Am I getting old, or is the television shite?
It's brutal
I have a virgin.. whoops I mean I have virgin cable, and the only thing on at the minute is Dog the Bounty Hunter
TV has always been mostly shite, mixed with some great stuff.
I'm getting Freesat in this week, I'll tell you what it's like.
BT tried to get me onto BT Vision. Said it was free, for only £6.99 per month, plus what programmes or films I want to watch. How's that free?
Dave on Sky is the only answer...re runs of Only Fools....E4 have Friends on a loop as well .... Joey's a funny hoor.....plus you have Jennifer Aniston hiding the peanuts in every show as well :o :o
TV is generally shite or reruns, or reruns of shite! with the odd exception.
Programs worth watching-
The wire
Match of the day
Family guy
Gaa(when its on)
thats about it
Friends and the simpsons are watchable but they have rerun every episode of both now so many times even they are played out
Quote from: ziggysego on April 19, 2009, 10:53:26 PM
I'm getting Freesat in this week, I'll tell you what it's like.
BT tried to get me onto BT Vision. Said it was free, for only £6.99 per month, plus what programmes or films I want to watch. How's that free?
Ziggy whats freesat?
Supernatural is one of the best shows on TV atm.
Holmes on Homes is as good as TV gets :)
There are other good shows about - sometimes one offs for example.
Louis Theroux documentaries are one example of this.
Last nights Family Guy with Jesus in it was hilarious
Chris the Sheep was on Father Ted as well - Classic
Nah there's loads of good stuff on the only problem is all the good stuff is on at awkward times.
Criminal Minds
The Wire
House
How I Met Your Mother
Family Guy
South Park
Smallville
Weeds
Heroes
Dexter
The Office (American One)
Scrubs
Damages
All good shows. I tend to download them from the tinterweb and then watch them when I get the chance.
Prison Break starts again tomorrow night as well.
Quote from: Lothos on April 20, 2009, 02:37:26 PM
Already seen the new episode...
How many episodes are left?
Quote from: Lothos on April 20, 2009, 02:42:31 PM
How many episodes are left?
6 including that one as far as Im aware
Thank God. It needed finished off, hopefully with a tidy conclusion
Once you get through the 5 series of 13 episodes of the The Wire,
just start back again at the beginning.
There's a few months out that alone.
Im on season 3 of the wire. cant read the wire thread as i dont want to ruin it.
After that im gonna get Oz and go through that
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on April 20, 2009, 02:39:38 PM
Quote from: Lothos on April 20, 2009, 02:37:26 PM
Already seen the new episode...
Any good? Is the ending in sight? Considering the programme to date, prob not.
Quote from: nifan on April 20, 2009, 02:52:49 PM
Im on season 3 of the wire. cant read the wire thread as i dont want to ruin it.
After that im gonna get Oz and go through that
Just finished series 1 and made the mistake of looking at the HBO site today :'(
I seem to watch a lot of DIY programmes - Yard Crashers, Man Caves, This Old House
Would do a lot of work about the house myself so these are worth watching for me.
World's Deadliest Warrior is a decent show on Spike at the minute - you can probably see it online
The Ultimate Fighter is great TV
The Biggest Loser is a laugh
Quote from: The Iceman on April 20, 2009, 03:29:14 PM
I seem to watch a lot of DIY programmes - Yard Crashers, Man Caves, This Old House
Would do a lot of work about the house myself so these are worth watching for me.
Mike Holmes Holmes on Homes is the show for you so
Have to say I enjoy Grand Designs, great show.
Still havent got through my Sopranos boxset that I got for xmas!!
If you haven't watched the inbetweeners yet i would advise you to start, think its hilarious, and im not easy pleased when it comes to comedies
Quote from: SidelineKick on April 20, 2009, 03:42:36 PM
Have to say I enjoy Grand Designs, great show.
Great show
Dexter (new series starting soon!)
Criminal Minds
The Apprentice
The Mentalist
Friday Night with Jonathan Ross
Two and a Half Men
Reruns of Everybody Loves Raymond and Frasier on what is now Comedy Central.
This and my West Wing back catalogue about covers my weekly viewing and is no surprise that it's pretty much all American.
Have got really bored with Grand Designs of late as they all seemed to be a variation on a modernist theme - lots of glass, white render, white inside etc etc.
Dont laugh lads but I quite like the Antiques Roadshow and these are being rerun on some of the Sky Documentary channels as well.
Now dont get me wrong I'm no Antiques buff but I love the look on the face of the snobby hoors who see their piece of pottery or painting valued at a grand when they were expecting to hear 10 grand....priceless :D
Equally satisfying is seeing some wee woman bringing in some ornament she has had for years and the experts telling her its worth a fortune.
Good programme on one of the cable channels last night. Danny Dyer (cockney wide boy and star of The Football Factory) is running a series where he is visiting hard men. Last Nights episode centred on Sam McCrory (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sam_%22Skelly%22_McCrory).
It seems that owc terrorists in their old age either find god or homosexuality. Bizarre.
I watched that last night alright, Danny seemed to be really shitting himself when he landed in Belfast,
Thon Mc Crory man looks like a nut job, and as for Mad dog well the name says it all,
Some really good tv is not so well known.
If you like really dark comedy you could try "breaking bad"
Hopefull the greatest comedy of our time "A dander with drennan" will be back soon also.
I cant stand Danny "Pwopah nootee" Dyer.
Quote from: Minder on April 22, 2009, 11:27:10 AM
Had the piss taken out of him something shocking on never mind the buzzcocks
Quote from: nifan on April 22, 2009, 11:26:37 AM
Some really good tv is not so well known.
If you like really dark comedy you could try "breaking bad"
Hopefull the greatest comedy of our time "A dander with drennan" will be back soon also.
A dander with drennan is some show...
(http://www.bbc.co.uk/voices/images/recordings/ulster-lisnagunogue-drennan-willie.jpg)
Champ, Champ on your plate
With a wadge of butter its hard to bate
When he's doing those hard man/football factory shows, I always recall his character in the the Soccer Mean Machine with Vinnie Jones. He's not so tough or "nootee" then.
Quote from: bingobus on April 22, 2009, 11:45:29 AM
When he's doing those hard man/football factory shows, I always recall his character in the the Soccer Mean Machine with Vinnie Jones. He's not so tough or "nootee" then.
Billy the limpet :D quality
Id have to recommend inbetweeners and shameless two great shows and apprentice is a good watch too.
Is peep show coming back anytime soon (if at all) god i love it.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=G0YoXcgoJr8&feature=related
How can you claim TV is bad when we are getting great stuff like the above .
Quote from: the scenic route on April 22, 2009, 01:17:34 PM
Id have to recommend inbetweeners and shameless two great shows and apprentice is a good watch too.
Is peep show coming back anytime soon (if at all) god i love it.
Coming back this summer at some point with a 7th series having also been commissioned. Definitely one of the best shows on TV.
TV is complete dung these days. Find myself watching my DVD collection more and more with my favourites these days being:
Inbetweeners
Peep Show
Entourage
Band of Brothers
The Office
Prison Break
Just about to start into The West Wing, Sopranos and Flight of the Conchords.
The Wire is finsihed for three weeks so Tv is indeed s*ite these days
For sheer piss taking and genuinely decent satire, check out Harry Hills TV Burp. It's hilarious. He takes the mickey out of all the shite TV that is on and actually makes it funny.
Definitely the best show on TV. Just youtube him.
Did anyone see ladette to lady last nite :D :D
Quote from: noeldebrun on June 01, 2009, 01:03:18 AM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on April 20, 2009, 03:31:06 PM
Quote from: The Iceman on April 20, 2009, 03:29:14 PM
Mike Holmes Holmes on Homes is the show for you so
would agree with that, great diy show
I have 6 or 7 seasons downloaded from internet,something like 80+ episodes ;D
I can't get enough of it!
Tv recently has got even worse. my sky+ series links are down to the bare minimum. are there any good ones about at the minute?
I'm basically down to the American office not that series 8 of Family guy has finished. There's bound to be something out there >:(
Why do I only seem to find rubbish such as:
Are you smarter than a 10 year old?
Don't forget the lyrics.
Do people pay to advertise during this drivel? (That's a question not a programme but you'd never know with Sky)
Criminal Minds and Bones is back on next month! - in the US anyway, I'll be downloading.
Quote from: Take Your Points on August 13, 2009, 08:01:01 PM
There is some good stuff, thank goodness for Sky+!
I like:
CSI (Las Vegas, New York and Miami)
Crimiinal Minds
Law & Order (All franchises)
Life
Numbers
Lewis
Top Gear
Grand Designs
Location Location
Property Ladder
What ever happened to the Likely Lads (nostalgia)
The Professionals (nostalgia)
Dragons Den
A lot of BBC4 programmes
Later with Jools
Reeling in the Years (RTE)
Superb programme...there was word of it coming out on DVD but they had probs with rights to the music they used..anyone know if its available?
Quote from: 5 Sams on August 13, 2009, 08:31:35 PM
I like:
Crimiinal Minds
Life
Numbers
Lewis
Top Gear
Grand Designs
Location Location
Property Ladder
Dragons Den
A lot of BBC4 programmes
Later with Jools
Superb programme...there was word of it coming out on DVD but they had probs with rights to the music they used..anyone know if its available?
There was a 'Reeling in the '80s' DVD out for last Christmas; http://www.buy4now.ie/rte/aspx/productdetail.aspx?pid=1236&loc=P&catid=7.2
On the 'good TV' debate, both series of 'Mad Men' and 'Californication' are well worth a look, even though RTE and TV3 stick them in the late night time-slots.
Quote from: HowAreYeGettinOn on August 13, 2009, 08:53:14 PM
I like:
Crimiinal Minds
Life
Numbers
Lewis
Top Gear
Grand Designs
Location Location
Property Ladder
Dragons Den
A lot of BBC4 programmes
Later with Jools
There was a 'Reeling in the '80s' DVD out for last Christmas; http://www.buy4now.ie/rte/aspx/productdetail.aspx?pid=1236&loc=P&catid=7.2
On the 'good TV' debate, both series of 'Mad Men' and 'Californication' are well worth a look, even though RTE and TV3 stick them in the late night time-slots.
CSI is the biggest load of crap on TV. Especially that Ginger knob and the wooden blondie in Miami. Half of them should have stuck to porn or whatever they did before they got a part as the simply cannot act.
I like:
Crimiinal Minds
Life
Numbers
Lewis
Top Gear
Grand Designs
Location Location
Property Ladder
Dragons Den
A lot of BBC4 programmes
Later with Jools
TYP great call, I love the Likely Lads on Gold, the comedy is timeless plus I always sky plus Yes Minister/Yes prime Minister after it, hilarious stuff too.
I actually watch more repeats on Gold than I do of shows on for the first time!
Honourable mentions for,
Californication
Entourage - lost a bit of oomph this series so far though, just can't but the Turtle/Jamie Lyn-Sigler thing ??? Gary Cole (AKA Jack Kllian) is a welcome addition though
30 Rock on 3e was brilliant too but the series has finished a few weeks ago.
No mention of the Wire, great show.
Quote from: rashCharacter on August 14, 2009, 10:18:35 AM
No mention of the Wire, great show.
The Wire is that good it got it's own thread!
Quote from: muppet on August 13, 2009, 08:05:01 PM
Why do I only seem to find rubbish such as:
Are you smarter than a 10 year old?
Don't forget the lyrics.
Do people pay to advertise during this drivel? (That's a question not a programme but you'd never know with Sky)
Get away from Sky 1 and go down through the other pages of Entertainment, there are often some really good shows on some of those channels. For the most part Sky 1 and 2 are the worst TV channels on digital.
I like:
Crimiinal Minds
Life
Numbers
Lewis
Top Gear
Grand Designs
Location Location
Property Ladder
Dragons Den
A lot of BBC4 programmes
Later with Jools
I think Doogie Browser told me he got a reeling DVD for Christmas last year?
Quote from: Norf Tyrone on August 14, 2009, 04:24:47 PM
I like:
Crimiinal Minds
Life
Numbers
Lewis
Top Gear
Grand Designs
Location Location
Property Ladder
Dragons Den
A lot of BBC4 programmes
Later with Jools
I think Doogie Browser told me he got a reeling DVD for Christmas last year?
Yes I did Santa! Its great, I watched it in one afternoon, brilliant if you like that kind of stuff.
I love that kind of stuff Doogie.
Quote from: ziggysego on August 14, 2009, 05:27:14 PM
I love that kind of stuff Doogie.
Ziggy this DVD is for you then, its 4-5 hours of old music, news stories, sporting events. Brilliant.
Good man. Didn't know it was on DVD until I read it here.
Quote from: ziggysego on August 14, 2009, 05:30:43 PM
Good man. Didn't know it was on DVD until I read it here.
if I was anyway technically minded I could copy it but sorry thats just not me! It was available for 15 quid or less AFAIK and is the kind of DVD you could watch a few times. I think it would be good with a few mates and a feed of drink, bit of reminiscing but I am prob just an anorak :-[
Quote from: tyrone86 on August 14, 2009, 05:31:54 PM
Up to date with House now, Band of Brothers currently downloading, Season 3 of Mad men back on in America on Sunday. What should next on the agenda? I'm thinking Bones or Regenesis - or any other recommendations?
Breaking Bad