GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Kerry Mike on June 28, 2010, 09:13:49 PM

Title: All Star for Cluxton 2010
Post by: Kerry Mike on June 28, 2010, 09:13:49 PM
I want to congratulate Stephen Cluxton on another great All Star award, well deserved.
Title: Re: All Star for Cluxton 2010
Post by: put-it-up on June 28, 2010, 09:22:34 PM
Haha, in fairness now he didn't get all that much protection but he shoulda done better with one, if not two of them. Like most Dublin player's he is good, but if he played with any other county he would have nowhere near the profile he has. Look at Fennell. I think he is a big donkey.

Anyway maybe he ate one of these at half-time.

(http://mohebban.burjalsaheb.com/wp-content/uploads/2009/04/butterfinger.jpg)
Post by: Hound on June 28, 2010, 09:26:26 PM
Thankfully I can always rely on finding a bunch of saddos on gaaboard to cheer me up!
Post by: The Real Laoislad on June 28, 2010, 09:27:40 PM
Being out on the piss in Kilkenny last weekend probably didn't help him yesterday
Post by: put-it-up on June 28, 2010, 09:29:56 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on June 28, 2010, 09:27:40 PM
Being out on the piss in Kilkenny last weekend probably didn't help him yesterday

It hardly was the cause of it either. One good lie-on and that is out of the system  ;D
Post by: Jinxy on June 28, 2010, 09:31:50 PM
How was Cluxton to blame?  ???
Post by: put-it-up on June 28, 2010, 09:34:53 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on June 28, 2010, 09:31:50 PM
How was Cluxton to blame?  ???

He wasn't to blame. But if he is as good as people think he is one, if not two as I already said were saveable. I just didn't think Cluxton looked overly sharp. But in the name of the Lord Jaysus, The loss was far from his fault.
Post by: Jinxy on June 28, 2010, 09:38:27 PM
The first goal was the only one he had a chance with in my opinion.
Post by: put-it-up on June 28, 2010, 09:40:34 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on June 28, 2010, 09:38:27 PM

Ward's was definetly saveable Jinxy.

Sheridan's was saveable too...if he had of positioned himself at the post ;D
Post by: INDIANA on June 28, 2010, 10:16:30 PM
Quote from: Kerry Mike on June 28, 2010, 09:13:49 PM
I want to congratulate Stephen Cluxton on another great All Star award, well deserved.

Stick it up your jaxy Mike. Wonder will your resident toe-rag get one this year?
Post by: magpie seanie on June 28, 2010, 10:20:51 PM
I laughed when I saw this as the exact same thought went through my head when the 5th goal was banged into the Hill end. A good run in the qualifers and he'll be back in contention for his annual award!
Post by: ardmhachaabu on June 28, 2010, 10:25:23 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on June 28, 2010, 10:16:30 PM

Stick it up your jaxy Mike. Wonder will your resident toe-rag get one this year?

Sour grapes?
Post by: Jinxy on June 28, 2010, 10:26:15 PM
Quote from: put-it-up on June 28, 2010, 09:40:34 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on June 28, 2010, 09:38:27 PM

Ward's was definetly saveable Jinxy.

Sheridan's was saveable too...if he had of positioned himself at the post ;D

It was right in the corner!
Post by: heffo on June 28, 2010, 10:54:52 PM

Put a leash and muzzel on your kn**ker and mind your own business
Post by: Kerry Mike on June 28, 2010, 11:06:13 PM
QuotePut a leash and muzzel on your kn**ker and mind your own business

yerra I wont.
Post by: muppet on June 28, 2010, 11:08:09 PM
Quote from: Kerry Mike on June 28, 2010, 11:06:13 PM

yerra I wont.

In fairness that was below the crossbar belt.
Post by: Declan on June 29, 2010, 08:07:55 AM
Mike never lets us down only himself
Post by: AZOffaly on June 29, 2010, 09:58:19 AM
Lads, are ye mixing Kerry Mike up with Mike Sheehy again?
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on June 29, 2010, 10:14:18 AM
Quote from: AZOffaly on June 29, 2010, 09:58:19 AM

Thought that myself AZ, great laugh though seeing the reaction :D 
Post by: Hound on June 29, 2010, 01:02:53 PM
Mike Sheehy has nothing to do with this thread.
Post by: Billys Boots on June 29, 2010, 04:36:09 PM

yerra I wont.

Best reply of the year, almost onomatopoeic, if I may say so.  ;D
Post by: turk on June 29, 2010, 04:39:25 PM
Quote from: Billys Boots on June 29, 2010, 04:36:09 PM

yerra I wont.

Agreed! It was excellent!!
Post by: Hardy on June 29, 2010, 04:44:25 PM
Quote from: Billys Boots on June 29, 2010, 04:36:09 PM

yerra I wont.

Best spelt reply of the year.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on June 29, 2010, 05:50:54 PM
QuoteBest spelt reply of the year

Hardy - there's a story behind why Billy and I can spell onomatopoeia but that's another day's work!
Post by: Kerry Mike on June 29, 2010, 06:35:18 PM
yerra I can't fecking spell "onomatopoeia" nor do I know what the feck it means but wikipedia has it as "Common occurrences of onomatopoeias include animal noises, such as "oink" or "meow" or "roar". " 

Good enough for me, I like onomatopoeia......

There were a few onomatopoeiasks on the Hill after the 5th goal on Sunday I'd say.
Post by: Mike Sheehy on June 30, 2010, 12:00:05 AM
Quote from: Hound on June 29, 2010, 01:02:53 PM
Mike Sheehy has nothing to do with this thread.

I get blamed for everything around here. I know how Paul Galvin feels now.
Post by: INDIANA on June 30, 2010, 12:12:23 AM
Quote from: Kerry Mike on June 29, 2010, 06:35:18 PM
yerra I can't fecking spell "onomatopoeia" nor do I know what the feck it means but wikipedia has it as "Common occurrences of onomatopoeias include animal noises, such as "oink" or "meow" or "roar". " 

Good enough for me, I like onomatopoeia......

There were a few onomatopoeiasks on the Hill after the 5th goal on Sunday I'd say.

lack of education Mike. Don't worry about it. Jackie Healy Rae is lobbying hard for basic english to be taught to the hedge schools in kerry.
Post by: Mike Sheehy on June 30, 2010, 12:51:52 AM
why are Dubliners so good at selling drugs but so shit at playing football ?
Post by: hairyhog on June 30, 2010, 01:00:12 AM
 :D :D there it is, the comment we were all waiting for
Post by: Declan on June 30, 2010, 08:30:02 AM
Quotewhy are Dubliners so good at selling drugs but so shit at playing football ?

So little to say but it says so much about the yerras
Post by: Billys Boots on June 30, 2010, 09:02:39 AM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on June 29, 2010, 05:50:54 PM
QuoteBest spelt reply of the year

Hardy - there's a story behind why Billy and I can spell onomatopoeia but that's another day's work!

Jaysus SS, don't remind me.  >:(
Post by: Hardy on June 30, 2010, 09:21:32 AM
Cant leave that one hanging lads ...
Post by: Shamrock Shore on June 30, 2010, 09:50:47 AM
QuoteCant leave that one hanging lads ...

Nothing too exciting Hardy. All goes back to our English teacher in Mels in 2nd year in 1980. Would you believe that this was the first time he ever taught English! Anyway we came across 'onomatopoeia' and he hadn't a baldy what it meant and so he spent the entire class getting us all to remember how to spell it.
Post by: Billys Boots on June 30, 2010, 09:55:47 AM
Ah, it's nothing interesting really; when myself and SS were in secondary school we had a gloriously inept English (the language) teacher who was obsessed by Greek (the language).  We learned very little about English, apart from a lot of English words that had their origin in Greek, including ...

I can spell it because, ahem, most of our English exams in school were actually about how much of the English language derived from Greek (and marks were allotted for spelling).

How did a yerra slagging match turn into this?
Post by: Declan on June 30, 2010, 10:22:50 AM
QuoteHow did a yerra slagging match turn into this?

This is a lot more entertaining than dem yahoos trying to slag
Post by: blanketattack on June 30, 2010, 11:09:53 AM
Was the '78 All-Ireland final, the last time Dublin left in 5 goals?
Post by: Hardy on June 30, 2010, 11:20:21 AM
Quote from: Declan on June 30, 2010, 10:22:50 AM
QuoteHow did a yerra slagging match turn into this?

This is a lot more entertaining than dem yahoos trying to slag

Indeed. Still, we mustn't let the slagging flag. The only joke I've heard so far about Sunday:

What's the difference between a Dublin goalie and a Dublin taxi driver?
- The taxi driver will only let four in.
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on June 30, 2010, 11:26:24 AM
Or, "Whats the time?  5 past cluxton........"
Post by: Coddler on June 30, 2010, 04:30:06 PM
Quote from: Mike Sheehy on June 30, 2010, 12:51:52 AM

Why are the kerrymen so good at poking their sisters and yet so shit at hurling?  ;)
Post by: muppet on June 30, 2010, 04:50:09 PM
Quote from: blanketattack on June 30, 2010, 11:09:53 AM

No, that was the last time Dublin let in 5 goals.
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on June 30, 2010, 09:07:48 PM

Maybe we should take up selling drugs in Mayo based on that observation.
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on June 30, 2010, 09:09:26 PM
Quote from: Coddler on June 30, 2010, 04:30:06 PM

Why are the kerrymen so good at poking their sisters and yet so shit at hurling?  ;)

Dublin has the highest rates of incest in the country, so maybe your throwing a stone in a greenhouse there.
Post by: fearglasmor on June 30, 2010, 09:36:18 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on June 30, 2010, 09:09:26 PM

Dublin has the highest rates of incest in the country, so maybe your throwing a stone in a greenhouse there.

Is that because of all the country folk living there ?

Enough give the poor Dubs a break......
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on June 30, 2010, 09:45:51 PM
Quote from: fearglasmor on June 30, 2010, 09:36:18 PM

Is that because of all the country folk living there ?

Enough give the poor Dubs a break......

A I'm not slagging, I only have two posts on this thread and the other was to say that if selling drugs and poor football are somehow connected re someone elses comment, Maybe Mayo should look into it. A Mayoman is not going to rubbish Dublin this week, at least they still in it.

But it was Coddler who made a comment about Kerry people poking their sisters, this stupid comment out of Dubs I have heard it quite a bit. But 3 or 4 years back there was a report in the papers saying the traditional county of Dublin had far higher rates of incest than any other traditional county. When I found that article I made sure the Dubs I worked with read it, after that they had to stop the country folk shaging their relatives jokes as I had shown them the evidence that they the Dubs where far more likely to be the sick b**tards.
Post by: heffo on June 30, 2010, 10:49:26 PM

Source?
Post by: IolarCoisCuain on June 30, 2010, 10:51:48 PM
Anybody know where Tankie is these days? Haven't seen him around in a while.
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on June 30, 2010, 10:56:17 PM
Quote from: heffo on June 30, 2010, 10:49:26 PM

Source?

I will try and find it, but I was reading the Irish Indo and the Irish Times at that time, so probably there.
Post by: Declan on July 01, 2010, 10:12:51 AM
QuoteI watched it again
Jaysus Hound those masochistic tendencies are strong ;)
Post by: AZOffaly on July 01, 2010, 10:41:51 AM
Quote from: muppet on June 30, 2010, 04:50:09 PM

Left is perfect in the context of that sentence Muppet, as 'left' is part of the vernacular in Kerry where most people would say 'let'.

e.g. They left him in to the nightclub

Others include 'carried' instead of 'brought', as in 'I carried my car to the garage'.

Another is 'A chairde gael, ta an athas orm' whereas most of us would say 'Ah shite, not again'.
Post by: lynchbhoy on July 01, 2010, 02:48:44 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on July 01, 2010, 10:41:51 AM
Quote from: muppet on June 30, 2010, 04:50:09 PM

Left is perfect in the context of that sentence Muppet, as 'left' is part of the vernacular in Kerry where most people would say 'let'.

e.g. They left him in to the nightclub

Others include 'carried' instead of 'brought', as in 'I carried my car to the garage'.

Another is 'A chairde gael, ta an athas orm' whereas most of us would say 'Ah shite, not again'.
cannot agree AZ
it's just bad usage of the english language

its more like 'boglish' !

anyow - how did a dig at Cluxton end up about incest, drug selling and english words originating from greek lingo !!
Post by: AZOffaly on July 01, 2010, 02:51:33 PM
It's definitely bad use, but it's not a typo :)
Post by: lynchbhoy on July 01, 2010, 03:55:09 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on July 01, 2010, 02:51:33 PM
It's definitely bad use, but it's not a typo :)
yerra yerra  ;) :D
Post by: Kerry Mike on July 01, 2010, 08:53:23 PM
QuoteAnother is 'A chairde gael, ta an athas orm' whereas most of us would say 'Ah shite, not again'.

ah now AZ yerra its only July , Sept is a long way away yet.
Post by: Aaron Boone on July 01, 2010, 09:37:27 PM
Interesting at this stage as to who could be All-Star keeper: Kerry's is new, Tyrone's could swap, Meath's was sent off, Monaghan's was the full-back.

That leaves us with Cork's if they make the semi+.
Post by: Kerry Mike on July 01, 2010, 09:39:54 PM
wont be Kerry's Kealy too many mistakes but the year is young  ;)
Post by: Frank Casey on July 01, 2010, 11:09:31 PM
On the basis that Dublin will win feck all this year I'd have to go with Cluxton again, same as his previous ones.
Post by: Celt_Man on July 02, 2010, 01:33:01 AM
Quote from: Aaron Boone on July 01, 2010, 09:37:27 PM
Interesting at this stage as to who could be All-Star keeper: Kerry's is new, Tyrone's could swap, Meath's was sent off, Monaghan's was the full-back.

oh fook, if those farney boys go on any sort of a run, they could give him the All-Star for the sheer oddity of it...  Tyrone better do the needful so....
Post by: liihb on July 02, 2010, 09:28:18 AM
In my opinion Cluxton's not even the best goalie in Dublin, Shane Supple who came home from Ipswich is putting his time in at club level, and if they don't look at him next year it'll be a travesty. Pure class, and none of the space cadet antics that Cluxton gets up to
Post by: Mike Sheehy on July 02, 2010, 09:37:27 AM
Wait for it, Dublin will win a few games via the back door and suddenly there will be an orchestrated D4 media campaign to get clucko his allstar. In fact they'll probably be looking for an all-strar for whelo or Ryano even though they are not playing. Its a disgrace really...these token all-stars just to keep the Dub's happy.
Post by: Jinxy on July 02, 2010, 11:14:46 AM

And replaced by a better keeper.
Post by: lynchbhoy on July 02, 2010, 12:36:38 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on July 02, 2010, 11:14:46 AM

And replaced by a better keeper.
indeed
only two counties have arguably better goalies as backups
Meath - how could Murphy ever be a backup !
Dublin - actually supple is prob third choice not even second !
Post by: Hound on July 03, 2010, 07:55:21 AM
Quote from: Declan on July 01, 2010, 10:12:51 AM
QuoteI watched it again
It actually cheered me up a bit, well the first half anyway, in we're not quite as bad as people are making out.

We dominated the first half possessionwise (probably McConnell and Fennell's finest combined 35 in blue), but the scoresheet read 0-8 to 1-5. 1-1 of Meath's total coming from ridiculous refeering decisions, and our scoring boots werent on unfortunately. 8 points isnt a bad total for 35 minutes but each of Bernard, Keaney, Corkery, Fennell and Cahill all missed handy point chances from 30 yards or closer. We should have been well ahead at the break. O'Rourke caused us a few problems in the first quarter (and of course we were completely out of position or asleep when the ref made the nonsense decision to pull up Cahill and Bray brilliantly took advantage) but otherwise our defence coped well with the Meath attack in the 1st half.

The 2nd half was a different story, and you can point to stages when an IF or a BUT might have changed things such as Flynn's miss and Bernard's disallowed goal and two questionable ref decisions that led directly to Meath goals, but the ref didnt put the ball in the net. Meath's finishing was absolutely sublime, their forwards did make our defenders look poor and in the end there's no question that they were deserving winners. Fact is they hammered us. But I wouldnt be scared of meeting them again, if we were lucky enough to get a run in the qualifiers (not that I'd be confident of winning either, a 50/50 game I think).
Post by: INDIANA on July 03, 2010, 12:59:06 PM
Quote from: Hound on July 03, 2010, 07:55:21 AM
QuoteI watched it again
It actually cheered me up a bit, well the first half anyway, in we're not quite as bad as people are making out.

We dominated the first half possessionwise (probably McConnell and Fennell's finest combined 35 in blue), but the scoresheet read 0-8 to 1-5. 1-1 of Meath's total coming from ridiculous refeering decisions, and our scoring boots werent on unfortunately. 8 points isnt a bad total for 35 minutes but each of Bernard, Keaney, Corkery, Fennell and Cahill all missed handy point chances from 30 yards or closer. We should have been well ahead at the break. O'Rourke caused us a few problems in the first quarter (and of course we were completely out of position or asleep when the ref made the nonsense decision to pull up Cahill and Bray brilliantly took advantage) but otherwise our defence coped well with the Meath attack in the 1st half.

The 2nd half was a different story, and you can point to stages when an IF or a BUT might have changed things such as Flynn's miss and Bernard's disallowed goal and two questionable ref decisions that led directly to Meath goals, but the ref didnt put the ball in the net. Meath's finishing was absolutely sublime, their forwards did make our defenders look poor and in the end there's no question that they were deserving winners. Fact is they hammered us. But I wouldnt be scared of meeting them again, if we were lucky enough to get a run in the qualifiers (not that I'd be confident of winning either, a 50/50 game I think).

In summary:

- The replay cheered you up a bit

- But the fact remains Meath hammered us.

Something not making sense.
Post by: Hound on July 04, 2010, 09:11:40 AM
Quote from: INDIANA on July 03, 2010, 12:59:06 PM
Quote from: Hound on July 03, 2010, 07:55:21 AM
QuoteI watched it again

In summary:

- The replay cheered you up a bit

- But the fact remains Meath hammered us.

Something not making sense.
Maybe you missed the "well the first half anyway" bit.
Post by: Rufus T Firefly on August 02, 2010, 05:16:41 PM

Very astute KM - not too many would have made that call back then, but you're on the money as usual!!   ;)