GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Donnellys Hollow on July 25, 2010, 06:49:24 PM

Title: An Mhí v Cill Dara
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on July 25, 2010, 06:49:24 PM
Should be good. Bring it on!
Title: Re: An Mhí v Cill Dara
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 25, 2010, 06:52:05 PM
This is the draw I wanted but now I have it I don't want it aghhhhh
Post by: Jinxy on July 25, 2010, 06:54:49 PM
It's on like Donkey Kong.
Post by: lynchbhoy on July 25, 2010, 06:57:00 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on July 25, 2010, 06:52:05 PM
This is the draw I wanted but now I have it I don't want it aghhhhh
why - you'll never be in a better position to win !
Apart from the rossies, this is the next best draw you could have got!
Post by: Jinxy on July 25, 2010, 07:04:20 PM
We'll be doing well to keep the scoreline respectable.
Is it too early to start this?
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 25, 2010, 07:11:22 PM
Because it's Meath, no better side to shoot you down.

But your right it is Kildare's best draw, better than Roscommon because of the emotional baggage involved in that one.

Meath could be like a wounded animal after the grief they received after the Leinster final, saw their 2 games against Laois, very good in the 2nd not so great in the 1st, exceptionally finishing against Dublin but poor again against Louth.

Who knows what Meath will turn up, at least we are not playing them in Navan for a change, double header on Sunday with Kerry/Down would be nice...
Post by: Jinxy on July 25, 2010, 07:14:56 PM
Yeah I think they'll put us on with Kerra v Down.
Optimise the crowd both days.
The Dubs should all be climbing back on the bandwagon for next week.
Post by: Jinxy on July 25, 2010, 07:16:54 PM
By the way, I've always hated Kildare for some reason.
Post by: Hardy on July 25, 2010, 07:26:13 PM
A hard one to call. Kildare are on a bit of a roll and looked very good against Monaghan, whereas in our last match we ... well you know.

However, one of my most reliable maxims is that teams rarely produce two very good performances in a row, so that's a hurdle for Kildare to overcome.

Unfortunately, that doesn't apply in reverse and it's quite common for teams to produce two bad performances in a row.

I hope and expect the stuff of the last few weeks will galvanise this team and might just be the magic ingredient we've been looking for.

The civilised Kildare support will not be obnoxious to our players as some might be in the aftermath of Livelinegate. So there goes another advantage  :) .
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on July 25, 2010, 07:33:11 PM
Hard to know how good Meath are. Didn't put Laois away the first day but comfortably disposed of them in Tullamore. Went goal crazy on the Jackeens. Bit of a curate's egg performance in the Leinster Final. There'll surely be a backlash from them after the unfair flack they took after the Louth match and the sight of the Bán go leor should bring out the best of them.

Kildare have serious momentum behind them and I don't see any signs of fatigue. I wouldn't worry about JD's form but Dermot Earley's fitness is a concern. The Meath midfield wouldn't be the most mobile around but they're well able to field ball. We'll need another big game from Flynn.

Nearly always a cracker when they meet. Great memories of '97 and '98.
Post by: Dubh driocht on July 25, 2010, 07:37:06 PM
Doesn't matter who wins this, Down will bate the pick of youse.
Post by: Jinxy on July 25, 2010, 07:40:49 PM
This is a Leinster thread.
Keep your pulling and dragging in the Ulster threads!
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 25, 2010, 07:45:21 PM
2003 was also a cracking game, Paddy Murray was fantastic that night (pity injury ruined his career).

The last time we met was 2007, Meath comfortable enough winners that day.

QuoteBy the way, I've always hated Kildare for some reason.

Sure ye feckers hate everyone  :D

Still Meath will be favourites and rightly so.
Post by: Dubh driocht on July 25, 2010, 07:45:41 PM
Jinxy, you were put in your place last night. If you manage to sneak past Mc Geeney's Kildare, with you star-man Crawford a Down-man, there will only be one team pullin and draggin on 29th August. ;)
Post by: Jinxy on July 25, 2010, 07:48:24 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on July 25, 2010, 07:45:21 PM
2003 was also a cracking game, Paddy Murray was fantastic that night (pity injury ruined his career).

Nah, Kildare definitely have the momentum.
Sure we are in emotional turmoil since the Leinster final.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on July 25, 2010, 07:58:27 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on July 25, 2010, 07:45:21 PM

'03 was a great game alright. Wasn't it Daithí Regan who missed a 13 yard free with the last kick of the game to level it? The two Suncroft lads had stormers that day. I think Killian Brennan was man of the match and Rainbow got two or three points.

'07 was a right horror show. Darren Fay galloping up from full-back to rattle in a goal. We were crippled by injuries that year after the league semi-final. Think we had Ross Glavin and Kevin O'Neill midfield. Jason Phillips came on at full-forward - we might as well have started the whole Moorefield team!

Meath - Leinster Senior Football Champions 2010, All-Ireland Semi-Finalists '07 & '09.
Kildare - Haven't won anything since the 2003 O'Byrne Cup.

Meath clear favourites. Kildare will struggle to keep it kicked out to them.
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 25, 2010, 08:25:39 PM
Jaysus hard to believe Gooch and Rainbow are still on the panel, great servants to the cause. Glenn came on with cameo to close out the game, the Hill was closed for U2 concert or something, one of the first Saturday evening games in Croke Park too, would bite your hand off for the same result.

Hopefully we can keep within 6 points of Meath.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on July 25, 2010, 11:34:29 PM
Kildare have no naturally accurate forwards and there's a touch of the hail mary's about some of our scores.......... So says the bould Kevin McStay.

Them razor sharp Meath buckos will make sh1te of us so. You wouldn't see the likes of Cian Ward or Big Joe shooting from outside 'the hotzone'!  :D

Geezer should be forgetting about this +16 -10 lark. Drill it into them all week long: 'work the ball into the hotzone lads'
Post by: Jinxy on July 25, 2010, 11:56:46 PM
Kevin McStay and his constant basketball-isms.  ::)
"Inlet ball" is his current favourite.
Post by: ballinaman on July 26, 2010, 01:01:02 AM
Quote from: Jinxy on July 25, 2010, 07:16:54 PM
By the way, I've always hated Kildare for some reason.
Seems to be the norm among the sizeable number of Meath lads I know...must keep an eye on this thread, am sure it'll get interesting! :D
Post by: Hardy on July 26, 2010, 01:17:43 AM
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on July 25, 2010, 11:34:29 PM
Kildare have no naturally accurate forwards ......... So says the bould Kevin McStay.

James Kavanagh looks pretty natural and pretty accurate to me. I'd go so far as to say we know who what we have to do to win this one.
Post by: stephenite on July 26, 2010, 02:21:05 AM
You'd have to think the Ball throwers would be too strong for the lilywhites
Post by: lynchbhoy on July 26, 2010, 09:22:27 AM
Quote from: Jinxy on July 25, 2010, 11:56:46 PM
Kevin McStay and his constant basketball-isms.  ::)
"Inlet ball" is his current favourite.
his constant bulls**e drives me nuts. Do RTE and TV3 deliberately employ moany pains in the holes like him to talk utter bollix and get playersnames wrong and not know the rules of the game !
Post by: AZOffaly on July 26, 2010, 09:24:03 AM
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on July 25, 2010, 11:34:29 PM
Kildare have no naturally accurate forwards and there's a touch of the hail mary's about some of our scores.......... So says the bould Kevin McStay.

Them razor sharp Meath buckos will make sh1te of us so. You wouldn't see the likes of Cian Ward or Big Joe shooting from outside 'the hotzone'!  :D

Geezer should be forgetting about this +16 -10 lark. Drill it into them all week long: 'work the ball into the hotzone lads'

what's a hotzone? Is Kevin McStay stealing the fruits of my analysis again? I swear he reads this site :D
Post by: commonsense on July 26, 2010, 09:46:37 AM
I had to laugh at the Sunday game and it's "Hot zone". Imagine that they felt they needed a football analyst and a visual graphic to basically tell us that players are more likely to score the closer they are to the goal. It doesn't take a genius to work that out.

As far as Meath Kildare go, I would usually be a more pessimistic meath fan. I didn't think we'd beat the dubs, and I thought we'd only scrape past louth, which is all we did. But I reckon we'll beat Kildare. I think Derry threw in the towel in the second half altogether, so didn't put it up to them. I also think that this year's Monaghan team have been hyped out of all proportion by the media. Sure they've only 2 forwards, and one of those only scores frees. Tyrone showed them up, I wouldn't give Kildare great kudos for beating them. Meath to win by at least a three point margin.
Post by: AZOffaly on July 26, 2010, 09:51:55 AM
I didn't see the SG last night, but there is a validity to the hotzone concept, if it is what I think it is. Basically it comes down to shot selection. Teams that don't have a clear method of delivering the ball into an area in front of the goals will suffer in their shooting percentages and their scores tally. But the shooting itself is only the end product.

There's no point understanding that you should only shoot, if possible, from good positions if you don't then extrapolate that out into 'how do we get our forwards the ball in the positions where it's a high percentage shot?'.

That's where you can have players feeding off a target man, or a fast moving possession game, or whatever. But the idea should be that your lads work the ball into a 'hotzone'.  Obviously then, the defence will try to push you away from the scoring area, and try to force you to shoot from bad positions/angles.

It sounds very easy, and very obvious, but you'd be amazed how many wides are kicked from positions that shouldn't even be attempted, all because there's either no plan, or the defence will just not allow you in there.

This is a bit of analysis I did of the first half of that dreadful (scoring wise) fermanagh v kildare qualifier a few years ago. The red dots are misses from play, the greens are scores from play, the yellow is scores from frees, the blue is misses from frees. The other thing to look for is the numbers of the player that took the shot. A lot of wides are from backs or midfielders taking shots that shouldn't be attempted.

This is Fermanagh's shot chart.
(http://i31.photobucket.com/albums/c358/AZOffaly/Fermanagh1sthalfvKildare.jpg)

This is Kildare's.

(http://i31.photobucket.com/albums/c358/AZOffaly/Kildare1sthalfvFermanagh-1.jpg)
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 26, 2010, 10:02:46 AM
He was trying to explain Kildares high wide tally but he just got his knickers in a twist. All he had to say was that Kildare didn't always work the ball close enough to the goal to make their point taking that little bit easier and it's a valid point but northern teams in particular defend that zone very well. However claims that Kildare don't have natural forwards is just a sterotype going back to Micko's era where it had a lot of substance in fairness. As for the Hail Mary reference that is just idiotic. Brolly fairly stuck it to him though.
Post by: AZOffaly on July 26, 2010, 10:06:46 AM
I see. It's coincidental that my chart above is for Kildare v a northern team, but if you look at the two green dots from Kildare, it's the half forwards and midfielder coming through the middle that had the best opportunities. Johnny Doyle (I think) kicked a free from the right, and had a miss from play. Fermanagh were good at keeping Kildare forwards out, but Kildare did get joy by playing the ball in and laying off to a runner.
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 26, 2010, 11:06:32 AM
Ah remember that now AZ, could you have picked a worse match in living memory to analyze though, no score in the 1st 20 odd minutes from either side.
Post by: AZOffaly on July 26, 2010, 11:36:12 AM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on July 26, 2010, 11:06:32 AM
Ah remember that now AZ, could you have picked a worse match in living memory to analyze though, no score in the 1st 20 odd minutes from either side.

It was happenstance. I was discussing this very topic with a lad I know, and I said, 'I'll do a bit of analysis on one of the games this weekend'. I picked Kildare - Fermanagh, and it was perfect for my hypothesis as it turned out :D

I also did Galway ve Kerry or something, and the amount of scores in that game from directly in front of the posts was amazing.
Post by: Jinxy on July 26, 2010, 11:55:30 AM
Can we stop talking about hot zones now?
I'm trying to get a row going with the Flourbags.
Post by: commonsense on July 26, 2010, 11:56:33 AM
What he could have done is just give us the figures from a couple of games, say the round 3 or 4 qualifiers. What is the percentage chance of a shot going over from inside the "Hotzone" (ridiculous name by the way), and what does that percentage drop to when a shot is taken from outside that zone. That'd be interesting. They could've been working that out instead of making daft graphics.
Post by: Jinxy on July 26, 2010, 11:57:56 AM
There's something about all-white gear.
It just doesn't look manly I think.
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 26, 2010, 11:58:47 AM
Look like its a Sunday game at 4pm, extra days recovery for Kildare, not that we need it and also the Rossies and Cork on the same bill. Hopefully we'll see a Kildare/Roscommon double..
Post by: Hardy on July 26, 2010, 11:59:51 AM
Quote from: commonsense on July 26, 2010, 11:56:33 AM
What he could have done is just give us the figures from a couple of games, say the round 3 or 4 qualifiers. What is the percentage chance of a shot going over from inside the "Hotzone" (ridiculous name by the way), and what does that percentage drop to when a shot is taken from outside that zone. That'd be interesting. They could've been working that out instead of making daft graphics.

It'd suit them better to learn the basic rules and not be making tits of themselves on commentaries.

The Sunday Game studio is one big Twatzone.
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 26, 2010, 12:00:11 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on July 26, 2010, 11:57:56 AM
There's something about all-white gear.
It just doesn't look manly I think.

That's the problem with you Meath men you're afraid to embrace your metrosexuality
Post by: Hardy on July 26, 2010, 12:02:32 PM
This is embarrassing. I can't find anything nasty to say about Kildare.  I used to hate their football in the Micko and subsequent basketball days. These days I nearly like them and their manly ways (apart from the bleached duds).
Post by: AZOffaly on July 26, 2010, 12:04:34 PM
I'm the same Hardy. I like Johnny Doyle, Dermot Earley, Alan Smith, Kavanagh and co. There's no Martin Lynch anymore to mock for his snorkelling like approach, or even a Micko. It's tough I tell you.
Post by: Jinxy on July 26, 2010, 12:05:38 PM
Yeah I find it hard to say nasty things about them too since Martin Lynch retired.
At least I'm trying though.
Post by: Rossfan on July 26, 2010, 12:07:11 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on July 26, 2010, 11:58:47 AM
Look like its a Sunday game at 4pm, extra days recovery for Kildare, not that we need it and also the Rossies and Cork on the same bill. Hopefully we'll see a Kildare/Roscommon double..

Good man Dinny and hopefully both things come to pass.
We need a big picture of Dermot up on the screen to get us going.
Post by: AZOffaly on July 26, 2010, 12:07:29 PM
Of course I should be buggering off to an 'Also Rans' thread anyway, so it's immaterial :D
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 26, 2010, 12:08:47 PM
Joe Sheridan is 5/1 to be the first try scorer, could be worth a punt.
Post by: commonsense on July 26, 2010, 12:09:47 PM
What do people think about the last time Meath played Kildare a couple of months ago in Navan. I thought Kildare were poor enough that day and we won it by 5 or 6 points I think. That's why I was surprised to hear the SG tipping them to win. But I supppose league form counts for little.
Post by: Jinxy on July 26, 2010, 12:10:32 PM
The whole country will be cheering for Kildare.
We're all on our own again.
Just like old times.
Post by: Hardy on July 26, 2010, 12:11:21 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on July 26, 2010, 12:08:47 PM
Joe Sheridan is 5/1 to be the first try scorer, could be worth a punt.

You know that thing that goes "Ahooooogah - Ahooooogah " on QI?

Minus 10 for Dinny.
Post by: commonsense on July 26, 2010, 12:12:03 PM
I think having the country against us with work in Meaths favour. Siege mentality. Bring it on.
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 26, 2010, 12:12:13 PM
Good old Martin Lynch, hated most in Wicklow for his riverdance goal that broke their hearts.

Fierce nice chap away from the pitch and rarely misses a Kildare game.
Post by: Hardy on July 26, 2010, 12:13:05 PM
Quote from: commonsense on July 26, 2010, 12:09:47 PM
What do people think about the last time Meath played Kildare a couple of months ago in Navan. I thought Kildare were poor enough that day and we won it by 5 or 6 points I think. That's why I was surprised to hear the SG tipping them to win. But I supppose league form counts for little.

Both teams were awful that day. You're right, though, about the league.

Quote from: Jinxy on July 26, 2010, 12:10:32 PM
Just like old times.

That's the best thing about this. I love it!
Post by: commonsense on July 26, 2010, 12:17:04 PM
I'm bit of a meath exile, living in dublin over 10 years now (but never thinking of myself as a dub, purely for football reasons), but I've been told the meath flags are out in force this year which is great to hear. Hopefully the whole county will get behind the team, especially now we've been painted the pantomine bad guys of the championship
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 26, 2010, 12:19:44 PM
League form matters little particulary that game as Kildare were ravaged by injuries and both sides had little to play for.

Post by: commonsense on July 26, 2010, 12:36:13 PM
Kildare v Meath:
Player matchups, going on last lineouts of kildare and likely meath lineout (granted, I'll be more than a little biased in these, but feel free to disagree)

GK N/A

Kelly v Bray - I think Bray if he shows form like dublin game / first half of louth match

McGrillen v O'Rourke - I must say I'm unconvinced by O'Rourke so far. I'll vote against him here

MacLoughlainn v Ward - Ward. Sure he's the 3rd highest scorer in the championship so far or something close to that

Callaghan v Kenny - Seamus will play all over the place and give his usual unrecognised man of the match performance

Bolton v Joe - Come on. Who from Meath would ever vote against the Joe Show?

Flanagan v Reilly - Reilly is a revelation. He'll be hard to stop no matter who tries to mark him

Flynn v Crawford - If Crawford is fully fit, I'll give him the nod

Earley v Meade - Sorry Meade. I'd be blind to give you the nod over Dermot Earley to be fair to Kildare.

Doyle v King - Again. Doyle is top scorer 2010 at the moment.

O'Neill v McGuinness - Hm. I'll call it a draw, since McGuinness is really untested this championship

O'Flaherty v Moyles - Moyles for the first 60 mins, but he'll tire after that.

Smith v Harrington - Even stevens

Kavanagh v Reilly - Reilly

Donnelly v O' Connor - I'll go for the Meath corner back, but on no other basis than I'm biased.
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 26, 2010, 12:45:21 PM
Peter Kelly has been a revelation for Kildare, Bray apart from the Dublin game has been very poor, most of the lads here have been calling for his head, Kelly all the way for me
Callaghan has been motm for Kildare in 3 of the last 4 games
Flynn has been Kildare's best midfieler and if you matched up both midfields I think Kildare have the edge.
Did you not see Kavanagh at the weekend?
Will probably see the return of Sweeney for this game, but he's not a full forward so advantage will be to Meath but he normally starts to move out after about 20 mins.
Post by: commonsense on July 26, 2010, 12:50:53 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on July 26, 2010, 12:45:21 PM
Peter Kelly has been a revelation for Kildare, Bray apart from the Dublin game has been very poor, most of the lads here have been calling for his head, Kelly all the way for me
Callaghan has been motm for Kildare in 3 of the last 4 games
Flynn has been Kildare's best midfieler and if you matched up both midfields I think Kildare have the edge.
Did you not see Kavanagh at the weekend?
Will probably see the return of Sweeney for this game, but he's not a full forward so advantage will be to Meath but he normally starts to move out after about 20 mins.

Well, I've only seen 2 Kildare games this year (monaghan and Derry) and only on the tv, and I can't recall Kelly and Callaghans distinct prowess but I'll take your word for it. I dunno about ranking anyone ahead of Kevin Reilly tho. I didn't put much of a blurb beside that prediction, but no forward has gotten the better of him so far this year. And he marked Brogan out of it I thought, particularly impressive since RTE Radio 1 last week were calling him "the best player in the country" (rubbish by the way, although he is good)
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 26, 2010, 12:56:23 PM
Kavanagh is different to Brogan, Kavanagh is very much a heads up footballer looking for and assessing options, BB tends to put the head down too much for my liking but if given freedom he will rack up the scores, Reilly is a very good defender though which is why I didn't call it myself, could be a crucial match-up in deciding the game.
Post by: Hound on July 26, 2010, 01:09:39 PM
Quote from: Hardy on July 26, 2010, 12:13:05 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on July 26, 2010, 12:10:32 PM
Just like old times.

That's the best thing about this. I love it!
I have it on good authority that Antrim will be cheering for you. That could be enough to jinx it for you!
Post by: Jinxy on July 26, 2010, 01:12:34 PM
Always liked Antrim folk.
Good honest gaels.
Post by: commonsense on July 26, 2010, 01:26:36 PM
I have it from an extremely unreliable source that we're on sunday at 4pm.
Post by: JMohan on July 26, 2010, 01:27:39 PM
Quote from: commonsense on July 26, 2010, 01:26:36 PM
I have it from an extremely unreliable source that we're on sunday at 4pm.

Must be true so
Post by: Jinxy on July 26, 2010, 01:28:30 PM
It is Sunday @ 4pm.
http://www.gaa.ie/gaa-news-and-videos/daily-news/ (http://www.gaa.ie/gaa-news-and-videos/daily-news/)
Post by: commonsense on July 26, 2010, 01:30:30 PM
I'm stunned. It's the first time that source has been right about anything this year. I must start betting with him.
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 26, 2010, 03:00:19 PM
Ladbrookes are the only ones with odds up so far this game

Meath evens
Kildare evens
Draw 15/2

shows you how hard this is going to be to call
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on July 26, 2010, 03:03:53 PM
Theree'll be some craic around Kilcock, Maynooth and JTB/Enfield this week. The slagging and banter back in the late nineties was unreal.

I wouldn't read too much into the League encounter. It was a meaningless game really with both teams out of contention for promotion and safe from relegation. Dermot Earley was out injured and if I remember correctly it was only an awful blunder by Paul Flood in goal that turned the game for Meath.

It'll be interesting to see how the Kildare defence line up against the Meath forwards. I'd imagine young Kelly will be on Bray, Hughie will take O'Rourke, Andy Mac on Ward, Flanagan on Seámus Kenny, Bolton on Big Joe and Morgan Flaherty marking Reilly. The defensive unit has improved no end since the Louth match but this will be by far their biggest test. If Dermot and Flynner get the upper hand in midfield I'd be hopeful enough Kildare can limit Meath to a beatable score. It will all depend on the Kildare forwards winning enough ball in Kevin McStay's:

(http://www.cfdhotzone.net/images/hotzone.jpg)
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 26, 2010, 03:07:30 PM
Hot Zone, I think McStay has crossed over into the

(http://www.reelmovienews.com/files/the-twilight-zone.jpg)
Post by: Jinxy on July 26, 2010, 03:20:52 PM
(http://3.bp.blogspot.com/_FCp4nWZAEsQ/SGFDXtg1jGI/AAAAAAAADBY/f7EinfLciGA/s400/kenny_loggins_danger_zone.jpg)
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 26, 2010, 03:31:38 PM
Hmm this thread is becoming a

(http://www.westchestergov.com/humanrightscommission/images/hatefree.gif)
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on July 26, 2010, 03:36:09 PM
(http://services.juniata.edu/jcel/development/images/zone2_full_001.jpg)
Post by: Jinxy on July 26, 2010, 04:04:04 PM
Maybe the lads aren't eating the right stuff.

(http://www.getzoned.com.au/images/product_book_the_top_100_zone_foods_full_size.jpg)
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 26, 2010, 04:26:35 PM
http://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/blog/post/2010/07/25/Cork-Kerry-Tyrone-and-Meath-to-be-the-last-four-standing.aspx (http://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/blog/post/2010/07/25/Cork-Kerry-Tyrone-and-Meath-to-be-the-last-four-standing.aspx)

QuoteThe most difficult quarter-final game to call is Kildare and Meath.

McGeeney has his side moving well and in the likes of James Kavanagh, Johnny Doyle, Eamon Callaghan, Alan Smith and Ronan Sweeney he has scoring forwards. Can the Meath defence hold them out?

Likewise, the Royals have some stellar talent up front and their 5-09 against Dublin showed what they can produce if they get their tails up. This has the makings of a fantastic game as both sets of forwards are in my estimation superior than the defences that will be marking them.

Nobody likes pundits who sit on the fence, but this is a tough one to call and should go down to the wire.

Eamon O'Brien's team might have the psychological advantage of going out to prove that they are better than they were in the Leinster final.

Few teams do siege mentality better than Meath and they will be pumped up to give a passionate answer to their critics who condemned them for not offering Louth a replay. I have concerns about the Kildare full-back line and for that reason I am going for a narrow Meath victory.

Ray Silke has given his verdict early, goes for Meath but his reason is mental, now against Louth our full-back line was cleaned out but it was completely rejigged with Kelly and McLoughlin introduced and Hugh McGrillan moved into fullback and they have been excellent since and has been our best line in the qualifiers.

Is the first rule of punditry - I must not research and watch games?
Post by: AZOffaly on July 26, 2010, 04:31:10 PM
Dinny, that's the reason why I think I'll be tipping Kildare. I have a feeling that Kildare will be able to nullify the Meath full forward line, and with Emmet Bolton at centre back and the midfield (What's the story on Earley's injury??) possibly winning their battles, I think Johnny Doyle, Kavanagh and Smith will be able to do the business.

I like Meath's full forward line, but I think they might have to do better than break even at midfield and the 40s to win the game, and I'm not sure they will.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on July 26, 2010, 04:43:39 PM
Ray Silke - I think he's gone on record saying he won Dermot Earley an All-Star in 1998!  :D

Speaking of the big man, he'll be grand for Sunday AZ. The knee is in sh1t but he's been playing through the pain for the past two months. He didn't even take his place on the bench when taken off on Saturday. He stayed out on the sideline roaring encouragement. He went for a run down the sideline at one stage and seemed to be moving freely enough.
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 26, 2010, 05:46:49 PM
1-1 in the pundit stakes with Bomber Liston in tonights Hearld giving the nod to Kildare, to paraphrase the great man 'hard to call, Kildare forwards will get the better of the suspect Meath defence just about'
Post by: Rossfan on July 26, 2010, 05:49:29 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on July 26, 2010, 04:26:35 PM

Silke's an ********* so don't pay any heed to his nonsense.
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 26, 2010, 06:12:13 PM
QuoteSilke's an ********* so don't pay any heed to his nonsense.

Sure we know that....

What's Meath breaking ball ability like, if you can get parity with us here Kildare could be in trouble, against Derry we won 19 breaking balls to Derrys 8 and on Saturday it was 27 - 14 in Kildares favour. Kildare didn't win 1 clean catch on Saturday as our midfielders just broke ball after ball.

Against Louth we got cleaned out on breaking ball and we all know what happened there...
Post by: Jinxy on July 26, 2010, 09:58:05 PM
Louth won all the breaks in the 2nd half anyway.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on July 26, 2010, 11:31:31 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on July 26, 2010, 06:12:13 PM
Kildare didn't win 1 clean catch on Saturday as our midfielders just broke ball after ball.

We had one IIRC. Leper caught one of Shorty's kickouts before going on his run that won the free for JD to put us ahead before HT. Shows how the game has gone that you can completely dominate midfield without fetching ball from the air. I really do think the GAA missed a trick by not giving the mark a try for the Championship.

I watched the Laochra Gael show from a few weeks back of the '97 & '98 games again this morning and there were some great catches from the likes of Nuxer, Dermot and McDermott. It would be a shame if such high-fielding became a thing of the past.
Post by: Jinxy on July 27, 2010, 11:20:34 AM
I'm working on a list of the contributions our respective counties have made to the wider world in terms of culture, politics, the arts, science etc.
All suggestions are welcome.
Has anyone from Kildare ever played James Bond?
I'll need to look into that one.
Post by: ross matt on July 27, 2010, 11:47:07 AM
Quote from: Rossfan on July 26, 2010, 05:49:29 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on July 26, 2010, 04:26:35 PM

Silke's an ********* so don't pay any heed to his nonsense.
Really? You know him then Rossfan?
Led his club and county to an AI title in the one year. Won quite a few county titles. Has never proclaimed himself to be a star footballer in his day. Has for years championed the plight of the Galway club footballer in the Galway advertiser. In the same paper he's never shied away from writing non pc articles on the Galway county board and the Kiernan era. Apart from that takes his day job as a teacher very seriously. Excellent father to 4 very young children. Loyal friend.

Yeah you're right he's a ********* alright. And fair play to you for bravely going out of your way from behind your keyboard to point this out on a widely read internet forum.  Hard man. Tough guy. The likes of you are the reason if we ever have dark days in Ross football in the future the Galway and Mayo lads will be coming out of the woodwork to ridicule us again. Let's hope it stays fine for ya.
Post by: DuffleKing on July 27, 2010, 12:08:49 PM

He consistently astounds with his complete lack of understanding of the game for a man who played at the highest level.

He earns a tidy income passing off lazy analysis and bland cliches as punditry
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 27, 2010, 12:11:59 PM
Jaysus Ross Matt that is some rant, it's all about context I'm sure Rossfan is well able to defend himself but I took it as purely in terms of RS's punditry, we are just passing comment on his opinions.
Post by: ross matt on July 27, 2010, 12:44:49 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on July 27, 2010, 12:11:59 PM
Jaysus Ross Matt that is some rant, it's all about context I'm sure Rossfan is well able to defend himself but I took it as purely in terms of RS's punditry, we are just passing comment on his opinions.
His punditry is up there for all to assassinate Dinny. His character shouldnt be. This board is usually above that sort of cowardly name calling.
Post by: Jinxy on July 27, 2010, 12:55:12 PM
Stop hi-jacking the thread!
We'll do this category by category.
First up, heritage sites.
We have:
Brú na Bóinne
Bective Abbey
The Book of Kells
The Hill of Tara
Trim Castle

Beat that flourbags.
Post by: AZOffaly on July 27, 2010, 02:29:35 PM
Quote from: ross matt on July 27, 2010, 12:44:49 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on July 27, 2010, 12:11:59 PM
His punditry is up there for all to assassinate Dinny. His character shouldnt be. This board is usually above that sort of cowardly name calling.
I must admit I read it in the same way as Dinny, i.e. he's an a******** of a pundit, not that he's an a******** of a person.
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 27, 2010, 03:10:35 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on July 27, 2010, 12:55:12 PM
Stop hi-jacking the thread!
We'll do this category by category.
First up, heritage sites.
We have:
Brú na Bóinne
Bective Abbey
The Book of Kells
The Hill of Tara
Trim Castle

Beat that flourbags.

St Brigids Cathedral and Round Tower
Moone High Cross
Ballymore Eustace High Crosses
Celbridge Abbey
Clane Abbey
Castledermot Round Tower
Dun Aillinne Hill-fort
Castletown House
Longstone Rath

Racecourses

The Curragh
Punchestown
Naas
Post by: Jinxy on July 27, 2010, 03:26:13 PM
Never heard of any of those places.
Round 1 goes to Meath.

Ding-ding!

Round 2: Famous names (historical or otherwise)
John Bruton - EU ambassador to the USA
Pierce Brosnan - World famous spy
Dylan Moran - World famous comedian
Tommy Tiernan - World famous comedian (we're gas altogether)
Francis Beaufort - World famous wind-guy (Invented the Beaufort scale)
Francis Ledwidge - World famous poet
Post by: Declan on July 27, 2010, 03:30:18 PM
Jinxy - Poor old Hector is noticeable by his absence!!!
Also what about the bould Duke of Wellington and that nice monument to him in Trim ;)
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 27, 2010, 03:30:58 PM
Marty Duffy is referee for Sunday
Post by: Jinxy on July 27, 2010, 03:35:43 PM
Quote from: Declan on July 27, 2010, 03:30:18 PM
Jinxy - Poor old Hector is noticeable by his absence!!!
Also what about the bould Duke of Wellington and that nice monument to him in Trim ;)

He sure is.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on July 27, 2010, 03:36:48 PM
Arthur Guinness - master brewer (from Celbridge)

(http://diaryofacountrywife.files.wordpress.com/2009/09/arthur_guinness1.jpg)

Ernst Shackleton - polar explorer (from Kilkea)

(http://www.southpole2009.co.uk/img/lores/ernest-shackleton.jpg)

Ned Broy - Michael Collins' mole in Dublin Castle (from Rathangan)

(http://www.policehistory.com/ebroy1.jpg)

John Devoy - prominent Fenian (from Kill)

(http://multitext.ucc.ie/images/thumbnails/1697.jpg)

Christy Moore - Ireland's greatest living musician as voted in 2007 (from Milltown)

(http://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/multimedia/archive/00028/CHRISTY_28310t.jpg)

Pat Eddery - one of the world's most decorated flat jockeys (from Newbridge)

(http://1000guineas.classics-betting.com/images/1000-guineas-pat-eddery.jpg)

Ruby Walsh - the best current National Hunt jockey (from Kill)

(http://photos.pokerplayer.co.uk/images/front_picture_library_UK/dir_3/total_gambler_1526_15.jpg)

Trevor 'the Barnhall bruiser' Brennan - crowd control! (from Leixlip)

(http://www.sportsfile.com/winshare/watermarked-b/Library/SF30/030329.jpg)
Post by: Declan on July 27, 2010, 03:39:45 PM
As an interested nuetral I reckon thats Round 2 to the lillies!!!
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 27, 2010, 03:40:41 PM
Ah DH, Trevor Brennan, you could have thrown in Ray D'arcy or Charlie McCreevey and they would have been preferable...
Post by: Jinxy on July 27, 2010, 03:42:01 PM
No padding out the list with jockeys please.
We can do that too you know!

Post by: Donnellys Hollow on July 27, 2010, 03:47:34 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on July 27, 2010, 03:40:41 PM
Ah DH, Trevor Brennan, you could have thrown in Ray D'arcy or Charlie McCreevey and they would have been preferable...

(http://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/multimedia/archive/00198/IN6461117_Toulouse__198627t.jpg)

I wouldn't argue with him! D'Arcy or McCreevy never played for the Kildare Minors.

Quote from: Jinxy on July 27, 2010, 03:42:01 PM
No padding out the list with jockeys please.
We can do that too you know!

Walsh and Eddery arguably the greatest ever in both their codes.

Who have yee Meath boyos got?

The Carberrys are too busy lighting newspapers on fire on planes and boozing. (No mentions of Kilcullen's Timmy Murphy here!). Barry Gravity wouldn't have been heard of if it wasn't for two Kildare trained horses - Kicking King (Straffan/Ardclough) and Moscow Flyer (Moone). Johnny Murtagh learned his trade and now lives on the Curragh so yee can't claim him.
Post by: DB_An_Mhi on July 27, 2010, 04:19:02 PM
My dogs a Lily White (with paws to match) but he would rather reside in the beautiful county of Meath! :D They didn't feed him as a pup in Cill Dara.

For wherever he roams, theres no place like home and the beautiful county of Meath.
Post by: Jinxy on July 27, 2010, 04:41:32 PM
I can't picture Trevor Brennan playing James Bond.
Post by: AZOffaly on July 27, 2010, 04:42:41 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on July 27, 2010, 04:41:32 PM

If he did, he'd beat him.
Post by: Hardy on July 27, 2010, 04:43:34 PM
Trevor Brennan automatically invalidates the use of rugby players.

Tommy Carberry arguably the best NH jockey ever. He had the lack of foresight to conduct his career in black and white.

We win on racecourse count, too (casting vote to Laytown):

Bellewstown
Navan
Fairyhouse
Laytown

And now I'll play my joker:
The Red Collier.

Post by: Donnellys Hollow on July 27, 2010, 04:46:13 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on July 27, 2010, 04:42:41 PM

Big Willie Heff would be perfect for the role!

Quote from: Hardy on July 27, 2010, 04:43:34 PM
Tommy Carberry arguably the best NH jockey ever. He had the lack of foresight to conduct his career in black and white.

Like Geraghty, made his name on the back of Kildare trained horses for Dan Moore - L'Escargot, Tied Cottage

A poor man's Pat Taaffe
Post by: Hardy on July 27, 2010, 04:49:33 PM
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on July 27, 2010, 04:46:13 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on July 27, 2010, 04:42:41 PM

Big Willie Heff would be perfect for the role!

Quote from: Hardy on July 27, 2010, 04:43:34 PM

A poor man's Pat Taaffe

Pat Taaffe? A poor man's Anthony Knott.
Post by: Canalman on July 27, 2010, 04:50:52 PM
Great stuff lads.
Top Trumps county style.

Who has the best pubs?
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on July 27, 2010, 04:58:15 PM
Pat Taaffe (Kildare) 25 Cheltenham Festival winners     
Ruby Walsh (Kildare) 25 Cheltenham Festival winners
(Joint winningmost jockeys ever)

Tommy Carberry (Meath) 16 Cheltenham Festival winners

The stats don't lie Hardy. Being a stats man yourself you should know that!

Moving away from the horses I heard that Cathal Sheridan used Persil. He really found it got the sh1te out of his shirt.

Before:
(http://www.inpho.ie/cache/inpho/6a/74/d7/88f61542ac6625c2a7395122b9.jpg)

(http://www.miniaturesonline.co.uk/ekmps/shops/chadwickhall/images/persil.jpg)

After:
(http://www.inpho.ie/cache/inpho/87/65/fd/cd43931dd11e825e44ad605b95.jpg)
Post by: Jinxy on July 27, 2010, 04:59:32 PM
Sure Kildare men are only Laois men with shoes.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on July 27, 2010, 05:03:15 PM
The Meath minor football manager:

(http://www.sportsfile.com/winshare/watermarked-b/Library/SF1/000510.jpg)

Someone has to teach them young ruffians how to play the game. Their seniors clearly don't know what game they're playing as their last minute Touchdown in the Leinster Final proves.
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 27, 2010, 05:11:48 PM
Education in Meath

(http://www.askaboutireland.ie/_internal/gxml!0/2ocqn930ubywvi8z0wl9dhefnm6z926$63t6yn6cv42ulkiz64vg4v52ek9q6wl)

Education in Kildare

(http://www.hamilton.ie/SystemsBiology/Workshop2008/Pics/maynooth-overview.jpg)
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 27, 2010, 05:17:53 PM
Motor Racing in Kildare

(http://www.motorcyclenews.com/upload/195280/images/Supersport.jpg)

Motor Racing in Meath

(http://www.tensionnot.com/pics/albums/Automobile/Turbo_Tractor_Racing/Turbo_Tractor_Racing.jpg)
Post by: DB_An_Mhi on July 27, 2010, 05:19:48 PM
Quote from: Canalman on July 27, 2010, 04:50:52 PM
Great stuff lads.
Top Trumps county style.

Who has the best pubs?
Whatever about pubs, we have the best chippers like "The Valley Cafe".

Apres Match in Newbridge involves salmonella & chips.
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 27, 2010, 05:22:13 PM
That's only for the away supporters, apres match we take the Land Rover to the club

(http://www.jpmoser.com/images/thekclub/p-thekclub11.jpg)
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on July 27, 2010, 05:22:33 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on July 27, 2010, 05:17:53 PM
Motor Racing in Meath

(http://www.tensionnot.com/pics/albums/Automobile/Turbo_Tractor_Racing/Turbo_Tractor_Racing.jpg)

Is Cian Ward sitting in the trailer of the one on the left?
Post by: Hardy on July 27, 2010, 05:23:50 PM
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on July 27, 2010, 04:58:15 PM

Sure they were nearly all Meath horses.
Post by: Jinxy on July 27, 2010, 05:27:01 PM
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on July 27, 2010, 05:22:33 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on July 27, 2010, 05:17:53 PM
Motor Racing in Meath

Is Cian Ward sitting in the trailer of the one on the left?

Ah now!
It's all fun and games till someone loses an eye.
Post by: Jinxy on July 27, 2010, 05:27:49 PM
Quote from: Hardy on July 27, 2010, 05:23:50 PM

Don't mind them Hardy.
They'd be nothing without their oil money.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on July 27, 2010, 05:28:42 PM
Quote from: Canalman on July 27, 2010, 04:50:52 PM
Who has the best pubs?

Arthur Guinness first brewed his porter in Norris's in Celbridge.

Judging by the amount of Meath boys that drink in Kilcock and Maynooth, their own pubs must be fairly crap.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on July 27, 2010, 05:45:19 PM
Quote from: Hardy on July 27, 2010, 05:23:50 PM

Our horses and trainers are miles clear too I'm afraid.

John Oxx - 2 Epsom Derbys, 2 Irish Derbys, 2 Arcs, Breeders Cup Mile with Ridgewood Pearl, Sea The Stars (the greatest since Nijinsky).
DK Weld - 2 Melbourne Cups (only European to win it), first overseas trainer to win an American Classic (Go And Go), multiple Royal Ascot & Cheltenham winners.
Kevin Prendergast - Son of the legendary Darkie Prendergast. Multiple Group 1 winning trainer.
Dessie Hughes - 2 Champion Hurdles with Hardy Eustace (regularly stuffed that Meath softie Harchibald!)
Arthur Moore - Son of the great Dan Moore. 7 Cheltenham winners including 2 Champion Chases (Drumgora, Klairon Davis)
Jessica Harrington - Trainer of the majestic Moscow Flyer (the greatest Irish chaser since Dawn Run)
Tom Taaffe - Son of Pat. Cheltenham Gold Cup winner with Kicking King. Two other festival winners.
Ted Walsh - Famous amateur jockey, father, broadcaster, trainer and 'rider of mothers!' Triumph Hurdle, Irish and Aintree National winning trainer.
John Carr - Champion Hurdle winning trainer with Sublimity who has done nothing since moving from Maynooth to Ratoath!
Martin Brassil - Irish and Aintree National winning trainer with Numbersixvalverde.
Post by: The Konica on July 27, 2010, 05:53:10 PM
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on July 27, 2010, 05:03:15 PM
The Meath minor football manager:

(http://www.sportsfile.com/winshare/watermarked-b/Library/SF1/000510.jpg)

Someone has to teach them young ruffians how to play the game. Their seniors clearly don't know what game they're playing as their last minute Touchdown in the Leinster Final proves.
That's an old one
Nearly looks like Eamon Dunphys brother
Post by: Hardy on July 27, 2010, 06:50:52 PM
How did we end up arguing about horses and jockeys? I think we need to shift the ground.

All-Ireland medal count.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on July 27, 2010, 06:56:42 PM
Quote from: Hardy on July 27, 2010, 06:50:52 PM
All-Ireland medal count.

Meath 1 (Nigel Crawford)?
Kildare 2 (Kieran McGeeney & Aidan O'Rourke)

Post by: Kerry Mike on July 27, 2010, 07:10:48 PM
Sorry for jumping provinces but I find when having the craic with Cork boys, one mentions of 36-6 send them into deep depression.

So Meath & Kildare, I give you 7-4 I know its pathetic but thats Leinster football for you....

BTW when me mention its 37-36 when we throw in the Hurling, the langers are crestfallen
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on July 27, 2010, 11:41:06 PM
"Major infrastructure projects, including a planned rail link between Dublin and Navan, are set to be dropped under the government's revised capital spending budget."

http://www.thepost.ie/news/ireland/government-puts-brakes-on-several-planned-rail-projects-50753.html (http://www.thepost.ie/news/ireland/government-puts-brakes-on-several-planned-rail-projects-50753.html)

Sure who in their right mind would want to go to Navan.
Post by: DB_An_Mhi on July 28, 2010, 12:15:12 AM
(http://eaasdc.de/history/i_morr01.jpg)

The Kildare backs were trying out a new zonal defense system in training tonight.
Post by: Declan on July 28, 2010, 08:20:55 AM
Great stuff boys. If this level of build up continues I might even go in on Sunday to follow our fellow Leinster teams ;)
Think the Meath lads should include beaches in the categories - They're sure to win that one
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 28, 2010, 08:35:20 AM
When there's no football in Kildare we like to take in a round of Golf here

(https://image.pegs.com/content/H/H1A/H1AB/H1AB5/THE_K_CLUB1_j.jpg)

or maybe here

(http://www.cartonhousegolf.ie/includes/images/omeara2.jpg)

in Meath they head here

(http://www.fippa.net/images_courses_ireland_royalmeath1.jpg)
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 28, 2010, 08:45:02 AM
your average looking Kildare supporter

(http://www.southasiabiz.com/uploads/Blathnaid%20McKenna.jpg)

http://www.southasiabiz.com/2007/07/miss_world_2007_blathnaid_mcke.html (http://www.southasiabiz.com/2007/07/miss_world_2007_blathnaid_mcke.html)

your average looking Meath support

(http://wordpress.hotpress.com/themusicshow/files/2009/09/hector303w.jpg)
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 28, 2010, 08:53:40 AM
Back to pundit watch - Dara O'Shea joins Bomber in the Kildare corner, Kerry lads all seem to have a soft spot for the Lillies, doesn't give a reason in the IT he just says Kildare

Kildare

Bomber
Dara O'Shea

Meath

Ray Silke
Post by: AZOffaly on July 28, 2010, 09:10:31 AM
This is good stuff lads. How about -

If Meath/Kildare was a film, it would be?

Post by: Dinny Breen on July 28, 2010, 09:38:38 AM
Well Kildare would have to be a black and white classic since it's that long since we won AI - I can envisage Kieran McGeeny as a modern day Orson Welles and since this movie divides opinion it would have to be Citizen Kane

(http://usss.files.wordpress.com/2007/08/kane.jpg)

And for some reason Lord of the Rings 2 and the battle for Helms Deep always remains me of Meath games, not sure whether it's the blood, the guts, the pure violence or the remarkable resemblance to these guys....

(http://blog.activehome.co.uk/photos/uncategorized/orc.jpg)

Post by: AZOffaly on July 28, 2010, 09:40:36 AM
I would have thought Casablanca for yerselves Dinny. Same reasons, but with McGeeney as Bogey. 'Maybe not today, maybe not tomorrow, but soon...'
Post by: Jinxy on July 28, 2010, 11:00:14 AM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on July 28, 2010, 08:35:20 AM

(https://image.pegs.com/content/H/H1A/H1AB/H1AB5/THE_K_CLUB1_j.jpg)

Ye must play a lot of golf....
Post by: Hardy on July 28, 2010, 11:12:32 AM
Quote from: DB_An_Mhi on July 28, 2010, 12:15:12 AM
(http://eaasdc.de/history/i_morr01.jpg)

The Kildare backs were trying out a new zonal defense system in training tonight.

:D :D :D

Quote from: Dinny Breen on July 28, 2010, 08:35:20 AM

Whatdya mean "when"?

Post by: Jinxy on July 28, 2010, 11:17:47 AM
Martin Lynch used to stay back for extra training when the rest of the lads had gone home.

(http://www.gayswim.co.uk/clients/3574/uploadedimages/famous%20gay%20swimmers/Greg-Louganis.jpg)
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 28, 2010, 11:31:38 AM
Normally around this time of year you have American NFL clubs been linked with GAA players as possible kickers, Maurice Fitzgearld, Colin Corkery, well this year Green Bay Packers have been linked with Joe Sheridan..............................................
as a running back......

(http://www.onmilwaukee.com/images/articles/gb/gbreplay122709/gbreplay122709_fullsize_story1.jpg)
Post by: Hardy on July 28, 2010, 11:33:45 AM
Kildare team showcase their post-war medals haul.

(http://i648.photobucket.com/albums/uu206/Hardyarse/team3.jpg)
Post by: AZOffaly on July 28, 2010, 11:34:36 AM
Now that is good :D
Post by: ross matt on July 28, 2010, 11:37:05 AM
This stuff is brilliant lads :D!
Hope the match is half as good!!!
Post by: Jinxy on July 28, 2010, 11:54:26 AM
Kildare unveil their new free-taker courtesy of Sheikh Mohammed.

(http://simplymarvelous.files.wordpress.com/2007/08/1karibajump-380.jpg)

Soon after, he was retired to stud after missing several frees on his own side.
Post by: AZOffaly on July 28, 2010, 11:59:33 AM
Sure that's cat. His standing legs are way too far from the ball, and his follow through is all over the place. I bet he took that one out of the forelegs.
Post by: Jinxy on July 28, 2010, 12:08:59 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on July 28, 2010, 11:31:38 AM
Normally around this time of year you have American NFL clubs been linked with GAA players as possible kickers, Maurice Fitzgearld, Colin Corkery, well this year Green Bay Packers have been linked with Joe Sheridan..............................................
as a running back......

(http://www.onmilwaukee.com/images/articles/gb/gbreplay122709/gbreplay122709_fullsize_story1.jpg)

Is that Martin Lynch over on the right?
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 28, 2010, 12:16:04 PM
Looks like Colm Coyle behind him alright...
Post by: DuffleKing on July 28, 2010, 12:20:41 PM

Surely number 65 Is Joe Sheridan?
Post by: Hardy on July 28, 2010, 12:24:51 PM
Quote from: DuffleKing on July 28, 2010, 12:20:41 PM

Surely number 65 Is Joe Sheridan?

Fair enough. And 25 is Canavan?
Post by: DB_An_Mhi on July 28, 2010, 12:25:17 PM
Sam Maguire returns to Kildare!

(http://americangallery.files.wordpress.com/2009/07/cowboy-on-horse-drinking.jpg)
Post by: Hardy on July 28, 2010, 12:29:42 PM
Anois, a dhaoine uaisle, cuirigí fáilte roimh ....

FOIREANN CILL DARA !!!

(http://i648.photobucket.com/albums/uu206/Hardyarse/jockeys4.jpg)
Post by: Jinxy on July 28, 2010, 12:36:03 PM
Kildare fans settle their nerves before the game.

(http://www.theequinest.com/images/horse-pub.jpg)
Post by: DB_An_Mhi on July 28, 2010, 12:37:35 PM
(http://3.bp.blogspot.com/_XtnQriFOFAE/SbLMTO_6HtI/AAAAAAAAAAc/dYaRk3ZqEkA/s320/poodle.jpg)

McGeeneys idea of an impact sub.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on July 28, 2010, 02:43:08 PM
McGeeney unveils Kildare's new forward line:

(http://imagecache2.allposters.com/images/AGF/2944.jpg)

And Dermot Earley introduces his new midfield partner:

(http://www.inpho.ie/cache/inpho/89/b4/6f/90b149a979fc589fcf2db1c27302817981e85e9197.jpg)

In other news the GAA have commissioned a new ball for Sunday's match. When interviewed, GAA president Christy Cooney said "I'd like to see Joe Sheridan throw this into the net."

(http://www.naaspm.ie/structure/picsBALL.jpg)
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on July 28, 2010, 02:49:49 PM
Pictures of Dermot Earley training in Newbridge this week before the Meath game:

(http://www.sportsfile.com/winshare/watermarked-b/Library/SF16/017089.jpg)

Many spectators were bemused by what was going on but manager Kieran McGeeney explained that he wanted his players to practise their ball-throwing skills. The Kildare management are believed to be very concerned with Meath's superior ball-throwing skills.
Post by: Jinxy on July 28, 2010, 02:57:34 PM
Whenever I think of Kildare fans I'm reminded of yer man they interviewed on the way into the 98 All-Ireland final on A Year Till Sunday.
White floppy cap on him, getting stuck into a bag of chips.
"Oh yeah, it's in the bag....... it's only a matter of toggin out..... there's Seán Brady, what d'ya think Seán!"
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on July 28, 2010, 03:06:15 PM
I know Seán Brady. Nice fella. Never misses a Kildare All-Ireland Final!  :D
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on July 28, 2010, 03:12:50 PM
Rumours abound of a Saipan like bust up in the Kildare camp ahead of Sunday's big match. Pictures have emerged of the star-player attempting to strangle the manager:

(http://www.inpho.ie/cache/inpho/ac/56/dc/8d1b936ebc83c759c3544c6ac8.jpg)

Paddy 'the boiler' White laughed off the media reports. When interviewed by KFM, the Kildare legend expressed his delight that "Kildare are going hard at it" and the type of savagery they will undoubtedly encounter from the Meath ruffians on Sunday was being replicated in training.
Post by: Jinxy on July 28, 2010, 03:18:25 PM
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on July 28, 2010, 03:06:15 PM
I know Seán Brady. Nice fella. Never misses a Kildare All-Ireland Final!  :D

We never did get to hear what he thought....
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on July 28, 2010, 03:35:50 PM
Kildare are devising a special strategy to stop the Meath players from scoring touchdowns on Sunday. The management and players remain tight-lipped but a photograph has been leaked to the media:

(http://www.inpho.ie/cache/inpho/2a/31/44/52f8899ebfc587fc9197a51ae4.jpg)
Post by: Jinxy on July 28, 2010, 03:38:02 PM
Is he making a gang sign in that picture?
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on July 28, 2010, 03:43:49 PM
Meath and Kildare fans mingle before the match!

(http://www.rathgormack.com/images/people/hector.jpg)
Post by: Jinxy on July 28, 2010, 03:44:49 PM
That's a very long face.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on July 28, 2010, 03:48:35 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on July 28, 2010, 03:44:49 PM
That's a very long face.

That's Seán Brady and he's just seen Hector's mate ag teacht

(http://irishmediawatch.com/wp-content/uploads/2010/01/tommy-tiernan.jpg)
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on July 28, 2010, 03:51:00 PM
Anthony Rainbow sounds out a possible late addition to the Lilywhite line-up:

(http://www.sportsfile.com/winshare/watermarked-b/Library/SF453/RP0064098.jpg)
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on July 28, 2010, 04:01:27 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on July 28, 2010, 09:10:31 AM
This is good stuff lads. How about -

If Meath/Kildare was a film, it would be?

Rocky. Starring Kieran McGeeney:

(http://www.sportsfile.com/winshare/watermarked-b/Library/SF543/387088.jpg)

With co-stars James Kavanagh and Willie Heffernan:

(http://www.sportsfile.com/winshare/watermarked-b/Library/SF453/RP0063842.jpg)(http://www.sportsfile.com/winshare/watermarked-b/Library/SF453/RP0063848.jpg)

The film has been banned from cinemas in Offaly after speculation that Offaly children would be traumatised by the amount of Willie Heffernan related violence:

(http://www.sportsfile.com/winshare/watermarked-b/Library/SF606/439333.jpg)
Post by: AZOffaly on July 28, 2010, 04:03:39 PM
Naw. We love Wille. He's like a Kildare Shrek.
(http://i31.photobucket.com/albums/c358/AZOffaly/WillieHeff.jpg)
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on July 28, 2010, 05:00:18 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on July 28, 2010, 04:03:39 PM
Naw. We love Wille. He's like a Kildare Shrek.
(http://i31.photobucket.com/albums/c358/AZOffaly/WillieHeff.jpg)

:D U have little to be doing...
Post by: lynchbhoy on July 28, 2010, 05:08:56 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on July 28, 2010, 04:03:39 PM
Naw. We love Wille.
:o
thought that was the preserve of the wexford porno lovers
:-X
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on July 28, 2010, 07:48:21 PM
Brian Murphy and Jody Devine on Newstalk now.
Post by: Jinxy on July 28, 2010, 09:49:20 PM
A Cork man and a Meath man.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on July 28, 2010, 09:52:38 PM
Kildare lost Larry Tompkins and Shay Fahy to them hoors. We were due some compensation.
Post by: Jinxy on July 28, 2010, 10:38:22 PM
Beggars can't be choosers.   ;)
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on July 29, 2010, 02:08:43 PM
All quiet on the Eastern Front???

Music Festival in Kildare:
(http://i.ytimg.com/vi/4QxmtJyi5uM/0.jpg)

Music Festival in Meath:
(http://bp1.blogger.com/_5OANphI7cDQ/SEG1ft5cQLI/AAAAAAAABjw/GJALvIh9wQw/s400/barndance.jpg)
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on July 29, 2010, 02:10:14 PM
Racing in Kildare:
(http://horse-racing.ie/picture_library/Irish%20Courses/curragh.jpg)

Racing in Meath:
(http://betting.betfair.ie/Laytown.jpg)
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on July 29, 2010, 02:23:14 PM
Transportation in Kildare:
(http://www.duncanmcintosh.co.uk/trail_img/horsebox_c.jpg)

Transportation in Meath (now that Dempsey has pulled the plug on their railway line):
(http://imagecache6.allposters.com/LRG/27/2796/HU7OD00Z.jpg)
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on July 29, 2010, 02:28:44 PM
Industry in Kildare:
(http://dynimg.rte.ie/00001dcb10dr.jpg)

Industry in Meath:
(http://www.johnlynchcarpets.ie/library/Navan-carpets.jpg)
Post by: Jinxy on July 29, 2010, 02:43:37 PM
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on July 29, 2010, 02:28:44 PM
Industry in Kildare:
(http://dynimg.rte.ie/00001dcb10dr.jpg)

Industry in Meath:
(http://www.johnlynchcarpets.ie/library/Navan-carpets.jpg)

Is this is your first non-horse related comparison?
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on July 29, 2010, 02:46:48 PM
Did you not hear the 'Corkman' last night?

Horses and Football - that's all we've got!
Post by: AZOffaly on July 29, 2010, 02:48:29 PM
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on July 29, 2010, 02:46:48 PM

And turf. Ye do, or did, a nice line in milled peat there around Allenwood.
Post by: Hardy on July 29, 2010, 02:50:10 PM

Well ... horses.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on July 29, 2010, 02:50:42 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on July 29, 2010, 02:48:29 PM

And turf. Ye do, or did, a nice line in milled peat there around Allenwood.

Hopefully Johnny Doyle will find his shooting boots down some boghole in Allenwood!
Post by: DB_An_Mhi on July 29, 2010, 02:58:38 PM
(http://eswww.rhul.ac.uk/geode/basins/Navan1.jpg)

Mining in County Meath.

(http://www.man-in-a-hurry.com/images/mole%20hill%20and%20mole.jpg)

And in Kildare!
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 29, 2010, 11:24:48 PM
Kildare team for Sunday

..........................................Shame McCormack,
Peter Kelly,......................... Hugh McGrillen,......................................... Aindriú MacLochlainn,
Morgan O'Flaherty..................., Emmet Bolton, ...................Brian Flanagan,
...................................Daryl Flynn, ...........................Dermot Earley,
James Kavanagh.............., Pádraig O'Neill, ............................Eoghan O'Flaherty,
John Doyle (captain),............. Alan Smith..........................................., Eamonn Callaghan
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on July 29, 2010, 11:43:04 PM
Can't see Johnny Doyle having as poor a return for his kicking again, all depends on how much ball he sees, though what impressed me most last day out was how those around him picked up the baton.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on July 30, 2010, 09:02:03 AM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on July 29, 2010, 11:24:48 PM
Kildare team for Sunday

..........................................Shane McCormack,
Peter Kelly,......................... Hugh McGrillen,......................................... Aindriú MacLochlainn,
Morgan O'Flaherty..................., Emmet Bolton, ...................Brian Flanagan,
...................................Daryl Flynn, ...........................Dermot Earley,
James Kavanagh.............., Pádraig O'Neill, ............................Eoghan O'Flaherty,
John Doyle (captain),............. Alan Smith..........................................., Eamonn Callaghan

Happy enough to see Eoghan Flats starting. He has looked very good in his cameos so far this year and deserves to start. I assumed Roli would get the nod ahead of him or Paudie O'Neill but he's a good option to have on the bench if we're struggling around midfield. Paudie will know he has to be on his game from the start because McGeeney can be very quick to change things if lads are underperforming.

Peter Kelly is a big doubt apparently and he'd be a huge loss. He has been outstanding since coming in from the juniors. Hard to know who'd replace him if he doesn't make it. David Lyons possibly?
Post by: thewanderer on July 30, 2010, 09:32:09 AM
I hope the lilywhites prevail on sunday in lieu of the popular leinster chumps. but both teams are behind kerry tyrone and cork for the all-ireland.
Post by: mylestheslasher on July 30, 2010, 10:08:55 AM
Best of luck to Kildare. Ye seem to be peaking at the right time.
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 31, 2010, 02:56:29 PM
Pudit latest, lots giving the nod for Kildare, not sure if I like that

Kildare

Bomber
Dara O'Shea
Senan O'Connell
Peter Canavan
Joe.ie
Hoganstand.com
RTE.ie  >:(

Meath

Ray Silke
Martin Carney  ;D
Post by: Hardy on July 31, 2010, 03:36:02 PM
Getting worried now about this qualifiers' momentum vs. provincial champions' ring-rustiness factor.
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 31, 2010, 03:47:12 PM
Some carrot for the winners, a crack at Down for an All-Ireland final spot  :o
Post by: DB_An_Mhi on July 31, 2010, 05:50:16 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on July 31, 2010, 02:56:29 PM
Pudit latest, lots giving the nod for Kildare, not sure if I like that

Kildare

Bomber
Dara O'Shea
Senan O'Connell
Peter Canavan
Joe.ie
Hoganstand.com

Meath

Ray Silke
Martin Carney  ;D

Meath got the votes of confidence on TG4 this morning.
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 31, 2010, 06:02:05 PM
Pundit Watch update

Kildare

Bomber
Dara O'Shea
Senan O'Connell
Peter Canavan
Joe.ie
Hoganstand.com
Sentanta.com

Meath

Ray Silke
Martin Carney  ;D
TG4
Post by: DB_An_Mhi on July 31, 2010, 06:02:59 PM
Quote from: Hardy on July 31, 2010, 03:36:02 PM
Getting worried now about this qualifiers' momentum vs. provincial champions' ring-rustiness factor.
Yes it is a factor, but at least we are at full strength. Even Kerry cannot afford to lose half a dozen players and not get caught out. They were sitting ducks today and fair play to Down they capitalised. Tyrone's arrogance and complacency saw them come a cropper.

If you think back it wasn't long ago you would feel three championships games in successive weeks as a potential stumbling block. Kildare now face a sixth match without a break and hopefully against a Meath team which are much more determined than what they faced in the qualifiers.

Here's hoping we can get things back on track against Kildare and earn a rematch with Down. We have an old score to settle.
Post by: Jinxy on July 31, 2010, 06:03:55 PM
When you are winning the games can't come quick enough.
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 31, 2010, 06:04:42 PM
Meath fans talking about semi-finals - love it
Post by: DB_An_Mhi on July 31, 2010, 06:24:08 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on July 31, 2010, 06:03:55 PM
Where confidence is concerned yes, but there comes a point where mental and physical tiredness comes into play.
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 31, 2010, 06:28:45 PM
Kildare won't tire, mentally or physically. The games rarely reached high intensity levels and we picked up no injuries.
Post by: DB_An_Mhi on July 31, 2010, 06:38:37 PM
I'm hoping you do after two trips up north, albeit with impressive results each time.
Post by: Jinxy on July 31, 2010, 06:40:29 PM
Quote from: DB_An_Mhi on July 31, 2010, 06:24:08 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on July 31, 2010, 06:03:55 PM
Where confidence is concerned yes, but there comes a point where mental and physical tiredness comes into play.

Physical tiredness doesn't come into it.
A week is loads of time to recover physically.
You don't get mentally tired from winning.
Post by: DB_An_Mhi on July 31, 2010, 06:50:54 PM
I'd beg to differ that the cumulative effect of four games in as many weeks would take its toll. Especially when facing more intense (real championship standard) and classier opposition for a change and with a point to prove.
Post by: Jinxy on July 31, 2010, 06:55:02 PM
The cumulative effect only kicks in if you are carrying an injury.
Otherwise a week is plenty of time.
Post by: Zulu on July 31, 2010, 06:56:53 PM
If IC players can't play 4 weeks in a row then there is something wrong.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on July 31, 2010, 10:09:17 PM
As Dwyer said before the 2000 Leinster Final - "them fellas are as fresh as daisies". If Kildare do come up short tomorrow, tiredness should not be an excuse.

This is Kildare's biggest match since the 2000 All-Ireland semi. Although we've been in the quarters the past two years, this is the first one we feel we have a great chance of winning. Hopefully Peter Kelly is fit because none of the potential replacements fill me with confidence. A big seventy minutes from big Dermot, JD locates his shooting boots, Leper giving another of his Duracell Bunny impressions, Jimmers has another going day....... we can do it!

.....The winter it is past,
And the summer's come at last,
And the birds they're singing in the trees......

Cill Dara Abú
Post by: demusicman on July 31, 2010, 10:46:47 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pIPWvAmVY2o

.....The winter it is past,
And the summer's come at last,
And the birds they're singing in the trees......

What did it not take a Meath Group to make this song famous-----The Johnstons from Slane. ;D
-------All you who are in love
Aye and cannot it remove
I pity the pain that you endure
For experience lets me know
That your hearts are filled with woe
It's a woe that no mortal can cure ;)
Post by: Hardy on August 01, 2010, 01:41:35 AM
Good men. Isn't it great to be alive at times like this. I  can't wait till tomorrow. Up at 8, go for a run, back for the breakfast. Then me and the (Limerick born, Cork reared but not contaminated) young lad into the wagon, pick up da brudda in Lismore, hit the Brian Boru at 12:30, a few pints of Beamish with the home based clan and then stroll down the Whitworth Road to the best stadium in Europe in which we feel at home and win, lose or draw we'll have mighty times for a couple of  hours. You couldn't buy it for diamonds.
Post by: Jinxy on August 01, 2010, 08:19:09 AM
Best of luck to the lads today.
Post by: Dinny Breen on August 01, 2010, 09:18:34 AM
win lose or draw here's to a great game and may the best team win...

Cill Dara Abú
Post by: Jinxy on August 01, 2010, 09:20:04 AM
Well said Dinny.
At the end of the day we're all Leinstermen.
Post by: mylestheslasher on August 01, 2010, 09:42:56 AM
Quote from: DB_An_Mhi on July 31, 2010, 06:50:54 PM
I'd beg to differ that the cumulative effect of four games in as many weeks would take its toll. Especially when facing more intense (real championship standard) and classier opposition for a change and with a point to prove.

Classier? I thought kildare were playing meath.
Post by: Jinxy on August 01, 2010, 10:00:34 AM
Boooooo.
Post by: Maguire01 on August 01, 2010, 10:09:58 AM
Quote from: Jinxy on August 01, 2010, 10:00:34 AM
Boooooo.
But true  :P
Post by: From the Bunker on August 01, 2010, 04:11:44 PM
Ironically, square-ball point by Sheridan!
Post by: Maguire01 on August 01, 2010, 04:18:03 PM
Was the Kildare keeper's protestations any less cheating than Sheridan in the Louth match?
Post by: From the Bunker on August 01, 2010, 04:20:11 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on August 01, 2010, 04:18:03 PM
Was the Kildare keeper's protestations any less cheating than Sheridan in the Louth match?

No, it's the same....cheating!

Would you or i in a game do it?...........Yes!
Post by: Schkite on August 01, 2010, 04:23:47 PM
If they could play from the first minute they'd be dangerous! Done well to recover quick from that start.
Post by: tyroneboi on August 01, 2010, 04:27:16 PM
The Kildare keeper is annoying the way he waves every Meath score as a wide!
Post by: Schkite on August 01, 2010, 04:27:43 PM
A few nice scores here.
Post by: muppet on August 01, 2010, 04:30:25 PM
'Calm as a Buddha Monk'   ;D ;D
Post by: Schkite on August 01, 2010, 04:30:36 PM
Class goal by Kavanagh, some dummy!
Post by: Maguire01 on August 01, 2010, 04:30:56 PM
Goal of the year?
Kavanagh has to be a cert for an All Star.
Post by: Schkite on August 01, 2010, 04:32:34 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on August 01, 2010, 04:30:56 PM
Goal of the year?
Kavanagh has to be a cert for an All Star.

I hope he does, think he's a great player. Was excellent last year too.
Post by: Puckoon on August 01, 2010, 04:33:20 PM
Can someone update the scores?
Post by: tyroneboi on August 01, 2010, 04:37:54 PM
Another good goal for Kildare.

Some game!
Post by: Maguire01 on August 01, 2010, 04:38:55 PM
Great option by the Kildare #11.
Post by: Schkite on August 01, 2010, 04:39:22 PM
Very good game! Could go down to the wire.
Post by: dublin7 on August 01, 2010, 04:40:26 PM
Both sides shocking defensively. Sheridan scores again from a square ball. Anybody's game.
Post by: From the Bunker on August 01, 2010, 04:55:33 PM
Still fancy Meath, Would side with Kildare if Earley was on the pitch.

All to play for.
Post by: Schkite on August 01, 2010, 05:08:21 PM
Kildare working their scores brilliantly here.
Post by: From the Bunker on August 01, 2010, 05:09:48 PM
Quote from: hardstation on August 01, 2010, 05:07:52 PM
Good stuff. Come on Kildare.

Ditto
Post by: From the Bunker on August 01, 2010, 05:20:00 PM
Into the 58th minute

Kildare 2-11

Meath 1-11

Kildare on top but Meath not giving up!
Post by: muppet on August 01, 2010, 05:23:46 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on August 01, 2010, 05:20:00 PM
Into the 58th minute

Kildare 2-11

Meath 1-11

Kildare on top but Meath not giving up!

There's no show like a Joe throw..........

I can't look.
Post by: Schkite on August 01, 2010, 05:27:39 PM
Kildare working hard all over, they look like they want it more.
Post by: Cosmo Kramer on August 01, 2010, 05:28:38 PM
Meath running out of steam. They look like they could have done with another game after the Leinster Final.

How ironic.
Post by: muppet on August 01, 2010, 05:29:36 PM
Quote from: Cosmo Kramer on August 01, 2010, 05:28:38 PM
Meath running out of steam. They look like they could have done with another game after the Leinster Final.

How ironic.

Excellent.
Post by: Schkite on August 01, 2010, 05:29:43 PM
That has to be it now, Kildare 6 up and still working harder, Meath can't get any room to move it forward.
Post by: Maguire01 on August 01, 2010, 05:30:30 PM
How was O'Rourke not yellow carded there?
Post by: From the Bunker on August 01, 2010, 05:30:45 PM
K 2-15
M 1-12

69 minutes
Post by: muppet on August 01, 2010, 05:31:34 PM
5 metre scrum to Meath
Post by: Cosmo Kramer on August 01, 2010, 05:32:43 PM
Deserved red. This is great! ;D
Post by: Schkite on August 01, 2010, 05:33:41 PM
All 8 provincial finalists out before the semi-finals, amazing.
Post by: From the Bunker on August 01, 2010, 05:34:43 PM
You have to say Meath are never beaten. Always stick in until the end!!!!!!

;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D
Post by: Schkite on August 01, 2010, 05:35:17 PM
What a point from Doyle to finish it off, excellent performance!
Post by: Maguire01 on August 01, 2010, 05:35:32 PM
Brilliant!
Post by: Louth Exile on August 01, 2010, 05:36:01 PM
Thank You Kildare  :'(

Hope you can go all the way this time. The very best of luck to you.
Post by: Cosmo Kramer on August 01, 2010, 05:37:55 PM
Doyles last point - a great end to a great weekend of football.
Post by: mylestheslasher on August 01, 2010, 05:38:04 PM
Well done Kildare. Delighted to see justice done and that no good comes from a bad turn. To Meath, maybe next year ye will behave with some class unlike this year.
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on August 01, 2010, 05:39:36 PM
No call to be sticking the knife into Meath. Delighted for Geezer - to me he epitomises everything that is good about Gaelic Football.
Post by: From the Bunker on August 01, 2010, 05:40:04 PM
Quote from: mylestheslasher on August 01, 2010, 05:38:04 PM
Well done Kildare. Delighted to see justice done and that no good comes from a bad turn. To Meath, maybe next year ye will behave with some class unlike this year.

I second that emotion!
Post by: muppet on August 01, 2010, 05:40:30 PM
'off Meath'

There I did it.  ;D
Post by: muppet on August 01, 2010, 05:41:45 PM
Spillane quote at half-time:

"Obviously Shane O'Rourke got his football from his mother's side"
Post by: Mickeys beard on August 01, 2010, 05:46:46 PM
Well done Kildare.  Every time Geezer is interviewed, I keep expecting him to say "If ye wanna bax, we'll bax...."
Post by: From the Bunker on August 01, 2010, 05:48:54 PM
Quote from: muppet on August 01, 2010, 05:41:45 PM

Definitely, not a patch on his auld lad!
Post by: mylestheslasher on August 01, 2010, 05:54:26 PM
Quote from: hardstation on August 01, 2010, 05:51:56 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on August 01, 2010, 05:48:54 PM

A bit harsh, he's only 22. He has good feet. Just seems a lazy, clumsy big ballix.

Didn't watch the half time commentary but is there not a chance Spillane was having a dig at Colm and not the son?
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on August 01, 2010, 05:55:23 PM
I don't think the knife should be stuck into Meath. While they should probably have offered a replay, they were put in a situation entirely not of their making. Kildare look serious. Johnny Doyle is best player left in the championship imo. They could go all the way now.
Post by: From the Bunker on August 01, 2010, 05:56:56 PM
Quote from: hardstation on August 01, 2010, 05:51:56 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on August 01, 2010, 05:48:54 PM

A bit harsh, he's only 22. He has good feet. Just seems a lazy, clumsy big ballix.

Sorry, forgot the smiley (  ;D ) at the end of that sentence.
Post by: From the Bunker on August 01, 2010, 06:07:53 PM
Quote from: RedandGreenSniper on August 01, 2010, 05:55:23 PM
I don't think the knife should be stuck into Meath. While they should probably have offered a replay, they were put in a situation entirely not of their making. Kildare look serious. Johnny Doyle is best player left in the championship imo. They could go all the way now.

True they made the wrong decison, in the fear of losing a much needed Leinster title for the county. Disappointing end to a year to forget for Meath. They have been getting to the business end of the championship but have proven to have a soft centre normally associated with teams like Mayo and Donegal. Really no progress has been made this year, they beat a Dublin team in transition, in reality lost to a Louth team and hammered by Kildare. If this was Dublin today there would be uproar as to the performance.
Post by: leenie on August 01, 2010, 06:18:24 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on August 01, 2010, 06:07:53 PM

True they made the wrong decison, in the fear of losing a much needed Leinster title for the county. Disappointing end to a year to forget for Meath. They have been getting to the business end of the championship but have proven to have a soft centre normally associated with teams like Mayo and Donegal. Really no progress has been made this year, they beat a Dublin team in transition, in reality lost to a Louth team and hammered by Kildare. If this was Dublin today there would be uproar as to the performance.

eh what?   :-\
Post by: From the Bunker on August 01, 2010, 07:06:00 PM
Quote from: leenie on August 01, 2010, 06:18:24 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on August 01, 2010, 06:07:53 PM

eh what?   :-\

2010 Meath 1-12  2-17 Kildare

2009 Kerry 2-08  1-07 Meath

2008 Limerick 4-12- 4-03 Meath

2007 Cork 1-16   0-09  Meath

2006 Laois 2-13 - 0-13 Meath

2005 Cavan 1-08 - 1-06 Meath

Bar a meeting with a Kerry team playing in second gear in 2009 Meath teams have faded out of the championship. beaten well by six points or more. Unfairly they are often expected to live up to the 'Never beaten till the final whistle' teams of the past.
Post by: borderfox on August 01, 2010, 07:15:23 PM
Goodbye and good riddance. They should of given Louth a replay.
Post by: Dinny Breen on August 01, 2010, 08:00:10 PM
You beauty!!!!!!
Post by: Dinny Breen on August 01, 2010, 08:39:32 PM
Golly how does one analyze that game, usual slow start 1-3 to no score after 10 mins and losing Dermot E after 3 mins, no one near him when it happened, and yet we went on to win by 8 points, a 14 point turnaround  :o

Our new full back line had it's first serious test and were all over the sea in the 1st 15 mins but as soon as we got to grips with midfield and stop the long balls in by forcing Meath out wide and lateral they started gaining confidence and again Peter Kelly and Hugh McCrillan had fine games and in fairness to McLoughlin I thought he was harsh done by for the penalty with the ref making no allowance for the conditions, he kept his head high and put in a fine shift.

Our half-back line suffered a lot and was our weakest line no surprise Callaghan, Bolton and Flanagan were all taken off but Foley and Flaherty Snr showed really well and Foley really snubbed out the threat of big Joe.

I doubt many outside of Kildare would of heard of Darrel Flynn and Hugh Lynch before the championship but Flynn's star is rising and Hughie put in a great performance, nice and tidy and a great work-rate.

Our half-forward line, when Johnny missed that kick in front of the posts, I really thought it was going to be one of those days but the man is a legend, what an engine definitely a contender for poty, O'Neill worked relentless and his footballing intelligence for Smiths goal will give McGeeeney a wry smile as he is really drilling into Kildare about taking the right option.

James Kavanagh, Alan Smith and Eoghan O'Flaherty are the future of Kildare football, these three will only get better, Flaths jnr and Kavanagh were excellent today.

Julie Davies has them fit, McGeeney again is cutting his cloth well, made the decisions early to take of players and all subs made an impact.

Just a mention to Meath supporters who provided great support today, if it's any consolation young O'Rourke and Graham Reilly never gave up and epitiomised everything that is good about Meath football, they have very bright futures...

Post by: DB_An_Mhi on August 01, 2010, 09:25:33 PM
Well done Kildare and good luck for the rest of the championship.

When the going gets tough the tough get going. Some of our lads are just plain lazy or lack stamina, so things fizzled out.
Post by: Pups on August 01, 2010, 10:05:46 PM
From the bunker
Saw the exact same post on hoganstand!
Post by: From the Bunker on August 01, 2010, 10:11:41 PM
Quote from: Pups on August 01, 2010, 10:05:46 PM
From the bunker
Saw the exact same post on hoganstand!

Do you have a link?  ;)
Post by: barelegs on August 01, 2010, 10:14:57 PM
The one thing that has impressed me about Kildare is the ability of Kieran McGeeney to pull a man ashore when he feels he's not performing. Did it again today twice in the first half (albeit the first was enforced due to injury). Less ruthless managers might have allowed the situation to go away from Kildare today. He made a similar change against Derry when Kildare were struggling early on. He deserves alot of credit for it
Post by: orangeman on August 01, 2010, 10:19:27 PM
Well done Kildare.

Any word on Dermot's injury ??
Post by: agorm on August 01, 2010, 10:53:04 PM
I only got to the 2nd half on TV as I was returning fro hols but also saw the Sunday Game.

Congrats to Kildare, they wanted it more and I felt before the game that the team that was up for it most would tip the balance of what looked on paper beforehand to be two even teams. I thought losing was a possibility but not to the level of today. They are a very good team and best of luck to them for the semis.

I want to be careful not too be too critical of the tem and management as they have put in a great effort all year but I think that the fact that there is no posts so far from any of the regular contrributers speaks volumes.....we were horrendous in defence , lethargic in attack and asleep on the sideline.......and the second half was just like against Louth.

Chris O' Connor was drawn up he field on a regular basis, harrington was skinned by his man, Caomhin King was almost non existant and Moyles is just not a wing back. The forward line look like a bunch of individuals all having an off day and having no team spirit to glue them together.

My own opinion was  (and is) regarding the Louth situation was that Meath should have offered a replay not becauise Louth deserved one but because meath needed a proper win with players getting the confidence and team spirit from the extra game if they had won it well. It shouldnt have been down to the players of course but when that situation did arise I think that the players and management should have been big enough to say "bring it on". I am not saying that we would be sitting pretty in an All-Ireland semi but I would suspect that we would not have experienced such an abject 2nd half performance again had we done so.

I am not sure where we are going from here and I am also not sure if Eamonn O'Brien is the person to take us there. Perhaps upon mature reflection the Leinster success will be regarded to be a genuine improvement and that O' Brien is te person to take us forward. One point in mitigation for him, the standard of player does not seem to be out there in the county as it was in the past. Leinster success may well be the best we can hope for with this squad of players.
Post by: shark on August 01, 2010, 10:57:15 PM
Quote from: orangeman on August 01, 2010, 10:19:27 PM
Well done Kildare.

Any word on Dermot's injury ??

He damaged his cruciate months ago.  Needs an operation, but has held off so far.  I can only imagine he aggravated it further today.
Post by: Hound on August 01, 2010, 11:18:47 PM
Well done to Kildare. Totally dominated the 2nd half and were well worthy of the margin of victory. Meath's forwards aren't quite as good as the media made out, and their midfield would do well to make the Top 10 pairings in Leinster. Doyle and Kavanagh are class acts for Cill Dara.
Post by: GroverJr on August 01, 2010, 11:43:22 PM
Well done KD. great game. wouldnt write off meath.
Semi final - should be good
Post by: ardchieftain on August 01, 2010, 11:51:59 PM
Well done Kildare. Geezer has them playing out of their skins.
The match against Down should be a joy to behold and i can't help but feel that the team who emerge victorious will go on to win sam.

Hope Geezer leads Kildare to the title and then comes home. Your county needs you !
Post by: Rossfan on August 02, 2010, 12:51:23 AM
Great second half by Kildare, great mental strength and well worth the € today just to see ye're second half. Hopefully ye'll go all the way.
I thought it was a bit of a pity that there was no mention of Dermot in either the programme or the Public Address.
Post by: ross matt on August 02, 2010, 01:48:42 AM
Brilliant wn playing great football. In the semi now and still improving with each match. Excellent manager and a squad with depth. Kildare can go all the way and would love to see them do it. (hope Early's injury has'nt finished his season).
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on August 02, 2010, 03:15:27 AM
Congrats to Kildare. I sincerely hope they go all the way now. I was at the games in 1998 and 2000 when Galway beat them in an All-Ireland final and semi-final and they were very sporting in defeat. Felt for them particularly after 2000 as I think they knew their chance was gone then with that particular team.
Post by: Jinxy on August 02, 2010, 08:02:32 AM
Sincere congratulations to Kildare. Fully deserved the win and a special mention to Johnny Doyle who looked like he was carrying an injury from early on yet still managed to kick some fantastic scores. James Kavanagh took his goal beautifully, calmness and skill personified. I hope Dermot can make it back for the semi. Great effort to win without him.
As for us?
We still haven't addressed the problems we've had for the last 5 years. We are a first-half team when we used to be one of the best second-half teams around. How many times have we come out after the break and it just seems that every single player drops his work-rate 10%? Is it a fitness thing? I never got any sense even when we narrowed the gap to two points that we could actually win. We are still hopeless at moving the ball out of defense and we are incapable of thinking more than one step ahead. Thus we regularly give a short hand-pass to a man heading straight for a brick wall. We make it up as we go along and no one seems sure what to do with the ball when they have it. No ball into the forwards in the 2nd half and as a result they were having to come foraging out the field. This took them away from goal where Shane and big Joe had been doing well in the first half.
Gutted to be out but sure that's the way it goes.
Best of luck to Kildare in the semi, I was surrounded by white jersies in the Hogan and they were a sound bunch that really knew their football.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on August 02, 2010, 09:32:07 AM
Throat is fecked, head is still spinning, got absoutely drenched........ and I've never felt better! We've waited ten years for that and boy was it sweet. Unbelievable performance when you consider big Dermot hit the deck after 57 seconds and gave Meath a six points head start - Kildare have "no naturally accurate forawards" McStay??? They were in the hotzone yesterday anyway!  :D

Just a word for the Meath lads on here and those who I met yesterday - you are a credit to your county. Very gracious in defeat and your day will come.
Post by: Dinny Breen on August 02, 2010, 09:37:52 AM
He was fairly back-peddaling on TSG last night, even seem to be trying to take credit for highlighting our lack of scores from the Hotzone the week before, must of been all those Hail Marys we say before each game...

Eoghan O'Flaherty was immense yesterday, he had an arguement with JD before his 1st free on the 45m line and wouldn't give him the ball, he just placed it and popped it over the bar, love that type of youthful confidence..
Post by: AZOffaly on August 02, 2010, 09:58:04 AM
Fair play to both teams yesterday. On a weekend of great football the best was last. Long range point scoring, great midfield play, super finishing James Kavanagh take a bow, and all with just 30 odd frees. Savage game.

For Kildare, the force is with ye now. Kick on. The 4 weeks layoff will be good for Earley, although if it is cruciate, he's not going to be fully right until an op I'd say. The good thing is ye do have options for the middle anyway even without him, and ye didn't even bring on big Willie.

The forwards are going very well now, and the movement off the full forward line is very good. One point there in the first half from O'Neill I think was exemplary. Ball in to Smith, out in front, lay off to O'Neill running in and pop over the bar. Well within the Hotzone as well :D Great stuff.

Good weekend for Leinster, and if the GAA hadn't rigged it so ye played Meath we'd probably have 3 in the semis.
Post by: agorm on August 02, 2010, 10:35:09 AM
Quote from: AZOffaly on August 02, 2010, 09:58:04 AM

Good weekend for Leinster, and if the GAA hadn't rigged it so ye played Meath we'd probably have 3 in the semis.

I dont agree. We are so clueless when things start to go wrong (and they usually do at some stage) we would have lost to any of the other 6 quarter finalists.

I cannot help thinking back to the shambles of a process that lead to the hiring of o'Brien. They wouldnt consider an outsider ("over my dead body" said 1 prominent County Board guy Pat O'Neill of St Colmcilles!!). We now have a management that doesnt seem to be able to read a situation developing and deal with it. He can demonstrate progress , winning the Delaney Cup but I cannot see him developing a side to genuinely challenge for All-ireland honours and, lets face it, thats where its at in a small country like this and I am not sure if he has the nous to take on the big boys in tactics in big games.
Post by: AZOffaly on August 02, 2010, 10:39:12 AM
That was slightly tongue in cheek agorm, on the basis of our 'rooting for Leinster', but on the basis that you could only have drawn Dublin, Down or Cork, I suspect you are right.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on August 02, 2010, 11:21:47 AM
Just watched the game in full again. Nice way to spend an hour!

Shorty - Unlucky with the penalty. Probably would have stopped it on a dry day. Varied the kickouts well.
Kelly - Looked to be carrying a knock alright but still stuck to Bray like sh1t to a blanket. Held him scoreless.
McGrillen - Struggled with O'Rourke early on but gradually got to grips with him. A few customary gallops up the field as usual.
Mac - I thought the penalty was harsh enough on him. Didn't give Ward a sniff. Some transformation from a two or three years ago.
M Flats - Won a load of breaks around the middle. Always seems to take the correct option in possession.
Bolton - Couldn't stop big Joe when switched on to him but had a stormer in the second half. Drove Kildare forward at every opportunity.
Flanagan - Struggled with Sheridan but he was nearly unmarkable in the first half. He'll have better days ahead.
Flynner - Had to step it up with Dermot going off and he did so. Bossed midfield and showed real leadership. Future captain?
Earley - There really is no justice in the world. They did it for you Dermot boy.
Jimmers - Class act. Calmness personified for the goal. Still think there's a lot more in him though.
Paudie - Some improvement on last week. Two points at important times and put the goal on a plate for Smithy.
E Flats - Up there with JD for motm. Like the brother, never seems to waste possession. Should be on the long range frees for the semi?
JD - You sir are a diamond. Dangerous Doyle is back!  :D
Smithy - Bagged his usual goal and won several frees. Like Jimmers, there's more to come from him.
Leper - Not as prominent as previous games but Kildare probably wouldn't be here if it wasn't for his performance in the drawn Antrim match.

Subs
Lynch - I thought Roli would replace Dermot but Hughie was excellent. Made a crucial interception and kicked some beautiful ball into the forwards.
Foley - Has waited a long time to get his chance and grabbed it with both hands. Put the shackles on Sheridan in the second half.
Roli - Threw himself around and was a general nuisance to the Meath defence. Won a few frees that we got scores from.
Chalky - Got through a lot of ball in his short spell on the field. Great option to have on the bench.
Lyons - Horsed into a few Meath forwards when he came on. Made a good burst up the Cusack sideline to ease some pressure on the defence.
Post by: AZOffaly on August 02, 2010, 11:27:23 AM
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on August 02, 2010, 11:21:47 AM
Just watched the game in full again. Nice way to spend an hour!

Shorty - Unlucky with the penalty. Probably would have stopped it on a dry day. Varied the kickouts well.
Kelly - Looked to be carrying a knock alright but still stuck to Bray like sh1t to a blanket. Held him scoreless.
McGrillen - Struggled with O'Rourke early on but gradually got to grips with him. A few customary gallops up the field as usual.
Mac - I thought the penalty was harsh enough on him. Didn't give Ward a sniff. Some transformation from a two or three years ago.
M Flats - Won a load of breaks around the middle. Always seems to take the correct option in possession.
Bolton - Couldn't stop big Joe when switched on to him but had a stormer in the second half. Drove Kildare forward at every opportunity.
Flanagan - Struggled with Sheridan but he was nearly unmarkable in the first half. He'll have better days ahead.
Flynner - Had to step it up with Dermot going off and he did so. Bossed midfield and showed real leadership. Future captain?
Earley - There really is no justice in the world. They did it for you Dermot boy.
Jimmers - Class act. Calmness personified for the goal. Still think there's a lot more in him though.
Paudie - Some improvement on last week. Two points at important times and put the goal on a plate for Smithy.
E Flats - Up there with JD for motm. Like the brother, never seems to waste possession. Should be on the long range frees for the semi?
JD - You sir are a diamond. Dangerous Doyle is back!  :D
Smithy - Bagged his usual goal and won several frees. Like Jimmers, there's more to come from him.
Leper - Not as prominent as previous games but Kildare probably wouldn't be here if it wasn't for his performance in the drawn Antrim match.

Subs
Lynch - I thought Roli would replace Dermot but Hughie was excellent. Made a crucial interception and kicked some beautiful ball into the forwards.
Foley - Has waited a long time to get his chance and grabbed it with both hands. Put the shackles on Sheridan in the second half.
Roli - Threw himself around and was a general nuisance to the Meath defence. Won a few frees that we got scores from.
Chalky - Got through a lot of ball in his short spell on the field. Great option to have on the bench.
Lyons - Horsed into a few Meath forwards when he came on. Made a good burst up the Cusack sideline to ease some pressure on the defence.

Can ye stop using the nicknames, ye are worse than Marty Morrisey. In fact Marty's probably reading this thread, and expect to hear Shorty kicking the ball out to Flynner, who feeds Jimmers..on to JD. Goal for the Thoroughbreds.
Post by: INDIANA on August 02, 2010, 11:28:36 AM
Quote from: agorm on August 02, 2010, 10:35:09 AM

I dont agree. We are so clueless when things start to go wrong (and they usually do at some stage) we would have lost to any of the other 6 quarter finalists.

I cannot help thinking back to the shambles of a process that lead to the hiring of o'Brien. They wouldnt consider an outsider ("over my dead body" said 1 prominent County Board guy Pat O'Neill of St Colmcilles!!). We now have a management that doesnt seem to be able to read a situation developing and deal with it. He can demonstrate progress , winning the Delaney Cup but I cannot see him developing a side to genuinely challenge for All-ireland honours and, lets face it, thats where its at in a small country like this and I am not sure if he has the nous to take on the big boys in tactics in big games.

You've a problem at midfield.And as Tyrone saw on Saturday you can't build a winning position without one midfeilder who can put his hands up and say kick it to me because I'm going to catch it. Kildare have a few lads capable of this as do Cork. Dublin have one and Down the same. You can't put a price on having a midfielder with catching ability. Meath had to bring Shane O Rourke out - that said everything.
You've no pace up front agorm. You can't play Ward and Sheridan together. In fact where the hell is Brian Sheridan. I think you've lost something since you took Bray out of the corner. David Bray was a bigger loss then you realise because he has pace. Hard to judge the backs because so much ball came in but Reilly hasn't been fit all year and you've looked shaky there all year.
Post by: Jinxy on August 02, 2010, 11:56:42 AM
Fair play to both teams yesterday. On a weekend of great football the best was last. Long range point scoring, great midfield play, super finishing James Kavanagh take a bow, and all with just 30 odd frees. Savage game.

For Kildare, the force is with ye now. Kick on. The 4 weeks layoff will be good for Earley, although if it is cruciate, he's not going to be fully right until an op I'd say. The good thing is ye do have options for the middle anyway even without him, and ye didn't even bring on big Willie.

The forwards are going very well now, and the movement off the full forward line is very good. One point there in the first half from O'Neill I think was exemplary. Ball in to Smith, out in front, lay off to O'Neill running in and pop over the bar. Well within the Hotzone as well :D Great stuff.

I was wondering about this last night. Hard to gauge the quality of a game at the time (especially when you are lose!) and I haven't seen the Sunday game so I wasn't sure if it was a good game to watch.
i thought both teams did well in what were terrible conditions.
Mistakes were inevitable given that the ball was like a bar of soap.
Still, there wasn't a dirty stroke in the game and I think there was plenty of skill on display.
I wish Spillane would shut up with his 'putting the foot back into football' nonsense.
There was plenty of good quality foot-passing this weekend.
Post by: Jinxy on August 02, 2010, 11:58:12 AM
Quote from: INDIANA on August 02, 2010, 11:28:36 AM
Quote from: agorm on August 02, 2010, 10:35:09 AM

You've a problem at midfield.And as Tyrone saw on Saturday you can't build a winning position without one midfeilder who can put his hands up and say kick it to me because I'm going to catch it. Kildare have a few lads capable of this as do Cork. Dublin have one and Down the same. You can't put a price on having a midfielder with catching ability. Meath had to bring Shane O Rourke out - that said everything.
You've no pace up front agorm. You can't play Ward and Sheridan together. In fact where the hell is Brian Sheridan. I think you've lost something since you took Bray out of the corner. David Bray was a bigger loss then you realise because he has pace. Hard to judge the backs because so much ball came in but Reilly hasn't been fit all year and you've looked shaky there all year.

Who?
I thought Crawford caught a few unless my memory is playing tricks on me.
Post by: Dinny Breen on August 02, 2010, 12:40:25 PM
QuoteThere was plenty of good quality foot-passing this weekend.

Not to mention Doyle, O'Neill, Kavanagh, Reilly and O'Rourke all took scores with both feet, in fact Kavanaghs goal which was a sublime finish was with his left..
Post by: AZOffaly on August 02, 2010, 12:42:42 PM
Good point Dinny. The skill level all weekend was quiet high in fairness. Down kicked some beautiful points, as did Gooch. Dublin and Tyrone had some great scores, and there were great scores in the Rossies/Cork game as well, including gems from Shine and O'Gara. This was a good weekend, no doubt.
Post by: All of a Sludden on August 02, 2010, 01:05:08 PM
Well done Kildare, lot of happy Louth men last night.  ;D
Post by: Bord na Mona man on August 02, 2010, 01:54:51 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on August 02, 2010, 08:02:32 AM

We still haven't addressed the problems we've had for the last 5 years. We are a first-half team when we used to be one of the best second-half teams around. How many times have we come out after the break and it just seems that every single player drops his work-rate 10%? Is it a fitness thing? I never got any sense even when we narrowed the gap to two points that we could actually win.
I think Meath are too predictable in how they attack.
They rely too much on the 50-50 delivery and each player is expected to be self sufficient winning his own ball. A good opposition can make the switches and counter the particular danger man who is making most hay.
There is a whiff of the old style forward play about it - 6 squares and each forward staying in his square.

Once they aren't winning these balls, they don't have any great alternative. The forwards aren't used to to playing off each other, showing for the ball, making runs, decoys and using the angles. So the short game won't work.

They'll beat all bar the top counties with their traditional style of play, but once they meet a well organised defence, the scoring rate drops off a cliff. This is similar to what to Kerry against Tyrone in 2008. Once the gimmick of lashing everything into the clouds at Donaghy and Walsh stopped working, they had lost the knack of their traditional forward unit play.

Kildare's attacking gameplan is more about using the full width of the pitch, forwards dragging defenders out of position and creating space for support players. They'll be harder to stop.

Post by: demusicman on August 02, 2010, 02:04:40 PM
Congrats Kildare on your victory.
You may have not won The Leinster Championship but you are easily the best team in a Province where the standard is very weak. :'(
Post by: Louth Exile on August 02, 2010, 02:21:55 PM
Quote from: agorm on August 01, 2010, 10:53:04 PM
My own opinion was  (and is) regarding the Louth situation was that Meath should have offered a replay not becauise Louth deserved one but because meath needed a proper win with players getting the confidence and team spirit from the extra game if they had won it well. It shouldnt have been down to the players of course but when that situation did arise I think that the players and management should have been big enough to say "bring it on". I am not saying that we would be sitting pretty in an All-Ireland semi but I would suspect that we would not have experienced such an abject 2nd half performance again had we done so.

Get a grip! This theory that Meath would have beaten Louth second day out was proven to be groundless yesterday. Everything went right in the Meath v Dublin game and there was some wonderful goals, but it only masked some of the deficiencies in the attack which were shown up both in the Leinster final and from the 15th minute on yesterday. Even in their only defeat of the year Kildare still racked up 1-16 and as Mc Geeney pointed out after yesterdays match they learned a lot in defeat that day (particularly at fullback I would suggest, Kildare lads are open to correct me). Kildare have shown themselves to be a top class side, we were lucky to catch them cold and produced possibly the best display I have seen from a Louth team to beat them. Meath are on all evidence of this years championship only the fourth best team in Leinster at present!

I was a student living in Dublin in 98 and spent most Sundays in Croker, as a result I saw every Kildare game bar the AI final and was really rooting for them all the way. Would love to see Dublin make the final, but more importantly would love to see Kildare get an AI win!

Mc Geeney will have a full time job keeping the players feet on the ground, I was getting texts yesterday from Kildare men who hadn't been to football match in nine years! Hitch up the bandwagon lads and let them on
Post by: AZOffaly on August 02, 2010, 02:30:42 PM
Quote from: demusicman on August 02, 2010, 02:04:40 PM
You may have not won The Leinster Championship but you are easily the best team in a Province where the standard is very weak. :'(

Why do you say this? Granted the likes of Laois, Offaly, Westmeath, Longford, Wicklow, Wexford and Carlow are all poor enough at the moment, but Longford beat Mayo, and gave Down a run for it in Newry, Offaly could have caught Down in Tullamore, Wicklow beat several Ulster teams last year, Kildare have beaten 3 this year, Dublin have just beaten Tyrone, Meath and Louth have had decent years.

I know it's popular to say how poor Leinster is, but really all Leinster is missing is a top, top team and that was Kerry and Tyrone for years. I think Leinster is quite competitive as a province, and this year we will hopefully have 1 if not 2 All IReland finalists.
Post by: agorm on August 02, 2010, 02:49:20 PM
Quote from: Louth Exile on August 02, 2010, 02:21:55 PM
Quote from: agorm on August 01, 2010, 10:53:04 PM

Get a grip! This theory that Meath would have beaten Louth second day out was proven to be groundless yesterday. Everything went right in the Meath v Dublin game and there was some wonderful goals, but it only masked some of the deficiencies in the attack which were shown up both in the Leinster final and from the 15th minute on yesterday. Even in their only defeat of the year Kildare still racked up 1-16 and as Mc Geeney pointed out after yesterdays match they learned a lot in defeat that day (particularly at fullback I would suggest, Kildare lads are open to correct me). Kildare have shown themselves to be a top class side, we were lucky to catch them cold and produced possibly the best display I have seen from a Louth team to beat them. Meath are on all evidence of this years championship only the fourth best team in Leinster at present!

I was a student living in Dublin in 98 and spent most Sundays in Croker, as a result I saw every Kildare game bar the AI final and was really rooting for them all the way. Would love to see Dublin make the final, but more importantly would love to see Kildare get an AI win!

Mc Geeney will have a full time job keeping the players feet on the ground, I was getting texts yesterday from Kildare men who hadn't been to football match in nine years! Hitch up the bandwagon lads and let them on

Louth Exile read my post again, I wrote that the game would have been of benefit to Meath IF THEY HAD WON IT WELL! Talk about sensitivity! I wanted Meath to give a replay as I thought it would be better to win well and the corrolary to that was (of course) that I was prepared to accept losing to them if Louth turned out to be the better team.

I never automatically assumed that Meath would have won the replay.

Post by: demusicman on August 02, 2010, 02:54:55 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on August 02, 2010, 02:30:42 PM

Why do you say this? Granted the likes of Laois, Offaly, Westmeath, Longford, Wicklow, Wexford and Carlow are all poor enough at the moment, but Longford beat Mayo, and gave Down a run for it in Newry, Offaly could have caught Down in Tullamore, Wicklow beat several Ulster teams last year, Kildare have beaten 3 this year, Dublin have just beaten Tyrone, Meath and Louth have had decent years.

I know it's popular to say how poor Leinster is, but really all Leinster is missing is a top, top team and that was Kerry and Tyrone for years. I think Leinster is quite competitive as a province, and this year we will hopefully have 1 if not 2 All IReland finalists.
I agree with you when you say Leinster is competitve but for what reasons? IMHO the back door system is creating a false picture for some counties. They may not be as strong as what they think they are.
In my own county Meath we got to the all ireland semi final last year [with no disrespect to other counties ]by beating weak teams on the way. This year was no different beating Offaly, Laois, Dublin [a very false scoreline victory] and Louth.
Ulster and Connaught are just as weak.
Post by: AZOffaly on August 02, 2010, 03:05:38 PM
So basically Ulster, Connacht and Leinster are all weak. And The Munster Champions were just beaten by a team that Offaly lost to by 2 points, so basically Munster is weak as well.

Just so's I know like :D
Post by: Hardy on August 02, 2010, 03:18:36 PM
Super show by Kildare. Sorely disappointing capitulation by us.

I'm writing this without having seen a paper or this board or anything else, so that I can say to myself what I think.  What I think is that this is a team going nowhere but backwards. Anything positive that happened this year, including the good performances against Dublin and Laois, were just pot luck, as far as I can see.

I cannot see any strategy, game plan or tactics that this team is playing to or has been coached to. When you have a number of good players on the field and they get good possession, they will turn in an impressive performance if the opposition lets them. That's what happened against Dublin and Laois.

When they meet a team like Kildare, playing to a system, with an organised defence and a game plan that everyone fully understands and implements, they flounder. And there is no support at all from the sideline. This is not a team without a Plan B. It's a team with no plan at all.

I've bemoaned here many times before the lack of reaction from the management to obvious problems. It's beyond conjecture now. This management doesn't do anything tactically. The team would fare as well if they came with just the bagman and his bag of jerseys.

Yesterday it was the full back line (again) being torn to pieces. The other 30 teams in the country (feckit even the 31st, Kilkenny) would have brought a forward back to be an extra defender in front of the full backs. Our pet goldfish would have seen the need to take Harrington out of his purgatory. But Eamonn O'Brien stood on the sideline for 75 minutes with his chin in his hand and did nothing. It's not as if this can have been a surprise to him and his selectors. We've had no defence for two years. What have they been doing to deal with that? Nothing I can see.

I'll buy a pint for any Meath supporter who can point to one tactical change made from the sideline in any championship game this year or last. I don't count the substitutions from the set list that doesn't seem to vary no matter what the circumstances of the game.

That's all there is to say, really. We managed to get to an All-Ireland quarter final with no input from the sideline. I think we knew, but didn't admit to ourselves, that it would come to a bad end.

Congratulations to Kildare. A great performance by a team that knows what it's doing. But I'd caution them not to take too much from yesterday. They beat nothing much.
Post by: From the Bunker on August 02, 2010, 03:20:43 PM
Quote from: demusicman on August 02, 2010, 02:54:55 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on August 02, 2010, 02:30:42 PM

I agree with you when you say Leinster is competitve but for what reasons? IMHO the back door system is creating a false picture for some counties. They may not be as strong as what they think they are.
In my own county Meath we got to the all ireland semi final last year [with no disrespect to other counties ]by beating weak teams on the way. This year was no different beating Offaly, Laois, Dublin [a very false scoreline victory] and Louth.
Ulster and Connaught are just as weak.

Ye, lost to louth as well, ye may have the Cup and Medals but ye will never be rightly acknowledged.
Post by: demusicman on August 02, 2010, 03:21:16 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on August 02, 2010, 03:05:38 PM
So basically Ulster, Connacht and Leinster are all weak. And The Munster Champions were just beaten by a team that Offaly lost to by 2 points, so basically Munster is weak as well.

I suggest you look at the greater picture. E.G. where would you rate Meath.? Are they in the top eight in the country ? I wish but I dont think they are.
The same can be said for many other counties. Prior to this weekend results where would you rate Kerry and Tyrone? now where are they in the rankings.
The championship i yes is competitive  and exciting but the quality of the teams leave a lot to be desired.
Post by: AZOffaly on August 02, 2010, 03:25:08 PM
But sure you can't have it both ways. If you are going to rank the teams, and everyone is bad (as you are suggesting) then someone has to be in the top 8.

I think what you are saying is that the standard overall is poor, which is certainly a point of view that is held by many people, but that is not to say that Leinster is any worse than any of the other provinces. Apart from not producing a Tyrone or a Kerry, Leinster is fine. Dublin were our Kerry, but they didn't have the confidence or moxey in themselves to go on from Leinster.

I think if you were to rank the teams, at least 3 or 4 Leinster teams would be in the current top 10. You might say that the entire top 10 are poor, but that's a different argument.
Post by: From the Bunker on August 02, 2010, 03:28:24 PM
Quote from: demusicman on August 02, 2010, 03:21:16 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on August 02, 2010, 03:05:38 PM

I suggest you look at the greater picture. E.G. where would you rate Meath.? Are they in the top eight in the country ? I wish but I dont think they are.
The same can be said for many other counties. Prior to this weekend results where would you rate Kerry and Tyrone? now where are they in the rankings.
The championship i yes is competitive  and exciting but the quality of the teams leave a lot to be desired.

Still in the Top 4 or 5.
Post by: demusicman on August 02, 2010, 03:30:09 PM
FROM THE BUNKER- grow up you and Spillane must be the same person.
At least he won medals for Kerry.
When did Louth win a medal of any sort? Oh sorry they  got one one a few years ago  they collected one was it in Chicago. Congrats
Post by: AZOffaly on August 02, 2010, 03:31:30 PM
Quote from: demusicman on August 02, 2010, 03:30:09 PM
When did Louth win a medal of any sort? Oh sorry they one one a few years ago  they collected one was it in Chicago. Congrats

Where would you rank Kerry and Tyrone? And there's no need for the smart comment re Louth. They should have had another Leinster this year, so as a Meath man I'd not be drawing attention to that fact. You also seem to be mixing up Louth and Cavan.
Post by: From the Bunker on August 02, 2010, 03:40:13 PM
Quote from: demusicman on August 02, 2010, 03:30:09 PM
When did Louth win a medal of any sort? Oh sorry they  got one one a few years ago  they collected one was it in Chicago. Congrats

Grow up, Louth were not the one's with the ball under their arm running off home cause they were afraid they would be beat in a replay. And by the way you should never judge people by the medals they have especially Leinster 2010 medals.  ;D
Post by: demusicman on August 02, 2010, 03:46:09 PM
AZ OFFALY
Not mixing up anything . Meath are LEINSTER CHAMPIONS. Whether they should be is a now dead debate. The mistakes made are not not of Meaths doing.
http://www.irish-news.sceala.com/irish-news/irish-news-headlines-10063278.htmlt
At least we are not BOSTON BURGLARS :)
Post by: AZOffaly on August 02, 2010, 03:49:27 PM
I see. Apologies on the Tommy Muphy Cup thing. Very clever.

The point I was making was that if I was from Meath, the last thing I'd be doing is sneering Louth for not having medals, given the extremely fortunate way in which Meath won theirs.

Now, what way would you rank the top teams at the moment, especially in regard to, say, Tyrone and Kerry.
Post by: demusicman on August 02, 2010, 04:01:50 PM
AZ OFFALY
Glad to see we are not taken life too serious. Bank Holiday Blues. ::)
My County Ranking as of to-day are as follow
1. CORK
2.KERRY
3.KILDARE
4.DUBLIN
5.DOWN
Post by: DB_An_Mhi on August 02, 2010, 04:02:30 PM
Quote from: Hardy on August 02, 2010, 03:18:36 PM
I cannot see any strategy, game plan or tactics that this team is playing to or has been coached to. When you have a number of good players on the field and they get good possession, they will turn in an impressive performance if the opposition lets them. That's what happened against Dublin and Laois.

When they meet a team like Kildare, playing to a system, with an organised defence and a game plan that everyone fully understands and implements, they flounder. And there is no support at all from the sideline. This is not a team without a Plan B. It's a team with no plan at all.

I've bemoaned here many times before the lack of reaction from the management to obvious problems. It's beyond conjecture now. This management doesn't do anything tactically. The team would fare as well if they came with just the bagman and his bag of jerseys.

Hardy, you have a refreshing candour and a way with words.

If only we learned from our shortcomings rather than denying them and setting out the following year with false hope. Are power politics at county board level preventing us from getting the right person and backroom team in place (a progressive one) to effect the necessary changes. Restructure things and move with the times.
Post by: AZOffaly on August 02, 2010, 04:05:16 PM
Quote from: demusicman on August 02, 2010, 04:01:50 PM
AZ OFFALY
1. CORK
2.KERRY
3.KILDARE
4.DUBLIN
5.DOWN

So it's only Tyrone you'd have a problem with in the top 4 or 5? I don't think I'd have Kerry as high as Tyrone to be honest. These are all sort of pointless, but I'd probably have it along the lines of

Cork
Tyrone
Kildare
Kerry
Dublin
Down
Post by: demusicman on August 02, 2010, 04:12:22 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on August 02, 2010, 04:05:16 PM
Quote from: demusicman on August 02, 2010, 04:01:50 PM
AZ OFFALY
1. CORK
2.KERRY
3.KILDARE
4.DUBLIN
5.DOWN

So it's only Tyrone you'd have a problem with in the top 4 or 5? I don't think I'd have Kerry as high as Tyrone to be honest. These are all sort of pointless, but I'd probably have it along the lines of

Cork
Tyrone
Kildare
Kerry
Dublin
Down

Kerry were favs on saturday morning to retain their all ireland title. Just an opinion
Post by: AZOffaly on August 02, 2010, 04:15:46 PM
Yeah, I see where you're coming from, but I think Kerry without Darragh O'Sé, Tommy Walsh and Tadgh Kennelly are weaker than last year. In all cases the people replacing them Quirke, Sheehan and Donnacha Walsh are lesser players.

So even with Galvin and Tomás I'd have downgraded Kerry slightly, and would be thinking Tyrone would beat them.
Post by: agorm on August 02, 2010, 04:42:02 PM
Quote from: Hardy on August 02, 2010, 03:18:36 PM
Super show by Kildare. Sorely disappointing capitulation by us.

I'm writing this without having seen a paper or this board or anything else, so that I can say to myself what I think.  What I think is that this is a team going nowhere but backwards. Anything positive that happened this year, including the good performances against Dublin and Laois, were just pot luck, as far as I can see.

Yesterday it was the full back line (again) being torn to pieces. The other 30 teams in the country (feckit even the 31st, Kilkenny) would have brought a forward back to be an extra defender in front of the full backs. Our pet goldfish would have seen the need to take Harrington out of his purgatory. But Eamonn O'Brien stood on the sideline for 75 minutes with his chin in his hand and did nothing. It's not as if this can have been a surprise to him and his selectors. We've had no defence for two years. What have they been doing to deal with that? Nothing I can see.

I'll buy a pint for any Meath supporter who can point to one tactical change made from the sideline in any championship game this year or last. I don't count the substitutions from the set list that doesn't seem to vary no matter what the circumstances of the game.

That's all there is to say, really. We managed to get to an All-Ireland quarter final with no input from the sideline. I think we knew, but didn't admit to ourselves, that it would come to a bad end.

Congratulations to Kildare. A great performance by a team that knows what it's doing. But I'd caution them not to take too much from yesterday. They beat nothing much.
Hardy, the irionic thing about the Leinster win is that O Brien will probably be deemed to be a success now because of it and will almost certainly keep his position in spite of the above which i agree with.

He doesnt come across in interviews as having any spark or as someone that could make that motivational half time speech or could generate a never say die belief from his players. While on paper there seems to be improvement with the Leinster win I have very little confidence that he can take us to the next level.

It was reported during the discussions on the Louth replay at the time that Meath management were "strongly against" a replay with Louth. That left a bad taste in my mouth at the time. I am not a lover of Louth (and even less after reading the crap from their so called supporters since) but I asked myself several times "what would sean Boylan have done?". I think Sean would have been a bigger man in those circumstances, I think Sean would have had an inner confidence in himself and his players that they could improve on the first display and identify and iron out the deficiencies that were so clearly displayed in the second half vs Louth. o'Brien hasnt come even close to irioning out those problem areas.
Post by: Jinxy on August 02, 2010, 04:47:20 PM
I said it before and I'll say it again.
We are a team that is managed, not a team that is coached.
We eschew tactics as some sort of celtic-tiger affectation in the belief that bombing the ball into our forwards will eventually bear fruit.
When we can't get hold of the ball around the middle we are bereft of attacking ideas.
We have some excellent players but FFS we need to develop a new style.
And that has to start in the league and we should be doing our level best to win promotion to Div. 1.
We don't have the athleticism and organisation to push for major honours.
However, these are things that can be worked on, but the county board and team management have to wake up and smell the coffee.
Post by: Jinxy on August 02, 2010, 05:01:33 PM
Just watched the match in full there.
Is it even possible to legally tackle John Doyle?  :D
Post by: Mac2 on August 02, 2010, 05:36:09 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on August 02, 2010, 04:47:20 PM
I said it before and I'll say it again.
We are a team that is managed, not a team that is coached.
We eschew tactics as some sort of celtic-tiger affectation in the belief that bombing the ball into our forwards will eventually bear fruit.
When we can't get hold of the ball around the middle we are bereft of attacking ideas.
We have some excellent players but FFS we need to develop a new style.
And that has to start in the league and we should be doing our level best to win promotion to Div. 1.
We don't have the athleticism and organisation to push for major honours.
However, these are things that can be worked on, but the county board and team management have to wake up and smell the coffee.
Is this what the celtic tiger has done, never thought I'd hear a meath-man use an expression like that.
Post by: Dinny Breen on August 02, 2010, 06:00:53 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on August 02, 2010, 05:01:33 PM
Just watched the match in full there.
Is it even possible to legally tackle John Doyle?  :D

Maybe if they tackled the ball and not JD they might have better success  ;)
Post by: Jinxy on August 02, 2010, 06:09:56 PM
He got a few soft ones now Dinny.  ;)
Post by: Dinny Breen on August 02, 2010, 06:20:10 PM
There was a lot of soft frees and penalties but Doyle is clever in that in protects the ball in hunchback like fashion just waiting for the contact and the Meath defenders were a bit dumb in that they fell for it a lot. However Kildare were definitely awarded a phantom free with about 8 mins to go for a slight nudge on Sweeny as Kavanagh went up for and missed the ball. It was crucial as it restored Kildares lead back to 3.
Post by: Jinxy on August 02, 2010, 06:51:17 PM
In general I think players are now ducking and twisting as they are tackled so the tacklers arm goes over their shoulder.
Straight away the ref thinks "that's close to the neck/head" and blows for a free.
Chris O'Connor and Seamus Kenny were both harshly booked imho for tackles of this nature on JD.
Post by: Bord na Mona man on August 02, 2010, 06:53:28 PM
Near the end, did the ref move the ball up about 20+ metres for Meath dissent?
There was a foul around the '65 metre line and the ref sprinted away with the ball and left it at about the '45.
Was it a double punishment (13 metres X 2) or did he just lose the run of himself and carry it a huge distance?
Post by: Dinny Breen on August 02, 2010, 06:55:31 PM
He lost the run of himself but Eoghan O'Flaherty also stole about 5 yards as well...
Post by: Jinxy on August 02, 2010, 06:57:25 PM
Quote from: Bord na Mona man on August 02, 2010, 06:53:28 PM
Near the end, did the ref move the ball up about 20+ metres for Meath dissent?
There was a foul around the '65 metre line and the ref sprinted away with the ball and left it at about the '45.
Was it a double punishment (13 metres X 2) or did he just lose the run of himself and carry it a huge distance?

I was thinking he ran an awful long way.  :D
Fair dues to O'Flaherty though, he still had to put it over.
Post by: Jinxy on August 02, 2010, 07:37:56 PM
By the way, does that keeper carry on like that with the umpires in every game?
He was roaring and waving his arms after nearly every Meath point.
Even the ones that went over the black spot.
Post by: Dinny Breen on August 02, 2010, 07:39:37 PM
Yep every bloody game, more annoying than a 6 upside down....
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on August 02, 2010, 07:48:36 PM
Very annoying habit. Hate to see it along with other keepers who roar 'wide' or 'post' when a freetaker is kicking.
Post by: Jinxy on August 02, 2010, 08:10:47 PM
It was actually pretty funny. 
Graham Reilly scored a point in the first half that was a good 3 feet inside the post and the goalie went bananas at the umpire.
I'm not sure if he's doing it because he genuinely thinks they are wide, he's trying to play mind-games with the umpires, or he's actually just mad.  :D
Post by: AZOffaly on August 02, 2010, 08:11:44 PM
It could be all three. Some of them were so far 'in' that it was not funny. Maybe it's like a goalkeepers version of Tourettes.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on August 02, 2010, 10:30:35 PM
He is an Allenwood man afterall
Post by: Jinxy on August 02, 2010, 10:37:51 PM
A lot of loose cannons in Allenwood.
Post by: demusicman on August 03, 2010, 04:25:43 PM
A warning or even a yellow card by The Ref would soon put a stop to Goalkeepers  behaving like this. :-\