GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Eamonnca1 on October 05, 2010, 02:04:00 AM

Title: Ringland quits UUP over stance on GAA
Post by: Eamonnca1 on October 05, 2010, 02:04:00 AM
QuoteThe Irish Times - Tuesday, October 5, 2010
Ringland quits UUP over stance on GAA

GERRY MORIARTY

FORMER IRELAND rugby international Trevor Ringland, who stood against Peter Robinson in East Belfast in this year's Westminster elections, has resigned from the Ulster Unionist Party.

He confirmed yesterday that he has stood down from the UUP over new party leader Tom Elliott's refusal to take up his offer to bring him to next year's All-Ireland GAA football final if an Ulster team qualified.

Mr Ringland told The Irish Times it was not beyond the bounds of possibility that he would rejoin the UUP if Mr Elliott moderated his position on the GAA. "But whatever happens I will not be standing for the Ulster Unionist Party in next May's Assembly elections," he said.

Mr Ringland, who is heavily involved in cross-community work, said Mr Elliott's refusal to be more open to the GAA was the "tipping point" in his decision to resign from the party.

Mr Ringland, a solicitor who stood in East Belfast in the recent Westminster election, which Naomi Long won for the Alliance Party, said that in terms of community relations, the public was ahead of the politicians. He believed that Mr Elliott as new UUP leader should have demonstrated that the UUP would take the lead on tackling sectarianism.

"We are a deeply divided society, yet politicians are pressing the old buttons and that needs to be challenged," he said.

"I wanted a leader who was confident in himself, who would say if he was invited to a GAA match, that he would have the confidence to go there.

"The GAA has changed over the years, as have many people, and it is important that we recognise and reciprocate that change," said Mr Ringland.

Mr Elliott said he was disappointed by Mr Ringland's decision. "I have the utmost respect for Trevor and recognise that we are broadly in agreement on the vast majority of issues," he said.

"My feeling is that Trevor found himself cornered on an issue – an issue which I do not believe necessitated his resignation."

Maith an fear, Trevor. You're ahead of your time.
Title: Re: Ringland quits UUP over stance on GAA
Post by: An Gaeilgoir on October 05, 2010, 06:57:56 AM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on October 05, 2010, 02:04:00 AM
QuoteThe Irish Times - Tuesday, October 5, 2010
Ringland quits UUP over stance on GAA

GERRY MORIARTY

FORMER IRELAND rugby international Trevor Ringland, who stood against Peter Robinson in East Belfast in this year's Westminster elections, has resigned from the Ulster Unionist Party.

He confirmed yesterday that he has stood down from the UUP over new party leader Tom Elliott's refusal to take up his offer to bring him to next year's All-Ireland GAA football final if an Ulster team qualified.

Mr Ringland told The Irish Times it was not beyond the bounds of possibility that he would rejoin the UUP if Mr Elliott moderated his position on the GAA. "But whatever happens I will not be standing for the Ulster Unionist Party in next May's Assembly elections," he said.

Mr Ringland, who is heavily involved in cross-community work, said Mr Elliott's refusal to be more open to the GAA was the "tipping point" in his decision to resign from the party.

Mr Ringland, a solicitor who stood in East Belfast in the recent Westminster election, which Naomi Long won for the Alliance Party, said that in terms of community relations, the public was ahead of the politicians. He believed that Mr Elliott as new UUP leader should have demonstrated that the UUP would take the lead on tackling sectarianism.

"We are a deeply divided society, yet politicians are pressing the old buttons and that needs to be challenged," he said.

"I wanted a leader who was confident in himself, who would say if he was invited to a GAA match, that he would have the confidence to go there.

"The GAA has changed over the years, as have many people, and it is important that we recognise and reciprocate that change," said Mr Ringland.

Mr Elliott said he was disappointed by Mr Ringland's decision. "I have the utmost respect for Trevor and recognise that we are broadly in agreement on the vast majority of issues," he said.

"My feeling is that Trevor found himself cornered on an issue – an issue which I do not believe necessitated his resignation."

Good to see a politician finally standing up for what he believes in. A rare breed indeed. Fair play to him.
Post by: Zapatista on October 05, 2010, 08:23:29 AM

I'd have thought elliot is behind the times.
Post by: Jinxy on October 05, 2010, 10:45:48 AM
Fair play to him.
Post by: ziggysego on October 05, 2010, 12:24:18 PM
Paula Bradshaw has quit this morning too.
Post by: boojangles on October 05, 2010, 06:02:48 PM
Fair play to him as right.
Post by: Maguire01 on October 05, 2010, 06:17:48 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on October 05, 2010, 12:24:18 PM
Nothing to do with the GAA though.
Post by: muppet on October 05, 2010, 07:30:00 PM
Quote from: An Gaeilgoir on October 05, 2010, 06:57:56 AM

Good to see a politician finally standing up for what he believes in. A rare breed indeed. Fair play to him.

Actually I'm more impressed that he stood up for what he probably doesn't believe in, in the interests of all of the community.
Post by: 5 Sams on October 05, 2010, 07:32:20 PM
Ringland was never really a politician anyway....he always struck me as a pretty normal person.
Post by: Santino on October 05, 2010, 07:48:37 PM
Glad this story is getting plenty of main stream coverage.
My hats off to you Trevor!
Post by: RadioGAAGAA on October 05, 2010, 08:16:07 PM
Fair play to him.

Most try to weasel out of it, but he's put his money where his mouth is so to speak.

Post by: Bensars on October 05, 2010, 08:50:51 PM
Heard Ringland on a radio interview about a year ago and his big thing was cross community and the importance sport can be in uniting people. He has first hand experience from the rugby set up. The problem is that one voice will be viewed as an eccentric and it will force the remaining traditionalists to harden their stance as a point of principle, or to be percieved as united on a topic that has widespread party support. Whilst encouraging it will most likely stop others from uttering the same request put forward by Ringland
Post by: snoopdog on October 05, 2010, 09:20:28 PM
If both sides were as accomodating as Mr Ringland it would be a far better place. The GAA are doing a lot of work in trying to get unionism away from the view that it was once a recruiting ground for the
ira, in my opinion it never was.
But attitudes need to change and if changing names of grounds from Republican names is required then so be it.
Obviously we should not forget our past but a peaceful future and a sporting organisation for all would be a better legacy for the communities of the north and our children.
it will take years for unionism to get away from the bitterness it holds towards Nationalist people and their heritage.
Post by: Maguire01 on October 05, 2010, 10:06:59 PM
Quote from: muppet on October 05, 2010, 07:30:00 PM

Actually I'm more impressed that he stood up for what he probably doesn't believe in, in the interests of all of the community.
I think you're doing him a disservice. The interests of all of the community is exactly what he does believe in. As well as the important role of sport in achieving that. What would be the point in standing up for something you didn't believe in?
Post by: ziggysego on October 05, 2010, 10:23:25 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on October 05, 2010, 06:17:48 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on October 05, 2010, 12:24:18 PM
Nothing to do with the GAA though.

Not directly, no. However it's a tell-tale sign that there's divisions with the UUP. The traditional members and the more liberal members. If you call treating their Catholic and/or Nationalists neighbours as equals.
Post by: Maguire01 on October 05, 2010, 10:37:21 PM
Quote from: King Henry on October 05, 2010, 10:28:39 PM
Bit of a silly reason to quit IMO.
Politics should never come into Sport
That's a bit naive.
Post by: Orior on October 05, 2010, 10:42:53 PM

Exactly. But the leader of the UUP brought sport into politics by saying he would not attend Croke Park.
Post by: Applesisapples on October 05, 2010, 10:49:07 PM
Quote from: Orior on October 05, 2010, 10:42:53 PM

Exactly. But the leader of the UUP brought sport into politics by saying he would not attend Croke Park.
He's from Fermanagh, christ they're unlikely to make an All Ireland Final!! :)
Post by: Maguire01 on October 05, 2010, 10:56:26 PM
Quote from: King Henry on October 05, 2010, 10:49:36 PM

So what if he doesn't want to go,I bet none of you would really want him there anyway,what odds would it make to anyone.
Some lads go out of their way to be upset I think.
I wouldn't like to go to Windsor Park to a Northern Ireland game

I wouldn't be arsed going to a Gaelic Football match either so I can kind of see where he is coming from ;)
Yes, but you're not the leader of a political party. And his real objection to not attending a GAA match has nothing to do with a lack of interest in the sport.
Post by: Orior on October 05, 2010, 11:02:31 PM

So what if he doesn't want to go,I bet none of you would really want him there anyway,what odds would it make to anyone.

I wouldn't be arsed going to a Gaelic Football match either so I can kind of see where he is coming from ;)

We (the GAA) are forever being chasitised as a bigotted organisation, and pitched in the same light as the Orange Order. Nelson McCausland and his brethern withhold funding from the GAA which they should be entitled.

This sort of action the UUP leader endorses Nelson's stance.

You're a long way from the occupied six counties sir. You're right, nobody gives a toss what he does. But as a leader, he should lead, instead of inadvertently encouraging low-life to burn down GAA club houses.
Post by: Orior on October 05, 2010, 11:12:02 PM
Quote from: King Henry on October 05, 2010, 11:06:58 PM

Fair enough,But I can guarantee if he did decide to go to a Gaa match there would be lads on here giving out as to why a Unionist is going to Croke Park taking up a good gaels seat and what business did he have there anyway as no one wanted him there.

No, you're thinking of that "John 3:16" fecker, lol.
Post by: muppet on October 05, 2010, 11:42:11 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on October 05, 2010, 10:06:59 PM

I think you're doing him a disservice. The interests of all of the community is exactly what he does believe in. As well as the important role of sport in achieving that. What would be the point in standing up for something you didn't believe in?

"Monsieur l'abbé, I detest what you write, but I would give my life to make it possible for you to continue to write."
Voltaire, letter to M. le Riche, February 6, 1770

Post by: Applesisapples on October 06, 2010, 09:21:45 AM
Quote from: King Henry on October 05, 2010, 11:00:37 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on October 05, 2010, 10:56:26 PM

Yes, but you're not the leader of a political party. And his real objection to not attending a GAA match has nothing to do with a lack of interest in the sport.

I know that but why let it bother you? Seriously do you really care that some Unionist doesn't want to go to a Gaa match?
Why would anyone care I don't get it..Maybe you have to be from the North but I don't see why anyone would give a dam.
Every one has their beliefs,if there his then let him have them,what loss is he to Croke Park anyway,he would only be taking up someones seat.
As I said I believe people really go out of their way to be offended.
As a nordy I agree 100% who really gives a toss and you are right too about the NI soccer team why would any self respecting person from the nationalist tradition want to be subjected to the sectarian crap that passes for "football" at windsor.
Post by: Eamonnca1 on October 06, 2010, 05:57:28 PM
If a leading politician stands up in public and denounces the GAA in any shape or form, including refusing to go to its games or claiming ignorance about highly publicised upcoming games, then he is feeding into the same mentality that leads the bottom-feeders in society to go out and burn down GAA halls. If such knuckle-dragging neanderthals see their leaders attacking the GAA, then they're going to feel quite justified in their actions.

It may seem like an empty gesture to a southerner, but if you're a northerner who has put a lot of work into a GAA club and gets up in the morning wondering if his club has been attacked in the night, it's a very real concern.

This anti-GAA attitude takes many forms, ranging from active indifference to outright violence. For a leading politician to encourage the attitude rather than to try and overcome it is a major cause for concern. "Going out of your way to be offended" has nothing to do with it. It's a very real safety issue.
Post by: Maguire01 on October 06, 2010, 06:52:20 PM
Quote from: muppet on October 05, 2010, 11:42:11 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on October 05, 2010, 10:06:59 PM

"Monsieur l'abbé, I detest what you write, but I would give my life to make it possible for you to continue to write."
Voltaire, letter to M. le Riche, February 6, 1770
That implies that Ringland is merely tolerating the GAA. That's not the case.
Post by: anglocelt39 on October 06, 2010, 07:16:14 PM

Indeed Henry, attending a sporting event as a neutral is never quite the same thing. You could always give your allegience to London in the NFL since they do the decent thing each year and round the football up to 32 participants ;D
Post by: 5 Sams on October 06, 2010, 09:07:15 PM
The boys in New York will be delighted with you!!
Post by: Onlooker on October 06, 2010, 09:55:16 PM
I have always regarded "Hurling only" snobs from Kilkenny as sad people and as far removed from real GAA supporters that you can get.  I wonder does King Henry regard himself as a GAA man at all.
Post by: Applesisapples on October 07, 2010, 08:45:59 AM
Quote from: Onlooker on October 06, 2010, 09:55:16 PM
I have always regarded "Hurling only" snobs from Kilkenny as sad people and as far removed from real GAA supporters that you can get.  I wonder does King Henry regard himself as a GAA man at all.
They are a bit like the football only snobs on this site!! Both games should be promoted and played equally, we are fortunate to have the two best field sports in the world....loosen up and enjoy. :)
Post by: Applesisapples on October 07, 2010, 08:47:53 AM
Quote from: King Henry on October 07, 2010, 08:07:48 AM

I am dedicated to my club and county,I would say I am more heavily involved in Gaa than you are,just because I am dedicated to hurling and have no real interest in Gaelic Football doesn't make me less of a Gaa man than you or anyone else,I would guess there are people who are the same as me but prefer Gaelic Football to Hurling,and good for them.

Also I have won 2 minor All Ireland winners medals,1 Intermediate All Ireland winners medal and 2 Club All Ireland winners medals.. (also numerous Leinster titles in hurling both club and county at various age groups)

What have you won?
Haven't you heard the GAA ethos is not all about winning!!
Post by: Maguire01 on October 07, 2010, 08:51:41 AM

I am dedicated to my club and county,I would say I am more heavily involved in Gaa than you are,just because I am dedicated to hurling and have no real interest in Gaelic Football doesn't make me less of a Gaa man than you or anyone else,I would guess there are people who are the same as me but prefer Gaelic Football to Hurling,and good for them.

Also I have won 2 minor All Ireland winners medals,1 Intermediate All Ireland winners medal and 2 Club All Ireland winners medals.. (also numerous Leinster titles in hurling both club and county at various age groups)

What have you won?
So your contribution is measured by the number of medals you win?

You might be a decent player, but that doesn't make you more of a GAA man than someone with no medals. Had you been born into another county, you might have nothing to show for your skills. Would you then be less of a GAA man?
Post by: Onlooker on October 07, 2010, 12:15:46 PM
Quote from: Applesisapples on October 07, 2010, 08:45:59 AM
They are a bit like the football only snobs on this site!! Both games should be promoted and played equally, we are fortunate to have the two best field sports in the world....loosen up and enjoy. :)
I agree with you 100%.  Those of us who follow and enjoy both games get twice the enjoyment out of the games.  My point was that some hurling people like King Henry enjoy knocking football at every opportunity.  It is much rarer to hear football people knocking hurling.  Of course, both games should promoted and played equally.  That is my only problem with Kilkenny.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on October 07, 2010, 12:51:27 PM

What have you won?

No harm to you King Henry but your "idol" would not be too impressed with you attitude.  Medals do not maketh the Gael, nor do they maketh the man.  I have always been a "football" man but have always encouraged my son to play hurling and would expect every person to do the same if they believed in our assocaition.  You do not have to like it but you should respect it.  You may have shown great commitment to win your medals but no more so than many others do on a regular basis. 
Post by: armaghniac on October 07, 2010, 01:11:35 PM
QuoteAlso I have won 2 minor All Ireland winners medals,1 Intermediate All Ireland winners medal and 2 Club All Ireland winners medals.. (also numerous Leinster titles in hurling both club and county at various age groups)

What have you won?

And BC1 is being modest, he has a few medals himself.
Post by: haranguerer on October 07, 2010, 01:13:32 PM
Quote from: Take Your Points on October 06, 2010, 12:10:57 AM
Individual/personal steps:
Read a newspaper from the other side for a day/week
We may criticise the leader of the UUP but how many of his counterparts would be willing to take any of these small steps and how many of our posters would take some of these small steps?  Or would we all prefer to scoff at them?

Mlkman delivers the news letter to homet (for the farming life pull-out), i'd always take a look, it'd make you more bitter however, not less!!  ;)
Post by: Bogball XV on October 07, 2010, 01:14:13 PM

What have you won?
the funny thing is that if he were from anywhere else we could probably narrow him down to one or two individuals ;D ;D
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on October 07, 2010, 01:20:20 PM
That ironic thing about King Henry is that Ballyhale were actually a strong dual club back at the start of the 1980's and won several Kilkenny senior football championships along with the first of their hurling championships.  Maybe he should be trumpeting that rather than taking the moral high ground.
Post by: Banana Man on October 07, 2010, 02:23:50 PM
Bogball is right, the sad reality is that if it was any other county we would have a fair shot at finding out who he is!
Post by: Milltown Row2 on October 07, 2010, 04:33:36 PM

What have you won?

You say you have an 1 Intermediate All Ireland winners medal, are senior clubs in Kilkenny allowed to have players that can play in that grade?

my first sport is hurling but have played all grades for my club and all codes including handball while at school.

Henry stop talking shite please, your the first Kilkenny man to enter this board and your becoming a WUM
Post by: King Henry on October 07, 2010, 04:46:40 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on October 07, 2010, 08:51:41 AM

What have you won?

You might be a decent player, but that doesn't make you more of a GAA man than someone with no medals. Had you been born into another county, you might have nothing to show for your skills. Would you then be less of a GAA man?

No of course not and that is not what I meant,but an accusation was made that I wouldn't consider myself a Gaa man which I responded too,the amount of medals I have was only enforcing the point maybe I should have left it out,as of course it doesn't matter how many you have but I didn't like what Onlooker said.
Post by: muppet on October 07, 2010, 05:38:46 PM
Quote from: King Henry on October 07, 2010, 04:46:40 PM

What have you won?

No of course not and that is not what I meant,but an accusation was made that I wouldn't consider myself a Gaa man which I responded too,the amount of medals I have was only enforcing the point maybe I should have left it out,as of course it doesn't matter how many you have but I didn't like what Onlooker said.

Kevin Moran is a bigger Gaa man than you. He trumps you with his Senior All-Ireland.
Post by: Carmen Stateside on October 07, 2010, 10:59:00 PM
Quote from: snoopdog on October 05, 2010, 09:20:28 PM
If both sides were as accomodating as Mr Ringland it would be a far better place. The GAA are doing a lot of work in trying to get unionism away from the view that it was once a recruiting ground for the
But attitudes need to change and if changing names of grounds from Republican names is required then so be it.
Obviously we should not forget our past but a peaceful future and a sporting organisation for all would be a better legacy for the communities of the north and our children.
it will take years for unionism to get away from the bitterness it holds towards Nationalist people and their heritage.

WTF?  In your opinion it never was?
We all know for a fact it wasnt!
Post by: Applesisapples on October 08, 2010, 09:40:36 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on October 07, 2010, 04:33:36 PM

What have you won?

You say you have an 1 Intermediate All Ireland winners medal, are senior clubs in Kilkenny allowed to have players that can play in that grade?

my first sport is hurling but have played all grades for my club and all codes including handball while at school.

Henry stop talking shite please, your the first Kilkenny man to enter this board and your becoming a WUM
Sure haven't we Senior Hurling Clubs in Antrim dropping to Intermediate so that they can pick up an easy Ulster or All Ireland.
Post by: Applesisapples on October 08, 2010, 09:45:46 AM
Quote from: Carmen Stateside on October 07, 2010, 10:59:00 PM
Quote from: snoopdog on October 05, 2010, 09:20:28 PM

WTF?  In your opinion it never was?
We all know for a fact it wasnt!
Hold on a second, are we going to De-Irish the GAA....It is an Irish Cultural and Sporting organisation...Why should we change names or drop Irish or drop the national Flag and Anthem? It is not going to attract any significant unionist support.we need to remember where we have come from, Sean Brown, Aiden McAnespie should not be forgotton, we can move on but we need to maintain or ethos.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on October 08, 2010, 12:25:14 PM
Quote from: King Henry on October 07, 2010, 04:46:40 PM

What have you won?

Onlooker was spot on with what he said. It really grinds my gears when "GAA men" run down the other codes. If you don't like the other codes there's no one going to force them on you so why feel the need to run them down? BTW, take a redner on listing your medals, self praise is no praise...
Post by: RadioGAAGAA on October 08, 2010, 02:58:23 PM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on October 08, 2010, 12:25:14 PM
BTW, take a redner on listing your medals, self praise is no praise...

Self praise is no recommendation....  ;)
Post by: Maguire01 on October 08, 2010, 10:32:56 PM
From HoganStand

Former GAA chief rebukes "stale and tired" Unionist leader
Former GAA President Nicky Brennan
08 October 2010

Nickey Brennan, the former President of the GAA, has declared that the improvement in cross-community relations over the past decade cannot be allowed to be undermined by comments from recently elected Ulster Unionist Party leader Tom Elliott.

Speaking last week, Elliott insisted he had no intention of ever attending a GAA match.

His comments prompted a stern response from his UUP colleague and former Ireland rugby international Trevor Ringland, who promised Elliott two tickets for next year's All-Ireland football final if an Ulster side was involved.

And Brennan, who engaged in productive meetings with Unionist members of the Northern Assembly during his time as GAA President between 2006 and 2009, believes the comments of the new UUP chief do not belong to the new mindset of togetherness north of the border.

In his Kilkenny People column, Brennan wrote, "Ringland, a noted campaigner against sectarianism and [defeated leadership candidate Basil] McCrea have developed a strong rapport with GAA officials in Ulster and recognise the need to develop good relations with the Association.

"I have no doubt that Tom Elliott is a decent man who holds his Unionist beliefs very dearly. Nevertheless, he has a duty to foster and support the good work of organisations who clearly work hard at building improved relations across communities throughout Northern Ireland. The tremendous progress made over the past decade or more cannot or will not be reversed.

"Tom Elliott has a challenge on his hands to regain ground for the UUP from the stronger element of Unionism, the DUP. Ranting on about not attending GAA matches is a stale and tired tactic that deserved the reaction it received from Trevor Ringland."

Post by: Eamonnca1 on October 10, 2010, 08:38:13 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on October 08, 2010, 10:32:56 PM
From HoganStand

Former GAA chief rebukes "stale and tired" Unionist leader
Former GAA President Nicky Brennan
08 October 2010

Nickey Brennan, the former President of the GAA, has declared that the improvement in cross-community relations over the past decade cannot be allowed to be undermined by comments from recently elected Ulster Unionist Party leader Tom Elliott.

Speaking last week, Elliott insisted he had no intention of ever attending a GAA match.

His comments prompted a stern response from his UUP colleague and former Ireland rugby international Trevor Ringland, who promised Elliott two tickets for next year's All-Ireland football final if an Ulster side was involved.

And Brennan, who engaged in productive meetings with Unionist members of the Northern Assembly during his time as GAA President between 2006 and 2009, believes the comments of the new UUP chief do not belong to the new mindset of togetherness north of the border.

In his Kilkenny People column, Brennan wrote, "Ringland, a noted campaigner against sectarianism and [defeated leadership candidate Basil] McCrea have developed a strong rapport with GAA officials in Ulster and recognise the need to develop good relations with the Association.

"I have no doubt that Tom Elliott is a decent man who holds his Unionist beliefs very dearly. Nevertheless, he has a duty to foster and support the good work of organisations who clearly work hard at building improved relations across communities throughout Northern Ireland. The tremendous progress made over the past decade or more cannot or will not be reversed.

"Tom Elliott has a challenge on his hands to regain ground for the UUP from the stronger element of Unionism, the DUP. Ranting on about not attending GAA matches is a stale and tired tactic that deserved the reaction it received from Trevor Ringland."
Amen, brother.