http://www.hoganstand.com/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=137598 (http://www.hoganstand.com/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=137598)
Restricting the number of consecutive hand-passes.
There should be a place for the mark in fuball.
Only from a kick-out imho.
I don't see the need for this, it's reactionary. There is no problem.
so he wants to turn the game into rubgy league then!!
But the australians have shown us that gaelic football is in fact rubbish!
We need to change the rules of the game we grew up with so we can compete every second year at International 'soccer/gaelic/aussie rules/volleyball' Rules.
Joe Sheridan made a move in that direction this year.
But anawez fuball has always been about change. It won't ever be like rubby or soccer. It's unique. Obviously it's nowhere near as exciting as hurling but you can't have everything ::)
Player who is fouled has to take his own free kick.
Ban the fcukin handpass , the root of all Gaelic Football's ills.
I heard recently that a rule has been passed that gumshields will be compulsory for all juvenile players for matches & training, but can't find confirmation - anyone know if this is definitely going to happen next year?
squareball to be done away with or else changed to not allowed in the square until the ball is kicked
Free's should be all taken from the ground, it's a dying art & the players who take free's from their hand's always try to gain a few yards
Sure we'll try it for the League and see how it goes, ;)
two points for frees converted from the halfway line or further back
No more f**king rule changes !!!!!!!!!
Anyone who plays the ball along the ground gets 10 minutes in the sin bin.
There is one rule introduced last year which has created a nightmare for groundsmen.All kickouts are now taken from 1 position centrally on the 13m line.This has resulted in excessive traffic at this point.Particularly for clubs with only 1 pitch this has created excessive wear,divets,potholes,poor grass growth.Our own club has already had to re-sod this area,this year.This will prove to be a massive problem over the years.Why was the rule changed.I would suggest changing back to the old rule,as the 13m kickout rule has not benefitted the game in anyway,yet it is causing excessive wear to pitches.
Quote from: tyssam5 on October 26, 2010, 06:07:54 PM
ah yes because that won't promote cynical fouling at all when a corner back finds himself in a scoring position...... ::)
The first and only rule change should be:
"Unless you can conclusively prove that your proposal for change would actually benefit the game, is not designed to satisfy some whimsical thought that you haven't addressed properly, and is not just for the sake of tinkering, then keep your f**king mouth shut".
Player who is fouled takes the free. Speed the game up and mean that more players have to work on the art of kicking.
Also, a defined summer holiday break for club players so they can organise their holidays/family time.
2 points for a point scored from a free. Would soon imo put an end to endless fouling. Worked very well in the floodlit tournament held for many years in the Iveagh Grounds in Crumlin. Bet into us by managers prior to game not to foul and all you heard on pitch was cries of "no foul". Worth a try imo.
Maybe 4 points for a goal also.
Square ball also to be done away with and a "no contact whatsoever" rule for keepers in the small square. Square ball is the cause imo of most problems for refs at club games.
Quote from: aontroim on October 26, 2010, 06:58:29 PM
I heard recently that a rule has been passed that gumshields will be compulsory for all juvenile players for matches & training, but can't find confirmation - anyone know if this is definitely going to happen next year?
i heard something similar. as far as i know, there's a motion going before croke park trying to make it compulsary to wear a gumshield at all levels in matches
These fuckin' jobsworths can't leave well alone, harking back to a halcyon era that never existed.
I love watching football as it is.
Oul farts talking about how it was when they could land the heavy ball on a farthing from 60 yards despite playing in hob-nailed boots on a field where they'd had shoo the cows off before throw-in.
Utter f**king balls.
Leave the f**king thing alone, too many boys down in Croke Park having to come up with work for themselves to justify their pay-packets.
Would like to see a rule introduced that allows play to continue after a foul has been awarded, with ref admonishing card or lecture at the end of the attack.
One big annoyance watching Gaelic, especially your own team, is when on a counter attack, a cynical foul is put in.
Free kick. Ref stops play. Looks for guilty player. Gives a talkin to. Produces card. And when all this is done the defending team are all back in numbers, taking all momentum away from the attack.
Quite easy to implement too imo.
More reactionary rubbish from the GAA brass. I remember something similar was tried a few years back in the O'Byrne Cup and it made a dog's dinner of games.
GAA policy is dictated by whims and snap judgements these days. There is little evidence of long term vision.
If this is brought in, and a few high profile managers and journalists criticise it - we'll have backtracking of Dunkirk 1940 proportions.
Just like with every other nonsensical and ill thought out rule change. i.e. Sin bins, enforced subs on yellow, fisted handpasses etc.
What next?
There is not enough high catching in the game - Every third pass has to received over head height, with both feet off the ground.
Players are crowding attackers too much - Every player has to stand in their own painted square.
As long as they leave the pick up as it is, should be ok.
Quote from: Canalman on October 27, 2010, 04:24:30 PM
2 points for a point scored from a free. Would soon imo put an end to endless fouling. Worked very well in the floodlit tournament held for many years in the Iveagh Grounds in Crumlin. Bet into us by managers prior to game not to foul and all you heard on pitch was cries of "no foul". Worth a try imo.
You don't think this would further encourage diving, the biggest problem in the game?
Maybe 4 points for a goal also.
Are you mad? Why would you want to devalue point scoring, the essential skill of the game?
Square ball also to be done away with and a "no contact whatsoever" rule for keepers in the small square. Square ball is the cause imo of most problems for refs at club games.
I've never understood the belief that goalkeepers need special protection. They're the only unmarked players in the game and the only ones with special exemptions from the rules (pick-up) and yet the only ones with special rules to protect them. Makes no sense to me.
Never been a goalkeeper? Need all the protection we get.
Only 2 rules don't apply to goalkeeers and this is only in the small square. They can pickup the ball or smother it (be ready to get kicked) or you can't tackle them in the square.
If they are outside the square, all rules apply.
The square ball is to stop goalhanging surely?
Quote from: Denn Forever on October 28, 2010, 11:44:04 AM
Never been a goalkeeper?
Not in gaelic but in soccer, where, admittedly, the protection afforded goalkeepers is even more ludicrous.
QuoteNeed all the protection we get.
Why do you need more protection than the full back? Corner forward?
I don't get this either Hardy. As a keeper, if you choose to engage in the action, then it should be under the same rules as anyone else. Any other interpretation is making rules for the sake of making rules.
The square ball rule is a necessary evil just as offside is in soccer, it prevents forwards from lingering lazily with intent, and makes them play football instead.
The goalkeeper is usually going from a standing start, two steps at the most. Can't really build up the momentum that will negate/counter act the momentum that a forward has built up before he/she lands on you.
Quote from: BarryBreensBandage on October 27, 2010, 04:58:45 PM
Would like to see a rule introduced that allows play to continue after a foul has been awarded, with ref admonishing card or lecture at the end of the attack.
One big annoyance watching Gaelic, especially your own team, is when on a counter attack, a cynical foul is put in.
Free kick. Ref stops play. Looks for guilty player. Gives a talkin to. Produces card. And when all this is done the defending team are all back in numbers, taking all momentum away from the attack.
Quite easy to implement too imo.
100% agree-some refs already do this
Quote from: 6th sam on October 28, 2010, 02:00:34 PM
100% agree-some refs already do this
And they get a bad assessment for it. It's hard for the ref to know who to please.
Quote from: The Forfeit Point on October 27, 2010, 02:38:09 PM
Quote from: tyssam5 on October 26, 2010, 06:07:54 PM
ah yes because that won't promote cynical fouling at all when a corner back finds himself in a scoring position...... ::)
If he's in a scoring position when fouled then he's in a scoring position to take his own free kick.
Plus as the other man said it would encourage all players to work on kicking skills and perhaps this would benefit the game from play as well.
Also it would be good craic watching boys with bent feet miss a load of frees.
Also count of individual fouls and team fouls. With penalties for each.
Can be done successfully at low level basketball, but unfortunately it would undoubtedly be fecked up beyond belief even at high level football matches.
To encourage kicking de ball we should have a rule where you have to dance a verse of de birdie song before you can do a handpass. Den another rule could come in so dat anyone doing de birdie song can be aussie rule tackled. Dat would really encourage more kicking. no?
We would have de added entertainment of a new rule making a song and dance.
Then to improve scoring we could have a rule whereby anyone that kicks a wide should get a kick up de arse from der marker. Dat would make them think twice oh yea and anyone who tries for a point and it drops short into de keeper would get two kicks in de arse.
Free kicks must be taken off the ground if the kicker is going for a score.
Sin bin. Again.
If a hurling goalkeeper attempts to influence an umpire by manically waving his arms, jumping up and down and shouting "Wide ball", a point is awarded automatically. And the keeper is given a yellow card.
Would someone (ss2) please explain to ne why kicking the ball acurately off the ground is more virtuous than kicking it accurately out of hand?
I've never worked this out. Kids are coached from 5 years old how to kick out of their hands, but you want to hand all glory over to the really coordinated people who are natural ball strikers.
If the sin bin were introduced again and used properly by referees it would improve the fluency of our games beyond massively. It was not given the necessary time to bed in the last time they tried to introduce it and the top brass cowed down to the managers, but the sin bin would cut out a lot of cynicism in our games and I think it's something that should be introduced across the board.
A yellow card tackle deserves one or 2 personal fouls. Genuine attempts to play the ball should still be free kicks with no further penalty. Yes there will be games at the start that will have 11 v 12 and such but once players get used to it I think it will have a huge benefit.
For me the only stumbling block to it being a success is how our referees implement it.
Quote from: thewobbler on October 28, 2010, 11:06:02 PM
Would someone (ss2) please explain to ne why kicking the ball acurately off the ground is more virtuous than kicking it accurately out of hand?
I've never worked this out. Kids are coached from 5 years old how to kick out of their hands, but you want to hand all glory over to the really coordinated people who are natural ball strikers.
Nothing to do with the skill level involved, more to do with obliterating the practice of the kicker stealing furlongs. Generally a free off the ground is taken roughly from where the infringement occurred; with a free from the hand, the kicker's run up generally starts where the foul was committed
coz it is higher to kick a point off de ground. no?
Limit the number of handpasses to 3 in a row
#
Wobbler you are usually on message but I wonder if you played the game.
Off the ground can be practised day in day out.
Out of the hand the position changes every single time.
Off the ground the ball is inanimate and the only movement is body and lower limb.
Out of the hand the ball is moving and additionally the body is moving, as is the upper limb holding the ball , as is the lower limb attempting to strike. 4 movements to two.
Which do you think would be easier to perfect?
Leo, you are missing my point. Why should the reward for kicking the ball off the ground be greater than for kicking from hand? That's what I want to know.
There are 15 men on each team who practice the skill of kicking from hand, as one of the fundamental skillls of the game.
Bit there are a worrying number of GAA folk obsessed with bringing back to the fore an individualistic skill that is completely removed from the rest of the game.
Leo also regarding your point below, kicking from
ground is easier and more natural if you do it all the time. But I truly would hate to see training sessions being rebuilt around this tiny aspect of our game.
Rather than giving an extra point for a free kick off the ground, why not have a system similar to basketball where an extra point is given for a score outside say 40 metres. Run an arc from sideline to sideline and you would have a 2 point line similar to the 3 point line in basketball. I also like the notion of "team fouls". 7 team fouls per half and anything after that allows the other team a 35 metre free. It would definitely discourage tactical fouling.
Sent you a Pm BC1
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on October 31, 2010, 10:02:00 AM
Rather than giving an extra point for a free kick off the ground, why not have a system similar to basketball where an extra point is given for a score outside say 40 metres. Run an arc from sideline to sideline and you would have a 2 point line similar to the 3 point line in basketball. I also like the notion of "team fouls". 7 team fouls per half and anything after that allows the other team a 35 metre free. It would definitely discourage tactical fouling.
what the f###?
BCB, too many flaws.
1. I like to watch skilful football. I don't like to watch players of limited kicking ability having a hoke from 40 metres. Which is what would happen time and again if the potential for reward existed.
2. Which means that tactics become one-dimensional. Get the ball to the 40m line and have a go. The inside forwards role becomes about waiting for scraps if kicks fall short.
3. And all our more gifted footballers end up plating half back and half forward. There's no
point in putting skill and pace in the full forward line anymore.
Quote from: thewobbler on October 31, 2010, 10:25:16 AM
BCB, too many flaws.
1. I like to watch skilful football. I don't like to watch players of limited kicking ability having a hoke from 40 metres. Which is what would happen time and again if the potential for reward existed.
2. Which means that tactics become one-dimensional. Get the ball to the 40m line and have a go. The inside forwards role becomes about waiting for scraps if kicks fall short.
3. And all our more gifted footballers end up plating half back and half forward. There's no
point in putting skill and pace in the full forward line anymore.
1. I too like watching skillful football and if there was an extra point for a longer range kick then coaches would surely practice this more often therefore there wouldn't be that many "hokes" from 40 metres. And anyway the shout on most good teams is give it to the shooter and if the player of limited ability is taking the shot then that is a coaching fault. For example I would never kick for a 40 metre score as I know it wouldn't be scored.
2. I don't agree. You still get 3 points for a goal and most teams want the guarantee of the goal/point from 30 metres.
3. To be honest the more skillful "ball players" already play around the middle sector. The like of the Gooch, Coulter and McDonnell will always play around the goals as they are goal getters. You still have to play 15 players therefore you can't play 6 forwards along the half forward line.
All very well bcb, but 2 points for a long range hoof is a reward for bad decision making for most players rather than an award for skill levels. At club football in particular there aren't many players with the kicking length to clear a crossbar from 40m. This isn't from so much a lack of practice as a lack of natural ball striking ability. It is possible to improve your kicking length, but in many ways it's like running - you can only reach your own highest level, big the level of others.
Quote from: ross4life on October 26, 2010, 07:07:23 PM
Free's should be all taken from the ground, it's a dying art & the players who take free's from their hand's always try to gain a few yards
Sure that would just slow the game right down. I'd like to see a mark for kickouts only. Midfielders are a dying breed and I would love to see them get some reward for high-fielding. We all love seeing it, so we should encourage.
I have no problem with teams hand-passing the ball, if that is the style they choose. You can't make teams all play the same way and I wouldn't want to see it. I would rather a player be able to handpass it rather than just kick it 60 yards to nowhere because some rule say's he has too. Personally, I think we have a fluid game where various styles exist. There is no right and wrong. You can play whatever systems and shite that you like but at the end of the day it is still 15 v 15 battling to get their hands on an O'Neill's football and get it over the bar.
How you go about getting it over the blackspot is your own business.
Quote from: thewobbler on October 31, 2010, 12:14:26 PM
All very well bcb, but 2 points for a long range hoof is a reward for bad decision making for most players rather than an award for skill levels. At club football in particular there aren't many players with the kicking length to clear a crossbar from 40m. This isn't from so much a lack of practice as a lack of natural ball striking ability. It is possible to improve your kicking length, but in many ways it's like running - you can only reach your own highest level, big the level of others.
So you just want to accept that the skill levels for players are so low that nothing should be done to improve them. People who have been playing the sport for 15/20 years should be able to kick 40 yards accurately.
Quote from: DUBSFORSAM1 on October 31, 2010, 01:54:58 PM
So you just want to accept that the skill levels for players are so low that nothing should be done to improve them. People who have been playing the sport for 15/20 years should be able to kick 40 yards accurately.
Some people are afraid to bring kicking back in because it would actually show up how bad some of our players are.
You're away with the fairies dubsforsam1.
It requires more like a 45m kick to clear a crossbar from 40m out.
I've been involved with a senior football team for over a decade and can count on one hand the number of players for whom a 45m kick didn't take every sinew of their power.
As I've already said, you can improve your kicking distance with repetitive practice and good coaching. But everyone has a natural limit and for the overwhelming majority of players, 45m is over or around their limit. Which means that kicking a "2pointer" would always involve more luck than skill.
Kicking length is one part technique and one part God given length.
Coach away all you like. You can't change this no more than you can get your whole team to run 100m in under 11 seconds.
Do you think every soccer player should be able to score direct from a free-kick within 30 yards of goal?
Should every rugby player be able to score a conversion from 40 yards out on the sideline?
'Place-kicking' is a specialist skill in field sports i.e. one or two guys on every team that are given the responsibility and it is as much about mental ability as physical ability.
Most clubs would have one or two lads capable of scoring 45's and frees from a similar distance.
Put them in Croke Park in front of 80,000 people and they'd probably hit the corner flag.
Quote from: thewobbler on October 31, 2010, 02:10:09 PM
I've been involved with a senior football team for over a decade and can count on one hand the number of players for whom a 45m kick didn't take every sinew of their power.
As I've already said, you can improve your kicking distance with repetitive practice and good coaching. But everyone has a natural limit and for the overwhelming majority of players, 45m is over or around their limit. Which means that kicking a "2pointer" would always involve more luck than skill.
Coach away all you like. You can't change this no more than you can get your whole team to run 100m in under 11 seconds.
You're wrong and I can tell you now that the top club players, not county players, all have the capacity to kick a ball 50 metres plus and accurate at that. There has been too much emphasis on strenght through weights and people associate having "strong" legs as a way to lenghten their kick. If you can show players the correct technique and repeatedly do it they can easily add 10 metres on their kick. It all depends on the attitude of the player and the ability of the coach. If you have a coach with an attitude that it can't be done then it won't be done.
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on October 31, 2010, 02:26:50 PM
You're wrong and I can tell you now that the top club players, not county players, all have the capacity to kick a ball 50 metres plus and accurate at that. There has been too much emphasis on strenght through weights and people associate having "strong" legs as a way to lenghten their kick. If you can show players the correct technique and repeatedly do it they can easily add 10 metres on their kick. It all depends on the attitude of the player and the ability of the coach. If you have a coach with an attitude that it can't be done then it won't be done.
And BC the Gaa probably has more coaches of the cant be done vareity then any other sport.
Quote from: INDIANA on October 31, 2010, 02:30:09 PM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on October 31, 2010, 02:26:50 PM
And BC the Gaa probably has more coaches of the cant be done vareity then any other sport.
I know and it drives me nuts. They can coach to block people's runs.
Watch Oisin McConville. True example of technique more than strenght.
Quote from: Jinxy on October 31, 2010, 02:25:50 PM
Do you think every soccer player should be able to score direct from a free-kick within 30 yards of goal?
Should every rugby player be able to score a conversion from 40 yards out on the sideline?
'Place-kicking' is a specialist skill in field sports i.e. one or two guys on every team that are given the responsibility and it is as much about mental ability as physical ability.
Most clubs would have one or two lads capable of scoring 45's and frees from a similar distance.
Put them in Croke Park in front of 80,000 people and they'd probably hit the corner flag.
I wasn't talking about place kicking - I was talking about being able to kick accurately over 40m. If people put more effort into skills like that then running around and handpassing the game would be a lot better.
Bc, watch Oisin today and you were seeing the all time highest scorer in Ulster Championship football, one of the best ball strikers in the history of the game.
He has a great technique and he practiced like hell, but there is also a rare natural talent in there too. You're of his run, and can no doubt tell of him kicking a ball for hours by himself as child. But so did hundreds and hundreds of fellas of his run across Armagh and Down - yet they all knew Ousin was better than them even at the age of 11.
Quote from: thewobbler on October 31, 2010, 05:07:14 PM
Bc, watch Oisin today and you were seeing the all time highest scorer in Ulster Championship football, one of the best ball strikers in the history of the game.
He has a great technique and he practiced like hell, but there is also a rare natural talent in there too. You're of his run, and can no doubt tell of him kicking a ball for hours by himself as child. But so did hundreds and hundreds of fellas of his run across Armagh and Down - yet they all knew Ousin was better than them even at the age of 11.
Of course there is raw talent but I'll tell you now that a lot of work was put into that talent over the years. The thing is if you take the players of my run as you put it at least half a dozen of the starting team that won the AI in 1997 could accurately and consistently kick points from 40 metres plus, Oisin, the twins, Cunningham, Fitzy and Donal Murtagh if required. The likes of Colm O Neill and Cathal Short would also be fairly accurate. This doesn't happen through "god given talent" and despite what you say can be coached.
Another way of looking at that BC though is to suggest that even in the best club team of all time, half of them couldn't kick the ball accurately over a distance. Did yis have split training or something?;)
Quote from: thewobbler on October 31, 2010, 05:42:25 PM
Another way of looking at that BC though is to suggest that even in the best club team of all time, half of them couldn't kick the ball accurately over a distance. Did yis have split training or something?;)
The rest of us were just crap. I'm sure the Harps wouldn't mind having half a team who could kick accurately over 40 yards. ;)
limited hand passes in a row would be good.
would it be an improvement in having two refs as they wouldn't be wrecked at the end of the game from running up and down or would it be too confusing for the players as no two refs seem to implement the rules the same way?
Minus a point for every wide.
Quote from: andoireabu on October 31, 2010, 06:25:00 PM
would it be an improvement in having two refs as they wouldn't be wrecked at the end of the game from running up and down or would it be too confusing for the players as no two refs seem to implement the rules the same way?
It's hard enough to get one ref at times for club games never mind finding 2.
For me it's ban the fcukin handpass
I'm like a cracked record for years saying limit consecutive hand passes to 3 - then coaches have to take seriously the coaching of foot passes.
And suddenly we have invented --- FOOTball.
QuoteFor me it's ban the fcukin handpass
why don't you just watch an cic fada?
I really don't understand why the likes of you watch the game at all.
Quote from: thewobbler on October 31, 2010, 09:43:02 PM
What is wrong with actually wanting players to kick the ball more than they handpass???
Quote from: Leo on October 31, 2010, 09:36:58 PM
I'm like a cracked record for years saying limit consecutive hand passes to 3 - then coaches have to take seriously the coaching of foot passes.
And suddenly we have invented --- FOOTball.
Terrible idea.
Reminds me of the story of Mick Holden doing kicking practice.
Heffernan had him kicking balls down the sideline trying to land them on the line. Poor Mick was having limited success and said to Heffernan that he'd have more success if he was playing hurling and had a hurl in his hand.
You won't have a hurl in your hand next Sunday.
Don't know if its an Urban Myth but poor kicking has always been there and if you know you're crap at kicking, you give it to someone who can.
Quote from: DUBSFORSAM1 on November 01, 2010, 08:51:54 AM
What is wrong with actually wanting players to kick the ball more than they handpass???
I was watching Laochra Gael yesterday about Tony Hanahoe.
Showed plenty of footage of those great Dublin & Kerry teams handpassing like crazy and it wasn't even a proper handpass.
It was that daft- looking overhand 'push' pass.
The most frustrating thing for me on this thread is the number of people who believe that Gaelic Football could be improved by fundamentally changing how the game works.
Refinements can be made. Every sport in the world fine tunes its rules and regulations, but mostly do so with a purpose of removing grey areas, or clarifying disciplinary matters. They always though leave the core of the game intact.
I love Gaelic Football the way it is. So do hundreds of thousands of others, hence the huge crowds. Can you all not just go and find something else to mess around with? It seems to me that some people won't be happy until a rugby union/league style split happens.
What are peoples views on the sin bin? I think it would make a massive difference to the way our game is played . . . for the better I might add!
Apart from supporting a few suggestions already made, here's my own (and don't knock it because it may seem to copying another code; I'm not trying to make Football be more like that code ...)
Advantage Rule - play on possible but call back play for the free if Advantage does not accrue properly.
Similar to the Rugby idea but I would not let play run nearly as long as happens there. It only needs to go for one successful pass, or the "fouled" player to break free and regain proper control of the ball. It would also lift some of the pressure on Referees who feel they have blow the whistle instantly as soon as they think they see a foul being committed. Give the fouled player a chance to see if he can break through the foul and play on. Surely one of the most frustrating sights in Football is a player on the run who has just managed to break a tackle and then is called back for a free to his own team. Everyone howls at the ref to let the game go on, but the ref has seen a foul and has just adjudged that no advantage was likely to be gained, then blew the whistle just as the player broke free. If the ref had two or three seconds extra to assess what he thinks he has seen, then we should have less "bad" decisions, and an extra incentive for players to actually try to break a tackle rather than just fall and hope for a free.
Quote from: The Biff on November 01, 2010, 05:16:03 PM
Apart from supporting a few suggestions already made, here's my own (and don't knock it because it may seem to copying another code; I'm not trying to make Football be more like that code ...)
Advantage Rule - play on possible but call back play for the free if Advantage does not accrue properly.
Similar to the Rugby idea but I would not let play run nearly as long as happens there. It only needs to go for one successful pass, or the "fouled" player to break free and regain proper control of the ball. It would also lift some of the pressure on Referees who feel they have blow the whistle instantly as soon as they think they see a foul being committed. Give the fouled player a chance to see if he can break through the foul and play on. Surely one of the most frustrating sights in Football is a player on the run who has just managed to break a tackle and then is called back for a free to his own team. Everyone howls at the ref to let the game go on, but the ref has seen a foul and has just adjudged that no advantage was likely to be gained, then blew the whistle just as the player broke free. If the ref had two or three seconds extra to assess what he thinks he has seen, then we should have less "bad" decisions, and an extra incentive for players to actually try to break a tackle rather than just fall and hope for a free.
The ref already has the option to allow advantage, despite what people might try to tell you otherwise. He does not have the power to bring the play back though.
Quote5.41 When a team commits an Aggressive Foul,
the referee may allow play to continue if he
considers it to be to the advantage of the
offended team. He shall signal that advantage
is being played by raising an extended arm
upright. Once the referee allows the play to
continue, he may not subsequently award a
free for that foul. He shall apply the relevant
penalty.
No need for any rule changes, rules are fine the way they are. Referees should be told to implement them. Sin é
Quote from: Jinxy on November 01, 2010, 12:33:05 PM
Quote from: DUBSFORSAM1 on November 01, 2010, 08:51:54 AM
I was watching Laochra Gael yesterday about Tony Hanahoe.
Showed plenty of footage of those great Dublin & Kerry teams handpassing like crazy and it wasn't even a proper handpass.
It was that daft- looking overhand 'push' pass.
i saw dat. looked very gay. no?
The GAA is expected to introduce extended goalposts to aid score detection.
The news comes as Hawk-Eye prepares to make a presentation to the Management Committee today regarding goal-line technology, which could be introduced for the 2012 championships. GAA officials are proposing that the current 10.67-metre height of posts be increased at all levels of the game.
The GAA's Research Committee is recommending that posts at provincial venues rise to 16m, at county grounds to 13m and 11m at club level. Currently, the highest goalposts in the country are at Croke Park, measuring 13m.
"With longer posts, the foundations will obviously have to be stronger so it would be a case of bringing in posts that pass the requisite safety standards," the GAA's Head of Games and Research Committee member Pat Daly said.
"We feel this is a necessary step towards improving score detection."
The higher goalposts are part of a presentation by Tallow-based GoalPost Ireland (GPI). GPI are manufacturing posts with each upright featuring a "point catcher", a net which runs from the crossbar to the top of each upright and breadth-wise measures out one metre to a back set of posts.
The idea is that any ball that is directed towards the posts but wide will bounce away wide from the net while points would drop over the bar and into either of the posts' nets.
So is someone going to come round the clubs and measure their goal posts?
Something which has been under reported by the media is the GAA's decision to postpone the countdown clock being used in league games by a year supposedly due to cost. This isnt good enough. Womens football are able to manage it and they had a full year to get them installed in every ground. I watch game after game where teams waste time consistently and referees fail to play sufficient extra time. This years All Ireland Minor Final was a perfect example. Tyrone were an absolute disgrace and the referee let them away with it. Stop all this talk about goal line technology when you cant even implement the motions which have already been passed. They have been given far too easy a ride for this failure.
Quote from: screenexile on November 01, 2010, 01:34:13 PM
What are peoples views on the sin bin? I think it would make a massive difference to the way our game is played . . . for the better I might add!
definitely has to be tried again, that and a timer are the two most obvious changes that should be introduced and would be much more effective than so many of the stupid rules tried over the past few years - is it that they're stolen from other sports ro what's the problem?