Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: anportmorforjfc on June 12, 2009, 10:48:34 PM

Title: US Open: 18-21 June
Post by: anportmorforjfc on June 12, 2009, 10:48:34 PM
Major champions lead US Open draw 

Golf's reigning major champions Tiger Woods, Padraig Harrington and Angel Cabrera will play in the same group for the first two rounds of the US Open.

The event starts on 18 June at Bethpage Black, where defending champion Woods captured the 2002 title.

Harrington won last year's Open and PGA Championship while Argentina's Cabrera won the Masters two months ago.

Northern Ireland's Rory McIlroy is in an exciting-looking group with American Ryder Cup winner Anthony Kim.

World number two Phil Mickelson, who withdrew from the Tour last month after his wife Amy was diagnosed with breast cancer, only decided to take part last week.

Mickelson will be with South Africa duo Ernie Els and Retief Goosen as he chases his maiden US Open triumph after four runners-up finishes.

"I'm not playing just to play," said Mickelson. "Bethpage is a golf course that suits my game. I love that course.

"Obviously, I'm playing because I believe I can win. That's the goal.

"My quest is to win my first US Open after four seconds, numerous close calls, me caring about this tournament so much.

"I'm just fortunate that I'm going to be able to play and I hope to play well. I know after that I've got something going on that's more important and takes my mind off it."

US Open officials decided against grouping the top three players in the world ranking, as they did last year at San Diego.

World number one Woods, going for his 15th major title, will also be hoping to match Jack Nicklaus, Ben Hogan, Bobby Jones and Willie Anderson as the only four-time US Open champions.

The 33-year-old limped to victory in last year's US Open at Torrey Pines, defeating Rocco Mediate on the first sudden-death hole following an 18-hole playoff, then had left knee surgery that sidelined him for the next eight months.

Not since Curtis Strange in 1989 has a player won consecutive US Opens.

Title: Re: US Open: 18-21 June
Post by: anportmorforjfc on June 12, 2009, 10:49:19 PM
Tee-off times (all times BST, US unless stated)

Thursday 1st hole/Friday 10th hole

1200/1730 Rickie Fowler, Casey Wittenberg, Bo Van Pelt
1211/1741 Drew Weaver; Angelo Que (Phi), Simon Khan (Eng)
1222/1752 David Horsey (Eng), John Mallinger, Jose Manuel Lara (Sp)
1233/1803 Rory Sabbatini (SA), Martin Kaymer (Ger), Ryuji Imada (Jpn)
1244/1814 Vijay Singh (Fij), Jeev Milkha Singh (Ind), KJ Choi (Kor)
1255/1825 Ian Poulter (Eng), Justin Leonard, Robert Allenby (Aus)
1306/1836 Padraig Harrington (Ire), Angel Cabrera (Arg), Tiger Woods
1317/1847 Ryan Moore, Ben Crane, Eric Axley
1328/1858 Lee Westwood (Eng), Zach Johnson, Shingo Katayama (Jpn)
1339/1909 Bubba Watson, Johan Edfors (Swe), John Merrick
1350/1920 Francesco Molinari (It), George McNeill, Simon Dyson (Eng)
1401/1931 Cameron Tringale, Sean Farren, Andrew Parr (Can)
1412/1942 Vaughn Snyder, Ryan Spears, Michael Miles
1730/1200 James Nitties (Aus), Peter Tomasulo, Martin Laird (Sco)
1741/1211 David Smail (NZ), Cameron Beckman, Steve Allan (Aus)
1752/1222 JJ Henry, Gonzalo Fernandez-Castano (Sp), Briny Baird
1803/1233 Kyle Stanley, Lucas Glover, DJ Trahan
1814/1244 JB Holmes, Alvaro Quiros (Sp), Nick Watney
1825/1255 Sergio Garcia (Sp), Camilo Villegas (Col), Adam Scott (Aus)
1836/1306 Justin Rose (Eng), Sean O'Hair, Ross Fisher (Eng)
1847/1317 Rocco Mediate, Kenny Perry, Tom Lehman
1858/1328 Hunter Mahan, Oliver Wilson (Eng), Brandt Snedeker
1909/1339 Billy Mayfair, Matt Kuchar, Ricky Barnes
1920/1350 Darron Stiles, Shintaro Kai (Jpn), Matthew Jones (Aus)
1931/1401 Tyson Alexander, Charlie Beljan, Ryan Blaum
1942/1412 Matt Nagy, Shawn Stefani, Douglas Batty (NZ)

Thursday 10th hole/Friday 1st hole

1200/1730 JP Hayes, Greg Kraft, Jeff Brehaut
1211/1741 Drew Kittleson, Sangmoon Bae (Kor), Michael Sim (Aus)
1221/1752 Heath Slocum, Charlie Wi (Kor), Richard Bland (Eng)
1233/1803 Ben Curtis, Graeme McDowell (NI), Chad Campbell
1244/1814 Andrew Svoboda, Robert Karlsson (Swe), Steve Stricker
1255/1825 Geoff Ogilvy (Aus), Jim Furyk, Paul Casey (Eng)
1306/1836 Luke Donald (Eng), Trevor Immelman (SA), Tim Clark (SA)
1317/1847 Andres Romero (Arg), Eduardo Romero (Arg), Miguel Angel Jimenez (Sp)
1328/1858 Michael Campbell (NZ), Boo Weekley, Rod Pampling (Aus)
1339/1909 Kevin Sutherland, Dudley Hart, Ken Duke
1350/1920 Bronson Burgoon, Craig Bowden, Chris Kirk
1401/1731 Ben Martin, Josh McCumber, Kevin Silva
1412/1942 Josh Brock, Trevor Murphy, Nathan Tyler
1730/1200 Matt Bettencourt, James Kamte (SA), Kaname Yokoo (Jpn)
1741/1211 Nick Taylor (Can), Scott Gutschewski, Gary Woodland
1752/1222 Carl Pettersson (Swe), Azuma Yano (Jpn), Charl Schwartzel (SA)
1803/1233 David Duval, David Toms, Darren Clarke (NI)
1814/1244 Anthony Kim, Rory McIlroy (NI), Dustin Johnson
1825/1255 Soren Kjeldsen (Den), Soren Hansen (Den), Peter Hanson (Swe)
1836/1306 Retief Goosen (SA), Ernie Els (SA), Phil Mickelson
1847/1317 Stuart Appleby (Aus), Fred Funk, Todd Hamilton
1858/1328 Mike Weir (Can), Stephen Ames (Can), Stewart Cink
1909/1339 Thomas Levet (Fr), Jean-Francois Lucquin (Fr), Raphael Jacquelin (Fr)
1920/1350 Andrew McLardy (SA), Chris Stroud, TBA
1931/1401 Clark Klaasen, Colby Beckstrom, Cameron Yancey
1942/1412 Kyle Peterman, Michael Welch, Cortland Lowe

Post by: The Real Laoislad on June 12, 2009, 11:18:00 PM
Thats some group with Woods,Harrington and Cabrera,some great viewing.
I think that could help Harrington actually
Post by: heganboy on June 13, 2009, 02:02:04 AM
so I have absolutely fluked a ticket for Thursday's opening round at Beth Page.

So In time honoured fashion I ask for the wisdom of the board, what group do I follow? I think for me its either woods and harrington or wee rory?

choice and reason please.
Post by: Carmen Stateside on June 13, 2009, 02:07:20 AM
Missus got tickets for next friday looking forward to it. Does the same groups start together on day 2?
Post by: The Real Laoislad on June 13, 2009, 11:57:12 AM
Quote from: heganboy on June 13, 2009, 02:02:04 AM
so I have absolutely fluked a ticket for Thursday's opening round at Beth Page.

So In time honoured fashion I ask for the wisdom of the board, what group do I follow? I think for me its either woods and harrington or wee rory?

choice and reason please.

No contest in my mind, Worlds best golfer playing with the winners of the last 3 majors in Harrington and Cabrera or a annoying little Nordie fecker..
Woods,Harrington and Cabrera without a doubt would be the best to follow imo
Post by: gawa316 on June 13, 2009, 12:40:26 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on June 13, 2009, 11:57:12 AM
No contest in my mind, Worlds best golfer playing with the winners of the last 3 majors in Harrington and Cabrera or a annoying little Nordie fecker..

Will you be able to see much though as every fecker from under the sun will be following this game?

I'd follow that annoying little nordie fecker you talk off
Post by: gerrykeegan on June 13, 2009, 01:10:32 PM
Unless your 8 foot tall or wait for 4 hours at the 15 or 16 until they come around you will see f**k all of mister woods and the Paddy. Security and Media take preference.
Young Rory for me. (Don't find him annoying at all, infact he went up in my estimation for his behavior at the Irish Open) I have watched him  up close and its a joy to see someone hit the ball so well.

Post by: The Real Laoislad on June 13, 2009, 01:17:11 PM
Quote from: gawa316 on June 13, 2009, 12:40:26 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on June 13, 2009, 11:57:12 AM

Will you be able to see much though as every fecker from under the sun will be following this game?

I'd follow that annoying little nordie fecker you talk off

Ah I was only half joking  ;)
Post by: heganboy on June 17, 2009, 04:31:44 PM
Quote from: gerrykeegan on June 13, 2009, 01:10:32 PM
Unless your 8 foot tall or wait for 4 hours at the 15 or 16
I'd be a reasonable enough size of a lump so maybe that wouldnt be too bad
Post by: Hotrocks on June 17, 2009, 05:03:12 PM
Just spotted this at bottom of page.  Have a go at the Us Open yourself :)
http://usga.usopen.com/2009/virtualopen/
(http://usga.usopen.com/2009/virtualopen/)
Post by: The Real Laoislad on June 17, 2009, 05:26:36 PM
Quote from: Hotrocks on June 17, 2009, 05:03:12 PM

Thats Class  :D
I see you can play against people you know,we should set up a gaaboard US Open
Post by: stew on June 17, 2009, 06:06:59 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on June 17, 2009, 05:26:36 PM

Thats Class  :D
I see you can play against people you know,we should set up a gaaboard US Open

This is briilliant, I am happy to kick your collective arses. :P
Post by: Tony Baloney on June 17, 2009, 07:01:48 PM
Quote from: heganboy on June 17, 2009, 04:31:44 PM
Quote from: gerrykeegan on June 13, 2009, 01:10:32 PM
Unless your 8 foot tall or wait for 4 hours at the 15 or 16
I'd be a reasonable enough size of a lump so maybe that wouldnt be too bad

7'9"?
Post by: Diet Coke on June 17, 2009, 07:15:32 PM
I'd follow Garcia, Villegas and Scott, as all the women will be also ;)
Post by: mountainboii on June 17, 2009, 07:26:47 PM

43 over par, don't think I'll be making the cut  :(
Post by: The Real Laoislad on June 17, 2009, 07:28:17 PM
Quote from: AFS on June 17, 2009, 07:26:47 PM

Shocking hard alright....+24 I was  :-[
Post by: gerrykeegan on June 17, 2009, 08:22:39 PM
Started with a 10 followed it with a 10 then par. Bit like my own game
Post by: venter on June 18, 2009, 11:12:45 AM
My Tips

Casey
Rose
Mickelson
Post by: corn02 on June 18, 2009, 11:44:01 AM
Quote from: venter on June 18, 2009, 11:12:45 AM
My Tips

Casey
Rose
Mickelson

As usual I had to give Fuyrk a nod.
Post by: maco on June 18, 2009, 12:10:36 PM
Had a small bet on Geoff Ogilvy and Stewart Cink.
Post by: Rossie11 on June 18, 2009, 12:14:03 PM
Went for Curtis, Weir and a crazy outsider in Heath Slocum 200/1.

A european hasnt won since 1970. Wouldnt put a cent of any of them
Post by: Carmen Stateside on June 18, 2009, 12:45:48 PM
Heavy rain all night here in New York and its still coming down, the wet ground should suite the big hitters!

Harrington    to win [Always do him]
Cabrera        e/w
Westwood e/w
Post by: Carmen Stateside on June 18, 2009, 01:36:21 PM
They are playing anyway,
Harrington +1  after 1
Mc Dowell +1  after 2
Post by: The Real Laoislad on June 18, 2009, 01:38:39 PM
Can it be watched online anywhere? Sky not starting coverage till later
Post by: Carmen Stateside on June 18, 2009, 01:43:47 PM
Coverage starts over here at 10 ( 3 pm with you)

Mike and Mike on Espn keeping an eye on it
http://www.justin.tv/sticktv_1 (http://www.justin.tv/sticktv_1)
Post by: Carmen Stateside on June 18, 2009, 01:45:27 PM
Its actually on live here
http://www.usopen.com/en_US/video/live.html (http://www.usopen.com/en_US/video/live.html)

and they are following Padraig and Tiger! Nice one! :)
Post by: Carmen Stateside on June 18, 2009, 01:46:33 PM
Very heavy rain :(
Post by: Carmen Stateside on June 18, 2009, 02:24:58 PM
Poor bogey from Harrington on 4      +2
Tiger even after 4
Post by: venter on June 18, 2009, 03:05:17 PM
harry +4 after 5. Can the justin stream be watch in Ireland ?
Post by: Carmen Stateside on June 18, 2009, 03:08:00 PM
Quote from: venter on June 18, 2009, 03:05:17 PM

Should do!
Did you try the us open link?
Post by: The Real Laoislad on June 18, 2009, 03:09:03 PM
Quote from: Carmen Stateside on June 18, 2009, 03:08:00 PM
Quote from: venter on June 18, 2009, 03:05:17 PM

Should do!
Did you try the us open link?

Doesn't work in Ireland
Post by: Carmen Stateside on June 18, 2009, 03:13:44 PM
Conditions getting worse! Could be rain delay later if it continues!
Post by: Carmen Stateside on June 18, 2009, 03:16:22 PM
Play stopped!
Suites just fine, heading for hernia operation now so should not miss to much, nothing for a few hours it says.
Post by: Massey-135 on June 18, 2009, 03:26:16 PM
Doubt its pishing down altogether.
Post by: Carmen Stateside on June 18, 2009, 03:34:21 PM
Giving rain all weekend, sort of glad i had to give up the tickets for tomorrow! :-\
Post by: gawa316 on June 18, 2009, 04:14:44 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on June 17, 2009, 07:28:17 PM

[/quote

+25 2 pars, mixture of double bogeys and bogeys and one quadruple!!

In half the holes I can barely drive thefairway which then makes it impossible to get anywhere near the green

Post by: The Real Laoislad on June 18, 2009, 04:21:23 PM
I have no bother getting to the green,I find putting impossible though.
Would be easier with a joypad instead of using the mouse
Post by: The Watcher Pat on June 18, 2009, 04:30:25 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on June 17, 2009, 07:28:17 PM

So was I, if i could shoot that in real life there in real life i'd be happy enough!
Post by: gawa316 on June 18, 2009, 05:23:34 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on June 18, 2009, 04:21:23 PM

My putting is grand with the majority being 1 and 2 putts.

On at least 4 of the holes I can't make fairway as it is over 225 yds away.

Chipping from the rough is also a bitch.

Just got +23 8)
Post by: mountainboii on June 18, 2009, 05:58:40 PM
Quote from: gawa316 on June 18, 2009, 05:23:34 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on June 18, 2009, 04:21:23 PM

My putting is grand with the majority being 1 and 2 putts.

On at least 4 of the holes I can't make fairway as it is over 225 yds away.

Chipping from the rough is also a bitch.

Just got +23 8)

Think I have her cracked now. Only +1 after 4 holes, no more 5 and 6 putting for me  ;D

edit: +17 in the end, fell apart on the back 9. But I got awards for getting a birdie and for hitting the flagstick  8)
Post by: Hotrocks on June 18, 2009, 06:54:56 PM
No golf today! Round 1 continues at 7 in the morning .  Feck it anyway >:(
Post by: The Real Laoislad on June 18, 2009, 06:56:29 PM
Quote from: Hotrocks on June 18, 2009, 06:54:56 PM
No golf today! Round 1 continues at 7 in the morning .  Feck it anyway >:(
>:(
Post by: Hotrocks on June 19, 2009, 12:06:16 PM
Any golf today?
Post by: Carmen Stateside on June 19, 2009, 01:16:04 PM
Harrington under way, weather alot better.
Post by: Carmen Stateside on June 19, 2009, 01:32:58 PM
Greame Mc Dowell joint leader thru 11
Post by: Carmen Stateside on June 19, 2009, 02:04:22 PM
Paddy now +7 :(
Post by: The Real Laoislad on June 19, 2009, 02:05:07 PM
Quote from: Carmen Stateside on June 19, 2009, 02:04:22 PM
Paddy now +7 :(

FFS....He might not even make the cut
Post by: Carmen Stateside on June 19, 2009, 02:05:16 PM
Mc Dowell 2 shots ahead at -2
Post by: Carmen Stateside on June 19, 2009, 02:07:35 PM
Harrington cant make a fairway. His putting is a little off aswell.  Scores i dont think will be that high so if he can get a birdie or two before the end of this round he may still hang around.
Post by: Chrisowc on June 19, 2009, 02:14:25 PM
Quote from: Carmen Stateside on June 19, 2009, 02:05:16 PM
Mc Dowell 2 shots ahead at -2

For God and Ulster!

Sorry....wrong thread.
Post by: the Deel Rover on June 19, 2009, 02:14:58 PM
it would be nice if the irish lads did well maybe his dream can come through this weekend

Thursday June 18 2009

FEISTY Irishman Graeme McDowell believes golf's 'Foreign Legion' have the best chance of taking the Tiger down this weekend.

Woods is the runaway favourite to keep his US Open crown but McDowell insists he's beatable, expressing the hope that an Irish player can end Europe's 39-year drought at golf's toughest championship.

America is so much in Tiger's thrall, McDowell even imposes a personal blackout on the Golf Channel during Major championship weeks.

And he strongly disputes widespread opinion over here that Woods will be a shoo-in this weekend if he recaptures the form he showed in victory at the Memorial.

"That's always the chat, isn't it?" he said. "They build him up to be unbeatable over here and that's why, historically, it has only been international players who have beaten him.

"The Padraig Harringtons, Darren Clarkes, Nick O'Herns," McDowell went on. "No disrespect to the Golf Channel, I watch it a lot.

"But not on Major championship weeks because a) they'll tell you how you can't get around the golf course, and b) they'll tell you how unbeatable Tiger is.

"Of course, he's the best player ever to touch a golf club but he is beatable and I'd love to have a go at him in the final round here.

"It's my dream to take him on a Sunday afternoon at a Major. I think it should be every player's dream. If you want to win, you want to win in style. You want to take him down."

Harrington, Clarke and Rory McIlroy also challenge Tiger this week on a course which McDowell believes will suit McIlroy to a tee.

"I like it. I think it's a good track but, Jeez, it's long -- relentless," said McDowell, "though the soft greens balance that out a little bit. I'd like to see it firmer and faster but that's unlikely to happen with some rain coming.

"Yet Rory could hardly have asked for better on his US Open debut ... it's not going to be tricky or fiddly. It's bringing his game right into play.

"I'd happily take any Irish win this weekend," concluded McDowell, "as long as I'm in the mix somewhere."

- Karl MacGinty

Post by: Carmen Stateside on June 19, 2009, 02:24:53 PM
 :)
Harrington   Birdie  -6
Post by: Carmen Stateside on June 19, 2009, 02:35:58 PM
Back to back Birdies
Harrington -5
Post by: bingobus on June 19, 2009, 02:54:03 PM
Quote from: Carmen Stateside on June 19, 2009, 02:24:53 PM
:)
Harrington   Birdie  -6

Feck me that was some Birdie. 13 shot swing on it  ;)
Post by: Carmen Stateside on June 19, 2009, 02:56:47 PM
 :D :D
++++++++++++++
Post by: milltown row on June 19, 2009, 03:07:13 PM
Carmen, give me a link for the golf please
Post by: Carmen Stateside on June 19, 2009, 03:16:21 PM
http://www.justin.tv/insgadgettv (http://www.justin.tv/insgadgettv)
Post by: milltown row on June 19, 2009, 03:24:55 PM
good man Carmen
Post by: Carmen Stateside on June 19, 2009, 03:25:53 PM
Harrington +7 again :(
Post by: Carmen Stateside on June 19, 2009, 03:58:18 PM
Harrington birdie on last to finish +6
Post by: the Deel Rover on June 19, 2009, 04:04:25 PM
you would wonder why he is messing with his swing , i know tiger said that people were saying the same thing when he changed his swing a few years ago but that he became a better player as a result
Post by: The Real Laoislad on June 19, 2009, 04:15:22 PM
Wouldn't be a bad score for Paddy if the leaders stay on -1

I haven't heard but when are they playing the 2nd round?
Post by: venter on June 19, 2009, 04:26:06 PM
if harry cant hit a fairway, he might as well forget about it. His form coming into this event has been atrocious so it's hardly surprising.( he's hardly made a cut since the masters which is really poor from a player who was ranked number 3 in the world).

I hope he can sort himself out for the british open, but his confidence must be shot at this stage. Having said all that, I really hope he can hang in there and at least get 4 competitive rounds under his belt.
Post by: Carmen Stateside on June 19, 2009, 10:14:19 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on June 19, 2009, 04:15:22 PM
Wouldn't be a bad score for Paddy if the leaders stay on -1

I haven't heard but when are they playing the 2nd round?

Some of the groups going back out today for their second round. Playing till its dark!
Post by: Carmen Stateside on June 19, 2009, 10:18:00 PM
McIlroy heads back out now for his second round after an impressive +2 for his first round
Post by: Carmen Stateside on June 20, 2009, 02:30:52 PM
Mc Ilroy finished his first round at  +2  now +1 after 12
The clubhouse leader is at -7 so Harrington has it all to do today to get back into it. Mc Dowell starts now in a great position at -1.
Post by: Carmen Stateside on June 20, 2009, 03:08:53 PM
Leader now at-8
Harrington starting with Tiger and Cabrera now, bad news is the rain is coming and they might not get finished today!
Post by: Carmen Stateside on June 20, 2009, 03:41:44 PM
Harrington +5
Birdie on the second hole.
Post by: Carmen Stateside on June 20, 2009, 04:25:54 PM
Harrington +4
Post by: AN other on June 20, 2009, 04:34:58 PM
do you have a link for a stream carmen?
Post by: Carmen Stateside on June 20, 2009, 04:43:29 PM
Watching on Us open site but doesnt work in Ireland. They following Harrington and Woods all the way.
Cant find anything sorry :(

Post by: AN other on June 20, 2009, 04:44:29 PM
no hassle...
Post by: Carmen Stateside on June 20, 2009, 04:46:48 PM
Bogey +5
Your not going to miss much started to rain!
Post by: Square Ball on June 20, 2009, 04:49:10 PM
try this

http://www.freedocast.com/slapdog17 (http://www.freedocast.com/slapdog17)
Post by: Carmen Stateside on June 20, 2009, 05:01:05 PM
Bogey +6
Post by: Carmen Stateside on June 20, 2009, 06:21:59 PM
Harrington now +7 thru 12   projected cut +4
Post by: Carmen Stateside on June 20, 2009, 07:42:04 PM
Harrington out Woods scrambling to make the cut
Post by: The Real Laoislad on June 21, 2009, 10:50:19 PM
Can Barnes go all the way ?

btw that Di Stewart is a fine little minx
Post by: Rossie11 on June 22, 2009, 02:21:16 PM
Last day
Barnes -7
Glover -7
Phil Mick -2
Duval -2
Mahan -2
Fisher -2

Post by: Doogie Browser on June 22, 2009, 03:27:15 PM
Barnes and Glover back to 5 under now.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on June 22, 2009, 03:45:53 PM
Barnes just got four bogeys in a row -3 now
Post by: The Real Laoislad on June 22, 2009, 03:49:14 PM
Tiger making a comeback only 4 behind........At one stage yesterday he was 14 behind  :o
Post by: Rossie11 on June 22, 2009, 04:05:13 PM
Glover -4
Barnes -3
Fisher -2
Weir/Woods/Phi -1

Leaders crapping themselves..
Someone gets in clubhouse at -1 could win it...
Post by: The Real Laoislad on June 22, 2009, 04:06:31 PM
Could see Phil Mick winning this..
Post by: heganboy on June 22, 2009, 04:07:06 PM
tiger 3 off the lead- 3 holes for him to play
mcilroy is in 15th place...
someshot from the straw from lefty
Post by: A Quinn Martin Production on June 22, 2009, 04:14:27 PM
Are the rest of them conspiring to hand this to Woods on a plate??
Post by: The Real Laoislad on June 22, 2009, 04:18:22 PM
Woods is 4 off the lead
Post by: Doogie Browser on June 22, 2009, 04:19:33 PM
Tiger has never won a major trailing after 54 holes.
Post by: Brick Tamlin on June 22, 2009, 04:23:53 PM
Cant get to tv to see this, whats Barnes doin, is he sh*tting the nest altogether??
have him backed e/w from last thurs and decent odds too.

any updates welcome folks.
Post by: ludermor on June 22, 2009, 04:24:16 PM
Fair play to Duval for keeping it together! Some comeback tournament for him!!
Post by: gerrykeegan on June 22, 2009, 04:38:40 PM
Quote from: ludermor on June 22, 2009, 04:24:16 PM
Fair play to Duval for keeping it together! Some comeback tournament for him!!

My boss (using my account) has 10e/w on him at 500/1. He has just left for the day, I think he's sick
Post by: Rossie11 on June 22, 2009, 04:39:43 PM
QuoteCant get to tv to see this, whats Barnes doin, is he sh*tting the nest altogether??
Barnes +6 for the day.
-2 over all. joint 2nd at moment but you will be lucky to collect ew money..

Will there be a 18hole play off this evening if a tie? Hardly tomorrow.
Mickelson 3/1 now... huge chance
Post by: The Real Laoislad on June 22, 2009, 04:42:23 PM
What a shot from Phil Mick...he has  a short eagle putt to go joint top of leaderboard!
Post by: gerrykeegan on June 22, 2009, 04:47:39 PM
Quote from: Rossie11 on June 22, 2009, 04:39:43 PM
QuoteCant get to tv to see this, whats Barnes doin, is he sh*tting the nest altogether??
Barnes +6 for the day.
-2 over all. joint 2nd at moment but you will be lucky to collect ew money..

Will there be a 18hole play off this evening if a tie? Hardly tomorrow.
Mickelson 3/1 now... huge chance

18 hole playoff today
Post by: heganboy on June 22, 2009, 04:51:36 PM
cant see this going to a playoff to be honest. Mick has the crowd behind him, he's hit some great shots today and everyone else is falling away
Post by: gerrykeegan on June 22, 2009, 04:53:52 PM
Only replying to the playoff question, I dont think it will go to a playoff either
Post by: DennistheMenace on June 22, 2009, 04:54:31 PM
Hope Big Phil wins and think he will, easily enough.
Post by: A Quinn Martin Production on June 22, 2009, 05:00:06 PM
Woods in with a 69...level par...doesn't loook like it will be good enough...
Fisher eagle on 13... -3!!
Post by: A Quinn Martin Production on June 22, 2009, 05:10:18 PM
Birdies for Barnes (-2) & Duval (-1)
Post by: A Quinn Martin Production on June 22, 2009, 05:18:48 PM
Mickleson bogey on 15...-3
Post by: Hotrocks on June 22, 2009, 05:24:57 PM
Duval with a birdie -2
Post by: Hotrocks on June 22, 2009, 05:39:45 PM
Looking very like a playoff!
Post by: corn02 on June 22, 2009, 05:48:27 PM
Why the love for Duval, is it due to where he fell to and the chance of getting back to the top order?

I thought we would all be Lefty fans in here.
Post by: corn02 on June 22, 2009, 05:55:38 PM
Would be some story alright. 882 in the rankings and number one a few years previous.

Glover looks on course.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on June 22, 2009, 06:01:05 PM
Unless Glover does a Jean Van De Velde then he has it in the bag...........
Post by: stew on June 22, 2009, 06:50:36 PM
Glover is the man, he took a very professional approach to 18 and as soon as he grabbed the iron from the bag I knew it was his. Mickelson and Duval threatened and fair play to them for that but Hefty to me choked away another major, he was right there with two guys with zero experience in a major dogfight and he threw shots away left, right and center over the last few holes.

Well done Mr Glover, a worthy US Open Champion.
Post by: magickingdom on June 22, 2009, 06:57:07 PM
what a day, spent the last 5 hours on the recliner hoping for a playoff and 6 more hours ;D glover held his nerve but i was shouting for phil and dd. why cant every monday be like this!
Post by: gerrykeegan on June 22, 2009, 07:03:39 PM
my boss collects 1260 on duval i get jack shit
Post by: The Real Laoislad on June 22, 2009, 07:04:35 PM
Quote from: magickingdom on June 22, 2009, 06:57:07 PM
what a day, spent the last 5 hours on the recliner hoping for a playoff and 6 more hours ;D glover held his nerve but i was shouting for phil and dd. why cant every monday be like this!

Too right  :D
Post by: D4S on June 22, 2009, 08:05:10 PM
I know a fella who had £15 each way on Glover at a cool 250/1 he wins around 4700
Post by: heganboy on June 22, 2009, 08:17:32 PM
Quote from: stew on June 22, 2009, 06:50:36 PM
Glover is the man, he took a very professional approach to 18 and as soon as he grabbed the iron from the bag I knew it was his. Mickelson and Duval threatened and fair play to them for that but Hefty to me choked away another major, he was right there with two guys with zero experience in a major dogfight and he threw shots away left, right and center over the last few holes.

Stew I agree with everything you just said- great to see Duval back with the big guys, the US commentary was very good this year, I used to pull in the BBC so I wouldnt have to listen to them, but that was brilliant. 
Post by: full back on June 22, 2009, 08:21:43 PM
Cracking days viewing that made a painful Monday go a lot quicker
Normally I wouldnt be supporting Lefty at all, but I found myself rooting for him today as what he has been through recently
Post by: stew on June 22, 2009, 09:10:52 PM
Quote from: heganboy on June 22, 2009, 08:17:32 PM
Quote from: stew on June 22, 2009, 06:50:36 PM

Stew I agree with everything you just said- great to see Duval back with the big guys, the US commentary was very good this year, I used to pull in the BBC so I wouldnt have to listen to them, but that was brilliant. 

Agreed hegan, the only time they really mentioned el tigre was when they said that he must be kicking himself for not being there at the death because they reckoned he would have got the job done which mickelson failed to do. You cant really argue with that. I thought the coverage excellent, they stayed on point and I liked the two shot swing theories and the talk of pressure. Glover quietly went about his business and his caddy was the makings of him, he kept him loose and never put a foot wrong the entire final round, tremendous stuff and Glover is now an immortal, when you think that the great Sam Snead never won the open it tells you just how hard it is to win.
Post by: heganboy on June 22, 2009, 10:08:53 PM
Quote from: stew on June 22, 2009, 09:10:52 PM
when you think that the great Sam Snead never won the open it tells you just how hard it is to win.

poor sam 4 runners ups and never made it
Post by: rosnarun on June 22, 2009, 11:10:12 PM
Quote from: D4S on June 22, 2009, 08:05:10 PM
I know a fella who had £15 each way on Glover at a cool 250/1 he wins around 4700

A guy on news talk gave a tip on glover  Last thursday, not a gambler but  I got him at 175/1 , worst hing is i cant remember the guys name , some american golf journalist any one else hear it?  he was on with lawerence donegan
Post by: Rossie11 on June 23, 2009, 09:57:31 AM
Heard him. He had Cabrera in last major too...
John Duggan on today fm tipped glover to lead after day 1 but not outright!!
Would say he is fairly sick..
Post by: David McKeown on June 23, 2009, 10:57:45 AM
Quote from: corn02 on June 22, 2009, 05:48:27 PM
Why the love for Duval, is it due to where he fell to and the chance of getting back to the top order?

I thought we would all be Lefty fans in here.

Easy to say now but I have been a big Duval fan since about 98/99 when he went on that hot streak of tournament wins, great to see him back.  First golf bet I put on was for him to win the open in 2001, as I was going over to it.