GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: longrunsthefox on May 17, 2010, 05:05:45 PM

Title: No hand pass problem says Duffy
Post by: longrunsthefox on May 17, 2010, 05:05:45 PM
Paraic whistles while Rome burns... "I don't see what the problem should be," he says.'

Duffy denies short notice on handpass rule

GAA director-general Paraic Duffy has claimed that a panel of referees visited teams involved in championship games over the weekend to clarify any issues relating to the handpass rule.

Tipperary football manager John Evans described GAA officialdom as "intelligent fools" after the new handpass rule was implemented for the first time in yesterday's games, while his Kerry counterpart Jack O'Connor also hit out at the new directive.

But speaking at the launch of Ulster Bank's GAA Rivals campaign in Croke Park today, Duffy clarified that the changes to the rules - which came about at Congress in April - were communicated to every county board and club in the country, while broadcast media covering the weekend's games also had the rule explained to them by National Match Officials Coordinator Patrick Doherty.

"The rule was changed at Congress four weeks ago. Every county, every club in the country were written to directly. Leading officials were written too," Duffy said.

"Last week we sent six of our elite inter-county referees to meet the six teams who were playing yesterday. The rule is as simple as can be, you can strike the ball with the closed fist, or you strike the ball with the underhand, provided there is a striking action.

"We sent six referees to the six teams last week, to answer any queries that they had. I can't see why there should have been a problem yesterday," he added.

"We also met last week. Pat Doherty, our National Match officials manager went down to RTÉ and met with all of the commentators, broadcasters and analysts to explain the rule. Every query they had was answered, from those who were there. So I don't see what the problem should be."
Title: Re: No hand pass problem says Duffy
Post by: zoyler on May 17, 2010, 05:18:48 PM
Of course he ignored the real problem which was that in Celtic Park anyway the idiot ref called perfectly executed handpasses fouls!
Post by: SLIGONIAN on May 17, 2010, 05:20:34 PM
The problem is several times yesterday good handpasses were blown up as frees by the 3 clowns refereinng. None of the 3 had a clue what was a good handpass or not. Yday i thought all 3 referees were a disgrace to the GAA and should apologise to the players. They ruined any chance of entertainment coming from the games.

The Sunday game panelists all stated they spoke to referees assesors recently and one said why isnt common sense used, which the answer was "common isnt in the rule book". Refs are all about ego and centre of attention and there very successful in that way you have to give it to them.

I was frustated to say the least yday watching all 3 games, and God help me when Sligo have to play.
Post by: liihb on May 17, 2010, 05:24:01 PM
Can anyone explain to me the reasoning behind introducing the rule? Surely the quick layoff to a lad bursting through the middle is a skill of the game, and it looks like this is going to remove it completely?
Post by: bingobus on May 17, 2010, 05:27:44 PM
Is the problem with the actual rule itself and that in the heat of a match a ref has to pay such close attention to a fist pass and not to everything else that is going on? I know they want to prevent a short game but this is hardly going to do that in even the medium term.

Trying to change such a basic skill is madness. Whats next, you're not allowed to catch a ball below your waist or kick with the outside of your foot!!
Post by: A Quinn Martin Production on May 17, 2010, 05:31:18 PM
It seems to me that the refs forgot that any type of fisted pass is OK as long as there is a clear strike.  It's only the open hand pass that must have an "underhand" strike.  In the Kerry match the ref called back at least two fisted passes that weren't underhand ???

BTW does "underhand" mean the ball must be played from underneath (or would that be under ball ;)) and that the lateral "push" type pass is now illegal ???
Post by: longrunsthefox on May 17, 2010, 05:31:44 PM
The same is happening in club games with refs blowing up what appear to be legitimate handpasses all over the place. Is difficult for refs too.
Post by: Zulu on May 17, 2010, 05:32:45 PM
QuoteThe rule is as simple as can be, you can strike the ball with the closed fist, or you strike the ball with the underhand, provided there is a striking action.

What's your underhand? My understanding is that the motion has to be an underhand one but most of the frees for illegal handpassing yesterday were when players did do that while there were quite a few left go when they didn't seem to do that. New rules of any ilk should never be introduced a) without trialling and b) in the most important competition.
Post by: Smokin Joe on May 17, 2010, 05:37:14 PM
Quote from: Zulu on May 17, 2010, 05:32:45 PM
QuoteThe rule is as simple as can be, you can strike the ball with the closed fist, or you strike the ball with the underhand, provided there is a striking action.

What's your underhand? My understanding is that the motion has to be an underhand one but most of the frees for illegal handpassing yesterday were when players did do that while there were quite a few left go when they didn't seem to do that. New rules of any ilk should never be introduced a) without trialling and b) in the most important competition.

It is unbelievable that a rule can be trialled in the NFL for 3 months and that this is rejected but is replaced by a rule which was NEVER trialled anywhere.  That is just plain daft.

If the NFL ruling didn't work they should have adopted a trial of the new rule at some stage in the future before actually bringing it in as a proper rule.
Post by: Rossfan on May 17, 2010, 06:16:49 PM
Was the new interpretation of the handpass/throw voted in by the Congress delegates or was it a directive of Central Council or of the Ard Stiúitheoir?
The biggest problem with any rule in football, either old or new, is the awful inconsistency of the refs in implementing/ignoring them.
Personally I think ALL handpassing should be banned to fu*k as the name of the game is FOOTball.
It was painful lookign at the 2 live games yesterday as the ball was handpassed up and down the field ad nauseum.
When Stevie McDonnell ( one man who is able to kick a ball) decided to kick a long ball into the big square and Armagh had a goal.
Post by: Orior on May 17, 2010, 06:23:29 PM
How about this idea - no handpass no problem.
Post by: Hardy on May 17, 2010, 06:34:59 PM
Now yizzer talkin. Ban the abomination of handpassing completely.
Post by: sandwiches_in_the_boot on May 17, 2010, 06:41:54 PM
Duffy says no problem?

(http://smartmortgageadvice.files.wordpress.com/2007/08/head-up-ass.jpg)
Post by: put-it-up on May 17, 2010, 06:57:02 PM
It shoulda been left as it was, where everybody knew you couldn't throw it. That avoided general confusion like we saw on Sunday
Post by: Armaghgeddon on May 17, 2010, 07:36:30 PM
Paraic Duffy - One word - Dickhead.
Post by: zoyler on May 17, 2010, 07:45:22 PM
The more things change the more they remain the same!1  Any of the other old heads on this board remember an AISF involving Armagh when the ref - I think it was Collins - decided that every bodys handpass was fine except for Colm McKinstrs?  He drove Colm mad and yet nobody else was able to tell him what he was doing differently to everybody else!
Post by: Armaghgeddon on May 17, 2010, 07:54:42 PM
In all fairness the referee didnt cost Derry the game. He made bad decisions for both teams, and it was his first game enforcing the new rules. I would be more bothered if one team benefitted moreso than the other.
Post by: Main Street on May 17, 2010, 08:17:46 PM
(http://4.bp.blogspot.com/_qIxhONAMjiU/SjuoQFISS7I/AAAAAAAAAG0/M-XyHlcY8q8/s400/iron%2Bfist.JPG)
Post by: guevara on May 17, 2010, 09:45:14 PM
This rule has been brought about to appease idiots like Pat Spillane & Bernard Flynn who constantly cry in the media about Northern teams preference for the short hand game.

In what way does this quicken up the game of football??........None whatsoever, if anything it actually slows it down.
Teams like Armagh & Tyrone have  developed their team strategy around superior fitness levels, short sharp bursts out of defence via the hand pass & overlapping runs that turn defence into attack in a matter of seconds, while frustrating opposing teams by dropping extra defenders in front of their half back line to force the other team to try & break them down in less space than they are normally accustomed to.

Yesterdays game perfectly demonstrated this in Celtic Park. Derry looked clueless in attack whereas Armagh seemed to find scores at will .
I agree it isnt pretty to watch as Armagh use it to the extreme. But teams like Cork & Kildare have used it in recent seasons & it has proven to be a beneficial tactic.
What guys like Spillane fail to see is its a system that demands more from players in terms of fitness, work rate & contribution to the game.
Corner forwards no longer just sit & wait on ball coming in & kicking scores. They work , harry & tackle back in their own half to upset opposing players & cause as many turnovers as possible.

The new rule in my opinion will only cause more headaches for an organisation more intent on keeping its elder membesrs happy than actually trying to make its game better.
Post by: Orior on May 17, 2010, 09:54:07 PM
Julian Clary and Graham Norton were practising fisting yesterday in a park in central London.

Well, its what I heard anyway.
Post by: rosnarun on May 17, 2010, 10:52:36 PM
Quote from: sandwiches_in_the_boot on May 17, 2010, 06:41:54 PM
Duffy says no problem?

(http://smartmortgageadvice.files.wordpress.com/2007/08/head-up-ass.jpg)
an arrogant bastard
Post by: Onlooker on May 17, 2010, 11:07:34 PM
The more I see or read of Messrs. Cooney & Duffy, the less confidence I have in either of them.  Clearly, neither of them were a match yesterday or they would have seen that there is a huge problem with this new handpass rule. Corrective action will have to be taken ASAP.
Post by: DuffleKing on May 17, 2010, 11:28:26 PM

There is going to be some craic with club football up and down the country this weekend.
imagine the balls some of the comanches pretending to be club refs are going to make of matches...
Post by: orangeman on May 17, 2010, 11:36:39 PM
I think we're over reactiung a bit here. What else do you think Padraig Duffy was going to say ?

In addition and I've made the point already - it was our good delegates that brought these new rules in - ok if the top table says jump, everybody apart from Mark Conway and very few others hout "how high?" - but ultimately these rule changes were put to a vote and the delgates approved them.

So it's not all Duffy's fault. Or the refs either.
Post by: DuffleKing on May 17, 2010, 11:42:49 PM

congress should not be making decisions on playing rules changes. sure what would they know about it?
Post by: Jinxy on May 17, 2010, 11:57:46 PM
All the decent rule changes that were knocked back and this nonsense somehow makes it through.
Post by: jodyb on May 18, 2010, 12:01:05 AM
What in the name of Jesus was wrong with the game in the first instance? The rules are tampered with that often, referees cant administer them, they cahnge every f#ckin year! Refs dont even remember older established rules like short frees etc and are brutally inconsistent with them. As another poster pointed out, Deegan was so hung up on blowing up perfectly legitimate handpasses yesterday that he completely forgot the more important rule of carding for repeated and persistent fouling. If he had done so, there would have been more see the line than skinner. Either that, or the resultant yellows would have opened the game up. 
Post by: adevvabr on May 18, 2010, 12:07:35 AM
Played in a club game yesterday where the ref told both teams beforehand that he was gonna be lenient with new handpass rule and wasnt gonna blow for any illegal handpass unless it was a clear throw. I think both teams were delighted and fair play to the ref for showing some common sense and not ruining the game like the the so called "elite" referees did yesterday!!
Post by: jodyb on May 18, 2010, 12:13:47 AM
Quote from: adevvabr on May 18, 2010, 12:07:35 AM
Played in a club game yesterday where the ref told both teams beforehand that he was gonna be lenient with new handpass rule and wasnt gonna blow for any illegal handpass unless it was a clear throw. I think both teams were delighted and fair play to the ref for showing some common sense and not ruining the game like the the so called "elite" referees did yesterday!!
Lets get him promoted to intercounty duty at once....
Post by: ONeill on May 18, 2010, 12:42:30 AM
Quote from: longrunsthefox on May 17, 2010, 05:05:45 PM
The rule is as simple as can be, you can strike the ball with the closed fist, or you strike the ball with the underhand, provided there is a striking action.

It's this bit that gets me. We now need a definition of a 'strike'. Surely, unless you're throwing the ball, every movement from one hand to the ball which is in the other hand in order to move it to another location is striking it. Is a flick not a strike? What's a flick then? How long does the strike's span have to be? What if you're good at it and do a long to medium strike very quickly?

Stevie McDonnell said yesterday that the ref who came down during the week showed them what was a 'good' strike and a 'bad' strike but the players couldn't tell the difference.

Leave it as it is or if you really want to deal with it, only allow 3 handpasses in succession but that discriminates against numerically challenged refs, as well as giving them something else to be watching out for.

They should've just said NO THROWING THE BALL on this park.
Post by: orangeman on May 18, 2010, 10:45:55 AM
The GAA hierarchy are very silly. Why didn't the just deliver a bucketful of pebbles to every county senior team ???

Sure that would have solved all the problems with fis passing !!!!!!!   ;) :D

Armagh sorted it out quickly. Smart boys in Armagh.

http://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-football/fists-of-fury-2183552.html
Post by: Onlooker on May 18, 2010, 10:51:09 AM
I would say fair play to that referee as well, but if that was an inter county game, there would be an assessor in the stand giving a "thumbs down" and he would get less and less matches.  Whoever got this new handpass nonsense passed has certainly caused some right mess.  There will be a lot more to come as the season moves on.
Post by: OverThePostsAWide on May 18, 2010, 11:34:04 AM
Quote from: ONeill on May 18, 2010, 12:42:30 AM
Quote from: longrunsthefox on May 17, 2010, 05:05:45 PM
The rule is as simple as can be, you can strike the ball with the closed fist, or you strike the ball with the underhand, provided there is a striking action.

It's this bit that gets me. We now need a definition of a 'strike'. Surely, unless you're throwing the ball, every movement from one hand to the ball which is in the other hand in order to move it to another location is striking it. Is a flick not a strike? What's a flick then? How long does the strike's span have to be? What if you're good at it and do a long to medium strike very quickly?

Is the intention of the rule change not clear? (even if the current implementation is not). From the official communication:

"7 Handpass (Definition)
   Football
   When in possession, the ball may be played away with
(i)   the fist
or
(ii)   an open hand – in which instance there shall be a definite underhand striking action.
The striking hand shall not be in contact with the ball before delivering the strike.
When both hands are involved, the ball may be struck off a holding hand by the other hand or released from the holding hand and struck with the other hand.
When one hand is involved, the ball may be released from the holding hand and struck with the same hand.
The releasing of the ball, when used, is considered an integral part of the fisted/open Handpass.

Change: A player may execute a pass using the hand by either:
(a)   The fist
(b)   Open hand provided it is struck underhand
In either case there must be a definite striking action, with the striking hand not being in contact with ball before delivering the strike."

A flick (by my definition at least) is when a hand is in contact with the ball - even momentarily - and then the action to flick it away is started with a motion of the fingers or wrist.

I am in favour of the new definiton - even if it mostly clarifies and emphasises what was already illegal. I don't agree with how it has been rushed through, without trialling, proper consultation, etc. though.

There is nothing wrong with the rule in my view. There is a problem of consistancy in how it is being applied alright. A bit of patience is needed - particularly from players and managers. It has been thrown onto the referees too! Managers, in particular, are the worst cases for the "whataboutery" argument. Rather than holding their hand up and saying "actually, that was a correct call by the referee" when their team is penalised, they will most times say "but so and so got away with it so why not us?". It is a reductionist argument that would just lead to anarchy if taken to its ultimate conclusion (that's why I would resist managers as a group being directly involved in the rules formulation process - their business is in winning which may not be in the best interests of the game overall).

There will always be a subjective judgement as to what is a legal handpass, however it is defined. Same with pick-ups, square balls, etc. But we all should know what the intention of these rules are. There is hardly a soccer match that goes by without some controversy over "hand-balls" or "offsides". Doesn't mean either rule is going to - or should - disappear anytime soon.

My advice to underage teams I coach has always been to not take a chance with the more subjective rules - particularly when you mostly have a choice in the case of a handpass or pickup. Make sure to be seen to do it right - particularly in critical situations. Make it easy for the referee to make it easy for you!

Anyway, I guess what I am pleading for is a bit of calm reflection. Sure, it would have been sensible to have this trialled in another competition, but we are where we are. Screaming at/abusing the referees is not going to help. Otherwise we will just have another rule on the books which is happily ignored/made up as we go along a la goalkeepers advancing for penalties and openhand points!
Post by: mountainboii on May 18, 2010, 11:45:04 AM
Quote from: guevara on May 17, 2010, 09:45:14 PM
This rule has been brought about to appease idiots like Pat Spillane & Bernard Flynn who constantly cry in the media about Northern teams preference for the short hand game.

Whatever about the northern bit, don't want to get into conspiracy theory territory, I think this is right. There are men in charge paying far to much heed to professional shit stirrers in the media like Spillane, with their petty semantic arguments and myths of football in bygone eras. The joke of ringing into RTE to complain about him on Sunday says it all. Would it make too much sense to plan rule changes after holding proper consultations with current players and managers, instead of reacting to the latest moan of the day from lads that are paid to moan?
Post by: OverThePostsAWide on May 18, 2010, 12:04:54 PM
Quote from: AFS on May 18, 2010, 11:45:04 AM
Quote from: guevara on May 17, 2010, 09:45:14 PM

Whatever about the northern bit, don't want to get into conspiracy theory territory, I think this is right. There are men in charge paying far to much heed to professional shit stirrers in the media like Spillane, with their petty semantic arguments and myths of football in bygone eras. The joke of ringing into RTE to complain about him on Sunday says it all. Would it make too much sense to plan rule changes after holding proper consultations with current players and managers, instead of reacting to the latest moan of the day from lads that are paid to moan?

Fair point AFS. But I think managers are just as bad on the moaning front. Have you listened to/read Mickey Harte? (or Cassidy, McAneany, etc., etc.)
Post by: mountainboii on May 18, 2010, 12:15:52 PM
They do sure enough, but they're ignored. It's eejits that haven't been invovled at the highest level of the game for twenty years, but have a newspaper whinge column, that are listened to. I'd sooner pay heed to the complaints of the men that are at the heart of things right now.
Post by: magpie seanie on May 18, 2010, 03:07:46 PM
More "clarification"  ::)

Prenty defends new regulations
18 May 2010

Connacht Council secretary John Prenty, who was one of the chief instigators behind the controversial new handpass rule, has strongly defended the changes which have caused uproar in football circles.

Managers and players in three provinces were incensed on Sunday with the new regulations, which they claim they were not fully briefed on.

However, Prenty said yesterday: "I don't think the rule is confusing at all. It's simple. People are talking about new rules being blamed because 13 fellows got booked in one match, but fellows get booked no matter what the rules are!

"You'd swear this thing came out last Friday. Congress was on April the 16/17, so counties know about it. If team managers or players have a problem with the county board, that's not my problem."

The Mayo man added: "We were watching games and the ball was being thrown and slung around the place.

"Some lads were throwing the ball better than Brian O'Driscoll
so at a Connacht Council meeting, we decided that we wanted to put something definite on it."

And despite pleas from managers and players to revert back to the old rule, GAA director-general Paraic Duffy insists there will be no going back.

"There will be absolutely no rowing back," he said yesterday.

"If teams want referees to go and explain the rules, I am quite happy to keep doing that until the penny drops - but the rule will remain."

The bit I've highlighted begs the question - why didn't the referees penalise them and if they didn't why didn't Mr Prenty and the other assorted clowns get on the the refs to do their job? Now that's simple Mr Prenty - applying the rules properly. A paid official ridiculing the people who generate the money for his wages - only in Ireland.
Post by: bingobus on May 18, 2010, 03:19:04 PM
Thats priceless Seanie and people claim the FAI have all the idiots running the show  ::)
Post by: saffron sam2 on May 18, 2010, 03:21:31 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on May 18, 2010, 03:07:46 PM

18 May 2010

Connacht Council secretary John Prenty, who was one of the chief instigators behind the controversial new handpass rule, has strongly defended the changes which have caused uproar in football circles.

Managers and players in three provinces were incensed on Sunday with the new regulations, which they claim they were not fully briefed on.

However, Prenty said yesterday: "I don't think the rule is confusing at all. It's simple. People are talking about new rules being blamed because 13 fellows got booked in one match, but fellows get booked no matter what the rules are!

"You'd swear this thing came out last Friday. Congress was on April the 16/17, so counties know about it. If team managers or players have a problem with the county board, that's not my problem."

The Mayo man added: We were watching games and the ball was being thrown and slung around the place.

"Some lads were throwing the ball better than Brian O'Driscoll so at a Connacht Council meeting, we decided that we wanted to put something definite on it."

And despite pleas from managers and players to revert back to the old rule, GAA director-general Paraic Duffy insists there will be no going back.

"If teams want referees to go and explain the rules, I am quite happy to keep doing that until the penny drops - but the rule will remain."

The arrogance dripping from the shite in bold really, really, really sickens my hole.
Post by: Main Street on May 18, 2010, 03:31:25 PM
I thought the ref quite rightly penalised Donaghy for his throw-ball for the disallowed goal against Tipp. Personally I thought his throw was obvious and blatant yet I have heard comment (incl the commentators) that there was nothing wrong with Donaghy's pass.

Any reasonable change that succeeds in helping the ref distinguish between a throw and a pass, would be a positive development within the game.

Post by: Zulu on May 18, 2010, 03:36:51 PM
I don't think the issue is the rule itself but rather the timing of it, that it wasn't trialled and the number of times refs called this new handpass rule wrong. I thought Donaghy's one was dodgy myself but some of the other ones in the 2 televised games were ridiculous.
Post by: catchandkick on May 18, 2010, 05:20:04 PM
Anyone who believes there has been a problem with throwing in Gaelic football does not know the game or has not played it. That sounds arrogant but I believe it to be true and you have the architect of the rule Eugene McGee

http://www.independent.ie/opinion/columnists/eugene-mcgee/eugene-mcgee-bosses-should-put-up-or-shut-up-on-new-rule-2183452.html

giving out about managers giving out about the rule, just because he has created a nonsensical rule which introduces about ten or fifteen frees into every game. Why would you create a rule for a problem that didn't exist?

Watched Armagh v Derry and Kerry v Tipp on Sunday and saw one illegal handpass between the two games. Anthony Maher had his left hand held by a Tipp player and flicked up the ball and fisted with his right hand. This is a foul I believe per the rules quoted in this thread.

Main Street, watch the Donaghy pass again. Definitely not a throw.

Most of McGee's article is a yearning for a return to a kicking game, and I would agree with him to some extent on that. But there has not been a problem with illegal handpassing, so scrap this ridiculous new rule immediately.

Post by: catchandkick on May 18, 2010, 05:35:13 PM
Just after reading those rules again and Maher's pass was legal!

So no illegal  handpasses in either game! Great!

Looking forward to hearing Pat McEneaney ( only decent ref in football) view on this farce.

Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on May 18, 2010, 05:44:51 PM
Quote from: catchandkick on May 18, 2010, 05:20:04 PM
Anthony Maher had his left hand held by a Tipp player and flicked up the ball and fisted with his right hand. This is a foul I believe per the rules quoted in this thread.

Was doing a referee course at the weekend - and if you throw the ball up at hit it with the same hand - it is not a free kick
Post by: ONeill on May 18, 2010, 05:49:40 PM
Will refs have the knackers to blow up for what they perceive to be an illegal handpass within surefire scoring range? Did it occur at the weekend or were all handpass fouls blown up in 'safe' range?
Post by: Rossfan on May 18, 2010, 06:30:30 PM
Kerry had a "goal" disallowed because the ref deemed the pass to the player who put the ball in the net was illegal.
Post by: tyssam5 on May 18, 2010, 07:19:53 PM
Quote from: Main Street on May 18, 2010, 03:31:25 PM
I thought the ref quite rightly penalised Donaghy for his throw-ball for the disallowed goal against Tipp. Personally I thought his throw was obvious and blatant yet I have heard comment (incl the commentators) that there was nothing wrong with Donaghy's pass.

Any reasonable change that succeeds in helping the ref distinguish between a throw and a pass, would be a positive development within the game.

Donaghy does throw the ball a lot. Ref in Derry Armagh game seemed to decide his variation of the rule was that any handpass less than 10 feet was a foul.
Post by: Main Street on May 18, 2010, 09:17:30 PM
There were a few other times when the 5th or so pass was pulled up in an attacking position and you would be hard pressed to tell the difference between it and the other 4. That would drive you demented, as my mother would often say about me.
Post by: Rossfan on May 18, 2010, 09:41:40 PM
Quote from: catchandkick on May 18, 2010, 05:20:04 PM
, so scrap this ridiculous new rule immediately.

Can't be done till 2015.
Post by: ONeill on May 18, 2010, 09:59:37 PM
Yet there seemed to be a consensus during the Sunday Game that it'd be consigned to the dustbin anyway by refs after a week or two.
Post by: crossfire on May 18, 2010, 10:05:46 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on May 18, 2010, 03:07:46 PM

18 May 2010

The Mayo man added: "We were watching games and the ball was being thrown and slung around the place.

"Some lads were throwing the ball better than Brian O'Driscoll
so at a Connacht Council meeting, we decided that we wanted to put something definite on it."

The bit I've highlighted begs the question - why didn't the referees penalise them and if they didn't why didn't Mr Prenty and the other assorted clowns get on the the refs to do their job? Now that's simple Mr Prenty - applying the rules properly. A paid official ridiculing the people who generate the money for his wages - only in Ireland.

Well put Seanie.

I hope Mr Prenty reads your post
Post by: crossfire on May 18, 2010, 10:22:27 PM
Mr Duffy says that Croke Park sent 6 elite Referees to meet the teams. ::)

Where did they get them from ?.  ???

Did they go around the Graveyards and dig them up.
Post by: Jinxy on May 18, 2010, 11:44:39 PM
I have to say I never noticed this epidemic of throw-balls in football.
In hurling however it is blatant and rarely punished.
Post by: catchandkick on May 19, 2010, 01:43:03 PM
No need to scrap new rules, the problem is referees incorrectly penalising legitimate handpasses.

Would love to see a DVD compilation showing instances of 'throwing' over the last few years, which Eugene McGee and co. seem to think has been a problem in the game which needed rectifying.

WHY INTRODUCE A RULE FOR A PROBLEM THAT DIDN'T EXIST???
Post by: bingobus on May 19, 2010, 02:46:49 PM
This throwing is just nonsense and a cover by them. They want to make it harder for players to play a short running game and make a basic skill for them, harder to play with. Short term solution was to introduce this rule - untrialed and at short notice.

In a year or so, players will have fully adapted to it and the same problem they are trying to stamp out will still exist ie short running game.

"Throwing" my arse  ;D
Post by: rosnarun on May 19, 2010, 07:06:01 PM
the real problem is they have brought in another rule that the referees can not properly implement . all the real contentious issues last sunday were from the ref  getting it wrong rather than the rule its self. along with the taclke Fottball could become un-ref-able
Post by: orangeman on May 23, 2010, 10:50:54 PM
Week number 2 there's still a really big problem !!!!!!!!

Has the penny not dropped yet ??

Send a bagful of pebbles to each county board this week ala Armagh.
Post by: SLIGONIAN on May 23, 2010, 11:23:32 PM
Prenty is a mayoman, hopefully karma will see it may comeback to bite him in the ass. If some ref calls it wrong later in the championship and costs mayo. For some reason i cant see it happening them in connacht as refs seem to favour them, ive no doubt we will be in luck on June 5th to have a fair ref in our game ;) like john bannon in 08 when he may aswell kicked over 1-2 in the 1st half that day but in fairness we were muck that day and hammering us did mayo no favours.
Post by: Bogball XV on May 23, 2010, 11:34:57 PM
Quote from: hardstation on May 23, 2010, 10:54:03 PM
Anybody see the one they showed in the Meath - Offaly match? The ref blew a foul but the boy clearly drew his arm right back and fisted it properly.
which one was that?  The one where the offaly lad played a perfectly legitimate fist pass to his team mate only for the ref to blow him up and award Meath a free kick 30yds out in front of the posts?
Post by: SLIGONIAN on May 23, 2010, 11:42:58 PM
Quote from: Bogball XV on May 23, 2010, 11:34:57 PM
Anybody see the one they showed in the Meath - Offaly match? The ref blew a foul but the boy clearly drew his arm right back and fisted it properly.
which one was that?  The one where the offaly lad played a perfectly legitimate fist pass to his team mate only for the ref to blow him up and award Meath a free kick 30yds out in front of the posts?

Ya that was one of the many, it was 6-2 to meath at that stage, fcking ridiculous decision, imagine if meath won by a 1pt. Some team is going to get robbed and im just praying its not Sligo in 2 weeks time.
Post by: Any craic on May 24, 2010, 01:37:21 AM
http://ulster.gaa.ie/ (http://ulster.gaa.ie/) - Pat McEneaney, frank and open as always, which is to be welcomed, discusses his approach to the handpass ruling at Casement Park. He describes the ruling as a 'red herring'.
Post by: orangeman on May 24, 2010, 09:15:37 AM
Quote from: Any craic on May 24, 2010, 01:37:21 AM
http://ulster.gaa.ie/ (http://ulster.gaa.ie/) - Pat McEneaney, frank and open as always, which is to be welcomed, discusses his approach to the handpass ruling at Casement Park. He describes the ruling as a 'red herring'.

Lovely plush changing rooms for the ref in Casement !!! Who was the designer ?

Mc Enaney denied he was using coming sense yesterday and was only appying the rules - hope Croke Park are listening. ;)
Post by: Zapatista on May 24, 2010, 09:18:22 AM
Quote from: orangeman on May 24, 2010, 09:15:37 AM

Mc Enaney denied he was using coming sense yesterday and was only appying the rules - hope Croke Park are listening. ;)

Tidy wee disclaimer saying he couldn't blow what he didn't see and probably missed a few.
Post by: orangeman on May 24, 2010, 09:23:34 AM
Quote from: Zapatista on May 24, 2010, 09:18:22 AM
Quote from: orangeman on May 24, 2010, 09:15:37 AM

Tidy wee disclaimer saying he couldn't blow what he didn't see and probably missed a few.

Cute boy is Pat !!!   ;)
Post by: orangeman on May 25, 2010, 11:26:38 AM
Yes Mr Duffy, there IS a problem after all :

The chairman of the National Referees Committee Mick Curley believes issues with the controversial handpass rule will be corrected in the coming weeks.

The referees chief admitted there had been problems so far in the Championship with the new interpretation of the regulation, but he is confident the situation will improve in the coming weeks.

Curley told the Irish Independent: 'There were some inconsistencies again on Sunday but then this is new to everybody.

'We're working towards getting greater uniformity in how the rule is implemented and I have no doubt we're getting there.'

He added: 'It's all about improving consistency right across the board.

'Once we can get players and referees on the same wavelength on this one, the problem should peter out.'
Post by: Jinxy on May 25, 2010, 11:29:31 AM
Quote from: SLIGONIAN on May 23, 2010, 11:42:58 PM
Quote from: Bogball XV on May 23, 2010, 11:34:57 PM

Ya that was one of the many, it was 6-2 to meath at that stage, fcking ridiculous decision, imagine if meath won by a 1pt. Some team is going to get robbed and im just praying its not Sligo in 2 weeks time.

Offaly being awarded a point when it was clearly wide would have cancelled it out.
Post by: rrhf on May 25, 2010, 04:52:55 PM
Paraic Duffy coming out with that statement reminded me a wee bit of comical Ali in the Iraq war.
Post by: Bord na Mona man on May 25, 2010, 06:21:01 PM
Quote from: catchandkick on May 19, 2010, 01:43:03 PM
No need to scrap new rules, the problem is referees incorrectly penalising legitimate handpasses.

Would love to see a DVD compilation showing instances of 'throwing' over the last few years, which Eugene McGee and co. seem to think has been a problem in the game which needed rectifying.

WHY INTRODUCE A RULE FOR A PROBLEM THAT DIDN'T EXIST???
McGee would be old school and might have a bit of vendetta against handpassing (legal or otherwise).
Post by: Rossfan on May 25, 2010, 06:27:46 PM
Quote from: orangeman on May 25, 2010, 11:26:38 AM

The chairman of the National Referees Committee Mick Curley believes issues with the controversial handpass rule will be corrected in the coming weeks.

The referees chief admitted there had been problems so far in the Championship with the new interpretation of the regulation, but he is confident the situation will improve in the coming weeks.

Curley told the Irish Independent: 'There were some inconsistencies again on Sunday but then this is new to everybody.

'We're working towards getting greater uniformity in how the rule is implemented and I have no doubt we're getting there.'

He added: 'It's all about improving consistency right across the board.

'Once we can get players and referees on the same wavelength on this one, the problem should peter out.'

The only people having a problem were the bloody referees. How can any legislator , or player or manager cope with a clown like Fahy giving frees for the most obvious fisted passes while Deegan the week before gave frees any time he DIDNT see the pass.
Jeysus it's one thing getting  a 50/50 call wrong in the heat of the action but the above 2 individuals take the bloody biscuit !!!
Post by: Celt_Man on May 26, 2010, 11:43:28 AM
Coulter slams "blazers" over rule changes

26 May 2010

Benny Coulter has criticised Croke Park officials for not consulting with players on changes to the handpass rule.

Coulter, who is expected to captain Down against Donegal in Sunday's Ulster SFC quarter-final owing to Ambrose Rogers' foot injury, blasted: "The blazers in Croke Park are changing rules without proper consolation with the people who matter most in Gaelic football - the players themselves.

"Do they honestly believe that slowing down the handpass will increase the number of kicked passes during a game? I don't think so."

The Mayobridge clubman, who is a full-time GAA coach in the Mourne County, continued: "Obviously, we all want uniformity and consistency. I know that there can be no more rule changes for the next five years, but I think that in future the players themselves should have some say before decisions are finally taken."

Coulter fears confusion over the handpass rule will put people off watching Gaelic football.

"There is evidence that players are being bottled up more easily and that referees are then blowing for more frees. This is clearly have a detrimental effect on the flow of games and this detracts from their appeal as sporting spectacles."
Post by: Rossfan on May 26, 2010, 06:49:04 PM
The  "new" handpass rule was introduced by vote of Congress held in Co Down. Congress consists of reps from every County so less of the populist "Croke Park Blazers" Mr Coulter.
Anyway has he still not learnt that players don't count .. Committee men are the Senior citizens in GAAland. ;D
Post by: Yes I Would on May 29, 2010, 10:06:12 PM
What year can we expect Jarlath to be GAA president?
Post by: Yes I Would on May 29, 2010, 10:11:08 PM
Quote from: hardstation on May 29, 2010, 10:08:05 PM
Not the next term but the term after.

Kissing ass gets you everywhere...
Post by: Jinxy on May 30, 2010, 04:48:22 PM
Lost count of the number of blatant throws in the Cork v Tipp game.
How come hurling is exempt from all the rules?
Post by: orangeman on May 30, 2010, 05:00:37 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on May 30, 2010, 04:48:22 PM
Lost count of the number of blatant throws in the Cork v Tipp game.
How come hurling is exempt from all the rules?

Sensible refs.
Post by: Jinxy on May 30, 2010, 05:07:37 PM
How is it sensible refereeing to just let players throw the ball?
Football didn't have a problem with the existing handpass, hurling did.
So the footballers are now crucified with a new rule which the hurling refs ignore?
Baffling.
Post by: orangeman on May 30, 2010, 05:09:11 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on May 30, 2010, 05:07:37 PM
How is it sensible refereeing to just let players throw the ball?
Football didn't have a problem with the existing handpass, hurling did.
So the footballers are now crucified with a new rule which the hurling refs ignore?Baffling.

Agreed.

Joe Mc Quillan didn't call them all today in the football either all the same.