Line up here to apologise to Pat.
Lets be 'avin you Indiana! :D
I think Indiana will wait until tomorrow (after the Hangover).
I know I shouldn't and I know the same could be probably be done to me but I have really enjoyed the games on the pitch tody and I can't help enjoying myself here as well.
Quote from: INDIANA on June 27, 2010, 08:09:52 PM
Quote from: Denn Forever on June 27, 2010, 07:52:33 PM
Meath seemed hungrier for the ball. Dublin players appeared to be carrying some weight?
It may be a blessing in disguise as Dublin will have to go back to the drawing board.
There are no pages left on the drawing board Denn!
Quote from: Declan on June 28, 2010, 08:28:24 AM
One of Gilroy's mantras was that the team that got hammered by Tyrone and Kerry were psychologically damaged goods and incapable of winning any big games as a result and so he had to clean them. Wonder how he feels this morning if his selection will be damaged by the worst beating by Meath in living memory
Harsh Muppet ;D
There's not one us here that haven't reacted to a bad defeat with some poorly choosen comment..
I am on the record as saying people were being too harsh on Gilroy and he should be given time.
The amount of lads I know that said last year that the best thing for Dublin would be a run in the qualifiers and then when they do go into them they are calling for Gilroys head!
Quote from: Dinny Breen on July 31, 2010, 05:43:55 PM
Harsh Muppet ;D
There's not one us here that haven't reacted to a bad defeat with some poorly choosen comment..
I'm sure they will be happy enough after that to deal with any flak.
Will we see the return of GNevin and Tankie?
About 25 minutes into the Dublin - Armagh qualifier a few weeks ago Armagh had just gone 6-2 up. A Dub a few rows over from me in the lower Hogan stands up and roars down at Gilroy along the line in front of us, 'Just quit Gilroy, you bollix! You're a f**king disgrace!'. Some tube.
I thought he was after committing career suicide taking off Brogan...
Fair play to him, finally has a Dublin team playing and fighting as a unit
To be fair I think he wanted to give Brogan a breather.
Quote from: Jinxy on July 31, 2010, 06:47:45 PM
To be fair I think he wanted to give Brogan a breather.
He should have given him a breather in the first half when he was shite. He was flying when he took him off.
I agree muppet, I've been one of Gilroy's biggest supporters around here but that decision had me pulling my hair out. It struck me as something he planned to do anyway and didn't change even when it was the wrong thing to do.
He deserves credit for leaving O Gara on aswell- i'd have had him off.
I sort of like O Gara but oh my god he is so over hyped i find myself noticing all the mistakes he makes on the field
Maybe he is a luxury type player that they have to leave on in the hope he will knick a goal or two ala Jayo in 95
Quote from: haze on July 31, 2010, 06:57:42 PM
I sort of like O Gara but oh my god he is so over hyped i find myself noticing all the mistakes he makes on the field
Maybe he is a luxury type player that they have to leave on in the hope he will knick a goal or two ala Jayo in 95
Did he not spend most of the match playing way too far from the goals?
90% of the time he looks like a junior B player.
The other 10% of the time he's scoring goals!
I'd disagree with that Jinxy, O'Gara would be a handful for any full back in the country in terms of ball winning it's just that when he gets it he won't trouble the umpires too often. He is a fine hard working target man and should be used as such and let Bernard do the rest.
He falls over every time he bends down to pick up the ball.
He's too top heavy.
Quote90% of the time he looks like a junior B player.
Agree with the above.
Pity the same cant be said for Niall Corkery though- he is clearly as honest as the day is long but that is one position where Gilroy can improve the team the next day
QuoteHe falls over every time he bends down to pick up the ball.
He's too top heavy.
You can't be making that judgement on today surely?
Quote from: Jinxy on July 31, 2010, 07:09:36 PM
He falls over every time he bends down to pick up the ball.
He's too top heavy.
At least he stays on his feet until hitting the net!
*Muppet makes a run for it*
Quote from: haze on July 31, 2010, 07:09:49 PM
Quote90% of the time he looks like a junior B player.
Agree with the above.
Pity the same cant be said for Niall Corkery though- he is clearly as honest as the day is long but that is one position where Gilroy can improve the team the next day
Yeah I think Flynn offers a lot more.
Disappointed with Keaney when he came on though.
Quote from: Zulu on July 31, 2010, 07:10:45 PM
QuoteHe falls over every time he bends down to pick up the ball.
He's too top heavy.
You can't be making that judgement on today surely?
No, over all the games to date.
He's the least flexible looking fella I've ever seen playing intercounty football.
We'll have to agree to disagree so, he isn't a classy footballer like Brogan but he is exactly the type of footballer many teams could do with, including Meath IMO.
We don't need him.
We've got BIG JOE!!
:D :D
That's why you need him. :D
Indeed great result for him and his team . Gives hope to alot of teams
Well done Gilroy - just remember - you're never far from a kiick in the hole being a GAA manager.
Up till today it's been nothing BUT kicks up the hole! :D
Quote from: Jinxy on July 31, 2010, 08:50:37 PM
Up till today it's been nothing BUT kicks up the hole! :D
Fair play to Gilroy. However if Dublin had gotten a stickier Qualifier tie just after the Meath defeat and lost, he would have been run out of the county.
The same for McGeeney, if Kildare had lost to Louth and Antrim in consecutive games,
What doesn't kill you makes you stronger. When Dublin were having to fight tooth and nail to survive against Wexford I suspected it would do them good in the long term. Were the old guard of Ryan, Whelan, Sherlock etc still in tow, they probably would have won it from the front but learned little.
Quote from: Jinxy on July 31, 2010, 07:04:04 PM
90% of the time he looks like a junior B player.
backed him at 15/2 to score the first goal ;D ;D ;D was saying to the mates this balloon is playing to far out field!!! then bing 5 to go he wins the match!!! :D
he basically punched banged and pushed his way around the pitch. but sure i'm up a few quid
Jayz Gilroy make some strange decisions, but I suppose you have to have faith that he sees the players in training all the time so should know best. Very brave to be taking off relative big names like Henry, Cahill and Brogan. Sticking with young lads even after a bad game has been a very big quality. The full back line could all have been dropped after Meath, and while none are the finished article they have all come on hugely thanks to the faith he's shown in them.
Not Gilroy's biggest fan and still think we're a fair bit off the top but I take my hat off to him for getting the lads to play with such heart and fight.
It may be Dublin's AI this year.
Indiana played down the Dublin U21s chances this year and they won.