Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on December 09, 2009, 11:39:56 PM

Title: The Savage Eye
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on December 09, 2009, 11:39:56 PM
Have watched this a few weeks now, anyone else watch it. One week they explained Why Irish people where bad at sex and another week they explained the Catholic Church in Ireland. Next week they are explaining Nordies, can't wait. Monday night on RTE.
Title: Re: The Savage Eye
Post by: ONeill on February 28, 2010, 11:41:35 PM
Just finished watching the whole series on youtube. Bloody brilliant.
Post by: ziggysego on February 28, 2010, 11:49:18 PM
Never heard of it. Must look it up on YouTube, as ONeill says.
Post by: tyrone86 on February 28, 2010, 11:53:09 PM
Absolutely class  :D

Louis Walsh?
Post by: ONeill on March 01, 2010, 12:00:36 AM
Starts here - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-CEOk4glMxo&feature=related
Post by: ziggysego on March 01, 2010, 12:08:05 AM
Cheers ONeill. Must jump into bed now and watch the first one.
Post by: redcard on March 01, 2010, 12:18:21 AM
Quote from: ziggysego on March 01, 2010, 12:08:05 AM
Cheers ONeill. Must jump into bed now and watch the first one.

TOO MUCH INFORMATION ZIGGY
Post by: Capt Pat on March 01, 2010, 03:56:17 AM
I wouildn't be mad about it. He doesn't have a proper go at the politicians apart form a good one Mary Robinson who has been retired for about 15 years. That bit is funny though. my housebound, Nick with the birdcage around his head. ;D

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=C_TmZKuVoqQ
Post by: ziggysego on March 01, 2010, 09:50:56 AM
Feckin' YouTube was buffering on my last night. Feckin' BT and their stupid policies. Will try and catch it another time.
Post by: Hereiam on March 03, 2010, 09:49:50 PM
This was the funniest thing I have seen from RTE in a long time. Bull mick is some boy and the two lonely farmers are funny as hell. The housebound IT ..... pure genuis  ;D
Post by: Eoghan Mag on March 04, 2010, 02:12:21 AM
This is Pure Muck. I don't find it a bit funny at all.
Post by: Bord na Mona man on March 04, 2010, 08:56:13 AM
Quote from: Hereiam on March 03, 2010, 09:49:50 PM
This was the funniest thing I have seen from RTE in a long time. Bull mick is some boy and the two lonely farmers are funny as hell. The housebound IT ..... pure genuis  ;D
Mick 'The Bull' Daly should have his own show.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BHqz0YlHCS4
Post by: Pangurban on March 05, 2010, 01:00:22 AM
Infantile trash,with not one redeeming feature,    if it were funny you could excuse it, but the only joke in it is that some programme planner thought it fit to put on our screens
Post by: leenie on March 05, 2010, 01:14:28 AM
ach when i seen this thread i thought it had it was some scandal about tac or tam as i like to call him!

;) ;) ;) ;)
Post by: Jen Cui on March 05, 2010, 04:35:15 AM
Sex in the city sketch is priceless  S01E02.... "Some black fella rode the hole off me lastnight and i wasn't satisfied"..... lol
Funny Show...... :D
Post by: ONeill on March 05, 2010, 09:32:31 PM
Quote from: Pangurban on March 05, 2010, 01:00:22 AM
Infantile trash,with not one redeeming feature,    if it were funny you could excuse it, but the only joke in it is that some programme planner thought it fit to put on our screens

Find that a mad analysis. Everyone to their own but I thought that show turned all the conventions of an RTE comedy on its head. It was innovative, unpredictable, seriously clever, biting and laugh out loud funny. And it got the Irish down to a tee. I admit it may have been crude at time but....Jaysus.
Post by: Hardy on March 06, 2010, 10:20:44 AM
I agree. First class comedy and satire and just about the only funny thing I can remember emanating from RTÉ since Scrap Saturday, apart from the Apres Match lads. Unfortunately, crudeness is ingrained in the genre now; that will change too, in time, but it'd be a baby/bathwater job to dismiss it for that alone.
Post by: ONeill on June 11, 2010, 10:02:38 PM
On now
Post by: gerrykeegan on June 11, 2010, 10:30:54 PM
Back to the golf for me. Struggled to laugh to be honest, a few small laughs
Post by: Lecale2 on June 12, 2010, 11:41:29 AM
Very funny. Never heard of it before.
Post by: All of a Sludden on January 16, 2011, 10:44:32 PM
"embrace the inner culchie"
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on January 25, 2011, 12:21:02 PM
Anyone see the soccer sketch on this last night? It was followed by Keano giving a good reinactment of Joe Pesci's "Funny Guy" speech in Goodfellas at Mick McCarthy. Funny Guys.
Post by: Hardy on January 25, 2011, 12:23:23 PM
Very funny. Though I had to suck it up when they were having a go at the GAA and GAA types and slagging about Ireland being the only country that invents games nobody else wants to play.
Post by: Harold Disgracey on January 25, 2011, 12:45:33 PM
Very funny, I thought the wife was going to wet herself laughing at Joe Duffy & the vuvuzela. I didn't know David McSavage was a son of David Andrews & brother of Barry Andrews.
Post by: ludermor on January 25, 2011, 12:58:09 PM
For me, McSavage seems to be going in the opposite direction to most comedians in that his TV show is far better than his Stand Up.
Seen him loads of times on the street and thought he was very funny but seen him on stage and he was shite.
Post by: mylestheslasher on February 07, 2011, 10:53:33 PM
heh heh we're the nordies......
Post by: All of a Sludden on February 08, 2011, 12:23:34 AM
Quote from: mylestheslasher on February 07, 2011, 10:53:33 PM
heh heh we're the nordies......

Just watching it now.  :D
Post by: mylestheslasher on February 08, 2011, 10:00:13 AM
Did you hear Mary Robinson going on about how her Fanny's "trimmins" was more an "irish" than a Brazilian in that it was wild and full of all sorts of wildlife but would scare the shite out of any british invader :D
Post by: Capt Pat on February 08, 2011, 08:50:16 PM
The roy keame  goodfellas speech gets top marks.
It would be nice thpugh if you did't have to be related to the foundee of the station to get a job there.
Post by: ONeill on March 19, 2012, 10:32:02 PM
It's Back!
Post by: Harold Disgracey on March 21, 2012, 01:35:10 PM
Quaars!
Post by: All of a Sludden on May 02, 2014, 10:58:15 PM
Quote from: ONeill on March 19, 2012, 10:32:02 PM
It's Back!

New series starts on Monday at 22:00
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on May 04, 2014, 04:25:03 PM
Quote from: All of a Sludden on May 02, 2014, 10:58:15 PM
Quote from: ONeill on March 19, 2012, 10:32:02 PM
It's Back!

New series starts on Monday at 22:00

Best news I've heard in ages! Comedy gold.