Says it all doesn't it?
I'd say 10 points to Offaly at Parnell... We're back to 1982 again...
maybe get a wee bit closer on that bitch.
i think we have nothing to lose and the boys feel better playing Offaly in Parnell than Croke. tight pitch and should suit us
I remember 2 Offaly-Antrim matches. 1989 when the young pups of the faithful county just weren't good enough and the unthinkable happened. 40 minutes later John Denton (spit) strode onto the pitch and the rest was history.
Then there was the match some years later when 3 Offaly players were dispatched to the treatment room by a very capable hatchet man in saffron.
If the Offaly hurlers are as poor as the fuballers anything is possible.
What??
Would he be talking about Jackie Carson on Kevin Martin, can't remember the year but think Kevin Martin lost the tip of his finger from a challenge
Quote from: maxpower on May 27, 2010, 04:49:46 PM
Would he be talking about Jackie Carson on Kevin Martin, can't remember the year but think Kevin Martin lost the tip of his finger from a challenge
I think it was around 1999 or 2000
There was a thread earlier about Jackie Carson gone mad in that match...
It was mentioned here.
http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=15563.15 (http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=15563.15)
I'd give Carson the benefit of the doubt over the Kevin Martin one.
He pulled at a dropping ball and the top of Martin's finger get caught between the two hurleys.
As for the match.
I think a few Offaly folk may be getting carried away with themselves thinking this will be a stroll.
While Offaly gave Antrim a trimming in the play off last year, Antrim were probably confident of getting any potential relegation overturned.
What did strike me was the amount of beer bellies on the Antrim players. If Dinny Cahill has done any sort of decent fitness work in the mean time, there is plenty of scope to improve things.
This Offaly (as is tradition) team is well capable of building up a few points of a lead and going to sleep.
They may have beaten Dublin and let Tipp off the hook, but they also barely beat a third rate Limerick team.
Offaly (team v Antrim): Brian Mullins, David Franks, Paul Cleary, Michael Verney, James Rigney, David Kenny, Derek Morkan, Rory Hanniffy, Kevin Brady, Daniel Currams, Joe Brady, Derek Molloy, Brian Carroll, Joe Bergin, Shane Dooley.
Antrim (team v Offaly: G McGhee; K McGourty, C Donnelly, A Graffin; N McAuley, J Campbell, C Herron; P Shiels, K Stewart; E McCloskey, T McCann, J Scullion; S McNaughton, N McManus, K McKeegan.
C'mon, Bordy, put first names and clubs on them . . . ;D ;D
Quote from: Bord na Mona man on May 27, 2010, 08:59:15 PM
Antrim (team v Offaly: G McGhee; K McGourty, C Donnelly, A Graffin; N McAuley, J Campbell, C Herron; P Shiels, K Stewart; E McCloskey, T McCann, J Scullion; S McNaughton, N McManus, K McKeegan.
Quote from: Plain of the Herbs on May 27, 2010, 09:08:53 PM
If it can't be copied and pasted, then I'm fecked.
Match programmes for Antrim line ups should also include the players' nicknames.
Save us figuring out which one is Humpy, Mushy, Bumpy, Lumpy etc.
Always know your opposition . . .
Antrim (team v Offaly): Gareth McGhee (Dunloy); Kieran McGourty (St Gall's), Cormac Donnelly (Ballycastle), Aaron Graffin (Cushendall); Neil McAuley (Ballycastle), Johnny Campbell (Loughgiel), Ciarán Herron (Kevin Lynch's); Paul Shiels (Dunloy), Karl Stewart (St Gall's); Eddie McCloskey (Loughgiel), Thomas McCann (Creggan Kickhams), Joey Scullion (Loughgiel); Shane McNaughton (Cushendall), Neil McManus (Cushendall), Karl McKeegan (Cushendall).
Finally, is it Loughgiel, Loughgeil or Loughguile? Antrim lads might assist.
Quote from: Bord na Mona man on May 27, 2010, 09:21:37 PM
Match programmes for Antrim line ups should also include the players' nicknames.
As with many things in the slow decline of antrim hurling the long list of nicknames has also declined. Of that starting 15 there is only a hippy(jr) and a shorty. A sad reflection on the state of our hurling and our imaginations. Although we may have a winker on the bench? ??? ???
Quote from: Plain of the Herbs on May 27, 2010, 10:20:08 PM
Always know your opposition . . .
Antrim (team v Offaly): Gareth McGhee (Dunloy); Kieran McGourty (St Gall's), Cormac Donnelly (Ballycastle), Aaron Graffin (Cushendall); Neil McAuley (Ballycastle), Johnny Campbell (Loughgiel), Ciarán Herron (Kevin Lynch's); Paul Shiels (Ballycastle), Karl Stewart (St Gall's); Eddie McCloskey (Loughgiel), Thomas McCann (Creggan Kickhams), Joey Scullion (Loughgiel); Shane McNaughton (Cushendall), Neil McManus (Cushendall), Karl McKeegan (Cushendall).
Finally, is it Loughgiel, Loughgeil or Loughguile? Antrim lads might assist.
Quote from: Bord na Mona man on May 27, 2010, 09:21:37 PM
Paul Shiels plays for Dunloy.
Quote from: slow corner back on May 27, 2010, 10:21:43 PM
As with many things in the slow decline of antrim hurling the long list of nicknames has also declined. Of that starting 15 there is only a hippy(jr) and a shorty. A sad reflection on the state of our hurling and our imaginations. Although we may have a winker on the bench? ??? ???
Was thinking that as well. We need players with nicknames before we can get back to where we were at the late 80's/early 90's.
By the time the opposition where figuring out who the hell was clute, beaver, Jew & Woody were we had the match won
Quote from: Two Hands FFS on May 27, 2010, 10:34:37 PM
Quote from: slow corner back on May 27, 2010, 10:21:43 PM
Was thinking that as well. We need players with nicknames before we can get back to where we were at the late 80's/early 90's.
By the time the opposition where figuring out who the hell was clute, beaver, Jew & Woody were we had the match won
Sure with the mix of a thick North Antrim accent and the whiney Frankie accent no one south of Louth will be able to understand any of them anyway
Going on Dinny's first couple of seasons last time around with Antrim id expect he will have them well fired up and they will go hard from the start. But i imagine if Offaly get a good start or weather the initial Antrim onslaught that they will go on to win by at least 6/7 points. Looking at the Antrim team on paper (im sure they wont line out that way) they dont have enough ball winners in the forwards and will be looking to McManus a lot. The strength in depth for Antrim is just not anywhere near strong enough to compete at this level.
I would expect Antrim to be better than they were in the national league ( they could not be much worse), however I do not think Antrim have enough scoring power to compete with Offaly. Fourteen months ago the two teams met with both having a chance of promotion to Div 1. On the day Offaly could hit points from 60 yds wheras Antrim needed to be within 30 to 40 yds of the posts to score. Offaly won comfortably that day and I expect something similar tomorrow. Antrims only hope tomorrow is that Offaly build up a lead then go to sleep as some of the Offaly posters have suggested. >:(
Quote from: slow corner back on May 29, 2010, 08:51:59 PM
I would expect Antrim to be better than they were in the national league ( they could not be much worse), however I do not think Antrim have enough scoring power to compete with Offaly. Fourteen months ago the two teams met with both having a chance of promotion to Div 1. On the day Offaly could hit points from 60 yds wheras Antrim needed to be within 30 to 40 yds of the posts to score. Offaly won comfortably that day and I expect something similar tomorrow. Antrims only hope tomorrow is that Offaly build up a lead then go to sleep as some of the Offaly posters have suggested. >:(
One thing that could be crucial is that Antrim beat Offaly in the Walsh Cup final a couple of years back. :P I heard also that Klute was seen at training on Thursday ....
Leinster Senior Hurling Championship quarter-final
Antrim 3-10 1-12 Offaly, Parnell Park, 3.30pm
After 36min play
http://www.sportsnewsireland.com/2010/05/30/gaa-sunday-live-scores-results-sunday-30th-may/
Shock on here Offaly down by 5, 20 mins into second half and down to 14 men!!!!!!!!!
Antrim 3-14 1-18 Offaly(14men), Parnell Park, 3.30pm
After 61min play
Antrim 3.14 Offaly 1.18
Gees but this would be a big win.
5 minutes to go - nerve wracking stuff. Come on the saffrons!
Antrim 3-14 1-19 Offaly(14men), Parnell Park, 3.30pm
After 66min play
Hold on Antrim!
Quote from: imtommygunn on May 30, 2010, 04:57:07 PM
Gees but this would be a big win.
5 minutes to go - nerve wracking stuff. Come on the saffrons!
Sure would.
Offaly were 1/12 this morning.
injury time - still 1 pt up
Antrim 3-15 1-19 Offaly(14men), Parnell Park, 3.30pm
After 70min play
4 mins injury time gone, offaly have a chance to level
Antrim 3-15 1-20 Offaly(14men), Parnell Park, 3.30pm
After 72min play
Quote from: aontroim on May 30, 2010, 05:01:02 PM
Antrim 3-15 1-19 Offaly(14men), Parnell Park, 3.30pm
After 70min play
Come on Antrim.
1st hurling game to have more than 2 mins injury time in years - draw, extra time to start now - are offaly back to 15 men?
Quote from: Bogball XV on May 30, 2010, 05:03:31 PM
1st hurling game to have more than 2 mins injury time in years - draw, extra time to start now - are offaly back to 15 men?
Balls.
Offaly are back to 15.
One of the stupidest statements of the year ;D
Draw, Offaly with a last gasp equaliser
Yep Offaly back to 15 men - that was such an opportunity for Antrim to win a meaningful game - I hope to fcuk they don't wilt in E/T. C'mon the Saffrons!
Newstalk panelist reckons ref done Offaly a favour with injury time.
Quote from: longrunsthefox on May 30, 2010, 05:05:39 PM
there were 4 1/2 mins of injury time played, the norm (most common) in a hurling game is 2 mins, feel free to prove me wrong.
Quote from: Mickeys beard on May 30, 2010, 05:07:22 PM
Never ! ;)
Quote from: orangeman on May 30, 2010, 05:10:22 PM
Never ! ;)
Intentionally (Jaysis, ye have to explain everything to the apple pickers) ;)
Quote from: Mickeys beard on May 30, 2010, 05:16:09 PM
Never ! ;)
don't let the name fool you, orange doesn't refer to a county - think it may be political persuasion ;) Or maybe it's Ardboe.
all over, offaly 2.23 to 3.15 now
Quote from: Bogball XV on May 30, 2010, 05:27:58 PM
all over, offaly 2.23 to 3.15 now
Tough on Antrim.
Great effort in normal time.
Quote from: Bogball XV on May 30, 2010, 05:18:51 PM
Quote from: Mickeys beard on May 30, 2010, 05:16:09 PM
Never ! ;)
don't let the name fool you, orange doesn't refer to a county - think it may be political persuasion ;) Or maybe it's Ardboe.
Could be a "Ghost-Oh" man alright, I suppose.
Quote from: Bogball XV on May 30, 2010, 05:08:55 PM
there were 4 1/2 mins of injury time played, the norm (most common) in a hurling game is 2 mins, feel free to prove me wrong.
Do you have a record of the length every injury time played for 'years'? Nonsense statement... you made it, you prove it ;)
Quote from: longrunsthefox on May 30, 2010, 05:33:23 PM
Do you have a record of the length every injury time played for 'years'? Nonsense statement... you made it, you prove it ;)
well, every intercounty championship hurling match on tv so far this year has had 2 mins injury time, the majority of inter county championship hurling games that I remember have not exceeded two minutes (hope to fcuk this cork game won't have more, though i doubt it).
Quote from: Bogball XV on May 30, 2010, 05:44:28 PM
well, every intercounty championship hurling match on tv so far this year has had 2 mins injury time, the majority of inter county championship hurling games that I remember have not exceeded two minutes (hope to fcuk this cork game won't have more, though i doubt it).
balls, he went for 3 :-[
Your original statement said 'years'.... anyway, disapointing to see Antrim beaten.
Unlucky Antrim. Long wait now til the qualifier - late June/early July.
Quote from: longrunsthefox on May 30, 2010, 05:56:25 PM
Your original statement said 'years'.... anyway, disapointing to see Antrim beaten.
I know it did, and whilst i don't have a written record, my recollection is that the majority of hurling games i've watched on the telly have 2 mins max injury time - i know i've posted on here in the hurling game threads about it many times. (so we're 50% on 2 mins and 50% on 3 mins for the year to date ;))
Anyway, unlucky for Antrim, must be terribly deflating for them to come so close - i thought they had a better chance than they were being given credit for, though I thought that last year too and went to watch them get thrashed at the hands of dublin.
Bottom line is that the heroics in the 70 minutes must have been down to the Dinny factor. He kept it low key and fair play the team almost claimed a scalp. Feck me though, I was 'watching' this on Aertel and was almost sure that we were over the line. I was looking at my watch at about 5.00pm and then an update came on RTE at half time in the Cork and Tipp game - what's his face says "and here's a bit of news .... Antrim (my head is going ... "have beaten Offaly") ... and Offaly have drawn with a last minute point by Offaly ........" FECK! FECK! FECK!!!!!! FECK! FECK! FECK!!!!!! FECKIN ... FECK! FECKIN FECKIN FECK!!!!
FECK! FECK! FECK!!!!!! FECK! FECK! FECK!!!!!! FECKIN ... FECK! FECKIN FECKIN FECK!!!!
OFFALY CNUTS!!!
Best chance in years .. I just knew that we couldn't hold out in extra time.. Not even gonna watch the highlights.. FECK!
Should've buried a 4th goal just before though.
Was a soft enough free at the end but Shane McNaughton fluffed the lift. If he had got it in his hand and put it over the sideline it was over. However the point that was the most annoying was the short puck out Antrim took when they were 2 points up. Aaron Graffin went on a wee solo run instead of clearing his lines, got dispossssed and they scored a point. Terrible stuff.
Was a battling performance from Antrim and fair play to the players as they gave it everything for 70 mins. However they are just short that wee bit of class which is needed in senior championship.
The fact that a team can go back to 15 men in extra time is absolutely stupid, why do the gaa persist in applying non-sensical rules like this? Is it so that we can say we're not soccer? There was controversy over this last year with some minor team was there, maybe it was to do with a lad getting two yellows, being sent off and then taking his place again when extra time started.
With extra time becoming more common place, it's about time they had a look at this?
The referee gifted this game to Offaly, he played 2 1/2 minutes over the injury time!!
was gutted for the lads, was a cracking game and as usual RTE showed fook all of the match, a partly 1 minute.
on that showing i left Parnell feeling better, what the players brought to the match was a willingness to compete for every ball, it was great intensity and a big improvement on the last league games.
we could argue over missed chances fumbles and the rest but i believe the referee played over the extended time and gave them a soft free to level it. he probably didn't realise there was extra time.
I was at the game myself, absolute cracker. Had to be the best display by an Antrim hurling team in the Championship for years. Couple of delays led to the few 'extra' minutes of injury-time - Shane will have to be kicking himself this morning though - simple error. Such huge criticism of the Saffrons this year - put to bed yesterday - hopefully they take a scalp or two in the qualifiers now.
Also what is it about Antrim hurling sides, Parnell Park and extra-time? - it happened Cushendall last year against De La Salle!
I wasnt at the match yesterday, caught the highlights on rte though...the last free...how are ye calling it soft...it was a clear free that had to be given. Go and watch it again if you dont believe me.
Antrim look to have been the better side for most of the game, its fairly obvious all offaly thought they had to do was show up. I can see them giving Galway a real go of it in a few weeks time as that certainly wasnt offaly at their best.
On a side note, great to see offaly have finally gotten rid of mullins, his heart has never been in it, and he should have been thrown off the panel for the bad example he has been showing for the last 5-6 years, thankfully dempsey done so well when he came on that I think we may have seen the end of mullins, 5 years too late.
that minute that you watched was crap.
Antrim deserved to win the game. laoisgaa the referee was fooled into playing for a leveler, the free was far softer than some of the tackles that went on during the match. suffice to say the had this happened in the 5 minute then it would have been waved away.
Mullins was poor no doubt and the lad that came on will surely start against Galway. on that performance Offaly will get hammered by Galway. Antrim to get maybe Wexford in the qualifiers and give it a go
Great match by the sounds of it, would have been a great lift for Antrim and Ulster hurling in general. Hard luck.
FECK! FECK! FECK!!!!!! FECK! FECK! FECK!!!!!! FECKIN ... FECK! FECKIN FECKIN FECK!!!!
OFFALY CNUTS!!!
Still hurts!
I for one have to hold my hands up and admit I was wrong about Cahill. I slagged Cahill off when he was appointed because I do not agree with his disregard for the league but if he can produce good performances in the championship then fair enough.I expected Antrim to be better than they were in the league but not to come close to winning. Clearly I was well off the mark. Having said that we in Antrim have more than enough hard luck stories to tell every one about and it would nice if just once we got the dodgy free in the last minute or the two minutes of unecessary time to see us over the finish line. >:(
Laois' maybe :D
Quote from: laoisgaa on May 31, 2010, 11:19:29 AMhopefully they take a scalp or two in the qualifiers now.
Was refreshing Cahill didn't girn about the ref unlike some of the contributers to this thread or the Baker last week.
Theres no love lost between Dinny and Joe Dooley anyway after their antics just after the equalising free.
But are antrim going to build on it? They couldn't field a team for a challenge against dublin recently yet they produce that performance.
This has always been the problem Indy. Antrim produce those performances every now and then because there are hurlers up here who can actually hurl. But in the past we haven't really had the ability to sustain that level of performance to the next game never mind the next season
we didn't win extra time which showed we were unfit. the Offaly lads let out a big cheer at the end of normal time knowing that they had us in extra time. we had lads cramping all over the pitch, (fair enough, the effort was great) but they didn't have that problem.
we were unlucky with the added added time the referee added on!!! also had that ball been pushed over the line at the end we could have won, or even the short puck out we took and lost at the end (they got a score from) we could have won. too many could haves.
it reminded me of the Cushendall game last year on the same pitch. so many chances but in the end a glorious defeat.
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on June 01, 2010, 03:57:34 PM
we didn't win extra time which showed we were unfit. the Offaly lads let out a big cheer at the end of normal time knowing that they had us in extra time. we had lads cramping all over the pitch, (fair enough, the effort was great) but they didn't have that problem.
Antrim players if they're honest in their own minds thought they'd missed their chance of a "shock". Thats when the energy gets sapped and players start to look unfit. It's the mental strength that we lack (and I mean collectively...not just the players...they pick it up through osmosis) not an inability to hurl. Thats why Antrims hurling fortunes over the years both at club and county level is riddled with nearlys. Proper investment in a decent well communicated development structure where we train to go toe to toe with the top counties from an early age is the only way I see getting enough players over time who don't fear going down south at intercounty level come senior. But theres no chance of that happening with the current administration
Quote from: theskull1 on June 01, 2010, 04:18:27 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on June 01, 2010, 03:57:34 PM
Antrim players if they're honest in their own minds thought they'd missed their chance of a "shock". Thats when the energy gets sapped and players start to look unfit. It's the mental strength that we lack (and I mean collectively...not just the players...they pick it up through osmosis) not an inability to hurl. Thats why Antrims hurling fortunes over the years both at club and county level is riddled with nearlys. Proper investment in a decent well communicated development structure where we train to go toe to toe with the top counties from an early age is the only way I see getting enough players over time who don't fear going down south at intercounty level come senior. But theres no chance of that happening with the current administration
current administration, do you mean Antrim or Croke
I'd have thought its a bit of everybody.
Clubs know if they get their act together, win a county championship, sad to say for a Down man but they've an easy run to an AI-semi-final, another day in the sun, glorious defeat, and alls well with the world. It's the easiest and most likely route to an AI and hence players know this and are pressurised a bit too by club managers to save themselves from running themselves into the ground in May/June time as the clubs will be wanting the lads fresh in August/September.
Co Boards also really care ultimately about balancing the books which is obviously important, so to suggest putting teams into Leinster championships, especially juvenile ones, where you'll more than likely get little reward for a lot of investment for a good few years. It's a huge undertaking that a county board like Antrim who's hardly awash with cash anyway so no wonder its not on the table.
IMO the Dublin team with all their investment over recent years will plateau for a few years, picking up the odd good win but not sustaining any great run over the summer until a lot of their current crop mature and are assisted by more and more better youngsters especially in the forwards. Co Boards want to see rewards for their investments and hurling isn't one of those sports where it happens overnight.
Thoughts on the match...
There was nothing that should surprise anyone from Offaly in Parnell Park on Sunday.
A tight pitch, Antrim fired up, Offaly probably thinking they'd get the win.
Add in a Leix ref happy to let a bit of man-to-man combat take place and a few Offaly players who wouldn't be renowned for their aggression.
Offaly could have had no complaints had they lost. They allowed Antrim to cruise into a 1-2 to no score lead in the first few minutes. Got their act together and hit 1-8 without reply. Normal service resumed? The Tipps and Galways of the hurling world would look to ram in a couple of goals and demoralise a reeling Antrim at that stage, but Offaly didn't have the instinct or ability to do so.
The two Antrim goals that went in before half time introduced the element of chaos and self doubt into the Offaly back line that then seemed to ripple throughout the team. Remarkably Offaly had an extra defender when all this happened as Antrim had withdrawn a corner forward to midfield. Once Antrim had been given a platform and a bit of self belief, Offaly were in for serious afternoon's hurling.
A new goalkeeper and full back by half time gives some indication of the mire Offaly were in. In one way Offaly were lucky the collapse happened in the first half rather than with about 20 minutes to go.
For most of the game Antrim played cleverer hurling, while Offaly were seriously rattled. Antrim used the width of pitch better at times. Offaly were the players constantly turning into crowded areas and trouble. Some of the Antrim high catching from puck outs was excellent also.
In the end a bit of ill luck and panic cost Antrim. The trip on Hanniffy for the equalizing free was needless as he had still a lot of work to do to get space to shoot. Such is the way of the world. Offaly teams have often done the same when in the same sort of scenario.
If Offaly are in any way capable of putting it up to Galway, this game was the best thing that could have happened.
Chances are though, it simply demonstrates why Offaly haven't made the Quarter Finals in 7 years.
good assessment Bord na Mona man. cant complain with much of that.
very annoying though that inexperience cost Antrim the game. would have looked forward to the Galway game, would have been Parnell again.
was watching the Galway game and their manager was talking about playing Offaly before the game was even played!! I'm sure Dinny used this beforehand. not sure if he was being condescending or just a p***k, but it certainly annoyed me
Quote from: Bord na Mona man on June 01, 2010, 08:36:42 PM
If Offaly are in any way capable of putting it up to Galway, this game was the best thing that could have happened.
Chances are though, it simply demonstrates why Offaly haven't made the Quarter Finals in 7 years.
When is the last time Galway beat Offaly in the championship ? Ochon is ochon o. Sure Galway have no chance. Don't be talking
us up bordnaMona man. It's very dizzying.