Joe's Galway and Kieran and Aidan's Kildare both hammered, and Grimley's Monaghan beaten at home as well. Not much sympathy for these, all of whom thought they were too good for Armagh >:(
What are you hashing bout - sure weren't Armagh beaten as well?
Armagh were narrowly beaten and shouldn't have been, unlike the embarrassents that were Kildare and Galway to day.
f**k off, Fearon
What has your contribution to Armagh GAA been compared those three Tony? :o
I have followed Armagh through thick and thin, for close on 40 years, and have never run away to glory hunt in other counties when the going got tough.
By the way moderator, does inviting a contributor to "F..k off" constitute personal abuse?
:D Fearon you talk some shite lol
Quote from: T Fearon on February 07, 2010, 05:16:09 PM
I have followed Armagh through thick and thin, for close on 40 years, and have never run away to glory hunt in other counties when the going got tough.
By the way moderator, does inviting a contributor to "F..k off" constitute personal abuse?
Were you in Navan last night Tony?
well i for one will not be shedding any tears, as all these "legends" ignored the call from Armagh in their hour of need.
Quote from: T Fearon on February 07, 2010, 04:37:27 PM
Armagh were narrowly beaten and shouldn't have been, unlike the embarrassents that were Kildare and Galway to day.
Well at least Galway and Moneghan are division 1 teams ;D
Dry your eyes Tony.
I was indeed Jinxy, seated a mere yard away from Sean Boylan, and had a pint in Ryans in Trimgate St after the game and indeed stayed overnight in Co Meath. You see I stay loyal to my county through thick and thin
mayogodhepus, Galway and Monaghan's current Division One Status has nothing to do with Kernan or Grimley, but they might be able to take full credit if both are in Division 2 next year ;D
Nobody goes to follow another county as a supporter when theirs is doing badly. We have all followed our counties for years... big deal.. just wondering what you have contributed.. like coached underage teams in Armagh, been on club committees, fund raised for GAA in the county? .. just wondering...
Quote from: T Fearon on February 07, 2010, 05:36:07 PM
mayogodhepus, Galway and Monaghan's current Division One Status has nothing to do with Kernan or Grimley, but they might be able to take full credit if both are in Division 2 next year ;D
Ya but they faced Mayo and Cork, division 1 opposition ;D
Quote from: longrunsthefox on February 07, 2010, 05:40:44 PM
Nobody goes to follow another county as a supporter when theirs is doing badly. We have all followed our counties for years... big deal.. just wondering what you have contributed.. like coached underage teams in Armagh, been on club committees, fund raised for GAA in the county? .. just wondering...
He nominated the Armagh Minors for the Belfast Telegraph Youth Team of the Year, which they went onto win. Isn't that enough fox?
Yes, I have served on club committees, ferried players about, contributed financially for almost 40 years etc, and last month I was solely responsible for our County Minor team receive the YOUNG team of the Year award from the Belfast Telegraph as no one in authority apparently had the foresight to nominate them
Quote from: T Fearon on February 07, 2010, 05:46:29 PM
Yes, I have served on club committees, ferried players about, contributed financially for almost 40 years etc, and last month I was solely responsible for our County Minor team receive the YOUNG team of the Year award from the Belfast Telegraph as no one in authority apparently had the foresight to nominate them
Or maybe it was partly to do with the young lads defeating Mayo in Croke Park in September.
Yes, I have served on club committees
''Sat in on a few meetings, made a point once!'' :o
ferried players about
"Drove young fellas up the road to training" :o
contributed financially for almost 40 years
"Bought tickets
with my own money" :o
etc
"uh, thats about it..." :o
Is there a Nobel prize for services to the GAA?
Not looking for kudos, just responding to a previous contributor thats all.
Jesus this fella's head is so far up his own arse!
If he was chocolate he would eat himself.
Does he think he is some sorta GAA personality?
V sad post - I reckon boycott and get if off to page 43 ASAP
Quote from: longrunsthefox on February 07, 2010, 05:40:44 PM
Fox, you just cant measure it so dont try.
Did Kernan not win ye an AI??
Pete Mc Grath won two for
Down, didn't desert them for another county yet he is treated with contempt round the Mournes.
Joe Kernan, "I could never manage another county against my sons" is particulaly worthy of contempt imo
You have some cheek questioning McGeeny and Kernan's Armagh credentials and you were probably crying into your hanky in September 2002 after what they did for youse.
Quote from: goldenyears on February 07, 2010, 06:12:09 PM
To be fair to him he is a GAAboard personality
Quote from: T Fearon on February 07, 2010, 04:29:33 PM
Joe's Galway and Kieran and Aidan's Kildare both hammered, and Grimley's Monaghan beaten at home as well. Not much sympathy for these, all of whom thought they were too good for Armagh >:(
I don't think thats the case, Im sure there were more obvious reasons for taking those jobs.
Quote from: yellowcard on February 07, 2010, 08:38:58 PM
I don't think thats the case, Im sure there were more obvious reasons for taking those jobs.
Were any of the kildare duo offered any jobs with armagh at any stage? maybe more accurate to say they weren't wanted?
If he was chocolate Kraft would have bought him instead of Cadbury. (that would be a hell of a lot of chocolate)
Fearon you are a w*nker of the highest order. While I have no great love for Armagh, I have the greatest respect for Big Joe and all that he has achieved on and off the field with club and county. Like many armchair experts I doubt you ever kicked a ball in anger, yet in your own head you could have been somebody.
Moderator please confirm that calling a fellow poster a w**ker is a form of personal abuse and take appropriate action
If it was untrue I think the mods would be entitled to take action. ;) Now if I had said you were a big fat bigotted w*nker.... :D
I agree with Tony that people are playing the man here. I think he makes interesting and provocative points about loyalty - which is, I believe, what discussion boards are all about ?
Quote from: Dubh driocht on February 07, 2010, 09:25:14 PM
I agree with Tony that people are playing the man here. I think he makes interesting and provocative points about loyalty - which is, I believe, what discussion boards are all about ?
The same idiots post the same predictable rubbish every time tony posts something. It's nothing new.
Cant believe people are still taking your bait Tony
Quote from: ziggysego on February 07, 2010, 09:27:49 PM
I know, and they think tony's the idiot :D
Quote from: T Fearon on February 07, 2010, 09:09:54 PM
Moderator please confirm that calling a fellow poster a w**ker is a form of personal abuse and take appropriate action
Jees! Tony I didn't take you as someone would run to those in charge to report them. I hate that. Is people in jobs the same, run to the boss at work at the drop of a hat :-\
Did the Armagh county board show any loyalty to Big Joe? Armagh would not have won an All Ireland without him, but their Johnny come lately supporters have very short memories.
Fearon is only happy when he has something to complain about. Hopefully he will do plenty of complaining in 2010 where Armagh are concerned.
If the mods want to take action they should start with Fearon. He has probably started more pointless, stupid threads than ziggy and makes as much sense. How many Linfield/IFA threads are there? Or how many Spurs are the best team in the world threads are there? Are there not rules regarding spamming?
what a dumb thread this is lads, sad to see in-fighting like this amongst the fans a proud footballing county
Quote from: T Fearon on February 07, 2010, 07:57:51 PM
Down, didn't desert them for another county yet he is treated with contempt round the Mournes.
Joe Kernan, "I could never manage another county against my sons" is particulaly worthy of contempt imo
That's a disgusting comment. You have contempt for a man that oversaw the best period in your county's history? Whatever else Joe K does, he owes Armagh absolutely nothing. Anyone who makes a comment like that doesn't deserve the enjoyment you got when Armagh were kings of Football.
I realise you're probably on one of your famous windups, but not everyone who reads this is aware of your form. That's not on Tony.
Well, it's not like Galway will meet Armagh any time soon?? I think he meant an Ulster team.
Does the fact that hes doing this for a wind up make it any less pathetic?
accusing grimley, kernan, orourke and mcgeeney of showing no loyalty to armagh for a 'laugh' is a pretty sad show.
If some randomer started this thread pints and ziggy would criticise them from the of. Because fellow 'gaaboard personality' Fearon starts it, sure its a laugh.
I realise yous 3 live on here but getting your kicks from an internet windup that 'insults' 4 armagh legends. ::)
Oh no ive fallen for a carefully contrived wind up
You.
Got.
Me.
Pints any man who has spent the amount of time you have on a gaaforum has little grounds to be calling other people idiots. Check out how much of your life you have wasted on here :D
213 days, 6 hours and 5 minutes of log in time :D
That's the life of a genius of course :D :D :D
Have to agree that your comments are a disgrace Tony. Total lack of gratitute... and I am from Tyrone. Like us, the Armagh ones should not forget where they came from before 2000.
Quote from: whiskeysteve on February 07, 2010, 10:11:20 PM
accusing grimley, kernan, orourke and mcgeeney of showing no loyalty to armagh for a 'laugh' is a pretty sad show.
If some randomer started this thread pints and ziggy would criticise them from the of. Because fellow 'gaaboard personality' Fearon starts it, sure its a laugh.
I realise yous 3 live on here but getting your kicks from an internet windup that 'insults' 4 armagh legends. ::)
You.
Got.
Me.
Pints any man who has spent the amount of time you have on a gaaforum has little grounds to be calling other people idiots. Check out how much of your life you have wasted on here :D
Hardly, I got a warning because of Tony a few years ago because I took a dislike to a comment he posted here. I've since learnt that it's not worth taking him on, as he loves the attention and twists everything you say. Doesn't mean I like anything he says any better.
Quote from: whiskeysteve on February 07, 2010, 10:11:20 PM
You.
Got.
Me.
V sad post - I reckon boycott and get if off to page 43 ASAP
you have no idea how close to the truth you really are ;D
Quote from: T Fearon on February 07, 2010, 05:33:39 PM
I was indeed Jinxy, seated a mere yard away from Sean Boylan, and had a pint in Ryans in Trimgate St after the game and indeed stayed overnight in Co Meath. You see I stay loyal to my county through thick and thin
As you were posting last night I presume you brought the laptop with you? You sur know how to show a girl a good time. :D
Quote from: Trevor Hill on February 07, 2010, 09:32:58 PM
Did the Armagh county board show any loyalty to Big Joe? Armagh would not have won an All Ireland without him, but their Johnny come lately supporters have very short memories.
Fearon is only happy when he has something to complain about. Hopefully he will do plenty of complaining in 2010 where Armagh are concerned.
If the mods want to take action they should start with Fearon. He has probably started more pointless, stupid threads than ziggy and makes as much sense. How many Linfield/IFA threads are there? Or how many Spurs are the best team in the world threads are there? Are there not rules regarding spamming?
Well appointing him for 6 years in a row seems like loyalty to me. ::)
Tony's comments are pathetic but since he's on the wind-up I wouldn't be getting too worked up.
Is it not a fact that the three people referred to were either a) approached about the job and turned the job down or b) made it very clear they were not interested, and instead all three are now assisting other counties? Preferring another county to your own is not my idea of loyalty I'm afraid, regardless of what you may have achieved in the past, and I am at least entitled to my opinion.
It so happens that the accommodation I had on Saturday night had internet access (free of course ;D), and having been on the receiving end of numerous warnings in the past for abusing others, I am now going to highlight every instance of personal abuse offered to me.
I am quite content to present my points on this board, be amenable to logical counter arguments and respect the views of others who differ from me, without resorting to personal abuse. >:(
Quote from: T Fearon on February 08, 2010, 09:10:11 AM
Is it not a fact that the three people referred to were either a) approached about the job and turned the job down or b) made it very clear they were not interested, and instead all three are now assisting other counties?
If only things were that simple.
Well it seems like black and white to me. You either manage your own county when you have th chance or you desert them and opt for another. There may be things or individuals concerning your own county that you don't like, but hey that's life.
To say for years that you would never send another team out against your own sons, then all of a sudden do this, or prefer to be assistant manager of a neighbouring county rather than manage your own is inexcusable in my book.
Quote from: AFS on February 08, 2010, 09:14:12 AM
Is it not a fact that the three people referred to were either a) approached about the job and turned the job down or b) made it very clear they were not interested, and instead all three are now assisting other counties?
If only things were that simple.
In T Fearon's world everything is black and white. He doesn't have a clue
If it had been 2002, the three people concerned would have been fighting each other for the Armagh job, but they ran away from the challenge of rebuilding a new team, or threw a hissy fit in some cases because they were overlooked the last time, or had to suffer the slight of actually undergoing an interview etc etc.
Also don't accuse me of promoting infighting, I hear the three people concerned promoted more than their fair share over the years.
On the off chance that you've been living in a cave and actually haven't a clue, here are the reasons the three are not involved:
McGeeney: Had a job with Kildare. Would've been a dick to walk out on them after they gave him his big break in 2007 when Armagh decided they didn't want the ticket he was on.
Kernan: In 2007, while everyone was extremely appreciative of his efforts, most felt a change was needed as things had staled. There was no great appetite in the county to have him back so soon.
Grimley: Well, there's a 60 or 70 page thread on this matter here. That fact alone would suggest that things weren't as simple as him just not wanting the job.
Of course, you know this already and this thread is just a variant of your usual wind up pollution.
You have just vindicated my arguments. Staying with a currently more successful county in peference to your own is not what the average Armagh fan expects from one of his por her icons. Similarly throwing hissy fits about being overlooked before, suffering the indignity of an interview etc is not showing loyalty to Armagh.
Fearon - Future GAA Hall of Famer.
QuoteJoe's Galway and Kieran and Aidan's Kildare both hammered, and Grimley's Monaghan beaten at home as well. Not much sympathy for these, all of whom thought they were too good for Armagh
I'm sure Kernan & Grimley might counter that they are playing against the best this season while Armagh are plodding along with the country's other 2nd rate teams.
Mayo and Cork the best? When's the last time either were AI Champions? :D :D :D :D
Joe's Galway and Kieran and Aidan's Kildare both hammered, and Grimley's Monaghan beaten at home as well.
I'd be happier being (very narrowly) beaten by Cork (the only team to beat Kerry last year) in Division 1, than to be beaten by Meath in Division 2.
Is it not a fact that the three people referred to were either a) approached about the job and turned the job down or b) made it very clear they were not interested, and instead all three are now assisting other counties? Preferring another county to your own is not my idea of loyalty I'm afraid, regardless of what you may have achieved in the past, and I am at least entitled to my opinion.
It so happens that the accommodation I had on Saturday night had internet access (free of course ;D), and having been on the receiving end of numerous warnings in the past for abusing others, I am now going to highlight every instance of personal abuse offered to me.
I am quite content to present my points on this board, be amenable to logical counter arguments and respect the views of others who differ from me, without resorting to personal abuse. >:(
What about those PMs you sent to myles?
You have some neck on you Tfearon - I will give you that.
Quote from: T Fearon on February 08, 2010, 01:05:57 PM
Mayo and Cork the best? When's the last time either were AI Champions? :D :D :D :D
Teams I would rate ahead of Armagh in no particular order
Kerry
Tyrone
Cork
Mayo
Dublin
Derry
Monaghan
Kildare
Meath
Teams who I reckon will they get their act together before Armagh
Galway
Donegal
Teams with more potential than Armagh
Down
Tipperary
Teams that would fancy their chances against Armagh
Sligo
Antrim
Limerick
Wicklow
Fermanagh
Teams I think would have an outside chance V Armagh
Wexford
Leitrim
mayogodhelpus - Catch a grip!
It matters not where Armagh currently are in the pecking order. In my view whether they are number 1 or number 32, our iconic figures should have shown loyalty and taken up the challenge to manage the team instead of glory hunting i other counties
Quote from: T Fearon on February 07, 2010, 05:33:39 PM
Fair play Tony. i thought you would have gone to bed early to be up early for the Euro draw on sunday morning. New Years Resolution?
Quote from: Dubh driocht on February 07, 2010, 09:25:14 PM
I too agree with Tony. Tony has loyalty for Glasgow Celtic football team
Tony has loyalty for the Belfast Telegraph as he writes to it every second day
Tony is loyal to complete the dots type competition
Tony is loyal to name dropping
Tony is loyal to oneupmanship
Tony is loyal to disloyalty
Tony is loyal to being argumentative
Tony is loyal to.........................Tony
yes indeed, my only crime is loyalty ;D
Keep speaking the truth Tony :D
QuoteMayo and Cork the best? When's the last time either were AI Champions?
They've both been in AI finals within past 4 years while Armagh haven't even had a sniff. If the Tommy Muphy Cup was still going Armagh would be in it.
Quote from: Goats Do Shave on February 09, 2010, 08:57:15 AM
Would you rate them as a top 8 team or even top 10 team, I wouldn't that's just my honest opinion.
Quote from: T Fearon on February 09, 2010, 07:00:37 PM
Who would have thought it, Tony's a loyalist! :D
Quote from: ziggysego on February 09, 2010, 10:18:36 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on February 09, 2010, 07:00:37 PM
Who would have thought it, Tony's a loyalist! :D
Well he does spend half his time reading the Belfast Telegraph and attending IFA games at Windsor Park. He also like to throw on an Orange shirt every now and then ;)
You might want to remove the link though Sammy. A few bits of personal information on there about Tony.
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on February 09, 2010, 10:13:41 PM
Would you rate them as a top 8 team or even top 10 team, I wouldn't that's just my honest opinion.
Fair enough, they aren't in the top division... & haven't been for some time! However i'd have them in the top 15. Considering the youth set up now in Armagh, their potential should be quite high also! - I'd also predict, that bar Kerry & Cork, there aren't too many other teams that would relish playing Armagh come Championship time!!
Will someone explain to me what Armagh's current status (we are in a transitional period) has to do with this thread and the disloyalty of some of our iconic figures?
As a Dromintee man, i don't see how our clubman can be accused of disloyalty to armagh
Quote from: ziggysego on February 10, 2010, 12:33:10 AM
You might want to remove the link though Sammy. A few bits of personal information on there about Tony.
I like the Amazon selections!! ;D
Well I wasn't including Aidan, who was never approached about a role with Armagh
Quote from: T Fearon on February 10, 2010, 10:57:39 AM
Well I wasn't including Aidan, who was never approached about a role with Armagh
Tony, there's no point in going backwards now.
Your opening post included the phrase "
and Kieran and Aidan's Kildare both hammered"
Lets just say I wasn't particularly disappointed to see Kildare, Galway and Monaghan all losing last weekend, and I will be equally not disappointed to see them all lose this weekend, or Monaghan and Galway draw with each other.
PS Interesting to see if the Galway manager and the Monaghan Assistant Manager shake hands with each other on Sunday. We'll see where the real pettiness lies then ;)
It is bollix to say that Kernan considers himself too good for Armagh. He was essentially sacked and many people think that he should not be there while his sons are on the panel and he himself sees the logic of this. Now you can say that he should do nothing on the intercounty scene for the next dozen years until this situation changes, but that is a bit harsh.
I'll give you one thing Tony, you don't hide behind a sudo-name to slag people off. Either you are couragous or not wise... I have a feeling it is the latter.
Quote from: Goats Do Shave on February 10, 2010, 09:56:52 AM
Fair enough, they aren't in the top division... & haven't been for some time! However i'd have them in the top 15. Considering the youth set up now in Armagh, their potential should be quite high also! - I'd also predict, that bar Kerry & Cork, there aren't too many other teams that would relish playing Armagh come Championship time!!
Handy draw for us anyway goats ;)
I think the people who are brave enough to fire personal abuse at Tony should be brave enough to identify themselves. It's pretty cowardly to use a pseudonym and call someone a w@nker. I totally disagree with his opinion in this instance but it makes for interesting reading all the same.
Quote from: tbrick18 on February 11, 2010, 01:56:18 PM
Set yourself up nicely there! (By the time Championship comes round the club players in Derry will hate each other... again!)
Quote from: Asal Mor on February 11, 2010, 02:57:47 PM
I think the people who are brave enough to fire personal abuse at Tony should be brave enough to identify themselves. It's pretty cowardly to use a pseudonym and call someone a w@nker. I totally disagree with his opinion in this instance but it makes for interesting reading all the same.
Tony knows who I am ;D
Interesting, really? Have you not realised that almost everything he writes is designed to wind people up? I'd be surprised if he genuinely believed the half of the shite he spouts.
Quote from: AFS on February 11, 2010, 03:30:30 PM
Interesting, really? Have you not realised that almost everything he writes is designed to wind people up? I'd be surprised if he genuinely believed the half of the shite he spouts.
I think he does believe it all. Albeit it, he gives us all a more exaggerated version of his beliefs.
Quote from: Goats Do Shave on February 11, 2010, 03:25:46 PM
Quote from: tbrick18 on February 11, 2010, 01:56:18 PM
Set yourself up nicely there! (By the time Championship comes round the club players in Derry will hate each other... again!)
Did you not notice the wee ;)
All the derry players hate each other, they'll be fighting flat out in the changing rooms before the game. So it'll actually be a handy game for you boys as we're not Cork or Kerry ;)
Quote from: ziggysego on February 11, 2010, 03:29:39 PM
Tony knows who I am ;D
Me too! :)
Quote from: T Fearon on February 10, 2010, 02:19:46 PM
PS Interesting to see if the Galway manager and the Monaghan Assistant Manager shake hands with each other on Sunday. We'll see where the real pettiness lies then ;)
I'd imagine most of it will still lie with you.