Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: Jim_Murphy_74 on April 27, 2010, 02:55:09 PM

Title: Give up your dole or join the RIR!
Post by: Jim_Murphy_74 on April 27, 2010, 02:55:09 PM
Fas in Limerick are looking for recruits!

http://www.examiner.ie/ireland/jobs-centre-funded-by-fas-offers-careers-in-british-army-118290.html (http://www.examiner.ie/ireland/jobs-centre-funded-by-fas-offers-careers-in-british-army-118290.html)

/Jim.
Title: Re: Give up your dole or join the RIR!
Post by: cabra_harps on April 27, 2010, 02:57:33 PM
Quote from: Jim_Murphy_74 on April 27, 2010, 02:55:09 PM
Fas in Limerick are looking for recruits!

http://www.examiner.ie/ireland/jobs-centre-funded-by-fas-offers-careers-in-british-army-118290.html (http://www.examiner.ie/ireland/jobs-centre-funded-by-fas-offers-careers-in-british-army-118290.html)

/Jim.

That's a f*ckin disgrace! The gobshite behind that should get the sack.
Post by: tyronefan on April 27, 2010, 02:59:09 PM
As it is a criminal offence I wonder will somebody face charges
Post by: Hardy on April 27, 2010, 03:05:46 PM
A late entry for April 1st, surely?
Post by: BallyhaiseMan on April 27, 2010, 03:07:15 PM
They could have sweetened the deal by allowing the limerick lads to bring their own guns to recruit training.
Post by: funtime frankie on April 27, 2010, 03:07:36 PM
Treason is an offence which comes to mind. Shower of scum

Post by: Canalman on April 27, 2010, 03:35:22 PM
A prank I think. I think it is the "Royal Irish Regiment" and that there is no such entity as "the Royal Irish Army" Someone having a right old laugh imo.
Post by: Pangurban on April 27, 2010, 08:11:39 PM
Even if it were true, why should we be surprised
Post by: Zapatista on April 27, 2010, 08:28:42 PM
I felt sick when I heard this earlier. Rotten shower of bastards!
Post by: Tony Baloney on April 27, 2010, 08:37:36 PM
Youse are very precious.
Post by: Zapatista on April 27, 2010, 08:46:00 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on April 27, 2010, 08:37:36 PM
Youse are very precious.

Manipulating vulnerable young men and women to become mercenaries is deadly f**king serious >:(
Post by: Tony Baloney on April 27, 2010, 08:53:01 PM
Quote from: Zapatista on April 27, 2010, 08:46:00 PM
Youse are very precious.

Manipulating vulnerable young men and women to become mercenaries is deadly f**king serious >:(
Either they want to work or they don't...
Post by: Zapatista on April 27, 2010, 08:54:23 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on April 27, 2010, 08:53:01 PM
Youse are very precious.

f**k Off >:(
Post by: Tony Baloney on April 27, 2010, 09:01:21 PM
Quote from: Zapatista on April 27, 2010, 08:54:23 PM
Youse are very precious.

Learn new skills, meet new people, foreign travel, a good suntan and a steady wage - combine this with the fact that most of these people in Limerick will already be proficient with firearms and knives it's really a win-win all round.
Post by: rosnarun on April 27, 2010, 11:10:43 PM
in a way i think fair enough #if some one want to serve the crown take their passport and send the c***ts off to Iraq to get blown to bits. and have their names put up on traitors gate in Stephen's green like many a traitorous bastard before them
Post by: thejuice on April 27, 2010, 11:16:50 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nRd6ciCFL3g&feature=related
Post by: lawnseed on April 27, 2010, 11:21:19 PM
the list of traitors in the 26 counties just continues to grow. its unstoppable! i find it hard to think of anyone in public office who isn't a traitor, the whole place is a den of unscrupulous treacherous bastards >:(
Post by: stew on April 27, 2010, 11:24:38 PM
Quote from: lawnseed on April 27, 2010, 11:21:19 PM
the list of traitors in the 26 counties just continues to grow. its unstoppable! i find it hard to think of anyone in public office who isn't a traitor, the whole place is a den of unscrupulous treacherous b**tards >:(

Mebbe the boys that call for an our wee country for the six are right if this is the best those stupid govt idiots down south can do. This is beyond ridiculous.
Post by: J70 on April 27, 2010, 11:54:17 PM
Its amazing the difference in perspective, depending on which side of the border you grew up in. Bitterness from the northerners, apathy and complacency from the southerners!

I have to admit though, if I was extremely short on career options and it was a choice between joining a foreign military, even the British one, and going on the dole, I'd certainly very seriously consider it. At one point, when things weren't looking too good for me after I came to the states, I did do a bit of reading on US military careers. Thankfully things came together fairly quickly and I never had to seriously investigate that option, but I may have done it if things had got bad enough.

But as to the subject at hand, how the hell can an Irish government body send out letters encouraging their citizens to join a foreign military?  ???
Post by: rosnarun on April 28, 2010, 12:15:22 AM
the list of traitors in the 26 counties just continues to grow. its unstoppable! i find it hard to think of anyone in public office who isn't a traitor, the whole place is a den of unscrupulous treacherous b**tards >:(
what the f**k you on about were not the ones paying tax into the royal exchequer!
Post by: stephenite on April 28, 2010, 04:18:42 AM
Quote from: stew on April 27, 2010, 11:24:38 PM

Mebbe the boys that call for an our wee country for the six are right if this is the best those stupid govt idiots down south can do. This is beyond ridiculous.

I would have thought a person who sympathetic to US Republicans would be happy to see an increase in the numbers of the Brit army to supplement more cannon fodder for the wars that ye started?
Post by: Hedley Lamarr on April 28, 2010, 10:13:16 AM
Quote from: J70 on April 27, 2010, 11:54:17 PM
Its amazing the difference in perspective, depending on which side of the border you grew up in. Bitterness from the northerners, apathy and complacency from the southerners!

I have to admit though, if I was extremely short on career options and it was a choice between joining a foreign military, even the British one, and going on the dole, I'd certainly very seriously consider it. At one point, when things weren't looking too good for me after I came to the states, I did do a bit of reading on US military careers. Thankfully things came together fairly quickly and I never had to seriously investigate that option, but I may have done it if things had got bad enough.

But as to the subject at hand, how the hell can an Irish government body send out letters encouraging their citizens to join a foreign military?  ???

Hope you hadn't got as far as the buzz cut ;)
Post by: cabra_harps on April 28, 2010, 11:02:00 AM
Quote from: rosnarun on April 28, 2010, 12:15:22 AM
what the f**k you on about were not the ones paying tax into the royal exchequer!

And you think Nationalists here are paying into the royal exchequer as a matter of choice then? Wise up, we're paying into the royal exchequer because we were f*cked over by your so-called 'war of independence'.
Post by: Zapatista on April 28, 2010, 11:07:47 AM
I think the point is being missed. It wouldn't matter which army they were recruiting for. It wasn't the Irish army.

Who decided it would be ok to and actively try to recruit young Irish men and women from the most vulnerable areas of Irish society? What are their intentions? Did someone decide that rather than fix the social and unemployment problems of Moyross that they could just send the vulnerable young off to die?

Would this happen in D4? Rather than help the people who have been fucked by this state it seems like killing them off is an easier option. But as they can't do it here it they want to send them halfway across the world for some Iraqi or Afgan to do it. Someone should go to jail for this. This is treason!

Is this a step in the regeneration of Moyross? Kill off the the weaker and let the stonger build a new society? Scum of the earth >:(
Post by: Nally Stand on April 28, 2010, 11:17:41 AM
(http://i3.bebo.com/051a/1/large/2010/04/28/10/416621073a12465096500l.jpg)
Another step lower from the sellout state!
Post by: Zapatista on April 28, 2010, 11:33:03 AM
Quote from: Nally Stand on April 28, 2010, 11:17:41 AM

You are missing the entire point if this issue. This is one of the reasons SF will never be taken seriously on this.
Post by: Nally Stand on April 28, 2010, 11:41:00 AM
Quote from: Zapatista on April 28, 2010, 11:33:03 AM
Quote from: Nally Stand on April 28, 2010, 11:17:41 AM

You are missing the entire point if this issue. This is one of the reasons SF will never be taken seriously on this.

1. I have nothing to do with SF as I'm not a member. Just a supporter.
2. You mean I'm missing what YOU see as being the point? I have my own issues with this story for my own reasons. That doesn't mean I think your issues with the story are missing the point. We both have valid reasons to be disgusted at this story.
Post by: Nally Stand on April 28, 2010, 11:46:56 AM
Quote from: rosnarun on April 28, 2010, 12:15:22 AM

This remark coming from someone who earlier in this thread stated:
"in a way i think fair enough #if some one want to serve the crown take their passport and send the c***ts off to Iraq to get blown to bits. and have their names put up on traitors gate in Stephen's green like many a traitorous b**tard before them"

Sounds to me like you are every bit the traitor you speak of in that quote. You think, as mentioned by Cabra Harps above, that nationalists in the north are paying money to the 'royal exchequer' by choice?
Post by: Hardy on April 28, 2010, 12:23:14 PM
Well stop paying them, then, if you feel so strongly about it.

Oh wait ... you're a Sinn Féin supporter. Your party is in government. Conflicts, anomalies and conundrums everywhere you look. Life's like that.
Post by: Nally Stand on April 28, 2010, 12:35:19 PM
Quote from: Hardy on April 28, 2010, 12:23:14 PM

Oh wait ... you're a Sinn Féin supporter. Your party is in government. Conflicts, anomalies and conundrums everywhere you look. Life's like that.

Your right. I'll go on the dole for Ireland.
Post by: Hardy on April 28, 2010, 02:35:19 PM
Quote from: Nally Stand on April 28, 2010, 12:35:19 PM

My what?

Anyway, don't do that. We don't want you suffering materially for your principles.
Post by: Nally Stand on April 28, 2010, 02:37:07 PM
Quote from: Hardy on April 28, 2010, 02:35:19 PM
Quote from: Nally Stand on April 28, 2010, 12:35:19 PM

My what?

Anyway, don't do that. We don't want you suffering materially for your principles.

Thanks for your concern ;)
Post by: Zapatista on April 28, 2010, 03:34:24 PM
Quote from: Nally Stand on April 28, 2010, 11:41:00 AM

1. I have nothing to do with SF as I'm not a member. Just a supporter.
2. You mean I'm missing what YOU see as being the point? I have my own issues with this story for my own reasons. That doesn't mean I think your issues with the story are missing the point. We both have valid reasons to be disgusted at this story.

If you want to call someone a traitor call the b**tards who organised this traitors not the young people of Moyross who are being forced and manipulated into it. The b**tards who allow and fund this should be in jail.

I heard the SF guy Quinlivan, from Limerick talking about this on the radio and the interviewer slabbered on about the IRA while all the texts coming in were along the same lines. Quinlivan was making the point that this has f**k all to do with the IRA or the Brits it's the gombeens who allow and fund this in Ireland. The scum of the earth who want to use the IRA as an excuse to send vulnerable Irish citizens off to die.

Is it because they are a burden on the state? These scum bags who allow this should be in jail. Hitler tried to kill all the people he thought would be a burden on the state. Is someone somewhere in ireland is trying the same thing by a different road? They should be locked up.
Post by: Hardy on April 28, 2010, 03:50:31 PM
It took four pages to invoke Godwin's Law.
Post by: Tony Baloney on April 28, 2010, 04:03:58 PM
Quote from: Hardy on April 28, 2010, 03:50:31 PM
3. Is that a record?
Post by: AZOffaly on April 28, 2010, 04:07:11 PM
Sorry it's only 3 pages.
Post by: Hardy on April 28, 2010, 04:15:01 PM
It's four on my ould yoke. And I even have a rake of posters on "ignore".
Post by: stew on April 28, 2010, 06:07:55 PM

I would never consider becoming a british soldier, at some point you have to have some modicum of self respect, how could any Irishman seriously consider a career with that shower of bastards?

As for the Irish Government recruiting for the brits, it is to be expected really, they kiss their arses and have done for decades, in short they fear the big bad brits and they are spineless fcukers in the Dail, well spineless and corrupt, it is no wonder the south is about to get downgraded credit wise a la Greece.
Post by: Zapatista on April 28, 2010, 06:10:04 PM
Quote from: Hardy on April 28, 2010, 03:50:31 PM

Does one time in over 4000 post not leave me clear of Godwins law? Feel free to monitor my next 4000.

PS glad to know I haven't made your ignore list ;)
Post by: Main Street on April 28, 2010, 06:14:31 PM
There's an ignore button?
3 years here and I didn't know that.

Post by: muppet on April 28, 2010, 06:47:57 PM
(http://tcmwebmedia.s3.amazonaws.com/media/images/f/faslogo.jpg)[size=9]cists![/size]
Post by: The Real Laoislad on April 28, 2010, 07:06:37 PM
Most of the people in Moyross and Southhill etc are rotten to the core, wouldn't they be better off shooting Afgans than killing shooting/stabbing/robbing innocent and not so innocent Limerick residents
Post by: bennydorano on April 28, 2010, 07:16:36 PM
This is the third or fourth thread lately I've looked in at and thought are these contributors actually serious??  Big f**king tickle lads.

Morality polis, I didn't get a hurrumph outa that guy ::)
Post by: Olaf on April 28, 2010, 10:15:58 PM
Quote from: stew on April 28, 2010, 06:07:55 PM

, how could any Irishman seriously consider a career with that shower of b**tards?

Tim Collins ?
Post by: Myles Na G. on April 28, 2010, 10:37:41 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on April 27, 2010, 09:01:21 PM
Quote from: Zapatista on April 27, 2010, 08:54:23 PM
Youse are very precious.

Learn new skills, meet new people, foreign travel, a good suntan and a steady wage - combine this with the fact that most of these people in Limerick will already be proficient with firearms and knives it's really a win-win all round.
:D :D
A pearl of a post amongst the mass hysteria . Some of you lads need to get your heads out of your tight republican arses.
Post by: J70 on April 29, 2010, 02:12:23 AM

I would never consider becoming a british soldier, at some point you have to have some modicum of self respect, how could any Irishman seriously consider a career with that shower of b**tards?

As for the Irish Government recruiting for the brits, it is to be expected really, they kiss their arses and have done for decades, in short they fear the big bad brits and they are spineless fcukers in the Dail, well spineless and corrupt, it is no wonder the south is about to get downgraded credit wise a la Greece.

A life on the dole doesn't (or at least wouldn't for me) leave one with much self-respect anyway. As I said, we're talking about desperation in terms of career options.

Look at Ulysses Grant. Complete f**k-up in civilian life. One short civil war later and he's a national hero and then president! :P  ;)
Post by: rosnarun on April 29, 2010, 02:21:32 AM
i dont think it atall irrelevant that its the English army that were recruiting what if you were asked to quell riots on the bogside or harass residents on the falls road , carry out cross border spying raids would you still feel it was the same as the Foreign Legion .
once you sign up for an army they can do what they will with you
Post by: Aerlik on April 29, 2010, 11:51:43 AM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on April 28, 2010, 07:06:37 PM
Most of the people in Moyross and Southhill etc are rotten to the core, wouldn't they be better off shooting Afgans than killing shooting/stabbing/robbing innocent and not so innocent Limerick residents

that's right, Afghanis are all guilty of....well....ummm...errrr...ahem....let me see....

feeble attempt at humour if that is what your intention was.
Post by: AZOffaly on April 29, 2010, 02:11:48 PM
Quote from: Aerlik on April 29, 2010, 11:51:43 AM

that's right, Afghanis are all guilty of....well....ummm...errrr...ahem....let me see....

It's also not true.

There are a lot of scumbags in Moyross and Southill, no doubt. However, there are an awful lot more that are dead on. It's normal that the scumbags get most attention.

There's an asylum in Portlaoise. Doesn't mean most people in Portlaoise are mad. Erm. Actually.....
Post by: Nally Stand on April 29, 2010, 02:19:22 PM
I would never consider becoming a british soldier, at some point you have to have some modicum of self respect, how could any Irishman seriously consider a career with that shower of b**tards?

Nail hit square on the head. Maith thú.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on April 29, 2010, 05:26:58 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on April 29, 2010, 02:11:48 PM
Quote from: Aerlik on April 29, 2010, 11:51:43 AM

It's also not true.

There are a lot of scumbags in Moyross and Southill, no doubt. However, there are an awful lot more that are dead on. It's normal that the scumbags get most attention.

There's an asylum in Portlaoise. Doesn't mean most people in Portlaoise are mad. Erm. Actually.....

I lived in Caherdavin for 3 years,I know Moyross and there is far more scumbags than dead on people and I know 3 cops who are regularly in Moyross and also have had their squad car damaged and even burnt out on more than one occasion,but I did say "most" and not all btw  ;)

Portlaoise is an awful place too btw
Post by: AZOffaly on April 29, 2010, 05:43:51 PM
I've been down around Limerick since 1991, apart from 4 years in the States. There are scumbags in Moyross, and they cause a lot of trouble, hence the hassle the guards get down there. Even on a per capita basis there are more scumbags there than anywhere else.

But I don't think nearly everyone in Moyross or Southill are rotten to the core, as you put it. I think there's a lot of frightened, intimidated people there, and the scumbags rule the estates. But that's different than what you said :D