Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: longrunsthefox on February 06, 2010, 11:14:29 AM

Poll
Question: Who would you choose to lead the SDLP?
Option 1: Allister McDonnell votes: 12
Option 2: Margaret Richie votes: 10
Option 3: The Knitted Character off Harry Hill Show votes: 11
Title: SDLP leadership...
Post by: longrunsthefox on February 06, 2010, 11:14:29 AM
The big day has come and the excitement is too much... the Harry Hill 'Knitted Character' competiton starts this evening... but how would he fare against the charisma of McDonnell and Richie?...  Those SDLP folk sure are spoilt for choice  :o
Title: Re: SDLP leadership...
Post by: Zapatista on February 06, 2010, 11:44:39 AM
Should Brian Cowen not be an option?
Post by: T Fearon on February 06, 2010, 12:00:22 PM
Hardly when he despatches his "Minister for Foreign Affairs" to deal with 6 County affairs ::)
Post by: magickingdom on February 06, 2010, 01:00:59 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on February 06, 2010, 12:00:22 PM
Hardly when he despatches his "Minister for Foreign Affairs" to deal with 6 County affairs ::)

that always pisses me off tony. .
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on February 07, 2010, 02:36:37 AM
Harry Hill's a twat, "give me oversized collars and a TV show, please"!
Anyone who likes him must be about 12.
Post by: el_cuervo_fc on February 07, 2010, 09:36:54 AM
Quote from: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on February 07, 2010, 02:36:37 AM
Harry Hill's a t**t, "give me oversized collars and a TV show, please"!

I agree.  Comedy for Morons
Post by: longrunsthefox on February 07, 2010, 11:18:25 AM
Quote from: el_cuervo_fc on February 07, 2010, 09:36:54 AM

Margaret Richie supporters strike back   :-\  ... before you two posted she had five votes and after your campaign to blacken our candidate the Wooly Character her votes went to seven. Real dirty tricks department there.
Post by: Hardy on February 07, 2010, 12:19:58 PM
Margaret Ritchie it is.
Post by: Hardy on February 07, 2010, 12:20:52 PM
Harry Hill is one of those rare things on British TV - a comedian who makes people laugh.
Post by: longrunsthefox on February 07, 2010, 12:48:06 PM
Yip.. Margaret Ritchie new SDLP leader 
Good to see Alasdair McDonnell get his cumupance tho am very disapointed for the Wooly Character who has more charisma than the other two put together.
If this is the best they have to offer, the SDLP's finished. 
Post by: T Fearon on February 07, 2010, 04:25:35 PM
fcuk me, who's going to make the tea at SDLP Meetings now?
Post by: ziggysego on February 07, 2010, 04:33:00 PM
McDonnell... comeuppance? Eh fox?

I was watching Richie on the Politics Show earlier. She's fond of the word 'reflection' isn't she!
Post by: longrunsthefox on February 07, 2010, 04:54:35 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on February 07, 2010, 04:33:00 PM

I was watching Richie on the Politics Show earlier. She's fond of the word 'reflection' isn't she!

McDonnell was worse than the unionists about the Galbally commemoration in a GAA ground. Another night he gave Jartath Burns awful abuse on microphone at a GAA night saying Armagh didn't win an All Ireland till after he quit etc. A hateful bollox... 
Post by: ziggysego on February 07, 2010, 05:40:11 PM
Quote from: longrunsthefox on February 07, 2010, 04:54:35 PM

McDonnell was worse than the unionists about the Galbally commemoration in a GAA ground. Another night he gave Jartath Burns awful abuse on microphone at a GAA night saying Armagh didn't win an All Ireland till after he quit etc. A hateful bollox...

Missed all that.
Post by: Pangurban on February 07, 2010, 07:12:01 PM
A largely irrelevant result in terms of real politic, though it is sad to see a once great party being reduced to being led by a political lightweight egomaniac. Oblivion beckons for a party, whose only lasting heritage will be John Hume
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on February 07, 2010, 07:28:14 PM
Quote from: Pangurban on February 07, 2010, 07:12:01 PM
A largely irrelevant result in terms of real politic, though it is sad to see a once great party being reduced to being led by a political lightweight egomaniac. Oblivion beckons for a party, whose only lasting heritage will be John Hume

Delighted.
Post by: Zapatista on February 07, 2010, 08:25:00 PM
They'll lose the seat in Derry now and that'll be the end of them. This is a non story. Show's how irrelevant the sdlp have come. They're wide open for a takeover from LB or FF. Wouldn't be surprised if FG had a go either.
Post by: wicked on February 07, 2010, 08:46:54 PM
If there is a unity unionist candidate in South Belfast, they'll lose that seat, too.
Post by: barelegs on February 07, 2010, 08:51:34 PM
I've a friend from Derry who's involved with Fianna Fail. He was thinking about going up to the SDLP conference at the weekend, (the main parties from the south regularly attend SDLP events). However he was over in the house yesterday evening and when I asked him if he'd been at it he said 'I don't really like going to wakes'.  :D

I just can't warm to Margaret Ritchie at all. There are some SDLP representatives I've a a lot of time for but Ritchie just comes across as a patronising school teacher. While I'm not going to write them off as a political party just yet, I'm not sure Ritchie has the popularity or the charisma to give the SDLP the leadership it so badly needs.
Post by: tyrone86 on February 07, 2010, 09:03:03 PM
Quote from: Zapatista on February 07, 2010, 08:25:00 PM
They'll lose the seat in Derry now and that'll be the end of them. This is a non story. Show's how irrelevant the sdlp have come. They're wide open for a takeover from LB or FF. Wouldn't be surprised if FG had a go either.

Not a mission in the Westminster election this time round. The Shinners will have to win it,  rather than have the SDLP hand it to them on a plate. If  SF were in any way serious about winning Foyle, they'd be running McGuinness as their biggest hitter. Someone like Michelle O'Neill would still hold Mid Ulster comfortably.
Post by: ardmhachaabu on February 07, 2010, 09:27:22 PM
Quote from: barelegs on February 07, 2010, 08:51:34 PM
I've a friend from Derry who's involved with Fianna Fail. He was thinking about going up to the SDLP conference at the weekend, (the main parties from the south regularly attend SDLP events). However he was over in the house yesterday evening and when I asked him if he'd been at it he said 'I don't really like going to wakes'.  :D

I just can't warm to Margaret Ritchie at all. There are some SDLP representatives I've a a lot of time for but Ritchie just comes across as a patronising school teacher. While I'm not going to write them off as a political party just yet, I'm not sure Ritchie has the popularity or the charisma to give the SDLP the leadership it so badly needs.
I quite agree, the obituary of the SDLP has been written a few times yet they are still there and still continuing to attract support.  Ritchie as their front-person is a mistake
Post by: ziggysego on February 07, 2010, 09:42:14 PM

I agree, just can't warm to her either, whatever it is about her. And that voice, eeks.

Still, in fairness to her, she seems to be doing very good at her ministery post at Stormont. Wish I could say the same about a few others.
Post by: Hurler on the Bitch on February 07, 2010, 09:58:53 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on February 07, 2010, 09:42:14 PM

I agree, just can't warm to her either, whatever it is about her. And that voice, eeks.

Still, in fairness to her, she seems to be doing very good at her ministery post at Stormont. Wish I could say the same about a few others.

Bit of a Lady McBeth to her, given her I wanna be First Minister speech! I was reading up on her and 'lo and behold' schoolteacher by trade. They really are the condescending sons and daughters of the Pig-Owning Class in Catholic Ireland (i.e. those Catholics who owned a pig were better off than the peasants as they had the potential to make money from piglets - and heat in the house with the pork radiator in the kitchen). I'm sure there weren't too many joiners, sparks, mechanics there today. The whole chat afterwards would have been about how horrid those people in those Housing Estates are!
Post by: Nally Stand on February 08, 2010, 12:59:04 AM
I sincerely hope this spells the end of the Stoops. The sad thing for them is that Richie was genuinely their best option. As for Dr McDonnell, in my view he showed his true colours when inviting Michael McDowell to canvass with him last time round. The stoops solely exist to criticise SF
Post by: glens abu on February 08, 2010, 09:24:08 AM
Quote from: longrunsthefox on February 07, 2010, 04:54:35 PM

thnk "Go to your caravans" showed him for what he is :-[
Post by: longrunsthefox on February 08, 2010, 12:22:41 PM
Great pic of McDonnell on front page of Irish News. He didn't see this one coming. On Hearts and Minds last week he seemed very sure of himself. He'll be licking the wounds of this ego deflater for a few days
Post by: johnneycool on February 08, 2010, 04:48:33 PM
Quote from: longrunsthefox on February 08, 2010, 12:22:41 PM
Great pic of McDonnell on front page of Irish News. He didn't see this one coming. On Hearts and Minds last week he seemed very sure of himself. He'll be licking the wounds of this ego deflater for a few days

I've been in his company a few times and certainly arrogance does exude from the man.

He'll not like this but he'll struggle to hold onto his south Belfast seat if the unionists field one candidate whereas Ritchie may be about to try and take over Eddie McGrady's south Down seat.
Post by: Minder on February 08, 2010, 04:50:22 PM
Let's just say Big Al exhibits a few family traits.
Post by: Doogie Browser on February 08, 2010, 05:08:11 PM
I cannot believe they elected Ritchie, she has to be one of the most un-inspiring politicians out there and we have a plethora of them.  They are a dying party.
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on February 08, 2010, 06:06:54 PM
Well I hope that the SDLP can rise again and become a leading party in the 6 counties. It is a disgrace that the party of peace was sidelined to allow the gunmen gain control.
Post by: muppet on February 08, 2010, 06:16:41 PM
Quote from: el_cuervo_fc on February 07, 2010, 09:36:54 AM

Harry Hill
The Lotto
Alternative medicine

So many births yesterday.
Post by: Minder on February 08, 2010, 06:18:46 PM
I would say that was McDonnells biggest disappointment since the '89 All Ireland hurling final when Tipp tanked us and he was the team doctor.
Post by: ardmhachaabu on February 08, 2010, 06:28:26 PM
Quote from: Minder on February 08, 2010, 06:18:46 PM
I would say that was McDonnells biggest disappointment since the '89 All Ireland hurling final when Tipp tanked us and he was the team doctor.
Post by: Nally Stand on February 08, 2010, 06:42:58 PM
Mayo, that was spoken lik a true man hasn't a clue wat he's on about. There are good reasons why the Stoops got wiped out. And why among nationalists they gained the nickname stoops for that matter
Post by: ardmhachaabu on February 08, 2010, 06:51:59 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on February 08, 2010, 06:06:54 PM
Well I hope that the SDLP can rise again and become a leading party in the 6 counties. It is a disgrace that the party of peace was sidelined to allow the gunmen gain control.
I agree
Post by: Trevor Hill on February 08, 2010, 07:16:04 PM
Quote from: Nally Stand on February 08, 2010, 06:42:58 PM
Mayo, that was spoken lik a true man hasn't a clue wat he's on about. There are good reasons why the Stoops got wiped out. And why among nationalists they gained the nickname stoops for that matter

Nally Stand I think I owe you an apology. I once said that you sounded like a 14 year old. Let me retract that statement. You cannot be any more than 10.
If the stoops have their nickname for whatever reason then surely Sinn Fein have stooped even lower, coming from the position that they were once in, to where they are now. If the SDLP are the Stoop Down Low Party then Surely Sinn Fein must be Irish for we will surrender, hand all or weapons in, support the police who we used to kill, govern part of the UK and threaten to have more British elections if we don't get our own way and we will take our seats in Westminster as soon as everyone has forgotten what we were once about.
I think they deserve a pay rise for doing much more than Gerry Fitt and Co ever did to ensure the future of the Union.  ;)
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on February 08, 2010, 07:23:31 PM
Quote from: Trevor Hill on February 08, 2010, 07:16:04 PM

Nally Stand I think I owe you an apology. I once said that you sounded like a 14 year old. Let me retract that statement. You cannot be any more than 10.
If the stoops have their nickname for whatever reason then surely Sinn Fein have stooped even lower, coming from the position that they were once in, to where they are now. If the SDLP are the Stoop Down Low Party then Surely Sinn Fein must be Irish for we will surrender, hand all or weapons in, support the police who we used to kill, govern part of the UK and threaten to have more British elections if we don't get our own way and we will take our seats in Westminster as soon as everyone has forgotten what we were once about.
I think they deserve a pay rise for doing much more than Gerry Fitt and Co ever did to ensure the future of the Union.  ;)

Thats how the Union was accepted by the Old Dublin Irish Parliament in the first place.
Post by: Nally Stand on February 08, 2010, 07:30:08 PM
Trev ur some boy to be talking about maturity. I, unlike you, know how to have a discussion without dishing out childish attacks that in no way help the discussion. A bit like the self proclaimed post nationalists of the SDLP. I therefor should remind you that I have no interest in talking to you
Post by: Trevor Hill on February 08, 2010, 08:15:06 PM
You claim to know how to have a discussion but you refuse to discuss any of the points I have raised regarding Sinn Fein and their ability to stoop much lower than the SDLP.
Post by: ardmhachaabu on February 08, 2010, 08:32:20 PM
Quote from: Trevor Hill on February 08, 2010, 08:15:06 PM
You claim to know how to have a discussion but you refuse to discuss any of the points I have raised regarding Sinn Fein and their ability to stoop much lower than the SDLP.
SF haven't told him what he should say to that
Post by: Trevor Hill on February 08, 2010, 08:40:20 PM
Quote from: ardmhachaabu on February 08, 2010, 08:32:20 PM
Quote from: Trevor Hill on February 08, 2010, 08:15:06 PM
SF haven't told him what he should say to that

Is his teacher a member of Sinn Fein?  :D
Post by: Maguire01 on February 08, 2010, 08:50:43 PM
There are good reasons why the Stoops got wiped out. And why among nationalists they gained the nickname stoops for that matter
I wouldn't say "wiped out" exactly (their 2005 Westminster election results were higher than SF's as recent as 1997, so let's not get too carried away), although they have lost a lot of ground. And SF wouldn't be in their grand positions today without them. And as for the 'nickname', "among nationalists" is a bit broad brush.

But back to the topic in hand, I don't think either candidates would set the world alight. In particular, i've seen Richie at a few conferences and she's a terrible public speaker. However, she does seem to be able to get on with people, and as someone has already said, she's probably one of the best performing ministers, despite having no other party support in the Executive. It will be interesting to see what happens.
Post by: T Fearon on February 08, 2010, 08:51:03 PM
Why were you not banned >:(
Post by: Minder on February 08, 2010, 09:01:35 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on February 08, 2010, 08:51:03 PM

Who?
Post by: Nally Stand on February 08, 2010, 09:09:18 PM
Typical arrogance of trevor. Anyone who disagrees with him is clearly too young to know what they're talking about.
Post by: Maguire01 on February 08, 2010, 09:15:19 PM
Who are you talking about?
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on February 08, 2010, 09:19:48 PM

Talking to yourself again Tony!
Post by: T Fearon on February 08, 2010, 10:06:55 PM
Trevor Hill. He was personally abusive to me yesterday and should have been banned.
Post by: Nally Stand on February 08, 2010, 10:09:28 PM
He's continually dishing out personal abuse to anyone who doesn't agree with him. Surely this is not on.
Post by: Hurler on the Bitch on February 08, 2010, 10:45:09 PM
STOOPS - it was Stoop Down Low Party - and then - Solicitors, Doctors, Lawyers, Professionals ... Sad Durkan Lost Plot .. Did ye see McDonnell's coupon in the IN - and Alban's behind him? A sight to behold!
Post by: Trevor Hill on February 08, 2010, 11:18:21 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on February 08, 2010, 10:06:55 PM
Trevor Hill. He was personally abusive to me yesterday and should have been banned.

Tony I find you offensive and abusive. You continually come out with the same tired old lines, be it in the Irish News, the Telegraph or which ever rag decides to print your nonsense. You come on this board and when you are not slagging off the only sucessful people that were ever associated with your own county, you are having a go at an imaginary organisation named Linfield/IFA.
You continually breach the rules of this board by starting ridiculous threads, usually to do with your beloved Spurs, yet you complain when someone gives their opinion of you.
Post by: T Fearon on February 08, 2010, 11:23:31 PM
Calling a poster a "w**ker" is a form of personal abuse, and you should have been reprimanded. If you don't like what I post don't read it. I have long since moved beyond personal abuse.
Post by: Trevor Hill on February 08, 2010, 11:48:18 PM
Maybe you should write to the Irish News and complain about it.  ::)
Post by: mountainboii on February 09, 2010, 12:03:07 AM
Quote from: Trevor Hill on February 08, 2010, 11:48:18 PM
Maybe you should write to the Irish News and complain about it.  ::)

Post by: Gaffer on February 09, 2010, 12:12:05 AM
Quote from: Hurler on the Bitch on February 08, 2010, 10:45:09 PM
STOOPS - it was Stoop Down Low Party - and then - Solicitors, Doctors, Lawyers, Professionals ... Sad Durkan Lost Plot .. Did ye see McDonnell's coupon in the IN - and Alban's behind him? A sight to behold!

It was dubbed the Stoop Down Low Party years ago co it's politics then are what Sinn Fein politics are now. So how could any Sinn Fein supporter on here slag them off. If anyone wants to have a pop at those who accept British rule in Ireland , have a pop at Sinn Fein.
Post by: trileacman on February 09, 2010, 12:27:05 AM

Are those "clever" acronyms from a "Sinn Fein-IRA" perspective? Any tit can play around with a party's name, it doesn't really prove anything except your lack of a proper point. The DUP are a great example of that.
Post by: ziggysego on February 09, 2010, 12:37:32 AM
Quote from: trileacman on February 09, 2010, 12:27:05 AM

Are those "clever" acronyms from a "Sinn Fein-IRA" perspective? Any tit can play around with a party's name, it doesn't really prove anything except your lack of a proper point. The DUP are a great example of that.

Who uses that phrase anymore? Jim McAllister?
Post by: Trevor Hill on February 09, 2010, 12:39:20 AM
Quote from: ziggysego on February 09, 2010, 12:37:32 AM

Is he related to Jim Allister?
Post by: ziggysego on February 09, 2010, 12:45:11 AM
Quote from: Trevor Hill on February 09, 2010, 12:39:20 AM
Quote from: ziggysego on February 09, 2010, 12:37:32 AM

Is he related to Jim Allister?

I think he's his father's brother's nephew's cousin's former roommate.
Post by: Nally Stand on February 09, 2010, 12:48:09 AM
I'm not the "tit" who came up with the name. I do however think it is apt. Speaking from a Tyrone perspective the SDLP have a history on my local council of voting on most issues in an unofficial pact with the UUP simply to thwart SF. Similarly in derry where they have repeatedly voted against funding for SF proposed language funding. They openly regard themselves as "post nationalist" ffs, any wonder they have been near wiped out in Tyrone constituencies and so many others?
Post by: oakleafgael on February 09, 2010, 08:22:54 AM
Quote from: Nally Stand on February 09, 2010, 12:48:09 AM
I'm not the "tit" who came up with the name. I do however think it is apt. Speaking from a Tyrone perspective the SDLP have a history on my local council of voting on most issues in an unofficial pact with the UUP simply to thwart SF. Similarly in derry where they have repeatedly voted against funding for SF proposed language funding. They openly regard themselves as "post nationalist" ffs, any wonder they have been near wiped out in Tyrone constituencies and so many others?

Nally Stand,

Im taking a stab in the dark here, but you are a Carrickmore man going by your name and the picture. Your local council would be Omagh district Council, the same as myself. It shouldnt be to hard for you to produce examples of this unofficial pact between the UUP and the SDLP as all the council minutes are online.

Post by: glens abu on February 09, 2010, 09:28:00 AM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on February 08, 2010, 06:06:54 PM
Well I hope that the SDLP can rise again and become a leading party in the 6 counties. It is a disgrace that the party of peace  was sidelined to allow the gunmen gain control.

how do you work that out :o
Post by: Nally Stand on February 09, 2010, 10:14:21 AM
Oakleaf, I don't need to rehearse debate results here. Before SF overtook the SDLP as largest party on the council, the SDLP worked with the UUP for ten years to keep SF members off top positions (like in newry, nov 09) Perhaps the best eg of SDLP nationalism was when SF proposed the council call on the Dublin Govn to more actively persue All-Ireland strategies, the SDLP refused to even attend the vote. The same was proposed on all nationalist controlled councils and only in two did the SDLP vote in favour.
Post by: tyrone86 on February 09, 2010, 10:49:32 AM
Quote from: Nally Stand on February 09, 2010, 10:14:21 AM
Oakleaf, I don't need to rehearse debate results here. Before SF overtook the SDLP as largest party on the council, the SDLP worked with the UUP for ten years to keep SF members off top positions (like in newry, nov 09) Perhaps the best eg of SDLP nationalism was when SF proposed the council call on the Dublin Govn to more actively persue All-Ireland strategies, the SDLP refused to even attend the vote. The same was proposed on all nationalist controlled councils and only in two did the SDLP vote in favour.

What happened in Newry in Nov 09? I thought most mayors/chairmen are elected at the end of May/start of June normally.
Post by: Nally Stand on February 09, 2010, 11:10:04 AM
Newry & mourne council set up a large scale program and committee for rural development with two other councils called SOAR. Three years ago the parties agreed to rotate chair and vice chair. In nov the SDLP joined with unionists to ensure SF could not take it's turn as vice chair, despite SF members having all voted in favour of the SDLP taking the chair position for the past year.
Post by: glens abu on February 09, 2010, 11:21:41 AM
was talking to the Chairman of Down FF last week and he was saying they are waiting on getting the OK from headquarters to fight the next council elections and if this happens there is a lot of SDLP councillors about to jump ship,I think that is the one thing that could spell the end of the SDLP as a force in the North.
Post by: Zapatista on February 09, 2010, 12:30:49 PM
Quote from: glens abu on February 09, 2010, 11:21:41 AM
was talking to the Chairman of Down FF last week and he was saying they are waiting on getting the OK from headquarters to fight the next council elections and if this happens there is a lot of SDLP councillors about to jump ship,I think that is the one thing that could spell the end of the SDLP as a force in the North.

Please lord keep the SDLP alive rather than that. If thew SDLP are as bad as the UUP then FF are a worse than the UUP.
Post by: oakleafgael on February 09, 2010, 02:50:34 PM
Quote from: Nally Stand on February 09, 2010, 10:14:21 AM

So we can take it that there is no evidence of this supposed voting pact between the SDLP and the UUP on the Omagh District Council?