Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: balladmaker on March 03, 2010, 02:08:14 PM

Title: Sports Memorabilia?
Post by: balladmaker on March 03, 2010, 02:08:14 PM
Came across a sale of sports memorablilia in Newry a couple of weeks ago, among the items for sale were Ali's white shorts as worn in the below photo.  They were nicely framed, accompanied by the below pic, an Ali autogragh, as well as a certificate of authenticity.....all for £2995.

Are these things for real, I assume they must be?

What item's have you come across?

(http://img65.imageshack.us/img65/760/ali3hu.jpg)
Title: Re: Sports Memorabilia?
Post by: T Fearon on March 03, 2010, 02:26:58 PM
Wife got me a framed montage of Pele action photos recently, hand signed by the man himself, for just over £100 recently, with plaque, CAO and photographic proof. Quite a bargain!

Generally anything by superstars or deceased superstars is quite expensive (a George Best signed jersey would fetch about £1000 to-day). Have started to collect some stuff myself (mostly won of course ;D) and I suppose the most valuable item would be a framed signed jersey (with 10 signatures including the late Alan Ball) of the 1966 England World Cup winning side.I reckon these things can only appreciate in value when the players pass on to the great football pitch in the sky. Other items include an FA Cup Final programme signed by Pat Jennings and a framed signed photo of Nakamura's goal at Celtic Park V Man Utd which cost me £150 in the Celtic Shop.

Seems like the two key points are superstardom and item rarity. For example an original programme from the Celtic Inter 1967 European Cup Final would set you back at least £200.00.

Also te actual boots worn by Stanley Matthews in the 1953 FA Cup final fetched over £38,000 last week. Bet he hardly made that amount in his entire football career.
Post by: Jim_Murphy_74 on March 03, 2010, 02:30:50 PM
Have you much OWC memorabilia Tony?

/Jim
Post by: T Fearon on March 03, 2010, 02:39:59 PM
Actually I have a fair few OWC programmes from the games I attended over the years (including the 1967 George Best solo show game against Scotland, and the 5-3 win over Austria in 1995,) and indeed there is an unsigned North of Ireland shirt among my collection.

Have, amongst others, the IFA centenary programme from the North of Ireland Sweden World Cup game at Windsor Park, back in 1979/80 and also the George Best testimonial game programme and Pat Jennings Testimonial programme as I attended both games at Windsor Park, and various IFA Cup Final programmes including last season's which I attended.

Also have a photo of myself with Keith Gillespie!

Well the Paisley's were regular readers of the Catholic Universe!
Post by: magpie seanie on March 03, 2010, 02:43:02 PM
Quotea framed signed photo of Nakamura's goal at Celtic Park V Man Utd which cost me £150 in the Celtic Shop.

They saw you coming!
Post by: Rossie11 on March 03, 2010, 02:45:11 PM
Does 4 years old count as memorabilia???
Have a soccer ball signed by most of Barcelona squad in 2005-06 champs league winning team
Ronaldihno Eto'o Messi Xavi Iniesta Deco Puyol etc..
Only man missing is the man who made the difference in the final Larsson..   :(
Post by: full back on March 03, 2010, 02:48:10 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on March 03, 2010, 02:26:58 PM
a framed signed photo of Nakamura's goal at Celtic Park V Man Utd which cost me £150 in the Celtic Shop.

For a man who is hungry as fcuk I this shows you are a mug
Post by: Hardy on March 03, 2010, 02:54:18 PM
Anybody interested in boxing memorabilia should visit Cronin's pub in Crosshaven,
Co. Cork if they get the chance. They have a great collection of signed gloves
(Hagler and Hearns would be the most notable I can remember), photos,
posters, Ring Magazine and Boxing Illustrated covers, etc.

They used to have a great pint, too, but the last time I was there it was

[Edit - it's easy to forget that what you commit to the internet is there for posterity]

... it wasn't great.
Post by: leenie on March 03, 2010, 02:59:33 PM
we've got an oul signed  painting of david beckham when he scored that goal for united fron the halfway line and around the frame is the photos of the shot... theres only 13 in the world apparently..

its in the attic gathering dust!
Post by: Norf Tyrone on March 03, 2010, 03:00:20 PM
I bought the offical autobiography of Chelsea FC a few years back, and bumped into Peter Osgood, Chopper Harris, and Peter Bonetti the same day. Got the 3 boys to sign it.

A few months later and Ossie passed on.

It might not have great monetary value, but it's of great sentimental value to me. Very few will have the big man's autograph on the book due to the time span.
Post by: T Fearon on March 03, 2010, 03:06:42 PM
Er, I wanted that Nakamura piece, because I was at the game and it's a limited edition with the Celtic emblem embedded, beautifully framed, and will no doubt increase in value as the years go on ,as no doubt there is a real danger that Champions League participation itself might well become just a memory for Celtic. The game itself is already in the annals of the Celtic great matches.

Also I think it is useful to warn that authentic memoribilia is important, so without proof, even though it may well be authentic (like the Barcelona signed ball), it may be worthless.

One of the most bizarre areas of " memoribilia" I came across was a small ice cream parlour in Sorrento a few years ago. The auld fella that owned the gaff had photos of himself up on the wall with everyone who was anyone,from Sophia Loren to Roberto Baggio :D
Post by: T Fearon on March 03, 2010, 03:08:35 PM
Bumped into Chopper Harris? Did he not flatten you, or at least boot you up the arse?
Post by: Doogie Browser on March 03, 2010, 03:10:38 PM
Have a pint glass that Paul McGrath drunk out of one night, I was in the pub the next night and the owner was really nice and gave me the glass.
Post by: ziggysego on March 03, 2010, 03:11:24 PM
Quote from: leenie on March 03, 2010, 02:59:33 PM
we've got an oul signed  painting of david beckham when he scored that goal for united fron the halfway line and around the frame is the photos of the shot... theres only 13 in the world apparently..

Shoulda thrown in on the fire during the snowy period to keep yerself warm.
Post by: full back on March 03, 2010, 03:18:16 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on March 03, 2010, 03:11:24 PM

Why?
Post by: tyrone girl on March 03, 2010, 03:21:01 PM
Think hes getting at the fact that alls beckham and united are good for   :o
Post by: ziggysego on March 03, 2010, 03:22:58 PM
Quote from: full back on March 03, 2010, 03:18:16 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on March 03, 2010, 03:11:24 PM

Why?

It was very cold and it would have saved her on oil.
Post by: tyrone girl on March 03, 2010, 03:26:45 PM
Id burn it even if it was roasting outside  :P
Post by: BennyHarp on March 03, 2010, 03:27:12 PM
I was listening to a show on the radio one time and a bloke phoned in saying about being out in Mexico for the world cup in 1986 and was at the England v Argentina game with the two famous Maradonna goals. He said he happened to meet Maradonna in the car park (or somewhere, i cant really remember) and he was lucky enough to get him to sign his programme. A few years later his son joined a local football academy and one day was getting coached by Steve Hodge who was also playing (a bit) that day in Mexico. So the bloke decided to take the programme down to get signed and handed it to Hodge who signed his name in black marker right over the top of Maradonna's making it virtually unreadable! I'd say (if true) this would have been quite annoying!!
Post by: mylestheslasher on March 03, 2010, 04:46:34 PM
I am a collector myself but only of Cavan GAA memorabilia. It may be of interest to ye to know that GAA memorabila is probably worth twice that of say english soccer stuff. Match programs from AI's in the 30's would fetch €1500 or more and many of them are often no more than a folded A4 page. My oldest programs are the 1949 AI final and 1952 Ulster Final. I would have almost a complete set of championship programs from the 60's onwards. If any of ye are interested have a look at www.collectiblescorner.net. You'll see prices realised by different programs in different sports.
I recall Wexford won 4 AI's in a row in the early 1900's, the decendants of some guy who played on all the teams sold his 4 medals for 24k a few years ago. See here http://www.independent.ie/national-news/gaa-fans-splash-out-at-sale-of-sporting-history-50665.html

So throw nothing away lads.
Post by: Family guy on March 03, 2010, 04:48:59 PM
Was in the chelsea tunnel after a game about 4 years ago,met all the players anyway and got drogba to sign my jersey,he was on the fone at the time and just drew a line straight up and down my jersey,got my picture taken with him but wud never show any1 the jersey to say drogba signed it cause he just ruined it the p***k
Post by: tyrone girl on March 03, 2010, 04:51:35 PM
I have my daddys all ireland medal for tyrone juniors in 1967 does that count as memorabilia
Post by: T Fearon on March 03, 2010, 04:54:18 PM
You were in the Chelsea tunnel? Who are you, John Terry?

Tyrone Girl was your daddy ever caught on camera comitting a foul?
Post by: Family guy on March 03, 2010, 04:58:30 PM
Ha ha good 1,they were playing villa that day also got ny pic taken with the legend that is martin oneill,also with abramovic,shuda aske d him for a sub
Post by: mylestheslasher on March 03, 2010, 05:05:21 PM
Quote from: tyrone girl on March 03, 2010, 04:51:35 PM
I have my daddys all ireland medal for tyrone juniors in 1967 does that count as memorabilia

It sure does. Remember, the team your dad played on had lets say 25 players. That means there are only 25 medals in the world of the same as you have. Given Tyrones rise you'd be surprised what someone would pay you for that, although I'm sure you would never dream of selling it no more than I would sell anything I have collected.
Post by: down6061689194 on March 03, 2010, 05:25:43 PM
Match worn is where the real value is in football shirts. A signed Gerrard Shirt or the like £100 tops. £500+ for match worn.

I have an Utaka Match worn and a Liverpool 05 Squad signed Jersey. After one of the Final Jerseys if I can get it.

Would love to get an AI final Jersey off a player. May chance my luck after a gamesome day. I know a guy with a Sheflin Hurl from a Final.
Post by: gallsman on March 03, 2010, 08:16:01 PM
Quote from: balladmaker on March 03, 2010, 02:08:14 PM
Came across a sale of sports memorablilia in Newry a couple of weeks ago, among the items for sale were Ali's white shorts as worn in the below photo.  They were nicely framed, accompanied by the below pic, an Ali autogragh, as well as a certificate of authenticity.....all for £2995.

Are these things for real, I assume they must be?

What item's have you come across?

Not that I doubt the authenticity of your post, balladmaker, but that's the "phantom punch" fight. His first fight as Ali rather than Clay and a fight that was refereed by Jersey Joe Walcott. I'd doubt it very much if Ali's trunks from that fight were on sale in Newry.
Post by: Celt_Man on March 03, 2010, 08:51:05 PM
Quote from: Family guy on March 03, 2010, 04:58:30 PM
Ha ha good 1,they were playing villa that day also got ny pic taken with the legend that is martin oneill,also with abramovic,shuda aske d him for a sub

Funny I think that sentence is in English but I am not entirely sure...
Post by: balladmaker on March 03, 2010, 11:32:57 PM
QuoteNot that I doubt the authenticity of your post, balladmaker, but that's the "phantom punch" fight. His first fight as Ali rather than Clay and a fight that was refereed by Jersey Joe Walcott. I'd doubt it very much if Ali's trunks from that fight were on sale in Newry.

Gallsman, I saw them at a display of memorabilia in the middle of Buttercrane Shopping Centre about 3 weeks ago on a Saturday afternoon.  I was shocked to be honest that they would be there.  £2995 was the price tag on the frame, don't know if they were the actual shorts or replica shorts and you would be paying for the presentation of them i.e. expensive frame, photo, autograph etc.  That's why I was posting to see if anyone actually knew.
Post by: ONeill on March 03, 2010, 11:46:03 PM
I have a hanky I lifted from Mick Foster's glove compartment in his Fiesta. Tony Allen was in the back with Brendan Shine.
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on March 03, 2010, 11:46:08 PM
Save yourself 1200 quid here

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/Muhammad-Ali-signed-boxing-shorts-Framed_W0QQitemZ120517494039QQcmdZViewItemQQptZUK_Sports_Memorabilia_ET?hash=item1c0f670517

or another fiver here

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/Muhammed-Ali-Framed-Signed-Shorts-%2F-Trunks-with-COA_W0QQitemZ270535345079QQcmdZViewItemQQimsxq20100224?IMSfp=TL100224126002r23568
Post by: T Fearon on March 04, 2010, 09:23:41 AM
Every year around Christmas time, a guy takes a stall at Castlecourt in Belfast, selling signed Sports Memoribilia. As far as I know its a legitimate company. Anyway the prices are serious, 300 quid upwards for a jersey signed by Pele, and tubes like Cantona. Needless to say I've never bought anything there.

I remember reading about that exhibition in Newry. Pretty sure it was all authentic stuff.

Still you can't beat the actual photograph for proof. Have a framed signed Bayern Munich jersey up on the wall at home signed by Klinsmann, and there's a photo of him and me embedded in the frame (I had it the framing done professionally of course ;D). Removes any doubts as to authenticity ;) 
Post by: thebigfella on March 04, 2010, 03:51:41 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on March 04, 2010, 09:23:41 AM
Every year around Christmas time, a guy takes a stall at Castlecourt in Belfast, selling signed Sports Memoribilia. As far as I know its a legitimate company. Anyway the prices are serious, 300 quid upwards for a jersey signed by Pele, and tubes like Cantona. Needless to say I've never bought anything there.

I remember reading about that exhibition in Newry. Pretty sure it was all authentic stuff.

Still you can't beat the actual photograph for proof. Have a framed signed Bayern Munich jersey up on the wall at home signed by Klinsmann, and there's a photo of him and me embedded in the frame (I had it the framing done professionally of course ;D). Removes any doubts as to authenticity ;)

Photographs/videos are no longer regarded as legitimate proof IMO due to the advancement of forgery via home editing suites/photoshop etc.
Post by: Onion Bag on April 24, 2012, 02:53:27 PM
Anyone any idea of any good places go get a jersey framed and also how much it should cost? I got a  quote yesterday for £170, I thought it was very steep but maybe it's not. Any ideas?
Post by: gawa316 on April 24, 2012, 03:01:35 PM
Are there any good sites out there to sell this stuff or at least get it valued?
Post by: Onion Bag on April 25, 2012, 03:09:29 PM
Quote from: Onion Bag on April 24, 2012, 02:53:27 PM
Anyone any idea of any good places go get a jersey framed and also how much it should cost? I got a  quote yesterday for £170, I thought it was very steep but maybe it's not. Any ideas?

Any idea lads and lasses?
Post by: heffo on April 25, 2012, 03:27:59 PM
Quote from: Onion Bag on April 24, 2012, 02:53:27 PM

Know a place in Dublin that is top class and much cheaper than that - will pm you the details.
Post by: Onion Bag on April 25, 2012, 03:55:20 PM
Cheers Heffo
Post by: southdown on April 26, 2012, 12:29:33 PM
I have a programme for Down's 1960 All Ireland win, in pretty good condition as well. Its probably not worth in terms of £££ but I will look after it all my days.
Post by: rrhf on April 26, 2012, 02:34:50 PM
Did anyone see the auction for J Mc Mahons shorts after the All Ireland final in 08, raised big enough dough because Tommy Walsh was still in the pocket.