Well folks any thoughts on this one yet? After last years damp squib I don't know what to expect. On form Meath will be favourites but form can sometimes mean nothing in these games. Unless Dublin improve 100% from the Wexford game I can only see a Royal victory and it's been nearly 10 years since they beat Dublin in a championship game.
well theres no way the Dubs can be that bad again. Im expecting a huge backlash from them, and reckon we may have to come from behind to win this one!
It's not like the Dubs to have such a bad game so early in the Championship. It's usually about the QF stage when their up against decent opposition. Perhaps they just got it out of the way ;)
It is now officially a proper summer. ;D
Yeah, lookin forward to this one alright.. has the makings of a cracker. Two attacking teams with a fierce rivalry. Get the taytos and choc ices out..
Quote from: GrandMasterFlash on June 21, 2010, 11:36:59 AM
Yeah, lookin forward to this one alright.. has the makings of a cracker. Two attacking teams with a fierce rivalry. Get the taytos and choc ices out..
Well.....one anyway! ;)
Hard to know what the Dublin team will be. Midfield got destroyed v Wexford, yet I think it was McConnell and Magee that won the midfield battle v Meath handy enough last year (and not much between Fennell and Magee, prefer Fennell personally). Plus Gilroy has stuck with that pairing throughout the league. Not too many other options anyway. McAuley is the obvious one but seems to be regarded as a half forward by management. There's some doubt whether Darren Magee is even on the panel this year - he was in the crowd for the Wexford game.
Not sure whether O'Carroll will pick up Sheridan or O'Rourke. Probably he'll go on whoever plays full forward with Mick Fitz on the other and McMahon on Ward. Reilly is clearly a dangerman so I wouldnt be surprised if Henry keeps a close eye on him, whether from half forward or half back.
Still anyone's guess whether Brogan, McAuley, Cullen, O'Gara, Quinn will break into the team. Presumably yes for the first two at least.
I've never been to a Dublin/Meath game... looking forward to it!
I have been to a few. You start off sitting there like an UN observer supporting nobody in particular and 2 seconds after the throw in you're roaring with the rest.
I look forward to seeing what Meath can do in this game.
Personally would like to see us lose this one. Qualifiers mght suit us better this year and if we are to be bet (highly likely) would prefer it to be without having won Leinster. "6 Leinsters no Sam" is not the sneer I want to hear.
O'Sullivan will be back in 3weeks or so.
Happy enough with our attitude at underage level to write this season off.
However, I feel that (just a hunch mind) that we will take one of the "big three" down this season but won't be able to down 2/3 of them to win it out.
3 lads on team last time imo not intercounty material.
Quote from: Canalman on June 21, 2010, 02:31:32 PM
Personally would like to see us lose this one. Qualifiers mght suit us better this year and if we are to be bet (highly likely) would prefer it to be without having won Leinster. "6 Leinsters no Sam" is not the sneer I want to hear.
Would you like to gamble on a meeting with Cork next time out rather than a softer option in the Leinster final. If you think Dublin wouldn't get past 2 of the big teams losing in Leinster is increasing the chance of meeting 2 of them earlier.
dunno where that attitude comes from, like to lose. no team should ever like to lose. Anyway, with alot of the big names in the qualifers this year, I think the straight way is easiest! Presonally Id like to win this one!
presume the fixture of double header will stay as is? Bound to be sell out
Quote from: meathie on June 21, 2010, 02:47:19 PM
presume the fixture of double header will stay as is? Bound to be sell out
No chance it will sell out, still too much apathy in Dublin and Meath don't bring the crowds they use to plus Louth and Westmeath will only bring 10-15K.
QuoteBound to be sell out
Don't think so. Agree with Dinny re the apathy etc. Even the slagging in the local last night was low key
I'll hardly get a cheap flight for this one at this late stage. Feck it, I'd love to go.
Think we have a really decent chance of winning this one, 1st time in 9 years. Hard to believe its been that long. Can still remember the Hill in full voice and arms aloft the day we relinguished dominance to the Dubs in 2002.
What worried me was our fitness the 1st day compared to the Dubs who never let up for the 90minutes where as we tired towards the end of the 70mins. Havent seen the replay yet but it seems injuries have forced our hand here.
Meade and Gilespie will be our midfield, McGuinness or O'Brien will have to fill in for Burke. (according to reports he wouldnt have broken his leg if he had shorter hair, source unconfirmed)
O'Sullivan will be back in 3weeks or so.
Happy enough with our attitude at underage level to write this season off.
However, I feel that (just a hunch mind) that we will take one of the "big three" down this season but won't be able to down 2/3 of them to win it out.
3 lads on team last time imo not intercounty material.
Sorry but no Dublin fan should even be contemplating looking forward to losing to Meath or any other team.....This idea that losing a game is a good idea is bollix in my opinion...
Cannot see a case for anything other than Meath by 6+
"6 Leinsters no Sam" is not the sneer I want to hear.
"no Leinsters no Sam" would be a lot worse!!
While winning Leinster this year is no big concern of mine, it is great that the Meath rivalry is back and I'm damn sure I don't want to be reminded whats it like to lose to those guys.
I can certainly understand why neutrals lke paddypastit and Dinny Breen are not only predicting a Meath win, but a relatively comfortable Meath win. Dublin will presumably be favourites with the bookies, but I reckon the majority of pundits will go for Meath. And given the Dubs have beaten them so many times in a row, by the law of averages Meath will win one shortly.
The Wexford game by itself doesnt worry me, but it is on the back of a mediocre league campaign (two decent performances bookending 5 disappointing ones - even if we somehow won 3 of those), and we've been stinkingly bad in challenge games.
However, the criticisms have been done to death, now is the time to be positive. If Kerry, Tyrone, or even Meath had come back from 7 points down and 1 man down with 20 minutes or so left, I believe they might have got a tad more praise, and it would have been put down to more than fitness. The comeback started with two great points off their weaker left foot by Flynn and Alan Brogan. The pass to Bernard by Keaney for the goal was inch perfect. We have some footballers, and we played some nice football towards the end.
Will we be good enough to beat Meath? I hope so. I think so!
Either way, here's hoping for a good tough clean game, and that the best team wins.
Every Dub I meet is telling me Meath will hammer them. ::)
Looks like Crawford will play some part on Sunday, that is a relief! Moyles ok too.I used to hate people building Meath up but this year Im going with the flow! Its worked so far. We're quietly confident, I like when we're quietly confident. Look Dublin/Meath games are unknown every year. this one will be no different. Talk us up play yourselves down, makes no odds come the day, we just dont know!
Quote from: Zapatista on June 21, 2010, 02:40:06 PM
Would you like to gamble on a meeting with Cork next time out rather than a softer option in the Leinster final. If you think Dublin wouldn't get past 2 of the big teams losing in Leinster is increasing the chance of meeting 2 of them earlier.
plus the team that will lose this one goes into round
2 of the qualifiers, whereas the winner will end up in either round
4 or the AI quarter-final. Big difference. Only a fool would want to lose this one.
I think what Canalman meant to say was that it might be a blessing in disguise if Dublin lost this match. Winning Leinster for the past five years didn't benefit them for what followed in the AI championship.
If Dublin had to go on the road and play a few championship games outside Dublin, especially with a newish team, they may learn far more about themselves. If you embrace the playoffs and get a nice draw or two early on to build some momentum (get you started), things can develop nicely. It can also iron out selection mistakes of the past, build/find out the best possible team from the players to hand, so your more prepared for the bigger stage later on. The journey around Ireland playing various matches (emotional rollercoaster-ride of sorts, hard graft, tension, dreams and aspirations, travelling etc.) is character building and good for team spirit.
A long GAA summer can be very rewarding/memorable for the journey itself. Make the most of it. Only two counties can reach the ultimate destination and one win the prize.
Good news about Crawford,
Gillespie will most likely get the bench but I wouldnt be shocked if he gets a run if Crawford cant hack the pace.
Yes - it's going to be hard for Crawford to come in at Championship sharpness straight from injury. Midfield parity (at least) is paramount. If we don't have this from the throw-in, it could be too late realising it after twenty minutes when the game is gone. I'd be for picking a three-man midfield, with Moyles at no. 10 or 12.
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on June 22, 2010, 12:56:02 PM
Got pissed on in the front row of the Canal at the last Dublin Eastmeath game
Jaysus that's low, but you come to expect that from them lads I suppose :D I hope they didn't get it on your runners or anything...
Not a hope Dublin will win this one, Meath by 7 or 8 at least, Meath deserve the favorite tag. I just hope Dublins young new lads wont take it so hard for future sakes. Ah well.
What drugs are ye all on. Dublin will whoop 'em! Dublin by 5+. You heard it here first :)
Quote from: Jinxy on June 22, 2010, 10:37:39 AM
Every Dub I meet is telling me Meath will hammer them. ::)
Listen to those fellas - they know what they're talking about
Rory O'Carroll played centre half back for the Dublin U21 hurlers last night in their great win over Kilkenny. A bit of a surprise given he's (presumably) dead cert to play full back on Sunday for the footballers. Its not like the Dubs to be accommodating to dual players!
Yeah, a great display by O Carroll at centre back for the U21s in Nowlan park last night. His touch looked a bit rusty but he still manged to dominate the area. He'd be some prospect if he was hurling full time.
I hear that he agreed with Gilroy at the start off the year that he would hurl with the u21s as long as they remained in the championship so hopefully we'll see him again the Leinster final Vs Wexford.
Anyway ,we don't have a lot of options at full back on the senior footballers so I don't think Gilroy's in a position to drop him even if he was tempted to, so injury is the main worry for himself and the manager.
From Hoganstand
Injury doubts Nigel Crawford, Mark Ward and Anthony Moyles are all on course to play some part for Meath against Dublin on Sunday after they trained with Eamonn O'Brien's squad on Tuesday night.
Ward and Moyles suffered ankle and hamstring injuries respectively in last Saturday's Leinster SFC quarter-final replay win over Laois, but were able to take part in training, as was team captain Crawford who missed the two games against the O'Moore County due to bulging discs in his back.
Good to see. I doubt Crawford will start but may come on 2nd half. Dunno if Moyles will get starting place. His pace worries me. I have alot of time for him, but unsure how he'll cope with young Dubs
Quote from: meathie on June 24, 2010, 11:41:37 AM
From Hoganstand
Injury doubts Nigel Crawford, Mark Ward and Anthony Moyles are all on course to play some part for Meath against Dublin on Sunday after they trained with Eamonn O'Brien's squad on Tuesday night.
Ward and Moyles suffered ankle and hamstring injuries respectively in last Saturday's Leinster SFC quarter-final replay win over Laois, but were able to take part in training, as was team captain Crawford who missed the two games against the O'Moore County due to bulging discs in his back.
Good to see. I doubt Crawford will start but may come on 2nd half. Dunno if Moyles will get starting place. His pace worries me. I have alot of time for him, but unsure how he'll cope with young Dubs
Looks like Alan Brogan will start centre forward - if so, Moyles will switch I'd imagine..
yea Id McGuinness will come in centre back, if fit enough.
Would we be better off keeping Crawford in reserve if there are any doubts about his fitness?
Henry is out - Quinn, A Brogan & Cullen all in..
Quote from: heffo on June 24, 2010, 01:49:08 PM
Injured or dropped? Our captains are not having much luck this year.
I feared the praise Quinn was getting for his performance v Wexford would get him in. Personally I'd pick any of Andrews, O'Gara, McMenamon or Connolly ahead of him.
Cullen coming in should improve the passing from our half back line. Hopefully he can find someone on the slow side to mark.
Surprised that McAuley hasn't made it.
Quote from: Hound on June 24, 2010, 02:12:23 PM
Injured or dropped? Our captains are not having much luck this year.
I feared the praise Quinn was getting for his performance v Wexford would get him in. Personally I'd pick any of Andrews, O'Gara, McMenamon or Connolly ahead of him.
Cullen coming in should improve the passing from our half back line. Hopefully he can find someone on the slow side to mark.
Surprised that McAuley hasn't made it.
Dropped AFAIK - I'd expect Cullen to move into the centre - I'd say he still has nightmares about his last game on the wing for Dublin (stupidity by Gilroy to line up the defence the way they did that day)
Dublin:
1 Stephen Cluxton (Parnells)
2 Michael Fitzsimons (Cuala) - 3 Rory O'Carroll (Kilmacud) - 4 Philip McMahon (Ballymun)
5 Ger Brennan (Vincent's) - 6 Bryan Cullen (Skerries) - 7 Barry Cahill (Brigid's)
8 Eamon Fennell (O'Toole's) - 9 Ross McConnell (Plunkett's)
10 Paul Flynn (Fingallians) - 11 Alan Brogan (Plunkett's) - 12 Niall Corkery (Kilmacud)
13 Conal Keaney (Ballyboden) - 14 Bernard Brogan (Plunkett's) - 15 Tomás Quinn (Vincent's)
Can't figure how McAuley isnt in. IMO Quinn and Corkery lucky to be starting, Henry unlucky.
PP odds:
Dublin 8/11
Draw 15/2
Meath 6/4
Full team named this morning - http://www.hill16.ie/index.php?/home/comments/three-changes-to-senior-footballers-for-meath-duel/
and Meath team also
Meath (SFC v Dublin) - Brendan Murphy, Chris O'Connor, Kevin Reilly, Eoghan Harrington, Anthony Moyles, Gary O'Brien, Caomhin King, Brian Meade, Mark Ward, Seamus Kenny, Joe Sheridan, Graham Reilly, Cian Ward, Shane O'Rourke, Stephen Bray.
no McGuinness due to lack of match fitness and obviously Murphy in for O Rourke. thats it, not much change. Crawford on sub bench....
Surprised - didn't expexct Ward to make it. I'm sure we'll see Crawford fairly early. I wonder whether it will be Gary O'Brien or Moyles on Brogan? Eamonn O'Brien showing great loyalty to Bray - whether that's good or bad I don't know. Let's hope he rewards it in a big way on Sunday. Also, it's hard to see how McGuinness is to get match fit without playing in matches.
Sorry about this, but somebody has to mention it - how many of the, shall we say "floating" Dublin support will come out of the pubs before England - Gremany (including penalty shoot-out) is over?
Quote from: Hardy on June 25, 2010, 10:17:19 AM
Surprised - didn't expexct Ward to make it. I'm sure we'll see Crawford fairly early. I wonder whether it will be Gary O'Brien or Moyles on Brogan? Eamonn O'Brien showing great loyalty to Bray - whether that's good or bad I don't know. Let's hope he rewards it in a big way on Sunday. Also, it's hard to see how McGuinness is to get match fit without playing in matches.
Sorry about this, but somebody has to mention it - how many of the, shall we say "floating" Dublin support will come out of the pubs before England - Gremany (including penalty shoot-out) is over?
Kerry have been involved in more delayed throw ins than Dublin
QuoteSorry about this, but somebody has to mention it - how many of the, shall we say "floating" Dublin support will come out of the pubs before England - Gremany (including penalty shoot-out) is over?
Actually I think there'll be less bandwagoners than has been the case in previous years around on Sunday and it'll be half time in the English game at 3.45 so loads of time to get in ;) ;)
Lads does anyone know what time the ticket office on Dorset St stays open till?
Moyles unlikely to play according to my sources
I have to say that I cannot understand how the bookies are making Dublin favourites.
Let's look at it logically for a second.
One side has a generally settled team and set up, has played three championship matches already this year and was really pushed in the second of those, but survived and learned. That same team appears to have a bit of reliable strenght in depth, with a good number of scoring forwards, forwards that can win their own ball and defenders that may have some individual shortcomings but have experience of each other. Factor in also that they have the experience of twice in the past three years getting as far as the All Ireland semi, an achievement that one could only 'fluke' once and also that Croke Park is as regular a venue for them in the championship as for their opponents, which is something that they will relish attacking.
Consider by contrast a team that has had up to ten changes over two years, has in its current form only played once on Croke Park and were awful and are getting lukewarm support. There is only one line on the team – the FF line – that has any form, Last time out, the half forward line was busy but largely ineffective, the centre field was hosed and the backs by their own admission didn't click at all. Add in the weight of pressure and expectation that is placed on Dublin in any championship and I just don't see how there is even a match up.
If the names on the shirts were IarMhi and An Lu, and the match was in Navan, folk would be stacking the house on the former. Not only is Croke Park not an advantage for this Dublin team, it is a millstone.
For me there is a 6 points + advantage to Meath.
But Paddy, if this game had been each team's first championship game, with Dublin having won 5 Leinsters in a row and not having lost to Meath in championship in 9 years, and Dublin coming off the better league campaign (on paper anyway) Meath would have been at least 3/1.
The events you mentioned have closed the gap with the bookies, but the fact is Dublin must have won 20 plus championship matches in a row v Leinster opposition, and it wasnt just the Wexford game where we havent been the best team, but unless and until someone beats us, the bookies won't be making us odds against.
BTW Meath -4 are 11/2 with PP. Fill your boots!
Quote from: paddypastit on June 26, 2010, 01:03:07 AM
I have to say that I cannot understand how the bookies are making Dublin favourites.
One side has a generally settled team and set up, has played three championship matches already this year and was really pushed in the second of those, but survived and learned. That same team appears to have a bit of reliable strenght in depth, with a good number of scoring forwards, forwards that can win their own ball and defenders that may have some individual shortcomings but have experience of each other. Factor in also that they have the experience of twice in the past three years getting as far as the All Ireland semi, an achievement that one could only 'fluke' once and also that Croke Park is as regular a venue for them in the championship as for their opponents, which is something that they will relish attacking.
Consider by contrast a team that has had up to ten changes over two years, has in its current form only played once on Croke Park and were awful and are getting lukewarm support. There is only one line on the team – the FF line – that has any form, Last time out, the half forward line was busy but largely ineffective, the centre field was hosed and the backs by their own admission didn't click at all. Add in the weight of pressure and expectation that is placed on Dublin in any championship and I just don't see how there is even a match up.
If the names on the shirts were IarMhi and An Lu, and the match was in Navan, folk would be stacking the house on the former. Not only is Croke Park not an advantage for this Dublin team, it is a millstone.
aAy yes the same ould crap from some bitter country man. Croke Park is an advanatge bla bla. Meath play as much as we do there so it is no advantge there.
Tomorrow is a 50/50 game between two very medicore teams. Thats the bottom line. This is not the nineties when either dublin or meath were knocking around the top table.
aAy yes the same ould crap from some bitter country man. Croke Park is an advanatge bla bla. Meath play as much as we do there so it is no advantge there.
Tomorrow is a 50/50 game between two very medicore teams. Thats the bottom line. This is not the nineties when either dublin or meath were knocking around the top table.
I hope it is a 50/50 game. My last couple of trips to croker to see Meath playing the dubs couldnt be called 50/50 with a few questionable decisions going against Meath; (Geraghty disalowed goal in 07, the amount of stopage time in '09 and the ref blowing the final whistle as the ball was landing in the Meath full forward line with 2 Meath forwards facing 1 dublin back).
Quote from: Royalranter on June 26, 2010, 12:24:23 PM
I hope it is a 50/50 game. My last couple of trips to croker to see Meath playing the dubs couldnt be called 50/50 with a few questionable decisions going against Meath; (Geraghty disalowed goal in 07, the amount of stopage time in '09 and the ref blowing the final whistle as the ball was landing in the Meath full forward line with 2 Meath forwards facing 1 dublin back).
Sure why don't we put a meath man in charge. Will that make you haapy.
Quote from: INDIANA on June 26, 2010, 11:57:46 AM
Lighten up Indiana.
The sun is shining and Meath and Dublin are playing in Croke Park tomorrow.
Just enjoy it for what it is.
Jasus Indiana, you got out of the wrong side of the bed today mate. Where does Paddy say CP is an advantage, in fact he says it is not an advantage - "Not only is Croke Park not an advantage for this Dublin team, it is a millstone.". I thought his post was very fair and he made some good points. I still think Dublin will win it but you'd have to give Meath a good chance (as you say yourself) and that is what I took from Paddy's post too.
Quote from: Zulu on June 26, 2010, 01:17:34 PM
Jasus Indiana, you got out of the wrong side of the bed today mate. Where does Paddy say CP is an advantage, in fact he says it is not an advantage - "Not only is Croke Park not an advantage for this Dublin team, it is a millstone.". I thought his post was very fair and he made some good points. I still think Dublin will win it but you'd have to give Meath a good chance (as you say yourself) and that is what I took from Paddy's post too.
I've a pain in my arse listening to people going on about CP being an advantage. As Kerry and Ttyrone have shown its no advantage to Dublin. Its not our fault some of the teams in leinster are incapabale of beating Dublin in CP. Considering the mediocre levels Dublin currently operate at- it doesn't say much for them. Longford got their chance in Pearse Park and still couldn't do it a few years back. Mind you Paddy would complain that Pearse Park was a disadvantage that day most probably.
As I said Meath play there as often as we do. Sure maybe we'll get a meath man to ref it as well. F*** it we'll go the whole hog and play with 14 men as well. So no-one can have any complaints if we get a result. A result I think we will be steeped to get.
Quote from: INDIANA on June 26, 2010, 12:30:35 PM
Sure why don't we put a meath man in charge. Will that make you haapy.
Sounds good to me, and i like your 14 man idea too. That'd spice things up
The Meath lads on here try to keep the reputation going of not being whinge-bags. So you're letting the side down solid ranter.
We'll have a drop of rain before 4pm I'd say.
The surface will be nice and slick.
A small breeze out there, but generally conditions should be good.
Quote from: Hound on June 26, 2010, 08:15:00 PM
The Meath lads on here try to keep the reputation going of not being whinge-bags. So you're letting the side down solid ranter.
I know, i know, and i apologise. I retract that statement!! Hopefully ill have nothing to moan about in the morning except a celebration hangover!!!
Looking forward to it, think we have a decent chance at it. Will probably depend on how our midfield is.
C'mon the Royals!!!!
what sort of attendance is expected??
Quotewhat sort of attendance is expected??
Not expected to surpass 60K
Ah sure I suppose the fair-weather Dubs will be at home watching their heroes in white.
But then again I should probably say nothing since I'm actually living in England and will be in the pub also(wont be watching England though). Think we should get 2 good games in Croker today.
great goal from Bray that's why we're not inter-county managers :D
Oh if Meath had a midfield, Dublin quite wasteful though
Much improved showing from the Jackeens from the Wexford match so far.
Hard to see either team making a big impact outside of the province though. Leinster football is still miles off the Kerrys and Corks of this world.
At least no Meath fan can come on and complain that the ref hasn't helped them out at all...
There is a German flag flying on the hill :D
Awesome goal from Cian Ward :o
Last still playing Leinster man with an All-Ireland medal is on, Nigel Crawford, nice sub to bring on..
Another great goal, over carried though, Stephen Bray, who said he shouldn't be playing ;)
Another goal for Meath.......but
Reilly overcarried it, hopped it twice and handpassed it to himself all on the same run with no free given.
How many hops did Graham Reilly take there?
Poor refereeing
Will the Brogans drag Dublin back into? They need leaders badly..
Big Joe didn't over carry it though!
Bernard goal disallowed then Joe Sheridan gets another goal.
Dubs will be delighted with this ref.
Jesus another goal, will you ever see 4 better finishes in the one game. Dublin giving Moses a run...
Another great goal... very entertaining game... Very hard to watch soccer after watching Gaelic
Quote from: Dinny Breen on June 27, 2010, 05:12:23 PM
Jesus another goal, will you ever see 4 better finishes in the one game. Dublin giving Moses a run...
;D ;D :D
the Dublin full back line is is complete Upson.
Quote from: Celt_Man on June 27, 2010, 05:13:04 PM
Another great goal... very entertaining game... Very hard to watch soccer after watching Gaelic
Why is their always someone that feels the need to compare?
Don't know about you but the second half of Germany v England was absolutely magic. ;D
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on June 27, 2010, 05:14:28 PM
not comparing anything - simply stating my opinion boss
Considering the amount of Dublin players called back for technical fouls he lets Reilly away with so many in the one run....
Quote from: Celt_Man on June 27, 2010, 05:18:19 PM
As I said there is always someone who feels they need to say it..
Makes no sense to me that someone would bring up soccer when they are talking about a Gaa match but there you go, there is always one who will
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on June 27, 2010, 05:23:01 PM
Quote from: Celt_Man on June 27, 2010, 05:18:19 PM
As I said there is always someone who feels they need to say it..
Makes no sense to me that someone would bring up soccer when they are talking about a Gaa match but there you go, there is always one who will
Didn't think the discussion rules were that strict that a man couldn't make reference to it but anyway...
Dubs could be up against Tipperary in the qualifiers. 12 0r 14 wides, hit the post three times, goal against that should have been a free out for over carrying.
Nobber man scores with a peach of a finish. 5 goals :o
Dublin v Tipp next I'd say
Quote from: Dinny Breen on June 27, 2010, 05:27:37 PM
Nobber man scores with a peach of a finish. 5 goals :o
Madness... when was the last time a "top team" let in five goals in the championship??
Last two team's that hammered Dublin went on & won the All Ireland.. good omen for Meath?
Quote from: ross4life on June 27, 2010, 05:31:02 PM
Last two team's that hammered Dublin went on & won the All Ireland.. good omen for Meath?
Ahh hard to read into this... sure didn't Dublin want a run in the qualifiers! ;)
The most embarrassing defensive performance I can remember
You weren't at the Kerry - Dublin game last year or Tyrone-Dublin year before?...
Armagh vs Dublin next.
Hardy - time for the sleeping giant jpeg I think
Quote from: longrunsthefox on June 27, 2010, 05:36:22 PM
You weren't at the Kerry - Dublin game last year or Tyrone-Dublin year before?...
I was and even against Westmeath the last time we lost in Leinster but Kerry/Tyrone they were the 2 best teams of the last 10 years....
QuoteMadness... when was the last time a "top team" let in five goals in the championship??
They don't. Dublin have not been a top team for 15 years.
Jaysus Eugene Magee is talking some nonsense there...
Quote from: Celt_Man on June 27, 2010, 05:46:06 PM
That was funny he was looking at Cooper to see if he knew what he was talking about.
5 flew into the Cluckoo's nest.
Quote from: muppet on June 27, 2010, 05:47:16 PM
Quote from: Celt_Man on June 27, 2010, 05:46:06 PM
That was funny he was looking at Cooper to see if he knew what he was talking about.
Noone knows what he was scuttering on about....
Didn't hear that about that O'Mahony's clubman who died last night - nice to see Stephen Bray speak so honestly and highly of him
Eugene McGee is always talking nonsense. He can't even count either!
McGee always looks like he doesn't want to be there. Never says anything positive or constructive, just takes the negative view everything. And to be honest he completely lost in the post match analysis of that game. Cooper had to just turn the conversation away from him as soon as he got the opportunity, he was just rambling on about nothing, making no sense at all.
Will conceding 5 goals endanger Cluxton's annual Al Star award?
The Dublin FB line was dire - while the finish for all of the goals was excellent they were gifts from poor defending.
Congrats to meath fully deserved it. We were a shambles. I'm not even that depressed about it. I said this was on the cards all year. And it transpired.
We won the u21 all-ireland this year. Moving forward its time to base the team on those lads and rebuild. 5 years from now we might have a team.
Absolutely no complaints and fair play to Meath. Its their time now. Had good crack with their fans as ever. But they own the bragging rights now and for the forseeable future.
A few calls to the Samaritans might be made tonight! Between Dublin and Mayo fans I doubt anyone else will get a look in.
Fully deserved by Meath today....the one area that actually worked against Wexford (the fullback line) got destroyed today...the players most people said shouldn't be there such as McConnell/Brennan played well
Quote from: DUBSFORSAM1 on June 27, 2010, 06:44:56 PM
Fully deserved by Meath today....the one area that actually worked against Wexford (the fullback line) got destroyed today...the players most people said shouldn't be there such as McConnell/Brennan played well
If you think Mc Connell played well. You should be in Portrane.
Quote from: INDIANA on June 27, 2010, 06:47:11 PM
We dominated the kickouts etc, he had the most posession on the pitch while on it and hitting good passes into the forwards.....you care to elaborate on where he got beaten??
Quote from: DUBSFORSAM1 on June 27, 2010, 06:52:10 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on June 27, 2010, 06:47:11 PM
We dominated the kickouts etc, he had the most posession on the pitch while on it and hitting good passes into the forwards.....you care to elaborate on where he got beaten??
When Mark Ward catches 5 clean kickouts in the first half you know youre gone. if you think midfield went well today you must be a member of the Dublin managament.
Quote from: INDIANA on June 27, 2010, 06:25:38 PM
Congrats to meath fully deserved it. We were a shambles. I'm not even that depressed about it. I said this was on the cards all year. And it transpired.
We won the u21 all-ireland this year. Moving forward its time to base the team on those lads and rebuild. 5 years from now we might have a team.
Absolutely no complaints and fair play to Meath. Its their time now. Had good crack with their fans as ever. But they own the bragging rights now and for the forseeable future.
A few calls to the Samaritans might be made tonight! Between Dublin and Mayo fans I doubt anyone else will get a look in.
How many of the U21 team played today.. the FB midfielder &?
Quote from: ross4life on June 27, 2010, 07:00:09 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on June 27, 2010, 06:25:38 PM
How many of the U21 team played today.. the FB midfielder &?
Most of them in the States for the summer. One played ROC at fb. Looked tired after playing 21 hurling during the week.
Wasn't any huge efforts made to get them involved Ros.
QuoteA few calls to the Samaritans might be made tonight! Between Dublin and Mayo fans I doubt anyone else will get a look in.
English fans have lines jammed. Take your place in queue!!
Dublin were beat the second i hit return on my keyboard for my Gaa bet. ballbegs!!!!
Meath seemed hungrier for the ball. Dublin players appeared to be carrying some weight?
It may be a blessing in disguise as Dublin will have to go back to the drawing board.
Quote from: Denn Forever on June 27, 2010, 07:52:33 PM
Meath seemed hungrier for the ball. Dublin players appeared to be carrying some weight?
It may be a blessing in disguise as Dublin will have to go back to the drawing board.
There are no pages left on the drawing board Denn!
Well done Meath, 5 cracking goals, well deserved win. First time in 10 years beating the dubs, well done.
There was not one Dublin fan said that we would win this one and they were right. There is about a million gaels that could see it during the match, the problem is the 2 people that matter didnt.
There was 2 good things though that came out of today. 1. we were found out early rather than later and 2. Hopefully depending on the draw we might get a trip down the country.
P.S Dubs to win the all ireland 12-1, back door job on it ;) ;) ;) ;)
Thought we were looking reasonably good for 15 or 20 minutes, when we notched 8 points. But then it all went wrong pretty much all over the pitch.
Concede 5 goals and you'll always get beat by a cricket score. Well done Meath, took their goals really well.
Bring on the qualifiers!
A bit of a surreal day yesterday.
Surreal.....but good. :D
Congrats to Meath. Took their chances well and deserved to win. They got all the breaks going and took full advantage of it. I said after the Wexford game that this was the worst Dublin team in my lifetime and yesterday confirmed it but it wasn't the scoreline that confirmed it rather the complete lack of a structure or plan and the fact that at least 5 of the players should struggle to make a senior club team never mind IC. Only sour taste was the ungraciousness of lots of the Meath lads I met on the way out and especially up at the lights at Quinns - they must have been different lads that Indiana met.
There'll be very few Dub fans travelling to see this team in the qualifying match and I meant that in the singular cos they'll be back playing club football after the next match irrespective of who we draw
I see ResDubs is closed for "maintenance".
Quote from: Jinxy on June 28, 2010, 08:12:55 AM
I see ResDubs is closed for "maintenance".
Making sure people take a deep breath before posting!
Not sure if they've been hit with or threatened with legal action in the past, but they are very sensitive in not allowing much criticism of management or players (and I guess that would be the theme of most posts!). Or maybe its just the right thing to do as we're talking about amateurs.
Firstly well done Meath - they were very clinical in taking their chances.
I and a lot of other posters were very downbeat about our chances all year with the way Gilroy was going about the team - he took a sledgehammer to a team that needed only a scalpel - I believe Gilroy will stay on for another year at least - to the detriment of Dublin football. He got the job ahead of Jim Gavin in very auspicious circumstances.
To the game itself - our rookie full back line got taken to the cleaners from a lack of experience.
One of Gilroy's mantras was that the team that got hammered by Tyrone and Kerry were psychologically damaged goods and incapable of winning any big games as a result and so he had to clean them. Wonder how he feels this morning if his selection will be damaged by the worst beating by Meath in living memory
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on June 28, 2010, 09:15:05 AM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on June 27, 2010, 05:28:40 PM
Dublin v Tipp next I'd say
I should have put a bet on it
You're only contributing to the Ulster conspiracy theorists here.
Just watched the goals again on the TV3 website.
Love the way each one of them was right in the corner, none of this craic of just putting the head down and blasting it as hard as you can.
I don't know what to make of it, really. It was fantastic to watch the confidence of the forwards in going for their goals every time and the execution was sublime - just brilliant to watch. But I can't escape a negative feeling about the whole thing. We beat a very poor team (with all due respect, but I think the Dublin lads agree) only because we have forwards who can stick the ball in the net the way they did. We were beaten in every other aspect of play until we had finally sapped the will of Dublin towards the end.
The wipeout at midfield, against a pretty poor opposition midfield, was frightening. If it wasn't for Seamus Kenny (my MOTM) doing the work of three half-backs in mopping up breaks I don't want to think about how little ball our forwards would have got. That and Joe, Bray and O'Rourke foraging deep for their own ball.
What worries me is that Louth is an ambush waiting to happen. It's always hard to keep feet on the ground after a big win and I fear the result will mask the dire performance of the midfield. I can only hope the return of Crawford and the half hour under his belt yesterday will help to fix the problem.
anyone else notice Corkery lining up at right half back before throw-in, before realising that we were playing into the Hill in the 1st half, and then having to quickly make his way across to left half forward :)
Thought our forwards were immense yesterday. Midfield very poor and I dread to think of us facing the Louth midfield at the mo. though there was the hope when seeing Crawford come on. Mark Ward, pleassse drop him, driving me insane now. useless. Well done to Bray for answering the critics. That was prob the most promising thing I took from the game. That even though Joe and Graham were quiet for their standards some one else stood up to the mark and took over, thats promising. Like Hardy, I dont know how I feel, Great to beat the Dubs, always, but I thought we should have finished the game better. Great to be in a Leinster final again, but still unsure of how good we are really. all games we have played were poor enough opposition, no offence, so dunno. though I think the same can be said on Louths side so we're both in the same boat. Thought O Connor and Reilly had great game. Poor Moyles does not have the pace...
Just on my way out to K Club for a Golf Society outing. Can I expect to see Micko and the Dubs CB Executive sitting in a corner going over the finer details of the three year contract? :)
QuoteCan I expect to see Micko and the Dubs CB Executive sitting in a corner going over the finer details of the three year contract?
Think were safe enough on that score Bud - Sure were only 2 thirds of the way through the Gilroy masterplan ;)
gilroy has indeed taken a sledgehammer to Dublin and regressed the Dubs by 10 years in doing so.
This sublin side are gym'ed within inches of their lives, musclebound and are now back to the athletes and not footballer types that fecked the Dubs up in the early 2000's.
Meath showed that simple football, moving the ball quickly and winning breaking ball is key to winning games.
Having 8 lethal forwards helps too- as the introduction of Queeney and Farrell didnt detract from their sides potency.
I cannot understand what gilroy is doing - looks like the players dont either - training twice a day and whatever is causing more problems than good. Have not seen Barry cahill as bad since his first season, and this lad takes it seriously, so it has to be the training - and he is no worse than any of the rest, but as an all star he should be showing better than that ....and I dont blame him one bit !!
Great spectacle yesterday !
Ciaran Whelans' take on yesterday
http://www.joe.ie/003129/1/1/story/dubs-dodgy-game-plan-exposed-by-ruthless-royals (http://www.joe.ie/003129/1/1/story/dubs-dodgy-game-plan-exposed-by-ruthless-royals)
Worth noting again that there was a huge amount of long, accurate foot-passing from both teams yesterday.
Quote from: Hardy on June 28, 2010, 11:09:00 AM
I don't know what to make of it, really. It was fantastic to watch the confidence of the forwards in going for their goals every time and the execution was sublime - just brilliant to watch. But I can't escape a negative feeling about the whole thing. We beat a very poor team (with all due respect, but I think the Dublin lads agree) only because we have forwards who can stick the ball in the net the way they did. We were beaten in every other aspect of play until we had finally sapped the will of Dublin towards the end.
The wipeout at midfield, against a pretty poor opposition midfield, was frightening. If it wasn't for Seamus Kenny (my MOTM) doing the work of three half-backs in mopping up breaks I don't want to think about how little ball our forwards would have got. That and Joe, Bray and O'Rourke foraging deep for their own ball.
What worries me is that Louth is an ambush waiting to happen. It's always hard to keep feet on the ground after a big win and I fear the result will mask the dire performance of the midfield. I can only hope the return of Crawford and the half hour under his belt yesterday will help to fix the problem.
I would agree with all of that and it's the first bit of sense I've heard from a Meathman since this time yesterday. Anyone I was talking to last night were convinced that winning Leinster is a shoe in, far from it IMO. I thought Dublin looked comfortable enough until the goals started flying in and they weren't killing themselves. It could have been a different result if Flynn's effort had gone in. I suppose Ward will never be as poor again from the placed ball though. I got some laugh though when he goaled and gave the best twirling Cantona impression ever seen in Croke Park :D
It's all set up for Louth, talk will seep down from the supporters to the team and complacency will set in, will it be enough though is the question...
I'd agree with Hardy, a few things that could have gone the other way and it would have been a much closer finish. Our midfield were very poor where as our much maligned defence were very good particularly in the second half.
People are very excited and quite rightly, its been a long time coming and it was done in great fashion but this was definitely the worst Dublin team we've played since 2001. While I wouldn't want to be underestimating Louth they weren't as good yesterday as they were against Kildare. Should be a good final though, certain novel feeling about it. Reading an interview with Seamus Kenny there, he was very grounded and said rightly that we won nothing and today's match will mean nothing unless we win the next game. Hopefully that's the prevailing attitude in the squad
Eugene McGee reckons we are all-Ireland contenders on the back of that game. We only got 6 points from play and I really don't think we are going to get that many goal chances again. Dublin looked like they picked a team to play the more defensive style but played in a more orthodox style and got burnt by it. Maybe Gilroy should have stuck to his guns.
Quote from: thejuice on June 28, 2010, 08:13:35 PM
I'd agree with Hardy, a few things that could have gone the other way and it would have been a much closer finish. Our midfield were very poor where as our much maligned defence were very good particularly in the second half.
People are very excited and quite rightly, its been a long time coming and it was done in great fashion but this was definitely the worst Dublin team we've played since 2001. While I wouldn't want to be underestimating Louth they weren't as good yesterday as they were against Kildare. Should be a good final though, certain novel feeling about it. Reading an interview with Seamus Kenny there, he was very grounded and said rightly that we won nothing and today's match will mean nothing unless we win the next game. Hopefully that's the prevailing attitude in the squad
Eugene McGee reckons we are all-Ireland contenders on the back of that game. We only got 6 points from play and I really don't think we are going to get that many goal chances again. Dublin looked like they picked a team to play the more defensive style but played in a more orthodox style and got burnt by it. Maybe Gilroy should have stuck to his guns.
Geddawayouttadat! You scored 21 points from play. You are screaming red hot favourites for Sam now.
ya know what i mean
I think Ross O'Carroll is going to be a serious full-back for Dublin.
He did a couple of very silly things yesterday which I'd put down to inexperience and a rush of blood.
For the Sheridan goal in particular he should never have attacked that ball.
He'll have learned a lot as will the corner backs.
Darren Fay and Mark O'Reilly had Martin O'Connell beside them when they came on the scene.
A full back line full of rookies is going to make mistakes.
They were unlucky in that they were punished every time yesterday.
At least England only let in 4.......
Well done Meath.
Agree with what most of the Meath lads are saying. A 10 or 15 point victory isnt necessarily a case of a good team, its often a case of things just clicking on the day. The sign of a good team is being able to follow up such a big win with a good solid performance. So Louth should be a perfect test. Very much a winnable game, but play below par and you'll lose.
The really good sign for Meath this season, is the way different forwards are stepping up to the plate on different days. Arguably the 3 best forwards v Laois were outplayed by the other 3 on Sunday.
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on June 28, 2010, 03:37:47 PM
Quote from: Hardy on June 28, 2010, 11:09:00 AM
I would agree with all of that and it's the first bit of sense I've heard from a Meathman since this time yesterday. Anyone I was talking to last night were convinced that winning Leinster is a shoe in, far from it IMO. I thought Dublin looked comfortable enough until the goals started flying in and they weren't killing themselves. It could have been a different result if Flynn's effort had gone in. I suppose Ward will never be as poor again from the placed ball though. I got some laugh though when he goaled and gave the best twirling Cantona impression ever seen in Croke Park :D
It's all set up for Louth, talk will seep down from the supporters to the team and complacency will set in, will it be enough though is the question...
Dunno which meathmen croi was chatting with but obviously were either winding him up or dont know too much! While it was a great win and worth waiting for i for one am not getting carried away with it. The dubs were awful yet still won the midfield battle with ease. Hopefully Crawford will be back to sort that out. Would much prefer playing westmeath in the final as they are always an easy touch and louth always seem up for a battle with meath, much more of a rivalry with the wee county and are never beaten too easily. They too have a decent midfield and some classy forwards but cant see them holding the meath forward line sufficiently. Unfortunately we are getting touted as all ireland contenders by breheny among others so it will depend how well o brien keeps the players grounded over the coming weeks. Although no meath players celebrated excessively a the final whistle which was good to see and all interviews by players and management after the match paid tribute to the dubs and were conducted with modesty. Anyway onwards and upwards we are in the leinster final and sure we will see where we are after that
Quote from: put-it-up on June 28, 2010, 08:35:05 PM
Dublin are in a bad, bad way at the minute. In fairness to Gilroy, it took balls to make the decision to start from scratch but he is looking like a right tool now. Bringing Henry on with ten minutes to go? Did anybody else think that was bizzare.
I think we all agree that the Dublin camp needed a shake-up but I dont think the fact that they had 7 or 8 lads in their first championship season was the problem. The fact was nobody had a clue what they were meant to be at.
You can look to the u21's for hope but only one of them started yesterday and I honestly don't think too many of them are even good enough for senior IC level in the next two years. The Dublin u21 midfield was brutal and I think you would be doing well to get 4 of that team settled into the senior set-up in the next two years.
I would question all the training goin on at 7am and all that jazz. You can train in the gym all you like but I just dont understand why coaches don't grasp the notion that a donkey will never win the grand-national. Yes, you have to be fit and being strong helps but it is also important to possess the fundamental skills to play Gaelic football.
Dublin yesterday were spineless, leaderless, had no shape and had no idea what they were meant to be doing in the second half. At times it was like watching an underage team because they had no shape at all.
Can't believe they have gotten a home draw against Tipp which is going to be played in Croke Park. A trip down the country might have brought them lads back down to earth and realised they have a long road to recovery.
with all respect 4/5 players off an u21 team would be an excellent return in my view. Mots of what you've said is true though.
Howevcer our lads may be leaderless but I doubt they spent 4 days straight on the piss in a boozer in Cavan after being beaten by Fermanagh ;D
Quote from: eastern_gael on June 28, 2010, 10:22:20 PM
Dunno which meathmen croi was chatting with but obviously were either winding him up or dont know too much!
I didn't get their names but I'll be sure to have them for you the next time.
Quote from: eastern_gael on June 28, 2010, 10:22:20 PMWould much prefer playing westmeath in the final as they are always an easy touch and louth always seem up for a battle with meath, much more of a rivalry with the wee county and are never beaten too easily.
Classy guy, you could do with having a look at this post http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=16568.msg807188#msg807188 (http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=16568.msg807188#msg807188)
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on June 29, 2010, 12:08:21 PM
Dunno which meathmen croi was chatting with but obviously were either winding him up or dont know too much!
Quote from: eastern_gael on June 28, 2010, 10:22:20 PMWould much prefer playing westmeath in the final as they are always an easy touch and louth always seem up for a battle with meath, much more of a rivalry with the wee county and are never beaten too easily.
Classy guy, you could do with having a look at this post http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=16568.msg807188#msg807188 (http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=16568.msg807188#msg807188)
That i am. You seem to be concerned about how meath are doing rather than your own county, closet fan maybe!!!!!!! Or just envious! One or other i suspect
just for the meath fans here.quick question and i dont know if its been brought up before.What is the situation with your intercounty players,all the panel that is,regarding playing for their clubs during the all ireland?
A debate i witnessed after the game between dublin fans was about the dublin players not being allowed to tog out for their club teams.Many a good point was thrown up on the subject.One point was that club games are intense and competitive.And its the intensity and competitiveness that are a couple of the basic traits missing at moment with this dublin team.Isthis common in every county?Because to me a tough league game is of more benefit to a player than a v b training matches.
Quote from: eastern_gael on June 29, 2010, 12:53:28 PM
That i am. You seem to be concerned about how meath are doing rather than your own county, closet fan maybe!!!!!!! Or just envious! One or other i suspect
Or I happened to be at the game & was just throwing in my two bobs worth. I hope you were half as smart during the Junior Cert, mind your arse now when u head back to the hoganstand...
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on June 29, 2010, 01:59:04 PM
Quote from: eastern_gael on June 29, 2010, 12:53:28 PM
Or I happened to be at the game & was just throwing in my two bobs worth. I hope you were half as smart during the Junior Cert, mind your arse now when u head back to the hoganstand...
Now there is an original reply.Best of luck against Derry by the by. I am fairly confident yee can turn em over in cusack park. Seems to be plenty of infighting as always this time of year within the Derry camp ( to my mind both Derry and Donegal should try and form the one team might get 15 dedicated players outa the pair of em Donederry pehaps) Never know a few more games get dessie that bit of match practise and get flanagan back fully fit (who knows what would have happened if he was in from the start v Louth) We may even meet at some stage this year
Quote from: ricky-bobby on June 29, 2010, 01:06:08 PM
just for the meath fans here.quick question and i dont know if its been brought up before.What is the situation with your intercounty players,all the panel that is,regarding playing for their clubs during the all ireland?
A debate i witnessed after the game between dublin fans was about the dublin players not being allowed to tog out for their club teams.Many a good point was thrown up on the subject.One point was that club games are intense and competitive.And its the intensity and competitiveness that are a couple of the basic traits missing at moment with this dublin team.Isthis common in every county?Because to me a tough league game is of more benefit to a player than a v b training matches.
during the All Ireland intercounty championship you mean?
You used to only see the players the odd training session and for championship matches, rarely played the league games. Not sure if that has changed.
Intensity in meath football used to be savage with or without the intercounty panelists ! Rough as feck in over 50% of matches.
Quote from: lynchbhoy on June 29, 2010, 03:25:23 PM
You used to only see the players the odd training session and for championship matches, rarely played the league games. Not sure if that has changed.
Intensity in meath football used to be savage with or without the intercounty panelists ! Rough as feck in over 50% of matches.
yeah i meant intercounty all ireland.some teams have a 2-3 week break between games,and there are usually club games thrown in,but no intercounty players tog,maybe i'm old school,but league games in dublin used to be packed,even during national leagues and the all ireland,because you had the likes of,curran,redmond,stynes,barr,going hell for leather and not being wrapped in cotton wool,playing for their clubs.its no suprise thats when dublin last reached all irelands year in year out,ok they only got one at the time,but they were contesting all ireland finals.
Quote from: ricky-bobby on June 29, 2010, 03:42:30 PM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on June 29, 2010, 03:25:23 PM
yeah i meant intercounty all ireland.some teams have a 2-3 week break between games,and there are usually club games thrown in,but no intercounty players tog,maybe i'm old school,but league games in dublin used to be packed,even during national leagues and the all ireland,because you had the likes of,curran,redmond,stynes,barr,going hell for leather and not being wrapped in cotton wool,playing for their clubs.its no suprise thats when dublin last reached all irelands year in year out,ok they only got one at the time,but they were contesting all ireland finals.
I'd have played in dublin (Div 2) at that stage and dont really rem too many of the county panelists playing for their clubs during most of the league games....
i'd be doing well to name them all and when i seen them,but i can safely say,it was much better than the shambles it is now,i know,i'm still playing div 1.
lynchboy,as a dub fan,whats your take on playing senior club games would it benefit or not benefit the team?ie sharpness,intensity,hunger,CONFIDENCE,which is really lacking now.
sorry lynchboy if your not a dub man.
am not a Dub, but have a big interest in them for various reasons , esp as I live here for closing in on 20 years.
A level playing field would suit all clubs and players. By this i mean that there should be some kind of generic fixtures list in the GAA .
A template that has intercounty dates set out - including qualifiers and replays etc.
Then this could allow a club template for each county and its clubs.
This way a club would know when its games are , when its players are available etc. The players know what days they are playing games , what dates they can take holidays etc.
Right now its too disorganised and I cannot see a way to get players play with clubs and counties without causing some grief and hassle for someone.
Ideally players shoul dplay all games for club and county. A sub for intercounty will only get rusty by sitting on the bench esp if he misses club games.
The entire country - intercounty and clubs- need this organisation and template creation to happen. imo.
thats a fair point,but as we all know,county boards are stubborn over fixtures as it is,and there is always someone unhappy along the way.
i know myself as a club player,i'd rather play against a intercounty lad,than against a senior clubs 2nd or in some cases 3rd string,mainly because a)it improves the normal club player and with it the all round standard b)a normal club player gets fired up to pit himself against a intercounty lad,bringing out the best in both players and c)there is no substitute for what can be gained from senior league games as in lads will be in match tempo and intensity and still get their few days rest before the all ireland games.Thus not getting rusty.
Lynchboy,with your knowledge of the dublin scene,you know that league aint worth the same it once was.its a shame really.Last successful era,early 90's was also the last time the league was big.Pat O'Neill allowed them play league.And look what was achieved.
Quote from: INDIANA on June 28, 2010, 11:28:02 PM
Quote from: put-it-up on June 28, 2010, 08:35:05 PM
Dublin are in a bad, bad way at the minute. In fairness to Gilroy, it took balls to make the decision to start from scratch but he is looking like a right tool now. Bringing Henry on with ten minutes to go? Did anybody else think that was bizzare.
I think we all agree that the Dublin camp needed a shake-up but I dont think the fact that they had 7 or 8 lads in their first championship season was the problem. The fact was nobody had a clue what they were meant to be at.
You can look to the u21's for hope but only one of them started yesterday and I honestly don't think too many of them are even good enough for senior IC level in the next two years. The Dublin u21 midfield was brutal and I think you would be doing well to get 4 of that team settled into the senior set-up in the next two years.
I would question all the training goin on at 7am and all that jazz. You can train in the gym all you like but I just dont understand why coaches don't grasp the notion that a donkey will never win the grand-national. Yes, you have to be fit and being strong helps but it is also important to possess the fundamental skills to play Gaelic football.
Dublin yesterday were spineless, leaderless, had no shape and had no idea what they were meant to be doing in the second half. At times it was like watching an underage team because they had no shape at all.
Can't believe they have gotten a home draw against Tipp which is going to be played in Croke Park. A trip down the country might have brought them lads back down to earth and realised they have a long road to recovery.
with all respect 4/5 players off an u21 team would be an excellent return in my view. Mots of what you've said is true though.
Howevcer our lads may be leaderless but I doubt they spent 4 days straight on the piss in a boozer in Cavan after being beaten by Fermanagh ;D
You saw the affect of a bit of team-bonding at the weekend horse. A good oul session, is worth ten trainings sometimes. Get everything off the chest, have a laugh. At least our boys rolled up the sleeves when everything was going against us at the weekend - maybe them pints brought them togethrr a bit more. You're boy's were like startled earwigs again. Maybe if they got out of the gym once in a while, and remembered they were amateur footballers and not weightlifters then they might be able to enjoy themselves and play a bit of football instead trying to play like robots to a pre-designed system.
anyone got any links for highlights of the game?
Quote from: Overthebar! on June 30, 2010, 10:06:59 AM
anyone got any links for highlights of the game?
The Sunday Game (Ireland only):
http://www.rte.ie/player/#v=1075689
A snippet of info in the IT today
'TV3 have revealed that 528,000 watched Meath beat Dublin at Croke Park. By comparison, 400,000 watched the England versus Germany match on RTÉ'.
Not too bad, I'd say most of the TV3 viewers were well amused by what they saw, at least equalling the amusement on RTE.
I commented else where that thats very suprising given the hype around the world cup and media obsession with it. Shows the gaa is still very popular.
Hector is really going to town on this one. Class :D
Quote from: Zapatista on July 03, 2010, 10:23:55 AM
Hector is really going to town on this one. Class :D
Huh?
What time were they on?
Might track it down.
Quote from: Jinxy on July 03, 2010, 12:07:46 PM
What time were they on?
Might track it down.
Think they are repeated sometime around now on 2fm... podcast might be available too
Hector, Meaths answer to Brendan O Carroll -both of them are the same joke over and over again.