GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: North Longford on September 03, 2009, 02:05:57 PM

Title: Kilmacud Crokes 7's
Post by: North Longford on September 03, 2009, 02:05:57 PM
Hope there's not a thread on this already.
Wondering does anybody know the pitch dimensions for these games. Couldn't see it on the crokes website last night.
Title: Re: Kilmacud Crokes 7's
Post by: Billys Boots on September 03, 2009, 02:43:57 PM
I heard ye were giving it a lash this year alright - best of luck now.  Are you at the helm until Xmas?
Post by: blewuporstuffed on September 03, 2009, 03:20:16 PM
Our club are heading down for the first time aswell, any one any ideas where  a good place to stay would be? a hostel or a hotel nearby that would take a group of about 20
Post by: clareman on September 03, 2009, 03:22:30 PM
Quote from: North Longford on September 03, 2009, 02:05:57 PM
Wondering does anybody know the pitch dimensions for these games. Couldn't see it on the crokes website last night.

I always thought the games were played on a full sized pitch, no?
Post by: the Deel Rover on September 03, 2009, 03:28:31 PM
Quote from: clareman on September 03, 2009, 03:22:30 PM

jesus you would be knackered if ya were playing on a full pitch clareman tis tough enough on the smaller pitch ya never stop running great game.
Post by: North Longford on September 03, 2009, 03:39:32 PM

Quoteheard ye were giving it a lash this year alright - best of luck now.  Are you at the helm until Xmas?

I hope its well over before christmas Billy....county board will have a lot to answer for if its not!!!

And I hope its not a full size pitch either....I might have a few droputs!!
Post by: the waffler on September 03, 2009, 03:47:20 PM
Quote from: blewuporstuffed on September 03, 2009, 03:20:16 PM
Our club are heading down for the first time aswell, any one any ideas where  a good place to stay would be? a hostel or a hotel nearby that would take a group of about 20
Blewup the Sillorgan Park is pretty close as is Bewleys Leopardstown both dead on and reasonable,the 7s is a great weekend have a good one
Post by: clareman on September 03, 2009, 04:01:07 PM
Quote from: the Deel Rover on September 03, 2009, 03:28:31 PM
Quote from: clareman on September 03, 2009, 03:22:30 PM

jesus you would be knackered if ya were playing on a full pitch clareman tis tough enough on the smaller pitch ya never stop running great game.

Must be the hurling only that's played on the football field - it would make sense I suppose that the football crowd would need a smaller pitch to perform in!!! ;)
Post by: North Longford on September 03, 2009, 04:06:02 PM
Wouldn't be much fun watching two goalies pucking the ball over and back across the bar either I suppose!!
Post by: INDIANA on September 03, 2009, 05:20:25 PM
Full size pitch lads.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on September 03, 2009, 05:23:13 PM
How do Crokes manage with their pitches at different locations? At least Judes have the hurling in the one park...
Post by: the Deel Rover on September 03, 2009, 05:27:09 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on September 03, 2009, 05:20:25 PM
Full size pitch lads.

has it allways been played io full size pitches indiana ? i know we got to the final 1 year ( lost of course ) but i don't recall it been a full size pitch then again i was only a suppoter and had a few on board  :D
Post by: INDIANA on September 03, 2009, 06:26:31 PM
Well its pretty damn close to being a full pitch if its not. The Pairc De Burca venue (clubhouse) is very close to a full pitch, not sure about the other venues. Anytime I've gone to it I tend to stay near where the beer is!
Personally it looks way too big for 7 a side. I'd need a taxi to get up and down it playing 7 a side. Still cracking days entertainment.
Post by: Logan on September 03, 2009, 06:41:02 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on September 03, 2009, 06:26:31 PM
Well its pretty damn close to being a full pitch if its not. The Pairc De Burca venue (clubhouse) is very close to a full pitch, not sure about the other venues. Anytime I've gone to it I tend to stay near where the beer is!
Personally it looks way too big for 7 a side. I'd need a taxi to get up and down it playing 7 a side. Still cracking days entertainment.
Oh I could get up it ... need a taxi back though
Post by: PadraicHenryPearse on September 04, 2009, 12:12:19 AM
they have 3 or 4 venues. clonskeagh school, oatlands school, Pairc De Burca and silverpark.

they play accross the main pitch in Pairc De Burca. they have two groups there usually the better teams play their groups there and the semi's and final are played there too.
Post by: magpie seanie on September 04, 2009, 08:49:15 AM
I've been to Silverpark (definitely not full size) and Glenalbyn (bigger but not quite full size) to games and its a brilliant day. In the earlier venues you get loads of goals while on the bigger pitch and with fatigue setting in more points are taken from what I can see.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on September 04, 2009, 11:08:56 AM
NL.

I was in Clonkeen College to 'cheer' Abbey last year.

Are ye boys listed for there?

Bring some heart/lung machines cos it is prettin intensive
Post by: North Longford on September 04, 2009, 12:58:34 PM
Don't think draws for football made yet. Could only find the hurling earlier in the week. I'm afraid the past few weeks inactivity won't have helped our chances however minute they may have been at the best of times.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on September 04, 2009, 01:27:08 PM
The Longford club has been in Clonkeen for the last number of years. I think it's seeded with the good lads in Glenalbyn and the lessers farmed out to the sticks and then brought into Stillorgan as group winners etc
Post by: highking on September 04, 2009, 03:13:34 PM
The main pitch in Glenalbyn is full width but just shy of full length.

The outside pitches are either juvenile pitches or rugby pitches - which is just perfect. However, if you get a goalie with a good puck-out, and the wind at his back, he can have pot-shots for scores. I remember a few years ago we had a good goalie on a windy day. He put three puck-outs over the bar the opposite side.

In the football however, the Glenalbyn pitch is shortened a bit more - cos theres more running in the football.

Looking forward to the day. Heading up tonight for the weekend. The club has got about 20 AI tickets so should be a great weekend.
Post by: 3000 miles away on September 05, 2009, 08:13:10 PM
Word has it Crossmaglen Rangers are going to the 7's this year.
Post by: blewuporstuffed on September 09, 2009, 01:14:46 PM
were can you find the rules, pitch sizes game length etc for the football?
Post by: Hoof Hearted on September 09, 2009, 01:24:51 PM
O'NeillsKilmacud Crokes All IrelandFootball Sevens 2009

Saturday19th September 2009

Teams,Groups & Venues

Group 1
Group 2

St Patricks
Louth
Portarlington
Laois

Clonduff
Down
Clonoe O'Rahillys
Tyrone

Nemo Rangers
Cork
Milltown
Kerry

Padraig Pearses
Roscommon
Glencar
Leitrim

Group 3
Group 4

Colmcilles
Longford
Newtownbutler
Fermanagh

An Ríocht
Down
An Tearmann
Donegal

Naomh Abán
Cork
Athlone
Westmeath

Easkey
Sligo
Corofin
Galway

Group 5
Group 6

Abbeylara
Longford
St Annes
Dublin

Castletown
Wexford
St Galls
Antrim

Ballinderry
Derry
Kilcummin
Kerry

Caltra
Galway
St Mary's
Sligo

Group 7
Group 8

Dromard
Longford
Thomas Davis
Dublin

Castlewellan
Down
Glenullin
Derry

St Nicholas
Cork
Castlehaven
Cork

Breaffy
Mayo
Kilkerrin Clonberne
Galway

Group 9
Group 10

Bunbrosna
Westmeath
Kilmacud Crokes
Dublin

Longstone
Down
Slaughtneil
Derry

St Patricks
Fermanagh
Carberry Rangers
Cork

Claregalway
Galway
Cortoon Shamrocks
Galway

Group 11
Group 12

Raheny
Dublin
Bray Emmets
Wicklow

Castleblaney
Monaghan
Belturbet
Cavan

Kickham
Antrim
Bryansford
Down

St Brigids
Roscommon
Caherlistrane
Galway

Post by: rrhf on September 09, 2009, 01:33:49 PM
Not the same without the Moy. 
Post by: No way ref on September 09, 2009, 01:59:06 PM
I see Glenullin are down to play. They will be hoping their championship match doesn't go to a replay
Post by: milltown row on September 09, 2009, 07:28:14 PM
St galls won the Castlewellan last weekend while the hurlers played the same day at Kilmacud!!! the hurlers won two lost one.

we'd be a good price for it
Post by: ONeill on September 09, 2009, 07:32:16 PM
Yes, a good bet. The only other side to do back to back was Bryansford in 93-94.
Post by: ONeill on September 09, 2009, 07:41:16 PM
Quote from: rrhf on September 09, 2009, 01:33:49 PM
Not the same without the Moy.

Tyrone are traditionally shite at this. I think all 4 Tyrone teams finished bottom of their respective groups last year.
Post by: mountainboii on September 09, 2009, 07:46:06 PM
Too many Down teams.

Down are becoming the Fiji of Gaelic football.
Post by: milltown row on September 09, 2009, 08:04:56 PM
Longstone and Castlewellan are not bad either
Post by: randomtask on September 09, 2009, 10:09:25 PM
have kilmacud ever won their competition?
Post by: ONeill on September 09, 2009, 10:32:38 PM
They won it in '83 '88, '90 and '97.

Runners-up in '75, '79, '89 and '96.
Post by: ONeill on September 09, 2009, 10:35:18 PM
St Gall's won it: '85, '05 and '08. Runners-up: '84, '93 and '07
Bryansford: '84, '91, '93, '94. Runners-up: '90 and '95,
Castlewellan: '78, '81, '96, '00 and '06. Runners-up: Never.
Post by: ONeill on September 09, 2009, 10:45:37 PM
Castleblaney have made it to 4 finals but lost them all - '83, '97, '01 and '05.
Post by: ONeill on September 09, 2009, 10:49:24 PM
10 titles won by Down
6 by Dublin
5 by Antrim
4 by Galway
3 by Derry
Post by: ONeill on September 09, 2009, 10:51:37 PM
The last 4 finals have been an all-Ulster affair.

2005 St. Galls bate Castleblaney Faughs

2006 Castlewellan bate Longstone

2007 Longstone bate St Galls

2008 St Galls bate Glenuillin
Post by: Shamrock Shore on September 10, 2009, 12:32:12 AM
It's a great day out for young and old. I hope to get up there with the chavvies Sat week and see whos hanging about. Did my first hurling 7s last weekend and it was enjoyable. 8 year old daughter was confused as to why there was no Longford or Cavan (her Ma's county) hurlers swinging ash.

I sadly told her the truth about hurling in the whole general Longford/Cavan region.

She took it well.

Wait till I tell her about the football Sat week  :(

Post by: North Longford on September 10, 2009, 12:07:49 PM
Been a change to some groups. We now have An Riocht (Down), Naomh Aban (Cork) and Corofin (Galway) (instead of Easkey) Probably doesn't make it any easier. We're fixed fror St Benildus.
Post by: No way ref on September 10, 2009, 12:40:50 PM
Quote from: North Longford on September 10, 2009, 12:07:49 PM
Been a change to some groups. We now have An Riocht (Down), Naomh Aban (Cork) and Corofin (Galway) (instead of Easkey) Probably doesn't make it any easier. We're fixed fror St Benildus.

Why the change ?
Post by: North Longford on September 10, 2009, 02:59:43 PM
No idea. We got an email yesterday evening to ignore press releases and earlier anouncements of groups. I see Easkey have been moved to another group so I'm not sure of the point of a draw if teams can then just be moved around. Doesn't make much difference anyway. I assume in some cases teams drop out so others are brought in but no idea why a team would be moved from one group to another.
We were also informed that there may be further changes and we would be informed if that were to be the case.
Post by: Final Whistle on September 10, 2009, 04:55:24 PM
Quote from: North Longford on September 10, 2009, 02:59:43 PM
No idea. We got an email yesterday evening to ignore press releases and earlier anouncements of groups. I see Easkey have been moved to another group so I'm not sure of the point of a draw if teams can then just be moved around. Doesn't make much difference anyway. I assume in some cases teams drop out so others are brought in but no idea why a team would be moved from one group to another.
We were also informed that there may be further changes and we would be informed if that were to be the case.

Moy are attending, contrary to earlier reports.

Great competition, savage pace.
Post by: INDIANA on September 10, 2009, 07:30:34 PM
Quote from: North Longford on September 10, 2009, 02:59:43 PM

Depends on county championships- some clubs if they progress opt to drop out.
Post by: Final Whistle on September 11, 2009, 08:12:51 AM
Moy Withdraw from Tournament.

Post by: cameltohill on September 11, 2009, 09:37:40 AM
Quote from: Final Whistle on September 11, 2009, 08:12:51 AM

why?
Post by: FermGael on September 11, 2009, 09:56:54 AM
Quote from: cameltohill on September 11, 2009, 09:37:40 AM
Quote from: Final Whistle on September 11, 2009, 08:12:51 AM

why?

I would say it would have something to do with 3 of there county players being injured and having operations scheduled very soon
Post by: gunnar mrydal on September 18, 2009, 12:43:27 PM
well folks whos going to win it this year. st galls again? no odds out for it yet anyway
Post by: OakLeaf on September 18, 2009, 02:35:30 PM
Quote from: gunnar mrydal on September 18, 2009, 12:43:27 PM
well folks whos going to win it this year. st galls again? no odds out for it yet anyway

Who usually offers odds on the 7s?
Post by: gunnar mrydal on September 18, 2009, 05:09:11 PM
paddypower have the odds up now oakleaf, glenulin 11/2, clonoe 18/1 the two i like the look of. what ya reckon
Post by: DennistheMenace on September 18, 2009, 05:42:40 PM
Is it good craic ? And can you get alcohol at it ? Tempted to go.
Post by: INDIANA on September 18, 2009, 06:16:47 PM
Quote from: DennistheMenace on September 18, 2009, 05:42:40 PM

Does a bear shit in the woods?
Post by: saffron sam2 on September 18, 2009, 10:28:10 PM
Gall's too short at 7/2, although they'll not be far away assuming everyone came through the muck-savagery tonight. Kilmacud themselves a decent bet at 16/1.
Post by: Minder on September 18, 2009, 10:30:45 PM
Quote from: DennistheMenace on September 18, 2009, 05:42:40 PM

The hurling sevens are the highight of All Ireland weekend, im sure the football is the same.
Post by: Yes I Would on September 18, 2009, 11:08:54 PM
Quote from: DirtyDozen12 on September 18, 2009, 10:45:12 PM
Where is the Intermediate and Junior tournaments being played?  Am i right in saying that these are not played at the Kilmacud grounds?

Junior - St Judes Templeogue
Int - Ratoath
Post by: Bogball XV on September 19, 2009, 12:10:43 AM
Quote from: gunnar mrydal on September 18, 2009, 05:09:11 PM
paddypower have the odds up now oakleaf, glenulin 11/2, clonoe 18/1 the two i like the look of. what ya reckon
Glenullin way too short given their defeat last sunday and the 'mourning' that undoubtedly followed (some accounts reckoned it was still ongoing on tuesday).  Beaten by a point in the final last year by a cynical st galls all the same, so you never know.
Kilmacud maybe not a bad bet, but i think they played tonight in the dublin championship??  I wouldn't have thought Clonoe would have the game for this at all??
Slaughtneil at 25/1, have done well here a few times, but may be short a few, they would be a great bet if at full strength though.  Blayney at 33/1, done very well here in the past without actually winning and lost last weekend in monaghan after extra time to CLontibret who are pretty strong. 
Cross A/B must be backed ew, great chance of making the final as the draw would have them playing in the quarter final. 
The other half of the draw is packed with all the big guns, Longstone, Galls, Glenullin, Bryansford, Blayney, Ballinderry etc etc.  I reckon maybe Blayney at 33/1 or Bryansford at 25/1 with a saver on Cross A/B at 8/1???
Post by: Bogball XV on September 19, 2009, 12:19:44 AM
See ladbrokes are betting on this too, better prices for some sides and they're giving ew odds of 1/3, however they don't have cross quoted at all?  But have only one kilmacud team quoted? 
I don't know why bookies take risks pricing up these things, or more to the point, why eejits like me have a flutter on it - allbeit the stakes will be small.
Post by: loughshore lad on September 19, 2009, 10:06:21 AM
Quote from: Bogball XV on September 19, 2009, 12:10:43 AM
Glenullin way too short given their defeat last sunday and the 'mourning' that undoubtedly followed (some accounts reckoned it was still ongoing on tuesday).  Beaten by a point in the final last year by a cynical st galls all the same, so you never know.
Kilmacud maybe not a bad bet, but i think they played tonight in the dublin championship??  I wouldn't have thought Clonoe would have the game for this at all??
Slaughtneil at 25/1, have done well here a few times, but may be short a few, they would be a great bet if at full strength though.  Blayney at 33/1, done very well here in the past without actually winning and lost last weekend in monaghan after extra time to CLontibret who are pretty strong. 
Cross A/B must be backed ew, great chance of making the final as the draw would have them playing in the quarter final. 
The other half of the draw is packed with all the big guns, Longstone, Galls, Glenullin, Bryansford, Blayney, Ballinderry etc etc.  I reckon maybe Blayney at 33/1 or Bryansford at 25/1 with a saver on Cross A/B at 8/1???

With everyone available Clonoe would have a good side and would be well suited to this.  They have pace and power in abundance and their style of play is based on getting players behind the ball then breaking at pace, if they have a strong panel with them they could do well.
Post by: flantheman82 on September 19, 2009, 10:28:34 AM
Anyone know of television coverage/highlights?
Post by: Bogball XV on September 19, 2009, 10:52:18 AM
Quote from: flantheman82 on September 19, 2009, 10:28:34 AM
Anyone know of television coverage/highlights?
tg4 on monday evening.

clonoe have a decent draw alright, should come out of their group if they're interested.  In the same half as the 2 cross teams, Nemo, Clonduff etc.
Post by: Bogball XV on September 19, 2009, 10:56:58 AM
Quote from: loughshore lad on September 19, 2009, 10:06:21 AM

With everyone available Clonoe would have a good side and would be well suited to this.  They have pace and power in abundance and their style of play is based on getting players behind the ball then breaking at pace, if they have a strong panel with them they could do well.
been cut to 12/1 with powers and are 16/1 with ladbrokes.
Post by: stiffler on September 19, 2009, 11:02:13 AM
Lads what you reckon is the smart bet for this?
Post by: gunnar mrydal on September 19, 2009, 11:27:27 AM
to late stiffler, betting had to be done by 11 this morning when the first games are. clonoe and glenullin wont be far away. clonoe having an easier passage to the final
Post by: ONeill on September 19, 2009, 11:29:26 AM
Do you really give Clonoe a chance? Tyrone clubs are historically crap at 7s.
Post by: stiffler on September 19, 2009, 11:46:10 AM
Quote from: ONeill on September 19, 2009, 11:29:26 AM
Do you really give Clonoe a chance? Tyrone clubs are historically crap. at 7s.

fixed that for you :P
Post by: ONeill on September 19, 2009, 11:55:38 AM
Clonduff 4-8 Nemo 0-3
Post by: ONeill on September 19, 2009, 11:57:12 AM
An Riocht 8-6 Crossmaglen 'B' 0-6
Post by: INDIANA on September 19, 2009, 11:57:45 AM

kilmacud have playing senior football championship the night before- they will only have intermediate players playing
Post by: ONeill on September 19, 2009, 11:58:06 AM
Ballinderry 4-7 Castletown 2-5
Post by: ONeill on September 19, 2009, 11:59:09 AM
St Galls 4-9 Kilcummin 2-3
Post by: ONeill on September 19, 2009, 11:59:49 AM
Castlewellan hammered a Cork side
Post by: ONeill on September 19, 2009, 12:00:34 PM
Longstone 1-9 Castleblaney 0-9
Post by: ONeill on September 19, 2009, 12:01:21 PM
Both Kilmacud sides lost their first game.
Post by: ONeill on September 19, 2009, 12:01:57 PM
Slaughtneil lost to Carberry by 2 points.
Post by: ONeill on September 19, 2009, 12:02:40 PM
Omagh bate Kickhams of Antrim 3-8 to 1-8
Post by: ONeill on September 19, 2009, 12:03:26 PM
Bryansford 6-3
Belturbet 5-3
Post by: ONeill on September 19, 2009, 12:04:37 PM
Anyway, results available from http://www.kilmacudcrokes-football.com/
Post by: ONeill on September 19, 2009, 12:05:36 PM
Clonoe 5-6
Milltown 1-11
Post by: Bogball XV on September 19, 2009, 12:08:30 PM
cross A 9-14 Athlone 2-2
glenullin won first game too
Post by: Bogball XV on September 19, 2009, 01:16:32 PM
Cross A rack up another 6-13 in their second game, not up against much yet, but might be hard to stop?
Clonduff prob through v group 2 winners.
An Riocht/ Colmcilles v Cross A
Ballinderry v St Galls
Glenullin v Castlewellan
Longstone (scraped through with a late draw, Blayney my bet gone!!) v Carberry Rovers
Omagh v Bryansford/Caherlistrane

Not all of the above are confirmed, but they're unlikely to change too much.
Post by: Drumanee 1 on September 19, 2009, 01:19:16 PM
Quote from: Bogball XV on September 19, 2009, 01:16:32 PM
Cross A rack up another 6-13 in their second game, not up against much yet, but might be hard to stop?
Clonduff prob through v group 2 winners.
An Riocht/ Colmcilles v Cross A
Ballinderry v St GallsGlenullin v Castlewellan
Longstone (scraped through with a late draw, Blayney my bet gone!!) v Carberry Rovers
Omagh v Bryansford/Caherlistrane

Not all of the above are confirmed, but they're unlikely to change too much.

that should be some game
Post by: Zulu on September 19, 2009, 01:25:18 PM
Cross are making short work of teams aren't they? The Ulster teams seem to be doing particularily well is there a lot of 7's football up there?
Post by: armaghniac on September 19, 2009, 02:20:26 PM
There was a bit of a schmozzle in the Cross - Newtownbutler game. A Cross player (not sure who, maybe Jamie Clarke) was clobbered when running through towards the end of the second half and all-in handbags ensued. I think the game was called off at that stage as the Fermanagh men weren't likely to make the score required in any case.
Post by: Minder on September 19, 2009, 02:58:48 PM
QF Lineup

Clonoe v Clonduff
An Riocht v Crossmaglen
St Galls v Castlewellan
Longstone v Bryansford

Post by: INDIANA on September 19, 2009, 03:17:17 PM
Quote from: Zulu on September 19, 2009, 01:25:18 PM
Cross are making short work of teams aren't they? The Ulster teams seem to be doing particularily well is there a lot of 7's football up there?

Not so much- just that ulster teams don't do anything half hearted. None of the dublin clubs arfe playing becasue of the sfc quarters last night- not that any of them would win anyway.
Post by: armaghniac on September 19, 2009, 03:24:47 PM
 quarters

Clonduff (Down)          1-10   0-9   Clonoe O Rahillys (Tyrone)
An Riocht (Down)    3-6   3-10   Crossmaglen (Armagh)
Post by: Bogball XV on September 19, 2009, 03:35:10 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on September 19, 2009, 03:17:17 PM
Quote from: Zulu on September 19, 2009, 01:25:18 PM

Not so much- just that ulster teams don't do anything half hearted. None of the dublin clubs arfe playing becasue of the sfc quarters last night- not that any of them would win anyway.
There's a fair few 7's tournaments up north, the big difference is that many southern clubs (not used to playing it) don't know the tactics that must be used.  It requires total effort, the running required is immense and every possession should result in a score, if you concede, make sure it's point - it can be good to watch, but not often - it's a good days craic all the same, especially if you get drawn to play in glenalbyn from the start ;)
See Cross still running, playing Longstone next though, specialists in the game, may well come a cropper there?
Post by: Minder on September 19, 2009, 04:02:55 PM
Semi Finals

Longstone v Castlewellan
Crossmaglen v Clonduff
Post by: wherefromreferee? on September 19, 2009, 04:27:25 PM
Clonduff just beat Cross 4-14 to 2-08
Post by: armaghniac on September 19, 2009, 04:33:06 PM
All Down final. Cross haven't been here for a long time while they were specialising in other competitions.
Post by: Minder on September 19, 2009, 04:43:11 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on September 19, 2009, 04:33:06 PM
All Down final. Cross haven't been here for a long time while they were specialising in other competitions.

St Galls win Antrim championship nearly every year but are alway at the 7's.
Post by: wherefromreferee? on September 19, 2009, 04:44:46 PM
Quote from: ONeill on September 09, 2009, 10:51:37 PM

Now 5 in a row for Ulster teams!  Why is this?
Post by: Bogball XV on September 19, 2009, 05:03:41 PM
Quote from: wherefromreferee? on September 19, 2009, 04:44:46 PM
Quote from: ONeill on September 09, 2009, 10:51:37 PM

Now 5 in a row for Ulster teams!  Why is this?
Who really cares?  It's a day's craic before the AIF really, a chance to meet up with other fans and talk crap about who might win the next day.  As i said earlier, some of the football is poor enough to watch, very possession conscious and teams scoring goals into empty nets etc.

As Indiana said, northern sides tend to put in 100% whatever they're playing in, other sides go up for the days craic, get the group stages out of the way and indulge in a spot of team bonding!!
There are also a number of sevens competitions in ulster where they get a chance to figure out how to play the game. 
Post by: Bogball XV on September 19, 2009, 05:05:29 PM
Quote from: AFS on September 09, 2009, 07:46:06 PM
Too many Down teams.

Down are becoming the Fiji of Gaelic football.
post of the year, brilliant ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D
Post by: Mid Down Gael on September 19, 2009, 05:36:40 PM
Longstone hammered castlewellan in simi. Clonduff v stone final.
Post by: ONeill on September 19, 2009, 06:04:53 PM
Bollocks- hope Clonduff win it as was going to stick dough on Longstone and didn't.
Post by: D4S on September 19, 2009, 06:24:13 PM
Quote from: ONeill on September 19, 2009, 06:04:53 PM
Bollocks- hope Clonduff win it as was going to stick dough on Longstone and didn't.

Hope Longstone win it cos it's my club! Great record at Kilmacus over last few years, 3rd final and a couple of other semifinal appearances.  Lost 1 of our fellas in the semi final (broken arm).  Would be great to go on and win it again for our 2nd time!
Post by: southdown on September 19, 2009, 06:40:52 PM
Dam right D4S, would be great, getting beat by 1 point though at HT
Post by: wherefromreferee? on September 19, 2009, 06:56:47 PM
Final: Clonduff 0-11 Longstone 0-08
Post by: supersub on September 19, 2009, 07:17:44 PM
any word of who was playin for either/both teams?
Post by: DownFanatic on September 19, 2009, 08:09:26 PM
Achill (Mayo) beat Augher (Tyrone) to win the St Judes Junior All Ireland Sevens today. Eire Og (Cork) won the Shield.
Post by: Madge on September 19, 2009, 10:41:38 PM
Quote from: supersub on September 19, 2009, 07:17:44 PM
any word of who was playin for either/both teams?

Think Jason Brown did nets for Clonduff, Aidan Carr was there too and your fella O'Reilly who went to the college can't remember his first name. Didn't see Longstone team.
Post by: Dubh driocht on September 19, 2009, 10:45:12 PM
Hard luck to the Stone who narrowly failed to bring the second All-Ireland title of the year to the small parish of Lower Mourne  ;)
Post by: KIDDO 4 on September 20, 2009, 12:15:06 AM
Tyrone side Trillick were defeated in the  intermediate sevens semi  final in Ratoath  on Sat.
Post by: BeanPháidín on September 20, 2009, 12:17:32 AM
Just home from Intermediate &s in Ratoath. What a setup!! Maryland from Westmeath beat Greenlough Derry in the final. Some craic in that clubhouse!
Post by: Cillo on September 20, 2009, 09:55:23 AM
Quote from: DownFanatic on September 19, 2009, 08:09:26 PM
Achill (Mayo) beat Augher (Tyrone) to win the St Judes Junior All Ireland Sevens today. Eire Og (Cork) won the Shield.

Was at the Junior Tournament yday. St Johns of Down were very good but beaten in Semi Final (AET) against Augher.

Augher had a lad sent off in the group stages, and a player injured with a suspected broken collar bone, so they played the semi final and final with just 8 of a panel. Was just to much for them. Tyrone county player Aidan Cassidy was playing for them.

Achill Island won it for the second year in a row. Fair play to them big strong team.
Post by: stephenite on September 20, 2009, 11:55:55 AM
Fair play to the Achill boys - great to see.

Was Joe McMeely playing for Augher?
Post by: DownFanatic on September 20, 2009, 12:08:19 PM
I think its strange the way that Achill are allowed in to the competition for two years in a row. You would have thought that they would have been at the Intermediates in Ratoath.

We were down at St Judes in 2006. Got to the Semi Final of the Cup but were beaten by three points by eventual winners Tourmakeady from Mayo.
Post by: Hoof Hearted on September 21, 2009, 01:53:13 PM
highlights tonight on TG4 @ 8.30 for whoever is interested. They usually show from 1/4 finals upwards
Post by: Madge on September 21, 2009, 02:34:15 PM
http://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-football/clonduff-pick-off-points-to-take-sevens-title-1891929.html

CLONDUFF completed a memorable double at Glenalbyn in Dublin on Saturday when winning the oneills.com Kilmacud Crokes All-Ireland football senior Sevens title for the first time in their history.

The success comes just a week after the club claimed the Shield for the camogie 7s at the same venue.

An estimated attendance of 4,000 people showed up for the 37th running of this annual event with Ulster providing all eight quarter-finalists.

Clonduff emerged from a tough group that included Nemo Rangers, St Patrick's from Louth and Roscommon's Padraig Pearses.

Having accounted for Clonoe (Tyrone) and Crossmaglen (Armagh) in the quarter and semi-finals respectively, Clonduff faced fellow Mourne side Longstone in the decider.

Unusually, the final was devoid of goals, so it was Clonduff's ability to kick scores from distance that ultimately earned them the honours with a final scoreline of 0-11 to 0-8.

Elsewhere, Mayo side Achill were crowned the St Jude's All-Ireland Cup JF Sevens champions thanks to a 2-8 to 2-6 final win over St MacCartan's, Tyrone where three late points from David Cattigan proved crucial for the islanders.

The intermediate competition, staged by the Ratoath GAA club in Meath, was won by Westmeath outfit Maryland, who saw off Derry side Greenlough in the decider on a scoreline of 5-3 to 3-6.
Post by: Madge on September 21, 2009, 02:34:50 PM
http://www.breakingnews.ie/sport/clonduff-achill-and-eire-og-take-sevens-titles-427075.html

Teams from three of the four provinces were in winning mood yesterday as they prevailed in the All-Ireland Sevens competitions in Kilmacud and Templeogue respectively.

Clonduff were crowned oneills.com Kilmacud Crokes All-Ireland Senior Football Sevens champions for the first time in their history, after a hard-fought victory over Longstone by 0-11 to 0-8.

Meanwhile, Achill (Cup) and Éire Óg, Cork (Shield) claimed the Bord Gais Energy St Jude's Junior Football honours.

In an all-Down decider at Kilmacud, Clonduff led by 0-4 to 0-3 at the interval, with player of the tournament Jason Brown, John Fegan, Eamonn O'Reilly and Finbarr McConville all on target.

Longstone, who won this tournament two years ago, were well in contention at the break though, with Mark Poland, Ambrose Rogers and Ryan Kelly scoring points.

Indeed, Longstone actually hit the front with a four fine second-half points by Barry Doran.

Doran converted three frees and added one magnificent effort off the outside of his right boot that bounced on the crossbar and over.

Kelly had a great goal chance but blasted over from an admittedly tight angle and Clonduff made the most of the let-off to gradually pull clear, Brown, Fegan, McConville, Darren O'Hagan and Conor Óg O' Hagan getting the crucial scores.

Meanwhile, Mayo outfit Achill collected the 2009 Bord Gais Energy St Judes All-Ireland Cup Football Sevens Cup last night thanks to a 2-8 to 2-6 final win over St MacCartans of Tyrone.

It was a trio of late points from Bord Gais Energy 'Laoch an Lae' David Cattigan which earned the islanders back-to-back titles.

Achill led by 2-2 to 0-4 at half-time, thanks to goals from Brian Gallagher and Cattigan.

MacCartans staged a strong comeback on the restart, but nothing could stop the reigning champions in the end.

Meanwhile, led by Cork star Ciaran Sheehan, Eire Og, Ovens claimed the Bord Gais Shield title following a 4-13 to 3-10 extra-time win over the Aran Islands.

Éire Óg led by 1-5 to 1-2 at half-time in normal time with Kevin Hallissey netting their goal.

Sheehan gave a starring performance, finishing the decider with a personal tally of 1-4.

Read more: http://www.breakingnews.ie/sport/clonduff-achill-and-eire-og-take-sevens-titles-427075.html#ixzz0RkQigQSx
Post by: mountainboii on September 21, 2009, 08:19:58 PM
On da telly in a few minutes
Post by: Cillo on September 21, 2009, 08:23:54 PM
Quote from: AFS on September 21, 2009, 08:19:58 PM
On da telly in a few minutes

Thanks. Forgot all about it.