Haven't started a thread in ages so here goes.
Watched the Donegal game tonight and first time to see a lot of these new lads.
Intensity of the match was surprising for this time of year but suppose both teams feel they have a lot to prove even in Jan.
As a fellow clubman I feel very sorry for SoN AGAIN and was looking forward to him leading the line next Sat.
So not sure how we'll fair now after that performance but surely we've enough firepower to put up a good show even without Stevie.
Tyrone by double figures, men against boys.
Quote from: wherefromreferee? on January 30, 2010, 11:01:34 PM
Tyrone by double figures, men against boys.
That's the championship you're thinking of ;)
have we ever beat derry in celtic park in a competitive senior game?
off the top of my head we lost there to Derry in 1992 USFC, 1996 NFL & 2008 NFL.
What's the word on O' Neill? Looked fairly nasty last night. He's had a tough run of luck.
The last time we beat Derry on enemy soil was at Ballinascreen in the 1984 championship.
I honestly think we will struggle to get enough scores without Stevie,so i think Derry will prevail.
Without SON or cavanagh, with many youngsters to blend in and with so many others not match fit I believe we may run the risk of relgation may be on the cards this year. Hopefully gel by championship time
Its hard to believe how far back we have to go to get a win against the aul enemy.
I'd say they've beaten us a lot more in Derry with that 2006 classic still in our memories. ::)
I think that defeat on Saturday is a blessing in disguise as a few of us were getting carried away with the high scoring in previous matches.
Stil,l I think we'll have enough fire power to put up a good fight and it will depend how we do around the middle against Doherty and the young greyhound pup Patsy Bradley.
Will Cassidy play the 2 Bradley forwards and how will we manage against them. I'd say it wont be as easy as it was last summer in Casement anyways.
I think we could sneak it or even see a draw as you often do in these first round NFL games.
Paddy Bradley is supposed to be out - has a heel injury - apparently has not trained in a few weeks. I think it will be the Eoin Bradley show.
hard to see how tyrone will get scores giiven that oneill, mulligan, cavanagh all missing from the forward line.
Marty looked up for it on sat night, plus tommy and kyle started well this year.
Quote from: sam03/05 on January 31, 2010, 10:12:37 PM
hard to see how tyrone will get scores giiven that oneill, mulligan, cavanagh all missing from the forward line.
Tyrone racked up some very good scores in the McKenna cup with two of those 3 missing so I would'nt be worrying yet. Midfield will be the problem. Not up to it last night against Donegal. McGinley doesnt seem to have his head in the game and hub isn't winning what he should in the air. Also bar Peter Harte the half forward/half back combinations aren't winning breaking ball in the way Jordan, Dooher and B McGuigan used to.
Radio ulster has son only out for 8 weeks.
Quote from: gerry on February 01, 2010, 08:39:00 AM
That's good news I suppose.
Quote from: Zapatista on February 01, 2010, 09:05:01 AM
Quote from: gerry on February 01, 2010, 08:39:00 AM
That's good news I suppose.
Indeed, as is this:
Unlike the shoulder, a previous elbow dislocation does not predispose a patient to future dislocations.
Glad for SON that it was only an elbow inj - sure he would tell us that its fecking sore, but a far better inj that a knee re-occurance or a shoulder inj - I thought it might have been either of those until a well informed Tyronie texted me whatthe problem actually was.
If anyone deserves a bit of luck with inj its SON !
Tyrones young guns will be able to score, Derry still wondering and testing things yet so no one knows what Cassidy will put out v Tyrone.
I had thought I was going to the game, but looks like I have other plans now unfortunately. Next game hopefully.
Can't believe this got bumped off the first page.
Not sure why our Derry neighbours are so pessimistic. Tyrone were fairly toothless without O'Neill and I can't remeember the last time we took 2 points out of Derry.
It has been unusually quiet for this particular fixture, I wonder if there'll be a ballgate scandal this year to get a good slagging match going for a lock of weeks!
Back to footballing maters...anyone have an idea on the starting 15? I wonder if Mickey will throw any of the the young guns into the action. From my limited spectating this year, due to work, it seems that Coney, Pete Harte and Mc Nabb will be the 1st to make the starting line up. If I was to send out a team now it'd be along the lines of this...
P Mc Connell (is he available yet?)
Swift
Justy
P Mc Gurk
S O Neill
Gormley
Mc Nabb
Mc Ginley
Cassidy
Harte
B Mc Guigan
Joey
Coney
T Mc Guigan
Penrose
As usual the forwards will be very fluid and at midfield Hub will likely to be squeezed in somewhere. Team likely to be massively different to the above due to the amount of options available, thursdays team announcement will be interesting!
from what Ive seen over this season so far, and going back to last year, I really believe that Connor Gormley has lost a considerable amount of any pace that he actually had. Maybe its time to blood someone in a similar type role, or do you think, he still commands an automatic spot? I don't :o
Thought Gormley looked very ropey at times in the game v donegal but then some of the things hub does can be even worse. They are the sort of players who start out a bit off the pace IMO but once they get going through the season start to become v influential in terms of their tackling, physicality, etc. As opposed to players like penrose, etc who are sharper and more technically proficient year round. Reckon he will gradually assert himself for a championship spot (unless newcomers and previous fringe panellists are v impressive)
I wouldnt be surprised to see less Derry interest than usual in this game. There must be an element of apathy (w/ mckenna and league) after the league form of the past 2 years counting for little come championship. Derry supporters would be very slow to get carried away with any kind of a result.
Hoping for good performances in the half forward line and full back line from new and returning players like Declan Mullan and Mick McGoldrick. One advantage we have this time around is the mark with fergal, patsy and diver to take advantage of it.
Possible team to have a look at off the top of my head with a lot of the younger players included (pure shot in the dark btw, only meant as a talking point)
John Deighan
Mick McGoldrick
Gavin McLaughlin
Dermot McBride
Brian Og McAlary
Mark Lynch
Gerard O'Kane
2 of Patsy, Fergal, Diver
Declan Mullan
James Kielt
Sergeant Wilko
Skinner
Caolan O'Boyle
Seamus Bradley
With skinner or o'boyle dropping out to half forward with Kielt. Mullan and Wilko up and down the flanks
While Gormley has definately lost some of his pace I still think he's invaluable to the defence. He's a very intelligent footballer and will always provide a steadying influence and a reliable pair of hands and is many poor performances away from losing his CB spot.
Omagh Gael, I know what you are saying, but he rarely plays CB nowadays, and is nearly always designated to man mark the opposing teams best player??? ???. Maybe he needs to revert back to CB, where possibly pace mightn;t be such an issue
Quote from: whiskeysteve on February 02, 2010, 07:23:45 PM
John Deighan
Marty Dunne is the new apprentice - Deighan has been sacked!
You heard it here first.
Quote from: cadhlancian on February 02, 2010, 09:23:33 PM
Omagh Gael, I know what you are saying, but he rarely plays CB nowadays, and is nearly always designated to man mark the opposing teams best player??? ???. Maybe he needs to revert back to CB, where possibly pace mightn;t be such an issue
I would imagine Justy will take up this role more and more this year with Gormley going back to his proper position of CHB. He can read a game better than anyone else in that defence. And at CHB his pace won't be exposed as often.
Quote from: supersarsfields on February 03, 2010, 09:43:56 AM
I would imagine Justy will take up this role more and more this year with Gormley going back to his proper position of CHB. He can read a game better than anyone else in that defence. And at CHB his pace won't be exposed as often.
In Hartes book he claims that the game got too fast for Horse Devlin at CHB as reason for him not keeping his place.
Quote from: Zapatista on February 03, 2010, 09:53:07 AM
Quote from: supersarsfields on February 03, 2010, 09:43:56 AM
In Hartes book he claims that the game got too fast for Horse Devlin at CHB as reason for him not keeping his place.
But Horse got really slow. I don't think Gormley has slowed down that badly. But true enough, Horse's reading of a game was his best attribute as I think it is with Gormley so ya may have a point.
Quote from: supersarsfields on February 03, 2010, 10:31:16 AM
But Horse got really slow. I don't think Gormley has slowed down that badly. But true enough, Horse's reading of a game was his best attribute as I think it is with Gormley so ya may have a point.
For the record I think Gormley still cuts the mustard.
Quote from: Sonny Joe on February 03, 2010, 10:21:38 AM
you weren't at any of the Mc Kenna cup games. Mc Laughlin was very poor in the Queens game and I would be very worried if he played . He does not look up to the standard for me. Also Charlie Kielt was very good in the last two games I seen. Against Down I thought he was one of our better players. I also thought Mc Cartney has earned a start after his second half against Down. IO'Boyle has been playing midfield with 'the Poly' When is the team announced
as i said it was a shot in the dark selection off the top of my head before posters got critical on it, take it easy. i don't mind any of those players you mentioned getting game time, as they all have something to offer.
that last point about o'boyle, he is comfortable in the forward line and would more likely be used as a forward this year regardless of where the poly have been playing him.
Any word on when the final NL squad is being announced?
Quote from: Zapatista on February 03, 2010, 10:45:59 AM
Quote from: supersarsfields on February 03, 2010, 10:31:16 AM
For the record I think Gormley still cuts the mustard.
Agreed Zap, without a shadow of a doubt. But for a few episodes of wayward distribution on Saturday last his reading of the game and positioning were top drawer, as usual.
Quote from: sandwiches_in_the_boot on February 03, 2010, 11:08:48 AM
I think it has been sai on here before that the panel is due to be cut from 47 down to 32 (!) for the 2nd match on 14th Feb.
A valentines day massacre if you like.
Quote from: LeoMc on February 03, 2010, 01:29:32 PM
Quote from: sandwiches_in_the_boot on February 03, 2010, 11:08:48 AM
I think it has been sai on here before that the panel is due to be cut from 47 down to 32 (!) for the 2nd match on 14th Feb.
A valentines day massacre if you like.
I think it's not going to be cut until the three week gap between the 2nd and 3rd game, think I recall Mickey Harte mentioning that in an interview
MH still has to pick a squad for Saturday. Surely this will give an indication as to who's in and out?
Or is he keeping the trial squad until the break mentioned?
Agree about Gormleys reading and distribution, but he hasn't really been playing CB the last 2 seasons, and i wouldnt want to see him in a man marking role again this year! ;)
I must say I've changed my mind a lot about Block.
Like a few of the players there is no doubt he has lost some pace and I think other teams have exploited this.
He's no longer able to go toe to toe with the best forwards in Ireland on his own but then again who is if they get the right ball into them. Players like SoN, Gooch, Paddy Bradley etc are all pretty unmarkable if they are played in space with good ball into them.
Saying that he is still a formidable defender and wasn't shown up too much last year except for the last 5 minutes v Ronan Clarke and the other time that comes into my head is Conor Mortimer was giving him a tough enough day in 2008 in Croker.
Gooch had the beating of him in 2008 final but then the ball into him was cut out a lot more and so Gormley looked to have snuffed him out.
Can anyone else think of any games where his man did a lot of damage? I can't.
I think Harte plays the percentage game a lot and so the defense kinda play as a unit and not as one on ones.
Interesting how they approached the Derry game last year in Casement putting two men on Paddy and letting Eoin do what he wanted.
I have a feeling Harte will want a year like 2003 where we go out to bust a gut to win everything and will be pissed off he lost that game last Sat. Especially as they had it won & took their foot of the gas.
Tyrone by 4 me thinks though I think gaining possession in MF will prove another struggle with lots of marks.
Back page of todays Irish News again questions whether there is an on-going rift between Mickey Harte and Sean Cavanagh...they never give up!
Anyone any idea on how Cavanaghs injury is coming along or when he'll be back?
Doing well-will play again soon.
Quote from: omagh_gael on February 04, 2010, 12:16:29 PM
Back page of todays Irish News again questions whether there is an on-going rift between Mickey Harte and Sean Cavanagh...they never give up!
Anyone any idea on how Cavanaghs injury is coming along or when he'll be back?
It is getting boring at this stage.
I see Mickey Harte wants to play the Dublin match in Croke Park if possible.
Quote from: sandwiches_in_the_boot on February 03, 2010, 02:49:18 PM
MH still has to pick a squad for Saturday. Surely this will give an indication as to who's in and out?
Or is he keeping the trial squad until the break mentioned?
http://www.hoganstand.com/Tyrone/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=123139 (http://www.hoganstand.com/Tyrone/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=123139)Harte delays trimming panel
29 January 2010
Mickey Harte has postponed cutting his panel until the after the first two rounds of the National League.
The Tyrone manager admitted earlier this week that he has some tough calls to make regarding who to leave in and who to leave out of his National League squad. The task of trimming the panel has been made all the more difficult for the Tyrone manager by some sparkling displays by his McKenna Cup rookies.
But he has decided to delay reducing his squad, which means the new faces will have another five weeks to catch the manager's eye.
"It's probably so difficult that I dare say we won't be able to pick our league panel for the start of the league," he said.
"We'll probably play the first two games based around the squad that we have, and sees who's come back from injury. Then there's a three-week break, and we'll probably have to go and use that three-week break to try and fine-tune the panel for the remainder of the league.
"You think you're getting somewhere, and then you're not getting anywhere, because people are not so good maybe one night, and they excel the next night."
Good news for some lads, there's a few that'll hopefully get another chance or two to prove themselves.
No harm mickey i rather travel the 30 minutes to omagh than the 2 hours to see us play dublin in a quarter filled croker. Suppose we have a better chance of beating them in croker than omagh.
Will we have a battle of omagh2 this year.
Tír Eoghain v Doire - J Curran, M Swift, Justin McMahon, Joe McMahon, D Carlin, C Gormley, R McNabb, A Cassidy, K Hughes, K Coney, Brian McGuigan, E McGinley, Colm Cavanagh, M Penrose, T McGuigan Subs PMcConnell, G Devlin, M Donnelly, N Gormley, DHarte, J McAnulla, E McCusker, C McGurk, N McKenna, R McMenamin, M Murphy, Sean O'Neill, G Teague
Ziggy you must be permanently on FB!!
Quote from: Rois on February 04, 2010, 05:17:29 PM
Ziggy you must be permanently on FB!!
If I'm not here, I'm over there! :D
FB????????
facebook
seriously lads and lassies! WTF is the story with "the Colm Cavanagh project"? Always seems to be the first to get a chance at staking a place in the team, although he has had numerous opportunities already. Must be hard on some of the other "squad" forwards who are continuosly overlooked at his expense!
QuoteWTF is the story with "the Colm Cavanagh project"?
Please be my friend again Sean..............................
How good is Kyle Coney? Objectively rather than bias in people's opinion. Is he as good as Stevie?
QuoteHow good is Kyle Coney? Objectively rather than bias in people's opinion. Is he as good as Stevie?
Certainly not yet. Has the potential though.
Better than Colm Cavanagh however. ;)
At the minute I wouldn't say he is as good as SoN but the potential is certainly there. I'm not sure if you could compare the two however, as they are different types of player. Kyle plays deeper than SoN and is more of a playmaker/score taker as opposed to an all out high scoring FF. Would I be right in saying Kyle wouldn't have the ambidextrous skills of SoN? I personally can't wait to see Kyle develop at senior level as he could be very special. This is my humble opinion on the matter others may see it different!
J Curran,
M Swift, Justin McMahon, Joe McMahon,
D Carlin, C Gormley, R McNabb,
A Cassidy, K Hughes,
K Coney, Brian McGuigan, E McGinley,
Colm Cavanagh, M Penrose, T McGuigan
Subs PMcConnell, G Devlin, M Donnelly, N Gormley, DHarte, J McAnulla, E McCusker, C McGurk, N McKenna, R McMenamin, M Murphy, Sean O'Neill, G Teague
Strong line-out, needed up at in-bred land. Marty Penrose is the man of the hour. 3 ourbo men against the neighbours.
Need a few players to set up to the mark and have a good game. Need the ardboe men to have a good game, hopefully the midfield have a better go at it this weekend.
Midfield as always will be a key area. Hub had one of his comedy nights against Donegal, missing from 21 yards right in front of the posts . Looking forward to see will Cassidy be a contender for a midfield spot in the summer. Have been impressed with him thus far, though League fayre is a big step up from McKenna Cup.
Cassidy had a good game when he came on at the weekend and deserves his chance.
QuoteWTF is the story with "the Colm Cavanagh project"?
We need somebody to drive Sean to training.
Quote from: INDIANA on February 04, 2010, 07:45:16 PM
How good is Kyle Coney? Objectively rather than bias in people's opinion. Is he as good as Stevie?
Objectively - at this stage its hard to say just how good he is as he missed most of last year but he certainly has loads of potential. Outstanding vision and can kick the ball exceptionally well. He has a great physique although he could use that to his advantage a lot more than he perhaps does at present but that will come with experience and is pretty quick for a man of that size.
To say he is as good as Stevie would be very premature. He is a totally different type of player to O'Neill and would not be as clinical as him. His style of play would be more in the mould of Brian or Tommy.
Completly different type of footballer. Will never be an out an out fullforward/cornerforward but has the makings of an exceptional wing half forward and with a bit more experience chf. Can take a score and has an excellent range of passing. Has the physique required already, needs to use it a bit more though, for such a young footballer and this will only improve.
The only possible doubt I would have would be his temperament on the big occasions, was very dissapointed with him in last years county final although he maybe wasnt fully fit. He has let it pass him by a few times,maybe being a little harsh as so much has been expected of him.
Its very hard to get excited as a Derry fan at the minute, to many false dawns. Its a long time since expectations have been so low, which is maybe no bad thing.
I've always seen Kyle slipping into the role of Brian Dooher more than Stevie.
Quote from: oakleafgael on February 04, 2010, 11:10:59 PM
Completly different type of footballer. Will never be an out an out fullforward/cornerforward but has the makings of an exceptional wing half forward and with a bit more experience chf. Can take a score and has an excellent range of passing. Has the physique required already, needs to use it a bit more though, for such a young footballer and this will only improve.
The only possible doubt I would have would be his temperament on the big occasions, was very dissapointed with him in last years county final although he maybe wasnt fully fit. He has let it pass him by a few times,maybe being a little harsh as so much has been expected of him.
Its very hard to get excited as a Derry fan at the minute, to many false dawns. Its a long time since expectations have been so low, which is maybe no bad thing.
You're joking ???
Quote from: orangeman on February 04, 2010, 11:43:31 PM
Quote from: oakleafgael on February 04, 2010, 11:10:59 PM
You're joking ???
No. He was a lot better in the second half than the first when he was able to get on the ball a lot more but I was expecting more. For a player of his natural ability to be so easily taken out of the game for a full half was surprsing. The only contribution he made for the first 30 mins was a late frontal charge just before the half time whistle.
Oak Leaf team
1 Barry Gillis Machaire Fiolta
2 Brian Og McAlary Cill Ria
3 Gerard O'Kane Gleann An Iolair
4 Dermot Mc Bride Baile Na Scríne
5 Charlie Kielt Cill Ria
6 Mark Lynch Beannchar
7 Liam Hinphey Dun Geimhin
8 Fergal Doherty Baile Eochaidh
9 Patsy Bradley Sleacht Neil
10 Caolan O' Boyle Leamhthaigh
11 James Kielt Cill Ria
12 Andrew Mc Cartney Baile Mhic Uiginn
13 Seamus Bradley Baile Na Scríne
14 Eoin Bradley Gleann An Iolair
15 Raymond Wilkinson Baile An Doire
16 Martin Dunne Baile Stíl
17 Michael Mc Goldrick Baile Eochaidh
18 Mark Craig Dun Geimhin
19 Barry Mc Guigan Sleacht Neil
20 Joe Diver Baile Eochaidh
21 Brian Mullan Gleann An Iolair
22 Declean Mullan Cúil Raithin
23 Enda Lynn An Grianloch
24 Aidy Mc Laughlin Craigbane
Derry have plenty of big men named around the middle from Mark Lynch through to James Kielt.
Seamus Bradley will need a bit of watching,has serious pace and will be a handful for our defence.
Still worried that we will struggle for scores though,Penrose is probably our main scoring option from play.If Gerard O'Kane can hold him we are in big trouble.
Good man MH, you surely know how to flummox the measly mortal.
Not surprised, however, with Kyle Coney's inclusion in the starting 15, easily the stand-out of the Minor graduates.
Season ticket info:
The Allianz GAA Football National League throws in this weekend. This is your first opportunity to use your GAA Season Ticket.
You must use the Season Stile to enter at each venue your County play in.
Details regarding all Season Stiles can be found at http://seasonticket.gaa.ie/gaaseasonstileinformation.html
IMPORTANT
For those of you who purchased a GAA Season Ticket in the last week and have not yet received same please bring a copy of your confimation e-mail to the Season Stile and you will gain entry. Your name will be on the Season Ticket list.
Remember to get there early. For the League it is first come first served - if a stand is full when you arrive you will be put on the terrace!
Best of luck to you and your county this weekend.
Le Meas,
GAA Ticket Office.
GOK at full back, Lynch at CHB, Derry reverting back to their minor days of 2002.
Anyone recommend pubs before the game?
Bound for Boston?
Quote from: mikasas on February 05, 2010, 12:52:46 PM
GOK at full back, Lynch at CHB, Derry reverting back to their minor days of 2002.
decent mix of 2002 men and 2007 men developing. remains to be seen if they can gel and develop a decent system of play that works under pressure.
Quote from: Fuzzman on February 05, 2010, 02:31:55 PM
Anyone recommend pubs before the game?
Bound for Boston?
go on down the street and go into paedar o'donnells or the gwee. go up early and watch the rugby and soccer
Will the game be online anywere??
not sure about online but its on setanta ireland
Hopefully some good soul will stream it - http://www.myp2p.eu/broadcast.php?matchid=64716&part=sports - although that seems to be the Ourma-Mead game.
Few bad wides aside, Coney has been very impressive so far. Certainly Tyrones stand out performer so far. 4-3 to Derry 20 mins gone.
Cassidy makes it 4-4 after 23 mins.
McNabb to Penrose - over the bar. 0-5 to 0-4 Tyrone.
McNabb playing well.
Any radio stations covering this to listen online? No sound on the streaming!
Charlie Kielt makes it 5 a piece.
Quote from: BennyHarp on February 06, 2010, 07:58:58 PM
Any radio stations covering this to listen online? No sound on the streaming!
Live on Radio Ulster
30 mins - great 45 from Bradley (Eoin - best forward in Ulster).
Derry 0-6 Tyrone 0-5
Mark Lynch point. 0-7 to 0-5 Derry.
33 mins Derry 0-8 Tyrone 0-5 - James Kielt free.
Yellow for E Bradley.
Wilkenson for Derry - 0-9 to 0-5.
Yellow for Justin McMahon.
Yellow for Charlie Kielt.
Penrose point
0-9 to 0-6 for Derry at HT.
Tyrone have kicked serious ball into the keeper's hands.
Anyone have an online stream for radio ulster mw?
fecking shite music on the straight forward listen live stream
Bradley lucky enough to stay on the field. At least that's what the Setanta commentators thought. Few sneaky puches on Gormley. Retrospective punishment might be in the off-ing
Who is the commentator on setanta ireland for this match?
Jesus, he's brutal, is getting the player names mixed up more often than not.
Tyrone need a target man inside, missing the likes of ONeill, Mulligan, guys that will win the dirty ball. Colm Cavanagh hasnt touched it yet, and as was said before way to many balls being dropped into the keepers hands. Derry look to be in great shape.
Quote from: DuffleKing on February 06, 2010, 08:17:31 PM
Anyone have an online stream for radio ulster mw?
fecking shite music on the straight forward listen live stream
Unfortunately there isn't an online stream for Radio Ulster 1341 MW.
Quote from: rashCharacter on February 06, 2010, 08:18:24 PM
Who is the commentator on setanta ireland for this match?
Jesus, he's brutal, is getting the player names mixed up more often than not.
David McIntyre I think. Very bad. How can you get Fergal Doherty and Patsy Bradley mixed up ffs?
0-11 to 0-6 Derry - O'Kane.
Live here
http://www.ustream.tv/channel/gaelictv-live (http://www.ustream.tv/channel/gaelictv-live)
Double scores. Derry ahead 0-12 to 0-6. James Kielt free.
Derry 0-12
Tyrone 0-7
Tommy McGuigan
Derry 0-12
Tyrone 0-8
Tommy McGuigan free
Justin, Coney and McNabb off. Thought the latter 2 were doin well
Derry 0-13
Tyrone 0-8
James Kielt free
Derry 0-14
Tyrone 0-8
Bradley
Derry 0-14
Tyrone 0-9
Tommy McGuigan free
Derry 1-14
Tyrone 0-9
Wilkinson Goal
Jaysus Tyrone sound brutal tonight, wasn't expecting this!
Derry 1-15
Tyrone 0-9
James Kielt free
23 mins
Insert Quote
Derry 1-15
Tyrone 1-9
Colm Cavanagh goal
Derry 1-15
Tyrone 1-10
Penfold free
Derry 1-15
Tyrone 1-11
McCusker
i'm only after seeing there's a radio link to the match on the BBC NI sport website!
Derry 1-16
Tyrone 1-11
James Kielt free
31 mins
Derry 1-17
Tyrone 1-11
Bradley free
Quote from: FermPundit on February 06, 2010, 08:58:50 PM
i'm only after seeing there's a radio link to the match on the BBC NI sport website!
Cant believe i didnt see that!!! Been looking everywhere.
Derry 1-18
Tyrone 1-11
Bradley free
Derry 1-18
Tyrone 1-12
McGuigan free
Full time
Tyrone we're brutal at times tonight. Curran continues to be a liability. A lot of the players seemed slow and off the pace then again it's the first round of the league so we'll not get too carried away.
Very enjoyable game. Tyrone well beaten on the night. Derry are moving well. we'll be struggling to get anything out of next week against them.
Tyrone very indisciplined in defence tonight. Scoring 1-12 isn't a poor tally but defensively wiped out.
Antrim for the Ulster title now. even we beat Derry with a poor team :D
Quote from: ONeill on February 06, 2010, 09:12:23 PM
Tyrone very indisciplined in defence tonight. Scoring 1-12 isn't a poor tally but defensively wiped out.
...as was your FF who threw a bunch shortly before the final whistle! On tonight's performances, I don't relish the thoughts of our visit to Celtic Park in the summer.
just in from game - celtic park still remains unconquered!
Tyrone really scored that goal against the run of play - Derry unlucky not to have scored a few other goals - the score line did not reflect Derrys dominance. Charlie Kielt excellent game. Declan Mullan excellent when he came on and James Kielt is something else. He got tanked at the end of the game - hope he is ok.
Derry played really well tonight. Congrats to all involved and keep it up. Have to keep improving as the summer is the most important. I have always thought that we have a team over this last few years to be doing alot better.
Quote from: Oakleafer1993 on February 06, 2010, 09:57:22 PM
just in from game - celtic park still remains unconquered!
Tyrone really scored that goal against the run of play - Derry unlucky not to have scored a few other goals - the score line did not reflect Derrys dominance. Charlie Kielt excellent game. Declan Mullan excellent when he came on and James Kielt is something else. He got tanked at the end of the game - hope he is ok.
From what I saw, Tyrone arguably looked the better side in the first half and should've been ahead but for a rake of kicks dropped unforgiveably short.
Big question marks over Curran, Swift and Cavanagh at this level. What happened with the Brian McGuigan incident? Jury still out on Cassidy too. Enjoyed McNabb and Coney's performances in the first half as attacking forces. Surprised to see the three going off (Justin too). Early days and plenty of food for thought before Mayo.
For Derry, if they can integrate Kielt more centrally then the burden is well and truely lifted off the Bradleys. He's as good a talent as Martin Clarke. Excellent footballer. O'Kane outstanding too. Scoring 1-18 without the brother of Ulster's best forward against Tyrone is something worth getting mildly excited about.
Quote from: ONeill on February 06, 2010, 10:46:53 PM
From what I saw, Tyrone arguably looked the better side in the first half and should've been ahead but for a rake of kicks dropped unforgiveably short.
What game were you watching? Tyrone were dire tonight, but its only February they will improve whereas that was Derrys biggest game of the year.
Quote from: Trevor Hill on February 06, 2010, 11:07:11 PM
What game were you watching? Tyrone were dire tonight, but its only February they will improve whereas that was Derrys biggest game of the year.
yeah and the mckenna cup will be Downs!
Quote from: Trevor Hill on February 06, 2010, 11:07:11 PM
Tyrone were dire for the entire second half as well as the opening 10 of the first. At 4-1 down, Tyrone played some of the best football of the game to lead 5-4. Derry mustve scored a dozen points from frees or placed balls.
I only saw the game from about the 25th minute. Tyrone were awful in the time that I watched it. If Derry scored a dozen or so from frees then that means they were attacking in the first place to get those frees. Derry seem to put a lot into the league every year and run out of steam in the championship.
Quote from: Trevor Hill on February 06, 2010, 11:27:16 PM
I only saw the game from about the 25th minute. Tyrone were awful in the time that I watched it. If Derry scored a dozen or so from frees then that means they were attacking in the first place to get those frees. Derry seem to put a lot into the league every year and run out of steam in the championship.
So you can't really comment on the first half if you
only saw 10 mins of it. Yes, as I said, Derry dominated the second and Tyrone could only foul them.
thought brian mcguigan and enda mcginley were largely anonymous tonight and for the 2nd game running too and dont get me started on colm cavanagh. it seemed a bizzare decision to take off kyle coney as i thought he was one of the better performers. derry are always hard to beat at home but i thought we would have put up more of fight and how many shots did we put in the keepers hands ffs?
i would say i have seen colm cavanagh play about 8 times in his senior club and country career and every time i have seen him he has been dung, duno what mickey sees in him how many chances is he guna give him to preform, personally i would turf him out!
Penrose played well at times but thrives better in the space O'Neill and Mugsy's presence gives him. Still baffled by the subs. Those who came on - Ricey, McCusker and O'Neill I think - didn't strengthen the side even though it coincided with the 1-2 scored in quick succession.
Did Colm touch it in the first half?
Quote from: ONeill on February 06, 2010, 11:46:19 PM
Penrose played well at times but thrives better in the space O'Neill and Mugsy's presence gives him. Still baffled by the subs. Those who came on - Ricey, McCusker and O'Neill I think - didn't strengthen the side even though it coincided with the 1-2 scored in quick succession.
Did Colm touch it in the first half?
i think he got 2 touches but how many touches did brian or enda get as well?
overall the work rate was poor from tyrone.
shortly before he was taken off, coney chased a lost cause and won it but there wasnt enough of this from the other tyrone players on the night.
Quote from: randomtask on February 06, 2010, 11:42:34 PM
i would say i have seen colm cavanagh play about 8 times in his senior club and country career and every time i have seen him he has been dung, duno what mickey sees in him how many chances is he guna give him to preform, personally i would turf him out!
Was no worse than some of the established stars,some of them living on days gone by.Some supporter u are coming out with comments like that.
Tyrone were overrun in the second half, but it was telling that the Derry goal came from a mistake from Johnny Curran as they never looked like finding the net otherwise. Far, far too much individual stuff going on tonight rather than playing to any type of system.
On the positive side, Justy McMahon had a fine game and never gave 'the best forward in Ulster ®' a sniff before he was bizarrely substituted. I wonder will the CCCC have a look at the footage of tonights game as it appeared that Bradley got stuck into Conor Gormley on the ground in the incident were he got booked in the 1st half. Probably not, I suspect.
I also found the decision to take off McNabb and Coney strange as I thought both were doing fairly well. McNabb perhaps struggled slightly with the pace of Mullen in the 2nd half whilst some of Coney's shot selection may have been erratic, but they're in it for the long haul and it may take them a while to get adequately indoctrinated into Harte's way of thinking.
Hub and McGinley look to be seriously struggling to get up to pace of the game, while Cassidy needs a ball of his own, between running up cul de sacs, taking far too much out of the ball and holding up play in general.
As for Cavanagh the younger, play him at 8, 11 or 14 and give him a few weeks in the league to find his feet. He's certainly not a wing or corner man as they games passes him by far too much Sink or swim. Similarly, Swift has look decidedly dodgy in the corner in the past and more comfortable on the wing. As with the Cavanagh conundrum, why persist with stuff that clearly doesn't work
Mark Lynch along with James and Charlie Kielt seemed to be driving forces for Derry tonight with an impressive display from their half back line. In fairness, they didn't miss very much either, particularly in the 1st half when Tyrone dropped numerous balls into Gillis' hands. True to form however, the Derry support can't contain themselves and resort to the ole nonsense with 5 minutes left. Will they ever learn?
Quote from: tyrone86 on February 07, 2010, 12:20:58 AM
I wonder will the CCCC have a look at the footage of tonights game as it appeared that Bradley got stuck into Conor Gormley on the ground in the incident were he got booked in the 1st half. Probably not, I suspect.
True to form however, the Derry support can't contain themselves and resort to the ole nonsense with 5 minutes left. Will they ever learn?
didnt tommy mcguigan get done for 4 weeks last year against derry based on setanta's live coverage. will be interesting to see what happens there.
the derry support will always be bitter when it comes to tyrone. was a few of them beside me and kyle coney was their target for the evening.
I was at the game and close to the 'incident' Skinner was at fault but so was Justin' cut out the TV cameras it shall be on no benefit to nom one.
have the game on sky+ and watched a bit of the 2nd half. The Tyrone poster who is looking stuff cited should look closer to home as well if skinners actions are the yardstick.
However i agree with sawel. Also it wasn't a dirty affair at all. I think the vast majority of Derry fans will be happy with the result but will bear in mind what league results have counted for in the past.
On the positive side, Justy McMahon had a fine game and never gave 'the best forward in Ulster ®' a sniff before he was bizarrely substituted. I wonder will the CCCC have a look at the footage of tonights game as it appeared that Bradley got stuck into Conor Gormley on the ground in the incident were he got booked in the 1st half. Probably not, I suspect.
Sure they can look at Gormley's knee on Declan Mullan when they're at it. Or did you miss that?
Decent game, impressed by Derry but at the end of the day all we learned is half a Derry team can beat half a Tyrone team. Will have no bearing on a Championship game where Derry will have Enda Muldoon, Paddy Bradley, Niall McCusker, Kevin McGuckin, Barry & Sean Leo McGoldrick back and Tyrone will have Sean Cavanagh, Davy Harte, Philip Jordan, Pascal McConnell, Dooher, Stephen O'Neill and Mugsy back!
Tyrone also won't kick as many balls into the keepers hand in the heat of summer.
Best for Derry - the two Kielts, Crook and Gerard O'Kane.
Quote from: clarshack on February 07, 2010, 12:31:53 AM
I wonder will the CCCC have a look at the footage of tonights game as it appeared that Bradley got stuck into Conor Gormley on the ground in the incident were he got booked in the 1st half. Probably not, I suspect.
True to form however, the Derry support can't contain themselves and resort to the ole nonsense with 5 minutes left. Will they ever learn?
didnt tommy mcguigan get done for 4 weeks last year against derry based on setanta's live coverage. will be interesting to see what happens there.
the derry support will always be bitter when it comes to tyrone. was a few of them beside me and kyle coney was their target for the evening.
Tyrone supporters think Derry supporters are bitter and Derry supporters think Tyrone supporters are bitter. Reality is both sides refuse to believe any of their fans are bitter. ::)
Are the Kielts brothers?
Derry were impressive and looked a lot hungrier and fitter than Tyrone.Mark Lynch was outstanding and caused all sorts of problems going forward.
As for Tyrone,i lost count of the number of times that we kicked the ball short into the keepers hands.You just can't afford to do that at this level.Very few Tyrone players won their individual battle with their opponent.We can have no complaints with the result and got what we deserved.
Quote from: ONeill on February 07, 2010, 10:30:41 AM
Are the Kielts brothers?
Yes and Charlie looks alot like Liam Hinphey.
From reading the thread Tyrone could learn more from this than Derry.
I think I counted 8 times Tyrone put the ball into the hands of Gillis in the first half alone. It was at least 7 anyway and about 3 or more in the second. Can't get my head around that at all.
Suppose there's little point it could've/should've, but you can certainly say if SON was at no. 14 he would've easily had 6 points last night, none of the other forwards (save Penrose 1st half) could make the space and win the ball. Colm Cavanagh, no disrespect to the lad, but I can't find any merit for his inclusion on the starting 15. There may be an argument as late sub on certain games, but it's like starting John Rooney and hoping for Wayne. Tommy struggled also. Penrose did ok considering in the first half, but he was fairly brutal second half, like the whole forward line. Brian McGuigan did little other than give back chat to McEnaney and didn't look fit. Can't understand why Petey Harte didn't get on the panel, he'd have done better at half forward than those who started IMO.
Tyrone just ran into dead ends, Derry swarmed in defence. The Tyrone defence did well enough in the first, but Derry just found it far too easy to score in the second. Gormley had a decent first half and I was waiting for a few people to eat words regarding pace, but unfortunately it was there to see in the second, he was just too far off his man and looked slow. Can't understand why Justy went ???
Just wondering in relation to the named 24 in the programme. Ricey and Sean O'Neill were able to come on wearing 25 and 27 despite their absence from the named 24. Was the 24 changed at last minute?
Tyrone were lucky to be only beat by 6. Then again if they were able to put the boot through the ball 1st half they'd have matched Derry better in scoring. But they didn't show up 2nd half. The goal probably flattered the score. McCusker did his best to miss and Cavanagh got in the road.
any highlights of this game on the web?
thanks
found some:
1s half
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0AfPvWvoU8I
2nd half
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=85n-eFGzFmk&feature=channel
Justy got a yellow card at the end of the first half and a tick near the start of the second. Mickey did the sensible thing there as next foul on skinner and he was off. I thought he was doing a good enough job, though the diagonal balls to the derry inside forward line were quality all night.
Pat Mc Enaney wasn't going to send anybody off last night - Patsy Bradley tried his best to get sent off and couldn't.
Quote from: orangeman on February 07, 2010, 10:06:03 PM
Pat Mc Enaney wasn't going to send anybody off last night - Patsy Bradley tried his best to get sent off and couldn't.
Eh?? Watched the game and never saw anything bad from Patsy other than one clumsy tackle.
Fair enough Eoin Bradley threw a few slaps and should maybe have had a harsher punishment but Gormley threw an elbow and also threw a knee into James Kielt in front of the linesman, how he did not walk is amazing!!
Bradley got stuck into Conor Gormley on the ground in the incident were he got booked in the 1st half.
the Derry support can't contain themselves and resort to the ole nonsense with 5 minutes left. Will they ever learn?
Isn't it terrible when the shoe is on the other foot
Agree with you mate, he's woeful, for him to say he scored in an AlL-Ireland final is an injustice!
Quote from: cookstownblue on February 08, 2010, 11:58:59 AM
Agree with you mate, he's woeful, for him to say he scored in an AlL-Ireland final is an injustice!
To be honest Francie Bellew could have scored that point :P
Quote from: Club Rossa on February 07, 2010, 10:53:03 AM
Derry were impressive and looked a lot hungrier and fitter than Tyrone.Mark Lynch was outstanding and caused all sorts of problems going forward.
As for Tyrone,i lost count of the number of times that we kicked the ball short into the keepers hands.You just can't afford to do that at this level.Very few Tyrone players won their individual battle with their opponent.We can have no complaints with the result and got what we deserved.
Tyrone looked fit enough when they were stuffing cavan and St Marys, as well as ahving Donegal beaten until O'neill got injured.
So you don't think Derry were the fitter side on Saturday night then?
Quote from: Club Rossa on February 08, 2010, 12:28:33 PM
So you don't think Derry were the fitter side on Saturday night then?
No I don't think Derry were any fitter than Tyrone. Derry beat Tyrone because on saturday night they were the better team. Did Tyrone bt derry last summer because they were fitter, they won because they were the better team
the football tyrone played on saturday night is not the football we play in summer. there was little or no support running last night so we ended running up blind alleys.derry can enjoy their win and can ole ole all they like. pity someone didn't do keepy ups for them last night because we all remember where tyrone were on the third sunday of september the last time we lost at celtic park in the league while derry were digesting a big sunday dinner followed by hard cheese and sour grapes for dessert!!
Quote from: sandwiches_in_the_boot on February 07, 2010, 01:41:50 PM
I think I counted 8 times Tyrone put the ball into the hands of Gillis in the first half alone. It was at least 7 anyway and about 3 or more in the second. Can't get my head around that at all.
Suppose there's little point it could've/should've, but you can certainly say if SON was at no. 14 he would've easily had 6 points last night, none of the other forwards (save Penrose 1st half) could make the space and win the ball. Colm Cavanagh, no disrespect to the lad, but I can't find any merit for his inclusion on the starting 15. There may be an argument as late sub on certain games, but it's like starting John Rooney and hoping for Wayne. Tommy struggled also. Penrose did ok considering in the first half, but he was fairly brutal second half, like the whole forward line. Brian McGuigan did little other than give back chat to McEnaney and didn't look fit. Can't understand why Petey Harte didn't get on the panel, he'd have done better at half forward than those who started IMO.
Tyrone just ran into dead ends, Derry swarmed in defence. The Tyrone defence did well enough in the first, but Derry just found it far too easy to score in the second. Gormley had a decent first half and I was waiting for a few people to eat words regarding pace, but unfortunately it was there to see in the second, he was just too far off his man and looked slow. Can't understand why Justy went ???
Just wondering in relation to the named 24 in the programme. Ricey and Sean O'Neill were able to come on wearing 25 and 27 despite their absence from the named 24. Was the 24 changed at last minute?
Tyrone were lucky to be only beat by 6. Then again if they were able to put the boot through the ball 1st half they'd have matched Derry better in scoring. But they didn't show up 2nd half. The goal probably flattered the score. McCusker did his best to miss and Cavanagh got in the road.
didnt get to see the game, but sounds like it was pretty poor alround from a tyrone point of view.
Any possitives at all? surely someone must have played well?
Quote from: cookstownblue on February 08, 2010, 11:58:59 AM
Quoten.
Violation of another's rights or of what is right; lack of justice.
A specific unjust act; a wrong.
(http://www.internews.org/images/slideshow/edwards/13Mark_Pakistan2_F49_3.jpg)
(http://news.bbc.co.uk/nol/shared/spl/hi/pop_ups/08/americas_enl_1220540367/img/1.jpg)
(https://www1.indymedia.org.uk/images/2004/12/302257.jpg)
Above Injustices, CC playing for Tyrone is not. Do we want a repeat of the hounding Mark Harte got??? mob rules creeping in again, but what else would you expect from Cookstown/Omagh townies???
the colm cavanagh situation is starting to become very reminiscent of what happened to mark harte.
Anyone saying that a team is not fit nowadays needs their heads read! Every team in the Country is fit of that I have absolutely no doubt. Nowadays it comes down to how you use it. Derry were supporting well and tackling hard whereas Tyrone were maybe not making the same runs or running as intelligently as Derry were and possibly didn't have the same appetite for the game.
Fitness is a cop out used by old timers who used to play the game in the days when teams used to be unfit compared to others. There is no way that you can have an unfit team in the NFL Division 1 nigh on impossible I would imagine!!
Final Whistle.... while I can understand your sentiments, that was a tasteless photo gratuitously posted for shock effect. Way OTT for this discussion and point could have been made without it.
Quote from: clarshack on February 08, 2010, 01:42:04 PM
the colm cavanagh situation is starting to become very reminiscent of what happened to mark harte.
However Mark Harte always made a greater contribution in comparison to cavanagh the younger!
Quote from: screenexile on February 08, 2010, 01:44:12 PM
Anyone saying that a team is not fit nowadays needs their heads read! Every team in the Country is fit of that I have absolutely no doubt. Nowadays it comes down to how you use it. Derry were supporting well and tackling hard whereas Tyrone were maybe not making the same runs or running as intelligently as Derry were and possibly didn't have the same appetite for the game.
Fitness is a cop out used by old timers who used to play the game in the days when teams used to be unfit compared to others. There is no way that you can have an unfit team in the NFL Division 1 nigh on impossible I would imagine!!
there are TYPES of fitness depending on the phase of training you are in. tyrone looked heavy and leggy suggesting the lifting of heavy weights rather than the plyometric type training required for speed, agility and quickness. both teams are fit but only one looked quick and sharp. tyrone looked like a team not concerned at this stage of the season with being at their peak. it is therfore very possible to have two FIT teams with one of them looking slow.
Quote from: longrunsthefox on February 08, 2010, 01:56:15 PM
Final Whistle.... while I can understand your sentiments, that was a tasteless photo gratuitously posted for shock effect. Way OTT for this discussion and point could have been made without it.
couldn't agree more! no need for that!
maybe young Cavanagh just hasnt hit form ...this is a thing that happens all players during a season. Dont write him off, he has talent and Tyrone fans could be glad of him some day yet !
I enjoyed the game, esp after watching two dire rugby matches - shows Gaelic games imo are far superior to watch !
I even think refereeing in Gaelic games is more consistent having seen the dire inconsistnecy and lack of implementing the rules in the rugby matches ! (they are always fecking off side and a hell of a lot of passes are fecking well forward passes !!).
so wont give out about the oul GAA refs again !
One gripe was that tool of a commentator on setanta.
Feck he was rubbish. Consistently got the names wrong. If yer a pro, then leearn your trade.
Apart from players names he got a lot of the rules wrong too.
Dire.
couldnt agree more about the commentator. some of my favourite errors were:
"jason kielt"
confusing patsy bradley and fergal doc
however the funniest bit of the match was when dermot mcbride booted the ball into charlie kielts ( i think) back!
I didn't say Tyrone weren't fit.Unless you're blind anyone could see that Derry had far more energy in the last 20 minutes than Tyrone.
Nor did i say that fitness was the only reason why Derry won the game.They played the better football on the night.
Quote from: Overthebar! on February 08, 2010, 03:51:44 PM
couldnt agree more about the commentator. some of my favourite errors were:
"jason kielt"
confusing patsy bradley and fergal doc
however the funniest bit of the match was when dermot mcbride booted the ball into charlie kielts ( i think) back!
It looked a bit sore, cracked it into the back of his head ;D. Heard the commentator talking about Tyrone number 11 Brian McGinley ::).
Hope people will lay off young Cavanagh. Im not convinced myself that he will be able to to fulfill his potential (and lets remember he was a good minor) but laying into him after Round 1 of the League is very unfair. Mickey Harte clearly sees something there and wants to give Colm every chance of making it. If he doesnt step up then he wont get game time come the summer. In the meantime people should support him, doesnt do a young player trying to find form any good to hear/read people having a go.
Colm Cavanagh was poor the other night but to be fair he wasn't the only one.I don't see why he should be singled out when almost all of our players failed to perform.
Quote from: lynchbhoy on February 08, 2010, 03:44:49 PM
maybe young Cavanagh just hasnt hit form ...this is a thing that happens all players during a season. Dont write him off, he has talent and Tyrone fans could be glad of him some day yet !
I enjoyed the game, esp after watching two dire rugby matches - shows Gaelic games imo are far superior to watch !
I even think refereeing in Gaelic games is more consistent having seen the dire inconsistnecy and lack of implementing the rules in the rugby matches ! (they are always fecking off side and a hell of a lot of passes are fecking well forward passes !!).
Feck he was rubbish. Consistently got the names wrong. If yer a pro, then leearn your trade.
Dire.
Saved for future reference ;)
Quote from: Club Rossa on February 08, 2010, 04:16:44 PM
Colm Cavanagh was poor the other night but to be fair he wasn't the only one.I don't see why he should be singled out when almost all of our players failed to perform.
Think its his constant whingeing and shouting at ref that pisses me off. He should be keeping the head down and concentarting on the football. Leave shouting at ref to the experienced players who can influence a ref.
Quote from: talktothehand on February 08, 2010, 03:41:34 PM
Yeah Final whistle yee mouth, it an injustice anyone even listens to you, you p***k
Quote from: Zapatista on February 08, 2010, 05:05:50 PM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on February 08, 2010, 03:44:49 PM
Dire.
Saved for future reference ;)
(as much) ;)
Quote from: cookstownblue on February 08, 2010, 05:19:29 PM
Yeah Final whistle yee mouth, it an injustice anyone even listens to you, you p***k
townie trait shining through again!! Go shoot up Cookstown Blue! :D :D :D
Quote from: Final Whistle on February 08, 2010, 05:23:29 PM
You rapahoe pricks will never beat the townies- you backward, inbred mouths!
At least Cookstown county men perform for their club too ;)
Quote from: longrunsthefox on February 08, 2010, 05:27:08 PM
They do indeed and are in a AI next weekend!
lrtf 4-10 to 0-10!! never forget it!!! (but just you keep bumping up the posts, mid life crisis maybe????)
Quote from: cookstownblue on February 08, 2010, 05:29:49 PM
Quote from: longrunsthefox on February 08, 2010, 05:27:08 PM
They do indeed and are in a AI next weekend!
And I thought Derry was divided!
We're gettin to them lads... Slowly but surely
OK... Very Slowly.
I can see the points being made about the mob getting on CC's back, he was the worst of a bad bunch. Though in such a game I'd have thought there was an opportunity to test prospective corner forwards, Niall Gormley or Donnelly maybe. McCusker got a decent point and contributed to the goal when he came on. They couldn't have been any worse than TMcG or CC.
Maybe MH thought CC's inclusion was worthy as he has more experience at the highest level (albeit limited) than the other corner forward options. But he had such little impact other than being at the right place, right time... Dunno it's just gonna be an unpleasant league to have to go and pay £13 to watch each time (at least!).
Just thought watching it that Mickey should cut the panel to 30 asap. There were a lot of players playing as individulals on Saturday and I would'nt necesscarily blame them as they are under the threat of the chop. We have all played in trials and you tend to look after yourself at these times. If you are in the 30 at least you know you are there. BTW I would not be a big fan of Colm Cavanagh but it was a poor team display and he should be cut a bit of slack it's only february.
There were a number of poor Tyrone performances on Saturday last, but I think it unfair to single anyone, or any number, out on a public forum for lambasting. Some of the criticism has been way over the top. We'd do well to remember that all players are doing their level best, out of their own time, and if they're just not up to it we have an esteemed manager and his assistants in place to make those exact calls.
A little more moderation would not go amiss, you'd swear we were all Peter Canavans sometimes :P
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on February 08, 2010, 10:29:17 PM
There were a number of poor Tyrone performances on Saturday last, but I think it unfair to single anyone, or any number, out on a public forum for lambasting. Some of the criticism has been way over the top. We'd do well to remember that all players are doing their level best, out of their own time, and if they're just not up to it we have an esteemed manager and his assistants in place to make those exact calls.
A little more moderation would not go amiss, you'd swear we were all Peter Canavans sometimes :P
Here here
DD12 Tyrone team views:
1) J Curran;
A lot better than last weeks display in the Mckenna cup final. Kickouts where a lot better but still a bit suspect under the high ball. Will be 3rd choice in the summer behind JD & McConnell.
2)M Swift:
Thought the smaller man would have suited him but found Wilkinson hard to handle, looks good going forward but as a corner back, number one priority is to stop your man scoring or keep him relatively quiet, Wilkinson def won this better hands down though
3) Justin McMahon:
Played rightly Justy I thought, good on the ball but full back line was under the pressure the whole time, didnt seem to be any let up, didnt make / get the opportunity for as many surging runs as he is usually known for.
4) Joe McMahon:
Thought Joe done very well, mr versatility, slot into anywhere on the team, classy on the ball but again full back line was nder right pressure and had to deal with a lot of ball coming in. Kept Seamus Bradley scoreless who was eventually taking off.
5) D Carlin:
Made some surging runs as usual up front but again like many of the Tyrone defenders more noted for his going forward play than his defensive work on the night which id like to see who do more of as seem him a few times last year for Killyclogher and was impressed by his defensive skills. Personally I think he should be employed as a man marker by Tyrone as he has great pace. Corner back maybe and give him a marking job as didnt get the best out of him on the night.
6) C Gormley:
Tyrones best player on the night. A defender. Plain and simple, marks his man, gets a hand in, wins the ball and moves it on, stops his man from playing and demotivates the forward. A rock in the defence, could not have doone any more on the night for the Tyrone cause
7)R McNabb:
Young lad and will be a good player in a few years so would never be too hard on him but thought he looked nervous on the ball at times and gave a few wayward passes. Couldnt really have any influence on the game. Year in the county set up will do him no harm as he looks like a keen sort of a boy but probably a year or so too soon for him at this level.
8. A Cassidy:
Patsy Bradley caught the first throw in and then caught the first kick out clean but after that Cassidy got the better of him i thought. Kicked a point as well as setting up several others scores and drew a few frees, always found a team-mate, only kicked a shot into the keepers arms which is a shot he shouldnt have took on from a standing position. Amongst Tyrone top 3 performers on the night.
9) K Hughes:
Poor night from Hub, we all know what he is capable of as his performances last year showed how valuable he is to this tyrone team. A game to forget though, never got a foothold around the middle at all.
10) K Coney:
I like this guy, classy footballer and was impressed particuarly by his work rate in the first half, always showed for the ball, always wants to get pn her (the ball that is). Kicked a good point. Faded a bit in the second half and must have tired. Good passer of the ball and gave some nice deliveries into the FF line. Think he will make the championship team.
11) B McGuigan:
Quiet game for McGuigans high standards, let mark Lynch kick 2 points in the first half. Definately played a bit better in the 2nd half and also kept better tabs on Lynch however didnt have the influence that is needed to make Tyrone tick and didnt offer a scoring threat as can be useful for a point or two a game.
12) E McGinley:
Like Brian McGuigan, had a bit better 2nd half after pretty much an annoymous first half. Didnt offer as much a presence around the middle as he usually does or is capable of. Didnt play much Mckenna cup either so must be taken into consideration, cant be easy to chase the Derry half backs who seemed to bomb up the field time and time again. Will get better and fitter after a few games but Tyrone need him to get invloved more than he did on Saturday night
13) C Cavanagh:
No beating around the bush, poor game and he probably knows it himself. Just looked frustrated every time the ball came in as he could never seem to get hold of it and exert no infliuence whatsoever in the FF line. Lot of people slating him but heard that he was outstanding for UUJ at FF during last weeks game with Queens. Also, must be taken into consideration that he is only back from a bad knee injury and this was basically his first night back in the Tyrone set up. Unfortunately he will be judged on hos performance as not many supporters take into consideration that he may have already played a game mid week and is only recovering from an injury. Will have to up his performances though in the county jersey.
14) M Penrose:
Tevez like as usual from Penrose and has been flying in McKenna cup. Done rightly but Gerard Okane is different sauce compared to the boys he has been marking this past few weeks. Was a good battle but Okane coae out on top.
15) T McGuigan
Kicked some nice scores and was showing out in front in the first half however starved of possession and had a quiet enough second half. 5 points is not a bad return though.
Not rating the subs as didnt think they where on long wnough to make any real sort of impact :P
Overall, Tyrone overrun by a far hungrier Derry side. Tyrone need to defend better in my opinion. it looks well everyone bombing forward but forwards have to be marked and stopped which is something Tyrone lack, natural defenders. Conor Gormely is a natural defender. Conceded 1-18, concede that every game and you'll not win to many.
Anyway just my opinion, not my style to slate players who give their time and effort for the jersey but just calling it as i saw it. Feel free to slate my opnions ;D
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on February 08, 2010, 10:29:17 PM
The points about CC are being directed in the wrong direction though, I think he's getting screwed over by Harte. I mean this is one of many occasions that CC has been tried and failed in the corner and there's alot frustration with that. The lad probably shouldn't be getting the abuse he is though. Come Mickey FFS at least give the cub a chance. Men like Colm will never work in the corner. He's someone who played his career in the spine of the team and he deserves a chance there. He is probably too cumbersome to play at FF and won't displace the likes of O'Neill or Sean so he should get a fair crack at centre-half, wing forward or midfield IMO.
I believe that given time Big Colm will prove alot of you boys very wrong. I think that he will be a very influential player for Tyrone for many years to come. He may not have brought his club and college standards to county games yet, but as far as i know he is only coming back from an operation. Give the lad a chance boys !!!!
I was at Celtic Park with some mates of mine from Lavey (I'm a Cavan man meself), and I thought Cavanagh showed plenty of potential, loses his concentration a bit but was sharp for the goal. Derry did very well, but if Tyrone hadn't dropped so many balls into Gillis the game would have been completely different, the score flattered Derry a little.
Still think they'll have too much for Dublin, Lynch is a beast at centre back, and James Kielt (and not Jason as the commentator called him at one stage) looks a real star, as does his brother.
Tyrone have plenty more to come, they'll beat Mayo, and McGuigan and Penrose inside will trouble every fullback line in the country.
Watched the repeat on Setanta last night and Jaysis, McEneaney was fierce lenient at times...didn't realise it at the time but 3 or 4 of them could have walked, defo would have if it had been some softie ref from the South. Gormley was really looking for it and Eoin Bradley was mad lucky as well.
On the Setanta coverage, the regular getting players names wrong aside (a major part of the commentary I admit), I actually thought the commentary was quite good, yer man was far better than some others I've heard on RTE or Setanta in the past, I often have to mute the feckin tv just to keep watchin!
Anyway, the result of the weekend was Cavan's thrashin of the Rossies, Jaysis any team that concedes 2-20 to Cavan must be some seriously bad side. Don't know where it came from, saw them torn to shreds by Tyrone in the McKenna, so it was a welcome surprise!!!
4 players have received bans following this game. Apart from the McMahon one, the other 3 cant really have any complaints.
Conor Gormley
Martin Penrose
Joe McMahon (Justin - not sure?)
Eoin Bradley
Quote from: wherefromreferee? on February 12, 2010, 12:27:51 PM
4 players have received bans following this game. Apart from the McMahon one, the other 3 cant really have any complaints.
Conor Gormley
Martin Penrose
Eoin Bradley
Serious ?.
Conor Gormley
Martin Penrose
Eoin Bradley
what did penrose do?
will be very interesting to see how consistently video evidence is acted on through the season. Not a fan of it i must say
Quote from: whiskeysteve on February 12, 2010, 12:54:26 PM
Conor Gormley
Martin Penrose
Eoin Bradley
what did penrose do?
will be very interesting to see how consistently video evidence is acted on through the season. Not a fan of it i must say
He gave Declan Mullan a bit of a slap in the last minute or so down at the Tyrone end after trying to get a tackle in. Not much in it, bit silly.
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/northern_ireland/gaelic_games/8512735.stm
This is absolutely ridiclous.
Quote from: BBC Sports - the north on February 12, 2010, 01:11:11 PM
All four players were yellow carded but referee Pat McEnaney is understood to have said that the offences warranted red cards after viewing the match tape.
I maybe wrong here, but I thought if they ref dealt with something on the pitch, that's the end of the matter. Only goes to the CCC if the ref missed an incident.
Quote from: Thastheball on February 12, 2010, 01:17:58 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on February 12, 2010, 01:13:46 PM
Quote from: BBC Sports - the north on February 12, 2010, 01:11:11 PM
All four players were yellow carded but referee Pat McEnaney is understood to have said that the offences warranted red cards after viewing the match tape.
I maybe wrong here, but I thought if they ref dealt with something on the pitch, that's the end of the matter. Only goes to the CCC if the ref missed an incident.
you are right, you r wrong :D
Ah well :'(
All four bans deserved.
What are they all alleged to have done ?
Quote from: orangeman on February 12, 2010, 01:26:08 PM
Pure guess work here OM, but here's why I THINK they got the bans...
Martin Penrose - silly box to a Derry players face towards the end of the game.
Eoin Bradley - sly boxes to Conor Gormleys ribs when the tussled along the sideline.
Conor Gormley - for a knee to the head, in a different tangle with a Derry player.
Cant work out the McMahon one.
I'd imagine, with the appeals process, they could be overturned?
Quote from: wherefromreferee? on February 12, 2010, 01:33:23 PM
Quote from: orangeman on February 12, 2010, 01:26:08 PM
Pure guess work here OM, but here's why I THINK they got the bans...
Martin Penrose - silly box to a Derry players face towards the end of the game.
Eoin Bradley - sly boxes to Conor Gormleys ribs when the tussled along the sideline.
Conor Gormley - for a knee to the head, in a different tangle with a Derry player.
Cant work out the McMahon one.
I'd imagine, with the appeals process, they could be overturned?
i think mcmahon came in and got involved in the gormley/bradley incident.
but lets be honest here, are they really going to start banning lads in EVERY game for these type of incidents?
I though they were all quite minor, and nothing more than a bigt of niggle in a derby game.
I find it absolutely incredible that the (self-styled) best referee in Ireland* can get four red card decisions wrong in one match.
Surely this says much, much more about the standard of refereeing than anything else.
When will this be addressed?
joke decisions
hardly a bad tackle in the game apart from one minor incident and it should have been left at that
Quote from: saffron sam2 on February 12, 2010, 08:13:51 PM
I find it absolutely incredible that the (self-styled) best referee in Ireland* can get four red card decisions wrong in one match.
Surely this says much, much more about the standard of refereeing than anything else.
Mc Enaney was never our friend SS2, that's not to say that he always had it in for us, but given the cold light of day I'd have put all my earthly belongings on an inimical verdict from the man.
Quote from: saffron sam2 on February 12, 2010, 08:13:51 PM
I was thinking the exact same thing - maybe he's not as good as he was or maybe he wasn't ever that good or maybe the rest have got better ??
Pat would have prided himself on not making 4 mistakes in a single season let alone 4 wrong red card decisions in a single game.
these bans are an absolute disgrace.
am i correct in saying that mceneaney refereed a macrory 1/4 final a few hours before refereeing the derry/tyrone game.
surely that would have impacted his fitness for the evening game to which he has now made a pigs ear out of.
Quote from: clarshack on February 12, 2010, 11:31:30 PM
these bans are an absolute disgrace.
am i correct in saying that mceneaney refereed a macrory 1/4 final a few hours before refereeing the derry/tyrone game.
surely that would have impacted his fitness for the evening game to which he has now made a pigs ear out of.
The Mc Rory match was the day
after the Tyrone v Derry match. Maybe he was saving himself for the Mc Rory match ?? ;)
sorry my mistake. couldnt wait to have a pop at oul Pat ;)