GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: ross4life on August 02, 2010, 08:35:15 PM

Title: Sligo All Ireland Junior Champions 2010
Post by: ross4life on August 02, 2010, 08:35:15 PM
From ConnachtGAA website

Semi final Result

Sligo    0-13   2-6   Louth

Congrats to them I'm sure Sligonian will give a detailed report when he return's from the game

They play either    Lancashire or Kerry on Saturday, 21st Aug 2010

Sligo Team/scorers
1 Jason Farrell
2 Donal McLynn
19 Luke Bree
4 David Rooney
5 Niall Walsh
6 Mark Quinn (capt)
7 Kevin Gallagher
8 James Murphy
9 Paul McTiernan
10 Shane Stenson 0-1
11 Padraig McGoldrick
22 Brendan McGrath
13 Cian McNamara
14 Kieran Finan 0-2
15 David Maye 0-8 (0-5 frees 0-2 45m)

Subs: Noel Gaughan for McGrath Halftime
Daniel Maye for Walsh 46 mins
Joe Quinn for Gallagher 50mins 0-1
Mark Gordon for McGoldrick inj 53 mins 0-1
Title: Re: Sligo into The All Ireland Junior final!!!
Post by: magpie seanie on August 02, 2010, 08:50:11 PM
I wonder will it be Lancashire or Kerry??!!!!

Well done to the lads especially Luke Bree from my own club. Lets hope we can get some silverware to end off the year.
Post by: SLIGONIAN on August 02, 2010, 09:17:29 PM
I was hoping to keep this low key as when i heard the tedd webb cup scoreline it knocked the stuffing out of me so i posted on the local page not a thread of its own :-\. I'll take it ross4life put this up in good faith and not to pratronise us Sligonians, but the junior is not important by any stretch. Id have preferred to win TW cup. Losing to the Rossies in the u21, senior and u16 is hard to take, especially when in my mind i know how much we fcked up this yr to make all the above possible.

Our club player and friend was captain Mark Quinn and lead the team brilliantly. Bree showed mental strength after a shaky opening and played well from 10mins on. Maye was main man up front with the odd classy showing from finan. Defence was solid enough with mcglynn and rooney aswell showing well. James Murphy is a big man but seriously intelligent footballer. Congrats to all. Walsh showed no signs of resignation today it has to be said but im no expert in body language, but he looked up for it. Hope he stays as i feel he has learned alot about us this yr. Noel Guaghn started HF today which isnt clever but did well when moved to HB to counter the threat of no12, Sligo were 4 pts down with 10 mins gone and went a 1pt ahead at HT, only to go 4pts dwon again in 2nd half and we 0-5 without reply to win. Very similar game to Connacht final.
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on August 02, 2010, 09:20:38 PM
Quote from: SLIGONIAN on August 02, 2010, 09:17:29 PM
I was hoping to keep this low key as when i heard the tedd webb cup scoreline it knocked the stuffing out of me so i posted on the local page not a thread of its own :-\. I'll take it ross4life put this up in good faith and not to pratronise us Sligonians, but the junior is not important by any stretch. Id have preferred to win TW cup. Losing to the Rossies in the u21, senior and u16 is hard to take, especially when in my mind i know how much we fcked up this yr to make all the above possible.

Our club player and friend was captain Mark Quinn and lead the team brilliantly. Bree showed mental strength after a shaky opening and played well from 10mins on. Maye was main man up front with the odd classy showing from finan. Defence was solid enough with mcglynn and rooney aswell showing well. James Murphy is a big man but seriously intelligent footballer. Congrats to all. Walsh showed no signs of resignation today it has to be said but im no expert in body language, but he looked up for it. Hope he stays as i feel he has learned alot about us this yr. Noel Guaghn started HF today which isnt clever but did well when moved to HB to counter the threat of no12, Sligo were 4 pts down with 10 mins gone and went a 1pt ahead at HT, only to go 4pts dwon again in 2nd half and we 0-5 without reply to win. Very similar game to Connacht final.

Out of interest Sligonian, would you take club football as seriously as following Sligo?
Post by: SLIGONIAN on August 02, 2010, 09:44:44 PM
Quote from: TacadoirArdMhacha on August 02, 2010, 09:20:38 PM

Out of interest Sligonian, would you take club football as seriously as following Sligo?
No is the short answer. I dont lose any sleep if the club lose however last few weeks have been a nightmare county wise. There is a good reason for this and i probably have to explain, but St Molaise Gaels is a relatively new club an amalgamation of 3 rival areas, grange, maugherow and Cliffoney. I played up until u14 with Cliffoney, u16 & u18 Grange/Cliffoney and U21 SMG. It was hard to unite us, but young fellas now are united and seniors too and it is great to see, commitment is a big issue in my club and theres too much politics for my liking. We need a man or manager to bring the club on, but some dont only want success if there involved. There would be people in the club that would never want me involved even as a volunteer although i go to every game to support but i'll sneak in under the radar someday. I still care if the club win and am delighted but not at the extremeties of the county. I take supporting Sligo more serious than any other aspect of my life. My Dads the same. We are lunatics.
Post by: ross4life on August 02, 2010, 09:53:41 PM
I was hoping to keep this low key,  I'll take it ross4life put this up in good faith and not to pratronise us Sligonians, but the

In no way was i patronising i just saw the result, didn't see a thread on it & imagine you were at the game

Low key?  Junior or not it's all Ireland Final for Sligo... When we won The junior All Ireland in 2000 The like's S. Curran,Daly,Cox,Mannion were part of that team

Post by: paddypastit on August 02, 2010, 10:01:43 PM
Sligonian - why in the world would Walsh show 'signs of resignation'?  The only person / place where that has ever been suggested is by you.  As you now seem to have done a 360 degree on your statement of last week that he was 'overhyped' and that 'If KW has any sense it will resign for the benefit of himself and us' [direct quote] maybe you might see the foolishness of lashing out with the first thing that comes into your head at / after a match. Passion and emotion are powerful things in sport and often the diffrence between winning and losing in most walks of life - even work.  Without control however they are a hindrance and a menace.

Agree with you about the U16s btw...  the stark reality that we are not winning at minor and U16 should keep the minds really focussed at CB level.
Post by: SLIGONIAN on August 02, 2010, 10:34:31 PM
Quote from: paddypastit on August 02, 2010, 10:01:43 PM
Sligonian - why in the world would Walsh show 'signs of resignation'?  The only person / place where that has ever been suggested is by you.  As you now seem to have done a 360 degree on your statement of last week that he was 'overhyped' and that 'If KW has any sense it will resign for the benefit of himself and us' [direct quote] maybe you might see the foolishness of lashing out with the first thing that comes into your head at / after a match. Passion and emotion are powerful things in sport and often the diffrence between winning and losing in most walks of life - even work.  Without control however they are a hindrance and a menace.

Agree with you about the U16s btw...  the stark reality that we are not winning at minor and U16 should keep the minds really focussed at CB level.

If Galway were tapping him up, i thought id see it in his demeanour today, you that he wouldnt care as he was going to Galway.

On my own comments, talking to others and there probably right that Walsh learned alot about us this yr and that if someone new comes in my make alot more mistakes as he wouldnt know what KW knows. I still dont rate him as highly as others but he deserves another 1yr. The only comment ive made the 360 on below "and us".....which ive explained above.

I think the coachings there but the CB management selections have thrown away a few titles in the last few yrs at underage. They should be focused on getting rid of mulhern and jonston but you couldnt count on it...
Post by: magpie seanie on August 03, 2010, 12:58:53 PM
There is/was a lot of worry about Sligo that Walsh may move on. Pretty much everyone wants him to stay so hopefully he does. Of course the management team made mistakes when you apply the 20-20 vision of hindsight but I think he's the best manager we've had over the senior team in my memory. What's more (and crucially where in the past Sligo have been most culpable) I bet he will learn from those mistakes and come back better for them.
Post by: magpie seanie on August 03, 2010, 01:10:38 PM
I see Luke would have been marking Mark Stanfield who has been a high scorer for Louth seniors for several years so it was no flat he was marking. Good stuff. Any of the Louth lads explain why he's no longer on senior panel?
Title: All Ireland Junior final, Sligo v Kerry August 21st
Post by: ross4life on August 07, 2010, 08:43:55 PM
tonight's result

Lancashire    1-8   1-17   Kerry
Title: Re: All Ireland Junior final, Sligo v Kerry August 21st
Post by: BennyHarp on August 07, 2010, 08:48:15 PM
Fair play to Lancashire, was at the game this evening and they competed well for most of the game! Don't think Kerry got out if first gear though to be fair!,
Post by: SLIGONIAN on August 08, 2010, 02:11:44 PM
It could be changed to 22nd as part of triple header with mayo minors, and dublin and cork, i know Sligo have requested it but it may not happen. If it stays the 21st ennis, galway would be likely venues or semple staduim as triple header with the u21 semis.

Aodan macgearait was FF for Kerry i think, a fine player in his day, luke bree impressed again yday in a club game so id say he'll do fine hopefully. I seen Padraig McGoldrick in crutches last nite so id say he is out.
Post by: ross4life on August 08, 2010, 06:38:37 PM
The Junior Final is usually a stand alone fixture & with Kerry involved expect it to be played in Ennis
Post by: blanketattack on August 09, 2010, 11:34:16 AM
Does the Sligo team include players from Senior clubs?
Post by: AZOffaly on August 09, 2010, 11:41:19 AM
Do Kerry still operate the model that you must not be from a Senior Club, and also that you must not have played Junior County last year? I remember when they won it, I think in 2007(?) that the brother in law wasn't allowed play with them the next year.
Post by: magpie seanie on August 09, 2010, 11:50:01 AM
Quote from: blanketattack on August 09, 2010, 11:34:16 AM

Of course. There are 24 clubs in Sligo, 12 of them are senior. As it happens there are a fair few players from non senior clubs on this panel though.

McGoldrick was on crutches at the weekend and his club mate McTiernan came off after 2 minutes of their championship game. Apparently he pulled his hammer at training last Thursday.
Post by: blanketattack on August 09, 2010, 02:51:44 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on August 09, 2010, 11:50:01 AM

Of course. There are 24 clubs in Sligo, 12 of them are senior. As it happens there are a fair few players from non senior clubs on this panel though.

McGoldrick was on crutches at the weekend and his club mate McTiernan came off after 2 minutes of their championship game. Apparently he pulled his hammer at training last Thursday.

So essentially it's the Sligo 'B' team.
Anyone know what counties use 'B' teams and what counties use players from non-Senior clubs?
Post by: Dinny Breen on August 09, 2010, 03:42:04 PM
Kildare use the B team model, working quite well for us...
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on August 09, 2010, 03:48:20 PM
Quote from: blanketattack on August 09, 2010, 02:51:44 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on August 09, 2010, 11:50:01 AM

So essentially it's the Sligo 'B' team.
Anyone know what counties use 'B' teams and what counties use players from non-Senior clubs?

Galway were mainly 50% junior and 50% intermediate this year.
Post by: SLIGONIAN on August 10, 2010, 09:59:47 PM
Fixed for Pearse Staduim Galway at 3.00 pm August 21st.
Post by: magpie seanie on August 11, 2010, 01:20:08 PM
Usually not happy to go to Salthill but I'll take it here. Better than Ennis or Thurles like most thought it would be. Would imagine Kerry must be strong favourites for this one?
Post by: SLIGONIAN on August 11, 2010, 01:54:33 PM
The have Aodhan Macgearait who was fine footballer in his prime and im sure we'll have our work cut out with him. Could be Kevin Walshs last game for Sligo aswell, ironic that its in Galway.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on August 11, 2010, 02:05:31 PM
Mike O'Donoghue is an excellent footballer. He scored Kerry's two goals in the u21 final against Kildare down in Thurles a few years ago. I was surprised he wasn't involved in their senior setup this summer.

MacGearailt was playing in Cork for a few years. He must be back playing with An Ghaeltacht now. I'd say Páidí still regrets taking him off in that Munster Final when he was giving Ó hÁilpín a roasting.
Post by: the Deel Rover on August 11, 2010, 02:31:23 PM
Quote from: SLIGONIAN on August 11, 2010, 01:54:33 PM
The have Aodhan Macgearait who was fine footballer in his prime and im sure we'll have our work cut out with him. Could be Kevin Walshs last game for Sligo aswell, ironic that its in Galway.

he scored 7 points in the seim final
Post by: ross4life on August 11, 2010, 03:40:19 PM
Shocked that Kerry didn't get a Munster venue for this... but a law of averages it was bound to happened  :P

We played Cork in Portloaise last year so Salthill should be less of a drive for ye
Post by: SLIGONIAN on August 11, 2010, 03:52:24 PM
Mark Quinn St Molaise Gaels man will be captain if he comes through the Harps game unscathed fingers crossed, Sligos one and only All Ireland is 1935 Junior title.

Wouldnt say there'll be a big crowd as Kerry will bring probably just family members, it would be nice to see a couple of hundred from Sligo but doubtful. Was disappointed with the club contingent the last day but cavan as a venue may have been to painful to revisit a week later.
Post by: magpie seanie on August 11, 2010, 09:01:04 PM
Quote from: SLIGONIAN on August 11, 2010, 03:52:24 PM
Mark Quinn St Molaise Gaels man will be captain if he comes through the Harps game unscathed fingers crossed, Sligos one and only All Ireland is 1935 Junior title.

Wouldnt say there'll be a big crowd as Kerry will bring probably just family members, it would be nice to see a couple of hundred from Sligo but doubtful. Was disappointed with the club contingent the last day but cavan as a venue may have been to painful to revisit a week later.

Backboned by Coolera men (4 on the team) and captained by one. Would be a nice way to mark the 75th anniversary (cos I'd guess there'll be nothing else done this late in the year).
Post by: Rossfan on August 19, 2010, 08:44:30 PM
Best wishes to our only nice neighbours as they try to win their second ever All Ireland against Kerry trying to win their SEVENTY SECOND !!!
Hope the Sligos can do the business.
Post by: SLIGONIAN on August 19, 2010, 09:31:19 PM
Unfortunetly Mark Quinn did not come through the harps game unscathed and is out of the final but Eoin McHugh has been drafted in, hopefully mcintyre and egan will tog out aswell. This game for me wont make or break our season but will be happy to take the cup. Im one of the few who think this has been a year of unachivement and missed opportunity, its been an ok yr not a good or great yr imo as when it really mattered too many old patterns of Sligo football repeated once again.

The wind is to pick up tomorrow for weekend aswell according to the forecast.

Best of luck lads.
Post by: Mano on August 19, 2010, 10:25:24 PM
Sligo team for Junior final.

1.Jason Farrell-Iason Ó Fearghail                               Gael na hAbhainn Mhóra

2.Donal McLynn-Donál Mac Fhlionn                        Naomh Eoin

3.David Rooney-Daithí Ó Ruanaidh                          Naomh Eoin

4.Luke Bree-Lucas Ó Bré                                           Cúl Iora/An Leathros

5.Eoin McHugh-Eoghan Mac Aodh                           Gael Naomh Mholaise

6.Adrian McItyre-Adrian Mac an tSaoir                    Tuairliostráin

7.Kevin Gallagher-Caoimhín Ó Gallachóir                 Clársigh an Iarthair

8.James Murphy-Seamas Ó Murchú                           Naomh Eoin

9.Paul McTiernan-Pól Mac Tiarnáin                           Naomh Mhicíl

10.Kieran Finan-Ciarán Ó Fionnán                             Cúil Áine/Mullach na Bréine

11.Pádraig McGoldrick-Pádraig MacGualraic           Naomh Mhicíl

12.Brendan Egan-Brendán Mac Aogáin                    Tuairliostráin

13.Cian McNamara-Cian Mac Conmara                     Naomh Eoin

14.Shane Stenson-Seaghan Mac Stibhín                    Naomh Eoin

15.David Maye-Daithí Ó Maidhaigh                          An Curraigh

16.Mark Touhy-Marcus Ó Tuathaigh                         Gael na Seamroige

17.Barry Cryan-Barra Ó Croidheáin                           Clársigh an Iarthair

18.Daniel Maye-Donal Ó Maidhaigh                         Tobar an Choire

19.Niall Walsh-Niall Breathnach                                Naomh Eoin

20.Mark Gordon-Marcus Mag Mhuirneacháin           Inis Eachra Abhainn/Cill                                                                                                                                                  Mholaise         

21.Benny McDonagh-Beircheart Mac Donnacha       Tobar an Choire

22.Brendan Mc Grath-Brendan Mac Craith               Iascaigh

23.Joe Quinn-Seosamh Ó Cuinn                             Gael na Seamroige

24.Michael Mac Gowan-Michéal Mac Gabhann        Naomh Fearnain
Post by: magpie seanie on August 20, 2010, 11:21:15 AM
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on August 11, 2010, 02:05:31 PM
Mike O'Donoghue is an excellent footballer. He scored Kerry's two goals in the u21 final against Kildare down in Thurles a few years ago. I was surprised he wasn't involved in their senior setup this summer.

MacGearailt was playing in Cork for a few years. He must be back playing with An Ghaeltacht now. I'd say Páidí still regrets taking him off in that Munster Final when he was giving Ó hÁilpín a roasting.

I didn't realise that An Ghaeltacht had gone down to intermediate. Maybe blanketattack can explain Kerry's selection system. You seemed to indicate that ye didn't pick lads from senior clubs but ye have two lads from Spa starting and one captaining and Spa are a senior club aren't they? Funnily enough there are actually more senior clubs in Sligo (12) than Kerry (11) because of your club system. Most of your intermediate clubs would be strong enough for SFC in Sligo and that seems to be where most of your team is drawn from. I've no doubt this will be a very strong Kerry team.
Post by: SLIGONIAN on August 20, 2010, 11:46:05 AM
Quote from: Mano on August 19, 2010, 10:25:24 PM
Sligo team for Junior final.

1.Jason Farrell-Iason Ó Fearghail                               Gael na hAbhainn Mhóra

2.Donal McLynn-Donál Mac Fhlionn                        Naomh Eoin

3.David Rooney-Daithí Ó Ruanaidh                          Naomh Eoin

4.Luke Bree-Lucas Ó Bré                                           Cúl Iora/An Leathros

5.Eoin McHugh-Eoghan Mac Aodh                           Gael Naomh Mholaise

6.Adrian McItyre-Adrian Mac an tSaoir                    Tuairliostráin

7.Kevin Gallagher-Caoimhín Ó Gallachóir                 Clársigh an Iarthair

8.James Murphy-Seamas Ó Murchú                           Naomh Eoin

9.Paul McTiernan-Pól Mac Tiarnáin                           Naomh Mhicíl

10.Kieran Finan-Ciarán Ó Fionnán                             Cúil Áine/Mullach na Bréine

11.Pádraig McGoldrick-Pádraig MacGualraic           Naomh Mhicíl

12.Brendan Egan-Brendán Mac Aogáin                    Tuairliostráin

13.Cian McNamara-Cian Mac Conmara                     Naomh Eoin

14.Shane Stenson-Seaghan Mac Stibhín                    Naomh Eoin

15.David Maye-Daithí Ó Maidhaigh                          An Curraigh

16.Mark Touhy-Marcus Ó Tuathaigh                         Gael na Seamroige

17.Barry Cryan-Barra Ó Croidheáin                           Clársigh an Iarthair

18.Daniel Maye-Donal Ó Maidhaigh                         Tobar an Choire

19.Niall Walsh-Niall Breathnach                                Naomh Eoin

20.Mark Gordon-Marcus Mag Mhuirneacháin           Inis Eachra Abhainn/Cill                                                                                                                                                  Mholaise         

21.Benny McDonagh-Beircheart Mac Donnacha       Tobar an Choire

22.Brendan Mc Grath-Brendan Mac Craith               Iascaigh

23.Joe Quinn-Seosamh Ó Cuinn                             Gael na Seamroige

24.Michael Mac Gowan-Michéal Mac Gabhann        Naomh Fearnain

Have to say im happy with that selection. Excited to see how mcinytyre gets on and glad to see Egan back in the Black & white. Good to see Eoin starting aswell as he was outstanding against harps. I seen McGoldrick in a cast a few weeks ago so he must of made miraclous recovery, but after his connacht final performance im glad hes back. Its a strong FB line aswell so I cant see that team being easily beat.

Best of luck again.
Post by: Mano on August 20, 2010, 11:52:57 AM
The Kerry No. 7 Brendan Guiney wasn't he the fella who Sean Boylan drafted into the International Rules panel a few years ago.
Post by: jpw1984ciarrai on August 20, 2010, 03:05:18 PM
Correct me if I'm wrong but I think that because the Spa lads were playing intermediate last year they can still play for the juniors this year but not next year. Was pretty sure it worked like that
Post by: Onlooker on August 21, 2010, 04:44:25 PM
According to Aertel Sligo won the All Ireland Junior Football beating Kerry by 2-10 to 1-7.  Well done to them and to Sligonian and their other supporters on this forum.  It may not be the most important title but it is nice to win it at the same time and beating Kerry in the final makes it that bit better.
Post by: Zulu on August 21, 2010, 04:52:27 PM
Quote2.Brendan Egan-Brendán Mac Aogáin                    Tuairliostráin

Is that the Egan who played centre back for the seniors a few years ago? I thought he was outstanding but haven't heard of him in a while. Oh and congratulations on winning the All Ireland, the junior isn't an easy one to win.
Post by: INDIANA on August 21, 2010, 05:04:35 PM
Quote from: Zulu on August 21, 2010, 04:52:27 PM
Quote2.Brendan Egan-Brendán Mac Aogáin                    Tuairliostráin

Is that the Egan who played centre back for the seniors a few years ago? I thought he was outstanding but haven't heard of him in a while. Oh and congratulations on winning the All Ireland, the junior isn't an easy one to win.

Thats him. He's a good player. Ex DCU.
Post by: ross4life on August 21, 2010, 05:06:02 PM
Well Done Sligo a nice way to finish 2010 season, i wonder how long it will take Sligonian to put All Ireland Champions under his name  ;)
Title: Re: Sligo All Ireland Junior Champions 2010
Post by: Shrewdness on August 21, 2010, 06:54:54 PM
Congratulations to Sligo on winning the All Ireland Junior Title.

Some people (usually from the so called elitist counties) turn their noses up at even the mention of this competition.
I still remember the excitement in Roscommon when we beat Kerry in the 2000 Junior Final.

This title is the least that Sligo Gaa deserves this year, after the heartbreak of losing Connacht U-21 and Senior Finals.
They made a very positive contribution to the Gaa scene this year, and it's nice that they have something to put a smile on their faces.

It will be interesting to hear the views of Sligonian, Paddy, Seanie etc on how they think this win will be viewed in Sligo.
Will it be celebrated, or will it get a cool enough reception because of it's status in the greater scheme of things.

Anyway, well done Sligo.
Post by: ross matt on August 21, 2010, 07:16:23 PM
Delighted for Sligo. Important win. Positive note for Kevin Walsh to close out 2010.
Post by: SLIGONIAN on August 21, 2010, 08:06:00 PM
Just back, i think ross matt sums it up, it ends the season on a positive note, and as shrewdness says u21 and senior defeats still hurt deeply so much so i still cant bring myself to rewatch it but we mustnt live in the past and move on.

The junior title, its been beneficial to us as alot of lads in senior squad got games and showcase there talent. There is deadwood in the squad and there is clearly 4/5 lads on this that really havent got the chances they deserve this yr.

It was very good performance and we were comfortable most of the 2nd half and i'll go into in more detail tomorrow. I wont be celebrating it tonight for the record, tbh but i am happy no doubt.  Well done KW/selectors and all the players.
Post by: Peter Solan the Great on August 21, 2010, 08:13:52 PM
I must say say its a great little win for them. Well done Sligo.
Post by: magpie seanie on August 21, 2010, 08:48:27 PM
I'm very happy with the win. Its only our second All-Ireland ever and as was mentioned earlier beating Kerry in an All-Ireland final of any grade is not to be sniffed at (least of all by the previous poster). Ros won this in 2000 but more interestingly to me anyway, contested 3 of the last 4 finals before today. Its a decent level for bringing lads through and to my mind more relevant to senior championship that a NFL game in Feb or March. We've a few lads on this team that to be honest I wouldn't have rated as county material on their club form but they've shown enough at this level to be worth a further look. On top of that the return of Egan and addition of McIntyre are exciting propects for next year.

There won't be wild celebrations but its a good end to a season that promised a whole lot more.
Post by: Zulu on August 21, 2010, 08:53:11 PM
Quotethe return of Egan

Was he injured or away?
Post by: magpie seanie on August 21, 2010, 09:14:30 PM
Was based in Stockholm for the last couple of years I believe (I think he played a bit of Aussie Rules over tere with distinction!). Hopefully he is back for good but maybe some of the Tourlestrane lads can confirm.
Post by: Mano on August 21, 2010, 09:35:25 PM
He is finished in Stockholm i believe and last i heard was looking for employment in Ireland. Would be a huge asset, can fill any position in half forward or half back lines. Problem position of centre back would be where i would locate him but if McIntyre makes himself available both would be in the half back line with Cawley as Davey is likely to be absent for most of next year.
Post by: paddypastit on August 21, 2010, 10:52:28 PM
I don't entirely know the answer to the question raised by Shrewdness as I'm resident in Dublin but my guess is that no one will be going mad in Sligo but that it will be well celebrated and appreciated within the GAA community itself and respectfully acknowledged beyond but without capturing the public imagination.

I think it is an important building block and agree with the comment made by Seanie comparing it to NFL games. I recently started a blog and I've copied in below a post I made there earlier.

The only other thought would be to endorse the comments made re Egan who would be a proper addition and a guy with the mental toughness required at a higher level of football as well as serious physical power and football ability.

"Junior football would never have been overly prominent on my football agenda as a youngster in Sligo but for all that there is great sense of pride in hearing that Sligo tonight are All Ireland champions in the junior grade.

For many it will not make up for the disappointment of how the senior team fell away but when you add this victory to the victory by the U-16 team in the Fr Manning Cup, the fact that the U21s and U16s got to their respective Connacht finals and that both Attracta's and Summerhill had good seasons in Colleges, then – without ever considering what has been achieved by the senior team – it has been a good year.

Leaving aside the pleasure of winning, this and all of those other achievements are important as this is what establishes, in both their own and others' minds, a real sense that Sligo have what it takes and that Sligo now are, in their own words a "serious" county. As those that have read here over time will know, I believe that this is the only tradition that counts in Gaelic football today.

Full credit then to all those in Sligo football that have contributed to this contemporary tradition and here's a wish that they don't let up on the good work now"
Post by: tyroneStatto on August 21, 2010, 11:43:17 PM
Quote from: Shrewdness on August 21, 2010, 06:54:54 PM
Congratulations to Sligo on winning the All Ireland Junior Title.

Some people (usually from the so called elitist counties) turn their noses up at even the mention of this competition.
I still remember the excitement in Roscommon when we beat Kerry in the 2000 Junior Final.

This title is the least that Sligo Gaa deserves this year, after the heartbreak of losing Connacht U-21 and Senior Finals.
They made a very positive contribution to the Gaa scene this year, and it's nice that they have something to put a smile on their faces.

It will be interesting to hear the views of Sligonian, Paddy, Seanie etc on how they think this win will be viewed in Sligo.
Will it be celebrated, or will it get a cool enough reception because of it's status in the greater scheme of things.

Anyway, well done Sligo.

Well done Sligo. I would like tyrone to be able to participate in this competition. Can someone enlighten me why ulster teams dont take part anymore?
Post by: sligoman2 on August 22, 2010, 05:19:09 AM
Congratulations to all involved.  This is an All-Ireland trophy and only the second one in our history so enjoy it lads and well done, the whole county is proud of ye.

I hope McIntyre decides to join the senior panel next year as he has tremendous talent and would be a huge asset to the team as would Egan.
A well deserved end to a very positive year.  Oh and by the way, my sincere thanks to Kevin Walsh for sticking with us, I have a funny feeling you won't regret it.

Yeah Baby....
Post by: Rossfan on August 22, 2010, 08:44:26 PM
Congrats to the Sligo lads on winning the All Ireland JFC 9 doubling their no of all Irl wins.
Delighted for them and for their posters on Gaaboard Sligonian,Seanie and the rest.
Also nice to see a third Connacht county being able to beat the Kingdom in an All Ireland Final ( Us,Sligo and Galway  ;)).
Post by: magpie seanie on August 22, 2010, 09:13:24 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on August 22, 2010, 08:44:26 PM
Congrats to the Sligo lads on winning the All Ireland JFC 9 doubling their no of all Irl wins.
Delighted for them and for their posters on Gaaboard Sligonian,Seanie and the rest.
Also nice to see a third Connacht county being able to beat the Kingdom in an All Ireland Final ( Us,Sligo and Galway  ;)).

Post by: SLIGONIAN on August 23, 2010, 04:45:14 PM
Sligo 2-10 Kerry 1-7 my thoughts on the game...

It is strange going into a game when both teams really dont know much about each other. Sligo played with the wind 1st half and started brightly, Gaelic football is a strange game as Cian McNamara proved. Here is a player who didnt stand out against Louth or for his club St Johns the previous week but his outstanding goal got us going and he played brilliantly all through showing in front of his marker and holding the ball up. The goal was set up by Eoin McHugh who had an outstanding 1st half, he won ball he had no right to win, battled for everything, put his body on the line, and passed supremely, if he continues in this vein he will push Cawley hard for senior spot but Eoin needs consistency to do that and i wish him well as is physique is perfect for intercounty. We got a further few points from placed balls from maye and let me tell none of the frees were gimmes, i watched maye before the game and he hit every practice free wide, but it just shows you he performs best when the pressure is on. Kerry took an age to get going but for a bad call from the linesman for us which resulted in the kerry goal, we did switch off as poff in a acre of space in front of farrell who had no chance with a close range finish. Sligo reacted well and Finans goal was opportunistic, in came in on the blind side of the defender who was going to pick up the ball and finan got in front and soccered it into the net to give Sligo a vital lead as with HT approaching a facing a wind 2nd half we needed a lead. McGoldrick and maye tagged on frees to give Sligo 2-4 to 1-2 lead at HT.

In fairness to kerry they got a blow in the early part of the 1st half when Macgearait got injured and was forced off. Our tactics for the whole game was getting 10/12 behing the ball into our own half and break from there. The HB line was so crowded that i honestly couldnt tell you how mcintyre played as there was so much protection around, it was negative tactics but it worked, we broke and countered very well at times but we did lose our shape a few times, with only 2 forwards up front and 5 kerry backs. This is where the speed and fitness of McGlynn, Rooney, and bree showed, they were able to run at pace out of defence, opening up space for our Hf line, our HB line held there postions at most and linked the play.

Murphy did alot better 2nd half and broke and won a sight of ball, we started to play serious football at times 2nd half and created loads of space along the wings. Benny McDonagh was impressive once again, his ball carrying skills were a joy to watch in terrible conditions. Sligo scored 6 in 2nd half points, Maye got 2 from play, both great finishes with either foot, our only points from play. Kerry got 3 players sent off, 2 in injury time and tbh there was no need to send off the last 2 as both were going for the ball, the ref never allowed for the conditions and was way too whislte happy with the slightest of physical contact. Sligo never looked in danger of losing as we kept kerry at arms length. Egan played as spare man btween the midfield and HBline and plugged the gaps well.

All in all a good for Sligo, it was great to see a Sligo team with no fear of the green and gold of Kerry like our seniors showed last yr. Was glad Farrell was captain as it cant be easy to sub keeper all yr and still remain committed.
Maye was probably moftm, but he still not the finished article, he needs to improve his physique, a few times he was easily disapessed when ball carrying so needs to improve this area of his game, also he was far too deep at stages of the game, inside our 45.
I feel im inbetween as some people are trying to blow this cup out of proportion and some are dismissing it. IMO its good to win it, but it doesnt reflect or paper over the facts of unachievement within the county yr in yr out. I enjoyed the Junior games though, being to them all but remeber there are more important cups and finals to be won.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on August 23, 2010, 05:19:01 PM

You've laid the bait out anyway but no mouse has come sniffing yet. ;D
Post by: magpie seanie on August 24, 2010, 12:04:37 AM
Would go along with that assessment Sligonian. I've always advocated Sligo making an effort in this competition and thankfully Kevin Walsh had the foresight to take it on. If we are honest our efforts in it in the past (and very recent past) have been fairly pathetic. In some of the euphoria and back slapping this need to be borne in mind.

One feature of Maye's free taking that sets him apart in my book was again in evidence (Tuam in the first half of the U-21 match v. Galway was another). His ability to drill a free accurately and low into the breeze is sensational. I haven't seen too many who can do it as consistently accurately. A great weapon to have.
Post by: SLIGONIAN on August 24, 2010, 12:05:57 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on August 24, 2010, 12:04:37 AM
Would go along with that assessment Sligonian. I've always advocated Sligo making an effort in this competition and thankfully Kevin Walsh had the foresight to take it on. If we are honest our efforts in it in the past (and very recent past) have been fairly pathetic. In some of the euphoria and back slapping this need to be borne in mind.

One feature of Maye's free taking that sets him apart in my book was again in evidence (Tuam in the first half of the U-21 match v. Galway was another). His ability to drill a free accurately and low into the breeze is sensational. I haven't seen too many who can do it as consistently accurately. A great weapon to have.
His trajectory is unreal all right, if he develops physically and gives us more from play we are in serious shape. Sure seanie it wasnt so long ago we didnt even take the u21 seriously, i remember queenan on the radio apologising to families, fans at how poorly prepared they were in the 2000s even.
Post by: EagleLord on August 24, 2010, 10:03:01 PM
Maybe Im being a bit dopey here, but what grade is Junior? Like who qualifies to play for that team?
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on August 24, 2010, 10:35:14 PM
Quote from: EagleLord on August 24, 2010, 10:03:01 PM
Maybe Im being a bit dopey here, but what grade is Junior? Like who qualifies to play for that team?

Seems to be different depending on the county. Some teams are more like county B selections while others mainly draw players only from the junior or intermediate ranks.
Post by: spectator on August 24, 2010, 11:13:17 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on August 24, 2010, 12:04:37 AM

Quite right Seanie, he drilled a 45 low over the bar into the gale force wind during the first half of the final in Markievicz too. As you said, even some of the really top notch freetakers will still put them up in the air where the wind will take them.

Congrats to Sligo on yeer All-Ireland win. As the saying goes 'you haven't really won an All-Ireland until you've batin The Kingdom.' Welcome to the club  ;D
Post by: criostlinn on August 25, 2010, 12:32:14 AM

I have to take the bait. I just cant leave it. Yet again young man you are embarrassing yourself. Have a look at the 1997 junior final and the '67 u-21 final.

Oh sorry forgot the winky yokes ;) ;)

and these ones for magpie seanie and spectator.   ;D ;D ;D
Post by: ballinaman on August 25, 2010, 07:27:57 AM
Fair play criost linn.....1967 U-21 Final Replay Mayo 4-09 Kerry 1-07 by the way Rossamadán

Post by: EagleLord on August 25, 2010, 08:11:30 AM
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on August 24, 2010, 10:35:14 PM
Quote from: EagleLord on August 24, 2010, 10:03:01 PM

Seems to be different depending on the county. Some teams are more like county B selections while others mainly draw players only from the junior or intermediate ranks.

I see! Thanks!
Post by: ross4life on August 25, 2010, 03:51:43 PM
Am i right in saying Roscommon are still the only team to have beaten Kerry in the final at every level? anyways this junior success should be great opportunity for the Sligo lads that may have been overlooked in the past
Post by: Kerry Mike on August 25, 2010, 09:30:35 PM
well done to all in Sligo .

QuoteAs the saying goes 'you haven't really won an All-Ireland until you've batin The Kingdom

Will save that for the Senior final if the langers win  :P
Post by: Rossfan on August 25, 2010, 09:48:15 PM
Quote from: ross4life on August 25, 2010, 03:51:43 PM
Am i right in saying Roscommon are still the only team to have beaten Kerry in the final at every level?
I believe so alright.
Some record  ;D and we can't even pick everyone from Ros  >:(
Post by: Kerry Mike on August 25, 2010, 09:53:51 PM
QuoteAm i right in saying Roscommon are still the only team to have beaten Kerry in the final at every level? anyways this junior success should be great opportunity for the Sligo lads that may have been overlooked in the past

ah ye dont have much to be boasting about from Roscommon so ye can have that one.
Post by: Rossfan on August 25, 2010, 09:55:12 PM
Quote from: Kerry Mike on August 25, 2010, 09:53:51 PM
QuoteAm i right in saying Roscommon are still the only team to have beaten Kerry in the final at every level? anyways this junior success should be great opportunity for the Sligo lads that may have been overlooked in the past

ah ye dont have much to be boasting about from Roscommon so ye can have that one.

Something ye kutehoors can't do anyway  ;D
Post by: Kerry Mike on August 25, 2010, 10:00:10 PM
QuoteSomething ye kutehoors can't do anyway

37 Senior All Irelands but it would be unlike us to boast about them.
Post by: spectator on August 26, 2010, 12:37:47 AM
Quote from: criostlinn on August 25, 2010, 12:32:14 AM

I have to take the bait. I just cant leave it. Yet again young man you are embarrassing yourself. Have a look at the 1997 junior final and the '67 u-21 final.

Oh sorry forgot the winky yokes ;) ;)

and these ones for magpie seanie and spectator.   ;D ;D ;D

Fair cop there criostlinn :D 

Ennis seems to be a lucky ground for ye when it comes to All-Irelands ... now if only ye could get the aul September games played there ... ;)

Western People August 27th 1997
All-Ireland Junior Football Final

Mayo survive strong Kerry challenge as ........King Billy's men claim their own Kingdom!

MAYO 2-8 KERRY 1-10

Mayo won their fifth All-Ireland Junior when they defeated Kerry in Cusack Park, Ennis, on Saturday evening. Patrons were treated to a good and entertaining match with the outcome in the balance to the final whistle. A number of factors were to the fore in carving this victory over a fancied Kerry side and it was a sweet victory for the Mayo lads who put a major effort into this year's campaign.

Mayo manager, Billy Fitzpatrick, was in jubilant mood after the game. And he spoke of his pride in the manner in which the team conducted themselves throughout the season. "Most of that squad today were on the team that defeated London in the final in Castlebar in 1995. At least ten of them were on the panel. They had a lot of experience and most of them had played at various levels for the county, including the senior team, at some stage or another."

Billy said he could not praise the squad highly enough. "They were very committed from the outset. We worked hard for this title. You don't always get this kind of commitment at junior level. These lads deserve their success. They are an exceptional bunch of fellows. Looking back, I must say that the trip to Birmingham for the game against Warwickshire was very special. Their conduct on that trip was exemplary and they were great ambassadors for the county. It also helped to further develop a great sense of friendship between the entire panel. I'm delighted for all of them that they have won an All-Ireland Junior medal."
Post by: Turlough O Carolan on August 26, 2010, 01:37:55 AM
Quote from: ballinaman on August 25, 2010, 07:27:57 AM
Mayo 4-09 Kerry 1-07

One lad scored all four goals. Surely should be a legend in Mayo for that feat alone. What was his name again?
Post by: ballinaman on August 26, 2010, 01:52:38 AM
Quote from: Turlough O Carolan on August 26, 2010, 01:37:55 AM
Mayo 4-09 Kerry 1-07

One lad scored all four goals. Surely should be a legend in Mayo for that feat alone. What was his name again?

Willie McGee
Post by: Turlough O Carolan on August 26, 2010, 02:02:27 AM
Quote from: ballinaman on August 26, 2010, 01:52:38 AM
Mayo 4-09 Kerry 1-07

Willie McGee

The very man. Will Mayo bate Ciarraí? Yes if they have Willie McGee.
Post by: Turlough O Carolan on August 26, 2010, 02:15:13 AM
And to get back on topic, congrats to Sligo. They least they deserved after all the county brought to the championship this year. The atmosphere in Castlebar on Connacht final day was something else and the supporters were very gracious after a devastating loss. Few would begrudge them adding some silverware from other All-Ireland grades to this.
Post by: Mike Sheehy on August 26, 2010, 05:45:24 AM
Quote from: Rossfan on August 25, 2010, 09:55:12 PM

what do you mean exactly ?
Post by: criostlinn on August 26, 2010, 09:13:59 AM
Quote from: ballinaman on August 26, 2010, 01:52:38 AM
Mayo 4-09 Kerry 1-07

Willie McGee

Four Goal Willie, although he himself prefers to be called four goals and a point willie
Post by: Rossfan on August 26, 2010, 09:17:54 PM
Quote from: Mike Sheehy on August 26, 2010, 05:45:24 AM

Ye can't bate Kerry in an All Ireland Final or four  ;D ;D
Post by: Farrandeelin on August 26, 2010, 10:21:45 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on August 26, 2010, 09:17:54 PM
Quote from: Mike Sheehy on August 26, 2010, 05:45:24 AM

Ye can't bate Kerry in an All Ireland Final or four  ;D ;D

But I always thought KM and mikesheehy were from Kerry, they'd hardly want to beat themselves now would they?