Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: longrunsthefox on October 27, 2009, 09:13:31 PM

Title: Greysteel psycho back where he belongs...
Post by: longrunsthefox on October 27, 2009, 09:13:31 PM
Greysteel killer back behind bars 
Torrens Knight was released early due to the Good Friday Agreement
One of the men convicted of murdering eight people in the Greysteel massacre has been sent back to prison after his early release licence was suspended.
Torrens Knight was given 12 life sentences for his part in the 1993 bar murders and for killing four workmen in Castlerock earlier the same year.
He was released under the Good Friday Agreement after serving seven years.
However, last week he was found guilty of attacking two sisters in a bar in Coleraine on 30 May 2008.
Eight people were shot dead when the UFF opened fire inside the Rising Sun bar in the County Londonderry village of Greysteel at Halloween 1993.
One of the gunmen shouted "trick or treat" before opening fire on customers.
In 2005, another of the Greysteel killers, Stephen Irwin, who had also been released early under the terms of the Good Friday Agreement, was convicted of slashing a football supporter with a knife during an Irish Cup Final football match.
A week later, his licence was revoked and he was returned to prison.

Title: Re: Greysteel psycho back where he belongs...
Post by: The Watcher Pat on October 27, 2009, 09:33:38 PM
That's the best news I've heard all day. "Trick or treat" now Torrens back behind bars just in time for halloween.
Post by: longrunsthefox on October 27, 2009, 09:36:46 PM
A lot of sh*t went down here but I will never forget the images of him snarling and shouting coming out of court with that poppy in his lapel after the massacre. I remember Protestants at the time saying it was shameful him wearing the poppy. Pure evil and hatred. I doubt if he has a political thought in his head. John Dallat has done good work to push to get this maniac back in jail.   
Post by: EC Unique on October 27, 2009, 09:37:53 PM
He 'belongs' in a cheap wooden box!
Post by: The Watcher Pat on October 27, 2009, 09:39:25 PM
He looked pure evil in the images of him leaving the court at the time.

Hope they never let him out know.
Post by: oakleafgael on October 27, 2009, 09:52:07 PM
Quote from: The Watcher Pat on October 27, 2009, 09:39:25 PM

Indeed he was the big man at the courthouse but in essence a coward. The trick or treat comment cant really apply to him as he hid outside and "bottled" the shooting. He comes from not to far from me and has been a nasty piece of work since a young age, his family are decent people. The local bar would be mixed and he tried on a few occassions to stir trouble and got what was coming to him, not to much annoyance from either side of the house. His recent conviction shows him up for what he is.

The biggest question that needs to be asked about him is what information he was passing onto his keepers in the RUC when he was in their employment.
Post by: Cúig huaire on October 27, 2009, 09:56:36 PM
Quote from: oakleafgael on October 27, 2009, 09:52:07 PM
his family are decent people.

His brother is a convicted drug dealer.

He should have been put back behind bars as soon as he was arrested for this offence, but his employers were probably doing their best to keep him out.
Post by: oakleafgael on October 27, 2009, 10:00:57 PM
Quote from: Cúig huaire on October 27, 2009, 09:56:36 PM
his family are decent people.

His brother is a convicted drug dealer.

He should have been put back behind bars as soon as he was arrested for this offence, but his employers were probably doing their best to keep him out.

5times,

It wasnt his brother who I was referring to.
Post by: Cúig huaire on October 27, 2009, 10:01:57 PM
Is his brother adopted?
Post by: ziggysego on October 27, 2009, 10:13:36 PM
I'm glad it's back behind bars again.

Quote from: longrunsthefox on October 27, 2009, 09:36:46 PM
A lot of sh*t went down here but I will never forget the images of him snarling and shouting coming out of court with that poppy in his lapel after the massacre. I remember Protestants at the time saying it was shameful him wearing the poppy. Pure evil and hatred. I doubt if he has a political thought in his head.

That's an image from the Troubles I've never forgotten.
Post by: Tony Baloney on October 27, 2009, 10:25:16 PM
That boy belongs in a pit in the ground. A lunatic if ever there was one but one of the peace dividends was unleashing these animals back into society. A cage or a pine box is the place for him.
Post by: Rav67 on October 28, 2009, 12:25:00 AM
Quote from: The Watcher Pat on October 27, 2009, 09:39:25 PM

Indeed he was the big man at the courthouse but in essence a coward. The trick or treat comment cant really apply to him as he hid outside and "bottled" the shooting. He comes from not to far from me and has been a nasty piece of work since a young age, his family are decent people. The local bar would be mixed and he tried on a few occassions to stir trouble and got what was coming to him, not to much annoyance from either side of the house. His recent conviction shows him up for what he is.

The biggest question that needs to be asked about him is what information he was passing onto his keepers in the RUC when he was in their employment.

Apparently he was a right wee **** from no age.  Loreto in Coleraine would have been an all-girls school at the time he was in his teens, a neighbour who went there told me he used to be on their bus part of the way and would always sit down near the girls harassing them giving abuse singing the billy boys etc
Post by: nrico2006 on October 28, 2009, 10:07:37 AM
I was delighted when I heard this news earlier, I was angry last week when he was done for the crime but was not automatically put back in to server his sentence.  What is the craic with this situation, last week it was left that a decision had to be made to decide whether or not his license was revoked but surely if anyone out on the Good Friday agreement, especially some of the infamous ones like Knight, should be automatically thrown back in for life once they so much as throw rubbish in the street. 
Post by: Doogie Browser on October 28, 2009, 10:29:54 AM
I have said it before, John Dallat is the single most hard working MLA (surely an oxymoron?) that we have.  You may not all agree with his politics, but he is a tenacious wee hoor who is not afraid to face down scum bags from both sides of the community, but because he is a stoop he gets no credit.
Post by: Aerlik on October 28, 2009, 10:42:19 AM
The xmas before the Castlerock murders, I was sitting in the pub beside one of the victims.  He was a few years younger than me at school.  And it could have been five that day.  A neighbour of mine was in that workgang and was the last to get picked up for work.  That morning his car had a flat wheel and he told the men to go ahead without him, that he'd drive to work when he got the tyre changed.  When he got to work there was police everywhere and he at first thought there had been a car accident....what an incredible coincidence.
Post by: longrunsthefox on December 02, 2009, 05:04:43 PM

Torrens Knight -Loyalist killer jailed for attack

Hopefully now the Sentence Review Commission will do the right thing and throw away the key...

One of the men convicted of the 1993 Greysteel massacre has been jailed for four months for attacking two sisters in a bar in Coleraine in May 2008.
Torrens Knight was convicted of assault and disorderly behaviour last month.
The judge at Antrim Magistrates Court sentenced the former UFF man to four months in prison on Wednesday.
Knight served seven years in prison for his part in the murders of eight people at the Rising Sun bar and four workmen in Castlerock earlier the same year.
The judge said the attack on the sisters was a "nasty incident" which was "extremely traumatic" for the victims.
Knight was released from prison under an early release licence in 2000, but this was suspended after his latest conviction.
A defence lawyer said Knight plans to appeal his sentence.
Knight was granted bail pending his appeal, but he will remain in jail because of the suspension of his licence.
The Sentence Review Commission will now decide whether the licence should be revoked.
In 2005, another of the Greysteel killers, Stephen Irwin, was told he would serve out his eight life sentences after being convicted of slashing a football supporter with a knife.
Eight people were shot dead when the UFF opened fire inside the Rising Sun bar in the County Londonderry village of Greysteel at Halloween 1993.
One of the gunmen shouted "trick or treat" before opening fire on customers.
Knight, Irwin and two other UFF men were convicted and given eight life sentences for the murders.

Post by: Tony Baloney on December 02, 2009, 05:14:09 PM
A psychopath with no place in a normal society. Should be locked away indefinitely but sentencing of loyalists tends to be "peculiar".
Post by: stew on December 02, 2009, 05:19:21 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on December 02, 2009, 05:14:09 PM
A psychopath with no place in a normal society. Should be locked away indefinitely but sentencing of loyalists tends to be "peculiar".

Not peculiar, disgusting.
Post by: red hander on December 02, 2009, 06:12:03 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on December 02, 2009, 05:14:09 PM

Nothing whatsoever to do with the fact most of them are British agents...
Post by: omagh_gael on December 02, 2009, 07:11:12 PM
Is it not a proviso of the Good Friday agreement that if you breached the terms of your licence you have to return to prison for the remainder of your original sentence?
Post by: Hoof Hearted on December 02, 2009, 08:50:34 PM
i wouldnt be a bitter or violent man, but if ever a man's face made me angry it was that horrible looking bastard. fcuk me hanging wouldnt do that hoor justice !!
Post by: charlieTully on December 02, 2009, 08:58:40 PM
hope the c..t has a billy wright done on him inside. Crip McWilliams R.I.P
Post by: slow corner back on December 02, 2009, 09:40:58 PM
Quote from: Aerlik on October 28, 2009, 10:42:19 AM
The xmas before the Castlerock murders, I was sitting in the pub beside one of the victims.  He was a few years younger than me at school.  And it could have been five that day.  A neighbour of mine was in that workgang and was the last to get picked up for work.  That morning his car had a flat wheel and he told the men to go ahead without him, that he'd drive to work when he got the tyre changed.  When he got to work there was police everywhere and he at first thought there had been a car accident....what an incredible coincidence.
The murders at Castlerock and later Greysteel stunk to high heaven. Torrens Knight was a paid informer the whole time this was going on. The guns used in both attacks were found by a fisherman in a hole alongside the River Bann before the shooting took place. The fisherman reported them to the cops who did nothing and allowed all those people to die. As has been said before on this thread John Dallat deserves immense credit for standing up to the RUC/UDA/UDR/UFF/Orange Order round Coleraine. The abuse that man has had to take down the years is nothing ordinary yet he still keeps digging at all the stinking cesspools in Northern Ireland. Well done John keep up the good work.
Post by: longrunsthefox on December 02, 2009, 09:45:26 PM
Agreed- John Dallat has been very couragous in this case. 
Post by: Gaffer on December 02, 2009, 11:46:26 PM
Good man John.
Hope you get to read this thread  ansd see the credit you are getting!
Post by: saffron sam2 on December 03, 2009, 08:35:18 AM
Quote from: slow corner back on December 02, 2009, 09:40:58 PM
Quote from: Aerlik on October 28, 2009, 10:42:19 AM
The murders at Castlerock and later Greysteel stunk to high heaven. Torrens Knight was a paid informer the whole time this was going on. The guns used in both attacks were found by a fisherman in a hole alongside the River Bann before the shooting took place. The fisherman reported them to the cops who did nothing and allowed all those people to die. As has been said before on this thread John Dallat deserves immense credit for standing up to the RUC/UDA/UDR/UFF/Orange Order round Coleraine.The abuse that man has had to take down the years is nothing ordinary yet he still keeps digging at all the stinking cesspools in Northern Ireland. Well done John keep up the good work.

You left 'sporting' website ourweecountry.co.uk (in particular a poster styling himself / herself Golden Boy) off your admittedly otherwise complete list.
Post by: nrico2006 on December 03, 2009, 08:39:51 AM
QuoteIs it not a proviso of the Good Friday agreement that if you breached the terms of your licence you have to return to prison for the remainder of your original sentence?

Surely if anyone out on licence is ocnvicted of any crime of a nature as serious as this then they should be sent back for the rest of their original sentence.  It would be a joke if he gets anything else, but I have a feeling he will.
Post by: omagh_gael on December 03, 2009, 09:29:09 AM
Quote from: nrico2006 on December 03, 2009, 08:39:51 AM
QuoteIs it not a proviso of the Good Friday agreement that if you breached the terms of your licence you have to return to prison for the remainder of your original sentence?

Surely if anyone out on licence is ocnvicted of any crime of a nature as serious as this then they should be sent back for the rest of their original sentence.  It would be a joke if he gets anything else, but I have a feeling he will.

He was already sentenced nrico...to FOUR months! F**k all for that tr**p.

QuoteThe judge at Antrim Magistrates Court sentenced the former UFF man to four months in prison on Wednesday.
Post by: nrico2006 on December 03, 2009, 10:09:20 AM
Aye, but I think the Sentence Review Commission will now decide whether the licence should be revoked.  It will be interesting to hear their decision.
Post by: longrunsthefox on December 03, 2009, 12:22:54 PM
Some tr**p by the name of Trevor Collins  of the TUV has started a petition for this piece of vermin to get him out. He has collected 2000 names. It is a surprise they can write their own names. Wilson says, "Torrens is  decent fellow." Jesus wept.
Post by: fitzroyalty on December 03, 2009, 12:31:37 PM
Quote from: longrunsthefox on December 03, 2009, 12:22:54 PM
Some tr**p by the name of Trevor Wilson of the TUV has started a petition for this piece of vermin to get him out. He has collected 2000 names. It is a surprise they can write their own names. Wilson says, "Torrens is  decent fellow." Jesus wept.
That is f**king pathetic  :'(
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on December 03, 2009, 12:34:15 PM
Some tr**p by the name of Trevor Wilson of the TUV has started a petition for this piece of vermin to get him out. He has collected 2000 names. It is a surprise they can write their own names. Wilson says, "Torrens is  decent fellow." Jesus wept.

Where did you see this fox?
Post by: longrunsthefox on December 03, 2009, 12:50:26 PM
Quote from: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on December 03, 2009, 12:34:15 PM
Some tr**p by the name of Trevor Collins of the TUV has started a petition for this piece of vermin to get him out. He has collected 2000 names. It is a surprise they can write their own names. Collins,  "Torrens is  decent fellow." Jesus wept.

Was on front page of Daily Mirror... and I promise I didn't buy  it  :-\  Read it off the shelf.
Post by: Jim_Murphy_74 on December 03, 2009, 12:58:02 PM
Quote from: saffron sam2 on December 03, 2009, 08:35:18 AM
You left 'sporting' website ourweecountry.co.uk (in particular a poster styling himself / herself Golden Boy) off your admittedly otherwise complete list.

What was their beef with the guy?  Surely the broad church that is OWC support has many Stoops and nationalists who probably even vote for Dallat?  :o :o

/Jim.
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on December 03, 2009, 01:15:52 PM
Quote from: longrunsthefox on December 03, 2009, 12:50:26 PM
Quote from: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on December 03, 2009, 12:34:15 PM

Was on front page of Daily Mirror... and I promise I didn't buy  it  :-\  Read it off the shelf.

Just heard it on the news there now, f**king w*anker! Jim Allister has said he didn't sign it, but refused to condemn it.
Post by: saffron sam2 on December 03, 2009, 01:16:31 PM
Quote from: Jim_Murphy_74 on December 03, 2009, 12:58:02 PM
Quote from: saffron sam2 on December 03, 2009, 08:35:18 AM

What was their beef with the guy?  Surely the broad church that is OWC support has many Stoops and nationalists who probably even vote for Dallat?  :o :o

/Jim.

I think he may be in favour of a 32 county Irish international soccer team.
Post by: the waffler on December 03, 2009, 01:21:13 PM
a bullet
Post by: longrunsthefox on December 03, 2009, 02:14:06 PM
Correction: I originally said that TUV p***k  backing Knight was Trevor Wilson... he is Trevor COLLINS who described Torrents as a, 'decent young man.' 
Post by: Jim_Murphy_74 on December 03, 2009, 02:25:02 PM
Quote from: saffron sam2 on December 03, 2009, 01:16:31 PM
I think he may be in favour of a 32 county Irish international soccer team.

Shame!!

I had a gander over but all but a few threads require monetary contribution and even a search on "Dallat" required coughing up.

On the open ones poor old Darron Gibson is been torn a new one "sectarian wee toerag" that he his.

/Jim.
Post by: Orior on December 03, 2009, 02:40:42 PM
I'm waiting to hear the social services people saying that "Mr Torrens had a tough upbringing and is just misunderstood, what he really needs is love and caring"
Post by: orangeman on December 03, 2009, 03:03:16 PM
" He never was a real bad person, but the Troubles in Northern Ireland provoked many a young man to do things that they wouldn't have done in normal circumstances."

Trevor Collins TUV.

Holy Christ !
Post by: NAG1 on December 03, 2009, 03:04:44 PM
I think it says alot more about the TUV and the people that actually signed this rather than about Torrens himself. Obviously a totally abhorrent human being, whos only contribution in this life has been to cause pain and suffering. He is a symbol of the past and should be a reminder to everyone of the way things were and never should be again. May he serve out the rest of his sentence and never breathe a free breath again.
Post by: saffron sam2 on December 03, 2009, 03:05:42 PM
Quote from: NAG1 on December 03, 2009, 03:04:44 PM
I think it says alot more about the TUV and the people that actually signed this rather than about Torrens himself. Obviously a totally abhorrent human being, whos only contribution in this life has been to cause pain and suffering. He is a symbol of the past and should be a reminder to everyone of the way things were and never should be again. May he serve out the rest of his sentence and never breathe a free breath again.

You know him well, do you?
Post by: NAG1 on December 03, 2009, 04:01:03 PM
SS2 Dont be taking my comment out of context.
My point was that Torrens wouldnt know even what a petition was let alone organise one. He is completely evil my comment was that do we think that it is acceptable for some one proporting to be from a political organisation to be running around gathering signatures to release a man that has killed people in the past and has not changed in any way which his attack on the two sisters shows.
Post by: boojangles on December 03, 2009, 04:05:49 PM
What is the TUV??
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on December 03, 2009, 04:11:08 PM
Quote from: boojangles on December 03, 2009, 04:05:49 PM
What is the TUV??

Totally Useless Vermin 'Traditional Unionist Voice' [sic], an offshoot of the DUP who weren't quite prehistoric enough for them.
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on December 03, 2009, 04:24:12 PM
Quote from: boojangles on December 03, 2009, 04:05:49 PM
What is the TUV??

Traditional Unionist Voice

http://www.tuv.org.uk/

Shower of knuckle dragging unionist dinosaurs, want things back to the way they were when Carson and Craig were in charge.
Post by: A Quinn Martin Production on December 03, 2009, 04:26:11 PM
Quote from: NAG1 on December 03, 2009, 04:01:03 PM
SS2 Dont be taking my comment out of context.
My point was that Torrens wouldnt know even what a petition was let alone organise one. He is completely evil my comment was that do we think that it is acceptable for some one proporting to be from a political organisation to be running around gathering signatures to release a man that has killed people in the past and has not changed in any way which his attack on the two sisters shows.

NAG I think saffron sam is referring to your use of "Torrens", that being Mr Knight's "Christian" name. 

Clearly this man is a dangerous psychopath and if this were England he'd probably be put in Broadmoor for the rest of his natural.
Post by: longrunsthefox on December 03, 2009, 04:44:52 PM
NEWS REPORT
Jim Allister has said a petition, organised by a TUV member in support of a convicted loyalist murderer, has nothing to do with his party.
However, the Traditional Unionist Voice leader did confirm Garvagh businessman Trevor Collins was a party member.
Mr Collins has been collecting signatures seeking the release of Greysteel murderer Torrens Knight.
Trevor Collins: "He never was a real bad person, but the Troubles in Northern Ireland provoked many a young man to do things that they wouldn't have done in normal circumstances.
TUV leader Mr Allister said he had not been asked to sign the petition. A spokesman for the party said there were no plans to revoke Mr Collins' membership.
MLA John Dallat said he was disgusted by the petition.
"While I note that the TUV has distanced itself from the petition I would have thought that they would throw the organiser, Trevor Collins, out of the party if they really believe so strongly that all early release prisoners should be behind bars," he said.
"No one should be in any doubt that the only place for Knight is back in jail where he does not constitute a danger to the public."

Dallat is not letting them off the hook anyway... fair play to him.

Post by: nifan on December 03, 2009, 05:05:45 PM
Feck sake - "He never was a real bad person" ::)

What a joke - I wonder who he does think is a bad person
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on December 03, 2009, 05:13:33 PM
Quote from: nifan on December 03, 2009, 05:05:45 PM
Feck sake - "He never was a real bad person" ::)

What a joke - I wonder who he does think is a bad person

Probably no-one, Adolf Hitler was just misunderstood and Kim Jong Il was bullied as a child.
Then on reflection I'm sure he's not a big fan of Papists!  ;)
Post by: orangeman on December 03, 2009, 05:17:24 PM
What would constitute someone being described as being plain evil ??
Post by: Rossfan on December 03, 2009, 09:14:29 PM
Quote from: orangeman on December 03, 2009, 05:17:24 PM
What would constitute someone being described as being plain evil ??

Being a member of the GPA  :D ;)
Post by: Tyrone Dreamer on December 03, 2009, 10:15:08 PM
Quote from: longrunsthefox on December 03, 2009, 04:44:52 PM
NEWS REPORT
Jim Allister has said a petition, organised by a TUV member in support of a convicted loyalist murderer, has nothing to do with his party.
However, the Traditional Unionist Voice leader did confirm Garvagh businessman Trevor Collins was a party member.
Mr Collins has been collecting signatures seeking the release of Greysteel murderer Torrens Knight.
Trevor Collins: "He never was a real bad person, but the Troubles in Northern Ireland provoked many a young man to do things that they wouldn't have done in normal circumstances.TUV leader Mr Allister said he had not been asked to sign the petition. A spokesman for the party said there were no plans to revoke Mr Collins' membership.
MLA John Dallat said he was disgusted by the petition.
"While I note that the TUV has distanced itself from the petition I would have thought that they would throw the organiser, Trevor Collins, out of the party if they really believe so strongly that all early release prisoners should be behind bars," he said.
"No one should be in any doubt that the only place for Knight is back in jail where he does not constitute a danger to the public."

Dallat is not letting them off the hook anyway... fair play to him.

What has the troubles got to do with him attacking 2 sisters in a bar? Suppose they deserved it or something.
Post by: nrico2006 on December 16, 2009, 04:03:36 PM
Is he back now for the remainder of his original sentence or is that to be reviewed yet?

Surely if Terence McCafferty has been sent back for supposedly nothing then battering two sisters should warrant suspension of his license.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/northern_ireland/default.stm (http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/northern_ireland/default.stm)
Post by: longrunsthefox on March 05, 2010, 01:21:16 PM

Loyalist killer Knight told he must stay in jail
A convicted loyalist killer has lost his legal challenge to the decision to suspend his early release licence.
Torrens Knight received 12 life sentences for his part in the Greysteel massacre and the separate killing of four workmen.
His prison release was suspended after he was found guilty of attacking two women in a Coleraine bar in May 2008.

Knight was seeking a judicial review of Secretary of State Shaun Woodward's decision to send him back to jail.
However, on Friday, a High Court judge refused leave to seek a review after rejecting all grounds on which the application was based.
Mr Justice Treacy said: "If the secretary of state had not suspended the applicant's licence in the teeth of a conviction for very serious offences of violence it would almost certainly have attracted public opprobrium and undermined public confidence."

Knight was sentenced to four months imprisonment last December for assault and disorderly behaviour.
Although granted bail pending his appeal, he was kept in jail due to the suspension of his licence.
'Risk to others'
Mr Woodward ordered his recall to prison due to the new conviction and a determination that he posed a risk to the safety of others.
Knight was found guilty of involvement in an attack on the Rising Sun bar in Greysteel, Derry at Halloween 1993.
Eight people were shot dead when loyalists opened fire inside the pub.
He was also convicted of the murders of four Catholic builders in Castlerock earlier the same year.
Knight was released on licence in July 2000 under the terms of the Good Friday Agreement.

His lawyers argued the suspension breached his right to liberty and should not have been taken until after an appeal against the assault convictions is heard.
It was stressed that the Sentence Review Commissioners have still to determine whether to revoke the licence.
His barrister told the court that since being released Knight had "turned over a new leaf" and disassociated himself with those he was previously involved with.
But Mr Justice Treacy rejected arguments based on the relevant law, alleged inconsistencies and unreasonableness.
The judge said: "In my view the secretary of state's decision that these convictions indicated that the applicant had breached the condition of his licence not to become a danger to the public is unimpeachable.
"Whether or not he is in fact a danger to the public will be determined by the Sentence Review Commissioners exercising their powers under the 1998 Act."

He added that, provided the secretary of state acts rationally and in good faith, his decision is unassailable.
"It is impossible to even contend that the secretary of state's belief that the applicant had broken his licence condition was irrational."
Post by: red hander on March 05, 2010, 04:43:54 PM
This time let him rot till he dies
Post by: Nally Stand on March 05, 2010, 10:48:08 PM
This mean he only does four months still? Or does the sentence review crowd still have the option of enforcing him to serve the rest of his original sentence?
Post by: longrunsthefox on March 05, 2010, 10:50:30 PM
I think he gets the original... his buddy got put back in to serve the rest of his life sentence after he was lashing boys with a stanley knife at  a Glentoran game... nice lads alrite. 
Post by: Nally Stand on March 05, 2010, 11:04:54 PM
Hmmm pillars of society alrite. Wonder what those other pillars of society in the RUC that were up to their ears in it are at with themselves now? Playing golf in their retirement maybe. Or worse still, behind a desk in the uniform of a PSNI law enforcer.
Post by: longrunsthefox on April 20, 2010, 09:47:38 AM
Cynical bid to be released

Loyalist killer Torrens Knight admits being a 'bad man' 

Loyalist killer Torrens Knight has broken down in court in tears, saying that he had been a "bad man" who had done "terrible things in the past".
Knight, 40, from Ashdale, Coleraine, was giving evidence in his appeal against a a conviction for assaulting two sisters in a bar in the town.
He claimed he was hurt after they called his wife a "tr**p".

Knight was jailed for life for 12 murders in 1993, including the killings of eight people in the Rising Sun pub.
He was later freed under the Good Friday Agreement early release scheme but sent back to jail following his conviction for attacking the sisters two years ago.

Knight told his appear at Antrim County Court that their insult hurt him more than them calling him a "murdering sc**bag".
"People have a right to call me that if they want, because that is what I am - or was.
"I have been a bad man but my past is my past. I want to live in peace now," Knight claimed.
***But he admitted that after the attack he told police that he was not ashamed of what he had done in the past.
He added: "That was an off the cuff remark which I should not have made".
Knight said he had been through a lot but it was "self-inflicted".
He said the papers had written a lot of things about him, but he had developed a thick skin.
However, he said that the sisters' should not have insulted his wife.

Fighting back tears, he said "she is a good girl".
Knight said he had approached the sisters in the bar to make peace with them because there had been bad blood between them and his wife's family.
He said the sisters blamed him for shooting their brother, but said that he could prove that he had not even been in the country at the time.
He denied that he struck the first blow in the pub and said he had only been acting in self-defence.
Post by: Banana Man on April 20, 2010, 11:37:09 AM
is this guy for real  ???

no doubt the statelet will put it's collective arms around this poor soul, give him DLA, counselling and a free pass to a shooting range to release any negative feelings

makes me sick
Post by: omagh_gael on April 26, 2010, 04:29:13 PM
Loyalist killer Torrens Knight has lost his appeal against a conviction for assaulting two women in May 2008.
Knight, 40, from Ashdale, Coleraine, was convicted of assaulting two sisters in a bar in the town.
Knight was jailed for life for 12 murders in 1993, including the killings of eight people in the Rising Sun bar in Greysteel.
He was freed in 2000 under the Good Friday Agreement but was sent back to jail following his assault conviction
Judge David Smyth QC rejected the claim that Knight had acted in self-defence during a row in the Blackthorn Bar.
Last week Knight told Antrim County Court he was hurt after they called his wife a "tr**p", saying that insult hurt him more than them calling him a "murdering sc**bag".
"People have a right to call me that if they want, because that is what I am - or was.
"I have been a bad man but my past is my past. I want to live in peace now," Knight claimed.
'Lashed out'
On Monday Judge Smyth said he accepted there was bad blood between Knight's family and the sisters and that he did not seek a confrontation with them in the bar, but he said he believed Knight had "lashed out" at them after "losing his temper and his self-control".
The judge said Knight may have been provoked by the sisters but he completely over-reacted and that he was satisfied that the vast majority of the injuries inflicted on the sisters, Rosemary Sutherland and Caroline Nichol, had been inflicted by Knight in anger and frustration and not in self-defence.
Previously Knight had said he approached the sisters in the bar to make peace with them.
He said the sisters blamed him for shooting their brother, but said that he could prove that he had not even been in the country at the time.
He denied that he struck the first blow in the pub and said he had only been acting in self-defence.
Lawyers for Knight confirmed after the hearing that they were continuing with appeals to have Knight released from prison by the Life Sentence Review Commissioners.

Post by: Doogie Browser on April 26, 2010, 04:32:42 PM
Why doesn't someone do us all a favour and stab this **** to death in prison.
Post by: Franko on April 26, 2010, 05:06:13 PM
Does anyone know what business(es) that this Trevor Collins character runs?

I'd like that to be made public so I can be doubly sure I never give the c**t a penny of my money.