Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: 5 Sams on November 12, 2010, 09:28:07 PM

Title: Have you got a favourite word?
Post by: 5 Sams on November 12, 2010, 09:28:07 PM
...it doesnt matter what language....

Mine is "gliondar".....I was watching Joe Connolly on Reeling in the Years 1980 and that wonderful speech.  It means a wee bit more than happy...typical Irish word...hard to translate but you know what it means....
Title: Re: Have you got a favourite word?
Post by: seafoid on November 12, 2010, 09:44:31 PM
As Gaeilge  I like "Fite Fuaite" at the moment. It means all interlinked. I also like "trina cheile".

In English I llike "innit". 

In French I came across "quelle bande de blaireaux des putains de bordel de merde" recently and it means "what a F*n shower of F*ers"  and is very stylish .   
Post by: bailestil on November 12, 2010, 09:46:32 PM
saunter

I have to admit smorgasbord is another favourite. (both the word and its meaning  ;D )
Post by: Tony Baloney on November 12, 2010, 10:18:29 PM
Quote from: bailestil on November 12, 2010, 09:46:32 PM
saunter

I have to admit smorgasbord is another favourite. (both the word and its meaning  ;D )
I think you mean "santer".
Post by: Puckoon on November 12, 2010, 10:22:39 PM
Words I like to say:

Kalashnikov
Chechnya
Onomatopoeia
Post by: Tony Baloney on November 12, 2010, 10:26:03 PM
Quote from: hardstation on November 12, 2010, 10:23:14 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on November 12, 2010, 10:18:29 PM
Quote from: bailestil on November 12, 2010, 09:46:32 PM
saunter

I think you mean "santer".
With the Texan draaaaawl of Nadine Cooyyyllle added.
There is a Dander wi Drennan alike called Santer on BBC2 during the week.
Post by: The Worker on November 12, 2010, 10:28:58 PM
fallopian tube
Post by: 5 Sams on November 12, 2010, 10:32:20 PM
Saunter

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nTtbRY5CuCE
Post by: thewobbler on November 12, 2010, 10:38:29 PM
I like unwieldy. It describes many of my methods. I also like altruistic, which doesn't.
Post by: The Worker on November 12, 2010, 10:38:55 PM
Quote from: hardstation on November 12, 2010, 10:30:35 PM
Quote from: The Worker on November 12, 2010, 10:28:58 PM
fallopian tube
Which is your favourite word?
Fallopian or tube?

both equallly
Post by: The Real Laoislad on November 12, 2010, 10:55:07 PM
Stairs
Post by: BarryBreensBandage on November 12, 2010, 11:06:18 PM
Eluted is a great word.

And also, have had a few conversations over how to spell the next word, but, for me the best word ever is:

Futer, as in, havin an oul (any suggestions of a better spelling?)

And yoke is a pretty handy word as well
Post by: Puckoon on November 12, 2010, 11:14:19 PM
Footer. Footerin'.
Post by: ross4life on November 13, 2010, 02:04:18 AM
Slobberknocker

Post by: RedandGreenSniper on November 13, 2010, 02:13:53 AM
Slobberin'
Post by: stephenite on November 13, 2010, 02:17:03 AM
Cuntish
Post by: Aerlik on November 13, 2010, 02:17:22 AM
Shouganai...Japanese for whatever/can't be helped
Post by: DrinkingHarp on November 13, 2010, 05:40:14 AM
gunt

cankle

wookie
Post by: BennyHarp on November 13, 2010, 07:23:55 AM
Shelllacking is my favourite at the minute!
Post by: andoireabu on November 13, 2010, 10:20:50 AM
feckless especially when put in front of eejit/gobshite etc
Post by: EC Unique on November 13, 2010, 11:45:50 AM
Moist ;)
Post by: ziggysego on November 13, 2010, 12:19:38 PM
Supercalifragilisticexpialidocious
Post by: fitzroyalty on November 13, 2010, 12:36:32 PM
'Ganch' as in "That man is an awful ganch"
Post by: ONeill on November 13, 2010, 12:42:06 PM
Trout

Skunk
Post by: boojangles on November 13, 2010, 08:29:29 PM
Hunkersliding

Tomfoolery
Post by: Square Ball on November 13, 2010, 08:45:25 PM
sesquipedalian

very hard to get into every day conversation but.
Post by: ziggysego on November 13, 2010, 09:32:25 PM
Onomatopoeia
Post by: deiseach on November 13, 2010, 09:49:16 PM
Verisimilitude
Post by: deiseach on November 13, 2010, 09:51:02 PM
Quote from: BennyHarp on November 13, 2010, 07:23:55 AM
Shelllacking is my favourite at the minute!

Sheeeeeeit will be offended
Post by: BennyHarp on November 14, 2010, 09:23:56 AM
I think anyone who has posted a favourite word should try to get it into a post on another thread!
Post by: Hardy on November 14, 2010, 10:26:02 AM
Exasperated
Flitter
Broth

Post by: Sandy Hill on November 14, 2010, 11:49:08 AM
Varmint as cowboy version of vermin!
Post by: stew on November 14, 2010, 05:13:16 PM
Polyglot.
Post by: maggie on November 14, 2010, 06:26:07 PM
Holidays
Post by: JUst retired on November 14, 2010, 08:38:23 PM
Gettafayabassa. >:(
Post by: Banana Man on November 14, 2010, 09:04:00 PM
shuck - just love it

hoor - like it too
Post by: Orior on November 14, 2010, 11:38:15 PM
Tickety-boo.
Post by: seafoid on November 16, 2010, 08:54:37 AM
Serendipity
Post by: Banana Man on November 16, 2010, 09:16:06 AM
cowped

airlocked
Post by: Puckoon on November 16, 2010, 03:31:54 PM
Quote from: deiseach on November 13, 2010, 09:49:16 PM
Verisimilitude

Plagarism!  ;)
Post by: Billys Boots on November 16, 2010, 03:36:56 PM
Inappropriate is my favourite word today; it has certainly made work enjoyable for me today (i.e. it has wound up no end of obnoxious (another good one) f*ckers).  ;)

Normally I also like peripatetic. 
Post by: Hardy on November 16, 2010, 03:49:46 PM
Did you ever hear the one about Phil Greene (RTÉ radio soccer commentator of old) and "peripatetic"?
Post by: seafoid on November 16, 2010, 03:59:16 PM
I like "bhfaca tú" as in giving something bhfaca tú.
Post by: Billys Boots on November 16, 2010, 04:16:16 PM
Quote from: Hardy on November 16, 2010, 03:49:46 PM
Did you ever hear the one about Phil Greene (RTÉ radio soccer commentator of old) and "peripatetic"?

I've heard a load of great Philip Greene stories, but not that one.  Go on.
Post by: Hardy on November 16, 2010, 04:27:40 PM
Liam Nolan, a man who would engineer opportunities to use words like "peripatetic" just to show off his erudition (a word he'd probably love as well) used to anchor the Sunday sports programme on Radio One. One Sunday he was doing the round of the League of Ireland grounds for half-time reports.

He did Dundalk, Sligo, Athone, etc. and when the reporter from Ballybofey handed back, Liam says, "so we continue now on our peripatetic way and call in Philip Greene from Milltown – Phil?

Phil: "Well, there was nothing very pathetic about Rovers' performance here in the first half ..."
Post by: Billys Boots on November 16, 2010, 04:33:49 PM
'The sky is blue, the grass is green, and here come Rovers!'
Post by: Hardy on November 16, 2010, 04:46:38 PM
'f**k it - it's a goal!' - Bohs score against Rovers.
Post by: magpie seanie on November 16, 2010, 05:08:30 PM
Barstooler.
Post by: Billys Boots on November 16, 2010, 05:22:23 PM
Quote from: Hardy on November 16, 2010, 04:46:38 PM
'f**k it - it's a goal!' - Bohs score against Rovers.

It might be another version of this one, but the legend is that it went: 'And the ball comes across the area, and xxx must score for Rovers, and the bollocks missed it!'