Seen a bit of him on channel 4 last nite. Used to think he was funny but after seein him last night he made me cringe. The material was mostly about the pope "kiddie fiddlers" priests etc. I must be gettin old or something but this wasn't funny at all.
Paddy was the funniest man who ever told a story about the troubles. He had a real niche in political humour, and a great ability to cut the sh1te out of all the associated clowns without really offending them.
It has to be said though, he's as funny as AIDS when he talks about anything else.
He's a sell out, cracking jokes about catholics and the Pope flat out on that show on Friday night
one of those who forgets his roots once he gets a bit of fame
Quote from: Clown on July 26, 2010, 11:06:11 AM
He's a sell out, cracking jokes about catholics and the Pope flat out on that show on Friday night
Daft post. Is he only allowed to tell jokes about themmuns? Kielty was good at his particular brand of troubles humour. Post-troubles he hasn't been very funny at all - having said that I like him as a tv personality.
He is hit and miss sometimes but as usual a lot of people over here love having a pop at the local boy done good.
Quote from: Doogie Browser on July 26, 2010, 01:15:25 PM
He is hit and miss sometimes but as usual a lot of people over here love having a pop at the local boy done good.
He isn't helped by being from Down.
I've never thought him that funny
The kiddy fiddling stuff is far to easy also, low level humour really
hit and miss, should've known channel 4 would've turned him low-brow
He's almost as painful as yon hyperactive p***k Tommy Tiernan.
He was funny at the beginning, mainly on the troubles but turned in to a right dose. I can't stand the way he stops half way through a "joke" to laugh himself - similar to Tiernan.
He's on BBC Radio 2 for Ross and totally unprepared, trying too hard, rambling and just, I'm sorry, past it.
a lot of the northern crowd dont laugh anyway, very serious people from what i see of them.
he tells a few jokes about the pope and he has forgotten his roots. Wind yer neck in. Ok it may be a sensitive subject to some and some may not find it funny but one show doesn't define him as a comedian. He is very good at what he does and can be very funny off the cuff in the likes of chat shows were he and other celebs are interviewed. Seen his stand-up show before and was very good. Seen him in the one man play ' a night in november' which was a class show which was made even better because of him. I'm not saying there ain't better out there but hate when people just say things for the sake of it. Everyone is entitled to there opinion and he is not everyones cup of tea. How can someone say he's forgotten his roots without even knowing anything about him. It's madness.
Paddy Kielty forgot his roots?? Was he not back at his home club for RTE last year, he was also standing in front of me at the Down/Armagh league game in Newry in the NFL earlier this season.
Quote from: Leg End on July 26, 2010, 11:42:50 PM
he tells a few jokes about the pope and he has forgotten his roots. Wind yer neck in. Ok it may be a sensitive subject to some and some may not find it funny but one show doesn't define him as a comedian. He is very good at what he does and can be very funny off the cuff in the likes of chat shows were he and other celebs are interviewed. Seen his stand-up show before and was very good. Seen him in the one man play ' a night in november' which was a class show which was made even better because of him. I'm not saying there ain't better out there but hate when people just say things for the sake of it. Everyone is entitled to there opinion and he is not everyones cup of tea. How can someone say he's forgotten his roots without even knowing anything about him. It's madness.
relative 8) 8) 8)
Quote from: mannix on July 26, 2010, 10:58:50 PM
a lot of the northern crowd dont laugh anyway, very serious people from what i see of them.
very dull lot. cant take a joke, always looking to be offended.
Quote from: Mike Sheehy on July 27, 2010, 12:24:04 AM
Quote from: mannix on July 26, 2010, 10:58:50 PM
very dull lot. cant take a joke, always looking to be offended.
Could be worse..we could be paranoid Mike :P
God lads we Northeners have hit rock bottom when a kerryman presumes to patronise us, and him probably never out of the Bog, except for that one School trip to Croker
Who ever said he was funny? This guy is an embarrassment first of all to Co Down and secondly to Ireland. He really does make me cringe.
Quote from: Berlin on July 27, 2010, 01:52:53 AM
Who ever said he was funny? This guy is an embarrassment first of all to Co Down and secondly to Ireland. He really does make me cringe.
I said he is funny. He is funny.
Q. Why do seagulls fly upside down over England?
A. Because its not worth shitting on.
Quote from: Orior on July 27, 2010, 08:51:56 AM
Q. Why do seagulls fly upside down over England?
A. Because its not worth shitting on.
So you were the kid on that "trouble with..." show last week
I've never found him that funny. A smirk once in a while. Can't abide comics who laugh at their own joke or wait for the audience to laugh.
He was funny when he had the troubles to make fun of over here. Even went to see his stand up shows. But that the other nite was bad and he has been bad this last while.
The new show is a bad vehicle for most of the comedians on it, the only one who is anyway funny on it is the brilliant Rich Hall.
We needed a thread to announce this?
De Valera is not alive.
Rich Hall is superb, his fiching programme and documentaries on bbc4 were brilliant as well
Yip, yer man Hall can be a good 'un.
I guess it is entirely an subjective judgement whether Kielty is "funny" or not.
But I think it is demonstrably objective to observe that he is not nearly as funny as he himself thinks he is.
Its with O'Leary in the grave....
(http://www.bbc.co.uk/iplayer/images/episode/b00dskfx_640_360.jpg)
I'm embarrassed for Berlin even reading his posts.
Wont hold it against any Down folk though. Good luck on sat! Am sure Paddy'll be in attendance.
Comedy will never be dead now that you have joined us Berlin ::)
He is not not funny.
Quote from: tyrone girl on July 27, 2010, 04:37:49 PM
We'll have to wait for another few days at least for another laugh.
Quote from: Gaaboardmod3 on July 27, 2010, 04:49:19 PM
Quote from: tyrone girl on July 27, 2010, 04:37:49 PM
We'll have to wait for another few days at least for another laugh.
Now that is funny too.