Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: SLIGONIAN on August 22, 2009, 12:03:09 PM

Title: Prostate Cancer - Biggest Killer of Men in Ireland
Post by: SLIGONIAN on August 22, 2009, 12:03:09 PM
Seen this on another forum, sadly got some devasting news last week about my 59 yr old Dad, has got this, more tests this week to know severity and obviously we are all on tender hooks.

Prostate Cancer is the biggest killer of men in Ireland and most other countries. There is about a 10:1 chance of getting the Cancer, but it should not kill.

Men, and to a certain extent, the medical community, share a responsibility to ensure Prostate Cancer as a killer, becomes a thing of the past.

Men tend to ignore little aches and pains, but in the case of pain in the abdomen area, ignoring the pain could be fatal.
The fact is that by having the GP give us a check for an enlarged Prostate, the number of men killed each year by Prostate Cancer, would be reduced dramatically. Early detection of this disease, normally results in the Cancer being confined to the Prostate, which could mean an operation would be all the treatment required.

So who are we talking about?
Well, men above the age of forty are at risk. Above the age of fifty, and the risk increases.

How to reduce the risk
Get checked annually and you increase the chance of survival, in the event that you might be the unlucky one in ten.
Respond to the symptoms by going to the doctor as soon as possible.

The symptoms are these
• A need to urinate frequently, especially at night.
• Difficulty starting urination or holding back urine.
• Weak or interrupted flow of urine.
• Painful or burning urination.
• Difficulty in having an erection.
• Painful ejaculation.
• Blood in urine or semen. or
• Frequent pain or stiffness in the lower back, hips, or upper thighs.

It must be noted that the symptoms above do not necessarily mean Prostate Cancer, but do indicate a problem "down there", which needs to be dealt with.

Find out more www.cancer.ie/prostate
Title: Re: Prostate Cancer - Biggest Killer of Men in Ireland
Post by: Tony Baloney on August 22, 2009, 12:10:03 PM
Sorry to hear that. The wife's uncle is receiving radiotherapy for prostrate cancer at the minute. It is preventable but the problem is that men, and especially men in the affected age range, would have a tendency to ignore the warning signs out of embarrassment, not wanting to annoy the doctors and the "sure it'll be grand" attitude that afflicts Irish people.

Hope your news is as good as it can be.
Post by: SLIGONIAN on August 22, 2009, 12:24:58 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on August 22, 2009, 12:10:03 PM
Sorry to hear that. The wife's uncle is receiving radiotherapy for prostrate cancer at the minute. It is preventable but the problem is that men, and especially men in the affected age range, would have a tendency to ignore the warning signs out of embarrassment, not wanting to annoy the doctors and the "sure it'll be grand" attitude that afflicts Irish people.

My Dad retired 4 yrs because of heart attack, and has been tested ever since for all this kinda stuff at 3 month intervals, he had a biopsy 12 months ago and we only got results last week. To me thats way to long, and doesnt make sense to be honest and I just hope we havent lost valuable time. If it very serious I'll be on the first plane home and I'll be asking serious questions of HSE or whoever is responsible, but im thinking positive so its only a passing negative thought.
Post by: redhugh on August 22, 2009, 12:29:19 PM
 Sorry to hear of your Da's situation. I work with a man (55) who had it and recovered fully  and is now back to work and going grand.Difficult times ,but not unmanagable by any stretch. As he put it " all that crap cos I was too afraid to let my doctor put his finger up me hole!"
Post by: Drumanee 1 on August 22, 2009, 12:38:50 PM
sorry to hear that sligonian but like redhugh i too have a good news story,my 57year old uncle was given the terrible news about 6 months ago and after surgery has made a full recovery and is back working and was told just last week by his doctor he did not need to see him for a year and hopefully this will turn out to be a similar story for your father.
Post by: SLIGONIAN on August 22, 2009, 12:57:13 PM
Thanks lads, dont like to broadcast negative stories thats why I started good news thread the other day which plummeted fairly lively, trying to thnk positive, tough week last week, seen this on AFR but cant log on there for some reason, dont think im banned :D, but in Qatar and obviously preying on my mind so thats why i posted. Good to hear its treatable and no harm creating awareness.
Post by: Drumanee 1 on August 22, 2009, 01:01:06 PM
Quote from: SLIGONIAN on August 22, 2009, 12:57:13 PM
Thanks lads, dont like to broadcast negative stories thats why I started good news thread the other day which plummeted fairly lively, trying to thnk positive, tough week last week, seen this on AFR but cant log on there for some reason, dont think im banned :D, but in Qatar and obviously preying on my mind so thats why i posted. Good to hear its treatable and no harm creating awareness.

the one thing i will tell you speaking from experience dont google or search the net with regards your fathers condition,it will do your head in as most are negative and worse case scenario
Post by: SLIGONIAN on August 22, 2009, 01:26:01 PM
Quote from: Drumanee 1 on August 22, 2009, 01:01:06 PM

the one thing i will tell you speaking from experience dont google or search the net with regards your fathers condition,it will do your head in as most are negative and worse case scenario

Ya no intention of doing that, and my Dad cant use computer so safe enough there.
Post by: redhugh on August 22, 2009, 01:35:33 PM
The fella I was talking about went to see a herbalist/nutritionist before his op, and he swears by this fella, put him onto sunflower seeds,pumpkin seeds and organic beetroot,along with a collection of herbal pills. He still munches away on the seeds and swears by them - reckons that they had a good bit to do with his recovery.
Post by: SLIGONIAN on August 22, 2009, 02:05:02 PM
Quote from: redhugh on August 22, 2009, 01:35:33 PM
The fella I was talking about went to see a herbalist/nutritionist before his op, and he swears by this fella, put him onto sunflower seeds,pumpkin seeds and organic beetroot,along with a collection of herbal pills. He still munches away on the seeds and swears by them - reckons that they had a good bit to do with his recovery.

Sounds interesting, can you pm his contact details or his website,,, def worth a look.
Post by: redhugh on August 22, 2009, 02:18:50 PM
Quote from: SLIGONIAN on August 22, 2009, 02:05:02 PM
Quote from: redhugh on August 22, 2009, 01:35:33 PM

Sounds interesting, can you pm his contact details or his website,,, def worth a look.

Sure - will chat to him on Monday and see what contact details I can get for ye.
Post by: stew on August 22, 2009, 02:30:57 PM

Sligonian i pray everything goes well for your dad and obviously wish him all the best. My wife works in the medical field and at a cancer clinic, she is a clinical trials nurse anddeals with this sort of cancer all the time, i can tell you that the success rate is much higher these days than it was ten years ago however when i mentioned the amount of time your dad had to wait she was disgusted, that is eleven and a half months too long, over here he would have gotten the results back in a week.

One last thing, make sure your da knows little about the fact that you are pissed off at the length of time it took to get his results back, he does not need the stress as that will make things worse but the wife told me to tell you that you should ask serious questions and find out who fecked up because it could be going on for other people also. That is madness, a feckin year to get test results back, his doctor should be held accountable as well.
Post by: pintsofguinness on August 22, 2009, 02:37:47 PM
Quote from: SLIGONIAN on August 22, 2009, 12:24:58 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on August 22, 2009, 12:10:03 PM

My Dad retired 4 yrs because of heart attack, and has been tested ever since for all this kinda stuff at 3 month intervals, he had a biopsy 12 months ago and we only got results last week. To me thats way to long, and doesnt make sense to be honest and I just hope we havent lost valuable time. If it very serious I'll be on the first plane home and I'll be asking serious questions of HSE or whoever is responsible, but im thinking positive so its only a passing negative thought.
What?! That's just not good enough.  I know your concern will be with your da at the minute but I'd be asking serious questions and demanding answers about that.

Anyway, I hope all works out for him, just try and keep positive, doctors can do amazing things these days.
Post by: SLIGONIAN on August 22, 2009, 02:48:56 PM
Quote from: stew on August 22, 2009, 02:30:57 PM

Sligonian i pray everything goes well for your dad and obviously wish him all the best. My wife works in the medical field and at a cancer clinic, she is a clinical trials nurse anddeals with this sort of cancer all the time, i can tell you that the success rate is much higher these days than it was ten years ago however when i mentioned the amount of time your dad had to wait she was disgusted, that is eleven and a half months too long, over here he would have gotten the results back in a week.

One last thing, make sure your da knows little about the fact that you are pissed off at the length of time it took to get his results back, he does not need the stress as that will make things worse but the wife told me to tell you that you should ask serious questions and find out who fecked up because it could be going on for other people also. That is madness, a feckin year to get test results back, his doctor should be held accountable as well.

Well you see my family are the type to not complain but I am, doctor said he did biopsy just in case and said highly unlikely to be cancerous at the time, in fact they were so lertharic with the results we thought it must be all clear so therefore didnt push to hear results, we were all shocked last week and now I want them to get a sense of urgency and the doctor now is saying he is very optimistic which means feck all to me tbh. Actually i honestly dont know if these results are out of date by a few months... :(, i'll have to get Dads doctor nr and have a polite chat to know what the story is myself, just put my mind in the clear about this. You see we wouldnt have a clue how long results for this should or shouldnt be, but of course I was angry when I found out...way too long IMO.
Post by: stew on August 22, 2009, 02:58:02 PM
Quote from: SLIGONIAN on August 22, 2009, 02:48:56 PM
Quote from: stew on August 22, 2009, 02:30:57 PM

Well you see my family are the type to not complain but I am, doctor said he did biopsy just in case and said highly unlikely to be cancerous at the time, in fact they were so lertharic with the results we thought it must be all clear so therefore didnt push to hear results, we were all shocked last week and now I want them to get a sense of urgency and the doctor now is saying he is very optimistic which means feck all to me tbh. Actually i honestly dont know if these results are out of date by a few months... :(, i'll have to get Dads doctor nr and have a polite chat to know what the story is myself, just put my mind in the clear about this. You see we wouldnt have a clue how long results for this should or shouldnt be, but of course I was angry when I found out...way too long IMO.

This is neglegence, BC could probably verify that.
Post by: Hardy on August 22, 2009, 03:11:34 PM
Best of luck to your da. Prostate cancer is very curable once caught. Take the doctor's optimism as a positive. He'd hardly say that lightly.

Quote from: redhugh on August 22, 2009, 12:29:19 PMAs he put it " all that crap cos I was too afraid to let my doctor put his finger up me hole!"

You don't even have to have that these days. A simple blood test (PSA) does the trick.
Post by: Galwaybhoy on August 22, 2009, 05:50:02 PM
Best of luck to your da Sligonian and for your wifes uncle too Tony.  I pray that both make a full recovery.
Post by: 5 Sams on August 22, 2009, 09:00:03 PM
Maybe this deserves a sepearate thread but I would urge anyone who has blood coming out of their hole when going for a dump to get it checked out. (Excuse the vernacular)

I had a bit of a scare recently, went and saw about it and touch wood its nothing worse than a bad case of Johnny Giles.....but bite the bullet and get it checked and the tests will tell you if its something serious or not. The grapes won't kill you but the alternative isnt worth thinking about.

Now where's that soft cushion and cream >:( >:(
Post by: Tony Baloney on August 22, 2009, 09:11:12 PM
Quote from: 5 Sams on August 22, 2009, 09:00:03 PM
Maybe this deserves a sepearate thread but I would urge anyone who has blood coming out of their hole when going for a dump to get it checked out. (Excuse the vernacular)

I had a bit of a scare recently, went and saw about it and touch wood its nothing worse than a bad case of Johnny Giles.....but bite the bullet and get it checked and the tests will tell you if its something serious or not. The grapes won't kill you but the alternative isnt worth thinking about.

Very eloquent description there 5 Sams. You're of an age now were getting your hole probed is par for the course. Don't ruin it for us young 'uns.

Having said that I agree with you entirely as I come from a family with a history of bowel cancer and I regularly give the mersey trout an examination. It's a pretty common cancer in Ireland due our less than healthy diet.

Post by: 5 Sams on August 22, 2009, 09:18:17 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on August 22, 2009, 09:11:12 PM
Quote from: 5 Sams on August 22, 2009, 09:00:03 PM

Very eloquent description there 5 Sams. You're of an age now were getting your hole probed is par for the course. Don't ruin it for us young 'uns.

Having said that I agree with you entirely as I come from a family with a history of bowel cancer and I regularly give the mersey trout an examination. It's a pretty common cancer in Ireland due our less than healthy diet.

When stuff starts going wrong down there Tony you don't be long losing your inhibitions...nothing to be ashamed of...especially if it might save your fckin life.
Post by: tbrick18 on August 23, 2009, 01:01:38 PM
Sorry to hear about your Da, from experience I know initial shock is devastating.
A year does seem ridiculous to get results....I wouldnt stand for that myself.
This type of cancer though is touted as being the best one to get (maybe not the best way of putting it) but it is the most curable form. My Da was diagnosed on his 50th birthday and after steriod treatment and radiotherapy has been all clear for about 6 years now. He still gets regular check on the PSA level in the blood which can go up and down but as its monitored regularly it means an future treatment required should be given at the earliest possible opportunity.

Another thing to remember is that it is a very slow progressing illness. My Da was just sent for a random routine check as he displayed no symptoms...and he was told when diagnosed that he might not have had symptoms for another 10 years. So I know it's now comfort, but in the year it took to get test results there should have been very little progression of the disease (well at least that's my laymans understanding anyway).

Hope it all works out.
Post by: mylestheslasher on August 23, 2009, 02:08:12 PM
Sligonian - I hope that you auld man makes a full recovery. That 12 months for Biopsy results is a disgrace, I presume it is not a misprint. I would bring that to the attention of the media of I were you. I have an uncle in England who went for a scan there due to stomach pains and got the all clear, 4 months later a massive tumour in his intestine explodes almost killing him. He was in a coma for 2 weeks and now needs an ostomy bag. We hope the cancer had not spread as he is too weak for chemo. I must say the care he got after the operation was 2nd to none but surely prevention is where the focus needs to be put. We too are hoping for good news in the coming months. S
Post by: SLIGONIAN on August 23, 2009, 07:02:04 PM
Ya thanks lads, hope all the other posters that have family affected have a speedy recovery. Feeling more positive this week after the initial shock but i guess living on your own a couple a thousand miles doesnt help.

I need to clarify what exactly happened regards time, im thinking alot clearer and just got it explained again to me, sorry if i made mistake above but its not far off the truth anyway, my Dad since his Heart attack gets his bloods checked for all these type of things at 3 month intervals, about 12 months ago his bloods showed something wrong with regards to prostate. From that point an appointment was made and he had to wait 10 months to get Biopsy in Sligo General and a further 2 months for the results of that biopsy which we got last week with bad news. So getting the Biopsy appointment is where the questions will be asked because I dont think thats acceptable to have wait 10 months from making an appointment to getting one. Am I right there?

Anyway he has appointment this Wednesday and I'll let ye know the score, again thanks for messages of support and as posters have said if in doubt get yourself checked, you get blood tests first anyhow, nothing too scary in that.
Post by: ludermor on August 23, 2009, 08:49:39 PM
Hope he makes a full and swift recovery.
Post by: saffron sam2 on August 23, 2009, 09:02:40 PM
My father has been clear of it for a few years now after a bout of radiotherapy. Certainly one of the most treatable ones, my da was told that at his age he was more likely to die with it than from it.

Also one of the most hereditary cancers. It's good to have the warning.

Hope everything works out for you.
Post by: magpie seanie on August 24, 2009, 11:41:30 PM
Only spotted this thread now. Sligonian - you and your Da and family have my thoughts and prayers. As many have said there is reason to be positive and positivity shouldn't be underestimated. I'm sure if your Da is anything like you he's optimisitic and thats a good help.

Our Health System in the ROI is completely broken. The health minister is actively dismantling it to create her vision for how health should be dealt with. You will have two systems - a private, expensive, good one for those who can afford it and a public, slow, inefficient and soon to be poorly funded one for the rest. This is not happening because she is clueless - this is by design.
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on August 24, 2009, 11:47:48 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on August 24, 2009, 11:41:30 PM
Only spotted this thread now. Sligonian - you and your Da and family have my thoughts and prayers. As many have said there is reason to be positive and positivity shouldn't be underestimated. I'm sure if your Da is anything like you he's optimisitic and thats a good help.

Our Health System in the ROI is completely broken. The health minister is actively dismantling it to create her vision for how health should be dealt with. You will have two systems - a private, expensive, good one for those who can afford it and a public, slow, inefficient and soon to be poorly funded one for the rest. This is not happening because she is clueless - this is by design.

She is not one bit clueless. She is a real visionary. It's only a pity it is an awful, awful vision. Sligonian I'm only after stumbling on this thread. I hope your father comes through this and threads like this are very good because they open a few eyes and might help a few catch it in plenty of time.
Post by: magpie seanie on August 24, 2009, 11:57:32 PM
Yeah, that's what I meant R&GSniper.
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on August 24, 2009, 11:58:44 PM
I know, I was agreeing with you! But it didn't read that way. My bad :P
Post by: johnpower on August 25, 2009, 12:06:35 AM
Quote from: SLIGONIAN on August 23, 2009, 07:02:04 PM
Ya thanks lads, hope all the other posters that have family affected have a speedy recovery. Feeling more positive this week after the initial shock but i guess living on your own a couple a thousand miles doesnt help.

I need to clarify what exactly happened regards time, im thinking alot clearer and just got it explained again to me, sorry if i made mistake above but its not far off the truth anyway, my Dad since his Heart attack gets his bloods checked for all these type of things at 3 month intervals, about 12 months ago his bloods showed something wrong with regards to prostate. From that point an appointment was made and he had to wait 10 months to get Biopsy in Sligo General and a further 2 months for the results of that biopsy which we got last week with bad news. So getting the Biopsy appointment is where the questions will be asked because I dont think thats acceptable to have wait 10 months from making an appointment to getting one. Am I right there?

Anyway he has appointment this Wednesday and I'll let ye know the score, again thanks for messages of support and as posters have said if in doubt get yourself checked, you get blood tests first anyhow, nothing too scary in that.

Best of luck ,it is indeed a terriblle system .Two Tier with such a gap between the top and the bottom . Private health care will soon become one of the biggest outgoings of most people if this trend continues . I hope your Dad gets good news
Post by: AbbeySider on August 25, 2009, 09:37:42 AM
I hope he makes a full recovery Sligonian, by the sounds of things it is curable so im sure he will make a full recovery.
Post by: Declan on August 25, 2009, 09:56:42 AM
Hope everything goes well for your father Sligonian.
QuoteYou don't even have to have that these days. A simple blood test (PSA) does the trick

Unfortunately the PSA test is unreliable - More positive negatives than anything. I had one done recently and my GP basically said it wasn't worth anything and that the only way top be sure was to have an examination. 
Post by: SLIGONIAN on August 26, 2009, 06:01:38 PM
Cheers lads again, dont worry about not seeing the thread, dont like to spreading bad news tbh, but seen this on another website and thought awareness would do no harm, but yer words helped alot especially living on my own out here.

Dad has to go for scans now to see if its spread, looks like radiotherapy i think in Galway now, it looks promisings, one side is clear and the other side is 50%, his bloods are at a level thats a good sign.

Doctor admitted to Mum that he was so sure he didnt have cancer that he wasnt going to send Dad to get biopsy, said he just did by chance more than anything, so were lucky in sense as it may been have missed...looking promising but will know more after the scans in a couple of weeks.

Just so ye know, Mum said they couldnt diagnose just based on blood tests but it will show an anomaly, and then based on that they send you for scan or biopsy. Its very common at Dads age 59, so keep an eye on things, get checked out twice a yr for certain things I advise to any yee. Let it not cost you a thought inbetween.

Again lads thanks for the comments and wish any of ye faced with this suffering all the best.
Post by: D4S on August 26, 2009, 06:15:48 PM
Just read through the thread sligonian.....glad to hear it sounds more positive, and I wish your family the best of luck!
Post by: SLIGONIAN on October 20, 2009, 08:56:34 PM
It is now 2 months since we found out Dad has prostate cancer.

Since then hes had 2 scans. He was supposed to have a MRI one but even though he told them he has stents and his health records would state that he arrived on the day and couldnt do them for that reason ::). So he got CAT scan instead a couple of weeks ago. Anyway he met the specialist today and she met Mum and Dad and only looked at results of that in the meeting, where she couldnt read the scan but there is something showing on the bone which isnt good news. She couldnt confirm anything today. She said she has to talk to radiologist, which I think we are entitled to ask why she didnt look at scan before today and have it sorted with the radiologist >:(. We have to wait another week, and Dad has to get blood tests again tomorrow.

14 months so far and counting.

So another week of worry, where we dont know if its cancer has spread to the bones or not. She couldnt say what it was but something is there and the scan isnt high enough resolution for her to know?

The mistake with the stents and her not talking to radiologist before meeting us has cost us a month in time, never mind 10 months waitng for biopsy appointment.

Its sounding alot more serious now and Im angry we dont know the full story yet, another nervous week ahead but this is nothing to what Oisins family are going through and my thoughts are with them also.
Post by: mc_grens on October 20, 2009, 09:16:16 PM
Best of luck to your Dad Sligonian.

I dont know if your Dad has had diffiulties with Cancer in the past, but in my experience you should never lose hope, and always keep positive- it's the only way to approach it. My ould man had problems with different types of Cancer throughout his life, but never was anything but positive. He was told 35 odd years ago that he had 6 weeks to live... They were only out by around 33 years and 10 months!!!

So as I said.. Keep positive and keep your Dad positive and he'll come out the other side flyin!
Post by: gerry on October 20, 2009, 09:22:18 PM
having coming through something similar with my father a few years ago all i can say is challenge all the nurses, doctors and consultants you or your family meet.  i felt that my father was not receiving the care  that he needed and i kept challenging everyone.   eventually this got him the care he needed.
Post by: SLIGONIAN on July 29, 2010, 12:09:11 AM
Just to update ye lads on my Dads recovery, he had his brachardia injection operation in Galway today. It the least taxing treatment on the body and hopefully 100% cure and hopefully no side effects. Everything went well and was success. He gets out tomorrow, and only has to be monitored from here on in. Thanks for the support on here over last yr. Really appreciate it.
Post by: BallyhaiseMan on July 29, 2010, 12:15:10 AM
Thats great to hear Sligonian,hopefully thats the last of that horrible disease than your family will have to go through.
Post by: gerry on July 29, 2010, 01:50:34 AM
great news for you and your family, remember fight for the treatment your father needs as you only got one dad. lets hope your father goes from strength to strength.
Post by: Hedley Lamarr on July 29, 2010, 09:17:16 AM
Good news, hope he makes a full and speedy recovery.
Post by: AZOffaly on July 29, 2010, 09:35:29 AM
Quote from: SLIGONIAN on July 29, 2010, 12:09:11 AM
Just to update ye lads on my Dads recovery, he had his brachardia injection operation in Galway today. It the least taxing treatment on the body and hopefully 100% cure and hopefully no side effects. Everything went well and was success. He gets out tomorrow, and only has to be monitored from here on in. Thanks for the support on here over last yr. Really appreciate it.

Great stuff Sligonian, glad to hear it. Wish him all the best from the eejits on here.
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on July 29, 2010, 10:10:42 AM
glad to hear this chap.

tell him jibbajabba from derry said all the best (bet it brings a smile to his face,lol)
Post by: lawnseed on October 19, 2012, 09:32:46 PM
this seems to be even more common as time goes on. i heard of a road in county armagh where along a 1 mile stretch 5 men (neighbours) have tested positive. is this mirrored anywhere else? has anyone been for tests? this kind of report is certainly alarming. whats the story
Post by: balladmaker on October 19, 2012, 10:11:48 PM
My father was diagnosed with it around 4 years ago at the age of 64, thankfully he recovered but went through a tough time along the way.  At the time, the consultant recommended that if he had any brothers that they also get tested.  His 4 brothers were tested, 1 was diagnosed at that time, I found that shocking.  Another one has been diagnosed since ... I guess I know what to be watching out for in years to come.
Post by: lawnseed on October 19, 2012, 10:19:47 PM
Quote from: balladmaker on October 19, 2012, 10:11:48 PM
My father was diagnosed with it around 4 years ago at the age of 64, thankfully he recovered but went through a tough time along the way.  At the time, the consultant recommended that if he had any brothers that they also get tested.  His 4 brothers were tested, 1 was diagnosed at that time, I found that shocking.  Another one has been diagnosed since ... I guess I know what to be watching out for in years to come.
jez! what age are you now? tbh the age part of the equation doesnt seem to be paramount victoms are getting younger
Post by: balladmaker on October 19, 2012, 11:19:13 PM
36 now and counting ... Agree, age is not relevant, it's something that needs checked regularly
Post by: lawnseed on October 19, 2012, 11:28:00 PM
Quote from: balladmaker on October 19, 2012, 11:19:13 PM
36 now and counting ... Agree, age is not relevant, it's something that needs checked regularly
and yet men dont look about it. how long does an examination take and do you have to wait for the results or can they tell at the time
Post by: Hardy on October 20, 2012, 12:27:22 AM
It's just a blood test. Have a medical check-up once a year and this (PSA) is one of the tests they'll do on your bloods. If the PSA reading causes concern they'll deal with it and prostate cancer is a doddle if it's caught early. So there's no reason to die of it if you take the basic precautions.
Post by: Dougal Maguire on October 20, 2012, 12:29:41 AM
My father has just been diagnosed with it. He's aged 82 but a very fit man. He's undergoing tests etc at the moment to determine the extent and therefore the type of treatment. We're all keeping our fingers crossed that it'll all be ok.
Post by: Hardy on October 20, 2012, 12:32:45 AM
Reading about your father, Dougal makes my previous post seem a little callous. That's not what I mean. i just want people to know how easy it is to have it checked and prevented. Best wishes to your father. His age may be to his benefit as I understand that, even if it's not at an early stage, it's a very slowly advancing cancer and the older you are the more slowly it develops.
Post by: Paul Callanan on October 20, 2012, 01:20:15 AM
Quote from: Dougal Maguire on October 20, 2012, 12:29:41 AM
My father has just been diagnosed with it. He's aged 82 but a very fit man. He's undergoing tests etc at the moment to determine the extent and therefore the type of treatment. We're all keeping our fingers crossed that it'll all be ok.

Best wishes to your father Dougal. Hopefully everything will be ok. And some great advice from Hardy there. I usually avoid check-ups as I'd always have said I'd prefer ot to know if there's anything wrong. But I've changed my mind after reading this thread.
Post by: Dougal Maguire on October 20, 2012, 01:22:55 AM
No, I don't see your post as being callous at all. You're quite correct about regular check ups and catching it early and I'm pretty hopeful that this will be the case with my da who does get himself checked out often. Thanks for your good wishes and again you're correct about his age which makes it much less likely that it will spread.
Post by: SLIGONIAN on October 20, 2012, 07:42:17 AM
Quote from: Dougal Maguire on October 20, 2012, 01:22:55 AM
No, I don't see your post as being callous at all. You're quite correct about regular check ups and catching it early and I'm pretty hopeful that this will be the case with my da who does get himself checked out often. Thanks for your good wishes and again you're correct about his age which makes it much less likely that it will spread.
My Dad is fit and healthy after his prostate treatment. He had a minor op of injecting seeds into his prostate a few yrs ago and goes for regurlar check ups. It was all done in Galway and i was with him every step of the way and there were great staff in UHG and Galway clinic. The only negative was the waiting times of a few months. You have to keep putting a wee bit of pressure on the HSE and UGH for reassurance mainly, i was worried that the delays could be fatal but they kept reassuring me. The good thing is its very treatable. I wish your Dad a speedy recovery.
Post by: Lar Naparka on October 20, 2012, 11:43:14 AM
Quote from: SLIGONIAN on October 20, 2012, 07:42:17 AM
My Dad is fit and healthy after his prostate treatment. He had a minor op of injecting seeds into his prostate a few yrs ago and goes for regurlar check ups. It was all done in Galway and i was with him every step of the way and there were great staff in UHG and Galway clinic. The only negative was the waiting times of a few months. You have to keep putting a wee bit of pressure on the HSE and UGH for reassurance mainly, i was worried that the delays could be fatal but they kept reassuring me. The good thing is its very treatable. I wish your Dad a speedy recovery.
I'm delighted with the news. Your dad is a lovely individual and please pass my best regards on to him. This condition is relatively easy to control once it is detected in the early stages.
THat's why I'd advise any man who is middle aged or older to have PSA checks carried out. Like me, I think most men would feel uncomfortable if they feel they need to discuss their intimate details with anyone else.
Some time ago, I realised that I was beginning to have difficulty in passing urine and found that I needed to get up several times during the night to do this. So I went to my GP and asked him to carry out a PSA test. No big deal. He drew the sample there and then and sent it off for analysis.  But he discussed the symptoms I was worried about with me and felt it would be advisable to have further checks carried out.
That made it easier for me to discuss the matter with him as he asked the questions so I didn't have to take the initiative and broach the subject with him.
He decided to have further tests carried out as a precaution and I was happy to agree with him. The PSA  level was normal but the additional tests showed I have an enlarged prostate.
Again no big deal; I take a few pills and have no major problems now. However, I was screened for prostate cancer and will have regular checks from now on.
I know I'd have let the problem deteriorate much more before I'd have gone to see my doc if I hadn't used the PSA check as an icebreaker. Of itself, the check doesn't prove anything definitive but discussing the symptoms with a medical person in conjunction with it can be a very good idea.
Good luck to your dad and to Dougal's dad also and I advise every man to have this elementary test carried out as a routine precaution.
Post by: anglocelt39 on October 20, 2012, 05:42:10 PM
Get a blood test done, deal with it early, it's affecting an increasing number of men aged 40's or so. As the meathman said, can be dealt with if caught in time.
Post by: laoislad on October 20, 2012, 05:56:33 PM
Best of luck to your Da Dougal.
Post by: Dougal Maguire on October 20, 2012, 06:57:14 PM
Thanks folks for all your kind wishes. From what I've read about it, it seems its pretty common in men of his age and the survival rate is pretty high. I'll keep you all posted in due course
Post by: Tony Baloney on October 20, 2012, 07:12:30 PM
Quote from: laoislad on October 20, 2012, 05:56:33 PM
Best of luck to your Da Dougal.
+1.
Post by: SLIGONIAN on October 20, 2012, 10:10:06 PM
Quote from: Lar Naparka on October 20, 2012, 11:43:14 AM
Quote from: SLIGONIAN on October 20, 2012, 07:42:17 AM
I'm delighted with the news. Your dad is a lovely individual and please pass my best regards on to him. This condition is relatively easy to control once it is detected in the early stages.
THat's why I'd advise any man who is middle aged or older to have PSA checks carried out. Like me, I think most men would feel uncomfortable if they feel they need to discuss their intimate details with anyone else.
Some time ago, I realised that I was beginning to have difficulty in passing urine and found that I needed to get up several times during the night to do this. So I went to my GP and asked him to carry out a PSA test. No big deal. He drew the sample there and then and sent it off for analysis.  But he discussed the symptoms I was worried about with me and felt it would be advisable to have further checks carried out.
That made it easier for me to discuss the matter with him as he asked the questions so I didn't have to take the initiative and broach the subject with him.
He decided to have further tests carried out as a precaution and I was happy to agree with him. The PSA  level was normal but the additional tests showed I have an enlarged prostate.
Again no big deal; I take a few pills and have no major problems now. However, I was screened for prostate cancer and will have regular checks from now on.
I know I'd have let the problem deteriorate much more before I'd have gone to see my doc if I hadn't used the PSA check as an icebreaker. Of itself, the check doesn't prove anything definitive but discussing the symptoms with a medical person in conjunction with it can be a very good idea.
Good luck to your dad and to Dougal's dad also and I advise every man to have this elementary test carried out as a routine precaution.
Thanks Lar, hope your keeping well, U are most welcome for tea in my house anytime, isnt it ironic that a mayoman was the first gaaboarder to sit in my home house. I mightin like mayo football but there some top people from there even if they are few and far between ;D, however u are one.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on October 20, 2012, 10:29:10 PM
My dad has been in hospital the past few days having had an operation yesterday on the auld prostate. He's 78.

Hopefully he'll be back up on the bike before Christmas and be back on the sidelines for the O'Byrne Cup 2013.

Be careful out there.
Post by: Dougal Maguire on October 21, 2012, 01:46:03 AM
I'm sure he will. I don't know him but on the basis that you carry his genes he must be a good one. Are you for the Horslips gig next weekend?
Post by: seanaglis on October 21, 2012, 08:43:47 AM
Was watchin the sopranos box-set last night while doing baby-feeds.

Tony is telling the psychiatrist how the prozac he is taking is causing erectile disfunction. The psychiatrist says that it may not be the prozac, and asks has he ever had a prostate examination. His reply:

"Prostate examination?, i wouldnt even let a guy wag his finger in my face!"
Post by: Shamrock Shore on October 21, 2012, 12:02:30 PM
Cheers Dougal. He's been let out today and he's in good form so we are confident that there are a few more years left in him.

I hope your own Dad gets well over this. I alos hope he enjoyed Mrs Dougal's birthday party last weekend. Her sister was telling us all about it as she served up the tay after last Sunday's mass.

Horslips in Kerry? No can do. Too busy this time of the year.
Post by: lawnseed on October 22, 2012, 08:47:43 PM
some great posts on this very worrying problem. detection seems to be the problem. lads think some doc is gonna be touching them up. i'd say the enlarged prostate is very common once you get into you forties although i dont need to get up during the night. i definatly go more often during the day. i'd say a decent exercise regime is a help.