GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: PatDaly on March 28, 2010, 07:27:26 PM

Title: Dún na nGall v Ard Mhacha - Páirc Uí Dhómhnail - Leitir Ceanainn - 11ú Aibreán
Post by: PatDaly on March 28, 2010, 07:27:26 PM
Would like to see the following Ard Mhacha team start v Dún na nGall

1) P McEvoy
2) A Mallon
3) B Donaghy
4) P Duffy
5) F Moriarity
6) C McKeever
7) K Dyas
8 ) K Toner
9) R Austin
10) A Kernan (has to be Wing HF not Centre HF)
11) C Vernon
12) G Swift
13) S McDonnell
14) R Clarke
15) S Forker
Title: Re: Dún na nGall v Ard Mhacha - Páirc Uí Dhómhnail - Leitir Ceanainn - 11ú Aibreán
Post by: Pearse og on March 28, 2010, 08:45:44 PM
Agree with that team pat, except I would put Vernon and Toner in MF as I think that will be our MF come championsip.

Stick Donaghy and have McKeever cover the area in front of him off and we should we meeting Down in Croker.
Title: Re: Dún na nGall v Ard Mhacha - Páirc Uí Dhómhnail - Leitir Ceanainn - 11ú Aibreán
Post by: mhacadoir on March 28, 2010, 08:49:15 PM
is this game going to have to be all ticket?

With it being basically a promotion play off there will be big interest and Letterkenny wouldnt have as big a capacity as Ballybofey.
Post by: bennydorano on March 28, 2010, 09:43:07 PM
I thought I read that this game was down for Ballyshannon?  Should play it in Dungannon or somewhere in a revenge attack for that U21 fiasco midweek.

Cant say I'd be bothered if we lost this tbh.  A good performance is defintely more important and with a team that is as close to our championship side as possible. 
Post by: yellowcard on March 28, 2010, 10:14:45 PM
Quote from: PatDaly on March 28, 2010, 07:27:26 PM

1) P McEvoy
2) A Mallon
3) B Donaghy
4) P Duffy
5) F Moriarity
6) C McKeever
7) K Dyas
8 ) K Toner
9) R Austin
11) C Vernon
12) G Swift
13) S McDonnell
14) R Clarke
15) S Forker

Would agree with that team except to put Vernon midfield in place of Austin. Dyas has to get a shot in the half back line to prove his credentials. CHF remains a big problem but for this game put Swift CHF and try Jamie Clarke on the wing.
Post by: lemallon on March 28, 2010, 10:18:55 PM
Martin O Rourke is back.  Get him on.  Badly needed.
Post by: yellowcard on March 28, 2010, 10:19:10 PM
Quote from: bennydorano on March 28, 2010, 09:43:07 PM
I thought I read that this game was down for Ballyshannon?  Should play it in Dungannon or somewhere in a revenge attack for that U21 fiasco midweek.

Cant say I'd be bothered if we lost this tbh.  A good performance is defintely more important and with a team that is as close to our championship side as possible.

I don't think its the be all and end all if we get promoted or not. However I really would love another crack at Down to prove that we are a better side than them. Will Paddy O'Rourke be as keen to set up a re-match with Down in a national final as the supporters are?
Post by: yellowcard on March 28, 2010, 10:28:26 PM
Quote from: hardstation on March 28, 2010, 10:21:24 PM
Quote from: yellowcard on March 28, 2010, 10:19:10 PM
Quote from: bennydorano on March 28, 2010, 09:43:07 PM

I don't think its the be all and end all if we get promoted or not. However I really would love another crack at Down to prove that we are a better side than them. Will Paddy O'Rourke be as keen to set up a re-match with Down in a national final as the supporters are?
Do you really think yis are? I would doubt it to be honest.

With a fit Ronan Clarke and 15 men for the full 70 I think we would have the edge on Down. Down have a very good management set-up who have made a big difference though and may surprise a few of the big guns in this years championship.   
Post by: mountainboii on March 28, 2010, 10:45:05 PM
Quote from: yellowcard on March 28, 2010, 10:14:45 PM
Quote from: PatDaly on March 28, 2010, 07:27:26 PM

1) P McEvoy
2) A Mallon
3) B Donaghy
4) P Duffy
5) F Moriarity
6) C McKeever
7) K Dyas
8 ) K Toner
9) R Austin
11) C Vernon
12) G Swift
13) S McDonnell
14) R Clarke
15) S Forker

Would agree with that team except to put Vernon midfield in place of Austin. Dyas has to get a shot in the half back line to prove his credentials. CHF remains a big problem but for this game put Swift CHF and try Jamie Clarke on the wing.

Unlikely to happen. The number 10 shirt has been owned by big ball winners from the first McKenna Cup match this year. Austin, Vernon, Mackin and Feeney are the only lads to have appeared in it. No room for footballers in this position it would seem.
Title: Re: Dún na nGall v Ard Mhacha - Páirc Uí Dhómhnail - Leitir Ceanainn - 11ú Aibre
Post by: Skiddybadoo on March 28, 2010, 11:23:19 PM
Quote from: lemallon on March 28, 2010, 10:18:55 PM
Martin O Rourke is back.  Get him on.  Badly needed.

Let's not forget that MOR has been playing in the lamented HF line for years.  Kidding ourselves if you think he's the saviour. In fact, even with AK's relatively poor showings the HF line in this League has been as fluid and cohesive in years. Feeney contribution has been underrated.

Apart from the Down game we've been playing as well as we've done at this stage for years. We were unlucky against Meath and won all the others (Down was an abberation and it would be good to meet again to get a true reflection).   
Post by: Orior on March 29, 2010, 04:50:28 PM
Might I remind any Armagh supporters going to this match, of previous years when our hopes were high, i.e.

1884 1885 1886 1887 1888 1889 1890 1891 1892 1893 1894 1895 1896 1897 1898 1899 1900 1901 1902 1903 1904 1905 1906 1907 1908 1909 1910 1911 1912 1913 1914 1915 1916 1917 1918 1919 1920 1921 1922 1923 1924 1925 1926 1927 1928 1929 1930 1931 1932 1933 1934 1935 1936 1937 1938 1939 1940 1941 1942 1943 1944 1945 1946 1947 1948 1949 1950 1951 1952 1953 1954 1955 1956 1957 1958 1959 1960 1961 1962 1963 1964 1965 1966 1967 1968 1969 1970 1971 1972 1973 1974 1975 1976 1977 1978 1979 1980 1981 1982 1983 1984 1985 1986 1987 1988 1989 1990 1991 1992 1993 1994 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001         2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009
Post by: mountainboii on March 29, 2010, 05:13:11 PM
So where is this game? GAA website has it as Letterkenny, but both the Donegal and Armagh websites have it for Ballybofey.
Post by: hobit hunter on March 29, 2010, 05:17:41 PM
It's officially Letterkenny but do expect the decision to switch to Ballybofey for capacity.  When they'll make that decision who knows!?  Based on track record it's likely to be the evening before along with a decision to make it all ticket made at the same time!  ;) 
Post by: J70 on March 30, 2010, 12:03:53 AM
Would Eunan's not be kicking up a bit of a fuss if it's switched? In the past two seasons, big games against Derry and Kerry have been played in Letterkenny, so unless Armagh are planning on bringing two or three thousand or more, I can't imagine it will be switched. Definitely all-ticket though!
Post by: armaghniac on March 30, 2010, 12:25:44 AM
I think it is ridiculous to make a game all ticket if there is a perfectly serviceable ground 22km away which isn't being used.
Post by: J70 on March 30, 2010, 01:39:31 AM
Quote from: armaghniac on March 30, 2010, 12:25:44 AM
I think it is ridiculous to make a game all ticket if there is a perfectly serviceable ground 22km away which isn't being used.

Perhaps so, but I'm pretty sure there was a similar fuss over one of the previous two games played there, probably the Derry one when the winner was also going through to the league final (possibly also because Derry weren't too happy about not getting to play in McCumhaill Park ahead of the championship meeting). In the end I think O'Donnell Park was more than adequate.
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on March 30, 2010, 03:30:46 PM
Quote from: J70 on March 30, 2010, 12:03:53 AM
Would Eunan's not be kicking up a bit of a fuss if it's switched? In the past two seasons, big games against Derry and Kerry have been played in Letterkenny, so unless Armagh are planning on bringing two or three thousand or more, I can't imagine it will be switched. Definitely all-ticket though!

Whats the capacity of O'Donnell Park now?
Would expect there to be a decent crowd from Armagh for this one.
Post by: T Fearon on March 30, 2010, 04:49:37 PM
Armagh wil bring at least 2000 to 3000 for this one I'd say.
Post by: stew on March 30, 2010, 07:19:40 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on March 30, 2010, 04:49:37 PM

Thats on the low end I would have thought Tone.

I am just hoping Armagh are still alive at the beginning of August when I am back, I need me Armagh football fix.
Post by: PatDaly on March 30, 2010, 10:30:32 PM
Quote from: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on March 30, 2010, 03:30:46 PM

How accurate is this?

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/O'Donnell_Park
Capacity 2,500 Seated 1,300 Standing
Post by: RMDrive on March 30, 2010, 11:04:12 PM
Quote from: PatDaly on March 30, 2010, 10:30:32 PM
Quote from: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on March 30, 2010, 03:30:46 PM

How accurate is this?

There's no terracing as such. Just the tried and tested gravel slope opposite the stand. I'm a bad judge of such things but I reckon that would hold 2k easily enough (and safely which will probably be the main concern).
Post by: Etienne Lantier on March 30, 2010, 11:18:18 PM

How accurate is this?

Those numbers are pretty much bang on. It's a small ground that's hell to get to and parking is a nightmare. Ballybofey is the obvious choice for a game like this, but because of Donegal politics there is no chance of the game being moved. Why Letterkenny got this game is beyond me.
Post by: RMDrive on March 30, 2010, 11:29:31 PM
Quote from: Etienne Lantier on March 30, 2010, 11:18:18 PM

How accurate is this?

Those numbers are pretty much bang on. It's a small ground that's hell to get to and parking is a nightmare. Ballybofey is the obvious choice for a game like this, but because of Donegal politics there is no chance of the game being moved. Why Letterkenny got this game is beyond me.

Letterkenny got the game cause (like most counties) league games are spread accross different grounds in the county. This game was scheduled for O'Donnell park since the start of the league. Donegal politics?
Post by: Etienne Lantier on March 31, 2010, 01:09:03 AM
Quote from: RMDrive on March 30, 2010, 11:29:31 PM
Quote from: Etienne Lantier on March 30, 2010, 11:18:18 PM

How accurate is this?

Letterkenny got the game cause (like most counties) league games are spread accross different grounds in the county. This game was scheduled for O'Donnell park since the start of the league. Donegal politics?

It's Donegal politics surely. A blind man could have seen this was going to be a big game from a long way out. It's the last of the league programme and with Donegal coming down from division one the odds were they'd be in the shake up and the game would attract a big crowd, particularly with it being against one of the best supported counties in Ulster. The game should have been slated for Ballybofey from the get go with the games agains Meath, Laois and Down divied up whatever way suited between Letterkenny, Ballybofey and Ballyshannon. Letterkenny have clearly pushed for the plum tie despite the fact they simply would never be able to accommodate the crowd that would want to go to the game. And they were humoured. Who says the GAA is about money...
Post by: illdecide on March 31, 2010, 09:44:26 AM
Lads as far as i know patrons under Health & Safety laws are not longer allowed to stand on grass/gravel banks to watch a game when a certain crowd is expected, i know that is the main reason why our own ground was nominated for the new grant "stadia Safety" as there were grass/gravel banks all over the place. Maybe someone else may be able to clarify this but i can remember a McKenna cup match at our pitch last year and the stewarts had the banks cordoned off and directing everyone to the terracing.

If this is the case then the capacity in Letterkenny will be slashed dramtically
Post by: Farrandeelin on March 31, 2010, 10:03:57 AM

Was Mayo not big enough for ye? ;D
Post by: mountainboii on March 31, 2010, 12:32:48 PM

We barely brought that many to Cross last Sunday. Can't see 3000 heading up to Donegal, for what's still just a league game at the end of the day. I reckon Armagh have a solid base of about 1000 that head to most away games, maybe throw on another 500 because of the wee bit of extra importance for this game and you'll have your lot.
Post by: Goats Do Shave on March 31, 2010, 03:38:01 PM
Quote from: AFS on March 31, 2010, 12:32:48 PM

We barely brought that many to Cross last Sunday. Can't see 3000 heading up to Donegal, for what's still just a league game at the end of the day. I reckon Armagh have a solid base of about 1000 that head to most away games, maybe throw on another 500 because of the wee bit of extra importance for this game and you'll have your lot.

Plus all those with holiday homes etc in Donegal...
Post by: lawnseed on March 31, 2010, 04:50:46 PM
Does nobody want hearty in goals any more???? ::) ::)
Post by: Apple Crumble on March 31, 2010, 05:14:21 PM
Quote from: Goats Do Shave on March 31, 2010, 03:38:01 PM

What about the recession???

Post by: thewanderer on March 31, 2010, 05:23:22 PM
Quote from: Apple Crumble on March 31, 2010, 05:14:21 PM
Quote from: Goats Do Shave on March 31, 2010, 03:38:01 PM

What about the recession???

with loans from anglo irish with negative equity, no proof of income for the south armagh boys. not such a good deal now?
Post by: lawnseed on March 31, 2010, 05:32:41 PM
I'd say that now paddy ,o has got his last cross fixture and the politics out of the way we'll see an end of hearty and the hitherto anonymous kernans. time to move on 
Post by: J70 on April 01, 2010, 04:24:52 AM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on March 31, 2010, 10:03:57 AM

I'd totally forgotten about that (maybe I was trying to blank out the surrender of a nine point lead that cost us our Div 1 place!). And me with half-Mayo blood too!
Post by: illdecide on April 01, 2010, 09:39:41 AM
Quote from: J70 on April 01, 2010, 04:24:52 AM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on March 31, 2010, 10:03:57 AM

I'd totally forgotten about that (maybe I was trying to blank out the surrender of a nine point lead that cost us our Div 1 place!). And me with half-Mayo blood too!

Well with the Mayo blood in ya you should be guranteed to get to the odd final but don't expect to win any :P
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on April 01, 2010, 09:48:11 AM
Quote from: illdecide on March 31, 2010, 09:44:26 AM
Lads as far as i know patrons under Health & Safety laws are not longer allowed to stand on grass/gravel banks to watch a game when a certain crowd is expected, i know that is the main reason why our own ground was nominated for the new grant "stadia Safety" as there were grass/gravel banks all over the place. Maybe someone else may be able to clarify this but i can remember a McKenna cup match at our pitch last year and the stewarts had the banks cordoned off and directing everyone to the terracing.

If this is the case then the capacity in Letterkenny will be slashed dramtically

What about Navan though?
Post by: ogshead on April 01, 2010, 11:12:50 AM
Quote from: lawnseed on March 31, 2010, 04:50:46 PM

Quote from: lawnseed on March 31, 2010, 05:32:41 PM
I'd say that now paddy ,o has got his last cross fixture and the politics out of the way we'll see an end of hearty and the hitherto anonymous kernans. time to move on 

Will some of you Cross boys please humour Lawnseed!! He's desperate to get a reaction from ye's!!
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on April 01, 2010, 11:22:31 AM
Quote from: ogshead on April 01, 2010, 11:12:50 AM
Quote from: lawnseed on March 31, 2010, 04:50:46 PM

Quote from: lawnseed on March 31, 2010, 05:32:41 PM

Will some of you Cross boys please humour Lawnseed!! He's desperate to get a reaction from ye's!!

Nah, read some of his other ramblings and the incoherenc of it makes my head hurt so I'll leave him at it :D
Post by: PatDaly on April 01, 2010, 04:53:36 PM

and the referee will be Joe McQuillan from An Cabhan. I don't think he did Armagh any harm against Kildare in the recent game over in Cross so hopefully this is one less thing to worry about.

Allianz GAA Football National League Roinn II 2010 - Round 7
Dún na nGall V Ard Mhacha
Time: 2 30 PM, Venue: Letterkenny
Referee: Joe Mc Quillan
Post by: RMDrive on April 01, 2010, 05:21:09 PM
Quote from: PatDaly on April 01, 2010, 04:53:36 PM

and the referee will be Joe McQuillan from An Cabhan. I don't think he did Armagh any harm against Kildare in the recent game over in Cross so hopefully this is one less thing to worry about.

How many things are you worried about?
Post by: mackers on April 01, 2010, 05:48:17 PM
Quote from: RMDrive on April 01, 2010, 05:21:09 PM

How many things are you worried about?
Getting tickets...........who do we play in nets............is AK a CHF..........will Clarke, McKeever & Vernon be fit?????????
And that's just for starters........it's a tough job following Armagh y'know.
Post by: rionach 4 on April 02, 2010, 12:17:01 AM
I know it's Donegal's home fixture and we have no right here in Armagh to tell them where to play their matches  but it's a disappointment that it's in Letterkenny. I am relaibly told that letterkenny holds at most 5/6 thousand.My information came from a friend in letterkenny who knows the caretaker of the ground very well. It means a lot of people are not going to see the match . Had it been in Ballybofey it may well have attracted a crowd in the region of 12 to 15 thousand. Most likely it will be all ticket and armagh will probably only get about 1500. I hope I get a ticket because the upside is that letterkenny is a great town . It's worth a sat night stay over and make a real good weekend out of it.
Post by: Etienne Lantier on April 02, 2010, 12:29:00 AM

No, Joe has been good to Armagh in the past. And the talk in the Donegal Democrat is that the game is being moved to Ballybofey, so I'll just take my hat off on that particular count and tuck in. See y'all in Mac Cumhaill Park.
Post by: armaghniac on April 02, 2010, 01:41:54 AM
QuoteWill some of you Cross boys please humour Lawnseed!! He's desperate to get a reaction from ye's!!

Lawnseed should grow up, the grass is very slow this year.
Post by: mountainboii on April 02, 2010, 11:28:03 AM
Clarke and Dyas out for Armagh I see.

Whatever about the Donegal game, both a bit worrying in the longer term. There seems to be no concrete return date for Clarke as the Derry game edges closer. And Dyas can't seem to play two consecutive matches without picking up another niggle.
Post by: mackers on April 02, 2010, 11:55:20 AM
I think we're going to have to prepare ourselves for a year without Clarke..........he doesn't seem to do one or two month lay offs............ :-[ :-[
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on April 02, 2010, 12:05:07 PM
Very hard to see Dyas starting against Derry at this stage. 3 cameo appearnances so far and in a best case scenario he'll only have played 1 competitive 70 minute match before the championship. More likely he won't have played a full game at all.
Post by: illdecide on April 02, 2010, 12:08:53 PM
Well lads the injury he has is complicated and very tough to heal. (been there and got the T shirt) There is no point in him coming back too early and then back to square 1, get the thing sorted properly and if it rules him out the rest of the year then so be it. There is no point having him come championship time only half fit or still carrying the injury as he'll be no good to us so let him sort it out right and come back fit (whenever that is).

I thought Dyas would have been strong and very tough coming from Aussie Rules and the we niggles he's picked up has surprised me as we all know the training and weights them lads have to do down under and i expected him bigger and stronger than the average gaa player ???(if that makes sense)
Post by: J70 on April 02, 2010, 05:57:14 PM

He's the ref Devenney (a Eunan's man) got the six month suspension for when he started pushing him in the 2004 qualifier against Fermanagh. He was terrible that day, but he's reffed us since and been fine.
Post by: PatDaly on April 03, 2010, 02:34:14 AM
Quote from: illdecide on April 02, 2010, 12:08:53 PM
Well lads the injury he has is complicated and very tough to heal. (been there and got the T shirt) There is no point in him coming back too early and then back to square 1, get the thing sorted properly and if it rules him out the rest of the year then so be it. There is no point having him come championship time only half fit or still carrying the injury as he'll be no good to us so let him sort it out right and come back fit (whenever that is).

http://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/sport/gaa/classy-clarkersquos-return-is-a-timely-boost-for-armaghrsquos-promotion-bid-14753765.html

Classy Clarke's return is a timely boost for Armagh's promotion bid

Saturday, 3 April 2010

Armagh's quest for a place in Division One of the National Football League could be given a boost if full-forward Ronan Clarke recovers sufficiently from his Achilles tendon injury to play some part in the shoot-out against Ballybofey on Sunday week.

Clarke has been an absentee from Armagh's line-up in recent matches and manager Paddy O'Rourke is particularly keen to have the Pearse Og clubman back on board.

O'Rourke candidly admits that Clarke, such a vital cog in the Armagh attack for the past eight years, urgently requires game time after his recent lay-off if he is to have any chance of participating in the forthcoming Ulster Championship.

"While this match against Donegal offers us a doorway to Division One it could also hopefully allow Ronan the chance to play some part,"
points out O'Rourke.

"While he has been coming on well he needs to be doing some work with the ball."

While Armagh followers will undoubtedly welcome the opportunity to see their side bid for a slot in the top bracket of the league, the prospect of viewing Clarke in action for even part of the game will prove the bait that will surely tempt them to travel in significant numbers to the clash in Donegal.

Post by: fan01 on April 03, 2010, 06:42:54 PM
i heard today that martin o'rourke is back on the armagh panel. did anyone else hear this?
Post by: stew on April 03, 2010, 11:03:53 PM
Quote from: fan01 on April 03, 2010, 06:42:54 PM
i heard today that martin o'rourke is back on the armagh panel. did anyone else hear this?

I for one hope he is, we have missed him.
Title: Re: Dún na nGall v Ard Mhacha - Páirc Uí Dhómhnail - Leitir Ceanainn - 11ú Aibre
Post by: Skiddybadoo on April 03, 2010, 11:56:59 PM
In what way have we been missing MOR?  Has anyone any stats on the amount of possession we've had?  Have we very noticeable been destroyed in winning break ball?  The HF line for all its faults has at least has been evident this season and we haven't seen that yawning chasm of meadow. Let's not forget that MOR has been a feature of this most maligned line for years.

Someone made the point that Brian Mallon looks inured to dropping back when it is presence and options in the forward area we need.  Is MOR similar?  Not having a pop at O'Rourke at all but I'm genuinely curious to know who he would replace and who would work well along side him?   
Post by: mountainboii on April 04, 2010, 04:15:23 PM
If O'Rourke gets back in, it'll be in the number 10 shirt in place of Feeney or Mackin. I'd perfer him ahead of either of these.
Post by: mountainboii on April 04, 2010, 05:43:49 PM
I see TG4 have deferred coverage of the game next week. That'll reduce the number that travel from Armagh. Any word on whether the game will be ticketed?
Post by: Orior on April 04, 2010, 07:11:02 PM
It seems a little late for Martin O'Rouke to be coming back. Either he was injured, or da boss new he has a problem and made a special plea.
Post by: Skiddybadoo on April 04, 2010, 07:41:56 PM
Quote from: AFS on April 04, 2010, 04:15:23 PM
If O'Rourke gets back in, it'll be in the number 10 shirt in place of Feeney or Mackin. I'd perfer him ahead of either of these.

As a HF I'd def have him there ahead of Mackin. Feeney has done nothing wrong but I doubt you'd ever leave a game where he's MOTM.  MOR mixes the good and bad but can deliver commanding displays. Feeney looks a progressive type and could develop into a very valuable player.

MOR strikes me as the type of player who'd need a good number of games under his belt to get him to get back up to the pace required.  What sort of shape is he in at the moment?

With the lack of scoring forward I'm surprised O'Rourke the Youngest wasn't asked on to the panel.  Did he attend the trials last year?   
Post by: mackers on April 06, 2010, 10:32:38 AM
Match in Letterkenny in the fixture list in Irish News this morning, no sign of it being all ticket though. Surely it would have been announced as being all ticket by Central Council by now........
Post by: PatDaly on April 06, 2010, 04:33:45 PM
http://www.donegaldemocrat.ie/donegalsport/Donegal-chasing-League-and-Championship.6205515.jp

On Sunday next at O'Donnell Park, Letterkenny, the Donegal seniors have the chance to win promotion when they face Armagh in the final round of games. Both sides are level on points behind Down and the game is a winner-takes-all scenario. Armagh have a slightly better score difference and a draw would be sufficient for them, but Donegal know that a win will ensure promotion.

Donegal will be without Eoin Waide, who has picked up an injury but John Joe Doherty is hopeful that Brendan Boyle and Barry Dunnion, both nursing injuries, will be available for selection.

Rory Kavanagh will be back with the Donegal panel this week, but it is doubtful if he will play any part in Sunday's game.

Donegal manager, John Joe Doherty, is happy with what's at stake: "It's a nice position to be in going into the last game and without putting too much emphasis on it, we have the chance to win promotion.

"We're not the finished article yet, but maybe if you were at this stage, it would be too early," said Doherty, who takes his panel to O'Donnell Park tomorrow night (Tuesday) for a pre-match training session.

"Armagh would be much the same as ourselves. They have not set the world on fire but when you get to this stage you want to win."
Asked about the possibility of meeting Down in a league decider with the upcoming Ulster Championship clash also on the horizon, John Joe said: "You can't be thinking of that. We will have to cross that bridge when we come to it. Getting back to Division One is first on the agenda."

With Kavanagh back in the panel, John Joe said that he will have Christy Toye back in training also next week. Toye had his first start for St. Michael's on Sunday in their win over Naomh Conaill and played well.

"It's great for Christy personally to be back, especially after such a bad injury. He will be back with us next week training and that's a positive for us."

Asked about Eamon McGee, John Joe said he was looking at his situation regarding a transfer back to the county.

"We'll have a look at Eamonn when he's back playing for Gaoth Dobhair. it would be nice to think that he'll have something to offer," said John Joe.

Post by: T Fearon on April 06, 2010, 06:56:32 PM
I see in his interview in the Gaelic Life last week, Ronan Clarke had a trial with Spurs ten years ago, and was marked by Ledley King ;D
Post by: Hedley Lamarr on April 07, 2010, 09:10:27 AM
Quote from: T Fearon on April 06, 2010, 06:56:32 PM
I see in his interview in the Gaelic Life last week, Ronan Clarke had a trial with Spurs ten years ago, and was marked by Ledley King ;D

Wasn't he lucky he was found not guilty :D
Post by: T Fearon on April 07, 2010, 09:12:35 AM
He could have been partnering Jermaine Defoe or Peter Crouch at this year's FA Cip Final at Wembley ;D
Post by: orange2009 on April 07, 2010, 09:35:21 AM
Orchard Tv presents an interview with Paddy O'Rourke as he looks ahead to Armagh's crunch clash with Donegal in Letterkenny

http://armagh-gaa.com/Armagh-TV/News/VIDEO--Paddy-O-Rourke-talks-about-Donegal-game.aspx
Post by: Goats Do Shave on April 07, 2010, 10:08:51 AM
Quote from: T Fearon on April 07, 2010, 09:12:35 AM
He could have been partnering Jermaine Defoe or Peter Crouch at this year's FA Cip Final at Wembley ;D

More of a midfielder in his early days anyways...
Post by: T Fearon on April 07, 2010, 10:25:36 AM
He could have fitted in alongside Modric then, spraying passes out wide for Lennon ;D
Post by: Goats Do Shave on April 07, 2010, 01:06:01 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on April 07, 2010, 10:25:36 AM
He could have fitted in alongside Modric then, spraying passes out wide for Lennon ;D

Just curious... Would you rather him playing for Armagh or Spurs?
Post by: T Fearon on April 07, 2010, 02:12:43 PM
It depends. If he was a 20 goal a season midfielder, I'd certainly rather see him in a Spurs shirt ;D
Post by: Shortso79 on April 07, 2010, 10:40:02 PM

Will head up to match on Sunday

Any advice re parking and a spot of grub before the match ?

Cheers

Post by: stew on April 07, 2010, 11:52:21 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on April 07, 2010, 02:12:43 PM
It depends. If he was a 20 goal a season midfielder, I'd certainly rather see him in a Spurs shirt ;D

Tone, rule number one as an Armagh football supporter, never ever support a sawker team over your Gaelic team.

Clarke was offered a tennis scholarship at a college in the states when he was seventeen, he must be some athlete as thats a very high standard of tennis to be offered a division one scholarship.
Post by: T Fearon on April 08, 2010, 09:17:58 AM
See O'Rourke promising changes in the squad for the Championship in Irish News this morning, the likes of Jamies Clarke and a few other U21s as well as Martin O'Rourke. Sounds ominous for the likes of Henderson and Forker who have not really taken their ample opportunities to nail down a place in the starting XV.
Post by: Goats Do Shave on April 08, 2010, 10:52:26 AM
Quote from: T Fearon on April 08, 2010, 09:17:58 AM
See O'Rourke promising changes in the squad for the Championship in Irish News this morning, the likes of Jamies Clarke and a few other U21s as well as Martin O'Rourke. Sounds ominous for the likes of Henderson and Forker who have not really taken their ample opportunities to nail down a place in the starting XV.

I'd say he'll be refering to the likes of Watters & O'Neil as opposed to those 2.
What other U21s would be likely to make the step up? - Beaten narrowly by the Ulster Champions of course!
Post by: T Fearon on April 08, 2010, 11:31:25 AM
David Comiskey, Anton Duffy, Mark Shields, and Franny Hanratty specifcially mentioned in the paper along with Martin O'Rourke

Do you think Paddy O'Rourke will do a Rooney and play Ronan Clarke on Sunday? He seems keen enough on getting promotion and having another crack at Down as he says it would be good preparation for the Championship.
Post by: lemallon on April 08, 2010, 12:03:02 PM
Anto duffy certainly cant be being drafted in on his display against donegal.  Non existant that night.  Whats the story with Paul Mc Keown
Post by: davo on April 08, 2010, 02:18:06 PM
very harsh basing whether anto is brought on to the senior panel on 1 game. anyone can have a bad game you know doesnt mean they are not good enough
Post by: ardmhaca08 on April 08, 2010, 02:41:58 PM
Was martin o'r injured or not on the panel? Also heard Kevin o'rourke is to be brought back on panel. Hope this is true should be a big boost for us in the forward line if so.
Post by: thewanderer on April 08, 2010, 03:35:09 PM
Quote from: ardmhaca08 on April 08, 2010, 02:41:58 PM
Was martin o'r injured or not on the panel? Also heard Kevin o'rourke is to be brought back on panel. Hope this is true should be a big boost for us in the forward line if so.
[/quo
wont be a boost if were looking scoring forwards.  what a joke by the county management if they are to introduce new players and omit players already in the panel who haven't been given game time. i have no problem if they omit players who have had a chance and haven't taken it.
Post by: thewanderer on April 08, 2010, 03:44:45 PM
Anto duffy is a class act and won player of the county final last year. he is still only 19 but will be a senior star for armagh in the not to distant future. ps lemallon would u say the same about Jamie's performance against donegal, cant be dismissed after 1 bad game. u must be some consistent player ;)
Post by: DuffleKing on April 08, 2010, 04:43:31 PM
Quote from: thewanderer on April 08, 2010, 03:35:09 PM
[/quo
wont be a boost if were looking scoring forwards.  what a joke by the county management if they are to introduce new players and omit players already in the panel who haven't been given game time. i have no problem if they omit players who have had a chance and haven't taken it.

Sure if they're not good enough in training to earn game time then that's the end of it.
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on April 08, 2010, 04:57:37 PM

I'd be amazed if he brought Kevin O'Rourke back onto the panel though no doubt he should never have dropped him. Its one thing introducing players who were unavailable due to u21 duty or injury but why would a manager bring a player in after Easter who was deemed not good enough in January?
Post by: ArmaghGAAforum on April 08, 2010, 05:04:13 PM
Quote from: TacadoirArdMhacha on April 08, 2010, 04:57:37 PM

I'd be amazed if he brought Kevin O'Rourke back onto the panel though no doubt he should never have dropped him. Its one thing introducing players who were unavailable due to u21 duty or injury but why would a manager bring a player in after Easter who was deemed not good enough in January?

Who said Kevin O'Rourke wasn't good enough.  He could well have backed off from playing this year due to any amount of reasons.  I do agree that I can't see POR agreeing to bring KOR back at this stage.
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on April 08, 2010, 05:06:13 PM
Quote from: ArmaghGAAforum on April 08, 2010, 05:04:13 PM
Quote from: TacadoirArdMhacha on April 08, 2010, 04:57:37 PM

Who said Kevin O'Rourke wasn't good enough.  He could well have backed off from playing this year
due to any amount of reasons.  I do agree that I can't see POR agreeing to bring KOR back at this stage.

Paddy O'Rourke presumably. Its possibly that Kevin O'R left the panel of his own volition but I would have thought that was unlikely.
Post by: mhacadoir on April 08, 2010, 05:09:16 PM
where abouts in letterkenny is the ground? is it hard to get to, park etc?
Post by: ardmhaca08 on April 08, 2010, 05:30:18 PM
He was told he wasn't good enough and I heard this from a reliable source. Good to see Marty O'r back. Swift at number 11 for sunday i hope
Post by: lawnseed on April 08, 2010, 08:58:17 PM
hello elephant in the room??? whys everyone in the forwards getting dropped to get mor his place??  when we have a huge misfit there? fuks sake i sound like a teenage american sitcom!! ARRON KERNAN IS NOT A FORWARD! if he was a forward his da would have had him there 7 years ago. hes out of the backs so where does he fit in? MOR is a forager hes the guy who dives into the ruck and comes out with the ball, he doesnt hold the ball up (kernan does) apart from frees, he scores as much as kernan. if hes fit i dont see a problem-- straight swap
Post by: ogshead on April 08, 2010, 09:29:06 PM
Quote from: stew on April 07, 2010, 11:52:21 PM

Tone, rule number one as an Armagh football supporter, never ever support a sawker team over your Gaelic team.

Clarke was offered a tennis scholarship at a college in the states when he was seventeen, he must be some athlete as thats a very high standard of tennis to be offered a division one scholarship.

It was JJ who was the tennis player
Post by: mountainboii on April 08, 2010, 10:16:48 PM
Quote from: lemallon on April 08, 2010, 12:03:02 PM
Whats the story with Paul Mc Keown?

Any Cross men about able to answer this? Shocking lack of options for the corner at the minute. Mallon, Duffy and Shannon seems to be it really, and two of those are converted wing backs. Probably forgetting someone.

Could Stephen Kernan be another potential addition or has injury ruled him out?

Can't see many coming in at this stage and making an immediate impact, maybe they'll have more chance in the game(s) after Derry. Even at that, only Clarke and Comiskey look good enough to bring about any sort of improvement this year.
Post by: Shortso79 on April 08, 2010, 10:43:38 PM
Interesting quote from a local newspaper :

"The new Armagh Management have used 29 players during the course of the six league games played so far though only seven (Andy Mallon, Brendan Donaghy, Paul Duffy, Finnian Moriarty, Kieran Toner, Aaron Kernan and Stevie McDonnell) have started all the league games.

Ryan Henderson and Joe Feeney have featured in all six either starting or coming on as a sub.

Armagh have scored 4-78 with 17 different players.

However Stevie McDonnell has scored just under half of that total - 2-35.

Alarmingly, the next highest is Aaron Kernan on 0-9 then Ryan Henderson on 0-6 , Gareth Swift on 1-3, Finnian Moriarty on 1-2 and Stefan Forker on 0-5"

Post by: Shortso79 on April 08, 2010, 10:44:45 PM

Paul McKeown is out with a long term injury
Post by: Shortso79 on April 08, 2010, 10:45:41 PM
Quote from: mhacadoir on April 08, 2010, 05:09:16 PM

Bump - any Donegal folk out there ?
Post by: RMDrive on April 08, 2010, 11:00:33 PM
Quote from: Shortso79 on April 08, 2010, 10:45:41 PM

It's about half a mile outside the town on the road (R250) heading to Churchill/Glenties. AFAIK there'll be a shuttle bus running out from the bottom of the town beside Dunnes Stores, but it's a short walk anyway. Parking isn't great around the ground but it will be well stewarded and you can park along the main road no problem. Eunan's always do a good j when the host games so yous should be well looked after.
Post by: J70 on April 08, 2010, 11:26:07 PM

Quote from: RMDrive on April 08, 2010, 11:00:33 PM

It's about half a mile outside the town on the road (R250) heading to Churchill/Glenties. AFAIK there'll be a shuttle bus running out from the bottom of the town beside Dunnes Stores, but it's a short walk anyway. Parking isn't great around the ground but it will be well stewarded and you can park along the main road no problem. Eunan's always do a good j when the host games so yous should be well looked after.

There should be tonnes of parking in and around the retail parks where the new Dunnes Stores, Lidl's, Ramada, cinema and all those businesses are located, which would be the direction Armagh ones would be coming from anyway. In the map I've included, the area marked "Cinema - Shop Units..." along the lower section of the map, on the banks of the river. The pitch is in the area where Ballymacool is marked in the bottom left corner.

Sorry about the size of the map! :-[

(http://mappery.com/maps/Letterkenny-Map-2.jpg)
Post by: illdecide on April 09, 2010, 09:38:03 AM
Has there been any team selections yet? if so could someone post it up please
Post by: mhacadoir on April 09, 2010, 10:31:45 AM
Quote from: J70 on April 08, 2010, 11:26:07 PM

Quote from: RMDrive on April 08, 2010, 11:00:33 PM

There should be tonnes of parking in and around the retail parks where the new Dunnes Stores, Lidl's, Ramada, cinema and all those businesses are located, which would be the direction Armagh ones would be coming from anyway. In the map I've included, the area marked "Cinema - Shop Units..." along the lower section of the map, on the banks of the river. The pitch is in the area where Ballymacool is marked in the bottom left corner.

Sorry about the size of the map! :-[

(http://mappery.com/maps/Letterkenny-Map-2.jpg)

cheers lads
Post by: gander on April 09, 2010, 11:17:42 AM
is the match on TV at all?
Post by: Goats Do Shave on April 09, 2010, 11:23:16 AM
Quote from: gander on April 09, 2010, 11:17:42 AM
is the match on TV at all?
Yup - Deferred coverage on TG4 after the Tyrone Dubs game.
Post by: illdecide on April 09, 2010, 12:52:48 PM
Armagh team...

Hearty
Andy Mallon
B Donaghy
B Shannon
P Duffy
C McKeever
Finn Mo
K Toner
J Lavery
C Vernon
A Kernan
G Swift
T Kernan
S McDonnell
B Mallon
Post by: BenDover on April 09, 2010, 12:53:39 PM
Quote from: stew on April 07, 2010, 11:52:21 PM

U sure this was Ronan Stew? I know JJ was the big tennis star in the clarke house even won a few ulster tournaments - ignore me shoulda read the rest of the thread!

On a brighter note good to see Duffy get a chance at wing back
Post by: ArmaghGAAforum on April 09, 2010, 03:40:32 PM
Donegal Team: P Durcan, F McGlynn, N McGee, K Lacey, M Maguire, A Thompson, K Cassidy (c), N Gallagher, E Kelly, L McLoone, C Dunne, B Dunnion, C McFadden, M Murphy, A Hanlon
Post by: gerryg on April 09, 2010, 04:29:35 PM
Seen the lineout for sunday , what have forker & henderson done wrong to not be selected, we have chopped & changed the forward lineout throughout the league & on different occassions they have been very good, since henderson played well against laois  at full forward his best position in my opinion for the following matches he was playing out near the half forward line where he worked hard but is more effective in closer to goal, forker & henderson are generally feeding off scraps as most balls into the full forward line are naturally directed towards stevie, these players need a run in the forward line as they are easily our best option without getting sacraficed when things are not going well ie against down as they need match time to gain confidence. it looks like following the same pattern as last year all over again.
Post by: stew on April 09, 2010, 04:36:08 PM
I dont know what photos Hearty has of O'Rourke and his staff, when are they going to figure out he is a liability and that we have at least two keepers in the County better that Hearty?

This is a very important game for us, I hope Armagh do themselves justice but I fear that at this stage we are chopping and changing so much that we will not have the cohesion required for Championship football.
Post by: mountainboii on April 09, 2010, 07:00:44 PM
Who'd be a football manager?

They give a few lads in certain positions the chance to show what they can do and they're castigated for 'chopping and changing too much'. In other positions they let a fella get a run of games to bed down his place and they're lambasted for not giving others a go. Damned if you do, damned if you don't.
Post by: Carbery on April 09, 2010, 08:49:50 PM
Quote from: illdecide on April 09, 2010, 12:52:48 PM
Armagh team...

Hearty
Andy Mallon
B Donaghy
B Shannon
P Duffy
C McKeever
Finn Mo
K Toner
J Lavery
C Vernon
A Kernan
G Swift
T Kernan
S McDonnell
B Mallon

Anyone know the Armagh or Donegal substitutes for Sunday's game?
Post by: ArmaghGAAforum on April 09, 2010, 09:48:59 PM
Quote from: Carbery on April 09, 2010, 08:49:50 PM
Quote from: illdecide on April 09, 2010, 12:52:48 PM
Armagh team...

Hearty
Andy Mallon
B Donaghy
B Shannon
P Duffy
C McKeever
Finn Mo
K Toner
J Lavery
C Vernon
A Kernan
G Swift
T Kernan
S McDonnell
B Mallon

Anyone know the Armagh or Donegal substitutes for Sunday's game?

Armagh Subs
Substitutes:

16. Philip McEvoy P. Mac Fhíobhuí Dromintee
17. Ryan Henderson R. Mac Éinrí Clann Eireann
18. Stefan Forker S. Mac Fearchair Maghery
19. Joe Feeney S. Ó Fiannaí Madden
20. Martin Ferris M. Ó Fearais Carrickcruppen
21. Paul Kernan P. Mac Thiarnáin Crossmaglen
22. Darnell Parkinson D. Mac Peárcín Pearse Og
23. Jason O'Neill S. Ó Neill Granemore
24. Paul Magee P. Mag Aoidh Sarsfields
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on April 09, 2010, 10:00:00 PM
Quote from: ArmaghGAAforum on April 09, 2010, 09:48:59 PM

Armagh Subs
Substitutes:

16. Philip McEvoy P. Mac Fhíobhuí Dromintee
17. Ryan Henderson R. Mac Éinrí Clann Eireann
18. Stefan Forker S. Mac Fearchair Maghery
19. Joe Feeney S. Ó Fiannaí Madden
20. Martin Ferris M. Ó Fearais Carrickcruppen
21. Paul Kernan P. Mac Thiarnáin Crossmaglen
22. Darnell Parkinson D. Mac Peárcín Pearse Og
23. Jason O'Neill S. Ó Neill Granemore
24. Paul Magee P. Mag Aoidh Sarsfields

They don't stick rigidly to the 24 though do they? You'd have expected to see some of the recent additions to the squad on the bench. As for the team, its a fair enough selection. A wee surprising to see Tony Kernan and Barry Shannon getting their first start in what could be the last match. You'd have thought if they were being seriously considering as championship starters we'd have see them in the first XV before now. That said, I wouldn't quibble too much.
Post by: lawnseed on April 09, 2010, 10:41:13 PM
hearty :o ::) >:( :'( so going ups not important and another rattle at the morne men isnt on. why bother. cassidy will frighten the life out of hearty and he'll lie down and stick his leg up... same old
Post by: Orior on April 09, 2010, 11:22:36 PM
Hearty has been a decent servant for the county, but I cant believe he's been given the No 1 spot.

Also, what the heck is Parkinson doing on the subs bench? Was not impressed by him in last years club championship.
Post by: illdecide on April 09, 2010, 11:40:50 PM
Quote from: Orior on April 09, 2010, 11:22:36 PM
Hearty has been a decent servant for the county, but I cant believe he's been given the No 1 spot.

Also, what the heck is Parkinson doing on the subs bench? Was not impressed by him in last years club championship.

R u serious Orior ???...he was very good for Og's last year
Post by: Aghdavoyle on April 09, 2010, 11:50:44 PM

Jaysus he wasn't id - he wasnt even on the team early in the championship. good final though.

shannon was a starter in the early games and got injured.

McEvoy must be wondering at the double standards of a single mistake against down costing him his place while hearty... well hearty remains consistent.
Post by: illdecide on April 10, 2010, 12:51:24 AM
Well in fairness i only saw him in action 4 times but the 4 i seen him in i thought he done well.

v CROSS
v Harps
v Clans x2 (league)
Post by: Benny Barnaveld on April 10, 2010, 01:03:07 AM
Quote from: Orior on April 09, 2010, 11:22:36 PM

Obviously he is unproven at county level, after all he is only in the subs.
He played midfield for the Ogs I think and ended up in at fullback for the championship.
I thought he looked better a little out the field as he is very athletic.
Consistent enough player from the dozen or so time I seen him last year.

Hearty should not be getting chance number 147 between the posts.
McEvoy has been hung out to dry for the Down game where Mallon was as much to blame as he was imo.
Post by: Ulick on April 10, 2010, 02:52:05 AM
Saw Parkinson a few times last year he seemed to do okay, nothing special but he seems to have the athleticism of a county player. I take it he's been the only member of the panel so far not to get a run out? Considering some of the boys we've been playing he should have been well in before now.
Post by: ArmaghGAAforum on April 11, 2010, 03:27:45 PM
Armagh (http://www.armaghgaa.net) 1-09 Donegal 0-02 Half Time

http://www.armaghgaa.net/forum/
Post by: ArmaghGAAforum on April 11, 2010, 04:17:29 PM
Armagh (http://www.armaghgaa.net/forum/) 2-16 Donegal 0-06 Full Time

Promoted to Division 1 and off to Croke Park in 2 weeks time to get revenge against the Mournemen
Post by: J70 on April 11, 2010, 05:04:44 PM
Well done to the Armagh men. From the sounds of the radio coverage, they completely overpowered Donegal physically from the start (like Kildare earlier in the league and Cork in the championship last year), and once the first goal went in, a lot of Donegal players threw in the towel and didn't want to know, Lacey and McGee being exceptions at the back (wasn't much the forwards could do by all accounts as there was no ball going in). Hard to know eactly where we're at after that league campaign - a couple of drubbings each received and dished out and narrow losses and wins against Down, Meath and Tipperary. We ran Down close while Armagh were annihilated by them (and by Tipp in the second half of that game). Typical league and very early in the year maybe, but hopefully we'll be a bit more competitive if we should meet Armagh again.
Post by: armaghniac on April 11, 2010, 05:08:03 PM
Donegal were poor today, but the Armagh performance gives a lot of cause for optimism, especially if we had a fit Clarke. Well done!
Post by: imtommygunn on April 11, 2010, 05:31:06 PM
Looking at coverage on tv J70 has it exactly right.

Donegal quite reliant on Murphy too. Armagh's FB has the perfect physique to mark him (Donaghy isn't it?) and did a good job on him.Again when it came down to it I thought McFadden was also very poor.

Very disappointed in Donegal to be honest. They just dropped the heads exactly like they did against Cork. Armagh also looked very good so that's not to take anything away from them. They look a very solid side.
Post by: bennydorano on April 11, 2010, 06:02:09 PM
Well that was a bit of a suprise, Donegal probably not too bothered if they lost as I'm sure they prob didn't want to play Down so close to the championship, but they wouldn't be too pleased with that.  We were defintely more up for that than Donegal and plenty of reason for optimism.

Some top drawer performances, built on our HB line who I thought totally obliterated their opponents, McKeever and Duffy had to be contenders for Motm.  I think POR could fancy Vernon at Chf and if Lavery can stay fit he could end up in MF for the derry game, i know Vernon hated the HF role he had under McDonnell but playing as a proper hf he could defintely do a job.  Only TK (and AK to a lesser extenet) didn't really contribute much.
Post by: DuffleKing on April 11, 2010, 06:54:55 PM

Fantastic performance today. Really encouraging from a lot of lads.
Reminiscent of similar performances along the way under the last regime - notably dublin in cross.

Ironically the half fowards seemed to be playing similarly deep today (particularly ak) and donegal didn't know to cope with McKeever playing as a sweeper.

Interesting league final to look forward to now.
Post by: Orior on April 11, 2010, 07:07:13 PM
Great performance from the Armagh half backs.

Moriarity-McKeever-Duffy are the best I've seen since McCann-McGeeny-O'Rourke.
Post by: Smokin Joe on April 11, 2010, 07:30:05 PM
Quote from: Orior on April 11, 2010, 07:07:13 PM

Moriarity-McKeever-Duffy are the best I've seen since McCann-McGeeny-O'Rourke.

They certainly get forward quicker and much more often than McGeeney's line.  They are a great outlet for us.  I just hope that they don't get exposed when going backwards.
Post by: mountainboii on April 11, 2010, 08:25:05 PM
Very impressive performance from Armagh today. Was like the old days, dominating Donegal both physically and on the score board. Wary of get too excited about it though, as we were equally dominant against Kildare earlier in the league and followed that up with a couple of dodgy displays. Hard to know how bothered Donegal were today either.

I'd imagine that'll be fairly close to the Championship side.

Would perfer to have McEvoy in goals, but to be fair to Hearty he's been good in the last couple of games apart from the one moment of madness.

Still reckon there's one place in the defence up for grabs. Shannon stepped in today and was decent, he'll probably get a chance to lock down his place in the final. I hope he does, as I perfer to see Duffy in the HB line.

Can't see Lavery getting dropped after what may have been his best showing yet in an Armagh senior jersey. He'll partner Toner, which means Vernon will have to stay in the HF line.

Reckon the HF line will remain the same, although Kernan could still swap with Vernon. Harsh for Feeney to miss out.

I'd imagine Clarke will come back in a straight swap for Tony Kernan, who was probably our least impressive player today. Brian Mallon is in pole position to complete the 15 after his excellent showing.

Ten different scorers today can't be sniffed at, perhaps indicative of the more positive brand of football we're playing. This league campaign has had enough horror moments to remind us that we're still a good bit away from being the finished article, but on the whole it's been very positive. Looking forward to an early visit to Croke Park and seeing a few wrongs righted.
Post by: bennydorano on April 11, 2010, 08:44:34 PM
Well done to O'Rourke and his backroom team, promotion hasn't been achieved for a while.   
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on April 11, 2010, 09:09:37 PM
Quote from: bennydorano on April 11, 2010, 08:44:34 PM
Well done to O'Rourke and his backroom team, promotion hasn't been achieved for a while.

I think its only fair to make that point Benny. I was vehemently opposed to O'Rourke's appointment and remain spectical but promotion was beyond most of our expectations at the start of the team and the management deserve real credit for achieving a top 2 finish. While I genuinely believe this was a poor enough year for division 2, winning 5 league matches including wins against 2 quarter finalists from 2009 is no mean achievement. Making amends for the shambles in Newry would cap a fine League season.

We were really good at stages today though you'd have to question Donegal's commitment. I think the match boiled down to the fact that Donegal were indifferent about facing Down in a fortnight's time whereas our lads were very keen to.

Can't think of any players who didn't do well today - the most encouraging thing is that, while Stevie played well, we were far from reliant on him for scores with 4 of our 6 starting defenders getting on the scoresheet. We were excellent at midfield and I'd agree with AFS that we'll probably keep that duo for the championship. Worth commenting as well that the much maligned Paul Hearty had a very good match.
Post by: mackers on April 11, 2010, 09:28:08 PM
Fair play to the management team and players, no mean feat in getting promotion although the standard in the division was poor. The team is starting to progress after a couple of wasted years under the previous management. The more fluid style of play suits a number of our players (i.e P Duffy, Andy Mallon, C McKeever, C Vernon). We're not the finished article but we're playing closer to our best than the last couple of years.
Michael Murphy won't come up against much better FBs than Donaghy this year. It was obvious that Donegal's main attacking strategy was to hit him with high ball which was meat and drink to Donaghy. I wasn't a big Lavery fan earlier in the year but in fairness he has played very well over the last few games and he was my MOTM today against a big Donegal midfield.
Don't buy into the fact that Donegal weren't interested today, promotion was a big prize and they could've thrown in a dummy performance in the final. Wouldn't be too annoyed about a Division 2 title myself but proving a point against this Down team certainly will sharpen the player's attitude over the next couple of weeks in training.
Post by: Shortso79 on April 11, 2010, 09:28:26 PM
Just in from Letterkenny

Great Display from Armagh - some heat today - temperature in the car before we headed into the ground was 26 degrees

Totally wrecked from the long drive - will post a wee report tomorrow

Post by: Benny Barnaveld on April 11, 2010, 09:34:55 PM
Fair play to all involved!
At least the way O'Rourke has the team set up now they are a lot easier to watch.

On today I think it was a very complete performance.
Much like the Kildare match Donegal learned the danger of an unmarked McKeever at CHB.
Only T.Kernan disapponted and to a lesser extent Lavery, although I seem to be gpoing against the grain with Lavery
Post by: lawnseed on April 11, 2010, 10:43:52 PM
good show today hearty did really well im happy to say, mckeever was class, paul duffy good as well, arron was a mess scored a handy free then cancelled it out by giving away two scorable frees, made one good run out of defence 'unmarked' but laid it off and turned his back on the ball so as to make himself unavailable for the return pass dont know whats wrong but i think paddy's beginning to see the light FOR NOW hes simply not good enough a spell on the bench might waken him up. tony kernan is not a county player
Post by: Benny Barnaveld on April 11, 2010, 11:22:06 PM
Quote from: lawnseed on April 11, 2010, 10:43:52 PM
good show today hearty did really well im happy to say, mckeever was class, paul duffy good as well, arron was a mess scored a handy free then cancelled it out by giving away two scorable frees, made one good run out of defence 'unmarked' but laid it off and turned his back on the ball so as to make himself unavailable for the return pass dont know whats wrong but i think paddy's beginning to see the light FOR NOW hes simply not good enough a spell on the bench might waken him up. tony kernan is not a county player

Yeah. As I mentioned in earlier threads I am surprised that A.Kernan has got so much game time in this line.
In my opinion it has been evident that the experiment has not worked.
And it is an issue for him that Duffy has been moved out to No.5 (glad to see this move), he is going to cause O'Rourke a real headache in the near future. He has not made his way into automatic selection in the HF line, nor would it be fair to include him in the HB line at the expense of Moriarty or Duffy.

T.Kernan playins was kinda a strange selection anyways, came back in from the cold.
Glad Henderson got a nice score when he came on.
Post by: Throw ball on April 12, 2010, 12:36:54 AM
Was a worthwhile trip to Letterkenny today. Beautiful weather and a good result, although some hike to and from the car! I think you are being incredibly harsh on Aaron Kernan. It is worth noting that since his move into the forwards Armagh have become a more fluid team. It has been noticable that he has been trying to speed up his play and at times has lost possession because of this. Although I am not convinced he is a CHF I cannot think of a current member of the panel who would do a better job. Also if we have good enough players to keep Aaron Kernan on the bench I will go and book my hotel for the third sunday in September now! Although I am not a great fan of Tony Kernan he does offer something and made many good runs today. Definitely worth his place on the panel although I think he is behind Forker and Henderson at the minute.
Thought Brian Mallon had a good game today. Now lets see if he can put two together.
All in all a good league campaign no matter the final result. 
Post by: Carbery on April 12, 2010, 09:40:11 AM
In this morning's Irish News there is a photograph of the Armagh players and management which includes Paddy O'Rourke, Justin McNulty and Donal Murtagh but there is another person whom I assume is also a member of the Armagh management included in the photograph - is it Mike McGurn whom I do not know?
Post by: Sandy Hill on April 12, 2010, 10:23:57 AM
Quote from: Carbery on April 12, 2010, 09:40:11 AM
In this morning's Irish News there is a photograph of the Armagh players and management which includes Paddy O'Rourke, Justin McNulty and Donal Murtagh but there is another person whom I assume is also a member of the Armagh management included in the photograph - is it Mike McGurn whom I do not know?
Don't know who it is but it ain't McGurn.
Post by: mackers on April 12, 2010, 10:37:44 AM
Quote from: Throw ball on April 12, 2010, 12:36:54 AM
Was a worthwhile trip to Letterkenny today. Beautiful weather and a good result, although some hike to and from the car! I think you are being incredibly harsh on Aaron Kernan. It is worth noting that since his move into the forwards Armagh have become a more fluid team. It has been noticable that he has been trying to speed up his play and at times has lost possession because of this. Although I am not convinced he is a CHF I cannot think of a current member of the panel who would do a better job. Also if we have good enough players to keep Aaron Kernan on the bench I will go and book my hotel for the third sunday in September now! Although I am not a great fan of Tony Kernan he does offer something and made many good runs today. Definitely worth his place on the panel although I think he is behind Forker and Henderson at the minute.
Thought Brian Mallon had a good game today. Now lets see if he can put two together.
I'd agree with that, thought AK had his best outing at CHF today, noticably speeding up his play. I think he's gonna be there come championship time. The FF line that finished the game yesterday of Henderson, Clarke and McDonnell is our most potent option.  Forker would be next in line for me, although I wouldn't rule out Jaimie Clarke if he could get a run out in Croker. TK should only be used if Stevie having an off day on the frees.
Post by: Orior on April 12, 2010, 11:37:25 AM

Which one of the Kernans are you?
Post by: Throw ball on April 12, 2010, 01:09:21 PM
Quote from: Orior on April 12, 2010, 11:37:25 AM

Which one of the Kernans are you?

Still waiting on the results of the DNA test. Will let you know! ;D
Post by: camloughlad on April 12, 2010, 03:09:53 PM
Mckeever showed us yesterday wat he's fit to do when he puts his mind to it let's hope he does the same against down and not go back til that shit he was at the las time we played them
Post by: Real1995 on April 12, 2010, 06:58:39 PM
Anybody know why Armagh were wearing their old strip yesterday?
Post by: ardmhachaabu on April 12, 2010, 07:02:51 PM
Quote from: Real1995 on April 12, 2010, 06:58:39 PM
Anybody know why Armagh were wearing their old strip yesterday?
No idea, thought it a bit weird myself but if that's what it takes I don't care what strip they wear  ;) ;D
Post by: armaghniac on April 12, 2010, 07:56:35 PM
QuoteAnybody know why Armagh were wearing their old strip yesterday?

Short sleeves, at a guess.
Post by: Orior on April 12, 2010, 08:34:23 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on April 12, 2010, 07:56:35 PM
QuoteAnybody know why Armagh were wearing their old strip yesterday?

Short sleeves, at a guess.

Ronan Clarke came on wearing long sleeves?