Following on from the Ozuo thread i thought i see what horror stories people have about different drinks.
By far the worst i have tasted is called Stroh, i have had many espidoes down the years with this drink and i always have a least 2 bottles in the house. It is an Austrian rum and usually found in skiing resorts ( where they have it hot). I have never seen such vile reaction from any drink just by smelling it.
A close second would be some of the Grapas, i have a bottle that i got in Italy that cost me 2.30 for a litre, i swear it would power a tractor.
Campari. We have a bottle for my neighbour when she calls over and no amount of late-night drinking can induce us to dive in to it.
I found Black Rum to be the worst i have tasted. It was a shot of it though, is it supposed to be mixed?
Not exactly a drink of sorts but a hellish combination, 2 blue and 2 red aftershocks in one glass, jaysus the thought of it now
Got this drink in Brussels one time , cant remember the name but it was brutal beyond belief , put my lights out.
Buckfast and vodka anyone? :o
Quote from: tyrone girl on July 30, 2009, 12:15:39 PM
Not exactly a drink of sorts but a hellish combination, 2 blue and 2 red aftershocks in one glass, jaysus the thought of it now
Got this drink in Brussels one time , cant remember the name but it was brutal beyond belief , put my lights out.
Typical muck savage tyrone 'lady' right there ;D
A sot including tobasco sauce or Buckfast mixed with milk.
Quote from: fitzroyalty on July 30, 2009, 12:17:10 PM
just reading that combo makes me wanna hurl..............
Quote from: leenie on July 30, 2009, 12:20:12 PM
Quote from: fitzroyalty on July 30, 2009, 12:17:10 PM
just reading that combo makes me wanna hurl..............
Camogie leenie, girls play camogie.
Most bizarre hangover after gettin winged on Early Times whiskey in the good ol' U.S.A
Worst drink at home: Frosty Jacks cider. Head next day felt like it was going to tear itself in 2 unless I lay still as a statue. Couldn't move til early evening
Flatliner.. Tequila, Sambuca and Tobasco sauce
Mine would be a Flaming Homer. Got it in the Limelight one night. Red aftershock, blue aftershock and absinthe which was then light. Can't mind much of the night after that.
Whiskey with a shot of tequila in it.
A birthday "treat".
I had a bottle of beer in leeds once and it tasted of bacon fries, one of the most disgusting drinks ever, it was polish beer i think, i couldnt read the label
Got a sickner of Southern comfort a few years back and if i even smell it now it makes me puke.
Quote from: whiskeysteve on July 30, 2009, 12:21:58 PM
Most bizarre hangover after gettin winged on Early Times whiskey in the good ol' U.S.A
Worst drink at home: Frosty Jacks cider. Head next day felt like it was going to tear itself in 2 unless I lay still as a statue. Couldn't move til early evening
My first wo years at uni I used to drink a bottle and a half of that shit a day nearly...
Had to hold my nose sometimes as the smell would make me gag.
As for the worst, I have had those Aftershock mixed things, they are rank, thinking about them now and I am near gagging.
I remember one Monday in Freshers Week when Charlie Stubbs was on his placement we had all been drinking in Renshaws from half11 and Charlie came in and ordered nine aftershocks in a pint glass so he coudl catch up with us. Dirty f**ker.
Another conoction Charlie used to get was: 3vodkas, 3baileys (i think, it was something that curdled the drink anyway) and a dash or orange dilute. If you didn't stir it constantly it would curdle and become lumpy.
Quote from: Our Nail Loney on July 30, 2009, 01:26:35 PM
Another conoction Charlie used to get was: 3vodkas, 3baileys (i think, it was something that curdled the drink anyway) and a dash or orange dilute. If you didn't stir it constantly it would curdle and become lumpy.
Was that a Davey special?
I got an awful sickner of Tequila in my early years at a Friday Night Clubland (back when the outside part was opened and the place wasn't renovated). I had 6 tequilas with this mad girl from Dungiven. the boys found me sitting outside the Northern Bank in a puddle of my own puke and I died for the rest of the weekend. I can't even smell the stuff now.
Quote from: SidelineKick on July 30, 2009, 01:46:13 PM
Was one of many I believe. All vomit inducing.
Was in Poland earlier this year and had Zubrovka (sp) it was pretty rank, its a fruity vodka drink. Not great to be honest.
Quote from: SidelineKick on July 30, 2009, 01:46:13 PM
I think that was Charlies own mix. It was Tequila Rose instead of the Baileys.
The Davey specials were some job.
Drank two cans of red bulls straight after a game once and I nearly had a fit. Body broke out into a cold sweat, my shirt got completely soaked, I couldn't talk or focus and I had a dizzy spell. Just about ready to collapse when someone started pouring water into me and after about three pints I started to come around again. Scary stuff, wouldn't touch it again, although I appreciate it was probably because I was totally dehydrated. Anyone who takes it with vodka or brandy must be pure suicidal.
Quote from: irunthev on July 30, 2009, 02:13:05 PM
Drank two cans of red bulls straight after a game once and I nearly had a fit.
Why would you drink red bull
after a game?
Fanny juice
Brandy & Baileys
Have a fairly strong stomach but found brandy pretty awful. Any of yis ever do them dfrinky cup dirnking games where yis play cards and every1 throws a bit fo their drink into a cup and whoever loses hasta drink the cup?
Green chartreuse would be up there with the worst of them.
Honourable mention for home made Hungarian moonshine and a bottle of stuff called unicum from Hungary also.
Quote from: full back on July 30, 2009, 02:15:53 PM
Quote from: irunthev on July 30, 2009, 02:13:05 PM
Drank two cans of red bulls straight after a game once and I nearly had a fit.
Why would you drink red bull after a game?
Had a hot date and I heard it gave you wings
Quote from: TacadoirArdMhacha on July 30, 2009, 03:41:08 PM
Have a fairly strong stomach but found brandy pretty awful. Any of yis ever do them dfrinky cup dirnking games where yis play cards and every1 throws a bit fo their drink into a cup and whoever loses hasta drink the cup?
Yuck, played a card game called Kings nearly every night for two summers in Switzerland. It was usually just a mix of wine and beer but was def absolutely disgusting.
Had Thai wine during a wine tasting and would never have it again. Bleuh.
WORST without doubt is an irish carbomb. I had a few of them in usa last year.
its half a pint of guinness which you drop a shot class int. the shot class is half powers and half baileys. you have to skull it straight away or it curdles. its clean buckin rotten. next day you dont know which hole its gonna run out of!
Quote from: ludermor on July 30, 2009, 12:11:42 PM
Following on from the Ozuo thread i thought i see what horror stories people have about different drinks.
By far the worst i have tasted is called Stroh, i have had many espidoes down the years with this drink and i always have a least 2 bottles in the house. It is an Austrian rum and usually found in skiing resorts ( where they have it hot). I have never seen such vile reaction from any drink just by smelling it.
A close second would be some of the Grapas, i have a bottle that i got in Italy that cost me 2.30 for a litre, i swear it would power a tractor.
An Austrian friend brought a bottle over to the house one night when I was in college.
We put sugar in a teaspoon with a little stroh and lit it. When the sugar melted we blew it out and put it in the shot glass and knocked it back.
We did shots before and after the night club. Disgusting stuff and I cant remember a thing.
Pictures the next day proved we all got mostly naked and were running around the house, doing pileups and climbing the walls.
Crazy...
Quote from: High Wide and Handsome on July 30, 2009, 03:50:02 PM
WORST without doubt is an irish carbomb. I had a few of them in usa last year.
its half a pint of guinness which you drop a shot class int. the shot class is half powers and half baileys. you have to skull it straight away or it curdles. its clean buckin rotten. next day you dont know which hole its gonna run out of!
A hunchback(due to the way you look after drinking it) which is similar - pint of fizzy lager with a double Baileys. You have to skull it before it totally curdles and if you're too slow you have to eat the rest from the glass with a spoon! Boke.
Quote from: Puckoon on July 30, 2009, 03:45:43 PM
Honourable mention for home made Hungarian moonshine and a bottle of stuff called unicum from Hungary also.
We have a winner! Horrible horrible stuff.
Drank some sort of concotion distilled from corn in Germany many year ago. The label said something like "Korn Likor". Though I was going to boke before it hit my stomach.
Seven Seas medicine
Can you still get a 'Cash Special' in the Ashburn? Buckfast, Southern Comfort & white. Rough stuff. Anyone ever drink Clan Dew or mad dog?
My flatmate at the time brought home a bottle of Absinthe from holidays a few years ago. We knocked a large shot of it back before we went out. It's 70% proof and was banned over here until very recently. It near turned me, everything for the rest of the night just tasted of Absinthe.
Would love to have tried ether in its day:
A surgeon visiting Draperstown in 1878 remarked that: "The main street smelled like his surgery, where ether was used as an anesthetic. Old ether topers, he added, could finish off a three-ounce wineglassful at a single swig, without even water for a chaser. Everyone who discussed this particular phenomenon admitted that there appeared to be less chronic damage than with alcohol. But hazards were also noted: chronic gastritis, deaths from overdosage, and fatal burns from smoking while drinking–– for ether is extremely flammable."
http://www.herald.ie/entertainment/hq/drink-the-rise-and-fall-of-ether-1513383.html
Quote from: A Quinn Martin Production on July 30, 2009, 03:59:54 PM
Drank some sort of concotion distilled from corn in Germany many year ago. The label said something like "Korn Likor". Though I was going to boke before it hit my stomach.
Sounds like a command to Corn02!
Harp
Uncle Igor's famous falling over water, the most vile tasting shite on the planet. Putridity incarnate.
McCafferys,Heineken(or Heino if your a knob),Budwiser...................can't drink any of them,pure piss imho
Clove rock poteen.
grappa
Grasshoppers in Crete wernt that nice. ONL will know what I'm on about.
Quote from: Harold Disgracey on July 30, 2009, 04:10:27 PM
Can you still get a 'Cash Special' in the Ashburn? Buckfast, Southern Comfort & white. Rough stuff. Anyone ever drink Clan Dew or mad dog?
Yes you can still get it ok...Pretty good stuff too Puts your smoke out!
The worst drink i ever had was Pimms...My mates had a bet on my 18th to see who could make me sick...I drank Dark rum and Baileys mixed...Basically everything you can imagine but that wee shot of Pimms done the trick. To this day i would nearly be sick at the smell of it!
A bad pint of porter.....yes such a thing exists....try the Canal Court on a Saturday night.....boggin :'(
Quote from: Archie Mitchell on July 30, 2009, 07:53:52 PM
Grasshoppers in Crete wernt that nice. ONL will know what I'm on about.
Dirty green bastards
Quote from: orangeman on July 30, 2009, 06:42:27 PM
Clove rock poteen.
I don't mind the Poitin at all and always bring a bottle back to the states with me or have someone bring a bottle over when they are coming. Get the right stuff and it's smoother than whiskey and lovely hot in the winter time.
Clove rock, brandy balls and plumb is good.
Tried the kola kube once and it was friggin lovely
Can't stand the taste of wine (apart from buckfast) and can't even smell cider becaus eof a bad experience.
tried Green Chartreuse once - I don't even know why it exists - surely there cannot be anyone on the planet who actually likes the taste of it?
Absinthe is illegal in the U.S - I remember a night in a certain bar in Armagh town when two local clowns Dave Devlin and Jamie Agnew ordered a double each - they got it on the condition it was from a plastic cup and they drank it outside - both of them puked within 30 seconds - I charged them 6 pound each to puke their ring......
Quote from: Puckoon on July 30, 2009, 03:45:43 PM
That's the winner there alright...I was trying to remember the name of it when I came across this post
Somebody broke a bottle of it out in the Glenavon the night we won the Minor championship..
think I can still taste it :-X
Drank vodka with coffee beans in it before.
also drunk cooking oil 1 day on the rip, not too good for the cholesterol!
Oxegen 2007. Girls in a tent beside us forgot about the no glass bottles rule so they poured a load of drinks in a 2 litre milk bottle to get in. Whiskey, Vodka, Beer, Cider, Rum, Coke, Red Bull, Wine. You name it and it was in that bottle. It got you all fucked up very quickly.
Woke up one morning after a fairly crazy night in the Bot with a serious dry mouth. Found a bottle of Riverock water beside the bed. Gulped it into me only to realise two seconds later that it was pure Vodka. I was near sick.
Quote from: rolloutking on July 30, 2009, 11:33:11 PM
Oxegen 2007. Girls in a tent beside us forgot about the no glass bottles rule so they poured a load of drinks in a 2 litre milk bottle to get in. Whiskey, Vodka, Beer, Cider, Rum, Coke, Red Bull, Wine. You name it and it was in that bottle. It got you all fucked up very quickly.
Woke up one morning after a fairly crazy night in the Bot with a serious dry mouth. Found a bottle of Riverock water beside the bed. Gulped it into me only to realise two seconds later that it was pure Vodka. I was near sick.
Id say that was nice. Must have been some carryout they had if they fitted all that into a 2 litre milk bottle.
Does it count if you drink a drink out of your shoe? Used to be a common occurance in Renshaws a few years back.
They had a about 4 or 5 bottles. But had to start mixing it cos there wasn't enough
Quote from: Archie Mitchell on July 30, 2009, 11:56:58 PM
Does it count if you drink a drink out of your shoe? Used to be a common occurance in Renshaws a few years back.
Was involved in a few rounds that way in Mollie's alright.....those were the days :D