GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: sammymaguire on January 28, 2010, 10:24:15 AM

Title: Paul Galvin
Post by: sammymaguire on January 28, 2010, 10:24:15 AM
Has anyone heard anything controversial recently about the 2009 footballer of the year, the 1000th All-Star?

Is he a teacher?  ???
Title: Re: Paul Galvin
Post by: orangeman on January 28, 2010, 10:26:54 AM
Quote from: sammymaguire on January 28, 2010, 10:24:15 AM
Has anyone heard anything controversial recently about the 2009 footballer of the year, the 1000th All-Star?

Is he a teacher?  ???

It was in the papers -

nothing of any consequence here. Yes he is a teacher.

Kerry football star Paul Galvin is at the centre of controversy again after accidentally striking a pupil with a duster in the classroom.

The All-star and former Kerry captain is understood have thrown the duster while teaching a class at St Brendan's College in Killarney on Monday.

The duster ricocheted and struck a pupil on the head, but the student was not injured. Galvin left the school but returned to class yesterday.

The incident has plunged Galvin back into controversy after his notorious suspension during the 2008 championship.

LOAD OF SHITE
Post by: sammymaguire on January 28, 2010, 10:29:41 AM
didn't see the papers but its right then that he hit some young fella...?
Post by: Jinxy on January 28, 2010, 10:32:35 AM
No.
Post by: AZOffaly on January 28, 2010, 10:41:12 AM
That's fairly brutal. How many other teachers up and down the country lose the rag? Is there an indo feature on them? What happened to the Irish Independent? Didn't it used to be a newspaper.
Post by: longrunsthefox on January 28, 2010, 10:47:41 AM
I'm no fan of Galvin but I think this publicity is unfair as if it was anyone else wouldn't be in the papers. Leave him alone. I'm sure they'll sort it out among themselves.
Post by: heffo on January 28, 2010, 10:49:56 AM
Ridiculous stuff and typical of the anti-GAA stance from the Independent group.

Maybe he deserved the attention he got in the media in 2008, but articles of this nature about GAA players should be off limits.
Post by: nrico2006 on January 28, 2010, 10:51:09 AM
I don't like Galvin either and as was my view on Cavlan recently stuff like this should be left alone as it has nothing to do with the sport or the mans behaviour on the field.
Post by: orangeman on January 28, 2010, 10:57:06 AM
Quote from: AZOffaly on January 28, 2010, 10:41:12 AM
That's fairly brutal. How many other teachers up and down the country lose the rag? Is there an indo feature on them? What happened to the Irish Independent? Didn't it used to be a newspaper.

A while ago.

This sort of shit really annoys me.
Post by: The Konica on January 28, 2010, 12:01:23 PM
Well as the paper alledged ... a "duster ricocheted and struck a pupil on the head, but the student was not injured" ...

If that was 20 years ago I'd ignore it ... but I thought dusters flying round the place went out with the CBS .... shame.

I'm certain that story doesn't surprise many around the country.

Who used the term 'corner boy' on TV?
Post by: ziggysego on January 28, 2010, 12:05:14 PM
What was the student supposed to have done? The wee fella was probably pushing Galvin's button. None story.
Post by: INDIANA on January 28, 2010, 12:08:51 PM
Indo has crossed the line here. Yet agin.

It appears soccer players can kick each other in the head and still make the backpages. While the personal life of an amateur Gaa player makes the news pages.

Isn't the editor of the Indo a Kerryman? Talking about hanging your own out to dry
Post by: heffo on January 28, 2010, 12:10:39 PM
Quote from: The Konica on January 28, 2010, 12:01:23 PM

Who used the term 'corner boy' on TV?

Joe Brolly
Post by: small white mayoman on January 28, 2010, 12:24:54 PM
what did the student do knock peig sayers out of galvins hand or something like that  ;) . when we used to go to school it was an aquired skill avoiding the flying glantoir . the young lads these days are too soft  hard to believe its making the papers
Post by: Chris agus Snoop on January 28, 2010, 12:35:22 PM
 Paul Galvin involved in a violent incident? Thats completely out of character.
Post by: dublinfella on January 28, 2010, 12:41:05 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on January 28, 2010, 12:08:51 PM

It appears soccer players can kick each other in the head and still make the backpages. While the personal life of an amateur Gaa player makes the news pages.

Isn't the editor of the Indo a Kerryman? Talking about hanging your own out to dry

Come on, soccer players are all over the front pages on a regular basis. As are rugby players.

Its quite simple. The papers fill space with GAA stories because fans want to read it. If you object to this sort of story about a player, vote with your wallets. If enough GAA fans refuse to buy the Indo, these storys will stop. 

Also, not starting threads on these stories might help too...
Post by: bingobus on January 28, 2010, 12:44:04 PM
Galvin is actually a hero in this case,

he spotted a large wasp/bee around the young lad and knew he was allergic to them, so he threw the duster to chase the wasp/bee off...... he hasn't confirmed if it was the same bee/wasp that he chased from the ref in 2008.

Post by: lynchbhoy on January 28, 2010, 12:55:27 PM
Quote from: dublinfella on January 28, 2010, 12:41:05 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on January 28, 2010, 12:08:51 PM

Come on, soccer players are all over the front pages on a regular basis. As are rugby players.

Its quite simple. The papers fill space with GAA stories because fans want to read it. If you object to this sort of story about a player, vote with your wallets. If enough GAA fans refuse to buy the Indo, these storys will stop. 

Also, not starting threads on these stories might help too...
bit of a difference between your average soccer player story (usually sexual misconduct or drugs)
or rugby (eye gouging) and throwing a duster at a pupil !

accidently bought the indo on sunday instead of the tribune and it isnt even good enough to be a chip wrapper !

agree with heff and indiana - they have had some kind of anti-GAA agenda for a while now !
Post by: cornafean on January 28, 2010, 01:03:43 PM
Is this the same Paul Galvin who said a few weeks ago that he wants to be treated like a professional athlete and would be insulted if someone called him an amateur?
Post by: dublinfella on January 28, 2010, 01:20:19 PM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on January 28, 2010, 12:55:27 PM

bit of a difference between your average soccer player story (usually sexual misconduct or drugs)

I agree, but the principal is the same. The media are filling a market. GAA fans want to read about GAA players, and like it or not with the Irish media for every 10 positive articles, you will get one from the gutter.

All in all I think the Irish media give the GAA a soft ride compared to what they do to soccer. How many stories have there been in the press about séx and drugs in the GAA? I can only think of one, and the player was arrested in his car for possesson, so was going to be in the papers regardless. We all know it happens....

The story is bad form, but lets not lose the run of ourselves about media agendas.
Post by: ziggysego on January 28, 2010, 01:25:35 PM
I never bother with these British Tabloid styled newspapers and it's a sorry sight to see it creeping into Ireland.

There's no real news in them, just sensational nonsense that will be forgotten about tomorrow. Unfortunately there are people who will buy them. As dublinfella says, as long as they do, they'll continue to print these non-stories.
Post by: lynchbhoy on January 28, 2010, 01:28:33 PM
Quote from: dublinfella on January 28, 2010, 01:20:19 PM

I agree, but the principal is the same. The media are filling a market. GAA fans want to read about GAA players, and like it or not with the Irish media for every 10 positive articles, you will get one from the gutter.

All in all I think the Irish media give the GAA a soft ride compared to what they do to soccer. How many stories have there been in the press about séx and drugs in the GAA? I can only think of one, and the player was arrested in his car for possesson, so was going to be in the papers regardless. We all know it happens....

The story is bad form, but lets not lose the run of ourselves about media agendas.
...maybe because the normal GAA player who isnt a professional and doesnt have the money the soccer players do - dont get caught up in the bright light drug/sexual deviant culture that seems to be rife amongst younger soccer players
that these stories are not printed about GAA players is becuase they dont exist !

as for the fella getting caught with drugs - he didnt even have or own them , I know him 15 years and he told me what the craic was.
there is an anti garda thing against him locally - thats his own fault, but he story was rubbish , so much so that he was never 'done' for it and the DCB told him to not go after the cops as he and they had enough bad press over it.

so paul galvin is the subject of an over hyping of a non story. If that an anti -gaa bias...well looking at what the indo print at other times regarding GAA , I'd say there is an element of truth.

Until GAA fans start arranging meetings to fight each other and throw pigs heads etc etc, you have to say that soccer has a bigger problem off the field than GAA. News stories dont exactly reflect that- well the indo news stories anyhow...
Post by: Main Street on January 28, 2010, 01:33:26 PM
Should Kerry be worried about Galvin's aim?

Next headline -  'Galvin driving madness'
- failed to indicate when turning left.
Post by: Onion Bag on January 28, 2010, 01:57:30 PM
Quote from: Main Street on January 28, 2010, 01:33:26 PM

Funny you mention that, i was reading the paper the other day and Eoin Bradley of Derry was stopped and got 3 pints and a fine for talking on the phone while driving,

i just said to myself, f**k they have ittle to be writing about

Galvin throwing dusters, and bradley talking on the phone
Post by: lynchbhoy on January 28, 2010, 02:08:09 PM
Quote from: Main Street on January 28, 2010, 01:33:26 PM

funnily enough I also think that Galvin is over maligned within GAA circles
let alone the papers getting in on the act

slow news days these days - but gutter tabloid reporting seems to have overtaken proper journalism
Title: Deoch
Post by: drici on January 28, 2010, 02:12:59 PM
Quote from: Onion Bag on January 28, 2010, 01:57:30 PM

Eoin Bradley of Derry was stopped and got 3 pints and a fine for talking on the phone while driving.

The pints might have cheered him up a wee bit.

Title: Re: Deoch
Post by: Onion Bag on January 28, 2010, 02:22:07 PM
Quote from: drici on January 28, 2010, 02:12:59 PM
Quote from: Onion Bag on January 28, 2010, 01:57:30 PM

Eoin Bradley of Derry was stopped and got 3 pints and a fine for talking on the phone while driving.

The pints might have cheered him up a wee bit.

:D :D only after reading that myself, you know what i meant, POINTS
Post by: full back on January 28, 2010, 03:23:20 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on January 28, 2010, 12:05:14 PM
What was the student supposed to have done? The wee fella was probably pushing Galvin's button. None story.

Is this a p1ss-take ziggy?

Looks like the student deserved it (whatever it was) from what you say ::)
Post by: ziggysego on January 28, 2010, 03:26:39 PM
Quote from: full back on January 28, 2010, 03:23:20 PM

Didn't say deserved it. Just meant, I'd doubt he's a innocent wee bun, that wouldn't say boo to a mouse.
Post by: longrunsthefox on January 28, 2010, 03:46:58 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on January 28, 2010, 03:26:39 PM

Didn't say deserved it. Just meant, I'd doubt he's a innocent wee bun, that wouldn't say boo to a mouse.

Do bad people actually say 'boo' when they see a mouse?  ???
Post by: ziggysego on January 28, 2010, 03:49:23 PM
Quote from: longrunsthefox on January 28, 2010, 03:46:58 PM

I do. It scares them out of the house.
Post by: dublinfella on January 28, 2010, 03:50:21 PM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on January 28, 2010, 01:28:33 PM

...maybe because the normal GAA player who isnt a professional and doesnt have the money the soccer players do - dont get caught up in the bright light drug/sexual deviant culture that seems to be rife amongst younger soccer players
that these stories are not printed about GAA players is becuase they dont exist !

With respect, that is spectacularly naive. If you think that a small number of intercounty players aren't partial to the odd pill or potion, recreational or performance enhancing, or dipping the lad where it shouldn't be, you are living in la la land.

Quote from: lynchbhoy on January 28, 2010, 01:28:33 PMas for the fella getting caught with drugs - he didnt even have or own them , I know him 15 years and he told me what the craic was.
there is an anti garda thing against him locally - thats his own fault, but he story was rubbish , so much so that he was never 'done' for it and the DCB told him to not go after the cops as he and they had enough bad press over it.

Well I also know a close friend of his and while the thrust of what you say is true, he does put himself in these situations and he isn't the only player up to no good.

Quote from: lynchbhoy on January 28, 2010, 01:28:33 PMso paul galvin is the subject of an over hyping of a non story. If that an anti -gaa bias...well looking at what the indo print at other times regarding GAA , I'd say there is an element of truth.

From within the GAA desk in the Indo? Hmmm.

Quote from: lynchbhoy on January 28, 2010, 01:28:33 PMUntil GAA fans start arranging meetings to fight each other and throw pigs heads etc etc, you have to say that soccer has a bigger problem off the field than GAA. News stories dont exactly reflect that- well the indo news stories anyhow...

Most soccer people would tell you that the tabloids, the Helald in particular blow 'hooliganism' in Ireland way out of proportion while ignoring it in England. Its interesting that you decry a media agenda against the GAA but take as gospal salacious stories about soccer....

You can't have it both ways....
Post by: Farrandeelin on January 28, 2010, 04:02:21 PM
Galvin is one of the most despised teachers in his school I believe.
Post by: lynchbhoy on January 28, 2010, 04:15:46 PM
Quote from: dublinfella on January 28, 2010, 03:50:21 PM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on January 28, 2010, 01:28:33 PM

With respect, that is spectacularly naive. If you think that a small number of intercounty players aren't partial to the odd pill or potion, recreational or performance enhancing, or dipping the lad where it shouldn't be, you are living in la la land.

Quote from: lynchbhoy on January 28, 2010, 01:28:33 PMas for the fella getting caught with drugs - he didnt even have or own them , I know him 15 years and he told me what the craic was.

Well I also know a close friend of his and while the thrust of what you say is true, he does put himself in these situations and he isn't the only player up to no good.

Quote from: lynchbhoy on January 28, 2010, 01:28:33 PMso paul galvin is the subject of an over hyping of a non story. If that an anti -gaa bias...well looking at what the indo print at other times regarding GAA , I'd say there is an element of truth.

From within the GAA desk in the Indo? Hmmm.

Quote from: lynchbhoy on January 28, 2010, 01:28:33 PMUntil GAA fans start arranging meetings to fight each other and throw pigs heads etc etc, you have to say that soccer has a bigger problem off the field than GAA. News stories dont exactly reflect that- well the indo news stories anyhow...

Most soccer people would tell you that the tabloids, the Helald in particular blow 'hooliganism' in Ireland way out of proportion while ignoring it in England. Its interesting that you decry a media agenda against the GAA but take as gospal salacious stories about soccer....

You can't have it both ways....
Exactly – you cant have it both ways (though you are branching off on a whole diff tangent by trying to bring in the notion of GAA and perf enhancing stuff etc - very silly imo).
The normal behaviour of normal people is far removed from the antics of professional soccer players and their drug fuelled exploits and disgraceful antics regarding young ladies. While I don't like the media and agree that they hype up things – there is a large element of truth to these antics – and it's a huge difference from what they get up to in comparison to what gaa players and normal people get up to. That's my point.
If normal people are not reported upon for taking drugs/fighting etc etc – then why should GAA players who are usually not doing half as much as some of the antics going on from 'normal people'.
As for the player in question ,you have a 'source' I spoke to the lad himself. I think I know who I'd trust there ! With him its drink and bad manners.

The 'GAA desk; within the indo doesn't mean much.
Sure aren't you posting on a GAA board...
By definition that would mean you are a GAA fan – in reality its obv you are not !
Whatever about hyping up 'soccer violence' in Ireland , I have seen the aftermath of phibsboro, I have been to soccer matches, I have spoken to 'rovers fans' who delight in talkig about a few scraps they get in – esp against bohs and shells etc. Was the pigs head a makey up thing?
Soccer violence doesn't need much hyping up – though it isn't that bad thankfully (prob due to the miniscule crowds that attend the eircom league or whatever it is called these days.

So the galvin story plus the story on the Dublin lad (thanks for the reminder and example) are two examples of non stories being hyped up by the indo/media.
Tabloid stuff – then again the target audience of tabloid journalism is the soccer fan level...
Post by: dublinfella on January 28, 2010, 04:25:35 PM
So what you are saying is that when the media hype something up about the GAA its wrong and a disgrace, when they do it about soccer, its actually all true.

O-Kay. Do you not think thats a slightly hypocritical stance?

But to the other point, if you are seriously trying to say that there aren't intercounty players out there who treat women as objects, well then you are seriously talking through your swiss. Go to Coppers the night after the Dubs crash out of Sam.

You have never heard of a prominent pair of GAA playing brothers, for example, stick someone in hospital and have the media basically hush it up? No well known hurler who needed anger management treatment after maiming someone? Get real man. The Galvin story is unusual precisely because we rarely read about GAA players who commit sin off the park.
Post by: supersarsfields on January 28, 2010, 04:55:10 PM

Ahhhh Ziggy come on now!!

Boo to a Goose

Because of the supposed stupidity of the bird of that name, the word 'goose' has meant a simpleton since the 1500s. The word 'boo' in this context is the sudden, loud version of it...the one adults sometimes use to surprise or 'frighten' children...rather than the disapproving anti-cheering version. So, 'saying boo to a goose' - whether human or avian - is about the least brave thing one could imagine doing and, as a result, very shy people are accused of being unable to do even that.
Post by: INDIANA on January 28, 2010, 05:01:14 PM
Quote from: dublinfella on January 28, 2010, 04:25:35 PM
So what you are saying is that when the media hype something up about the GAA its wrong and a disgrace, when they do it about soccer, its actually all true.

But to the other point, if you are seriously trying to say that there aren't intercounty players out there who treat women as objects, well then you are seriously talking through your swiss. Go to Coppers the night after the Dubs crash out of Sam.

You have never heard of a prominent pair of GAA playing brothers, for example, stick someone in hospital and have the media basically hush it up? No well known hurler who needed anger management treatment after maiming someone? Get real man. The Galvin story is unusual precisely because we rarely read about GAA players who commit sin off the park.

On the contrary that hurler made plenty of newspapers. As for Coppers- cmon the place was a cattle market when I was going to it and by all accounts it still the same today.  ;D
Post by: thejuice on January 28, 2010, 05:14:56 PM
We used to get the glanteoir thrown at us as well. It was an effective disiplinary tool, certaily did the trick and no one's precious little darling was left damaged psycologically or otherwise by it.

Glad I read the indo for free.
Post by: ziggysego on January 28, 2010, 05:31:10 PM
Quote from: supersarsfields on January 28, 2010, 04:55:10 PM

Ahhhh Ziggy come on now!!

Boo to a Goose

Because of the supposed stupidity of the bird of that name, the word 'goose' has meant a simpleton since the 1500s. The word 'boo' in this context is the sudden, loud version of it...the one adults sometimes use to surprise or 'frighten' children...rather than the disapproving anti-cheering version. So, 'saying boo to a goose' - whether human or avian - is about the least brave thing one could imagine doing and, as a result, very shy people are accused of being unable to do even that.

Ah damn it!!

(http://pix.motivatedphotos.com/2008/6/28/633502095110658970-facepalm.jpg)
Post by: haranguerer on January 28, 2010, 05:43:21 PM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on January 28, 2010, 04:15:46 PM

As for the player in question ,you have a 'source' I spoke to the lad himself. I think I know who I'd trust there ! With him its drink and bad manners.

Well if he wasnt doing anything (which I find hard to swallow Lynchbhoy, tbh), wasn't the only other person there also an intercounty footballer? I.e Even if the name was wrong, the headlines were correct?

Anyway, my own take on it is that amateur players shouldnt be subjected  media scrutiny like this simply because they're amateur. Noone has any right to tell these people how they should act in their own time - they themselves are only role-models because they have donated their time, they should be thanked for that and left alone.

A professional sportsman, however, is being compensated for all the rigours of life as a professional, including media intrusion.
Post by: BennyHarp on January 28, 2010, 07:07:44 PM
I have no love for Galvin as a footballer and personally think that he is one of the most over rated players of this era, but I would defend his right to privacy in this matter. If he has a problem in his working life it has no need to be discussed on a GAA discussion board and definately not to be the front page of a tabloid newspaper!
Post by: longrunsthefox on January 28, 2010, 07:41:01 PM
He could be in a difficult enough hanlin according to paper this boy was split and blood running from him... and had to go to doctor. Jees! Galvin is a total idiot.
Post by: BennyHarp on January 28, 2010, 07:44:04 PM
I don't think I added too much to that particular discussion and I think I wasn't commenting or discussing in a negative way Galvins incident. It was a flippant remark that I made while quickly popping onto the site. My more serious attitude is that the private life of amateur players should be left private! They don't deserve their problems to be discussed by random people!
Post by: longrunsthefox on January 28, 2010, 07:47:54 PM
I didn't realise the boy was split. I think that makes it different. If a teacher split a student I think it would be discussed whether he was a GAA star or not. Still I think he's his own worst enemy.   
Post by: Nally Stand on January 28, 2010, 08:31:01 PM
Talk about being torn between my dislike for Paul Galvin and my complete contempt for that rag of a paper. I'll just say both were in the wrong!
Post by: Sandino on January 28, 2010, 08:43:38 PM
Sad that a teacher comes on here and makes comments about another teacher. If a negative remark was made on ratemyteacher by a pupil there would be outrage.

I do think this is a private issue unless the pupil has been split. I also dont see many stories about FAI or IFA players private lives in our local media.
Post by: under the bar on January 28, 2010, 08:52:08 PM
Why the need to comment that it was a ricochet? Kinda imples he was trying to throw the duster in the bin or something and by a freak accident it bouced back and hit the lad.   Also imples he in no way intended to throw it at the lad.  Strange.
Post by: gerry on January 28, 2010, 09:01:30 PM
Lads be carefull with the amount of teachers on here it will no time until they come to his defence.
Post by: haranguerer on January 28, 2010, 09:09:14 PM
Quote from: under the bar on January 28, 2010, 08:52:08 PM
Why the need to comment that it was a ricochet? Kinda imples.........he in no way intended to throw it at the lad.

???

If you just remove that middle bit of your post, arent you answering your own question?
Post by: under the bar on January 28, 2010, 09:13:10 PM
True,  not that I thnink there's anything wrong in a teacher throwing a duster at a cheeky wee brat either.  Bad crack to split him open tho.   In my school the maths teacher broke one of those big blackboard  compasses in two over a kids head.   Don't even think the headmaster got involved over it. 
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on January 28, 2010, 09:32:43 PM
Quote from: dublinfella on January 28, 2010, 01:20:19 PM

A reasonably high-profile footballer was accused of rape the night after a big game in Croke Park a good few years ago now. I won't mention the player in question because the accusation was later proved to be complete and utter bullsh1t, but the story was all over the papers at the time and his name was dragged through the muck just because he was an inter-county player. It sickens me to see the press in this country apeing their English counterparts and ruining people's reputations.

As for the Galvin story, what's the big deal? None of us were there, we don't know what happened, what the circumstances were, whether it was a freak accident or not etc. People will jump to conclusions simply because of the type of character that Galvin is on the playing field. He could be the best teacher in Killarney for all we know.
Post by: red hander on January 28, 2010, 09:57:43 PM
Quote from: under the bar on January 28, 2010, 09:13:10 PM
True,  not that I thnink there's anything wrong in a teacher throwing a duster at a cheeky wee brat either.  Bad crack to split him open tho.   In my school the maths teacher broke one of those big blackboard  compasses in two over a kids head.   Don't even think the headmaster got involved over it.

There was a particularly unpopular teacher at our school who actually threw one of those blackboard compasses at a boy and it stuck in him.  The priests running the place made sure he didn't lose his job, they just moved him to the neighbouring girls' school, where he became just as unpopular because of his shenanigans
Post by: under the bar on January 28, 2010, 10:04:04 PM
QuoteTrue,  not that I thnink there's anything wrong in a teacher throwing a duster at a cheeky wee brat either.  Bad crack to split him open tho.   In my school the maths teacher broke one of those big blackboard  compasses in two over a kids head.   Don't even think the headmaster got involved over it.

There was a particularly unpopular teacher at our school who actually threw one of those blackboard compasses at a boy and it stuck in him.  The priests running the place made sure he didn't lose his job, they just moved him to the neighbouring girls' school, where he became just as unpopular because of his shenanigans

Looks like we went to the same school!  ;)
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on January 28, 2010, 10:17:18 PM
What a pathetic non-event of a story.
Post by: longrunsthefox on January 29, 2010, 12:39:51 AM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on January 28, 2010, 10:17:18 PM
What a pathetic non-event of a story.

Can't see how it is a non-event of a story. If a teacher split my child with a duster wouldn't be  a non-event. Jees! man that is a teacher assaulting a pupil, though in Kerry they are likely to queue up to shake yer hand judging by recent court cases  :o . 
If he didn't split him then Galvin is in for a few euro off the Star....   
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on January 29, 2010, 12:50:23 AM
Quote from: longrunsthefox on January 28, 2010, 10:47:41 AM
I'm no fan of Galvin but I think this publicity is unfair as if it was anyone else wouldn't be in the papers. Leave him alone. I'm sure they'll sort it out among themselves.

Then...

Quote from: longrunsthefox on January 29, 2010, 12:39:51 AM
Can't see how it is a non-event of a story. If a teacher split my child with a duster wouldn't be  a non-event. Jees! man that is a teacher assaulting a pupil, though in Kerry they are likely to queue up to shake yer hand judging by recent court cases  :o . 

Something of a schizo few days fox?  ;)
Post by: longrunsthefox on January 29, 2010, 12:57:52 AM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on January 29, 2010, 12:50:23 AM
Quote from: longrunsthefox on January 28, 2010, 10:47:41 AM

Then...

Quote from: longrunsthefox on January 29, 2010, 12:39:51 AM

Something of a schizo few days fox?  ;)

If you read posts I made seven hours later when I changed as I didn't realise he had split the fellow open and he had to go to the doctor. Thot it was fairly innocuos but obviously not.   
See post below...
Post by: longrunsthefox on January 29, 2010, 01:02:21 AM
Quote from: longrunsthefox on January 28, 2010, 07:41:01 PM
He could be in a difficult enough hanlin according to paper this boy was split and blood running from him... and had to go to doctor. Jees! Galvin is a total idiot.

There you go...  tho your use of word 'schizo' on this thread may be appropriarte alright.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on January 29, 2010, 01:05:26 AM
Quote from: longrunsthefox on January 29, 2010, 01:02:21 AM

Here we go...

Incident for the young lad, incident for Galvin, incident for the school, that might even rattle the teeth of a number of the chattering classes in the locality. But a non-event of an national story.
Post by: longrunsthefox on January 29, 2010, 01:09:27 AM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on January 29, 2010, 01:05:26 AM
Quote from: longrunsthefox on January 29, 2010, 01:02:21 AM

Here we go...

Incident for the young lad, incident for Galvin, incident for the school, that might even rattle the teeth of a number of the chattering classes in the locality. But a non-event of an national story.

Maybe... he will be lucky to avoid court and I think a case like this would be picked up by wider newspapers whether it was GAA player or not. 
Post by: sandwiches_in_the_boot on January 29, 2010, 09:18:51 AM
Incident for the young lad, incident for Galvin, incident for the school, that might even rattle the teeth of a number of the chattering classes in the locality. But a non-event of a national story.

Might be a non-story for the average person, but Galvin has one of the highest profiles for the national sport, paid or not. The smallest story would make papers, never mind the 'stupidity connection' with the obvious onfield incident. Probably wouldn't make the local papers, but indo journalists would hardly feel any embarassment writing this. I'm surprised people are so surprised.

Still think it's a bit below the belt.
Post by: lynchbhoy on January 29, 2010, 09:19:21 AM
Quote from: dublinfella on January 28, 2010, 04:25:35 PM

comprehension is not one of your strong points now is it ...
neither is honesty or realism it seems !

No trumped up story is fair in the papers, from any sporting code, or business or any other field.
My point is that soccer seems to have a lot more problems than GAA (or any other sport) because lets face it, the supporters are usually of the lower social classes and all the baggage they bring.
while there are plenty of people, sports people and rugby and GAA players that undoubtedly commit crime (penalty points while driving, to assault or taking drugs etc) these are 'usual social stats' but soccer seems to have worse instances.
For example - soccer fans fighting. This modern era faction fighting is almost soley the preserve of soccer. I dont recall GAA supporters groups regularly or irregulalrly meeting up to scrap !

You can continue to argue individual instances,but they dont and never will equate to the reality  - and that is that soccer has more social/criminal /illegal instances than GAA ever has (so far).
soccer in England is even worse... is that due to players having even more money ?
If thats the case, then I hope GAA sports never go pro !!

Hope you can understand all that !
Post by: omagh_gael on January 29, 2010, 10:44:25 AM
According to an article in the irish news the lads family are going to sue the school, family member commented that "...the teenager was just about ok but had not returned to school since the incident on monday."

There's me thinking Kerry was full of hardy bucks!
Post by: INDIANA on January 29, 2010, 10:56:56 AM
Quote from: sandwiches_in_the_boot on January 29, 2010, 09:18:51 AM
Incident for the young lad, incident for Galvin, incident for the school, that might even rattle the teeth of a number of the chattering classes in the locality. But a non-event of a national story.

Might be a non-story for the average person, but Galvin has one of the highest profiles for the national sport, paid or not. The smallest story would make papers, never mind the 'stupidity connection' with the obvious onfield incident. Probably wouldn't make the local papers, but indo journalists would hardly feel any embarassment writing this. I'm surprised people are so surprised.

Don't agree i think nobody cares really to be honest.
Post by: longrunsthefox on January 29, 2010, 11:22:23 AM
Quote from: INDIANA on January 29, 2010, 10:56:56 AM

A teacher splits a pupil with a duster is not a story?? Come on...  See school is taking no action on Galvin... if  a student did it to another student would they take no action either? I doubt it. If it was my cub I'd sue him.
Post by: sandwiches_in_the_boot on January 29, 2010, 11:42:03 AM

Yeah... 5 pages of discussion later...
Post by: Hardy on January 29, 2010, 12:18:50 PM
Where did this usage of "split" come from?
Post by: BennyHarp on January 29, 2010, 12:33:43 PM
Quote from: longrunsthefox on January 29, 2010, 11:22:23 AM

A teacher splits a pupil with a duster is not a story?? Come on...  See school is taking no action on Galvin... if  a student did it to another student would they take no action either? I doubt it. If it was my cub I'd sue him.

If the school is taking no action then its a nothing incident - schools HAVE to take action on these things if there is any indication that something wrong happened! The days of covering these things up are long gone! Believe me, people are very nieve if they think the poor students parents wouldnt be sueing unless he was seriously hurt - people sue these days if their kid is looked at wrongly!

If this was an average teacher in an average school this story would not even be mentioned as these sort of incidents happen every day across the country where a kid accuses a teacher of wrong doing! Most teachers can let it blow over and no harm done but its grossly unfair that Galvin is hauled across the coals for the this and his name further tarnished by people on here who know nothing about the incident - just because he chooses to play an amateur sport! Would this be in the paper or discussed here if it was a Tyrone hurler or a Kilkenny footballer? How well known do you need to be before your private life is fair game? A well known club player? A well known supporter?
Post by: dublinfella on January 29, 2010, 01:43:56 PM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on January 29, 2010, 09:19:21 AM

No trumped up story is fair in the papers, from any sporting code, or business or any other field.
My point is that soccer seems to have a lot more problems than GAA (or any other sport) because lets face it, the supporters are usually of the lower social classes and all the baggage they bring.
while there are plenty of people, sports people and rugby and GAA players that undoubtedly commit crime (penalty points while driving, to assault or taking drugs etc) these are 'usual social stats' but soccer seems to have worse instances.
For example - soccer fans fighting. This modern era faction fighting is almost soley the preserve of soccer. I dont recall GAA supporters groups regularly or irregulalrly meeting up to scrap !

You can continue to argue individual instances,but they dont and never will equate to the reality  - and that is that soccer has more social/criminal /illegal instances than GAA ever has (so far).
soccer in England is even worse... is that due to players having even more money ?

So there has never been a schmozzle involving GAA fans? I don't ever recall fans attacking players at soccer.

They have their problems, we have ours. This idea of social class is laughable, even the egg chasers have dropped that inane narrative.

But the core point remains, you are happy to lap up the garbage written in the tabloids about soccer as fact, but dismiss negative GAA stories as a conspiracy. Thats rank hypocricy.
Post by: longrunsthefox on January 29, 2010, 01:45:24 PM
Quote from: Hardy on January 29, 2010, 12:18:50 PM

Has been in several national papers and Irish News today
Post by: Main Street on January 29, 2010, 01:58:04 PM
The examiner reports
http://www.examiner.ie/ireland/school-quiet-on-galvin-duster-incident-110769.html#ixzz0e0brAFZ0 (http://www.examiner.ie/ireland/school-quiet-on-galvin-duster-incident-110769.html#ixzz0e0brAFZ0)

Description of the "split"

The student sustained a hairline cut on his forehead for which he was treated by a local doctor.

'The friend claimed the boy did nothing to provoke the incident and that he was bending down to put a book in his bag when he was hit by the wooden duster.'

Sounds primitive, I´d have thought that they'd have upgraded to using the White Board ages ago.
Post by: lynchbhoy on January 29, 2010, 04:10:33 PM
Quote from: dublinfella on January 29, 2010, 01:43:56 PM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on January 29, 2010, 09:19:21 AM

So there has never been a schmozzle involving GAA fans? I don't ever recall fans attacking players at soccer.

They have their problems, we have ours. This idea of social class is laughable, even the egg chasers have dropped that inane narrative.

But the core point remains, you are happy to lap up the garbage written in the tabloids about soccer as fact, but dismiss negative GAA stories as a conspiracy. Thats rank hypocricy.
I saw the aftermath of phibsboro - so cant doubt the papers there...
no hypocricy at all.
I think you are somewhat deluded if you ignore the basic realities and facts..
Post by: thewanderer on January 29, 2010, 05:34:52 PM
ONCE A THUG ALWAYS A THUG. He should receive his proper punishment and take it like a man not like he did with his gaa suspension. A complete non role model for young kids. >:(
Post by: pintsofguinness on January 29, 2010, 07:22:31 PM
The student's family, who are refusing to comment on the incident, has put the matter in the hands of a Killarney solicitor.

Read more: http://www.examiner.ie/ireland/school-quiet-on-galvin-duster-incident-110769.html#ixzz0e1yKXA3L

See this is what happens when you can't keep your temper in check. 

Post by: muppet on January 29, 2010, 07:27:02 PM
Quote from: Hardy on January 29, 2010, 12:18:50 PM

Ask Mick Lyons.
Post by: EagleLord on January 29, 2010, 08:51:30 PM
Terrible thread. >:(
Post by: ross matt on January 29, 2010, 08:51:48 PM
First of all it appears the young lad has genuinely incurred a fairly serious injury. Hardly a laughing matter if it was one of your own.

And I though capital punishment was banned a quarter of a century or more ago? I love the "it did us no harm " brigade.... first cousins of the "youth of today disgrace compared to our day" crew.

I abhor media intrusion in to the personal lives of amateur sportmen. But in fairness Paul Galvin is at the centre of a fairly serious case of at best what appears to be unintentional if reckless assualt on a student in his care. On top of that he's a high profile player  with a background in high profile violent incidents playing for the most high profile gaelic football team of all time. How in God's name could the media ignore it?

And not many of his supporters here complained when the same media awarded him a player of the year honour last season which was hugely infleunced by his "new image" etc. Personally I thiought and argued at the time that although he's a very effective footballer who had a fine season he received the award for sentimental/romantic reasons (similar to Tadgh's allstar). Canty should have been player of the year. He can hardly argue that the same media now are unfairly targeting him?  Much too much matyrdom talk on here on this topic methinks...
Post by: pintsofguinness on January 29, 2010, 08:53:55 PM
It's hardly a "fairly serious injury" matt!
Post by: longrunsthefox on January 29, 2010, 09:16:48 PM
I think the story is a teacher split a child's (legally) head. Not on. Totally newsworthy.
Post by: ardal on January 29, 2010, 09:29:56 PM
Quote from: ross matt on January 29, 2010, 08:51:48 PM
First of all it appears the young lad has genuinely incurred a fairly serious injury. Hardly a laughing matter if it was one of your own.

And I though capital punishment was banned a quarter of a century or more ago? I love the "it did us no harm " brigade.... first cousins of the "youth of today disgrace compared to our day" crew.

I abhor media intrusion in to the personal lives of amateur sportmen. But in fairness Paul Galvin is at the centre of a fairly serious case of at best what appears to be unintentional if reckless assualt on a student in his care. On top of that he's a high profile player  with a background in high profile violent incidents playing for the most high profile gaelic football team of all time. How in God's name could the media ignore it?

And not many of his supporters here complained when the same media awarded him a player of the year honour last season which was hugely infleunced by his "new image" etc. Personally I thiought and argued at the time that although he's a very effective footballer who had a fine season he received the award for sentimental/romantic reasons (similar to Tadgh's allstar). Canty should have been player of the year. He can hardly argue that the same media now are unfairly targeting him?  Much too much matyrdom talk on here on this topic methinks...

Nice one Matt, especially when fairly serious injury is compared to "The student sustained a hairline cut on his forehead for which he was treated by a local doctor.

Now what the hell is a hairline cut? Is it:
A) a cut near the hairline
B) a tiny little cut along the lines of a hairline fraction
or
C) a scratch?

I'm presumming the answer is "C", so how the feck do you only manage do this with a wooden duster? Was it in a fact a cloth duster, and thus Galvin has destroyed the laws of physics by throwing the cloth some 10,000 yrds to hit the lad? The 16 year old ( or young adult, the likes of who are eternally innocent) was bending down to put his books in his bag or something, apparently, it's some bloody shot, bounces of the wall, spins around and scrathes him, incredible.

2 of my lads were fighting in class recently, I lifted one of them and then physically held them apart until I settled the situation. If I was a county player, what would the papers have said?

Mountain, mole hill.
Post by: ardal on January 29, 2010, 11:29:47 PM
Well done RM

I asked what a "hairline cut" was, and gave several options. Perhaps you could endeavour to give me a definition of said injury; in my opinion it sounds like a scratch.

The family have apparently ran to their solicitor, why not the garda?

Yeah Galvin should be hung, drawn and quartered, because he's a sports star and therefore guilty until you and and the indo decide other wise.

Oopps yeah, sorry, the teenager involved is obviously innocent because, well, he just is, that's why.
Post by: pintsofguinness on January 29, 2010, 11:34:31 PM
Matt, people run to the doctors for f**k all you know, it doesnt mean it's serious. Sounds to me like his family seen legal case and were quick on the ball to get the doctor involved. 

Ardal, it doesnt matter what the teenager involved was at, the days where it's acceptable for teachers to throw dusters around are long gone, and rightly so.
Post by: ross matt on January 29, 2010, 11:52:52 PM
Yeah pints true. Could be right but my point was it's still an obvious one for the media to report on regardless of the rights or wrongs of the incident.

Ardal time for ya to look at a career change I'd say judging from the tone of your text. You should actually try the media yourself for employment. You've an obvious talent for blowing what people say out of proportion.
Post by: Hardy on January 30, 2010, 12:04:44 AM
I despair of the world we live in.
Post by: ONeill on January 30, 2010, 12:08:48 AM
I split a boy's lip a year ago. Wasn't proud but he took it and didn't complain.

Saffron Sam threw a lad out of the second floor window. He's now head of a dept. In some places, Hardy, the ignorance is still reverred.
Post by: Hardy on January 30, 2010, 12:22:20 AM
Quote from: ONeill on January 30, 2010, 12:08:48 AM
I split a boy's lip a year ago. Wasn't proud but he took it and didn't complain.

Saffron Sam threw a lad out of the second floor window. He's now head of a dept. In some places, Hardy, the ignorance is still reverred.

I was desperate to be consoled by all of that, and I was for a while.

At least it's good that the lad who was defenesrated went on to get a good job.
Post by: longrunsthefox on January 30, 2010, 12:41:45 AM
To paraphrase Jim Cole, 'it's all fun and games until someone loses an eye'...
Post by: sammymaguire on January 30, 2010, 05:21:27 PM
if the guy can't deal with kids without firing dusters around a classroom, he is in the wrong job
Post by: 020304 Tir Eoghain on January 30, 2010, 10:02:01 PM
If it was just another teacher, other than Paul Galvin, would it still have been as newsworthy?
Post by: longrunsthefox on January 30, 2010, 10:59:53 PM
Yes it would... he threw a duster at him and split his head... loads of blood, doctor... newsworthyimo. 'Teachers splits student with duster'   yip... that would make the news
Post by: Declan on February 01, 2010, 11:25:07 AM
This vicious circle needs a good dusting down

TOM HUMPHRIES

LOCKER ROOM : Increasingly newspapers in particular are happy to "cross the line" when it comes to dealing with amateur players

I REMEMBER once upon a forever ago Joe Duffy going on the wireless to defend a missile attack on Gareth Fitzgerald. Joe calmed a jumpy populace by pointing out that the missile in question was an egg and not an exocet. Perhaps Joe wasn't actually defending the attack just trying to quell the sort of hysteria that can build on phone-in radio programmes when sententiousness get the better of common sense.

Anyway what flew at Garrett was a nice wholesome egg not a guided missile and what allegedly flew through the air in the classroom in St Brendan's, Killarney was a duster not a doodlebug (which invites a parenthesized digression).

(When he was young the comedian Paul Merton's stand-up act included a very funny line on London during the blitz wherein he described the serenity with which an elderly relative would greet the onset of another night's bombing. "If I'm going to go, I'm going to go " he would say, "there's a bomb somewhere with my name on it and until then." Which was a great attitude, Merton would say, but no comfort to Mr and Mrs Doodlebug from next door.)

The news that dusters can still and do still become airborne in classrooms is a matter for debate among educationalists. The duster has long since been out of favour as an educational tool or even as a disciplinary device so there are general questions.

First the duster. Has there not been a move away from the hefty but aerodynamic wood-handled model to the more modest and lightweight duster with a black plastic handle?

Second the odd but confusing sense of nostalgia which overcame those of us who grew up able to sense a flying duster coming at us from behind at 10 or 20 paces away. We were the lucky ones to whom no more serious harm was done than that. The odd duster and the occasional leathering and all last week we said things like, "by jaysus in my day you'd have been made eat the thing, then lick the blackboard clean".

Thirdly and most importantly though does an allegedly airborne duster in a class in Killarney concern anybody more than the people directly involved? The teacher, the pupil, the parents, the principal. Does the fact that one of those people is a well known Gaelic footballer alter that?

How Paul Galvin conducts his classes is his business and the business of the school which employs him. I've never heard tell of him being anything other than a committed, charismatic and hugely persuasive teacher. Never heard him talk of teaching other then in terms of how energising he finds it.

Such citations as to Galvin's excellence as a teacher would be as inappropriate coming from the slumlord of a sports column, however, as are the grave forensic details of DusterGate which have been offered us all week from marginally more salubrious areas of various newspapers.

How many tales of students being inspired, helped, encouraged, coached, amused, befriended would it take to undo the damage done to a teacher's life by one week's media banqueting on DusterGate?

We have a problem here. Come the summer Galvin, footballer of the year last year, will probably find himself not much inclined to talk to the newspapers. He hasn't felt inclined to chat for some time. He has been through some of these hoops before. His girlfriend's Bebo site was ransacked and basically reproduced in a Sunday tabloid, his parents and his siblings were all put under pressure during the long hard summer of 2008. He is deemed to be fair game.

And having seen Galvin's fate the team which he inspired and cajoled all through the summer of 2009 are unlikely to be trespassing on the privacy of journalists and making phone calls at all hours of the day and night begging to be interviewed.

So there will be little or no access to the thoughts of the All-Ireland champions and a few newspapers will continue to think, what the hell, nothing to lose get out and see if there are any chefs on the team who burned soup, any doctors who misdiagnosed, any firemen who baulked, any DJs who played Daniel O'Donnell.

Increasingly newspapers in particular are happy to "cross the line" when it comes to dealing with amateur players.

The fact that there is an undoubted upside to being a successful county player or even a moderately well known county player doesn't confer on the media or other bodies the right to ensure that there is a downside too. It doesn't make any player fair game.

In recent weeks this column has heard of a girls' secondary school being rung with an inquiry into an alleged relationship between a senior player and a girl in the school, players' workplaces being rung and colleagues asked questions about the players, another player's family being contacted over and over to find out what the player's mood was like because he was going to be dropped very soon.

Some players may find it easier to get a job when their profile is high (though perhaps employers see the commitment and sacrifice of an amateur sportsperson as something well worth gambling on). Every team that stops one short of a three-in-a-row, features the apocryphal figure who declares himself relieved because he would have needed to replace his sexual organ had they won again. And there are cars and scholarships and a general sort of status. None of those things make players fair game.

The difficulty with all this is that it is a vicious circle and without regulation it will get worse. It is one of those situations that your mother told you about. All fun and games till somebody loses an eye.

Look at the situation, middle eastern in it's tinderbox of confusions. The GAA while still an amateur body has contractual deals with high profile sponsors yet steps in behind the amateur status of its players when it comes to providing access to those players, access which would create coverage and which would cause sponsors to smile.

The media, getting to the stage where it has almost given up on access has begun burning bridges. The players won't talk anyway so why not torch them and pillage their private lives as we go? The players, increasingly resentful and mistrustful have very little interest in exploring the big picture of promoting their games or helping the GAA compete against rugby or soccer.

The reader is unable to escape his own prurience.

Here is an area which the GPA might usefully explore. Some set of standards needs to be visible and needs to be adhered to.

The carrot would be decent access. The stick would be denial of that access to papers who seriously cross the line. The carrot would be value for sponsors and for the GAA. The stick would be the fact that in this day and age if access gets any worse the party is over for everybody. Done and dusted.

Fógra: St Brigid's GAA Club in Blanchardstown will host an intercounty senior hurling challenge game in the evening of 13th February between Dublin and Tipperary. Hopefully a senior camogie challenge will mark the start of the evening which is being held to open the splendid new hurling wall the club has made.
Post by: muppet on February 01, 2010, 05:46:36 PM
Fair play to Humphries, normally journalists religiously defend the freedom of the press no matter how crass the act. That article is refreshing and on the money.
Post by: Zapatista on February 01, 2010, 06:02:12 PM
Quote from: muppet on February 01, 2010, 05:46:36 PM
Fair play to Humphries, normally journalists religiously defend the freedom of the press no matter how crass the act. That article is refreshing and on the money.

if not a little drawn out. He could have made the point better in half the words.

I don't think it should be up to the GAA or the players to regulate the media who cross the line. It's not only the case for amateur players but professionals and the public in general. No matter who the victim is if a paper goes over the top there should be proper authorities to deal with it.
Post by: orangeman on February 04, 2010, 06:12:48 PM
Any developments ???
Post by: under the bar on February 04, 2010, 10:32:07 PM
QuoteIf it was thrown in anger, he may be up to his balls.

Almost impossible to prove so he's prob safe enough and the whitewash will succeed
Post by: ziggysego on February 04, 2010, 10:40:01 PM
Quote from: hardstation on February 04, 2010, 10:34:22 PM
Quote from: orangeman on February 04, 2010, 06:12:48 PM
Any developments ???
He was given a clean slate.

Outstanding sir.
Post by: longrunsthefox on February 04, 2010, 11:06:50 PM
Quote from: Take Your Points on February 04, 2010, 10:35:54 PM
Any developments ???

Brilliant!

How the f** is that brilliant? If a student did it to another student or  a student did it to  teacher would it be brilliant? Wise up. It is 2010 not 1970s... when teachers got  a free rein to be violent.   
Post by: Zapatista on February 04, 2010, 11:18:47 PM
Any developments ???

Wait til the dust settles.
Post by: ONeill on February 04, 2010, 11:25:11 PM
Quote from: longrunsthefox on February 04, 2010, 11:06:50 PM
Any developments ???

Brilliant!

How the f** is that brilliant? If a student did it to another student or  a student did it to  teacher would it be brilliant? Wise up. It is 2010 not 1970s... when teachers got  a free rein to be violent.   

This surely has to be a pre-arranged sketch.
Post by: longrunsthefox on February 04, 2010, 11:44:14 PM
Quote from: ONeill on February 04, 2010, 11:25:11 PM
Any developments ???

Brilliant!

This surely has to be a pre-arranged sketch.

Really? I didn't realise it has to be a pre-arranged sketch. I thought we just post comments on the board  :o
Post by: rosnarun on February 05, 2010, 12:12:15 AM
i think he is slagging you for a dumb predictable retort to a flippant comment. rather than stating that we all had ordained roles on the gaaboard but them again i could be wrong in whivh case i apologise both to you and mr o'neill #as its none of my business really
Post by: longrunsthefox on February 05, 2010, 12:18:13 AM
Quote from: rosnarun on February 05, 2010, 12:12:15 AM
i think he is slagging you for a dumb predictable retort to a flippant comment. rather than stating that we all had ordained roles on the gaaboard but them again i could be wrong in whivh case i apologise both to you and mr o'neill #as its none of my business really

Listen Ros, us northerners don't need outsiders coming in to sort out our disagreements for us... then again...  :o   
Post by: muppet on February 05, 2010, 01:56:19 PM
Any developments ???

Brilliant!

How the f** is that brilliant?

You didn't see the pun?
Title: Dearg
Post by: drici on February 13, 2010, 08:00:33 PM
Off.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on February 13, 2010, 08:03:16 PM
Paul a bit hard done by for once. Cadogan had him in a headlock and threw him to the ground. Not sure what Galvin was sent off for.
Title: Re: Dearg
Post by: orangeman on February 13, 2010, 08:06:02 PM
Quote from: drici on February 13, 2010, 08:00:33 PM
Off.

God but he doesn't like the Cork lads.
Post by: magickingdom on February 13, 2010, 09:08:48 PM
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on February 13, 2010, 08:03:16 PM
Paul a bit hard done by for once. Cadogan had him in a headlock and threw him to the ground. Not sure what Galvin was sent off for.

absolute joke that galvin got the line. anyone think refs dont like to make a name for themselves?
Post by: johnpower on February 13, 2010, 09:59:25 PM
Quote from: magickingdom on February 13, 2010, 09:08:48 PM

absolute joke that galvin got the line. anyone think refs dont like to make a name for themselves?

No comon sense . I know he is no saint but I really think that if it were any other player it would have been a yellow card .Have not seen the incidents that led to the suspensions in the Derry and Tyrone match is this just an early season thing ?
Post by: up tyrone on February 13, 2010, 10:42:55 PM
About 2 minutes b4 he was sent of he swung a punch that didnt connect so he get of with 1 and brought up for the other.
Post by: orangeman on February 13, 2010, 10:43:28 PM

Who was the ref ??
Post by: muppet on February 13, 2010, 10:53:00 PM
Quote from: orangeman on February 13, 2010, 10:43:28 PM

Who was the ref ??

Duster Harte.
Post by: orangeman on February 13, 2010, 10:53:59 PM
Quote from: muppet on February 13, 2010, 10:53:00 PM
Quote from: orangeman on February 13, 2010, 10:43:28 PM

Who was the ref ??

Duster Harte.

Post by: Overthebar! on March 01, 2010, 12:22:36 PM
heard from a friend that runs a shop in kerry that paul galvin comes and buys two kerry jerseys in boys sizes with the numbers 10 and 12 on them....
Post by: tonesfirstandlast on March 01, 2010, 12:32:09 PM
Quote from: Overthebar! on March 01, 2010, 12:22:36 PM
heard from a friend that runs a shop in kerry that paul galvin comes and buys two kerry jerseys in boys sizes with the numbers 10 and 12 on them....

And your point is!
Post by: longrunsthefox on March 01, 2010, 12:47:18 PM

Unbelievable!! two jerseys!!!... contact the News of the World immediately   ::)
Post by: BennyHarp on March 01, 2010, 01:01:36 PM

Scoop of the year!!  :o
Post by: Overthebar! on March 01, 2010, 01:20:35 PM
you don't think it's sad for a grown man to wear kids sizes?
Post by: ziggysego on March 01, 2010, 01:25:39 PM
Quote from: Overthebar! on March 01, 2010, 01:20:35 PM

Some of us don't have a choice.
Post by: longrunsthefox on March 01, 2010, 02:04:29 PM
Quote from: Overthebar! on March 01, 2010, 01:20:35 PM

...or  buy  a present for nephews or friends...  jees! I can't believe I've been drawn into this. 
Post by: orangeman on March 01, 2010, 02:05:38 PM
I'll tell you one thing : I'd fair rather have him on my team than on the opposition.
Post by: tonesfirstandlast on March 01, 2010, 02:10:40 PM
He has probably bought them for Enda Lynn and Raymond Wilkinsoin for this Sunday
Post by: Zapatista on September 09, 2010, 11:48:50 PM
Seen the repeat of his interview with Tommy & Hector on tonight. I like all three of them but it was a terrible interview.
Post by: Onlooker on September 10, 2010, 09:56:26 PM
You have strange tastes if you like those 3 guys. :( :( :(