GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Donegal Danny on November 17, 2010, 02:26:35 PM

Title: Sigerson Team of the century
Post by: Donegal Danny on November 17, 2010, 02:26:35 PM
Here is the short list for the Sigerson team of the century. Just thought it a bit strange that none of the Tralee I.T. teams from the late 90s  have made the short list except for Seamus Moynahin who is probably selected for his days in U.C.C. Does anyone think the selection committee is being a bit snobish rergarding the new colleges and I.T's. Also i hope the team is picked on their performances in the Sigerson cup and not their overall football career because if so it is wrong. It could turn out to be a balls like the St Jarlaths Team which was picked a few years ago which made a couple of disatrous decisions and turned the whole thing into a farse.

Sigerson Team of the Century shortlist revealed
17 November 2010

The GAA's Higher Education Authority has released a list of 60 nominees for the Ulster Bank Sigerson Cup Team of the Century.

The announcement of the team will coincide with the centenary celebrations of the famous third level football competition in 2011. The list of nominations is a veritable "who's who" of Gaelic football with UCD heading the list with 22 players.

However, the nominations have been criticised for being overloaded with players from the past, with Galway's Michael Meehan, Dublin's Bryan Cullen and Paul Finlay of Monaghan being the only current only inter-county players to make the shortlist.

Sigerson Cup Team of the Century nominations

Goalkeepers: Johnny Geraghty, UCG/Galway 1 medal in '62/63; Jimmy McGauran, UCG Roscommon/Galway 5 medals as goalie '36-40; Billy Morgan, UCC/Cork 2 medals, '65-67; Mick O'Gorman, UCD/Monaghan 5 medals as goalie '28-32, one as captain.

Defenders: Denis Bernard, UCC/Cork 2 medals '50-53; Eugene Callinan, UCC Tipperary/Cork 3 medals; '18-28; Mick Carty, UCD/Wexford 4 medals '73-78; Enda Colleran, UCG/Galway 2 medals, '61-66; Bryan Cullen, DCU/Dublin 2 medals '05-10; Jack Culleton, UCD/Wexford 2 medals, one as Captain '44-45; Sean Óg de Paor, UCG/Galway 1 medal as captain in '91-92; Eddie Devlin, UCD/Tyrone 5 combined universities '51-57; Seán Flanagan, UCD/Mayo 1 medal as captain in '45-46; Hugh Gibbons, UCG/Roscommon 4 medals, '36-40; Séamus McHugh, UCG/Galway 2 medals, '79-82; DJ Kane, UUJ/Down 2 medals, one as Captain '86-87; Henry Kenny, UCG /Mayo 4 medals, '37-41; Seán Marty Lockhart, UUJ/Derry Stalwart of UUJ through the '90s; Páudí Lynch, UCC/Kerry 1 medal '70-71; Kieran McGeeney, QUB/Armagh 1 medal in '92-93; Mick Morris, UCC/Kerry 3 medals '65-69; Séamus Moynihan, UCC/ITT/Kerry 3 medals, 2 with UCC and 1 with ITT; Seán Murphy, UCD/Kerry 3 medals, '54-59; Martin Newell, UCG/Galway 2 medals, '60-64; Pat O'Neill, UCD/Dublin 3 medals in '70s; Mick Raftery, UCG Mayo/Galway 8 medals '33-41; Tony Regan, UCG Roscommon/Galway 4 CU's '72-77; Joe Salmon, UCG Mayo/Galway 6 medals '36-41.

Midfielders: Paul Brewster, QUB/Fermanagh 1 medal '91-94; Pádraig Carney, UCD/Mayo 3 medals '45- 50; PJ Duke, UCD/Cavan 3 medals, '45-50; Paddy Henry, Maynooth/Sligo 1 medal in '75/76; Jim McDonnell, UCD/Cavan 3 medals, ever present in the '50s for UCD; Jim McGrane, QUB/Armagh 2 medal in '92-93; Eugene McKenna, QUB/Tyrone A Queens stalwart through the '70's; John O'Keeffe, UCD/Kerry 3 medals between '0-75.

Forwards: Greg Blaney, QUB/Down 1 medal between '81-85; Frank Bourke, UCD/Kildare and Dublin 3 medals, '16-20; James Brady, UCD/Cavan 4 medals '55-60; Jim Brosnan, UCC/Kerry 2 medals in '50s; Peter Canavan, St Mary's/Tyrone; Ray Cummins, UCC/Cork 2 medals '68-70; Trevor Giles, UCD/Meath 1 medal, '95-96; Paul Finlay, IT Sligo/Monaghan 2 medals '01-04; Anthony Finnerty, UCG/UCD Mayo 4 medals '81-96; Eamonn Fitzgerald, UCC/Kerry 4 medals '26-30; Maurice Fitzgerald, UCC/Kerry 1 medal, 87-90; Joe Kearney, UCC/Cork 3 medals, '18-25; Donal Keenan, UCD/Roscommon 2 medals '40/41 - '46/47; Kevin Kilmurray, UCD/Offaly 2 medals, '72-75; Seán Lavan, UCD/Mayo 3 medals '22-29; Brendan Lynch, UCC/Kerry 3 medals, '68-72; Tony McManus, UCD/Roscommon 3 medals, '77-80; Michael Meehan, UCG/Galway 1 medal, man of the match in '02/03 final; Denis "Ogie" Moran, UCD/Kerry 2 medals - '74-77; Paddy Moriarty, QUB/Armagh Sigerson stalwart for Queen's in the '70s; Seán O'Neill, QUB/Down 2 medals, '58/59 and '64/65; Colm O'Rourke, UCD/Meath 1 medal, '75-79; Paudie Sheehy, UCC/Kerry 2 medals, '50-53, captain in '53; Jackie Walsh, UCD/Kerry 4 medals in the 70s.

©2010 Lynn Publications
Title: Re: Sigerson Team of the century
Post by: mountainboii on November 17, 2010, 02:34:33 PM
Quote from: Donegal Danny on November 17, 2010, 02:26:35 PM
Eugene Callinan, UCC Tipperary/Cork 3 medals; '18-28

Jim McGuinness has a rival.
Post by: Tubberman on November 17, 2010, 03:33:29 PM
Quote from: AFS on November 17, 2010, 02:34:33 PM
Quote from: Donegal Danny on November 17, 2010, 02:26:35 PM
Eugene Callinan, UCC Tipperary/Cork 3 medals; '18-28

Jim McGuinness has a rival.

I'll raise you: Anthony Finnerty, UCG/UCD Mayo 4 medals '81-96
Post by: deargdoom on November 17, 2010, 03:49:56 PM

I'll raise you: Anthony Finnerty, UCG/UCD Mayo 4 medals '81-96

but he played for 2 unis :P

Jim McGrane, QUB/Armagh 2 medal in '92-93
pretty sure its meant to be Paul
Post by: Uladh on November 17, 2010, 05:17:52 PM
What is paul finlay doing on that list? Was McHugh on the selection committee?
Post by: thewobbler on November 17, 2010, 05:26:39 PM
Seems like an utterly pointless award this one.

By its very nature, those who have made the biggest contribution to Sigerson football are those who spent too long at university, and as such gained an unfair advantage at the level.
Post by: Rav67 on November 17, 2010, 05:28:51 PM
No McGourty?
Post by: Bogball XV on November 17, 2010, 05:33:05 PM
No Tohill?  No Brolly? No McNicholl?
Post by: muppet on November 17, 2010, 05:57:52 PM
Quote from: Bogball XV on November 17, 2010, 05:33:05 PM
No Tohill?  No Brolly? No McNicholl?

No, no, no.

But why has PTG no years?

And if Larry was in college for 15 years what was he studying? Philosofry?
Post by: laoisgaa on November 17, 2010, 06:54:22 PM
arrell lashes out at imbalance in Sigerson Team of the Century shortlist.
By Cóilín Duffy

Ulster Higher Education GAA Chairman John Farrell has lashed out at the selection committee for the 'Ulster Bank Sigerson Team of the Century', over their decision to shortlist just three players from the last decade of the competition for nomination, and for failing to consult with colleges in their endeavours.

The shortlist of 60 players was unveiled yesterday by Higher Education Chairman Ray O'Brien in Croke Park, with DCU's Bryan Cullen, Paul Finlay of Monaghan and Galway's Michael Meehan the only players of recent vintage in contention for the final 15.

Farrell, who is also UUJ GAA Club President congratulated all those nominated, but says that the consultation process with colleges was almost nonexistent.

"First of all we would like to congratulate anybody who eventually gets honoured, but we would point out
that nobody in the colleges, and I can only speak for Jordanstown and Ulster - nobody was consulted in terms of nominations for this.

"It is a pity that CA (Comhairle Ardoideachais) didn't listen to clubs when they were asked to consider to have a team of the first 50 years, and then a team of the second 50 years.

"What we are going to have now is a situation where a lot of people will not be alive to receive awards.

He added, "I don't know how they picked these players, because there is nobody alive who would ever remember them.

"I think it would have been far better if they had picked two teams, each covering a 50-year period.

"Some of the nominations I find extremely strange."

Farrell feels that while it is important to have special events for the Sigerson Centenary, CA have lost their focus a bit on the important issues surrounding colleges competitions.

"There was considerable money set aside for the Sigerson Cup competition centenary anniversary, which should be celebrated in some way.

"However, I think this particular way of having a Centenary team is not a good one. It would have been better serving having some of more poignant celebration for the people who are actually playing at the moment, and who are going to play in the future."

Farrell's college UUJ just have two players shortlisted for honours, with Derry's Sean Marty Lockhart and Down's DJ Kane nominated, while Belfast rivals Queens hold seven nominees including 2002 All-Ireland winning captain Kieran McGeeney.

UCD dominate the nominees with 22 players shortlisted, while UCC and UCG have 13 each. Meanwhile, St Mary's Belfast, DCU, IT Tralee, NUI Maynooth and IT Sligo complete the shortlist with one nominee each.

The team will be announced in December, on a separate date to the CA Championship Draws which take place on December 8th.
Post by: Mid Down Gael on November 17, 2010, 08:06:05 PM
Quote from: Rav67 on November 17, 2010, 05:28:51 PM
No McGourty?

The first glaring ommission i thought of. Was outstanding for QUB. Also, how UUJ have had no representatives from last two Sigerson winning teams is hard to understand.
Post by: imtommygunn on November 17, 2010, 08:24:44 PM
Poor Tommy Joe...

Haven't seen enough sigerson football but in terms of Jordanstown players Mark Lynch, who has yet to prove himself at county level, has been excellent for Jordanstown and would surely merit a mention.
Post by: AlriteHorse on November 18, 2010, 08:09:56 AM
Quote from: imtommygunn on November 17, 2010, 08:24:44 PM
Poor Tommy Joe...

Haven't seen enough sigerson football but in terms of Jordanstown players Mark Lynch, who has yet to prove himself at county level, has been excellent for Jordanstown and would surely merit a mention.

Joke! There's a hell of a lot more guys should be included on this! Don't recognise a lot of the guys on this. (No Jim McGuinness or Anthony Rainbow?) Can think of several Sligo IT players with back-to-back medals, as well as 5/6 QUB players who have featured in 4 Finals....not to mention the players UUJ have had in the last decade. Not too often I'd agree with TJ, but he hit the nail on the head here.

Who were the selection committee?
Post by: saffron sam2 on November 18, 2010, 08:45:30 AM
The two boys from my time at Queen's who should be on that list are James McCartan and Anthony Tohill.

James McCartan's Sigerson career spanned the same four years as Peter Canavan and whilst Canavan makes the list, James doesn't. There is doubt that Canavan should be on the list, particularly since he was coming from non-league football; his performance against Galway in the '93 semi-final is the best individual performance I have ever seen. However, compare the Sigerson records of the two boys: McCartan - four Sigersons, three finals, two medals, two red cards; Canavan - four Sigersons, two finals, one semi-final, two kicks, no medals, one red card.

How Tohill misses out and Brewster and McGrane get in defies belief. When Tohill won player of the tournament in '93, neither of the other two were considered good enough to play midfield. In fact Brewster during his studies was in a queue behind such luminaries as Danny Barr, Adrian Kilpatrick and Cathal O'Rourke for a midfield slot.

Form a Polytechnic perspective, I would argue that Noel Donnelly is well worth a place on that list.

But thewobbler is indeed correct, a pointless exercise.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on November 18, 2010, 09:39:18 AM
Tohill and McCartan definitely should be there.  McCartan in the age period of about 17 to 23 was practically unmarkable.  Tohill was simply awesome at that time.

Also I don't know how Hugh Daly from the Polytech never made the list :P
Post by: theskull1 on November 18, 2010, 10:26:15 AM
How can these sort of things be taken seriously. Totally pointless exercise
Post by: DuffleKing on November 18, 2010, 10:27:46 AM
Tohill was a v good sigerson player but not a great one, even though he was starring for derry at the time. He never even played 1 of his three years and just about played in one of the other two.

If you're talking pure sigerson terms, and not on county careers, the likes Justin McNulty, eamon connolly, cathal o'rourke and karl oakes (mom sig final 2000) were grest sigerson players.

For wee james not to be on it is astonishing
Post by: saffron sam2 on November 18, 2010, 12:00:09 PM
One of the main problems for people posting on the board is that you are leaving yourself wide open to be exposed as a tomfool. Below is one such example.

Quote from: DuffleKing on November 18, 2010, 10:27:46 AM
Tohill was a v good sigerson player but not a great one, even though he was starring for derry at the time. He never even played 1 of his three years and just about played in one of the other two.

If you're talking pure sigerson terms, and not on county careers, the likes Justin McNulty, eamon connolly, cathal o'rourke and karl oakes (mom sig final 2000) were grest sigerson players.

A cursory glance through Queen's Sigerson teams lists an A Tohill playing at midfield in the finals of 1992, 1993 and 1994.
Post by: DuffleKing on November 18, 2010, 12:13:33 PM

You could be right there ss. My memory was of him not playing  the year he had the trials with united - 92 i think - when they were beaten in the final in galway. could be wrong though.

Nice to be caled a fool though...
Post by: BarryBreensBandage on November 18, 2010, 12:16:52 PM
Quote from: saffron sam2 on November 18, 2010, 12:00:09 PM
One of the main problems for people posting on the board is that you are leaving yourself wide open to be exposed as a tomfool. Below is one such example.

Quote from: DuffleKing on November 18, 2010, 10:27:46 AM

A cursory glance through Queen's Sigerson teams lists an A Tohill playing at midfield in the finals of 1992, 1993 and 1994.

Justy took the scenic route through college as well, the eternal student, and had lot of opportunity to play well! But, would agree,

he was some player at College level, and I thought Armagh would have benefited if they had played him further out the field in his

prime.

Post by: BennyHarp on November 18, 2010, 06:21:11 PM
Cormac McAllanen has a decent shout here too! I know he won Sigerson with Queens, but did he win one win UCD? I think he won two Dublin championships with them, just not sure about Sigerson!
Post by: tyssam5 on November 18, 2010, 07:32:11 PM
McCartan the obvious absence for me.
Post by: ONeill on November 18, 2010, 08:34:16 PM
Bellew mustn't have gone to university.
Post by: crossdoesitbest on November 18, 2010, 09:21:24 PM
Quote from: ONeill on November 18, 2010, 08:34:16 PM
Bellew mustn't have gone to university.

Nah. Francie was too busy shovelling concrete from the age of 13! Oh yeah and as legend has it "scaring the boogeyman". ;) ;) ;)
Post by: ONeill on November 18, 2010, 11:55:43 PM
No, don't get that last sentence at all.
Post by: Ulick on November 19, 2010, 12:21:38 AM
No Marsden?
Post by: deargdoom on November 19, 2010, 12:54:00 AM
Quote from: Ulick on November 19, 2010, 12:21:38 AM
No Marsden?

mmm apparantly captaining a winning side doesn't count, yet Paddy Mo's shortlisted for a Sigerson Team of the century without actually owning a Sigerson medal?!? Something tells me it's based more on name and reputation
Post by: saffron sam2 on November 19, 2010, 08:13:39 AM
Quote from: DuffleKing on November 18, 2010, 12:13:33 PM
You could be right there ss. My memory was of him not playing  the year he had the trials with united - 92 i think - when they were beaten in the final in galway. could be wrong though.

Definitely played in Galway in '92. I was there. Brewster only played due to Danny Barr's unavailability.

Consider it a badge of honour.

The real fool remains the one who selected Brew and McGrane ahead of Tohill.
Post by: DuffleKing on November 19, 2010, 09:04:03 AM

I wouldn't have any of the three on a list like that, in purely sigerson terms. Certainly not McGrane. The same probably applies for marsden who actually played very little sigerson football, despite being eligible.
Post by: orange2009 on November 19, 2010, 10:31:20 AM
Quote from: deargdoom on November 19, 2010, 12:54:00 AM
No Marsden?

mmm apparantly captaining a winning side doesn't count, yet Paddy Mo's shortlisted for a Sigerson Team of the century without actually owning a Sigerson medal?!? Something tells me it's based more on name and reputation

Am I not right in saying that Paddy Mo in his time was considered worthy of an All-Star based on Sigerson performances alone in around 74? 

Now way before my time but that surely must indicate the type of Sigerson player he was
Post by: saffron sam2 on November 19, 2010, 03:00:56 PM
Quote from: orange2009 on November 19, 2010, 10:31:20 AM
Quote from: deargdoom on November 19, 2010, 12:54:00 AM
No Marsden?

Am I not right in saying that Paddy Mo in his time was considered worthy of an All-Star based on Sigerson performances alone in around 74? 

Now way before my time but that surely must indicate the type of Sigerson player he was

As was Anthony McGurk.
Post by: Apple Crumble on November 19, 2010, 11:19:36 PM
No Jim McGuinness , Enda McNulty, McCarten, Tohill, Cormac McAnallen (r.i.p.), Ciaran McManus

Complete farce & we all knew it was going to be.

Basically its a list of famous GAA men who went to uni picked by old men looking thorough pen picks of old gameday programmes.
Post by: FermGael on November 20, 2010, 11:47:07 AM
What about Mick Brewster (Paul and Tom's Father)??
Post by: jodyb on November 21, 2010, 09:47:27 AM

Tohill had his united trial in 95, not 92
Post by: redcard on November 21, 2010, 11:51:22 PM
cant believe Liam Sweeney isnt on the sigersons team of the century. unbelievable.
Post by: ck on December 23, 2010, 12:26:40 AM
Interesting thread. Whilst I completely share the amazement that Tohill was ommitted... why do people insist on mentioning players who most of us never even heard of and never even won a Sigerson. I mean, Justin and Enda McNulty? Justin never even won a Sigerson. Enda won one after about 10 years at college. I wouldnt be throwing out awards to people who flunked their exams just to continue some pipe dream of playing football.

As for the biased Tommy Joe. If the 15 players selected were UUJ players, Tommy Joe would still be complaining. I have never met the man but his reputation proceeds him.
Post by: laoisgaa on December 23, 2010, 12:22:21 PM
Ah there's a reason why I got comment from Tommy Joe on the nominations. I wasn't happy with them either myself to be honest and I knew he wouldn't be. It's not the point that there's only a few UUJ players - the point is more that for these type of selections you'd expect more of a recent vintage to be nominated. Just two players from the last ten years or so - it doesn't make sense.
Post by: ck on December 23, 2010, 05:50:48 PM
Quote from: laoisgaa on December 23, 2010, 12:22:21 PM
Ah there's a reason why I got comment from Tommy Joe on the nominations. I wasn't happy with them either myself to be honest and I knew he wouldn't be. It's not the point that there's only a few UUJ players - the point is more that for these type of selections you'd expect more of a recent vintage to be nominated. Just two players from the last ten years or so - it doesn't make sense.

Yes Laoisgaa I see where you are coming from however they clearly went for people who were successful in Sigerson and also backed it up with a solid county career. The recent lads are still getting there in that respect.
Some of the best players I ever played with were at Sigerson level, but they didnt make it at county level for one reason or another. Many opt for professional careers etc.
Post by: laoisgaa on December 23, 2010, 07:20:55 PM
I can think of plenty of Sigerson winners over the last ten years who have MADE it at inter-county level. But this selection is not supposed to be THE SIGERSON PLAYERS WHO MADE IT AT INTER COUNTY TEAM OF THE CENTURY. It's a Sigerson team of the century and should reflect as such.
Post by: whiskeysteve on December 23, 2010, 07:53:17 PM
Never understood the appeal of the sigerson. Like a preseason warmup to club and county
Post by: ck on December 23, 2010, 10:50:55 PM
Quote from: whiskeysteve on December 23, 2010, 07:53:17 PM
Never understood the appeal of the sigerson. Like a preseason warmup to club and county

@ Whiskeysteve: Most people who didnt go to college don't "get" Sigerson. Ask any college player who played in it and see if they "get" it!

@ Laoisgaa: So what was the criteria for selection? Based on the players selected I would assume that their county profile would have aided their selection? The fact is that none of us know what criteria was used... so you and Tommy Joe can complain and I believe you have a case but perhaps the selection committee had a "profile" agenda to adhere to?
...but no matter what criteria was used, it beggers belief how Anthony Tohill was overlooked. The only explanation I can think of is that he didnt bother playing for Queen's in his final year.
Post by: whiskeysteve on December 23, 2010, 11:55:06 PM
Quote from: ck on December 23, 2010, 10:50:55 PM
Quote from: whiskeysteve on December 23, 2010, 07:53:17 PM

@ Whiskeysteve: Most people who didnt go to college don't "get" Sigerson. Ask any college player who played in it and see if they "get" it!

aye fair enough. can only speak for myself and i was never near that standard! what i meant to say was i never understood the appeal to students not involved in it.

no offence to the players i knew who may read this but i never cared how Queens did while i was there so long as the derry fellas were in good form to bring it on to the county games!

supporting your uni team beyond it being based on support for fellow county men just didnt make sense to me, though in saying that i was happy to see derry men win sigersons.

id still maintain the importance of your club and countys seasons are light years ahead! sigerson is very old news by July!
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on December 24, 2010, 12:41:28 AM
From my very hazy memory of them, Sigerson weekends were absolutely mighty craic!
Post by: heganboy on December 29, 2010, 05:06:14 PM
being at QUB in that vintage, cant believe McGrane and Brew made it but not Tohill and wee James. Wee james and the boot coming off in Belfast that day- and kissing the badge on the way round the field after being sent off!

Marsden was an exceptional player on those Sigerson panels, but somehow I don't remember that he got that one run of big games in any one year that would have catapulted him up that list. There were a few others on that list too...

McGeeney, Tohill, Brewster, Cathal O Rourke and wee James were all in the same engineering class- reasonably gifted group :-)

I remember McGeeney was eligible to play for UU during his post grad but "politely declined"

Post by: put-it-up-again on January 28, 2011, 01:29:42 PM
Lads, just seen its the last day to submit your entry for the Sigerson Team of the century if any of you are interested in doing it. Hard enough team to pick!

www.he.gaa.ie is where the on-line form is for entering..
Post by: Any craic on February 11, 2011, 12:05:53 AM
Peter Canavan reacts to being named on the Team of the Century - http://he.gaa.ie/Video-Room (http://he.gaa.ie/Video-Room)
Post by: PAULD123 on February 11, 2011, 08:18:36 AM
James McCartan being left out is a joke - All-Ireland champion at School, won every age level Ulster title a school, Won 2 Sigersons, Minor all-Ireland champion (Man of match), 2 all-Ireland senior county championships and 2 time all star. he was  a football genius who single handedly took teams apart.

I also can not for the life of me understand the exclusion of Tohill
Post by: Kerry Mike on February 11, 2011, 08:28:43 AM
The team lines up as follows; Thats a powerful team with a great selection accross the ages. There will always be arguements of those left out but its a near impossible thing to pick a team over such a long period of time.

Here is what the selection committee said:

The Ulster Bank Sigerson Cup Team of the Century has been selected. It was a most challenging task to nominate the best 15 to have played over a 100 year period. Using a combination of historical records including contemporary press reports, personal knowledge of players dating back to the 1940's and anecdotal evidence,  the selection committee endeavoured  to select players who represented their colleges with distinction in the Ulster Bank Sigerson Cup competition during the last century. The main criteria were a clear commitment to the Ulster Bank Sigerson competition as full time students and the demonstration of superior football quality.

1.         Jimmy McGauran (UCG & Roscommon/Galway) 1936-1940

2.         Sean Marty Lockhart (UUJ & Derry) 1996-2000

3.         John O'Keeffe (UCD & Kerry) 1970-1975

4.         Sean Flanagan (UCD & Mayo) 1944-1946

5.         PJ Duke (UCD & Cavan) 1945-1950

6.         Seamus Moynihan (UCC/IT Tralee & Kerry) 1994- 1998

7.         Martin Newell (UCG & Galway) 1960-1964

8.         Padraig Carney (UCD & Mayo)1945-1950

9.         Jim McDonnell (UCD & Cavan) 1954-1958

10.       Brendan Lynch (UCC & Kerry) 1968-1972

11.       Maurice Fitzgerald (UCC & Kerry) 1987-1990

12.       Jackie Walsh (UCD & Kerry)1971-1978

13.       Jim Brosnan (UCC & Kerry)1950-1953

14.       Sean O Neill (QUB & Down)1958-1965

15.       Peter Canavan (St. Mary's & Tyrone) 1990-1994

Post by: Canalman on February 11, 2011, 09:52:46 AM
 Not a single Leinster player on the team. Makeyupyism at its worst imo.
Post by: Kerry Mike on February 11, 2011, 10:00:35 AM
QuoteNot a single Leinster player on the team. Makeyupyism at its worst imo.

6 Players from UCD is that not enough for you !!
Post by: Canalman on February 11, 2011, 02:00:48 PM
Eh, I will have to repeat myself............. no one from Leinster on team.

Won't lose an iota of sleep though!
Post by: Any craic on February 15, 2011, 09:55:57 AM
Sigerson launch - UCD looking good - http://bit.ly/gMxgAV (http://bit.ly/gMxgAV)