Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: Rafa on November 23, 2009, 02:25:46 PM

Title: Snobby Niteclubs
Post by: Rafa on November 23, 2009, 02:25:46 PM
Whats the story with this?

Headed out to 'Rain' in Belfast on Saturday night. As I have about a 20% success rate with getting into this place I wasn't holding out much hope. We did the usual drill - as there was five of us we split up into two groups (ya know since apparently niteclubs don't like people who go out with more than 2 friends). I was in the second group. Soon enough I could see the rejection at the head of the queue as the all too familiar words were being mouthed by the bouncers, "not tonight lads". So that was that for another week.

One of my mates has never actually gotten into Rain before, I have and its not all that special! We've even taken to making sure were not in any sort of mess heading up the door now to try and get in. Were just not their 'type of people' it seems. We don't look protestant enough, them with their fancy clothes and swarthy skin.

Any suggestions for future excursions to Rain are welcome!
Title: Re: Snobby Niteclubs
Post by: T O Hare on November 23, 2009, 02:27:38 PM
ripped jeans, fake tan and spiky blonde hair ;D
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on November 23, 2009, 02:28:41 PM
Had the exact same experience in Rain on Thursday night, with an added lie from the bouncer about me "slabbering" at them on nights I was miles away.

Think they just don't like the look of culchies!
Post by: Rafa on November 23, 2009, 02:30:44 PM
So how exactly does one go about not looking like a culchie without, at the sametime, looking like an utter bollocks?
Post by: dundrumite on November 23, 2009, 02:32:19 PM
Quote from: Rafa on November 23, 2009, 02:25:46 PM

Headed out to 'Rain' in Belfast on Saturday night. As I have about a 20% success rate with getting into this place I wasn't holding out much hope. We did the usual drill - as there was five of us we split up into two groups (ya know since apparently niteclubs don't like people who go out with more than 2 friends). I was in the second group. Soon enough I could see the rejection at the head of the queue as the all too familiar words were being mouthed by the bouncers, "not tonight lads". So that was that for another week.

One of my mates has never actually gotten into Rain before, I have and its not all that special! We've even taken to making sure were not in any sort of mess heading up the door now to try and get in. Were just not their 'type of people' it seems. We don't look protestant enough, them with their fancy clothes and swarthy skin.

Don't go.

Went with a friend and was told he couldn't get in because of his shoes, then when he pointed out he had wore them last week in Rain, he was told he was too drunk. No time for that bulls**t. At least with the Bot its virtually impossible not to get in  :D
Post by: the scenic route on November 23, 2009, 02:32:49 PM
I agree, was in it once been turned away a couple of other times.
Reckon the bouncers are being so fussy to create the illusion that its a really special place and only the coolest get in. They can shove it up there holes as far as im concerned.
Was down saturday queue was ridiculous so didnt even bother. mind you i was so drunk they wouldn let me into the bot so i reckon my eyes musta been well glazed over and i wouldn a stood much chance.
Post by: dundrumite on November 23, 2009, 02:34:28 PM
Quote from: TacadoirArdMhacha on November 23, 2009, 02:28:41 PM
Had the exact same experience in Rain on Thursday night, with an added lie from the bouncer about me "slabbering" at them on nights I was miles away.

Too be fair if I owned a niteclub I wouldn't let you in either  :P
Post by: bingobus on November 23, 2009, 02:34:41 PM
Thought this was a thing of the past!

The 4 seasons (or Mexx) in Monaghan was always a bit above themselves years ago. One Wednesday night they stopped one of the lads for wearing trainers. He went out and changed into golf shoes, got in and put the dancefloor in shite with them!!

Also the Pig in Monaghan stopped people getting in wearing Monaghan jerseys after a saturday evening championship match.
Post by: Rafa on November 23, 2009, 02:35:09 PM
Quote from: the scenic route on November 23, 2009, 02:32:49 PM
Reckon the bouncers are being so fussy to create the illusion that its a really special place and only the coolest get in. They can shove it up there holes as far as im concerned.
Was down saturday queue was ridiculous so didnt even bother. mind you i was so drunk they wouldn let me into the bot so i reckon my eyes musta been well glazed over and i wouldn a stood much chance.

Thats the spirit!
Post by: dundrumite on November 23, 2009, 02:38:17 PM

:o
You have defied all the laws of Belfast with that one
Post by: Gnevin on November 23, 2009, 02:38:32 PM

Yeah go some where else. Was once refused entry into a place I was semi regular as "it was no Jerseys". This on the Sunday of a Dublin match  ::) ::). We just went next door and was a year before we went back to that place.
Post by: mountainboii on November 23, 2009, 02:38:48 PM
Quote from: T O Hare on November 23, 2009, 02:27:38 PM

Guidos

(http://mikecalimbas.files.wordpress.com/2009/03/sweedos.jpg)
Post by: dundrumite on November 23, 2009, 02:40:28 PM
Society is fcuked.   :(
Post by: Orior on November 23, 2009, 02:42:28 PM
To all those who got turned away... ha ha! Suckers!
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on November 23, 2009, 02:42:47 PM
Quote from: dundrumite on November 23, 2009, 02:34:28 PM
Quote from: TacadoirArdMhacha on November 23, 2009, 02:28:41 PM

Too be fair if I owned a niteclub I wouldn't let you in either  :P

Actually I generally tend to be very profitable for nightclub owners!

Be a long time until I'm back at Rain, if they're going to lie to you and not let you in for no reason then I'll take my custom elsewhere.
Post by: Rafa on November 23, 2009, 02:43:15 PM
I can understand turning people away for being too drunk but we've really made an effort to be fairly sober going to this place these last few times.

I remember 'The Box' pursued a similar strategy to this and I think they shot themselves in the foot with it as you rarely hear of people going to the box these days. These places usually have a short life-cycle anyway.

Good old reliable bot though. Just on that, anyone else hate when someone in work on a Monday asks you where did you go out on Saturday night and when you reply with 'bot' they laugh?
Post by: the scenic route on November 23, 2009, 02:43:54 PM
Quote from: dundrumite on November 23, 2009, 02:38:17 PM

:o
You have defied all the laws of Belfast with that one

lol I know, was at the saw doctors down in the limelight before it, throwing the jameson into me was drunk as a lord, but thought i would still be grand for the bot. Clearly not, Tried explaining to the bouncer that i was grand and was far worse for wear on the wednesday previous after the ireland game rolling about the bot.
aw well ending up in thompsons and back to a house for a few bottles of stella afterwards to draw on a friend who had fallen asleeps face. all was not lost
Post by: BallyhaiseMan on November 23, 2009, 02:49:36 PM
anyone ever tried getting into lillies?  :D
,been turned away from club m once for being too drunk,thats about it. It doesnt help to fall right in front of the bouncers.
Post by: pintsofguinness on November 23, 2009, 03:01:43 PM
I dont understand, why do yous keep heading to a place if yous aren't getting in?
If I was turned away once I'd never be back.
Post by: Doogie Browser on November 23, 2009, 03:08:24 PM
I would not darken their door again and be sure and bad mouth the place to everyone you meet.  Its that old adage, if you get good customer service you will tell 2 people but if you get bad service you will tell twenty (or words to that effect!). 
Post by: Celt_Man on November 23, 2009, 03:16:29 PM
I remember myself and another boy got turned away from the door of a certain Harcourt street based niteclub, naturally we were very disappointed although not surprised - second day of sauce on the trot and had been on it since before lunch that day...

Didn't know what to do, so me in perhaps my best moment of clarity in recent years pulled a last chance masterstroke and I took off my jacket off and put it under my arm and my mate followed suit...

We joined the back of the quene and I'd say within 90 seconds of being refused we were saluted by the bouncers "evening lads, enjoy yourselves" and in the door of the place.... couldn't believe it.  Just shows ya how hard they look at you sometime either that or we were wearing some bad looking jackets   :D
Post by: Archie Mitchell on November 23, 2009, 03:21:43 PM
First time I went to go to Rain I was turned away for apparantly being too drunk. Decided it was a shame to waste a good evenings drinking so went to go to the Bot. It was jammed and they wern't letting anyone in. Was around 12 so decided to chance Rain again. Asked for student ID, showed my old student card, was then told the picture was too faded and wouldn't let me in as would only accept student ID. Got in OK on Wednesday night though when I could barely stand and wasn't asked for ID.

charlie stubbs is the man to ask about getting in to pubs and clubs. Only man I know who was carried into a pub.
Post by: Celt_Man on November 23, 2009, 03:25:07 PM
Quote from: Archie Mitchell on November 23, 2009, 03:21:43 PM
First time I went to go to Rain I was turned away for apparantly being too drunk. Decided it was a shame to waste a good evenings drinking so went to go to the Bot. It was jammed and they wern't letting anyone in. Was around 12 so decided to chance Rain again. Asked for student ID, showed my old student card, was then told the picture was too faded and wouldn't let me in as would only accept student ID. Got in OK on Wednesday night though when I could barely stand and wasn't asked for ID.

charlie stubbs is the man to ask about getting in to pubs and clubs. Only man I know who was carried into a pub.

Legend!!!
Post by: Tony Baloney on November 23, 2009, 03:30:18 PM
When youse grow up you'll realise there is nowhere in Belfast worth queueing up for, let alone pleading with the bouncers to let you in. Shitholes like Rain etc always start out on this tack in a bid to make the place look exclusive. They all do it, Milk did it when it opened, The Fly tried it, The Apartment did it. The list goes on, and fact that you mugs keep going back for punishment means they must be onto something.

Have some pride, grow a set, and go elsewhere.
Post by: imtommygunn on November 23, 2009, 03:31:14 PM
Have been to rain 4 times and got in every time - not worth it trust me...

Milk always used to turn me away though and have not once been able to get in to yello. Never going back there. (3 times I've tried but it's always an angry scotsman with me who gets me turned away...)
Post by: blewuporstuffed on November 23, 2009, 03:39:31 PM
Rain isnt worth it any way, full of posers and over priced drink!
Really hate when places turn you away for no reason, can understand it  if your loaded, but other times its just cause you have a 'cluchie accent'  :-\
Post by: mountainboii on November 23, 2009, 03:44:10 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on November 23, 2009, 03:31:14 PM
Have been to rain 4 times and got in every time - not worth it trust me...

Milk always used to turn me away though and have not once been able to get in to yello. Never going back there. (3 times I've tried but it's always an angry scotsman with me who gets me turned away...)

I also have a 100% record for rain. Went once, got in once, had a shit night once.

Remember, stone cold sober, getting turned away from the Empire at about 9 in the evening (i.e. the place was still f**king empty). Was told I didn't have a 'valid' ID, despite showing both a student card and driving licence (which apparently looked a bit dodgy). Shouldn't have mattered in the slightest because I was only heading in for a quiet pint or two on the way back from the cinema, but I was livid that the p***k bouncer could get away shite like that.
Post by: boojangles on November 23, 2009, 03:55:09 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on November 23, 2009, 03:01:43 PM
I dont understand, why do yous keep heading to a place if yous aren't getting in?
If I was turned away once I'd never be back.

Cant believe it but Im in total agreement with Pints here. Fair enough if your steaming and all over the shop,you don't deserve to get in but this crack of 'Not tonight lads' for no reason sickens my hole. Manys an argument I had with Bouncers who in alot of cases are on a power trip.
Alot of clubs in Galway used to be notorious a few years ago for being strict at the door. Going in with 3 pints in ya and being told to head across to Pizza Hut for a coffee.
Never tried any of the so-called Posh spots like Lillies or Krystel because if I got in(very unlikely) Id probably end up getting sick all over the place at the sight of some of the clientelle.
Tried Club M in Temple Bar once and couldn't get in,never went back. Was thrown out of Doyles across from Trinity one nite for singing but wouldn't budge until they refunded me the price of my pint-which was over a Fiver. Damn right Im a Cavan man.
Post by: wherefromreferee? on November 23, 2009, 03:55:56 PM
Where is this 'Rain' ye are talking about?

Remember not getting into Renshaws once, big Colm and that wee Freddie Mercury lookalike were doing the door.  Bouncers in Dukes could see my attempts and obviously seen me getting knocked back.  Walked up, joined the queue at Dukes and got in no problems....

Post by: ludermor on November 23, 2009, 04:03:12 PM
Quote from: BallyhaiseMan on November 23, 2009, 02:49:36 PM
anyone ever tried getting into lillies?  :D
,been turned away from club m once for being too drunk,thats about it. It doesnt help to fall right in front of the bouncers.
f**k me, is Club M still on the go? ''Irelands greatest laser show''
Post by: bingobus on November 23, 2009, 04:07:34 PM
Its actually strange but when I've been in many UK cities namely Liverpool, Edinburgh, Newcastle I've never been stopped or hassled when getting in. They don't seem to go for this "not tonight" shite. Even people from these places will tell that everywhere is an option and never warn off places for having a fussy door policy.
Post by: TheGreatRambo on November 23, 2009, 04:08:44 PM
Quote from: bingobus on November 23, 2009, 02:34:41 PM
Thought this was a thing of the past!

The 4 seasons (or Mexx) in Monaghan was always a bit above themselves years ago. One Wednesday night they stopped one of the lads for wearing trainers. He went out and changed into golf shoes, got in and put the dancefloor in shite with them!!

Also the Pig in Monaghan stopped people getting in wearing Monaghan jerseys after a saturday evening championship match.

Takes me back to my student days. Used to spend the summers in London working on the sites. Friday always meant a trip to Kilburn to get the auld cheque changed and this more often than not led to a messy night finished off with a trip to The National Ballroom to see just stars as Big Tom or Paddy Reilly. They would let any bog warrior in no matter how drunk he was, as long as he had proper shoes on him!!!!
Post by: fitzroyalty on November 23, 2009, 04:22:00 PM
I'd say 95% of the bouncers in Belfast are wankers (with the other 5% having the night off). I;m sure charlie stubbs could give a detailed breakdown of each establishment's doorsrtaff  ;)

A crowd of us went to omagh there and was pleasantly surprised at how friendly the bouncers were. Not what i was expecting considering 20 clowns full of buckfast had landed up out of the blue from lurgan! :o
Post by: DownFanatic on November 23, 2009, 04:40:05 PM
I was once part of the famous India St Elite/Rugby Bines ASU.

For one year our plan was to torment and to make life hard for any bouncer we came in to contact with. Some of our missions were successful but that infamous Thursday night back in mid December 2006 tore the heart out of our gang.

Yellow shirted Mandela Hall bouncers - you may have won the battle, but you never won the war!
Post by: imtommygunn on November 23, 2009, 04:41:17 PM
It is extremely rare to meet a dead on bouncer in belfast alright. The bot ones are alright - I think they get to know your face and know you're not there to fight.

Everywhere else you go just seems to assume you want to fight and annoy people forgetting the fact you're out for a bit of craic and will add to their establishment's profits.
Post by: TheGreatRambo on November 23, 2009, 04:44:49 PM
Quote from: bingobus on November 23, 2009, 04:07:34 PM
Its actually strange but when I've been in many UK cities namely Liverpool, Edinburgh, Newcastle I've never been stopped or hassled when getting in. They don't seem to go for this "not tonight" shite. Even people from these places will tell that everywhere is an option and never warn off places for having a fussy door policy.

In fairness there are a few that did regret letting u in  ;)
Post by: Rafa on November 23, 2009, 04:52:04 PM

Same here! Although I've only been to Liverpool but I have been several times, weekend and midweek and you can guarantee each and everytime there has been a hell of a lot of drinking involved and I've never had any trouble with any bouncers over there.
Post by: Rafa on November 23, 2009, 04:55:41 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on November 23, 2009, 03:30:18 PM
When youse grow up you'll realise there is nowhere in Belfast worth queueing up for, let alone pleading with the bouncers to let you in. Shitholes like Rain etc always start out on this tack in a bid to make the place look exclusive. They all do it, Milk did it when it opened, The Fly tried it, The Apartment did it. The list goes on, and fact that you mugs keep going back for punishment means they must be onto something.

You're probably right.

However it isn't us fellas fault. Top of the objectives list for the night is to somehow manage to trick a girl into thinking your semi-charming and not repulsive. Its these girls who choose to make places like Rain popular and therefore if we are to fullfil our objectives then we have to follow them to these establishments.

On another point I think a lot of the time we get turned away because there is probably too many fellas already inside, they like to keep a balance, don't want anyone going round saying Rain is a sausage-fest.
Post by: bingobus on November 23, 2009, 04:59:44 PM
Quote from: TheGreatRambo on November 23, 2009, 04:44:49 PM

In fairness there are a few that did regret letting u in  ;)

A few...try most of them but in most cases it was my company that caused the problem!!
Post by: whiskeysteve on November 23, 2009, 05:06:12 PM
The older i get the more i reckon belfast is a shite place for a night out. Maybe familiarity breeds contempt but there is definitely less of a range of places to choose from and so they can take their clientele for granted (and the queues are ridiculous for what you get e.g. the bot)

Never been near this Rain place but doesnt sound like its worth the hassle anyway.

Thats Belfast all over, a pile of hassle for f**k all
Post by: fitzroyalty on November 23, 2009, 05:07:06 PM
Quote from: Rafa on November 23, 2009, 04:55:41 PM

You're probably right.

However it isn't us fellas fault. Top of the objectives list for the night is to somehow manage to trick a girl into thinking your semi-charming and not repulsive. Its these girls who choose to make places like Rain popular and therefore if we are to fullfil our objectives then we have to follow them to these establishments.

On another point I think a lot of the time we get turned away because there is probably too many fellas already inside, they like to keep a balance, don't want anyone going round saying Rain is a sausage-fest.
hes 100% right, there is nowhere worth queuing up for. though it can be a pain in the arse when a crowd heads out and one person is singled out for no reason other than the bouncer being a dick. the bro told me about him and his mates, all sober but one their party requires the use of a walking aid... Of course this was considered a weapon and he wasn't allowed in  >:(
Post by: blewuporstuffed on November 23, 2009, 05:13:29 PM
Quote from: wherefromreferee? on November 23, 2009, 03:55:56 PM
Where is this 'Rain' ye are talking about?
Remember not getting into Renshaws once, big Colm and that wee Freddie Mercury lookalike were doing the door.  Bouncers in Dukes could see my attempts and obviously seen me getting knocked back.  Walked up, joined the queue at Dukes and got in no problems....
it used to be called  Milk
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on November 23, 2009, 05:37:54 PM

100% correct Tony, these clubs have a short best before date, soon enough they'll be have promotions to get people in.
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on November 23, 2009, 05:55:23 PM
Quote from: Rafa on November 23, 2009, 02:30:44 PM
So how exactly does one go about not looking like a culchie without, at the sametime, looking like an utter bollocks?

It was pointed out to me in Flannerys of Wexford St. (Dublin) by a girl who must have got lost on her way to the Village nightclub, that all the lads "in this place" chat-up line is so "what county are ya from?" She thought we (culchies) where obsessed with everyone's County of Origin. After a few drinks she admitted that it was a nicer approach than some of the chat-up lines in her usual haunts, she also admitted that her doddy was originally a Tipp man and mommy's parents where Mayo and Clare. It was nearly like drawing the unwanted culchie relatives out of the D4 closet.
Post by: Puckoon on November 23, 2009, 05:55:50 PM
Quote from: fitzroyalty on November 23, 2009, 04:22:00 PM
I'd say 95% of the bouncers in Belfast are w**kers (with the other 5% having the night off). I;m sure charlie stubbs could give a detailed breakdown of each establishment's doorsrtaff  ;)

A crowd of us went to omagh there and was pleasantly surprised at how friendly the bouncers were. Not what i was expecting considering 20 clowns full of buckfast had landed up out of the blue from lurgan! :o

Where did you go?

I think what some folk need to realise is that these upmarket places arent that keen on letting folks in who have already done their drinking else where...

The train of thought is why run the risk of hassle, when you havnt even made any money from these folks at the bar.
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on November 23, 2009, 05:56:51 PM
Quote from: AFS on November 23, 2009, 02:38:48 PM
Quote from: T O Hare on November 23, 2009, 02:27:38 PM

Guidos

(http://mikecalimbas.files.wordpress.com/2009/03/sweedos.jpg)

They look like mutants
Post by: dundrumite on November 23, 2009, 06:06:32 PM
Quote from: DownFanatic on November 23, 2009, 04:40:05 PM
I was once part of the famous India St Elite/Rugby Bines ASU.

For one year our plan was to torment and to make life hard for any bouncer we came in to contact with. Some of our missions were successful but that infamous Thursday night back in mid December 2006 tore the heart out of our gang.

Yellow shirted Mandela Hall bouncers - you may have won the battle, but you never won the war!

Funny one of my firends used to get up to similar malarkey, finding different ways of getting fired out of Belfast's finest establishments. My personal favourite was the sight of him being trailed out of the Union. After a couple of quick texts from eye witnesses it emerged he had being in the female toilets washing his hair. Priceless
Post by: ross4life on November 23, 2009, 06:25:33 PM
has anyone been to  the wright venue in swords was suppose to be snobby niteclub, but it's nothing more the the normal nightclub & very over hyped IMO
Post by: imtommygunn on November 23, 2009, 06:34:50 PM
Rain is a late night place and one of few in belfast which isn't a gay bar. That would be why it attracts so many.

When the licensing folk clamp down that'll show them...
Post by: Archie Mitchell on November 23, 2009, 06:37:32 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on November 23, 2009, 06:34:50 PM
Rain is a late night place and one of few in belfast which isn't a gay bar. That would be why it attracts so many.

When the licensing folk clamp down that'll show them...

Or when the licensing folk extend licenses for other premises we won't have this problem.
Post by: Maguire01 on November 23, 2009, 06:40:05 PM
Maybe i'm just getting old, but I wouldn't queue to get into any pub or club. And if I was refused entry for no good reason, I wouldn't go back again.
Post by: ballinaman on November 23, 2009, 06:57:57 PM
Have to pay respect to a bouncer in Harveys nightclub down in Waterford. Good few years ago now, friend of mine was locked and showed a 20euro note instead of ID and the bouncer just laughed and said, have a good night lads.....didn't take the money either...
Post by: pintsofguinness on November 23, 2009, 07:36:43 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on November 23, 2009, 06:40:05 PM
Maybe i'm just getting old, but I wouldn't queue to get into any pub or club. And if I was refused entry for no good reason, I wouldn't go back again.
At last, something we can agree on!
Post by: cornerback on November 23, 2009, 08:24:25 PM
I was in three different city centre bars on saturday night & walked straight into all three... if there was a queue i would've quickly moved on to the next bar/club.  And in fact the people we were meeting couldn't get in to one of these as the place filled up very quickly, so we moved on to the next bar. 

I don't think there is any bar good enough to warrant waiting to get in... of course i queued for placed in the past, but you will soon realise that the craic/music/talent (which ever you're looking for) is as good in the next bar...
Post by: imtommygunn on November 23, 2009, 08:53:13 PM
Are you talking dublin or belfast there CB??

I wouldn't apply that logic to Belfast as there aren't many good bars in it!
Post by: cornerback on November 23, 2009, 09:00:44 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on November 23, 2009, 08:53:13 PM
Are you talking dublin or belfast there CB??

I wouldn't apply that logic to Belfast as there aren't many good bars in it!

It was belfast.  I suppose it all depends on what your look for. The first two bars, although busy & lively, probably wouldn't be somewhere i would spend the whole night. The final bar was a late open bar/club!
Post by: Candyman on November 23, 2009, 10:50:39 PM
Rain is a complete dungeon!!!
Me and joey the lips made a wee trip up 1 nite and went wi the lads, about 10 in total!! Only gettin outta the taxi and the bouncers had their mind made up!! I rejoined the queue and actually got past the bouncers until all the fcukers I was with started roaring abuse n shouting I was out with them!!!! :D
Post by: redhugh on November 23, 2009, 11:29:38 PM
Belfast does seem to have a lot of arsehole doormen right enough. If they keep this up it will befall the same fate as all the other up their own arse clubs/bars in Belfast.They only let in the beautiful people at the start and keep out normal people ,the ones who are out for a nights drinking and will spend money.Then the next new place opens ,and all the beautiful people go there and abandon the last cool place.The last cool place lose their crowd and they spend a fortune trying to get back the normal people who they refused entry at the start because they were'nt cool or beautiful enough.The normal people have already been snubbed,and are not foolish enough to go back to a place that was so rude and up it's own arse.They then end up letting in anyone who will come through the door and the place is wrecked within a year .As they no longer know who their target market is ,they spend a fortune on advertising and marketing at a time when it's already too late.

If you want to be a real p***k - it's the management who reserve the right to refuse entry, not the doorstaff.You're within your rights to ask a member of management why you are being refused entry.Most good clubs have a member of management on the door with the doorstaff to sort out such situations.
Post by: Rav67 on November 24, 2009, 12:03:38 AM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on November 23, 2009, 07:36:43 PM

As someone else alluded to, if you want to go somewhere after 1.30 its either Thompsons or Rain, which is f**king ridiculous for a city.  Nowhere else in Europe has such ridiculous licensing laws.  Another thing to thank fundamentalist unionism for!
Post by: Arthur_Friend on November 24, 2009, 12:14:16 AM
Quote from: whiskeysteve on November 23, 2009, 05:06:12 PM
The older i get the more i reckon belfast is a shite place for a night out. Maybe familiarity breeds contempt but there is definitely less of a range of places to choose from and so they can take their clientele for granted (and the queues are ridiculous for what you get e.g. the bot)

Never been near this Rain place but doesnt sound like its worth the hassle anyway.

Thats Belfast all over, a pile of hassle for f**k all

Sums up Belfast pefectly for me.
Post by: ONeill on November 24, 2009, 12:21:56 AM
Being one of the beautiful people, I've never been refused entry into anything.

Tell a lie, a good few years ago in the Odyssey I was refused entry to a bar. I was with the wife and another couple. I had one glass of wine with my dinner beforehand. When we got to the top of the queue he says to us, 'I can't let you in guys as he's drunk', pointing to me. I says 'but I'm not, i had one glass of wine with my dinner'. He then tried something from the 1967 manual of telltale signs for identify riffraff for bouncers - he asked me to stare into his eyes. As I did, feeling humiliated, he did some kind of mad head movement as if he was examining a hair under a microscope. He then says OK, this once. I just retort 'naw, it doesn't matter' and headed elsewhere.

Having a skinhead doesn't help.
Post by: thebigfella on November 24, 2009, 12:22:32 AM
Quote from: redhugh on November 23, 2009, 11:29:38 PM
Belfast does seem to have a lot of arsehole doormen right enough. If they keep this up it will befall the same fate as all the other up their own arse clubs/bars in Belfast.They only let in the beautiful people at the start and keep out normal people ,the ones who are out for a nights drinking and will spend money.Then the next new place opens ,and all the beautiful people go there and abandon the last cool place.The last cool place lose their crowd and they spend a fortune trying to get back the normal people who they refused entry at the start because they were'nt cool or beautiful enough.The normal people have already been snubbed,and are not foolish enough to go back to a place that was so rude and up it's own arse.They then end up letting in anyone who will come through the door and the place is wrecked within a year .As they no longer know who their target market is ,they spend a fortune on advertising and marketing at a time when it's already too late.

If you want to be a real p***k - it's the management who reserve the right to refuse entry, not the doorstaff.You're within your rights to ask a member of management why you are being refused entry.Most good clubs have a member of management on the door with the doorstaff to sort out such situations.

You've real issues with these beautiful people, what did they ever do on you?
Post by: redhugh on November 24, 2009, 12:32:41 AM
Quote from: thebigfella on November 24, 2009, 12:22:32 AM
Quote from: redhugh on November 23, 2009, 11:29:38 PM

You've real issues with these beautiful people, what did they ever do on you?

No I don't ,I've an issue with clubs/pubs that think  the beautiful people are the ideal target market.I think it's foolish and short-sighted.
Post by: Aerlik on November 24, 2009, 02:30:46 AM
On the subject of bouncers, what are the origins of the security companies who do the crowd control?  I was talking to a lad last week about this subject and he was telling me that the laws in Western Australia are set to change soon to ban anyone with any criminal past from owning or operating a security company of any kind.  It seems the authorities want to weed out the criminal element (ie bike gangs) as there have been a number of high-profile incidents in the last few years involving bouncers getting out of hand.  In one case, a former international cricketer got punched by a bouncer and he fell and died from the injures when his head hit the ground.

The lad I spoke to owns a security company but won't touch crowd control because it is riddled with drugs.
Post by: Rafa on November 24, 2009, 11:58:25 AM
Quote from: ONeill on November 24, 2009, 12:21:56 AM
Being one of the beautiful people, I've never been refused entry into anything.

Tell a lie, a good few years ago in the Odyssey I was refused entry to a bar. I was with the wife and another couple. I had one glass of wine with my dinner beforehand. When we got to the top of the queue he says to us, 'I can't let you in guys as he's drunk', pointing to me. I says 'but I'm not, i had one glass of wine with my dinner'. He then tried something from the 1967 manual of telltale signs for identify riffraff for bouncers - he asked me to stare into his eyes. As I did, feeling humiliated, he did some kind of mad head movement as if he was examining a hair under a microscope. He then says OK, this once. I just retort 'naw, it doesn't matter' and headed elsewhere.

Having a skinhead doesn't help.

You know skinheads.
Post by: Owenbeg on November 24, 2009, 01:10:39 PM
Milk was a shit hole before it became rain and im sure it is still a shit hole.

Bouncers are belfast are bollock's but there are a few good ones, was in roost one night, and bouncer decided to put me out,i was sobber and just in, walking back from the toilet and not bothering anyone!!! When i got to the door wit him, the other chap who was working, who was watching the whole thing, told your man to catch him sel on and stop acting the bollocks and went and bought me a drink to appologies for the other man on a ego trip!!! :-\ :-\
Never had any other bother in there. Pothouse and Ollie had their we phases of being hard to get into but think there handy enough to get into, the pounce brigade must have moved onto rain
Post by: Minder on November 24, 2009, 01:19:51 PM
It will be a while before the Pothouse is hard to get into, I remember reading last year they had went to a three or four day week due to the recession/drop in trade. Will tighten them.
Post by: Bud Wiser on November 24, 2009, 01:46:29 PM
Only because I would have a interest in the legal implications of the policy of this night club, not because I would want to go there I am at a loss to know why anyone would want to go there - see the comments down the page here:  http://www.belfastbar.co.uk/rain-nightclub-review.htm (http://www.belfastbar.co.uk/rain-nightclub-review.htm)

If I ever was in Belfast on a night I would type out a letter to the Proprietor, of Rain and after being refused I would say that under current laws of Discriminbation and,  because I was refused entry before,  I anticipated I would be refused tonight as well.  I would say they are reminded that because they could or would not give a reason for the refusal that you have to interpret their reason as being one of the following:

You were prevented entry because it was alleged that you were bringing potentially dangerous and illegal items, such as drugs and weapons, into the club.

You were drunk and misbehaving.

That it was alleged that you and your friends were trying to enter the club to damage the bar or venue's property and furnishings.

Then say that since you can provide charachter references and proof that none of these were true take out your mobile phone and take a pic of you and your friend standing outside and try nand get the bouncers in the shot, they can't stop you taking a pic of yourself on the public footpath.  Then hand them the envelope and walk away off and have a few pints and a laugh in another club while they are sweating in theirs.  :)

Post by: Rafa on November 24, 2009, 02:12:42 PM
Quote from: Bud Wiser on November 24, 2009, 01:46:29 PM
Only because I would have a interest in the legal implications of the policy of this night club, not because I would want to go there I am at a loss to know why anyone would want to go there - see the comments down the page here:  http://www.belfastbar.co.uk/rain-nightclub-review.htm (http://www.belfastbar.co.uk/rain-nightclub-review.htm)

If I ever was in Belfast on a night I would type out a letter to the Proprietor, of Rain and after being refused I would say that under current laws of Discriminbation and,  because I was refused entry before,  I anticipated I would be refused tonight as well.  I would say they are reminded that because they could or would not give a reason for the refusal that you have to interpret their reason as being one of the following:

You were prevented entry because it was alleged that you were bringing potentially dangerous and illegal items, such as drugs and weapons, into the club.

You were drunk and misbehaving.

That it was alleged that you and your friends were trying to enter the club to damage the bar or venue's property and furnishings.

Then say that since you can provide charachter references and proof that none of these were true take out your mobile phone and take a pic of you and your friend standing outside and try nand get the bouncers in the shot, they can't stop you taking a pic of yourself on the public footpath.  Then hand them the envelope and walk away off and have a few pints and a laugh in another club while they are sweating in theirs.  :)

Good plan.

Started reading the reviews on that link you posted, don't need to read anymore. A lot seem to be having the same problems as me and my mates. I'm gonna make a conscious effort not to go near the place again then and maybe others should do the same thing.

As Rav I think mentioned, its the licensing laws in Belfast that are a joke. My mate was ranting after Saturday night at how early the Bot was over at. At the time I didn't think much of it because I'm used to it but 1.15am on a Saturday night is a bit of a joke.
Post by: Bud Wiser on November 24, 2009, 02:28:06 PM
There was a legal case in England recently where a nightclub stopped a dance and threathened to close for the night because Chinese in it weren't drinking enough  :D They sued for discrimination !
Post by: Maguire01 on November 24, 2009, 05:10:44 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on November 23, 2009, 07:36:43 PM
Ah now, we've agreed on a few things!
Post by: gallsman on November 24, 2009, 05:55:44 PM

Not that I like them any more than you do, but the ownership/management of RAIN would be from our side of the fence.
Post by: takeyourownpath on November 24, 2009, 08:07:32 PM
there was a "white party" in rain there before the summer, showed up about 10 oclock, could see inside the place was empty and still didn't get in! everyone i talk to says it's a joke, a mess inside and the bouncers don't let anyone who isn't from belfast in. so it's a "club" with shite music, crap staff, grumpy bouncers, dear drink and full of frankies. doesn't sound like we're missin much!
Post by: fitzroyalty on October 24, 2010, 11:11:56 PM
Seems the bouncers at Rain were at it again with their selective door policy, apparently wheelchair users are not welcome! A lad in a wheelchair was refused entry last week and was asked by one of the doorstaff "do you think we've nothing better to do than lift your wheelchair up and down stairs all night" or something to that effect. Was also told that they called him a spastic aswell. Whatever miniscule possibility there was of me ever entering that place again is now gone.  >:(
Post by: ardmhachaabu on October 24, 2010, 11:19:59 PM
Quote from: fitzroyalty on October 24, 2010, 11:11:56 PM
Seems the bouncers at Rain were at it again with their selective door policy, apparently wheelchair users are not welcome! A lad in a wheelchair was refused entry last week and was asked by one of the doorstaff "do you think we've nothing better to do than lift your wheelchair up and down stairs all night" or something to that effect. Was also told that they called him a spastic aswell. Whatever miniscule possibility there was of me ever entering that place again is now gone.  >:(
He works in the same place as me, he's a nice lad, always a bit of craic out of him
Post by: pintsofguinness on October 24, 2010, 11:21:31 PM
Quote from: fitzroyalty on October 24, 2010, 11:11:56 PM
if ever anyone needed their teeth kicked in it would be that bouncer
Post by: gerry on October 24, 2010, 11:31:51 PM
i see they have pulled all the facebook groups highlighting this
Post by: Arthur_Friend on October 25, 2010, 10:51:29 AM
If you've time have a scan through this thread, the lad who was turned away started it....

http://www.jon44w.co.uk/forum/viewthread.php?tid=342793&page=1

It gets very interesting from page 12 onwards......

Post by: ziggysego on October 25, 2010, 11:00:35 AM
I was seething about this when I first heard. I was since chatting to someone who works in RAIN and it isn't as clear-cut as the Irish News is making out. RAIN haven't released a statement yet.

I'll reserve judgement until I hear the full story.
Post by: DirtyDozen12 on October 25, 2010, 11:11:26 AM
Quote from: ziggysego on October 25, 2010, 11:00:35 AM
I was seething about this when I first heard. I was since chatting to someone who works in RAIN and it isn't as clear-cut as the Irish News is making out. RAIN haven't released a statement yet.

I'll reserve judgement until I hear the full story.

Was in it 2 weeks ago after having a good night out with mates in Belfast.  Went to ollies first and then rain.  Ill never be back in RAIN, a shithole of the highest degree, dark, damp, smelly, shitty wee hole.  Drink is 10 prices as well, over £22 for 4 vodka's, f**king joke.  Its the runiation of a good nite out, cant hardly move in it, sweat box, smell of piss, sweat, shite, the place reeks.  You have to be full goign into it.  Why anyone would go in sober to rain boggles the mind.  When i go in, i make sure im full beforehand. 
Post by: ziggysego on October 25, 2010, 11:16:13 AM
Never been in the place. Rarely out in Belfast.
Post by: DirtyDozen12 on October 25, 2010, 11:17:24 AM
Quote from: ziggysego on October 25, 2010, 11:16:13 AM

Avoid Ziggy, there are better places to go.  Its a dive.
Post by: ziggysego on October 25, 2010, 11:32:05 AM
Quote from: DirtyDozen12 on October 25, 2010, 11:17:24 AM

See, that's the thing. I'm kinda tempted now, so I can kick off a row if they don't let me in ;)
Post by: Muzz on October 25, 2010, 11:58:57 AM
No doubt there will be a queue of wheelchairs lined up this weekend.  It will become a hot spot for the disabled!
Post by: Gaaman on October 25, 2010, 11:59:15 AM
Quote from: ziggysego on October 25, 2010, 11:32:05 AM
Quote from: DirtyDozen12 on October 25, 2010, 11:17:24 AM

See, that's the thing. I'm kinda tempted now, so I can kick off a row if they don't let me in ;)

You've always been media hungry!