I've haven't really trained properly since last October. Hit the beer fairly hard the last 5-6 months and I have recently hit rock bottom with regards to fitness. Decided to make a burst at it. Starting running 4-5 miles 2-3 times a week (some nice hills in it) and going gym twice a week as well. Only doing bench, shoulder press, planks, abs, bicep curl and lateral raise at the minute. Is this training gonna get me match fit or is it a waste of time? Any tips and ideas are welcome. Going to move into sprints once I get aerobic capacity improved. Biggest problem is that I cant avoid going out at the weekend becoz i'm fair bored where im living at the moment, job is boring and weekends are the only time I can have a bit of craic. Can I get fit before july and still have a social life?
What an attitude...lol. Sacrafice is the name of the game son, plus a few games under your belt is the only way to get your match fitness up, you can run all the miles you want but its not the same as chasing or trying to get away from some other hoor on the pitch!
Quote from: Fancy Dan on April 08, 2009, 08:58:56 AM
I've haven't really trained properly since last October. Hit the beer fairly hard the last 5-6 months and I have recently hit rock bottom with regards to fitness. Decided to make a burst at it. Starting running 4-5 miles 2-3 times a week (some nice hills in it) and going gym twice a week as well. Only doing bench, shoulder press, planks, abs, bicep curl and lateral raise at the minute. Is this training gonna get me match fit or is it a waste of time? Any tips and ideas are welcome. Going to move into sprints once I get aerobic capacity improved. Biggest problem is that I cant avoid going out at the weekend becoz i'm fair bored where im living at the moment, job is boring and weekends are the only time I can have a bit of craic. Can I get fit before july and still have a social life?
Your already on the right road in my opinion. One ratio that stands true is Miles=Inches if you want to lose any weight; as in the more miles you do regularly (at a fair pace mind you) the more inches you will get off your waist etc. Hill sprinting is also a good one but I see that you will start that soon. Interval running is good to get up the fittness instead of jogging / trotting at one pace. Get used to the ball too, a lot of footballers solo end to end with both feet kicking points with both feet on their own. Is you own club not back training? You should get out with them as soon and as much as possible. Also never go to the gym during the day and train in the evening as you wont do yourself justice.
But depending on the level your playing at will determine the social life. Its not possible to drink regularly and get very fit. If you have a few pints at the weekend you will reach a certain point and plateau off and not get fitter. If you get off the drink, train hard you will be much fitter and enjoy the football more.
- Get off the drink, train hard
- Watch diet and bad eating habits
- Get to bed as early as possible
- Always drink loads of water
Are you not going to any Club training in all of this?
if you still swamping pints at the weekend dan your wasting your time, the only thing you'll be fit for is the summer festivals ;)
QuoteAlso never go to the gym during the day and train in the evening as you wont do yourself justice.
Eh, how's this??
Quote from: No1 on April 08, 2009, 11:32:16 AM
QuoteAlso never go to the gym during the day and train in the evening as you wont do yourself justice.
Eh, how's this??
Yip, who told you that?
Quote from: The GAA on April 08, 2009, 11:59:04 AM
Eh, how's this??
Yip, who told you that?
Im talking from experience. I tried it a few times and I found that I was flat at training in the evening. I also began to develop major problems with my joints being sore and weak from being over worked and I had to take glucosamine supplements like Jointace etc.
You cant give 100% at a hard training session in the evening when you have expended lots of energy in the gym that day.
I cant do it, and I dont see how you are supposed to sustain the energy levels if you do.
Rest and sleep is very important to let muscles heal and grow.
After a heavy lifting session in the gym, your body wont recover as quick and muscle wont develop without rest, thats why I wouldnt do the two in a single day. Its hard enough doing the two one day after another, but thats just my opinion! ;)
only professional sports people do that sort of training twice a day. if you were going to do it you'd do the skills session in the morning with weights later in the day.
if you are training you need recovery (rest and sleep) and good diet (eating good food like a horse btw). simple as. drinking a pint or two at weekend won't help (we're all amatuers after all), but it won't negate fitness work being done too much. only a pint or two though
running miles will help the basic fitness. but once you have base level of fitness you need to start doing some sprinting with short recovery between sets.
best two references for fitness are:
http://boards.ie/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=252 (http://boards.ie/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=252)
http://exrx.net/forum/ (http://exrx.net/forum/)
Quote from: AbbeySider on April 08, 2009, 12:40:29 PM
Quote from: The GAA on April 08, 2009, 11:59:04 AM
Eh, how's this??
Yip, who told you that?
Im talking from experience. I tried it a few times and I found that I was flat at training in the evening. I also began to develop major problems with my joints being sore and weak from being over worked and I had to take glucosamine supplements like Jointace etc.
You cant give 100% at a hard training session in the evening when you have expended lots of energy in the gym that day.
I cant do it, and I dont see how you are supposed to sustain the energy levels if you do.
Rest and sleep is very important to let muscles heal and grow.
After a heavy lifting session in the gym, your body wont recover as quick and muscle wont develop without rest, thats why I wouldnt do the two in a single day. Its hard enough doing the two one day after another, but thats just my opinion! ;)
Fair enough if that's your experience but that wouldn't be borne out by science. professional athletes do it every week. might depend on what you're doing in the gym. the gym and field work should compliment each other.
Quote from: The GAA on April 08, 2009, 01:01:19 PM
Fair enough if that's your experience but that wouldn't be borne out by science. professional athletes do it every week. might depend on what you're doing in the gym. the gym and field work should compliment each other.
Agree with those sentiments. They should complement each other and it does depend what you do in the gym.
But Hard Lifting should not be done the same day as cardio if you want optimum results (from lifting) and energy levels, that fact is a largely supported theory.
If you want to get your weight down you can do long, slow distance training on the same day as your regular training and you won't suffer any ill effects. Basically you are talking about working away on the rowing machine at a low intensity for an extended duration. It's a way of getting extra training in with a view to losing fat, without limiting the effect of your regular field sessions. Of course you'll have to get up early.
I've training tonight but just back from a road run during my lunch, only a few miles but as someone said it's all about building a base for your fitness.
It's not really the pints at the weekend that is my problem, it's the take-away afterwards and the day after when hungover.
It's all about discipline and getting into a routine. Club training is a must though.
Recently worked my way back into a bit of shape there after I done the cruciate this time last year. It was a struggle though as I hadn't really done a pre season training in a few years and with a month of lying around after the op my knee had gone to shite. Basically had to start from scratch. Hit the weights pretty well before Christmas and then my weight rocketed after the festive. Hit the weights again and did 2 decent cardio sessions a week for 6 weeks until club training started and did all of that with the rest of the lads. I found that I was able to keep up with them no probs really and I had a decent diet in me at that time so I lost almost 2 stone in 3 months.
Your main problem as screenmachine says is the match fitness. I was about the same as the majority of the team in training but when it came to playing matches I was completely mowed. I've had about 4 matches since and it's only now that my confidence with regard to match fitness is returning but I reckon I'll need another 3/4 games until I would consider myself in top shape. All the jogging and weights help but you need your body to get used to the scrambling, hits and the stop start nature of games so the more game time you can build in along with your training the better it will work out for you!
Quote from: Katchit on April 08, 2009, 03:11:19 PM
I've training tonight but just back from a road run during my lunch, only a few miles but as someone said it's all about building a base for your fitness.
It's not really the pints at the weekend that is my problem, it's the take-away afterwards and the day after when hungover.
It's all about discipline and getting into a routine. Club training is a must though.
I wouldnt encourage road running, its very severe on the joints and can cause shin splints.
buy a bike. head out for an hour each morning. that will soon knock pounds off ya and build up cardio fitness
Went for a road run the other night, was only about 3 mile and thinking about doing it once a week, how much damage is that likely to do? I know its bad for the joints etc but would even this short run cause problems?
Dan, wee Davy Fitz reads this site. Could you not have thought of a better name?
Quote from: SidelineKick on April 08, 2009, 04:55:25 PM
Went for a road run the other night, was only about 3 mile and thinking about doing it once a week, how much damage is that likely to do? I know its bad for the joints etc but would even this short run cause problems?
If you're a footballer you'd be better off with interval training. I'd cut out the long one paced runs/
Quote from: muppet on April 08, 2009, 05:02:19 PM
Dan, wee Davy Fitz reads this site. Could you not have thought of a better name?
excellent :D made me laugh out loud!
Quote from: SidelineKick on April 08, 2009, 04:55:25 PM
No. Unless you re overweight and wearing hobnail boots. But avoid road surfaces if you can. Better off running on cross country tracks/ forest tracks/ race courses, even beaches. And make sure you wear proper footwear after you ve had a foot scan to determine your orientation. Remember only about 20% of people have normal feet but in stores stocks of runners are mainly for normal feet.
Avoid just running the same distance at the same pace all the time. The body gets used to it but its a good way to start. Better to vary it with cycling and maybe some circuits as well. And if you re going to be playing football long paced runs will only make you look slow but a good start to get rid of a few pounds and get you breathing.
Exercise never a waste of time but anybody carrying a bit have to watch what they eat as well. Carbs and junk the enemy here. When you get down to fighting weight you can take liberties again. People make too much of a big deal about the pints though. I remember an interview with Neil Cussack where he said he had 4 pints the night before he won the Boston marathon. If you r fit a few pints are nt an issue unless you do the hog on it coming up to a match. Pints are an issue if you re overweight, as are chips, buscuits, breakfast rolls, burgers etc.
Thanks for the ideas lads.
As regards club training, I havent trained with them much this year. With this job its too far to travel so only can make it back for matches. However, being unfit and missing training means Im on the sideline most of the time so its hard to get match sharpness.
Summer will be different as Im being re-posted and will be able to train more with the lads.
Social side of things is probably my only problem. Also im not overweight, just unfit. General diet is good, lots of chicken, fruit, pasta, water, tuna and eggs. However, I am mostly training alone so its hard to keep motivation. Any ideas on this side of things? How to stay motivated to train on your own and stay focussed? goalsetting?
Quote from: Fancy Dan on April 09, 2009, 12:21:43 AM
As regards club training, I havent trained with them much this year. With this job its too far to travel so only can make it back for matches. However, being unfit and missing training means Im on the sideline most of the time so its hard to get match sharpness.
Summer will be different as Im being re-posted and will be able to train more with the lads.
Social side of things is probably my only problem. Also im not overweight, just unfit. General diet is good, lots of chicken, fruit, pasta, water, tuna and eggs. However, I am mostly training alone so its hard to keep motivation. Any ideas on this side of things? How to stay motivated to train on your own and stay focussed? goalsetting?
What the f***. You ve been winding us up all along Dan. Pasta! Tuna! Fruit! Water! That s Serie A stuff. You re a funny guy. Unless you re doing crystal meth at the week ends you re in prime condition. If you ve got a few rides in, then you ve probably peaked too soon ;) I mean you keep emphasising your social life - obviously at it like it like a weasel. I think maybe your just a gone a bit soft and they recognise this when you go home.
Hint. Drink more, eat worse, drink more, get paranoid, go home and crease somebody next match, sent off and they ll be texting you every week to make sure your down for every game after that. You ve gone soft.
Quote from: moysider on April 09, 2009, 12:57:06 AM
Quote from: Fancy Dan on April 09, 2009, 12:21:43 AM
What the f***. You ve been winding us up all along Dan. Pasta! Tuna! Fruit! Water! That s Serie A stuff. You re a funny guy. Unless you re doing crystal meth at the week ends you re in prime condition. If you ve got a few rides in, then you ve probably peaked too soon ;) I mean you keep emphasising your social life - obviously at it like it like a weasel. I think maybe your just a gone a bit soft and they recognise this when you go home.
Hint. Drink more, eat worse, drink more, get paranoid, go home and crease somebody next match, sent off and they ll be texting you every week to make sure your down for every game after that. You ve gone soft.
:D :D Very good moysiderbest advice by far
Lads a few of ye have commented that 'long one paced' runs will make you slow for football and this simply isn't the case, this is only a myth that has gained a foothold in recent years. Unless you're doing nothing but 15 - 20 mile runs every week you have little to fear from some distance work.
Zulu, would you agree that the best type of training for footballers is interval training, up and down stuff, jog - 3\4 pace - sprint etc, this is game situation stuff.
i know a lad that did a marathon during the winter and when he came back pre season training in Feb\March he had lost a yard of pace, this guy was quick before the marthon but the long training had slowed him down a bit but he regained his pace after a few months.
If you want to lose a few pounds then interval training is better but not everyone is member of a gym or has access to circuits training.
To gain that base of fitness, to get your breathing right there is nothing wrong with a couple of miles run on a bi-weekly basis, i've been doing it for a over a year and never had these 'associated' injuries you apparently get from running on hard surface. Just don't over do it.
Quote from: Davitt Man on April 09, 2009, 11:51:39 AM
Zulu, would you agree that the best type of training for footballers is interval training, up and down stuff, jog - 3\4 pace - sprint etc, this is game situation stuff.
i know a lad that did a marathon during the winter and when he came back pre season training in Feb\March he had lost a yard of pace, this guy was quick before the marthon but the long training had slowed him down a bit but he regained his pace after a few months.
Best type of training for a footballer is football IMO DM, so I often break up the squad into 5 V 5, 4 V 4,3 V 3 or 2 V 2's and get them to play football games with plenty of balls around the perimeter of small pitches to ensure the intensity is kept high all through the game (no rest). So if it is 5 V 5 for example they'll play for 4min and then do an active recovery jog while kicking points for 2min and I'll repeat this 4 or 5 times, which is basically interval training with a football. Closer to championship I'll play 3 v 3 or 2 V 2 games for a minute with 30 - 60 sec active recovery.
Just to be clear this means there are loads of small sided games going on and nobody standing around waiting their turn, I'll change the rules to suit whatever i want the players to work on. But because these games are more suited to handpassing with little opportunity to kick scores most of my drills involve kicking and point scoring.
Looking at this when people say interval training do they mean going to a pitch and say doing sets of sprints with a rest or recovery jog inbetween, or going out for a jog and periodically sprinting? Also has anyone any ideas as to how to improve your initial two - four yard burst as this has always been my problem?