GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Carbery on December 13, 2010, 09:39:33 AM

Title: Cavan break GAA’s winter training ban
Post by: Carbery on December 13, 2010, 09:39:33 AM
Cavan break GAA's winter training ban
By John Fogarty

MONDAY, DECEMBER 13, 2010

CAVAN'S footballers were last night discovered as the first inter-county side to have broken the winter training ban after they arranged a practice game under lights at their 3G pitch at Breffni Park.

A couple of hours after the conclusion of the Ulster club SFC final at the Cavan town venue, the county's senior footballers convened to participate in a game which featured a number of 2010 first team players including James Reilly and Cian Mackey.

The county's new co-managers Val Andrews and Terry Hyland have not had an opportunity to run their players through their paces since their championship exit under Tommy Carr at the start of July.

It is understood that last night's session was the first time the footballers had trained collectively since they were knocked out by Cork in the second round of the All-Ireland qualifiers.

Rule 6.43 of the GAA's Official Code states that the months of November and December shall be closed months for all games involving inter-county teams and collective training for inter-county panels.

While gym sessions are permitted, only trial games involving development teams — featuring no players from the previous season's panel — are allowed.

This story appeared in the printed version of the Irish Examiner Monday, December 13, 2010
Title: Re: Cavan break GAA’s winter training ban
Post by: rrhf on December 13, 2010, 09:46:56 AM
They'll not like the fine...   :D

seriously though we used to ban foreign games and now we ban our own.  What Cavan need to argue is that they they were playing Compromise rules and then they will be ok. 
Post by: Don Johnson on December 13, 2010, 10:10:09 AM
Only Cavan like...Let this one slide  ;)
Post by: Denn Forever on December 13, 2010, 11:53:49 AM
So Cavan are setting the trend?  That'll be a first.
Post by: illdecide on December 13, 2010, 12:10:00 PM
It's ok Larry Reilly will sort it out :D
Post by: Lawrence of Knockbride on December 13, 2010, 01:31:00 PM
Well for a start James Reilly wasn't on the panel in 2010. I would question the merits on looking at Mackey as it's clear what he can/can't do. The rule is a joke. It's ok for the Crossmaglen and Glenites boys to play for 11 months of the year because they get to an Ulster final but not for some lad that hasn't kicked a ball since August, who may be trying to impress the management before the McKenna cup.
Post by: Jinxy on December 13, 2010, 01:47:53 PM
What harm.
It'll keep them out of the pub if nothing else.
Post by: johnneycool on December 13, 2010, 02:09:34 PM
Did Cavan hurlers break the ban as well I wonder???
Post by: BallyhaiseMan on December 13, 2010, 02:12:06 PM
Quote from: johnneycool on December 13, 2010, 02:09:34 PM

if any of the hoganstand chat is accurate,Cavan Hurlers wont have anything to train for in 2011 !!!

This is a nothing story,it was just a few friends invited by Larry Reily for a kickabout in his back garden.
Post by: dublinfella on December 13, 2010, 02:13:51 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on December 13, 2010, 01:47:53 PM
What harm.

I agree its a stupid rule, basically deliberately decreasing the standard of play, but it is however a rule.

Will be interesting to see how hard the GAA come down on them

Post by: Jinxy on December 13, 2010, 02:25:21 PM
Quote from: BallyhaiseMan on December 13, 2010, 02:12:06 PM
Quote from: johnneycool on December 13, 2010, 02:09:34 PM

if any of the hoganstand chat is accurate,Cavan Hurlers wont have anything to train for in 2011 !!!

This is a nothing story,it was just a few friends invited by Larry Reily for a kickabout in his back garden.

Cavan have no choice but to breach the collective training ban as the only way Larry Reilly can get a decent leg workout is by squatting a steel girder with the rest of the squad sitting on it.
Post by: Bogball XV on December 13, 2010, 04:13:41 PM
They should claim that they thought the ban applied to any two months of their choosing, since they last played in July, there's plenty of scope for a break.
Post by: johnneycool on December 13, 2010, 04:17:44 PM
Quote from: dublinfella on December 13, 2010, 02:13:51 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on December 13, 2010, 01:47:53 PM
What harm.

I agree its a stupid rule, basically deliberately decreasing the standard of play, but it is however a rule.

Will be interesting to see how hard the GAA come down on them

The ban is allegedly to prevent player burn out, but IMO it's more to do with trying to keep running costs down, just like the impending decisions by some county boards to stop fielding inter-county hurling teams.
Post by: Banana Man on December 13, 2010, 04:44:44 PM
Quote from: Bogball XV on December 13, 2010, 04:13:41 PM
They should claim that they thought the ban applied to any two months of their choosing, since they last played in July, there's plenty of scope for a break.

:D cracker
Post by: mylestheslasher on December 13, 2010, 08:18:50 PM
How is a team with a handful of last yrs players having a kick around a breech of training rules exactly. No doubt the book will be thrown at Cavan.
Post by: BennyHarp on December 13, 2010, 08:37:24 PM
Quote from: Bogball XV on December 13, 2010, 04:13:41 PM

Thats a fair point! How can you ban a team from training in November and December for fear of burn out, when they haven't kicked a ball since July!
Post by: ONeill on December 13, 2010, 10:03:28 PM
All the Cavan players complained of frostbite apart from Larry. He bit the frost.
Post by: Banana Man on December 14, 2010, 02:15:59 PM
reading the back of the irish news the cavan spokesman seemed to give a plausible answer, he was able to justify it, the 1 lad that was doubtful was there to use the gym

as paddy heaney said, it is totally unfavourable on new management teams, they have to use the mckenna cup then as glorified trial matches, whole rule needs looked at
Post by: armaghniac on December 14, 2010, 05:05:09 PM
Ah sure you know Cavan, money is no object there, they'll just pay the fines and say bring it on! Anything to keep the success going.
Post by: tommysmith on December 14, 2010, 09:27:02 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on December 14, 2010, 05:05:09 PM
Ah sure you know Cavan, money is no object there, they'll just pay the fines and say bring it on! Anything to keep the success going.

Funny man  ::)

It's not a set fine as such its the entire allocation of their gate receipts for the league.

I wouldn't think it will come to that though.
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on December 14, 2010, 10:32:11 PM
From www.examiner.ie

The Cavan controversy: an eyewitness account
December 13, 2010 19:24 by  Irish Examiner Sports
John Fogarty

WE don't want to protest too much here because not much has to be insisted upon, really.
This Sunday past, Cavan breached the GAA's winter collective training ban, using at least one player from last year's panel in a training game. Simple as that.
However, in light of the Cavan County Board's denial and the possibility that Croke Park will require some sort of a testimony, allow me to recount exactly what I witnessed two days ago.
On the instruction of a match-day steward just before lunch-time on Sunday, I parked my car beside the 3G all-weather pitch in Breffni Park, 200 yards or so from the stadium.
Several hours later and about 30 minutes before I returned to it, the common sound of a whistle and raised voices could be heard from a Breffni Park meeting room where journalists took refuge from the cold to file their match reports and reaction from an entertaining Ulster final.
A quick glance out the window indicated high-powered floodlights were turned on. A team was training.
Work done and laptop packed away, I made my way back to my car when closer inspection revealed that a full-blown game was taking place with a referee in a green shirt officiating proceedings. On one side of the pitch formed a congregation of spectators while on the other stood two figures, an area from where the unmistakeable voice of Cavan's Dublin-born co-manager Val Andrews – known to listeners of RTE Radio One on which he worked as a GAA analyst in recent years – could be heard cajoling players.
Taking a spot on the near end-line a comfortable distance from the posts, this curious onlooker watched as Cian Mackey played into James Reilly's goal just 20 yards in front of him – the same Cian Mackey who featured in the county's three championship games under Tommy Carr this past summer.
Noticing my presence, an individual acting as an umpire on Reilly's goal approached and asked who I was. Explaining that I was an Irish Examiner GAA journalist, I then pointed out that Mackey shouldn't have been playing as his presence alone on the pitch contravened the GAA's rule on November and December being a no inter-county collection training zone. The umpire shrugged his shoulders.
After some small chat about the merits of the winter ban, I mentioned I had heard the first name of another prominent Cavan forward from this past season being shouted moments earlier to which the umpire responded by pointing up the field and revealed that he was lining out in the attack of Reilly's team.
Moments later, I bid farewell, walked to my car and drove away surprised that Cavan were so unashamedly contravening the winter training ban.
The Cavan County Board are now fighting their corner. It is understood they were of the belief that Mackey was in attendance at Breffni Park to undergo rehab work. But had they not consulted with their co-managers before making such a statement? Wouldn't they have realised then that he was actually participating in the training game? Could they have been that naive? (That's not to mention the other 2010 panellist who was identified by a fellow journalist not only by his facial features but his training jacket with his name emblazoned across his back.)
Mackey is a gregarious character and a fine footballer who I had the pleasure of interviewing earlier this year just yards away from the 3G pitch where he played ball on Sunday evening, the occasion being Cavan's press evening before their Ulster quarter-final defeat to Fermanagh.
Back then, I learned the Castlerahan clubman had posed naked for a charity calendar in aid of Cavan General Hospital and in the face of economic strains had recently taken over the lease of a pub in Ballyjamesduff. All in all, a decent skin.
It's unfortunate that he should now be recognised as the individual who has proven beyond doubt that the inter-county training moratorium was flouted by Cavan. On the face of it, all he did was play for his county in a training game on the bitterest of December evenings.
It's nothing close to a crime never mind a misdemeanour but under the canons of the GAA he did wrong. In togging out and participating, he erred. Whether he asked the Cavan management to give him a game or was asked to line out (even to make up the numbers), he shouldn't have. In the vicinity of several GAA journalists, the Breffni County shouldn't have let him. To put him in that compromising position was seriously irresponsible.
There was no subterfuge here, no peeping tom malarkey, no figure in the shadows. What Cavan did was either incredibly blasé or remarkably stupid.
Ever since the inception of the winter ban two years ago, its rights and wrongs have been up for discussion. The authenticity of The Irish Examiner's report on Cavan's activities isn't. The Breffni County broke the rule. The only question that remains to be asked is will they pay for it.

Post by: tommysmith on December 14, 2010, 11:13:49 PM
So there was another player who he didnt name, and Mackey is a better story because he stripped for charity.

This John Fogarty should mind his own business but i guess the next thing will be a article naming this other player.
Post by: winsamsoon on December 15, 2010, 12:06:18 AM
Fair play to Cavan. The ban is a load of shite. If players have exited the championship at such an early stage they need to keep their fitness levels up. Whilst they don't have to be at full championship pace some game play is essential.

Which county forwarded this motion at congress? Was probably down as they sold us out on certain other rules ;)
Post by: Tyrones own on December 15, 2010, 03:19:35 AM
QuoteThey'll not like the fine...   :D
:D  V.Good
Title: Fón
Post by: drici on December 15, 2010, 07:34:44 AM
Quote3G all-weather pitch in Breffni Park,

Good idea to have these 3G pitches which will help anyone doing Latest Scores for the Board from a mobile phone.
Post by: Banana Man on December 15, 2010, 08:53:51 AM
Quote from: winsamsoon on December 15, 2010, 12:06:18 AM
Fair play to Cavan. The ban is a load of shite. If players have exited the championship at such an early stage they need to keep their fitness levels up. Whilst they don't have to be at full championship pace some game play is essential.

Which county forwarded this motion at congress? Was probably down as they sold us out on certain other rules ;)

go away and scratch  :P

it is a bollix of a rule, fairplay to cavan, i hope they tell croker to go and fu*k, nonsensical rule
Post by: nrico2006 on December 15, 2010, 09:00:04 AM
Quote from: RedandGreenSniper on December 14, 2010, 10:32:11 PM
From www.examiner.ie

John Fogarty

WE don't want to protest too much here because not much has to be insisted upon, really.
This Sunday past, Cavan breached the GAA's winter collective training ban, using at least one player from last year's panel in a training game. Simple as that.
However, in light of the Cavan County Board's denial and the possibility that Croke Park will require some sort of a testimony, allow me to recount exactly what I witnessed two days ago.
On the instruction of a match-day steward just before lunch-time on Sunday, I parked my car beside the 3G all-weather pitch in Breffni Park, 200 yards or so from the stadium.
Several hours later and about 30 minutes before I returned to it, the common sound of a whistle and raised voices could be heard from a Breffni Park meeting room where journalists took refuge from the cold to file their match reports and reaction from an entertaining Ulster final.
A quick glance out the window indicated high-powered floodlights were turned on. A team was training.
Work done and laptop packed away, I made my way back to my car when closer inspection revealed that a full-blown game was taking place with a referee in a green shirt officiating proceedings. On one side of the pitch formed a congregation of spectators while on the other stood two figures, an area from where the unmistakeable voice of Cavan's Dublin-born co-manager Val Andrews – known to listeners of RTE Radio One on which he worked as a GAA analyst in recent years – could be heard cajoling players.
Taking a spot on the near end-line a comfortable distance from the posts, this curious onlooker watched as Cian Mackey played into James Reilly's goal just 20 yards in front of him – the same Cian Mackey who featured in the county's three championship games under Tommy Carr this past summer.
Noticing my presence, an individual acting as an umpire on Reilly's goal approached and asked who I was. Explaining that I was an Irish Examiner GAA journalist, I then pointed out that Mackey shouldn't have been playing as his presence alone on the pitch contravened the GAA's rule on November and December being a no inter-county collection training zone. The umpire shrugged his shoulders.
After some small chat about the merits of the winter ban, I mentioned I had heard the first name of another prominent Cavan forward from this past season being shouted moments earlier to which the umpire responded by pointing up the field and revealed that he was lining out in the attack of Reilly's team.
Moments later, I bid farewell, walked to my car and drove away surprised that Cavan were so unashamedly contravening the winter training ban.
The Cavan County Board are now fighting their corner. It is understood they were of the belief that Mackey was in attendance at Breffni Park to undergo rehab work. But had they not consulted with their co-managers before making such a statement? Wouldn't they have realised then that he was actually participating in the training game? Could they have been that naive? (That's not to mention the other 2010 panellist who was identified by a fellow journalist not only by his facial features but his training jacket with his name emblazoned across his back.)
Mackey is a gregarious character and a fine footballer who I had the pleasure of interviewing earlier this year just yards away from the 3G pitch where he played ball on Sunday evening, the occasion being Cavan's press evening before their Ulster quarter-final defeat to Fermanagh.
Back then, I learned the Castlerahan clubman had posed naked for a charity calendar in aid of Cavan General Hospital and in the face of economic strains had recently taken over the lease of a pub in Ballyjamesduff. All in all, a decent skin.
It's unfortunate that he should now be recognised as the individual who has proven beyond doubt that the inter-county training moratorium was flouted by Cavan. On the face of it, all he did was play for his county in a training game on the bitterest of December evenings.
It's nothing close to a crime never mind a misdemeanour but under the canons of the GAA he did wrong. In togging out and participating, he erred. Whether he asked the Cavan management to give him a game or was asked to line out (even to make up the numbers), he shouldn't have. In the vicinity of several GAA journalists, the Breffni County shouldn't have let him. To put him in that compromising position was seriously irresponsible.
There was no subterfuge here, no peeping tom malarkey, no figure in the shadows. What Cavan did was either incredibly blasé or remarkably stupid.
Ever since the inception of the winter ban two years ago, its rights and wrongs have been up for discussion. The authenticity of The Irish Examiner's report on Cavan's activities isn't. The Breffni County broke the rule. The only question that remains to be asked is will they pay for it.

I am really shocked at this Fogarty boy, I thought it was a piss take at first.  You would swear that someone was tricked into a crime by reading this, and Fogarty's attitude stinks - he represents everything that is wrong with the GAA these days, the report he has written really shows what a jobsworth he really is.  The normal GAA fan would not have a problem with seeing a player playing a game, or in this case only training.  The association has lost touch with the people who are most important to it, the players.  It seems that there are rules created for the sake of it, and the majority of these simply eliminate the fundamental reason why people got involved in playing the sports in the first place, to have fun. 
Post by: mylestheslasher on December 15, 2010, 06:50:26 PM
Quote from: nrico2006 on December 15, 2010, 09:00:04 AM
Quote from: RedandGreenSniper on December 14, 2010, 10:32:11 PM
From www.examiner.ie

John Fogarty

I am really shocked at this Fogarty boy, I thought it was a piss take at first.  You would swear that someone was tricked into a crime by reading this, and Fogarty's attitude stinks - he represents everything that is wrong with the GAA these days, the report he has written really shows what a jobsworth he really is.  The normal GAA fan would not have a problem with seeing a player playing a game, or in this case only training.  The association has lost touch with the people who are most important to it, the players.  It seems that there are rules created for the sake of it, and the majority of these simply eliminate the fundamental reason why people got involved in playing the sports in the first place, to have fun.

I agree with that. Isn't the examiner Cork based? Did this flute go all the way to Breffni from Cork for a story. Sure once he went all the way up he wasn't going to leave without a story of some sort.
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on December 15, 2010, 08:45:30 PM
John Fogarty is a Dub. I don't think the messenger should be shot here. It is a stupid rule of no use to teams who have exited the championship last July. This furore has highlighted that.
Post by: Celt_Man on December 16, 2010, 01:48:27 AM
What a load of bollox... No matter what way they cut it if Cavan is penalised for this it is just plain stupid maybe not wrong to the letter of the GAA law but just stupid....

If you break it down and they are penalised, Cavan will have been punished for....
Playing Football...
-Even though they played their last competitive game 5 months ago in July...
-They start a competitive provincial competition in less than 4 weeks
-The Ulster Council are looking for their McKenna Panel this week even though they aren't meant to be training etc

Just doesn't make sense to me at all....
Post by: Celt_Man on December 16, 2010, 01:54:45 AM
By the way, if it comes down to keeping the substantial National League takings from being taken off us.... If I was the County Board Chairman, I would simply say to Mr. Cooney...

"There wasn't anyone from the 2010 panel present, no rules were broken...  Prove it that anything else happened - are you going to take the word of a Journalist over a County Chairman..."

I'd lie through my teeth on this one (if any rules were broken) and then I'd move heaven and earth to get this fooking stupid lopsided rule changed or abolished quickly
Post by: BallyhaiseMan on December 16, 2010, 04:02:02 AM
I agree Celt Man,if they ask for the National League takings,tell them  to f**k off
This  shit-stirring John Fogarty individual should be run out of Cavan if he ever sets foot here again.
Post by: cornafean on December 16, 2010, 09:51:36 AM
Quote from: BallyhaiseMan on December 16, 2010, 04:02:02 AM
This  shit-stirring John Fogarty individual should be run out of Cavan if he ever sets foot here again.

and so should his newspaper.
Post by: Hardy on December 16, 2010, 09:57:53 AM
Here we have a perfect storm of GAA anarchy:

- Ridiculous rule brought in without any thought about intended or unintended consequences.
- Response to ridiculous rule: break it.
- Response to disciplinary measures for breaking properly constituted rule: outrage.
- Response to media commentary on the farce: pitchforks.
Post by: Winnie Peg on December 16, 2010, 09:59:27 AM
Quote from: Celt_Man on December 16, 2010, 01:54:45 AM
By the way, if it comes down to keeping the substantial National League takings from being taken off us.... If I was the County Board Chairman, I would simply say to Mr. Cooney...

"There wasn't anyone from the 2010 panel present, no rules were broken...  Prove it that anything else happened - are you going to take the word of a Journalist over a County Chairman..."

I'd lie through my teeth on this one (if any rules were broken) and then I'd move heaven and earth to get this fooking stupid lopsided rule changed or abolished quickly

Correct me if I'm wrong but was it not the players who campaigned for a two months closed season.
Post by: Lawrence of Knockbride on December 16, 2010, 01:25:03 PM
I'd have to agree with Hardy. The rule is stupid but it's a rule nonetheless. Why they played Mackey is beyond me. I can't see a defense for it and given that the rule and the punishment were known I can't see anything other than them being applied.
Post by: lynchbhoy on December 16, 2010, 02:20:34 PM
Cavan broke the rule and I dont think Val andrews will give a feck. He needed to see the players in action.
The Breffni boys should take their punishment now.
However out of badness, they should declare that all NFL home games are 'free in'.
Or maybe 5 cents or something like that !
the Central Council or whoever can take their percentage of the 5 cent a head gate receipts !!

Cvan have a lot of money behind them and dont need gate receipts.
I'd also guess that Val is a hell of a lot cheaper than Carr so they wont need to raise as much in Dublin 15 this year for the Cavan cause !!
Post by: anglocelt39 on December 16, 2010, 07:47:17 PM
Lynchbhoys view is exactly along the lines of what I was thinking. If they fine, well lets make it not worth their while on the takings. While a few of us Cavan lads don't want a bar of this particularly stupid rule some of us are very keen to fully apply the stupid rule about under 16's playing in the recent Ulster JFC final.
Post by: tommysmith on December 16, 2010, 08:11:48 PM
Quote from: anglocelt39 on December 16, 2010, 07:47:17 PM
Lynchbhoys view is exactly along the lines of what I was thinking. If they fine, well lets make it not worth their while on the takings. While a few of us Cavan lads don't want a bar of this particularly stupid rule some of us are very keen to fully apply the stupid rule about under 16's playing in the recent Ulster JFC final.

Thats cheating another team out of a possbile Ulster title though.
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on December 16, 2010, 10:28:45 PM
Quote from: cornafean on December 16, 2010, 09:51:36 AM

and so should his newspaper.

You are a journalist. You know several counties break this ridiculous training ban. But no proof. You then witness it in Cavan with your own eyes. You should be sacked if you don't report it. That's his job. And no, I'm not John Fogarty :P
Post by: dublinfella on December 19, 2010, 11:25:57 PM
I agree Celt Man,if they ask for the National League takings,tell them  to f**k off

Bullshit. He is an eyewitness to a breach of the rules. Its his job to comment on it.

Its a shite rule, we all agree on that, but its a rule. If Cavan are dense enough to do it in front of a f**king journalist, they should be fined for stupidity too.
Post by: put-it-up-again on December 20, 2010, 01:13:08 AM
Lads will ye relax, the boy's weren't training at all. They were just meeting up at a starting point for a few Christmas beers and normally the piss-ups start from Breffni after a championship exit so it was only fitting to start the session their to celebrate the baby jebus's birthday  ;) Tradition and all that for the season that is in it!

Post by: BallyhaiseMan on December 20, 2010, 05:18:42 AM
Quote from: dublinfella on December 19, 2010, 11:25:57 PM

Bullshit. He is an eyewitness to a breach of the rules. Its his job to comment on it.

Its a shite rule, we all agree on that, but its a rule. If Cavan are dense enough to do it in front of a f**king journalist, they should be fined for stupidity too.

What the f**k would you know about it anyway?
you probably wouldnt be fit to pick out Cavan on a map,seeing as your "soccer" team never has to play down here.   :D
Post by: Dougal on December 20, 2010, 07:16:28 AM
Quote from: BallyhaiseMan on December 20, 2010, 05:18:42 AM
Quote from: dublinfella on December 19, 2010, 11:25:57 PM

you probably wouldnt be fit to pick out Cavan on a map,seeing as your "soccer" team never has to play down here.   :D

that doesnt take away from the fact that he's right though.
Post by: nrico2006 on December 20, 2010, 09:42:53 AM
Quote from: tommysmith on December 16, 2010, 08:11:48 PM

Listen to yourself man dear, did you really grow up playing GAA sports?  I know that I (or any of my team mates) would not be running about crying about losing a Senior match because the other team had an U-16 playing.  We would be embarrassed to even bring it up as an issue.  Where has the dignity went in the GAA?  I love the mind set of the older generation, who think that all modern footballers/hurlers are softies in comparison to them, with their war stories of playing through games with this injury and that, and giving off about these Ham String things that everybody cries about today.  Go into your local bar and have a chat with some of the older stalwarts, and see what their reaction is to you complaing about a Senior team getting beat by a team containing an U16, and then see what their reaction is when you mention that the sore losers are appealing against the result because of the boys involvement.  I'm sure you will not get a response in line with your own.
Post by: dublinfella on December 20, 2010, 10:38:53 AM
Quote from: BallyhaiseMan on December 20, 2010, 05:18:42 AM

If the best you can come up with is an ad homenieum attack on me, I'll take it you can't actually argue the point.
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on December 20, 2010, 10:40:16 AM
Quote from: nrico2006 on December 20, 2010, 09:42:53 AM
Quote from: tommysmith on December 16, 2010, 08:11:48 PM

Listen to yourself man dear, did you really grow up playing GAA sports?  I know that I (or any of my team mates) would not be running about crying about losing a Senior match because the other team had an U-16 playing.  We would be embarrassed to even bring it up as an issue.  Where has the dignity went in the GAA?  I love the mind set of the older generation, who think that all modern footballers/hurlers are softies in comparison to them, with their war stories of playing through games with this injury and that, and giving off about these Ham String things that everybody cries about today.  Go into your local bar and have a chat with some of the older stalwarts, and see what their reaction is to you complaing about a Senior team getting beat by a team containing an U16, and then see what their reaction is when you mention that the sore losers are appealing against the result because of the boys involvement.  I'm sure you will not get a response in line with your own.

It is an interesting issue. I would be awfully embarrassed if our club appealed losing an adult game because of an U-16 on the opposition side. And I'm pretty sure our club wouldn't have the cheek to appeal. But, by the same token, we wouldn't be stupid enough to play an Under 16 footballer at adult level. Certainly not even before that rule came in but I can understand how smaller clubs might be tight on quality numbers. But once the rule came in, you've no one to blame but yourselves if you lose a game because of a blatant breach of the rules.
Post by: Kerry Mike on December 20, 2010, 05:13:10 PM
Does boxing count as collective training ?, as the Cork footballers were out in Rylane all last winter belting shoite out of each other and my sources say they are at it even earlier this winter, just asking like, would hate to think the Langers could get away with things others counties get pulled up on. oh wait Fás Cooney is still in charge, so no bother on the Cork lads.
Post by: dublinfella on December 21, 2010, 11:37:33 AM
The Sindo (I know...) claim 13 counties have breached the rule.

Its the Sindo, so I don't believe it myself.
Post by: Zulu on December 21, 2010, 02:55:29 PM
Although I can understand those making the point that it is a rule and should therefore be adhered to the fact remains that managers have little alternative but to ignore it. Few seem to believe the rule is anything but daft but while the managers of teams who reached the AI semis may not be too put out, managers of teams knocked out in the middle of summer simply have to ignore the rule if they are to have any hope of developing a squad for championship. That's not to mention the fact that those managers will also be looking to do well in the league which only increases the need for them to get the squad together over the winter. However, if CB's are to have any respect then I presume a large number of them will be formulating motions to have this issue readdressed.
Post by: tyroneboi on December 21, 2010, 08:56:22 PM
If the GAA are so keen on having 2 months of no intercounty training then why could it not be October and November?
Post by: take_yer_points on January 18, 2011, 04:28:45 PM
(http://2.bp.blogspot.com/_Q7ObrR7JOq0/SxKE9ec4ZmI/AAAAAAAAA1E/j_vzccCqxio/s1600/nothing_to_see_here.jpg)

Cavan have been cleared of breaching the GAA's ban on collective training in November and December.

It was reported last month that a member of the county's 2010 senior football panel took part in an in-house game at Breffni Park's 3G pitch.

The GAA investigated the allegation and it also received an explanation from the Cavan County Board.

"We don't believe they deviated in any way above the rule," said GAA president Christy Cooney.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/northern_ireland/gaelic_games/9364921.stm
Post by: leaveherinsir on January 18, 2011, 06:48:55 PM
Didnt seem to do them any favours on Saturday against Derry, not training that is!!   ;) ;)
Post by: tommysmith on January 18, 2011, 07:06:26 PM
Id say we will hear more from our reporter friend on this in the coming days.