Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: flantheman82 on January 21, 2010, 09:53:35 PM

Title: Hotels in Ireland
Post by: flantheman82 on January 21, 2010, 09:53:35 PM
Hey,
am looking to head away with my better half for a short stay.
Can anyone recommend any nice hotels in Ireland for a nice relaxing break to do absolutely nothing?
Maybe take a nice walk or drive? We're located in Belfast but willing to drive. Wanting to avoid Dublin as we stayed there a few months back in the Burlington and it was a complete disaster. 
Title: Re: Hotels in Ireland
Post by: gawa316 on January 21, 2010, 09:59:13 PM
Mount Juliet in Kilkenny is some spot, pricey though.

Going to McGrory's in Culdaff, north Donegal for a friends b'day, looks like a deadly wee spot. Anyone ever been?
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on January 21, 2010, 09:59:26 PM
You could try Gweedore in Donegal:

Ostan Gweedore Hotel (http://www.ostangweedore.com), a great spot for doing nothing but taking it all in.
Post by: RMDrive on January 21, 2010, 10:06:16 PM
Solis outside DL town is a very relaxing spot.
Post by: Hoof Hearted on January 21, 2010, 10:07:51 PM
Kees Hotel in Ballybofey - Sunday night specials - 49 Euro pps B+B and a 5 course carvery lunch each. Suberb value and lovely hotel. Stayed in Mount Errigal Letterkenny over xmas - great spot too
Post by: Milltown Row2 on January 21, 2010, 10:13:23 PM
not this weekend Flan!!!

Post by: Minder on January 21, 2010, 10:16:44 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on January 21, 2010, 10:13:23 PM
not this weekend Flan!!!

How much did you get paid for your world exclusive in the Andytown News?
Post by: flantheman82 on January 21, 2010, 10:18:49 PM
U kidding me milltown? I'll be in Parnell for sure.
Post by: spuds on January 21, 2010, 10:34:03 PM
Westport Country Lodge Hotel

classy spot

http://www.tripadvisor.ie/ShowUserReviews-g186627-d1205573-r48767215-Westport_Country_Lodge_Hotel-Westport_County_Mayo_Western_Ireland.html#REVIEWS
Post by: ross4life on January 21, 2010, 10:35:41 PM
http://www.irelandhotels.com/ some good deals there
Post by: flantheman82 on January 21, 2010, 10:38:47 PM
The westgrove hotel in Kildare looks pretty good and quite reasonable. Anyone heard of it?
Post by: muppet on January 21, 2010, 11:12:42 PM
Sliabh Russell wouldn't be too far from you.
Post by: ziggysego on January 21, 2010, 11:35:05 PM
I like the Castlecourt Hotel in Westport, Mayo.

http://www.castlecourthotel.ie/ (http://www.castlecourthotel.ie/)

Post by: angermanagement on January 21, 2010, 11:35:18 PM
Ballyliffen Lodge, BallyliffenDonegal is a lovely hotel and lovely scenery and not too far from Derry.
Post by: Pangurban on January 21, 2010, 11:47:37 PM
Ashford Castle, pricey but surely she is worth it
Post by: aontroim on January 22, 2010, 12:29:42 AM
http://www.booking.com - good deals always to be found on here and plenty of information and guest reviews to help you decide.
Post by: stephenite on January 22, 2010, 01:33:24 AM
Ballynahinch Castle in Connemara
Post by: spuds on January 22, 2010, 02:51:42 AM
westportcountrylodgehotel

http://westportcountrylodgehotel.com/
Post by: downredblack on January 22, 2010, 07:34:00 AM

Farnham Estae Hotel , Cavin .

http://www.radissonblu.ie/farnham-estate-hotel?facilitator=BIGMOUTHMEDIAREZIDOR&csref=g_en_sk_hotel_3_dubzc
Post by: Dinny Breen on January 22, 2010, 08:14:51 AM
QuoteThe westgrove hotel in Kildare looks pretty good and quite reasonable. Anyone heard of it?

In Clane, nice hotel but seriously nothing to do in Kildare in the winter months, Westport would be my choice, The Atlantic Coast Hotel normally has special offers..

http://www.atlanticcoasthotel.com/ (http://www.atlanticcoasthotel.com/)
Post by: ha ha derry on January 22, 2010, 09:48:13 AM
Loungh Erne resort are doing some good deals at the moment. Classy place and they serve Leffe beer on tap.  ;D
Post by: bingobus on January 22, 2010, 10:03:12 AM
Can I throw in Bellinter House in Meath. Great food and spot. manorhousehotels website (or something similar) have a range of quality, do nothing but relax spots.

Can I hijack the thread and request details of any hotels that do self catering on site about 2 hrs drive from Monaghan. Will be looking a short break 4/5 with the family (1 year and 2.5 year) in few months and looking for somewhere not too far.

Thanks
Post by: Rois on January 22, 2010, 10:06:59 AM
Lusty Beg in Fermanagh have lodges on their site with three bedrooms, kitchen, living room etc.  I stayed in one and they're top notch.  Lough Erne have the same but I'd imagine pricier.
Post by: J OGorman on January 22, 2010, 11:58:50 AM
Quote from: aontroim on January 22, 2010, 12:29:42 AM
http://www.booking.com - good deals always to be found on here and plenty of information and guest reviews to help you decide.

brilliant website, have used it for my last few hotel bookings

McGrorys is a top wee hotel / pub / restaurant / music venue. Though I heard it was going into administration / shutting down which is a sad day for Donegal if its true. Have been up there a few times, great for stout, beach walks, surfing and generally getting a good glow back in the aul chops. 

Post by: heineken_on_tap on January 22, 2010, 01:24:35 PM
The castlecourt in Westport is a very good hotel alright, stayed in the Heritage in Laois a few times too http://www.theheritage.com/ . I thought it was very nice as well
Post by: ziggysego on January 22, 2010, 01:32:23 PM
Quote from: Rois on January 22, 2010, 10:06:59 AM
Lusty Beg in Fermanagh have lodges on their site with three bedrooms, kitchen, living room etc.  I stayed in one and they're top notch.

I was at a couple of weddings there and stayed over. Great place, feels like a holiday and you've an island to yourself.
Post by: glens abu on January 22, 2010, 02:31:38 PM
just got a very good deal in Fitzpatrick Killiny castle for over Valentines 13th 14th 15th Feb 3nights B&B 1 Dinner,Wine and Chocs in room,£139 each
Post by: maggie on January 22, 2010, 02:33:41 PM
Quote from: glens abu on January 22, 2010, 02:31:38 PM
just got a very good deal in Fitzpatrick Killiny castle for over Valentines 13th 14th 15th Feb 3nights B&B 1 Dinner,Wine and Chocs in room,£139 each

What a lucky lady.

Post by: glens abu on January 22, 2010, 02:40:11 PM
Quote from: maggie on January 22, 2010, 02:33:41 PM
Quote from: glens abu on January 22, 2010, 02:31:38 PM

What a lucky lady.

I know :D
Post by: maggie on January 22, 2010, 02:45:40 PM
It is in Norn Iron and may be too close to home for you but stayed in the Galgorm (Ballymena) and it was lovely.
Post by: mc_grens on January 22, 2010, 03:05:11 PM
Knockranny House Hotel in Westport- class.
Post by: Premier Emperor on January 22, 2010, 07:15:20 PM
Quote from: mc_grens on January 22, 2010, 03:05:11 PM
Knockranny House Hotel in Westport- class.
Bring a big wallet with you!
Post by: crossfire on January 22, 2010, 11:29:21 PM
Lots of special offers in todays Irish News.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on January 22, 2010, 11:56:10 PM
Quote from: hardstation on January 22, 2010, 11:36:21 PM
Lake Glen hotel.

Knocking shop!!!

Christ i can remeber that hotel, but it was bombed out.

Post by: Milltown Row2 on January 23, 2010, 12:21:02 AM
could have been, think i had my first carry out there!!!

was a dodgy spot...

ok off to bed early start tomorrow, little matter of an All Ireland (intermediate) hurling semi final to sort out
Post by: gawa316 on February 01, 2010, 05:11:27 PM
Anyone ever stayed at Lough Rynn in Leitrim?

Seems like a nice spot
Post by: heineken_on_tap on February 01, 2010, 05:19:12 PM
Never stayed there myself, sister and husband did a few weeks ago and they thought it was a class spot

It's where Brian o'driscoll is having the wedding reception so I suppose it can't be too bad.
Post by: Mhic Easmuint on February 01, 2010, 08:27:24 PM
Whats the Westport Plaza Hotel like? Anyone been?
Post by: Trevor Hill on February 01, 2010, 09:20:28 PM
Quote from: gawa316 on February 01, 2010, 05:11:27 PM
Anyone ever stayed at Lough Rynn in Leitrim?

Seems like a nice spot

Lough Rynn is very nice. Make sure you get one of the rooms in the converted stables as they are much bigger and a bit nicer than the standard room. The restaurant is excellent, fantastic food, great service and an excellent wine list.
Post by: Gold on February 01, 2010, 10:47:53 PM
Flan, never mind the places mentioned in Ulster. Go somewhere different, more random.

I was in Longford for a couple of weekends last year and it was great. Not too far but just away from everything/anyone you know. Plenty of nice bars/clubs and hotels. Had great craic there.

Also stayed in Trim, Co. Meath --nice place, surrounded by castles--it's where Braveheart was shot.

Stayed in Tullamore, Portlaois and Mullingar too--all county towns so big enough but are good craic with plenty of things to do/places to head out.

Carlingford in Louth is good with a good few wee bars and good craic

Let u know where you go

Post by: gawa316 on February 01, 2010, 10:51:02 PM
Quote from: Trevor Hill on February 01, 2010, 09:20:28 PM

Lough Rynn is very nice. Make sure you get one of the rooms in the converted stables as they are much bigger and a bit nicer than the standard room. The restaurant is excellent, fantastic food, great service and an excellent wine list.

Would that be the eastern range classic or estate managers classic?
Post by: FL/MAYO on February 02, 2010, 12:38:37 AM
Quote from: Mhic Easmuint on February 01, 2010, 08:27:24 PM
Whats the Westport Plaza Hotel like? Anyone been?

Stayed there for a night last year, I found it a nice clean modern type of hotel, it is also in the town so it is close to everything. If the price is right go for it.
Post by: flantheman82 on February 02, 2010, 06:00:54 AM
I'm struggling at the minute to find a date to suit but it's a good complaint due to hurlers playing in intermediate hurling final and footballers playing in senior semi the following week.
Also half tempted to forget the Ireland thing all together and just book something abroad forthe summer where I'm guaranteed some sunshine.
Post by: Trevor Hill on February 03, 2010, 09:28:30 PM
Quote from: gawa316 on February 01, 2010, 10:51:02 PM

From memory its the estate managers classic. You could always see if they would upgrade you to a suite. They will if they arent busy/have no weddings on.
Post by: Trevor Hill on February 03, 2010, 10:22:47 PM
Can anyone recommend a good hotel in Kildare on Saturday night? The K Club are only asking €7500 for a suite, though a standard room is a snip at €300 including breakfast.
Post by: gawa316 on February 03, 2010, 10:39:36 PM
Quote from: Trevor Hill on February 03, 2010, 09:28:30 PM
Quote from: gawa316 on February 01, 2010, 10:51:02 PM

From memory its the estate managers classic. You could always see if they would upgrade you to a suite. They will if they arent busy/have no weddings on.

Cheers might actually do that, it's the wedding anniversary plus she will be pretty close to calving then so would hope to get the sympathy vote!!
Post by: 5 Sams on February 04, 2010, 11:51:18 AM
Going to see Christy in March in Killarney...staying in the Malton....looks grand on Tripadvisor etc. Anyone on here stayed there?? Looks swanky enough on the website :)
Post by: Trevor Hill on March 09, 2010, 03:34:25 PM
Quote from: 5 Sams on February 04, 2010, 11:51:18 AM
Going to see Christy in March in Killarney...staying in the Malton....looks grand on Tripadvisor etc. Anyone on here stayed there?? Looks swanky enough on the website :)

Save your money and go see Luka instead. At least he wont ask you to be quiet.

I see the hotels in Ballybofey are doing their bit to promote tourism by raising their prices this weekend.
Post by: bingobus on March 09, 2010, 04:16:00 PM
Anyone have a hotel for Belfast. Missus birthday in late april and she has suggested Belfast for a night or two.
Post by: Minder on March 09, 2010, 04:23:42 PM
Quote from: bingobus on March 09, 2010, 04:16:00 PM
Anyone have a hotel for Belfast. Missus birthday in late april and she has suggested Belfast for a night or two.

I think there is a more comprehensive thread than this but the Gaa Board search facility is brutal

http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=11797.0
Post by: Trevor Hill on March 09, 2010, 08:53:37 PM

Depends what you are looking for. The Culloden is nice, very quiet and a bit out of the way. Probably wont see too many Monaghan GAA tops in the bar, or even Antrim tops for that matter, but its a nice hotel with good food.
Post by: gawa316 on March 09, 2010, 08:59:27 PM

If ye can get some type of deal on the Merchant, she'll be well impressed with ye
Post by: sammymaguire on March 09, 2010, 09:56:47 PM
Quote from: gawa316 on March 09, 2010, 08:59:27 PM

If ye can get some type of deal on the Merchant, she'll be well impressed with ye

Malmaison is nice too and decent location
Post by: Tony Baloney on March 10, 2010, 10:21:39 AM
Quote from: hardstation on March 10, 2010, 01:23:07 AM
I'm stumped. You're in 'blaney and you're prepared to pay to stay in Belfast for a night (even 2!). A taxi home would be cheaper.

Jays, if she insists.

As for Trevor Hill and his Culloden suggestion.....try the Canal Court in Newry and bus it to Belfast.

Take your pick of Belfast hotels. The Merchant is probably the best but, by Christ, have a good aul think about it first.
I think the fact that Belfast is now seen as an acceptable city break destination is more shocking than anything.
Post by: bingobus on March 10, 2010, 10:38:41 AM
I'm stumped. You're in 'blaney and you're prepared to pay to stay in Belfast for a night (even 2!). A taxi home would be cheaper.

Jays, if she insists.

As for Trevor Hill and his Culloden suggestion.....try the Canal Court in Newry and bus it to Belfast.

Take your pick of Belfast hotels. The Merchant is probably the best but, by Christ, have a good aul think about it first.

Its a night away, no kids (not too far away to get back if needed), can have a meal, few drinks, do the shopping thing (for her), relax and enjoy.  ::)
Post by: sammymaguire on March 10, 2010, 12:20:42 PM
Quote from: bingobus on March 10, 2010, 10:38:41 AM

Jays, if she insists.

Its a night away, no kids (not too far away to get back if needed), can have a meal, few drinks, do the shopping thing (for her), relax and enjoy.  ::)

and a good oul shag to top it off  ;)
Post by: muppet on March 10, 2010, 04:24:56 PM
Quote from: sammymaguire on March 10, 2010, 12:20:42 PM
Quote from: bingobus on March 10, 2010, 10:38:41 AM

Jays, if she insists.

and a good oul shag to top it off  ;)

He said no kids.
Post by: sammymaguire on March 10, 2010, 04:40:02 PM
 ???  ???  ???
Post by: magpie seanie on March 10, 2010, 04:45:26 PM
Some really nice hotels about and with the current economic climate some fantastic deals to be availed of.

For what its worth I'll mention a few from my recent experience.

Cashel House Hotel, Connemara. Absolutely stunning. Not cheap but its really worth going to. Food was magic. Such a relaxing place too.

Lough Rynn, Mohill - I'd go along with all said already about it here. Have stayed there a few times and they do some great deals. Restaurant and bar food excellent. Would place it just ahead of its sister hotel Kilronan Castle.

Knockranny House Hotel, Westport - had a grand stay there the weekend of the Ireland/France game debacle. We got a massive room/suite. Enjoyed the spa facilities and the food was fantastic as well. Got a great deal there pricewise. Again, not cheap but for what you get its not bad value at all.
Post by: Tommo2 on March 10, 2010, 05:01:03 PM
Went on a recent break to Dublin with the missus and younster. Was crapping myself a bit that it would cost a fortune with her shopping and the prices down there. But actually worked rreally well. She did plenty of window shopping, realised we could get it 30% cheaper in Belfast and bought nothing. Happy days.
Post by: DirtyDozen12 on July 09, 2010, 04:41:44 PM
Has anyone ever used this site for booking hotels in Ireland, seems like really good deals, want to go away tomorrow but would like to know if anyone has used this site with any success beforehand:

http://www.gnws-ireland.com/hotelsearch.php

Post by: ross4life on July 09, 2010, 05:02:31 PM
Quote from: DirtyDozen12 on July 09, 2010, 04:41:44 PM
Has anyone ever used this site for booking hotels in Ireland, seems like really good deals, want to go away tomorrow but would like to know if anyone has used this site with any success beforehand:

http://www.gnws-ireland.com/hotelsearch.php

It's powered by laterooms.com which i used many times..... should be fine
Post by: JimStynes on August 06, 2010, 10:46:10 PM
Any good hotels up around the north coast of antrim?
Post by: Hoof Hearted on August 06, 2010, 11:14:27 PM
Loads - The Royal Court and Magherabhoy in Portrush are very poular for the old weddings.
The Marine in Ballycastle was good too but not sure if its still open
Post by: Family guy on October 09, 2011, 11:17:30 PM
Right folks gona head away for the weekend of halloween,somewere down south,live in tyrone so not to far away,somewhere handy with decent nightlife,any suggestions?
Post by: ONeill on October 09, 2011, 11:18:25 PM
Quote from: Family guy on October 09, 2011, 11:17:30 PM
Right folks gona head away for the weekend of halloween,somewere down south,live in tyrone so not to far away,somewhere handy with decent nightlife,any suggestions?

Bundoran.
Post by: Family guy on October 09, 2011, 11:22:35 PM
Quote from: ONeill on October 09, 2011, 11:18:25 PM

Bundoran.

could do without there i think,just me and the woman goin her birthday bit of a treat,maybe spa for her and wee town for me to go for a few pints during the day and do a few ponies lol
Post by: ONeill on October 09, 2011, 11:31:39 PM
Quote from: Family guy on October 09, 2011, 11:22:35 PM
go for a few pints during the day and do a few ponies

WTF?
Post by: Family guy on October 09, 2011, 11:33:12 PM
Quote from: ONeill on October 09, 2011, 11:31:39 PM

WTF?

Spas wouldnt be my scene to be honest at all,let her at it for a few hours
Post by: Tony Baloney on October 09, 2011, 11:35:47 PM
Quote from: Family guy on October 09, 2011, 11:33:12 PM

WTF?

Spas wouldnt be my scene to be honest at all,let her at it for a few hours

WTF?
The depravity of the Tyronie.
Post by: sans pessimism on October 10, 2011, 08:40:41 AM
Quote from: Tommo2 on March 10, 2010, 05:01:03 PM
Went on a recent break to Dublin with the missus and younster. Was crapping myself a bit that it would cost a fortune with her shopping and the prices down there. But actually worked rreally well. She did plenty of window shopping, realised we could get it 30% cheaper in Belfast and bought nothing. Happy days.
my kinda lady
Post by: sans pessimism on October 10, 2011, 08:43:41 AM

Bundoran.
Naa-kip
Post by: ross4life on October 11, 2011, 06:54:25 PM
Mohill culchie festival is on halloween weekend & it's not far from Carrick on shannon (a place with a decent nightlife)
Post by: Family guy on October 11, 2011, 06:56:43 PM
Quote from: ross4life on October 11, 2011, 06:54:25 PM
Mohill culchie festival is on halloween weekend & it's not far from Carrick on shannon (a place with a decent nightlife)

Cheers ross might look in2 that
Post by: Redhand Santa on October 11, 2011, 08:06:13 PM

Bundoran.

Your geography wouldn't be great!
Post by: on the sideline on November 30, 2011, 10:53:49 PM
Family wedding in Ballybofey coming up in a few weeks. Had booked single room in Jacksons about 6 weeks ago, as i hadnt planned on taking anyone.  Started seeing someone about a month ago, and asked her to the wedding there at the weekend, rang Jacksons to see about changing the room to a double and they're fully booked.  Same with the Villa Rose.
Couple of questions:
1. Can two people stay in a single room in a hotel?
2. Has anyone ever tried this in Jacksons? And was it ok? i.e. any hassle with the hotel
Post by: Puckoon on November 30, 2011, 10:54:47 PM
I believe it's Rule 1 you are in breech of here.
Post by: on the sideline on November 30, 2011, 10:58:48 PM
Rule 1?
Post by: Tony Baloney on November 30, 2011, 11:49:27 PM
Quote from: on the sideline on November 30, 2011, 10:58:48 PM
Rule 1?
Throw up a photo of the new blade and we'll discuss Rule #1 afterwards.
Post by: on the sideline on November 30, 2011, 11:53:41 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on November 30, 2011, 11:49:27 PM
Rule 1?

:D Thougt he meant something like that - tho i did actually check the GAAboard rules just to make sure he wasn't on about those!
Post by: Tony Baloney on November 30, 2011, 11:57:55 PM
Quote from: on the sideline on November 30, 2011, 11:53:41 PM
Rule 1?

:D Thougt he meant something like that - tho i did actually check the GAAboard rules just to make sure he wasn't on about those!
Forget that Rule #1. The real Rule #1 is that you can't refer to a specific female without backing it up with a picture.
Post by: Ulick on December 01, 2011, 10:44:18 AM
Quote from: on the sideline on November 30, 2011, 10:53:49 PM
Family wedding in Ballybofey coming up in a few weeks. Had booked single room in Jacksons about 6 weeks ago, as i hadnt planned on taking anyone.  Started seeing someone about a month ago, and asked her to the wedding there at the weekend, rang Jacksons to see about changing the room to a double and they're fully booked.  Same with the Villa Rose.
Couple of questions:
2. Has anyone ever tried this in Jacksons? And was it ok? i.e. any hassle with the hotel

Is the wedding in Jacksons? If so you should be okay. If it's up in Keys or somewhere else you might have difficulty getting the two of you in at early hours as they have a security guard on the front door. 
Post by: on the sideline on December 01, 2011, 05:50:37 PM
Quote from: Ulick on December 01, 2011, 10:44:18 AM
Couple of questions:

Is the wedding in Jacksons? If so you should be okay. If it's up in Keys or somewhere else you might have difficulty getting the two of you in at early hours as they have a security guard on the front door. 

Wedding is in the Villa Rose.  Frig that, dont know what to do about it.

Quote from: Tony Baloney on November 30, 2011, 11:57:55 PM
Quote from: on the sideline on November 30, 2011, 11:53:41 PM
Rule 1?

Forget that Rule #1. The real Rule #1 is that you can't refer to a specific female without backing it up with a picture.

Tony if I was do do that I wouldn't have this problem anymore, cos there'd be no woman left to take!
Post by: Dougal Maguire on December 01, 2011, 09:07:35 PM
Couple of questions:

That sounds like the sort of caper Tyrone Girl would be up to
Post by: Milltown Row2 on December 14, 2021, 03:30:56 PM
With staying at home and not really interested in going abroad for a while I was looking at hotels for overnight stays or weekend breaks

Christ the night they are some price now, Slieve Donard has gone up in price somewhat since changing hands. I don't mind spending a few quid but it's taking the piss as is the likes of the Galgorm group
Post by: Rois on December 14, 2021, 04:12:52 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on December 14, 2021, 03:30:56 PM
With staying at home and not really interested in going abroad for a while I was looking at hotels for overnight stays or weekend breaks

Christ the night they are some price now, Slieve Donard has gone up in price somewhat since changing hands. I don't mind spending a few quid but it's taking the piss as is the likes of the Galgorm group
We got the Slieve Donard for a fairly standard price (£250 per room B&B for not-a-basic room) in early Jan.  Interested to see if the standards have slipped, as I've read.

A great place we enjoy (but doesn't have a pool) and that is usually pretty ok rates-wise is the Portmarnock Hotel.   
Post by: Milltown Row2 on December 14, 2021, 04:29:58 PM
Quote from: Rois on December 14, 2021, 04:12:52 PM

We got the Slieve Donard for a fairly standard price (£250 per room B&B for not-a-basic room) in early Jan.  Interested to see if the standards have slipped, as I've read.

A great place we enjoy (but doesn't have a pool) and that is usually pretty ok rates-wise is the Portmarnock Hotel.   

The problem I have is I'm bloody spoilt with work do's or conferences in the past, things ya aint paying for lol..

Was looking at The Salthouse in Ballycastle, seems expensive but views look great and the food 'looks' lovely
Post by: Rois on December 14, 2021, 04:34:02 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on December 14, 2021, 04:29:58 PM

The problem I have is I'm bloody spoilt with work do's or conferences in the past, things ya aint paying for lol..

Was looking at The Salthouse in Ballycastle, seems expensive but views look great and the food 'looks' lovely
I hear ya.  My last work conference was in Lake Como...

The Salthouse keeps popping up in my searches too. 

The newly redone Templeton looks pretty nice, but can't imagine going for a break to Templepatrick. 
Post by: Milltown Row2 on December 14, 2021, 04:38:20 PM
Quote from: Rois on December 14, 2021, 04:34:02 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on December 14, 2021, 04:29:58 PM

I hear ya.  My last work conference was in Lake Como...

The Salthouse keeps popping up in my searches too. 

The newly redone Templeton looks pretty nice, but can't imagine going for a break to Templepatrick.

The templeton is lovely though, we'd a wedding there in the summer and stayed, was very good, they are still doing stuff to it but I'd say most of the spa has been completed, friends room had an outside bath/jacuzzi thingy..
Post by: Tony Baloney on December 14, 2021, 06:50:01 PM
MR have fairly average reports of The Salthouse when you get last the lure of the views. We were in Slieve Donard at the start of the year and it was alright.  The spa area was partially closed so that part was a bit crap. It's prob still out favourite and when things settle we'll be back. Harvey's Point a few months ago and it was really lovely but that drive is a pain in the hole.
Post by: armaghniac on December 14, 2021, 06:53:46 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on December 14, 2021, 06:50:01 PM
MR have fairly average reports of The Salthouse when you get last the lure of the views. We were in Slieve Donard at the start of the year and it was alright.  The spa area was partially closed so that part was a bit crap. It's prob still out favourite and when things settle we'll be back. Harvey's Point a few months ago and it was really lovely but that drive is a pain in the hole.

Would you not hire a limo and do it style?
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on December 14, 2021, 07:06:49 PM
Down to the Grand in Malahide. Not as high spec as those mentioned but you fall out of it directly into Malahide village. All the pubs and restaurants you want and up the next morning with a Coastal walk to Portmarnock to blow off a few cobwebs. Or stay in the The Portmarnock and get the taxi/bus round to Malahide.
Post by: Tony Baloney on December 14, 2021, 07:18:10 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on December 14, 2021, 06:53:46 PM

The missus got one.
Post by: screenexile on December 14, 2021, 09:08:42 PM
A few have been mentioned but I'm a big fan of below hotels:

Farnham Estate
Slieve Donard
The Grand Hotel Malahide
The Galmont
Corick House
Post by: GAABoardMod5 on December 14, 2021, 09:28:49 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on December 14, 2021, 07:18:10 PM

The missus got one.

Yet another spoiler...
Post by: Captain Obvious on December 14, 2021, 09:37:56 PM
Quote from: GAABoardMod5 on December 14, 2021, 09:28:49 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on December 14, 2021, 07:18:10 PM

The missus got one.

Yet another spoiler...

Good man Ziggy  :D
Post by: Milltown Row2 on December 14, 2021, 11:03:38 PM
Hillyard hotel in Castlewellan anyone?
Post by: armaghniac on December 15, 2021, 01:51:18 AM
First prize one night in Castlewellan
Second prize two nights in Castlewellan...
Post by: PadraicHenryPearse on December 15, 2021, 09:39:12 AM
anyone been to the Heritage Killenard in Laois, has a Seve designed golf course beside it.... ? would you recommend
Post by: NotedObserver on December 29, 2021, 03:45:56 PM
Best hotel in the Hastings group? Got a Voucher for the group
Post by: Tony Baloney on December 29, 2021, 04:22:18 PM
Quote from: NotedObserver on December 29, 2021, 03:45:56 PM
Best hotel in the Hastings group? Got a Voucher for the group
Depends what you're after. If it was me I'd be ruling out the Stormont and Everglades straight away as neither Stormont nor a 2 hr drive to Derry appeal to me. Leaves the Ballygalley, Grand Central, Europa and Culloden. If you want a luxury hotel break then the Culloden your best bet. It is 5 star and therefore it'll be twice the price of the others. If you wanted a base for going out in Belfast,  one of the city options is obviously best. Anyone I know who has stayed in Grand Central hasn't been blown away by it. We have stayed in the Europa loads and have found it a great base for the city (handy for the M1 etc.) Ballygalley is nice enough, but it's near Larne ;)
Post by: Milltown Row2 on December 29, 2021, 06:23:34 PM
Grand central I thought was lovely, I suppose which view you got, we managed a good city view ( was our 20th anniversary) and they put a few wee extra touches to it, and the view from the top (while expensive) was nice when we headed back from being out.

Europa is nice, haven't stayed at Culloden so that be my pick, as for the Everglades, I used to take my dad away every so often on a city break,  we stayed here, was decent enough though not 'in' the city
Post by: Tony Baloney on December 29, 2021, 07:26:16 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on December 29, 2021, 06:23:34 PM
Grand central I thought was lovely, I suppose which view you got, we managed a good city view ( was our 20th anniversary) and they put a few wee extra touches to it, and the view from the top (while expensive) was nice when we headed back from being out.

Europa is nice, haven't stayed at Culloden so that be my pick, as for the Everglades, I used to take my dad away every so often on a city break,  we stayed here, was decent enough though not 'in' the city
To be fair all the gripes I have heard about Grand Central have been about the price of drink in the bar! It's not as if anyone is stuck for somewhere to get a pint in Belfast if they don't like the prices!
Post by: Milltown Row2 on December 29, 2021, 07:31:11 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on December 29, 2021, 07:26:16 PM

To be fair all the gripes I have heard about Grand Central have been about the price of drink in the bar! It's not as if anyone is stuck for somewhere to get a pint in Belfast if they don't like the prices!

Shouldn't be any shock about hotel prices in fairness, yes the observatory's prices are a step above, we got two cocktails each, was about £45 which wasn't as bad as I'd feared, we still have the glasses  ;)
Post by: Tony Baloney on December 29, 2021, 07:34:10 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on December 29, 2021, 07:31:11 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on December 29, 2021, 07:26:16 PM

Shouldn't be any shock about hotel prices in fairness, yes the observatory's prices are a step above, we got two cocktails each, was about £45 which wasn't as bad as I'd feared, we still have the glasses  ;)
You'd pay 45 for 4 cocktails in a run of the mill bar in Belfast these days.
Post by: An Watcher on December 29, 2021, 07:38:55 PM
Booked the Midlands Park for a few days away in February.  Seems decent enough but never sure with these things.  Anyone been?
Post by: Newbridge Exile on December 29, 2021, 08:41:49 PM
Quote from: An Watcher on December 29, 2021, 07:38:55 PM
Booked the Midlands Park for a few days away in February.  Seems decent enough but never sure with these things.  Anyone been?
Is that the one in Portlaoise?
Post by: Helix. on December 29, 2021, 09:37:46 PM
Quote from: PadraicHenryPearse on December 15, 2021, 09:39:12 AM
anyone been to the Heritage Killenard in Laois, has a Seve designed golf course beside it.... ? would you recommend

Decent hotel, downgraded from a 5* to 4* when FBD group bought it out. Got a night away in it a few years back complimentary after buying engagement ring from jewellers. Haven't used the golf course yet but haven't heard a bad word from lads that have played it. Spa in it is good, good thermal suite. Food is good any time I was there before, maybe a little pricy but portions were generally good when I was there.. Close to motorway, Emo Court nice stroll about 5-10 mins drive, Kildare village down the road for shopping.
Seemed to be a good few families in it around Christmas time. Have own cinema in it and movies for kids if you're into that.

Hope that's of use.

Quote from: Newbridge Exile on December 29, 2021, 08:41:49 PM

Great carvery in it. Food is excellent. Rooms seem to be good too. Kelly's steakhouse across the road is a must as well if you're into your meats. 
Post by: Newbridge Exile on December 29, 2021, 10:46:20 PM
Quote from: Helix. on December 29, 2021, 09:37:46 PM
Quote from: PadraicHenryPearse on December 15, 2021, 09:39:12 AM

Decent hotel, downgraded from a 5* to 4* when FBD group bought it out. Got a night away in it a few years back complimentary after buying engagement ring from jewellers. Haven't used the golf course yet but haven't heard a bad word from lads that have played it. Spa in it is good, good thermal suite. Food is good any time I was there before, maybe a little pricy but portions were generally good when I was there.. Close to motorway, Emo Court nice stroll about 5-10 mins drive, Kildare village down the road for shopping.
Seemed to be a good few families in it around Christmas time. Have own cinema in it and movies for kids if you're into that.

Hope that's of use.

Quote from: Newbridge Exile on December 29, 2021, 08:41:49 PM

Great carvery in it. Food is excellent. Rooms seem to be good too. Kelly's steakhouse across the road is a must as well if you're into your meats.
We stayed in it twice this tear, a great  family friendly hotel , I would second the comment on Kellys Steakhouse and also recommend the Charter Bar restaurant in the hotel as well  ( it has a good swimming pool too)
Post by: Milltown Row2 on January 03, 2022, 11:23:01 AM
Stayed in the Titanic hotel last night, lovely hotel and nicely designed with the old Drawing office and other notable rooms very much intact from the early 1900's . We thought it would have been quiet enough but it was nearly booked out.

Would recommend it, what I did notice and not at the hotel, we went for dinner and the bill was expensive though we had a voucher for the place, but they charged for food VAT and Alcohol VAT? Was this always a thing? As the prices on the menu were on the bill then an added tax on those?
Post by: armaghniac on January 03, 2022, 11:33:46 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on January 03, 2022, 11:23:01 AM
Stayed in the Titanic hotel last night, lovely hotel and nicely designed with the old Drawing office and other notable rooms very much intact from the early 1900's . We thought it would have been quiet enough but it was nearly booked out.

Would recommend it, what I did notice and not at the hotel, we went for dinner and the bill was expensive though we had a voucher for the place, but they charged for food VAT and Alcohol VAT? Was this always a thing? As the prices on the menu were on the bill then an added tax on those?

Are you saying that the prices on the menu did not include VAT? That would be plain illegal I would have thought. Or did the menu prices include VAT and they just broke out these elements on the bill?
Post by: Milltown Row2 on January 03, 2022, 11:41:43 AM
Quote from: armaghniac on January 03, 2022, 11:33:46 AM

Are you saying that the prices on the menu did not include VAT? That would be plain illegal I would have thought. Or did the menu prices include VAT and they just broke out these elements on the bill?

The prices on the menu were the prices on the bill, at the bottom of the bill had an extra which included service charge (only two of us so shouldn't be on it) tax on food and tax (20%) on alcohol. I've the bill somewhere so I'll check again, only noticed later on
Post by: armaghniac on January 03, 2022, 01:06:59 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on January 03, 2022, 11:41:43 AM
Quote from: armaghniac on January 03, 2022, 11:33:46 AM

The prices on the menu were the prices on the bill, at the bottom of the bill had an extra which included service charge (only two of us so shouldn't be on it) tax on food and tax (20%) on alcohol. I've the bill somewhere so I'll check again, only noticed later on

I'm sure there are people more knowledgeable than me on this matter, but I believe that you cannot quote prices to consumers and then add on VAT afterwards, you can only do this on clearly business to business transactions. So if providing a quotation for catering for a conference the hotel could say that it was £50+vat, but not on a menu given to someone who walks in off the street.
Post by: Hound on January 04, 2022, 09:08:33 AM
Unless business to business, under EU law you must quote retail prices inciusive of VAT. Dunno if there's an out for UK businesses operating outside EU now, but I doubt it.

Some outlets will state on bills what the VAT amount is that's included in the figures.. So maybe that's what MR saw ie 'VAT amount included above is XX' but not extra VAT added on.
Post by: TabClear on January 04, 2022, 09:58:05 AM
Quote from: Hound on January 04, 2022, 09:08:33 AM
Unless business to business, under EU law you must quote retail prices inciusive of VAT. Dunno if there's an out for UK businesses operating outside EU now, but I doubt it.

Some outlets will state on bills what the VAT amount is that's included in the figures.. So maybe that's what MR saw ie 'VAT amount included above is XX' but not extra VAT added on.

That is the most likely scenario. Hotels/restaurants need to quote the VAT on receipt for things like employee expenses etc
Post by: Milltown Row2 on January 04, 2022, 10:22:35 AM
I couldn't get the menu prices online, other that the drink prices, so couldn't see if the menu prices were less than the bill prices, just never seen or noticed that before, well unless when I've been in the states.

Post by: NotedObserver on January 04, 2022, 11:54:58 AM
The tax is probably a mark up or a tip?
Post by: Milltown Row2 on January 04, 2022, 12:54:32 PM
Quote from: NotedObserver on January 04, 2022, 11:54:58 AM
The tax is probably a mark up or a tip?

Service charge was on bill, as was the 12.5% food VAT and 20% drink VAT,

Like I said i can't see the food prices online, I'll check again as was looking through phone, just never seen it before
Post by: Rois on January 04, 2022, 02:20:42 PM
Post up a picture of the bill there - want to see how this ends. 

Just had a couple of days at the Slieve Donard in Newcastle and had a lovely stay.  The hotel was full but it didn't seem like it.  No extra VAT on the bill there. 
Post by: screenexile on January 04, 2022, 02:40:28 PM
https://www.titanichotelbelfast.com/uploads/documents/2022/Menus/Titanic_Hotel_DO2_V2.pdf

This is the only menu I could find online. . . is it the same one??
Post by: Milltown Row2 on January 04, 2022, 03:12:38 PM
Quote from: screenexile on January 04, 2022, 02:40:28 PM
https://www.titanichotelbelfast.com/uploads/documents/2022/Menus/Titanic_Hotel_DO2_V2.pdf

No stayed in Hotel but it was the Cubby Cherub where we went for grub,  I can't get prices of their website
Post by: screenexile on January 04, 2022, 03:32:44 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on January 04, 2022, 03:12:38 PM

No stayed in Hotel but it was the Cubby Cherub where we went for grub,  I can't get prices of their website

https://chubbycherubbelfast.com/wp-content/uploads/2021/11/Chubby-Cherub-Gatefold-a3-goils.pdf

Checked Tripadvisor and there are a few who mention the extra VAT charge on the Bill. Is it American owned? I know in the USA and Canada all prices are exclusive of VAT but it seems a bit mad to do that here it's definitely not the norm and fairly hikes up an already pricey menu!!!
Post by: screenexile on January 04, 2022, 03:40:52 PM
Also they could easily get nailed for false advertising as their menu doesn't include VAT when it should!!

https://www.gov.uk/marketing-advertising-law/describing-your-product
Post by: armaghniac on January 04, 2022, 04:44:59 PM
Quote from: screenexile on January 04, 2022, 03:32:44 PM

https://chubbycherubbelfast.com/wp-content/uploads/2021/11/Chubby-Cherub-Gatefold-a3-goils.pdf

Checked Tripadvisor and there are a few who mention the extra VAT charge on the Bill. Is it American owned? I know in the USA and Canada all prices are exclusive of VAT but it seems a bit mad to do that here it's definitely not the norm and fairly hikes up an already pricey menu!!!

Not only is it not the norm, it is illegal!
Post by: Nanderson on January 04, 2022, 05:00:35 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on January 04, 2022, 04:44:59 PM

at the bottom of the menu it says 'All tables have a discretionary 10% service charge added to their bill' but doesn't mention anything about VAT
Post by: TwoUpTwoDown on January 04, 2022, 05:29:34 PM
Has anyone on here ever stayed in Amber Springs in Gorey? Looking at it for the family over Easter.
Post by: balladmaker on January 04, 2022, 06:05:05 PM
Quote from: TwoUpTwoDown on January 04, 2022, 05:29:34 PM
Has anyone on here ever stayed in Amber Springs in Gorey? Looking at it for the family over Easter.

Have done, nice spot and has an outdoor area for kids .. conveniently located just outside of the bar area ;)

Will hopefully go back to it again some time.  It definitely caters for families with a good bedroom layout, onsite shop, loads of activites etc.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on January 04, 2022, 06:44:38 PM
Quote from: Nanderson on January 04, 2022, 05:00:35 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on January 04, 2022, 04:44:59 PM

at the bottom of the menu it says 'All tables have a discretionary 10% service charge added to their bill' but doesn't mention anything about VAT

Was added to bill, service charge is generally for parties of 6 or more, was just us two, I generally leave minimum 10% anyways, not concerned over that, but defo has the added VAT's on food and drink
Post by: TwoUpTwoDown on January 04, 2022, 07:10:13 PM
Quote from: balladmaker on January 04, 2022, 06:05:05 PM

Have done, nice spot and has an outdoor area for kids .. conveniently located just outside of the bar area ;)

Will hopefully go back to it again some time.  It definitely caters for families with a good bedroom layout, onsite shop, loads of activites etc.

Yeah by all accounts it's not somewhere you'd go on a couples retreat but sounds perfect for two children. They have a decent offer on at the minute with 15% off  for stays of 3 nights or more. Bit of a trip from God's country but sure if the children are quiet and the pints are decent I'd happily drive twice that.
Post by: seafoid on January 06, 2022, 09:05:40 AM

We did a few years ago. Very kid friendly, lots of things to do. Food good. No bodder.
Post by: Tony Baloney on July 05, 2022, 12:44:21 AM
Anyone stayed in The Marker in Dublin? (Significant) Wedding anniversary in August and had planned to go away but the prices and uncertainty isn't filling me with confidence, so going to give the hard-pressed hoteliers of Ireland some of my money  ::). Open to other options in Dublin or elsewhere in Ireland. Fancied the Shelbourne but at 500+ a night they can go and shite!
Post by: gallsman on July 05, 2022, 07:19:41 AM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on July 05, 2022, 12:44:21 AM
Anyone stayed in The Marker in Dublin? (Significant) Wedding anniversary in August and had planned to go away but the prices and uncertainty isn't filling me with confidence, so going to give the hard-pressed hoteliers of Ireland some of my money  ::). Open to other options in Dublin or elsewhere in Ireland. Fancied the Shelbourne but at 500+ a night they can go and shite!

The Marker a bit yuppy-ish for someone of your, ah, vintage, no?
Post by: Hound on July 05, 2022, 08:24:10 AM

5 star hotels = 5 star prices!

In terms of prestige and location, the Shelbourne and the Westbury are the best hotels in Dublin imo. Actually can add the Merrion to that, although  I've never stayed in the latter (cellar bar in the Merrion is a really nice experience, but haven't been there in a while so prices probably not good!).

I'd guess the Conrad is as dear as those 3, but not as good imo.

With all of those, you have a huge array of pubs and restaurants within a short walking distance.

The Marker on the other hand is down near the quays at Grand Canal Dock. Very handy for Point and the theatre but way less choice in terms of eating and drinking. And while it's only a 15 minute walk to Grafton st, it wouldn't be a great walk late at night (so defo get a taxi if you do that).

Post by: Tony Baloney on July 05, 2022, 08:50:59 AM
Quote from: gallsman on July 05, 2022, 07:19:41 AM

The Marker a bit yuppy-ish for someone of your, ah, vintage, no?
It's a good point as I did think it looked a bit young and hip, and I'm neither. I'm scrambling at this stage  :)

Cheers Hound I'll strike The Marker off then as didn't even check the location!
Post by: laoislad on July 05, 2022, 09:02:46 AM
Spend money on her and take her to the Shelbourne ya tight bastard!
I'd say you'd take her to the Travelodge in Ballymun if you could get away with it 😂
Post by: An Watcher on July 05, 2022, 09:04:51 AM
Haha no chance.  Ye can spoil her without paying those prices
Post by: Tony Baloney on July 05, 2022, 09:15:05 AM
Quote from: laoislad on July 05, 2022, 09:02:46 AM
Spend money on her and take her to the Shelbourne ya tight bastard!
I'd say you'd take her to the Travelodge in Ballymun if you could get away with it 😂
Farmers daughter so no way she'd be wanting me to spend that much money  ;D.

Tell me more about this Travelodge in Ballymun...
Post by: general on July 05, 2022, 09:23:10 AM
Amber Springs A* for a family break - nothing worse than not being able to relax in a hotel with children. We had a break at Easter time with another family and it was great. Kids happy, adults well watered.

I've used www.pigsback.com for breaks away - some excellent deals
Post by: Rudi on July 05, 2022, 09:31:36 AM
Stayed in the Galgorm for one night with the Mrs, ended up having dinner in the hotel. Very good & enjoyable experience. Spa was fantastic. People very friendly ie staff & guests. Very expensive all the same, but probably much cheaper than the equalivant down south. Had my first few pints of Heverlee too, went down well.
Only real downside was a good few Insta's types pouting for photos all over the place. Mainly young wans.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on July 05, 2022, 09:36:50 AM
Quote from: Rudi on July 05, 2022, 09:31:36 AM
Stayed in the Galgorm for one night with the Mrs, ended up having dinner in the hotel. Very good & enjoyable experience. Spa was fantastic. People very friendly ie staff & guests. Very expensive all the same, but probably much cheaper than the equalivant down south. Had my first few pints of Heverlee too, went down well.
Only real downside was a good few Insta's types pouting for photos all over the place. Mainly young wans.

Stayed at it with work before covid, great spot but way too expensive, ours was a feee two night jolly but wouldn't entertain their prices.

That insta crowd are f**king melters
Post by: Rudi on July 05, 2022, 09:43:37 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on July 05, 2022, 09:36:50 AM

Stayed at it with work before covid, great spot but way too expensive, ours was a feee two night jolly but wouldn't entertain their prices.

We had 250 sterling worth of vouchers, otherwise no way. 2 night stay looking at the guts of 900 sterling. Met a couple of friendly farmers from the Loup & Slaughneil. One of them knew my brother well - small world.
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on July 05, 2022, 09:47:15 AM
Quote from: Rudi on July 05, 2022, 09:43:37 AM

We had 250 sterling worth of vouchers, otherwise no way. 2 night stay looking at the guts of 900 sterling. Met a couple of friendly farmers from the Loup & Slaughneil. One of them knew my brother well - small world.

We were lucky enough to go with vouchers that more or less covered the cost of 'one' night. I'll hold my hand up and say it really is some spot but couldn't justify ever going back without a voucher. We priced a weekend in Spain for the same price for one night in Galgorm. Disagree about the Heverlee. Thought that for a 5 star plus venue the selection of beer is awful. BYO.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on July 05, 2022, 09:51:14 AM
Quote from: Jeepers Creepers on July 05, 2022, 09:47:15 AM

We were lucky enough to go with vouchers that more or less covered the cost of 'one' night. I'll hold my hand up and say it really is some spot but couldn't justify ever going back without a voucher. We priced a weekend in Spain for the same price for one night in Galgorm. Disagree about the Heverlee. Thought that for a 5 star plus venue the selection of beer is awful. BYO.

Guinness was great...
Post by: Rudi on July 05, 2022, 09:56:34 AM
Quote from: Jeepers Creepers on July 05, 2022, 09:47:15 AM

Would actually agree about the selection of beer, basically I had no option but to try Heverlee. Would also agree about the price of a foreign holiday V staying at Galgorm. The mrs was drinking Gin, wild price all together & she complained about the poor selection of tonic. The bar was fantastic for atmosphere, it was rocking. Great craic, with the singer trying to appeal to both religons, sweet caroline even got a spin. Got to say I have always hated that song, but great watching the left footers go mad to it. Celebrations started a week early. Some fine looking young wan on her own, chatting up 2 auld gougers, taking them for every penny (drinks wise) & leaving the eggits high & dry at the end of the night, priceless.
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on July 05, 2022, 10:07:42 AM
So, these Loup & Slaughtneil farmers - were they there together, and without wemen? Just so as i can get an oul bitta scandal goin round South Derry 😉😉

Where did ye end up goin for yer steak night 😃
Post by: Rudi on July 05, 2022, 10:39:46 AM
Quote from: quit yo jibbajabba on July 05, 2022, 10:07:42 AM
So, these Loup & Slaughtneil farmers - were they there together, and without wemen? Just so as i can get an oul bitta scandal goin round South Derry 😉😉

We ended up in Gilleys in the hotel for steak night, it was very good, but for 145 sterling I would have done as good a job. Would even had the fried spuds with onions too.  ;D

Didn't make it to the Wild Duck, in fairness did ring up & cancel. Would have been too much running, wanted to relax & smell the roses. The south Derry ones were good craic & very respectable, their women were sound out too, hate to dissapoint you  ;D
Post by: laoislad on July 05, 2022, 11:26:53 AM
Quote from: general on July 05, 2022, 09:23:10 AM
Amber Springs A* for a family break - nothing worse than not being able to relax in a hotel with children. We had a break at Easter time with another family and it was great. Kids happy, adults well watered.

Great place. Been with the family a few times. Kids love it.
Post by: trueblue1234 on July 05, 2022, 11:51:31 AM
Quote from: laoislad on July 05, 2022, 11:26:53 AM
Quote from: general on July 05, 2022, 09:23:10 AM

Great place. Been with the family a few times. Kids love it.

Going now in couple weeks for few nights. Any advice for anything that needs to be pre booked or things to do in local area? (3 young un's 9, 5, 2)
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on July 05, 2022, 11:58:05 AM
Quote from: Rudi on July 05, 2022, 10:39:46 AM
Quote from: quit yo jibbajabba on July 05, 2022, 10:07:42 AM

We ended up in Gilleys in the hotel for steak night, it was very good, but for 145 sterling I would have done as good a job. Would even had the fried spuds with onions too.  ;D

Didn't make it to the Wild Duck, in fairness did ring up & cancel. Would have been too much running, wanted to relax & smell the roses. The south Derry ones were good craic & very respectable, their women were sound out too, hate to dissapoint you  ;D

Too late. The stories out now. Ill try and retract  but cant promise anything 😃
Post by: Loughshore2022 on July 05, 2022, 12:02:34 PM
I stayed at the grimey 'My place hotel/hostel' in North Dublin in 2019 for a concert. It was the worst hotel I stayed in, it cost over £100 a night, very bad for the price. I have been in hotels in England for less than that and they were much better. The wooden floorboards kept creeking and the hotel management treated me like a criminal when I forgot to bring my ID. They eventually let me in when I showed them by bank card. One of the receptionists kept staring at me but I suppose that is a normal experience when you are an ugly incel loner, we are treated as vermin by society.

If I ever attend a concert in Dublin again I will just stay overnight in the airport lounge like I did after the Liam Gallagher concert. I was able to get the bus back to Belfast at 5am or so.
Post by: pbat on July 05, 2022, 12:09:22 PM
Heading to Singapore in October for 4 nights, always fascinated by the Marina Bay Hotel and wanted to stay in the it for at least two off the nights. Was expecting it to be very expensive but was prepared to suffer a bit of pain. Got it for 465stg a night so took the four nights.

Couldn't get Jurys in for that the Saturday night the weekend of the quarter finals for that.
Post by: Rudi on July 05, 2022, 12:21:44 PM
Quote from: Duine Inteacht Eile on July 05, 2022, 12:12:26 PM
My tool is above average size!

Us lads are over compensating for other deficits.  ;D

Keep telling yerself that ;D
Post by: Walter Cronc on July 05, 2022, 12:38:10 PM
Going to Fota Island for a few nights with family. Anyone ever been? If its crap don't tell me  ;D

Where should we go and explore in Cork City and along the coast?
Post by: bigarsedkeeper on July 05, 2022, 01:20:48 PM
Quote from: Walter Cronc on July 05, 2022, 12:38:10 PM
Going to Fota Island for a few nights with family. Anyone ever been? If its crap don't tell me  ;D

Went a couple of years ago with the kids, pre covid, and it was great. We stayed in one of the houses on the site but had full access to the pool etc. We booked the VIP tour for the kids in the zoo and it was some of the best money I've ever spent. Kids loved it, got to feed the penguins, monkeys and giraffes. I got to feed the lions and tigers, kids were too small to throw a steak or fish over the fence. We didn't tour about that much though, into Middleton and Cobh and went to the cinema in Cork one wet day. I'd recommend Ferret and Lee for food just outside the Jameson distillery.
Post by: Walter Cronc on July 05, 2022, 02:06:50 PM
Quote from: bigarsedkeeper on July 05, 2022, 01:20:48 PM
Quote from: Walter Cronc on July 05, 2022, 12:38:10 PM

Went a couple of years ago with the kids, pre covid, and it was great. We stayed in one of the houses on the site but had full access to the pool etc. We booked the VIP tour for the kids in the zoo and it was some of the best money I've ever spent. Kids loved it, got to feed the penguins, monkeys and giraffes. I got to feed the lions and tigers, kids were too small to throw a steak or fish over the fence. We didn't tour about that much though, into Middleton and Cobh and went to the cinema in Cork one wet day. I'd recommend Ferret and Lee for food just outside the Jameson distillery.

Good man. Appreciate that.
Post by: Mikhail Prokhorov on July 05, 2022, 11:53:05 PM
using reward points is a great way to stay in expensive hotels for peanuts

anyone paying 4/500 euro a night for a hotel are off their head
Post by: armaghniac on July 06, 2022, 12:25:54 AM
Quote from: Mikhail Prokhorov on July 05, 2022, 11:53:05 PM

At a time when rates are €500 there won't be many rooms available for reward points.
Post by: Rois on July 06, 2022, 05:44:04 AM
Quote from: armaghniac on July 06, 2022, 12:25:54 AM

At a time when rates are €500 there won't be many rooms available for reward points.
Managed to get the Radisson at the airport on Sunday night on reward points, couldn't believe it. We'll leave the car there for two wks so they will get plenty from us.
Post by: seafoid on July 06, 2022, 06:40:46 PM
What are hotels in the North like, price wise ?
Post by: delgany on July 06, 2022, 07:08:36 PM
Quote from: seafoid on July 06, 2022, 06:40:46 PM

4 * Hotel in Enniskillen, 4 nights with Breakfast, 2 rooms , for 3 adults + 1 child is £975. , 1st week in Aug, about £ 60  per night. Which is reasonable in current climate
Post by: thewobbler on July 06, 2022, 07:57:29 PM
Quote from: Duine Inteacht Eile on July 06, 2022, 07:21:09 PM
Over £120 per night for a 4* hotel room in......Enniskillen.
That this is considered reasonable in the current climate tells you all you need to know.
If the majority of people thought £60pp in high summer too much for a 4* hotel to charge, then there'd be no hotels.
Post by: seafoid on July 06, 2022, 08:06:27 PM
Quote from: delgany on July 06, 2022, 07:08:36 PM

4 * Hotel in Enniskillen, 4 nights with Breakfast, 2 rooms , for 3 adults + 1 child is £975. , 1st week in Aug, about £ 60  per night. Which is reasonable in current climate
Thanks. That does sound reasonable.

I was looking at a 4 star in France for 5 nights at €2000
Post by: Rois on July 06, 2022, 09:13:17 PM
Quote from: seafoid on July 06, 2022, 08:06:27 PM

Slieve Donard Hotel (nice hotel in a lively town in the Mournes, pool, spa, breakfast included) - around £200 for standard room for a night.  I thought that was OK - have paid more there.

Post by: gallsman on July 07, 2022, 07:56:59 AM
That this is considered reasonable in the current climate tells you all you need to know.

2 rooms, no? 975 for a week for 2 rooms. 60 quid a night in a 4* hotel isn't good value?!

Quote from: Rois on July 06, 2022, 09:13:17 PM

Slieve Donard Hotel (nice hotel in a lively town in the Mournes, pool, spa, breakfast included) - around £200 for standard room for a night.  I thought that was OK - have paid more there.

SD has always been nice, but pricy. Was going to get married there!
Post by: seafoid on July 07, 2022, 09:52:39 AM
Quote from: gallsman on July 07, 2022, 07:56:59 AM

2 rooms, no? 975 for a week for 2 rooms. 60 quid a night in a 4* hotel isn't good value?!

It's gorgeous and it's close to football country
Post by: Tony Baloney on July 07, 2022, 01:40:24 PM
Quote from: seafoid on July 07, 2022, 09:52:39 AM

Armagh is still a decent drive.
Post by: thedice on August 24, 2023, 11:31:28 PM
Any hotels in Belfast for a night or two with a young 6 month baby?  baby?
Post by: seafoid on August 25, 2023, 12:08:40 AM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on July 07, 2022, 01:40:24 PM
Quote from: seafoid on July 07, 2022, 09:52:39 AM

Armagh is still a decent drive.
I was in SD a few years ago. The coastal drive is gorgeous and there is a sort of GAA drive inland where you can go to places like Mayobridge and Carryduff to marvel plus there is the hurling on the Ards peninsula. Tyrone might be better for the football chat because it's a while since Down went down to Dublin and beat all comers.
Post by: manfromdelmonte on August 25, 2023, 08:12:07 AM

What are these reward points you mentioned here?
Post by: seafoid on August 25, 2023, 10:06:02 AM
Enniskillen isn't that bad. Fermanagh is quite interesting compared to a lot of Midlands counties.
Post by: armaghniac on August 25, 2023, 01:58:51 PM
Quote from: seafoid on August 25, 2023, 12:08:40 AM
I was in SD a few years ago. The coastal drive is gorgeous and there is a sort of GAA drive inland where you can go to places like Mayobridge and Carryduff to marvel plus there is the hurling on the Ards peninsula. Tyrone might be better for the football chat because it's a while since Down went down to Dublin and beat all comers.

and Ballyholland, of course.
Post by: theticklemister on August 25, 2023, 02:41:55 PM
Like to go into Liverpool for a night and stay over. Costs us about 25/30 quid in a taxi at end of night to get home. So sometimes when we are off we go in on a Thursday and we get a hotel for 50 quid. Park her up for the night for a tenner too.

On way back I asked the Mrs to check the price of the same hotel on Friday and Saturday. Friday was 120 and Saturday was 200. Nuts. Nightlife in Liverpool not bad on a Thursday too.
Post by: seafoid on August 25, 2023, 04:23:03 PM
Is much hotel capacity in the North used to house refugees from the war in Ukraine ? In the South I think it is more  than 30% .