Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: muppet on January 21, 2009, 04:56:00 PM

Title: Ryanair to fine passengers who break bags rule
Post by: muppet on January 21, 2009, 04:56:00 PM
http://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/news/local-national/ryanair-to-fine-passengers-who-break-bags-rule-14149400.html (http://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/news/local-national/ryanair-to-fine-passengers-who-break-bags-rule-14149400.html)

Wednesday, 21 January 2009

Ryanair plans to fine passengers who to try to break their luggage rules.

The no-frills airlines will be rapping offenders on the knuckles and slapping them with a €30 fine if they try to carry more than one piece of cabin baggage on board.

Current rules allow passengers to take along baggage weighing up to 10kg, but Ryanair management claims that there has been a big increase in those "abusing" this privilege.

Spokesperson for Ryanair Stephen McNamara explained the new rules, saying that the current allowance is already a generous one.

"Due to the large increase in passengers abusing this allowance Ryanair will now charge passengers for each additional piece of carry-on luggage," he said.

"Passengers are made clearly aware of their cabin allowance at the time of their booking and it is also printed on their online boarding cards, said Mr McNamara, adding that passengers who over-pack and refuse to pay the fine will not be allowed to travel.

The policy will be enforced for everyone travelling on all Ryanair flights.

It means that everything that passengers wish to bring on the plane, including handbags and laptops, must be contained inside one single bag.

Passengers have been advised to pay the €15 charge to check in a bag, rather than risk a heftier fine for too many bags at the departure gates.
Title: Re: Ryanair to fine passengers who break bags rule
Post by: Rois on January 21, 2009, 05:04:01 PM
So what happens if you buy something in Duty Free and they put it in a bag?

FFS if I am carrying a laptop I can't carry a handbag.  Grrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr
Post by: downgirl on January 21, 2009, 05:14:18 PM
How are they going to fine you when you are boarding though??  I am actually flying from Cork to Dublin on Friday with only hand luggage...gona have to squeeze everything into one bag now...Don't see the problem with a handbag as well as hand luggage so long as it's not a massive handbag??!!
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on January 21, 2009, 05:18:30 PM
Wimin and their handbags, I wouldn't mind if they'd allocate sections to put stuff but everything is fcuked in and then a 2 hour "lucky dip" ensues when the phone is ringing or when she decides at the last minute to pay via laser. There should be a tax on the feckin yokes... [/rant]
Post by: illdecide on January 21, 2009, 05:24:03 PM
Ryanair are a f**king joke. I'm going out in the morning to France with these balloons, there are 7 people on the one booking and because there are children involved we need to check a case on which is 15 there and 15 back. Now because we can't check in online as we need to bring a small suitcase they are charging all 7 people on the ticket 10 euros each both ways plus the 30 for the suitcase = 170 yo yo's WTF is that all about
Post by: Rois on January 21, 2009, 05:28:57 PM
If you just brought a bin liner and stuck a few bags in it, would that work I wonder?

Illdecide, you're fecked whatever way you do it.  If you booked individually you'd be charged for each booking.  I will definately be avoiding Ryanair at all costs. 
Post by: thewobbler on January 21, 2009, 05:31:40 PM
Here we go again.

Ryanair might charge you for everything but the air you breathe, but if it comes as a surprise to you when it happens or if you made a mistake, then you are a fool who deserves to be taken advantage of.

Thanks to Ryanair increasing competition, lowering prices and supporting the irish market, I can now fly to most major cities in Europe direct from Ireland, and for less than it costs to take a train to Dublin from Belfast. That point alone makes any of their actions tolerable in my mind.

By the way I fly Aer lingus instead when I can instead of Ryanair, but at least these days I have that choice.

Post by: carribbear on January 21, 2009, 05:38:17 PM
I don't see a problem with this rule. Too many times you get people trying to fit all their luggage into the overhead compartments then its chaos when they get on/off planes.
Theres a standard size for a carry-on bag so that should be the default. If you can't fit it in under your seat or in the overhead storage then check the damn thing in.

I will however make an exception for small handbags but not the shopping bag size handbags. Thats just cheating.

Post by: thebigfella on January 21, 2009, 05:45:12 PM
They used to allow you to carry on laptops (including small cases, sleeves within reason), cameras, briefcases ect.. as well as hand luggage - cheeky ripoff c**ts have decided to change their policy.

I once flew out from Dublin to Eindhoven with them, in Dublin I had 14kg in my bag, on the way back they claimed I was 4kg over the limit and tried to charge me 100 euros for the privilege. Same bag and same contents, the girl at the desk was having none of it even though I could have bought another seat for 70 at check in. Ended up making her refund the taxes (what a pain) on the flight and got a taxi to Schiphol and flew Aer Lingus back. Worked out around the same cost if I had of got that flight.

Post by: armaghniac on January 21, 2009, 07:02:20 PM
If they are going to limit bags then it is better that they do it, rather than have people who just ignore the rules and pack the plane out with multiple bags. As thewobbler says the overall cost is still good value.
Post by: tyssam5 on January 21, 2009, 07:16:02 PM
Quote from: thebigfella on January 21, 2009, 05:45:12 PM
They used to allow you to carry on laptops (including small cases, sleeves within reason), cameras, briefcases ect.. as well as hand luggage - cheeky ripoff c**ts have decided to change their policy.

I once flew out from Dublin to Eindhoven with them, in Dublin I had 14kg in my bag, on the way back they claimed I was 4kg over the limit and tried to charge me 100 euros for the privilege. Same bag and same contents, the girl at the desk was having none of it even though I could have bought another seat for 70 at check in. Ended up making her refund the taxes (what a pain) on the flight and got a taxi to Schiphol and flew Aer Lingus back. Worked out around the same cost if I had of got that flight.

Surprising, have tried that before with Ryanair and got no joy. They usually charge a fee which exceeds the value of the taxes they are supposed to refund to you. This was 2005 though, so maybe they have been made to change that policy?
Post by: pintsofguinness on January 21, 2009, 07:31:12 PM
I think it's a great idea, it's like a tax on stupidity, I'd welcome more of it.

How many times do people need to be told, one piece of hand luggage!  They should tax those people who spend a half a hour at the check in desk trying to get three pairs of shoes into their handbags because their suitcase is overweight and the people who smuggle on massive suitcases as hand luggage. 

Btw, me and the woman fly home for a week, two weeks at christmas and the bag, for two of us, is always under 10kg.  What anyone fills a suitcase with that's over 15kg and for one person sometimes! is just beyond me.

Rois, tell me what you need in the handbag you can't put in a side pocket of the laptop case?
Post by: AN other on January 21, 2009, 07:33:50 PM
Quote from: illdecide on January 21, 2009, 05:24:03 PM
Ryanair are a f**king joke. I'm going out in the morning to France with these balloons, there are 7 people on the one booking and because there are children involved we need to check a case on which is 15 there and 15 back. Now because we can't check in online as we need to bring a small suitcase they are charging all 7 people on the ticket 10 euros each both ways plus the 30 for the suitcase = 170 yo yo's WTF is that all about

You can get around that one by booking separately... Also got around it before by booking all passengers with online check in and carry on and adding a bag after for one. Gets rid of the 10 euro charge for the other 6. Not sure which works out cheaper but you can check all the rules before you book.
Post by: thejuice on January 21, 2009, 07:58:30 PM
Glad I only fly Aer Lingus.
Post by: Puckoon on January 21, 2009, 08:03:19 PM
Rules is Rules. Personally I hate when people think they are above them. "Ill just bring 3 suitcases and im sure theyll let me off".

Like pints said - a tax on stupidity.
Post by: thebigfella on January 21, 2009, 09:47:20 PM
While I do agree with stopping people carrying more than one "large" bag or taking the complete p***, their weight limits for hand luggage now including laptops and other expensive equipment you can't put in the hold is clearly a joke. 10kg is also clearly not enough once you add a laptop, reading material/documents, the weight of the case ect..... Easyjet don't limit hand luggage weight, within reason, it just has to fit within the size guidelines.

I fly at least twice a week and I know how to pack light but their policy is just unworkable for people who travel for business reasons. There is just no way I'm checking in my suit carrier, I've seen the way they come out the other end, and the laptop is not an option. If I can only fly with Ryanair then I'll be paying their fine every time.
Post by: downgirl on January 21, 2009, 10:03:49 PM
I have a random question...will I be allowed to bring an alarm clock in as hand luggage (I am not putting a case in the hold)...or will they not let me through with it incase they think it's a bomb ???
Post by: armaghniac on January 21, 2009, 10:15:19 PM
Alarm clocks are fine, although I thought everyone just used their phone nowadays. No scissors, knives, bottles and the like.
Post by: Treasurer on January 21, 2009, 10:22:41 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on January 21, 2009, 10:15:19 PM
Alarm clocks are fine, although I thought everyone just used their phone nowadays. No scissors, knives, bottles and the like.

I flew Dublin/Birmingham return with a rather large penknife in my handbag.

I had one taken off me another time in Dublin though, a brilliant swiss knife. I was kicking myself -  had decided at the last minute to bring the handbag and couldn't believe I'd forgotten to take out the knife.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on January 21, 2009, 10:24:31 PM
Quote from: Treasurer on January 21, 2009, 10:22:41 PM

I had one taken off me another time in Dublin though, a brilliant swiss knife. I was kicking myself -  had decided at the last minute to bring the handbag and couldn't believe I'd forgotten to take out the knife.

Are you Macgyver?
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on January 21, 2009, 10:25:31 PM
Quote from: carribbear on January 21, 2009, 05:38:17 PM
I don't see a problem with this rule. Too many times you get people trying to fit all their luggage into the overhead compartments then its chaos when they get on/off planes.
Theres a standard size for a carry-on bag so that should be the default. If you can't fit it in under your seat or in the overhead storage then check the damn thing in.

I will however make an exception for small handbags but not the shopping bag size handbags. Thats just cheating.

It sickens my hole too
Post by: Treasurer on January 21, 2009, 10:26:10 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on January 21, 2009, 10:24:31 PM

Are you Macgyver?

If I was McGyver I wouldn't need the knives now would I?  Piece of string and a safety pin would cover all emergencies.
Post by: pintsofguinness on January 21, 2009, 10:26:43 PM
Didnt reallise offaly was so rough.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on January 21, 2009, 10:27:18 PM
Quote from: Treasurer on January 21, 2009, 10:26:10 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on January 21, 2009, 10:24:31 PM

Are you Macgyver?

If I was McGyver I wouldn't need the knives now would I?  Piece of string and a safety pin would cover all emergencies.

He always had a knife too...Oh and don't forget the chewing gum!
He was a legend though
Post by: The Real Laoislad on January 21, 2009, 10:30:08 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on January 21, 2009, 10:26:43 PM

You don't know the half of it...They eat their young up there
Post by: Treasurer on January 21, 2009, 10:31:00 PM

Well you'd never know when you might be challenged to a duel.
Post by: downgirl on January 21, 2009, 10:42:19 PM

I do use my phone but this is a really loud one it usually takes something like that to get me up in the mornings...not a good morning person at all.
Post by: Aerlik on January 22, 2009, 09:40:05 AM
What really pisses me off about commercial operators is the use of "Standard" weights for the calculation of loading data for jets.  A "Standard" male Aussie is 86kgs.  Bollix.  I flew a 180kg+ patient the other day.  No kidding and we know he was that weight at least cos the weighbridge we had to use only went up to 180kgs. The scales went up to 130kgs.  The average male Australian is now over 95kgs I reckon.  Also the female is supposed to be 62kgs.  Again, bollix, the women in country WA are all well over 80kgs.

The practicality of the situation however means that we cannot go around weighing everybody before boarding.  But when blubbergut McFat-Arse rocks up with his bags and I am 2kgs over with mine (I box at 78kgs), I am the one penalised.  Feckin hate it.
Post by: thejuice on January 22, 2009, 11:33:38 AM
Ryanair are charging £28 a bag now. f**k that. AerLingus is charging £20 a bag. f**k that also, but its cheaper. Does anyone else know of any other airline that flies Birmingham to Dublin? I've tried, BMI and EasyJet already.
Post by: Gnevin on January 22, 2009, 11:37:04 AM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on January 21, 2009, 10:30:08 PM

You don't know the half of it...They eat their young up there
Is there any counties in Ireland  apart for Laois you don't think is a shithole ? ;)
Post by: Declan on January 22, 2009, 11:49:34 AM
What really pissed me off in Gatwick a couple of weeks ago was that our hand luggage passed the Ryanair baggage test having checked in online but the security knobs handing out the plastic bags decided that the young lads bag was too big for their measurements and cue a row between angry passenger security staff and Ryanair. Turns out that the BAA measurements are smaller than the Ryanair ones and each was passing the buck so to speak. End of Story was it cost me 30 sterling to check the thing. Not a happy camper. I only fly with Ryanair as an absolute last resort.   
Post by: pintsofguinness on January 22, 2009, 11:29:47 PM
The practicality of the situation however means that we cannot go around weighing everybody before boarding.  But when blubbergut McFat-Arse rocks up with his bags and I am 2kgs over with mine (I box at 78kgs), I am the one penalised.  Feckin hate it.
So what are you proposing?  ::)
Post by: downgirl on January 22, 2009, 11:37:31 PM
Quote from: Declan on January 22, 2009, 11:49:34 AM
What really pissed me off in Gatwick a couple of weeks ago was that our hand luggage passed the Ryanair baggage test having checked in online but the security knobs handing out the plastic bags decided that the young lads bag was too big for their measurements and cue a row between angry passenger security staff and Ryanair. Turns out that the BAA measurements are smaller than the Ryanair ones and each was passing the buck so to speak. End of Story was it cost me 30 sterling to check the thing. Not a happy camper. I only fly with Ryanair as an absolute last resort.   

Was it much bigger than the required measurements?  That's just nitpicking. I suppose they are trying to squeeze as much money as possible out of you.
Post by: thebigfella on January 23, 2009, 12:02:40 AM

Sure it wasn't the other way round,

BAA Regulations

• 56cm (22in) tall
• 45cm (17.7in) wide
• 25cm (10in) deep.

Ryanair Cabin Baggage
Strictly one item of cabin baggage per passenger (excluding infants) weighing up to 10kg with maximum dimensions of 55cm x 40cm x 20cm is permitted. (handbag, briefcase, laptops etc must be carried within your permitted 1 piece of cabin baggage).

Shower of c**ts, the whole lot. I had Easyjet tell me I couldn't take hand luggage on, even though it was within regulations, because the flight was full and there may not be enough room. Wouldn't have minded but I was one of 3 people who paid for speedy boarding, so surely it's first come first serve. Worse too as it was a just before christmas and you had all the usual ****ers on the plane with about 20 bags of duty free and their entire christmas shopping.
Post by: Dougal Maguire on January 23, 2009, 12:07:18 AM
Quote from: downgirl on January 21, 2009, 10:03:49 PM
I have a random question...will I be allowed to bring an alarm clock in as hand luggage (I am not putting a case in the hold)...or will they not let me through with it incase they think it's a bomb ???

I'd be careful with that alarm clock if I were you. You could end up with a good ticking off
Post by: tyssam5 on January 23, 2009, 12:07:26 AM
28 quid is dear alright I'd get 2 outfits for that price in Dunnes and some extra underwear too! Seriously though if you were doing a trip back and forward say weekly would it not be better to leave your gear over there, get it cleaned while your home at the weekend?
Post by: tyssam5 on January 23, 2009, 12:10:50 AM

That's a weird one, there's no money in it for the security guys, you would think they wouldn't care? Thought it would be totally up to Ryanair what they carried. Suppose they probably give a kick-back to the security firm, wouldn't surprise me.
Post by: thebigfella on January 23, 2009, 01:06:00 AM
Even better one now, just changed the dates on a flight with Easyjet. Paid the difference in fair and fee by credit card and was charge 59 pence. Why the f*** was it six quid to book the flight originally on the same credit card.

Post by: Declan on January 23, 2009, 08:02:00 AM
QuoteBAA Regulations

• 56cm (22in) tall
• 45cm (17.7in) wide
• 25cm (10in) deep.

Ryanair Cabin Baggage
Strictly one item of cabin baggage per passenger (excluding infants) weighing up to 10kg with maximum dimensions of 55cm x 40cm x 20cm is permitted. (handbag, briefcase, laptops etc must be carried within your permitted 1 piece of cabin baggage).

That's interesting cause I put the bag in to both and it was slighlty over  the edge of the one at security but fit into the Ryanair one.

QuoteThat's a weird one, there's no money in it for the security guys, you would think they wouldn't care? Thought it would be totally up to Ryanair what they carried. Suppose they probably give a kick-back to the security firm, wouldn't surprise me.

That's what really annoyed me - pompous p***k as well he was - If I was traveling on my own I would have gone further with it as I had plenty of time before the flight but was traveling with the family so didn't pursue it. The really annoying thing was the amount of people who walked passed the same guy with one or more bags bigger than the young lads.
Post by: Denn Forever on January 23, 2009, 12:32:13 PM
You are flying Ryanair.   ???

You know the rules that are going to apply.  Why does everyone get upset with Ryanair?  You know all the bad stuff about them but you get upset when what you hear what is going to happen, happens. ::)

Ryanair does exactly what it says on the tin.
Post by: downgirl on January 23, 2009, 11:55:18 PM
Flew Cork to Dublin with Ryanair this evening, checked in online, bag didn't get weighed or looked at or anything, and saw a girl with a bigish case and one of those massive handbags as her hand luggage...

I'd say it will be a different story going from Dublin to Cork though.
Post by: armaghniac on January 24, 2009, 12:28:05 AM
QuoteThat's a weird one, there's no money in it for the security guys, you would think they wouldn't care? Thought it would be totally up to Ryanair what they carried. Suppose they probably give a kick-back to the security firm, wouldn't surprise me.

There is a limit on the size of bag you can bring through security because the more bags there are the harder it is to search everything and the longer the queues get. This limit is smaller at UK airports than some places whereas Ryanair have a general limit and don't make it their business to enforce London airport limits. Mind you the sizes above make it seem that the airport limit is larger. But talk of kick backs is ridiculous.
Post by: give her dixie on January 29, 2009, 02:58:46 PM
http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=joz9thw9zXc

This is what ryanair will be at next....