GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Kerry Mike on July 28, 2010, 01:29:07 PM

Title: Laochra Gael - Dermot Earley
Post by: Kerry Mike on July 28, 2010, 01:29:07 PM
On TG4 tonight at 9pm.

At 7.15 Tg4 the Munster U21 Hurling final betwenn Tipp & Clare.
Title: Re: Laochra Gael - Dermot Earley
Post by: ross matt on July 28, 2010, 03:52:53 PM
Cheers for reminder Mike.
Post by: fearglasmor on July 28, 2010, 04:02:30 PM
Picture of him in the Roscommon Herald this week.

That man had thighs that would put the fear of god into an Amsterdam whore.

Not that he ever would of course.
Post by: 5 Sams on July 28, 2010, 09:51:35 PM
Excellent programme. Jaysus he came across as a fierce nice fella......along with Arkle and John O'Keeffe...one of the players I looked up to when I was a youngster.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on July 28, 2010, 09:53:42 PM
Great programme
Post by: Beard on July 28, 2010, 10:01:27 PM
Great programme with some great footage of the 77-80 era.

It drove home for me anyway how Roscommon lost the 1980 final in 1977 and 1979. They developed a fear of losing as a result of not being able to seal the deal in those two previous semi's. They may just as easily have lost three finals during that era instead of one but I feel if they had final experience in 1980 they may just have been able to take advantage of an average Kerry performance on the day.

Some reckon the Rossies would have kicked on after 1980, if they had won it, and picked up another All-Ireland or two. I'm not too sure about that statement but I'd be interested to hear what others think.
Post by: Kerry Mike on July 28, 2010, 10:15:59 PM
They left us off the hook in 1980 with the game in their grasp, they were a good team but seemed to fade away after that loss, instead of using it as a starting block,
Post by: mjg on July 28, 2010, 10:26:52 PM
I was one of many lucky to have met him an yes what a gent,but as castlebar showed he will always be with us
Post by: orangeman on July 28, 2010, 10:36:10 PM
Some player.

Post by: Feckitt on July 28, 2010, 11:57:47 PM
Great to see some footage of late 70's early 80's football.  I am an Armagh man, but had never seen any clips of the matches v Roscommon. 

It was a nice touch at the end were they showed Dermot Sr and Dermot jr fielding about 10 high balls in different matches.

Also, i briefly saw, what at first glance seemed to be the greatest goal of all time, I searched for it on youtube, and I was right, it is the greatest goal of alltime.

Check out this Mayo 1980's double dropkick goal.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-dxxEVtNI6s
Post by: spectator on July 29, 2010, 12:50:23 AM
Quote from: Beard on July 28, 2010, 10:01:27 PM
They developed a fear of losing as a result of not being able to seal the deal in those two previous semi's.

Some reckon the Rossies would have kicked on after 1980, if they had won it, and picked up another All-Ireland or two. I'm not too sure about that statement but I'd be interested to hear what others think.

It'll always be a case of what might have happened subsequently if we'd won that AIF, but I don't think we'd have won another tbh. Win or lose, 1980 was the end of a long hard road for that team, imo. We needed to reach an AIF in the earlier years of the four-in-a-row if we were to build on it.

Interesting theory Beard. The '79 AISF, out of all of them, was seen at the time as being a huge opportunity for Ros, from within Ros. They'd won the league & then three Connachts in a row for the first time ever by a Ros team, inc. the team of the forties. Losing to the Dubs was shattering, but they managed to regroup & came backagain in '80, albeit ultimately unsuccessfully.

That Ros team had a lot of football behind them by late 1980. 4 Connachts, a league title, an U-21 All-Ireland, the Ceannaurus and an All-Ireland that was tantalisingly within grasp but slipped away. It was commonly said at the time that if Ros had managed to get to either the '77 or '79 finals, the experience of the build up & day itself would have stood to them in '80. I reckon the disappointment of losing an AIF they knew they could have won, subsequently had an effect on them too & not for the better. They had journeyed long and hard and had already rallied themselves again to get the opportunity and when it didn't work out there wasn't enough left in the tank to come back yet again.

Galway were a young up and coming team in '81 and beat us easily in the league final that year. Our defence, previously very solid, was showing signs of raggedness at that stage. There were injuries for the championship game v Sligo, Danny Murray, Seamus Hayden, Marty Mc, Eammon Mc etc. Midfield was effected & positions were changed around, but things didn't go well. Probably a mixture of the unsettled ageing team, a loss of 'edge'  - appetite were the reasons imo.

In '82, Paul Earley came in & helped to rejuvenate things to a certain extent, but after beating Sligo in the QF we had an improving Galway side narrowly pip us in the Hyde & they went on to realise their potential by taking the first of their three-in-a-row Connachts that year. What was suspected after the '81 league final was now crystal clear ; Ros were in decline while Galway were on the up in Connacht.

'83 then saw us lose to a very average Mayo side for the first time in 19 years at Castlebar, but by then we were well in transition, with a good few of the '80 side having retired to be replaced by lads from the U-21 side that got to the '82 AIF.

Fine programme by TG4, Well Done to them.
Post by: Kerry Mike on July 29, 2010, 10:14:36 AM
Was Paul a brother of Dermot? He was a fine footballer too in his day.
Post by: Rossie11 on July 29, 2010, 10:28:20 AM
He was indeed. Won an All star at full forward in 1985.
Post by: Kerry Mike on July 29, 2010, 10:33:05 AM
I throught there was some relation there, did Paul play with Kildare at some stage? Just have some memory of that.
Post by: Man Marker on July 29, 2010, 10:35:16 AM
Quote from: Feckitt on July 28, 2010, 11:57:47 PM
Great to see some footage of late 70's early 80's football.  I am an Armagh man, but had never seen any clips of the matches v Roscommon. 

It was a nice touch at the end were they showed Dermot Sr and Dermot jr fielding about 10 high balls in different matches.

Also, i briefly saw, what at first glance seemed to be the greatest goal of all time, I searched for it on youtube, and I was right, it is the greatest goal of alltime.

Check out this Mayo 1980's double dropkick goal.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-dxxEVtNI6s

That is jsut a wonderful goal, the drop kick pass is simply outragously brilliant, Lowery didn't even have to break his stride and his finish complimented the pass.
Post by: Rossfan on July 29, 2010, 11:00:13 AM
Quote from: Kerry Mike on July 29, 2010, 10:33:05 AM
I throught there was some relation there, did Paul play with Kildare at some stage? Just have some memory of that.

Not that I'm aware of. He lives up there al right and managed a few club teams there.
A Ros Kildare championship clash this year would have been a big one for the Earley Family but can now only happen in the Final .
By the way Dermot, Dermot Jnr ,Paul and Dermot's daughter Noelle(?) won All Star awards.
Post by: neilthemac on July 29, 2010, 11:27:25 AM
How Roscommon didn't beat Armagh in 77 I don't know.
Tony Mc with a clear cut last minute point that he'd usually kick with his eyes closed
O'Gara and Menton with two gilt edge goal chances in the replay
and in 79 they should have been out of sight against Dublin.

the one handed catch that Earley had against Galway (?) was outrageous. and the way he could survive any shoulder or frontal block was unreal
what a mighty legend Dermot Earley was, and always will be.
Post by: Rossie11 on July 29, 2010, 11:48:13 AM
QuoteI throught there was some relation there, did Paul play with Kildare at some stage? Just have some memory of that.

No never did, although he managed one of their club teams at one stage
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on July 29, 2010, 01:44:20 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on July 29, 2010, 11:00:13 AM
Quote from: Kerry Mike on July 29, 2010, 10:33:05 AM

Not that I'm aware of. He lives up there al right and managed a few club teams there.
A Ros Kildare championship clash this year would have been a big one for the Earley Family but can now only happen in the Final .
By the way Dermot, Dermot Jnr ,Paul and Dermot's daughter Noelle(?) won All Star awards.

Paul has managed Allenwood and Celbridge.

Dermot jnr, David and Noelle all play for Sarsfields and have all played for Kildare. I do believe David Earley is responsible for Mick O'Dwyer's limp after colliding with him during a training session in Newbridge years ago! Dermot jnr won the first of his All-Stars in 1998 and the second in 2009. His sister was on the ladies All-Star team in 2009.
Post by: ross matt on July 29, 2010, 08:27:16 PM
Excellent programme but sad as you watched his brilliance on the screen that he's no longer with us. I hope there is a further programme done on him in the future that might update this one and take in his successful army career.

'79 for me was almost as bad a loss as '80. They really had the Dubs beaten that day only to lose by a point. Earley himself felt has they made that final they would have garnered the experience to win the following year's one. I done accept they would have won anymore finals had they won the '80 one....... certainly not that bunch (spectator has outlined all they'd won at that point and how long they were on the road) but it obviously would have boosted Roscommon football going forward plus prevented the 10 year lapse before the next Connacht title.

Paul was a fine player and also a gentleman. Too often compared to his older brother who was a totally different type of footballer. He won an allstar at full forward in '85 and 2 senior connacht medals in 90 & 91. Retired relatively young and was often plagued by back injury. Himself, Dermot, Dermot Junior and Noelle surely have made GAA history with their unique allstar awards.