed my suspicions. It seems you just dislike republicanism and your post was simply an attempt to tacitly associate the wider republican movement and republican philosophy into what happened yesterday at the hands of dissident, braindead, violence obsessed, strategy-less nut jobs. Don't pretend you don't understand the difference between republicans and dissidents. As for the GFA, every side had concessions. Loyalists have not been carrying out attacks on innocent Catholics. Nobody calling themselves republican should be carrying out attacks on anybody when there is an opportunity for peace and to achieve aims by peaceful means. Ronan was a friend and I have no intention of getting into any kind of debate on a thread which should be kept to tributes so I'm leaving it at that.
But what is it you want? If we keep on killing would you be happy if your own kids grew up in a place were they could be killed on the way to the shop, would that keep you happy? Those days are gone would you prefer it continues?
Post was not for you Nally Stand, i may sometimes not agree with some of your posts, but not today
Start another thread if you want to raise that issue, and leave this one alone as a tribute -- you, very transparently, are pushing a particular political agenda, and this is not the place for it.
Hypocrisy indeed.
Yes, because society today is exactly as it was in 1994. You honestly think that if someone thinks violence is justified in some circumstances, that they therefor must support it in
all circumstances? Honestly, it seems to me that you came to this thread of tributes to stir and wind. As I say, I'm not getting into it.
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on April 03, 2011, 10:53:40 PM
Start another thread if you want to raise that issue, and leave this one alone as a tribute -- you, very transparently, are pushing a particular political agenda, and this is not the place for it.
Hypocrisy indeed.
I question terrorism and murder and you scream 'political agenda'? That says it all. Murder is wrong. End of. It's not a 'pick 'n mix'. I think we'll leave it at that.
I think the mask's gonna slip from a lot of boys from here on in.....
Quote from: stonebreaker on April 03, 2011, 11:03:03 PM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on April 03, 2011, 10:53:40 PM
Hypocrisy indeed.
I question terrorism and murder and you scream 'political agenda'? That says it all. Murder is wrong. End of. It's not a 'pick 'n mix'. I think we'll leave it at that.
I think the mask's gonna slip from a lot of boys from here on in.....
You registered on here in 2006 yet have waited until today to post anything. I smell a rat. Leave this thread as it is meant, you can discuss on the Dissident Republican Activity thread.
I'll take a wild guess & say stonebreaker is PSTG
It's a different time with different attitudes from everyone. A lot of people have wised up on both sides over the last 15 years. I never supported violence at any time so I'm not defending anyone in the past. Political point scoring has close to disppeared in the wake of a murder like this which is a step forward so its sad to see you try to drag people into a pointless debate at a time when everyone should be united against a small element of thugs.
There is more than enough threads with tit for tat rubbish without getting into it here, on this one.
If anyone doesn't understand people saying they think this is a tragedy/wrong, start a new thread to discuss "hypocrisy" or "republicanism" or what everelse you want explained. Coming onto something like this to try to score points is stupid, sad and low
RIP Ronan Kerr - from what i've been told - a great lad!!!.....
Poor lad on his way out to do a job to make an honest pound!!!! I'll bet the scum who did this in 'the name of ireland' are useless bums with no jobs no prospects and are probably quite glad to go draw their dole of the british government!!!!
Shocked and disgusted. The people have spoken, there is no support nor any sense to this.
It has me thinking though that any over zealous reaction to this by the state, no matter who calls for it, will only give these savages what they want.
I read elsewhere someone calling for a shoot to kill response to this. bloody fools.
The state will have to be careful, reacting with tact and caution.
absolutley shocked at this news, disgusting. How they think this will further anything astounds me. Apparently his father died of cancer a few years back, how his mother is going to cope with this is beyond me. Words fail me for what that family is going through.
RIP
Shocking stuff altogether. His mother was absolutely fantastic on the news I watched last night. Dignified and wonderful statement despite her obvious grief.
QuoteI've seen the dissidents outside the Athletic Grounds collecting for the prisoners a couple of times recently. they should be chased.
Must say I couldn't believe it when I saw them that night the Dubs played. If I hadn't seen them with my own eyes I wouldn't have believed it.
Quote from: thewobbler on April 03, 2011, 10:44:44 PM
One of the things that a lot of Republicans struggle with is understanding why their movement enjoyed so much support for 30 years.
In truth it had very little to do with the romantic notion of a socialst 32 county united Ireland. It was, instead, largely down to civil rights. To cut a long story short, the average joe was left with no choice but to make a stand. Growing support, by nature, leads to growing fanaticism. Some people always take things to extremes.
The difference for today's 'freedom fighters' is that they're trying to cause unrest in a settled and reasonably wealthy country. Their end goal is not equality ot stability, but turmoil. They will never ever gain general support.
Thats spot on. Very hard to feel opressed by britain when your watching your 42 inch TV were religious equality is a reallity in the majority of walks of life in the north. I would near bet my house that the guys who carried out this attack do not work, and are scrounging on every state benefit going. The hypocrisy is mind boggling. They dont think a young man should earn a wage working for the state, but its ok for them to take the money for nothing. Brainless.
Deepest sympathies to the young mans family, his friends and his club.
No-one willing to claim responsibility for this heinous act of criminality in broad day light in OMAGH, of all places ffs - are the perpetrators ashamed to admit to this? f**king brain dead low life scum
Knew the brother he spent a few months in New York a few years ago. He actually had to cut short his trip that time because his father took sick. A good lad as i would say his dead brother was aswell. RIP.
Was Ronan a member of Beragh Red Knights? I see the club are hosting a press conferance re the murder.
Quote from: Norf Tyrone on April 04, 2011, 02:33:21 PM
Was Ronan a member of Beragh Red Knights? I see the club are hosting a press conferance re the murder.
The news this morning reported that he was a member of Beragh Red Knights
My condolences to the Kerr family and may Ronan rest in peace.
To the perpetrators .. just get off the stage lads for fcuk sake.
There was a bit on the RTE news of the Beragh club and Ulster Council President speaking about Ronan.
Maybe i'm naive but i'm shocked that unionists are surprised the GAA held a minute's silence and that it was well observed. It's the least I expected at yesterday's game. I suppose it underlines how much they distrust the GAA
Quote from: hsthompson on April 04, 2011, 06:17:56 PM
Maybe i'm naive but i'm shocked that unionists are surprised the GAA held a minute's silence and that it was well observed. It's the least I expected at yesterday's game. I suppose it underlines how much they distrust the GAA
Yes, it's what most of us would expect. But then most of us would expect that it would be unacceptable for collections outside the Athletics Grounds for such republicans... and for people to actually be contributing.
Yep I hate to see that. I don't even like it when you see pictures of, say, a sinn fein councillor, in the paper and they're wearing GAA gear. I don't like any sort of politics being associated with the GAA
Quote from: border rabbit on April 03, 2011, 10:06:02 PM
I for one am sick at the sight of these scumbags collecting outside the Athletic Grounds, they stood today rattling their buckets looking for money for "republican families", alll smiles, no decent republican would entertain these lowlifes!
RIP Ronan, our prayers are with your family.
Imagine what it must have been like for the PSNI officers standing not more than 50 yards from those scum, knowing that one of their colleagues had been blown to bits a few hours earlier.
I am a member of the GAA as was Ronan Kerr.
I despise these people collecting and call upon all right thinking members to let them know exactly how you feel should they show up at the Athletic Grounds at the championship game against Down in May.
Quote from: Maguire01 on April 04, 2011, 06:27:38 PM
Quote from: hsthompson on April 04, 2011, 06:17:56 PM
Yes, it's what most of us would expect. But then most of us would expect that it would be unacceptable for collections outside the Athletics Grounds for such republicans... and for people to actually be contributing.
Good post.
But not to get off topic; I must say I'm heartened to see the outright condemnation here from every poster. It just shows how isolated these dinosaurs are.
That said, I feel that they must be rooted out and isolated by their own community. In my opinion, the fact that they can stand collecting money at sports events shows tacit acceptance of their existence from a sizeable proportion of nationalists. Maybe it's about time that it became socially unacceptbale for the scum that commited this murder to even exist.
Quote from: Declan on April 04, 2011, 10:33:22 AM
QuoteI've seen the dissidents outside the Athletic Grounds collecting for the prisoners a couple of times recently. they should be chased.
Must say I couldn't believe it when I saw them that night the Dubs played. If I hadn't seen them with my own eyes I wouldn't have believed it.
RIP Ronan. Our prayers are with your family, and hopefully they willl have the strength to get through this. I was amazed at how his mother was able to speak so well and dignified. God bless her, no mother should have to go through this.
As for the collectors at Armagh, they were collecting at the McKenna Cup final too, and i actually seen people giving them money, to my disgust. Do those who gave money think about what the are funding? These people should not be alllowed to use the cover of GAA matches to fund their scummy activities. Shame on them, they will never drag us back to the dark days!
I got a call telling me of this on Sunday morning as I arrived at work. It was very saddening and was in my mind the whole day. Please don't let us go back to the bad days. My nephews and neices in Ireland have no concept of how dark it was back then and I never want that to come back to Ireland again.
Those who did this are not republicans or dissident. They are simply anarchists with no political agenda. They are for-profit terrorists who want to create a void and live off the profits of the doom they sew through drugs, a scourge on any society in any country.
RIP Ronan Kerr.
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-northern-ireland-12970715 (http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-northern-ireland-12970715)
says it all. is this the next slant on it from the neanderthals....bad enough being a catholic in the psni, but worse again if ye play the old gaa.....
"GAA cops look what use got" Says it all about their level of intelligence really ::)
Wankers with a spray can, no intelligence and no future are not to be heeded tbf.
Then again, today's wankers are tomorrow's bombers as it takes eff all smarts to plant a bomb constructed 100 miles away under a car.
Quote from: quit yo jibbajabba on April 05, 2011, 12:09:30 PM
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-northern-ireland-12970715 (http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-northern-ireland-12970715)
says it all. is this the next slant on it from the neanderthals....bad enough being a catholic in the psni, but worse again if ye play the old gaa.....
The great bastian of Gaelic Games that is the Bog and Derry City and general. ::)
Won't find to many of these grafitii artists up in Celtic Park on a sunday celebrating their irish culture. More likely up in the metro bar shouting on Chelsea.
What is particularly sad about this tragedy is that someone he knew or at least someone from his community passed on the information that resulted in this murder.
Read in the Times today that they are investigating possible infiltration of the PSNI by the dissidents.
Quote from: Bogball XV on April 05, 2011, 12:26:59 PM
What is particularly sad about this tragedy is that someone he knew or at least someone from his community passed on the information that resulted in this murder.
Thats what my father said as well, but I would have thought it would be easy enough for these scum bags to find out information if they were looking to skill someone. Even over hearing somebody in a bar is all it can take
Quote from: Minder on April 05, 2011, 12:29:58 PM
Read in the Times today that they are investigating possible infiltration of the PSNI by the dissidents.
Would probably be easy enough done now than in the past....
Like carmen stateside i knew his brother from when he was out playing with us a few years ago he was a great lad like i've heard Ronan was
These bastards have to be stopped and i hope if anyone knows anything about this they will come forward
This has really showed how far things have come in the north this last 10/15 years with the public outcry
RIP Ronan
RIP Ronan
God bless your mother and family, my thoughts go with them.
Quote from: AQMP on April 05, 2011, 12:14:37 PM
"GAA cops look what use got" Says it all about their level of intelligence really ::)
One positive to take from the awful graffiti in the Bogside this morning was that local lads (twenty somethings) came out early on and cleaned it off the walls.
£50k reward for information leading to conviction should hopefully help. People may know something but are afraid to come forward but this will help them.
Any lads going to the wake/funeral?
Quote from: bailestil on April 05, 2011, 12:25:09 PM
Quote from: quit yo jibbajabba on April 05, 2011, 12:09:30 PM
The great bastian of Gaelic Games that is the Bog and Derry City and general. ::)
Won't find to many of these grafitii artists up in Celtic Park on a sunday celebrating their irish culture. More likely up in the metro bar shouting on Chelsea.
Had a brief trawl through that Irish Republican forum referred to on page 2 or 3 around that time, took a notion to look at the wider threads. The general discussion had a tiny thread for GAA, the Celtic and premiership threads were huge in comparison, i mean massively bigger.
Very little Gaelic culture, or any culture to be found with that crowd. Ironically, they would have more culture in common with their dissident Loyalist counterparts.
I say this with sadness and not anger; they are just scum. Sadness that they grew up in an environment that helped shaped them into what they are, and pushed them on a bloody path to nowhere.
With no trace of sympathy towards them, I would say that in many ways they are victims themselves.
RIP Ronan Kerr
Quote from: whiskeysteve on April 05, 2011, 03:00:44 PM
Had a brief trawl through that Irish Republican forum referred to on page 2 or 3 around that time, took a notion to look at the wider threads. The general discussion had a tiny thread for GAA, the Celtic and premiership threads were huge in comparison, i mean massively bigger.
Very little Gaelic culture, or any culture to be found with that crowd. Ironically, they would have more culture in common with their dissident Loyalist counterparts.
I say this with sadness and not anger; they are just scum. Sadness that they grew up in an environment that helped shaped them into what they are, and pushed them on a bloody path to nowhere.
With no trace of sympathy towards them, I would say that in many ways they are victims themselves.
RIP Ronan Kerr
Good post steve
I feel for the poor lads family, awful stuff altogether.
RIP Ronan.
So I think I asked this before but I'll go again:
Why is nothing done at the community level? Where are the old boys? Why are these things allowed to happen?
Take Armagh for example; I know who a lot of these so called "continuity" boys are and I have been gone for years. I'd say we all do in our home towns. If people are against this new campaign then how can these people continue to walk the streets.
Are people afraid of them? Secretly support them? Couldn't care less?
Where are the old brigade? Surely if they are in support of the political process then they are not also in support of this new campaign? Are they not able to dish out some community justice and put a stop to this?
Interested in people's thoughts on this......
I think these fellas have more support than we are led to believe over the last few days, and probably have a few secret admirers on this board.
Quote from: Minder on April 05, 2011, 04:53:47 PM
I think these fellas have more support than we are led to believe over the last few days, and probably have a few secret admirers on this board.
No I can't agree with that. The majority of people on this Island in general and the North in particular do not want to go back to those days. Just look at the electoral support SF and the SDLP get. Why should we as nationalists allow the PSNI to be the armed wing of Unionism...Get in there and make a difference. One thing the peace process has proven is that change can only come from within. There is no place in our society now for this type of attack.
Quote from: Applesisapples on April 05, 2011, 05:10:46 PM
No I can't agree with that. The majority of people on this Island in general and the North in particular do not want to go back to those days. Just look at the electoral support SF and the SDLP get. Why should we as nationalists allow the PSNI to be the armed wing of Unionism...Get in there and make a difference. One thing the peace process has proven is that change can only come from within. There is no place in our society now for this type of attack.
Did you read my post? I am not talking about tens of thousands of people or the "majority" but I would be pretty certain they have their supporters, and more than the half a dozen we are led to believe.
I heard on some news report over the weekend that PSNI/Garda reckon they have 600-700 members. In addition, they themselves must reckon they have enough "sneaking regarder" support to make it worth their while collecting on the streets.
I think it is time for a message to be sent to them. A good way to start would be to put a stop to collecting money at GAA matches. They should be chased. They stand and collect money and then blow up a member of the GAA. Why should they be allowed to be there?
I for one will be telling them where to go the next time I see them standing begging for bomb money prisoner money.
Quote from: Hardy on April 05, 2011, 05:25:45 PM
I heard on some news report over the weekend that PSNI/Garda reckon they have 600-700 members. In addition, they themselves must reckon they have enough "sneaking regarder" support to make it worth their while collecting on the streets.
Really??!! I would have thought that was at the high end of the estimates...I hope it is :o
Are there IRA prisoners? I thought the GFA meant that IRA prisoners were released?
Are these collections for prisoners who were incarserated after the GFA and after peace?
Please don't give them any money.
Quote from: EC Unique on April 05, 2011, 05:35:08 PM
I think it is time for a message to be sent to them. A good way to start would be to put a stop to collecting money at GAA matches. They should be chased. They stand and collect money and then blow up a member of the GAA. Why should they be allowed to be there?
I for one will be telling them where to go the next time I see them standing begging for bomb money prisoner money.
I sympathise with your feelings EC but I don't think we should get into restricting their "right" to collect. I hope/trust they're not doing this on GAA property as I think that would contravene GAA regulations. But absolutely nothing wrong with making your feelings known to them with a few Rooneyesque sentiments.
Quote from: Denn Forever on April 05, 2011, 05:52:24 PM
Are there IRA prisoners? I thought the GFA meant that IRA prisoners were released?
Are these collections for prisoners who were incarserated after the GFA and after peace?
Not sure Denn. All prisoners were released "on licence" and this can be revoked. I'm not sure but there might be the odd pre-GFA prisoners whose licence has been revoked but not many. There are some Real IRA, Continuity and various off shoot members in clink.
A way to combat these pricks collecting 'prisoner' money would be to stand next to every single one with a bucket with a picture of young Ronan and collect for a memory fund to show these tramps what we all think of their 'cause.'
These so called Republicans arent true GAA supporters but parasites who hang around the grounds. its awful to think that GAA supporters are givning money to groups who support and fund attacks against GAA memebrs. GAA supporters need to stand together on this and show these people there not welcome its the least we can do in Ronans memory. RIP Ronan.
Quote from: Red Rebel on April 05, 2011, 06:20:21 PM
These so called Republicans arent true GAA supporters but parasites who hang around the grounds. its awful to think that GAA supporters are givning money to groups who support and fund attacks against GAA memebrs. GAA supporters need to stand together on this and show these people there not welcome its the least we can do in Ronans memory. RIP Ronan.
Don't want to seem at all pedantic; but surely it would be awful to think that anyone would fund attacks against
anyone, GAA members or not?
Quote from: Tonto on April 05, 2011, 08:35:13 PM
Don't want to seem at all pedantic; but surely it would be awful to think that anyone would fund attacks against anyone, GAA members or not?
Catholics killing Catholics, were will this get them??
Quote from: Tonto on April 05, 2011, 08:35:13 PM
Don't want to seem at all pedantic; but surely it would be awful to think that anyone would fund attacks against anyone, GAA members or not?
You are correct, but it is worth pointing out the hypocrisy of raising money outside a Gaa ground for an organisation that may have killed a Gaa member.
It's worth pointing out that the GAA cannot control who stands outside their grounds collecting for any 'cause', most people don't realise who is collecting for what usually.
Quote from: omagh_gael on April 05, 2011, 06:05:46 PM
A way to combat these pricks collecting 'prisoner' money would be to stand next to every single one with a bucket with a picture of young Ronan and collect for a memory fund to show these tramps what we all think of their 'cause.'
Excellent idea.
I have seen them in the past in the carpark at Healy park before you get to the ticket turn styles. Should never happen again. >:(
Is it common at many grounds? Seen two lads collecting on Sunday outside Athletic Grounds but didn't get close enough to see what for, though given they were shaking their buckets at the Dublin game I was mindful of what it could have been for (Some cheek on them if it was) Would Armagh city not have much of a dissident element to it anyway?
Quote from: Minder on April 05, 2011, 05:20:41 PM
Did you read my post? I am not talking about tens of thousands of people or the "majority" but I would be pretty certain they have their supporters, and more than the half a dozen we are led to believe.
I'd agree with that, I'd be surprised if many of our northern posters couldn't think of several very sympathetic people without too much thought.
Quote from: fitzroyalty on April 05, 2011, 09:37:09 PM
Is it common at many grounds? Seen two lads collecting on Sunday outside Athletic Grounds but didn't get close enough to see what for, though given they were shaking their buckets at the Dublin game I was mindful of what it could have been for (Some cheek on them if it was) Would Armagh city not have much of a dissident element to it anyway?
Aye in the vicinity of the Athletic Grounds! Usually plenty of grafitti round Umgola and the odd car burnt out when the peelers start raiding houses. Think they lifted someone the other day although not sure if related to the Omagh case.
Quote from: HiMucker on April 05, 2011, 02:12:39 PM
Quote from: Bogball XV on April 05, 2011, 12:26:59 PM
Thats what my father said as well, but I would have thought it would be easy enough for these scum bags to find out information if they were looking to skill someone. Even over hearing somebody in a bar is all it can take
It could have been a bar, a bingo hall or anything. But I would say it probably came from someone who he knew and they passed the information on probably without malice.
Do people reckon that there are dissidents who have joined up to the Police? Never really thought of this before as candidates seem to be well screened etc and I would have thought this kind of craic happened only in films like The Departed etc, but when you think about it then it does not seem that unlikely.
Quote from: The Iceman on April 05, 2011, 04:36:02 PM
So I think I asked this before but I'll go again:
Why is nothing done at the community level? Where are the old boys? Why are these things allowed to happen?
Take Armagh for example; I know who a lot of these so called "continuity" boys are and I have been gone for years. I'd say we all do in our home towns. If people are against this new campaign then how can these people continue to walk the streets.
Are people afraid of them? Secretly support them? Couldn't care less?
Where are the old brigade? Surely if they are in support of the political process then they are not also in support of this new campaign? Are they not able to dish out some community justice and put a stop to this?
Interested in people's thoughts on this......
ffs Iceman catch a grip,local people will know who are againist the peace process but that doesn't mean these are the same people who are planting the bombs.What do you want the old brigade as you call them to do,shoot them[with what],beat them with hurls,or tar and feather them.We have all moved on and we need them to be arrested and go through the courts but the Police need hard evidence not just someone phoning and giving their names as I am sure the police already who they are themselves.
Quote from: AQMP on April 05, 2011, 05:48:34 PM
Really??!! I would have thought that was at the high end of the estimates...I hope it is :o
Thats ballls. MAYBE 600-700. Including sympathisers. Derry City is regarded as a strong hold for dissidents and one of their candidates got a handful of votes (literally). I mean they would have had more immediate family members than votes. What was their excuse, wait for it... Celtic were playing the last night that you could vote!
On a related topic, any word on how the Officer who survived the car bomb is getting on?
Quote from: AQMP on April 05, 2011, 05:56:30 PM
Not sure Denn. All prisoners were released "on licence" and this can be revoked. I'm not sure but there might be the odd pre-GFA prisoners whose licence has been revoked but not many. There are some Real IRA, Continuity and various off shoot members in clink.
I think IRA prisoners that killed Garda members were not released under the GFA.
They all were except for the Gerry McCabe gang who were considered outside the GFA .
The collections are demanding money with menace, they dare you not to give.
Quote from: Minder on April 05, 2011, 05:20:41 PM
Yes I read your post I just think it over estimates their support. There is a difference between communities still being suspicious of the police and being active supporters of killing and death.
Mickey Harte & Brian Dooher carried his coffin today, a pretty clear message from the GAA I would say!
Quote from: fitzroyalty on April 05, 2011, 09:37:09 PM
Ive seen them collecting in Armagh and Lurgan. i thought street collections have to get permission from the council or someone. maybe the GAA should talk to the council and get them to put astop to it.
Quote from: Doogie Browser on April 06, 2011, 01:03:08 PM
Mickey Harte & Brian Dooher carried his coffin today, a pretty clear message from the GAA I would say!
seeing PSNI and GAA members standing together in a guard of honour for Ronan is truly a first for me. that to me says it all how far things have come on over the past 10 years or so. ok, there have been many attacks now by these scum and there will be more, but that funeral today is clearly sending out a message to everyone. hopefully it lets the dissidents see that they are up against it even moreso than they thought
A couple of points. There a quite a number of republican prisoners at the moment who are being held on long term remand i.e. they haven't been convicted of anything. Others have had their licence revoked unfairly and others who are just being plain victimised:
http://www.organizedrage.com/2011/03/tribulations-of-brendan-lillis.html
http://www.releasemartincorey.com/
http://www.freegerry.com/
All of these people have families who have lost the main breadwinner through no fault of their own. I for one have made donations and reserve the right to do so in future for whomever I see fit.
Are any of the 'hard line' political groups taking part in the election? I hope so to see what support they have!
Quote from: Radda bout yeee on April 06, 2011, 02:25:42 PM
Are any of the 'hard line' political groups taking part in the election? I hope so to see what support they have!
Just the DUP ;)
Guardian is reporting a man arrested in Scotland in connection with murder of Ronan Kerr
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-northern-ireland-12989762
About 8 years ago I went to Mount Joy road to take back a Stolen Subaru with a few lads. I wonder is it the same fella involved here.... I real rogue and thug in general.... Any names?
Quote from: Ulick on April 06, 2011, 02:08:50 PM
A couple of points. There a quite a number of republican prisoners at the moment who are being held on long term remand i.e. they haven't been convicted of anything. Others have had their licence revoked unfairly and others who are just being plain victimised:
All of these people have families who have lost the main breadwinner through no fault of their own. I for one have made donations and reserve the right to do so in future for whomever I see fit.
Ulick, do you have a way of knowing that your money goes where the sign on the bucket says it goes?
Quote from: Mike Tyson on April 06, 2011, 03:46:05 PM
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-northern-ireland-12989762
This has to be as the result of intelligence.
I spoke to somebody this morning who attended the wake last night. They said that a picture of Peter Canavan lifting the Sam Maguire hung above the coffin and that his parents talked of nothing but Gaelic football.
I believe that the coffin was draped in a beragh jersey and psni t shirt side by side! symbolic!!
Quote from: The Iceman on April 06, 2011, 03:56:13 PM
About 8 years ago I went to Mount Joy road to take back a Stolen Subaru with a few lads. I wonder is it the same fella involved here.... I real rogue and thug in general.... Any names?
know someone who has just drove passed brocagh's pitch and said there is a lot of activity with police and tv camera's etc - was yer man near the pitch?
I'm not long back from the funeral. What a moving day it was. There were so many examples of solidarity but one stood out for me and that was at every Marshall point there was one policeman and one maor from the Beragh club. Small point but poignant all the same.
Cardinal Brady made an inspirational speech and Ronan's brother Aaron read a poem that would have brought tears from a stone. How he managed to hold his composure near the end showed remarkable strength.
Overall, it had a watershed feel to it. From Peter Robinson in a catholic service to the GAA working so closely with the PSNI. It truely felt like a historic day in our history. So many things occured that were unimaginable in the not too distant past.
It's just so sad it took something so horrendous to make it occur. I hope you rest in peace Ronan, the huge congregation there today highlighted the impact you made on so many lives.
Finally, with the news filtering through of arrests and arms finds it heartens me to think that the dangerous, evil, cowards that are trying to destroy our society and our kids futures are one step closer to being locked up.
Ulick, just a question, so dont crack up with me. But would you condem the murder of young Ronan Kerr as a completely unacceptablle attack against the people of this island?
I'll take this particular bait.
Almost every war ends with a treaty or agreement.
In this case the various parties were represented and we all know about the mediation, negotiations, clarifications and eventual agreement. Everyone had their chance to participate and all sides had baggage going into the process.
The baggage was dealt with as part of the Agreement.
The Agreement was put to the voters of the entire island and received an overwhelming mandate. That drew a line under the past and it is why as you put it, 'it is wrong now'.
That is the political reason it is wrong.
I am heartened by the posts here which tell me the vast majority agree it is wrong on every other level too.
ANyone heard a name yet? Will they release a name at all?
Just home and watched the funeral. A real sense of this backfiring on the dissidents.
Quote from: Radda bout yeee on April 06, 2011, 10:39:45 PM
ANyone heard a name yet? Will they release a name at all?
Not sure when they will release they name. Not many seem to know who it is as the name being put about is not right. The names going about may have been involved also though who knows
Quote from: Tony Baloney on April 06, 2011, 10:55:46 PM
Just home and watched the funeral. A real sense of this backfiring on the dissidents.
True, for once the word 'watershed' may be justified.
http://spailpin.blogspot.com/2011/04/gaa-and-need-to-honour-constable-ronan.html
An Spailpín was struck by the tremendous dignity of Constable Ronan Kerr's mother as she spoke to the media in the aftermath of his murder in a car bomb. Let his death not be in vain, she said.
And she was right. Such a grim reminder of the past shouldn't be filed as just one of those things. An acceptable level of violence, as Reggie Maulding once put it.
So maybe it's an opportunity for the biggest national organisation on the island to make a gesture, and say we are all Irish people of equal stature, irrespective of code or creed, Catholic, Protestant or Dissenter.
Wouldn't it be great if the GAA were to organise a challenge match between the PSNI and either a Garda selection or a GAA all-star selection? The Garda team is the obvious comparator, but the Guards will have a better pick and having the PSNI boys hammered won't make anyone feel better.
So how either a GAA All-Star team of veterans whose age would have drawn some of their sting to give the PSNI a game, or else appoint some GAA players policemen for a day, and let them line out on the PSNI side to even things up a bit?
Whatever. The details don't really matter. What does matter is if the game were on. And not on some back pitch in Belfast. A full house day in the summer – maybe one of the August Bank Holiday weekend games, a day out for the PSNI with all the trimmings? President, dignitaries, the Artane Band, the works.
The game would show that everyone on the island is a Gael, irrespective of who they are, what they do for a living, where they live or whether they prefer their spuds waxy or floury. It would say that none of that matters. That we have drawn a line under history, and old disputes and old squabbles that aren't worth any mother's tears.
That a man or woman who wants to be policemen and maybe buy a house and meet a nice nurse some night in Coppers and set up a house and family and raise their children to be good and honest people should be allowed to do that. It really doesn't seem like much to ask.
I saw something on Sunday about a visit to Croke Park by Queen Elizabeth of England. I didn't like it. I would like to see a PSNI team play and made a fuss over in Croke Park first. It would mean that we are able to look after our own affairs on the island, and that we recognize neither border nor boundary between Irish people. The Queen's visit isn't necessary. Celebrating our brothers and sisters in the PSNI as the island tries to repair the hurt of centuries is.
God have mercy on Constable Kerr. I hope a PSNI team can play in Croke Park this summer so we can celebrate his life and what he tried to achieve.
If nothing else i would really hope that this lads murder will be a watershed as Tony Baloney said.
Some of the more regular posters on this site are very very quite on this thread for some reason.
Should list the posters who would normally post on things relating to such happenings, this would maybe (along with a poll) gauge feelings on this board
Would love to think so but I doubt it.
Quote from: HiMucker on April 06, 2011, 05:48:41 PM
Ulick, just a question, so dont crack up with me. But would you condem the murder of young Ronan Kerr as a completely unacceptablle attack against the people of this island?
Yes, unreservedly and without hesitation.
Quote from: Gaffer on April 06, 2011, 11:31:44 PM
Unfortunately I doubt it too. Dont think they're remotely bothered about bad PR. Total scum that they are. RIP Ronan Kerr. Heart goes out to his poor family.
Quote from: ross matt on April 07, 2011, 01:03:29 AM
Unfortunately I doubt it too. Dont think they're remotely bothered about bad PR. Total scum that they are. RIP Ronan Kerr. Heart goes out to his poor family.
yes this is what we momentarily might think after such an event, but the sad reality is, if the omagh bomb couldnt help with a backfire effect then probably nothing ever will.
I'm sorry to be pessimistic, but I agree. That's not to say that the reaction to Ronan's death is insignificant. The public burying of the hatchet between traditional antagonists and the eloquence of the symbolism at his funeral may well constitute the proverbial watershed in community relations.
Some moving words from the funeral from what I heard on the Radio yesterday. But I also heard Gerry Kelly on condeming the killing and violence in general, and how the pictures of the devastation caused should send some kind of message to the killers. If you are going to get someone from your party to speak in such matters, surely he is not the man.
Quote from: Abble on April 07, 2011, 07:53:33 AM
yes this is what we momentarily might think after such an event, but the sad reality is, if the omagh bomb couldnt help with a backfire effect then probably nothing ever will.
Thats what i was thinking. If the outrage of them killing all those people 9 of which were children and one was a pregnant mother with un born twins has not deterred them what will? But having said that, watching the aftermath on the TV and reading in the papers, it does have a very watershed and symbolic feel to it. I just wonder does the idiots even consider this.
On a separate tangent, does anyone else think that Peter Robinson seems much more human and approachable since the scandal about his wife. Doesnt seem as cold in the face anymore
It looks like the 50k reward is bringing forth info ... second man, a 40 yr old, arrested this morning along the road from Omagh to Ballygawley.
Quote from: nrico2006 on April 07, 2011, 09:03:23 AM
Some moving words from the funeral from what I heard on the Radio yesterday. But I also heard Gerry Kelly on condeming the killing and violence in general, and how the pictures of the devastation caused should send some kind of message to the killers. If you are going to get someone from your party to speak in such matters, surely he is not the man.
Why?
very poignant watching the PSNI handing over the coffin to mickey harte and brian dooher yesterday, listening to the news last night and Ronan's brother reading the poem and breaking down was heartbreaking stuff.
On another note, mickey harte called to the family home for the wake, if it's possible this man grows even further in my estimation with his humanity and selflessness.
Is it right this 26yr old chap is a former member of the Royal Irish Regiment? ???
Quote from: sammymaguire on April 07, 2011, 09:53:23 AM
Is it right this 26yr old chap is a former member of the Royal Irish Regiment? ???
I may be wrong, but I think that was a different arrest that was made yesterday and wasn't linked to this killing, because they released a name. Someone on here mentioned the possibility of the dissidents having infiltrated the PSNI, and on the news they said that this man had a PSNI uniform in his possession.
What man had a uniform in his possession? The man arrested? Im actually very surprised his name isnt known already.
Quote from: HiMucker on April 07, 2011, 09:11:05 AM
Thats what i was thinking. If the outrage of them killing all those people 9 of which were children and one was a pregnant mother with un born twins has not deterred them what will? But having said that, watching the aftermath on the TV and reading in the papers, it does have a very watershed and symbolic feel to it. I just wonder does the idiots even consider this.
On a separate tangent, does anyone else think that Peter Robinson seems much more human and approachable since the scandal about his wife. Doesnt seem as cold in the face anymore
The day he spoke in Stormount about Micheala Harte, I stopped seeing a bitter politician and started seeing a father. A few words did more for his cause that day than he had done in the previous 25 years.
I thought he was fantastic.
Like I said, maybe I picked it up wrong, but I don't think the man that Sammy is referring to (ex-RIR officer) was arrested in connection with the murder. Also, from what I picked up on the news, they gave his name and claimed he had a PSNI uniform.
there was someone else arrested in Tyrone this morning, this £50k seems to be working wonders....
Quote from: paco on April 07, 2011, 10:35:10 AM
Like I said, maybe I picked it up wrong, but I don't think the man that Sammy is referring to (ex-RIR officer) was arrested in connection with the murder. Also, from what I picked up on the news, they gave his name and claimed he had a PSNI uniform.
There are 3 separate arms finds.
1. Brocagh: An arms find led to a man being arrested in Scotlaand on terrorism related offences. He has now been re-arrested over Ronans murder. A second man arrested on the road between Ballyqawley & Omagh is related to this. http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-northern-ireland-12996900
2. Omagh man, Ex RIR and found with a PSNI unifrom charged in Dungannon.
http://www.u.tv/News/Ex-RIR-soldier-in-court-on-gun-charges/e41ea9bf-250a-4866-b80a-5a9153882345
3. A man arrested in Banbridge
http://www.u.tv/News/Man-arrested-over-Down-guns-find/74398c05-9219-43d9-a065-13f9ba010e0a
I have just read Cardinal Sean Brady's speech/homily at the mass for Constable Kerr. He has gone some way to rehabilitating his image.
Well said Cardinal Brady.
Quote from: Norf Tyrone on April 07, 2011, 10:32:21 AM
Quote from: HiMucker on April 07, 2011, 09:11:05 AM
The day he spoke in Stormount about Micheala Harte, I stopped seeing a bitter politician and started seeing a father. A few words did more for his cause that day than he had done in the previous 25 years.
I thought he was fantastic.
Totally agree
The man with the PSNI uniform is ex RIR but has turned into a raving mad lunatic who went for marches in a forest in the middle of the night with fellow lunatics worshipping Hitler, different case altogeher.
Quote from: MR99 on April 07, 2011, 02:52:41 PM
The man with the PSNI uniform is ex RIR but has turned into a raving mad lunatic who went for marches in a forest in the middle of the night with fellow lunatics worshipping Hitler, different case altogeher.
I know, I've been saying all along it was a different case. The case I was referring to is the second of the 3 links above.
Banana, have to agree with you about Mickey Harte. A huge gesture on his part. In light of what he's endured it had to be very hard for him, but what an immensely powerful statement for and by the entire Nationalist community. You can talk all you like about democracy and signed Good Friday Agreements, but this tragic episode, I hope, will go down in history as the moment the two communities moved closer together. Can't understate also the significance of Peter Robinson being at the funeral Mass. A landmark moment.
When I first read of Ronan's death. I felt a sickening hollowness and a fear that we had in one split second catapulted back in years, but the response by the GAA community, encapsulated very forcefully on this very board, has been uplifting beyond measure. Never imagined that I'd be admiring Mickey Harte and Brian Dooher so much, and how moving must it have been for every mourner at the wake to see Ronan and above him Peter Canavan lifting Sam. Wow.
And the idea of a PSNI vs GAA select team match showcased at a public and important GAA weekend is a terrific idea and would only coalesce support and channel the outrage at Ronan Kerr's death to produce only good.
By the way, does anyone have a link to Cardinal Brady's homily?
Thanks very much, Mac Eoghain
I think it did.
Quote from: Applesisapples on April 07, 2011, 02:05:51 PM
I have just read Cardinal Sean Brady's speech/homily at the mass for Constable Kerr. He has gone some way to rehabilitating his image.
I'm sorry but all I heard in Brady speech was hypocrisy.
QuoteI'm sorry but all I heard in Brady speech was hypocrisy.
Please explain?
I wouldnt turn Peter Robinson into mother Theresa just yet, you talk about huge gestures, him walking into a Church whose congregation worships the same God he does and it is seen as this fantastic step forward, it's sad that his 'gesture' is seen in this light because it highlights just how backward the north and it's people are in some ways.
I will say that he is far more of a man than the rest of the bigots he has shacked up with politicially over the past few decades, they are still a collective of knuckle draggers and maybe the wifes unbelievable betrayal has made him a better human being, it would appear so.
Quote from: stew on April 08, 2011, 02:09:08 AM
I wouldnt turn Peter Robinson into mother Theresa just yet, you talk about huge gestures, him walking into a Church whose congregation worships the same God he does and it is seen as this fantastic step forward, it's sad that his 'gesture' is seen in this light because it highlights just how backward the north and it's people are in some ways.
I will say that he is far more of a man than the rest of the bigots he has shacked up with politicially over the past few decades, they are still a collective of knuckle draggers and maybe the wifes unbelievable betrayal has made him a better human being, it would appear so.
Nobody is trying to turn him into Mother Teresa. He's merely been given his fair dues for this and other recent gestures.
No, Stew, he's not nearing beatification just yet, but stepping into a Catholic church is a long way from "No Surrender, No Compromise." Pity it had to happen as a result of a tragedy.
Quote from: mylestheslasher on April 07, 2011, 10:46:37 PM
Quote from: stew on April 08, 2011, 02:09:08 AM
I wouldnt turn Peter Robinson into mother Theresa just yet
Or absolve Cowardinal Brady. The public's reaction to this tradegy for the Kerr family circle is the what stands out here. I'd agree ...Good to see gestures like that from PR...the solidarity (nationalist & unionist standing together) helps us move up the evolutionary chain
Dont want to take away from this thread in any way but this bit about Robinson is really starting to get on my goat. It wasnt that long ago that he and his cohort Paisley snr were inciting people through their words to carry out attrocities against the Catholic community.
Just because his wife did what she did doesnt change my opinion of him, he may have mellowed but I will always think of the people that died during to his rantings and ravings in the past.
Do you have the same feelings when Gerry Kelly speaks?
Gerry Kelly made no secret of it, I am by no means a SF sympathiser so dont mistake that.
My problem is that under the banner of Democracy they were inciting people to hatred and acts of violence. Thats all my point was.
Not the place for this discussion, but just couldnt let the Robinson love in continue without my opinion, which is what here is all about.
Stokes' father among three arrested amid crime crackdown
Three people have been arrested after ammunition was seized in a pub ordered to remove a 40ft banner barring the Queen of England during her state visit to Ireland.
A source confirmed that pub owner John Stokes – father of Celtic player Anthony Stokes – is among those arrested on suspicion of possessing firearms.
Last month, a judge ordered Mr Stokes to remove his controversial sign from outside the Players Lounge in the north Dublin suburb of Fairview, and not to erect another one.
Gardaí raided the pub at around 10am as part of an operation targeting dissident republican and organised criminal activity in the capital.
A handful of bullets found in a shed at the back of the pub have been taken away for ballistic tests and it understood Mr Stokes was arrested at the scene.
A number of private houses were also searched in the Donaghmede area in a crackdown involving more than 100 officers, including the force's special detective unit.
Another two people - a man and a woman - were also arrested during the operation and all three are being detained under Section 30 of the Offences Against the State Act.
They are being questioned at Store Street, Bridewell and Whitehall Garda stations.
It is understood the raids are linked to an investigation into a long-running turf war between the Real IRA and drugs gangs.
The bitter rivals are battling for supremacy in a protection racket targeting pubs and clubs.
Last July, three men, including a doorman and two customers, were gunned down outside the Players Lounge.
Cocaine with a street value of about €500 was also recovered during searches this morning.
The two men arrested, aged 54 and 46, and the woman, aged 55, can be held for up to three days.
Mr Stokes, 54, said last month that he reluctantly agreed to take down the massive anti-Queen banner after a senior Garda threatened to object to his application for late licences.
The publican said the livelihoods of his 12 staff members would be at risk if he did not get the licence extensions.
But outside Dublin District Court he vowed to continue his protest against the Queen.
Last night, it was confirmed that the state visit to Ireland will take in a tour of several historically significant sites including Croke Park – the scene of a massacre by British troops – and Dublin's Garden of Remembrance – which honours all those who fought for Irish freedom.
The trip, from May 17 to 20, will be the first by a British sovereign to the Republic of Ireland.
Read more: http://www.breakingnews.ie/ireland/stokes-father-among-three-arrested-amid-crime-crackdown-500463.html#ixzz1IwBNGLwy
Wow. That's going to make life difficult for Anthony Stokes in Glasgow. Maybe that sign wasn't a 'bit of craic'.
You're not a bit sorry Myles because when you opened the link to read the speech thats all you were looking for. Don't hijack yet another thread. You and skull go and play your fiddles in the religion thread.
Quote from: NAG1 on April 08, 2011, 01:08:40 PM
Gerry Kelly made no secret of it, I am by no means a SF sympathiser so dont mistake that.
My problem is that under the banner of Democracy they were inciting people to hatred and acts of violence. Thats all my point was.
Not the place for this discussion, but just couldnt let the Robinson love in continue without my opinion, which is what here is all about.
NAG1, I know were your coming from, I'm not saying i forgive him and forget the hatred and violence that he stirred up. All I was trying to say, is that we talk about moving forward as a community on both sides, but it was always hard to take anything politicians said seriously whist you held views of their bigoted nature. Whether that be listening to Peter Robinson, or protestants listening to Gerry Adams ( whom I don't see as a bigot, but we must recognise that a large portion of the other side of the community do). I think alot of gestures he has made has come about since the scandal about his wife and I feel less guarded now when he is speaking as a politician. There is no point in talking about moving forward if we don't trust the leaders who we have elected try and do just that.
Quote from: The Iceman on April 08, 2011, 02:24:17 PM
You're not a bit sorry Myles because when you opened the link to read the speech thats all you were looking for. Don't hijack yet another thread. You and skull go and play your fiddles in the religion thread.
all i heard was hypocrsy as well and i didnt even go looking for it.
Well all I heard is what I wanted to hear and I didn't even hear it.
Quote from: HiMucker on April 08, 2011, 03:12:12 PM
Quote from: NAG1 on April 08, 2011, 01:08:40 PM
NAG1, I know were your coming from, I'm not saying i forgive him and forget the hatred and violence that he stirred up. All I was trying to say, is that we talk about moving forward as a community on both sides, but it was always hard to take anything politicians said seriously whist you held views of their bigoted nature. Whether that be listening to Peter Robinson, or protestants listening to Gerry Adams ( whom I don't see as a bigot, but we must recognise that a large portion of the other side of the community do). I think alot of gestures he has made has come about since the scandal about his wife and I feel less guarded now when he is speaking as a politician. There is no point in talking about moving forward if we don't trust the leaders who we have elected try and do just that.
Good response, I get your point and take it on board. I agree to a certain extent with what you said and agree to move forward we have to trust but was just slightly turning me that because his wife cheated on him that he was suddently a stand up guy. I think he has moved forward also in recent years which is encouraging.
Quote from: The Iceman on April 08, 2011, 02:24:17 PM
Since you know my every thought it is odd you did not know that I heard the speech relayed on the radio and not on some internet link. As it turns out I agree with the content of what he said but I also see the hypocrisy of an evil protector of paedophilles calling other men evil at a funeral. That probably sits ok with the herd you belong to but not with me.
this is not the time nor the place.
shame on you Myles
Quote from: The Iceman on April 09, 2011, 10:15:26 PM
this is not the time nor the place.
shame on you Myles
It takes 2 to tango Iceman.
How reliable is the Sunday Worlds coverage on Ronan Kerrs murder yesterday? I know that this particular rag is hard to figure out whats right and whats not!
They had alot of big revelations!
Was it sensationalism or was it a good source.
If it was a good source could they be bound by the courts to reveal them?
Quote from: Radda bout yeee on April 11, 2011, 09:51:38 AM
How reliable is the Sunday Worlds coverage on Ronan Kerrs murder yesterday? I know that this particular rag is hard to figure out whats right and whats not!
They had alot of big revelations!
Was it sensationalism or was it a good source.
If it was a good source could they be bound by the courts to reveal them?
Our other local sunday rag had similar revelations. They did not name names but hinted at the same man named in the Sunday World.
Can someone post details?
Quote from: Hardy on April 11, 2011, 10:09:08 AM
Allegedly there is a new breakaway group. Former PIRA Army council member from East Tyrone, recently released not happy with SF direction has left the ranks and taken members of the East Tyrone brigade with him.
Did not join RIRA but they supplied the bomb. This is why there is no clear admission of responsibility.
In other revelations Ronan was set up by someone close to him and had been targetted from he signed up.
In summary a bunch of fanatics murdered someone to make a political point that they could not articulate and in their hearts don't believe in enough themselves to present it to us.
Thanks.
Quote from: LeoMc on April 11, 2011, 10:21:41 AM
Allegedly there is a new breakaway group. Former PIRA Army council member from East Tyrone, recently released not happy with SF direction has left the ranks and taken members of the East Tyrone brigade with him.
Did not join RIRA but they supplied the bomb. This is why there is no clear admission of responsibility.
In other revelations Ronan was set up by someone close to him and had been targetted from he signed up.
In summary a bunch of fanatics murdered someone to make a political point that they could not articulate and in their hearts don't believe in enough themselves to present it to us.
With friends like that.........
Quote from: LeoMc on April 11, 2011, 10:21:41 AM
Christ if thats true its shocking altogether....
Lads it's the Sunday World ffs. Up there with the 'Ra smuggling in tanks from Norway and the satanic rituals in graveyards (subsequently revealed to be a cover story for Brit OPs).
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-northern-ireland-13166401 (http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-northern-ireland-13166401)
Man charged.
Good enough for the p***k. Hopefully the rest of the scum are rounded up and put away to let us get on with the peaceful route to a united Ireland.
Quote from: omagh_gael on April 22, 2011, 11:40:07 AM
Good enough for the p***k. Hopefully the rest of the scum are rounded up and put away to let us get on with the peaceful route to a united Ireland.
You presume his guilt on the basis that he has been charged?
Shocking stuff - Omagh Gael, that level of presumption isnt a world away from the attitude that got the Birm 6 and guilford 4 thrown into jail without a care in the world as to their guilt. Have a bit of sense.
Quote from: rrhf on April 22, 2011, 01:13:19 PM
Shocking stuff - Omagh Gael, that level of presumption isnt a world away from the attitude that got the Birm 6 and guilford 4 thrown into jail without a care in the world as to their guilt. Have a bit of sense.
Exactly. As soon as people were arrested in the Michela case, Facebook had gone mad looking for an execution.
After/ if someone is found guilty... wail on then!
5 arrested for Ronan Kerr murder.
Any other news on this?
Police raids and searches in Coalisland, Ballyronan, Toome and Bellaghy.
Heavy police presence in Toome apparently, crowds gathering and potential trouble brewing. McNallys bar up from The Elk raided apparently.
yeah have heard the names of Toome and Ballyronan men, but not of others-hope the throw away the key if found guilty
Quote from: Jimmylong on July 26, 2011, 03:00:19 PM
yeah have heard the names of Toome and Ballyronan men, but not of others-hope the throw away the key if found guilty
Hope they throw away the key if they are guilty.
all released tonight
Quote from: gerry on July 27, 2011, 10:24:36 PM
all released tonight
200 officers involved, several helicopters on various scenes yet all suspects released 48 hours later. I heard the man that was arrested in tyrone was in boston when ronan kerr was murdered. Seems like an awful lot of money was wasted probably in excess of £10,000 for this farce and that's before even contemplating what these officers could have been doing for the community if they hadn't have been at the various scenes.
Quote from: randomtask on July 28, 2011, 12:25:47 AM
all released tonight
200 officers involved, several helicopters on various scenes yet all suspects released 48 hours later. I heard the man that was arrested in tyrone was in boston when ronan kerr was murdered. Seems like an awful lot of money was wasted probably in excess of £10,000 for this farce and that's before even contemplating what these officers could have been doing for the community if they hadn't have been at the various scenes.
True,
PSNI are a joke
Could it be a case of the case dying down and them clutching at straws to be seen to be doing something! Hope they get the people who carried it out but hope they don't start interogating innocent people either!
Quote from: randomtask on July 28, 2011, 12:25:47 AM
all released tonight
More like £100,000 !!!
This is how the RUC operate now..... they lift a few people known too them....... release them and then their little spies report back with any movements from the real suspects. It might look like they are just doing it to be seen doing something (which is part of it) but its like throwing a pebble into water and watchin the ripples spread out.
Quote from: Hereiam on July 28, 2011, 11:37:40 AM
This is how the RUC operate now..... they lift a few people known too them....... release them and then their little spies report back with any movements from the real suspects. It might look like they are just doing it to be seen doing something (which is part of it) but its like throwing a pebble into water and watchin the ripples spread out.
You seem to know alot about this subject ;), but seriously what a waste of time and energy, this stinks of an exercise which the psni are simply trying to show the public they are getting somewhere with the investigation. I feel sorry for those arrested because it seems that they have done f**k all wrong.
Quote from: Fionntamhnach on July 28, 2011, 03:24:27 PM
Quote from: randomtask on July 28, 2011, 02:22:15 PM
Quote from: Hereiam on July 28, 2011, 11:37:40 AM
You seem to know alot about this subject ;) , but seriously what a waste of time and energy, this stinks of an exercise which the psni are simply trying to show the public they are getting somewhere with the investigation. I feel sorry for those arrested because it seems that they have done f**k all wrong.
Being released without charge doesn't necessarily mean that it's all been a waste of time - those that were arrested before being released may have had something on themselves or others they knew, but not enough evidence for now at least to make a strong case to be charged for by the prosecution. Being arrested =! definite guilt.
well if martin mcguinness is condemning the arrests, they must be innocent :o
It's a strange setup and no mistake. I can't think of another jurisdiction in the world where the (joint) head of government would publicly berate the police force. It's an unwritten rule of democratic states that the organisation that exists to enforce the enactments of the legislature is always and unconditionally supported by the government. Most governments would find it necessary to resign if they couldn't express confidence in the police.
https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-northern-ireland-57937174
Course it could have been stopped, cops wanted it to be "the bomb" to end the bombing
Quote from: Dire Ear on July 23, 2021, 10:59:54 AM
Course it could have been stopped, cops wanted it to be "the bomb" to end the bombing
Aye, cause the Dublin and Enniskillen bombs all ended the bombing.
It is plausible that if the different branches had talked to each other and shared information it could have been stopped is very different from they let it happen. Don't try to point the blame away from where it lays, squarely with the people who planned and planted the bomb.
That case is very different from the "failings" in the Damian Walsh case where they pointed the UDA in the direction of the Dairy Farm, removed surveillance and deliberately impeded the investigation.
Quote from: LeoMc on July 23, 2021, 11:05:53 AM
Different time. Omagh was not in the middle of a campaign but was an attempt to start one.
Quote from: LeoMc on July 23, 2021, 11:05:53 AM
Quote from: Dire Ear on July 23, 2021, 10:59:54 AM
It is plausible that if the different branches had talked to each other and shared information it could have been stopped is very different from they let it happen. Don't try to point the blame away from where it lays, squarely with the people who planned and planted the bomb.
That case is very different from the "failings" in the Damian Walsh case where they pointed the UDA in the direction of the Dairy Farm, removed surveillance and deliberately impeded the investigation.
Agree with this.