GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Bud Wiser on August 10, 2009, 04:33:27 PM

Title: Boycott the GAA Board.
Post by: Bud Wiser on August 10, 2009, 04:33:27 PM
I am calling on all hurling fans who subscribe to the hurling page to boycot this section of the forums and post any GAA related topic that is not solely a football issue on the Hurling Threads.  Topics like "Season Tickets" RTE, Pundits etc.  I think it is a shame that some posters hold hurling in such contempt that they have to criticise it so much to an extent that they "had to watch it as a double header" but have no interest in it.

Boycott the GAA section and post on the hurling thread only, even the Cork strikers and the GPA have more solidarity with the real GAA than some but not all on the GAA section.
Title: Re: Boycott the GAA Board.
Post by: wherefromreferee? on August 10, 2009, 04:35:56 PM
If this was facebook I'd click the 'like' button  8)
Post by: Denn Forever on August 10, 2009, 05:48:41 PM
I take your point but the person who opined the position of having to watch the hurling was berated for having such a position.

Coming from a county that I only remember begining to try Hurling when the Wavin Hurls came to the National school, I unfortunately wouldn't be able to comment on hurling other than its a brilliant game, Kilkenny are a good county and I'd love to be able to play it.

So please don't throw the baby out with the bathwater and keep with the board.  And keep us honest.
Post by: Farrandeelin on August 10, 2009, 07:21:44 PM
Well put Denn Forever. My only experience of hurling was when a fellow from Galway took us out in 2nd/3rd class to play some ground hurling. Needless to say it never got off the ground!
Post by: Zulu on August 10, 2009, 09:47:53 PM
QuoteI think it is a shame that some posters hold hurling in such contempt that they have to criticise it so much to an extent that they "had to watch it as a double header" but have no interest in it.

In my experience more hurling folk have a problem with football than the other way around and while I can't understand any GAA man not having at least some interest in both codes I wouldn't be throwing a hissy fit about it. AFR is a more hurling focused board and a fairly sizeable minority get digs in about football for little apparent reason. This board is made up of primarily football folk but rarely do they knock hurling. So IMO there is no reason for any kind of protest.
Post by: Louth Exile on August 10, 2009, 11:01:04 PM
Same as the lads above, the only bit of hurling our club ever saw was when one man in the club (who happened to be one of the best football managers the club ever had, at all grades) took it on himself to set up an U14 team, we all give it a lash, but it was never going to stick. My first ever hurling game was a Leinster Hurling Final, when he threw us all in the back of the van and threw us over the turnstiles! In recent years the only time I have been to hurling matches were doubleheaders, such as yesterday and Waterford v Limerick in 07 after the Kerry v Monaghan game. So I will rarely comment on hurling on the board, doesn't mean I don't appreciate and enjoy it. Yesterday I was able to tell my ten year old that he was looking at probably the greatest team of all time (like my father told me at 10 about the kingdom) and that in Henry Sheflin he was watching one of the finest displays from this teams greatest player.

At training on Saturday morning a mate made an interesting admission to me. This guy is a big football man, Royal and Loyal, he said that he had never watched a whole hurling match in his entire life!! For a GAA man in late 30's I thought that it was an amazing admission!!

Anyway, after my ramble, I agree with the lads above, leave it Bud
Post by: ziggysego on August 11, 2009, 01:34:53 AM
I don't have much first hand experience with hurling. Being from Tyrone it's almost non-existence. However when at college I used to live with a fella from Waterford who lived and breath the sport. I enjoy watching the game and think when it's played at it's highest level, it's a much superior game to football.

I'm happy to say that my own club are currently setting up hurling and re-introducing camogie to Greencastle. The Father Sheilds Camogie & Hurling Club.
Post by: ONeill on August 11, 2009, 09:30:58 AM
Quote from: ziggysego on August 11, 2009, 01:34:53 AM
Being from Tyrone it's almost non-existence.

I hope you mean your experience of it and not hurling itself.
Post by: Silky on August 11, 2009, 09:40:27 AM
QuoteBeing from Tyrone it's almost non-existence.

Did they not win an All Ireland last month?  :-\

Give with it Bud and feck the begrudgers.
Post by: agorm on August 11, 2009, 10:06:09 AM
Hi Bud,
This is a problem at all levels of the many counties and permeates to some (and I mean some) of the suppporters /posters etc.

I was disappointed but not at all surprised to see some people commenting that they didnt want to see the hurling - this reflects however the attitudes across the country. There were probably a lot of Kilkenny / Waterford people that didnt want to watch the football last weekend and Football is much maligned iin our premier Hurling county.

In my opinion there is a problem at the top in many counties. For example, there were senior hurling championship matches set for 6:30pm in Meath LAST SUNDAY EVENING. Thus people from certain hurling areas of the county were prevented from watching the hurling sems!! The opportunity to stay after the Meath game and watch the best hurling team of our generation is taken away by either downright incompetance or a deliberate effort to irritate the hurling people. No games were set for Friday or Saturday evenings - like how do these guys thinkn this stuff up? Our club wasnt set to play so I dont know the outcome of it but the teams should have refused to play imho.

In my opinion our chairman should be hauled before Pauric Duffy and be given a good dressing down for such blatant disregard for hurling in the county. However many Meath people are just football oriented and would care less about an issue such as this.

Post by: agorm on August 11, 2009, 10:23:38 AM
Regarding the topic, I myself have sometimes wondered why you have one section called "GAA discussion" and another "Hurling Discussion" - it implies that Hurling is a lesser sport.

Have you tried to email the moderators and request a General GAA Discussion and subsections for Football & Hurling.
Post by: ziggysego on August 11, 2009, 10:45:14 AM
Quote from: ONeill on August 11, 2009, 09:30:58 AM
Quote from: ziggysego on August 11, 2009, 01:34:53 AM
Being from Tyrone it's almost non-existence.

I hope you mean your experience of it and not hurling itself.

Yeah, my experience
Post by: Drumanee 1 on August 11, 2009, 10:55:53 AM
when i seen the thread title i thought,a jesus has dessie joined the board
Post by: Bud Wiser on August 11, 2009, 10:56:20 AM
QuoteHave you tried to email the moderators and request a General GAA Discussion and subsections for Football & Hurling.

First of all agorm your reply covers everything, and yes, it has irritated me every time I log on to see football set out as "Gaa Discussion" with hurling a mere sideshow along with general discussion.

When I made that post yesterday I went off to celebrate the birthday of a man called Arthur and expected to find a good row going this morning.  Not to be, all replies are too easy going so to freshen the bait a bit I would say that the respect that hurling deserves is not there because:

Posters on this board are predominantly Nordies and apart from Cushendall and Dunloy they would not know one end of a hurl from the other.
It is an insult to hurling to have sections of the board named, GAA Discussion and Hurling Discussion instead of Hurling Discussion and Football, or if you like, Hurling Discussion and Basketball Discussion.
The points made by you agorm regarding fixtures of matches are a disgrace, I mean the fixtures, not your comments.
And of course the biggest disgrace to hurling in the last 125 years was the Cork Senior Hurling team of strikers.
When GAA is mentioned in general on national radio or TV now it is assumed on most every occasion that "the gaa" is about football.
Post by: johnneycool on August 11, 2009, 11:00:51 AM
Quote from: Bud Wiser on August 10, 2009, 04:33:27 PM
I am calling on all hurling fans who subscribe to the hurling page to boycot this section of the forums and post any GAA related topic that is not solely a football issue on the Hurling Threads.  Topics like "Season Tickets" RTE, Pundits etc.  I think it is a shame that some posters hold hurling in such contempt that they have to criticise it so much to an extent that they "had to watch it as a double header" but have no interest in it.

Boycott the GAA section and post on the hurling thread only, even the Cork strikers and the GPA have more solidarity with the real GAA than some but not all on the GAA section.

As someone from a mostly footballing county (possibly past tense  ;) ) with a first love of hurling it can grate a bit that you see a topic such as 'The new Down manager' as if we can only 'assume' that's its a football manager that's the topic of debate but I don't see anything wrong with someone saying that they weren't too bothered to stay and watch Kilkenny and Waterford after the football game as that's a personal preference which we all have and are entitled to.

Some people have no interest in hurling, others have no interest in football and neither are the lesser gaels for it but i do think that some county boards do need taken to task for not treating both sports on a equal footing in terms of resources and scheduling of games as when you are in those positions of power you are responsible for all gaelic codes, not just the stronger code in that particular county.

Posters on this board are predominantly Nordies and apart from Cushendall and Dunloy they would not know one end of a hurl from the other.

I also take exception to the fact that a lot of southerners (and Ulster council) think that hurling in the North is soley exclusive to Antrim.
Post by: stephenite on August 11, 2009, 11:08:00 AM
If I recall correctly, the reason for setting up a seperate hurling section was to appease those who were sick of hurling threads dropping off the top page in a matter of hours. The hurling section was set up to encourage more hurling posts.
Post by: Louth Exile on August 11, 2009, 11:13:46 AM
Quote from: stephenite on August 11, 2009, 11:08:00 AM
If I recall correctly, the reason for setting up a seperate hurling section was to appease those who were sick of hurling threads dropping off the top page in a matter of hours. The hurling section was set up to encourage more hurling posts.

Correct and right
Post by: Bud Wiser on August 11, 2009, 11:14:38 AM

QuoteI also take exception to the fact that a lot of southerners (and Ulster council) think that hurling in the North is soley exclusive to Antrim.

Fair comment enough.  The fact remains that, in the eyes of some smart Alecs hurling is a game played by muck savages and football is as near to soccer as it gets. (http://www.boronk.de/LARP/Hurling.jpg) Hurling is ignored at every opportunity to promote it.  Look at RTE for example, Fiona Looney sitting down scratching her tits some evening and she somes up with this brialliant idea all of a sudden (that as it happens was someone elses idea) that we will have a celebrity manager/gaa thingy and straight away Derek Davis, Marty Whelan, and Andrea Roche are managing teams but, in case they get hit with a hurling ball it has to be "football" teams.

The only ones giving Hurling equal respect with football are the GPA, they will destroy both codes if the Cork boys don't get there first.
Post by: Zulu on August 11, 2009, 11:17:30 AM
That's right stephenite, the GAA section is only termed that, as opposed to the 'football board' because a 'hurling board' was set up sperately from the main discussion board to appease those who felt hurling topics fell off page one too quickly. Whenever I login I check the main board and then the hurling board and I don't see the problem and as someone from a hurling county but who prefers football I can assure you any complaint hurling fans have in football counties is mirrored by football fans in hurling counties.
Post by: Bud Wiser on August 11, 2009, 11:28:22 AM
QuoteIf I recall correctly, the reason for setting up a seperate hurling section was to appease those who were sick of hurling threads dropping off the top page in a matter of hours. The hurling section was set up to encourage more hurling posts.
You recall almost correctly.
At the time that the decision was made to seperate hurling from football it was a reasonable decision. However, at that time the board should have been split into Football, Hurling and General GAA.   Secondly, the decision to make a seperate hurling thread was not done for the love of hurling, or to appease us mere mortals, it was done because the nordies, and in particular the ones from Armagh and Tyrone were acting like yeomen and tried to evict us from the general thread because they wanted to make about five different threads about Francie Bellew or somone on the one day.  They ended up getting a seperate "Local GAA" section where I find it unbelievable that you have up to and over half a million views on Antrim and Down Football for jesus sake.

I am asking all hurling fans to post threads on all things general to GAA outside of football on the hurling thread or else have a Hurling, Football and General thread.   

Post by: ONeill on August 11, 2009, 11:29:49 AM
I think it's the footballing fans who are getting a raw deal. The hurling heads have a separate board whilst the football mainstays have to put up with a gaaboard where anything goes from GAA politics, RTE to the state of Croke Park.

Bud, I notice you have made 983 posts of which only 225 are hurling related. I haven't the wife at hand but I reckon that's nearing just 25% hurling, 38% basketball and 37% gambling. I suggest you lead from the front, exercise your standing and up your hurling input.
Post by: pintsofguinness on August 11, 2009, 11:35:18 AM
Quote from: stephenite on August 11, 2009, 11:08:00 AM
Very true, and if I recall correctly it was after many complaints from the hurling crowd.

For me hurling use to almost be on a level pegging with football but in the last few years I've lost all interest.  Why? because it's boring!  As someone else said you could pick the winners in almost every game and even if there were a few upsets Killkenny go and win the All Ireland anyway.  Boring. 

Hurling snobs don't help their own cause either, in my experience quite a few hurling people are simply snobs who don't give football the respect they expect in return from football. 
Post by: Bud Wiser on August 11, 2009, 11:37:47 AM
QuoteBud, I notice you have made 983 posts of which only 225 are hurling related. I haven't the wife at hand but I reckon that's nearing just 25% hurling, 38% basketball and 37% gambling. I suggest you lead from the front, exercise your standing and up your hurling input.

Oh sweet lord lovin lantern jeez..... another nordie statistician.   No need to go for the wife, I will explain.  Right, most of my posts are replies to other posts.  Got that now first.  Ok, we will move on, so, on the hurling section you will find most of the posters are more 'learned' lets say than those spouting on about an All-Ireland they won once in a lifetime so consequently the hurling thread, being an informative outlet as opposed to the type of shoite on the football section would not require as much replies such as having to ask Tankie the difference between Laois being described as Minnows and Dublin as Superstars.
Post by: Zulu on August 11, 2009, 11:40:47 AM
QuoteI am asking all hurling fans to post threads on all things general to GAA outside of football on the hurling thread or else have a Hurling, Football and General thread.

You've suggested already that you started this as a bit of a wind up so I'll take it that the above nugget is simply stirring the pot, either bring the hurling topics back into the main board or leave it as it is. As a fan of both codes i like it the way it is myself and I see no reason to change it.

Quoteon the hurling section you will find most of the posters are more 'learned'

An exaggeration if ever there was one.
Post by: ONeill on August 11, 2009, 11:42:15 AM
http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=13348.msg616143#msg616143

Ok lads, lets follow the hurling heavyweights' lead - who's the best - Ray Silke or Jack O'Shea?
Post by: Bud Wiser on August 11, 2009, 11:46:41 AM
QuoteHurling snobs don't help their own cause either, in my experience quite a few hurling people are simply snobs who don't give football the respect they expect in return from football. 

The fact is that hurling is the better game, harder to play to the level that would get you to Croke Park than football and consequently most counties took the easy option, play basketball and run around a field playing tippy tippy.

There may be a few who are snobs who donet give football respect but nothing compared to the type of second class treatment that is dished out to hurling.   When the GPA and Cork hurlers and the executive of the GPA wanted to make a case for being allowed free divvies of up to 120,000 euro without the money going through the county board who did they choose to set up to go on strike?  The hurlers.  Same pattern right throughout the media, RTE, TV3 and of course any Nordie TV station that decides to show a GAA match once in a lifetime are hardly going to show a hurling match are they, in case they might insult above all members of the community, gaa people.  Will ye stop for jesus sake.
Post by: pintsofguinness on August 11, 2009, 11:52:26 AM
The fact is that hurling is the better game, harder to play to the level that would get you to Croke Park than football and consequently most counties took the easy option, play basketball and run around a field playing tippy tippy.

No, that's not a fact, that's an opinion.

QuoteThere may be a few who are snobs who donet give football respect but nothing compared to the type of second class treatment that is dished out to hurling.   
In some football counties hurling may be second class but it's the same for football in hurling counties. 
Post by: Drumanee 1 on August 11, 2009, 11:54:23 AM
Quote from: Bud Wiser on August 11, 2009, 11:37:47 AM
QuoteBud, I notice you have made 983 posts of which only 225 are hurling related. I haven't the wife at hand but I reckon that's nearing just 25% hurling, 38% basketball and 37% gambling. I suggest you lead from the front, exercise your standing and up your hurling input.

Oh sweet lord lovin lantern jeez..... another nordie statistician.   No need to go for the wife, I will explain.  Right, most of my posts are replies to other posts.  Got that now first.  Ok, we will move on, so, on the hurling section you will find most of the posters are more 'learned' lets say than those spouting on about an All-Ireland they won once in a lifetime so consequently the hurling thread, being an informative outlet as opposed to the type of shoite on the football section would not require as much replies such as having to ask Tankie the difference between Laois being described as Minnows and Dublin as Superstars.

now bud as a respected member of the board i am surprised at this statement,you are sounding exactly like the posters you are having a go at.
Post by: Zulu on August 11, 2009, 12:00:19 PM
QuoteThe fact is that hurling is the better game, harder to play to the level that would get you to Croke Park than football and consequently most counties took the easy option, play basketball and run around a field playing tippy tippy.

:D :D :D I admire your determination to start a row Bud, nobody is really biting so you up the ante a bit, what next, football is only a game for bad hurlers perhaps? You'll surely catch someone soon, maybe POG he seems to be getting sucked in.
Post by: pintsofguinness on August 11, 2009, 12:01:53 PM
Quote from: Zulu on August 11, 2009, 12:00:19 PM
QuoteThe fact is that hurling is the better game, harder to play to the level that would get you to Croke Park than football and consequently most counties took the easy option, play basketball and run around a field playing tippy tippy.

:D :D :D I admire your determination to start a row Bud, nobody is really biting so you up the ante a bit, what next, football is only a game for bad hurlers perhaps? You'll surely catch someone soon, maybe POG he seems to be getting sucked in.

Nah, I'd be familiar with Bud's tactics  ;)
Post by: Bud Wiser on August 11, 2009, 12:02:13 PM
QuoteNo, that's not a fact, that's an opinion.

It's a fairly solid opinion given that every other Sunday I am looking at a footballer taking a free out of his hands from twenty yards in front of a pair of goalposts and he invariably kicks it about five yards wide, when someone does get it right like Maurice Fitzgerald they talk about it for ten years for jaysus sake.  There is no comparrison between basketball and hurling and on that basis only could my opinion be wrong.  Football is over rated , a fact that was recognized very late by the marketing department of Arnots when Dublkin asked for a million euro in sponsorship.
Post by: never kickt a ball on August 11, 2009, 12:04:51 PM
This thread should be in the hurling section.
Post by: pintsofguinness on August 11, 2009, 12:07:50 PM
Quote from: Bud Wiser on August 11, 2009, 12:02:13 PM
QuoteNo, that's not a fact, that's an opinion.

It's a fairly solid opinion given that every other Sunday I am looking at a footballer taking a free out of his hands from twenty yards in front of a pair of goalposts and he invariably kicks it about five yards wide, when someone does get it right like Maurice Fitzgerald they talk about it for ten years for jaysus sake.  There is no comparrison between basketball and hurling and on that basis only could my opinion be wrong.  Football is over rated , a fact that was recognized very late by the marketing department of Arnots when Dublkin asked for a million euro in sponsorship.

Well that's proves it, football is a harder game to master, more skillful etc.  In hurling, what's skillful about picking up a ball and hitting it as hard as you can down the field? If it goes between the big posts than so be it.  Not much skill involved in taking a goal either, hit it as hard as you can in the right direction it'll generally go in.  I dont understand where the skill is. 
Post by: johnneycool on August 11, 2009, 12:13:04 PM
And we're off
Post by: Aghdavoyle on August 11, 2009, 12:13:37 PM

Nothing makes me agitate against something mroe than someone insisting i should love it...
Post by: ziggysego on August 11, 2009, 01:51:52 PM
Shinty's a good game.
Post by: Zapatista on August 11, 2009, 01:58:45 PM
I think there should be a seperate forum for the GPA. It doesn't quite fit in the GAA section, the Hurling or the General section.
Post by: johnneycool on August 11, 2009, 02:21:24 PM
Quote from: Aghdavoyle on August 11, 2009, 12:13:37 PM

Nothing makes me agitate against something mroe than someone insisting i should love it...

You don't watch sky sports then?
Post by: Aghdavoyle on August 11, 2009, 02:28:31 PM

How do you know i don't?
Post by: Bud Wiser on August 11, 2009, 03:32:41 PM
QuoteI dont understand where the skill is.

I never expected you would to be honest, it's fairly difficult to understand the difference between catching a ball little bigger than a snooker travelling at over 200mph than catching a big football that is passed to you in basketball fashion from about five yards.   

And another thing, I never said anyone had to love hurling, nor would I depend on the type of GAA supporter that thinks they have to love it as part of their civic duty.  What I am saying is that hurling should be given equal exposure and it is high time the GAA copped on to themselves in this regard.  Why was hurling not given equal exposure at the launch of the 125 years celebrations, but oh no, it had to be a game of basketball between Dublin and Tyrone. 
Post by: johnneycool on August 11, 2009, 03:51:03 PM
Quote from: Aghdavoyle on August 11, 2009, 02:28:31 PM

How do you know i don't?

Because if there ever was an organisation who peddled some of the greatest pile of shite as the greatest game on earth it's Sky sports and you're no fool to be taken in with all that hype.
Post by: ONeill on August 11, 2009, 04:24:49 PM
Hurling - a puck out, fetch and point. 2 men needed to score. Up here in Tyrone we are instructed to use all 15 men for each score.

Sure did you see the shape of some of those Waterford lads? Jimmy Keaveny was the last of those in the big ball code.
Post by: Franko on August 11, 2009, 05:58:58 PM
Quote from: ONeill on August 11, 2009, 04:24:49 PM
Hurling - a puck out, fetch and point. 2 men needed to score. Up here in Tyrone we are instructed to use all 15 men for each score.

Sure did you see the shape of some of those Waterford lads? Jimmy Keaveny was the last of those in the big ball code.

Ahem...

Rory Woods???

I had to pull you on that one?  Can't be many top intercounty players in either code bigger than that man...
Post by: SLIGONIAN on August 11, 2009, 07:16:10 PM
Hurling is more skillful no argument there. At the end of day ive been to plenty of Hurling matches as a neutral but f"£k me its far better watching on tv, i cant see the sliotar half the time. So id understand anyone who left early for the pub to watch or mayo fans drowning there sorrows, understandable. But derogarotty comments is shite talk. Jees we are all one Football and Hurling we are all Gaels. I grew up in North Sligo, not my fault ive never grew up with a hurley but I would never look down on it. Its a great game and every since i got to a Connacht final in tennis at u16 (didnt play the final because my teacher messed up the dates and other school wouldnt replay, rather win by default >:() id always been curious as to would i be any good at hurling as im good with my wrists. So 2 yrs ago I bought a hurley with a few sliotars and thought id get the hang of easy enough, wrong, only that a sympathetic clare lad watching me in the park as he pucked about took pity on me and gave me a 2 hr session fair play to him, great tips, about 6 months on i could puck at pace 50 yards, pick it and do most of basic skills...toughest learning curve ever and frustrating at the start so everyone should respect hurling big time. Isnt there a beauty in the directness of Hurling? I think so.
Post by: Gnevin on August 11, 2009, 07:34:44 PM
Quote from: Bud Wiser on August 11, 2009, 03:32:41 PM

I never expected you would to be honest, it's fairly difficult to understand the difference between catching a ball little bigger than a snooker travelling at over 200mph than catching a big football that is passed to you in basketball fashion from about five yards.   

And another thing, I never said anyone had to love hurling, nor would I depend on the type of GAA supporter that thinks they have to love it as part of their civic duty.  What I am saying is that hurling should be given equal exposure and it is high time the GAA copped on to themselves in this regard.  Why was hurling not given equal exposure at the launch of the 125 years celebrations, but oh no, it had to be a game of basketball between Dublin and Tyrone. 
200 mph! Have the GAA allowed teams to use cannons in a vein attempt to make Kilkenny look average?
Post by: pintsofguinness on August 11, 2009, 09:52:43 PM
Quote from: Bud Wiser on August 11, 2009, 03:32:41 PM

What sport does that happen in? A ball does not travel 200mph in hurling! but yes, it does travel at a great speed and there is a skill in winning it.  It's funny you turn your nose up at a footballer receiving a ball from five yards in "basketball fashion" but you seem to forget that a footballer, unlike a hurler, can't pick a ball up in the full back line and kick it as hard as he can up to the full forward line. 
Post by: Lar Naparka on August 11, 2009, 10:55:39 PM
Quote from: Bud Wiser on August 10, 2009, 04:33:27 PM

Bud, the problem for me is that if posters were to boycott the football section of the board and switch en masse to the hurling end instead it would be a case of replacing one form of discrimination with another.
I'd like to see threads of mutual interest posted in both but I have no desire to impose any sort of control over posters' freedom of choice. If the majority of board members opt to join in on football threads and stay aloof from the hurling section I think the reason is clear; the majority have more interest in football than in hurling.
I love hurling but I don't want to force my views on anyone else. I will always keep track of the Mayo hurlers and go to watch them most times- if they are playing anywhere inside 40-50 miles from Dublin.
Now, many Mayo heads got up after the football game last Sunday and tried to get far away from the place as quickly as possible. I'd imagine watching another game of any sort was the last thing on their minds. For many, apart from the sickening, there was the matter of beating afternoon traffic jams and some needed to get back to milk the cows or the likes. I'd imagine that many Meath fans were thinking along the same lines.
If the popularity of hurling is ever to increase, there is only one way to bring this about and that is to promote the game in the so-called football-only counties. I'd go further and say there are two major reasons why this isn't proving successful. Many county boards don't give a damn about hurling and see it as major pain in the butt. The Mayo county board is just one of the many to treat the hurlers as second-class citizens. Hurling means extra expense and could prove a distraction for dual players.
But there is another reason and that is an ingrained snobbishness amongst hurling people in the traditional hurling counties. Some are worse than others. To those aristocrats, football is a bog man's game and they don't want to see it gaining any sort of profile in their home patch.
Post by: Bud Wiser on August 14, 2009, 02:05:48 PM
I was away for a few days and did not get a chance to reply to your post Lar Naparks.
I agree with everything you have said but I am not trying to force hurling on anybody.  I am making the point that hurling is ignored to an extent that it is no longer seen as part of the GAA as far as some are concerned.  Here as an example is an email from Cul Green I received today:

It is over two months since you last made a carbon saving pledge helping us to make Croke Park carbon neutral.

In the last twelve months there have been 43,600 pledges totaling 4,540 tonnes of carbon saved but we need your help to reach our 2009 Championship target.

Please visit the website and if you complete a carbon saving pledge this month we will enter you in the draw for one of five Family Trips to the All Ireland Final in September.

Many thanks for your continued support on this,

Best wishes,

Cúl Green Team

I wonder if they are talking about football or hurling or is there only one All-Ireland this year? 
Post by: Main Street on August 14, 2009, 08:30:16 PM
Quote from: Bud Wiser on August 14, 2009, 02:05:48 PM
.  Here as an example is an email from Cul Green I received today:

It is over two months since you last made a carbon saving pledge helping us to make Croke Park carbon neutral.

In the last twelve months there have been 43,600 pledges totaling 4,540 tonnes of carbon saved but we need your help to reach our 2009 Championship target.

Please visit the website and if you complete a carbon saving pledge this month we will enter you in the draw for one of five Family Trips to the All Ireland Final in September.

Many thanks for your continued support on this,

Best wishes,

Cúl Green Team

I wonder if they are talking about football or hurling or is there only one All-Ireland this year? 

Surely you didn't make a little edit just to exagerate the sense of persecution?  ;D

here is  This Months prize from Cúl Green website
http://www.culgreen.ie/en/Competitions_en.aspx (http://www.culgreen.ie/en/Competitions_en.aspx)

This Month's Prizes
"Five fantastic family trips to the GAA All-Ireland Football or Hurling Final. Each prize includes tickets to match of your choice, two nights luxury accommodation adjacent to the stadium and rail travel to Dublin for two adults and two children!"

hers is another press release

Win Five Fantastic Family Trips
05 Aug 2009
http://www.culgreen.ie/en/NewsArticle_en.aspx?NewsID=165 (http://www.culgreen.ie/en/NewsArticle_en.aspx?NewsID=165)

Cúl Green's aim is to make Croke Park fully net-carbon neutral by 2015. We are looking for your help to reach our target. All you have to do is make an energy saving pledge today and you could win a fantastic family trip to the GAA All-Ireland Final.

Five winners will each receive a family trip to the Final of their choice including; match tickets plus two nights luxury accommodation adjacent to the stadium and rail travel to Dublin for two adults and two children!