GAA Discussion => Hurling Discussion => Topic started by: Asal Mor on December 23, 2009, 05:23:38 AM

Title: Cork hurlers 2010
Post by: Asal Mor on December 23, 2009, 05:23:38 AM
I was wondering if any of the Cork lads on here might be able to tell us how they are looking for 2010. I'd love to see the Cork hurlers back to their brilliant best next year but the odds are against them. They lost a lot of ground during Gerald McCarthy's 2 year mismanagement stint and a lot of the legends are no spring chickens anymore. There doesn't seem to be as much underage talent flowing through as in the other top counties - another indictment of the hurling administation in Cork, so it's going to be very difficult to challenge the likes of Kilkenny and Tipp next year.

Cork and Kilkenny games were always tight and nerve - shredding  from 03 - 06, but obviously Kilkenny stormed ahead after that to be become the undisputed heavyweight champs and the greatest team of all time, while Cork just started going around in circles. My question for the Cork lads is, now that ye have the right man in charge, can the damage be undone?
Title: Re: Cork hurlers 2010
Post by: Reillers on December 24, 2009, 01:02:04 AM
Quote from: Asal Mor on December 23, 2009, 05:23:38 AM
I was wondering if any of the Cork lads on here might be able to tell us how they are looking for 2010. I'd love to see the Cork hurlers back to their brilliant best next year but the odds are against them. They lost a lot of ground during Gerald McCarthy's 2 year mismanagement stint and a lot of the legends are no spring chickens anymore. There doesn't seem to be as much underage talent flowing through as in the other top counties - another indictment of the hurling administation in Cork, so it's going to be very difficult to challenge the likes of Kilkenny and Tipp next year.

Cork and Kilkenny games were always tight and nerve - shredding  from 03 - 06, but obviously Kilkenny stormed ahead after that to be become the undisputed heavyweight champs and the greatest team of all time, while Cork just started going around in circles. My question for the Cork lads is, now that ye have the right man in charge, can the damage be undone?

I'm looking forward to next season, very much so. We've had terrible preseasons for the past few years and that was a massive part of how poorly we went, especially last season.
A decent pre season is all we need. A nice, quiet pre season training. A nice, uneventful, peaceful winter. No one will expect anything from us and I would love to wipe the smile of each and every moaners face.

Newtown are Munster champions, they've been outstanding, and the twins, especially Ben, have been incredible so far this season, Naughton has done so well and looked much better. There are a few unhidden lads as well coming to the surface, which is always great to see.
A good year for Newtown is usually a great omen, a good year for Newtown has nearly always meant a good year for Cork in the past.

Michael Cussen has commited this season to the hurlers, which is great news. He's a target, who can win balls, and if Aisake is going as well as he's said to be doing, then we'd have a mighty pair up front.

Cork GAA has it's problems. We all know that, and it hauts this county so much. Imagine if Cork never had those internal disputes, never needed to strike because they got as good treatement as Kilkenny did, then who would have won what?
The inner workings of Cork GAA are rotted from the inside out but things seem to be on the way up and that's good to see. There were some real positives made against the CCB, and hopefully there'll be change coming, more so then we've had.

As for our underage teams..We have a good bit of talent, it's just because of politics and poor team selections, our lads haven't done as well as we would have hoped. But people forget that we've won a fair few Munster's. I mean twice we should have beaten Tipp last season. A replay and a win in extra time, and twice we shot ourselves in the foot.
It just hasn't worked out for us, hopefully this year it will because there are some gems coming in.

Kilkenny are due to come down from the same hill we did, it's only a matter of time, and something that even Kilkenny can't avoid.
Kilkenny were undisputed for the last 2/3 years, building on, with little or no walls put up in front of them, Cork were just spending those 3 years fighting amongst ourselves behind wall after wall.

They'll come down..hopefully Cork will go back up. To be fair I'd love to beat them next season, we've the players to do it, just haven't had the training last 2 seasons. Very little-no winter training. It hasn't been about the hurling, and that's where it needs to be at.

I'm sick to death of hearing KK being called the greatest team of all time, it's typical D4 type media reporting, fawning over their best players of all time..etc. Put todays KK team up against one of the greats way back when and we'd see a different story.
They've had a nice, easy as it comes, few years, I mean the Leinster Championship? Limerick, Waterford, neither being the best team there. No problems what so ever because they are the land of milk and honey.
Anyway....

I'm happy with Walsh, he looks very positive, he's not afraid to make tough calls, he seems like he's straight up with the team, the last few seasons haven't been about hurling, but off field matters, neccesary in a way, but had major impacts on it. He's trying to bring it right back to where it belongs, coming in with a clean slate. There was talk last season that Donal O Grady wanted to be interm manager, and if he had gotten that a lot thought that he'd stay on as manager, even though he said he wouldn't. He's just one of those guys who when he's in it..he's in it. And everyone was annoyed that he was over looked simply because the board didn't like him, and I'm glad in a way that he didn't get it, obviously I would have loved to see him back because he's one of the best managers out there. But it could have brought back that us against them feeling back into the camp, which while it still could be there today, Walsh brings no history. And a fresh break is what we needed. 

I'm very excited about the upcoming season. Cussen is going with the hurling, and I'd love to see what Walsh does with both of them, because, and I know club hurling isn't the same level as IC hurling, but feck it he's one hell of a hurler who can pick them out of the sky.

But though I've said how the CCB has impacted on the IC hurling and such, something that I haven't mentioned and is imo one of the biggest threats against hurling is Cork is the football, and I suppose that's the beauty and genuine tragedy of being one of the only genuine dual counties.
I mean if you just look at some of the hurling talent on that football team..it's a pity the days of the dual players are gone. Because f**k it, there'd be some winners..Cork hurling and football might have a medal or two more to their name if the dual player was still alive today.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on December 24, 2009, 03:35:46 AM
I was wondering if any of the Cork lads on here might be able to tell us how they are looking for 2010. I'd love to see the Cork hurlers back to their brilliant best next year but the odds are against them.

Asal as a Galway man what about the Galway footballers or hurlers? So far I've seen you mad for the Mayo footballers and now the Cork hurlers. Have you been smoking something that nobody has offered me yet?
Post by: Asal Mor on December 24, 2009, 09:12:07 AM
You're dead right GBB.  ;D  ;D  It's just that I've been reading Donal Og's book and it got me thinking. Not high on anything though, except maybe Christmas spirit, more's the pity.

Great stuff there Reillers. You sound very optimistic which is great to hear. Your views on Cork hurling are very well-informed and passionate as always. I can't agree with you about Kilkenny though. I think they are a phenomenal team - the greatest ever, and I'm a long way from D4. That's just my opinion based on the way they've destroyed all before them these past 4 years.

Walsh has the support and respect of the players which is a great start. Aisake and Cussen should be interesting alright. Imagine trying to defend a high ball with those two boys around the square. I didn't think much of Aisake last year but he was just back from Australia and should be a lot more dangerous this year. It will be vital that Sean Og, Ronan Curran, Tom Kenny and John Gardiner can get back to their best form. I don't think Donal Og's or the O Connors' performances have ever dipped much at all so I wouldn't be too worried about them.

It's shaping up to be a fascinating year in hurling, with Kilkenny going for 5, and Galway, Cork and Tipp in particular set to throw everything at them. I can't wait for the league to start. The league has gained  a lot more importance, largely thanks to Kilkenny taking it so seriously. Last year Tipp and Kilkenny went the distance in the league final and then the same in September. I think other teams will see that and give the league everything. Can't wait.
Post by: INDIANA on December 24, 2009, 10:37:43 AM
Reillers you haven't performed at underage because you don't have the players. That u21 match against Tipp that you keep talking about was hardly the rebirth of Jimmy Doyle versus Christy Ring. That Tipp team were beaten by Waterford who were then beaten by Clare so its a bit much to say thats evidence of a rebirth.

Cadogan wants to be a dual player- hence the reason why O Sullivan was recalled. Cussens is a good addition though he was miles more hurling in him then AOS.

And after what you said about Kilkenny is just more evidence of what garbage you go on about. A bitter Cork man. No change there then so.
Post by: heffo on December 24, 2009, 12:30:52 PM
Quote from: Reillers on December 24, 2009, 01:02:04 AM

A decent pre season is all we need. A nice, quiet pre season training. A nice, uneventful, peaceful winter.

Then tell the boys on your panel who are pulling in six figures a year from commercial endorsments to stay out of the papers so and keep their heads down.

Your comments about KK are a joke and show just how deluded and ungracious you are.

Post by: Reillers on December 24, 2009, 02:51:40 PM
Quote from: heffo on December 24, 2009, 12:30:52 PM

A decent pre season is all we need. A nice, quiet pre season training. A nice, uneventful, peaceful winter.

Then tell the boys on your panel who are pulling in six figures a year from commercial endorsments to stay out of the papers so and keep their heads down.

Your comments about KK are a joke and show just how deluded and ungracious you are.

What fairytale are you living in. Start naming out the players who get a 6 figure comercial endorsments?
And whatever one or two might get, you can guarantee that nearly every Kilkenny player and a few Tipp and a lot of players from all top counties in both codes get the same. Stop being so bitter ffs.

And what's wrong with me saying that Waterford and Limerick in the finals were no challenge? Are you telling me they were? You might want to take a look at the old score at the end of them.
What's wrong with me saying that they haven't had many walls up in front of them? Have they had any issues that we don't know about when it comes to managment?
What's wrong with me saying that they're due to come down from the top of the hill? All teams peak, and all teams come down from that peak. It's a natural life cycle of all teams, in all sports? Did you not know that? I mean whatever happens with new KK teams is another thing completely, but this KK team has hit it's peak, and there's only one way to go after that. It's a pretty common opinion.
And as for me saying that I don't think that they're the best ever team we've ever seen, again a lot of people have that opinion, if they play some of the true greats who had true battles all those years ago, I don't think they'd win, but that's pure speculation. We'll never know. Some teams have had easy finals over the years, Kilkenny had a few easy games as well, helped by a very poor Leinster Championship.

What's wrong with all of that? What's deluded about it? Just bitter whining from you ago, I mean really, cheer up, it's Christmas, most of us enjoy it..others well..I guess not.
Post by: INDIANA on December 24, 2009, 02:59:29 PM
Whats wrong with it is that they hammered the teams your precious Cork team couldn't beat. Go figure. Perhaps Santa Claus will bring you some cop on tomorrow.
Post by: Reillers on December 24, 2009, 03:10:31 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on December 24, 2009, 10:37:43 AM
Reillers you haven't performed at underage because you don't have the players. That u21 match against Tipp that you keep talking about was hardly the rebirth of Jimmy Doyle versus Christy Ring. That Tipp team were beaten by Waterford who were then beaten by Clare so its a bit much to say thats evidence of a rebirth.

Cadogan wants to be a dual player- hence the reason why O Sullivan was recalled. Cussens is a good addition though he was miles more hurling in him then AOS.

And after what you said about Kilkenny is just more evidence of what garbage you go on about. A bitter Cork man. No change there then so.

More people taken in by media ramblings, Cadogan might try and play dual but his preference is hurling, Cussen has decided to drop the football completely which is great for the hurlers. To be fair I think it's a brave choice to be a dual player these days. But it can work, I thought Cussen would try and make it work, but sure, he's a much better hurler than he is footballer.  ;)
It's a pity, the hurlers would have a much stronger team if some of the footballers played hurling, and same goes for some of the hurlers as well. Like I said, that's the beauty and tragidy of being one of the only genuine dual counties..never mind the rest of the sports, we'd have a few handy out hurlers who went the rugby route. Tomas O Leary is a very good example of that.

Look it's clear in the past that you really haven't much, if any clue about underage hurling, or any hurling in Cork to be fair, you've lived off D4 reporting, and I suppose that's where you got the info that Sully was being "recalled"..which isn't happening at all. Our underage hurlers are capable and have, beaten teams such as Tipp, if the right team is picked, if they're coached well, not just thrown onto the pitch in God knows what kind of positions, and given just the slightest bit of backing, instead of being treated like crap then we might see something different, if politics is left out and the right team is picked, and with a positive attitude. Then there'd be a different story.

There's change coming to the hurling panel, at least that's what they've been told apparently. A new energy, new players that haven't been given a fair go over the last season or two. A fresh start in a new a new regime, with hopefully, as it's rumoured a new captain. I wouldn't mind one of the twins or someone like Tom Kenny, that'd be a fresh start. A definite starter needs to get it imo, a bit of stability.

I'd love to see Shane O Neill play in his proper position for starters, I'd love to see another keeper given ago, even if it's just for the League, Donal Og's a great keeper, but feck it like it's gotten to the point that we need to give someone else a go for a while, just to see who they'll do. We've a lot of excellent keepers. We know how good Donal Og is, so we shouldn't waste the League without experimenting. Teams like Tipp/Galway, go in and want to win the League, I'd be just as happy having a totally new team for it and see how we go.

And what's wrong with what I said about Kilkenny?
Is it wrong to say that they've peaked? Every team does, every team will and every good team has. Cork, Kerry, Waterford, Tipp, is it not ok to put Kilkenny in that assumption as well? Because last time I heard it was a pretty common theory, they were out of this world good against Waterford, I've never seen a team play that close to perfection, you can't get any better then that, and for me, there's only one way you can go when you hit the top.

Do I think that they've had easy finals against Limerick and Waterford, yes of course..don't you? Did you not see those games..any of those games? Even just a little bit.

They're not imo the best team the games ever seen, t
Would Kilkenny win if they were put against some of the greats back then..can't see it. But of course that's just speculation.
Kilkenny are an excellent team, and will go down as an excellent team, when we look back in years to come they will be named amongst the greatest we've ever had.

But imo there have been better..is there someting wrong with that?
Do I think that they've had things easy, ya I think those lucky feckers have been so lucky, not on the pitch, not much to do with luck at all with the exception of the previous final just gone, they've gotten and won finals and games on merrit and pure talent alone, but luck off the field. It pains me to think of how much better Cork would have done if we had a CCB that was even a shadow of how good Kilkenny's is. They've never had to worry about anything except winning.

Do I get annoyed that people fail to remember who the better team was at the start of the decade, of course I do. It pisses me off that we could have won a 3 in a row, but threw it away. If we'd won 4 in a row and been as good as Kilkenny have been then we'd deservedly be getting the credit, but we haven't.
I'm as jealous as the day is long that Kilkenny will be called the team of the decade, they won 4 we won 2. And do I get annoyed when the media will pine over some KK players and completley forget about the likes of Corcoran, Deane, Ben O Connor? Of course, but that's what happened when you'll be called 2nd best. And that doesn't go down well, especially in Cork.

I don't think they've the best ever players either. Do I think any of them are as good as the likes of Ring. No. Do you?

And "garbage" what are ya, American? Well I guess that explains a lot of you're posts?
Post by: Reillers on December 24, 2009, 03:14:08 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on December 24, 2009, 02:59:29 PM
Whats wrong with it is that they hammered the teams your precious Cork team couldn't beat. Go figure. Perhaps Santa Claus will bring you some cop on tomorrow.

And those teams would be? What team have they "hammered" that Cork haven't beaten? Tipp, Waterford, Galway?
Do you not think that Limerick and Waterford were not pathetically easy for Kilkenny. Yes they were incredibly good, I mean close to perfection against Waterford, and bloody brilliant against Limerick, but neither even made it challenging, never mind a hard game? Do you disagree?

And the point you have about my post is one I didn't bring up? So what exactly is wrong with what I've said?

Post by: INDIANA on December 24, 2009, 03:23:16 PM
Quote from: Reillers on December 24, 2009, 03:14:08 PM

And those teams would be? What team have they "hammered" that Cork haven't beaten? Tipp, Waterford, Galway?
Do you not think that Limerick and Waterford were not pathetically easy for Kilkenny. Yes they were incredibly good, I mean close to perfection against Waterford, and bloody brilliant against Limerick, but neither even made it challenging, never mind a hard game? Do you disagree?

And the point you have about my post is one I didn't bring up? So what exactly is wrong with what I've said?

Read carefully while I spell it out for you.

In 2007 They hammered a Limerick team that beat a Waterford team Cork couldn't beat ;D

In 2008 they beat you by 9 points in the semi final.

Now repeat that back to me and I'll go through anything you don't understand. Why don;t you show them some God-damned respect you clown.
Post by: Onlooker on December 24, 2009, 03:26:09 PM
In all honesty, reillers, do you think that playing Cussen and Aisake in the full forward line is going to turn Cork into a Championship winning team.  If that is the best Denis Walsh can come up with Cork are in for a lean year.
Post by: Reillers on December 24, 2009, 03:30:19 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on December 24, 2009, 03:23:16 PM

In 2007 They hammered a Limerick team that beat a Waterford team Cork couldn't beat ;D

Now repeat that back to me and I'll go through anything you don't understand. Why don;t you show them some God-damned respect you clown.

But we have beaten them and we were the closest anyone else got to Kilkenny in 08.
You still haven't answered my question. The point you're harping on about isn't something I brought up in my posts.
And who exactly do you think you are. You've shown as much knowledge about hurling as a Kerry man, you site newspaper after newspaper and second opinions for you're soruces of information.
I've called Kilkenny a great team, now read real carefully through my posts again, and maybe concentrate on the part where I said that they were near perfect..they're a great team, does that mean I've to get sucked in like you're type and call them the best ever team without putting in some serious thought..please, you "clown." I mean grow up, if all you can do instead of replying to a post is insult, then don't bother posting at all. It's a waste of our time. I mean any time there is a genuine conversation to be had about Cork hurling, all you Heffo and OM do is ruin it and turn to your bitter opinions, moan, bitch and insult. Says a lot really. I mean have ye nothing better do?

I mean clearly you've shown you've no interest, knowledge, or any idea of the workings of Cork GAA, or much hurling in general to be fair, you've clearly stated how much you despise the Cork team so why bother wasting our time just posting insult after insult. Wouldn't it be much more productive posting on something you like, or getting a life or something. I mean why bother? Have you really nothing better to do the come on here and insult and moan all the time? What a sad life you most live.
Post by: heffo on December 24, 2009, 03:31:06 PM
Quote from: Reillers on December 24, 2009, 02:51:40 PM

What fairytale are you living in. Start naming out the players who get a 6 figure comercial endorsments?
And whatever one or two might get, you can guarantee that nearly every Kilkenny player and a few Tipp and a lot of players from all top counties in both codes get the same. Stop being so bitter ffs.

I'm not in the least bit bitter about any GAA player earning vast sums from commercial endorsements - the number one earner in this area in the country is from Cork and he made in the order of €250k in 2008 from commercial deals - the best of luck to him - there is no need for me to name him - it's clear who I'm referring to.

I do take exception to anyone who on the one hand plugs every product going and is in the paper every second day at another sponsorship launch, then appeals for a low-key winter.

Post by: Reillers on December 24, 2009, 03:38:31 PM
Quote from: heffo on December 24, 2009, 03:31:06 PM

I'm not in the least bit bitter about any GAA player earning vast sums from commercial endorsements - the number one earner in this area in the country is from Cork and he made in the order of €250k in 2008 from commercial deals - the best of luck to him - there is no need for me to name him - it's clear who I'm referring to.

I do take exception to anyone who on the one hand plugs every product going and is in the paper every second day at another sponsorship launch, then appeals for a low-key winter.

No, not at all. I asked for examples you haven't given any. You're post sound incredibly bitter and totally one sided. But you only seem to have a problem with the Cork players. Because I can guarantee you that the likes of Shefflin and Canning and co are getting a hell lot more then any of the Cork players, but try as you might to hide it, you've no problem with them, you're just so bitter about the Cork players. And trying to deny it is a bit of an insult when it's so blatantly obvious.

I cannot remember the last time I've seen a Cork player advertising anything or in any launch whatsoever, and these are Cork papers included. I've waited for an example and haven't been given one. You've talking bull and have nothing to back it up with.
And going by what you say then Kilkenny, Galway, Tipp, Dublin, Kerry..etc have no right to a quiet winter. Right?
Post by: Reillers on December 24, 2009, 03:48:10 PM
Quote from: Onlooker on December 24, 2009, 03:26:09 PM
In all honesty, reillers, do you think that playing Cussen and Aisake in the full forward line is going to turn Cork into a Championship winning team.  If that is the best Denis Walsh can come up with Cork are in for a lean year.

For the love of.. Did I say that they were?
But is it a positive thing that Cussen has chosen hurling over football when it comes to the hurling team. Of course it is. He's more of a chance of starting with the hurlers then if he was on the football squad.

I doubt you've ever seen him play, not many people have. And Aisake is said to have gotten his touch back and really come on in the past few months, which is again, great  for Cork.

I never said for one minute that they were our key to success, but it's a postiive.
Post by: deiseach on December 24, 2009, 03:50:36 PM

In fairness, heffo, it's not at all clear to whom you refer. At the risk of encouraging idle gossip, I'd like to hear a name
Post by: Reillers on December 24, 2009, 03:53:07 PM
Quote from: deiseach on December 24, 2009, 03:50:36 PM

In fairness, heffo, it's not at all clear to whom you refer. At the risk of encouraging idle gossip, I'd like to hear a name

Sure can't ya guess? Sure it's obvious.  ;) ;)
I mean you could take a guess, and he's such an easy target the lad I'm thinking of, just really can't remember the last time I've seen him or any Cork player in any paper, or launch..etc.
And besides, he's no proof, and nothing to back it up with, just his word, and by his posts, by his theories Kilkenny are in for one fuckin horrible pre season.  :D :D
Post by: INDIANA on December 24, 2009, 04:16:24 PM
Quote from: Reillers on December 24, 2009, 03:30:19 PM

But we have beaten them and we were the closest anyone else got to Kilkenny in 08.
You still haven't answered my question. The point you're harping on about isn't something I brought up in my posts.
And who exactly do you think you are. You've shown as much knowledge about hurling as a Kerry man, you site newspaper after newspaper and second opinions for you're soruces of information.
I've called Kilkenny a great team, now read real carefully through my posts again, and maybe concentrate on the part where I said that they were near perfect..they're a great team, does that mean I've to get sucked in like you're type and call them the best ever team without putting in some serious thought..please, you "clown." I mean grow up, if all you can do instead of replying to a post is insult, then don't bother posting at all. It's a waste of our time. I mean any time there is a genuine conversation to be had about Cork hurling, all you Heffo and OM do is ruin it and turn to your bitter opinions, moan, bitch and insult. Says a lot really. I mean have ye nothing better do?

I mean clearly you've shown you've no interest, knowledge, or any idea of the workings of Cork GAA, or much hurling in general to be fair, you've clearly stated how much you despise the Cork team so why bother wasting our time just posting insult after insult. Wouldn't it be much more productive posting on something you like, or getting a life or something. I mean why bother? Have you really nothing better to do the come on here and insult and moan all the time? What a sad life you most live.

I'm sick to death of hearing KK being called the greatest team of all time, it's typical D4 type media reporting, fawning over their best players of all time..etc. Put todays KK team up against one of the greats way back when and we'd see a different story.
They've had a nice, easy as it comes, few years, I mean the Leinster Championship? Limerick, Waterford, neither being the best team there. No problems what so ever because they are the land of milk and honey.
Anyway....

If the above isn't a lack of respect then I don't know what is. As for getting a life-

-I don't post 2 pages  of rehased versions of guff I posted 6 months ago

-I don't dis-respect the greatest hurling team of all time

- I don't live in never never land when it comes to assessing the merits of teams including my own

- i don't disrespect the small hurling community in Kerry in places like Lixnaw where they are every bit as passionate about hurling as anyone from Newtownshandrum is.

- I also thankfully realise when another team is simply better than my own and don't suffer from a rare form of Cork induced paranoid psychosis where we've all put in a Time Machine back to the days of Christy Ring.

Now hopefully Santa does the decent thing tomorrow.
Post by: heffo on December 24, 2009, 04:17:08 PM
Quote from: Reillers on December 24, 2009, 03:38:31 PM

I cannot remember the last time I've seen a Cork player advertising anything or in any launch whatsoever - You've talking bull and have nothing to back it up with.

Sean Og appeals for the papers to leave him alone - he just wants to keep his head down.

(http://www.cabmotors.com/images/seanogphoto2008.jpg)

(http://www.thinkhousepr.com/uploaded_images/IMG_3244a-787571.jpg)

(http://www.corkchamber.ie/galleryimages/669848e4eef093d62.jpg)

(http://www.sportsfile.com/winshare/watermarked/Library/SF440/RP0060181.jpg)

Post by: heffo on December 24, 2009, 04:23:03 PM

No, not at all. I asked for examples you haven't given any. You're post sound incredibly bitter and totally one sided. But you only seem to have a problem with the Cork players. Because I can guarantee you that the likes of Shefflin and Canning and co are getting a hell lot more then any of the Cork players, but try as you might to hide it, you've no problem with them, you're just so bitter about the Cork players. And trying to deny it is a bit of an insult when it's so blatantly obvious.

I'll repeat my original post for the dull-witted (such as yourself) among us.

The best of luck to anyone who makes a few quid on the side using their high profile.

Should that same player who is never out of the papers plugging whatever product then complains that he wants a quiet winter, then I'm going to call him a fool - irrespective of what county he is from.
Post by: Reillers on December 24, 2009, 04:23:58 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on December 24, 2009, 04:16:24 PM

Anyway....

If the above isn't a lack of respect then I don't know what is. As for getting a life-

- I don't live in never never land when it comes to assessing the merits of teams including my own

- i don't disrespect the small hurling community in Kerry in places like Lixnaw where they are every bit as passionate about hurling as anyone from Newtownshandrum is.

- I also thankfully realise when another team is simply better than my own and don't suffer from a rare form of Cork induced paranoid psychosis where we've all put in a Time Machine back to the days of Christy Ring.

Imo I don't think they're the best team that ever has been. IS there are problem with that? Is saying that their players aren't as good as Ring an insult? Oh well then..what was I saying about influences of the fawning D4 media?
You then repeat yourself over and over again, returing to insults, and same old rubbish you posts again and again and again. Like I said, all you do is moan about Cork hurling, have you nothing about to do then post on some internet site about a team you despise? A sad reflection really..

You're saying I'm insulting a great team because I'm said that they're not the best there's been.

And the fact that I say that you've no life because of well you're never ending ramblings here, and then you turn around and start listing (the same point over and over again..insult, insult, insult) why I don't, is a worse reflection on you then it is on me.
Is there something wrong with saying that they're not the best team there's ever been? What is wrong with that. Instead of overexagerating posts that I've said, you could just answer a few simple questions instead of throwing a hissy fit and trying to insult me left right and centre.

Like I sad the fact that you actually spend time on here, on Christmas Eve for that matter posting hateful, bitter comments about a team you despise says everything really..

My post was genuine, you were the one whos started throwing insults and moaning. Just whining, and just your usually abuse about Cork players, so I ask again, why bother wasting your time spouting abuse about a team you hate, I mean espeically on Christmas Eve, have you nothing better to be doing?
Like I said, it's a sad reflection really if you don't. 
Post by: INDIANA on December 24, 2009, 04:25:59 PM
Check the time of you post on page 1 reillers. Before anybody else did. You posted on Christmas Eve. oh the irony of it all.
Post by: heffo on December 24, 2009, 04:29:45 PM
Quote from: Reillers on December 24, 2009, 04:23:58 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on December 24, 2009, 04:16:24 PM

Anyway....

what was I saying about influences of the fawning D4 media?

I'm not aware of any media outlets based in D4??

Is there a single hurling correspondent in the country working for a national paper from Dublin?
Post by: Reillers on December 24, 2009, 04:29:53 PM
Quote from: heffo on December 24, 2009, 04:23:03 PM

The best of luck to anyone who makes a few quid on the side using their high profile.

Should that same player who is never out of the papers plugging whatever product then complains that he wants a quiet winter, then I'm going to call him a fool - irrespective of what county he is from.

Showing pictures from God only knows when doesn't really prove anything. And you were going on about Sean Og..I never would have guessed.

I'll ask you again, when was the last time you've seen this player in the paper, because you know, I live in Cork, we get Cork papers..etc. And I can't remember the last time I've seen him, or any other player for that matter in the papers? Now maybe you could enlighten us.

And if you have so much respect for these men, what has what they ALL are doing, Kilkenny players a hell lot more then any other player, including Cork, what has any of that got to do with having a quiet winter?
I mean, Sean Og advertising a CUL camp has no impact on the clubs v CCB fight. I mean, there is more to GAA, and GAA problems then IC players. And I'd love to know why you think that someone should expect a winter of hastle if they advertise anything..I mean by you're theory Kilkenny should be in for a horrible winter right? And they would deserve it, right? I mean, yes or no, a simple question.
Post by: heffo on December 24, 2009, 04:33:43 PM
Quote from: Reillers on December 24, 2009, 04:29:53 PM

I'd love to know why you think that someone should expect a winter of hastle if they advertise anything..

I'd love to be able to tell you if only I knew what a winter of 'hastle' was.
Post by: Asal Mor on December 24, 2009, 04:36:05 PM
Nothing wrong with a bit of healthy debate lads - sure that's what christmas is all about.

By all accounts Sean Og O Halpin is one of the out and out nicest fellas ya could meet.

I dont know about teams from the past beating Kilkenny Reillers. When I look at old games from the seventies and the eighties I'm surprised at how slow and amateurish they look now. Even a few beer bellies to be seen. The level of preparation has gone through the roof, and I don't think any team from back then would get within 20 points of Kilkenny.
Post by: Reillers on December 24, 2009, 04:37:17 PM
Quote from: heffo on December 24, 2009, 04:33:43 PM
Quote from: Reillers on December 24, 2009, 04:29:53 PM

I'd love to know why you think that someone should expect a winter of hastle if they advertise anything..

I'd love to be able to tell you if only I knew what a winter of 'hastle' was.

YOu know I mean hassle, just because I'm paying more attention to the ham then I am you which means there'll be the few spelling mistakes, then so be it, I'll get over it.
But there you go again, try actually responding to the post now..I doubt you will though.
Post by: Reillers on December 24, 2009, 04:39:46 PM
Quote from: Asal Mor on December 24, 2009, 04:36:05 PM
Nothing wrong with a bit of healthy debate lads - sure that's what christmas is all about.

By all accounts Sean Og O Halpin is one of the out and out nicest fellas ya could meet.

I dont know about teams from the past beating Kilkenny Reillers. When I look at old games from the seventies and the eighties I'm surprised at how slow and amateurish they look now. Even a few beer bellies to be seen. The level of preparation has gone through the roof, and I don't think any team from back then would get within 20 points of Kilkenny.

I'm talking more about player against player, teams skill against eachother. If the true greats were living now, and those teams were around now, and had all that preperation and such, talent v talent, I wouldn't have Kilkenny at the top of my list. They were a lot tougher as well back then, would be able to give as good as KK's tactics give today.  ;)
But no, Kilkenny wouldn't be on the top of my list, they might be near it, but not the top. But apparenly saing that is the greatest insult given if you look at the reactions here.  ::)
I mean I've heard people, these typical lazy reporters call Shefflin better than Ring, that's the kind of stuff that gets on my nerves. Call them great by all means, but like as good as the likes of Ring..I don't think so. I mean come back to me when he's 8 AI's.
Post by: Asal Mor on December 24, 2009, 04:51:04 PM
You're well entitled to your opinion Reillers. I liked the story in Donal  Og's book about Christy Ring and the Cloyne crest. It has a star on it which represents Ring. It also has a heart with a teardrop in it. The teardrop represents the sadness that Ring left and won his 13 county titles with Glen Rovers. It's also there to remind Cloyne that they must always in the future be strong enough that a great player will never want to leave again. Very touching I thought.

Anyway Im hitting the hay. It's 1am here in China. Happy Christmas to all the hurlers and hurlers on the ditches out there.
Post by: INDIANA on December 24, 2009, 04:55:32 PM
Because you're the only man in Ireland who thinks it Reillers. Unique. Then again you are a unique individual.
Post by: Reillers on December 24, 2009, 05:05:23 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on December 24, 2009, 04:55:32 PM
Because you're the only man in Ireland who thinks it Reillers. Unique. Then again you are a unique individual.

Hardly, if that's the first time you've heard someone with a different opinion than that then you really need to venture outside of those South Dublin walls.
Post by: INDIANA on December 24, 2009, 05:06:45 PM
Quote from: Reillers on December 24, 2009, 05:05:23 PM

Hardly, if that's the first time you've heard someone with a different opinion than that then you really need to venture outside of those South Dublin walls.

South Dublin? Wrong side of the Liffey chief.
Post by: Reillers on December 24, 2009, 05:18:13 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on December 24, 2009, 05:06:45 PM
Quote from: Reillers on December 24, 2009, 05:05:23 PM

South Dublin? Wrong side of the Liffey chief.

..Really? Could have sworn, well ya seemed like the D4 type..

Really though what is so wrong with me saying that they are one of the greatest intead of the greatest.
We'll never be able to know how the old Tipp, Cork, Kk, Offaly, Wexford..etc. teams of the past would go against the KK team of today.
We'll never no.
They're a great team, one of the greats, but the great? I don't know.
Post by: INDIANA on December 24, 2009, 05:27:05 PM
You're entitled to your opinion Reillers but your first post was entirely dis-respectful regardless of whether you think they are the best or not. And not to mind Kerry hurling . Un-necessary.
Post by: ringy on December 24, 2009, 07:35:27 PM
Im quietly looking forward to next season with a viewpoint that the league must firstly be taken with the up most seriousness. Delighted to see Cussen join the hurling panel. Having actually seen him play, he can do serious damage as seen when he came back from injury with Sars this season and also demolished Tipp in an under-21 munster final a few years back almost single handidly.

Looking elsewhere a little shake up in the back-line is needed, no doubt Oige will between the posts, in front of him Cadegon will be a cert for full-back, Walsh threw him into the deep end last year and sees this as a position Eoin will grow into. Either side of Eoin, hopefully Brian Murphy of old will be back with Conor O'Sullivan and shane Murphy the front runners for the other corner back slot, thought I'd Like to see Blackrocks Chris Murphy given an run out in the league.

The half-back line, well its hard to see Ronan Curran finding a place he's being shocking of late by his own impressive standards, he's has being in  these slumps before and came out trumps and hopefully he will do the same again, but I'd like to see a half-back line of Gardiner with Sean Og and Shane O'Neill either side of him. O'Neill, Corks best hurler IMO, is wasted in the full back line and needs to be released further out the field.

More than likely we will see a midfield of Jerry O' Connor and Tom Kenny but wouldnt rule out Tom falling back into the half-back line and even Jerry into the forwards, and Graham Callinan who was superb for Cork anytime I saw him last year getting in. the league will tell us more.

Now the forwards, Corks key problem is we don't have enough scoring forwards and something that will be essential to rectify during the league. Firstly who will the panel of forwards consist of, will Niall and Timmy Mac be included, Niall probably, Timmy its to hard to tell. Ben is a cert as is Hoggie (Patrick Horgan), the rest is difficult to tell and as I repeat the league will tell us more. Aisake is doing some serious off-season training, can Cork find a place for him and Cussen??? Pa Cronin doesnt offer much I've always found but alot of managers still found a place for him. It will be also good to see how the younger lads like Paudie Sull and luke O Farrell do. A bit early for Newtowns Jamie Coughlan I think

Far to early to judge but I'll give it a go any way, a fit a Cork team for the Championship

1: Donal Og
2: Shane Murphy
3: Eoin Cadegon
4: Brian Murphy
5: Shane O' Neill
6: John Gardiner
7: Sean Og O Hailpean
8: Graham Callinan
9: Tom Kenny
10: Ben O' Connor
11: Niall McCarthy
12: Jerry O' Connor
13: Aisake O Hailpean
14: Michael Cussen
15: Patrick Horgan

Come the end of April I'd expect and you know what I hope I'll be predicting a different team in player and positional sense
Post by: INDIANA on December 24, 2009, 08:30:18 PM
Quote from: ringy on December 24, 2009, 07:35:27 PM
Im quietly looking forward to next season with a viewpoint that the league must firstly be taken with the up most seriousness. Delighted to see Cussen join the hurling panel. Having actually seen him play, he can do serious damage as seen when he came back from injury with Sars this season and also demolished Tipp in an under-21 munster final a few years back almost single handidly.

Looking elsewhere a little shake up in the back-line is needed, no doubt Oige will between the posts, in front of him Cadegon will be a cert for full-back, Walsh threw him into the deep end last year and sees this as a position Eoin will grow into. Either side of Eoin, hopefully Brian Murphy of old will be back with Conor O'Sullivan and shane Murphy the front runners for the other corner back slot, thought I'd Like to see Blackrocks Chris Murphy given an run out in the league.

The half-back line, well its hard to see Ronan Curran finding a place he's being shocking of late by his own impressive standards, he's has being in  these slumps before and came out trumps and hopefully he will do the same again, but I'd like to see a half-back line of Gardiner with Sean Og and Shane O'Neill either side of him. O'Neill, Corks best hurler IMO, is wasted in the full back line and needs to be released further out the field.

More than likely we will see a midfield of Jerry O' Connor and Tom Kenny but wouldnt rule out Tom falling back into the half-back line and even Jerry into the forwards, and Graham Callinan who was superb for Cork anytime I saw him last year getting in. the league will tell us more.

Now the forwards, Corks key problem is we don't have enough scoring forwards and something that will be essential to rectify during the league. Firstly who will the panel of forwards consist of, will Niall and Timmy Mac be included, Niall probably, Timmy its to hard to tell. Ben is a cert as is Hoggie (Patrick Horgan), the rest is difficult to tell and as I repeat the league will tell us more. Aisake is doing some serious off-season training, can Cork find a place for him and Cussen??? Pa Cronin doesnt offer much I've always found but alot of managers still found a place for him. It will be also good to see how the younger lads like Paudie Sull and luke O Farrell do. A bit early for Newtowns Jamie Coughlan I think

Far to early to judge but I'll give it a go any way, a fit a Cork team for the Championship

Come the end of April I'd expect and you know what I hope I'll be predicting a different team in player and positional sense

Jaysus a reasoned post from a Cork hurling fan. A welcome change. Good man ringy.
Post by: Reillers on December 25, 2009, 12:02:22 AM
Quote from: ringy on December 24, 2009, 07:35:27 PM

I agree with you in a lot of what you've said.
But I wouldn't mind seeing another keeper in goals, at least for the League, but you're right, unless he's really outplayed he'll be in goals for the championship.
The others, and I know Gardiner is only 26, he just seems so stale. Niall McCarthy's another one.
I'm not sure about playing Jerry in the middle. He might be as productive and more effective up front.
How would you feel about Sully Og being played in the backline? People have suggested it, I've said he's an out and out forward, but he's been shoved into the back a few times (another amazing tribute to the underage coaching) but he seems to have settled and looks good when he's been shoved in there. He hasn't been able to recapture that incredible form he had before he got injured, especially with the IC team, which is dissapointing, but a place him in the backline is a thought.
I'm not sure Horgan would be a deffinite starter.
I think on current for we need to find a place for Naughton, where his best position is, on the wing or in the middle, well that's another question.
Where Shane O Neill's best position is also a question that needs answering.
He's needed in the backline but he can play in the middle, and do so bloody well.

I want to see what the panel is, I want to hear what the so called changes that will happen are. I know that a few players aren't on the panel anymore. No one major, but still..some have gone abroad, one left for study or something. There are 2 or 3 gone I think, but no one major.

I'm delighted Cussen is playing with the hurlers, he'll have much more of a chance of starting with them, instead of being on the football squad. Cadogan, well if he plays dual, fair play to him. I only wish Ciaran Sheehan, Aidan Walsh, Colm O Neill etc. made the same choice. I mean we'd have a much stronger panel if they did. 

As talented as this young lad Coughlan is, and he's been excellent, it'd be totally unfair on the lad to put him in there now. I mean what you have to do is, if you really love hurling, go watch Newtown play. The type of game that they play at their best is incredible to watch. As good as Kilkenny are, that style that Cork played, and Newtown perfected, is just incredible, and nicer on the eye. Everything good about Newtown represents a lot of what's good about Cork.

What do you think of the idea of a new captain? Someone like Tom Kenny, even one of the twins, maybe Ben again? Something fresh, someone new?

Walsh is making all the right noises and all the right sounds that suggest that it should be a good, new years, with a lot of changes..at least I hope so anyway.
Post by: Zulu on December 25, 2009, 12:13:11 AM
QuoteI only wish Ciaran Sheehan, Aidan Walsh, Colm O Neill etc. made the same choice. I mean we'd have a much stronger panel if they did.

Better off with the footballers and I'm glad they've made the right choice.
Post by: Reillers on December 25, 2009, 12:27:54 AM
Quote from: Zulu on December 25, 2009, 12:13:11 AM
QuoteI only wish Ciaran Sheehan, Aidan Walsh, Colm O Neill etc. made the same choice. I mean we'd have a much stronger panel if they did.

Better off with the footballers and I'm glad they've made the right choice.

Ya, just a pity that they couldn't do both. Pity that the dual player is all but gone. It wouldn't really be feasible these days, especially if both teams are genuine contenders.

That's me done, Santa's been. Happy Christmas all.
Post by: cicfada on December 26, 2009, 04:04:01 PM
Happy Christmas to all.  I don't know where Cork are going to get their forwards to put up a challenge for next year, Honestly if they are relying on Niall mc Carthy then things are bad! And living in Cork as I do, I can't see where the other forwards are either! Cork have loads of backs but relying on Ben O'Connor won't do either! He will be tired after the long club season as well, don't forget!! The one thing Cork have going for them against Tipp is playing them at home when  no one will expect them to win! Everyopne expects Tipp to win the AI  next year and that is dangerous in itself! They might take their eye off the ball in other matches!! As for players making money in endorsements  I have no problem with that but Reillers, you must not be buying the papers on a regular basis if you haven't seen Sean Og regularly launching this product and that! Good luck to him, he's a sound man and an-dilis to the Gaeilge also!!  Michael Cussen would still be playing football too if Counihan had brought him on against Kerry in the Ai final at full forward...the move that was cried out for!!
Post by: Reillers on December 29, 2009, 05:03:53 PM
Cusack fighting fit after accident in training

By Michael Moynihan

Monday, December 28, 2009

CORK hurling manager Denis Walsh can rest easy with the news that his goalkeeper Donal Óg Cusack has overcome a potentially serious training accident suffered on Saturday.

The Cloyne clubman slipped and struck his head while training and was taken to hospital in Cork for observation, but was released the same evening with no after-effects from the tumble.

Read more: http://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/cusack-fighting-fit-after-accident-in-training-108549.html#ixzz0b67CEPA5

Got very lucky there.
Post by: heffo on December 30, 2009, 12:06:35 PM
Quote from: Reillers on December 29, 2009, 05:03:53 PM

By Michael Moynihan

CORK hurling manager Denis Walsh can rest easy with the news that his goalkeeper Donal Óg Cusack has overcome a potentially serious training accident suffered on Saturday.

The Cloyne clubman slipped and struck his head while training and was taken to hospital in Cork for observation, but was released the same evening with no after-effects from the tumble.

Read more: http://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/cusack-fighting-fit-after-accident-in-training-108549.html#ixzz0b67CEPA5

Got very lucky there. Could have been a lot worse. Was with Sean Og and Cusack fighting fit after accident in training
and Donal Burke, the physical coach when it happened. An ambulance was called, and he was released the same day thankfully.
Could have been a lot worse.

Thank the Lord for that.

Thanks for the little analysis too Reillers-lad.
Post by: Reillers on December 30, 2009, 12:31:27 PM
Quote from: heffo on December 30, 2009, 12:06:35 PM

By Michael Moynihan

Got very lucky there. Could have been a lot worse. Was with Sean Og and Cusack fighting fit after accident in training
and Donal Burke, the physical coach when it happened. An ambulance was called, and he was released the same day thankfully.

Thank the Lord for that.

:D :D Was typing out what happened when I found the thing from the examiner, forgot to delete that part. :D :D
And I can feel you sincerity from here.
Post by: heffo on January 04, 2010, 09:35:31 PM
Quote from: Reillers on December 30, 2009, 12:31:27 PM

By Michael Moynihan

Thank the Lord for that.

:D :D Was typing out what happened when I found the thing from the examiner, forgot to delete that part. :D :D

No harm, no foul Reillers.

All set for the Waterford Crystal cup and the twin towers up front?
Post by: Reillers on January 05, 2010, 02:36:12 AM
Quote from: heffo on January 04, 2010, 09:35:31 PM
Quote from: Reillers on December 30, 2009, 12:31:27 PM

By Michael Moynihan

Thank the Lord for that.

No harm, no foul Reillers.

All set for the Waterford Crystal cup and the twin towers up front?

Who knows..
Apparently 6 are gone off the panel according to the Echo, 4 dropped, 2 left. Don't know who, just rumours.

Aisake and Cussen..Don't know.

Em, picking a team will be interesting enough, we'll have none of the college lads, which rules out a truck load of them who probably would have been played..

But their time will come in the League hopefully.

I don't know how much Walsh has shaken it up, I couldn't predict who he'll start, who he'll try..etc.

There's apparently a new captain if you believe rumours, which I want, which we need.
We need a dead set starter to be captain, we don't want to have to be carrying dead weight. Not like when we had Mulcahy as captain in 06, all these years later and we've got lads still going on about how he cost us the 3 in a row. ;)

I think a sensible pick would be best. I'd like to see something totally different, and for me, I'd almost be tempted to go with Shane O Neill (IN HIS RIGHT POSITION), new reigime, new start. If not him, Tom Kenny maybe. There are a few options. It'll be interesting to see if there's a change, who he's picked.

Anyway..

Cussen had a go up front in a challenge match against CIT. Word is that he played well at ff, scored a few points and caused havoc up there, was a real handfull.
He's a very smart player and players with a good head on them would play well off him, and pick up great breaks as well.

He was up front with Mark Collins and Luke O Farrel, there were a good few in there who I think are pretty promising young lads..
Darragh Rodgers is a very promising young lad. An excellent player, a lot of potential in him. 
Luke Farrell, is another, he played with the intermediates last season, deffinetly one for me to break through.
Jerry O Mahony, as well, he was brilliant with the club, he's real potential.

There will be some guys, because of college will miss out on a chance to play for that team.
The likes of John O Callaghan (injury free) I want to see given a go, William Egan, outstanding with the Duhallow U21s. Leigh Desmond has been around for a season or so, but he's a great prospect as well. Seems to improve every time he takes to the pitch. He was brilliant with the intermediates and I really hope he gets a chance this year.

Some players that are around on the fringes that I hope to see do better.
I mean, Paudie O Sullivan..so infuriating. The talents there, we all saw it. Why he can't produce it is a mystery in itself. It'd be one thing if he wasn't good enough at IC level, but he is, he was outstanding. He just hasn't done it with Cork, except for when he was put in with the backs. He was so good before he got injured, and he still is, that talent doesn't just disappear. Hopefully the year off will have done him good.

It's time for some young players to step up, and it's time for the "undroppables" to be given a shake up. To be fair, they know it, (according to Donal Og's book anyway) It's just a matter of dropping some of the undroppables and giving youth a go. DO what the footballers did, 2 panels, and a lot of sensible rotation. Where we get these guys used as much and as positively as possible. 

It'll be an interesting season in Cork.
Post by: CompulsoryTillager on January 05, 2010, 09:33:34 AM
New captain is Kieran Murphy
Post by: Reillers on January 05, 2010, 11:17:11 AM
Quote from: CompulsoryTillager on January 05, 2010, 09:33:34 AM
New captain is Kieran Murphy

Beat me to it.  ;)

To be fair, Fraggie is one of the hardest working players on the pitch. Not sure if he'll get his position or not though.

Shane O'Neill is vice captain, delighted to hear that.
Post by: CompulsoryTillager on January 05, 2010, 06:40:41 PM
I think being captain will give him more cofidence knowing that he doesn't have to be looking over his shoulder expecting to be the first player withdrawn, and he'll flourish
Post by: Reillers on January 05, 2010, 08:15:32 PM
Quote from: CompulsoryTillager on January 05, 2010, 06:40:41 PM
I think being captain will give him more cofidence knowing that he doesn't have to be looking over his shoulder expecting to be the first player withdrawn, and he'll flourish

True, thinking about it now, it's more astute in terms of who didn't get it. I mean you no matter who's appointed captain there are some really strong leaders in the panel, captaincy or no captaincy, they're still leaders. I think they picked well. He's well respected within the squad, but he's not controversial either.
He's a fresh face for the media, there's no history there, there's no baggage.

And I think the captaincy will give him the motivation he needs to get back to where he was. He had a hard year or two with the club with all the issues with the strike and such.

With Fraggie as captain (which doesn't guarantee him a spot) and Shane O'Neill as vice captain are both excellent choices. Two uncontroversial, popular choices. A new start.   
Post by: INDIANA on January 06, 2010, 06:03:45 PM
Timmy Mac has retired I see. One of the few Cork hurlers I'd have had any time for. Great servant. Unlike a lot of the rest.
Post by: Reillers on January 06, 2010, 06:13:39 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on January 06, 2010, 06:03:45 PM
Timmy Mac has retired I see. One of the few Cork hurlers I'd have had any time for. Great servant. Unlike a lot of the rest.

Timmy's gone. As it said on the echo, 4 dropped, 2 retired. Timmy is one of the ones who retired.

Post by: heffo on January 06, 2010, 07:14:17 PM
Quote from: Reillers on January 06, 2010, 06:13:39 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on January 06, 2010, 06:03:45 PM

Timmy's gone. As it said on the echo, 4 dropped, 2 retired. Timmy is one of the ones who retired.

Who are the four dropped?
Post by: Reillers on January 14, 2010, 03:03:43 PM
Cork (SH v UCC): M Coleman; S Murphy, D Cunningham, R Ryan; D Rodgers, A Ryan, J Nagle; G Callanan, W Egan; M Harrington, C McCarthy, M O'Sullivan; P O'Sullivan, M Cussen, A Walsh.

Subs: A Kennedy, D McSweeney, J Neville, M Ellis, D O'Callaghan, A O hAilpin, M O'Sullivan, S O'Brien and S Cronin.

Team against UCC for the first Waterford Crystal Cup game.
Obviously the big names aren't involved and unfortanately a lot of players I would have liked seen, and I think nearly all of us would have like seen given a go are all college tied. But they'll get their chance in the League.

Thankfully the rumours about Shane Murphy were untrue, that he hasn't left the panel. He did a good job last season, would have been a pity if he had left.
A few lads, on the team/squad, hopefully will be able to break into the senior team because there's talent there.
And as for Mark Ellis, good enough to have a run out with the seniors, but not good enough to be selected for the minors, and we wonder why with such talented selectors that we're not winning underage titles. I mean God forbid that the right team is picked..we can only hope.
Post by: Reillers on January 15, 2010, 10:29:27 PM
Cronin injury blow for Cork

Friday January 15 2010

The Cork hurlers have suffered a blow with the news that Pa Cronin is set to miss the entire NHL campaign because of a knee injury.

Cronin is facing at least three months on the sidelines with the injury, but manager Denis Walsh is hoping he will have regained full fitness in time for the Munster SHC opener against Tipperary in Pairc Ui Chaoimh on May 31.

Cronin has suffered a recurrence of a cartilage injury which he previously had surgery on.

..A blow, but, we now must look at other ball winning half forward, Pa Cronin had a lot of pressure on him after being taken out of underage and thrown right into the starting team and was expected to win us ball each time.
He's a lot of potential and he's suffered a bit from poor training, he's not been as crisp in games as he should have been.
But hopefully he'll come good.
Post by: orangeman on January 17, 2010, 05:05:20 PM
Curran is talking up Cork's chances 2010-2019

Ronan Curran believes that the Cork hurling team are capable of rediscovering their form and becoming a major force for the next decade.
Cork made it to four consecutive All-Ireland finals from 2003 to 2006 and Curran thinks that they have the talent in place to reach those heights again.

'It's not as if the Cork teams of the noughties is now gone. None of the players who played last year could be considered to be at the end and hopefully we will form part of the Cork team of the teens too,' Curran told the Irish Examiner.

'We're making a big push now, we're getting a good winter in and we're very hopeful. I wouldn't say that the end of the decade means the end of an era, it might be the start of a new era for some of the younger fellas.'

Curran also wants the Rebels to be remembered for their performances on the field as opposed to their high-profile disputes off it.

'Obviously things had to be done at times and there were mistakes made on all sides, but what we want to remember is the hurling, the battles we had on the pitch and the friends we made,' Curran said.

'Naturally some people will point to other events, but for the players, the main thing was on the pitch, and helping Cork to win was always the motivating factor for everything we did.

'It wouldn't bother me personally, or I think anyone else on the panel, if people disagree with us, as everybody is entitled to their opinion. Fellas obviously care what people think, but as a group, we always tried to do the best thing on and off the pitch. People have faults, everyone has faults, but we always tried to do what we thought was best.'

Post by: Reillers on February 11, 2010, 03:37:17 PM
http://www.independent.ie/sport/hurling/noone-is-too-big-to-be-dropped-2058007.html (http://www.independent.ie/sport/hurling/noone-is-too-big-to-be-dropped-2058007.html)

Thursday February 11 2010

REPUTATIONS based on achievements from the last decade will count for nothing as Denis Walsh prepares to take Cork into the new hurling season without the baggage which weighed them down in the early months of the last two years.

Walsh, who replaced Gerald McCarthy as manager following a players' strike last spring, had no real opportunity to impose his personality on the panel in the hectic months that followed, but has been concentrating on that aspect amid the fresh harmony which currently exists on Leeside.

"Getting to know and understand the players has been a big priority for me. I had very little time to do that last year but it's different now," he said. "When I went in last year it was a question of trying to get momentum going as quickly as possible, but everybody else was well ahead at that stage. We're going in on a level playing pitch this time."

Steely

Essentially, Walsh was operating off an inherited panel, but he's now in the job for more than 10 months, which has enabled him to make his own assessments. Several of the squad have two or three All-Ireland medals and have also proven that they possess a steely resolve off the field, as demonstrated in their battles with the county board.

Consequently, there's now a huge interest -- inside and outside Cork -- in how Walsh will structure the side. How difficult would he find it to omit some of the experienced names who have big reputations as forceful personalities?

"Look, it's very simple. The team will be chosen on the basis of who's playing well. Anyone who's not going well won't be chosen, those who are will. Everybody in the squad knows that," said Walsh.

He has long since drawn a large black line under some of the most troubled chapters in Cork hurling history and is now looking forward to a season which they are approaching on the same basis as everybody else.

"It's about hurling, it's about getting ready for games and it's about winning as many as you can," Walsh continued. "We have a really competitive league schedule ahead which I'm looking forward to because it gives us seven games to test ourselves against the best in the country before we head for the championship."

Walsh was speaking at the launch of the 2010 Allianz National Hurling Leagues yesterday, accompanied by two of his biggest rivals. Brian Cody and Liam Sheedy, bosses of the country's top two counties over the past couple of years, talked of how their commitment to the league would be as intense as ever.

Cody, who has steered Kilkenny to seven All-Irelands and five National Leagues in the last decade, will never deviate from what has been the most successful formula in hurling history.

"Of course we want to win the league. Why play in it otherwise? It has served us well over the years and we'll be doing out utmost to win it again," he said.

Sheedy, whose Tipperary side won the league in 2008 and were runners-up to Kilkenny last year, also regards the competition as an extremely important part of the preparation for the championship.

"You're always looking for new players to show that they have the potential to make it through to the team, and a league which has seven games against top opposition certainly tests lads," he said. "If you expect a player to prove that he's ready to step into the championship team, he has to be doing it in the league. Padraic Maher and Noel McGrath found their feet for us in last year's league and got even better in the championship."

Tipperary host Kilkenny in the first round of the league under lights at Semple Stadium on Saturday week, and Cork host Offaly a day later.

All league games will be played under experimental rules, including one which demands that there must a clear striking action with the hand if a pass is to be deemed legal. This is designed to eradicate the grey area on what constitutes a properly executed pass as opposed to a throw, but Sheedy has some concerns over how it will be implemented.

"It can be a hard call for referees, but it's very important to get it right as it can change a game," he said.

Meanwhile, Cody revealed that Noel Hickey, who missed all of last year due to injury, was making good progress in his battle to reclaim the No 3 jersey later in the season.

Irish Independent
Post by: Reillers on February 11, 2010, 10:16:53 PM
Twin Towers crux for Cork boss

By Pat Keane

Thursday, February 11, 2010

TO play his big men or not to play his big men, that is the question troubling Cork hurling manager Denis Walsh as he plots his approach to the Allianz League campaign.

The prospect of entering his first full season in charge of the Cork hurlers is clearly an exciting one for the former county dual star.

At yesterday's launch of the hurling league in Dublin, there was the palpable sense of asking the same tired old questions to the same managers when facing down Brian Cody and Liam Sheedy.

The opportunity to pick Walsh's brain about his plans for the year as Cork attempt to re-establish themselves as a credible All-Ireland force, however, was both refreshing and rewarding in equal measure.

The St Catherine's man responded assuredly to one veiled question about potentially having to drop Cork greats like Séan Óg Ó hAilpín and Donal Óg Cusack going forward.

"There won't be any problems making decisions, sure if they're not playing well they're gone. They know that, I've told them that a hundred times. So that's it, it's absolutely simple, there's no complication in it."

He was happy too to accept that it's his responsibility to ensure there is no lingering hangover from the divisive winter strike of 2009 moving into the new season.

"If it happens and it affects their performance well then that comes back to me, doesn't it?" he deadpanned.

But the one question he struggled to answer definitively, because he simply doesn't know the answer yet, is exactly what he's going to do with his two big target men, Aisake Ó hAilpín and Michael Cussen.

It's a problem unique to Cork, who now have two full-forwards closer to seven foot than six, both highly mobile and capable of destroying opposing defences if used correctly. But what exactly is the correct way to use them? "I suppose I've been thinking about that but that's it, I've been thinking about it and I've my ideas on it but until we're on the pitch and doing it..." he said.

"I mean it's obvious (what the options are); you either play the two of them inside together, you play one of them at a time, you split them up or, four, you don't play them at all. They're the options.

"Genuinely, we haven't decided. We'll try to use the league to see what works and what doesn't. It's unusual to have two guys who are six foot seven who are mobile."

Aisake could claim to be the incumbent in the full-forward position though Cussen looked the real deal there for Sarsfields.

"To be fair, he has a very good touch hurling wise and, you know, it strikes me that he possibly is a better hurler than a footballer but we'll have to wait and see," said Walsh.

"You need a lot of character in the game and these fellas are going to be a 'stick out' for fellas that are on them, whether you have the character then to get into games and so on."

First up for Cork in the league is a home tie against newly promoted Offaly on Sunday week.

He admits it's debatable whether previous Cork managers and players invested 100% of themselves into winning the league.

"Realistically there probably was (apathy towards the league from Cork)," he said before spelling out his own intentions.

"Anyone who knows me would know that I take every game seriously. It would never be, 'We will just get the first two games out of the way'. I am taking it very seriously. It is a question of momentum.

"Back door systems and these things mean nothing to me. Confidence is crucial. Get the performance and get the win. You are where you are then. We will be taking the league very seriously and all my panel and management team know that clearly."

Aside from the performance and utilisation of Cork's 'Twin Towers' throughout the league, another intriguing development will be the form of Eoin Cadogan at the back.

Like Walsh managed successfully in his playing days, Cadogan will attempt to balance life as both an inter-county senior hurling and footballer.

"He is going to try and do that and it would be wrong for me to try and stop him," commented Walsh. "That is my stance on it. I don't know whether he is capable of doing it or not. I personally think he is able to do it — he has the character. It is obvious to anyone who knows anything about the game that he has what it takes."

This story appeared in the printed version of the Irish Examiner Thursday, February 11, 2010

Read more: http://www.examiner.ie/sport/twin-towers-crux-for-cork-boss-111849.html#ixzz0fGgtxhFw