GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Bud Wiser on March 17, 2009, 04:13:57 PM

Title: St Patricks Celebrations in Croke Park
Post by: Bud Wiser on March 17, 2009, 04:13:57 PM
Swet living ..... jesus what is this about, embarrissing as far as I am concerned and by the faces of the crowd I am not on my own?
Title: Re: St Patricks Celebrations in Croke Park
Post by: tyroneboi on March 17, 2009, 04:20:28 PM
What was the lad carrying them washing machines all about?
Post by: Bud Wiser on March 17, 2009, 04:31:50 PM
And there was some famous man known as "Chickie" so they dress a fella up as a chicken and he runs across the field? 
Post by: thejuice on March 17, 2009, 05:04:43 PM
That was just........................well to be honest, Im not entirely sure.
Post by: theoriginalmup on March 17, 2009, 05:05:23 PM
Most embarrasing thing i've ever seen...what about the lad with the mixer on his back and then the cow
Post by: muppet on March 17, 2009, 05:08:50 PM
What the hell was that?

(http://musikality.net/wp-content/uploads/2009/02/shocked.jpg)
Post by: muppet on March 17, 2009, 05:10:50 PM
Quote from: Mac Eoghain on March 17, 2009, 05:09:19 PM
Is there any chance Croke Park will be releasing this on DVD - it'll probably take me about six months to work out what the feck was going on. Somebody lost the run of themselves.

You think there was a plot?
Post by: Drumanee 1 on March 17, 2009, 05:11:55 PM
and heres me thinking they could never outdo the late late :o
Post by: Oraisteach on March 17, 2009, 05:18:02 PM
It lloked like a gang had attacked a farm and made off with everything that wasn't nailed down.  Felt bad for M O'M.
Post by: baoithe on March 17, 2009, 05:45:10 PM
Awful. When the chicken appeared I had to pinch myself after which I nearly fell off the couch laughing.
Post by: magpie seanie on March 17, 2009, 05:54:36 PM
Yeah. Not good. There was no beginning, middle or end to it. A bit of a head scratcher.
Post by: Bud Wiser on March 17, 2009, 05:54:36 PM
QuoteMost embarrasing thing i've ever seen...what about the lad with the mixer on his back and then the cow

QuoteOraisteach It lloked like a gang had attacked a farm and made off with everything that wasn't nailed down.  Felt bad for M O'M.

Poor Micheal O'Muircheartaig, the first time in 60 years he was lost for words during a commentary.
Post by: omagh_gael on March 17, 2009, 05:58:28 PM
I doubt the commuter that organized that had their tea spiked, that was weird/unbelievable/crazy!!
Post by: dodo on March 17, 2009, 06:28:16 PM
I came back from my trip to the jacks and saw all these quare things about the pitch, was sure it was a flashback from those trips of years ago. :-X
Post by: Rossfan on March 17, 2009, 07:08:28 PM
That oul rubbish might be ok in a St Patrick's day parade but not at a game.
Why not simply have reps of each of the champion clubs from the 32 Counties march round and leave the  floats to the Street parades.
Post by: Minder on March 17, 2009, 08:48:34 PM
It was pathetic and painful to watch.
Post by: Hardy on March 17, 2009, 09:49:30 PM
It was what used to be called a "pageant". Pageants as mainstream entertainment belonged in the days of asses and carts and bicycle clips and amateurish, home-grown entertainment for the lack of anything better. They gradually died out with the development of technology and communications and presentation methods and choreography and media and television that showed us stuff like Mardi-Gras and an all-round professional attitude to putting on presentations that abolished the "ah sure it'll do" mentality for all but the likes of the Hackballscross St. Patrick's Day parade annual celebration of yokelry. But nobody told Jarlath Burns.
Post by: ziggysego on March 17, 2009, 09:54:42 PM
Missed it. Was it really that bad, or just something to complain about?
Post by: INDIANA on March 17, 2009, 10:37:22 PM
still lost for words. I mean you'd love to meet the genius who thought that up. Painful shite.
Post by: Redhandfan on March 17, 2009, 10:54:01 PM
I didn't think it was that bad......a bit unusual alright, but not bad.

I suppose what we saw today was an attempt at an 'old-fashioned pageant' as opposed to the modern extravaganza of strobe lighting etc that we witnessed on the night of the NFL opener between Tyrone and Dublin. 

It was something different.....not painful nor pathetic.  Watching the Irish soccer team play at Croke Park is painful and pathetic.

Post by: Maguire01 on March 17, 2009, 11:10:51 PM
Is it online anywhere? I'm intrigued.
Post by: Owenmoresider on March 17, 2009, 11:52:35 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on March 17, 2009, 07:08:28 PM
That oul rubbish might be ok in a St Patrick's day parade but not at a game.
Why not simply have reps of each of the champion clubs from the 32 Counties march round and leave the  floats to the Street parades.
It went in the Dublin parade seemingly, which I suppose is fair enough, bit of a puzzler as to its merits, but it fits in there. Looked fairly odd when it was going on at HQ though.
Post by: ONeill on March 18, 2009, 12:10:38 AM
I missed it but saw a shot of a lad running behind the Hill goals with a cow on his back. Simply thought it was some jackeen joy-riding.
Post by: INDIANA on March 18, 2009, 12:23:00 AM
It had washing machines and other strange contraptions. Just was a bizarre moment- couldn't figure it out.
Post by: armaghniac on March 18, 2009, 12:26:24 AM
QuoteSimply thought it was some jackeen joy-riding.

I thought the guy with the cow was Francie Bellew doing some extra training before the game.

A formula designed for the parade rather than the pitch. It was a bit 'different', maybe not your thing but not deserving of some of the comments here.
Post by: thebandit on March 18, 2009, 12:38:39 AM
I thought that I was hallucinating when I seen it...... that 3 days on the batter had gotten the better of me. I was quite sure that I was in purgatory.
Post by: full back on March 18, 2009, 08:11:18 AM
A cement mixer, a cow, a book-case, a washing-machine, did I see a digger as well?

Holy fcuk, that was so bad it was funny :D

The choreography was brutal, it was just like they told the lads/children to head out to the field & fcuk about for 10/15 mins.
One of the lads who was balancing something on his back was even doing a few toe-taps  :o

Woeful stuff altogether
Post by: T Fearon on March 18, 2009, 09:48:25 AM
Was at the game and saw the pageant. Thought it was quite entertaining. MO'M was sitting in a bicycle like "contraption" which looked unsecure, performing a commentary on the event and he explained the significance of the "cow" (eg the rural roots of the GAA), the mixer and digger were mean't to mark the physical development of Croke Park and other stadia over the years, the Globe represented the geographical spread of the gaa, and if I had any issue it would have been with the chicken, and the referee sending him off for a "fowl".

Wasn't meant to be highbrow stuff nevertheless I thought it was quite entertaining, particularly for kids, and I'm led to believe people actually pay 60 euros every St Patrick's Day to park their ass on a seat in O'Connell Street to watch this sort of carry on.
Post by: Bud Wiser on March 18, 2009, 12:55:57 PM
Two years ago I said on the board that the GAA should have :
(a)  A representation in every St Patricks Day Parade in the capital as the GAA is part of our heritage and it should be up there with the rest, 125 years or no 125 years.
(b)  There should be "Runners Up" medals presented to the loosing teams after both this years senior All-Ireland Finals instead of three "Hip, Hip, Hooray " calls from the wining captain while they are left standing or lying devasteated in the middle of Croke Park.  Some argued that players might not like to receive a loosers medal but it's done in the FA Cup and if I was a player after slogging it out in training all year I would treasure even a runners up medal.
Post by: The GAA on March 18, 2009, 01:01:51 PM
OFFAL
Post by: T Fearon on March 18, 2009, 01:21:24 PM
Bud, losers mementos are not a good idea. Remember big Joe cracked the walls of the dressing room with his 1977 runners up plaque at half time in the 2002 Final. they can be easily flung at inanimate or indeed animate objects ;D
Post by: Bud Wiser on March 18, 2009, 01:35:17 PM
See where it got Big Joe when he flung it at the wall?   People will say forever that if Big Joe Kernan had not fliung his loosers medal at the wall Armagh would still have the same amount of All-Irelands as Laois.

I'm still not buying into the cows and cement mixers for the next pageant on All-Ireland day or whenever, maybe a couple of skinheads out of Limerick or the Joy dressed as Black & Tans shooting spud guns into the crowd to remind us what the GAA came through, well at least not the cow, all we had was one pig in the kitchen, cows were for Cork even back then.

Post by: tonesfirstandlast on March 18, 2009, 01:39:05 PM
I thought it was brilliant. Never laughed as much in a long time. That cow had some set of tits! ;D ;D
Post by: StGallsGAA on March 18, 2009, 01:44:30 PM
I've never witnessed as much begrudgery to St Paddys Day celebrations.   What do you all expect?  A re-enactment of the tan wars? 

This is 2009 and art & visial expression has moved on a bit.  You need to get into the performing arts a bit more.
Post by: Hereiam on March 18, 2009, 01:55:40 PM
Thought myself it was alright, the washing machines representing the mothers or wives who wash the club kits week in week out, the digger & cement mixer illustrating the foundations of the gaa or the way it has built itself up over the 125 yrs. I think alot of thought went into it so give them a break.
Post by: joemamas on March 18, 2009, 02:06:10 PM
In hindsight, all that was missing was Marty Morrisey, Imagine if it was him inside the washing machine, and he popped out right at the end.
Post by: highorlow on March 18, 2009, 02:17:41 PM
Were the washing machines to signify the Mother's washing the jersey's etc after match's or were they something to do with the Kerry team of the 70's?

Post by: Oraisteach on March 18, 2009, 02:21:55 PM
I have this horrible haunting feeling that Tony won a Liatriom Fontenoys quiz competition, first prize for which was to be hauled around Croke Park inside of one of those yokes, but I can't figure which one.

One feature of the pageant that I did like, recalling the old GAA, was the wonderful plainness of the football jerseys.  No cluttering with gaudy logos, scripts, emblems and slick modern designs--just the simple look--now that was class.
Post by: lfdown2 on March 18, 2009, 02:34:37 PM
anyone know of any pics?
Post by: Leo on March 18, 2009, 05:42:42 PM
Next time why not leave it to the Holyland students most of whom would be at home in this madcap pageant (except the use of the washing machine would be a bit foreign to them) and sure by their apparel they represent at least most of the Ulster counties as they seem to tog out for their regular street parties in honour of the local residents for whom they have soooo much respect.
Post by: CompulsoryTillager on March 19, 2009, 02:34:25 PM
Quote from: highorlow on March 18, 2009, 02:17:41 PM
Were the washing machines to signify the Mother's washing the jersey's etc after match's or were they something to do with the Kerry team of the 70's?

That's what I came in to say, Bendix wasn't it?
Post by: thejuice on March 19, 2009, 03:15:00 PM
Quote from: lfdown2 on March 18, 2009, 02:34:37 PM
anyone know of any pics?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8ItRrO6P1W4