Ahem...
Dublin will win didly squat in 2010. Massive disillusionment with current setup here in the county.
My only hope is that we managed an AI after a hammering by Offaly in 1982. Clutching at straws. Will be happy if we get some bite back into our game and the 2 O'Carrolls settle in.
I think the Dubs can do it. They are winning Leinster every year and have been unlucky to have met an All-Ireland team with something to prove. If they can win the Leinster again and met a team with no motivation then thewy will beat them. Then they will be unstooppable as dublin is one county that breeds confidence. I think Dublin can win next year's All-Ireland yes. Come back here in 9 months time and we'll see.
Quote from: Olly on December 21, 2009, 11:38:15 AM
I think the Dubs can do it. They are winning Leinster every year and have been unlucky to have met an All-Ireland team with something to prove. If they can win the Leinster again and met a team with no motivation then thewy will beat them. Then they will be unstooppable as dublin is one county that breeds confidence. I think Dublin can win next year's All-Ireland yes. Come back here in 9 months time and we'll see.
LOL classic. Not a fecking chance. Sure Pat Gilroy was in the paper on Friday and pretty much said not a hope.
More chance of seeing King Kong lining out in Croke Park next year. Never seen such disillusionment. No confidence in anything related to Gaelic Football at present in Dublin.
So the Dubs intend to win the All Ireland by avoiding potential AI winners? Let me know how that works out for ye.
Quote from: Zapatista on December 21, 2009, 12:40:07 PM
So the Dubs intend to win the All Ireland by avoiding potential AI winners? Let me know how that works out for ye.
S/He's from Antrim so your "ye" isn't correct here.
Quote from: Gnevin on December 21, 2009, 12:43:37 PM
That explains it.
Quote from: Zapatista on December 21, 2009, 12:48:46 PM
Quote from: Gnevin on December 21, 2009, 12:43:37 PM
That explains it.
Actually "ye" does appear in Belfastese as in "Ya ballix, ye"...notice uses of both "ya" and "ye" in the same construction. Complex grammar!
Quote from: A Quinn Martin Production on December 21, 2009, 01:08:40 PM
Actually "ye" does appear in Belfastese as in "Ya ballix, ye"...notice uses of both "ya" and "ye" in the same construction. Complex grammar!
I use it as plural rather than use 'yous' or as I've often seen 'use'. I should probably use 'yee' instead.
Que O'Neill to put me straight
Quote from: Canalman on December 21, 2009, 10:34:22 AM
Dublin will win didly squat in 2010. Massive disillusionment with current setup here in the county.
My only hope is that we managed an AI after a hammering by Offaly in 1982. Clutching at straws. Will be happy if we get some bite back into our game and the 2 O'Carrolls settle in.
Hmmmm, sounds like expectations are lowering/becoming more realistic from Dub supporters.
I'll be watching out for them in the league, if they stay under the radar there, and mebbe get knocked out of the Leinster championship, they could be worth a few quid I reckon.
Its been the massive expectation and resultant pressure on them that is the chief reason for their underachievement. Perhaps Brogan et al being treated less like heroes by a load of bandwagoners in the summer is exactly what Dublin need.
well good to see that Gilroy is going to try and keep the Dublin heads under the radar - I still think that if he gets the attitude and team selection right, the confidence will come back and they can easily take leinster and then make some in roads on the AI itself.
They are a long shot, but a team that hits form at the right time that has the talent that Cork, Kerry, Tyrone, Donegal, Dublin and even maybe Derry has - could actually win it.
Obv Cork, Tyrone and Kerry would be the big three nowadays (imo) and v hard to beat.
Quote from: lynchbhoy on December 21, 2009, 02:57:40 PM
well good to see that Gilroy is going to try and keep the Dublin heads under the radar - I still think that if he gets the attitude and team selection right, the confidence will come back and they can easily take leinster and then make some in roads on the AI itself.
They are a long shot, but a team that hits form at the right time that has the talent that Cork, Kerry, Tyrone, Donegal, Dublin and even maybe Derry has - could actually win it.
Obv Cork, Tyrone and Kerry would be the big three nowadays (imo) and v hard to beat.
No one will easily take Leinster next year I reckon... if Meath and Kildare only match 2009 performanc, never mind improve on it then Leinster will be a tricky affair indeed
It's rich a Mayo man slagging anyone off about getting blown up with how good they are!
Dublin are in that group of 6-8 teams that on any given day will beat any team in Ireland. They have the ability to be All Ireland champions with a bit of luck, a bit of on field leadership and a bit of off field nous. They might be better not winning Leinster as a few "tough" away games may build the character that is needed to win the All Ireland. Even though Meath and Kildare are strong enough to win Leinster they are quarter finalists and maybe semi finalists with a good draw, but not AI winners.
I think that come August they will still be there and once you're there at that stage anything can happen to any of the teams and with the right attitude they could make it difficult for any team, but they need to be 100% right and not get caught up in the media hype.
The problem, as I see it, with Dublin is that there's too fine a line between them being very, very good and being completely tanked. That's all about mentality - they have an AI in their boots, but not in their heads yet. Séan Boylan might do that for them. ;)
Quote from: Billys Boots on December 23, 2009, 11:58:48 AM
The problem, as I see it, with Dublin is that there's too fine a line between them being very, very good and being completely tanked. That's all about mentality - they have an AI in their boots, but not in their heads yet. Séan Boylan might do that for them. ;)
100 % right. That would be funny alright. I wouldn't like to repeat what I heard him saying about the "------ Jackeens" one day ;D
Dublin had the potential to have a great full forward in Ray Cosgrove but after he hit the post with the free kick and Dublin ended up losing by 1 point his heqad dropped and was never the same player again. Can anyone answer me why the Dublin management hang onto Jason Sherlock granted he had one great year when they won the All Ireland and then was talked up to be the next big thing in Dublin football but since then he is just a journey man
if the 2 ocarrolls slot in and strenghten the full back line,if otooles get their finger out with fennell,if dean rock brings his club and u21 form to the team,if we can win leinster and get an easier draw than o8 and o9,then maybe we have a slight chance but they are all big ifs so i wouldnt rush down to paddy power just yet,but we wil have a bit of craic finding out.