6. 5 v Meath 01.03.2009 Drogheda/Parnell Park
7. Offaly v Westmeath 07.02.2009 Tullamore
8. 7 v Kilkenny 28.02.2009 Kilkenny
9. 2 v 4 17.03.2009 Home Venue 2
10. 6 v 8 17.03.2009 Home Venue 9
FINAL: 9 v 10
Home Venue 9
Any thoughts?
Know of any Senior players turning out for the 21s?
Good minor sides moving up the ages?
Offaly have quite a few involved at both levels, hence the current impasse on the senior issue until they play Westmeath. I've no idea what Westmeath will be like, but they're probably better prepared than our lads, given the hassle.
As for notable seniors, well we don't have many notable seniors playing senior, never mind Under 21, but as an indication, the debacle last Sunday in Roscommon featured Colin Egan, Ruairi Allen, Brian Connor and Ken Casey, the erstwhile great white hope. The latter trio are named as the full forward line for the U21s, while Colin Egan is midfield, as he was in Roscommon.
alot of last years minors there AZ
is connor over the U21's also?
Louth have a good chance of causing an upset on sunday against dublin
they're at home couple of U21's featured for the seniors recently we don't usually have much expectation at this level having drew laois in the first round three years on the trot
dublin being dublin will be a be physically imposing side
not too sure about there forward line though....kilmacud players are ruled out but Cian o'sullivan is eligible to play as he is suspended for crokes next game
any dubs out there that can give an idea of there prospects this year?
Meath and laois i persume are the favourites??
The team selected is a good side but the forwards are a bit hot and cold. If they click I expect Dublin to win but I'd be very sceptical if Dublin get over this weekend they'll beat a Colm O Rourke trained Meath side. We've a poor record at this level and have always underperformed. Louth at home have a very good chance of winning.
Crokes won't release Barry O Rourke to start but he's on the bench, he's a class act and a big loss. Kevin Nolan is out injured and playing with injections at the minute and when Crokes are finished he has a gilmore's op awaiting so he won't be available for the 21's at all. Again a big loss.
Dublin defence looks pretty good though, midfield is a concern though with the forwards a bit hit and miss. They had a good win against armagh without the cross players last week. Didn't see it and I don't know how good Armagh are.
We were beaten by Armagh i think
Just seen the team there on HILL16 looks an impressive team on paper
more than i thought....thats a very physical side we've a relatively small forward line....
whats shane byrne like at full back? is fitzsimons overage?
colin moore seems to be making a name for himself as a solid corner back?
tight call between niall brogan and guckian at half back but i've hears the latter is a quality performer?
Meath will be a very daunting task but whoever comes out of this battle i reckon will have a considerable confidence boost
Westmeath only have 1 established senior player on their team, Kieran Gavin. I'm sure he will be tasked with marking Casey, they would be fairly familiar from St.Mary's v Rochfortbridge school matches down through the years. Other standout backs would be Fintan Reilly (full back for AIT in Sigerson this week) and Andrew Whitney who has been on the fringes of the senior panel for about 3 years.
Midfield has been a problem for Westmeath at all levels in recent years. I would imagine it will be Aiden Browne and Niall Kilcoyne who are both current senior panelists. Kilcoyne is the son of Westmeaths only hurling all-star, David.
Forward line should be strong, especially the full-forward line with Tommy McDaniels (3 points v Galway on Sunday), Ian Coffey who fired Athlone CC to Leinster Colleges last year and John Connellan who played in the All-Ireland 1/4 final against Dublin in 06.
This team were the favourites for Leinster minor in 06 but lost to a Paddy Andrews inspired Dublin. Midfield was the problem that day and could prove so again. Offaly seem to have it over us at underage with minor wins in 04,05 and 08.
Quote from: mattockranger on February 06, 2009, 02:52:16 PM
more than i thought....thats a very physical side we've a relatively small forward line....
tight call between niall brogan and guckian at half back but i've hears the latter is a quality performer?
Meath will be a very daunting task but whoever comes out of this battle i reckon will have a considerable confidence boost
Shane was on the senor squad at vins that won the all-ireland. Good player and a very good prospect,hopefully we'll show more of a propensity to pick dublin born players. should start this year for us.
Moore is like lightening, horribly fast for a corner back. not the biggest though. Niall Brogan lost out when they moved sheanon out of midfield. very unlucky to lose out. Guckian and Cooper are quality players though.
Backs on paper look solid. Its the rest of it that is a bit hit and miss.
O'sullivan at midfield must be a query also... good player...but not an out and out midfielder...suppose he could go centre back and allow sheanon out...
What is colm murphy like then?
Murphy is a good player alright but O Sullivan is there because we have no other options at midfield. He's a terrific prospect but he's a 6 not an 8/9. could be an area louth could exploit.
Its hard to know Our midfield aren't over big....and a couple of tactical switches!
Louth have a midfielder McCann at 5....must be to pick up andrews...and we've wing back at midfield byrne !?!
Westmeath 0-19 Offaly 0-8. John Connellan star of the show with 7 points. Cant remember ever beating Offaly by that much at any grade.
offaly beat us at this grade at minor level 3 years ago. some step back.
Is Richie Connor over the u-21's too? ;D
Quote from: mattockranger on February 06, 2009, 02:52:16 PM
Was at that armagh match..armagh came out winners! they are ooking very good considering there championship isnt till mid march, so i would imagin that they would only be half way through their preperation....plus they were missin cross boys plus senior boys toner and folker!
Could be the team to look out for in ulster?
Any of the louth lads- just wondering if they heard when the u21 game was refixed? cheers.
no word yet, news should filter through this evening
Game refixed for sunday the 22nd
Saturday, 14th February 2009.
Longford (2.30pm) Longford v Wicklow
Reit: Eddie Kinsella
Bunclody (2.30pm) Wexford v Kildare
Reit: Sean Carroll (Uibh Fhaili)
Sunday, 22nd February 2009.
Drogheda (2.30pm) Louth v Dublin
Reit: C. Costello (Uibh Fhaili)
Extra time if necessary must be played if sides finish level.
Cadbury football scholarships awarded
10 February 2009
Four U21 footballers, Hugh Gill, Ciaran Gavin, Brian Fox and Michael Moloney have been presented with Cadbury Football Scholarships in Dublin College University and University Limerick.
The Cadbury Football Scholarships are awarded in recognition of the sporting potential of U21 footballers attending various universities in Ireland as part of the Cadbury sponsorship of the GAA Football U-21 Championship which is currently underway. Each Scholarship awarded is to the value of ?1,000.
Hugh Gill, DCU, has represented Dublin at minor, U-21 and senior level and has won a Dublin Football Senior Championship, a Leinster Senior Football Championship and an All-Ireland Senior Club Championship with his club, St Vincents.
Kieran Gavin, DCU, has represented Westmeath at U-14, U-16, minor, U-21 and senior level. In 2008 started every competitive game for Westmeath and was part of the side that won the NFL Division 2 title that year.
Michael Moloney, UL, was a member of the 2008 Munster and All Ireland winning Kerry U-21 team and is a member of this year's senior county panel.
Brian Fox, UL, has represented his county at minor and U21 levels and he is currently a member of the Tipperary senior football panel. In 2008 he was shortlisted for the Cadburys 'Hero of the Future' award for his performances in the U-21 championship.
Commenting at the scholarship presentation, Shane Guest, Senior Brand Manager, Cadbury Ireland said. "This is Cadbury Ireland's fourth year as sponsor of the Football U-21 Championship and we regard it as an honour to sponsor the GAA Championship. Cadbury Ireland is fully committed to supporting GAA in Ireland, and I am delighted to say that the Championship goes from strength to strength. The Cadbury Scholarships highlight the importance of the game to these young players, their commitment to training and their hard work, skill, passion and dedication in pursuit of sporting excellence."
Cadbury Ireland are sponsoring football scholarships in NUI Galway, University of Limerick, University College Dublin, Trinity College Dublin, Dublin College University, University College Cork and Jordanstown campus of the University of Ulster. The University scholarship programme demonstrates Cadbury's commitment to developing and nurturing the players to provide for the future of football from a young age. Cadbury want to recognise the skill of the U-21 Footballers who are attending and representing their college.
Well done Kieran Gavin, very exciting prospect and is already a mainstay in the Westmeath senior team...
Dublin beat meath 0-12 to 2-5 in parnell. Dublin without the crokes lads will be happy enough. Poor game though Dublin should have won by more. Its a decent dublin team but no more than that. I think Meath as a football county are screwed after that today. Where have all their footballers gone? Beyond belief how disappointing they were.
Suprised at that particularly when Colm O'Rourke always has the answers on tv and in the papers ???
We need structures in place to bring lads through from minor and schools level and we need it now.
I still feel we are in the dark ages here when it comes to physical conditioning for the modern game.
We have talent, we just don't seem to have the drive and physical ability to take advantage of that.
And before anyone starts banging on about how we need footballers not athletes, we need footballers that ARE athletes.
We seriously need to look at how we prepare our young players.
I'm very concerned over the number of chronic injuries our younger players seem to have.
that meath team at minor level were terrific. O Rourke still has the touches but needs an injury free run. Brian Sheridan is capable of so much more. Thought the goalie was terriifc , real talent. Dublin are no world beaters but were missing 3 key players but Meath were beyond belief they were so poor. They aren't embracing modern traning techniques Jinxy, you couldn't keep up with our lads. You don't have to be good to be able to run.
The under 21 championship is a funny fish at the same team.
So Counties go all out. Others concentrate on the league, and developing players for the future.
Look at some of the suprising results over the last few years - Clare beating Kerry, Sligo beating Galway, Waterford and Limerick in a Munster Final.
I think if it was played in the Summer you might get a different set of results.
Personally I'm a big fan of the competition and it has been very good to Mayo over the last 15 years. However midweek Summer matches are the best way for it to go in my view. I know that its not very practical but always enjoyed those kind of games. In fact I think the GAA needs a midweek Summer outlet especially when a lot of us have feck all work to be doing
Will the Dublin Westmeath game be in Parnell on Paddys Indiana???
O Flatharta fuming over re-fixture
Westmeath manager Tomas O'Flatharta
12 March 2009
Tomas O Flatharta has described the decision to reschedule Westmeath's Leinster under 21 football semi-final against Dublin for Saturday week as 'crazy'.
The game was originally fixed for Parnell Park on St. Patrick's Day, but has been put back by four days to avoid a clash with the All-Ireland club final involving Kilmacud Crokes, which O Flatharta is ironically a member of.
But the re-fixture is set to cause difficulties for the Westmeath senior and under 21 manager, whose senior charges face Kerry in Tralee the following day. Due to an extensive injury list, O Flatharta was forced to play six under 21s in last Sunday's NFL defeat to Mayo, and a number of those players could now be expected to play two important matches in the space of 24 hours, and nearly 200 miles apart.
"Those (under 21) lads have to play (for the seniors) next weekend against Tyrone - there seems to be a crazy fixture where we have to play Kerry on the same weekend that we have to play the Leinster under 21 semi-final," he said.
"I don't know how we're going to come around that but it seems to be crazy, whoever made the decision, that the two of them will be on around the same time. We talk about burnout and stuff, but I think that's going too far with it."
Proper order, if the Dubs can get it moved to suit them then so can we. Crazy decision >:(
2-04 to 0-04 at half-time in Portlaoise, goal just on half-time to Laois disaster for Kildare, not looking good for the marginal favouites..
All over Laois comfortable winners 3-11 to 0-11, goal before half-time really killed the game not mention Kildare's dozen odd wides and a penalty miss. The two facile wins over Wexford and Carlow were no preparation for this game.
Congrats to Laois and best of luck in the final, they should win it.
with all due respects croi- several dublin players are in the same boat- so thats bullshit.
Quote from: Dinny Breen on March 17, 2009, 02:21:56 PM
All over Laois comfortable winners 3-11 to 0-11, goal before half-time really killed the game not mention Kildare's dozen odd wides and a penalty miss. The two facile wins over Wexford and Carlow were no preparation for this game.
Congrats to Laois and best of luck in the final, they should win it.
Was Kingston playing?
QuoteWas Kingston playing?
Yep unfortunately
Quote from: INDIANA on March 17, 2009, 02:24:57 PM
with all due respects croi- several dublin players are in the same boat- so thats bullshit.
Eh Dublin were the ones who wanted it moved so don't give me that same boat rubbish. We've nearly half a team out injured at the minute, 6 u21s played last Sunday, some of them have their Leaving coming up in a couple of months & now they're expected to play a game in Dublin on the Saturday & a game in Kerry on the Sunday >:( The CCCCCCCC or whoever rescheduled this need a good kick up the hole...
Anyways, what time is throw in???
2pm- and we've a similar number carrying knocs and 4 lads who are on the piss I'sm sure after yesterday (can't blame them either I'd be as well). We've also got lads involved with the seniors. Anyway Croi I think you have a very good chance.
Quote from: INDIANA on March 18, 2009, 12:17:52 PM
2.30pm- and we've a similar number carrying knocs and 4 lads who are on the piss I'sm sure after yesterday (can't blame them either I'd be as well). We've also got lads involved with the seniors. Anyway Croi I think you have a very good chance.
Who's the four lads, 2 O'Carroll's & ??? Expect a tight, close game. Hope we put all our efforts & preparation into this this week & leave the senior game till after...
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on March 18, 2009, 12:21:43 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on March 18, 2009, 12:17:52 PM
2.30pm- and we've a similar number carrying knocs and 4 lads who are on the piss I'sm sure after yesterday (can't blame them either I'd be as well). We've also got lads involved with the seniors. Anyway Croi I think you have a very good chance.
Who's the four lads, 2 O'Carroll's & ??? Expect a tight, close game. Hope we put all our efforts & preparation into this this week & leave the senior game till after...
Five actually:
2 x O'Carrolls
Cian O'Sullivan
Kevin Nolan
Barry O'Rourke
Kev won't be playing as far as I know he's been carrying an injury for 6 months.
John Connellan's pretty doubtful after falling off a horse apparently. Big blow for the Westmeath forwards if he's not fit.
Quote from: INDIANA on March 18, 2009, 03:18:43 PM
Kev won't be playing as far as I know he's been carrying an injury for 6 months.
He's on the bench.
It'll be the last game he plays Heffo- he's booked in for an op. Can't believe the team will lineout as selected either. If it does I'd fancy westmeath.
Quote from: INDIANA on March 20, 2009, 03:20:30 PM
It'll be the last game he plays Heffo- he's booked in for an op. Can't believe the team will lineout as selected either. If it does I'd fancy westmeath.
Yeah, hip isn't it?
Don't think it will either - think it's just Jim Gavin being cute..
Went over to this on Sat, awful, awful game. Westmeath desperate. Only ones who performed in any way were those not involved in the senior panel. Dublin not great either apart from Paddy Andrews. Tore Kieran Gavin apart & never seen that happen before. Would seem like the ideal FF for the seniors. Connellan could do a job for the seniors but I presume he's off again for the summer as he hasn't been involved. Opportunity missed for Westmeath, would expect Laois to win the final...
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on March 23, 2009, 10:27:34 AM
Connellan could do a job for the seniors but I presume he's off again for the summer as he hasn't been involved.
Don't think he is off anywhere this summer. Think he has not been involved with seniors out of choice. Probably had enough on his plate with U21, Sigerson and finals in college.
Quote from: shark on March 23, 2009, 01:16:38 PM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on March 23, 2009, 10:27:34 AM
Connellan could do a job for the seniors but I presume he's off again for the summer as he hasn't been involved.
Don't think he is off anywhere this summer. Think he has not been involved with seniors out of choice. Probably had enough on his plate with U21, Sigerson and finals in college.
Thanks for that shark, hopefully we see him on the senior panel sooner rather than later...
Fair play to Dublin today,they were the better team for most of the game and were deserving winners.
We seemed to have ye rattled at one stage during the second half but just ran out of steam,Dublin scored some lovely points though and seemed to be able score at will at times,thats a right good Dublin team.
Is that Barney Rocks son that was playing for Dublin?
It was he's only 19 LL. Surprised to win LL , its a good Dublin team but not a great one. The defence is the bedrock of the team though. Probably have 3/4 lads in the defence who will be good senior footballers in years to come. We've a lack of aerial ability at midfield though and the forwards can be hit and miss. Still its a much needed shot in the arm for the game in the county. 4 years without a first round win is too much.
They seemed fitter and defiantly stronger than us.
We are relying on Kingston and O'Loughlin to much,Kingston did score some fine points though.
Laois were unlucky not to get a couple of goals in the first half,it could have made a difference if one had gone in.
Did you go to it? It was bloody cold in the stands..
was at the hurling instead. i honestly didn't think they'd beat you . i thought our lads had exceeded expecatations by getting to the final , as the last few years at this level have been a disaster for us. Really is a welcome surprise.
Indiana, ever the optimist. ;D