Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: Orior on May 01, 2009, 04:45:02 PM

Title: Belfast Marathon
Post by: Orior on May 01, 2009, 04:45:02 PM
Anyone doing the Belfast Marathon?

I'll be cheering you on in north Belfast
Title: Re: Belfast Marathon
Post by: the green man on May 01, 2009, 04:46:44 PM
doing the antrim road leg
Post by: isourboydownyet on May 01, 2009, 05:04:45 PM
Quote from: the green man on May 01, 2009, 04:46:44 PM
doing the antrim road leg

doing that one meself green man,whats the bet young breen will go flying past us with his slaughneil socks up to his knees :D
Post by: the green man on May 04, 2009, 10:36:39 PM
Quote from: Orior on May 01, 2009, 04:45:02 PM

Was that you at the bottom of Slievemoyne with the Armagh hat?
Post by: Orior on May 04, 2009, 10:49:54 PM
Quote from: the green man on May 04, 2009, 10:36:39 PM
Quote from: Orior on May 01, 2009, 04:45:02 PM

Was that you at the bottom of Slievemoyne with the Armagh hat?

I refuse to answer on the grounds that I might incriminate myself.
Post by: the green man on May 04, 2009, 10:54:17 PM
Its an awful pull up that road. A big thanks to all who turned out to cheer us on. Much appreciated.
Post by: milltown row on May 04, 2009, 11:05:14 PM
I've stood at the change over point at Whiteabbey for the past 8 years. usually the lads have just finished that 7.6 miles relay. they all looked punctured because as some have said the road up the Antrim road is a slow hill. i bring my girls every year and the clap and cheer the whole time. always see someone who ya know every year.

great stuff lads and well done to all who did relays and the rest
Post by: Orior on May 04, 2009, 11:20:54 PM
A lot of GAA jerseys on display which was great to see. Mostly club jerseys - very few counties.

I saw quite a few notables too - some people that I thought would have had personal protection!
Post by: Overthebar! on May 05, 2009, 01:06:35 AM
Quote from: Orior on May 04, 2009, 11:20:54 PM
A lot of GAA jerseys on display which was great to see. Mostly club jerseys - very few counties.

I saw quite a few notables too - some people that I thought would have had personal protection!

who did you see orior? namedrop there please
some serious weemen about...
Post by: David McKeown on May 05, 2009, 01:23:39 AM
Did the short leg myself it was very good fun but I thought the PSNI were very officious threatening to book cars that were illegally parked in order to pick up relay runners near the changeover points.  One cop even threatened to book pedestrians  who were making there way to the cars.
Post by: Baile an tuaigh on May 05, 2009, 03:33:02 AM
I done this marathon last year and found it very challanging with to many hills. The relay teams which make up most of the marathon don't help with your concentration.
Post by: Orior on May 05, 2009, 08:29:02 AM
Quote from: Overthebar! on May 05, 2009, 01:06:35 AM
Quote from: Orior on May 04, 2009, 11:20:54 PM

who did you see orior? namedrop there please
some serious weemen about...

To name just a few...

David Ford (Alliance) nodded at me after I shouted "keep it up Davy!"

And Judith Gillespie smiled and waved at me after I shouted "go Judith go!". A cute wee thing and it didnt look like she was packing heat.
Post by: A Quinn Martin Production on May 05, 2009, 09:29:03 AM
Did the Antrim Rd leg as well...saw David Ford and saw Martin's best mate Hugh Orde spectating just at the Zoo.
Post by: isourboydownyet on May 05, 2009, 10:42:26 AM
did any of you notice the stewart at the finish line who was stopping runners who didnt have the right number (relay teams who did not have e on there number) going over the finish line?now the reason for doning this was to ease conjestion at the finish but this tool took his role to far,he was physically man handling runners of the road then one man grabbed him by the throat :D and that finished him and he was replaced.
Post by: Archie Mitchell on May 05, 2009, 10:54:09 AM
Quote from: isourboydownyet on May 05, 2009, 10:42:26 AM
did any of you notice the stewart at the finish line who was stopping runners who didnt have the right number (relay teams who did not have e on there number) going over the finish line?now the reason for doning this was to ease conjestion at the finish but this tool took his role to far,he was physically man handling runners of the road then one man grabbed him by the throat :D and that finished him and he was replaced.

I seen a steward stopping runners just as they came in the gate at Ormeau Park. What was the reason behind this? The finish line was only 50 yards or so away so why stop these runners crossing the finish line like the rest.
Post by: Sandino on May 05, 2009, 10:55:44 AM
Myself and a few friends did the race yesterday, walking the relay for charity. When we got to various change over points there were no busses to take us back to the city centre. At one point walkers/runners had to cross both lanes of a dual carrageway avoiding traffic as best they could. If Belfast wants to include walkers as part of its relay programme they should cater for them as they claimed they would in their promotional material. Majority of the organisation yesterday was excellent and fair play to all those people who worker hard to ensure this was so. However some parts we very poor and the telephone  helpline was on answer machine when contacted yesterday. A mixed bag to be honest and did i draw the short straw with the Antrim Road section.