Any thoughts lads?
Im fairly confident of a win, but we are missing McGee and Marren only has a slight chance of making bench.
Im guessing it will be Greene, Donovan, McGuire, Harrison, J Davey, Quinn, Cawley, Taylor, Gilmartin, Costello, Brehony, Gaughan, Coen, Sweeney, Kelly.
Its a fast team with plenty of pace and Croke Park should suit us. I didnt see Antrim in the NFL. Cunningham will punish us from frees so we need to stay disciplined. Looking forward to it.
Its only the lower hogan open as expected. Hope a good crowd from Sligo travel but wont hold my breath. Hopefully we will keep the momentum going, and as far as im concerned this game will be a way more acccurate barometer of where we are at than any of the League games i was at as the opposition was poor except for Cavan.
Quote from: SLIGONIAN on April 20, 2010, 12:05:42 PM
Any thoughts lads?
Im fairly confident of a win, but we are missing McGee and Marren only has a slight chance of making bench.
Im guessing it will be Greene, Donovan, McGuire, Harrison, J Davey, Quinn, Cawley, Taylor, Gilmartin, Costello, Brehony, Gaughan, Coen, Sweeney, Kelly.
Its a fast team with plenty of pace and Croke Park should suit us. I didnt see Antrim in the NFL. Cunningham will punish us from frees so we need to stay disciplined. Looking forward to it.
Its only the lower hogan open as expected. Hope a good crowd from Sligo travel but wont hold my breath. Hopefully we will keep the momentum going, and as far as im concerned this game will be a way more acccurate barometer of where we are at than any of the League games i was at as the opposition was poor except for Cavan.
Same here...
And here. Magill should be back which is a fairly big bonus for us.
Ladbrokes have Antrim 4/5, Sligo 5/4 and 15/2 the draw.
Should be a interesting battle between two well matched teams! Great Day/night out for both supporters Croke park under lights is a great experience
Quote from: ross4life on April 20, 2010, 05:49:04 PM
Should be a interesting battle between two well matched teams! Great Day/night out for both supporters Croke park under lights is a great experience
I reckon there wont be a need for lights with evenings getting longer?
Quote from: A Quinn Martin Production on April 20, 2010, 01:40:49 PM
Ladbrokes have Antrim 4/5, Sligo 5/4 and 15/2 the draw.
Powers have Antrim 11/10 and Sligo 10/11 so good value if you shop around, whichever side you want to back. Personally I think 11/10 about Antrim is a great price. So too is 33/1 about them to win the Ulster title.
Quote from: SLIGONIAN on April 20, 2010, 10:17:28 PM
Quote from: ross4life on April 20, 2010, 05:49:04 PM
I reckon there wont be a need for lights with evenings getting longer?
I was at the Cavan V Roscommon Game on 21 of April 2007 was a need for lights back then (7pm throw in) & lights were needed in Cavan last week but not till the 2nd half
I watched both of ye play us down in Wexford Park and based on those games I'd make Antrim favourites. Very fast and slick side, if a bit small at midfield.
Walsh targets another win
NOW that they've happily gotten accustomed to winning, the reborn Sligo want to keep it that way.
Into the National Football League Division Two realm for 2011 and qualified for this year's Division Three decider against Antrim, who Sligo stuffed in the 2009 Division Four final, the former Connacht champions have developed a taste for gleaning victories.
"Any final you get to, you want to try to win it," said Kevin Walsh, the Sligo Senior team manager, ahead of Saturday's Croke Park showdown against Antrim, last year's Ulster finalists (throw-in 7pm).
"The last four games we've played [in Division Three] have been like championship games and we want to keep that edge."
That they have the opportunity to complete their National League duties on a high is, according to Walsh, an unexpected but most welcome side-effect of a progressive series that yielded five wins from seven games.
"We said that when we had got promoted we wanted to stay up [in Division Three] and make sure we didn't go down again. We set out to get 10 points and then get promoted."
Walsh maintained all along that in the topsy-turvy world of Division Three that those teams displaying the most consistency would prosper.
Indeed, Division Three is not entirely removed from the lowest tier in terms of participants being able to make errors (and get away with it) and the fact that a team could be, say, five or six points ahead (or behind) and still not be sure of a game's outcome.
When Sligo lost two of their opening three games – against Antrim and Wexford – few would have envisaged that Walsh's charges would end up as one of the two promoted sides.
The circumstances that led to a repeat of last year's Division Four final, this time in the higher section, left Wexford marginalised.
"Look at Antrim, they lost their last three games and got through. Wexford beat both ourselves and Antrim and still didn't go up," Walsh observed.
If expanding his selection options and maintaining Sligo's Division Three status were among Walsh's original targets then the Galway native and his selectors, Dessie Sloyan, Paul Taylor and Paul Durcan, has overachieved, much to the delight of Sligo fans who, in recent weeks, have watched the county's U-21 team contest a provincial decider and St Attracta's Community School feature in an All-Ireland Colleges final at Senior 'B' level.
Although expected to select a team similar to the line-ups of recent games, Walsh has no problem introducing new faces according to how players have performed in training sessions since the cohesive win over Roscommon at Markievicz Park on the Sunday before last.
Another feature of this year's campaign is the reaction of those players who have been substituted or dropped – they've usually bounced back with renewed appetite.
For Saturday's game in Dublin (Sligo's first in the capital since their loss to Cork in a GAA Football All-Ireland Senior Championship quarter-final in August 2007) forwards Colm McGee and Adrian Marren, who both missed the Roscommon game, are expected to be available for selection with midfielder Eugene Mullen the sole absentee through injury.
Kevin Bradley's Antrim are still without one of their leading forwards, Kevin Niblock, with their attacking hopes pinned on the form of, among others, Paddy Cunningham.
With June's Connacht Senior Championship clash with Mayo – the Division One finalists – beginning to crop up in conversations, Sligo can go into their preparation phase for that game with, ideally, another win registered.
SLIGO OVERVIEW
Defence
THE old reliables of Sligo's rearguard – Philip Greene, Charlie Harrison, Noel McGuire, Ross Donovan and Johnny Davey – started all seven Division Three games with Harrison and Davey proving the most consistent and Brian Kennedy, with one appearance thus far, emerging as an option.
Mark Quinn has settled into the No.6 role by doing the simple things well and Keelan Cawley, on current form, has edged ahead of Neil Ewing and Donal McLynn for one of the wingback berths.
Midfield
THE Eugene Mullen-Tony Taylor partnership, which worked throughout last year's successful Division Four campaign, was broken up when Mullen unfortunately got injured against Wexford. Stephen Gilmartin has since stepped in and has improved alongside Taylor, who has been outstanding in recent games. Kevin Walsh will worry if anything should happen to Taylor, with the obvious replacements either Sean Davey, Eamon O'Hara or, indeed, Shane Stenson.
Attack
FREE-taker Mark Breheny's prowess – 19 converted frees and 29 points in total – has underpinned the bulk of Sligo's scores with Alan Costello, Adrian Marren, Colm McGee and David Kelly also figuring prominently on the scoring charts. The absence of Adrian Marren, who missed four games through suspension and one through injury, was compensated somewhat with the emergence of Colm McGee.
If top scorer Breheny and Kelly have been Sligo's outstanding forwards, Kelly particularly as a fulcrum, full-forward Kenneth Sweeney's importance cannot be overstated either.
So Sligo stuffed Antrim in the Div 4 final...Antrim lost their last three league games and were promoted...Antrim's manager is called Kevin Bradley ??? You can't beat journalistic accuracy ::)
Quote from: boro on April 21, 2010, 09:25:37 AM
I watched both of ye play us down in Wexford Park and based on those games I'd make Antrim favourites. Very fast and slick side, if a bit small at midfield.
That game was not a true reflection of Sligo in fairness, we looked like a junior side and london and KK would of ran us close that day. Weve won 5 since and are totally different proposition than that game shows. But I do respect it was impossible for you to see us in other games.
The above report is fairly accurate from a Sligo perspective, was hoping McGee would still be under everyones radar but seems not. Im told that McGee is out for this game and marren may make bench from a source on the panel. All the better if there back though.
Ross4life your probably right, was at the tyrone v dub lights match a while back and it looked great so should add to the experience.
Quote from: A Quinn Martin Production on April 21, 2010, 11:27:43 AM
So Sligo stuffed Antrim in the Div 4 final...Antrim lost their last three league games and were promoted...Antrim's manager is called Kevin Bradley ??? You can't beat journalistic accuracy ::)
:D Was thinking the same, not a lot of respect shown to us there.
Is it only the lower deck Hogan that will be open??
Quote from: A Quinn Martin Production on April 21, 2010, 01:18:36 PM
Is it only the lower deck Hogan that will be open??
Correct,
Ticket sales on Match day:There will be tickets on sale from 3.00pm in Gills on North Circular Road and Clonliffe Road (Clonliffe College Gates in Van)
Sligo team named, 1.Philip Greene 2. Charles Harrison 3. Noel McGuire 4. Ross Donovan 5. Keelan Cawley 6. Mark Quinn 7. Jonathan Davey 8. Tony Taylor 9. Stephen Gilmartin 10. Alan Costello 11. Mark Breheny 12. Francis Quinn 13. Colm McGee
14. Kenneth Sweeney 15. David Kelly
Subs:
16. Jason Farrell
17. Neil Ewing
18. Brian Kennedy
19. Brendan Phillips
20. Stephen Coen
21. Sean Davey
22. Gary Gaughan
23. Eamonn O'Hara
24. Shane Stenson
Strong Sligo side, with Marren the only injury, i see McGlynn missing aswell, must be injured aswell as Id have him ahead of ewing, kennedy and phillips. Francis Quinn is a suprise to get nod ahead of gaughan but since Cavan gaughan struglled for form, and quinn must be showing well at training. Wouldnt mind another look at him. My source who should know got McGee wrong and he is back a fit so glad to see that to be honest.
It's a disgrace o Hara isn't playing, a total disgrace and that goes for the other two tourlestrane players as well. O hara scored 2-4 in A Vs B game on Saturday what more does Walsh want. When Sligo is struggling on Saturday like last years final they will look for O Hara to lead them out off trouble again and win the dirty ball and control the game as he always does. Roll on 5th of June and then a tough backdoor opponent away the following week and that will be it over for the year. Five weeks solid training then with club and hopefully we will win back to back titles. O Hara should pull out of the county a man that has given so much to Sligo and they couldn't even include him in the team for Saturday probably his last chance to start a game in Coke Park a disgrace ................
3/4 years ago O Hara was the heartbeat of this Sligo team not anymore time moves on.. why should Walsh change a winning team? Having O Hara on a bench is a nice option to have but to expect a 35 year old to still be a good as he was is expecting to much
Quote from: sprinter on April 21, 2010, 02:41:03 PM
It's a disgrace o Hara isn't playing, a total disgrace and that goes for the other two tourlestrane players as well. O hara scored 2-4 in A Vs B game on Saturday what more does Walsh want. When Sligo is struggling on Saturday like last years final they will look for O Hara to lead them out off trouble again and win the dirty ball and control the game as he always does. Roll on 5th of June and then a tough backdoor opponent away the following week and that will be it over for the year. Five weeks solid training then with club and hopefully we will win back to back titles. O Hara should pull out of the county a man that has given so much to Sligo and they couldn't even include him in the team for Saturday probably his last chance to start a game in Coke Park a disgrace ................
Crazy post but hardly suprising ::), it stinks of the my club only syndrome and fck the rest which is pretty much the atitude that has held the County back for eons, when it mattered more about what club your from and who your father was than it did what kinda football ability you had. As Ross4life says O Hara will never start again for Sligo so get over it, he will be used as an impact sub to close out a game ie offaly or try and get us back into one. He should accept this and im sure he does, its about the future, if we dont move on from O Hara we are fcked for the future. Weve got to learn to get on without him too. His experience is vital and I think we are using him to perfection at the min, keeping him fresh and injury free at 35.
As for 2 others should be starting, Guaghan has got plenty of gametime and chances to prove himself, besides Cavan game hes been mediocre, so Im not suprised hes dropped, kennedy hasnt a hope of starting with Cawley playing so well, and the defence as a whole.
Why is it down yer way ye cant put Sligo first when it comes to county? When i go to county games, i dont see any club colours, they are all one to me. Sligonians.
I'd have to agree with Sprinter on this one. Eamon O'Hara should definately be starting if fully fit. He's 35 but only last year dragged us back into the game against Galway when he moved out from full forward and also was one of our better players against Kerry. Think its a disgrace that the best club in the county is not represented on the county team.
If its a straight swap between Quinn and Eamon there should only be one option. Its nothing to do with the 'old syndrome' Eamon was still one of Sligos better players last year and is still a much better player than most of the starters on Saturday. Sligonian you have changed your tune on this also (not surprsing as you change you mind like the wind).
If Antrim get a quick start Eamon will be summoned quickly by that stage it may be too late.
Quote from: Mano on April 21, 2010, 06:16:15 PM
I'd have to agree with Sprinter on this one. Eamon O'Hara should definately be starting if fully fit. He's 35 but only last year dragged us back into the game against Galway when he moved out from full forward and also was one of our better players against Kerry. Think its a disgrace that the best club in the county is not represented on the county team.
If its a straight swap between Quinn and Eamon there should only be one option. Its nothing to do with the 'old syndrome' Eamon was still one of Sligos better players last year and is still a much better player than most of the starters on Saturday. Sligonian you have changed your tune on this also (not surprsing as you change you mind like the wind).
If Antrim get a quick start Eamon will be summoned quickly by that stage it may be too late.
How have i changed my tune? Elaborate please.
I know what O Hara can do and cant do, the jury is still out on F Quinn, its way more benficial to play him than O Hara whose days are coming to an end. I wish Francis all the best. To say that because yer county champions ye should have more players on starting 15 is crazy. I suppose yer wondering why Gerry McGowan isnt picked as he was yer main scorer last yr ::) O Haras days are numbered becuase his body will be way more fragile at his age not his ability, lets use him wisely and sparingly IMO.
I think its fair that no Tourlestrane player is starting on Saturday and can understand fully the managements thinking and cant understand ye thinking its a disgrace.
Sligonianis right, who gives a shite what club is represented at the county level, the manager feels he is using an aged player the right way, get behind him, support the county and cheer your boys on.
It is this neandertal club attitude that has gotten Sligo AND Antrim absolutely nowhere over the decades, both counties have massively underachieved and this sort of shite is a part of the reason why.
How about the selectors put the 15 men they think are the best option they have out there against Antrim and see what happens.
Youse bhoys would fight with your fingernails, or some of you would.
Prediction: Sligo 0-12 Antrim 1-15.
Quote from: hardstation on April 21, 2010, 10:00:39 PM
Quote from: stew on April 21, 2010, 08:55:54 PM
Sligonianis right, who gives a shite what club is represented at the county level, the manager feels he is using an aged player the right way, get behind him, support the county and cheer your boys on.
It is this neandertal club attitude that has gotten Sligo AND Antrim absolutely nowhere over the decades, both counties have massively underachieved and this sort of shite is a part of the reason why.
How about the selectors put the 15 men they think are the best option they have out there against Antrim and see what happens.
Youse bhoys would fight with your fingernails, or some of you would.
Prediction: Sligo 0-12 Antrim 1-5.
What are you basing this prediction on?
Must be a typo hardstation. Fixed it for Stew. ;)
Didn't Sligo win this final with the last kick of game last year?
Quote from: hardstation on April 22, 2010, 12:31:33 AM
We could beat Sligo by 6 alright but no more than Sligo could beat us by 6.
A bold prediction. With stew being in Green Bay, Awayfarland, I'm just curious about his reason for a handy enough win for us. Surely Div 3 games were not on the internet?
I cant see this being anything other than a tight game, i will be hugely suprised if any team runs away with it. I still think Sligo will win but by no more than 2 pts. McGee is a huge boost, and Kelly is back in form and the whole team really is on a roll. 4 game winning streak so hopefully we'll continue the momentum into CSFC.
Ross4life we won it 1-12 to 1-10 with 14 men last 15 mins, to be honest we looked a fair bit better than them ;). Although if memory serves me one of the antrim players should of seen the line with an awful dangerous elbow on Guaghan. Sean davey saw the line for us after reacting to closed fist tackle. It was poor standard game last yr but im expecting alot better this yr but hopefully there will be no unpleasantrys this yr.
Ok i remember a late score to secure the win, where was last years game played & when was the last time Antrim played in Croke Park?
Quote from: ross4life on April 22, 2010, 01:07:40 AM
Ok i remember a late score to secure the win, where was last years game played & when was the last time Antrim played in Croke Park?
I seen Antrim in tommy murphy cup against Wicklow in 07, i think thats there last time. Our obviously All Ireland Qtr final that yr.
Ya it was 1-10 a piece and gaughan and marren got injury time winners. Marrens was a long range skyscraper. It was played as double header in longford with an attendance of under 2000, between, down, tipp, ourselves and antrim. Judging by the antrim crowd i doubt they know where longford is ;), joking but I think ross carr was very vocal and critical of the venue so this yr its higher profile venue.
ahh the good old Tommy Murphy cup it was great for the smaller team's to play in Croke park, i remember been at the Louth v leitrim match in 2006 great day out for both set of supporters
only 2000 for four teams! thats a bad showing? i like the Longford venue more game should be played there
Quote from: ross4life on April 22, 2010, 01:25:39 AM
ahh the good old Tommy Murphy cup it was great for the smaller team's to play in Croke park, i remember been at the Carlow v leitrim match in 2006 great day out for both set of supporters
only 2000 for four teams! thats a bad showing? i like the Longford venue more game should be played there
Its a fine ground surely. Its got All Ireland u21 semi in recent yrs and im sure itll more high profile games in future.
Pearse park Longford was my First Away Gaa match my dad brought me to watch Donegal ::) the place had some good improvements since & the pitch is now like a snooker table one of the best I've seen
Quote from: SLIGONIAN on April 21, 2010, 08:01:57 PM
Before and after the recent U21 game you were on here criticising manager for not picking his strongest team and suggesting there were stronger players on the bench. The same situation is happening here. Eamon (34 not 35 btw) is a better player and more influential than most and you're endorsing the decision and even suggesting that he should be a sub against Mayo in the championship.
I know its not as important as u21 game but its a final and you need to field your strongest team.
I suppose yer wondering why Gerry McGowan isnt picked as he was yer main scorer last yr ::) O Haras days are numbered becuase his body will be way more fragile at his age not his ability, lets use him wisely and sparingly IMO.
No i wasn't wondering that. He was the main club scorer last year and for the last 15 years. He does take the frees though. He did his time with the county and probably was there a year or 2 too long. Whats your point?
Other 2 lads probably don't deserve to start. Kennedy too raw and not cynical enough to play corner back. Gaughan too inconsistent but can be excellent when on form.
Quote from: ross4life on April 22, 2010, 01:07:40 AM
August 2nd 200
8, Tommy Murphy Cup Final
Antrim 3-12 Wicklow 1-15 ;D
A fact Sligo have overachieved over the last ten years largely due to the impact of Eamonn o Hara ---- beat Thir Eoghain by himself and then that goal against Galway in the Connaught final, a you could go on for ever.....
He has raised exExpectation within the county brought a level of professionalism to the county side and demanded high standards. I will make one prediction here O Hara will start against Mayo if he is fit because you can't replace class.. There at least three players on the Sligo team that will struggle on Saturday I won't name them because I am totally against singling out players for criticism. It's a disgrace o Hara isn't playing on Saturday and it will back fire on Sligo and Walsh mark my words.
Quote from: Mano on April 22, 2010, 09:13:02 AM
Before and after the recent U21 game you were on here criticising manager for not picking his strongest team and suggesting there were stronger players on the bench. The same situation is happening here. Eamon (34 not 35 btw) is a better player and more influential than most and you're endorsing the decision and even suggesting that he should be a sub against Mayo in the championship.
I know its not as important as u21 game but its a final and you need to field your strongest team.
I suppose yer wondering why Gerry McGowan isnt picked as he was yer main scorer last yr ::) O Haras days are numbered becuase his body will be way more fragile at his age not his ability, lets use him wisely and sparingly IMO.
No i wasn't wondering that. He was the main club scorer last year and for the last 15 years. He does take the frees though. He did his time with the county and probably was there a year or 2 too long. Whats your point?
Other 2 lads probably don't deserve to start. Kennedy too raw and not cynical enough to play corner back. Gaughan too inconsistent but can be excellent when on form.
I think your missing my point on O Hara, im not saying he is worse than any player on the panel, id agree with youse both that he is better than some on the 15, but my point is at his age he would not be able to sustain his level of performance for 70+ mins, I rather get 25/40 mins of O Hara at his best than 70+mins of average. I know he doesnt drink, looks after himself etc.. so we'd either start him and wait for the tank to run out of steam or bring him on to finish off a game, close it out or get us back into it. Look at the pyschology advantage we have there in a game if were struggling to hang on, or trying to get back into it, its a huge lift to see him come on, you dont get if he starts. It also gives someone else a start who can gain experience for the future.
My point on club thing, was you said you agreed with sprinter, and he wants gaughan and kennedy starting aswell which i think is unfair as both have been giving fair chances by management.
Quote from: sprinter on April 22, 2010, 10:22:14 AM
A fact Sligo have overachieved over the last ten years largely due to the impact of Eamonn o Hara ---- beat Thir Eoghain by himself and then that goal against Galway in the Connaught final, a you could go on for ever.....
He has raised exExpectation within the county brought a level of professionalism to the county side and demanded high standards. I will make one prediction here O Hara will start against Mayo if he is fit because you cant replace class.. There at least three players on the Sligo team that will struggle on Saturday I wont name them because I am totally against singling out players for criticism. Its a disgrace o Hara isnt playing on Saturday and it will back fire on Sligo and Walsh mark my words.
Sligo have not overachieved, EOH put in some huge performances, probably tyrone being the highlight especially 1st half, id say he was disillusioned with certain set ups and demanded more from players etc.. and id agree brought us to a new level of thinking. But he was part of teams that fcked up badly, u21 in 96, galway 2000, galway 2002, leitrim in 05, so what we won connacht in 2007, we should of won more IMO, Id be suprised if he started against mayo. I think if marrens fit he will start where Francis Quinn is against mayo and thatll be it.
Jesus you Sligo lads wouldn't want to be following Roscommon when players get to about 29 here they gone & 7/8 changes on the line up every years makes our team the most unsettled team in Ireland
& i think you guys are forgetting the Target for the Season was "promotion" this final is just a nice extra bonus ;)
Isnt it great to see National Finals being played in HQ?
In my humble opinion ALL National Finals no matter what grade or how small the turn out should be played there.
Just think of it as the chance of a lifetime for many the ordinary player to tell his grandkids " I played in the Final in Croke Park" judiciously leaving out the "Tommy Murphy" or "Junior club" or "NFL Div 4" bit.
I'll probably be going with my season ticket to this one as I have some personal business in Meath on Saturday.
Quote from: Rossfan on April 22, 2010, 10:48:53 PM
In my humble opinion ALL National Finals no matter what grade or how small the turn out should be played there.
Just think of it as the chance of a lifetime for many the ordinary player to tell his grandkids " I played in the Final in Croke Park" judiciously leaving out the "Tommy Murphy" or "Junior club" or "NFL Div 4" bit.
I'll probably be going with my season ticket to this one as I have some personal business in Meath on Saturday.
Sorry to say my understanding is your season ticket wont be much good to you. Check it out though for confirmation.
my prediction for Sat night.
Antrim 1-12 Sligo 1-10
will miss the match. At a pre-arranged thingy (piss up, house party) but will force the friends to watch
Quote from: hardstation on April 22, 2010, 11:13:42 PM
Quote from: SLIGONIAN on April 22, 2010, 11:05:43 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on April 22, 2010, 10:48:53 PM
Sorry to say my understanding is your season ticket wont be much good to you. Check it out though for confirmation.
All GAA Football Season Ticket holders are invited to attend this weekend's Allianz GAA Football League Finals - Divisions 1,2, 3 & 4 in Croke Park - free of charge!
Saturday 24th April: Division 4 Final- Waterford v Limerick 5pm and Division 3- Antrim v Sligo 7pm. Stiles open from 3.30pm, all Season Ticket Holders please go to Stile F8 at Hogan Stand. (Lower Hogan only open; seats allocated as you pass through the stile )
Sunday 25th April: Division 2 Final- Armagh v Down 2pm and Division 1 Final- Cork v Mayo 4pm. Stiles open at 12.30pm. Reminder to Season Ticket holders from the competing counties to go to Stile C1 at the back of the Cusack Stand to gain entry. Competing county Season Ticket holders will be seated in 305.
Season Ticket holders from all other counties should go to Stile C2 and you will be allocated your seat number as you pass through the Stile - first come, first served.
Hope to see you this weekend!
Le meas,
GAA Ticket Office
Thats new as they said differently earlier in the week, i seen it on a GAA website. Glad all the same, good man HS.
I respect your opinion but i don't agree with it. Imagine the boost the Mayo players would get if Eamon is not on the starting 15. Eamon will be starting in the first round of the championship - if he doesn't i can't see any chance of Sligo beating Mayo.
Here Mano, are you anything to Mano from Turf Lodge?
Quote from: drici on April 23, 2010, 11:10:59 AM
Here Mano, are you anything to Mano from Turf Lodge?
Different Mano Drici
Quote from: Mano on April 23, 2010, 11:09:01 AM
I respect your opinion but i don't agree with it. Imagine the boost the Mayo players would get if Eamon is not on the starting 15. Eamon will be starting in the first round of the championship - if he doesn't i can't see any chance of Sligo beating Mayo.
Jees mano im not sure about that, if the management start EOH i would be suprised, but I wouldnt be complaining either as if they feel he can give the full 70 no problem lets roll with it. Im just not as sure EOH is as important as that to us in these days. In my mind we have to start with costello, brehony, marren, mcgee, sweeney, kelly to have any chance. Actually heres aquestion where would you start EOH mano? Anyway we will be alot wiser about the team after sat, as imo Fermanagh and roscommon are so bad you couldnt rate us on them games. Cavan game was our best performance of the league by a mile imo and we were without EOH and marren.
Quote from: SLIGONIAN on April 23, 2010, 12:44:37 PM
Quote from: Mano on April 23, 2010, 11:09:01 AM
Jees mano im not sure about that, if the management start EOH i would be suprised, but I wouldnt be complaining either as if they feel he can give the full 70 no problem lets roll with it. Im just not as sure EOH is as important as that to us in these days. In my mind we have to start with costello, brehony, marren, mcgee, sweeney, kelly to have any chance. Actually heres aquestion where would you start EOH mano? Anyway we will be alot wiser about the team after sat, as imo Fermanagh and roscommon are so bad you couldnt rate us on them games. Cavan game was our best performance of the league by a mile imo and we were without EOH and marren.
Playing 3 physically small forwards (Kelly, Marren, McGee) may work in the league where teams are not as sharp as in the Summer. Last time we played Mayo J Davey, Gaughan and Kelly were in our forward line and the first 2 were swatted aside by their markers. Mayo's weakness is in their full back line which was exposed by Meath last year. Put Eamon in corner forward and pump some ball into him and Sweeney. Then bring him out to the middle every so often to help out there as McGarrity and the Bellaghy man would be better fielders than our pairing.
Antrim:
1. J Finucane (Lamh Dhearg)
2. C Brady (St Galls)
3. A McClean (St Galls)
4. K O'Boyle (Cargin)
5. T Scullion (Cargin)
6. J Crozier (Cargin)
7. S Kelly (St Galls)
8. B Herron (Lamh Dhearg)
9. M McCann (Cargin)
10. T O'Neill (St Galls)
11. CJ McGourty (St Galls)
12. J Loughrey (St Brigids)
13. P Cunningham (Lamh Dhearg)
14. M Magill (Randalstown)
15. T McCann (Cargin)
CJ to top of left, T McCann to left half and Loughrey to 11??
Where Antrim playing all those St Galls in the league or did they just return since they won the All Ireland?
Quote from: ross4life on April 23, 2010, 04:01:12 PM
Where Antrim playing all those St Galls in the league or did they just return since they won the All Ireland?
The Galls men came back after the all ireland. Colin Brady is playing his first game I think.
Only 5 clubs represented by Antrim in that team.
Quote from: DennistheMenace on April 23, 2010, 05:17:41 PM
Only 5 clubs represented by Antrim in that team.
13 players from St Galls, Cargin or Lamh Dhearg.
that looks bad, so many Galls men on the team. i know they all have recent experience of Croker, some of them have even played under lights there this year, i hope we win and its a selection headache you want as a manager but finding the right combination is the key to having a successful summer.
how many players will be booking flights this year to the states?
2.10 train here we come ;D
Saffrons by 3.
Good luck Antrim. Hope yiz win and go on a 4 week bender.
Quote from: ONeill on April 24, 2010, 11:59:05 AM
Good luck Antrim. Hope yiz win and go on a 4 week bender.
Saturday 24 April
Allianz National Football League Division 3 final
Antrim v Sligo, Croke Park, 7.00pm
Allianz National Football League Division 4 final
Waterford 0-04 1-05 Limerick, Croke Park, 5.00pm
ESB Leinster Minor football championship – qualifiers round 1
Dublin 4-11 0-05 Louth, Parnell Park, 3.00pm FT
Longford 2-12 1-07 Wexford, Pearse Park, 3.00pm FT
ESB Munster Minor football championship semi-final playoff
Tipperary v Clare, Thurles, 7.00pm
National League Division Two Camogie Final 2:00pm
Offaly 1-09 Wexford 2-09 FT
National League Division One Camogie Final 4:00pm
Kilkenny 0-06 1-05 Wexford
http://www.sportsnewsireland.com/2010/04/24/gaa-lives-scores-results-saturday-24th-april/
Best of luck to Sligo. Hopefully two national titles will be coming west!
Any radio links to this game lads?
The Sligo goalie just loves wee walks out the pitch !! ;)
Sligo 0-2 Antrim 0-1
Antrim midfielder Brendan Heron carried off with leg / ankle injury - Aodhan Gallagher on in his place.
Sligo 0-3 Antrim 0-3.
Sligo 0-5 Antrim 0-3.
Another good game.
Some excellent scores.
Sligo 0-8 Antrim 0-5, nearly HT.
Ref trying to make a game of it now.
Antrim playing well now - only 2 in it now. There was 5 in it.
0-10 to 0-8
0-10 to 0-9 now.
Goal Antrim, but Sligo respond with two points and are still 4 points ahead. Sligo seem to be the better team by quite a distance. Just picked off another score so back to a 6 point lead.
Sounds like a good game, Sligo are able to pull away when needed.
Well done Sligo the way ye responded to the Antrim goal won it for you! but could & should have won by more,i hope ye can carry this form into the championship as for Antrim i would fear your chances v Tyrone after that showing
Sligo played very well - took some great scores and were always able to respond when needed.
Well done Sligo, the better team by miles. Could have won by 10-12 points.
Absolutely woeful from Antrim. Based on that performance Tyrone will have a field day. The bubble may have burst.
Any team can put in a bad performance but for me the most worrying aspect of last night was that Sligo were not only hungrier than Antrim but were quicker and looked fitter. And our boys are supposed to be quick. To concede 19 points (16 from play I believe) is a huge worry.
Antrim were poor last night and there can be no doubt that the better team won.Obviously if they perform like that against Tyrone they won't have much joy,but i would point out that after last year's Division 4 final,i'm sure Donegal would have been very confident of beating Antrim and we all know how that ended up.
That did occur to me on the way home CR. If anything we played worse in the Div 4 final last year...quick throw me a few more straws to clutch at ;D
Antrim will be ready and waiting for Tyrone,have no fears about that and we will do well to get out of Casement with a win.
Yep, probably a good time for a kick up the hole for Antrim. Baker'll be tearing strips out of them the rest of the month.
in reference to donegal game donegal beat themselves that day. Other than that what real teams have antrim beat.2 defeats on bounce against wexford sligo hardly suggests antrim are near top table. I think bradley needs to quiet it down a little!
Quote from: the goal was on on April 25, 2010, 10:47:43 AM
in reference to donegal game donegal beat themselves that day. Other than that what real teams have antrim beat.2 defeats on bounce against wexford sligo hardly suggests antrim are near top table. I think bradley needs to quiet it down a little!
well they are inhe same league as Derry and Tyrone so they are keeping good company!!
watch the game last night when i made it back and to be fair Sligo were playing good football, showing for the ball a lot better, and hungier as someone else pointed out.
looking at it though i think Antrim played better this season without the Galls lads but in saying that the Galls lads sould have improved our performance. its a strange one and i'm sure this month before the big game at Casement, Baker will have worked these lads up for the match.
That's it exactly- since the gall's boys have come back antrim have declined. It's hard to change a winnin team but baker felt he had to do it due to the individual quality of the gall's boys. The thing is though that their quality doesn't mean it's good for a 'team.' niblock defo improves the team and it's great to have a strong squad but we've defo been upset by the gall's boys comin back. Cj is too individual for the team at the moment, at county you need boys who do the simple things 5 out of 5 times, not the boy who can kick an outstanding long eye of the needle pass 1 out of 5 times with the other 4 goin to the opposition. Take the time in 1st half instead of passing to the runner off the shoulder (as team antrim have become accustomed to playin) he chose to shoot and kicked wide from in front of goal. He's talented but not a player for our system, maybe better utilised as an impact sub. We looked toothless apart from PC although Magills prob not fit at moment. Will rely on niblock alot to take the game to tyrone but whether he's fit enough after his lay off will be another thing.
same league next year so as i said have a lot to prove yet.
Quote from: Club Rossa on April 25, 2010, 10:15:08 AM
Antrim will be ready and waiting for Tyrone,have no fears about that and we will do well to get out of Casement with a win.
Antrim are not anywhere near Tyrone's level even with tyrone struggling a bit this year. The Ulster final was over in less than 20 minutes last year. Judging by last night their game in May won't even last that long. I don't think Tyrone will win Sam but they ain't that bad.
How did CJ stay on the field ?
He has yet to bring his st galls from with him when he puts on a saffron shirt.
Maybe he was played out of position....
trying too hard to impress...dosen't feel that pressure with his club
I wouldnt have Cj anywhere near the starting team until he gets his head out of his hole. The way he talks in his interviews you would think hes a 10 year veteran whos deciding to give the 'county' another go after hanging the boots up. There is doubt about his potential but he has done f**k all at county level so far to warrant the praise that certain reporters give him.
Quote from: JimStynes on April 25, 2010, 03:19:11 PM
I wouldnt have Cj anywhere near the starting team until he gets his head out of his hole. The way he talks in his interviews you would think hes a 10 year veteran whos deciding to give the 'county' another go after hanging the boots up. There is doubt about his potential but he has done f**k all at county level so far to warrant the praise that certain reporters give him.
I concur jim.
Quote from: JimStynes on April 25, 2010, 03:19:11 PM
These certain (Irish News) reporters (with the initials BC) are family friends, allegedly. Handy having your very own PR machine on the books of the papers.
I thought Sean Kelly was poor on Sat night - surprised because hes generally very good. Loughrey had to be switched with him after 15 min, in fairness though this didnt curtail the sligo lad much, he had a very good game.
From what I saw it looked similar to what they (antrim) were doing against Fermanagh - too much f**king about out the field, only fermanagh are that bad it didnt make any difference. Its clear Cunningham will score or have a good go from anywhere, magills a decent target man, and cj also has quality, but the ball is very slow coming in. Too many men wanting to solo the ball - scullions a good tough whb, but he stands out for it in particular. If Antrim are going to be that slow on the ball, tyrone will annihilate them.
Agree haranguer about the slowness of ball summed up by an incident in the first half when Magill won the ball, Cunningham made a great run into 5 yards of space, Magill soloed and tried to beat his man, when he couldn't get past him he put the ball to where Cunningham had been five seconds earlier and the ball ran out over the sideline.
I got the impression that although the St Galls players have played at the very top in club football this year they are still off the pace of inter county football even at Div 3 level. I was surprised at how slow, sluggish and ponderous Antrim were esp in possession of the ball. Colin Brady (our best player last year) got the mother of all roastings, Sean Kelly and Terry O'Neill looked as thought on the whole they'd rather be elsewhere and CJ though he was ordinary to be fair he didn't get much service and was wasted on the 40 in the first half. Not singling out St Galls players here, Aidso Gallagher may have played himself back into the Tyrone game, McClean did well until the Coen boy came on, and both McCanns, Magill and Crozier were off the boil.
On a different point I noticed a couple of Antrim players using the tactic of "palming" the ball down with both hands. Presumably this is to try to get more control on the ball rather than the traditional one handed break and it becomes more of a pass?? However if you can get two hands on the ball why not catch it, esp in a game where you would get a mark ???
I think our manager deliberately played this the way it turned out. Antrim can now work up to the Tyrone game with no expectation. Brilliant again from Bradley.
Sligo shine on Croker stage!
Sligo 0-19 Antrim 1-11
YES, they were that good.
While Sligo, en route to promotion from Division Three and now this section's champions, have thrilled or chilled their loyal fans by making life hard for themselves – can they do it any other way? – Saturday's slick five-points defeat of Antrim, 0-19 to 1-11, revealed a reborn attitude although one wonders how Antrim got promoted at all.
This was a Sligo team, guided assuredly by Kevin Walsh, taking charge of its own destiny – at no less a venue than plush Croke Park – and happy to do so.
New Sligo, basking in their new found identity, knew they were promoted irrespective of the outcome of this Allianz GAA Football National League fixture, their last in Division Three as they take on the steeper trails of Division Two in 2011.
Playing with purpose, Sligo's defensive interceptions and their flowing offensive moves delighted the followers who made the trip and those who opted to watch the action unfold 'live' on TG4.
Inspired defensively by irrepressible team captain Charlie Harrison, at midfield by Stephen Gilmartin, a Sligo U-21 last year but a mature revelation in a major fixture such as this, and in attack by Alan Costello, David Kelly and Colm McGee, the latter supplying five of Sligo's 19 points, Sligo went about their task as if winning meant everything. It did.
Division Four champions in 2009, Division Three champions in 2010, this result mattered alright. Not just in the context of completing this year's National League with a flourish, but in terms of showing where they are at with the Connacht Senior Championship, and specifically that quarter-final against Division One runners-up Mayo, coming up at Markievicz Park in June.
An often sublime display was summed up well by the various statistics. This was Sligo's fifth successive win, their second game to almost reach the 20-points mark and a rich return from an in-form attack – five of the six starting forwards scored and there were seven scorers in all.
Sligo had heroes aplenty. Those players mentioned above – Gilmartin, with three points, and Costello, who made dozens of clever passes, the standout performers – as Ross Donovan, Mark Quinn, Mark Breheny, Johnny Davey, Keelan Cawley and Tony Taylor each prospered marvellously.
Noel McGuire, composed again, and substitute Stephen Coen, who fizzed over three second-half points, also excelled.
Eamon O'Hara, Sligo's other second-half replacement, was also comfortable in a setting that he made his own back in 2001 and 2002 when Sligo spectacularly punched above its weight.
Antrim weren't just overwhelmed, they weren't even at the races. Corner-forward Paddy Cunningham apart – he scored six points, four in the first-half – Kevin 'Boxer' Bradley's side lacked direction and leadership although the loss of midfielder Brendan Herron via an early first-half injury was a mitigating factor.
Although they were ahead briefly in the first-half and three times level with their more adroit opponents, Antrim were, overall, the most feeble of finalists.
Indeed, the losers' one notable moment, Michael McCann's goal which suddenly suggested a much closer than anticipated finish with 12 minutes of normal time left, was mercilessly crushed by Sligo's tremendous response – three rapid-fire points from Stephen Coen (2) and Mark Breheny that turned a two-points lead into a five-points cushion.
To borrow boxing parlance, Sligo's ability to absorb punches and counter with devastating shots of their own was the ultimate difference. Four points up at half-time, 0-9 to 0-5, and only behind once, 0-3 to 0-2, when Cunningham hit a 17th minute free, Sligo immediately settled when Mark Breheny pointed after 64 seconds.
The move developed from perceptive passing – Francis Quinn and Kenneth Sweeney involved – and such movement, awareness of space and clever use of possession evolved into something that Antrim couldn't match.
Midfielder Stephen Gilmartin's ability to find the range with points – two in the first-half and one in the second period – Alan Costello's feverish distribution and direct running plus David Kelly's industry (he was the catalyst for numerous scores) were consistently notable features Meanwhile, Colm McGee and Mark Breheny each fired over Sligo's most eye-catching points, McGee taking scores with both feet, and Breheny contributed his finest point, his fourth and Sligo's 16th, in the phase when Antrim's goal was erased.
Sligo fans are smiling again, their faith fully restored. Why not? After last weekend's glorious show, anything is possible.
Quote from: drici on April 30, 2010, 11:58:19 AM
Sligo shine on Croker stage!
Sligo 0-19 Antrim 1-11
YES, they were that good.
While Sligo, en route to promotion from Division Three and now this section's champions, have thrilled or chilled their loyal fans by making life hard for themselves – can they do it any other way? – Saturday's slick five-points defeat of Antrim, 0-19 to 1-11, revealed a reborn attitude although one wonders how Antrim got promoted at all.
This was a Sligo team, guided assuredly by Kevin Walsh, taking charge of its own destiny – at no less a venue than plush Croke Park – and happy to do so.
New Sligo, basking in their new found identity, knew they were promoted irrespective of the outcome of this Allianz GAA Football National League fixture, their last in Division Three as they take on the steeper trails of Division Two in 2011.
Playing with purpose, Sligo's defensive interceptions and their flowing offensive moves delighted the followers who made the trip and those who opted to watch the action unfold 'live' on TG4.
Inspired defensively by irrepressible team captain Charlie Harrison, at midfield by Stephen Gilmartin, a Sligo U-21 last year but a mature revelation in a major fixture such as this, and in attack by Alan Costello, David Kelly and Colm McGee, the latter supplying five of Sligo's 19 points, Sligo went about their task as if winning meant everything. It did.
Division Four champions in 2009, Division Three champions in 2010, this result mattered alright. Not just in the context of completing this year's National League with a flourish, but in terms of showing where they are at with the Connacht Senior Championship, and specifically that quarter-final against Division One runners-up Mayo, coming up at Markievicz Park in June.
An often sublime display was summed up well by the various statistics. This was Sligo's fifth successive win, their second game to almost reach the 20-points mark and a rich return from an in-form attack – five of the six starting forwards scored and there were seven scorers in all.
Sligo had heroes aplenty. Those players mentioned above – Gilmartin, with three points, and Costello, who made dozens of clever passes, the standout performers – as Ross Donovan, Mark Quinn, Mark Breheny, Johnny Davey, Keelan Cawley and Tony Taylor each prospered marvellously.
Noel McGuire, composed again, and substitute Stephen Coen, who fizzed over three second-half points, also excelled.
Eamon O'Hara, Sligo's other second-half replacement, was also comfortable in a setting that he made his own back in 2001 and 2002 when Sligo spectacularly punched above its weight.
Antrim weren't just overwhelmed, they weren't even at the races. Corner-forward Paddy Cunningham apart – he scored six points, four in the first-half – Kevin 'Boxer' Bradley's side lacked direction and leadership although the loss of midfielder Brendan Herron via an early first-half injury was a mitigating factor.
Although they were ahead briefly in the first-half and three times level with their more adroit opponents, Antrim were, overall, the most feeble of finalists.
Indeed, the losers' one notable moment, Michael McCann's goal which suddenly suggested a much closer than anticipated finish with 12 minutes of normal time left, was mercilessly crushed by Sligo's tremendous response – three rapid-fire points from Stephen Coen (2) and Mark Breheny that turned a two-points lead into a five-points cushion.
To borrow boxing parlance, Sligo's ability to absorb punches and counter with devastating shots of their own was the ultimate difference. Four points up at half-time, 0-9 to 0-5, and only behind once, 0-3 to 0-2, when Cunningham hit a 17th minute free, Sligo immediately settled when Mark Breheny pointed after 64 seconds.
The move developed from perceptive passing – Francis Quinn and Kenneth Sweeney involved – and such movement, awareness of space and clever use of possession evolved into something that Antrim couldn't match.
Midfielder Stephen Gilmartin's ability to find the range with points – two in the first-half and one in the second period – Alan Costello's feverish distribution and direct running plus David Kelly's industry (he was the catalyst for numerous scores) were consistently notable features Meanwhile, Colm McGee and Mark Breheny each fired over Sligo's most eye-catching points, McGee taking scores with both feet, and Breheny contributed his finest point, his fourth and Sligo's 16th, in the phase when Antrim's goal was erased.
Sligo fans are smiling again, their faith fully restored. Why not? After last weekend's glorious show, anything is possible.
I have to say Liam Maloney take a bow, that is a excellent account from a Sligo perspective of what happened. Thanks Drici.
:-\ Sligo weren't that good, I mean we were awful yet they only pulled away in the last 15. I wonder what 'Boxer' Bradley reckons to the report.
QuoteI have to say Liam Maloney take a bow, that is a excellent account from a Sligo perspective of what happened. Thanks Drici.
Had assumed Sligonian that you had written this report!! ;)
Quote from: Tatler Jack on April 30, 2010, 01:28:04 PM
QuoteI have to say Liam Maloney take a bow, that is a excellent account from a Sligo perspective of what happened. Thanks Drici.
Had assumed Sligonian that you had written this report!! ;)
My feet are firmly on the ground ;) and ye should know by now my exclusivity is given to internet forums :D