After Mayo's victory over Galway today threw Derry a chance, albeit a slim one, of a final place and with Donegal not out of the relegation zone just yet, this has the makings of an interesting tie.
Will Cassidy continue with his experimentation policy or will he go for broke in the hope that Kerry will dispatch Galway and try to sneak a final place?
Rarely any love lost between the 2 sides, but I fancy Doherty and Donegal with more to lose to give their all to ensure div 1 football next year. Derry wont make it easy on them, by any means... should be a good un
While we had a good win against WM, all of the other results that could have helped us didn't happen. Tyrone and Mayo won, and Dublin managed a point against Kerry. So we need to beat Derry in 2 weeks to be sure of staying up. I find it hard to see TBH. We beat a poor WM team today and beat Tyrone when they were asleep. It's looking like Div 2 for us next year.
Quote from: RMDrive on March 29, 2009, 07:49:42 PM
While we had a good win against WM, all of the other results that could have helped us didn't happen. Tyrone and Mayo won, and Dublin managed a point against Kerry. So we need to beat Derry in 2 weeks to be sure of staying up. I find it hard to see TBH. We beat a poor WM team today and beat Tyrone when they were asleep. It's looking like Div 2 for us next year.
Allianz GAA Football National League Roinn 1
Sun 12th April
Round 7: Dublin V Westmeath
venue:Parnell Park, time:2 30 pm, (Ref:TBC)
Round 7: Kerry V Galway
venue:Tralee, time:2 30 pm, (Ref:TBC)
Round 7: Mayo V Tyrone
venue:Castlebar, time:2 30 pm, (Ref:Pat McEneaney)
Round 7: Derry V Donegal
venue:Maghera, time:2 30 pm, (Ref:Padraig Hughes)
Allianz GAA Football National League Roinn 1 Table
Team Pld Won Draw Lost For Against Diff Points
Kerry 6 5 1 0 93 69 24 11
Galway 6 4 1 1 92 71 21 9
Derry 6 3 1 2 87 71 16 7
Mayo 6 2 2 2 76 71 5 6
Tyrone 6 3 0 3 82 83 -1 6
Donegal 6 2 1 3 76 85 -9 5
Dublin 6 1 2 3 87 100 -13 4
Westmeath 6 0 0 6 58 101 -43 0
Your 100% right RM, unless Westmeath can pull off the shock of the round and beat the Dubs, then we need a draw/win over Derry and I don't even think a draw would be good enough!
Just a pity Kerry couldn't finish the Dubs off on Sunday.
Think derry will win this wan be a good wean of points. But dont expect us to score any goals!!!!! ;)
Donegal (NFL v Derry) -
Paul Durcan,
Johnny Gallagher,
Neil McGee,
Paddy McDaid,
Shane McGowan,
Barry Monaghan,
Michael McGuire,
Brendan Boyle,
Christy Toye,
David Walsh,
Conall Dunne,
Rory Kavanagh,
Brian Roper,
Ryan Bradley,
Micheal Doherty
Where is Murphy? Is he injured?
Derry Team named this evening
1 Barry Gillis
2 Joe Keenan
3 Kevin McGuckin
4 Gerard O'Kane
5 Brian OgMcAlary
6 Barry McGoldrick
7 Sean Leo McGoldrick
8 Patsy Bradley
9 Enda Muldoon
10 Enda Lynn
11 Brian Mullan
12 James Kielt
13 Seamus Bradley
14 Eoin Bradley
15 Mark Lynch
16 Shane McGuckin
17 Kevin McCloy
18 Sean Marty Lockhart
19 Paul Cartin
20 Chrissy McKaigue
21 Joe Diver
22 Paul Murphy
23 Eoghan Brown
24 Paul Bradley
Paddy Bradley injured?
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on April 10, 2009, 10:29:47 PM
Paddy Bradley injured?
No idea FoSB, I see Fergal Doh is missing as well. Quite an experimental team with a strong bench. First run out for a few boys, Mark Lynch and Seamus Bradley would be 2 anyways
More at stake for Donegal wfr, though being this close to the championship they'll all be up for it.
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on April 10, 2009, 10:38:05 PM
More at stake for Donegal wfr, though being this close to the championship they'll all be up for it.
Very true. Derry still have an outside chance of reaching the final as well, so that might add a bit of spice to this game. Should be entertaining, but with the amount of ale i'm going to consume in the local tomorrow, i'd safely say I'll be watching this from the comfort of the sofa :)
Good man ;) 'tis only us hard yokes that brave the elements!
Quote from: wherefromreferee? on April 10, 2009, 10:36:24 PM
Paddy Bradley injured?
No idea FoSB, I see Fergal Doh is missing as well. Quite an experimental team with a strong bench. First run out for a few boys, Mark Lynch and Seamus Bradley would be 2 anyways
wrong, Seamus Bradley played in the win over Mayo.
Quote from: Sonny Joe on April 10, 2009, 10:52:00 PM
Quote from: wherefromreferee? on April 10, 2009, 10:36:24 PM
Paddy Bradley injured?
wrong, Seamus Bradley played in the win over Mayo.
I stand corrected - never knew it SJ. Great club player.
Derry even thought they are missing their strongest players should still win, too much talent for Donegal especially away from home, Alot of young lads looking to prove their place on the team before championship.
Quote from: Oakleafer93 on April 11, 2009, 06:09:39 PM
Derry even thought they are missing their strongest players should still win, too much talent for Donegal especially away from home, Alot of young lads looking to prove their place on the team before championship.
Cocky words!
Quote from: J70 on April 12, 2009, 04:53:31 AM
Cocky words!
My thoughts exactly J70, Donegal have put Derry to the sword too many times for anything to be taken for granted, particularly with whats at stake for Donegal today. Its an experimental team that Derry have lined out and with the exception of the Dublin and Westmeath games we've continued to be too dependant up front on Paddy B. I always think the younger brother plays better without him. Hopin to see that today. have to admit though, i'm gonna watch it on telly. The Tyrone missis was givin me a hard time about missing the kids easter egg fest anyway, so when it was announced that TG4 were screening it, happy days!!
anywhere to watch online apart from tg4? can only get audio on tg4 online here
Donegal full-forward line is non-existent. Thankfully wee Roper is popping up with a few nice scores. Changes needed if it doesn't improve.
No complaints about the result - Donegal didn't show up for the first fifteen minutes of the second half.
I doubt if any of those starting full forwards will be anywhere near the first fifteen for the Antrim game - let's hope Murphy and McFadden are fit and playing well. Griffin too - he might be erratic from frees, but so is Doherty and Griffin offers more from play.
Badly need Lacey, Dunnion and Cassidy starting as well.
Solid 2nd half performance from what was a fairly experimental Derry team. Mark Lynch had an impressive return and Young Kielt played well today. proved his detractors wrong, for the time being anyway. Little went right for skinner, but he still showed some vision in some of the posession he won and the scores he set up. Well pleased today. Sick of chocolate already and just waitin confirmation of the Kerry result.
Another day in Croker Sorry parnell park??? ;D
Solid enough performance
* Skinner, whilst not on fire was some outlet
* Patsy Bradley big Doc in disguise? great effort
* Defence looked sharp
* Sean Leo and Gerd have some engines on them
* Keilt, some fine foot distribution
go on Derry ye boy ye
Good win. Donegal can never been taken lightly in any comp.
Cocky words!
Proved right though wasn't I.
Quote from: Oakleafer93 on April 12, 2009, 08:52:44 PM
Cocky words!
And I'm glad you were too ;)
Have to say I was very impressed with Geard O kane, what a game he had the day, my player of the match anyway.
Out of interest who did TG4 give the award to?
Now that you come to mention it, I dont think they had an award today? Don't remember seeing it anyway.
Have to agree that O'kane played well today and Patsy bradley did a lot of work in the second half. Cant really think of a real stand out performance, but in truth, Donegal were poor and that's maybe why.
Quote from: Oakleafer93 on April 12, 2009, 08:52:44 PM
Cocky words!
That Derry were favourites and edged the match, I would have no argument with. Your experimental side was better than ours on the day. That they have "too much talent for Donegal" and should win "even thought they are missing their strongest players" strikes me as baseless arrogance: Derry haven't done much of note over the past few seasons - you won a league, same as us, for what that was worth. As a Donegal man I would not be afraid of meeting Derry in the championship, even though I do think you're a bit better overall at the moment. I would still go into such a tie expecting Donegal to be in with a decent shout, even if Derry would be favourites. In other words, fairly shite as we are at the moment, I don't think Derry are exactly world beaters either! But, maybe I'm wrong. We'll see what happens over the next couple of months!
To be fair J70, Donegal were missing a lot of big names today. April football has very little resemblence, as you know, to the fare on offer during the summer. I rarely enjoy Derry Donegal matches, (although it was refreshing to see the little clip of the McGonigle/Brolly goal in '98 on TG4 today......... we really stole that one)
Quote from: jodyb on April 12, 2009, 09:31:29 PM
To be fair J70, Donegal were missing a lot of big names today. April football has very little resemblence, as you know, to the fare on offer during the summer. I rarely enjoy Derry Donegal matches, (although it was refreshing to see the little clip of the McGonigle/Brolly goal in '98 on TG4 today......... we really stole that one)
I've always thought that McGonigle pushed Noel McGinley in the back to win that ball - would love to see a slow motion replay of it. And it was the only time Brolly got free of Barry McGowan the entire day as well! But, in a tight match, those are the breaks that win it. Neither team were great that year, as the semi against Galway highlighted!
You're right on the enjoyment factor- they're always tight, niggly affairs! Last year I just sat screaming at the computer about why McIver refused to do anything to deal with Paddy Bradley!
Quote from: J70 on April 12, 2009, 09:41:09 PM
Quote from: jodyb on April 12, 2009, 09:31:29 PM
I've always thought that McGonigle pushed Noel McGinley in the back to win that ball - would love to see a slow motion replay of it. And it was the only time Brolly got free of Barry McGowan the entire day as well! But, in a tight match, those are the breaks that win it. Neither team were great that year, as the semi against Galway highlighted!
You're right on the enjoyment factor- they're always tight, niggly affairs! Last year I just sat screaming at the computer about why McIver refused to do anything to deal with Paddy Bradley!
thought that Derry were being destroyed by a combo of their own mistakes and the ref being sore on them that day and the goal while a get out of jail thing, gave Derry a deserved victory imo
then I am biased, but thats what I recall thinking that day.
Quote from: J70 on April 12, 2009, 09:25:44 PM
That Derry were favourites and edged the match, I would have no argument with. Your experimental side was better than ours on the day. That they have "too much talent for Donegal" and should win "even thought they are missing their strongest players" strikes me as baseless arrogance: Derry haven't done much of note over the past few seasons - you won a league, same as us, for what that was worth. As a Donegal man I would not be afraid of meeting Derry in the championship, even though I do think you're a bit better overall at the moment. I would still go into such a tie expecting Donegal to be in with a decent shout, even if Derry would be favourites. In other words, fairly shite as we are at the moment, I don't think Derry are exactly world beaters either! But, maybe I'm wrong. We'll see what happens over the next couple of months!
Edged the match? Are you serious, that Score line flattered Donegal who were relatively poor and depended in Roper and Christy Toye for everything.
That they have "too much talent for Donegal" and should win "even thought they are missing their strongest players" strikes me as baseless arroganceThe did have too much talent for Dongal, Derry's panel is along stronger than Donegals, some of those 'experimental' players are every bit as good as the starting players, In the last 3 seasons Derry has reached an AI 1/4 final, 2 league finals, won one of them and still have to contest one, also they haven't been beaten by Donegals since 2006. I can't understand how you call that a baseless argument, because everything I said happened, there was never any danger in the entire 70 minutes of Donegal winning, and they don't have anyone (aside from maybe Murphy) who looks to be able to step into Devennys or Ropers shoes.
I'm, not slagging off Donegal because I do like them as a county and as a football team I like to see them doing well, but based on current Donegal form, although you should be Antrim easily, I think Down, Fermanagh and Cavan have every bit as good a chance of making the Ulster Final, I actually fancy Down from that side of the draw. Also, if the new rules pass congress Donegal are beat because they don't have the depth of panel to cope with them.
Quote from: Oakleafer93 on April 13, 2009, 05:05:11 PM
In the last 3 seasons Derry has reached an AI 1/4 final, 2 league finals, won one of them and still have to contest one, also they haven't been beaten by Donegals since 2006
:o
We are a force to behold in the championship all right. What would William Wallace say to a Derry-Donegal squabble?
"You're so concerned with squabbling for the scraps from Mickey Hartes table that you've missed your God given right to something better."
Quote from: whiskeysteve on April 13, 2009, 05:20:26 PM
In the last 3 seasons Derry has reached an AI 1/4 final, 2 league finals, won one of them and still have to contest one, also they haven't been beaten by Donegals since 2006
:o
We are a force to behold in the championship all right. What would William Wallace say to a Derry-Donegal squabble?
"You're so concerned with squabbling for the scraps from Mickey Hartes table that you've missed your God given right to something better."
That was in comparison to Donegal, nobody mentioned Mickey Harte.
Jaysis, I know it was in comparison to Donegal. Im just making the point that you are arguing Derry are a superior force to Donegal when in actual fact both counties have done feck all of note in the championship in years. Feck getting to a back door all ireland quarter. I wouldnt use that as a boast of superiority over anyone, least of all Donegal who have made the Ulster final 3 times since the last time we were in one. Bit of perspective like!
wer guna do he treble this year. no doubt at all. Red and White Army!!!
Quote from: J70 on April 12, 2009, 09:25:44 PM
Edged the match? Are you serious, that Score line flattered Donegal who were relatively poor and depended in Roper and Christy Toye for everything.
That they have "too much talent for Donegal" and should win "even thought they are missing their strongest players" strikes me as baseless arrogance
The did have too much talent for Dongal, Derry's panel is along stronger than Donegals, some of those 'experimental' players are every bit as good as the starting players, In the last 3 seasons Derry has reached an AI 1/4 final, 2 league finals, won one of them and still have to contest one, also they haven't been beaten by Donegals since 2006. I can't understand how you call that a baseless argument, because everything I said happened, there was never any danger in the entire 70 minutes of Donegal winning, and they don't have anyone (aside from maybe Murphy) who looks to be able to step into Devennys or Ropers shoes.
I'm, not slagging off Donegal because I do like them as a county and as a football team I like to see them doing well, but based on current Donegal form, although you should be Antrim easily, I think Down, Fermanagh and Cavan have every bit as good a chance of making the Ulster Final, I actually fancy Down from that side of the draw. Also, if the new rules pass congress Donegal are beat because they don't have the depth of panel to cope with them.
It was a league match in April. And what, you've won three matches in a row against us, including two league games? Big deal! I'm not disputing you'd probably beat us 7 times out of 10 at the moment, but then we'd probably have said the same about Derry going into games against the likes of Fermanagh and Longford and Monaghan over recent seasons. I just don't think Derry are that much superior that their supporters should be overly confident going into any match against another mid-level team without their main men. That's just my opinion however. And yes, Donegal will have to pull their socks up to make an Ulster final this year, but its generally when written off and there's no pressure that they deliver. Doesn't mean they will, but low expectations never do Donegal any harm.
I firmly believe that donegal have as much talent as tyrone but a combo of in-fighting and maybe bse/cjd have caused them to not get near their potential
Derry , imo have a bit more talent thatn that too, but recently underachieved every bit as much as donegal
imo
Quote from: lynchbhoy on April 14, 2009, 10:10:54 AM
I firmly believe that donegal have as much talent as tyrone but a combo of in-fighting and maybe bse/cjd have caused them to not get near their potential
Derry , imo have a bit more talent thatn that too, but recently underachieved every bit as much as donegal
imo
Donegal have as much talent as Tyrone ? Please catch yourself on. Not only do Tyrone have a vastly superior starting fifteen but their squath has strength and depth that Donegal could only dream about.
Derry are a better side than Donegal on paper and have got the better of them in recent encounters so I wouldn't be worried about meeting them in any competitive fixture this year, Derry's problems lie within themselves, mentality hopefully is changing and hopefully they continue to adopt to Cassidy's new 'system'.